View Full Version : Pre-U: Which One to Choose?
zhaowern
30-12-2007, 12:42 AM
i am currently waiting for my spm result.
many of my friends already know what they want to do after spm. but i still cant decide what i want to do. a-levels ? foundation? or form 6?
my parents are of middle income. a-levels at not so prestigious college is still ok. but stpm i can learn more things but is tougher.
any advise or opinion?
thanks a lot!
tezuka87
30-12-2007, 03:21 PM
It depends on what you want to do in the future.
If your SPM results are good, you should apply for scholarships (JPA, ASEAN etc) Then pre-U is pretty much settled for you.
If you can't get a scholarship, and you want to do medicine or dentistry...you may want to do STPM to try to enter a local university (as it is cheaper). It is not really recommended to do STPM if you are not aiming for a local uni. The examination is tough, and you can enter good universities on a-levels. The important thing is entering :)
If you don't want to do those...just do a-levels wherever (cambridge or ed-excel)...they're both recognized (though some say ed-excel is easier). The more expensive colleges help you enter prestigious universities (help you write testimonials and all that) but you can really do it all on your own.
Foundation courses are ok if you really know wat you want to do in the future.
You could consider SATS too. This will open up the american unis. Some other universities like NUS accept students on SATS too.
Just my two cents :P Hope it helps!
31-12-2007, 07:07 PM
My advice for you. You can study for SAT and apply to US while hoping for financial aid. Or you can study pre-u first. Even if you want to take STPM afterwards, you have 6 months worth of additional knowledge by your side already.
canada
02-01-2008, 07:48 PM
If u r aiming local unis, you should take STPM.
If u r aiming twinning program or go overseas, it is better to take a-level as it is worldwide recognised and it's easier for u to enter unis overseas (You save on yr time if u do jan intake 4 a-level).
If yr SPM results are fairly good, most colleges will offer partial scholarships and i think it is much affordable after the discount.
Advice: not to waste yr time choosing yr path. If u r not going 2take STPM, u should start yr pre-u now!
02-01-2008, 09:08 PM
Agree with what canada has said
I m quite regret that I m not doing any pre U during the holiday after SPM..
and now, my results are not so good compared to those who have done his/hers, because all the syllabus are almost the same, and they have learnt it ealier. They already have the foundation..
My 2 cents..
03-01-2008, 01:24 AM
Totally agreed...
First, know what you want to do in the future,
Then, find out your available options,
Lastly, consider your capabilities (personal + financial).
Your questions should be answered.
20-02-2008, 12:09 PM
and now, my results are not so good compared to those who have done his/hers, because all the syllabus are almost the same, and they have learnt it ealier. They already have the foundation..
My 2 cents..
Do u think tat doing pre uni nw can really help you a lot in building foundation? Whai if i m not doing pre u now while waiting spm result ? my friends are mostly do a level now..bt i am financially tight..That is why i can't afford to study a level or pre u now in order to strengthen my foundation and not be leave behind others.
What other alternatives can i do build my foundation?
20-02-2008, 12:33 PM
If u r aiming twinning program or go overseas, it is better to take a-level as it is worldwide recognised and it's easier for u to enter unis overseas (You save on yr time if u do jan intake 4 a-level).
If yr SPM results are fairly good, most colleges will offer partial scholarships and i think it is much affordable after the discount.
Advice: not to waste yr time choosing yr path. If u r not going 2take STPM, u should start yr pre-u now!
What is the difference in studying twinning program , a level , pre u, SAT, foundation? pls enlighten on me ..
20-02-2008, 01:52 PM
My 2 cents..
Do u think tat doing pre uni nw can really help you a lot in building foundation? Whai if i m not doing pre u now while waiting spm result ? my friends are mostly do a level now..bt i am financially tight..That is why i can't afford to study a level or pre u now in order to strengthen my foundation and not be leave behind others.
What other alternatives can i do build my foundation?
Go to Form 6 tuition classes instead... as i mentioned before in another thread.. I am sure that the cost will be much lower..Hope it helps
20-02-2008, 01:58 PM
What is the difference in studying twinning program , a level , pre u, SAT, foundation? pls enlighten on me ..
Twininng programs--study in local for a while , then transfer to overseas university. Please note that the course u study is actually course offered by foreign university
A level- British pre u, 1 most of the most well known pre u program
pre u-- courses taking b4 entering any university
SAT-- US test to enter US university..
Foundation- Course offered by the university to provide some basic knowledgo b4 going to undergraduate..
Appolo
20-02-2008, 02:59 PM
I would suggest that you have a look at these links first below if you are uncertain of which path to choose for your future education.Try to ask around for people who have been through the process and the most effective way I would add is to try and search for magazines on education after spm.
http://www.recom.org/modules.phpname=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=6926
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=6857
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=6589
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2185
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=5083
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3341&start=0
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=256&start=0
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=6450&start=0
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3663&start=0
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=4976&start=0
21-02-2008, 12:59 AM
many of my friends already know what they want to do after spm. but i still cant decide what i want to do. a-levels ? foundation? or form 6?
my parents are of middle income. a-levels at not so prestigious college is still ok. but stpm i can learn more things but is tougher.
any advise or opinion?
thanks a lot!
Your ambivalence is totally understandable.
Despite yet to decide your major, do not waste time anymore. While pending for result, get yourselves into a college. Apply with your trial results. Financial aid shouldn't render much troubles if your trial results were considerably good.
A-levels is good enough if you intend to study overseas. In credential wise, all the colleges are about the same. Just the effectiveness of teaching methods and quality of lecturers that make the differences.
STPM is the safest way since it's accepted domestically as well as internationally. Correspondingly, the risks also relatively greater. Within the one and the half year, you must really study damn hard. Otherwise, it will be a mere waste of time after all. A friend of mine who has flunked through his STPM is doing A-levels in Sunway now. You get what I mean.
Foundation course is certainly your last choice. Never opt for foundation programme, unless you are really sure about your niche in the future. I'm not trying to discredit foundation programme. The main disadvantage of foundation programme is its limited recognition in other countries. Nonetheless, prioritize well known universities for foundation programme. Make sure that the particular foundation programme is widely accepted worldwide. It'll be easier if you wanna to do credit transfer in the future.
Merely my opinions. Hope they help.
a-levels at not so prestigious college is still ok.
TAR College is one if money becomes more or less a factor for you.
but stpm i can learn more things but is tougher.
No good things comes easy. You won't know how tough it would be until you eventually try it out. It is generally perceived as a very tough exam. But you should know that everyone has his/her standard in judging things. Your standard may be different.
Another thing that you should do now is to search for scholarships which can be seen on newspapers, magazines, internet, etc. Apply them whenever a scholarship attracts you and you fit the requirements, listed requirements. You lose but only a couple of envelopes and stamps to apply, and you won't know what you would win in return.
wgy589
22-02-2008, 07:38 AM
any advise or opinion?
thanks a lot!
Despite yet to decide your major, do not waste time anymore. While pending for result, get yourselves into a college. Apply with your trial results. Financial aid shouldn't render much troubles if your trial results were considerably good.
A-levels is good enough if you intend to study overseas. In credential wise, all the colleges are about the same. Just the effectiveness of teaching methods and quality of lecturers that make the differences.
STPM is the safest way since it's accepted domestically as well as internationally. Correspondingly, the risks also relatively greater. Within the one and the half year, you must really study damn hard. Otherwise, it will be a mere waste of time after all. A friend of mine who has flunked through his STPM is doing A-levels in Sunway now. You get what I mean.
Foundation course is certainly your last choice. Never opt for foundation programme, unless you are really sure about your niche in the future. I'm not trying to discredit foundation programme. The main disadvantage of foundation programme is its limited recognition in other countries. Nonetheless, prioritize well known universities for foundation programme. Make sure that the particular foundation programme is widely accepted worldwide. It'll be easier if you wanna to do credit transfer in the future.
I tink ur friend is a very rare case. i would say 90% of STPM leavers will get into local u, not to mention ipts.
22-02-2008, 10:41 AM
Is it good to pursue foundation programme after SPM ? I heard that it will be time-saving .For example, pursue 1 year foundation programme at UTAR .Upon successful completion, we can then pursue year 1 of the corresponding Honour Degree Programme.It seem that we can directly enter degree programme ,so it is time saving compare to when you pursue 2 year A level or diploma then enter into university to study degree, am i right? pls guide on me..
forEVA
22-02-2008, 12:31 PM
Is it good to pursue foundation programme after SPM ? I heard that it will be time-saving .For example, pursue 1 year foundation programme at UTAR .Upon successful completion, we can then pursue year 1 of the corresponding Honour Degree Programme.It seem that we can directly enter degree programme ,so it is time saving compare to when you pursue 2 year A level or diploma then enter into university to study degree, am i right? pls guide on me..
foundation studies r for people who have an ABSOLUTELY clear picture of what they wanna do for the rest of their lives. their one n only. no regrets. then foundation studies r best. saves time, saves money.
pre-u: a-levels/IB/stpm/sam/(u name it) r for those who have completely zero idea (me) of what they plan to study in the degree level n choose to keep their options wide open n/or to allow themselves more time to carefully think things over. or for those who simply love to learn more, pre-u allows them to take up different subjects.
siong1987
22-02-2008, 06:07 PM
STPM is the best for you. If you could get 5A in STPM, u can further ur studies to Singapore, UK or US. Some established universities in US like U of Michigan does accept STPM results. For UK, Cambridge does recognize our STPM results. And, if you really want to get into Stanford or Harvard in US, you can do SAT while doing STPM.
For the latter way, I suggest you to take your SAT 1 in the mid of the year in upper six and SAT 2 while you are taking STPM. And, you should start applying immediately after your SAT 1.
Try to be good with your teachers and be active in extra curricular activities. These are the main factors that help you to get into those universities.
23-02-2008, 01:21 AM
any advise or opinion?
thanks a lot!
I tink ur friend is a very rare case. i would say 90% of STPM leavers will get into local u, not to mention ipts.
Indeed, it's esoteric. IMO, majority of students who take STPM are usually aiming for better outcome, unless they are filthy rich or have plenty of time to be wasted. :P
24-02-2008, 04:36 PM
The quality of the A level programme conducted at not so reputable colleges is questionable. Form 6 will be the best option for you.
i still saying , money comes first.
no money=no choice = STPM.
the only choice is get some scholarships.
Sapehexers
03-04-2008, 06:02 PM
The quality of the A level programme conducted at not so reputable colleges is questionable. Form 6 will be the best option for you.
Is Inti (Nilai) a reputable college for A-Level then?
forEVA
05-04-2008, 10:57 AM
now that u have all the advice u can get, it's time to think things over n make your own decisions n dont let people tell u what to do. keep your options wide open.
most importantly: dont let people tell u what NOT to do. best of luck! (:
05-04-2008, 10:19 PM
Is Inti (Nilai) a reputable college for A-Level then?
Sorry Sapehexers, I'm not very sure about this.
09-04-2008, 10:57 PM
My parents don't let me to go to college eventhough I can secure full scholarship due to financial condition T.T !
I want to ask is STPM result accepted by most foreign countries' universities ? And , how to sit for SAT if I am taking STPM as well ?
10-04-2008, 12:04 AM
Self study for SAT, that's what most of us did. Buy some of the book in the store and hope for the best. STPM is accepted worldwide. While some unis give credits based on it, others took it as part of your admission qualification.
10-04-2008, 02:31 PM
How to register ourself to sit for SAT ??
passer-by
14-04-2008, 04:52 PM
Hi, everyone. Does anybody know what are the differences between Edexcel A-level and Cambrige -A level? Is Edexcel A-level as widely recognised as Cambridge A-level (if I'm not mistaken, Singapore Uni. only recognised Cambridge A-level) ? so, of the two, which one is better ?
Thanks in advance.
Hi, everyone. Does anybody know what are the differences between Edexcel A-level and Cambrige -A level? Is Edexcel A-level as widely recognised as Cambridge A-level (if I'm not mistaken, Singapore Uni. only recognised Cambridge A-level) ? so, of the two, which one is better ?
Thanks in advance.
I certainly think that the Cambridge A-level is more known than its counterpart Edexcel although it is not necessarily better or more recognized. The obvious difference between the 2 is the examination format. Eg Cambridge adopts the AS/A2 system while Edexcel runs by modules and stages. Most people are comfortable and are content with the Cambridge A-level as many more colleges offer that course than Edexcel. Either way, I think neither would confer an advantage(or disadvantage) when it comes to university applications.
14-04-2008, 06:02 PM
Mathematics and Physics are essential requirements for an Engineering degree. Students aiming for a career in Chemical Engineering would be strongly advised to take Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.
Most students find that three A-Levels provide them with more than enough work. In order to study Medicine, both Mathematics and Chemistry are essential and Biology or Physics would be a logical third choice. On the Arts side, Accounting, Economics and Business Studies are clearly suitable for students who are seeking a career in business, finance or the legal profession. Both English Literature and History are highly valued by universities in the United Kingdom because they develop independent thought and sharpen critical awareness and linguistic skills.
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 09:21 PM
well i think its better to discuss anything about undergraduate studies here...i'm currently facing a great problem thinking about all this stuffs, dont know which one is the best to choose..and of course if there's a scholarship its a different case, but the problem now is the JPA results are not published yet, emmm maybe we can share some of our thoughts here or maybe any useful informations...Which one you think is better ? why? feel free to give your opinions!
Good thread! yummyyummulicious you started it?
I opt for A level first. Second Form 6. If get matriculation I'll go for it but using Starlemon idea study both syllabus.
How about SAM, and International Baccalaureate Programme?
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 09:38 PM
Good thread! yummyyummulicious you started it?
I opt for A level first. Second Form 6. If get matriculation I'll go for it but using Starlemon idea study both syllabus.
How about SAM, and International Baccalaureate Programme?
thx...Vaan...well any undergraduate courses can be included...i cant mention all and i dont know all...LOL...
SAM is good too, 1 year course and international recognised...about International Baccalaureate Programme, i have no idea about it...anyone explain?
15-04-2008, 09:42 PM
Nobody takes up IB here in Malaysia.....
Got lah. United World College (UWC). Heard of it?
15-04-2008, 09:50 PM
By no one, I mean rare. And there is no UWC here in Malaysia.
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 09:51 PM
mmm, no actually...
right now really dont know which one to choose...well f6 is cheap but takes longer time and more difficult...
matrix is easier but difficult to get a place and will suffer more in uni except you do what starlemon taught in another thread
A-level will be pretty expensive eventhough we have full tuition fees waiver...for those students with financial problems, it just doesnt seems to be the right choice i guess becoz will face accomodation problem, paid whatever registration fees, and books will cost a loads...
aiyoh, dont know what to choose and what to do...sobsob
HimoYoto
15-04-2008, 10:04 PM
yummyummylicious....its good you start this topic....This few month I'm suffering with this topic too...really very very frustrated.....after getting so many information either from internet,friends,senior,even my dad's friends..and also my parents...I feel that study form 6 is better...many said that is wasting time or very tough....but I personally feel that A level is good..but to someone who face financial problem can't afford the fees...and if for matriculation...you can be more relax for the first year then after go into uni you ll be more suffer than those who studied form 6...who suffer first..then easy later.....
For diploma,I really disagree with that...but if you really really sure what you want to be in the future...what kind of work you prefer..then straight ahead go study diploma....I have one friend who finished her advanced diploma and came out to work..and she feels that the job is boring so she just study another course again...that is wasting time and money...so going form 6 can make you more mature and two more years to think what you really want and intrested....besides,you can learn many things in form 6....so this is my advice...I'm going form 6 too...:)) Gambateh!!!!
Aries
15-04-2008, 10:06 PM
There is in Sekolah Sri KDU, Kolej Mara Banting n international school of kl to name a few. It's open 2 malaysians 2, but....
It's extrememly expensive... Much more expensive than a levels
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 10:20 PM
yummyummylicious....its good you start this topic....This few month I'm suffering with this topic too...really very very frustrated.....after getting so many information either from internet,friends,senior,even my dad's friends..and also my parents...I feel that study form 6 is better...many said that is wasting time or very tough....but I personally feel that A level is good..but to someone who face financial problem can't afford the fees...and if for matriculation...you can be more relax for the first year then after go into uni you ll be more suffer than those who studied form 6...who suffer first..then easy later.....
For diploma,I really disagree with that...but if you really really sure what you want to be in the future...what kind of work you prefer..then straight ahead go study diploma....I have one friend who finished her advanced diploma and came out to work..and she feels that the job is boring so she just study another course again...that is wasting time and money...so going form 6 can make you more mature and two more years to think what you really want and intrested....besides,you can learn many things in form 6....so this is my advice...I'm going form 6 too...:)) Gambateh!!!!
yea, its kinda true...for diploma, one must really think properly and dont regret after taking it...for me, i wanna study dentistry but there's no such thing as diploma in dentistry so i considered foundation in science, but if i do foundation in science, i will have to stick to that particular college to finish my degree (am i right???)
mmm, so now my option will most probably be form 6...sad...things will be SO different if i'm a daughter of a millionaire ...hehe...kidding....
15-04-2008, 10:31 PM
mmm, no actually...
right now really dont know which one to choose...well f6 is cheap but takes longer time and more difficult...
matrix is easier but difficult to get a place and will suffer more in uni except you do what starlemon taught in another thread
A-level will be pretty expensive eventhough we have full tuition fees waiver...for those students with financial problems, it just doesnt seems to be the right choice i guess becoz will face accomodation problem, paid whatever registration fees, and books will cost a loads...
aiyoh, dont know what to choose and what to do...sobsob
A level: Don't forget about your examination fees too, which increase almost every year.
There is in Sekolah Sri KDU, Kolej Mara Banting n international school of kl to name a few. It's open 2 malaysians 2, but....
It's extrememly expensive... Much more expensive than a levels
Correct. But why pay so much for a pre-university course?
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 10:33 PM
A level: Don't forget about your examination fees too, which increase almost every year.
oh yea, true...and some pocket money for food and whateva....will cost a big amount too...seperti bak kata pepatah: sedikit-sedikit, lama-lama jadi bukit..lol..wanna show off my peribahasa..hehe, long time didnt use peribahasa already...lol...that's why i change my mind to do F6 than A-level.
Correct. But why pay so much for a pre-university course?[/QUOTE]
well what i can say is for rich ppl, these money are nothing...
15-04-2008, 10:48 PM
I just merged the thread "A-level? or F6? or Matriculation? or Foundation courses? or diploma? (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6512)" into this existing thread.
15-04-2008, 10:58 PM
is A-LEVEL = Form 6?? If not, what are the differences??
HimoYoto
15-04-2008, 11:13 PM
yea, its kinda true...for diploma, one must really think properly and dont regret after taking it...for me, i wanna study dentistry but there's no such thing as diploma in dentistry so i considered foundation in science, but if i do foundation in science, i will have to stick to that particular college to finish my degree (am i right???)
mmm, so now my option will most probably be form 6...sad...things will be SO different if i'm a daughter of a millionaire ...hehe...kidding....
Erm..about that...last time when I plan to study college..I register at TARC...for diploma in accountancy ...since I decided to form 6..so I just ignore it..but last time I asked before..after I study 2yr diploma in TARC can I transfer to other college for degree...they said can...I also asked INTI if I wanna go their skul..they said have to see your result in diploma or foundation...I think you can ask the college for more information..I think your case is quite the same ....hope it helps...:))
06008: A-Level is totally different from Form 6, syllabus-wise etc.
A-Level is a UK pre-uni program, and there are several different boards which administer it (most popular is Cambridge, then Edexcel if I'm not mistaken). It's recognised worldwide.
Form 6 is our Malaysian version of pre-u. Some international unis also recognise it.
A common point seems to be that Form 6 syllabus is harder and in some cases unnescessarily detailed compared to A-Levels.
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 11:55 PM
however studying F6 will be comparitively cheaper than A-level...but of course harder too
16-04-2008, 12:15 AM
owh..but the duration is the same rite?? 2 years??
prince_J
16-04-2008, 12:25 AM
Take A level and SAT at the same time...
cause A level is so much easier than STPM, although you have to say goodbye to UM, UKM, etc....
and at the same time, try your luck by doing SAT , just in case you are thinking of flying to US!
and for me.. STPM... big NO-NO
Caprio
16-04-2008, 12:14 PM
Well, if your family is able to finance for your tertiary education, my advice is don't go to form 6, try other pre-u like A-level, SAM, HSC and so forth.
The syllabus for form 6 is very wide and very demanding. There are a lot of information about form 6 which could be found in SPM/STPM thread. Try to read up and see whether form 6 is suitable for you.
Let's say if you take A-level, if your result is good enough to secure a scholarship for overseas, then take it. If you A-level result turned out to be not so good, you still can do your degree locally. Finance should not be a problem if you are not from the extreme poor family. Besides, you may apply for PTPTN loan.
The significant advantage to study form 6 is that you are able study in local public university, which saves you a lot of money. Besides, form 6 is recognised internationally. If you decide you enter form 6, one thing for sure, be prepare to work hard. You have to be consistent in your working. As long as you are hardworking enough, form 6 should not be a problem for you. There are people who obtained 3As in SPM managed to score 4A in STPM. Hardwork matters more than talent.
Choose wisely. Don't regret later. :P
16-04-2008, 03:14 PM
owh..but the duration is the same rite?? 2 years??
The duration for the A level and Form 6 course is 1.5 years.
We in A levels learn less than that of those in Form 6 but are required to know our subject contents EXTREMELY well. It is unlike form 6 where some contents may not be tested in examination. In A level, each subtopic garners their fair share examination questions. Content wise, it is less demanding than of form 6 but let us not forget that the A level is actually a 2-year programme. It has been shortened to 1.5 years here in Malaysia for the sake of the students. After all, kiasu students will not agree to a 2 year pre-university programme.
A level students are expected to be much more independent since they no longer all able to rely on tuition. Nevertheless, some wealthier students do attend tuition classes. For form 6 students not to attend tuition is a rarity.
yummyummylicious
16-04-2008, 03:20 PM
Take A level and SAT at the same time...
cause A level is so much easier than STPM, although you have to say goodbye to UM, UKM, etc....
and at the same time, try your luck by doing SAT , just in case you are thinking of flying to US!
and for me.. STPM... big NO-NO
hmmm, i was wondering to take SAT, but i have no idea at all on how to do it...should i buy "SAT for dummies" which is included in one of the dummies series? any other books that you can recommend? and where should i take it and how can i register myself??? well, i am currently a spm leaver, and can i take SAT?
STPM, *sweat*
matchgirl
16-04-2008, 03:24 PM
hmmm, i was wondering to take SAT, but i have no idea at all on how to do it...should i buy "SAT for dummies" which is included in one of the dummies series? any other books that you can recommend? and where should i take it and how can i register myself??? well, i am currently a spm leaver, and can i take SAT?
STPM, *sweat*
Mind you SAT maths part is peanuts but the language part is a disaster....
16-04-2008, 03:27 PM
Mind you SAT maths part is peanuts but the language part is a disaster....
u seems to know quite well bout SAT... can u tell me more??? u can post it here or pm me... thank you very much!!!
matchgirl
16-04-2008, 03:33 PM
u seems to know quite well bout SAT... can u tell me more??? u can post it here or pm me... thank you very much!!!
I had tried the test myself at home before and i forget a great part of it...the test is divided into a few parts...
language
you are required to write a short essay with titles like is deception justified...
there are also MCQ which test your vocabulary...and even if you get a pretty A1 in your spm english...you will find that out of the 10 words in the 5 choices given, you couldnt even recognize half of it(to me)
maths
the maths part is simple...just basic questions of polygons and algebras,not the very difficult add-math type of question....if you excelin spm maths..then that sholud not be a poblem to you..its more or less the same,but dont do careless mistakes!
yummyummylicious
16-04-2008, 03:53 PM
I had tried the test myself at home before and i forget a great part of it...the test is divided into a few parts...
language
you are required to write a short essay with titles like is deception justified...
there are also MCQ which test your vocabulary...and even if you get a pretty A1 in your spm english...you will find that out of the 10 words in the 5 choices given, you couldnt even recognize half of it(to me)
maths
the maths part is simple...just basic questions of polygons and algebras,not the very difficult add-math type of question....if you excelin spm maths..then that sholud not be a poblem to you..its more or less the same,but dont do careless mistakes!
match girl..emmm, you juz tried it at home? you didnt go and sit for the real exam?mmm, did you actually buy a book or what...wanna know more cause i am considering to take this exam if possible...
one more question for those who knows...emmm, what if i fail in the first SAT, can i re-exam? and when can i retake my exam? how much will it cost then?
matchgirl
16-04-2008, 04:56 PM
match girl..emmm, you juz tried it at home? you didnt go and sit for the real exam?mmm, did you actually buy a book or what...wanna know more cause i am considering to take this exam if possible...
one more question for those who knows...emmm, what if i fail in the first SAT, can i re-exam? and when can i retake my exam? how much will it cost then?
i borrow a book from my teacher...
You can go to collegeboard.com and try out the sample SAT questions there. They have almost all the info you need about SAT, like fees, dates, international representatives etc.
I agree with matchgirl, the Maths questions are kacang for those who have done SPM Add Maths, occasionally you have to think a little bit out of the box, though. Personally, I liked the English questions (wish we had those for SPM! :p ), found the Biology ones reasonable, Chem and Physics I think if you have the SAT books they shouldn't pose a problem. Some of the stuff has already been covered in SPM syllabus. (Bio, Chem and Physics are separate subject tests from the main SAT one).
The site says that for Malaysia, our SAT representative is the MACEE/SAT Program Testing Services in K.L. Dates for tests next year are January 26, May 3, and June 7. Basic test fees (not including other miscellanous ones, of which there seem to be quite a lot) are: SAT Reasoning Test? = $43 and for the SAT Subject Tests?, basic registration fee is $20, for all other Subject Tests (add per test to basic reg. fee) you need to add $8. International processing fee (for students testing in countries other than the United States, U.S. territories, and Puerto Rico) = $25. So if one were to take only the basic SAT test, it would cost $68 already.
After reading this thread, I'm considering going for SAT next year or so. I think I should be able to study the additional material for it alongside the HSC course I'm doing. For anyone who's taken SAT before, I'd love to know if it would be more helpful with a SAT tutor (not that I could afford one) or can you just study yourself from books and the Internet?
yummyummylicious
17-04-2008, 11:54 AM
You can go to collegeboard.com and try out the sample SAT questions there. They have almost all the info you need about SAT, like fees, dates, international representatives etc.
I agree with matchgirl, the Maths questions are kacang for those who have done SPM Add Maths, occasionally you have to think a little bit out of the box, though. Personally, I liked the English questions (wish we had those for SPM! :p ), found the Biology ones reasonable, Chem and Physics I think if you have the SAT books they shouldn't pose a problem. Some of the stuff has already been covered in SPM syllabus. (Bio, Chem and Physics are separate subject tests from the main SAT one).
The site says that for Malaysia, our SAT representative is the MACEE/SAT Program Testing Services in K.L. Dates for tests next year are January 26, May 3, and June 7. Basic test fees (not including other miscellanous ones, of which there seem to be quite a lot) are: SAT Reasoning Test? = $43 and for the SAT Subject Tests?, basic registration fee is $20, for all other Subject Tests (add per test to basic reg. fee) you need to add $8. International processing fee (for students testing in countries other than the United States, U.S. territories, and Puerto Rico) = $25. So if one were to take only the basic SAT test, it would cost $68 already.
After reading this thread, I'm considering going for SAT next year or so. I think I should be able to study the additional material for it alongside the HSC course I'm doing. For anyone who's taken SAT before, I'd love to know if it would be more helpful with a SAT tutor (not that I could afford one) or can you just study yourself from books and the Internet?
thx for your useful info...and i am planning to take SAT next year too...there are only 5 subjects included? Eng, Math, Bio, Chem and Phy..?
The basic SAT test has an English and Maths section. There are also subject tests which can be taken separately - e.g. Maths Level 1/ Level 2, Bio, Physics, Chem...and a whole lot of other subjects like World History, Literature, Languages (for example French, German, Chinese, Hebrew, Spanish, Latin). The full list can be viewed on the collegeboard.com website.
If I'm not mistaken, taking the individual subject tests may be an additional admission requirement for some colleges and certain courses, it depends on which college you're planning to apply to.
Caprio
17-04-2008, 03:24 PM
Besides collegeboard.com website, there are a few threads about the SAT in recom. Try to take initiative to search it out.
marczeman
20-12-2010, 12:47 AM
Hey guys I know this question must've been posed a million times before, but I heard edexcel revamped it's syllabus or something not too long ago so I'd just like to obtain some clarification : What exactly is the difference between edexcel and cambridge a-levels, and all-in-all, which would a Malaysian SPM leaver like myself(and most of you) find easier?
Btw, if someone's already asked this within the past year, could you redirect me to the appropriate thread?
cycycy
20-12-2010, 01:15 AM
These two posts may help =)
http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=347307&postcount=110
http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=347380&postcount=111
20-12-2010, 01:51 AM
Hey guys I know this question must've been posed a million times before, but I heard edexcel revamped it's syllabus or something not too long ago so I'd just like to obtain some clarification : What exactly is the difference between edexcel and cambridge a-levels, and all-in-all, which would a Malaysian SPM leaver like myself(and most of you) find easier?
Btw, if someone's already asked this within the past year, could you redirect me to the appropriate thread?
These two posts may help =)
http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=347307&postcount=110
http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=347380&postcount=111
Hmmm... I would suggest that in the future, please do use the search function that we have in ReCom. You can get quite a lot of info by using that.
A simple search that I did on just the word "edexcel" yielded results which can be seen here (http://www.recom.org/forum/search.php?searchid=1606699). The first few results may not be of any use, but the ones after that do address some parts of the questions.
The "Search" function is quite under-utilized. Do use it often, and if you can't find anything useful, then please feel free to open a new thread and post your enquiry, or post the enquiry in related threads that may not have addressed your issues directly. This gentle reminder applies to all of us ReComers. Thanks.
hey, juniors...for those who are financially tight,i hope that you have applied for matrics because its not as bad as you guys may think. i belittled matrics before i graduated from matriculation in malaysia this year, got my first choice in USM pharmacy 2010...my fees are subsidised and i get allowance... plus i got JPA since matrics...if you are excellent, you'll shine wherever you are...=) feel free to ask me anything...
fallenangelxoxo
27-12-2010, 01:23 PM
hey, juniors...for those who are financially tight,i hope that you have applied for matrics because its not as bad as you guys may think. i belittled matrics before i graduated from matriculation in malaysia this year, got my first choice in USM pharmacy 2010...my fees are subsidised and i get allowance... plus i got JPA since matrics...if you are excellent, you'll shine wherever you are...=) feel free to ask me anything...
yes, i do agree with you...thou i onli went for matric for 5 weeks because i was offered with the ipts pidn scholarship, but matric is really a good opportunity for those that are financially tight...especially to those tat are non bumi...be veri thankful if you gt matriculation...trust me, it aint tat bad...i enjoyed my 5 weeks there and leave with tears because i really met nice ppl there and the lecturers are extreamly nice too!! =)
yiling
28-12-2010, 05:00 PM
hi, i'd completed my SPM recently.
I've heard from my teacher that form 6 is going to change from terminal to modular system starting from next year. is it true?