View Full Version : Future Pathway Post SPM
OTS_Nexus
23-01-2008, 02:24 AM
Hi everyone, i'm already finished my SPM 2007. Currently, i'm not able to make up my mind about which pathway to take. STPM? A-level? Or going for pre-u in Singapore?
I'm a science stream student and I've taken a total of 13 subjects in my SPM, which include additional subjects like ICT and Chinese Literature. I took this 2 extra subjects because i'm interested in them. I'm confident that i'll get at least 10As when the results come out.
Now i'm not sure which pathway is the most suitable for me. As i'm very interested and having potential in computer field, i wanna pursue computer-related course after entering university. I also wish to study in Singapore in future. But prior to that, i dunno whether i should choose STPM or A-level...
For STPM, i heard that it's the 2nd hardest exam in the world, and have to take MUET which only recognised in Malaysia. I'm also not like the Pengajian Am subject which use Malay language. But the advantage of STPM is that it's all free.
For A-level, it can be a bit expensive, but if the college provide scholarships, then it wont be a problem for me. However it's compulsory to take LAN subjects, which are Moral Studies and Malaysian Studies. The advantage is that it is recognised internationally.
For pre-u (A-level) in Singapore, the tuition fees are very expensive. However its quality is better than our country. Furthermore i have relatives living there, so the accomodation would not be a problem. The subjects provide also include computing which is my favourite. The only thing required is to get a scholarship as a financial support.
After considering for such a long time, i'm still not able to make up my mind and not sure which pathway best suit me...
Hope that everyone here would like to give me some comments, thanks very much!!!
Moderator Note: Corrected grammar of the title. ~youngyew
Take A Level.
That's what the majority are doing. Of course majority does not imply correct but at least, but still .... >_>
Seriously speaking, STPM is HARD. Pre-U in Singapore might not be so much better too because Singaporeans are generally very competitive and I believe that the syllabus taught there are pretty tough too.
So if you want the easiest way out, choose A-Level. It is cheaper than Pre-U in Singapore, it is easier than STPM, it is recognized internationally, it is widely available in any private colleges, and it is very popular among Malaysians.
23-01-2008, 08:49 PM
If you're not aiming for public universities locally, and you are relatively well financed, you should persue A-levels.
I am an A level graduate and I believe it adequately prepares you for most courses you are going for.
While STPM may be difficult, it is good because you get more preparation. However, seeing how people are treated when they apply for Uni even with good results, I don't see the point of going through so much trouble.
STPM is recognised in most overseas universities that I've read about but i can't confirm for you.
Good luck, and may you find your way through this mess. :)
By the way, I may not be the best person to say this but you need to brush up on your grammar ;P
jane_gun
23-01-2008, 09:24 PM
Hi! I posted a reply to your other question. HELP UC offers scholarships for A-Levels and computing's one of the subjects offered (if I'm not mistaken - I completed my A-Levels there back in 2005 when the subject was still offered and may still be)... The syllabus taught in Malaysia and Singapore doesn't vary much as they're based on the same examination board(s), so it doesn't really matter... =)
ice111
30-01-2008, 10:23 PM
I am a form 6 student waiting for my stpm result
woh u took 13 subjects if u got all a1 with good cocuriculallar activity e.g state sportsman or even champion in some national quiz or a gold medallist of ollympiad comp i pretty sure u will get a scholarships from malaysia gov :) , if not the singapore governemetn will be very happy to offer u to join them!!!
well what can i say about form 6 is intersting* form 6 is really really different from spm pmr upsr where jsut memorising all the facts will get u an a1 but not stpm u memorise everything u will die in the exam stpm develops ur analytical skills where ur are not spoonfed for every question instead u need to think and apply the concept of what u have learnt that what makes form 6 interesting!!!
so the final question is whether ur are fiinancially firm or not if yes just go a lvl or oversea to continue ur studies otherwise u may try out form 6 an experience that u will never learn anywhere else
TheArtOfMedicine
30-01-2008, 11:02 PM
The problem with form 6 is..the teachers aren't that well prepared in conducting classes with English as the medium of conversation. Most of the teachers are just too used to using BM in their classes, it's the transition period that makes it vulnerable. Other than that, form 6 IS a really tough course that deserves a better reputation than it has.(less popular among form 5 leavers etc)
kintaro_kun
30-01-2008, 11:42 PM
Other than that, form 6 IS a really tough course that deserves a better reputation than it has.(less popular among form 5 leavers etc)
it is less popular among form 5 leavers not because it is less prestigious(since when prestige is awarded to high school certs?), but it is a really tough course. its blessing is also its curse. however, not everyone who skipped form 6 for other pre-uni studies are less intelligent though. i know of many folks who are very very smart and will get at least a stpm CGPA of 4.00 preferred to skip form 6 coz they didnt want to spend 2 years of their lives in high schools trying to earn that school leaving cert to go to IPTAs anyway. they just couldnt be bothered of the hassle.
TheArtOfMedicine
31-01-2008, 01:02 PM
Umm..regarding the prestige of Form 6 comment, was that directed to me?
I just checked my previous post and i think i didn't mention anything about prestige?
bluez_aspic
31-01-2008, 01:50 PM
Umm..regarding the prestige of Form 6 comment, was that directed to me?
Kintaro occassionally barks and bites, but there's no malice in this one.
That Form 6 is tough (relative to other alternatives) is but a well-perpetuated myth. The difficulty lies in the extensive syllabus, and the egregiously designed exams (e.g. the very anal Pengajian Am paper). Form 6 enjoys international recognition on par with A-levels, but I'm sure Singapore would offer greater opportunities and be a formative experience (even if it might not necessarily be a happy one) - i.e. a REAL education.
kintaro_kun
31-01-2008, 06:49 PM
that deserves a better reputation than it has.
i had enough of reputed unis, pretigious unis, top-ranked unis arguments, now we're extending reputation to high school leaving certs? whats next? some msian kindergarten leaving certs more "prestigious", "better reputation" than thailand's kindergarten leaving certs?
no offense, just to clarify my position.
ice111
31-01-2008, 09:12 PM
Dude , STPM is always di " anak tiri " kan not many people talk about it , whenever people talk about it is STPM is tough and it is a road not taken...
theartofmedicine , u think teacher is the greatest problem?
i think when we go to university or a lvl , u think the teacher will help us a lot?
i guess most of us will be teacher ourselves and teach ourselves instead of relying on teacher...we just too dependent on teacher for spoonfeeding us that is malaysia education system... :(
31-01-2008, 09:53 PM
go for a-levels. Never opt for foundation programme.
01-02-2008, 02:08 AM
go for a-levels. Never opt for foundation programme.any reasons? sometimes a foundation programme can better prepare you for the course ahead of you in the college...
TheArtOfMedicine
01-02-2008, 10:38 AM
OK, i dare not present any of my personal opinions here, but i did mention that STPM IS tough, and apparently harder than A levels. However, there aren't many people taking STPM around the globe, and that's why it isn't known to most people overseas, whereas it's a different story when you talk about A levels. Just to remind you,kintaro kun, i NEVER mentioned the word ''prestige'' in my previous post, check it before you comment, and don't direct it to the wrong person.
To ice111, in A levels, lecturers DON'T spoon feed us anymore(that's how they do it in my college), we're only taught the ideas that we have to know, and teachers no longer give us notes etc. I personally go online to search for extra information to in\mprove my understanding in the subjects. On the other hand, my friends who're taking STPM are still receiving lots of hand-outs, we can't omit the fact that grades are the most important thing in our malaysian education system, therefore, it's quite sad to see STPM falling prey to it.
ice111
01-02-2008, 10:55 PM
On the other hand, my friends who're taking STPM are still receiving lots of hand-outs, we can't omit the fact that grades are the most important thing in our malaysian education system, therefore, it's quite sad to see STPM falling prey to it.
that malaysia education system can't blame
everyone want to have good grades if they fail to get it , the teachers will be summoned to the HM office...
perhaps , the education system should change no longer so rigid...
u think it is possible in our society?
01-02-2008, 11:59 PM
go for a-levels. Never opt for foundation programme.any reasons? sometimes a foundation programme can better prepare you for the course ahead of you in the college...
Yea, indeed foundation programme is better under certain circumstances. But, your future options are limited especially in major and university wise. Nonetheless, if you are really keen on foundation programme, then go for those well-renowned universities such as the Group of 8 in Australia. Make sure that Curtin is the last choice in your list. :P
seiken
02-02-2008, 12:09 AM
If you have financial problems, you can choose STPM. But beware of the Matriculation program! They have more students with a CGPA of 4.0. And more than 80% of the seats for critical courses are reserved for Matriculation students.
If you are well to do, better take A-levels instead. Fairer system and internationally recognized. Don't suffer in STPM and get nothing in return. But you won't get a seat in local uni lah of course.
P/s: Sorry for Recommers who are taking Matriculation. No offence here but I'm just telling the truth. My comments are not directed against the students but the SYSTEM itself..
For STPM, i heard that it's the 2nd hardest exam in the world, and have to take MUET which only recognised in Malaysia. I'm also not like the Pengajian Am subject which use Malay language. But the advantage of STPM is that it's all free.
It is hard. That's what makes STPM four-flatters awesome. Singaporean universities look high upon STPM candidates. If you're applying for conventional courses to a Singaporean university with a 4.0, you would most probably get the offer, provided you have sufficient band in MUET, most of the times, at least Band 5.
For your information, Singaporean universities require MUET for STPM students while for A-Level students, I suppose, they require IELTS. So, taking MUET is not a waste. (MUET is easy)
In fact, PA is one of the most treasured subjects in STPM. By taking PA, you get to exercise your mind to the greatest extent, especially for the essay part. PA does not stress much on the beauty of the language used. As long as the tatabahasa and all that are correct, language should not be a problem. Just think that, hey, this is my last time using Malay...
Lastly, it is not 'the' advantage. It should be 'one of the'. You can ask anyone who has taken STPM (I mean taken by heart, not those who go to class only to sleep), almost everyone would say that STPM has changed them, or I would say, bettered them. Nothing good comes easy. It is only a 1.5-year study routine. Bear it.
For A-Level, it is costly, in terms of tuition fees and exam fees. To me, it is redundant to put A-Level as one of the alternatives since we've got STPM here. If you're so rich that you find no better place to sink your money, then go for it. Bear in mind, the A-Level in Malaysia is, in a sense, MUCH inferior than its counterpart in Singapore. Not all A-Levels are the same, that in Hong Kong is also different. One thing still is, pathetically an uninformed fact, that STPM is recognized also as an official entrance exam to most of the foreign universities(but not US).
A bad thing about A-Level is that, for those who are financially unable, and who, after getting the results, are not led to sufficient financial aids, he/she would end up nowhere good. Better reputed private universities are usually expensive (and stingy) while the public universities, which are generally perceived as the better universities than the private universities do not develop an interest to A-Level holder.
For pre-u (A-level) in Singapore, the tuition fees are very expensive. However its quality is better than our country.
Facility-wise, lecturer-wise, Singaporean JCs are better. But if you're trying to say that the quality of Singaporean A-Level is better than that of our STPM, that is incorrect. Their syllabi are slightly different in a way that STPM covers some topics not covered in Sing. A-Level, vice versa. No serious comparison can be made here.
bluez_aspic
02-02-2008, 06:56 AM
In fact, PA is one of the most treasured subjects in STPM. By taking PA, you get to exercise your mind to the greatest extent, especially for the essay part.
Sure, when questions are arbitrarily picked from a huge volume of potential ones, and whatever essay points that are not listed in the official marking criteria are shot down.
I hope that was sarcasm at its finest.
Facility-wise, lecturer-wise, Singaporean JCs are better. But if you're trying to say that the quality of Singaporean A-Level is better than that of our STPM, that is incorrect. Their syllabi are slightly different in a way that STPM covers some topics not covered in Sing. A-Level, vice versa.
But surely a good education has little to do with the school syllabus! It's about being inspired, exposure to ideas, interacting with people, broadening of horizons, to have qualitative change stimulated - otherwise any decent student could have easily holed themselves up in their room and finish the STPM syllabus in half a year.
I don't really see the point of studying an extensive syllabus too - SPM would have provided some rudimentary knowledge; if you're to pursue programming then Quantum Mechanics certainly doesn't come into play; if you're to pursue Physics then you'd be cramming the entire STPM syllabus in 15-18 weeks anyway.
TheArtOfMedicine
02-02-2008, 12:56 PM
Well, you know what my answer is going to be, don't you?
Anyway, who am i to criticise STPM while i myself isn't taking it. There're lots of very smart STPM students out there and i really respect them.
I just can't get myself to agree with you about the spoon feed statement, i WAS spoon fed during my Form 5 studies, but that is no longer applicable to me, as an A level student.
Besides, teacher is definitely crucial in the delivery of knowledge in Education. Some teachers couldn't express themselves well, thus making it hard to describe or explain a process/mechanism effectively. It takes time to transform, and it's a fact.
FOne thing still is, pathetically an uninformed fact, that STPM is recognized also as an official entrance exam to most of the foreign universities(but not US).
STPM is recognised. It is a grade 12 school leaving cert.
02-02-2008, 08:33 PM
STPM is recognized worldwide, right? Even Germany's universities do accept.
02-02-2008, 08:43 PM
STPM is recognized worldwide, right? Even Germany's universities do accept.Yes it is accepted everywhere...
TheArtOfMedicine
03-02-2008, 10:09 AM
It is accepted world-wide and i have NO doubt about it, however it's not so well-known. OK, i have to make myself clear first, i don't mean it's not recognised, but most people don't KNOW about it. It doesn't really matter when it comes to University application as the admissions tutor are trained/supposed to know most of the international qualification. Besides, i'm quite sure all those Universities that Malaysia recognises will know about STPM, or else how the hell are those JPA scholars going to Germany for engineering?
03-02-2008, 11:33 AM
Am bringing this topic to the front page, as it provides a discussion between various path after SPM.
So, lets have a healthy discussion on this, and lets help fellow ReComers to make decision (of course, final decision should be done by each student himself or herself) on furthering studies.
Fellow ReComers, do post questions here in ReCom.org!
kintaro_kun
03-02-2008, 02:42 PM
or else how the hell are those JPA scholars going to Germany for engineering?
not all JPA scholars do STPM.
In fact, none does. JPA scholarships are meant for SPM leavers. Those JPA scholars do AUSMAT, A-Levels, or such.
04-02-2008, 02:01 AM
I have another suggestion here.. What my friend did was going for Form 6 tuition classes after SPM. He really learns quite a lot . That is 1 of the reasons he did well in the college .
Do have a try and spend your time wisely
It is accepted world-wide and i have NO doubt about it, however it's not so well-known. OK, i have to make myself clear first, i don't mean it's not recognised, but most people don't KNOW about it. It doesn't really matter when it comes to University application as the admissions tutor are trained/supposed to know most of the international qualification. Besides, i'm quite sure all those Universities that Malaysia recognises will know about STPM, or else how the hell are those JPA scholars going to Germany for engineering?
I feel that the STPM should not be debated on the basis of recognition vs popularity. The STPM is understood as a pre-university program for Malaysian students primarily for those aiming for a place at a public university. Similarly, we can't argue that the Canadian Year 12 or the US Year 12 is globally 'known'. However, most (if not all) are well aware that every education system has a pre-university program or an equivalent set-up.
German universities (and many others) may or may not have heard of the 4-letter-combination of STPM, mainly because the acronym does not represent any English word. But, they (and everyone else) are aware that there exist a pre-university program in Malaysia for Malaysians.
Hi everyone, i'm already finished my SPM 2007. Currently, i'm not able to make up my mind about which pathway to take. STPM? A-level? Or going for pre-u in Singapore?
etc....
There is a pertinent question you have to ask yourself first. Do you or your family have the resources to finance your tertiary education at a private university (local or abroad) ?
If you have sufficient financial backing, then i suppose you definitely have many options to choose from. It would be best for you to decide on which country you would be aiming for a tertiary education and realistically match with your pre-university program.
However, if the opposite is true, then i believe that it would be best for you to concentrate on the STPM. This will keep the option open for you to get into a public university. Besides, the STPM-option does not close the doors to foreign universities as explained earlier.
G'd Luck.
05-02-2008, 01:27 PM
I faced the situation as u did b4.. but I hv no choice : either get a scholarship or STPM. Bcoz my parents cant afford me for private education, wat more studying overseas.. luckily I was offered small bunch of scholarships and I can choose wat I wan ..
IMO, wait for ur result out 1st. wait n then apply for scholarships n STPM. However, if we arent in the same condition, where u may come frm a rich family, I do think that studying in Singapore can make u a better person, in term of competitiveness. I can see the great improvements in my younger bro who is studying in Singapore..but he goes on sch0larship too..
juz make decision according to ur financial condition ..
05-02-2008, 01:49 PM
It is accepted world-wide and i have NO doubt about it, however it's not so well-known. OK, i have to make myself clear first, i don't mean it's not recognised, but most people don't KNOW about it. It doesn't really matter when it comes to University application as the admissions tutor are trained/supposed to know most of the international qualification. Besides, i'm quite sure all those Universities that Malaysia recognises will know about STPM, or else how the hell are those JPA scholars going to Germany for engineering?As said by a few posters before me, every country in the world recognizes a high school certificate whether it's STPM(Malaysia), SAT(The US), SAM(Australia) or Arbitur(Germany). Hey, I know a lot of people from various corners of the world who have qualifications that no Malaysian knows to exist.
Sure STPM is hard, but in terms of preparation, it is a lot better than the other pre-uni certs in terms of the knowledge and applications available. Studies had also showed the STPM and A-Levels leavers do a lot better in universities than those who had graduated from the Matriculation or the foundation programs.
The proverb "work hard first, enjoy later" applies aptly here ;)
05-02-2008, 03:48 PM
If you have financial problems, you can choose STPM. But beware of the Matriculation program! They have more students with a CGPA of 4.0. And more than 80% of the seats for critical courses are reserved for Matriculation students.
If you are well to do, better take A-levels instead. Fairer system and internationally recognized. Don't suffer in STPM and get nothing in return. But you won't get a seat in local uni lah of course.
P/s: Sorry for Recommers who are taking Matriculation. No offence here but I'm just telling the truth. My comments are not directed against the students but the SYSTEM itself..
Did STPM tat really bad? opting stpm does not guarantee you a local uni just because of matrikulation? or u mean choosing a level does not guarantee u a local uni??
05-02-2008, 03:56 PM
Currently think tat u should try to apply asean scholarships. but unfortunately it is overdue. tat scholarships dateline is in april 2007. but i kindly advice u try to find other singaporean scholarships since u r interested on studying in singapore. singapore is really a good place to further your study but it is a little bit competence. i have apply 4 the asean scholarships last year, but fail to get . Almost all my classmates also being eliminated. seem like the scholarships is very tough to get.
05-02-2008, 05:11 PM
Well, there is a degree of favoritism in the selection process for public universities. But don't let that bog you down, your skills learn during the years in form 6 won't go to waste...
As for A-Levels, you are destined to go overseas or take programs from other universities if you take it. The local public universities don't accept A-Levels as an entry level certificate...
05-02-2008, 05:17 PM
But, private universities or colleges do accept A -level...
05-02-2008, 07:58 PM
But, private universities or colleges do accept A -level...Not all can afford going to private universities in Malaysia...