View Full Version : KBU FAQ
I deleted the previous one because it contained a lot more spams than useful posts.
Here's the deal.
If you have specific information about KBU (like food, accommodation, transports), post them here.
If you wish to discuss about certain courses/classes/options(whatever this means to you), do it here.
If you wish to just have a conversation with a fellow KBU student, I recommend you to post a separate thread here. (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=51)
Again as a reminder, no spams/flames/bash/double-posting/triple-posting.
Now, discuss away.
03-02-2008, 08:24 PM
walao..mod u simply remove our thread like tat .. T.T
wat useful oso gone.. and our KBU stundents' sweet memories.. wuaahahahah :(
u bad gal . blek
04-02-2008, 12:52 AM
sometimes, while we are chatting, we share information as well..
05-02-2008, 01:22 PM
tat's right tat's right... mods cant expect us juz to discuss, with every sentences we typed full of wisdom n info.. it's juz like forcing a baby to study study n study without fun.. :roll:
07-02-2008, 02:59 AM
Actually, we can't do anything except complaining here..
SO, what's the next step?
07-02-2008, 09:34 PM
wat can we do ? we r nt mods...
so..juz keep on luh.. till another of our threads being.. removed..
:idea: :arrow: :?: :?: :?:
07-02-2008, 10:24 PM
Wana open another thread in somewhere else?
08-02-2008, 12:48 PM
juz open luh.. it shd be in Education, isnt it ?
=D
Wrong wrong wrong.
You were wrong.
I won't talk about other mods, but I can explain my actions.
I participate in several forums myself and I am a staff in most of the forums that I join.
One of the biggest problems that every forum suffers is the amount of spam. Spam not only eats the bandwidth away, it also hinders the people from getting actual useful information off the thread.
Possible solutions to the spam problem are always:
Disable postcount to discourage people from spamming
Create a special thread for people to spam and let the useful thread in tact.
With the current phpbb 2.0, I have not been able to install a hack to disable post count so I can only resort to the second method.
So, if you really need a place to just talk, I suggest somewhere else other than the education section. The FAQ is informational and not meant to be just convos between members of forum.
I don't expect long and wise posts every single time from members but I don't tolerate spams in useful threads too.
You said about how sometimes you share information when you chat. I agree with that. If you can chat while sharing information, it is fine. However, what I saw were mostly just convos that don't benefit the overall thread.
In other forums that I manage, staffs are generally very strict towards spam. First offense results in a warning. Second offense results in a 3 days ban. Third offense results in 1 week ban. Further offenses can result in permanent ban too.
However, the staff here has not even PM you any warning. So we are really trying to not be mean here. :D
You might feel offended and you might think that I'm a Nazi here. Perhaps I am. If that's the case, my apologies. I have no intention to create a ruckus but I just want to keep the threads clean so that newbies can find the information that they want easily without having to browse through pages of chatting. :wink:
Again, as I said, if you really need to chat, go somewhere else other than education section. Go to SIG chatting or somewhere else that is meant for chatting. You can also chat in the chatting thread I made too. Just not here.
Sorry for the inconvenience. I just want what's best for the forum.
then bolehkah saya tanya..
ada apa kat dalam kbu?
fren saya mau pi sana...
boleh share ka?
08-02-2008, 06:55 PM
Leen : it's very nice of u =)
if only there are someone to extract all the infos shared in the forum n make it in a website form ..
09-02-2008, 01:24 AM
editted..
09-02-2008, 03:46 AM
To Leen:
I find that you also deleted other colleges' threads (like Taylors, KTT,etc)..
Yet, I find that there are also quite a lot of so-called spam in the Cemara/ Akasia thread. Why don't you do the same thing you did to other colleges?
Besides that, you should just lock the so-called spam threads instead of deleting them. This is for future reference..
I have a better solution.. I agree with what Jet Lee said.. Extract and summarise the information from certain thread b4 doing anything..
My 2 cents
To Leen:
I find that you also deleted other colleges' threads (like Taylors, KTT,etc)..
Yet, I find that there are also quite a lot of so-called spam in the Cemara/ Akasia thread. Why don't you do the same thing you did to other colleges?
Besides that, you should just lock the so-called spam threads instead of deleting them. This is for future reference..
I have a better solution.. I agree with what Jet Lee said.. Extract and summarise the information from certain thread b4 doing anything..
My 2 cents
=D
It must have slipped my mind or I did not delete other threads at all. I am not sure if I had actually deleted other threads. >.<
As for Cemara Akasia thread, it is different from other threads. Just look at the first post. It contains a lot of information about the hostel. I do admit that there are lots of spam in other pages but I will not hesitate to delete those useless posts too if I have enough time on my hand. So to answer your question, if it contains information (like the cemara akasia thread), it is not necessary to delete it.
As for extracting information, members can help in doing it too. You don't need to depend on mods to go through 50 pages of spam+information to extract out all the necessary information. If you are wondering how you can contribute to the forum, this is one excellent way to help out.
If you have time, go and create an index of all threads in the education forum. That will be a feat. If you have more time, create an index for each forum. Extract out informations from all FAQs and compile them and put them into a new thread. Then I can delete the old one or lock it up.
So you see, there are ways you can help out around. You can just say "Oh I wish that someone can do the extraction" or you can just go and do the extraction yourself. ^___^
The mods are the the most free people in the world but with the large amount of members that we have, members can definitely contribute to the forum once in a while by doing these usually-hoped-to-be-done-by-mods job. =D We will really appreciate your effort.
As for this thread, there are so many things that you can talk about without spamming it.
Why not assign one person to talk about transportation, another about food, another to discuss the facilities ....and so on? Then you can compile them up and make into a giant FAQ post.
Enjoy ^______^
jaevon
04-06-2008, 12:37 PM
i'll be doing AUSMAT at KBU.july intake.So,i just need to ask u guys:
are the lecturers in KBU good?
is the timetable packed?
wat shud i wear on the first day?very very formal?or jeans?