View Full Version : The 'Meaty' People
They complain that they are too skinny. Hey, what about being meaty?
Did you notice that the bad guys are always the big, wide ones? I mean look at Harry Potter, his big cousin is potrayed as a big, bad Dudley whom likes to bully poor (ehem, ehem) Potter.
There was even weight discrimination when it comes to hiring people. My friend was unable to get a job due to her weight.
Well, it is not that we didn't try to loose the extra pounds, in fact I think that we worked extra hard.
Did you notice that all the super models are emaciated? Definately this is a chopsticks world. What ever happened to the old defination of beauty? Venus with those sexy, round curves?
02-04-2004, 06:29 PM
They complain that they are too skinny. Hey, what about being meaty?
Did you notice that the bad guys are always the big, wide ones?
There was even weight discrimination when it comes to hiring people. My friend was unable to get a job due to her weight.
Fish, how did you friend find out that she didn't get the job because of her weight? Just wanted to know...anyway I think companies are hesitant to hire those with weight problems because they strive for maximum productivity. A skinny person is less likely to suffer from problems like heart disease and diabetes, thus less likely to take medical leaves.
But I agree that this is not fair. It's rather cruel, when you think about the sufferings big people are subjected to. When I was in primary school, some of the kids who were slightly bigger than the rest were called names, even by teachers. And during Pendidikan Jasmani no one would choose them to be on their teams because they were assumed to be slower.
And yes, villains are usually portrayed as big, especially in old tales (Think BIG Bad Wolf, tiny Jack and the big Giant and fat bullies in teenage series).
02-04-2004, 10:21 PM
And yes, villains are usually portrayed as big, especially in old tales (Think BIG Bad Wolf, tiny Jack and the big Giant and fat bullies in teenage series).
What about Green Mile? The hero is a BIG black man, but he helps lots of people ...
02-04-2004, 11:58 PM
Think everyone here heard before that can find plenty of plastic surgery clinic in Korea. One of the reason why Korean got the trend to do plastic surgery is they care thier out-look a lot. Not only for beauty, but also for job seeking! The reality in always cruel no matter it is acceptable or not.
03-04-2004, 12:50 AM
well, reality is really cruel.
yeah, if you think from the point of the victim (i am refering to the girl with weight problem as potrayed above) that's really not fair and it is a discrimination indeed. but if u think from the point of the employer, then it sounds fair. do u wanna hire someone who then have to go for a lotsa health care and can't get their work done? u dun wanna pay your money for nothing right? i m not saying for sure people with more weight will have health problem but that's the general impression. look at samuel hong, he's faster than a lot of thin people but that's a rare case anyway.
sanghanuman
03-04-2004, 05:55 AM
Sometimes, people just fave extra fat, but not diseases. If people are discriminated only because they have extra fat and not overweight, that's unfair.
Heck, nothing is fair in this world.
dinna_g
03-04-2004, 08:00 AM
Think everyone here heard before that can find plenty of plastic surgery clinic in Korea. One of the reason why Korean got the trend to do plastic surgery is they care thier out-look a lot. Not only for beauty, but also for job seeking! The reality in always cruel no matter it is acceptable or not.
yeah, what's up with korean and plastic surgery? i heard that it is very very common if a korean gets a plastic surgery.
back to the topic, i do agree the discrimination that we talk about. however, if we think about the healthy side of life, someone's overweight should consider losing weight just to live healthier.
having said that, it can be annoying sometimes when someone as skinny as chopsticks said that she/he is overweight... being skinny is overrated, do you think?