View Full Version : ReCom 2.0

ReCom
08-03-2008, 02:01 AM
Welcome to ReCom.org - The Worldwide Malaysian Students Network.

As of 08/03/2008, ReCom.org has been migrated from the old forum software phpNuke+phpBB to a better and more stable software vBulletin. We hope with this new environment ReCommers can now enjoy more pleasant intellectual and entertaining discussions.

Leen
08-03-2008, 12:02 PM
And I know that most of you will feel weird at first with all the different settings and locations of thread, but seriously, things will be just fine after a couple of weeks.

If you have any feedbacks, do give them. We will try to look into it. If you have the expertise in web programming and such, do offer them too and we will see what we can do about it.

Thankies!

celestial_sacred
08-03-2008, 12:31 PM
YES! I love vBulletin. Have been using ever since years ago~ This place looks so much more organised and sweet~

08-03-2008, 01:26 PM
Wow, it wasn't like this when I last visited two hours ago. Err, can someone list down where all the previous threads have been shifted and merged to? Cause I have been following some of them and now I am clueless of their whereabouts.

08-03-2008, 01:32 PM
Wow, it wasn't like this when I last visited two hours ago. Err, can someone list down where all the previous threads have been shifted and merged to? Cause I have been following some of them and now I am clueless of their whereabouts.
Try using the search forums feature. And when you found them, click "Thread Tools" at the top of the threads and select "Subscribe to this Thread". That way you can monitor your favorite threads from the User CP.

Don't worry about getting lost in the new ReCom 2.0 because we the admins ourselver get lost in here too :P

FYI Leen is the one we appointed to re-organize the forums structure since the previous one was so messy and disorganized.

08-03-2008, 03:28 PM
Thanks a lot to all the people who work hard behind the scene, Leen, Luke, youngyew, bachok83, masterofnone, thirdshifter etc.

Would like to thank a bunch of ReCom Anchors who sponsor to purchase this vBulletin to bring forth ReCom 2.0.

08-03-2008, 03:47 PM
Any suggestion on how many latest threads to show on the portal (front page)? Unlike in previous ReCom, the current latest threads list is built into the software, so putting the drop-down box for users to choose the number of threads is not as straightforward ... gotta live with the soon-to-be-decided number of latest threads for all users.

p/s: so yeah, making the list to be as selective as the previous one is hard! At least until we find an addon/plugin that can do it for us without having to look at the code.

08-03-2008, 03:51 PM
Bravo guys.. this new look is so.. retro! :) Can't wait to find out what new functions you have! ;)

08-03-2008, 04:57 PM
I think 15 would be a good choice of number. What do ReComers think?

Do help to spread the words to other ReComers who have not been visiting ReCom.org for a while.

Total posts in ReCom has been going up a lot today! Lets keep the ball rolling!

08-03-2008, 05:33 PM
heyyyy, sweet look, ppl! Congrats to everyone whos worked so hard at making this happen. Good date too, pretttttty apt, time of change for Msia, time for change for ReCom huh.

Welcome welcome welcome back!

08-03-2008, 07:30 PM
Well this is a surprise. Looks a bit more formal somehow. Anyway, good job =)

08-03-2008, 08:27 PM
my display picture lost?

08-03-2008, 08:32 PM
my display picture lost?
Sorry, the avatar information in the old forum is not compatible with the new software (vBulletin) so they could not be migrated over. Please re-upload your avatar.

08-03-2008, 09:22 PM
I think 15 would be a good choice of number. What do ReComers think?
I think it depends very much on the activity of ReCom - on quiet days, you would need only 5 or 10; but on busy days you might need 20 or even 30 to give an overview of the forum activity.

But in my opinion, don't fret too much about the "latest updated threads" section, because now we already have this "new post" button up the top, and as this shows all posts updated since last visit, it will be more useful (and I presume more popular too) with our members.

08-03-2008, 09:38 PM
But in my opinion, don't fret too much about the "latest updated threads" section, because now we already have this "new post" button up the top, and as this shows all posts updated since last visit, it will be more useful (and I presume more popular too) with our members.
Thanks for pointing that out. With that button just up there, I think there shouldn't be any complain about not being able to see which threads have been updated. I'd say, let's leave the recent threads list on the front page at 10 items.

* voted for 10 *

08-03-2008, 10:40 PM
me think 10 is a nice number as well...

da-hype
09-03-2008, 10:37 AM
i likey a lot... :D

kpchen
09-03-2008, 11:26 AM
Great! I feel like posting again! Haha! Good job guys!

Hope today leads us to a better ReCom and hopefully a better Malaysia.

Leen
09-03-2008, 01:52 PM
I'm glad that you like it. I know that it takes some time to adjust to the new setting but please be patient. I'm glad that you feel like posting again too, kpchen.

09-03-2008, 03:13 PM
Great! I feel like posting again! Haha! Good job guys!

Hope today leads us to a better ReCom and hopefully a better Malaysia.

Hope that we can see you and many other ReComers post more often. Do help to spread the words around too to other ReComers!

10-03-2008, 12:24 AM
So when are we going to get started in the ReCom Wiki project? Count me in if you guys need more human resource on the project...

10-03-2008, 01:36 AM
im liking this new recom too...its like its been reborn and it got a facelift, boob job everything lah, put tempe all over it and now its shiny shiny and nice! nice jobbb, im posting like mad...sigh...love this new look =p

13-03-2008, 01:43 AM
Here is something I made long time ago (May 2005) but did not find a good chance to submit it here: a PDF to print out business card-like "come visit ReCom.org" invitation.

Please everyone print it out and distribute to as many friends as you can!

13-03-2008, 06:06 AM
Here is something I made long time ago (May 2005) but did not find a good chance to submit it here: a PDF to print out business card-like "come visit ReCom.org" invitation.

Please everyone print it out and distribute to as many friends as you can!
It looks fantastic!

20-03-2008, 09:59 PM
Weee....I didn't notice this but since when did I become a hero member. SS.

Al-Bert
20-03-2008, 10:30 PM
Weee....I didn't notice this but since when did I become a hero member. SS.

Hero member : A saluted and respected member who have contributed a lot to the Reborn Community.... :)

-----------------------------------------
ReCom 2.0 has completed the probationary period under my usage, I'm very satisfied with it despite some flaws...

Anticipating the upgrading to ReCom 2.5.... lol

09-04-2008, 02:14 PM
Well well well.....there is recom Sports, recom Headquaters,recom science expo ,recom kitchen.....the list goes on...
Why arent there a recom healthy lifestlye?
Then we can post various topic on healthy lifestyle..ranging from all kind of diseases to a balanced diet..
I am sure it will be fun.

Herlene
11-06-2008, 04:40 PM
Well well well.....there is recom Sports, recom Headquaters,recom science expo ,recom kitchen.....the list goes on...
Then we can post various topic on healthy lifestyle..ranging from all kind of diseases to a balanced diet..

I second that suggestion..it'll be nice way to promote healthy lifestyle.

11-06-2008, 06:19 PM
Anticipating the upgrading to ReCom 2.5.... lol
*whisper* ReCom 2.1 is under way .. :wink

Actually it usually works the other around .. you post first and when we see there are enough threads on a common issue/field/area then we create a new forum category ... take the JPA category for example .. seriously they did not wait for us to create the category but rather just posted the threads in education forum, then later when there are so many threads about JPA we admin created the category .. why can't you do the same with this lifestyle thingy?

14-06-2008, 12:50 AM
Recom rocks!!! Keep it up, people! Love this site!

I second that suggestion..it'll be nice way to promote healthy lifestyle.

Yup, nice one...!!!