View Full Version : Jpa 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13

fuwei
27-04-2008, 11:40 PM
may i noe if we are shorlisted for the jpa, did we nid to pay the registration fees for the college we register concern?and how about the miscellaneous fees?

I'm not sure...
but I'm required to pay 300 bucks for UTM under japan engineering JPA.

Oh, dont worry......sometimes i think JPA does'nt really look at income. (I'm pretty sure many will disagree with me) But my fren got JPA scholarship to go to USA even though he's a chinese and household income is 11k+.

If you took part well in the discussion, and you are a Malay(Bumi), your chances are VERY high.

Any bumi with 8A's (does'nt matter whether its A1 or A2) is guaranteed JPA scholarship.

what !!?!? 8As ? How you know that ?

purplesun90
27-04-2008, 11:43 PM
arcording to the JPA scholar of the previous years
almost of the non-bumi need to hav more than 11A1 above to be sucessfully apply for the schorlarship,wat a news like that,it really put my hope drop into the hell....i got 9A1,2A2 and 1b2,it's an excellent among the estate's student but still hav a distance compared to the terror genius in the main city
so i really not put a lot of hope on it and really regret for taken too little subject in my SPM,actually,i suppose to take 16 subject in SPM but as i am the only 1 student who took such a lot of subject in SPM,so i drop some of it,but now i am really regret for it.........:(:(:cry:::mad

jingying
27-04-2008, 11:51 PM
almost of the non-bumi need to hav more than 11A1 above to be sucessfully apply for the schorlarship,wat a news like that,it really put my hope drop into the hell....i got 9A1,2A2 and 1b2,it's an excellent among the estate's student but still hav a distance compared to the terror genius in the main city
so i really not put a lot of hope on it and really regret for taken too little subject in my SPM,actually,i suppose to take 16 subject in SPM but as i am the only 1 student who took such a lot of subject in SPM,so i drop some of it,but now i am really regret for it.........:(:(:cry:cry:mad:mad

more than 11A1?? are u sure? their demand is so high...

purplesun90
28-04-2008, 12:04 AM
more than 11A1?? are u sure? their demand is so high...
hehe,actually i am not sure for it,juz hav some information from the senior, but i think if u apply for medic and is a non-bumi...
tats is wat i know from the senior.....
11A1>>:india
12A1>>:international medical university
13A1>>:western country
but, of course the medic course is the most competitive among all of the courses and if u apply fot others....the conditions maybe not as high like that..
this is y sometime i say that is not fair cause some ppl who got 10A1 for medic can't get it but wif 6 or 7 A1 apply for chinese literature get it(cause only a few of syudent apply for it)...

28-04-2008, 02:11 AM
so i really not put a lot of hope on it and really regret for taken too little subject in my SPM,actually,i suppose to take 16 subject in SPM but as i am the only 1 student who took such a lot of subject in SPM,so i drop some of it,but now i am really regret for it.........:(:(:cry:::mad

We can never be too sure of JPA's criteria. Even if you have more subjects, it might not necessarily translate into a higher chance of securing a scholarship.

purplesun90
28-04-2008, 05:42 AM
We can never be too sure of JPA's criteria. Even if you have more subjects, it might not necessarily translate into a higher chance of securing a scholarship.
actually,i hope u r right but i think the academic performance still hav a big influence on it...

sNaiL0810
28-04-2008, 11:29 AM
may i noe if we are shorlisted for the jpa, did we nid to pay the registration fees for the college we register concern?and how about the miscellaneous fees?

U may need to pay some money as for the deposit of studying in the college I think
(as what i did in Taylor)
But as for Taylor, u can refund once u graduate from the college
For intec, u may need to pay around RM100++ for entrance fee i think
Pardon me if i am wrong
Anyway, the RM100++ is not as much as how much they sponsored u for ur further study

shakira
28-04-2008, 11:49 AM
It is hard to determine especially when its based merely on theory and assumption.For instances,we do not know how many places they allocated and the competition from others applicant as well.It seems your koko is at disadvantage especially when you came from daily school.You really need to hold top post and participated in various activity to compete others especially those from boarding schools.Just hope for the best =) .You're really lucky to be born malay if you manage to secure the scholarship.

yeah.. thanks for the advice. im praying hard to get the scholarship

[QUOTE=Jim;166421]Oh, dont worry......sometimes i think JPA does'nt really look at income. (I'm pretty sure many will disagree with me) But my fren got JPA scholarship to go to USA even though he's a chinese and household income is 11k+.

If you took part well in the discussion, and you are a Malay(Bumi), your chances are VERY high.

is it? i was really bummed when i found out about the income stuff.. very high? thank you...

28-04-2008, 12:49 PM
I acquired 12 A1 and 1A2 for EST. Xtra subjects including Ekonomi Asas and Science, unluckily I only got 3B for my GCE 'O' level. Do I have a chance to get JPA scholarship to have my study in western countries like UK or US? Forget to tell.... that my course being applied is Pharmacy .... Have a higher chance? Please answer me, kind JPA scholars...

cutie
28-04-2008, 12:57 PM
anyone applying for jpa law here? or any jpa law scholar here? i heard that quite few ppl apply or law.so those who apply law have greater chance(if compared o medicine), is this true?

is that gce o level consider an "a1"?

28-04-2008, 12:59 PM
Due to the amount of posts that asked for chances to get JPA based on this and that that is not really relevant to the topic, any post of that nature will be removed without notice after this border.

You will know your odds after the results are annonced...

purplesun90
28-04-2008, 01:10 PM
I acquired 12 A1 and 1A2 for EST. Xtra subjects including Ekonomi Asas and Science, unluckily I only got 3B for my GCE 'O' level. Do I have a chance to get JPA scholarship to have my study in western countries like UK or US? Forget to tell.... that my course being applied is Pharmacy .... Have a higher chance? Please answer me, kind JPA scholars...
what an excellent result like that....be honesty,i am sure to tell u that u really hav a big chance to get the scholarship but i am not mentioned that it is 100% lah,almost 80%>>
as u apply for pharmasy which is less competitive compared to medic course,i am sure u can get it if all "follow"the criteria,even then ur result is qualified for those who apply for medic in western country....anyway ,gud luck to u lah and god bless u always...be relax for it:):):)

jun
28-04-2008, 01:22 PM
Due to the amount of posts that asked for chances to get JPA based on this and that that is not really relevant to the topic, any post of that nature will be removed without notice after this border.

You will know your odds after the results are annonced...

you know wat i agree with Vseehua...its getting a bit annoying already when people keep asking about their chances for the scholarship...hmm the results should be out soon so just wait lah....besides do you actually think that they(our senior jpa scholars) can tell us wat are the chances of us getting the scholarship...you all probably asked that questions just to comfort yourselves...dun do that...ask the jpa officers or probably someone who has the right qualification to tell you about your chances...

anyway coming to my main point....i wanted to ask.....just say i am sent to do my A-levels in KBU instead of INTEC...i will oni be doin it for 1.5 years....hmmm tat means i will be doin a 1 year A-levels...??? and besides i heard that all A-levels programme would be 2 years this year?? any idea of the new system??

28-04-2008, 01:39 PM
anyway coming to my main point....i wanted to ask.....just say i am sent to do my A-levels in KBU instead of INTEC...i will oni be doin it for 1.5 years....hmmm tat means i will be doin a 1 year A-levels...??? and besides i heard that all A-levels programme would be 2 years this year?? any idea of the new system??
I think i forgot to mention that the people who are going to KBU will be doing the SAM programme instead of the A-Levels programme...

qdfb
28-04-2008, 02:20 PM
hehe,actually i am not sure for it,juz hav some information from the senior, but i think if u apply for medic and is a non-bumi...
tats is wat i know from the senior.....
11A1>>:india
12A1>>:international medical university
13A1>>:western country

Well, Jst fyi...Ive gt 2 seniors who are last year's spm students who gt 10a1 n 1a2 n both of them who gt jpa 2 imu....So, its not necessary that u must get 12a1 2 enter imu.

yummyummylicious
28-04-2008, 02:28 PM
I think i forgot to mention that the people who are going to KBU will be doing the SAM programme instead of the A-Levels programme...

mmm, i thought the SAM programme intake is in the early of the year and there's only 2 intake per year...is it true? if yes, then does this means those who join KBU will start schooling next year while those INTEC students will start schooling earlier...???

fuwei
28-04-2008, 02:40 PM

Totally agree.....
We don't know the actual criteria fixed by JPA...
So, don't give any prediction, this may caused unsatisfaction among some people...
Just wait and see....You'll get the scholarship if you really deserve for it

purplesun90
28-04-2008, 02:40 PM
Well, Jst fyi...Ive gt 2 seniors who are last year's spm students who gt 10a1 n 1a2 n both of them who gt jpa 2 imu....So, its not necessary that u must get 12a1 2 enter imu.
although i mentioned the above information,i was agree wif u because i think that the family background,coco and interview performance also play an important role in it.anyway happy to heard that u hav some cases tat r difference from wat i know from the senior of jpa scholar...actually,i dun think
that there must be 11A1 to get the medic,wat i mean is "almost" and i believe that jpa has their own criteria to choose the scholarship achiever.
i know tat as the result is coming out soon,there must be many applicants fell stressful,so there might be talks this talks that like "auntie",wat we can do is encourage each others...all the best:nod:nod:):)

fuwei
28-04-2008, 02:45 PM
anyone applying for jpa law here? or any jpa law scholar here? i heard that quite few ppl apply or law.so those who apply law have greater chance(if compared o medicine), is this true?

is that gce o level consider an "a1"?

yeap, you're right....
Not much people apply for Law if compared to medic which is a competitive course. For sure, chance secure the scholarship for Law programme is higher.
This is what the JPA interviewers told me during my interview.

28-04-2008, 02:50 PM
mmm, i thought the SAM programme intake is in the early of the year and there's only 2 intake per year...is it true? if yes, then does this means those who join KBU will start schooling next year while those INTEC students will start schooling earlier...???
I think the guys in KBU will start at the same time as INTEC...

Aries
28-04-2008, 04:26 PM
you know wat i agree with Vseehua...its getting a bit annoying already when people keep asking about their chances for the scholarship...hmm the results should be out soon so just wait lah....besides do you actually think that they(our senior jpa scholars) can tell us wat are the chances of us getting the scholarship...you all probably asked that questions just to comfort yourselves...dun do that...ask the jpa officers or probably someone who has the right qualification to tell you about your chances...

A-levels has been a 2 year programme, not a new system. my seniors r oso doing 2 years of A-levels. However, there r some exceptions whereby d scholars onli study 4 1 or 1.5 years. Eg: 1 of my seniors who's going 2 indonesia is doing 1 year A-level programme ( 3 subjects) at KTT . I guess it depends on d country u're sent to

nicole robbin
28-04-2008, 05:55 PM

it does not mean d more u take u can score more d ..frm other view u tink if u take onli 10 subject and concentrate on dat 10 oni u may get all 10a1 lo..may i noe wat course u apply for?

nicole robbin
28-04-2008, 06:56 PM
although i mentioned the above information,i was agree wif u because i think that the family background,coco and interview performance also play an important role in it.anyway happy to heard that u hav some cases tat r difference from wat i know from the senior of jpa scholar...actually,i dun think
that there must be 11A1 to get the medic,wat i mean is "almost" and i believe that jpa has their own criteria to choose the scholarship achiever.
i know tat as the result is coming out soon,there must be many applicants fell stressful,so there might be talks this talks that like "auntie",wat we can do is encourage each others...all the best:nod:nod:):)

haha..u r so understandin...reali stress now..all d best 2 u 2..

yeap, you're right....
Not much people apply for Law if compared to medic which is a competitive course. For sure, chance secure the scholarship for Law programme is higher.
This is what the JPA interviewers told me during my interview.

u ask them or they tel u on their own dat law is less competative?? den may i ask u abt sains leh? juz giv me ur opinion can d...whether u noe others apply for it ma..

hey..snail...u r d jpa scholar 4 social science rite?? may i ask how many ppl get dis course for ur batch...as i heard my senior say government offer very place 4 the course like social sn n sains tulen..thx..

xinni
28-04-2008, 07:04 PM

u ask them or they tel u on their own dat law is less competative?? den may i ask u abt sains leh? juz giv me ur opinion can d...whether u noe others apply for it ma..

hey..snail...u r d jpa scholar 4 social science rite?? may i ask how many ppl get dis course for ur batch...as i heard my senior say government offer very place 4 the course like social sn n sains tulen..thx..

well jpa did offer very place for social sains and sains ,both are different courses. =) well, for social science , there are around 20++ students pursuing ICPU at taylor's (SPM 2006) , for those going to USA and UK , the number of students are not sure.I was being told by snail about the number of scholars .

nicole robbin
28-04-2008, 07:20 PM
well jpa did offer very place for social sains and sains ,both are different courses. =) well, for social science , there are around 20++ students pursuing ICPU at taylor's (SPM 2006) , for those going to USA and UK , the number of students are not sure.I was being told by snail about the number of scholars .

u mean abt 20 ppl oni for social sains ma?? all of them r goin 2 uk n usa la?? or 20 2 uk n 20 2 usa..de total 40 sumting?? so few ppl get nia lo..izzit for social sains they juz study in tylor nia?? no other kolej like inti n intec d ma??

xinni
28-04-2008, 07:31 PM
u mean abt 20 ppl oni for social sains ma?? all of them r goin 2 uk n usa la?? or 20 2 uk n 20 2 usa..de total 40 sumting?? so few ppl get nia lo..izzit for social sains they juz study in tylor nia?? no other kolej like inti n intec d ma??

well, 20++ people going to canada are currently pursuing ICPU at taylor's whereas for those going to USA and UK, I am not sure about the number of students. Students applied social science, going to USA are studying at inti , those going to UK are studying at INTEC. Get what I mean?

nicole robbin
28-04-2008, 07:39 PM
well, 20++ people going to canada are currently pursuing ICPU at taylor's whereas for those going to USA and UK, I am not sure about the number of students. Students applied social science, going to USA are studying at inti , those going to UK are studying at INTEC. Get what I mean?

oh..i tink i get ur idea la...if 20++ study in canada n 20++ study in inti sumore 20++ study in intec does it mean total place offer 4 sains social will b 60++..as laz few day i heard 1 senior who get jpa 4 sains tell me dat there is oni 18 ppl study sains in inti...reali shock la..tink sure no hope d if there is oni 18 place..thx ya..

xinni
28-04-2008, 07:50 PM
oh..i tink i get ur idea la...if 20++ study in canada n 20++ study in inti sumore 20++ study in intec does it mean total place offer 4 sains social will b 60++..as laz few day i heard 1 senior who get jpa 4 sains tell me dat there is oni 18 ppl study sains in inti...reali shock la..tink sure no hope d if there is oni 18 place..thx ya..

well , i am not sure about the number of students who are studying at inti and intec , maybe the number is not that much , it's only my point of view as USA and UK are more expensive if compared to Canada. your are welcome =)

nicole robbin
28-04-2008, 08:09 PM
well , i am not sure about the number of students who are studying at inti and intec , maybe the number is not that much , it's only my point of view as USA and UK are more expensive if compared to Canada. your are welcome =)

ur infro do help me..thx..bt r u sure they is student get jpa 4 social sn n go 2 uk?? as i hav heard ppl go 2 us n canada nia...seen nobody get uk ma..

xinni
28-04-2008, 08:21 PM
ur infro do help me..thx..bt r u sure they is student get jpa 4 social sn n go 2 uk?? as i hav heard ppl go 2 us n canada nia...seen nobody get uk ma..

UK right ... haha i also have no idea JPA did offer this country ... maybe they didn't send students to UK . However , senior told me those going to UK are studying at INTEC . haha not sure .. are you applying for social science too? have you come across people applying for that? thanks =)

sNaiL0810
28-04-2008, 08:24 PM
The reason of so little social science student is mayb people are not really understand what their major included in, maybe some of the people who wish to become a psychologist will go to apply for pharmacy instead because they dunno what to apply.
Social science is not really a hot field for JPA

I think there is no social science student in INTEC and maybe there is only Taylor and INTI have social science students

xinni
28-04-2008, 08:33 PM
The reason of so little social science student is mayb people are not really understand what their major included in, maybe some of the people who wish to become a psychologist will go to apply for pharmacy instead because they dunno what to apply.

I think there is no social science student in INTEC and maybe there is only Taylor and INTI have social science students

according to what you have said , JPA didn't send students to UK? still, they offer this country. Basically , if that is the case , is it means that there are only 40++ students getting this course last year? (let the number of students going to USA be 20++) thanks

extell
28-04-2008, 08:39 PM
I'm seriously wondering how they pick the country for students....Yes, I'll be so darn grateful if they give me anything. But I'm just curious....and inside news? O.o
..anyone..?

nicole robbin
28-04-2008, 09:01 PM
UK right ... haha i also have no idea JPA did offer this country ... maybe they didn't send students to UK . However , senior told me those going to UK are studying at INTEC . haha not sure .. are you applying for social science too? have you come across people applying for that? thanks =)

nope.i apply for pure sians..br tat day i ask my senior n she tell me dat sains n socaic sains student seem study in d same kolej lo...hav no idea abt dat..

according to what you have said , JPA didn't send students to UK? still, they offer this country. Basically , if that is the case , is it means that there are only 40++ students getting this course last year? (let the number of students going to USA be 20++) thanks

yea..dat is wat i m wonderin...as dis year aus,new zeland,uk n usa is in d choice of country for pure sains..bt i wonderin izzit jpa will send us 2 dat country..

now oni got 20++study for sains social in tylor la?? how many chinese r selected there?? can u pls giv me an assumption??thx..

ZhannaC
28-04-2008, 09:34 PM
Hahaha! The 'Will I get JPA???' questions popping up more and more as the 2nd week of May approaches... :amuse

Hmm.. say I tell you 200 out of 2000 scholarships are for non-bumis. Only those with 13A1s above get sent to a 'good' country.

For Social Science, 25 people will be picked. For Pure Science, 30 people. For Sastera & Kemanusiaan, 30 people, for.. hahaha.

Logically counting our chances won't help.. unless we really do have EXACT statistics and know JPA's exact criteria.

Okay, so if we're told, 30 non-bumis will be picked for a course that they reserve for.. say, 100 people. But we don't know how many non-bumis actually applied for that particular course. Could be 30(everyone gets a place! :))) or 300.

On the emotional side, what we're looking for here is hope.. but is there any use of having false hope?

What the heck.. I'm curious too to know the results. :P

Verdict: Emotion wins.

*Sorry if I don't make sense. :laugh

phoenix1892
28-04-2008, 09:44 PM
Hahaha! The 'Will I get JPA???' questions popping up more and more as the 2nd week of May approaches...

Hmm.. say I tell you 200 out of 2000 scholarships are for non-bumis. Only those with 13A1s above get sent to a 'good' country.

For Social Science, 25 people will be picked. For Pure Science, 30 people. For Sastera & Kemanusiaan, 30 people, for.. hahaha.

Logically counting our chances won't help.. unless we really do have EXACT statistics and know JPA's exact criteria.

Okay, so if we're told, 30 non-bumis will be picked for a course that they reserve for.. say, 100 people. But we don't know how many non-bumis actually applied for that particular course. Could be 30(everyone gets a place! ) or 300.

On the emotional side, what we're looking for here is hope.. but is there any use of having false hope?

What the heck.. I'm curious too to know the results.

*Sorry if I don't make sense.

Stop scaring us here. Are the quota for non-bumis really that low?

qdfb
28-04-2008, 09:57 PM
Hahaha! The 'Will I get JPA???' questions popping up more and more as the 2nd week of May approaches... :amuse

Okay, so if we're told, 30 non-bumis will be picked for a course that they reserve for.. say, 100 people. But we don't know how many non-bumis actually applied for that particular course. Could be 30(everyone gets a place! :))) or 300.

Emotions-Logic=Faith (quoted frm Eureka)

So, dat equation kinda says it all...We jst need faith in watever we have got n gone through...Our emotions would really want everyone 2 say we got a chance 2 get jpa but our logic makes us think n think until we worry 2 much like a freak..So, subtract logic frm all those emotions n we will need faith 2 go through dis waiting time...jst wait until da results are announced...Trust in urself....Btw, Good Luck!!!!!

ZhannaC
28-04-2008, 09:59 PM
Stop scaring us here. Are the quota for non-bumis really that low?

Like I said, we really don't know.

But as far as I've heard, the quota for non-bumis is around 200-300, yes. But since they've increased the scholarships given out to 2000 this year.. it MAY increase. Or it may not.

Again, the big question mark. ;-)

phoenix1892
28-04-2008, 10:05 PM
Like I said, we really don't know.

But as far as I've heard, the quota for non-bumis is around 200-300, yes. But since they've increased the scholarships given out to 2000 this year.. it MAY increase. Or it may not.

Again, the big question mark.

Sigh...I guess we should just wait. Patience is a virtue, but then again it's killing us....:)

hfz
28-04-2008, 10:07 PM
I don't think JPA has a quota since MARA has been reserved specifically for the bumiputeras. It may have but I don't think its that small..

Jim
28-04-2008, 11:28 PM
I don't think JPA has a quota since MARA has been reserved specifically for the bumiputeras. It may have but I don't think its that small..

U dont think JPA has a quota?! '=.=
Hello?....How long have u been living in m'sia?
lmao, jk :laugh

hfz
28-04-2008, 11:33 PM
U dont think JPA has a quota?! '=.=
Hello?....How long have u been living in m'sia?
lmao, jk :laugh

Haha.. I've been here for a very loooong time, if you may :P

You might have missed the last sentence? If JPA really does have a quota, I don't think it'll be that obvious.

28-04-2008, 11:45 PM

You might have missed the last sentence? If JPA really does have a quota, I don't think it'll be that obvious.
judging from the past years results there exists consistently a 20% quota for non-bumis. The Malaysian-Scholarships blog had a post about it...

purplesun90
29-04-2008, 01:31 AM
it does not mean d more u take u can score more d ..frm other view u tink if u take onli 10 subject and concentrate on dat 10 oni u may get all 10a1 lo..may i noe wat course u apply for?
ok,of course if somebody takes such many subjects in the SPM,the condition is they must concentrate at the both of the subjects,if not,it is worthless.or maybe we can view the problem in others way,if u take 10 subjects and u fail to score A1 in 2 of them,its is really unfair to u compared to them who take 14 subjects and fail to score A1 in 4 of them:(:(anyway,of course u may noe wat course i apply for:the most competitive"medic":nuts:nuts

fuwei
29-04-2008, 02:03 AM

They told me without asking.....
Science ? No idea....Sorry.

Sigh...I guess we should just wait. Patience is a virtue, but then again it's killing us....:)

Yala, just wait and see....
What for guessing here guessing there ?
Ask how much the chance, will get the scholarship or not....
By asking these, will the chance to secure JPA scholarship become higher ?
Definitely no.....
Only people with no self-confident ask those questions....
So, have faith in yourselves....
If really wanna ask, why don't we ask about the course we applied ?
Few days more, just be patient and wait for the result...All the best ya !!

ZhannaC
29-04-2008, 02:07 AM
Definitely no.....
If want to ask.. why not ask about the course we applied?

Well, I applied for law. =P So I ought to thank you for raising my chances in my self-calculated-statistics. Hehehe.

I know I'll enjoy the studying for Law, but for job prospects I'm not so sure..

How many others here applied for Law?

Jim
29-04-2008, 10:05 AM

JPA's quota is extremely obvious! :mad

Non-bumis with 11A's / 10 A's who r shortlisted for jpa interview consider themselves lucky.

As for bumis with 8A's, JPA is obligated to offer them the scholarship.

Have u ever seen any bumis with 8A's or more being turned down JPA scholarships? But i can tell this, many non-bumis with 10A1's or 11A'1's r not even called to attend the interview!

I have no intention of criticizing JPA or condemning the Bumis. My only intention is to point out to u that JPA quota is EXTREMELY obvious!!!

AlynQq
29-04-2008, 10:42 AM

Non-bumis with 11A's / 10 A's who r shortlisted for jpa interview consider themselves lucky.

Have u ever seen any bumis with 8A's or more being turned down JPA scholarships? But i can tell this, many non-bumis with 10A1's or 11A'1's r not even called to attend the interview!

I have no intention of criticizing JPA or condemning the Bumis. My only intention is to point out to u that JPA quota is EXTREMELY obvious!!!

Totally agreed v u!!!!!!!!!:laugh

abuzar
29-04-2008, 10:59 AM

yup,because when i attended the interview in miri,there were only three bumi(malay and iban,kayan etc:P.not sure what race but they were bumi),the rest all chinese except me,PAKISTANI:nuts:nuts.NO OFFENCE TO ME.so,what do u guys think?i think most bumi go for mara.JPA is mostly for non-bumi like most of us here.I am a muslimbut a non-bumi.no offence.

hi Jim,i think the goverment should increase the the number of scholarships to afew thousand more,Well,there is no harm to invest more in education.

"Naruto atashinchi doraemon hokagei sunsuke nakamura"hey i know jaapnese !

GuoSheng
29-04-2008, 11:09 AM
.....but then again, even if there are many non-bumis who got shortlisted, just how many of them actually get the scholarships? The quota is obvious...really...if you ever look at the composition of students in government colleges.

29-04-2008, 11:12 AM
We did have a thread about whether the investment in JPA is good for the country:

http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6323

phoenix1892
29-04-2008, 11:26 AM
Definitely no.....

I didnt ask about my chances actually :) (I'm a bumi really, not that it's any better). But you're right, there's no use asking about this. We *probably* know the quota for the scholarship but we don't really know the criterias. The result would probably come out next week, so good luck to all...let's all cross our fingers...

29-04-2008, 12:07 PM
what an excellent result like that....be honesty,i am sure to tell u that u really hav a big chance to get the scholarship but i am not mentioned that it is 100% lah,almost 80%>>
as u apply for pharmasy which is less competitive compared to medic course,i am sure u can get it if all "follow"the criteria,even then ur result is qualified for those who apply for medic in western country....anyway ,gud luck to u lah and god bless u always...be relax for it:):):)

Thank you for your kind words... Really a relief for me coz I didnt get any sponsorship from others... you know.... it is quite difficult for those who got 3B below for GCE 'O' level... A thing to sure... Are you a scholar? :):P

29-04-2008, 12:12 PM

:P The same question that I wish to ask u, will I get JPA... seemed that you know quite more about JPA's selection... I got 3B for GCE 'O' level. Do I have a hope to get it?....:)

ZhannaC
29-04-2008, 12:57 PM
:P The same question that I wish to ask u, will I get JPA... seemed that you know quite more about JPA's selection... I got 3B for GCE 'O' level. Do I have a hope to get it?....:)

Lol.. I really don't know... depends on your course, how many places allocated for it.. other than GCE 'O' what were your results? *Just curious* :P

And JPA has increased their scholarships to 2000 places.. so people this year may have a higher chance of getting..

I only heard about the 200 places for non-bumis through my brother.. who's a JPA scholar. Hehe.

BTW, everyone has hope for it.. if hope is absent from this world, then it'll be a very very sad world.. hope is what caused our 12th General Election results to be the way it was.. hope is why Anwar is claiming to be our PM soon.. hope is why people go on living.. hope is why we're here today.. :laugh

Correct correct correct. I really don't know anyone's chances, mine included, for JPA. :amuse :P

ronaldo7
29-04-2008, 01:33 PM
Lol.. I really don't know... depends on your course, how many places allocated for it.. other than GCE 'O' what were your results? *Just curious* :P

And JPA has increased their scholarships to 2000 places.. so people this year may have a higher chance of getting..

I only heard about the 200 places for non-bumis through my brother.. who's a JPA scholar. Hehe.

BTW, everyone has hope for it.. if hope is absent from this world, then it'll be a very very sad world.. hope is what caused our 12th General Election results to be the way it was.. hope is why Anwar is claiming to be our PM soon.. hope is why people go on living.. hope is why we're here today.. :laugh

Correct correct correct. I really don't know anyone's chances, mine included, for JPA. :amuse :P
do you know how mnay places allocated for actuarial science?

extell
29-04-2008, 02:31 PM
How I wish JPA would publish all the details; number of allocation for each course, how they select and better still, names of recipients! Why are they being so secretive? Unless they are doing inappropriate stuff >.<

29-04-2008, 02:40 PM
How I wish JPA would publish all the details; number of allocation for each course, how they select and better still, names of recipients! Why are they being so secretive? Unless they are doing inappropriate stuff >.<
The numbers of scholars for each year depends on how good they feel at the time and whether the general election is coming or not...

GuoSheng
29-04-2008, 02:46 PM

lol...imagine if ever the government is to be transparent by disclosing all the details regarding scholarships, it will sure cause a hell of a furore...because, for sure there are certain scholars who are definitely not deserving enough to be sponsored, hence the basis of appeal by others who did not get. How is the government going to answer that?

ZhannaC
29-04-2008, 03:31 PM
do you know how mnay places allocated for actuarial science?

I would love to tell you the answer..

But I don't know the answer. :P

Patience is a virtue. Hehe. How many Recomers have been bombarding JPA with phone calls until they have to put up 'Mohon kerjasama calon-calon untuk tidak menghubungi JPA sehingga keputusan dikeluarkan bagi melicinkan proses penawaran biasiswa'??? :laugh

Even without being transparent they face an angry mob of rejected people.

If they were transparent? Stampede!

Why, if I myself were in JPA I too wouldn't want to be transparent about the selection of scholars. :wink

nadia.g
29-04-2008, 03:33 PM
The numbers of scholars for each year depends on how good they feel at the time and whether the general election is coming or not...

yeah maybe.. im a bumi. n i personally think this issue shud be lifted up in the coming parliament.. shesh.. education shud be made fair n equal to EVERYONE

they will NEVER do that. If they did, the govt will go down immediately. its quite unfair cos there are students who obtain the scholarship although the parents are millionaires!

29-04-2008, 04:01 PM

Well, it should be more than 200 places allocated for non-bumis, normally it would be around 20-25%, i.e. about 400-500 places this year...

Theoritically the chance is higher but you must also know qualifications of students this year, whether it would be better than last year, than do the maths.... But one thing for sure, there will be more scholars this year...

smile!
29-04-2008, 04:56 PM
Hi, i also applied for actuarial science...may i know ur result? I got 10A1s and 2A2s for BC and EST...wonder if there is many people who applied for this course

hi.. i applied for actuarial science also.. i think compared to last year more and more ppl are applying for this course... hehehe.. but then still, a big percentage of the jpa scholarships are for medicine and engineering or maybe pharmacy and accountancy...

actuarial science and social science all that are like the not so famous courses.. so it really depends on our luck whether we can get the scholarship or not...

anyway, did u apply for any other scholarship?

cfliang
29-04-2008, 06:17 PM
oh...luckily..hope got more place 4 dat course la..may i noe u r bumi or non bumi?? wat course u apply??

i heard frm my friend who apply for actural sn sat tat dis year d num of ppl who apply 4 dat course seem increase la...bt u got 10a1..no need 2 wori so much d...how do u tink abt pure sains?? u heard any1 or many chose dat course ma? as i apply dat..thx

I didn't hear much ppl apply for pure sains lo....mostly pharmacy, medic and dentristry...so depends on luck ba

hi.. i applied for actuarial science also.. i think compared to last year more and more ppl are applying for this course... hehehe.. but then still, a big percentage of the jpa scholarships are for medicine and engineering or maybe pharmacy and accountancy...

actuarial science and social science all that are like the not so famous courses.. so it really depends on our luck whether we can get the scholarship or not...

anyway, did u apply for any other scholarship?

Ya, applied for bank negara, khazanah and uem but didn't get called for all...haha...my koko normal only...how about u?

ZhannaC
29-04-2008, 06:21 PM
By the way, I think I mentioned before that Actuarial Science is getting to be quite a popular course now. More and more local universities are offering it, and more and more people are interested in it. Particularly when they hear that actuaries make a lot of money. :amuse It became very very popular the year one of the JPA fellows told the newspapers something like: "Students who apply for unpopular courses like Actuarial Science stand a higher chance of receiving the scholarship due to the lack of competition." Guess what SPM school leavers applied for that year.. :))

And I believe I heard someone say that JPA reserves 500 places for doctors. Was it from a ReComer? It was either from the JPA interview or ReCom. If no one here remembers such a statement than it must have been from JPA..

29-04-2008, 06:34 PM
Warnings served

passer-by
29-04-2008, 07:57 PM
.U sure student that has household income less than RM1500 + 10A1 automatically secured the scholarships?

About this policy, it's mentioned somewhere here http://www.mca.org.my/Chinese/Commentaries/Pages/130208lkh02.aspx
(i can't find the english version about this )
It's said that the automatic awarding system(automatic awarding of JPA scholarships to students who scored a minimum 10 A1s in the SPM and whose household income was RM 1,500 and below) had been included in Malaysian Budget 2007.

seeweijie
29-04-2008, 08:09 PM
I heard that JPA select the scholars just based on the result. The interview is just a tactic to answer those who are not given the scholarship. For example if there is a student make a complaint after knowing that he did not secure the scholarship, their answer would be "because you do not perform well in the interview".
It is true?

hfz
29-04-2008, 08:35 PM
A question here. For German Engineering, JPA sends candidates to GMI if I'm not mistaken. Is it true?

And upon further research, I've came upon that students from GMI can only enrol in German Technical Schools instead of conventional universities. Is that true too?

I heard that JPA select the scholars just based on the result. The interview is just a tactic to answer those who are not given the scholarship. For example if there is a student make a complaint after knowing that he did not secure the scholarship, their answer would be "because you do not perform well in the interview".
It is true?

That is an interesting theory. Speculations and such.
Seriously I don't think so. Surely they're not going to sponsor those who can't 'speak'. And it was not an easy process to conduct the interview. The resources they have to pull out just for that 4 days must be a lot. I don't think its a cover-up.

seeweijie
29-04-2008, 08:40 PM
I heard from a parent, her friend's son is a JPA scholar for German Engineering.
She say that he (the JPA scholars) is sent to a college at German to study engineering, not the top University at there....

sNaiL0810
30-04-2008, 12:48 AM
now oni got 20++study for sains social in tylor la?? how many chinese r selected there?? can u pls giv me an assumption??thx..

Chinese is about 10++ i would say, dun take it for granted that JPA take a lot of chineses, its maybe not many bumiputras apply for the course

30-04-2008, 01:25 AM
A question here. For German Engineering, JPA sends candidates to GMI if I'm not mistaken. Is it true?

And upon further research, I've came upon that students from GMI can only enrol in German Technical Schools instead of conventional universities. Is that true too?
Technical schools or not, their degree should be of the same level as those of conventional universities...

989Lee
30-04-2008, 12:45 PM
Recomers, do you think if during interview, the interviewers didn't shoot your points, as if they didn't care what you said. Is it good? cos a girl who was in the same room with me was constantly being shot by the interviewers and they seemed to have quite lots of interaction. the girl got emotional and seemed to have high enthusiasm.

Vaan
30-04-2008, 01:10 PM
Recomers, do you think if during interview, the interviewers didn't shoot your points, as if they didn't care what you said. Is it good? cos a girl who was in the same room with me was constantly being shot by the interviewers and they seemed to have quite lots of interaction. the girl got emotional and seemed to have high enthusiasm.

I have heard of rumours that the JPA in fact had already chosen who will be awarded the scholarship so the point of the interview stuff is to see whether the person that they have chosen is the right person. They will evaluate how random, spontaneous, and outspoken you are. They will also test you fluency in both languages or perhaps especially English. They will also want to test your knowledge about the country and the world, they want to see how often do you update and expose yourself to the globalized world and recent national and worldwide issue.

So well, I heard those who are always get shot high chance, he or she was already chosen, they shoot lots of questions is to verify if they have chosen the right person. That's what I heard from others, the rumours.

matchgirl
30-04-2008, 02:57 PM
I have heard of rumours that the JPA in fact had already chosen who will be awarded the scholarship so the point of the interview stuff is to see whether the person that they have chosen is the right person. They will evaluate how random, spontaneous, and outspoken you are. They will also test you fluency in both languages or perhaps especially English. They will also want to test your knowledge about the country and the world, they want to see how often do you update and expose yourself to the globalized world and recent national and worldwide issue.

So well, I heard those who are always get shot high chance, he or she was already chosen, they shoot lots of questions is to verify if they have chosen the right person. That's what I heard from others, the rumours.

well they ask me to talk and talk and talk more than other applicants...so i think i am still very optimisticabout it...
btw next week we will know d

It is true?

its true to some point because hats what my teacher told me...
because why do they ask those with only 8As or 9As for interview when their chance are only very very slim??

sugarspice
30-04-2008, 03:07 PM
I phoned up and ask. JPA said the results will be out the soonest on the 10th of May.

And the MCA near my place said this year they wont be helping us to appeal.....too bad :cry

Dear seniors please enlighten us on the ways to appeal......

phoenix1892
30-04-2008, 03:56 PM

During my interview, no one was really got shot with multitude of questions. Sometimes only they shot us for our answers. Like this one chinese girl, she got shot real bad because she gave different answers to what she filled in the online form. For me, I said "If JPA send me to quality U, then i have no problem going to indon (in malay)'. The the interviewer shot me saying "of course JPA will send u to quality U like gadjah madah". but i recovered. then i cracked a joke which i'm not sure was a good move or suicide. Also my friend who got 15A1s only got shot when he said he dont really want german engineering because it's too long. So, does that considered getting shot? I think my interviewers were too nice. But still, my friend and I were the best during our group, I would say.

10th means friday...sooo bad...

10th is saturday actually.... I hope it would come out on friday at the latest

matchgirl
30-04-2008, 04:45 PM
During my interview, no one was really got shot with multitude of questions. Sometimes only they shot us for our answers. Like this one chinese girl, she got shot real bad because she gave different answers to what she filled in the online form. For me, I said "If JPA send me to quality U, then i have no problem going to indon (in malay)'. The the interviewer shot me saying "of course JPA will send u to quality U like gadjah madah". but i recovered. then i cracked a joke which i'm not sure was a good move or suicide. Also my friend who got 15A1s only got shot when he said he dont really want german engineering because it's too long. So, does that considered getting shot? I think my interviewers were too nice. But still, my friend and I were the best during our group, I would say.

oops...ok so its saturday..
my session was like this.

Q:Introduce yourself please
A:My name is blah blah blah...I studied in blah bah blah....I want to do medicine because..
Q:I dont want to know this.
A:I want to study in UK
Q:Why UK?UK not good
A:My dream university,Cambridge is in UK.
Q:Talk about your parents.
A:blah.....
Q:Then..
A:Still me is it?
Q:ya
A:My hobby is reading..
Q:I oso read.Read what.
A:I mostly read english books. I also like swimming.
Q: (ask the other boy) you also like swimming?
Boy:Yes.
Q:You two.....
Boy:No la
Q:Somemore?
A: talk for another minute...

finally its the next person's turn...
others talk half of my time
I din try to talk s much.I was asked to....

phoenix1892
30-04-2008, 04:55 PM
oops...ok so its saturday..
my session was like this.

Q:Introduce yourself please
A:My name is blah blah blah...I studied in blah bah blah....I want to do medicine because..
Q:I dont want to know this.
A:I want to study in UK
Q:Why UK?UK not good
A:My dream university,Cambridge is in UK.
Q:Talk about your parents.
A:blah.....
Q:Then..
A:Still me is it?
Q:ya
A:My hobby is reading..
Q:I oso read.Read what.
A:I mostly read english books. I also like swimming.
Q: (ask the other boy) you also like swimming?
Boy:Yes.
Q:You two.....
Boy:No la
Q:Somemore?
A: talk for another minute...

finally its the next person's turn...
others talk half of my time
I din try to talk s much.I was asked to....

My intro was kinda like yours, except we didnt talk about hobbies or interests. We were asked to explain our kokums. And i got shot again because i didnt join any sports competition but i filled in bowling (i was in bowling club in school). But i guess the interview went better than i originally thought. So how much does the interview count anyway?

runninghorse
30-04-2008, 05:02 PM
So how much does the interview count anyway?

10%...

the interviewer told me...

70% in academic (spm)
10% in koko
10% in social background (income)
10% in interview performance

elaine_yym
30-04-2008, 05:57 PM
Any seniors here know how to appeal for JPA except through politician?
write a appeal letter?
or go to kementerian pelajaran?
before this i heard someone said that JPA will offer loan to study locally except oversea scholarship,its aim is stop applicants who failed to appeal. Anyone hear about that?

jingying
30-04-2008, 06:30 PM
it's for those who had gained admission to local uni ...
if i m not mistaken..

30-04-2008, 06:33 PM
write a appeal letter?
before this i heard someone said that JPA will offer loan to study locally except oversea scholarship,its aim is stop applicants who failed to appeal. Anyone hear about that?
write an appeal letter to them explaining why you should be given a chance at the scholarship.

herm
30-04-2008, 06:41 PM
it's for those who had gained admission to local uni ...
if i m not mistaken..

u mean stpm or those who had taken a lvl?

elaine_yym
30-04-2008, 06:42 PM
after result announced,will JPA's website teach us how to appeal like matriculatian's website?

jingying
30-04-2008, 06:47 PM
u mean stpm or those who had taken a lvl?

i guess stpm..

989Lee
30-04-2008, 07:45 PM

is there possibility that they didn't shoot us because we had nothing for them to shoot?ie our answer is reasonable. my interviewer asked me of why i chose an arts subject since i was in the science stream. then i said that because i wanted to be an all-rounded person and i wanted to learn more about science. btw, almost my whole interview was conducted in bm, the time to speak english was barely one minute for each.

jun
30-04-2008, 07:51 PM
write a appeal letter?

Actually, my firend appealed for jpa last year...he said there is a word limit for your letter...it will be stated in the jpa website. The jpa website will put up a special link for those who want to appea...then it will be stated there briefly how to write the letter ie: you must not exceed XXX number of words, send the letter to who and so on....i think the content of you letter is entirely up to you...( follow Vseehua's advice on the contents)...so yeah i am actually surprised that there was a word limit...guess they dun want us to brag about ourselves too much ha!

30-04-2008, 07:54 PM
Actually, my firend appealed for jpa last year...he said there is a word limit for your letter...it will be stated in the jpa website. The jpa website will put up a special link for those who want to appea...then it will be stated there briefly how to write the letter ie: you must not exceed XXX number of words, send the letter to who and so on....i think the content of you letter is entirely up to you...( follow Vseehua's advice on the contents)...so yeah i am actually surprised that there was a word limit...guess they dun want us to brag about ourselves too much ha!
In general, any formal letter should not exceed one page long. Most of the formal letter that I've wrote here in Germany to the various authorities and companies doesn't even exceed five lines long in contents :P

jun
30-04-2008, 08:00 PM
It is true?

NO such thing....and this is not based on any speculation ...my friends who got 12 A1 did not get Jpa instead they return to do form 6 in my school...heck , my bro (three years back ) scored straight A1 and good koko did not get the scholarship( got it oni after appealing)...and that was three years back wen the number of straight A1 were comparitively little....

Good so... education should never get dragged into politics...

hmm beg to differ....in Malaysia we have to....the only way we can ensure our rights are protected... and we get what we deserve

Yvonne90
30-04-2008, 08:28 PM
I phoned up and ask. JPA said the results will be out the soonest on the 10th of May.

And the MCA near my place said this year they wont be helping us to appeal.....too bad :cry

10th !!!tat is so so late , is almost the 3rd week of May ad !The results shud be out earlier so tat if i don't get it (choi choi choi,touch wood!:P) , at least i will have some time to prepare my stuff for f6..btw , form 6 will start on 12th !

juz look at the news ppr on the day the results is released , i m sure there will be news abt it and how to appeal.:)

30-04-2008, 09:33 PM
hmm beg to differ....in Malaysia we have to....the only way we can ensure our rights are protected... and we get what we deserveHow sure are you that your rights are being protected when the education system is being headed by someone who doesn't believe in equality? A neutral autonomous authority separate from the government can do better at that...

ZhannaC
30-04-2008, 10:58 PM
NO such thing....and this is not based on any speculation ...my friends who got 12 A1 did not get Jpa instead they return to do form 6 in my school...heck , my bro (three years back ) scored straight A1 and good koko did not get the scholarship( got it oni after appealing)...and that was three years back wen the number of straight A1 were comparitively little....

Did those friends of yours get straight 12A1s? Maybe they had an unexpected D7, C6 among the 12A1s? That's what happened to some people I know.

As for those who talk more.. in my room, we were all given an equal chance to speak. We took turns, 1 by 1, the interviewers called us name by name. No group discussion.

Actually, I think the interviewers only evaluated us on our topic. After that she(the main interviewer) said 'borak-borak' sikit about our families, where she seemed too busy writing to actually listen to us. She only seemed interested when I mentioned that my brother was a JPA scholar, and she asked which country. When I answered Australia, she went "Oh! So that's why you asked for Australia(country of my choice)." Other then that, she just looked up and nodded once in a while. When I finished there was an awkward silence among us, then again she looked up and said, 'Oh, done? Okay, next.' And I kept my 'talk' really short and sweet, just mentioned parents occupation, my brother and what he's studying, and I. :amuse

But then again, I think the theory that JPA scholars are already selected before the interview holds some water. I've met JPA scholars who can hardly communicate in English(had interview in English), and are extremely quiet even among friends.. hence interview can't have played all that important a role..

30-04-2008, 11:08 PM
By the way, I think I mentioned before that Actuarial Science is getting to be quite a popular course now. More and more local universities are offering it, and more and more people are interested in it. Particularly when they hear that actuaries make a lot of money. :amuse It became very very popular the year one of the JPA fellows told the newspapers something like: "Students who apply for unpopular courses like Actuarial Science stand a higher chance of receiving the scholarship due to the lack of competition." Guess what SPM school leavers applied for that year.. :))

And I believe I heard someone say that JPA reserves 500 places for doctors. Was it from a ReComer? It was either from the JPA interview or ReCom. If no one here remembers such a statement than it must have been from JPA..
Actuarial science is not an unpopular course, just that it's uncommon to many students doesn't mean that it's not sorted after by students, you'll be surprise about its popularity...
For the medicine thing, I can assure you that not only 500 places reserved for medicine, but at least 500, means most likely more than that... Anyway, there was an official statement by a JPA officer in newspapers two years ago, stating about 50% of JPA scholarships go to medicine, dentistry and pharmacy, while mostly go to medicine, then about another 20-30% goes to engineering... That was two years ago...

jun
30-04-2008, 11:08 PM
Did those friends of yours get straight 12A1s? Maybe they had an unexpected D7, C6 among the 12A1s? That's what happened to some people I know.

As for those who talk more.. in my room, we were all given an equal chance to speak. We took turns, 1 by 1, the interviewers called us name by name. No group discussion.

Actually, I think the interviewers only evaluated us on our topic. After that she(the main interviewer) said 'borak-borak' sikit about our families, where she seemed too busy writing to actually listen to us. She only seemed interested when I mentioned that my brother was a JPA scholar, and she asked which country. When I answered Australia, she went "Oh! So that's why you asked for Australia(country of my choice)." Other then that, she just looked up and nodded once in a while. When I finished there was an awkward silence among us, then again she looked up and said, 'Oh, done? Okay, next.' And I kept my 'talk' really short and sweet, just mentioned parents occupation, my brother and what he's studying, and I. :amuse

But then again, I think the theory that JPA scholars are already selected before the interview holds some water. I've met JPA scholars who can hardly communicate in English(had interview in English), and are extremely quiet even among friends.. hence interview can't have played all that important a role..

yes straight 12 A1 ....btw...same here with my interview we all had the chance to speak...1 by 1...so i guess it differs from panel to panel lah..

fuwei
30-04-2008, 11:53 PM

Oh my god....
Are you sure ?
Which state are you from ?
Do you ask the reason ?

omg! that's my birthday!!

Then hope that you got the scholarship, then it's your best birthday present ever...LOL

So, you're still waiting for the result ?

Vaan
01-05-2008, 05:58 PM

I think everyone misunderstood what I wrote earlier on. Think in the view and aspect of an interviewer, if you are an interviewer and when you shoot questions at a random person and that person reply you impressively and fluently, you are amazed and will continue to shoot that person questions.

If a person fill up the online form wrongly, I will also ask a lot of questions to verify important things with you. If you are a pretty girl or a handsome guy, HEY I might be interested to talk to you so I bombard you with questions. Or if during the interview you said something interesting example your hobby, number of siblings and so on, of course I will look at you and ask you lots of questions.

So those above are not in the category of people which already chosen for the JPA scholarship. They are just people whom during the interview attracted the interviewer attention. However, they do stand a chance to secure the scholarship based on the interview performance.

Those who are already chosen for the JPA scholarship, I don't know what are the hints to affirm that but I heard if the interviewer bombard you with lots of questions, then high chance you are probably picked for the scholarship already.

I still can remember my interview, moments during the interview process, the interviewer that talks and ask us questions was a real threat to me. He called my name, I confirm. Then he ask the first question.

Tell me about yourself in BM, (my name) speak first. He called my name instead of number one, two or so on. I finished talking, he said talk some more I am not going to eat you. So during my intro I added two peribahasa, and both of them interviewers laugh like hell. What?! I said the right peribahasa at the right time. Why are you guys laughing?

Anyway, he then proceed,
RUKUNEGARA fourth line, (my name) answer.
RUKUNEGARA fourth line talk about it, (my name) answer.
Looking at me, Phrase 'Law are meant to be broken'. (my name) answer.
Let's talk about Perlembagaan (my name) answer.
Okay, looking at me what is AFTA (my name) answer.
Looking at me, talk in context and literally about AFTA (my name) answer.
After that others have chance to speak, then he said what is IMF then he quickly said (my name) answer. He was looking at a Malay boy but his two eyes was on me when he mentioned my name. He was trying to caught me offguard.

Then he said who was the Menteri Pelancongan Malaysia, (my name) go first.
It was here I cracked again a joke that made both interviewers laugh cause I really don't have any idea who is Menteri Pelancongan Malaysia.
He then said, okay, the interview process is over thank you for you cooperation. You may take your original certs here.

Suddenly, as I was taking my file he said (my name) who is Datuk Rais Yatim. Wa liao...... and he kept on saying (my name) you know. I managed to answer all his questions except Menteri Pelancongan Malaysia.

It was like a storm inside there you know but I enjoyed that Q&A session. However, I do respect and salute him cause he can speak both Malay and English fluently and he was very deep in knowledge.

Had any ReCommers experience the same interview as I am cause all my friends had more simple topics during the interview. I feel like I am the heaviest casualty to be bombarded by so many and hard questions. Will it affect my chances?

01-05-2008, 05:58 PM
i saw a few ppl saying 3rd,some said 5th and then 10th..so the 5th of May,tat's the first day of the second week of May..anyawy, i found out tat last year, JPA result is out on the 11th ,which is on friday,but if i m not mistaken , last year f6 started not as early as this year.:huh
Last year Form 6 and matriculation started on the Monday or Tuesday after the week where JPA results were released. It's the same for the year before. So, you can expect the results coming out next Thursday or Friday... And when the day is near, JPA will release the exact date on the website, so keep checking for updates...

01-05-2008, 09:39 PM
Obviously, being non-bumi is one of the reasons, but if you mentioned it was three years ago, there is another possible factor... In year 2005, the system and criteria selecting JPA scholars is not as transparent as it is today (Though it's still far from perfect), that's why there're some deserving students are left out while some students with their own ways managed to secure the scholarships...

cfliang
01-05-2008, 09:57 PM
when is form 6 starting???

anyone knows?

If I am not wrong, it's 12th of May, the registration date

01-05-2008, 10:00 PM
I'm sorry, but I'm getting confused here. Actuarial Science is not an unpopular course, but it's uncommon to many students, although it's uncommon to many students, many students still apply for it??
Means most students don't realise there is such a course, but for students who are interested in finance/maths/statistics, they'll know about it, and apply for it... Other students, even though they might be brilliant in academics, pay liitle attention to this course because they're not interested, at all...
It's unlike medicine, dentistry, law, pharmacy, engineering which are all well-known, even by uncles and aunties in market (though they don't really know what does an engineer do)...

Gemini
01-05-2008, 11:45 PM
LOL!!! tats funny ....let me remind you that my bro got JPA only after an appeal....and getting an interview does not equal to getting the scholarship........heck i did not even get matriks.....so anyway enough about me.... about JPA it is confirmed that it would be before form 6 starts...that is before 12 of May..

How did ur bro appeal? He appealed via MCA or maybe DAP? Did he seek any help from any politician?

jun
01-05-2008, 11:51 PM
hmm i can't remember but he did write the appeal to JPA lah....it was stated on the website...

02-05-2008, 08:07 AM
i didn't get matrix, instead, get upu (diploma for civil engineering and technology in uthm), can i get JPA?

when i had my interview for JPA in Ipoh, there was a lady (I guess) told me that for those who failed to get JPA, they will get IPTA if they did apply and pay RM 10.60 for it. Anyway, my aim is at JPA, I dun wanna IPTA coz the course offered is really a '*&%^*@<hidden>' (what word should be placed, dependz on readers :-) ). our government is really a cheapskate, giving a bone for me, but no even a small piece of meat on it... :(:cry:(:cry

MY MOOD ALTERNATES BETWEEN DESPAIR AND EXCITEMENT :huh:P

Leen
02-05-2008, 09:00 AM
Yo people.

Please tone down your "discussion" a little bit. Even though I do not post here but I usually keep an eye on this thread. Any spammings will be deleted. No hesitation.

What is spams?

Examples:

I think only 10 people will get JPA for pure science.
It's my dad's ex-girlfriend's cousin's daughter's wedding anniversary.
I think my chances are not high. Sad sad.

So what should I post here?
- Information about JPA scholarship
- Information about how to appeal if JPA rejects you.
- Questions about JPA scholarship in general

and so on.

If you insist in discussing stuff that don't contribute to the thread and stuff that doesn't benefit the next person that is going to read it, don't even think about putting it down. The chat threads are just around the corner. Please visit that place instead. :amuse

And now 10000+ of you will hate me because of this post.

jun
02-05-2008, 03:20 PM
Yo people.

Please tone down your "discussion" a little bit. Even though I do not post here but I usually keep an eye on this thread. Any spammings will be deleted. No hesitation.

What is spams?

Examples:

I think only 10 people will get JPA for pure science.
It's my dad's ex-girlfriend's cousin's daughter's wedding anniversary.
I think my chances are not high. Sad sad.

So what should I post here?
- Information about JPA scholarship
- Information about how to appeal if JPA rejects you.
- Questions about JPA scholarship in general

and so on.

If you insist in discussing stuff that don't contribute to the thread and stuff that doesn't benefit the next person that is going to read it, don't even think about putting it down. The chat threads are just around the corner. Please visit that place instead. :amuse

And now 10000+ of you will hate me because of this post.

hmm i got a question...wat if say we post something that other ppl can benefit but at the same time somewhere in the post we do spam???

anyone applied for engineering in Germany??

yes i did apply for this particular course....i see that you are now in germany??? may i noe how much allowances that JPA usually give to engineering students in germany??? It is in Euro rite?? and how is the accomadation and the ppl there ...care to tell us about live in germany as a JPA scholar???

02-05-2008, 03:46 PM
hmm i got a question...wat if say we post something that other ppl can benefit but at the same time somewhere in the post we do spam???If it's beneficial we'll leave it in...

yes i did apply for this particular course....i see that you are now in germany??? may i noe how much allowances that JPA usually give to engineering students in germany??? It is in Euro rite?? and how is the accomadation and the ppl there ...care to tell us about live in germany as a JPA scholar???allowance: more than enough for you to live, unless you choose to go to the bar everyday
accomodation: depends on where you are staying, but generally nice

Olataro
02-05-2008, 11:17 PM
May i ask you all on this? I applied for MMU and got the offer letter. It asks me to post a total of rm1.8k to them but...i am worried.if i post that money, does that mean that i will be blacklisted by the JPA and wont get the scholarship?

yummyummylicious
02-05-2008, 11:32 PM
May i ask you all on this? I applied for MMU and got the offer letter. It asks me to post a total of rm1.8k to them but...i am worried.if i post that money, does that mean that i will be blacklisted by the JPA and wont get the scholarship?

May i ask you back...what is it to do with JPA and the scholarship when you post the money to MMU?
Anyhow, I dont think they will blacklist someone for this reason...

989Lee
02-05-2008, 11:38 PM
tanyijing2007,could you tell me your results? and r u sure if we get ipta, means no jpa?
any recomers know abt this?

02-05-2008, 11:49 PM
tanyijing2007,could you tell me your results? and r u sure if we get ipta, means no jpa?
any recomers know abt this?
This question has been answered many times... Matriculation and UPU are under Ministry of Education while JPA is not, so they are not related...

Olataro
03-05-2008, 12:15 AM
May i ask you back...what is it to do with JPA and the scholarship when you post the money to MMU?
Anyhow, I dont think they will blacklist someone for this reason...

well if u pay the money means u accept the offer to a private U.....so they have an excuse to kick u out?
\

Anyway my dad thinks like u too.but i am not so sure.........anyone has a say about this?

03-05-2008, 12:23 AM
well if u pay the money means u accept the offer to a private U.....so they have an excuse to kick u out?
\

Anyway my dad thinks like u too.but i am not so sure.........anyone has a say about this?
There is no such thing... I don't think they will be so free to check the applicants one by one, whether they study in or accept any offer to private universities or colleges... I have some friends who studied in private colleges and universities before they got JPA scholarships...

fuwei
03-05-2008, 12:57 AM

swt...this post should not be in here...
I think you don't need to post the money yet and are you sure they asked you to post RM 1.8k that much ??
Wait for the result first bah....

Olataro
03-05-2008, 01:46 AM
This is about jpa, so why shouldnt it be here? Anyway they call it "registration fee" and its that much. Any others have anything to say?

EricHoh
03-05-2008, 03:08 PM
I heard tat JPA scholarship extended its deadline.
Isit true?
If i want to apply now is it still acceptable?

jun
03-05-2008, 03:18 PM
I heard tat JPA scholarship extended its deadline.
Isit true?
If i want to apply now is it still acceptable?

LOL!!!!! errm who told you that???....somehow this " i heard " jangkitan this is not over yet.......i just checked the website for JPA and it is stated there that semua temuduga bagi permohonan biasiswa JPA telah pun dijalankan dan keputusan bagi temuduga itu ialah minggu kedua mei...

probably the person who told you that meant JPA LOAN???

EricHoh
03-05-2008, 03:39 PM
I had read a post in the newspaper.
It stated that JPA is offering scholarships to all Spm students with 9a's.
So, I wondered isit still available.
I also checked on the jpa.gov.my website.
I found the same things as what you found.
So, I'm not that sure and I just ask around.
Thanks for sharing anyway.

Aries
03-05-2008, 04:43 PM

That scholarship is for you to study form 6 and then continue ur tertiary level at any local university (public and malaysia branch oversea uni eg: monash). Juz 2 clarify that the overseas programme scholarship is long closed 4 application d.

03-05-2008, 05:38 PM
This question has been answered many times... Matriculation and UPU are under Ministry of Education while JPA is not, so they are not related...

miracle_seed, it appears that you are damned sure about the relationship between matrix, jpa and upu (whatever), a question to bombard you: are you a scholar? are u really sure about thiz, you know wat, hope and hopeless are very far different... :oh. I wish the hope you've given to me is a real one, not juz only a nonsense. :amuse

lindley
03-05-2008, 05:44 PM
i always thought that JPA was under MOE as well. isnt it?

03-05-2008, 06:05 PM

i have checked through the official site of MOHE, and found that JPA is not a part of responsibility under MOHE... Instead, PTPTN and YTAR. :)

ohyying
03-05-2008, 06:43 PM
miracle_seed, it appears that you are damned sure about the relationship between matrix, jpa and upu (whatever), a question to bombard you: are you a scholar? are u really sure about thiz, you know wat, hope and hopeless are very far different... :oh. I wish the hope you've given to me is a real one, not juz only a nonsense. :amuse

whether matrix, jpa and upu are related or not...the answer will be out this week...so why getting so frantic???every single person here who's waiting for the answer is feeling the way like you do....n i believe the hope your searching for and holding upon from others here is jz mere reassurance for urself (same goes for those whu are asking around about their chances of getting JPA)...n really how if it turns out the other way??whu is to be blamed??...who knows if they are or arent connected???..just have faith in yourself...the least we can do is to prepare for the worst...n hope for the best....

EricHoh
03-05-2008, 07:31 PM
That scholarship is for you to study form 6 and then continue ur tertiary level at any local university (public and malaysia branch oversea uni eg: monash). Juz 2 clarify that the overseas programme scholarship is long closed 4 application d.

emmm...
u sure that is for me to study form 6 n go MY branch oversea uni?

jpysh2004@
03-05-2008, 08:42 PM

JPA and Matric and UPU are totally different thing, i have friends who got JPA and Matric, and Friends who got Matric and UPU, trust our friend over there

03-05-2008, 08:49 PM

Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam is responsible for government servants, they are entirely separate from MOE.

989Lee
03-05-2008, 08:56 PM
JPA and Matric and UPU are totally different thing, i have friends who got JPA and Matric, and Friends who got Matric and UPU, trust our friend over there

did your friends who got matric and upu get jpa?

sNaiL0810
03-05-2008, 09:34 PM
U can get matric and JPA in the same time, many of my friends did.

04-05-2008, 12:04 PM
Yea, I am... I'm sure that those who got matriculation and UPU will still stand a chance to get JPA, just keep your fingers crossed... Good luck :)

Aries
04-05-2008, 12:30 PM
emmm...
u sure that is for me to study form 6 n go MY branch oversea uni?

U might be spnsored if u gain entry into ivies as well

Vint
04-05-2008, 09:33 PM
did your friends who got matric and upu get jpa?

me and some of my friends got offer for jpa+ matric +UPU ...
i used to worry like you too when i was in the same situation last year..

everlearn
04-05-2008, 10:46 PM
hmm ..if i got JPa i will take jpa. i will choose jpa rather than any offer..:amuse

yogurt_addict
05-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Do u all know about this??
they changed 'minggu kedua mei' to 'pertengahan mei'............oh man..................

shakira
05-05-2008, 11:47 AM
they just changed it i think. i didnt notice it at first. we have to wait longer!

ronaldo7
05-05-2008, 11:48 AM
they changed 'minggu kedua mei' to 'pertengahan mei'............oh man..................

hoho......sad la

Jim
05-05-2008, 11:52 AM
WTH!!! They did WHAT?! :cry

passer-by
05-05-2008, 11:57 AM

Mind telling where'd you get the news ? Thanks in advance.

yogurt_addict
05-05-2008, 12:03 PM
esila.jpa.gov.my/portalipa.php

phoenix1892
05-05-2008, 12:04 PM
Pertengahan Mei means around the 15th? Then the people who go to form 6 or matriks would only spend like three days there if they get the scholarship? Sigh....that's really burdensome

ZhannaC
05-05-2008, 12:09 PM
Has JPA done this before? Releasing results AFTER Matric? Because they should know it's really inconvenient for Matric students who may have to travel to other states..

Hopefully 10th of May means 'pertengahan mei' to them.

yogurt_addict
05-05-2008, 12:20 PM
Pertengahan Mei means around the 15th? Then the people who go to form 6 or matriks would only spend like three days there if they get the scholarship? Sigh....that's really burdensome

oh man..totally agree with ya.burdensome u know?:((say this to jpa)..........i really wanna know how they do the work............:huh

vivace
05-05-2008, 12:34 PM
omg... y they change??
hm... but there is still a reason..
bcz many ppl misunderstands tht today,thts 5th, is the second week of may..
itz actually the begining of may..
to me, when v look at the calender,
2nd week actually means about 12th - 16th like tht..
so.. mayb JPA change it to Pertangahan Mei to prevent confusion..
so, b patient and wait..
good luck too.. ^^

dennisssj
05-05-2008, 12:43 PM
i don't see any changes from http://esila.jpa.gov.my/portaljpa.php

i wonder why ppl nowadays spreading rumours now.. it's still minggu kedua Mei, nothing changed to Pertengahan Mei.. Funny!

Anyway, i just stick to what is updated in the web page. No updates means stick to the old info.

dennis~~

edit:
i'm sorry.. it's true.. thanks youngyew for guiding me to fully refresh the page.. ok. no more rumours.. it's the truth.. nak uji kesabaran para pemohon PILN.. haha!

Yvonne90
05-05-2008, 12:46 PM
Really hope tat the results will be out b4 form 6 starts, so tat i can really make full preparation and really concentrate on whatever i'm going to do..i guess maybe they will stick to the original plan , be out on the 14th , that's the first date i saw.That time during my jpa interview,there is a paper stick on the wall telling the date the results will be out and they wrote 14th..dono la...Anyway, juz hope it will be out early..Lets pray :)

vivace
05-05-2008, 12:47 PM

i wonder why ppl nowadays spreading rumours now.. it's still minggu kedua Mei, nothing changed to Pertengahan Mei.. Funny!

Anyway, i just stick to what is updated in the web page. No updates means stick to the old info.

dennis~~

hey.. it is not a rumour la... ==''
it is a real thing u noe??!!
mayb ur computer has problem.. **||
it realy stated as... PERTENGAHAN MEI..
GO C URSELF AGAIN, DENNIS..

ronaldo7
05-05-2008, 12:49 PM
[QUOTE=Vint;169507]me and some of my friends got offer for jpa+ matric +UPU ...
i used to worry like you too when i was in the same situation last year..[/QU

is it the jpa resut out before registration of upu and matrik?

05-05-2008, 12:52 PM

dennis~~
Dennisssj, you don't see the change probably because your browser is displaying the old picture from its cache.

Try a full refresh (Ctrl-F5 or Shift-F5) on the page, you should be able to see the new info.

Anyway, pertengahan Mei and second week of May are basically almost the same thing. I am guessing that they changed the wording just in case they won't be able to produce the result in the second week, and in that case they can do it on the third week (as third week is still considerably "pertengahan mei")

05-05-2008, 01:05 PM
Dennisssj, you don't see the change probably because your browser is displaying the old picture from its cache.

Try a full refresh (Ctrl-F5 or Shift-F5) on the page, you should be able to see the new info.

Anyway, pertengahan Mei and second week of May are basically almost the same thing. I am guessing that they changed the wording just in case they won't be able to produce the result in the second week, and in that case they can do it on the third week (as third week is still considerably "pertengahan mei")

Yeah, totally agree with you, actually the second week of May makes no much difference from the middle days of May... :P No worries!

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/images/temudugaselesai_PILN08.gif

For those who still have no idea what had happened to the date of release for JPA, please have a look on the image above

anyway, i juz noticed.... in the section (hebahan) that lies beside.... it still stated that the date of release for other programs under JPA will be on the second week of May (See what they do.... sigh.... Really not efficient)

Kemudahan untuk permohonan pinjaman atau biasiswa disediakan melalui eSILA adalah PERCUMA.

Pendaftaran Program Khas Perancis

Isnin, 21 April 2008 Kolej Cemara / Akasia Jalan Pinang Raja 18/2 Seksyen 18, 40200 Shah Alam 9.00 pg - 4.00 ptg

Semakan keputusan bagi Program Khas Perancis, Program Ijazah Jepun dan Program Diploma Jepun 18 April 2008.

Semakan keputusan bagi Program-program Lain Minggu Kedua Mei 2008.

Permohonan Bagi PILN 2008 secara atas talian (on-line) telah DITU

JET
05-05-2008, 01:08 PM
Pertengahan Mei??? Is it means next week?????
Next week is the pendaftaran matrikulasi . Last year, JPA result came out at the Friday before the registration of matriks....
Hopefully this year will be the same or earlier...

tanyijing2007 , are you applying JPA this year???

05-05-2008, 01:13 PM
Pertengahan Mei??? Is it means next week?????
Next week is the pendaftaran matrikulasi . Last year, JPA result came out at the Friday before the registration of matriks....
Hopefully this year will be the same or earlier...

tanyijing2007 , are you applying JPA this year???

yeah, of course, anxious too, but what to do?
I dunt think pertengahan mei indicates next week of May, anyway, i also hope the result will be out before 12 of May (Form 6 registration too as matrix's)

matchgirl
05-05-2008, 03:05 PM

dennis~~

edit:
i'm sorry.. it's true.. thanks youngyew for guiding me to fully refresh the page.. ok. no more rumours.. it's the truth.. nak uji kesabaran para pemohon PILN.. haha!

go and check it again...it is pertengahan mei....

05-05-2008, 03:35 PM
omg... y they change??
hm... but there is still a reason..
bcz many ppl misunderstands tht today,thts 5th, is the second week of may..
itz actually the begining of may..
to me, when v look at the calender,
2nd week actually means about 12th - 16th like tht..
so.. mayb JPA change it to Pertangahan Mei to prevent confusion..
so, b patient and wait..
good luck too.. ^^

I guess may be they don't have enough time to process all, since this year Form 6 and Matriculation start few days earlier compared to previous years, due to leap year...

AdreanaBhatt
05-05-2008, 05:53 PM
it's changed to mid may? Garr... my dad called and he was told that it might just be after the matric n form 6 intake.

lindley
05-05-2008, 05:55 PM
wth!
that'd be like so troublesome larrrr.
how come suddenly one! T.T

dilenkumar
05-05-2008, 06:58 PM
I guess may be they don't have enough time to process all, since this year Form 6 and Matriculation start few days earlier compared to previous years, due to leap year...

If like this...how we going to choose whether wnt to go to form 6 or not?...anyone knows whether we can enter form 6 late

05-05-2008, 07:02 PM
You can always go to Form six first before JPA result is out. I think this is what many people did.

g1noah
05-05-2008, 07:21 PM
When is the form 6 going to start ? Is it next week ?

herm
05-05-2008, 07:23 PM
it is 12 May

g1noah
05-05-2008, 07:25 PM
I tot they r not changing anything ??

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/images/temudugaselesai_PILN08.gif

AdreanaBhatt
05-05-2008, 07:34 PM
initially if was 2nd week of may meaning this week. But they changed it to mid may. 12 of may maybe?

g1noah
05-05-2008, 07:38 PM
lol... tat time when i check at the JPA website... i din refresh the website, so i was looking at the old announcement... but now... lol ... sorry...

05-05-2008, 07:42 PM
Really, when they say "mid may", the most plausible reason is they really don't know the exact date they are able to get it done. So save your time from doing date-guessing, because very likely even people inside the JPA don't know the exact date.

AdreanaBhatt
05-05-2008, 07:46 PM
ah the wait is killing me

Yvonne90
05-05-2008, 08:22 PM
it's changed to mid may? Garr... my dad called and he was told that it might just be after the matric n form 6 intake.

tat 's so weird.Why can't they juz put it earlier..going f6 is going to cause a lot of trouble for me even it is juz for a few days(transportation,uniform......cry).i will truly appreciate it if the results can juz come out a day b4 form6 starts..

kaera
05-05-2008, 08:34 PM
Heard its 12th.. This Sunday then?

Ca3ine
05-05-2008, 08:36 PM
I feel like go form 6 only la.....then if get JPA is like bonus.

Yvonne90
05-05-2008, 08:39 PM
Heard its 12th.. This Sunday then?

12th is nxt Monday..this Sunday is 11th :)

lindley
05-05-2008, 09:48 PM
hmm confirmed the 12th?
whre you heard it from?

skyrainbow
05-05-2008, 10:06 PM
sorry, but what is upu?

989Lee
05-05-2008, 10:10 PM
very inefficient. wonder why it seems very very difficult to them to release the results? very troublesome. got matrik and need to register on 12th. wanna go there so that will not be disqualified. transport and everything causing headache. need to pay abt RM220 somemore and buy neccessaties. if results come out sooner, can have better plan. very *@<hidden>%^&*#$%%

skyrainbow
05-05-2008, 10:20 PM

hi,
please give me the exact location of this offer n its application.
i got lost in jpa website

thanx

05-05-2008, 10:34 PM
very inefficient. wonder why it seems very very difficult to them to release the results? very troublesome. got matrik and need to register on 12th. wanna go there so that will not be disqualified. transport and everything causing headache. need to pay abt RM220 somemore and buy neccessaties. if results come out sooner, can have better plan. very *@<hidden>%^&*#$%%

Haiz , why must they cram everything on the same day ?? ( geleng kepala ~~)

ohyying
06-05-2008, 12:24 AM
If like this...how we going to choose whether wnt to go to form 6 or not?...anyone knows whether we can enter form 6 late

Yep u can...i noe of ppl whu did dat...but well she was lucky enuff to get JPA....

megatfais
06-05-2008, 12:45 AM
about the scholarships for 9As students,how do we apply?

Jim
06-05-2008, 01:05 AM
Alright people....calm down now. JPA result will be out b4 form 6 starts. I am sure u know form 6 starts on 12 May. U'll be surprised to know the date and time the result will be out. Please DONT expect JPA result to be out anytime b4 11 May, but be rest assured that the result will be out b4 form 6 starts. :cool

Confused? :sweat :confused:

lolz...:lol

U'll understand what i mean when the result is out.....:whoo

Shn
06-05-2008, 01:10 AM
about the scholarships for 9As students,how do we apply?

You don't need to apply for it, you'll automatically get. when the time comes, you will be notified about this by jpa if you qualify.

Alright people....calm down now. JPA result will be out b4 form 6 starts. I am sure u know form 6 starts on 12 May. U'll be surprised to know the date and time the result will be out. Please DONT expect JPA result to be out anytime b4 11 May, but be rest assured that the result will be out b4 form 6 starts. :cool

Confused? :sweat :confused:

lolz...:lol

U'll understand what i mean when the result is out.....:whoo

wait a minute, if you are saying that the jpa result is not to be out anytime before 11 may, and form 6 starts on 12 may, how exactly are we to get jpa result before form 6 registration? :huh

ZhannaC
06-05-2008, 01:30 AM
wait a minute, if you are saying that the jpa result is not to be out anytime before 11 may, and form 6 starts on 12 may, how exactly are we to get jpa result before form 6 registration? :huh

Lemme guess. =P

It'll be out 12th of May, 12am. So when people are prepared to leave for Matric/Form 6 in a few hours time, they'll find out they got JPA and don't have to go anymore. :P

So frustrating. I'm 200% sure JPA already has the list of whom they want to pick ready, why not just release it?? :(

12th of May 12am is just SPECULATION, please don't bombard with with 'Are you sure?????' and 'How you know???' questions. :-)

Shn
06-05-2008, 01:42 AM
Lemme guess. =P

It'll be out 12th of May, 12am. So when people are prepared to leave for Matric/Form 6 in a few hours time, they'll find out they got JPA and don't have to go anymore. :P

So frustrating. I'm 200% sure JPA already has the list of whom they want to pick ready, why not just release it?? :(

12th of May 12am is just SPECULATION, please don't bombard with with 'Are you sure?????' and 'How you know???' questions. :-)

wow, relax, i don't see any " 'Are you sure?????' and 'How you know???' questions.....

ZhannaC
06-05-2008, 01:47 AM
wow, relax, i don't see any " 'Are you sure?????' and 'How you know???' questions.....

That's what happened the last time I gave some examples of JPA's quotas.. Just trying to prevent that this time :P

luck n hope
06-05-2008, 01:51 AM
will the jpa results realli be out by 12th may??
cos accordin to the website, the results will oni be out in'pertengahan may'....it's previously written as 'minggu kedua mei', bt now they've changed the thing to 'pertengahan mei'....does dat mean dat they'll postpone the releasin date??
y lar...?? haiz...mz go so far away for matrics first then oni come bek if get jpa...need to shop for so many things and fill up so many forms and all...how troublesome can that be....?!

let's jz hope dat jpa results'll be out by the end of this week...................

*fingers crossed...lol

stupidboy
06-05-2008, 02:00 AM

Don't give up hope yet. It's still better if you go to register for matrix first. If you get a scholarship after that, you won't lose anything(only the fee and transport money). But if you don't go now, if you don't get a scholarship, you'll be left with nothing.

06-05-2008, 11:00 AM
It seems that many people still have high hope on JPA scholarships, since many think that preparing things for matriculation and Form 6 is rather a waste of time, so it seems that they're quite confident about their chances of getting JPA scholarships...

By the way, buying all the necessities is a waste, since you'll still use the same things when you do your pre-U in preparatory colleges... Anyway, good luck everyone...

JET
06-05-2008, 11:04 AM
Can't wait for the result!!!!!

Ca3ine
06-05-2008, 12:15 PM
This is worst then SPM Result.

*ASH*
06-05-2008, 12:42 PM
i just want to know if we get d offer for form 6..does it mean dat we stand a lesser chance in getting JPA...

06-05-2008, 12:44 PM
i just want to know if we get d offer for form 6..does it mean dat we stand a lesser chance in getting JPA...

Absolutely not... For everyone who qualifies for Form 6, unless you get the offer of matriculation, you'll get the offer to Form 6... So, this does not affect your chance at all...

jun_mei
06-05-2008, 12:48 PM

I don't think so... Cause if i'm not mistaken, almost everyone (or should i say everyone) gets the offer to do form 6. I hope i'm not wrong cause i'm also hoping to get jpa scholarship...

1000000000 times agree!

cfliang
06-05-2008, 12:57 PM

Nice quote here...haha

Vaan
06-05-2008, 01:02 PM
They are really testing my patience here....

I heard when they change the week to the third means something fishy is going on in that JPA Department. Changes are made to those names that were chosen and those who weren't chosen. Discussions and unexpected changes.

helen_tan
06-05-2008, 01:08 PM
My name is not in the form 6 list =.=lll i wonder izit because i got matric offer?? Somebody plz enlighten me =D

abuzar
06-05-2008, 01:09 PM

I heard when they change the week to the third means something fishy is going on in that JPA Department. Changes are made to those names that were chosen and those who weren't chosen. Discussions and unexpected changes.

wah...u think this is watergate scandal or what:laugh?dont think negatively....
maybe they have problems publishing the names...network problems...or maybe the jpa officer who releases the name is on leave:amuse(cuti bersalin)..just kidding lol...hope for the best of the best in the best of the best:huh

Vaan
06-05-2008, 01:12 PM
My name is not in the form 6 list =.=lll i wonder izit because i got matric offer?? Somebody plz enlighten me =D

If you get matriculation, 100% you won't get Form 6. If you want Form 6, go appeal.

megatfais
06-05-2008, 01:13 PM

yup.because u got matrix then no form 6 for u.i din get form 6 too.

phoebe902004
06-05-2008, 01:46 PM
r u sure they're changing to the 3rd week?coz i visited the website again jz now and they still state there that the result for the other programmes(not including the programmes to france n japan) are gonna be out on 2nd week..bt wait they did say pertengahan mei..*shrugs*i jz hope they release it before the reg date 4 ipta and form 6 so there wouldnt be much trouble caused..

yogurt_addict
06-05-2008, 01:54 PM
where got...pertengahan mei nah..........

blursylvia
06-05-2008, 01:59 PM
means....WAIT patiently lor~
until flower oso die liao lor~

06-05-2008, 02:40 PM

Well, don't think too negatively... It's possible that as someone said before, initially they planned to release the results next week, which they regarded as second week of May, since they don't think last week is first week of May (Just starting Thursday). Then so many students anticipated that results are coming out this week, so to avoid confusion and disappointment, they change the phrase used. This is one of the more positive theories....

lindley
06-05-2008, 03:09 PM
lol the best we can do is go abt our business as usual, have a backup plan if we dont get JPA. and just check the site regularly for updates xD

abuzar
06-05-2008, 03:52 PM
where got...pertengahan mei nah..........

yeah..there is a place...
on the right side...u can see "aktiviti"...below there

sNaiL0810
06-05-2008, 04:12 PM
try not to put too much hope on JPA, plan another road for urself
The higher expectation sometimes lead to the higher dissapointment.
Think what r u going to do with ur study IF u didnt get JPA.
Good luck everyone

AlynQq
06-05-2008, 04:56 PM
Good luck everyone

Agree v u."higher expectation sometimes lead to the higher dissapointment":oh

Vaan
06-05-2008, 05:04 PM
Good luck everyone

Yaaa....no money go Form 6, got money go A Level, SAM, Foundation, blah blah blah. That's the only plan I think most people and I have.

Ca3ine
06-05-2008, 06:26 PM
I think there are more than 7000 people stuck in this sticky situation.Feels very sticky does'nt it.....hopefully 11th May will be a very nice day indeed.

AdreanaBhatt
06-05-2008, 09:25 PM
11th May.. this sunday. Waiting in anticipation. If we get JPA, would we know at that moment what country we get sent to? I applied medicine.

Vaan
06-05-2008, 09:51 PM
11th May.. this sunday. Waiting in anticipation. If we get JPA, would we know at that moment what country we get sent to? I applied medicine.

I think we will know at the same time. I applied for medicine too, so let's see if we are chosen and if we are which country we are being thrown to.

989Lee
06-05-2008, 09:53 PM
I think there are more than 7000 people stuck in this sticky situation.Feels very sticky does'nt it.....hopefully 11th May will be a very nice day indeed.

u mean pertengahan mei is 11th mei ah?

cpteh90
06-05-2008, 10:08 PM
wish dat da jpa results wud be out soon...but at da same time i got phobia of failing le...haihzzz...realli regret for not studyin harder during spm...my spm results oso not gud...vv surprised i even got da interview...anyway...gud luck every1!!!...

ZhannaC
06-05-2008, 10:23 PM
Now why are people saying that JPA will come out 11th May? :sweat

luck n hope
06-05-2008, 10:23 PM
i heard from dunno whr before that the results'll be out on exactly the 12th may...12am..!!
wat the?! fer those who started matrics on the 11th may...it'll be realli realli troublesome...

vimal06
06-05-2008, 10:24 PM
i heard from dunno whr before that the results'll be out on exactly the 12th may...12am..!!
wat the?! fer those who started matrics on the 11th may...it'll be realli realli troublesome...

But i thought matriks suppose to register on may 12th oso... Does dat mean everything is released on the same day??

winnie314
06-05-2008, 10:27 PM
r u sure JPA will coming out on 11th May?

ZhannaC
06-05-2008, 10:30 PM

Hmmm.. perhaps, just perhaps, you heard it from Recom, JPA 2008 thread, page 218, post #2177:

Lemme guess. =P

Was I right? :amuse

chen
06-05-2008, 10:35 PM
Since when gov release anything on sunday?
Its either gonna be 12th which is a monday or 9th which is friday..

GuoSheng
06-05-2008, 10:44 PM
HAHA...I think it will be any day from tuesday to thursday. Rarely announcement is made on Monday or Friday.

ZhannaC
07-05-2008, 12:05 AM
HAHA...I think it will be any day from tuesday to thursday. Rarely announcement is made on Monday or Friday.

If I'm not wrong.. the short list for the JPA interview was released on a Friday.. wasn't it?

Or maybe I just found out late..

luck n hope
07-05-2008, 12:06 AM
and ALWAYS are announcements made on tuesdays...have u guys noticed dat?? =)

ohyying
07-05-2008, 12:10 AM
and ALWAYS are announcements made on tuesdays...have u guys noticed dat?? =)

the first batch of Jpa results (Japan and France) were out on the 18th apr n it was a FRIDAY..n if i rber well...the interview results was out on the 28th march...n again it was a FRIDAY...but well...wat i wanna say is....theres nothing much we can do....speculate oso no use....

Vaan
07-05-2008, 12:14 AM
the first batch of Jpa results (Japan and France) were out on the 18th apr n it was a FRIDAY..n if i rber well...the interview results was out on the 28th march...n again it was a FRIDAY...but well...wat i wanna say is....theres nothing much we can do....speculate oso no use....

I think the results will be coming out on Friday either on the 9th or 16th May. So it's going to be either Freaky Friday or Fabulous Friday depending on whether you get the JPA scholarship or not.

sNaiL0810
07-05-2008, 01:39 AM

For ur information, u will know which country you are going to go once u receive the offer from JPA
It will be clearly stated that the country you are going but it wont tell u where will u study for Pre U in Malaysia. U will only know which college are you going after u get the formal letter and lotsa contract from JPA.

chen
07-05-2008, 01:52 AM
seriously think its coming out this friday..
last year it was a friday and it was also the friday before the weekend to register for matrix.

be prepared.. last year the result released at 8 am,
bout 10.30 only i manage to view the result..
too damn jamp packed...
as if whole msia is trying to get into it..
typical gov web page..

Yvonne90
07-05-2008, 10:09 AM
u guys heard abt the New JPA Policy for 2007 candidates (9a and above students get scholarship study locally) if tat's really true , those who get 9a or above wont hav to get stuck in f6 or matrik and we don hav to be too sad if din get JPA scholarship to study overseas,there is a better backup plan available ...but the whole thing is still quite blur..i read it from the the thread in recom here,so don ask me weather isit true or not , coz i oso dono

07-05-2008, 10:34 AM
seriously think its coming out this friday..
last year it was a friday and it was also the friday before the weekend to register for matrix.

be prepared.. last year the result released at 8 am,
bout 10.30 only i manage to view the result..
too damn jamp packed...
as if whole msia is trying to get into it..
typical gov web page..
But for the year before that, results were released on Thursday, and at 12.00 midnight... :P

smile!
07-05-2008, 10:42 AM
But for the year before that, results were released on Thursday, and at 12.00 midnight... :P

welp...that means most probably it's friday.. cuz thurs midnight means 12.00am of friday de right? izit true that it's always released before the weekend of registration of matrix?

07-05-2008, 11:20 AM
welp...that means most probably it's friday.. cuz thurs midnight means 12.00am of friday de right? izit true that it's always released before the weekend of registration of matrix?
Erm... It's actually midnight of Thursday, i.e 12.00 a.m. after Wednesday, and the results was scheduled to released on that Thursday. But it was different for last year where the results were released in the morning... For last two years, results were released before registration of matriculation. But since this year matriculation students register earlier compared to last two years (around 15-17 May), it might not be the same for this year...

tsygirl
07-05-2008, 11:32 AM
hey,i don't know true or not.but when my friend call the jpa for asking the advertisement in newpaper, he asked when the jpa will out,the jpa people say next week only will come out wo...

vivace
07-05-2008, 11:44 AM
yea.. probably is next week as it says tht it is on PERTENGAHAN MEI..
patient...

ronaldo7
07-05-2008, 12:22 PM
hey,i don't know true or not.but when my friend call the jpa for asking the advertisement in newpaper, he asked when the jpa will out,the jpa people say next week only will come out wo...

advertisement in newspapaer??????

lindley
07-05-2008, 03:49 PM
what advertisement?
advertisement saying the the results are out ?*scratches head*

sNaiL0810
07-05-2008, 03:52 PM
just some pass experience, u will not be able to get into the website if u r not the one who go into the website first. The website will be damn pack and the server will be too busy to serve on u all
Like last time, i spend 1 hour in front of my com and still cannot log into my account and check on it. At the end i ask my fren to help me to check then only i know the result.

07-05-2008, 03:59 PM
a..a...recomers are busy chatting about when will be the date of JPA-result-out-day... Instead of guessing, I advise every recomers should be relaxing, sitting on your sofa in comfort and enjoying a cup of tea (or anything you like, probably a cake)... Do relax, you cannot change anything even the result comes out earlier...

matchgirl
07-05-2008, 04:01 PM
advertisement in newspapaer??????

i sn e mail to ask and they say it will be n the third week of May

07-05-2008, 04:05 PM
this is the latest update i saw from http://esila.jpa.gov.my/portaljpa.php

[BAGI CALON-CALON YANG MEMILIH TAJAAN JPA SAHAJA]

MOHON KERJASAMA CALON-CALON UNTUK TIDAK MEMBUAT SANGKAAN TIDAK BERGUNA MENGENAI TARIKH PENGUMUMAN KEPUTUSAN TEMUBUAL BAGI PROGRAM-PROGRAM LAIN BAGI MELICINKAN PROSES PENAWARAN BIASISWA.

LOL

weiz
07-05-2008, 04:49 PM
could anyone enlighten me on how to appeal after the JPA result is announced?
Write a letter to JPA will do?
how can i seek help from MCA?
Through the MCA website?
because if it is announced after 12 may then I'll be in the kolej matrikulasi ,being stuck in the orientation week . It's better to make some preparation .
thx.

07-05-2008, 05:00 PM
could anyone enlighten me on how to appeal after the JPA result is announced?
Write a letter to JPA will do?
how can i seek help from MCA?
Through the MCA website?
because if it is announced after 12 may then I'll be in the kolej matrikulasi ,being stuck in the orientation week . It's better to make some preparation .
thx.

JPA will tell you what to do if you wish to appeal, so dunt u worry about. just constantly check on esila portal to see what you should do if you fail to get it. No worries. :))

AdreanaBhatt
07-05-2008, 06:18 PM
if we get JPA and they put us in college to do our a levels- is it like boarding school lifestyle with prep and curfews etc or would it be like normal Taylors/Sunway student life?

07-05-2008, 06:38 PM
if we get JPA and they put us in college to do our a levels- is it like boarding school lifestyle with prep and curfews etc or would it be like normal Taylors/Sunway student life?depends on where you will be placed. If it's in Cemara/Akasia/Cendana in Shah Alam you will have a curfew, but not as strict as those in the matriks. You guys may go out until a certain time (11pm for girls, 12am for guys) before the gates are closed every day.

If you are going to Taylors/Sunway, no curfew will be able to hold you in :p

07-05-2008, 07:08 PM
Go INTI, no curfew because the students there never sleeps. :P

powerleakin
07-05-2008, 07:10 PM
if we get JPA and they put us in college to do our a levels- is it like boarding school lifestyle with prep and curfews etc or would it be like normal Taylors/Sunway student life?

hey...i think most universities (i know ucsi) hv certain curfew too...eg can't come after 12midnight etc...

when you said like taylor/sunway life,you can't call that normal...that's a bit extra free IMHO :p

HaveYouMetTed
07-05-2008, 07:21 PM
so, i was wondering yeh, umm, do they give us college options for a-levels? cos for unis, they usually give you a list to choose from. just wondering if it's the same with the pre-u colleges..

michaelbyz23
07-05-2008, 07:55 PM
Saudara/i,

Untuk makluman, semakan keputusan boleh dibuat pada pertengahan bulan Mei 2008. Walaubagaimanapun, tarikh sebenar masih belum dapat dipastikan.

Sehubungan dengan itu, mohon kerjasama saudara/i untuk membuat semakan ke laman web www.jpa.gov.my sekerap yang mungkin.

Terima kasih.

Bahagian Pembangunan Modal Insan
JPA

This is wat i received after sending them an email

sNaiL0810
07-05-2008, 08:25 PM

U will got nothing different with all those private student, u will only crowned with a name of "JPA" scholar. Taylor and Inti got no curfew coz the resident is not so strict

Jim
07-05-2008, 08:54 PM
Hey, how do u guys know whether ur names r in the form six list or not? where did u check?

cuteranger
07-05-2008, 08:58 PM
Hey, how do u guys know whether ur names r in the form six list or not? where did u check?

U can check it here http://apps.emoe.gov.my/form6/

Jim
07-05-2008, 08:58 PM
a..a...recomers are busy chatting about when will be the date of JPA-result-out-day... Instead of guessing, I advise every recomers should be relaxing, sitting on your sofa in comfort and enjoying a cup of tea (or anything you like, probably a cake)... Do relax, you cannot change anything even the result comes out earlier...

lolz :)) well said!

mochitor
07-05-2008, 09:42 PM
Hello everyone, well many recommers have come up with many different theories and perhaps predictions about the date when JPA results will be released. But come on, its like waiting for an egg to hatch!(Is it an acceptable e.g.?) Haha, we all know it will hatch in fact we waited long for it, so why be so stressed up bout it? Just wait and see. But personally, if JPA comes out after form 6 starts that will hurt because u got to spend $$$ for uniform and stuff but who cares when u get JPA later! Anyways, all the best to everyone and remember you will only get what you deserve:))

abuzar
07-05-2008, 10:14 PM
Hello everyone, well many recommers have come up with many different theories and perhaps predictions about the date when JPA results will be released. But come on, its like waiting for an egg to hatch!(Is it an acceptable e.g.?) Haha, we all know it will hatch in fact we waited long for it, so why be so stressed up bout it? Just wait and see. But personally, if JPA comes out after form 6 starts that will hurt because u got to spend $$$ for uniform and stuff but who cares when u get JPA later! Anyways, all the best to everyone and remember you will only get what you deserve:))

well,in my school you can register for form 6 from 12-15 and even 16th of may is considered.i went to my school this morning to give a speech.after the speech i asked our "penolong kanan pentadbiran"when should we register.he said we can register from 12-15 of may.Well,i suggest you to go to school tomorrow and ask ur PK pentadbiran or your counclor whether you can rgister a bit late or do they have other alternatives.You can save a lot of money which might be needed if we get JPA(i hope both of us get it) the money can be used to book flight and other things.Ths is because we will actually "migrate" when we get JPA to KL(or selangor)

sNaiL0810
08-05-2008, 12:55 AM
there will be a proper annoncement made by JPA i think, like tanyijing2007 said, have a tea first.
Cheers

kana
08-05-2008, 07:27 AM
yes there will be a proper announcement but they should made it fast.

lindley
08-05-2008, 07:43 AM
my friend said he saw the advertisment in the NST paper saying that JPA results out nxt week?
i dunno how far that is true lah

jpysh2004@
08-05-2008, 10:39 AM
my friend said he saw the advertisment in the NST paper saying that JPA results out nxt week?
i dunno how far that is true lah

the thing ur friend is telling is about the detail of the new jpa scholarship for those 9As above.....JPA will release the detail for the new jpa scholarship next week