View Full Version : Malaysian Idol !?!? Mixed Opinion?
Melo_15
04-04-2004, 12:37 AM
hey guys, recently ive watched on tv..its here......its finally here.......
wat do ya think bout our very own Malaysian Idol?
will it be a hit like American Idol? will it produce World-class malaysian artiste? tell me tell me......
:D ? :( ? 8) ? 8O ? :roll: ? :?: ?
CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 12:39 AM
I think it will be good. I only hope they show it on the internet because i cant see it otherwise.
04-04-2004, 01:19 AM
i donno if it will be a hit. i just hope that the judges are very well picked, and have their own identity. i dont want to see a simon wannabe.
well, we havent really had any internationally acclaimed singer before, except for Sudirman i guess. who knows maybe we will have one later.
tree007
04-04-2004, 01:26 AM
i dont want to see a simon wannabe
frankly... without simon.. american idol would be dull.... i think we need some1 who's more forthright..especially when we have it here.. where our culture tell us to jaga muka org lain... :)
and da.. we do have singers who shine abroad.. plenty.. but i must say.. most of them just around the Far East.. yeap.. i'm toking about Malaysian Chinese Singers...
ohya.. Malaysian Idol.. ooooii!!! skywalker!!! go register ah!! registration open already!!! go go!!!
http://malaysianidol.bluehyppo.com/applynow.asp
hehehehehe...... make INTEC proud!!! :P
dinna_g
04-04-2004, 10:54 AM
is there simon in the show? if the answer is yes, then i'll like it. however, i still think it's gonna be a hit. biaselah.. m'sians kat excited tgk mende2 baru.. cam tak biase.. kekekeke
04-04-2004, 11:26 AM
asia bagus anybody?
04-04-2004, 02:47 PM
Malaysia entertainment media always like to copycat the western entertainment world style. Nevertheless, I am so excited over it hahaha :lol:
Handsome, pretty, high-talent, and "Willies"(William Hung spirit) guys and gals, let's take up this challenge :D
04-04-2004, 02:52 PM
asia bagus anybody?
i liked asia bagus. the japanese host was cute.
tree007
04-04-2004, 03:48 PM
yeah yeah...
i missed asia bagus.. the cute jap host n the gay-like guy dunno from where wan.. haha..
still remember the fun part was to guess wat score the contestant will get... hehe... :P
04-04-2004, 08:30 PM
anyone seen Akedemik Fantasia? I hope the new Malaysian's Teen Idol won't be like them... All are good actors. Start crying when someone was announced out. Booo! so fake! Even the Survivors dun go around crying like that lar!
04-04-2004, 11:12 PM
last time there was a tv show similiar to american idol ....which is if i dun mistaken ,it is 'pop star'. but that seems to be a failer cause winner do not getting famous n not many people participate.
i think there will be a judge or maybe the 3 judges in malaysia will act the same like the american idol.cause we r the copycat!
05-04-2004, 04:41 AM
frankly... without simon.. american idol would be dull.... i think we need some1 who's more forthright..especially when we have it here.. where our culture tell us to jaga muka org lain... :)
i dont deny that without simon, american idol wont be as colorful. But to have someone who acts just like simon will be lame. I mean, those judges have to have their own identity. we copy the concept of the show, but we dont have to copy their judges as well.
05-04-2004, 05:46 AM
I think Imuda would make a good host. :)
05-04-2004, 11:05 AM
It would have been better if these judges are just frank in giving their opinions in stead of trying to be polite and not to sound too harsh to them. How about a humurous judge?
05-04-2004, 11:09 AM
like who? u?
05-04-2004, 11:53 AM
Haha .... V.E.R.Y. F.U.N.N.Y. please tickle me... :lol:
-munhua-
06-04-2004, 02:08 PM
Haha .... V.E.R.Y. F.U.N.N.Y. please tickle me... :lol:
kuchi kuchi ku....! :oops: :wink: :lol: haha! geli..
well, i'm not too excited with the idea of a malaysian idol...after all, the past shows like Asia Bagus and Pop Star (as mentioned) have almost the same concept.
anyway, i too believe that the judges would have the exact same character as the ones in American Idol. hosts like the Americans have now really know how to attract the audience's attention. I feel that the producers of Malaysian Idol would want to have the same effect...not too excited anyway. :oops: :wink: :P
But to those who ARE thinking of participating in this event....GooD lUck yer~!! 8) :wink: :lol: :oops: :P :D :) 8O
07-04-2004, 09:31 AM
I think that what Malaysia needs is not another singing contest but a songwriting contest. Most Malaysian songs are tried and tested formulas. In other words they are boring. I think we need to challenge the young songwriters to come up with good creative modern music.
07-04-2004, 02:18 PM
When Malaysian Idol comes out, I really, really, really wish to see real talents. I wish to hear strong and unique vocals, not another Siti Nurhaliza or Ziana Zain wannabe. And I would also wish to see contestants being judged on their talents, not superficial qualities. In my opinion, previous talent shows have not really succeeded in producing good singers. Take Akademi Fantasia. I think it has failed to produce any outstanding students, except for maybe that guy Vince, who really can sing ( of course the good looks is a plus point). We need more singers, not models.
07-04-2004, 02:36 PM
hmm..another "Akademi Fantasia" eh? :roll:
I hv to admit, i do like watching AF but only coz they are so....poyo? (i'm at loss of words here..dunno any other suitable words to describe) It's so superficial..and so "control" eii... :x
:arrow: Msia don't need more artists..we need more academicians, inventors, better politicians....ppl who can really contribute...Sure, they say artists contribute too..spreadin their msgs of love, peace etc thru their songs etc..but they don't actually contribute much to Msia...
Why can't we hv more artists who are like Bono of U2, and some other international artists who are actually using THEIR popularity to make a difference? that's what I wanna see..not more shows w singing n dancing, and crying and dunno whats...
Well...my 2 cents :P
07-04-2004, 03:27 PM
:arrow: Msia don't need more artists..we need more academicians, inventors, better politicians....ppl who can really contribute...Sure, they say artists contribute too..spreadin their msgs of love, peace etc thru their songs etc..but they don't actually contribute much to Msia...
we do need more quality artists, not just anybody. we need good artists, well educated artists, as much as we need well educated engineers etc.
artists do contribute to the country. it's an industry too. how much do they contribute? that's too subjective.
07-04-2004, 05:04 PM
hey man..
i think you forgot to read what i wrote in the 2nd para. How many of our artists tries to do what Bono et. al do? campaigning against mines etc
but i do agree w you. I'm not against hvg music etc in Msia..it's just that nowadays, we hv too many crappy artists, with songs that are painful to the ears and downright irritating (forgive me for being honest :P )
And i think, we should focus on producing better artists..not only capable of singing, dancing etc..but also must good "upstairs" (in other words, smart also lei)
that way, no one (not even me!) will say that Msian artists are not besh! :wink:
b_ronick
07-04-2004, 05:21 PM
huh?
malaysian idol?
let's just hope that they will find real talent here!!
gosh..and the judges better be straight-to-the-face frank!!
that's how you get ppl who can actually really sing!!
i noticed in akademi fantasia...
goodness..i can hear some singers singing off pitch and they can say it's a superb performance? and what? ermm..you have a good voice and you are a great singer? huh? if the person can't sing you've gotta tell them...not in a harsh way of course..in a nicer way..
i thought they want to get real talents!!
not some show to get high ratings or something....
08-04-2004, 01:37 PM
IMHO, Akademik Fantasia is super fake... Do you think Malaysia Idol will allow singers to sing English, CHinese or Tamil songs there as well? I mean, we are in a multi-racial and multi-cultural country (so claimed by the government), rite? No offense, but I dun really fancy Malay songs except for a few songs by Anak Ayam and Siti Nurhaliza...
08-04-2004, 01:41 PM
huh?
malaysian idol?
let's just hope that they will find real talent here!!
gosh..and the judges better be straight-to-the-face frank!!
I'd love to see a local Simon Cowel. It'd be cruel, it'd be nasty but it would keep the quality of the contestants good. That's what viewers want to see; a good singer. But then again, we Malaysians are very bersopan-santun and 'saving face' is very important so I'm inclined to think that there won't be much 'directness' among the judges.
08-04-2004, 02:01 PM
b_ronick!
i SO totally agree w you..Like Liza, one of the contestants (she was one of the top 5s in AF), her voice's not that good..and one time when she sang, baby one more time...she said "OH bebeh bebeh" instead of "oh baby..baby" which is like HORRFYING!!!!
:oops: And she got a "superb performance bla..bla..bla.." from the judges 8O
I mean, they think we are that stupid ke? Although i am no singer, and i don't think my voice is that good to be kritiking others, tp at least, i know...suara mn yg besh..suara camne yg xbesh...
Msian Idol? hmm...more glamour shows lei...they should either shape out, or ship out hehehe :lol: :lol:
b_ronick
08-04-2004, 06:12 PM
that's what i mean!!
sheesh!!
and they wanna find real talent they say!!
sheesh!!!!!!!!!!!!
08-04-2004, 10:24 PM
I think that what Malaysia needs is not another singing contest but a songwriting contest. Most Malaysian songs are tried and tested formulas. In other words they are boring. I think we need to challenge the young songwriters to come up with good creative modern music.
kinda agree with that. we r too focus on singing part(even thats important) but songwriting is significant too! both contribute 50% to a song.
tree007
08-04-2004, 10:41 PM
i think malaysia already got plenty of chun songwriters.... some even write for super famous artistes (taiwanese singers) ... but i dunno their names.. so. hehe..
regarding the language used, i think can have a blend of chinese, malay, indian, english..'cos in world idol, the contestants can sing wat eva language.(ususally in their native language)... so.. sa more the judges got 3 rite? so one malay, 1 indian, 1 chinese lor.. gao dim.. hehe....
08-04-2004, 10:52 PM
hmmm....some how the idea of malaysian idol doesn't seem to excite me..... i wonder y?? 8O :lol: :roll: :wink: :oops: :P
tree007
08-04-2004, 11:03 PM
hmmm....some how the idea of malaysian idol doesn't seem to excite me..... i wonder y??
'cos stanford's more exciting? :P
lilet
08-04-2004, 11:24 PM
So much talk about Malaysian Idol... :D
Is there actually anyone here that is thinking of becoming our Malaysia's very first Idol? If yes, don't worry, just tell your name and I'm sure everyone here will vote for you! :lol:
One thing I would like to say is it takes really a lot of guts to try out for these kind of competitions.. Especially when the judge is someone so "interesting" like Simon... :lol:
12-04-2004, 05:18 PM
ekeke.... actually our friend, Jonathan suggested tht Spring, -munhua-, gesar and bronick.....try for malaysian idol cos they were serenading us wif the latest songs tht nite....ekeke....since its their term holidays....
12-04-2004, 08:19 PM
ekeke.... actually our friend, Jonathan suggested tht Spring, -munhua-, gesar and bronick.....try for malaysian idol cos they were serenading us wif the latest songs tht nite....ekeke....since its their term holidays....
hey iceberg, u can try also. i'll vote 4 u if u can sing well. :lol:
14-04-2004, 02:20 AM
:oops: :oops: :oops: i shy lar...ekeke....no lar....actually i cannot try cos if i try the whole malaysia won't rain.....it will SNOW!!!.....hmmm maybe worse than that.....hail storm, tornado, hurricane....hehe.....so for the safety of all i have to sacrifice lor..... :lol: :P :D :wink:
lilet
14-04-2004, 09:09 AM
Snow is fantastic!!! :D I haven't got to experience real snow before and now I don't have to travel few thousand kilometers to get to the snow.. :lol: Ic3b3rg, you sure your performance is that powerful?? 8) Can't say the same about the reaction of the mat sallehs who come to Malaysia holidaying to escape from the snow only to find that it snowed here too just because of one person~! :wink:
18-04-2004, 05:34 PM
:oops: :oops: :oops: i shy lar...ekeke....no lar....actually i cannot try cos if i try the whole malaysia won't rain.....it will SNOW!!!.....
SNOW??? Hmmm respect you dude... I think the government will buy you up and each time they want to produce snow, they just have a stage performance for you with double amplified speakers and sound system, just to get enough snow for the whole Malaysia... This will make you our idol... (or stanford's idol?) Haha!
Randomphantom
28-04-2004, 03:32 PM
Hope msia idol will have a sharptongued judge like Simon. Without him its just another academi fantasia.
William Hung move over.... so much more Ah Beng talent here! :lol:
b_ronick
08-05-2004, 01:10 AM
:lol: :lol: :lol: thanx for the compliment but... :lol: :lol: :lol: me? singing for malaysian idol?
i dun think i can even pass the guards(if that is possible!!)hahah..
did i actually make sense with that statement?
21-06-2004, 08:47 AM
i hv a few friends who went for the audition. although they failed to get thru the prelims, one of them told me that some who got thru told her, that when they got in, one guy got "awak nih, muke oke..tp suara mcm beruk" and some other ppl got sthing along dat line, like "suara mcm tapir", "baik xpyh dtg laa, membazir ms je"...Like God..so mean..Roslan Aziz said that...Fauziah Latif smiled a lot but said almost nothing...Paul Moss was oke..bit considerate laa in commenting
So anyone wanna guess, who's the Msian version of Simon Cowell? LOL I'd like to see the show though. looks like it's gonna be fun..but hope Roslan Aziz is not gonna be as tactless as he was during the prelims.
i really dont like the fact that he commented on ppl like dat...God gv em such voice..juz say nicely laa.."you dont hv what we are looking for" sudah laa..no need to add up all the spicy stuff...sedihkan ppl only..dh laa xpdt..kn kutuk summore..LOL
kucingbiru
21-06-2004, 12:33 PM
damn, why fauziah latif, why God why? she isn't good. i heared that roslan doesnt like it if a contestant sings sheila majid's (his ex-wife) song. damn that's unprofessional.
gatecrasher
21-06-2004, 08:13 PM
Randomphantom:"I'm sick of that girl singer-wannabe hogging all the screen time on the last show. *yuck*" (on the locked m'sian idol thread).
It can be irritating but it's also very entertaining at the same time! :lol: Seriously wonder if she'll become famous - it's really amazing how thick her skin is
Btw fauziah latiff just echoes paul most of the time, in addition to rehashing the other judges' comments in malay.
Actually msian idol doesn't have 3 judges. No. They have two judges, and one interpreter. :lol:
22-06-2004, 09:48 AM
sigh.... now living in hostel la... no tv .. cannot watch malaysian idol.....
Kevinlim
22-06-2004, 11:47 AM
i shy lar...ekeke....no lar....actually i cannot try cos if i try the whole malaysia won't rain.....it will SNOW!!!.....hmmm maybe worse than that.....hail storm, tornado, hurricane....hehe.....so for the safety of all i have to sacrifice lor.....
shy? nonit to shy la. snow is fun u know. i'll vote for u if it snows :P ur voice is kinda nice though iceberg. -munhua- 's voice is also nice. mebe both of u shud try after all :P
ya, did u all watch the kuching audition? i hate the guts of that fat gal who criticizes the judges so badly as if she can sing properly. she can't sing properly and she's going around boastiing that the judges are making a big mistake by not choosing her. don't she feel ashame of herself doing so?
22-06-2004, 12:21 PM
well..same thing happened during the akademi fantasia audition. i watched the reruns of the "trek selebriti" (sambil menmbh dosa, mengutuk all those who sang like real bad haha...so jahat of me)
one gurl, she was like mengutuking the judge, the previous AF students and she said stuff like, "mmg laa vokal aku kureng. tu psl aku nak masuk AF, psl ade kls vokal sume. kalo tak, buat ape? camne nak improve kalau dia tak bg aku masuk?" sthing like dat laa...
like, HELLO? blm jd artis, she dh got ATTITUDe! bl dh jadi, probably get big-headed. Typical LOSER bhvr! :roll:
Kevinlim
22-06-2004, 03:57 PM
hahaha....ada beragam-ragam manusia di dunia ini :P :D :)
Randomphantom
22-06-2004, 06:46 PM
ya, did u all watch the kuching audition? i hate the guts of that fat gal who criticizes the judges so badly as if she can sing properly. she can't sing properly and she's going around boastiing that the judges are making a big mistake by not choosing her. don't she feel ashame of herself doing so?
Yuckee. And she hogged the whole session! Whats the matter with these Malaysian Idol cameramen. Maybe they want to make us puke more ala fear factor. Damn what a sore loser. fat one too... *puke*
Kevinlim
23-06-2004, 10:47 AM
Yuckee. And she hogged the whole session! Whats the matter with these Malaysian Idol cameramen. Maybe they want to make us puke more ala fear factor. Damn what a sore loser. fat one too... *puke*
or do u think the producers wanna let people know that there are many "interesting" people in Malaysia :P
23-06-2004, 11:47 AM
well...as for me, i still think they should at least hold the prog in mostly english, coz the prog is an int prog. Plus, we want ppl to bukak mata and look at us in awe *wah, msian ppl so great..english's so good LOL*
But on the other hand, using Malay language is oke (coz it's our national lang) since other countries which national lang is not English, used their national language as the main medium for the prog.
i dont remember which country though. :wink:
23-06-2004, 12:18 PM
but all of the idol winners from other countries sing in English. I watched it in the World's idol... forgotten the winner liao... Quite fat... from dunno which country... but i love his singing... very good.
23-06-2004, 12:42 PM
yeah...national lang as medium, but songs in english. at least ppl can understand lorr
23-06-2004, 05:18 PM
Well singing in Malay isn't necessarily a bad thing, if you ask me. It shows a competitor's versatility and talent. Imagine a guy who is able to belt out Malay ballads one minute, English songs the next and then a Bollywood number after that. Simply amazing! I just don't like it when the judges mix up English and Malay comments together. Makes them look rojak. BTW, does the mat salleh guy (what's his name?) even understand BM?
gatecrasher
23-06-2004, 06:25 PM
Well singing in Malay isn't necessarily a bad thing, if you ask me. It shows a competitor's versatility and talent. Imagine a guy who is able to belt out Malay ballads one minute, English songs the next and then a Bollywood number after that. Simply amazing! I just don't like it when the judges mix up English and Malay comments together. Makes them look rojak. BTW, does the mat salleh guy (what's his name?) even understand BM?
Does the language really matter that much actually? Music is supposed to be a universal language. But of course it's a bonus if a singer is multi-lingual.
Anyway it's OK if Paul (the mat salleh) doesn't understand malay. Fauziah Latiff can translate for him...as i said, her job is to translate not to judge. :twisted:
Randomphantom
23-06-2004, 11:57 PM
Being multilingual = larger market for them.
There was a girl in World Idol supposingly from Saudi Arabia or somewhere Middle Eastern, singing totally in Arabic. The judges praised her for bravely choosing to sing in their native language(or that she doesn't even know english).
Ah, didn't get to hear much of the Norwegian winner singing...too bad then. Him topping the scores from almost every country... he must be a pro!
burningBUTTERFLIES
24-06-2004, 12:52 AM
The Norwegian guy is Kurt Nilsen... toldby one judge that he looks like a hobbit. But yes, amazing voice, I was blown. He sang U2's Beautiful Day.
As for World Idol,I didnt like it much. The word is WORLD, ppl! And everyone is expected to sing in English. It doesnt live up to its name. More like the participants from all over the world singing in American/Britain Idol. Chuh! I still think every country should sing in it's own language... They can FEEL the song much much better. However, the rest of the world may not understand, but at least the beauty ofother languages can be seen. Oh, I loved that girl from the Pan Arabian countries. V beautiful, good control (one thingIlike abt Eastern singing >P). She's true to herself. But then again, she doesnt seem to understand Eng.
The chubby girl, her name is Thalia methinks... damn, I missed her audition, but her ranting at the end made me uncomfy... esspecially after my friend told me that she sang horribly.Well, i heard there's some Thalia fan clubs out there. Any one interested? Lol
Ah i've ranted enough abt the judges in the locked MI post. Hate Jee the most.
darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 07:05 PM
oh yeah that fat woman in kuching last week.......actually my first perception was that she was obnoxious but she very proud of herself. She even disregarded the judges criticism but she was too egoistic to criticise the judges like that. However, now that's all over and done, I think that she was super daring to have ever done that, you could say foolhardy though, anyways i can say that she has the guts to stand up to her as well as to the judges........brave
As for world idol, I think the winner really deserves it, as every country voted Kurt Nilsen first! ( You can really tell Kelly Clarkson was so damn pissed ) His voice is like an angel you know, it can really liberate your spirits ( It's a beautiful day ) the other contestants on world idol were okay i guess, but i think that the rockish guy ( Peter Evrad i think ) is overrated and canadian idol Ryan Malcolm is way too underrated
As for this week's mal idol, i'm a bit dissapointed though. Some contestants could really sing, but their dreams were shattered by thye judges with the excuses of salah pilih lagu or tak cukup kuat and tak cukup power. I basically think that the judges are not lively enough. They should have more enthusiasm, as for one judge though, his impression of a certain judge named Simon in my opinion didn't work well ..........
darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 07:08 PM
btw it doesn't matter which language you sing, for music is a universal language. It's funny sometimes that people say that a person's voice is very melodic and sweet, although she is singing in a language incomprehensible by the listener. Like the world idol contestant Diana from pan arabic, i think she did a very good job, plus she got a very high voting position in the states i think
b_ronick
27-06-2004, 07:24 PM
the gurl?
well she is a really terrifying person...goodness if she could sing i mean then she would be chosen wouldn't it? if she reacts like that, well she'd better be both the judge and the contestant...
hmmm...malaysian idol..there are some really talented singers.there is a ray of hope!!hhehehe..just jk..anyway..one of the judges i think isn't that professional how he puts his comments..tsk tsk...there was once where he told one of the guy contestant, you look like a gurl huh? what does that mean? just plain rude i reckon and not necessary at all!
darkhorse_86
27-06-2004, 07:37 PM
the gurl?
..tsk tsk...there was once where he told one of the guy contestant, you look like a gurl huh? what does that mean? just plain rude i reckon and not necessary at all!
actually he does you know, but we cannot blame anyone for that, and the judge was just telling the truth straight to his face ........i think it hurt his feelings but that's what judges do right, tell the awful straight, smack right in your face!
b_ronick
27-06-2004, 07:43 PM
the gurl?
..tsk tsk...there was once where he told one of the guy contestant, you look like a gurl huh? what does that mean? just plain rude i reckon and not necessary at all!
actually he does you know, but we cannot blame anyone for that, and the judge was just telling the truth straight to his face ........i think it hurt his feelings but that's what judges do right, tell the awful straight, smack right in your face!
i know he was being honest but was that comment really necessary?
i mean so what if he looks like a girl?
talks bout the way a person sings then yeah but face like a gurl?
what is the point of saying that?
30-06-2004, 09:46 AM
there was once where he told one of the guy contestant, you look like a gurl huh? what does that mean? just plain rude i reckon and not necessary at all!
Hehe... if Michael Jackson participates in Malaysia Idol, what would the judge's comment be like? u look like a girl? u look like a monkey? u look like some character in Scary movie 3?
darkhorse_86
30-06-2004, 02:52 PM
01-07-2004, 01:42 PM
i dont quite agree w the judges. the way they commented on the looks etc, calling ppl names and all.. just say nicely, you're not idol material..that's it..not the contestants fault taht they were born w such faces/voice...duh!
and fauziah latif should be replaced w someone else...she's just not judge material.. :roll:
Randomphantom
04-07-2004, 11:51 AM
Hmm.. I believe that some of them participants need some honest opinions too, they might not get the clue. But American Idol didn't have much of this sort of name calling... maybe they (the judges) aren't as sophisticated and witty as say, Simon.
Expect tons of criticism from everyone if you are an idol. Case in point Micheal Jackson? You can't please everybody. I say, those who are confident enough, and are able to turn it into something constructive are worthy of idol status.
If they cannot stand insensitive comments from only 3 judges they should just think about being an Idol judge instead... oh right, judges are criticised too.
burningBUTTERFLIES
04-07-2004, 08:29 PM
i truly dislike the way the judges take note of their appearance. even if the person sings well, they'll get doubts, saying stuff like, "you dont have the lookla... gemuk...". i mean geez, look at kurt nilsen (winner of world idol), he aint exactly a looker (in fact he was called a 'hobbit'), but his voice just blows you away.
if it's abt their voice, go ahead criticize... but if u were to judge based on their looks, well, off you go to miss world or something.
Actually it's really hard for MI... i mean, this is a multiracial country. the panel of judges knows only Malay and English (but paul knows only english) there. if the contestant sings in chinese or tamil, like hell they will understand. so far i noticed some chinese ppl who has the chinese accent, so if they sing in eng or malay, they will have the william hung effect.
But the KL audition was nice to watch. more drama (more cringes though). Hopefully when the elimination starts, MI will get better.
05-07-2004, 11:34 AM
i watched one m'sian idol episode. the whole show is focusing on showing how the judges criticize and humiliate some participants. i dunno if this is william hung effects or simply m'sian just like to see people failed and got humiliated.
i think the judges dun really have to humiliate the participants if they can't perform up to the standard. what's the point to destroy a participant's confident and self esteem in front of the whole country? are they looking for real talent or are they just trying to search for m'sian version of william hung?
basically, this show gives me an impression that they are trying to emulate the american idol style but they failed. yeah, i know we borrow this idol show idea from others but i think we can do it in our way. does this show that m'sians are jsut not creative and we can only copy what other people did?
the female judge's role is not significant at all. she was just basically repeating what the other 2 were saying. and why there's a need for a mat salleh judge? do we need a foreigner to choose a so called Malaysian idol? he just went blank when a participant sings a malay song and i really wonder was he really paying attention or not.
Randomphantom
05-07-2004, 09:05 PM
Yeah, too much of the humiliation and criticism. I believe they (broadcasters) select the juicy parts and most of it happens to be the so-called worst bits. Really painful on the ears too, these sadists!
About Mr. mat salleh his comments are the ones worth hearing(and more tactful), but I thought that some races should be represented instead of him (eg chinese?). At least its part of the Idol franchise, not like some rip off Audition/WWW
Kevinlim
06-07-2004, 04:00 AM
anyone watched the KL audition? do u think the guy that got the second chance are suppose to be given that second chance? if it's like that then if all other contestants want another chance, won't it be very messy?
and wut do u guys think bout the helmet guy? ain't he's juz plain silly? doing such a crap on a national tv. :oops:
and the rude gal, haha, i really hate her guts.......
burningBUTTERFLIES
07-07-2004, 12:07 PM
the helmetguy? mygod, even though he had the right to be angry, the way he acted makes him an asshole, mind my french. i mean, he approached in a threatening way, stormed in while someone is still auditioning but then when roslan asks if he wanted to try, he says no. wtf???? nvm, i think his friends will make him pay...cuz he kinda embarassed himself in front of tele.
for the 2nd chance thing... u know la, m'sians v cincai. furthermore it's the last audition. But it was pretty cringy to watch the guy stop ppl in the mall to hear him sing. v AI. but in AI, there's no second chance, because there is simply too many ppl.
as for the rude girl, i kinda feel sorry for her. i thought her voice was good, but her expression is blank. another thing that made her angry was that she believed she had talent. she wanted to be an idol to support her fmaily. imagine u thinking ur only talent is singing, but u go there and ur talent is 'dashed' to the ground.
ergh, the bad comments... yep. however, if the whole program is happy happy joy joy, we won't watch it. even though we curse simon cowell for his blatant honesty, yet we wait eagerly for his opinion on the matter. we wont like it if it happens to us, but we do like watching it.=) admit it, it's this little part that we do not reveal often.
darkhorse_86
07-07-2004, 12:15 PM
i think during the previous four pre show audtions ( in Penang,Kuching, JB, and KL) the main highlights of the program are unique auditions with drama.......and what is better than to show flops first!! Usually, to sensationalize the whole issue, auditions with lots of drama are aired ( remember the whiny girl in kuching, the helmet guy who wanted a second chance and the unsatisfied KL gurl?) Obviously they won't show all of the good singers.....the show just want drama... hmm but well, after this, we'll be finding out who is really the music powerhouse that will dominate all!
Randomphantom
07-07-2004, 02:17 PM
Music powerhouse, that'll be the indie/indian artiste, hope she wins. But isn't she already accomplished, having a CD and on tv before?
Helmet guy is such a w.u.s.s. acting like a samseng on TV. Mean girl is super irritating, no sympathy for her. Putting words into peoples mouth.
07-07-2004, 08:51 PM
how many american idol-style talent shows are there in malaysia? malaysian idol, akademi fantasia, malaysian topstar, audition, what else? there must be at least 10.
to me this just goes to show that malaysians are unimaginative, unoriginal, gullible, lame and just pathetic. imagine 10 tv shows following the same freaking formula of good-looking contestants displaying their vocal "skills" on stage and subsequently being humiliated/insulted/ridiculed/praised or, occasionally, praised by 3 so-called judges with differing personality traits, i.e. The Pleasant One (paula abdul-clone), The Mean Bastard (simon cowell-clone), and The Neutral Dude (whoever that was).
and i can't believe that people actually PAY to berborak on tv via sms!!! it's crazy.
08-07-2004, 03:35 AM
They should have more shows like 'The Apprentice' with someone like Robert Kuok to be 'the Donald' ....then we can have the magic words 'Kau dipecat' ....hahahah :lol:
darkhorse_86
08-07-2004, 06:35 AM
and i can't believe that people actually PAY to berborak on tv via sms!!! it's crazy.
haha you've been feeling my pain for a long time. It's pretty useless isn't it. Anyways there's a channel or two specially dedicated to this on satellite tv
Randomphantom
08-07-2004, 09:55 AM
Meaning something like 8tv's chitchat corner? Yeah, its stupid, and they're not even doing any advertising.
13-07-2004, 10:41 PM
and wut do u guys think bout the helmet guy? ain't he's juz plain silly? doing such a crap on a national tv.
i'm a little skeptical about the helmet part... how come when he entered the room, there's no guard stopping him? where were all the bouncers? and when he went up to the judges, only throngs of securities came in...
I think the lady judge depends heavily on the other 2s opinion... she has no personal stand... she usually isn't the first to speak up... and... zainal abidin (is that the other judge?), y they choose him as the judge? Hmmm... that guy got more emotional than the participant... A judge is meant to judge someone's talent, not to lecture his or her own ideas of what u should do or not... Perhaps next time before having a pop idol thingy, they should have this Judge Idol... That should be better...
tunsrilanang
14-07-2004, 09:05 AM
the malay male judge is roslan aziz, former husband of sheila majid.
ahh, i feel like doing a petition to rombak the judges. and wats with fauziah latif? tersengih sengih sahaja.
i think the judges only are looking for pop stars, next jessica simpson macam tu la.
i mean, when some candidates were to dance and sing a dangsut song, the judges find it terrible , ridiculous .... i mean, dangdut is supposed to be combined with some dance...that's the essence.
btw, i hate roslan aziz's english.....not good. he doesn't even speak good bahasa melayu....huh.
14-07-2004, 10:33 AM
i watched last week's final audi of Msian idol. God...they were SO helping the guy..the one yg mcm bapok a bit tu...the one wearing the checkered shirt...in the end..he cried..coz he mmg tone deaf..LOL
but the chinese guy, the one w sakit tekak one...dang..nice voice..sakit tekak nyanyi sedap..if xsakit sure better huh?
but msian idol...they should hv gotten better judges...those three, seems unsuitable...i mean, why Roslan Aziz? if it's M Nasir ke..i agree laa since he's like so hebat etc...And G..why she therE? ornament? hiasan meja? cry here a bit..cry there a bit..boringnyee.....Paul Moss is oke laa...he has that professionalism but can he understand malay or chinese or tamil? hmm... 8O
14-07-2004, 08:17 PM
Yeah, I dun like the judges. Roslan Aziz....I agree that he cant speak good english. Besides, I hate his attitude...he act as if he knows a lot about music and so on. Like a music gangsste, haha. Fauziah Latiff, on the other hand, is a bit soft-hearted. She likes to sympathize on the others. She cant stand on her own views too.
About the sakit tekak chinese guy, he said he lost his voice, but turned out the best one I think. He can really sing, man.
i watched last week's final audi of Msian idol. God...they were SO helping the guy..the one yg mcm bapok a bit tu...the one wearing the checkered shirt...in the end..he cried..coz he mmg tone deaf..LOL
Is the guy u're talking about, the malay guy who can only sing without music? Who sang out of tune according to Roslan?
:lol:
I cant believe i spent the whole morning watching Malaysian Idol last weekend... Lol...
So the finals will be this week? Forgot the time and date....anyone mind to post it here?
tunsrilanang
15-07-2004, 12:07 AM
perhaps m nasir is too sexy for cheesy malaysian idol...heh
15-07-2004, 07:23 AM
haha...but M Nasir got the credes (credentials), man! at least a whole lot better than Roslan Aziz i believe. G ---she's just too soft hearted. i dont see why they should be the judges anyway. what if the contestants were to sing in chinese, or malay or tamil? would they be able to detect any pronunciation mistakes in the singing, if they dont know the language well? to me, as someone who cant speak chinese, every dialect is the same (it's actually not, right?)
Pandaboy ---> ya..that's the guy i was speaking about. the kinda softie guy. He cried! siannye....but the chinese guy, yeah..he can really sing man...plus, he got style! :wink:
15-07-2004, 02:56 PM
pandaboy wrote:
Yeah, I dun like the judges. Roslan Aziz....I agree that he cant speak good english. Besides, I hate his attitude...he act as if he knows a lot about music and so on. Like a music gangsste, haha. Fauziah Latiff, on the other hand, is a bit soft-hearted. She likes to sympathize on the others. She cant stand on her own views too
roslan aziz was sheila majid's ex-hubby right?i though he has helped sheila being a flawless singer.am pretty sure,he deserve being a judge,simon cowell too was a producer in UK once,ppl used to hate him for his comments.but then again,it was him who launched some singers to the glittering fame.am pretty sure they know what it takes to be a good singer and what not.
and speaking good english doesnt make you a good judge nor does it makes you a worse one.why dont we give him room.in months,after few episodes,he might speak english that make some ppl happy out there.
well,i am a big fan of fauziah latiff,she is after all a down-to-earth lady.she sung this profound song, "aku sebutir pasir"..you might wanna listen to that.
well you see,we are malaysian,we can't be american.we can't say,you are a loser!!and some other worst comments.we aren't brought up that way you see.ppl have dreams,some wanna be singers,we should give them a try,making fun of other ppl dreams is unfair.bapok ker,pondan ker,kalau itu impian dia,biarlah dia try out.
raizz
15-07-2004, 11:45 PM
"If only the sun-drenched celebrities are being noticed and worshipped, then our children are going to have a tough time seeing the value in the shadows, where the thinkers, probers and scientist are keeping society together."
Rita Dove, Poet Laureate of the United States and Consultant to the Library of Congress from 1993 to 1995.
This has never been more true then it is now. With the growing popularity of shows like "Malaysian Idol", "Akademi Fantasia", "Audition" and countless others, it's evident that society these days are geared towards the worship and adulation of those in the spotlight.
I have absolutely NOTHING against celebrities and artistes. I'm a big fan of great music and creative geniuses. Heck, I would fall in love with a creative genius :-)
MY main concern here is that fame & glamour is being peddled as a sure ticket to success. A guarantee to a life of blissful riches.
I don't deny that superstardom can definitely lead to a blessed life of limousines and diamonds - and true, that's not an entirely bad thing.
But I'm worried about the impressionable young ones. The children. Their role models are so different from those of my generation (and I'm not even THAT old).
Children used to say "When I grow up, I want to be a doctor, like Papa/Uncle/Abang" It's now "When I grow up, I want to be Clay Aitken/Vince/Guy Sebastian"
True, there's nothing fundamentally wrong about that, but we used to look up to our teachers, our parents, our paediatrician, the pilot in his smart uniform, the firemen, the friendly neighbourhood policeman. Children used to be ingrained with the idea of 'helping people' and 'making the world a better place'. We used to want to be the superheroes, to help others, to do good.
Now children look up to singers, actors and tv hosts. Children are now entrenched with the idea that a life of glamour and being adored by millions of fans is the way to go. They want riches, adulation, hero-worship and idolization. They want to see themselves on tv, with millions of screaming fans chanting their name - they want to soak in publicity. They feel that such glamour is the measure of their worth.
I hope I don't come across as generalizing here. I'm NOT saying that being a celebrity is BAD. I'm NOT saying that ALL children are glamour-oriented. I'm merely saying that things have changed. And what Rita Dove said truly applies these days.
Being in the shadows is not a bad thing. A life without public recognition is not a wasted one.
You don't need to have fans to gain respect.
You don't need the spotlight in order to shine.
kucingbiru
16-07-2004, 02:06 AM
honestly i like to see such changes. i dont want children to keep thinking that to be successful, you have to be a doctor, engineer or lawyer only. maybe the children idolize popstar just because they want to be successful.
Children used to be ingrained with the idea of 'helping people' and 'making the world a better place'.
being an artist also makes the world a better place. would u rather go out dating to a science lab or a cinema.
i hope our society will change. i dont want parents to think that their children should only be artists if they fail high school or something. i hope in malaysia someday, art will be considered as a field that one can be successful, professional, and respected as much as those of other career path among parents.
deekay
16-07-2004, 02:47 AM
Simon makes the show.
You can substitute Paula and Randy with say, Gloria Estefan and Lionel Ritchie and still people will watch the show.
Take out Simon and it will be just another talent show.
What is so different of Malaysian Idol compare to Bintang RTM other than the age limit ?
16-07-2004, 11:01 AM
well, phantom,everyone...sorry for the word 'bapok' that i used in my previous posts. But it's just a way of describing (i want ppl to know which guy i'm talking bout). sorry if i offended anyone., my bad
i dont hv anything about ppl entering such progs. heck, some of my good friends went to the audition. i support them, bcoz i know, we're different in terms of interests n priorities. Plus, if they hv the talent, why should i stop them?
Akademi Fantasia is fun to watch. Like what Thirdshifter said to me the other day, "it's so poyo" but still, cant help it..i feel like i need to watch it. reality shows are such a hit w us bcoz they show normal ppl, doing normal (or maybe not so normal things). And we as audience, we feel like we can connect w them..but we'd do the things they do, differently.
Anywya, i'm digressing - gomene! :P Msian Idol...how many american-based shows we wanna have? and when, enough is gonna be enough?
16-07-2004, 11:05 AM
Some 'new' reality shows, following the examples of already-existing shows. Mebbe they might be a reality in the future..you nvr know :wink:
Segala.... impiaaaan... (lagu cik ct...)
1. Who will become an Ustaz
Reality show yang menampilkan peserta 12 lelaki
yang akan bersaing untuk
menjadi seorang Ustaz. Mereka akan ditempatkan
disebuah madrasah dan akan
diuji ketahanan dari segi membaca alquran,
menunaikan sembahyang wajib,
menunaikan sembahyang sunat, azan dan lain
lain... Setiap minggu akan di
akan pertandingan memberi tazkirah di hadapan
penonton yang juga akan
disiarkan live dikaca Televison.. Peserta akan
dinilai oleh juri
profesional
(30%) dan sms penonton (70%) pemenang akan
mendapat pakej haji percuma.
2. Akademi Islamiah
Reality show yang mengambil 12 budak budak yang
telah sesat dan rosak
akhlaknya.. Mereka akan ditempatkan di sebuah
banglo, dan akan diajar cara
hidup islam. Setiap minggu mereka harus
menunjukan apakan kepakaran dalam
islam yang telah mereka pelajari, dihadapan
penonton secara live. SMS
penonton akan menentukan peserta yang layak untuk
menang (pilih berdasarkan
taraf keinsafan mereka). Mereka menangis kerana
menginsafi dosa lalu mereka.
Mereka akan 'dikurung' dan dipacakkan dengan 13
kamera CCTV.
3. Muslim Idol
Reality show untuk mencari penceramah Islam
terbaik di malaysia. Peserta
yang dapat memberi ceramah yang mengusik jiwa
penonton akan mara keperingkat
seterusnya hingga ke akhir. Peserta diadili oleh
penonton melalui sms.
Pemenang akan mendapat peluang merakamkan lagu
nasyid dan juda CD
ceramahnya.
4. Bintang RTM (Remaja Tahu Mengaji)
Sebuah lagi program dari stesen kerajaan Islam
Hadhari kita iaitu
berbentuk program tahu mengaji. Peserta diajar
cara membaca secara
tartil,bertajwid dengan betul,menghafaz Quran dan
berlagu. Peserta yang
berjaya akan mendapat cahaya nur Quran.
5. Audition
Rancangan ini berbentuk audition untuk meneruskan
pengajian dalam bidang
agama samada IPT dalam negeri atau pun luar
negeri. Tajaan akan diberikan
kepada yang berjaya. Syarat layak masuk kepada
semua yang cintakan Islam
dan para pendokong Islam
kucingbiru
16-07-2004, 05:11 PM
ha ha, that's funny!! :lol:
16-07-2004, 06:12 PM
budakkerek wrote:
Anywya, i'm digressing - gomene! Msian Idol...how many american-based shows we wanna have? and when, enough is gonna be enough?
it's UK based not US based.why not?am pretty sure hollywood movies are from usa.so do friends kan?the list goes on.simply said,american know how to entertain da world,and plus,they know how to have fun.
17-07-2004, 08:00 AM
no..what i mean is, when are we going to hv our own truly-Msian shows, that is our own in every way? pls, dont give examples of stuff on RTM, coz they're not creastive - they suck :?
17-07-2004, 09:50 PM
I cannot help but to agree with budak kerek
we need our own 'acuan' like our former PM and other people were talking about..
Malaysia Boleh does not mean that we can copycat everone and everything.
It's more to 'Boleh' as in creating something new while still maintaining our value as an Eastern country that should be more polite and not too harsh on others.
Maybe we should be more like Gee who is so soft hearted
and do not wish to hurt other's feeling.
I don't think it is a good idea to teach our people
to criticize others in a way that will hurt their feeling
that is not a positive approach at all.
But before condemning the judge,
I might want to ask the participants,
to think again about their decision to join such a program
If you think you are good enough, then go ahead
but if you think you are going to be humiliated
or maybe humiliate yourself, then you might want to think about other things to do.
There are a lot more stuff we did not take care of.
Plus, I don't remember Malaysian Idol or any program as such are included in the Wawasan 2020... are they?
tree007
18-07-2004, 09:10 PM
ish...
vic went thru to the next round..
though i like him, but i dun think he deserved to go thru, considering his performance that nite.. he can sing.. but he chose the wrong song to perform..
guess malaysian idol is a contest of popularity afterall, not vocal prowess...
kucingbiru
19-07-2004, 05:08 AM
Plus, I don't remember Malaysian Idol or any program as such are included in the Wawasan 2020... are they?
so?
burningBUTTERFLIES
19-07-2004, 03:15 PM
am kinda disappointed that syima didnt get thru... she's got this charisma, imo. crossing fingers for wildcard!
tree007
25-07-2004, 07:49 PM
malaysian idol gettin crappy..
guess malaysians really dunno hwo to vote for a good singer..
just hope the new malaysian idol won't buat malu in world idol..
26-07-2004, 12:34 AM
The second batch sux a big time... i think they put all the goodies in the first batch, and the second and the coming ones are the left overs...
26-07-2004, 01:03 AM
am kinda disappointed that syima didnt get thru... she's got this charisma, imo. crossing fingers for wildcard!
I know that girl and thank god she's out.
26-07-2004, 01:13 AM
why??
26-07-2004, 02:02 AM
why??
No reasons actually.
kucingbiru
30-07-2004, 02:39 AM
hmm, it seems like Malaysian Idol is pretty multiracial. it's good since our local entertainment industry is too melayu.
deaf-knee
30-07-2004, 05:23 PM
IMHO everything else apart from the selections were boring. :)
tree007
30-07-2004, 09:56 PM
hmm. i think tonite's episode i finally c paul moss givin a very very sensible n accurate comment.... the one regarding immitating whiteny houston.... n tonite i saw some really good singers... i just hope the result wun dissapoint me again....
lonewolfhan
22-08-2004, 12:07 PM
I was soooooo sad when Yin din get thru... she was already VERY good during the 1st round.. but during the wild card round.. her COLORS OF THE WIND really blew me off.... however, what the hell ? SHE DIDNT GET IN !!! Argghh... i have stopped watching msian idol after this... partly bcoz Yin din get thru... but of coz bcoz im now in the states already ! hehe..
but... YIN rocks !!!! guess she din make it juz bcoz she is not the pretty type !!! Darn.... Paul's " You dun look like an idol" is juz a nicer way to say that she is not pretty ! Damn it ! this is not a beauty pageant !!!!!!!!!! darn darn..... pissed off !
22-08-2004, 03:49 PM
but... YIN rocks !!!! guess she din make it juz bcoz she is not the pretty type !!! Darn.... Paul's " You dun look like an idol" is juz a nicer way to say that she is not pretty ! Damn it ! this is not a beauty pageant !!!!!!!!!! darn darn..... pissed off !
thats true!!!!! even i just heard her sing only once n also forget wat song she sang...but i really think that she is very unique n talented. but my friends said 'she ah?? cannot la......'
dunno y
23-08-2004, 03:49 AM
wah... i dun really like what Rozlan said today about the voting system... he might be right about the racism thingy, but the way he puts it like he's ok with the racism thingy and sort of telling malaysians it's ok to be that way either... err... i'm not voting for andrew or victor... i only vote for Jac and Nikki.... the rest? ahh... cannot make it
23-08-2004, 03:58 AM
i'm not voting for andrew or victor... i only vote for Jac and Nikki.... the rest? ahh... cannot make it
I guess few more ringgit spent wisely, eh? The votings should be free of charge! Malaysians are getting robbed and the voting system is discriminating many viewer who refuses to pay for a vote.
If i was badawi i would start regulating these SMS contest, if not banning it all together.
23-08-2004, 12:24 PM
I hate this sms thingy. Cant they have it on websites for us to vote or something? I dont think Malaysian Idol is fair enough.....
23-08-2004, 06:07 PM
well, i think it's a way for the sponsors to get money... but nvm lar... me going to US liao... so handphone not that useful anymore... so better make sure the one who deserves to win will win the Malaysian Idol... Let's hope what Rozlan said is not true - his father and the dato's and datins will vote for Zamir (or Zamri?), or this will vote for this... like what Paul says, "Malaysians will vote for the wrong reasons". Jac is kinda outstanding compared to the rest... why arr?
30-08-2004, 11:22 AM
Malaysian Idol didn't quite catch my attention until Akademi Fantasia ends. The latter is still, in my opinion, the most engaging local reality TV show so far. Anyway, my bro did follow Malaysian Idol from the beginning so here's what we think. The voting system is not really fair because how do you know if the person who wins has really won the hearts of Malaysians or has he/she merely got friends and families who're rich enough to keep on voting for him/her?
Next thing I'd like to comment is that there seems to be a huge gap in terms of talent between the the contestants. It's so obvious that Jac and Dina are far ahead from te rest (Nikki maybe stands a chance but she's gotta start choosing songs that suit her vocal range and not being so occupied with trying to proof that she's 'different'). I thought Rydee was pretty good and could probably challenge Jac and Dina (I've been her fan since her days in the PopStar show a few years back) but unlucky for her, she got kicked out.
As for the male contestants...hopeless!
30-08-2004, 11:58 AM
well..msians always vote for the wrong reason. they dont see the talent, they'd rather see the package e.g this guy is cute, let's vote for him kinda thing. God..when are we gonna progress if things keep on going this way?
30-08-2004, 12:10 PM
well..msians always vote for the wrong reason.
You can't blame them. The contestants are pretty much as paul moss put it, 'Idols' To be worshipped not because of talents but because they are popular.
Anyway i could be wrong. Maybe M'sians just love to vote for the wrong reasons. For an example, voting for BN.
30-08-2004, 12:20 PM
i thought this is about malaysian idol rite?
Anyway i could be wrong. Maybe M'sians just love to vote for the wrong reasons. For an example, voting for BN.
well,i am pretty sure u r voting for the right reason.and i am pretty sure that one u r voting do fulfill thier promises and their craps.
well,look,i have a brain and so do u.if u think u r so so so freakin smart by voting for some freakin' ppl,then go freakin' hell with u.
u dont need to freakin' linked malaysian idol and BN.that for me is freakin stupid.
30-08-2004, 12:26 PM
dude, it's juz an example. God..can't you even take a joke? 8O
30-08-2004, 12:28 PM
well,i am joking too.
well,look,u dont make jokes on my religion,my race,my faith,my hero,and those i respect.
if it is a joke,then that dude should stick to his day job becoz he sux with jokes.
30-08-2004, 12:58 PM
about malaysian idol.
i was watching a show about babies and delivery just now when a doc said ," baby girl is a better survivor than baby boy who is born prematurely".and he said this," i dont want to go far,but i guess baby girls are stronger".
what does that have to do with malaysian idol?well,imagine this,almost all the final singers on AF2 were male except for this petite girl.
my reasoning:girls voted more than guys and they vote for the man they truly enjoy.and they are willing to go far to vote.so many girls are willing to spend their money,time on their fav artist.
talents and looks somehow important to be successful,but beauty lies on the eyes of the beholder.eg: i never find justin timberlake,vince AF1,brad pitt,tom cruise,jude law as having good looks.simply said i never found any mat salleh good looking.but u know ....all these gals will die for them.
we can't blame them,can we?
well,i dont know,but regardless how "hopeless" the male contestants are on the malaysian idol,someone will win.
01-09-2004, 02:03 PM
well,i am joking too.
well,look,u dont make jokes on my religion,my race,my faith,my hero,and those i respect.
if it is a joke,then that dude should stick to his day job becoz he sux with jokes.
u sound pretty uptight though... hmm... i wonder if i can get a diamond if i shove a coal up your @<hidden>$$? hahaha... juz kidding... got the joke from some show...
my reasoning:girls voted more than guys and they vote for the man they truly enjoy
you're quite right if you say girls probably voted more than the guys, but you are making a very silly reasoning that girls vote for guys and guys vote for gals... some <d.u.m.b.> jocks and bimbos might have actually do that, but i dun see why others would want to do that. I;m more concerned with what Trishotiwuth has mentioned about rich ppl might win the votes with money... u know, the one who shouldn't win win the thing... it happens lots of time in Malaysia in most aspects, and exactly like what third has quoted, BN...
What's the going rate for those SMS votes? RM1? RM2? I guess some people just like getting sucked dry :P. Read in the newspapers some people spend more than RM 500/mo voting for these shows :/. Well, it's their money...
01-09-2004, 04:57 PM
previously RM0.70. now RM0.50
02-09-2004, 10:41 AM
i voted once, for Kaer..burned 50 cents for him - but only coz i think he's good. I guess that's why ppl vote for their favs, coz they think they're good. But hehe..i wont waste my credit on stuff like dat, like every week sms ing just so he can stay. :p
02-09-2004, 01:11 PM
i haf only started watching malaysian idol when it's in its final stage...
ok, here's wad i think abt malaysian idol so far:
7 left now: vick, saiful, zamri, nikki, dina, jac, andrew (i hope i din get the names wrong)
the bottom 3 were: victor, zamri n dina
dina was a real shocker coz she's SO good...n plz don start saying tad she's not cut out to be a malaysian idol juz bcoz she wears plus sizes...tads pure crap. but i think it was a case of diverted voting...like the american idol3 when LaToya got voted out (correct me if i'm wrong)...everyone was voting someone else to prevent him/her from being voted out, thinking tad everyone else will vote for the other, then kaput!
i was actually counting on saiful or nikki to be voted out....
y? i admit nikki has a good voice but her choice of songs juz aint showing wad she can do...i can detect a few straining n a lil out-of-tune singing from her...
saiful...a lil weak compared to the rest...
jac has had professional voice training...tads y she's such a natural singing up on stage...paul said once tad he hopes tad if she wins, it had better be not because she had tad advantage over the rest...
males...it's hard to find guys wif a special voice...they all sound almost the same...juz how powerful or how soulful they are...tads y i like andrew...he's so easy-going up there...but then again, he may not haf wad malaysia expects out of a malaysian idol...all tad personality thingy..
03-09-2004, 01:00 PM
andrew reminds me of Josh Groban...dunno why..Well, hope Msians are learning fr what happened during the last Idols. Like, vote for someone coz they are good, not bcoz you like their faces, or coz they got style...we'll nvr get good singer if looks and style're all that they hv.
03-09-2004, 11:35 PM
just finished watching the rock-theme singing part....
i think the only 1 who deserve to be the representative is there already for along time.
so y wasting time kicking out ppl le???
just send jac to u.s n put an end to all these talks
05-09-2004, 03:01 PM
I dun like their styles. Why are they always over-acting? Cant they just act like normal? :?
06-09-2004, 12:04 AM
coz they need to be outstanding to get more votes... it defeats the whole purpose of being yourself out there...
06-09-2004, 12:42 AM
ya, andrew reminds me of josh groban too. n good news is, i love josh groban. hehe...i think the competitors shud stop TRYING so hard to be different...juz be yourselves la...wad is there to prove?
06-09-2004, 12:05 PM
Overacting does make them DIFFERENT from the others...but whats the point? I dont want an IDOL like that.... I prefer to vote for an idol who just be their true self...at least they are true to themselves as well. Not overacting just to fish more votes from ppl.
06-09-2004, 01:55 PM
Overacting does make them DIFFERENT from the others...but whats the point? I dont want an IDOL like that...
I don't think the contestants 'overact' too much as you claim. Maybe it's just the anxiety. I mean, hey, I'd get nervous too if asked to sing in public. Plus you have the inconsistent judges who don't seem to be really sure of what they're looking for in an idol.
Btw, I want my idol to be different. He/she has got to stand out from the rest, in terms of performance, character, attitude, vocal abilities. And in this season, there's only one person who has all that...
06-09-2004, 02:28 PM
Some of them act "cute" la. Dunno la..maybe it was just me.
astraltruist
06-09-2004, 09:46 PM
Some of them act "cute" la. Dunno la..maybe it was just me.
act cute?.. in my opinion i don't think so.. maybe they are just trying too hard to get people to vote for them.. neways, i think most of them can't really sing well.. i mean they can't sing for all genres.. only certain genres.. (if u did watch the rock episode) :)
06-09-2004, 09:52 PM
Yup yup....most singers dont do really well in the rock episode...well, tat's only my opinion. Different ppl, different taste.
10-09-2004, 04:50 PM
Not everyone can do all genres....just like not everyone are good at everything else...so I guess it's forgivable...though I'm really thoroughly surprised at their performance...
like Paul said, they intepreted the Rock theme not tad well...I'm sure there's one rock song out there that suits them...or at least that they wont screw...it was painful to hear zamri sing hoostabank's The Reason...ouch! Even my darling Andrew sounded off-pitch....
astraltruist
10-09-2004, 05:22 PM
it was painful to hear zamri sing hoostabank's The Reason...ouch! Even my darling Andrew sounded off-pitch....
yeah.. i cringe everytime i hear him singing The Reason.. it's bad!.. Andrew was equally bad!.. :)
25-09-2004, 08:28 AM
Just watched the Malaysian Idol yesterday on Channel 8...mmm...I'm very much impressed by Jac, she's really a superstar..as what the judges have said...Vic..actually is not bad too, Dina...she's good, but my cousin said, she might lose out as she hasn't had much stage experiences as Jac does. As for Andrew...mm..personally, I kinda dislike his hairstyle...perhaps, cut it short might be better....
just my two cents ^_^
25-09-2004, 11:18 PM
J
ac, she's really a superstar..as what the judges have said...Vic..actually is not bad too, Dina...she's good, but my cousin said, she might lose out as she hasn't had much stage experiences as Jac does.
encik roslan is a bit pilih kasih, i think. cause he said jac is a super singer but not an idol while dina will be the idol if only she keep on the right track till the final.
'super singer but not an idol'?????????
26-09-2004, 06:25 AM
I think some judges are really critical and mean in their comments. Or perhaps, that's the way how should the competition go? Anyway, I'm quite impressed by those participants' courage as they can take the critiques and comments from the judges. Of course they are some that hardly accepted the comments and broke down on the spot. As for me, I think I definitely need lots of guts, not to stand on the stage but to face the judges, and right after those negative comments, how am I suppose to react in front of the tv broadcast...
26-09-2004, 11:10 AM
well, super singer maybe means she'll be famous...but ppl wont idolize her so much....dina, is likable i guess..i think jac's getting a bit big for her own shoes...hehehe
26-09-2004, 11:53 AM
well, people are a little biased sometimes, no matter how much they insist they are not. Probably not on an issue that they have absolutely no interest in though. I can't catch the malaysian idol anymore coz I'm here in Chicago but I found out that Nikki and Saiful is out. So it's down to DIna, Jac, VIck and my darling Andrew (though I very well know he's underqualified).
26-09-2004, 12:31 PM
wait....who are these guys? ( this happened when u r malaysian having no access to malaysian tv)
astraltruist
27-09-2004, 08:30 AM
fyi, andrew is out.. so now left dina, jac n vick! :)
27-09-2004, 09:51 AM
OOOOOHHHHHH!!!!!!! My darling Andrew!!!!! Oh, I feel so so so sad! anyways...I expected it I guess....*sob* *sob*