View Full Version : Jpa 2008
Pages :
[
1]
sNaiL0810
28-02-2008, 08:58 AM
for all junior, feel free to ask me any question about JPA in this topic.
Me and my friends will be happy to answer ur question since the SPM result is coming out
btw, I am a JPA scholar currently study at Taylor's University College who are going to go Canada for further study
I am taking ICPU course :D
28-02-2008, 01:23 PM
haha, count me in
I am also a JPA scholar , now studying in KBU International College, Australian bound..
I am taking AUSMAT, anyway..
Appolo
28-02-2008, 03:07 PM
Could you try and not start another thread about jpa?
I'm sorry if i might sound like a wet blanket but I woulkd really appreciate it if the thread is to be directed to other related threads instead like the one on scholarships or scholarship holder.
Thank you.
wendy191
28-02-2008, 03:43 PM
okay, since the interview part focus on the major / current / local issues, anyone have the list of the issues happened in 2007?
As i browse through the old thread, i found out that normally the interview is conducted in groups.But would anyone mind to enlighten me with the details? For example, how long would the interview be conducted, are we given time to prepare before doing presentation and etc..
Besides, what should we prepare before going for the interview?
Thanks in advance.
sNaiL0810
28-02-2008, 03:58 PM
Wendy191, the intervie is conducted as a group but not individual. It is usually five people in one room and it is arranged according to the alphabetical order.
The question might be various and they will ask u to introduce urself first.
Based on my experience last year, the panels ask us to introduce ourself in Malay and answer the question with English.
The interview time cannot be estimate because there might be some interviewer spend a lot of time on asking question.
There is no time given for u to think of the question and they will ask u to answer the question directly.
Prepare urself and its is always good to prepare a script to introduce urself before u go for interview.
28-02-2008, 06:44 PM
Wendy191, the intervie is conducted as a group but not individual. It is usually five people in one room and it is arranged according to the alphabetical order.
The question might be various and they will ask u to introduce urself first.
Based on my experience last year, the panels ask us to introduce ourself in Malay and answer the question with English.
The interview time cannot be estimate because there might be some interviewer spend a lot of time on asking question.
There is no time given for u to think of the question and they will ask u to answer the question directly.
Prepare urself and its is always good to prepare a script to introduce urself before u go for interview.
The interview is absolutely ridiculous. They resorted to such a gimmick due to the sheer numbers of application every year. And to Wendy191, you are required to 'fight' for your chance to answer the
interviewer's question, as if you're in a game show but lacked the usual buzzer available for contestants.
Appolo
29-02-2008, 06:12 PM
The interview is absolutely ridiculous. They resorted to such a gimmick due to the sheer numbers of application every year. And to Wendy191, you are required to 'fight' for your chance to answer the
interviewer's question, as if you're in a game show but lacked the usual buzzer available for contestants.
Well, being too competitive and dominat would cost you dearly in terms of the interviwers' impression of you.
sNaiL0810
29-02-2008, 06:53 PM
i agree with apollo, i have seen people talk "too much" not chosen, so be moderate but do talk
it's better to talk more rather than being moderate i think...i do grab my chance to talk as much as i could during the session but there's the other guy,claiming that he's the national debater and keep on rejecting my point and ended up got rejected...what i'll like to suggest here is that you should pin out your points and let it be a smooth flow rather than forcing yourself to give out irrelevant opinion during the session..
01-03-2008, 01:36 AM
Perhaps interview does help, but I think results still matter the most. I think you'll still be rejected even you perform superbly in interview if you results are not good enough, especially in critical courses. Anyway, you must give your best shot.... :)
01-03-2008, 10:20 AM
May i know where to get the application form of JPA scholarships? is it available now? I am afraid i will not have the time to do all the paper works like certified certs and all that after the SPM result release.
it's online application now,if i am not wrong.
my advice: get all certs/resumes/testimonials been certified before the released of results.
01-03-2008, 10:58 AM
So you're going for 2nd batch NS? The application is only open after results are released. However, you can get your certs certified now, still you don't have your SPM results... But it will surely make things easier later...
i am going NS 2nd batch. that's why i am getting things done beforehand.
but i doubt how am i going to be informed for the interview thingy. and do i have sufficient time to prepare by then... let say if i am short listed for interview........... :? :? :?
01-03-2008, 03:19 PM
Everything is online app now, except for the interview. You can actually start getting your paperwork done now if you're afraid you won't make it in time. However, for my batch(2007), the certified certs and paperwork are only required during the interview. However, do be careful when you fill the application form online. They'll only allow 3 corrections and not more. If there's anything else you want to ask, feel free to post it here or just drop me a PM.
wendy191
01-03-2008, 05:30 PM
Thanks for all the information shared by Recommers.
One more question, the topics asked in JPA interview normally based on that year or the previous year?
As an example, I am having the interview this year, so the topics being discussed during the interview session are issues happened in 2007 or 2008?
Thanks again.
Appolo
01-03-2008, 06:18 PM
but i doubt how am i going to be informed for the interview thingy. and do i have sufficient time to prepare by then... let say if i am short listed for interview........... :? :? :?
Don't worry too much about it.
Well, normally you would be informed if you received any offer of interview.Try and have your family or friends to keep you updated and respond immediately after you receive the news of an interview.Normally there will be an announcement about it.So no worries there.
If you are shortlisted for interview, you are given options to either do the interview at the nearest inerview center or the ones at your hometown.Choose your place carefully as there is always the fear of meeting up with stronger candidates from that particular area.
As for preparations during NS, it helps to have your parents being updated about any news and try to do your own homework about the possible local happenings when you are enjoying NS.
Hope that it helps.
02-03-2008, 02:35 AM
One more question, the topics asked in JPA interview normally based on that year or the previous year?
As an example, I am having the interview this year, so the topics being discussed during the interview session are issues happened in 2007 or 2008?
Thanks again.
Most topics are repeats of previous years, just some are new for that year. The topics are general, more like essay topics in schools, just very little people get serious topic, like 9th MP 2 years ago. Check other threads for the topics came out.
sNaiL0810
03-03-2008, 08:49 PM
Ya, as far as i know, the question is almost the same.
to Xon, they will also announce u through the internet whether u are shortlisted for the interview or not, so please do ask someone to check for u before u go into NS
P/s: Ns is a nice experience :)
Ya, as far as i know, the question is almost the same.
to Xon, they will also announce u through the internet whether u are shortlisted for the interview or not, so please do ask someone to check for u before u go into NS
P/s: Ns is a nice experience :)
thanks!~
you make me "tak sabah sabah" want masuk Kem..AHAHAHAHA..
04-03-2008, 01:56 AM
Thanks again.
No worries, their topics won't stimulate much of your critical thinking anyway.
09-03-2008, 06:15 PM
JPA has announced a few days ago at The Star that there would be 2,000 JPA Scholarships this year, up of 200 from last year.
It would maintain the policy of providing automatic scholarships for those whose family earn below RM1,500 and have above 10A1s. You would still need to apply for the scholarships, meet the minimum requirements and go through interview.
There will be hospital visits for those who apply for medicine too.
JPA has announced a few days ago at The Star that there would be 2,000 JPA Scholarships this year, up of 200 from last year.
It would maintain the policy of providing automatic scholarships for those whose family earn below RM1,500 and have above 10A1s. You would still need to apply for the scholarships, meet the minimum requirements and go through interview.
thanks ChenChow for the update~
wendy191
09-03-2008, 08:29 PM
JPA scholarship
1. Permohonan boleh dibuat secara online mulai 12 March sehingga 18 March.
2. Maklumat lanjut tentang prohram / bidang kursus dan cara memohon boleh diperolehi dengan melayari www.jpa.gov.my atau http://esila.jpa.gov.my
3.Calon yang memohon bidang Perubatan diwajib menyertai Program pendedahan Kerjaya Doktor > 24 hingga 28 Mac
4.Panggilan mengikut Program Pendedahan kerjaya > 21 Mac
5. Panggilan temuduga> 28 Mac
6.Temuduga JPA > 1 hingga 4 April
Petronas Scholarship
Open for application from 12 March to 18 March 2008.
For further information, please refer to http://spmonline.petronas.com.my
matchgirl
09-03-2008, 08:35 PM
If both my parents aren't working how can i prove my household income?
Does the 10A1s are limited to A1s of certain subjects?
i dont think there is such limitation...
matchgirl
09-03-2008, 09:01 PM
i dont think there is such limitation...
What if for example my moral get only A2?
still eligible?
IMHO,if the condition says less than RM1500 with 10A1,you're still eligible. They didnt say core subjects must A1 or what. Am i right?
09-03-2008, 09:10 PM
If both my parents aren't working how can i prove my household income?
You can just submit your parents' IC number and state that both of them are not working.
They will be able to check on whether your parents are really not working. If they are working, then they would have an income tax file. Everything is online today.
still eligible?
Perhaps you could help to call up JPA to check on this and share with other ReComers here!
matchgirl
09-03-2008, 09:17 PM
You can just submit your parents' IC number and state that both of them are not working.
They will be able to check on whether your parents are really not working. If they are working, then they would have an income tax file. Everything is online today.
oic......thanks...
What if my house hold income more than 1500?
will i be disqualified totally?
plus my state had just been taken by opposition,does it matters?
09-03-2008, 09:26 PM
Essentially, there are 2 categories of scholarships (essentially, the scholarships are the same).
For last year, 1500 scholarships for normal ones, and additional 300 spots for those who fulfill below RM1,500 salary and at least 10A1s.
The year before (SPM 2005) was 1500 scholarship spots.
So, those additional 300 spots are offered to those who are really in need, and in fact, this helps those who earn more than RM1,500, as some of these students who get the scholarships on this special allocation would free up some spots in the typical 1,500 slots.
For this year, there is an addition of 200 spots. It should be on the general one, i.e. to make it 1,700 spots. For last year, from what I understand, only about 240 students who fulfill the criteria of below RM1,500 family income and at least 10A1.
On whether your state is held by opposition, I would say that it should be minimal effect, except that for appeal, you might have fewer MPs to help you appeal. Other than that, it should be status quo.
matchgirl
09-03-2008, 09:35 PM
Essentially, there are 2 categories of scholarships (essentially, the scholarships are the same).
For last year, 1500 scholarships for normal ones, and additional 300 spots for those who fulfill below RM1,500 salary and at least 10A1s.
The year before (SPM 2005) was 1500 scholarship spots.
So, those additional 300 spots are offered to those who are really in need, and in fact, this helps those who earn more than RM1,500, as some of these students who get the scholarships on this special allocation would free up some spots in the typical 1,500 slots.
For this year, there is an addition of 200 spots. It should be on the general one, i.e. to make it 1,700 spots. For last year, from what I understand, only about 240 students who fulfill the criteria of below RM1,500 family income and at least 10A1.
On whether your state is held by opposition, I would say that it should be minimal effect, except that for appeal, you might have fewer MPs to help you appeal. Other than that, it should be status quo.
Our state all opposition MPs, except Pak Lah and a nobody some mALAY.....
How can I appeal?i mean reach out to who???
09-03-2008, 09:58 PM
Our state all opposition MPs, except Pak Lah and a nobody some mALAY.....
How can I appeal?i mean reach out to who???
Guess you are talking about Penang. I would say that lets focus on doing your best first. All these appeal would come in the end, if you could not get the scholarships in the first attempt.
If really you would have no source of appealing, you can always appeal to the Ministers, or even parties that you think you can manage to seek help from.
well actually they is a minimum requirement for each field of study .. for example if you are interested in taking medicine.. then you have to at least get a minimum A2 for english, physics, bio, chemistry,maths and add maths... for other courses you can check the jpa website...
wendy191
09-03-2008, 10:09 PM
Perhaps you could help to call up JPA to check on this and share with other ReComers here!
yes. With an A2, you are still eligible.
Please check the website for further details.
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syaratPermohonanPILN2008.pdf
I have a few questions here.
1) Is it easier to secure JPA scholarships if I apply for not-so-hot course like science compared to medicine?
2)In' Cadangan Syarat-Syarat Khusus Permohonan Program Ijazah Luar Negara Tahun 2008 ',some penaja columns state MARA not JPA.Is sponsorship of MARA only limited to bumiputera?
10-03-2008, 10:48 AM
1) Is it easier to secure JPA scholarships if I apply for not-so-hot course like science compared to medicine?
2)In' Cadangan Syarat-Syarat Khusus Permohonan Program Ijazah Luar Negara Tahun 2008 ',some penaja columns state MARA not JPA.Is sponsorship of MARA only limited to bumiputera?
I don't think that there are any not-so-hot courses offered by JPA. As we all know, the number of applicants have always exceeded the number of seats offered every year. And bear in mind that not all JPA applicants intend to pursue medicine. Here's my piece of advice: Apply for the course that you really want to pursue. Don't just apply for it because people say it'll be easier to get.
sNaiL0810
11-03-2008, 01:12 PM
anyhow, the minimum require is just for ur rough reference.
If u cant make it to the requirement, try to apply as well because there is always some exception.
I just get 9A in SPM but i still get JPA, they do look at other way as well, co-curricular earn some marks for me last year.
GOod luck for people who take SPM result tomolo!!!
e.pulse
11-03-2008, 02:34 PM
hey snail0810!.. im taking my results tomolo.. hope u dont mind me asking, which subjects did u get the 9A's, A1 or 2? n wat course did u apply for? im curious cuz i wanna c what my chances r for qualifying for the scholarship... thanks for the help
ryanne90
11-03-2008, 02:56 PM
so, anyone has a list of topics that scholars can prepare for? because i saw that the trend from every year's question covers a wide scope. what if my bm is not so good? can i do it in english? where can i get more info on jpa?
based on my experience, if the question was asked in bm and u answer in english, ur chances of getting the scholarship is cut into half. Same goes if u answer a question in bm when they ask the question in english.
for my time in 2006, they asked two questions, english and bm each respectively and required us to answer them both with different languages respectively.
my suggestion: brush up ur bm...
p/s: dun worry too much about it, i have many friends who managed to get their scholarship even though they can't speak bm well.
11-03-2008, 03:51 PM
I heard from a reliable source that BC is not core subjects taken into consideration in application of JPA scholarship, so don't feel upset if you don't secure A1 in BC, you do still stand a chance, though sometimes it would a slight disadvantage if other people have the same number of subjects as you, but secure straight A1. The case differs every year, so just give it a try and hope for the best.
12-03-2008, 12:55 AM
If u cant make it to the requirement, try to apply as well because there is always some exception.
I just get 9A in SPM but i still get JPA, they do look at other way as well, co-curricular earn some marks for me last year.
It is a rough reference alright! I got 11A1s including BC for SPM but there is nothing for me! No doubt my ECA performance is lackluster but it is better compared to having nothing! Until now, I'm still very bitter and harboured resentment towards them.
12-03-2008, 02:08 PM
just get my spm result...i score 11 A..(9A1 and 2A2)my english and EST get a2..while the GCEO get B4...Do i have a chance to secure JPA scholarships?
12-03-2008, 02:19 PM
just get my spm result...i score 11 A..(9A1 and 2A2)my english and EST get a2..while the GCEO get B4...Do i have a chance to secure JPA scholarships?
Well, I think your results fulfill the requirements set by JPA,so why not?
there's no such thing as securing a scholarship...but with 9A1 and 2A2, there's a fair chance.
honestly, with an A2 in english, it's an disadvantage.
it also depends on your choice or major.
12-03-2008, 04:04 PM
ur result is almost same as mine.... I managed to secure a spot as a JPA scholars, of coz u'll definitely get a chance. Jz giv it a try n gud luck!!!:)
doby_90
12-03-2008, 04:06 PM
if i get 8a1s, can i apply for this scholarship?
ur result is almost same as mine.... I managed to secure a spot as a JPA scholars, of coz u'll definitely get a chance. Jz giv it a try n gud luck!!!:)
Uncle-Bryan,what course you applied for?
12-03-2008, 04:16 PM
As long as you meet the requirement of the course, you can apply. You can check for the requirements online on JPA website.
12-03-2008, 04:17 PM
Uncle-Bryan,what course you applied for?
German engineering....
12-03-2008, 04:18 PM
Really?? Then I'm even more bitter now.
12-03-2008, 04:25 PM
Really?? Then I'm even more bitter now.
Well, every year has different criteria, so we can't judge if you are not from the same year....
12-03-2008, 04:27 PM
Well, every year has different criteria, so we can't judge if you are not from the same year....
True, but this time I'm going to give it a shot again, with my A level results.
12-03-2008, 04:30 PM
True, but this time I'm going to give it a shot again, with my A level results.
Good luck and all the best !!
12-03-2008, 04:35 PM
Good luck and all the best !!
Thank you! =D
12-03-2008, 05:13 PM
Contrary to what the others might say, I feel that it is equally important to ensure that you do not dominate the entire group discussion. If you feel that you are dominating the discussion, you can stop and ask others,' What do you think?' and etc. I believe it'll be better as it shows that you are open to other ideas as well. And as for the results or interview is more important issue, I believe that both are equally important. I have seen students who barely managed to fulfill the required results (meaning they had quite a few A2s) and yet they secured better scholarships than those who had the string of A1s. If you've got any more questions feel free to PM me.
Lawrence
12-03-2008, 05:19 PM
just an add-on here...the interview does not necessarily to be conducted in a 5/6-persons group.number of applicants per group may varies in different interviews in different states as far as i concern..so, don't expect the same situation from others who had gone for it before..just relax and do your best!! good luck to all to of you who are applying this year!!
12-03-2008, 05:47 PM
As for interviews, Im thinking a lot of yous are nervous and probably think that damn im so gonna fail coz my english/BM is not good, Im not so widely read, I surely will ketar/shiver and be unable to answer the questions and share my opinions etc
Well, during an interview, this is what I usually do:
Take a deep breath before going into the room, and push out any bad negative thoughts out of your head. Think positive thoughts and try visualization as in thinking youre going to go in and youre gonna ace that interview! I find that this helps as it makes me less nervous and well, even tho I talk a lot and am quite a confident person (smthg ppl tell me and i myself also know this =D) but I too experience nervousness and feel intimidated when I hv to go for interviews.
BUT, always rmmbr that everybody is there for the same reason - to get a scholarship. So think positive thoughts, and when speaking, speak slowly and clearly. ENUNCIATE and dont forget to throw questions to other candidates too, like Sue89 said, it shows that you're not a hogger. And ppl like ppl who think of others.
It feels so odd talking about SPM and interviews since im working full time and hv left uni, but yea, can relate to that coz a lot of ppl come to me and ask, how do i speak better english (im an english teacher). So, like i said, speak confidently and slowly, ENUNCIATE and dont rush. Form ur thoughts in your head if youre not confident you'll be able to elaborate as you speak, but dont take too long, ppl will think youre slow in the head!
to the little ones, g luck w the interview. My bro's in the same boat as you guys, so yea im trying to help him out as much as i can. Let us knw how it turns out eh.
Azure
12-03-2008, 06:43 PM
Just got my result, i got 8A1 and A2 in chinese, and most unexpectedly a B4 in Moral. I'm so disappointed since i never got a b in moral test before... can i still apply for jpa with such result? (i got A1 for all core subject except moral, i'm so sad...)
mistywie
12-03-2008, 06:47 PM
i got 8a1 2b3.. awfully for morAL WHICH is general requirement for application.. but da khusus thing i fulfill.. so wil i b eligible?... gosh...
12-03-2008, 06:58 PM
Hello there. I'm very interested of what you think of my chances of getting a JPA scholarship for medicine. Well, my results is not that good as i only got
9 A1 and 2 A2. My A2 subjects are EST and Physics. Do you think I am qualified? If you don't think so, which career path do you think i should endeavour?
12-03-2008, 07:09 PM
Wow, this year results are dropped ... I can see that most of my juniors din manage to score well.. May be is d post election effect...
12-03-2008, 07:18 PM
Hello there. I'm very interested of what you think of my chances of getting a JPA scholarship for medicine. Well, my results is not that good as i only got
9 A1 and 2 A2. My A2 subjects are EST and Physics. Do you think I am qualified? If you don't think so, which career path do you think i should endeavour?
juz apply 4 wat interest u d most ... Ur science subjects gt A2? Franky said, the chance will be slimmer if u score A2 for those subjects.. YOu must always refer to the core subjects of the studies..
Medicine requires high distinction for all science subjects..Surprisingly, phsocs is d most important subject, compared to Physics and Chemistry..
However, do have a try..
Cheers..
i got 8a1 2b3.. awfully for morAL WHICH is general requirement for application.. but da khusus thing i fulfill.. so wil i b eligible?... gosh...
Mind to explain more regarding to your results? What subjects?
Which field you are really interested?
lc_lian
12-03-2008, 08:59 PM
i got 11a1 and 1a2 in malay. do i still stand a chance in getting jpa for medicine?
magicalass
12-03-2008, 09:00 PM
if im a science stream student n i wish to apply for accounting/econs for jpa , do i hav a chance on getting the scholarship? is there any1 who did so n got it ?
wendy191
12-03-2008, 09:06 PM
i get all 3a2's for my sciences.8a1's for other subjects. and now i think my chance getting into medicine is very slim.should i switch to veterinary science since i am equally interested in that?
Jojo_Crystal
12-03-2008, 09:26 PM
Hi, a friend of mine got 8 a1 and 3 a2 in spm. The a2s are chinese, biology and est. She is interested in biotechnology. So, can she apply for jpa scholarship? She is very keen in getting a scholarship to pursue her studys.
Thanks for anyone who helped.
12-03-2008, 10:05 PM
LOL, so they are giving out less straight A1's to reduce the number of applicants?
i kinda agree with this point.
12-03-2008, 10:12 PM
Probably they are increasing the strictness of the marking process. Anyway, don't despair if you didn't get perfect results, you have lots of options ahead. Many of the successful ReCom members here didn't get perfect results or get JPA / Petronas / other "major" scholarships, for your information.
12-03-2008, 10:20 PM
If u think tat u r nt gud enuf, bt feel like wanna apply for da scholarship, just apply, giv it a try, wheter u cn get it or nt, it doesn't matter, at least u tried... Furthermore, u dun hav to pay a single sen, rite?
sNaiL0810
13-03-2008, 12:55 AM
Hi, a friend of mine got 8 a1 and 3 a2 in spm. The a2s are chinese, biology and est. She is interested in biotechnology. So, can she apply for jpa scholarship? She is very keen in getting a scholarship to pursue her studys.
Thanks for anyone who helped.
for biotech student, he/she should be obtained A1 in biology althought the minimum require is A2,
Anyway, i would suggest u all give it a try as you all might get a chance to get the scholar.
BTW, our minister Dato' Seri Ong Ka ting edi resign as a minister, it is a bad news for u all as he is the one who fight for chinese JPA seats. He is the one who ask for 200 more spaces for poor students in a household income lower that RM1500 per month
Afterall, i would suggest u all try to apply for it even though the result is moderate because they might choose you
GuoSheng
13-03-2008, 02:15 AM
hey..is it real that the number of straight A1s has declined this year?
sugarspice
13-03-2008, 08:09 AM
Uncle_Bryan, what were the subjects that you got A2 in?
And are you active in co curricular activities?
Are you still in INTEC?
Me and my friends will be happy to answer ur question since the SPM result is coming out
btw, I am a JPA scholar currently study at Taylor's University College who are going to go Canada for further study
sNaiL0810, I would be glad if you answer my following questions. =)
1. are you a bumi or non bumi?
2. what was your SPM results?
3. what course and were you offered?
thanks to both of you. =)
magicalass
13-03-2008, 10:15 AM
if im a science stream student n i wish to apply for accounting/econs for jpa , do i hav a chance on getting the scholarship?(since i heard that wad most ppl say is " if u r sains then stay in sains this kinda things ) is there any1 who did so n got it ?
e.pulse
13-03-2008, 10:44 AM
Actually according to The Star newspaper today, the number of straight A students hav INCREASED 5.2 percent from last year..its didnt drop
13-03-2008, 01:37 PM
Are you still in INTEC?
Bryan still in INTEC, he is studying in ALG (A level Germany)
Snail is a chinese, who is now studying in Taylors college, ICPU program, going to canada..
That s what i know..
if im a science stream student n i wish to apply for accounting/econs for jpa , do i hav a chance on getting the scholarship?(since i heard that wad most ppl say is " if u r sains then stay in sains this kinda things ) is there any1 who did so n got it ?
I have friends who are in science streams in secondary school but manage to secure JPA schoarlships on accounting and economics..
So, i can conclude that you must take at least 1 "commerce " subject such as perdagangan, ekonomi, prinsip akaun , etc to increase your chance to secure a scholarship..
However do have a try, since it is free of charge..
13-03-2008, 02:18 PM
Are you still in INTEC?
1. Those subjects tat I got A2 r : Bio, BC, EST... Besides, i got another 1 ugly B4, tat's BK (bible knowledge)
2. I'm quite active in coco, holding quite a number of high post in my secondary school, representing school for quite a number of time in certain competition.
3. I'm still in INTEC currently, studying for my 2nd sem.
13-03-2008, 03:39 PM
I don't think so, if I'm not mistaken, for the past two years, number of straight A1 students is about 900++ while this year, it's 1000++.
jamesgan
13-03-2008, 03:41 PM
for biotech student, he/she should be obtained A1 in biology althought the minimum require is A2,
Anyway, i would suggest u all give it a try as you all might get a chance to get the scholar.
BTW, our minister Dato' Seri Ong Ka ting edi resign as a minister, it is a bad news for u all as he is the one who fight for chinese JPA seats. He is the one who ask for 200 more spaces for poor students in a household income lower that RM1500 per month
Afterall, i would suggest u all try to apply for it even though the result is moderate because they might choose you
Snail u r kp?
I would suggest the fellow mentioned above change course. Since bio get a2, it is betta for u to apply smth that u r gd v,if u choose smth tat u r gd,bt nt tat gd,it might b a big prob for u when u study in future. We hv to bear in mind tat after we choose tis course, we might face it for life. so, it is betta u choose smth tat u like it, n u can excel. tis is my personal point of view, but if u r determined in biotech, then gv it a try. all the best ya
13-03-2008, 03:47 PM
Since many students are after medicine, I should say something. Securing JPA scholarship in medicine does not require straight A1, many students still managed to get it with one or 2 A2s or even a B3, provided that you would accept to go to so-called not-so-glamour countries. The criteria differ from year to year. Some people might not secure the scholarship with particular results last year, but the same results may help another student to secure the scholarship this year. Bear in mind that cocu and interview help too... And it's totally free of charge for JPA scholarship application, so you should give it a try as long as you are qualified.
Just want to confirm sth.We do not need to summit any certified document during the application process ,right?
sNaiL0810
13-03-2008, 09:50 PM
Are you still in INTEC?
i am totally a pure chinese, so its non-bumi
MY SPM result not so good either 9 A
I was in science stream but i choose social science as my further study
currently i am in social science field
Hi
can i know the past year questions that had been asked by interviewer during interview??
sNaiL0810
13-03-2008, 09:52 PM
erm..about ur qeustion, you can totally change to any field u like since u r in science stream.
I am an example for it, i was a science stream student and now i am taking social science and art
but art stream student cannot go to science for sure
13-03-2008, 10:04 PM
Actually according to The Star newspaper today, the number of straight A students hav INCREASED 5.2 percent from last year..its didnt drop
My friend, the is a difference between straight A1s and straight As.
Tasslehoff
13-03-2008, 11:43 PM
I don't think so, if I'm not mistaken, for the past two years, number of straight A1 students is about 900++ while this year, it's 1000++.
Of the total, 1,072 obtained 1As last year (2007) compared to 1,280 in 2006 [quoted from star]
there you go. theres a decline in straight A1's
but the number of A1's does not correlate with smartness. not all straight A1 scorers do well after SPM.. this is because they have geared thier studies for SPM only.. and when thrown into other situations, they flaunder.
Almost everyone who has undergone a non-malaysian education system will agree that the SPM system is utter rubbish.. in terms of content and even more so of the grading.. As we all know, there are some subjects offered in SPM that are just joke subjects... the same goes for the British A levels... but the distinction is that people in the UK are aware of the so called joke subjects in A levels (aka blacklisted subjects) whereas in Malaysia.. everything is just about QUANTITY, not Quality.
13-03-2008, 11:46 PM
Medicine traditionally would be the toughest course to obtain, so for other majors, the chances would be a little better. However, I won't say for any of the course, it would be easy. It would just be relatively easier.
For MARA Scholarship, it would be purely for Bumiputera only.
Actually meeting the minimum requirement is quite crucial. I have seen quite a number of students being rejected directly, because they didn't meet the minium requirement.
Do you miss the minimum requirement of any subject when you apply?
It depends on the breakdown of your subject, so as long as you meet the minimum requirement for a particular major/country for JPA Scholarships, then you can apply.
Essentially, if all your subjects are either A1 or A2, then you can definitely apply.
For Japan and Korea Engineering, they do take for science subjects B3 too. Do check out the link below for full details.
Check it out at here (http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syaratPermohonanPILN2008.pdf)
Good Luck!
Do give it a good try!
Just got my result, i got 8A1 and A2 in chinese, and most unexpectedly a B4 in Moral. I'm so disappointed since i never got a b in moral test before... can i still apply for jpa with such result? (i got A1 for all core subject except moral, i'm so sad...)
Effectively, both of you did not meet the minimum requirements for JPA Scholarships, and based on past year requirements, you would not be able to get to the interview stage. Fellow ReComers, please highlight here if you do get B3 or worse in Pendidikan Moral, and you still get to go for JPA Scholarship Interview.
However, I would still encourage you to submit your applications. No harm prepare and submit your applications. However, do be prepared not to get called up for interview.
If you never try, you will never get called up for interview. If you try, maybe they might call you up. No harm trying.
Good Luck!
lance
14-03-2008, 12:01 AM
say...
will you nid to submit the borang pengesahan pendapatan??
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/borangpengesahanpendapatan.pdf
wat is it used for ?
lance
14-03-2008, 12:03 AM
wat if when u applied medicine, n u r being called up for the program pendedahan kerjaya at hospitals. suddenly u found out that u hav some sorts of phobia towards those bloods, organs etc etc...
r u able to change the course u apply to pharmacy or others?
or u r gone ?
14-03-2008, 12:04 AM
Actually if you refer to the JPA Requirements here (http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syaratPermohonanPILN2008.pdf), for economics, this year, you need to have at least 2 A2 from among the following subjects (Ekonomi Asas, Fizik, Kimia, Perdagangan, Prinsip Perakaunan, Pengajian Keusahawanan and Geografi). So, for science stream, you can apply for this year for Economics, if you do take Physics and Chemistry.
For Accounting, you must take Prinsip Akaun in SPM, as well as either of Physics, Ekonomi Asas, Perdagangan or Pengajian Keusahawanan.
Do refer to the requirements page by JPA and then from there, you would know whether you are qualified.
14-03-2008, 12:05 AM
Medicine traditionally would be the toughest course to obtain, so for other majors, the chances would be a little better. However, I won't say for any of the course, it would be easy. It would just be relatively easier.
For MARA Scholarship, it would be purely for Bumiputera only.
I have a friend who is a chinese, whose father is a MARA college lecturers , manages to get MARA scholarship, studying IB in Kolej Mara Banting..
Medic student
There are some exceptions anyway
nigelsim
14-03-2008, 12:55 AM
he's my college mate now... lol...
14-03-2008, 01:36 AM
Hi
can i know the past year questions that had been asked by interviewer during interview??
The list of past year questions shared by fellow ReComers are here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3218)
say...
will you nid to submit the borang pengesahan pendapatan??
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/borangpengesahanpendapatan.pdf
wat is it used for ?
the Income tax reference number only right?
from what i read from Recom,honesty is the best policy.
they will scan through Lembaga Hasill themself.
powerleakin
14-03-2008, 11:46 AM
is it true that those whose parents are pensioners must right 0.00 in the pendapatan field?
wilson
14-03-2008, 12:38 PM
Hi, all.
What are the suitable attire to dress on for the jpa interview? Usually, there will be around how many interviewers during the interview....just gimme a rough number pls.
Is GCE-o level considered one subject?If i got A1 in my gce-olevel, does that mean i got one extra A1?
Thanks in advance. :)
anderscheng
14-03-2008, 12:46 PM
Is it possible for me to get a JPA scholarship with 8A1's 3A2's and 1B3(EST) ?
wilson
14-03-2008, 01:03 PM
Did you visit the jpa website? According to them, you'll stand higher chance of getting the jpa offer if you scored 9A1's and are active in co-curriculum. But anyhow, you still meet their minimum requirement. I think you still stand a chance of securing a scholarship.
By the way, I hv also applied for the jpa scholarhsips. Hope we get the offer. Good luck.
hhhcce
14-03-2008, 01:04 PM
Yes. Choose the country that you want to go wisely. You know what I mean, don't you?
prince_J
14-03-2008, 01:08 PM
Hi, all.
What are the suitable attire to dress on for the jpa interview? Usually, there will be around how many interviewers during the interview....just gimme a rough number pls.
Is GCE-o level considered one subject?If i got A1 in my gce-olevel, does that mean i got one extra A1?
GCE O Level is NOT a subject...
Attire for any interview will be about the same. Guys should wear formal , while girls should wear baju kurung or smart formal. For my year, there were 3 interviewers..
p4peace
14-03-2008, 02:49 PM
Hi magicalass..
I m ur senior who manage to secure JPA scholarship last year.
I m currently studying accounting in Taylors College.
Previously i m from sience stream. And most of my classmate who got JPA accounting from science stream too. So it is not true that ' science stream have to stay in science field" No worries.... ^-^
But do make sure u fulfil all the criteria for the accounting course.
Means u must hv at least A2 for the particular subjects.
1) Prinsip perakaunan
2)Matematik
3)Matematik Tambahan/Sains/Sains Tambahan
4)Bahasa Inggeris
5)Fizik/Perdagangan/ Ekonomi Asas/ Pengajian Keusahawanan
good luck to you....
sugarspice
14-03-2008, 03:12 PM
Hi magicalass..
I m ur senior who manage to secure JPA scholarship last year.
I m currently studying accounting in Taylors College.
Previously i m from sience stream. And most of my classmate who got JPA accounting from science stream too. So it is not true that ' science stream have to stay in science field" No worries.... ^-^
But do make sure u fulfil all the criteria for the accounting course.
Means u must hv at least A2 for the particular subjects.
1) Prinsip perakaunan
2)Matematik
3)Matematik Tambahan/Sains/Sains Tambahan
4)Bahasa Inggeris
5)Fizik/Perdagangan/ Ekonomi Asas/ Pengajian Keusahawanan
good luck to you....
How about economics? I got an A1 in Prinsip Akaun in SPM but I really hate accounts. (My SPM results >> 9A1, 3A2 and GCE O A1)(I am pure chinese)
I prefer to opt for economics. I do fulfill all the requirements stated. But my school teacher advised me not to choose econs because I didn't take ekonomi asas & perdagangan and will kinda lose out to those who are in commerce stream. What should I do?
By the way, p4peace, I would be glad if you can answer my following questions:
1. Are you a bumi or non bumi and which state are you from?
2. What country did you get? Canada?
Much thanks.
Ryosuke01
14-03-2008, 03:21 PM
i wan to ask if my dad salary is RM2000 n above, my chance to get JPA will affect or not? Anybody here also same as me?
household income is just one section to be considered. as ChenChow said before(somewhere in Recom) there is a mark system for JPA... like RM 5K per month hw many mark......Out of 10%....
14-03-2008, 03:41 PM
How about economics? I got an A1 in Prinsip Akaun in SPM but I really hate accounts. (My SPM results >> 9A1, 3A2 and GCE O A1)(I am pure chinese)
I prefer to opt for economics. I do fulfill all the requirements stated. But my school teacher advised me not to choose econs because I didn't take ekonomi asas & perdagangan and will kinda lose out to those who are in commerce stream. What should I do?
You can just give it a try, since you're interested. There's no point for you to study course which you don't like. And most students who get good results are from science stream, so there shouldn't be much competition from commerce stream students. Just that if you have more commerce-related subjects, your chance is theoritically higher.
p4peace
14-03-2008, 04:05 PM
Hi sugarspice..
I Agree with miracle_seed.
it doesn't matter for u if u din take perdagangan or economic asas.
The criteria for the economic course are
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya gred 2A dalam tiga matapelajaran berikut:
1) Bahasa Inggeris
2) Matematik
3))Matematik Tambahan/Sains/Sains Tambahan
dan sukurang-kurangnya gred 2A dalam DUA DARIPADA MANA-MANA MATAPELAJARAN berikut:
4)Fizik/Kimia/Perdagangan/ Ekonomi Asas/ Pengajian Keusahawanan/Geografi/Prinsip perakaunan (Any 2 subject from here will do)
And regarding your questions..
1) i m a pure chinese and from Johor.
2) I m goin to Australia.
sugarspice
14-03-2008, 04:11 PM
Hi sugarspice..
I Agree with miracle_seed.
it doesn't matter for u if u din take perdagangan or economic asas.
The criteria for the economic course are
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya gred 2A dalam tiga matapelajaran berikut:
1) Bahasa Inggeris
2) Matematik
3))Matematik Tambahan/Sains/Sains Tambahan
dan sukurang-kurangnya gred 2A dalam DUA DARIPADA MANA-MANA MATAPELAJARAN berikut:
4)Fizik/Kimia/Perdagangan/ Ekonomi Asas/ Pengajian Keusahawanan/Geografi/Prinsip perakaunan (Any 2 subject from here will do)
And regarding your questions..
1) i m a pure chinese and from Johor.
2) I m goin to Australia.
Ok. Thanks for your piece of info.
Are you taking SAM or AUSMAT in Taylors? JPA sent you here or you pay on your own?
And can I know your spm results? pls be exact.
Thanks!
p4peace
14-03-2008, 04:20 PM
I'm takiing SAM. JPA sent me there and they paid all the fees include accomodation.
My SPM results - 10A1, 2A2 and GCE A2.
wilson
14-03-2008, 04:22 PM
Isit that the essay and group discussion will be held together on the same day? Then, how about the psychology test? Is that carried out on the same day as interview day? Pls tell me more about the arrangement or procedures during the interview day, so that i can be more mentally prepared.
Another question is regarding the group discussion. If the topic given is an open and free-end topic, eg:Smoking, where should i start from? Should i just take it as the usual discussion and begin from one perspective i like? Then, if the topic is about what you have done, eg:what u have done to make the visit malaysia year 2007 a success?, should i say the truth (i've done nothing), or should i just find some point to say.... i mean cheat?
i noe this is a bit lengthy, but i am just looking for more details about the interview. Thanks for clearing my doubts.
Someone Just Now Ask About Petronas....
Pay First Before Apply....
jamesgan
14-03-2008, 04:36 PM
latest info,when jpa first announce the scholarships for oversea, i cnt find any offer for law.i tot i m the 1st n last batch. but surprisingly i found tat jpa has jz added yest. n another gd news for u guys is jpa oso offer for law to uk,which i dream for eriday.
so hope hose who wish to pursue law in future, don waste tis golden chance ya. if got any quest, feel free to ask ya.
p4peace= japanese gal.haha.
esther
14-03-2008, 04:50 PM
do u know the economics courses for the jpa?
14-03-2008, 04:53 PM
Isit that the essay and group discussion will be held together on the same day? Then, how about the psychology test? Is that carried out on the same day as interview day? Pls tell me more about the arrangement or procedures during the interview day, so that i can be more mentally prepared.
Another question is regarding the group discussion. If the topic given is an open and free-end topic, eg:Smoking, where should i start from? Should i just take it as the usual discussion and begin from one perspective i like? Then, if the topic is about what you have done, eg:what u have done to make the visit malaysia year 2007 a success?, should i say the truth (i've done nothing), or should i just find some point to say.... i mean cheat?
i noe this is a bit lengthy, but i am just looking for more details about the interview. Thanks for clearing my doubts.
Starting year 2006, the essy part has been abolished (I'm not sure whether they'll reintroduce it this year). You'll start with psycology test (To be precise, it's personality and career test), then after you've completed, you'll wait for you turn for the interview (group discussion). For my year, they arranged it according to alphabetical order, so those with name start with T and later, you might have your interview in the afternoon. However, it differs from centre to centre, and sometimes it's even different in the same centre but different rooms.
For the group discussion, it depends on your interviewer. Some like to do it as debate, forum or just normal discussion. Most interviewers are nice, they'll guide you to start and ask those who are quiet to give their opinion, though, personally I think when the interviewers ask you to stop, or to talk, it means you talked too much, or too less, and I suppose marks will be deducted.
Anyway, those info are things happened 2 years ago, so I'm not sure whether it can still be applied this year.
sugarspice
14-03-2008, 05:09 PM
latest info,when jpa first announce the scholarships for oversea, i cnt find any offer for law.i tot i m the 1st n last batch. but surprisingly i found tat jpa has jz added yest. n another gd news for u guys is jpa oso offer for law to uk,which i dream for eriday.
so hope hose who wish to pursue law in future, don waste tis golden chance ya. if got any quest, feel free to ask ya.
p4peace= japanese gal.haha.
Yea, and the 'syarat' is super 'longgar'. Australia & UK - good countries. =)
I wonder JPA will consider science or commerce stream students first....
wilson
14-03-2008, 05:19 PM
Starting year 2006, the essy part has been abolished (I'm not sure whether they'll reintroduce it this year). You'll start with psycology test (To be precise, it's personality and career test), then after you've completed, you'll wait for you turn for the interview (group discussion). For my year, they arranged it according to alphabetical order, so those with name start with T and later, you might have your interview in the afternoon. However, it differs from centre to centre, and sometimes it's even different in the same centre but different rooms.
For the group discussion, it depends on your interviewer. Some like to do it as debate, forum or just normal discussion. Most interviewers are nice, they'll guide you to start and ask those who are quiet to give their opinion, though, personally I think when the interviewers ask you to stop, or to talk, it means you talked too much, or too less, and I suppose marks will be deducted.
Anyway, those info are things happened 2 years ago, so I'm not sure whether it can still be applied this year.
Thanks for all the info, Miracle seed. I have submitted the online application form. I meet their requirement of application and am now waiting for the results. By the way, I chose medicine. Do you think it's difficult to get the scholarship for medicine? For your information, I scored 9A1, 2A2 and gce-o level A1 in my spm. I admit that's not very good. I am not boasting, but I had been the best student for science stream in 2006, when I was in form 4. But can I show the interviewers my past years school examination results?
Thanks.....again. Haha :)
Anduril
14-03-2008, 08:04 PM
People, by all means, try your best.
But I must say this: getting jpa is like fishing; you either get it or you don't, no matter how juicy or wriggly your worm is.
In all cases, it should not be your only way 'out'. I have come to believe for some time now that there are other (better) alternatives.
lance
14-03-2008, 08:33 PM
the Income tax reference number only right?
from what i read from Recom,honesty is the best policy.
they will scan through Lembaga Hasill themself.
so that borang pengesahan is not gonna b used yet??
income tax no. must write or juz leave it blank ??
cuz my father is working as a hawker n i m trying to write the lowest income possible for a more secure place to get jpa.
esther
14-03-2008, 08:46 PM
anyone know economic this course??i m plannin to choose this course when applying jpa..just wanna knw more abt this course??
jamesgan
14-03-2008, 09:24 PM
Thanks for all the info, Miracle seed. I have submitted the online application form. I meet their requirement of application and am now waiting for the results. By the way, I chose medicine. Do you think it's difficult to get the scholarship for medicine? For your information, I scored 9A1, 2A2 and gce-o level A1 in my spm. I admit that's not very good. I am not boasting, but I had been the best student for science stream in 2006, when I was in form 4. But can I show the interviewers my past years school examination results?
Thanks.....again. Haha :)
hmm 9a1 2a2 compares among scholar,is average.but then possibility to get is thr. prob is,wat a2 u get? apply medic can b quite diff,coz competition is v great as most of the chinese aim for medic. demand more,supply more. but 1 of the major prob is, countries for medic got a few. prestigious 1 can b uk,ireland,aus but the places v limited,n the rest can b india,indonesia,poland,russia,czech and bla bla. so, when u apply medic,u hv to prepare to go any country tat mention above lor. i have a few frens who rejected jpa coz they got russia,poland o indonesia
I have 6A1, 4A2 n 2B. Econs n PA are A1. Came from Science stream n applying to study Economics. Came back from NS. What is my chances for scholarship?
14-03-2008, 09:43 PM
I have 6A1, 4A2 n 2B. Econs n PA are A1. Came from Science stream n applying to study Economics. Came back from NS. What is my chances for scholarship?
0% if you don't try.
so may i noe tat izzit the questions that had been asked by interviewer before will be reasked again in this year??
14-03-2008, 11:15 PM
so may i noe tat izzit the questions that had been asked by interviewer before will be reasked again in this year??
Most probably..Usually the questions will be current issues related to the education, social issues.. They won't ask u abt politics and economics (Apakah itu Indeks komposit? )
Check recom for the past year questions..
wilson
14-03-2008, 11:24 PM
hmm 9a1 2a2 compares among scholar,is average.but then possibility to get is thr. prob is,wat a2 u get? apply medic can b quite diff,coz competition is v great as most of the chinese aim for medic. demand more,supply more. but 1 of the major prob is, countries for medic got a few. prestigious 1 can b uk,ireland,aus but the places v limited,n the rest can b india,indonesia,poland,russia,czech and bla bla. so, when u apply medic,u hv to prepare to go any country tat mention above lor. i have a few frens who rejected jpa coz they got russia,poland o indonesia
I got A2 for EST and Chinese. And I am ready to go for universities in Russia or Indonesia.
Can anyone pls help me on this, can I bring my past-year school examinations and show them to the interviewer? That's because I had been very consistent and good in my previous school examinations. If they would consider my performance in school exams, that would be an added advantage. So, my question is, will they take a look at my previous school exams results?
Thank you for all your help.
normally, what would be asked in d persanality test??
blursylvia
15-03-2008, 12:24 AM
hi, i m a spm 2007 leaver too..currently applying JPA scholarships..
we need to use 2 language during the interview, is it??
and the social economic part..how do they judge or give point??will they really go n check our income tax no. one by one??
thx...
15-03-2008, 12:40 AM
hi, i m a spm 2007 leaver too..currently applying JPA scholarships..
we need to use 2 language during the interview, is it??
and the social economic part..how do they judge or give point??will they really go n check our income tax no. one by one??
thx...
They don't 'check', they skim through the many files and folders given by applicants on the spot.
normally, what would be asked in d persanality test??
Haven't you done a personality test in school before?? Those are the things la
I got A2 for EST and Chinese. And I am ready to go for universities in Russia or Indonesia.
Can anyone pls help me on this, can I bring my past-year school examinations and show them to the interviewer? That's because I had been very consistent and good in my previous school examinations. If they would consider my performance in school exams, that would be an added advantage. So, my question is, will they take a look at my previous school exams results?
No harm in showing them your school results! If it adds 'consistency' to your application by all means go ahead. They will have a look at whatever you're offering them.
Something similar may pop out of their mouths.
you can insert ur results together with your certs...
but dun try to talk about it during ur interview as they might think that you are boasting...
neverthelss, looking doesn't mean considering...ur spm results are still their primary consideration...unless you have outstanding results in sports or extra-curricular activities.
wendy191
15-03-2008, 08:25 AM
hi everyone.
I would like to ask about the Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan Bulanan Keluarga Calon.
When should we submit this? or we have to bring it during the interview? I tried the hotline but it seems no one answer the phone.
tan2020
15-03-2008, 09:44 AM
hi, may i know the topics that are usually asked in the jpa interview? Is it mostly about current issues in malaysia? do we need to write an essay during the interview?
sNaiL0810
15-03-2008, 11:06 AM
hi everyone.
I would like to ask about the Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan Bulanan Keluarga Calon.
When should we submit this? or we have to bring it during the interview? I tried the hotline but it seems no one answer the phone.
yes, you do need to show the examiners your pengesahan pendapatan during then interview, and if i am not mistaken, you will need to have a clear holder during the interview and there is an arrangement for all your document
You do have to submit it as well
hi, may i know the topics that are usually asked in the jpa interview? Is it mostly about current issues in malaysia? do we need to write an essay during the interview?
if you are follwing the thread, you will know that you dun need to write and essay during the interview
yes, it is mostly about the issues in Malaysia
15-03-2008, 11:22 AM
hi, may i know the topics that are usually asked in the jpa interview? Is it mostly about current issues in malaysia?
read here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6247). And follow the links to the relevant threads
lost lamb
15-03-2008, 12:11 PM
Hi, I?ve a few questions to ask?
Before that, I want to tell u all about my status...
I scored 9a1 and 1a2 (history) and I take 10 subjects at all?.
GCE-O B3
Since I grow up speaking Chinese, my spoken English is somehow not perfect, I can only speak slowly with a lot of ?uhm?.erm?? while my writing is ok.
I am kind of ?scare? to speak English people? I?ve low self esteem when speaking English?
1. Is the interviewers? English perfect? Their accent is American?s or UK?s?
2. Are all the interviewers Malay?
3. I was told that the interview session focus on current issues? Is it about the headlines? Politics?
4. My friends told me that one cannot cheat on parents? income as they will check through tax department and blacklist u if u?re found cheated?is this true?
5. If parents? income exceeds RM 2000, will it be considered high?
6. Does the Q&A session happen to be like The Apprentice self-defending debate?
7. What should I wear? (as a girl) long skirt with high heel shoes?
Thanks for your time?.
OH YA, if i've perform vry well during Form1-Form3 in co-curricular activities, can I bring the certificates to show to them? Most people say tht only form4&form5 certs matter, is this true? I m in top 3 in my school , shd I show them my cert proving this to them(from form1-form5)?
Am i required to write an essay on the spot during interview session?
15-03-2008, 12:27 PM
GCE-O B3
Since I grow up speaking Chinese, my spoken English is somehow not perfect, I can only speak slowly with a lot of ?uhm?.erm?? while my writing is ok.
I am kind of ?scare? to speak English people? I?ve low self esteem when speaking English?
3. I was told that the interview session focus on current issues? Is it about the headlines? Politics?
4. My friends told me that one cannot cheat on parents? income as they will check through tax department and blacklist u if u?re found cheated?is this true?
Thanks for your time?.1. you don't have to use perfect English, most of the interviewers can't even speak proper English themselves
2. Should race be a real issue here?
3. Read the Scholarship FAQ for links to past year topics
4. It's better to be honest
5. Income forms only a small part for evaluation, so you will have a chance.
6. No, it will be a group discussion.
7. For a girl: Baju Kurung with tied hair shall be perfect. (No school uniforms)
There are lots of topics that had discussed the very same question that you've posted already. Search around and you will get the information that you need
sugarspice
15-03-2008, 12:34 PM
OH YA, if i've perform vry well during Form1-Form3 in co-curricular activities, can I bring the certificates to show to them? Most people say tht only form4&form5 certs matter, is this true? I m in top 3 in my school , shd I show them my cert proving this to them(from form1-form5)?
Show them everything but never boast about it. There is no harm showing them anyway.
There wasn't any essay writing last year (was replaced by an objective psychology test) but who knows this year they might change the policy again?
Try to use the search function or find the thread on JPA interview. You can find much more info in that particular thread instead of asking here. Good luck.
passOUT
15-03-2008, 01:00 PM
Originally Posted by lost lamb View Post
GCE-O B3
Thanks for your time?.
1. you don't have to use perfect English, most of the interviewers can't even speak proper English themselves
7. For a girl: Baju Kurung with tied hair shall be perfect. (No school uniforms)
There are lots of topics that had discussed the very same question that you've posted already. Search around and you will get the information that you need
is it a must to wear baju kurung??
i asked my cousin who secured the scholarship and she told me that she wore her prefect's uniform for the interview....so now....i think i'm getting blurred....
and, i think that income wouldn't be a problem here because if your results are good enough for them, the chances of you getting it would be quite high....i'm saying this because two of my cousins got that (different families) and their parents's income are definitely >rm1500.....
ummm..forgotten to ask something...
i'm goin for the 2nd batch of ns....so i was wondering...
let's say, what if i got selected for the interview, then where should i go???
the interview centre near my hometown or the one nearer to the ns camp???
i'm from ipoh ( yea...ipoh mali) but i'm goin all the way to kedah for ns....
perhaps someone may want to share similar experiences????
thanks again.....=)
15-03-2008, 01:18 PM
i asked my cousin who secured the scholarship and she told me that she wore her prefect's uniform for the interview....so now....i think i'm getting blurred....
I am pretty sure I've read abt someone being scolded by the interviewers for wearing their school uniform to their interviews.
Baju Kurung is not a must, just the preferred attire. Anything formal that covers your arm and the length of your legs will do.
sugarspice
15-03-2008, 01:25 PM
thanks again.....=)
Hehehe.....near your NS camp, if i m not mistaken. Luckily I got the first batch and now I have finished my NS!!
and, i think that income wouldn't be a problem here because if your results are good enough for them, the chances of you getting it would be quite high....i'm saying this because two of my cousins got that (different families) and their parents's income are definitely >rm1500.....
I am pretty sure I've read abt someone being scolded by the interviewers for wearing their school uniform to their interviews.
Baju Kurung is not a must, just the preferred attire. Anything formal that covers your arm and the length of your legs will do.
No jeans and T-shirts, by the way.
DarlingAngel
15-03-2008, 01:33 PM
Hey JPA 2008 hopeful scholars. I would say, the most important thing(as with most Malaysian apps), is your result. But that shouldn't discourage anyone with less than 10a1s to apply. Keep your options open, even if you got 12/13a1s, you never know how they choose scholars this time round. Check out BNM, if yr results are spectacular. Also, explore other choices, like UWC, ASEAN scholarship, PETRONAS, khazanah, SC.
When the results come out, if you get a TAHNIAH, then really, congrats to you, you've just saved your parents alot of money. But if not, remember that life is partly, if not mostly what you chose it to be. You could go on with form 6/A levels/ foundation/ technical school, then apply for scholarships after that.
Honestly, you could have a better college experience than those who got JPA or(insert scholarship here). So, do apply, but remember that there's more to life than just these scholarships.
sugarspice
15-03-2008, 01:35 PM
Hey JPA 2008 hopeful scholars. I would say, the most important thing(as with most Malaysian apps), is your result. But that shouldn't discourage anyone with less than 10a1s to apply. Keep your options open, even if you got 12/13a1s, you never know how they choose scholars this time round. Check out BNM, if yr results are spectacular. Also, explore other choices, like UWC, ASEAN scholarship, PETRONAS, khazanah, SC.
May I know what is SC ?
15-03-2008, 02:10 PM
May I know what is SC ?
Securities Commission or Suruhanjaya SEkuriti.
GCE-O B3
Thanks for your time?.
1. you don't have to use perfect English, most of the interviewers can't even speak proper English themselves
seriously, baju kurung is the best attire for a girl. and it must be those baju kurung that you normally see malays wear. dun try to get those with spilts up to your knees or anything like that. and no slim fit...
most importantly, anything you wear muz cover your heels.
c'mon la...dun wear any school uniform la...
GuoSheng
15-03-2008, 02:35 PM
My sis actually saw someone being scolded for wearing school uniform.
sugarspice
15-03-2008, 03:00 PM
May I know what is SC ?
Securities Commission or Suruhanjaya SEkuriti.
Wah, need to write an essay not more than 1000 words - so hard......
jamesgan
15-03-2008, 03:02 PM
actually i suggest u shud oni bring those important documents. doc tat u think can really help u. u may bring anything u wan,but bear in mind tat thr r 6 ppl in around(normaly) n oni 2 panes. they wnt hv time to read kfuly n they wil juz glance tru.so i think u shud bring the important 1. bring too many,they might nt b able to rmb all.coz they need to look at ur doc,at the same time interview u
GCE-O B3
Thanks for your time?.
result is nt erithing, last yr my sch got 6 straight a1, oni 3 got scholarships. ppl who din get straight a1 such as me manage to get the scholarship. thank God.but i would like to say tat,straight a1 do nt guarantee u a scholarship. so try to apply other alternatives. n mayb,matrik is a gd way to further ur study 2
sugarspice
15-03-2008, 03:10 PM
result is nt erithing, last yr my sch got 6 straight a1, oni 3 got scholarships. ppl who din get straight a1 such as me manage to get the scholarship. thank God.but i would like to say tat,straight a1 do nt guarantee u a scholarship. so try to apply other alternatives. n mayb,matrik is a gd way to further ur study 2
Hello jamesgan.
What were your spm results?
What course and country are you offered?
Are you a bumi or non bumi and which state are you from?
Do you think a person who's inactive in co cu and got 10A1 (including GCE O) & 3A2 stand a chance to get jpa for engineering?
p/s : Bear in mind that last year was before election. =)
thanks again.....=)
Hi there.!!~
i am going Ns 2nd batch also.
Um,from what i read,we can choose the interview centre ourself.
i am going back my own place wor.
BTW,how's your NS preparation????
jamesgan
15-03-2008, 03:17 PM
GCE-O B3
Thanks for your time?.
most of the panels r malay,some even cnt speark properly,eg my panel last yr cnt even pronounce path properly,so 1 of the candidates requires the panel to repeat 3 times.haha. bt tat is nt important, important is ourselve. u don hv to speak perfect eng but i do blif tat u confidence is v important. u hv to convince them tat u r confident enuf, n hv strong leadership.bout salary part,u all pandai pandai lar. try to wear formal during interview session,coz 1st impression is v important. most of the ppl blif tat wearing baju kurung is safest,but i personaly blif tat baju kurung is nt smart enuf.try to wear attires tat make u look professional,but nt wealthy.no fix interview format,eri round can b diff.so is hard to predict. hope can help u.all the best
Hello jamesgan.
What were your spm results?
What course and country are you offered?
Are you a bumi or non bumi and which state are you from?
Do you think a person who's inactive in co cu and got 10A1 (including GCE O) & 3A2 stand a chance to get jpa for engineering?
p/s : Bear in mind that last year was before election. =)
my spm result is oni average, striaght a oni. i got and heading to aus nex yr. do u ever c any bumi cal james n with the surname gan?hehe. koko is quite important. if u don hv any koko, ur self intro part wil b v limited. possibility to get is thr, jz try ur best lor
15-03-2008, 03:40 PM
GCE-O B3
Thanks for your time?.
1. The interviewers' English are not too fantastic either. If you must know, they speak with a 'Malaysian Accent'
2. Nope, mine was a Chinese.
3. Headlines probably but politics is a definite no-no
4. Cheating will get you no where so why fake about your parents' income?
5. 'Exceeding RM 2000' is a very vague statement. What if your parents earn RM10,000 a month? Then you will be classified into the high income bracket.
6. Nope, those interview are just Q&A sessions where you 'fight for you rights'.
7. Formal.
Latest 2 years. It means that your Form 1 to 3 certificates are void.
Many applicants would have failed if this is one of the requirement. Do not worry, you are not required to do so.
My sis actually saw someone being scolded for wearing school uniform.
Inappropriate attire.
15-03-2008, 03:47 PM
actually i suggest u shud oni bring those important documents. doc tat u think can really help u. u may bring anything u wan,but bear in mind tat thr r 6 ppl in around(normaly) n oni 2 panes. they wnt hv time to read kfuly n they wil juz glance tru.so i think u shud bring the important 1. bring too many,they might nt b able to rmb all.coz they need to look at ur doc,at the same time interview u
Agree with jamesngan. In fact, my interviewer actually told us only to show the docs that they asked for and I have to admit many of my group members had to spend quite some time rearranging their docs.
i just got my results for spm 2007.
so i apllied for the jpa scholarship for the veterinary course.
i was wondering whether i might stand a chance to get the scholarship with my current results which is 9 AI, 2 A2 (moral n est), n 1 b3 (literature in english).
so can anyone please help me on this.
thank you very much.
15-03-2008, 03:52 PM
Of the total, 1,072 obtained 1As last year (2007) compared to 1,280 in 2006 [quoted from star]
there you go. theres a decline in straight A1's
but the number of A1's does not correlate with smartness. not all straight A1 scorers do well after SPM.. this is because they have geared thier studies for SPM only.. and when thrown into other situations, they flaunder.
Almost everyone who has undergone a non-malaysian education system will agree that the SPM system is utter rubbish.. in terms of content and even more so of the grading.. As we all know, there are some subjects offered in SPM that are just joke subjects... the same goes for the British A levels... but the distinction is that people in the UK are aware of the so called joke subjects in A levels (aka blacklisted subjects) whereas in Malaysia.. everything is just about QUANTITY, not Quality.
The number of A1s correlate with Hardwork, Luck and tuition fees. XP Yes, not all straight A1 scorers did well after SPM but a handful of them did.
SPM is not entirely rubbish. Try scoring an A1 in Chinese! Also, our Math and Add Math contents are quite comprehensive. As for your so called joke subjects, I prefer to use to the term non-traditional subjects.
i was wondering whether i might stand a chance to get the scholarship with my current results which is 9 AI, 2 A2 (moral n est), n 1 b3 (literature in english).
thank you very much.
The truth is, we don't know. There are lots of factors that influence JPA's choice of candidates.
Give it your best shot and see how it goes.
15-03-2008, 04:18 PM
can i noe is there a rule state that u musnt apply matrikulasi , bnm , Jpa and petronas at the same time? because they are all government scholarships?
no such rule.
nothing wrong to apply all.
*but i think you cant apply local maticulation liao ler as said in previous post*
thank you very much.
have a try on your luck. dont worry,your result is similar with mine (ie 9a1 2a2 1b3). my b3 is biology (T.T). be optimistic! *cheers!*
any further question,do post it here out!!!~
I have certs of various runs like HongLeong Run,Penang Bridge Run,etc.can I use them to prove my penglibatan in sukan? But, I the column of the participant is left blank,how can I type my name there?
15-03-2008, 06:17 PM
thank you very much.
If you must ask, why don't you give it a shot and see what happens? No one can tell you about your true chance.
But i can tell you this: You will get nothing if you don't even try
sNaiL0810
15-03-2008, 07:29 PM
vseehua is right, do something is better than do nothing
jasmine_tea
15-03-2008, 09:54 PM
Hi everyone. SPM results have been released. Now mad rush for scholarship application rite?
For those who got straight 1As, congrats! Hope u r successful in ur scholarhip application.
If you didnt obtain straight 1As, dun worry. Still have hope to secure scholarship. Just pray hard.
For interview, just be urself. Be confident n everything will be alright. It wont help if u go into the interview with all the jitters. Also, do some homework by reviewing past years interview questions. It certainly helps a lot. There's a thread for past years questions. Check it out.
All the best everyone.
so can i wear a long sleeve shirt with long trousers during the interview??izzit formal and suitable enuf??thanks
I would like to ask wheteher i can put my larian (4 kali 400) in the sukan part ? my school does not give certificate for this becoz i just represented my rumah sukan oni.... however it is written in my sijil berhenti..... so can i put this in the sukan part?????will the interviewer ask to see the leaving cert???I am very worried leh!!!!
oh ya,during the discussion,if we are able to give some of the facts or data like statistics somethg else like tat,will it make us stand a higher chance to obtain the scholarships??thanks
I would like to ask wheteher i can put my larian (4 kali 400) in the sukan part ? my school does not give certificate for this becoz i just represented my rumah sukan oni.... however it is written in my sijil berhenti..... so can i put this in the sukan part?????will the interviewer ask to see the leaving cert???I am very worried leh!!!!
i think u can...cuz i doubt they interviewer is going to be so observant....they only flip through every pages as if those pages r crap. if the examiners look as if they are not concentrating on whatever that u say, think again...they r actually judging u. therefore, always try to look good in front of them. speak well, but don't talk crap. speak with logic facts during the interview n u'll be assured a spot...all those co-ricular is just a minor plus point. i m not an active person in co-ricular yet, i earn myself a spot. i reckon the family background n interview are the major parts in earning this scholarship.(this is for jpa)
so can i wear a long sleeve shirt with long trousers during the interview??izzit formal and suitable enuf??thanks
are you a guy or a girl??
if you are a guy, yes and please wear a tie as well.
long trousers as in slack, no jeans and wear leather shoes to go with that.
16-03-2008, 12:41 AM
For girls, baju kurung will be a preferred choice...A blouse with long pants will also do, because I have seen girls same group with me wore like that..
wilson
16-03-2008, 02:07 AM
Thanks for all the quick and helpful replies.
Are there anything that I should take note during the interview? Looking forward to the advices from all.
Another thing is, normally there are how many questions in the psychology test?
16-03-2008, 08:33 AM
Thanks for all the quick and helpful replies.
Are there anything that I should take note during the interview? Looking forward to the advices from all.
Another thing is, normally there are how many questions in the psychology test?
During the interview, take note not to offend the interviewer and don't dominate the whole discussion.
As for the psychology test, I think there are 200 MCQs to be answered in 30 minutes. Very straightforward, no thinking required.
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 08:38 AM
Well well well...the general election 2008 has just over and BN has lost in 5 states. There will be chaos everywhere....
Do you guyz reckon the topic on this general election will come out during the interview? Or it most probably wont due to political reasons?
Scared...as I know not much about election...
are you a guy or a girl??
if you are a guy, yes and please wear a tie as well.
long trousers as in slack, no jeans and wear leather shoes to go with that.
if for u gurl??thanks for the quick reply
phoenix1892
16-03-2008, 10:42 AM
If I get the PETRONAS scholarship (or other scholarships for that matter), does that mean I wont get the JPA scholarship? Please reply quickly...
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 10:45 AM
If I get the PETRONAS scholarship (or other scholarships for that matter), does that mean I wont get the JPA scholarship? Please reply quickly...
No unless you HAVE ALREADY got the petronas scholarship (that means you sucured it b4 the spm results are out) then only you ll be blacklisted.
So, the answer is still a big 'NO'.
p/s : quick enough? hehe...
16-03-2008, 10:47 AM
Is Jpa will sponsor us to study 1st year A level in any local college 1st before sending us to overseas to undergo degree?
Hw many years we shall study in that college Before go to overseas?if i am taking medicine?
Is Jpa will sponsor us to study 1st year A level in any local college 1st before sending us to overseas to undergo degree?
Hw many years we shall study in that college Before go to overseas?if i am taking medicine?
let say you secure JPA medicine to United Kingdom,you need to study Alevel at Intec.....*my senior goes there*
Umm,ya its sponsor by JPA...
um,the duration i not sure.....if alevel nia,then go liao,should be 1.5 years here...
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 10:53 AM
Yes JPA will let you to do your A level locally. Usually A level lasts for 24 months. If u got twinning, your A level will last for either 18 or 24 months.
phoenix1892
16-03-2008, 10:56 AM
No unless you HAVE ALREADY got the petronas scholarship (that means you sucured it b4 the spm results are out) then only you ll be blacklisted.
So, the answer is still a big 'NO'.
p/s : quick enough? hehe...
That was quick, thanks. That means I should still apply for the PETRONAS scholarship, right?
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 10:59 AM
That was quick, thanks. That means I should still apply for the PETRONAS scholarship, right?
Yeah, by all means, GO! but be quick, PETRONAS wants a lot of docs and the closing date is this coming tuesday.....anyway I haven't send in also...LOL.....
16-03-2008, 11:01 AM
It depends on the country you are heading to. JPA will fully sponsor the tuition fee for pre U, don't worry..
Australia- AUSMAT , SAM (1 to 1.5 yrs)
UK, India, Germany, Poland... -A level (1 to 2.5 yrs)
USA- ADP (1 to 2.5 yrs)
Canada - ICPU (1 yr)
and many more.. refer to JPA website for more information.
if for u gurl??thanks for the quick reply
girls dun hav to think so much, just baju kurung.
dennisssj
16-03-2008, 01:08 PM
(out of topic)i applied for Petronas.. and i just need to prepare my relevant documents, make photocopies of the application form, right??
In the panduan memohon, Penghantaran dokumen Permohonan there states that the documents must b arranged according to the correct order. My question is when should we post it? what's the address anyway? Or just put it in the sampul surat to hand in to pihak Jawatankuasa Penganjuran & Pengambilan semasa pendaftaran EduCamp if i'm short-listed? I'm blurred now.. Please help!
dennis~~
16-03-2008, 01:12 PM
this year, JPA has sponsor actuarial science. But i dunno about this course. What is the job prospect of actuarial science?
i have heard malaysia has only approximately 17 graduates of actuarial science ? is that true?
Why this course not prefered by many people? Is it hard to major in?
this year, JPA has sponsor actuarial science. But i dunno about this course. What is the job prospect of actuarial science?
i have heard malaysia has only approximately 17 graduates of actuarial science ? is that true?
Actuarial science is about application of science in various field ie management etc.etc...Not sure,gonna ask Vemal,a recommer here....
Ummm,students seldom choose this course maybe lack of undertsnading gua.. But,please dont think that if a course is less chosen by others,you have high chance to secure it...
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 01:19 PM
(out of topic)i applied for Petronas.. and i just need to prepare my relevant documents, make photocopies of the application form, right??
In the panduan memohon, Penghantaran dokumen Permohonan there states that the documents must b arranged according to the correct order. My question is when should we post it? what's the address anyway? Or just put it in the sampul surat to hand in to pihak Jawatankuasa Penganjuran & Pengambilan semasa pendaftaran EduCamp if i'm short-listed? I'm blurred now.. Please help!
dennis~~
Dear Dennis,
Please refer to this link
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=221&page=530
16-03-2008, 01:21 PM
i am quit interesting in the 'sastera dan kemanusiaan ' course which is newly sponsored by JPA. but i am a science student , is it an advantage for me if i am taking this course?
Q: what is the job prospect of this course?
the jPa has listed out sains politik, hubungan antarabangsa,komunikasi..is it related to science field?
Also , why do Jpa sponsor Jepun as the mainly country for Bumiputera only? Is tat mean Bumiputera can only go to Jepun?
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 01:34 PM
i am quit interesting in the 'sastera dan kemanusiaan ' course which is newly sponsored by JPA. but i am a science student , is it an advantage for me if i am taking this course?
the jPa has listed out sains politik, hubungan antarabangsa,komunikasi..is it related to science field?
Also , why do Jpa sponsor Jepun as the mainly country for Bumiputera only? Is tat mean Bumiputera can only go to Jepun?
If you choose this course, i reckon you will definitely get the scholarship as this course is one of the less favourite courses.
16-03-2008, 01:41 PM
If you choose this course, i reckon you will definitely get the scholarship as this course is one of the less favourite courses.
Is it true? Why?is tat mean that this course is not popular?or it is hard to find employment after graduating from this course?
sugarspice
16-03-2008, 02:12 PM
Is it true? Why?is tat mean that this course is not popular?or it is hard to find employment after graduating from this course?
Not popular among jpa applicants. Employment....hmm....you have to ask our seniors. I am just like you, SPM 2007 leaver. I don't know much. =)
maybe working in dewan bahasa dan pustaka (boring...)
or come out and be a lecturer and teach that subject to others who will become lecturers and teach that subject and that cycle goes on...
lhii_90
16-03-2008, 03:17 PM
Help Help!!! if i not fulfill one subject in the syarat of JPA course, will i be calling for interview?Like dentist, i get b3 in english and get all a1 in others subjects.....
e.pulse
16-03-2008, 03:23 PM
Hey guys, im trying to fill up the jpa form now, n i c this question...
Sedang mengikuti Kursus Persediaan Ke Institusi Pengajian Tinggi?
R they talking about the kurses persediaan tat THEY r offering or anything? (like A-levels, foundation). Cuz im about to start my science foundation for medi next week. so should i tidak? Or ya..?
Pls help soon. Very urgent. Thanks millions!
16-03-2008, 03:30 PM
For JPA scholarships ,what is the difference between a pharmacy and medicine course?
Which one is sought after by the applicant?
hw many years have to do a pharmacy course?
also, hw many years did i bond to the jpa and service for jPa if i choose pharmacy?
Hey guys, im trying to fill up the jpa form now, n i c this question...
Sedang mengikuti Kursus Persediaan Ke Institusi Pengajian Tinggi?
R they talking about the kurses persediaan tat THEY r offering or anything? (like A-levels, foundation). Cuz im about to start my science foundation for medi next week. so should i tidak? Or ya..?
Pls help soon. Very urgent. Thanks millions!
No ..they mean if u r enroling in any other educational institutions, or currently taking any foundation courses to prepare yourself into university..so u definetely select 'tidak'..i am also applying the JPA nw..wat course u wanna take ya?
e.pulse
16-03-2008, 04:47 PM
Im planning to apply medicine for jpa. However, i juz signed up for science foundation in Lincon college today, n the course begins next week. Im taking the shorten foundation of 5-months, den planning to go Indonesia to study med. So since i'll b taking the foundation, do i still put 'Tidak'?
16-03-2008, 05:20 PM
For JPA scholarships ,what is the difference between a pharmacy and medicine course?
Which one is sought after by the applicant?
hw many years have to do a pharmacy course?
also, hw many years did i bond to the jpa and service for jPa if i choose pharmacy?
Medicine usually refers to those who wants to be a doctor by profession later on.
As for the bond: 10 years for doctors and 6 years for the other courses
dennisssj
16-03-2008, 06:38 PM
thanks sugarspice..
i'm applying for jpa too. Applied for dentistry course.
dennis~~
16-03-2008, 07:39 PM
Help Help!!! if i not fulfill one subject in the syarat of JPA course, will i be calling for interview?Like dentist, i get b3 in english and get all a1 in others subjects.....
As Xon said in another thread, I think you will be filtered out in the first round..
However, you must try also, don't give up..
Have you tried to apply for semak semula?
16-03-2008, 09:04 PM
As Xon said in another thread, I think you will be filtered out in the first round..
However, you must try also, don't give up..
Have you tried to apply for semak semula?
What do u mean by "try to apply for SEMAK SEMULA"?
passOUT
16-03-2008, 09:17 PM
Hehehe.....near your NS camp, if i m not mistaken. Luckily I got the first batch and now I have finished my NS!!
No jeans and T-shirts, by the way.
but...who's gonna fetch me from the camp to the interview centre???
my parents????
or, do i have to walk there???....gosh......
Hi, all.
Yeah....you should know in advance. no different from other normal suits: formal attire with tie for guys and baju kurung would be appropriate for girls. Please don't try be funky as you would show that you disrespect the interviewers. Hope this helps.
Why not dude? There is this fellow who only scores 7A in his SPM and yet he could get the scholarship for Canada. Hence the key issue here is that if you get not-so-good results yet fulfilling JPA's requirements, forget about medicine and engineering and all those tough courses( you get what I mean?). May be you can try other courses like social science, accounting or even liberal arts (sastera iktisas). All the best!
Im planning to apply medicine for jpa. However, i juz signed up for science foundation in Lincon college today, n the course begins next week. Im taking the shorten foundation of 5-months, den planning to go Indonesia to study med. So since i'll b taking the foundation, do i still put 'Tidak'?
Please put "No". I think it would stand you a better chance like I did. :D
Science students would stand better chances if you apply for this kind of liberal arts' courses. But then again, please choose the subject that you are really enthusiastic in, only resort to this solution if your results could fulfill those subjects' requirements.
Actuarial science is mainly about future and scheme calculations in various fields, especially it's very much sought after in banking and insurance areas. It requires high accuracy of maths applications and calculations as it involves company's future earning projections. It's pretty tough by the way. If you are interested, by all means, go for it and vice versa.
16-03-2008, 09:51 PM
what happened to the JPA official website?too crammed or something?
my bro had been trying hard to sign in for the past 2 hours....still lead to no avail.
lost lamb
16-03-2008, 09:57 PM
Will it be weird that a chinese girl like me wear baju kurung? will I look vry "cincai" since malay usually wear baju kurung at home.....
Are evry courses offered have the same quantity? eg. 50 medicine and 50 actuarial science?
are there oni two panels?
does anyone apply for Science? wat's this course?
does anyone know what for they ask for no.cukai pendaftaran? does any spm2007 graduants fill in this no.? teach me pls?
Errata:does anyone know WHY they ask for no.cukai pendaftaran? does any spm2007 graduants fill in this no.? teach me pls?
the first round of JPA .... to filter out liars/faker.....
So be honest.... they ask for this number as they can scan throught your family income...
ya must fill in...
Okay...the number start with 2 alphabets.... then.... your daddy and mommy will have same coming 8/9 numbers.... then the last 2 differ between dad and mom (ie 01 or 02)...
SOMEONE CORRECT ME IS i am wrong....
lost lamb
16-03-2008, 10:19 PM
oh,i've gt it...thanks alot...can anyone answer my #225 thread?
Will it be weird that a chinese girl like me wear baju kurung? will I look vry "cincai" since malay usually wear baju kurung at home.....
Are evry courses offered have the same quantity? eg. 50 medicine and 50 actuarial science?
are there oni two panels?
does anyone apply for Science? wat's this course?
does anyone know what for they ask for no.cukai pendaftaran? does any spm2007 graduants fill in this no.? teach me pls?
1)not weird lar..... if not wear cheong sam?? Xp
2)not same quantity. My advice : dont follow friends,dont judge others...follow your interests,you can go further....
3)Ya my good friend do apply this,she told me it have 26 diferent type of science. you cant choose. JPA choose for you.
4)they ask the income tax ID number for verification.
welcome questions...
lost lamb
16-03-2008, 11:19 PM
ah Xon , r u oso a spm 2007 student like me?
wat science tht ur fren gt? i applied for this bt i scare jpa choose sumthg i m nt interested in...
wat do u applied for jpa?
thks for ur time...XOXOXO
ah Xon , r u oso a spm 2007 student like me?
wat science tht ur fren gt? i applied for this bt i scare jpa choose sumthg i m nt interested in...
wat do u applied for jpa?
thks for ur time...XOXOXO
LOL. thanks for addressing me as "ah xon".. WAAHAHA
Okay,yea,i am SPM 07 leaver. My friend applied for general science offered by JPA. she said there is 26 type of branches. You must be sure what is your interest.
I applied engineering.
welcome. XD
17-03-2008, 07:58 AM
anyone know economic this course??i m plannin to choose this course when applying jpa..just wanna knw more abt this course??
Ok JPA decision is out but just to let you (and maybe others) know, economics is very broad. At a more advanced level you will have a choice of either going into more of Microeconomics or Macroeconomics. In the university that I am currently attending they divide econ courses into several rosters (which you can choose one or two to focus on), among them are:
- Economic Theory and Statistics (you learn about, for example, firms' decision making theories)
- Monetary and Financial Economics (you learn about money and banking etc)
- Labor Economics (you learn about labor structure etc)
- International Economics (international trade, international finance etc)
- Comparative Economic System and National Economics (you learn about economic system in various countries like China)
- Environmental Economics, Public Finance, Economic History etc.
No two universities or two countries offer the same set of economic courses though. But on a general level that's what mostly Economics courses cover... I'm an econ major so if you guys need help just email me and i'll be more than happy to help.
17-03-2008, 10:21 AM
For JPA sience, you can choose what you would like to major in. JPA does not choose for you.
17-03-2008, 11:12 AM
There are many cases where scholars are not given any jobs by government after they graduate, and I heard that they can break the bond after 2 years without have to pay back. And during this period, you can find your own job in private sectors.
Traditionally, medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, engineering and actuarial science are the popular courses sought after by students. And you may be surprised that medicine is not the hardest course to get, since places offered for medicine are more than 500. Pharmacy and actuarial science is even harder to get...
walou
17-03-2008, 11:24 AM
if i not mistaken that JPA scholarship is close at 18 of march ? right ?
sorry, Im so lazy to read from the first page , i want to ask from the senior JPA scholarship can be taken even do you do not enter any college or university ? and dont take any course either ?
Im still dont understand the JPA scholarship ? but my teacher insist me to take the schollarship since im bumiputra .. can you all help me ?
For JPA sience, you can choose what you would like to major in. JPA does not choose for you.
thanks the correction. =)
sugarspice
17-03-2008, 01:28 PM
Science students would stand better chances if you apply for this kind of liberal arts' courses.
"Science students would stand better chances if you apply for this kind of liberal arts' courses"
T-13,
How sure are you in this statement? Why do you feel science students stand better chances?
How about courses like Accounts & Economics? Do science students stand better chances in getting too?
17-03-2008, 01:43 PM
"Science students would stand better chances if you apply for this kind of liberal arts' courses"
T-13,
How sure are you in this statement? Why do you feel science students stand better chances?
How about courses like Accounts & Economics? Do science students stand better chances in getting too?
No such thing.
17-03-2008, 01:50 PM
something wrong somewhere with the JPA official website.....u guys have any problem logging in?
anyone has JPA phone num?
thanks in advanced=)
lost lamb
17-03-2008, 02:09 PM
OH NO...what if I can't get any job after graduate? how to pay back?? I thought they settle the job for jpa scholars....T.T haiz, worry...worry...worry...
WTH. how can the government not have jobs ?
sugarspice
17-03-2008, 02:38 PM
No such thing.
I really hope so.
I don't think we need to pay back should jpa can't find scholars a job. This is not the fault of scholars but jpa itself.
WTH. how can the government not have jobs ?
it's normal for the government to not have jobs...many of our seniors got released because there are no vacancies.
in this case, they got released and are not required to pay back anything...same as saying that their scholarship is free.
good in the sense that you are free to work anywhere you want.
bad in the sense that you have to find a job yourself.
17-03-2008, 03:14 PM
if i not mistaken that JPA scholarship is close at 18 of march ? right ?
sorry, Im so lazy to read from the first page , i want to ask from the senior JPA scholarship can be taken even do you do not enter any college or university ? and dont take any course either ?
Im still dont understand the JPA scholarship ? but my teacher insist me to take the schollarship since im bumiputra .. can you all help me ?
In short, for JPA scholarship, you'll just have to choose a course, and JPA will arrange almost everything for you, including your pre-U. You may need to choose your major later, and fill in university application forms. You don't have to be in any colleges right now for you to get the scholarship. Instead, you'll get those after you secure the scholarship. And since you're a bumi, your chance of securing the scholarship is much higher, provided you get good results.
kommy
17-03-2008, 03:27 PM
hei...my ques has notin 2 do wif jpa xept it bein both scolarships...
duz petronas esu offer medicine..it duz ite? wht on earth iz d link?!
ive applied d utp scholarship for enggineering oni... haf dey taken out d med. coz it aint listed...
thx in advance.
17-03-2008, 03:33 PM
Medicine usually refers to those who wants to be a doctor by profession later on.
As for the bond: 10 years for doctors and 6 years for the other courses
Just an add-on here, 10-year bond also applies for dentistry students...
17-03-2008, 03:43 PM
Hello, I'm trying to find the thread to the FAQ in JPA interviews but i failed to find any.. Can anyone tell me a link to it or just post a few questions frequently a.s.a.p. as i will be going for National Service tomorrow morning. Please anyone.. Help me..
17-03-2008, 04:09 PM
Hello, I'm trying to find the thread to the FAQ in JPA interviews but i failed to find any.. Can anyone tell me a link to it or just post a few questions frequently a.s.a.p. as i will be going for National Service tomorrow morning. Please anyone.. Help me..
Try http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6247 and http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3218
hello,you're frm Sg Maong right? Whihch camp you going? Hohoho.we might meet!!!!
matchgirl
17-03-2008, 04:54 PM
hello,you're frm Sg Maong right? Whihch camp you going? Hohoho.we might meet!!!!
u go NS2nd Batch?
Yesh. you?
matchgirl
17-03-2008, 05:31 PM
Yesh. you?
no...exempted, not chosen
nicole robbin
17-03-2008, 05:35 PM
i get 9a1 2a2 n 1 b...
i m confuse wat course 2 choose in jpa..if i m interest in scinece izzit higer chance 2 b selected??
izzit science less popular course?? wat ur result science jpa scholars?? thx..
17-03-2008, 06:05 PM
izzit science less popular course?? wat ur result science jpa scholars?? thx..
I think so.. my frends n i nvr consider science as our choice..
nicole robbin
17-03-2008, 06:12 PM
den wat result u get?? u frm which state d?? u nvr heard ppl wan 2 choose science 4 jpa ma?? thx..
sNaiL0810
17-03-2008, 06:15 PM
I think so.. my frends n i nvr consider science as our choice..
haha,depend on people's interest one la, cannt say all of us
e.pulse
17-03-2008, 06:31 PM
Please put "No". I think it would stand you a better chance like I did. :D
But i think if i did tat, n IF they really found out tat i'm taking foundation, wouldnt tat disqualify me immediately? I rather not take tat chance. i think they'll really check through the applicants backgrounds b4 they make the final selection right?
play safe.dont lie.honesty the best policy.
but you sendiri pandai pandai mah.if you think you can "hide" them about you're currently studying pre-u,then you put "no". but think twice,what if they manage to check?
e.pulse
17-03-2008, 07:11 PM
play safe.dont lie.honesty the best policy.
but you sendiri pandai pandai mah.if you think you can "hide" them about you're currently studying pre-u,then you put "no". but think twice,what if they manage to check?
Exactly, i think they surely can check somehow la... Its the GOVERNMENT. lol. My nightmare would b, during the interview, after im shortlisted, they ask me 'y did u lie about ur foundation?'...like face to face...I'll faint...haha
Umm,if they manage to check you lie,you're out. No more interview.
e.pulse
17-03-2008, 07:34 PM
Umm,if they manage to check you lie,you're out. No more interview.
OR mayb one of the interviewers hav such a horrible sense of humour? Put me juz to c me faint, but already decided to fail me in the end...hahaha. I know wont happen, but funny thought...lol
17-03-2008, 09:16 PM
OR mayb one of the interviewers hav such a horrible sense of humour? Put me juz to c me faint, but already decided to fail me in the end...hahaha. I know wont happen, but funny thought...lol
haha, u think too much edi.....XD
but I think u better be honest.
maybe they just ask u just because to save some money?
(I mean, maybe they think since u can sponsor yourself to do pre-uni course, they might just sponsor u during the bachelor degree?)
I am not sure, just my guess though, can always call the JPA to confirm.
Be honest.
About the "Sedang mengikuti Kursus Persediaan Ke Institusi Pengajian Tinggi?" what should I fill in for "Negara"? Is it where I'm doing the pre-u (Malaysia) or where the pre-u will lead me next (Australia)?
Wait, that sounded kind of stupid. :| But I'd still like some confirmation.
Also, I'd like to know what kind of sciences are offered under 'Sains', as mentioned beforehand in the thread. I put biotech down as my option but I do want to have a wider range of options to choose from; right now I'm interested in the biomed sciences, but other stuff like materials science also interests me.
As far as I am concerned, they won't do anything to check anyhow. I enrolled in Taylor's way before the results came out and yet for the application form, I put "no". But please do not act that as though you have enrolled in any colleges right now. But then again, it's up to you whether you wanna take this risk. ;)
About the "Sedang mengikuti Kursus Persediaan Ke Institusi Pengajian Tinggi?" what should I fill in for "Negara"? Is it where I'm doing the pre-u (Malaysia) or where the pre-u will lead me next (Australia)?
Wait, that sounded kind of stupid. :| But I'd still like some confirmation.
Also, I'd like to know what kind of sciences are offered under 'Sains', as mentioned beforehand in the thread. I put biotech down as my option but I do want to have a wider range of options to choose from; right now I'm interested in the biomed sciences, but other stuff like materials science also interests me.
Well,this question again. Again, if you had enrolled in prestigious colleges, say Taylor's, Inti or Sunway UC, I reckon by putting "NO" is a better solution. If they know you have enrolled at these colleges, the chances for you to get it will be slimmer, don't you think so?;)
I'm doing it in the Aus International School. But I reckon the govt would know, because there was a letter approving my entering the international school (as in leaving the Malaysian school system) which came this January.
Honesty is the best policy, I suppose.
I'm doing it in the Aus International School. But I reckon the govt would know, because there was a letter approving my entering the international school (as in leaving the Malaysian school system) which came this January.
Honesty is the best policy, I suppose.
In this case, I think you should be honest. :p
18-03-2008, 09:39 AM
well, regarding all the pre-u thingy, i would suggest that you'd be honest to them at all times. especially with your parents income. do you know that they do actually run through your parents' income tax and compare them with what you've filled in. if they do found out your cheated, they'll reject you automatically. so with regards to that, i'd reckon honesty is the best policy.
18-03-2008, 10:09 AM
It is nothing much really, if you do pre-u. I did A-levels beforehand too and during the interview, they ask me if I did any pre-u. I answered a-level and now, I'm still holding a scholarship. Oh, don't lie about parents income. I have heard how ridiculously low some of the parents income of those who went to the interview with me. Sadly to say, none of them obtained it.
I never cheat...
I get 10A1s 1A2 and 1B4 (GCE)
and my family's income is more than >1000
n i'm secured for JPA as well... :P
phoenix1892
18-03-2008, 02:24 PM
I dont know if this is the place to ask this, but I wanna know what are we suppose to do at the Exposure to Doctor's Career programme? Are all the medicine course applicants will be chosen to participate in the programme?
18-03-2008, 02:45 PM
I never cheat...
I get 10A1s 1A2 and 1B4 (GCE)
and my family's income is more than >1000
n i'm secured for JPA as well... :P
Why not state the maximum amount so that we all know what is the bare minimum of it in order to qualify for a scholarship?
i get 9a1 2a2 n 1 b...
i m confuse wat course 2 choose in jpa..if i m interest in scinece izzit higer chance 2 b selected??
No such thing.
Al-Bert
18-03-2008, 03:01 PM
I dont know if this is the place to ask this, but I wanna know what are we suppose to do at the Exposure to Doctor's Career programme? Are all the medicine course applicants will be chosen to participate in the programme?
Ermm... Should be something like visiting every departments in hospital, making reports, interacting with hospital's staffs and patients, learning about hospital life and management structure...
Yup, every qualified medical course applicants would have chance to join this wonderful programme!
nicole robbin
18-03-2008, 03:02 PM
nono..i mean i m confused wether wan 2 choose engineerin 2 korea or sais 2 europe coutry la...which i stand a higher chance 2 get jpa??
18-03-2008, 03:06 PM
nono..i mean i m confused wether wan 2 choose engineerin 2 korea or sais 2 europe coutry la...which i stand a higher chance 2 get jpa??
Get your priorities right Nicole! Stop messing with all this probability nonsense and make your decision!
Al-Bert
18-03-2008, 03:13 PM
For your information, JPA only offer diploma course for engineering in Korea...
Whether the chance is high or not, you have to do some research then :P
nicole robbin
18-03-2008, 03:18 PM
i do try 2 do sum research bt den how?? how 2 do??tat y i m tryin 2 ask d senior help ma...i wan 2 noe whether d jpa scholars 4 science is at least 10a1 d ma...as i noe korea d sum 8a1 oso get jpa...