View Full Version : Share your experience on SC Pre-U scholarship

Roy_ks
13-04-2007, 07:11 PM
Hey, guys...I just got a call from SC...They asked me to go for an interview on Wednesday morning (18 April) 10am...Anyone same date and time?

y
13-04-2007, 08:21 PM
Hey, guys...I just got a call from SC...They asked me to go for an interview on Wednesday morning 10am...Anyone same date and time?

i apply but haven receive the call.
so far, u went 2 which scholarship interview?

Roy_ks
13-04-2007, 09:55 PM
I just came back from my PETRONAS EduCamp...
And I applied for JPA too 8)
How about you?

y
13-04-2007, 11:17 PM
i apply for jpa. petronas, tenaga, telekom., kazanah. uem, asean, bnm.....

but till now, i only go 4 jpa interview .. the rest...the competitions r quite stiff...

i gt straight a1, but din shortlisted for any..
bad luck huh?.

so, hw s d educamp, was it fun?

cheryl_c2x
14-04-2007, 03:30 PM
hi roy...mine is the same date as your's but it's at 10.30 am.
the lady called me yesterday too.
she said we had to be there 15 minutes prior to the stated time rite?what else? we hv to bring all our original documents...anything else? oh yea, mine is panel 4.u? i applied for law...u?

do you noe what we can expect from it? r they goin to ask abt:
general knowledge/
current issues/
stuff related to the course you applied/
stuff abt sc/
normal stuff like job interviews where they basically wanna noe more abt u (what are your strengths, weaknesses? etc)

seniors who have gone thru the sc interview, plz help..hahaz...thx loads

btw i'm goin there from penang :)

good luck!

bihafana
14-04-2007, 04:24 PM
hey..
'SC' stands for what? :oops:

cheryl_c2x
14-04-2007, 04:26 PM
Securities Commission..hehe

propapanda
14-04-2007, 08:20 PM
hey cheryl_c2x, im applying for law ^^ but wait. are you applying for the first degree award or pre-u?

im applying for the degree award, mine's on monday, 9.30am..guuh..so early, and am damn nervous bout the interview.

but where are my manners. hi people ^^. 8)

khor_albert
14-04-2007, 09:10 PM
I had been selected for the first interview and got through to the second interview in 2005. But I am NOT a SC scholarship holder. However, if there's anything I can help, I will share.

In my year, there are 8 or 9 panels. About 120 people will be selected for the first round interview. Candidates are normally excellent. First round is a screening process and they will ask like what cheryl_c2x has stated. However, you dont have to know too much about your own course. You do have to know what is SC all about, unlike Petronas.

Then 36 (my year) successful candidates will be selected to the second round interview. Outstation candidates don't want to miss THIS interview. All outstation applicants will get to stay and dine at Eastin Hotel in Phileo Damansara, not to forget the transport allowance. The second round will be slightly more strenuous. Will explain after the first round. All these happened in 2005. Last year, about 10 scholarships were awarded.

All the best.

PS: Propaganda, cheryl_c2x applied for pre-u foundation first. Normally they will separate Pre-U and degree applicants. But you may run into some of my college classmates :)

Lils88
14-04-2007, 09:43 PM
Propaganda....
wat did you use? STPM or A-levels? i applied for law, also for degree programme but no news.....

Haiz....
:cry:

gabrielle
14-04-2007, 10:10 PM
one of my friends with 8As and 3Bs was called up for the SC interview to be held this coming Tuesday, which is strange because many of my my friends with better results were not called up.

cheryl_c2x
15-04-2007, 12:50 PM
hey...thx a lot albert..wow only 10 scholarships available...scary. lol i'm scared i'll freak out and not be confident enough...sigh

suga
15-04-2007, 03:24 PM
hey guys the SC scholarship is definitely one the best out there. Make sure you do very well in your interviews. They had two last year. The first one is where they get to know you and the second is where they test your critical thinking, teamwork skills/abilities. At the first one, be yourself, the panelists are smart ppl (seriously) so don't attempt to fool them or talk bull,you won't go very far. it's pretty casual. Oh yeah, pls know what the Sc does. Read a lil on the Sc, their chairman, Zarinah Anwar. Perhaps you could talk to people about their grouses with regard to SC (it's common that people complain about the SC, but these guys are open to criticism). Read, read, read on the SC, very important because if u get the scholarship u'll be bonded to them. I went for a number of interviews last year and i gotta say that the SC was the most professional of all. The people who handled the scholarship section were extremely efficient.

Lils88
15-04-2007, 10:46 PM
What exactly is the criteria they search for in choosing ppl for interviews? I really dont get it....
If its not results, essay?

propapanda
15-04-2007, 10:56 PM
thanks a lot, albert, suga. those were very helpful tips. hope i survive tomorrow...:lol:

p/s: Lils, i applied using my matriculation results, i did my law foundation course at the centre for foundation studies, IIUM, gave em my first sem gpa cuz at the time i've yet to get the results of my finals. [/b]

Roy_ks
15-04-2007, 11:03 PM
Hey, guys...Really sorry for late post over here...
I applied for law too...I am a 12As student...[EST 'killed' me] :?
Wow, this interview sounds scary...I am in Panel 2 though...Anyone same with me?
Well, thanks so much, Albert,Suga and everyone who posted their comments here...I guess I have homework to do now: read up about SC...
Well, I think the essays we submitted earlier played a vital role in the shortlisting process..What do you guys reckon?

Lils88
15-04-2007, 11:05 PM
Propaganda... thanx for sharing ya...
Truth is, i feel pretty lousy, applied for a couple of of scholarships but no news at all.... guess results aren't everything.

Roy_ks
15-04-2007, 11:13 PM
Hey, propaganda... :D
You meant you are going for the SC interview tomorrow? Well, I wish you luck, dude...Hope all of us get this...It is kinda tough... 8O

nysha
16-04-2007, 09:26 AM
i apply for jpa. petronas, tenaga, telekom., kazanah. uem, asean, bnm.....

but till now, i only go 4 jpa interview .. the rest...the competitions r quite stiff...

i gt straight a1, but din shortlisted for any..
bad luck huh?.

so, hw s d educamp, was it fun?

luks like we are on da same boat....tuff luck huh
EAT OUT (http://www.fucktube.com/video/9180/great-outdoor-fucking)

khor_albert
16-04-2007, 09:36 AM
Wow, this interview sounds scary...I am in Panel 2 though...Anyone same with me?
Well, thanks so much, Albert,Suga and everyone who posted their comments here...I guess I have homework to do now: read up about SC...
Well, I think the essays we submitted earlier played a vital role in the shortlisting process..What do you guys reckon?Try also to describe SC in your own words. SC officers are also humans and they prefer creativity rather than what is already known by them for years. To do this, you have to know the scope of SC and their duties, including minor ones.

Essays don't do much good. SC is one of those scholarship agencies which has a very stringent process. This is because most of them are working professionals and managers and they treat you as job seekers rather than students. Their English is exceptionally fluent. Your extra curricular activities and more importantly, what do you learn from them. Anyway, it is immaterial now. What's next is your interview. Be at ease and do not ever treat this as a scholarship interview. Make yourself look and speak professionally as if you are applying for manager post or something. Those kiddy smiles can't gain favour from them. Do remember though, be humble. Typical interview time is 10-15 minutes. Do not so worry that you may go overtime. If the interviewers still want to keep you, it means that you are interesting and they want to spend more time on you compared to others! However, you should also know when to stop.

But if the fire begins to slow down before due time, better try to re-ignite it unless you are confident enough to end it.

All the best today or tomorrow.[/b]

Roy_ks
16-04-2007, 02:18 PM
Well, I think the essays we submitted earlier played a vital role in the shortlisting process..What do you guys reckon?Try also to describe SC in your own words. SC officers are also humans and they prefer creativity rather than what is already known by them for years. To do this, you have to know the scope of SC and their duties, including minor ones.

Essays don't do much good. SC is one of those scholarship agencies which has a very stringent process. This is because most of them are working professionals and managers and they treat you as job seekers rather than students. Their English is exceptionally fluent. Your extra curricular activities and more importantly, what do you learn from them. Anyway, it is immaterial now. What's next is your interview. Be at ease and do not ever treat this as a scholarship interview. Make yourself look and speak professionally as if you are applying for manager post or something. Those kiddy smiles can't gain favour from them. Do remember though, be humble. Typical interview time is 10-15 minutes. Do not so worry that you may go overtime. If the interviewers still want to keep you, it means that you are interesting and they want to spend more time on you compared to others! However, you should also know when to stop.

But if the fire begins to slow down before due time, better try to re-ignite it unless you are confident enough to end it.

Wow :D
Thaaaaaaaaaaankss a lot, Albert for your guidance... :lol:
Emmm, will they just ask us about SC?
Will they question us about general knowledge? Current issues?

khor_albert
16-04-2007, 04:02 PM

Wow :D
Thaaaaaaaaaaankss a lot, Albert for your guidance... :lol:
Emmm, will they just ask us about SC?
Will they question us about general knowledge? Current issues?Yes, they will surely ask you some things about SC and its responsibilities today. Keep the general knowledge and current issues for second round interview. Perhaps occasionally you will need them in the first round.

The first task of the second round interview is a case study. You will be given a situation and you have to provide your opinion, like Petronas. It will take about 30 minutes, so be prepared for a super long session of talking. However, it differs from Petronas because the interviewers will join and ask you questions. Normally, it's an economy-based situation and it will require your general knowledge and current issue knowledge. It will also be helpful to know some basic economic terminologies - exchange rate, inflation, recession, unemployment, demand, supply, bonds, shares...i am not sure about T+3....but no need, I think :) .It will not be that deep. Normally something everyone can debate on.

The second task deals with role-playing. You will take a role and the interviewers will take a role as well. Normally your role is always someone who's under pressure by the managers for some reasons. They will keep pushing you and confusing you as you go along. If you pass the first one, you will go to the second case. There is a maximum of 5 cases.

The third task deals with group discussion in a parliament. It will take place in the SC Boardroom and each group has to discuss the allocation of funds in a budget. Everyone will want their budget to be fulfilled, but in my year, there is only 1 billion ringgit to provide for 2.5bil ringgit projects. So, everyone will begin to debate in a way to convince others. The whole task will take after 1 hour. After 1 hour, if there's no consensus, the budget will be said to fail.

The fourth task deals with survival programme. Everyone's sinking (9 applicants) and there's only 3 places in the survival boat. So, the group is to discuss who will be in that boat.

Many applicants will get very aggressive verbally in the last two tasks. My advice - go heads on with them but maintain rationality.

propapanda
16-04-2007, 06:59 PM
Roy_ks, yeah, i survived the interview, lolz. :? Not terribly pleased with my performance, however. Mine's panel 1, at 9.30am, but it started a little later. the interview was done in the library i presume, there's a boardroom in there.

regarding the questions, i'd have to agree with albert, they wanna get to know you. depending on the panel (my friend i was told got a tougher one) the questions will mostly be bout why you chose that course, how do you see yourself 5-10 years from now, the challenges you faced and how you overcame it. i had a feeling that they wanted to see the qualities of an employee who would be able to contribute to the SC in the future. my interview was pretty short. as in it didn't reach the supposed 40-minute mark my friend had. the panel said a usual interview is around 20-25 minutes.

when i went there, there weren't that many people, under 10 or so.

they didn't even check my certs XDXD. i think they did flip through my essay, but it wasn't mentioned. not that important i think.

spot on on them being very pro and terribly fluent.

*sigh* i could've done better i thought. then again don't take the words of a pessimist :roll:

^^ hehe if i may state, my name's propapanda XDXD. and yeah, thanks a lot albert for sharing.

Question: How long does it take usually for them to get in touch with you again regarding the second interview?

roy, yeah, it is tough. my first interview ever, but it was casual tho. again. depends on the panel. thanks man. hope i did fine and get a recall, but having a habit of being too hard on self, i wonder if i'll get a recall.... :? when is yours again??? good luck dude ^^

khor_albert
16-04-2007, 08:23 PM
Question: How long does it take usually for them to get in touch with you again regarding the second interview? In 2005, less than a week from the final first round interview session. I don't know about now, but I think things should be even more efficient.

nysha
16-04-2007, 09:58 PM
Question: How long does it take usually for them to get in touch with you again regarding the second interview? In 2005, less than a week from the final first round interview session. I don't know about now, but I think things should be even more efficient.

i m a little confused..thnks to my frens...juz wanted to make sure...u hv to b called up for the first round interview b4 u cn b called up 4 da second one rite??
XXX VIDEO STREAMING (http://www.fucktube.com/)

Roy_ks
16-04-2007, 11:07 PM
Roy_ks, yeah, i survived the interview, lolz. :? Not terribly pleased with my performance, however. Mine's panel 1, at 9.30am, but it started a little later. the interview was done in the library i presume, there's a boardroom in there.

regarding the questions, i'd have to agree with albert, they wanna get to know you. depending on the panel (my friend i was told got a tougher one) the questions will mostly be bout why you chose that course, how do you see yourself 5-10 years from now, the challenges you faced and how you overcame it. i had a feeling that they wanted to see the qualities of an employee who would be able to contribute to the SC in the future. my interview was pretty short. as in it didn't reach the supposed 40-minute mark my friend had. the panel said a usual interview is around 20-25 minutes.

when i went there, there weren't that many people, under 10 or so.

they didn't even check my certs XDXD. i think they did flip through my essay, but it wasn't mentioned. not that important i think.

spot on on them being very pro and terribly fluent.

*sigh* i could've done better i thought. then again don't take the words of a pessimist :roll:

^^ hehe if i may state, my name's propapanda XDXD. and yeah, thanks a lot albert for sharing.

Question: How long does it take usually for them to get in touch with you again regarding the second interview?

roy, yeah, it is tough. my first interview ever, but it was casual tho. again. depends on the panel. thanks man. hope i did fine and get a recall, but having a habit of being too hard on self, i wonder if i'll get a recall.... :? when is yours again??? good luck dude ^^

propapanda, hey hey... :D
You are scaring me...Uhuh, sounds scary...
My interview's on this coming Wednesday 10am...Panel 2...
Huh... :cry:
Anyway, thanks so much, dude... :lol:

propapanda
16-04-2007, 11:36 PM
less than a week? okay. i might just die. i don't even know if bank negara is gonna call up or not for first degree. perhaps i should call em up, yeah?

yeah nysha, of course you'd have to pass the first hurdle first :D

roy, dude, it's true when they say in interviews, be yourself. they're smart people who read others as a job. lie or be insincere and they might pick up on that. but other than that, i say go there and do the best you can. as for me i think i'll go mourn for a bit lolz 8)

Roy_ks
18-04-2007, 11:13 PM
Yo, thanks so much Albert, Suga, Propapanda and you guys here...Surprisingly, I survived the interview... :lol:
30 minutes---I think it is more than enough... :D
Yea, they DID asked me about SC...Lucky, I read up about them... 8)
Anyway, thanks to all of you here...Well, now, let us just sit down and pray we get called for the second assessment... :?

propapanda
19-04-2007, 02:40 PM
:lol: Okay. imma be all silly and all and say Thank GOD I got through to the second interview~!!!!

Mine will be on the 23rd, choe the morning session. Imma take note what you guys have told me, thanks a lot dudes!!

cheryl_c2x
19-04-2007, 10:39 PM
i din feel as if i made enough of an impression... :( and my interview din last that long...sigh....oh well, hope for the best

bert-bert
20-04-2007, 09:07 PM
i qualify for sc 2nd round interview...

Roy_ks
20-04-2007, 11:05 PM
Hey, Albert and propapanda...Good news...I am shortlisted for second round...It is next Monday 23rd 12.45pm to 5pm...Anyone same time and date? :lol:

bert2, when's yours?

Albert, can you please tell me more bout the second round [ oher than those you mentioned earlier..]...Second round looks kinda tough...Omg :?

khor_albert
21-04-2007, 12:37 AM
Hey, Albert and propapanda...Good news...I am shortlisted for second round...It is next Monday 23rd 12.45pm to 5pm...Anyone same time and date? :lol:

bert2, when's yours?

Albert, can you please tell me more bout the second round [ oher than those you mentioned earlier..]...Second round looks kinda tough...Omg :?I think I have told you everything I know. I dont hold back anything when I share. All the best on the 23rd. My prayer goes with you guys/girls!

bert-bert
21-04-2007, 06:59 PM
mine ob 24th

Roy_ks
21-04-2007, 10:00 PM

bert2, when's yours?

Albert, can you please tell me more bout the second round [ oher than those you mentioned earlier..]...Second round looks kinda tough...Omg :?I think I have told you everything I know. I dont hold back anything when I share. All the best on the 23rd. My prayer goes with you guys/girls!

All right then...Thanks sooo much albert... :D Yeah, and all the best to everyone going for second round... :P

propapanda
22-04-2007, 07:14 PM
second round does seem tough. anyway, all the best yeah. i gotta wake up early tomorrow....mines at 8:45am...*sigh* the first of all batches!!! shouldve picked a later one *dang* 8)

propapanda
24-04-2007, 11:50 AM
oh Lord..i was told that theyre gonna get back to us in mid may....for the THIRD time!! there was only one case that we had to work on, and it didn't have any economics stuff in in...perhaps they've changed their screenings?? guuhh.....this is really painful...eeehh.

p/s: considering that there were 2 sessions each day, for two days, with approximately 12 people each session, i reckon they've shortlisted 48...and the people are from a consultation co based in London, also did the Petronas Educamp.

nursha
23-05-2007, 09:21 AM
hey everyone..
who got the SC scholarship to do their a-lvls?

propapanda
01-06-2007, 11:55 AM
hey there, nursha. im not so sure bout a-levels, but i got the scholarship for my first degree. the lady was very secretive bout how many people got it. :?

nursha
03-06-2007, 04:11 PM
hey there, nursha. im not so sure bout a-levels, but i got the scholarship for my first degree. the lady was very secretive bout how many people got it. :?

hye propapanda.. I know, I asked the lady how many people got it but she didnt give me a straight answer.. :?
congrats to u!!
so, where ur going to study?

propapanda
04-06-2007, 01:43 PM

hye propapanda.. I know, I asked the lady how many people got it but she didnt give me a straight answer.. :?
congrats to u!!
so, where ur going to study?

she was too busy laughing thats why! mine is a local degree, at UIA. youre doin alevels rite?

yeah likewise congratulations to you too~!

Gemini
01-03-2008, 10:07 PM
Mind guys and gals sharing your experience on SC Pe-U scholarship? I want to know about the interview and selection process so badly.

lwk88
02-03-2008, 08:10 PM
did you mean Securities Commission scholarship?

Gemini
02-03-2008, 11:00 PM
did you mean Securities Commission scholarship?

Yes.

lwk88
03-03-2008, 12:50 AM
I got the interview in 2007 using my foundation result to do my undergraduate. I only successfully made it to the 2nd round of the interview. there are only 2 round of interviews

1st round - one on two interview which 2 panels interviews the candidate
2nd round - will be given a case study. you have to present your opinions to the 2 panels. lastly, there is a group discussion about the case

SC will phone you if you qualify for 1st or 2nd interview. If im not mistaken, only 15 scholarships are available in 2007

for more information refer to
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=5450&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

kaixin90
07-03-2008, 12:05 PM
so is the 2008 SC scholarship open yet?

GuoSheng
13-03-2008, 05:02 PM
Many thanks. =)

Sorry for asking, but do I really need to write my dream schools? Coz I doubt I could live up to it. Any ex-successful applicants here?
Video Xxx (http://www.fucktube.com/)

GuoSheng
17-03-2008, 06:19 PM
I am wondering whether anyone of you here knows how to write the application essay for the SC. How would you do it without sounding like a jerk, and at the same time able to sell yourself? I had never tried such essay. Teach me!

"In a separate piece of paper, please write an essay (in your own handwriting) stating past achievements and future career aspiration in relation to the application of this scholarship, i.e. what benefits would you hope to derive in pursuing the proposed field of study and how it can help you in your future contributions to the Securities Commission upon successful completion of this course. Write in not more than 1000 words and make sure you enclosed the essay with this application form."

And btw, had anyone of you ever applied for it? I don't know whether I need to fill in the proposed course of study, since i am only applying for their foundation scholarship. Please enlighten me. The dateline is getting near.

The Form:
http://www.sc.com.my/eng/html/career/scholarshipform.doc

Thanks. =)
Honda Capa Specifications (http://www.honda-wiki.org/wiki/Honda_Capa)

lXl
18-03-2008, 10:07 AM
just write your heart out. It's always better to be truthful and allow the committee to judge you as who you are instead of somebody you are not.

yes, you do need to fill in the propose course of study, be it economics, law, actuarial science, accounting etc etc. The university part is for you to write in your dream school, which they might question you during the interview.

G'd Luck !

GuoSheng
18-03-2008, 04:16 PM
yes, dateline 31st of march
Marijuana Rehab Forum (http://www.rehab-forum.com/marijuana-rehab/)

18-03-2008, 04:39 PM
is sin chew scholarships secure?
what stages do i need to go through if i have been shortlisted ?
i read the previous post and discover tat there is two rounds? what do u mean by two rounds?
is it interview round?
Where did the interview conducted?

GuoSheng
18-03-2008, 04:44 PM
the SC is referring to Securities Commission, not Sin Chew...
AVANDIA SETTLEMENT (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/avandia/)

18-03-2008, 05:38 PM
can anyone guide me on sc scholarships?
the courses offered is limited..

insertusername
18-03-2008, 06:23 PM
why don't you ask questions instead of asking ppl to guide you..

coffeeaddict
19-03-2008, 12:30 AM
SC is a body which regulates the Bursa Saham Malaysia, 70% of its employers are lawyers..n the rest are economists, accountants, financial analyst, acuturists..those kind of fields..

nightstar16
02-03-2010, 10:45 PM
hi, can anybody tell me if sc extends the scholarship after pre-U or is it separate?

frisha1992
15-03-2010, 10:35 PM
Hi. I'm currently filling my application for SC's scholarship, but I'm not really sure on what to do for the "Field of Study Application" part.

Here is a screengrab:

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/8513/sc1k.th.jpg (http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/8513/sc1k.jpg)

Firstly, the scholarship type. I am an SPM '09 leaver and I would like to do accounting. So should I select Scholarship A-level or Scholarship Matriculation?

Secondly, the proposed field of study. From what I've read in the previous posts, this is supposed to be your "dream schools"? But this time round, they're asking for proposed courses as well. Seriously? Accounting isn't even my first choice, but due to my bad grade for Biology... :( And why is there SIX fields to fill in?

Your help and speedy response would be highly appreciated. Please and thank you. :)

bekann
17-03-2010, 08:21 PM
Hi. I'm currently filling my application for SC's scholarship, but I'm not really sure on what to do for the "Field of Study Application" part.

Here is a screengrab:

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/8513/sc1k.th.jpg (http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/8513/sc1k.jpg)

Firstly, the scholarship type. I am an SPM '09 leaver and I would like to do accounting. So should I select Scholarship A-level or Scholarship Matriculation?

Secondly, the proposed field of study. From what I've read in the previous posts, this is supposed to be your "dream schools"? But this time round, they're asking for proposed courses as well. Seriously? Accounting isn't even my first choice, but due to my bad grade for Biology... :( And why is there SIX fields to fill in?

Your help and speedy response would be highly appreciated. Please and thank you. :)

I think the first part is for your Pre-U studies, ie; foundation, or A-levels.
The second part is for your degree program, like which Uni you want to go to.
I don't know la, I just put some local for first part, and overseas for second part.