View Full Version : Botox is haram?

30-01-2008, 08:23 PM
Botox is haram, says Selangor Mufti

MUSLIMS have been advised not to undergo Botox treatments as it is considered haram, reported Berita Harian.

Selangor Mufti Datuk Seri Mohd Tamyes Abdul Wahad said the National Fatwa Council had decided to list the beauty treatment as haram as it had more adverse effects than good.

He said those providing Botox treatments should also stop offering such services.

?People like to do things that they shouldn?t. Do not go against religion for the sake of vanity. There are other ways and products that can make us look beautiful and we need not go against the fatwa,? he said.

From the star http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp

My questions are:

1. Why isn't smoking haram as per determined by the National Fatwa Council?

2. What's the pros and cons of Botox treatment, i.e: what are the health hazards, what are the benefits, are does the risk outweighs the benefits as claimed?

Disclaimer: I am just curious, not intended to offend but intend to understand the reason behind the decision.

31-01-2008, 01:12 AM
Botox is haram, says Selangor Mufti

MUSLIMS have been advised not to undergo Botox treatments as it is considered haram, reported Berita Harian.

Selangor Mufti Datuk Seri Mohd Tamyes Abdul Wahad said the National Fatwa Council had decided to list the beauty treatment as haram as it had more adverse effects than good.

He said those providing Botox treatments should also stop offering such services.

?People like to do things that they shouldn?t. Do not go against religion for the sake of vanity. There are other ways and products that can make us look beautiful and we need not go against the fatwa,? he said.

From the star http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp

My questions are:

2. What's the pros and cons of Botox treatment, i.e: what are the health hazards, what are the benefits, are does the risk outweighs the benefits as claimed?

Disclaimer: I am just curious, not intended to offend but intend to understand the reason behind the decision.1. They smoke as well

2. read: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botox

forEVA
31-01-2008, 01:16 AM
according to Islamic teachings, things that are bad for one's health are considered haram, things such as drugs, alcohol, etc etc. so the only rationale behind smoking isnt being declared haram that i can think of right now is that men in the Fatwa Council around the world smoke, too. but then if smoking is declared haram they will have to quit smoking altogether, n i dont think that they're all too fond of quitting just yet.

simply bcoz botox defies nature. a women in her 50s can look 10 years younger with frequent injections of botox if she's able to afford them. look at oprah winfrey! her skin's as smooth as mine! (:p jk)

so i think what they mean is that u're supposed to look ur age..

*everything written is based solely on my own opinion n what i've read about different religions, in this case, Islam. i know i can be sarcastic but not on this matter, not right now. so no offence, n i stand corrected.

31-01-2008, 01:24 AM
look at oprah winfrey! her skin's as smooth as mine!look at it the other way around, YOU are as old as Oprah? Wow...Hallo Qian Bei :twisted:

Side effects

Side effects can be predicted from the mode of action (muscle paralysis) and chemical structure (protein) of the molecule, resulting broadly speaking in two major areas of side effects: paralysis of the wrong muscle group and allergic reaction. Bruising at the site of injection is a side effect not of the toxin, but rather the mode of administration. In cosmetic use, this means that the client will complain of inappropriate facial expression such as drooping eyelid, uneven smile, loss of ability to close the eye. This will wear off in around 6 weeks. Bruising is prevented by the clinician applying pressure to the injection site, but may still occur, and will last around 7 - 10 days. When injecting the masseter muscle of the jaw, loss of muscle function will result in a loss or reduction of power to chew solid foods. All cosmetic treatments are of limited duration, and can be as short a period as six weeks, but usually one reckons with an effective period of between 3 and 8 months. At the extremely low doses used medicinally, botulinum toxin has a very low degree of toxicity.

31-01-2008, 02:57 AM
Hah why did you put this in social and entertainment corner? :D

Anyway it always intrigues me when people discourage some novel medical treatment / procedure / manoeuvre using the reason "it defies the nature". How can they say it when the whole field of medicine is "against the nature" right from its advent? It's definitely not part of nature where people do biochemical tests to serums to find their LDL level. But nobody seems to have no qualms about doing those things.

31-01-2008, 06:34 AM
Bells Palsy might be the only thing botox was really meant for.

Fatwa wise, Smoking was declared Haram as well, but remember this, Fatwa is an Opinion, not set in stones and those who are Muslims are not required to follow it.
Its more like a Surgeon General warning./

31-01-2008, 02:44 PM
Hah why did you put this in social and entertainment corner? Very Happy

Anyway it always intrigues me when people discourage some novel medical treatment / procedure / manoeuvre using the reason "it defies the nature". How can they say it when the whole field of medicine is "against the nature" right from its advent? It's definitely not part of nature where people do biochemical tests to serums to find their LDL level. But nobody seems to have no qualms about doing those things.

Lol, I don't know where I should create it.. so put here lor.. :P

Let's talk about about 'defying nature' shall we? Why is defying nature bad? I think rejecting something just because it is thought to defy the natural way things should be done/progress is pointless. Something should be rejected because of it's adverse implications.

If someone really wants to adhere to nature, then all cesarean births should be stopped. Antibiotics should be stopped. All surgeries should be stopped.

Botox treatments are pretty much safe from what I read, although the side effects are pretty dramatic..

forEVA
31-01-2008, 06:34 PM
If someone really wants to adhere to nature, then all cesarean births should be stopped. Antibiotics should be stopped. All surgeries should be stopped.

Botox treatments are pretty much safe from what I read, although the side effects are pretty dramatic..
hmm.. i think i've read somewhere that if it's a matter of life n death, or how "defying nature" could heal or improve one's health, then it should be ok. but if it's about looking good as in trying to show-off one's newfound beauty, then it isnt necessary according to them i guess. Islam encourages its woman followers to cover up not showing-off their skin, remember?

then again, i dont see how trying to look good is bad. :p

lols at vseehua.. :evil: :twisted:

31-01-2008, 08:16 PM
I guess encouraging people to going as far as taking poison to paralyse your facial muscles just to look younger should not be encouraged. Although forbidding it totally is quite extreme, I think discouraging it is quite allright. I mean, we should instead encourage people to look after themselves better, and be proud of their age. We should not be afraid to age, it's a normal process.

31-01-2008, 10:05 PM
Fatwa wise, Smoking was declared Haram as well, but remember this, Fatwa is an Opinion, not set in stones and those who are Muslims are not required to follow it.
Its more like a Surgeon General warning./

Agree. User discretion is advised.

01-02-2008, 02:11 AM
lols at vseehua.. :evil: :twisted:Thanks for the compliment :twisted:

It's not bad at all trying to look good. But in a way, using artificial means to look younger can only be considered as lying to yourself. Face the truth, you ARE as old as you look... Not that there are no natural ways to look younger(healthy lifestyle anyone?)

01-02-2008, 10:26 AM
lols at vseehua.. :evil: :twisted:Thanks for the compliment :twisted:

It's not bad at all trying to look good. But in a way, using artificial means to look younger can only be considered as lying to yourself. Face the truth, you ARE as old as you look... Not that there are no natural ways to look younger(healthy lifestyle anyone?)

there's one. Jaafar Onn. He still looks young despite has reached 60 years old.

03-02-2008, 09:42 PM
u look young too ..

04-02-2008, 05:08 AM
u look young too ..too young

Lalala11
06-04-2008, 11:09 PM
In Islam, botox can be used 4 medical purposes (eg: to treat migraines) but not 4 beauty purposes coz it may turn out 2 bring bad effects instead. Also the same with plastic surgery... doing it 2 reconstruct deformed or burned skin, of coz allowed. But for beauty, cannot la. The reason? We should appreciate what God gave us. Everyone's beautiful in their own way naturally. There are people whom others would see as hideous and ugly but in the end get to marry the person they love and live happily.

Wanna stay younger longer? Smile everyday, be happy, dun frown too much and keep a healthy lifestyle. No need other stuff la. =)

06-04-2008, 11:36 PM
In Islam, botox can be used 4 medical purposes (eg: to treat migraines) but not 4 beauty purposes coz it may turn out 2 bring bad effects instead. Also the same with plastic surgery... doing it 2 reconstruct deformed or burned skin, of coz allowed. But for beauty, cannot la. The reason? We should appreciate what God gave us. Everyone's beautiful in their own way naturally. There are people whom others would see as hideous and ugly but in the end get to marry the person they love and live happily.

Wanna stay younger longer? Smile everyday, be happy, dun frown too much and keep a healthy lifestyle. No need other stuff la. =)

I'm sorry but, sometimes, it's easier for you to say than done. Beautiful is not what those melancholic movies like to portray for most people. People do pay more attention to beautiful people. Likewise, 'ugly' people are usually shunned by society. Of course, we can't over generalize but our world is never fair isn't it? 'God' never gave everyone similar things. Yes, there are people whom others would see as hideous and ugly but marry the person they love in the end, but then again, there are also some that do not receive that privilege.

What's the cons of doing plastic surgery/botox to improve one's 'look'?

For some people, they can't smile everyday and be happy because they are not able to face their world.

Digress: the only scientific way to prolong life that's been thoroughly tested is calorie restriction I think. :P

08-04-2008, 06:10 PM
I'm sorry but, sometimes, it's easier for you to say than done. Beautiful is not what those melancholic movies like to portray for most people. People do pay more attention to beautiful people. Likewise, 'ugly' people are usually shunned by society. Of course, we can't over generalize but our world is never fair isn't it? 'God' never gave everyone similar things. Yes, there are people whom others would see as hideous and ugly but marry the person they love in the end, but then again, there are also some that do not receive that privilege.

For some people, they can't smile everyday and be happy because they are not able to face their world. Making yourself look more pleasant to the others is never an offence in my eyes, as long as the side-effects aren't strong enough to harm oneself.

Digress: the only scientific way to prolong life that's been thoroughly tested is calorie restriction I think. :P
Wait! Eathing healthily isn't science?

12-04-2008, 01:35 AM
Making yourself look more pleasant to the others is never an offence in my eyes, as long as the side-effects aren't strong enough to harm oneself.

Wait! Eathing healthily isn't science?

Haha! well, about eating healthily, it doesn't really prolong ur life, it prevents you from dying from disease. I guess I'm thinking in terms of life extension beyond your 'potential' limits? Ok.. i'm talking rubbish now.. :(

12-04-2008, 09:26 AM
Haha! well, about eating healthily, it doesn't really prolong ur life, it prevents you from dying from disease. I guess I'm thinking in terms of life extension beyond your 'potential' limits? Ok.. i'm talking rubbish now.. :(
well, the people who have lived the longest up till now have lived very healthy lives, instead of eating and kind of things that claims to prolong a human's life...

Lalala11
15-04-2008, 03:43 AM

For some people, they can't smile everyday and be happy because they are not able to face their world.

Let me quote christina aguilera's song...
"You are beautiful in every single way...bla bla bla"

Hehehe. Nice song.

Well, i don't know other people lah. But for me, surgery n botox are not necessary if u want to be more beautiful. As i said before, have a healthy lifestyle la better. U eat healthily, u can prevent pimples, rapid ageing, obesity, diseases, n so much more. U exercise, u can stay lean n fit. Then, add a boost of confidence, a kind heart, high morale fibre....voila! U'll be more beautiful than any skinny models u see on magazines. And...u can stay beautiful even when ur 60. All done without botox stuff :)

(Don't blame me for loving biology ok...hehe :P)

Everything has a negative side of it... U can learn bout d side effects by googling. From what I know, people do get infections, muscle paralysis, etc etc from botox.

Well, just my opinion here :wink

21-04-2008, 01:14 PM
well, the people who have lived the longest up till now have lived very healthy lives, instead of eating and kind of things that claims to prolong a human's life...

The irony to the situation is, eating less actually prolongs life.. at least rat's life.. :P

21-04-2008, 01:16 PM
Ah yes, have a vague memory about that, is the theory was something to do with oxidant from food?

21-04-2008, 11:13 PM
It's called calorie restriction. there are many theories to explain it including changes to insulin signaling and reduced free radical production (hence less antioxidant stress). The wikipedia article on it is quite comprehensive.

Hrmm.. no idea how to place links.. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Calorie_restriction#Why_might_CR_increase_longevity.3F

kookyshwaty
21-04-2008, 11:37 PM
moderate is the key to a good health. neither too deprivation nor excessive is good.

22-04-2008, 12:45 AM
i'd rather die young than having a lifetime of controlled diet...

23-04-2008, 04:55 AM
i'd rather die young than having a lifetime of controlled diet...
Then you will be deprived of a life full of wonderful experiences with the other aspects of life ;)

qwerkie
23-04-2008, 04:01 PM
controlled diet? define?

23-04-2008, 05:33 PM
Qwerkie, refer to the link by zeroth above.

Anyway seehua, i think most people would see food as one of the most important experience in life. :P

24-04-2008, 02:36 AM
Qwerkie, refer to the link by zeroth above.

Anyway seehua, i think most people would see food as one of the most important experience in life. :P
It's okie to enjoy once in a while...

But i certainly won't recommend a diet of beers and booze everyday in the bar even if you can afford it... or in that matter, McDs everyday (i'm kinda muak with it d, after having to eat it three times last week while i'm pindah-ing rumah)

alepbing
24-04-2008, 02:49 AM
speaking of botox is haram, it is because it changes your features. In Islam, you must accept everything that God gave you. That is why plucking eyebrows is haram to.
About smoking, there are some Ulamas stated that it is haram. As it is to drugs too. However, some people see smoking as least likely to bring fatality that rapid. I believe that it is nothing about Ulamas smoking.

about diet right... I was kinda chubby when I was 13. and by 15, i became slimmer and more slender. I think its because I'm already matured. but put that aside, i love to eat fast food. and guess what is my weight? 55kg haha, okay not to prance about it but im underweight for some reasons. i tried to eat a lot, but i still cannot put on weight. and at last i found out why its hard for me to put on weight, because i dance a lot. like a lot.
seriously, that is the best way to be in shape. despite all the rubbish you eat, if you dance, you will shake away all the fats! haha.

try to dance, just for a while you know, you may found joging and working out as tiring, so why dont put on some good grooves and dance. madonna's songs are goooood, but play songs of your own preference XDXD

Al-Bert
24-04-2008, 11:37 AM
Botox has its bright side and dark side. For me, it's like caffein or alcohol - a little or moderate intake won't harm!

Ah yes, have a vague memory about that, is the theory was something to do with oxidant from food?

So, would that mean we can eat more without decreasing lifespan as long as we practice the diet which is rich in antioxidant?

24-04-2008, 11:44 AM
Oh no no, do refer to that zeroth's wikipedia link. Basically the calorie restriction thingy aims to improve health and slow the aging process by limiting dietary energy intake. The radical is just one of the theories that explain how it works, but it's not entirely proven.

25-04-2008, 12:42 PM
That's right, in fact, even the whole calorie restriction theory is only seen in rats, apparently it doesn't work for some species.

However, eating foods with high anti-oxidant value may benefit health, although research on the area is lacking. The brain, for example has clearly been seen to perform better if anti-oxidant diets are given (quoting out of my head, need referencing :P). Eating foods such as prunes, raisins, and some nuts were shown to enhance brain efficiency.

speaking of botox is haram, it is because it changes your features. In Islam, you must accept everything that God gave you. That is why plucking eyebrows is haram to.
About smoking, there are some Ulamas stated that it is haram. As it is to drugs too. However, some people see smoking as least likely to bring fatality that rapid. I believe that it is nothing about Ulamas smoking.

I accept that it is religiously wrong in the persepctive of Islam that changing your features is 'haram'. If that is the case, what about putting make-up, lipstick, cutting hair, cutting nails, etc?

About smoking again, I don't think the speed of killing matters, it's the fact that it kills, and on the way to death you are a burden to society and your family.