View Full Version : Overseas Scholarships for SPM 2007
13-01-2008, 01:30 AM
With SPM 2007 being over, and the scholarship season is coming up! ReCom.org would again be ready for the significant increase in terms of number of visitors.
Would definitely hope that fellow ReComers could share with your friends on ReCom, especially those you know would be going through the scholarships applications.
This thread would be at the Front Page and would be the page that focus on Overseas Scholarships Applications for SPM 2007 Candidate.
Would hope that fellow ReComers who have gone through Scholarships applications before, and have some pointers to share, would hope that you would share it here at ReCom.org !
I would strongly encourage those fellow ReComers who are SPM 2007 candidates to start your preparations for Scholarships from now! It is middle of January already!
liangfuhan
13-01-2008, 10:49 AM
Okay, well, the Bank Negara scholarship is one of the many well sought after government funded scholarships available in Malaysia. Applications are available for both pre-university and university level.
I must admit that the scholarship is VERY appealing. If you are a recipient for the pre-university program, you are sponsored to pursue a pre-university course in one of their 4 higher institutions (INTEC, Kolej Yayasan UEM, Kolej Tuanku Jaafar, UNITEN). And, if you fulfill the requirements, you are automatically granted a full scholarship for a university education.
Majors offered are finance, corporate finance, law, economics, actuarial science, accounting, commerce, IT (computer science), mathematics and financial engineering.
Countries where scholars are sent to are America, United Kingdom or Australia.
Usually, scholars are given the scholarships based on their preferred major and country. However, Bank Negara tends to send more students to America or UK.
Requirements? I would like to say that good grades are necessary. However, don't let your hopes down if you miss out on an A or 2. However, I would suggest a minimum of approximately 8A1s (with the rest being A2s, or B3s, if you have to) so that the interviewers are confident of your future academic performance.
Interview and Application Process:
The first stage requires candidates to fill up an application form on their website. General information such as personal background, academic and cocurricular achievements are listed down in the form. As of 2007, the academic achievement section is only limited to your SPM grades. On the other hand, Bank Negara expects you to be an all-rounder - the cocurricular section is divided into three aspects (uniform units, clubs and societies, sports). And for this section, list down activities based on emphasis on the level of participation, regardless of whether it's some unkown activity you're doing, say... A cappella or the law olympiad (many of the scholars have participated in either state, national or international level tournaments).
Then it involves a VERY long wait for shortlisted candidates to be notified (usually, candidates are notified by phone).
If you're successful, you will be required to attend an interview session. This gruelling 8 hour session includes 4 stages:
1. Individual presentation - candidates have to give a presentation about a certain case that requires planning skills. Example: come up with a strategy to organize an event.
2. Essay - candidates are required to choose 2 essay titles out of the 6 provided and write them in an hour. One of them must be written in English, while the other in Malay. Essay titles revolves around the Malaysian economy (very general, so don't worry) and social issues.
3. Individual interview - 3 interviewers to 1 candidate. Very casual talk where candidates are asked about their career aspirations, academic exposure, extra-curricular activities achievements. And, usual interview questions: "what sets you apart?", "leadership?" yada yada yada.
4. Group presentation - in groups of 4 or 5, each team has to come up with a plan, and it's usually about marketing (because it's Bank Negara, duh). Example: your team comprises of a Project Director, Treasurer, Service Development Officer, Marketing Manager, come up with a campaign to launch your own beverage.
Selection rates are low. Out of a couple of thousand applications, 70 students were granted the scholarship. However, never keep your hopes down because the selection process is unexpected.
What sets the Bank Negara scholarship from others is the fact that it is very exclusive. The low number of scholars make it possible for students to keep in touch with Bank Negara easily. University placement decisions are made with careful consideration (especially when it comes to universities in the States). Furthermore, you get abundant of reasons to see your bank account record shoot up the sky - computer allowances, monthly allowances, travel allowances, book allowances. Oh, and scholars get treats to nice functions with other fellow Bank Negara scholarship holder seniors and staff.
Tips? I feel that a Bank Negara scholar is an all-rounder. He participates in extra-curricular activities yet he manages to score good results. He speaks up for what he feels is right yet he leads the group with his amiability. Also, try to scrape out as much information about the course you're planning to apply for because the selection committee put a pretty large amount of emphasis on it during the interview. And of course, know who's the Governor of the organization lah, duh.
Note: The Bank Negara scholarship is usually open for applications a few days after the SPM results are announced.
19-01-2008, 12:52 AM
Thanks, liangfuhan for the detailed sharing for Bank Negara Scholarships! Hope that other ReComers would share too!
20-01-2008, 12:56 AM
Here's the list of past year JPA Interview questions! Go to here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3663).
If you have any question, do post it here at ReCom.org~!
Do start your preparation early~!
Do hope to see more students to come over to ReCom.org to prepare for your scholarships applications~!
Hope to see more ReComers sharing too~!
Thanks Chenchow and Liang for the remindings and guides.
questions:
>does the house income less than rm 1500 and result of 10a1 guarantee a scholarship?
any update about the policies this year?
and procedures? or anything that change?
liangfuhan
20-01-2008, 10:51 AM
questions:
>does the house income less than rm 1500 and result of 10a1 guarantee a scholarship?
I am not too sure about that, because I am not too sure of my friends income. Apparently, the policy for JPA is that there is some (10%) weightage given on the financial status of the candidate. Citation needed. Appealing might do some good if you fail to secure a scholarship.
20-01-2008, 12:46 PM
If according to the JPA's policy last year, yes you will get the scholarship, but the policy changes from year to year. For other scholarships, not sure though...
Normally any updates about change in policy and weightage will be announced when the scholarships are open for application, so be sure to check it out in March...
brucesharky
27-01-2008, 10:03 AM
JPA
Only one round. Group discussion. Read up about current issues and prepare in Malay and English. In group discussion, the most important thing to me is to not be too dominant but not overly reserved as well. And engage with the other people in the group. By engaging I don't mean only agreeing or disagreeing with their point of views but to look at the person when the person is speaking, nod your head a little when u kinda agree; I think these subtle body language plays a role as well in group interviews.
Yayasan TNB.
1. Have a thorough understanding about the course that you want. Like e.g. u applied for electrical engineering, know how electricity is produce, the sources of electricity in Malaysia, how much is the max supply to each house, etc.
2. Read up about TNB. (VERY VERY IMPORTANT)
3. Sell yourself.( this applies for all interviews)
4. One test. All vocabulary. So, make sure you do as much as you can.
Yayasan Khazanah Nasional- 2006/2007.
From what I observe during the interviews last year, straight A1s or As is not really the main criteria for a person to get called for the interview. Yayasan Khazanah emphasizes more on your Co-Curriculum activties and they REALLY REALLY want all-rounded students.
Here's the format for the interview. 2006 was info from my senior and 2007 is my own experience and my friends who got the scholarship as well.
"First round(2006)
There are four rounds of interviews. First is purely an interview. Prepare like yayasan TNB. And be quick on thinking, don't ever waver even though the questions will come non-stop. Stop to think if you must but show confidence. You will feel like it's raining with questions.
Second round(2006)
1)Personality Test
- ntg much here, just a standard personality test. Not much that can be prepared. Will just have to be yourself?
- MCQ kinda thingy, NOT essay.
2) Learning Ability Test- Can be easy or complicated... depends on how fast you're able to catch the pattern. (see example below)
- there are a few sets. Same concept but different patterns.
- eg:
--> They'll give you 3 sets of number... lets say 5 19 60
--> The task is to choose the number FARTHEST away from the MIDDLE number.
--> in this case, it'll be 60. Because.... middle number is 19 (the median)... and 19-5=6 , while 60-5=55
--> so it's the same kinda thingy, but it progresses from simple to much much more complicated. Another example... the numbers are 75 59 68.... Answer would be 59.... coz middle number is 68( 59 68 75), and 59 would give a difference of 9.
- yea, hope you get the concept of it. It's not only numbers... they give other things as well... like ali is taller than raj. raj is shorter than chong. raj is ali is taller than devi. Who's the tallest?
- that kinda thingy... sorry i can't remember what are the other patterns... can only remember these 2.
3) Essay- yup, just some good old essay writing. Write one essay in like 45 minutes or something.... can't really remember too.
- have choices... i did about the education system...
4)Group Interview 1- Small group of about 5 person.
- Case study style.
- we had a mini project kinda thingy. We were tasked to design and build a twin tower for a gold company or something. They'll give the case, conditions, and requirements, etc. And we'll have to design build it.
- Build meaning.. physically build the prototype. They provide stuff like newspaperm scissors, cardboards, tapes, colour paper, etc.
- Have to come up with a budget too. Each item has a price/cost. eg: newspaper would cost RM1 million (simulation), cardboard RM500000, etc etc. (heck... if newspaper is reallyyy RM1 million, i'll be rich!)
- yup thats it for this i guess. It really depends on you group members as well... Wether they're agressive kind or good ppl kind. If aggressive they might be loud, dominating, and all... So you'll have to see what's the situation like. But personally, I still think it's better to be yourself. No point making yourself aggresive just to match up and compete with the selfless person.talking across the table.
5)Group Interview 2- bigger group. about 10+ people.
- case study as well.
- last year's case: we're on board a ship and it's sinking. Only one person can be saved to the shore. Who would that be?
- Each person will be assigned a character. For example, i was assigned to be a pregant lady... (oh god... bad memories haunting me again... arg). Others we're assigned to characters like lawyer, pilot, army, etc etc.
- We we're give about 30 minutes to decide on concensus(not vote) bout who should be the one who deserves to be saved.
- And everybody would go wacko and start talking simultaneously... coz time is realy limited yea?
- Again, the only thing i can say is be yourself and try your very best to present your point clearly and directly.
- try looking on other perspective as well. Yea, i know the ship is sinking and there's only one space left. So psychologically, everybody would be defensive on themselves and be some how sellfish. But last year i argued that yea heck i'm pregnant. But i brought out the point that the most deserving person should be the one who has the highest chance of getting help and rescue the rest when he/she gets to the shore. Which in tat case is surely aint me coz i'm pregnant! So whoever has the highest chance to seek help should, in my opinion be the chosen one. And they carried on arguing bla bla bla. Haha kinda fun as well actually
-Just be yourself and have fun!"
*Interview 2006-Quoted from a senior who gave me these tips last year.
My experience.
First Round(2007)
Same like 2006.
Second round (2007)
The only differences are
1) there's no essay because we were asked to write a personal statement about your career aspirations and the course you applied for beforehand and submit in on the day of the 2nd round.
2) Only 1 group interview instead of 2.
To tell you the truth the 2nd interview is purely fun. Don' stress yourself. They won't interview you again. They are finding for something here, the criteria tat they want which they will nvr reveal. So don't pretend. Be yourself. It's okay even if you fail the test. They don't really see it. And this's the chance to do some networking.
Third round
I got knocked out in the 2nd round. However, according to my friends who got the scholarship, the 3rd round is a one to one interview with.... someone (I forgot who but someone up there in Khazanah la). To prepare,read up about the company, and also perpare general questions like ur strength, weakness, the values u believes, ur activities: general interview questions.
Fourth round (Final)
One to one interview with their MD-Dato Azman Haji Mokhtar. One of the questions that my friend told me and I can recall is "What is the meaning of success to you?"
Felda Interview.
1st Round.
Group Interview. Like JPA but you get to choose a title from a list.(in a group so u all will discuss and come to an agreement which topic u all wanna discuss about).
2nd Round
If I'm not mistaken, this round is one on one interview with their director. I didn't go though coz at that time got JPA edi.
Any questions can e-mail me at koalabearhero@<hidden>
Appolo
27-01-2008, 07:11 PM
You mentioned Felda? I thought the scholarship is only provided for the children of Felda settlers if I remember the criteria on the advertisment carefully.
brucesharky
28-01-2008, 11:11 AM
I think they have different scholarships.The one I applied is the overseas scholarship. I don't remember that scholarship restricting to the children of FELDA only. The scholarship is published in the papers after the SPM results are out.
Appolo
28-01-2008, 01:27 PM
I think they have different scholarships.The one I applied is the overseas scholarship. I don't remember that scholarship restricting to the children of FELDA only. The scholarship is published in the papers after the SPM results are out.
Perhaps I was wrong or there's a chance that they came up with another scholarships after my year.I'm feeling so old already.I remembered trying to apply for it and was rather let down by certain clauses that suggest the family members of Felda settlers.It's good that they didn't impose any restriction on the family backgrounds of applicants.
http://www.uwc-my.org/
http://www.uwc.org
For those who have a passion about social and international issues, a dedication to community service and cultural understanding. Check this pre-u scholarship out.
It might just be the best thing that ever happened to you.
liangfuhan
29-01-2008, 01:06 PM
For those who have a passion about social and international issues, a dedication to community service and cultural understanding. Check this pre-u scholarship out.
Bert, I cannot express how true I believe you are. This really is an extremely oustanding award. Contact me for more details via PM and I'd be glad to correspond with you via MSN/email.
Think you guys have missed out... The Star Education Fund - Scholarship Awards 2008
http://thestar.com.my/edufund
The last time I checked, there?s quite of them open to SPM graduates. Overseas Scholarship also offered !
30-01-2008, 01:30 AM
questions:
This policy should stay the same, although there hasn't been any official announcement on that.
bookworm
01-02-2008, 09:59 PM
Yayasan TNB.
4. One test. All vocabulary. So, make sure you do as much as you can.
I did apply it and went to the interview but messed up in the end. :(
Their vocabulary test quite crazy. Lots of arcane words and jargons. I am wondering how important it counts towards the whole evaluation. Anywhere, i believe it is possible to prepare for the test. The words are more or less about the same standard as the SAT. Those really..really interested could start to prepare their vocabulary now. Hehe. Maybe www.freerice.com could be a great place for you to practise.
However, I remembered there were some questions about science apart from the vocabulary questions.
Anywhere, I believe the interview should be the most crucial part of the evaluation and as what brucesharky says, knowing about TNB is really really important. They will ask in the interview.
Good luck to those who are planning to apply scholarship this year. Although it is still quite early, but it will not do you any harm to start researching about them now. Early birds catch the worms (but early worms are eaten...just joking). :D
Good luck.
caramel_nut
02-02-2008, 03:19 AM
Bert, I cannot express how true I believe you are. This really is an extremely oustanding award. Contact me for more details via PM and I'd be glad to correspond with you via MSN/email.Err.. Fu Han, bert is now in college after studying in UWC. You know him as well.
For those interested in studying in US, check out the financial aid provided by the colleges. Not having a scholarship from JPA/ Petronas/ SC/ BNM/ etc etc etc is not the end of the road.
telekom out already...
http://ytm.tm.com.my/
Deadline: 31st March 2008.
liangfuhan
29-02-2008, 09:34 PM
Bert, I cannot express how true I believe you are. This really is an extremely oustanding award. Contact me for more details via PM and I'd be glad to correspond with you via MSN/email.Err.. Fu Han, bert is now in college after studying in UWC. You know him as well.
For those interested in studying in US, check out the financial aid provided by the colleges. Not having a scholarship from JPA/ Petronas/ SC/ BNM/ etc etc etc is not the end of the road.
Are you serious? Okay, I get the picture now :)
Azure
02-03-2008, 08:26 PM
May i know if there is any overseas scholarship for architecture courses?
Appolo
03-03-2008, 10:26 AM
May i know if there is any overseas scholarship for architecture courses?
JPA
There is a scholarship from the Ministry of Education for those who want to become a teacher.
http://apps.emoe.gov.my/kplspm
hai guys, anyone here got the german engineering programme offered by jpa????? i am really interested in this programme. can someone please tell me more about this programme??? thanks a lot.
hai guys, talking about overseas scholarship.......... TM also offers overseas scholarship. the application is already open. check it out at http://ytm.tm.com.my
aimi_malenchenko
05-03-2008, 01:32 AM
mean if one get 8a1 ,he/she fluent in speaking english n always active in his/her cocurricular activities, he/she totally disqualified to apply JPA scholarship?
Appolo
05-03-2008, 09:54 AM
mean if one get 8a1 ,he/she fluent in speaking english n always active in his/her cocurricular activities, he/she totally disqualified to apply JPA scholarship?
What do you mean by disqualified? I think that you have a typing error there.
Everyone is qualified to apply as long as you fulfill the requirements as advertised!
Yayasan Telekom Question...
the 3rd column..
"Nama Kursus" then below it...
"(sila masukan nama kursus seperti dalam surat tawaran atau prospektus universiti)"
what does this line means? Do we need to get the offer letter from university? dont get this line...
aimi_malenchenko
05-03-2008, 01:31 PM
What do you mean by disqualified? I think that you have a typing error there.
Everyone is qualified to apply as long as you fulfill the requirements as advertised!
ok,maybe i did a typing error here. but, what i mean here is, is it a straight A's is the X factor to secure this scholarship?
05-03-2008, 02:39 PM
No way. I have seen people with a couple B's who manage to secure scholarship before. However, it might only be harder to apply for JPA and you may need to opt for courses less preferred by students as lots of straight A's students are competing for the same chance.
Are you serious? Okay, I get the picture now :)
Read more about two Malaysian students' experiences at the United World Colleges in the two links below. Also check out www.uwc-my.org and www.uwc.org
http://tinkosong.com/2006/01/30/the-united-world-colleges/
http://tinkosong.com/2006/10/06/ib-at-the-united-world-colleges/
I would really encourage those who are interested in the JPA/Petronas/BNM/YTM etc. scholarships to look into this too.
wendy191
05-03-2008, 11:18 PM
Thanks bert for mentioning UWC again.
I am interested in this, but what's next after UWC?
Since UWC only offer PRe-U scholarship,i afraid that i don't have the money to support my undergrad / University studies.Though I have read through the 2 posts in Tinkosong, i still have the doubt. What if i really can't get any financial aid right after UWC?
poirot1989
06-03-2008, 01:27 AM
Well, I understand your plight but i would suggest you to take things one step at a time. Do apply for the UWC scholarship, or any scholarship for that matter...even small ones: taylors, inti, sunway.
While you're in Pre-U, many doors will open. One option is to directly apply to the university that you want to attend for financial aid. You can also start trying scholarships from countries that open up to foreigners. For example Singapore. There are scholarships from GIC, Monetary Authority of Singapore, Economic Development Board etc. Maybe you can try Asean too....who knows, if you do well, they might just offer you to stay on.
If you're still in dilemma, I would suggest you to just go through a short pre-U course first. Identify the course you want to pursue and see if there are any private companies offering scholarships.
Thanks bert for mentioning UWC again.
I am interested in this, but what's next after UWC?
Since UWC only offer PRe-U scholarship,i afraid that i don't have the money to support my undergrad / University studies.Though I have read through the 2 posts in Tinkosong, i still have the doubt. What if i really can't get any financial aid right after UWC?
poirot1989 is right. There are many doors that are still and will open while you do your Pre-U (choosing a good pre-u program, however, is another thing). I think one big failure of many Malaysians is the inability to see past JPA/Petronas and actively search for more scholarship opportunities.
If you(as in not you, but in SPM students in general) continue to search for excuses not to find out more and apply for positions, it's only your loss in the end. The information and opportunities are out there, whether or not you would like to take the initiative and risk to actively seek them out, is another issue.
Let me reiterate, not getting JPA and Petronas or Bank Negara isn't the end of the world, not if you go about being smart about it. Too many students bank all their hopes on these popular scholarships and don't put enough effort into looking for more opportunities, ending up disappointing themselves in the end. You DON'T want to be one of them. I'm sure most of you will have read a poem called the Road not Taken by Robert Frost, a former student of Dartmouth College. The Road(s) are out there. Look for them.
Also, here's a link that may or may not help on what's out there after Pre-U.
http://tinkosong.com/2007/12/15/tinkosong-series-on-us-universities-and-applications/
Azure
06-03-2008, 01:28 PM
I am interested in uwc as well so I asked for one of my teacher's opinion.This is what she told me:
As I know, uwc is an international college and they gather the best student in the world. I know you are an excellent student but malaysian education system do not cater to those who are outstanding or even the opposite, while in overseas such as singapore they would pick out those who are better and train them since they are small so they have an advantage when they go to colleges such as uwc. Even a student as good as you are, I am not sure that if you will be able to catch up with them in such a short time. My worries is that will you be able to shine on your own while competing with the best from all over the world and in the end, will be you able to get into good university with full scholarship?
After listening to her opinion, I became even more confused...
I am interested in uwc as well so I asked for one of my teacher's opinion.This is what she told me:
As I know, uwc is an international college and they gather the best student in the world. I know you are an excellent student but malaysian education system do not cater to those who are outstanding or even the opposite, while in overseas such as singapore they would pick out those who are better and train them since they are small so they have an advantage when they go to colleges such as uwc. Even a student as good as you are, I am not sure that if you will be able to catch up with them in such a short time. My worries is that will you be able to shine on your own while competing with the best from all over the world and in the end, will be you able to get into good university with full scholarship?
After listening to her opinion, I became even more confused...
I'm sure your teacher is well-meaning and she does indeed have validity to her concerns. As with any significant transition in your life, things might be hard at times when you're around so many accomplished people, but as with any type of challenge, it is also an opportunity for learning and reflection. I know this all sounds wishy-washy right now, but I'm sorry I can't explain further as I'm on a tight deadline with finals within the week. PM me if you want more details and I might get back to you depending on how things go with finals and spring break trips coming up and all that.
If your short term goal in life is just to get into a good university, well maybe UWC isn't the best place to be then since there is a measure of uncertainty involved. As far as I remember, most of the people who went to UWC from Malaysia in the recent past came from public schools, and even some from small town areas like Sekinchan or Alor Setar. While your teacher is being perfectly reasonable, many people from similar public school backgrounds have walked the same path and benefited greatly from it. It really is up to you what you make of your time there. If you have a passion for learning new things, volunteering in the community, participating in new activities (eg: Blacksmithing, Forest Service, Search and Rescue, Wilderness Leadership, just to name a few), and are genuinely interested in getting to know different people and cultures on a deeper level, UWC might just be the best thing for you, as it was for me.
On the other hand, if are just focused on getting good grades in order to get into a good university and then get into a high-paying job which leads you to looking for a good spouse and then spending your time sitting at home and enjoying your money - which for most of my life I thought to be the Malaysian dream (coming from middle-class PJ after all), then maybe, just maybe, UWC might not be a place you want to waste time at doing all this 'hippy, idealistic, save the world' stuff. You should probably then look for schools like the US Prep schools of Philips Exeter, Andover, Choate Rosemary etc. or the British boarding schools like Eton, Harrow, Rugby etc. which send more students to the Ivy Leagues and Oxbridge. I have a close friend from the Philippines who attended one of the above mentioned US prep schools on a full scholarship as an international student, so don't go telling me that it's totally impossible and it's only for rich people.
So yes, UWC is a different, perhaps more mysterious road to go down on. Those with the passion, drive, and adventurous spirit take the leap, and most end up doing well. Just some general advice about things after SPM: You are now out of the Malaysian education public schooling system, and are now free to make more choices in life. Take this opportunity to investigate opportunities and to discover yourself and what you want in life. Don't just listen to all the uncles and aunties who have suddenly become experts in higher educational opportunities and on how to succeed in life, because from my experience, some of them know nuts... It is time to grow-up (I mean it in a good way), and learn to evaluate things from your own perspective and decide what your goal in life is.
Azure
07-03-2008, 02:05 PM
Thanks bert for the advice, I guess I know how to make the right choice already, as this is my life and I am the one who will make the final decision.
kaixin90
17-03-2008, 12:45 AM
so are you saying that khazanah is actually much harder to get compared to jpa?
17-03-2008, 01:18 AM
so are you saying that khazanah is actually much harder to get compared to jpa?
YES, absolutely
vinnie90
21-03-2008, 11:43 PM
thx mei yueh(brucesharky) for sharing her xperience during the interviews..
Like khazanah, UEM is also offering overseas scholarship..
Any 1 knows how the interview for Yayasan TM and UEM is conducted?
Ca3ine
03-04-2008, 11:18 PM
question:4 the asean scholar how cum when i wanna type my ic num in the excel format very funni....help!!!!!
Jeryliza
05-04-2008, 12:16 PM
I'm sorry I can't help about the Asean application...
But I just want to ask, what other scholarships are available for application currently for SPM 2007 graduates? I failed to obtain BNM and most probably will not get JPA cuz I did badly in the interview. Would appreciate it very much if anyone can let me know about other opportunities available besides the ones mentioned here before. Thanks.
http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/ try this ..it is the japanese government scho.larship
you can also try astro scholarship award ..it is open now.
Aries
05-04-2008, 03:22 PM
Try Gamuda Scholarship and other colleges scholarship eg: Taylors, SEGi,INTI etc. Never give up hope k? There're still plenty of opportunities. Good Luck ya!
Jeryliza
05-04-2008, 05:10 PM
Thanks for the suggestions! I've already applied for an INTI merit scholarship, though it's just for local studies. Guess I'll have to see where it takes me...Hope to apply for more scholarships after completing my foundation in business :)
BTW, here's a scholarship for those interested in IT and techonology related courses:
2007 Google Australia Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship (http://www.scholarship-colleges.com/Australia_Scholarship_Google_Australia_Anita_Borg_Memorial_Scholarship.html)
kaixin90
07-04-2008, 01:57 PM
http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/ try this ..it is the japanese government scho.larship
you can also try astro scholarship award ..it is open now.
did u apply for that too?
the form is quite hard to fill... anyway the deadline is 11th april so u can still take your time to fill in the form... hehe
did u apply for that too?
the form is quite hard to fill... anyway the deadline is 11th april so u can still take your time to fill in the form... hehe
yeah i applied for that ... you r right the form so hard to fill..what's more i am typing on it!!!
ronaldo7
07-04-2008, 02:30 PM
yeah i applied for that ... you r right the form so hard to fill..what's more i am typing on it!!!
where to get the astro scholarship form?
07-04-2008, 03:05 PM
where to get the astro scholarship form?
The astro scholarships sre not meant for we spm leaver.all the course that are available are Bachelor degree .
The details are as follow:
ELIGIBILITY:
1. The Astro Scholarship Award(s) is offered by Measat Broadcast Network Systems Sdn Bhd (?Astro?) to any Malaysian citizen aged 35 and below (at time of application submission), who is a qualified Astro Subscriber (as defined below). Anyone applying for the Astro Scholarship Award(s) to pursue a degree course in Malaysia must, at time of application submission, have gained admission into local universites which are recognised by the Civil Service Department of Malaysia (Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam Malaysia) to pursue a full time undergraduate or graduate degree programme in the discipline of (i) Engineering, (ii) Computer Science, (iii) Science (iv) Humanities and (v) Performing Arts that are related to the media and broadcasting industry.
Anyone applying for the Astro Scholarship Award(s) to pursue a degree course at a foreign universitiy need not fulfil the condition of having gained admission into the said foreign university at time of application submission, but must have gained admission into the foreign university at the time when the Astro Scholarship is awarded.
Definition: Astro Subscriber is defined as an individual (or their immediate family members - legal spouse and legal children) aged 35 and below who is currently an Astro subscriber and has been subscribing to the Astro service for a minimum period of one (1) year prior to the date of the application submission date and maintains a good payment record for his/her Astro subscription account.
SCHOLARSHIP COVERAGE
2. The Astro Scholarship Award (s) will cover tuition and lodging, medical and health insurance, travel and internship expenses.
TERMS AND CONDITIONS
3. The applicant must have a good command of written and spoken English.
4. The applicant must not be bonded to other institutions or organisations.
5. The successful applicant shall not, without prior written consent of Astro, accept any other scholarships or forms of financial aid from other sources whatsoever while his/her agreement with Astro is still in force.
6. The Astro Scholarship Award(s) is subject to (i) the terms and conditions stated in the scholarship and bond agreement which the successful applicant(s) and his/her guarantors* are required to enter with Astro; and (ii) the successful applicant(s) passing a medical examination at any one of Astro?s panel clinics/hospitals.
*Note: Two (2) guarantors are required for each successful applicant and the guarantors must be parents or siblings to the successful applicant.
7. Each applicant is responsible for all cost incurred in the course of applying for the Astro Scholarship Award(s).
8. Astro shall not be liable in any way for any costs, expenses, damages, liability or injury arising out of or in any way connected with the Astro Scholarship Award(s).
9. Astro reserves the right, at its sole and absolute discretion, to use the names, photographs, voice or video recordings of the applicant(s) and/or representatives without first obtaining any consent nor making any payment whatsoever to the applicant(s) and/or representatives for publicity, advertising, trade or promotion purposes.
10. Astro shall not be responsible or liable for any problem, loss or damage of whatsoever nature suffered by the applicant(s) due to any delay and/or failure in submitting his/her application online as a result of any network, communication or system error, interruption and/or failure experienced by the applicant?s internet service provider and/or by Astro. In the event of such error, interruption and/or failure, Astro shall not be responsible or liable for any failure by any applicant(s) to participate in the Astro Scholarship Award(s) any time.
11. Astro reserves the right to amend, delete or add to these Terms and Conditions without prior notice at any time at its sole and absolute discretion and the applicants shall be bound to such changes.
12. Astro reserves the right to cancel, modify, suspend, delay or withdraw its offer of the Astro Scholarship Award(s) in the event of unforeseen circumstances beyond its reasonable control.
13. All decisions of Astro in any matter in relations to the Astro Scholarship Award(s) shall be final and no discussion or correspondence will be entertained.
14. The applicants must complete all details requested by Astro as stated on Astro?s website and submit the same online via www.astro.com.my on or before 11.59 p.m. on the respective closing dates as detailed on the website. Only applications submitted online shall be accepted. Proof of online submission is not proof of receipt.
15. Only short-listed applicants will be notified by post or telephone call for an interview.
16. The short-listed applicants must bring his/her original certificates during the interview.
The application form can be obtained on http://www.astro.com.my/astrolife/scholarship/sample_form_v5.asp
It is just a sample form..the application of this scholarships must be make online.