View Full Version : Is there life after Form 6?
04-04-2004, 12:32 AM
After reading through these two threads:
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=691#12936
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=700#12891
I feel tempted to ask the question: is there life after Form 6?
Judging by the appalling standards of local higher education institutes and the flak that it often draws, what do you guys think about the future of Form 6 students? Are current Form 6 students condemned to a miserable existence within local universities, with the potential of graduating into a bleak future with a 'worthless' degree and joblessness to boot?
As a current Form 6 student myself, I can't help but feel helpless, reading all the disheartening comments about local unis; it's as if I have no future at all. What do you guys think?
04-04-2004, 01:22 AM
it is wrong to think that u have no future at all...
both of my brothers are Form 6ers.. and 1 UM graduate, and the other at UUM third year... are quite happy with wat they are doing...
my neighbour, both FORM6 , one with straight A's graduated from UM medicine and serving Housemanship and the other 3A 1B, graduated from UM architecture...now pursuing her Masters at University of Melbourne...
all these are ex-Form 6 students...and they have good and bright future...
although some of the Local Unis are not as good as 'Good overseas Uni', that does not mean that local uni graduates are substandard...
if u r able to get a 4.00(or 3.67 and above) cgpa from any local Uni, u will be really highly respected and wanted by local and overseas companies...
besides, form 6 (as in STPM) is widely recognised all around the world... with a good STPM result, u can enrol urself in the top-notch Uni in the world...
Always look on the bright side of life... dun think the grass is always greener on the other side... :P with great determination, u will shine in anywhere of the world... :D
04-04-2004, 08:25 PM
yes or no? i don't know. it all depends on you.
04-04-2004, 08:54 PM
As a current Form 6 student myself, I can't help but feel helpless, reading all the disheartening comments about local unis; it's as if I have no future at all. What do you guys think?
You have made your choice to study Form 6. Go ahead with your plans ... No point regretting and turning back. Maybe there's something awaiting for you after you finish your STPM
The regret over yesterday and fear for tomorrow are twin thieves that often rob us from today, the present. Thomas Jefferson
Then what should a spm leaver do? continue to study form six?? :?: :roll:
05-04-2004, 12:20 PM
Depends ... depends on what course you want to do. If medic, of course FOrm 6, unless your parents can pay your academic expenses at IMU ... if you are into engineering ... i dun really have an idea about this, but most of my friends choose college (MMU). Dunno why ... Business also they choose college ... Uhmm... I think because they dun see the point of wasting 2 years doing STPM. If you plan to study in local Uni, then i suggest it's better for you to take STPM
05-04-2004, 12:23 PM
4 those takin spm this year. study hard 2 get a jpa scholarship if u dun wanna go 2 form 6. 8)
05-04-2004, 03:48 PM
4 those takin spm this year. study hard 2 get a jpa scholarship if u dun wanna go 2 form 6.
You make F6 sound like a curse... :evil:
But hey, I guess its the right advice for those who really want the chance to study overseas but will never have the cash to do so.
SpRInG
05-04-2004, 05:54 PM
i agree with zAiTsEv
i personally dun like Form 6 lo.... but well, i guess there are certain advantages in FOrm 6..... but that doesn't attract me
05-04-2004, 07:15 PM
I think, form 6 is a very good foundation for local undergraduate study. Before my batch, student can get admitted into local U directly after SPM. Addition to short four years course at that time, majority of U student were studying only for exam. They simply couldn't find time to explore more rather than catch up with deadlines of assignment, test and final.
With the not very new amendments of local tertiary education; 1.5 years of STPM and 4 years undergraduate course, I believe our graduate quality will improves significantly in 4 years to come; that's the time when our first batch of this new amendments, graduates.
animagifurishia
05-04-2004, 08:08 PM
Then what should a spm leaver do? continue to study form six??
hey mish,
If you're still unsure of what course you wanna major in, i suggest that you take form6 but once you do, do not regret, i tell you. Study hard all the way to make it to local uni. Dont slack here and there, and end up getting bad results. Coz if you do, you would have wasted your precious 2 years. :wink:
On the other hand, if you've decided on what type of future you want, be it an engineer, an accountant, fashion designer, anything at all (well, except medic and pharmacy-unless you've got loads of money), enrol yourself to a college or semi-private/private uni. This has its risk too, coz u cant duck out half way... But if you take f6, you will still have time to think...
as for ussdefiant,
Dont think negatively, as long as you do well in your studies, you will have a bright future. Remember... GOOD results!!! 8)
Are current Form 6 students condemned to a miserable existence within local universities, with the potential of graduating into a bleak future with a 'worthless' degree and joblessness to boot?
yes, ur degree would be 'worthless' if you get cgpa 2.0-2.5 or somewhere there (less than 2.0 doesnt get you a degree~ :wink: )... coz there are more and more graduates and hence getting all sorta competition.
like decentmerson says,
with great determination, u will shine in anywhere of the world... hehe!
05-04-2004, 08:50 PM
Form 6 is not that bad, just it's super stressful. And you rarely get the chance to go overseas...
05-04-2004, 08:57 PM
Form 6 is not that bad, just it's super stressful. And you rarely get the chance to go overseas...
Exactly...
4 those takin spm this year. study hard 2 get a jpa scholarship if u dun wanna go 2 form 6.
You make F6 sound like a curse... :evil:
But hey, I guess its the right advice for those who really want the chance to study overseas but will never have the cash to do so.
Yeah yeah!! I totally agree with this!! Too bad I only know there's such thing called 'jpa scholarship' after getting my spm result! :oops: :(
animagifurishia,
Thanks for your advice!
I will think carefully before making any decision. :)
To be frank, I don't think form 6 is a good idea for me. It's too long and like what ElansarGelmir said, one rarely get the chance to go overseas.
Why all the ranting with Form Six? I was one of the Sixers graduate. When I was in Form 5, I really did not want to enter Form 6 but due to financial constraints I entered it unwillingly.
Little did I know that Form 6 is one of the best 2 years in my life. There are plenty of social/ club activities which you can involve yourself in Form 6. I was very shy before, and never really grabbed any chances to do what I like. But during Form 6, I became the swimming club's President, took up ping pong, joined debate and won the KL's championship, finnished my Electone Teacher's Grade, etc,etc. I also made quite a few very good friends and learnt much more on interpersonal skills.
Do not be depressed when you enter Form 6. Do your best. In the end, I did not do well academically but I managed to enter uni. After uni, I worked for a year and then secured a scholarship to Japan to further my studies.
I hope that for those whom are in Form 6 now, please remember that one day, you may look back and think that those 2 years are one of the best time in your life.
Your richer friends may be overseas, your brainier friends may be there as well, but be thankful that you are still in school and you will still have a very good chance to secure a bright future.
It all depends on how you look at it for you never know what the future has in stall for you.
jagganatha
06-04-2004, 12:08 PM
Form 6 in my opinion is a perfect ground of training. You build up maturity as well as learn essential subjects which will bring you a long way. The problem with most form sixers is that sometimes they jus settle for Malysian Uni's and claim that they can't fly overseas but there are many countries who are willing to accept them if the results permit. Check edu expo's and uni websites for their requirements.. I would still advocate form 6 as a perfect foundation.. don wory anyone :wink: :wink:
06-04-2004, 01:19 PM
What i know is that my school's Form 6 students are becoming more and more kia su. Tuition for every subjects (Can't go out lar, later got tuition, 3 hours. Come back got school homework. Tomorrow got extra class .... Sunday afternoon? No, got tuition!!!).
Wah ..... I really pity them and thankful that I got ASEAN and JPA scholarship. Else, I dunno how I wil live without tuitions
jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:14 PM
Ya INTEC is heaven.. except for the bus service of course.. :lol: :lol:
07-04-2004, 01:07 AM
On Form 6, I would say that it really depends. It depends on what are your objectives? the main thing is to live optimumly. In most Form 6, I know of many opportunities within Form 6. You get the opportunity to have lecture-based and tutorial-based learning in some schools, which is similar to university structure. I know for instance some school, like Jit Sin, reserved most of its senior teachers to teach Form 6. The teachers are specialized after teaching a small section of a course for years. For instance, if you take Math and Further math in STPM in Jit Sin, the school provided 6 teachers to teach. Each covering a section of the syllabus, which they are expert in. I know PA is taught by many teachers too. One teacher on essays, one on Graphs etc... I believe this arrangement could be there in many other schools too.
On local university, I would say that opportuniities are there. I have known many local graduates who have secured scholarships after local university to study abroad. It is just making full use of the opportuniities. Get involved and do well in all aspects. Create a little niche of yourself.
07-04-2004, 02:26 PM
Ya INTEC is heaven.. except for the bus service of course..
Get your facts right, dude ... It's approaching hell!!!
I agree with ChenChow except that some of us may not be so fortunate to enter privilege schools like Jit Sin. For those whom end up in not-so privileged schools, my advice is to bear with it, go to tuition and try to do some self study.
Also, try to get exam papers from Jit Sin. During then, we attempted to do Jit Sin's maths questions and 1 question took us about an hour (hahaha, we were that bad, and that was group work not even individual attempt).
Even if you enter local uni, you will get a chance to go to overseas to further your studies. My advice is that once you finnish Form 6, try to get a degree, be it local or international. Graduates without a degree/diploma will face tough competition in the job market.
Another thing is that DO NOT go for courses which render you unable to further your studies. For example, if you take A-Levels, make sure that you have the financial backings/security to enable you to continue for a diploma/degree. Remember, A-Levels (local/overseas colleges) are not well excepted by Malaysian unis (well, that was during my time).
Lastly, I had a friend whom graduated with First Class Honours and she is now in Cambrigde doing her PhD. But going overseas is not a bed of roses either. Consult your friends and relatives into what really suits you best. Good Luck.
08-04-2004, 02:30 PM
I agree with ChenChow except that some of us may not be so fortunate to enter privilege schools like Jit Sin. For those whom end up in not-so privileged schools, my advice is to bear with it, go to tuition and try to do some self study.
Haha, my house is less than 300 m away from Jit Sin. But i didn't attend there... Bananas are not legible to study in Jit Sin :(
But i didn't regret studying back at my old high school. At least that's where most of bananas go... Got gang there.. hehe
SpRInG
08-04-2004, 02:51 PM
Banana?
Banana tastes good woh...
08-04-2004, 02:55 PM
Bananas as in a figurative meaning ... Xiang jiao ren .... ring any bells, spring?
08-04-2004, 04:14 PM
Most of my friends who went to Form 6 did so because there weren't any other choices. They did well in SPM, but not good enough to secure scholarships from JPA or other credible institutions. They could've enrolled themselves in private colleges but financial situation didn't allow. They could've gotten places in matriculation centres but they're nons. So, in the end, it's either Form 6 or no school at all. But I'm proud to say that they all did well in their STPM and they had tons of fun growing up in that two year period. Form 6 is not that bad, just think of it as a transition period before you jump into university life.
Haha, my house is less than 300 m away from Jit Sin. But i didn't attend there... Bananas are not legible to study in Jit Sin :(
But i didn't regret studying back at my old high school. At least that's where most of bananas go... Got gang there.. hehe
Yeah, add another fish-banana here. Oh, Form 6 is not really that bad. Some of my friends attended colleges but they end up with only diplomas. If you enter Form 6, you would have a chance to go to local uni, which in turn, you will have a chance to gain a degree, which is better than having a diploma.
For those whom are in Form 5, you may not be able to see the advantages of being in Form 6 but Form 6 is a well traveled road (by nons). There is always a good reason as to why so many took Form 6. Please do not look at the disadvantages only. There are many unacredited colleges out there which offers courses and may ditch you half way before you finnish your course. Remember, you want a bright future, not one with unfinnished college diploma/degree. Imagine, going to an interview and telling your future boss that you took this computer diploma but did not finnish it due to the closure of the college, etc.......nightmare isn't it?
08-04-2004, 08:15 PM
I guess I'm a banana too...just a quick question though. Does being a banana mean not being able to speak any form of chinese at all?
But anyway thanks for all the enlightening insights into Form 6, guys. To tell you all the truth, I was actually disappointed I had to stay in Form 6. I knew I was never good enough to get a JPA scholarship but what added to the disappointment was the prospect of having to face such a tough exam and end up in a local uni afterwards, which judging by the comments given on them, weren't very appealing (don't mean to offend any local uni grads or students). And watching everyone go off...JPA scholars, well off college people, etc. It sort of made me feel like a reject or abandoned (that and maybe cos F6 is usually the last choice for anyone nowadays, correct me if I'm wrong). I always thought during F5 that somehow, something would bail me out of F6. Guess that just added to the disappointment.
If you ask me if I'm enjoying my F6 now, I'd say no. But if you ask me whether I'd abandon my F6 now for college, I'd say no too. Quite frankly, I don't even know what to say about F6...
08-04-2004, 08:18 PM
And speaking of Jit Sin, anyone know how I can access or get their papers? Just wanna see how high their standards are, and maybe I can then find out what their secrets to success are... :)
08-04-2004, 09:50 PM
the problem now which i heard from my sister who enrolled in local U said doing form 6 watse(or maybe utilise???) a lot of times.... 2 years in form 6, then at least 4 years in degree,for me who want to finish till master level it totally consumes 8 years!!!!! and that is longer than doing medicine. for your information i wanna do engineering actually.
08-04-2004, 10:19 PM
:D hehe.... i think i have talked to u for hours bout this....... or issit months? :lol:
all i can say is.....
do what you can with what you have.....
with effort and strong will... someday somebody will reward u for whatever u have achieved....
wish u all the best...
09-04-2004, 12:18 AM
the problem now which i heard from my sister who enrolled in local U said doing form 6 watse(or maybe utilise???) a lot of times.... 2 years in form 6, then at least 4 years in degree,for me who want to finish till master level it totally consumes 8 years!!!!! and that is longer than doing medicine. for your information i wanna do engineering actually.
taking long time = no good???
i don't see this equation...
if it is a good degree... i dun mind spending longer time to obtain it... coming out so green and young without any experience and immature(maybe)...
instead of spending money to get a degree fast...and maybe not recognise...why not take it slow and steady...
being fast is not always good...
that's what i think...
wesleyanne
09-04-2004, 01:47 AM
I really don't understand why most of you think spending 2 years studying Form 6 is a waste of time? It may be competitive, yes :) but you really do learn a lot :) Trust me, what you learn in those two years really proves helpful whether or not you decide to continue to study locally or to go abroad. Many first year (100 level) courses are repetitive of what we have learned in Form 6. It makes your freshman year much easier ;)
And for those of you who did well for SPM and were not outstanding in Form 5, and are currently in Form 6, you can STILL go abroad with scholarships and Form 6 really helps~
As a matter of fact, Form 6 for most of us was like a second chance. A friend of mine, who's currently at Lafayette, really wasn't all that outstanding in high school, went to Form 6, bucked up, started getting VERY active in school activities, started topping the class and applied to colleges in the states during her Lower 6 and got really generous financial aid packages. Previously, based on just her Form 5 achievements, she wouldn't have gotten that much financial aid. Another friend of mine, also did really well in Form 6, and is currently paying absolutely nothing to study in college in the states. If you really want to go abroad with scholarships, you can and you will IF you make the most out of your Form 6 years.
So, just because you don't qualify for JPA scholarships doesn't mean you're never going to have a chance to go abroad. If you excel in Form 6, do REALLY well for your STPM, you probably stand a very good chance of getting a really good financial aid package directly from colleges abroad. Of course, you have to apply to those private, rich colleges that can afford it. and for those interested in the states, yes, you have to get a pretty good SAT score to match.
And just in case some of you were thinking that its pointless to go to a lower rank school even if they offer you full or very generous aid, because they're not ivy leagues or ivy standard unis (where most JPA scholars go to) there's always this option. You can take the financial aid package to go to the lesser ranked colleges, come here, top the college, get very involved in school activities, then transfer out to better ranked schools ;) haha..but that's just a random thought :)
and hey, even if you don't get a chance to go abroad, local unis aren't all that bad you know? :) Just don't slack off in Form 6 and do badly :) Otherwise if you get straight A's, go to local unis, graduate with first class honors, that itself says a lot~ and you will go far if you set your mind to it ;)
26-04-2004, 03:26 AM
taking long time = no good???
i don't see this equation...
if it is a good degree... i dun mind spending longer time to obtain it... coming out so green and young without any experience and immature(maybe)...
instead of spending money to get a degree fast...and maybe not recognise...why not take it slow and steady...
being fast is not always good...
that's what i think...
Take the JPA sponsored students of ALG (A Level Germany). This guys are supposed to study for 2.5 years in INTEC for A Levels only, and then 4-6 years in Germany just to earn a degree... How's that?
Haha. Nice thought ElansarGelmir. NatureSimple, there is simply no short cut if you want quality education. I myself did not do well in Form 6. But I will never say that it is a waste of time.
You can always change your course and place of study. Students whom are financially lacking will have to study harder of course.
Some of my friends told me that Form 6 was a waste of time too when I was in Form 5. They went to colleges and their parents have to bear them financially. Look, if you have an average life span of 75 years, spending 2 years in Form 6 uses up only 2.67% of your life........tell me,is that long? Furthermore, you may get to learn stuff which you may not get if you are studying elsewhere (interpersonal skills, language, communication-presentations, debates,IT). Isn't all this valuable to help you in your career development?
Even if you are planning to venture into engineering, imagine, can you survive and get promoted if you do not poccess good communications skills? Think about this!
26-03-2006, 03:35 AM
^bump
balderdash
26-03-2006, 10:43 AM
Form 6 in my opinion is a perfect ground of training. You build up maturity as well as learn essential subjects which will bring you a long way. The problem with most form sixers is that sometimes they jus settle for Malysian Uni's and claim that they can't fly overseas but there are many countries who are willing to accept them if the results permit. Check edu expo's and uni websites for their requirements.. I would still advocate form 6 as a perfect foundation.. don wory anyone :wink: :wink:
My sentiments exactly.
I have to say as well that my 2 years spent in Form 6 was probably the best 2 years of my school life, despite having to go to a new school and make new friends. Granted, I did Arts (which enabled me to NOT touch sciences which I am SO not cut out for and did Literature in English instead) and some people might find it 'easier' but I had fun nonetheless.
My results were good by my school standards, probably appalling by Recom standards (heh) - 2As (Lit and Econs) and 2Bs (GP and Math). After that I applied to NUS "for fun" and found out that I got in after I spent 2.5 days in UM (where I got my first choice - English - then again, precious few pick that as a first choice).
I am a staunch believer that there is no such thing as "wasting time" when it comes to studies. Why is there always a hurry to graduate and to work? Okay some of you might say that it's time for you to take up the family financial burden yadayada but at the very least, do not view education, especially your foundation studies as a "time waster". I can say honestly from personal experience that Form 6 was a great time for me to #1 think through what I wanted to do #2 explore my options #3 grow up. Being in university is not just about studying but really trains you to grow up and F6 was a good prep for me in that sense.
So by all means, enjoy your Form 6 years - continue to explore your options and see where you can go as long as your family can afford it :) My family isn't that well off but I managed to secure a teaching scholarship during my 3rd year here- teaching is what I set out to do anyway :)
WinnieH
26-03-2006, 11:28 AM
IS THERE LIFE AFTER FORM 6?
What kind of silly question is that?
Yes, you do have life after f6. actually, f6 is not that bad... if you're diligent enough, and can cope with stressful days, and revise continuously, i dont think it is impossible for you to score in f6... unless you're the kind who doesn't understand what you read and yet keep reading blankly...
my sis was a form 6 graduate and now she's in NUS, singapore. so always look at the bright side and dont keep saying "i cant do it" or asking "will i... this or will i... that" before you even try. [/i]
Well, i am currently doing form six(lower), seriously, it is not as bad as what you guys think. Most of my friends feel like wanting to go overseas and colleges because their friends are going ( That's the main reason, isn't it? ask yourself) There's always a sound in their head, " why are them all out, and not me?" included me. But then, before arguing with your parents and nag all day round that you want to leave the place, try to think the advantages of studying in form six instead of the disadvantages. Well, i am once a "STPMphobic" before. I hate it so much. My first impression was, it is so hard, its useless, wasting time. But its actually not, really, that's the fact. Ask those STPm graduates. Its just most of the malaysian have prejudice with form six. Seriously, most clever student, ( most of the science stream) do stay for form six, because they can see its advantages and chances behind it. Like one the recomers said, its worlwide recognize, comparing to colleges, some of the diplomas and courses that you are taking are actually not recognized by certain company. For form six, even we have to spent two years for it, but then, its worth. We learn something right?. And ya, i heard that more than hundred of colleges in malaysia are not recognized by certain companies. So, make research before you make up your choice, if you insist of going to college, unless you are doing accounting and business, or else, i personally recommended STPM.
Of cause there's lots of chance after STPM, do you know that there's still chance for stpm graduates to get scholarship?( if you can't get in spm). You know the course like medical and dentistry are not cheap. Why spending so many money when someone are there to provide you the money and stable job in the future? Comparing to colleges and diplomas graduated, STPM are a wiser choice. Indeed.
WinnieH
28-03-2006, 02:57 PM
Well, i am currently doing form six(lower), seriously, it is not as bad as what you guys think. Most of my friends feel like wanting to go overseas and colleges because their friends are going ( That's the main reason, isn't it? ask yourself) There's always a sound in their head, " why are them all out, and not me?" included me. But then, before arguing with your parents and nag all day round that you want to leave the place, try to think the advantages of studying in form six instead of the disadvantages. Well, i am once a "STPMphobic" before. I hate it so much. My first impression was, it is so hard, its useless, wasting time. But its actually not, really, that's the fact. Ask those STPm graduates. Its just most of the malaysian have prejudice with form six. Seriously, most clever student, ( most of the science stream) do stay for form six, because they can see its advantages and chances behind it. Like one the recomers said, its worlwide recognize, comparing to colleges, some of the diplomas and courses that you are taking are actually not recognized by certain company. For form six, even we have to spent two years for it, but then, its worth. We learn something right?. And ya, i heard that more than hundred of colleges in malaysia are not recognized by certain companies. So, make research before you make up your choice, if you insist of going to college, unless you are doing accounting and business, or else, i personally recommended STPM.
Of cause there's lots of chance after STPM, do you know that there's still chance for stpm graduates to get scholarship?( if you can't get in spm). You know the course like medical and dentistry are not cheap. Why spending so many money when someone are there to provide you the money and stable job in the future? Comparing to colleges and diplomas graduated, STPM are a wiser choice. Indeed.
yes i agree with you. form 6 teaches us more stuffs like mathematics, biology, physics, chemistry, general knowledge... etc... unlike diploma where we only focus on one thing. after stpm, we can study anywhere in the world cause it's recognised worldwide. what's more, if you excel in stpm, you might ern yourself a scholarship like asean scholarship.... etc.