View Full Version : What are the hot careers in Malaysia over the next ten years

CyberJaya
03-04-2004, 10:17 PM
Hi. I'm from London and i'm starting a degree this september. I'm of mixed malaysian origin and thats for if you're wondering why i'm on this forum from London. I would like to work in Malaysia for some of my career and i would like to know which are the hottest industries in terms of numbers of fresh graduates recruited. Thank you. :D

03-04-2004, 11:06 PM
hi there...

I think doctor is still needed... biochemist, nutritionist and pharmacist is also highly needed....

BUT, the hottest should be ACTUARY.... :P

CyberJaya
03-04-2004, 11:13 PM
Hi there
Where did you get those facts from? Also what makes you think that Actuary is the hottest?

SpRInG
03-04-2004, 11:13 PM
actuary?

hmm.... yea.. perhaps.......

but, understanding that Malaysia is still a developing country, not a developed country.... Malaysia need skilled engineers... really skilled engineers..... not engineers by graduate.... but practical engineers..... that's my opinion...

although some may argue taht there's too many engineer.... but i think there's still not enough engineers in the country.....

CyberJaya
03-04-2004, 11:16 PM
Electronic Engineers or Mechanical Engineers? If you can post some source websites then that will be good. Thanks

CyberJaya
03-04-2004, 11:37 PM
What would you say is a practical engineer?

03-04-2004, 11:55 PM
try check this out .... http://www.time.com/time/reports/v21/work/mag_ten_hottest_jobs.html

CyberJaya
03-04-2004, 11:57 PM
Thanks for the link but was Actuary a Joke :D

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 12:01 AM
Merson- I was dissapointed that Engineering wasnt in your list

mish
04-04-2004, 12:07 AM
Was trying so hard to look for something like 'psychologist' or 'psychiatrist' in this thread, but failed.....

hehe... sorry, I was dreaming just now, so naive to think that psychologist would be... :oops: :oops:

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 12:22 AM
I want to keep this forum near the top :D

lonewolfhan
04-04-2004, 12:33 AM
Mm.. i agree that Msia still needs Loads of Engineers... coz it is still developing.... I think all kinds of engineers are needed.. i wish that i can say CIVIL ENGINEERING is the most important (Coz im going to study Civil.. hehe.. my only interest.. ).. But quite a lot of ppl said that it is an outdated career ade... SIgH~ so sad to hear this... :(

But.. i did hear b4 that Architect and Civil Engineer earn a lot of money.. izzit true ? again. i hope it is..

Actuary.. Hmm.. im not quite sure about this.. din do much research on this career coz.. i dun like Numbers.. haha..

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 12:37 AM
Would you say that Electronic engineers are the most needed . I heard that three years after graduating your skills are outdated. Thats very harsh.

04-04-2004, 01:09 AM
ehm... i think this link can give u an insight about the human resource demands in the US.... and other developed countries...

http://www.beanactuary.com/about/best_job.cfm

but then, since u want to know about the Malaysia jobs prospect in the next ten years... can't really tell...

but engineers, doctors are still in great need... becoz JPA is still offering these scholarships...

JPA offer scholarships based on the man power they need in the country... so if they offer u a scholarship, means that they need ur knowledge in that particular field...

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 01:19 AM
What kind of Jpa engineering scholorships are being offered? Electrical, Mechanical, etc?

04-04-2004, 01:39 AM
er.... basically, almost every engineering course is being offered...

u name, they have it....

from aerospace, aeronautical, to computer, then to nuclear, to mechanical, civil, electrical, .....et cetera...

windy_city
04-04-2004, 01:59 AM
Basically Malaysia still has a lot of need for engineers, doctors, lecturers also. Malaysia needs a lot of skills professionals. We need economists and actuarial science people. But some jobs are less popular and less demanded compare to others. There is NO THE BEST engineering field. It is all depend on the economy, and again, the most basic of econ theory, supply and demand. During the economic recession, civil engineers suffered the most, because the real estate business plummeted, so do the civil engineers.

About actuarial science, I think too many people are doing it now, in 5 years time, we will have more than enough actuarial science people in Malaysia competing for a not so high demand market(malaysia insurance market is not that big, 10 out of 6 actuaries work in insurance company)

But again, even in a low demand market, if you can outshine others, you can still get a job, maybe harder compare to other jobs but still there is a chance. I have been talking to a few of my graduating friends, they have different job prospects (some still cannot find jobs, hope they get a job soon)

Anyway, tech job are recovering now, after the tech bubble burst during 1999, hope by the time we graduate, it will become a hot industry again. All eyes is on the Google public listing that will occurs soon, if they make it, it will be a good sign for the tech industry, if they dun, well, maybe we will need to be patience for another year to see significant improvement in the industry. Telecommunication suffers a lot of during this few years, but it is recovering now.

Financial world is the best industry so far, they are hardly affected by anything. In the top 500 companies publish by Forbes, 5 from top 10 spot are financial services companies. So I dare to say (supported by US Labor Statistics) that financial services market will be growing quite strongly.

Hush
04-04-2004, 02:02 AM
I think I shall agree with lonewolfhan that civil engineering is one of the most important field not only in Malaysia. I am gonna study engineering this year. My first year is gonna be common. When I am to choose my major in second year, I would probably pick civil engineering. It depends on my performance and preference as well.

Many people do take civil engineering for granted. They are not aware that civil engineers shape their world such as their houses, the roads, etc. Since Malaysia is a developing country, I have faith that civil engineers are in great demand. My friends think that civil engineering is the lowest form of engineering. :?

My brother is an architect. Now, he's striving to get his licence so that he has the authority to sign the plans. I think both architect and civil engineer earn a lot although it depends on luck and opportunity sometimes. However, when that very golden opportunity comes, they are on their way to become millionaires. They can earn as high as 5% each of the cost of a project. This depends on the market and the size of the projects. Let's say, a project costs RM 1 billion. Architect and civil engineer may earn RM 50 million each!!! But, of course, such a costly project needs many different types of engineers. So, they may not earn that much, but it's still gonna be significant. I hope this is still true by the time I graduate.

By the way, lonewolfhan, where are you gonna study civil engineering?

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 02:14 AM
Do you think a degree in financial services is worth pursuing?

04-04-2004, 02:32 AM
We are not allowed to take civil engineering in Korea under JPA scholarship. why huh? What do you guys think about NanoTechnology huh?

windy_city
04-04-2004, 02:37 AM
Do you think a degree in financial services is worth pursuing?

Why not??
IF you like it, plus if you get lucky and very skillful, you make on the way to be a BILLIONAIRE (is US dollar)!!

So far, in the past 2 decade, those who make it to the top of the richest man list are either entrepreneurs in tech, financial services people (Warren Buffett) or inherited from family business (like Walton family) and Arab Saudi royal family who control the oil reserve.

I should correct myself. The top 15 companies in the world, based on assets and revenue (10 of them is related to financial, banking or insurance (basically is financial also, they invest the money) the first one is Citigroup (ya the famous Citibank). So why not financial services, but you dun really need a very specific degree to go into this field.

matthew
04-04-2004, 04:25 AM
I think I shall agree with lonewolfhan that civil engineering is one of the most important field not only in Malaysia. I am gonna study engineering this year. My first year is gonna be common. When I am to choose my major in second year, I would probably pick civil engineering. It depends on my performance and preference as well.

Many people do take civil engineering for granted. They are not aware that civil engineers shape their world such as their houses, the roads, etc. Since Malaysia is a developing country, I have faith that civil engineers are in great demand. My friends think that civil engineering is the lowest form of engineering. :?

My brother is an architect. Now, he's striving to get his licence so that he has the authority to sign the plans. I think both architect and civil engineer earn a lot although it depends on luck and opportunity sometimes. However, when that very golden opportunity comes, they are on their way to become millionaires. They can earn as high as 5% each of the cost of a project. This depends on the market and the size of the projects. Let's say, a project costs RM 1 billion. Architect and civil engineer may earn RM 50 million each!!! But, of course, such a costly project needs many different types of engineers. So, they may not earn that much, but it's still gonna be significant. I hope this is still true by the time I graduate.

I also think that civil engineering will be the great demand on malaysia.By the way, me too....will going to study at civil enginering.Is anyone here study civil engineering at U.S. Is that any different study civil engineering at U.S and U.K ? :roll:

lonewolfhan, Hush...where will you all go for your dregee ?

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 04:25 AM
What do you guys think about a degree in information and communications technology? Where will it take me in Malaysias current economic climate? thanks

dinna_g
04-04-2004, 10:33 AM
We are not allowed to take civil engineering in Korea under JPA scholarship. why huh? What do you guys think about NanoTechnology huh?
I would guess that the civil engineering course offered in Korea is not recognized by JPA. Most likely it's not recognized internationally ie by ABET or sthing because JPA has a pretty good standard.

About Nanotech, I'm somewhat involve or I should say starting to involve with the area. Generally, nanotech is an extremely new but broad area. Currently, nanotech is a "hot" research area but we're not at the level of applying the technology yet. The main goal of nanotech is definitely in the electronic industry. Although, it seems promising, nothing that I know of has proven works as a solution for the overal miniaturization problem. But it seems to be promising. Wait until another 15 years or so, we'll get into the implementation of the technology in the "real world".

dinna_g
04-04-2004, 10:38 AM
What do you guys think about a degree in information and communications technology? Where will it take me in Malaysias current economic climate? thanks
IMHO, we have too many ICT graduates in our beloved bolehland. Unless you are extremely good, I think it'll be hard for you to find a decent job. CyberJaya, I'm guessing that you're looking for a major to get in college. If that is the case, I suggest you narrow down to a broad interest that you have i.e. engineering, science, liberal arts, health care etc. There's a wide range of jobs that we can talk about if we were to consider the needs of any position in malaysia. This way, it'll be easier for you to pick your options from and make research on the job market.

cheers!

morpheous
04-04-2004, 11:27 AM
no world class economies if there is no world class universities.
did prof wang really said "..include IT and biotech courses"??did The Star manipulated what he did say and did not say..?probably we never know...

Saturday April 3, 2004

Prof Wang: Utar should focus on science and technology
BY NG SI HOOI

Prof Wang
KAMPAR: Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (Utar) should concentrate on science and technology courses that will benefit the country, said its International Advisory Council (IAC) chairman Prof Wang Gungwu.

These include information technology and biotechnology courses, he said.

?We know that we can?t be good in everything. That?s reality. To be a top university, you must focus on something.

?You must make sure the university gets adequate resources and selects staff and students of the right quality to become first class,? Prof Wang said.

He said Utar staff should also encourage students to carry out research in areas beneficial to the country.

?A university is not only a place to teach but also a gathering of scholars capable of bringing up-to-date information and knowledge to students.

?For a good university, you must have staff capable of doing good research to inspire students,? he told reporters after visiting the site of the main Utar campus here yesterday.

With him were Utar council chairman Datuk Seri Dr Ling Liong Sik, Utar president and CEO Tan Sri Dr Ng Lay Swee, IAC members Prof Yang Fujia, Prof Charles Kuen Kao, Prof Ghauth Jasmon and Datuk Prof Dr Lam Sai Kit, Kampar MP Tan Sri Hew See Tong and other Perak MCA leaders.

Prof Wang said he was impressed by the progress of Utar, its quality staff and the encouraging number of students who had applied to the university.

?The selection of good students will make it possible for the university to set a very high standard for them,? he added.

Dr Ling said the IAC, which gathers twice a year to discuss the development of Utar, had met on Thursday and yesterday.

He expressed satisfaction over the progress of construction work at the site.

?We are ahead of time as the piling works are going smoothly and will be completed on schedule in July,? he said.

04-04-2004, 02:33 PM
Hot jobs is something that would pay you well. In malaysia now, anything related to engineering pays crap.

In malaysia the only hot job is being a class A contractor.

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 02:46 PM
What do you guys think about a degree in Mathematics, business management and finance? where will it take me? What is the demand like? what is the pay like?

04-04-2004, 03:12 PM
Hot jobs is something that would pay you well. In malaysia now, anything related to engineering pays crap.

In malaysia the only hot job is being a class A contractor.\

class A contractor?

04-04-2004, 03:19 PM
taukeh balak pays well too.:)

Cyberjaya, i know this sounds cliched and all, but i think the better question you should ask is "what are my interests?" once you've identified fields you're interested in, it would be easier to narrow down your choice of major. then you look at job prospects. just my take.

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 03:25 PM
The thing is that i want to get into a particular university and i can only get there by doing certain courses because of my results.

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 03:46 PM
What would you use a degree in Mathematics for in Malaysia?

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 04:20 PM
http://www.doctorjob.com.my/localnews/display.asp?ID=1521

04-04-2004, 04:37 PM
I'm sorry I can't answer any of your questions but I'd just like to kindly ask you to utilize the "Edit" button and edit your posts instead of just posting a new one to correct a mis-typed post .. this way people can see your points and questions a lot clearer .. thanks.

SpRInG
04-04-2004, 06:32 PM
actually i wish to become a mathematician... however, the country sort of 'look high upon' engineers more than scientists - that is the policy currently...

if you ask what would be the use of a degree in Mathematics? Actually there are so many uses/usage - Mathematics can be integrated into almost every field - Science of Humanity... that's what i think.... and if you would think beyond the ordinary box, you may find something interesting such as - becoming a military decoder, n stuff like that...

on top of that... i think you can also become a teacher.... not bad also... let say you have a masters degree in mathematics, then you can become a lecturer... so well.. hmm... i did have some research about this last time... but i've forgotten about it already... since i'm doing engineering now.. i mean, going to....

jagganatha
04-04-2004, 07:13 PM
Maths is seriously a degree to be loved. Its a pretty high demand one at that and when entwined with finance and business should lead you to the top notch financial companies and banking institutions in Malaysia. Your pay should be somewhere between the higher range of 4 figure to 5 figure paycheques. Nice.. Read this somewhere jus cant seem to find the link now. Engineers to are seriously a demand job option especially with Malaysia almost exponential growth graph ( a figure of speech) I daresay that there will be no limit to job options and availability but then again it highly depends on which sect of engineering you major in. Further research is advised in order to make the right decision.

04-04-2004, 07:20 PM
instead of Mathematician... why not actuary... or economist...
basically, this 3 are somehow connected in a lot of time....

and the common courses are really remarkable...

jagganatha
04-04-2004, 07:21 PM

I second that..

04-04-2004, 08:01 PM
malaysia needs people in the education field. (teachers, lecturers, & the list goes on......) anyone interested?

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 09:44 PM

Actually I'm applying for economics and Finance but i'm more likely to be accepted on Mathematics and Finance. Its unfortunate that it is the way things are. One of the modules on the Mathematics course is actually mathematical modelling for Economists and another is Actuarial Mathematics so that is quite interesting. I'm still even considering engineering and Business.

CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 10:43 PM
Couuld someone else please give me anymore information about careers arising from a degree in Mathematics, Business and Finance. I am thankful for what you've already imparted but am desperate for more info, if possible. Especially with regards to the demand and supply situation for aforementioned graduates. Thank you. :D

Hush
05-04-2004, 01:19 AM
Matthew, I am going to study engineering in NUS in Singapore.

By the way, ThirdShifter, most of the professionals in Malaysia are paid crap. Not only engineers as you claimed. But then again, I still think whatever you study, there is always a way out. This is what a successful businessman told me. Besides, I heard from my brother that he knows a few successful and rich engineers. Most of them are civil engineers since he is an architect.

I guess the demand for civil engineers in Sabah is pretty high. There are many new projects going on here and there. I am from Sabah, so, I know a bit about that.

But then again, luck and opportunity play a big role.

soul_out
05-04-2004, 03:37 AM

In malaysia the only hot job is being a class A contractor.

Confirm it is. Try to find out those rich family in your taman, 50% and above r contractors. Fast cash!!!

Malaysia need entreperneurs like Francis Yong, Jeffery Cheah and Datuk Lee and Uncle Lim to grow and provide job opportunity to recom members.

Entreperneur rulez!

soul_out
05-04-2004, 03:40 AM
hi there...

I think doctor is still needed... biochemist, nutritionist and pharmacist is also highly needed....

Izzit your own assumption? Or you do have friends(fresh graduates) working as nutritionist, biochemist and ACTUARY making big $$$?

Some of my actuarial science friends r jobless in Malaysia now.

Mind to enlighten?

soul_out
05-04-2004, 03:43 AM
Hottest jobs in Malaysia would always be Medical Doctor.

If you want big $$$ and less working hour, there is 1 that i can recommend, which is Boss son, anak boss.

CyberJaya
05-04-2004, 03:48 AM
Boss son/ Anak Boss?

05-04-2004, 03:56 AM
If you want big $$$ and less working hour, there is 1 that i can recommend, which is Boss son, anak boss.

how bout marry the daughter of some rich people or tycoon? Kill 2 birds with 1 stone, muahahah....

of course, i was just talking cock.

05-04-2004, 04:18 AM
hi there...

Izzit your own assumption? Or you do have friends(fresh graduates) working as nutritionist, biochemist and ACTUARY making big $$$?

Some of my actuarial science friends r jobless in Malaysia now.

Mind to enlighten?
from what i've heard, getting an actuarial science degree is not difficult. however, passing the professional exams that would actually allow you to practise is extremely difficult, which is why there are so few employable actuarial scientistis around. is that true?

soul_out
05-04-2004, 05:08 AM

how bout marry the daughter of some rich people or tycoon? Kill 2 birds with 1 stone, muahahah....

of course, i was just talking cock.

Not at all. Some guys might have this type of ambition since young, i mean marry a rich man's daughter. :D

05-04-2004, 05:30 AM
why not perdana menteri. Unless you expect Abdullah to rule for another 20 years. :P

orestes
05-04-2004, 05:55 AM
Mind to enlighten?
from what i've heard, getting an actuarial science degree is not difficult. however, passing the professional exams that would actually allow you to practise is extremely difficult, which is why there are so few employable actuarial scientistis around. is that true?

soooo true... u only need a 6/10 to pass the first couple of exams (which is all multiple choice) but as easy as it sounds, its a major pain in the arse... ive not taken any yet but im NOT looking forward to it...

10-Joules
05-04-2004, 09:10 AM
Are there career opportunities in Aerospace engineering and Nuclear engineering in M'sia?
Research is also very limited right?
if we serve the JPA bond where and what will we do?
do we get to choose?

orestes
05-04-2004, 01:43 PM
i think malaysia has only 1 nuclear reactor and it is as big as the one in penn state university...

CyberJaya
05-04-2004, 02:40 PM
Are there opportunities for Mathematics graduates? Computer-Aided Engineering Graduates?

SpRInG
05-04-2004, 05:10 PM
hmm... Cyberjaya... you seemed very worried about the carrier in this field and that field.... well, this may be something good and something not so good also...

first, it's good because it proves taht you're concerned of your future and you do want to live a good life after now....

but it's not so good as in... i noticed that you've asked from a field to a field.... have you ever asked yourself what you really wanted to be? I mean... if you go into a field just because it offers job opportunity now, but well, one day you might regret? because, after all, money's not everything? that's my opinion...

what is it that you really want to be?

CyberJaya
05-04-2004, 06:15 PM
Originally i wanted to be a pilot but that is so much a dream.
I'm interested in a career that has plenty of available jobs, is well paid and gives me something to progress with in the future. I'd like to run or be part of a successful business one day. I also would like to work for a successful high-tech firm in Research and Development.

05-04-2004, 06:45 PM
You may get a very high paid job but the job robs you of your time with family, perhaps but most probably of your life pleasure especially when you decide your career by the compensation it offers rather than your interest.

I rather get a just well-paid job with the task/area of my interest.

05-04-2004, 09:21 PM
Uhmm... How old are you now, Cyberjaya? Yeah, Spring's rite. You seemed to be very fickle minded. If you've already started college, i doubt that there's much choices you can make unless you're studying liberal arts now. Obviously, you can't just simply be a job hopper, if you know what i mean... Ever heard of Jack of all trades master of none? Just pick something which really interest you. Not all jobs guarantee a high pay, and not all jobs that don't. It actually depends on you to work hard or not. There's no such thing as easy money ...

CyberJaya
05-04-2004, 10:30 PM
I got an interview for a business degree on Wednesday but i dont want to say too much about the university in terms of its standing. I'm thinking of doing this business degree part-time and then applying for a full time degree in my specialist subject, Which is a branch of engineering. I'm pretty sure that i can cope.
Jack of all trades master of none. Well in this case its like a major major and a minor minor or a large combined degree.

CyberJaya
05-04-2004, 10:37 PM
This part time degree starts on the 24th April and runs throughout the summer.

dinna_g
05-04-2004, 11:23 PM
CyberJaya, I agree with yekban81 and ElansarGelmir.
Actually, as you go along the way you will realize that money is not everything. The most important thing is, you're doing what you like, be it selling pisang goreng next to an LRT station.

I know someone who's in her mid-20s, have a college degree but changes her job at least in every 6 months. You know why, because she couldn't decide which career is best for her. At this point of her life, money doesn't matter much, as long as she can find career satisfaction, which is sadly she never found from the day she graduated. You need to find out what you really want or eventually you won't get both, money nor career.

Cheers!

CyberJaya
05-04-2004, 11:59 PM
I like programming. I know Java and visual Basic and i want to take a course in C++. I think problem solving is something which captivates me.

06-04-2004, 01:06 AM
go for it !!! :D :D :D

CyberJaya
06-04-2004, 03:13 AM
Thanks. Being a software wizard. How many languages do you know?

06-04-2004, 03:46 AM
I only know C, QBASIC and Java. But web languages are my specialty 8) .. HTML, XML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, CGI, MySQL .. owh btw I hate Flash :P ..

jagganatha
06-04-2004, 12:14 PM
wow thats quite a number of languages. I would recommend you CyberJaya to go for a computer career if you love programming. Its extremely interesting.. I'd love it..hope you would too.

06-04-2004, 01:42 PM
YEah, since u like programming, then just go for it. Dun care about Actuarial, dun care about Engineering ..........
But if you want an insight of Malaysia's job field status, why dun you check it out from some more reliable sources. We are just students here and we can't give you much info about what's it all about. We can just tell you what we perceive and stuffs. Of course the Actuarials will tell you their's the best, the computer experts bolster computer field, and so on... Do a more thorough research, ok?

jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:26 PM
Do a more thorough research, ok?

I agree caouse in the end it boils down to you and what you really wanna do..

CyberJaya
07-04-2004, 03:11 PM
thanks. i wish they had a website of labour statistics for malaysia similar to bls oo for usa

07-04-2004, 11:51 PM
Cyberjaya, your persistence caught my eye. I must admit this forum has way too many engineering students to begin with, and most important of all, no one here has a good grip of the actual statistics. One can easily deduce the hot jobs given that M'sia is still in her infrastructure building phase, and engineers are at the heart of makiing this possible, but by the time we graduate, times might have changed.

So far I garner that you're interested in doing math, hopefully related to industries that makes money and provide jobs. You're also fine with grappling with computers, have (or will have) some undertsanding of economics, finance.

There's one job no one said anything about - that's being an investment banker. it might not be the hot job in m'sia, but it is definitely hot now. Have you thought about that?

I wonder how it plays out in M'sia. In S'pore for example, one can potentially join GIC, very challenging job, lots of math and finance and econs, but also deep understanding on industries that you'll be managing funds in the order of millions. Sounds pretty exciting.

Just to complete the picture - computer science (not the stereotype ICT in M'sia), especially in the theoritical computer science and AI and scientific computation field, is FULL of mathematics. If that's the kind of math you're interested in, you might want to consider exploring it.

But the bottom line is the same - study what you like.

Doesn't mean if you study A you'll work as A. Doesn't mean if it is a hot job you'll earn a good return. Doesn't mean if you earn a lot of money you'll be happy.

I prefer this way of looking at life, because if it turns out that you study A, then work as A, and A happen to be hot, and you earn a lot of money and you're freaking happy - you're like get a bonus :D

Otherwise, the chances of blaming yourself for choosing a career based on labor statistics (read: lies) will be much much higher. :wink:

CyberJaya
16-04-2004, 05:37 AM
What are youir thoughts on this degree? thanks>

17-04-2004, 04:56 AM
Cyberjaya, I think any degree does have its value. One main consideration would be on your interest. What do you really like to learn? What major you will eventually get will not even matter much, since most people will not work long in the field that they major in.

You learn how to learn by furthering your education. I remember my department's director was saying that most recruiters love Cornell ECE students, because they are used to work under tight deadline, with multiple assignments at the same time. So, i guess the main benefit for this particular department would be learning to work through tight deadline and finish assignments on time while having multiple assignments/ projects at the same time. Guess this is not an isolated case to Cornell ECE, but I take it as an illustration.

So, I would see that look beyond the particular major. I would say that the settings of the university, like what other opportunities that are available would matter more. And also within the same major, say Math, Business and Finance, how a university is teaching that particular field matters. Say Business is a very wide field. how the university is teaching it? concentrating on certain aspects? depth? Width? using case studies? lectures? projects? I think those matter more than what is the degree itself.

That's just my two cents.

CyberJaya
18-04-2004, 12:45 AM
I'm thinking about Microbiology and genetics. I hear that the biovalley will be open around 2009 which will be just after i graduate. It sounds very interesting to me but i think it might be a hard degree. What do you guys think about the level of difficulty and career prospects?

18-04-2004, 02:46 AM
I'm thinking about Microbiology and genetics. I hear that the biovalley will be open around 2009 which will be just after i graduate. It sounds very interesting to me but i think it might be a hard degree. What do you guys think about the level of difficulty and career prospects?

Whoa, seriously i'm pretty dumbstruck by ardent and your capability of taking up a gamut of academic and work field. Are you sure that you can handle those fields you were talking about? What will be next? Politics? Astronomy? Or Witchcraft?

I'm not trying to belittle your ability and enthusiasm in finding a good job prospect in Malaysia, but have you really decided what you are going to be? I mean, you said that you are starting your degree in September, rite? I doubt there isn't time for you to be fickle minded right now, rite? You should have a major now, or at least know what you are going to major. Then focus on your major.

18-04-2004, 04:11 AM
go study acting or performance arts then. they are having m'sian idol right now and i think it's gonna be pretty "hot" over the next few years.

no offense but i think you won't be able to come to a decision if you think evreything is good. if you just wanna ride the wave and get a hot job and earn big bucks in the next 10 years,no doubt go get a biotech degree or anything that related to bio and genetics. they need a lotsa people to help decode the dna once it gets commercialized.

how bout a general studies degree?

18-04-2004, 04:54 AM
is cyberjaya a reality or a joke?

18-04-2004, 04:18 PM

i think it's a joke in reality...

18-04-2004, 05:25 PM

What do you mean? :?:

18-04-2004, 07:15 PM

What do you mean? :?:
do we actually have cyberjaya? how cyber is it?

i think a better alternative would be giving a kampung jawa a lot of computers. then we call it cyberjawa.

19-04-2004, 09:42 AM
heyo

i actually do not know anything much..but when i went to the upenn talk last year, someone said tad many who study actuarial science do not actually end up being an actuarist...

anyway, what i believe is that what is important boils down to ur university experience...what u learn (besides the graduting criterias) at the end of ur degree studies...it's not just about specific course skills or whatever...i haf a cousin who sort of went to spore on his own with just a diploma (or did he get the diploma later, i think it's later)...tad was years ago...now..i wouldnt say he's damn loaded but he has everything made out for him now...his pay is quite good (n he's just a trader)..he has quite a nice apartment ( i've seen a few so i know how to compare)...is raising 4 kids there....wife's not working..has a maid...so can u see the pic? he told me that interpersonal skill is more important...and how we grab every opportunity that flies pass us....

though...fickle-mindedness helps nowhere....

KobeBryant
23-04-2004, 03:40 PM
is accountancy a very 'HOT' profession in the years to come ?
Accountants are in great demand ?

23-04-2004, 04:12 PM
Lots of fields are in great demand. What i suggest is that u try to invest into one or two or more field... That's why most of us are encouraged to do double degree. You can major in a Science and an Art subject at the same time... Accountancy is rather easy and yet interesting, well at least to me...

KobeBryant
23-04-2004, 07:33 PM
Double degree is common in US ?

i know it is in australia

orestes
24-04-2004, 05:46 AM
yes it is common... and kinda easy to obtain as well... but some universities are taking steps to make it uncommon and not-so-easy... for instance penn state...

ydho_6
24-04-2004, 07:11 AM
hi hi! hm... i m new here..

HOPEFULLY... actuary is the popular job in malaysia next time!!!

cuz i m studying it now.. so it better be... kekeke..

btw, there is quite a large number of malaysian students studying actuarial science ... i think everyone is thinking of the same thing... great prospect in future in malaysia.

actuary rocks!

KobeBryant
24-04-2004, 12:17 PM
cuz i m studying it now..
btw, there is quite a large number of malaysian students studying actuarial science ... i think everyone is thinking of the same thing... great prospect in future in malaysia.

do u find actuarial science very tough ?
many of my friends say actuarial science is very tough and job is hard to come by

orestes
24-04-2004, 03:22 PM
actuarial science is tough but the job prospects are amazing if ur well qualified...

24-04-2004, 03:33 PM
Be alert though ... Studying actuary doesn't make you an actuary at the end of the day... Not many ppl can take the work load..... Well, someone told me that b4

KobeBryant
24-04-2004, 04:12 PM
i think we should talk about actuarial science in the 'actuary' thread

24-04-2004, 04:31 PM
i think we should talk about actuarial science in the 'actuary' thread

You can, if you want to. But it isn't inapproppriate here either as it is one of the hottest career now...

ydho_6
24-04-2004, 06:47 PM
Elansar is right.

studying actuarial science does NOT make u an actuary.

in fact the degree does not really help up much in ur real life job training except giving some exemptions from the super expensive examinations.. >_<

my opinion is, if u r really interested in stats, n u believe u have the material and ability, do it. it is hard, i can't deny it, but the most important thing is the pleasure u got, not the money.

also, from wat i know, accounting is useful as well, in fact it is more practical than an actuarial degree. every job has it own perks, dont dream too much about salary cause salary can be raised over time, NOT as soon as we graduate from university. this is one big misconception of our university students, they study in uni, and EXPECT to be highly paid as SOON as they come out. NO WAY. believe me. it is the later work and performance that determine ur career climb and salary

hey... btw, anyone studying actuarial science as well, we might know each other in life haha...

25-04-2004, 12:39 AM
hey... btw, anyone studying actuarial science as well, we might know each other in life haha...

Why? You guys gonna work for the same bank?

ydho_6
25-04-2004, 03:07 AM
haha no la. who knows someome u alwys debate online is just a few metres away from u in life?

btw, which ATU batch r u from?

25-04-2004, 03:13 AM

ATU 10, the batch with a class full of actuarial science students. However, something tells me that it is still not the batch with the largest actuarial science students. The SPM '03 batch has lots of people who's eager to take up Actuarial Science. Makes me wonder why they want the job? Is it because they like calculating and statistics or is it just because the job is hot?

ydho_6
25-04-2004, 05:54 AM
from wat i know, there is a surge of number of students taking up actuarial science since 2003, partly because JPA start giving out more scholarship on actuarial and also that the report by student mags about good prospect of it.

there will be many graduates from actuarial degree, but we all have to take note that ONLY qualified actuary can earn the IMPOSSIBILLY high salary. so even after ur degree u have to work hard to go thru the professional exams. some ppl did it in just 3 years but some take nearly 10. it depends on which board u take and how good u really r in making real life application.

so u will be aiming uni Penn? wish u all da best! do let me know more about US actuarial board and examination.. hm.. maybe we should continue about this topic in forum "Actuary Science" which is more relevant. shall see u there.

p/s: hehe i was in ATU 7, miss those fun days in uitm... that is where i meet lots of interesting ppl... make good use of ur life there, i bet u find it great.

Randomphantom
28-04-2004, 12:46 PM
Hmm, heard that act.science exams from USA are easier to pass compared to aus and UK. Is that true?

ydho_6
29-04-2004, 01:11 AM
hi randomphantom. noticed u in both actuarial science column n this one. i think we can move our discussion to actuarial science column. c u there.

killer_kamal
18-07-2005, 09:43 PM
i dont think that engineering is a good one for you....i worked in motorola penang before.....technician is going out source when i left....it is in 2003.......and most of technology is shifting to guang zho,china at that time.....even motorola n other big manufacturing company.....so i believe malaysia will turn into no more than R&D site in ten years time......u will suffer here man..............because they only promote n believe in their own breed......not fresh.....

killer_kamal
18-07-2005, 10:15 PM
dont worry about ur job bla bla bla .....or where u r goin to end up.....i have a BTEC in engineering.....now im working in MAYBANK....malayan banking berhad...as a customer service asstant.....go out n go around man........there is even a manager in one branch n he is actually a degree holder in neuro technology........quit thinking n start trying..........

18-07-2005, 10:25 PM

ATU 10, the batch with a class full of actuarial science students. However, something tells me that it is still not the batch with the largest actuarial science students. The SPM '03 batch has lots of people who's eager to take up Actuarial Science. Makes me wonder why they want the job? Is it because they like calculating and statistics or is it just because the job is hot?

i think they(many of them, not all of them) want the job because of the money... i remember reading so many of them saying that "because of the future earning" - provided they do become actuaries, they want to study actuarial science...

lotus
19-07-2005, 12:28 AM
Strange....Cyberjaya disappeared ever since this question was raised. Btw M'sian food business: big mamak or small restaurant seem to be a hot career choice and I'm one loyal customer of mamak stalls (just add on to make my post appear relevant) :wink:

JAE
19-07-2005, 12:35 AM
I would think that male nurses are in need over the next ten years in malaysia as many NHS and hospitals, nowadays are lacking of male nurses.

kevinkhoo1986
19-07-2005, 12:45 AM

I hope it was true because i am aiming for architecture course as well(now taking physics class in form 6) But usually i heard that architect are underpaid and very stressful, izzit true in ur brother cases? BTW, ur brother graduated from which university?

pangping1510
19-07-2005, 10:13 AM
yes, i can predict. Acturial Science will be like IT course ( now ) in the next 10 years. I do not think that we need that many acturies. :lol: anyway, best of luck for those who are pursuing or going to pursue it :lol:

19-07-2005, 11:27 AM

I hope it was true because i am aiming for architecture course as well(now taking physics class in form 6) But usually i heard that architect are underpaid and very stressful, izzit true in ur brother cases? BTW, ur brother graduated from which university?

Hi folks - sorry i overlooked your posts.

Let me introduce myself first. I worked at a small architecture firm last year in the States, and am moving on to architecture school this Sept.

It's true that architects typically earn a percentage of the construction costs - but that's not the architect's salary. That percentage usually goes to the entire cost of running the firm. Hence in a project, let's say to build a RM1bil airport. The 5-7% fee used to pay the architecture firm will be used to pay the salaries of the drafters, architects, designers, project managers, etc at your firm. And as an architect you typically also negotiate the fee for the structural, mechanical, lighting, engineers; the surveyors, and consultants. You get the idea.

And if you ask me if being an architect makes you underpaid and overstressed, I'm going to say that if you love the subject, money and stress ceases to become a concern. As with all careers.

jackfook
19-07-2005, 09:38 PM
Do you hear of crime psychologist?I think it can become popular after ten years.Why I say so?According to the survey made by safety department,I observed that criminal cases are increasing every year.Why Malaysians are tend to become criminals?Have you thought of it?

This type of psychologist study the physiology of criminals.It is helpful during investigation.Our country lack of this psychologists.Modern countries have this research so the crime is less.I cannot deny that law enforcement is also helpful in fighting crime.However,crime can be reduced if both of them are built.

mita27
19-07-2005, 09:57 PM
Defintely Malaysian Angkasawan , & i will be the selected one to board soyuz capsule to space in my wildest dream . :lol: :lol:

THE LINK THE MALAYSIAN ASTRONAUT !!! TEN TEN TEN

http://www.angkasawan.gov.my/angkasa/index.php

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!! LETS REQUEST PROTON TO BUILD SPACECRAFT WITH GEN 2 TECHNOLOGY , THAT WOULD BE REALLY FANTASTICA ......

Yoyo
20-07-2005, 11:25 AM
r there many job opportunity in Malaysia for aeronautical engineer?
i think it's just very few bcoz our country hasn't develope well in this field.it makes me very confuse whether i have to take aeronautical or mechanical eng. could there anyone pls give some advice? :oops: :oops: :oops: