View Full Version : Post-Election Stock Market

09-03-2008, 04:14 PM
How is everyone expecting our stock market to do tomorrow? With this unpredicatable results, would our market be moving up, down or not much movement?

09-03-2008, 04:45 PM
I predict it will go down for first few days. As you can see, the Opposition gain a major score. From past experience, there will be disturbance. Naturally, few economic activities will happen and the foreign investors are curious over the policy which are going to be adapted by the government as well as the appointment of new ministers.

Aside from that, the investors also need to see the say of the Opposition in the Parliament now. Will they highlight all the corruption issues in the government since they hold more say in this. Overall, the stock market will depend on the political atmosphere in the country this few days.

Al-Bert
09-03-2008, 06:03 PM
Foreign fund might flee from Bursa Malaysia due to uncertainty in future policies, economic and political status...

Local investors might get panicked and start to throw out shares on hand massively with low price..

Dow Jones did not do well on last Friday...

Hence, i have bad feeling that Bursa Malaysia will plunge terribly tomorrow...

09-03-2008, 06:06 PM
Yes, it is the time to buy stocks. People,I urge you. Invest wisely, this is the best time to buy the stock of your choice.

09-03-2008, 07:05 PM
huhuhuhuhuhuhu. i think the market will down for the coming weeks. then,kinda unstable for coming few months. however,i have an uneasy feeling about the overall since last year. Gee...

09-03-2008, 08:01 PM
A relevant post about Malaysia stock market's potential reaction to the election result:

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79513

Huge dip in KLSE Composite, as expected. As of writing, it has already dropped 98 points to 1198.

Randomphantom
10-03-2008, 01:55 PM
Yes, it is the time to buy stocks. People,I urge you. Invest wisely, this is the best time to buy the stock of your choice.

Really, with all the negative sentiment in the US and with the Dow testing 12000, I'd urge you to think twice. GE's effect on KLSE pales in comparison to what's happening overseas.

What comes down can go down further, especially when you look at the run up KLSE has enjoyed in the past year.

11-03-2008, 12:20 AM
Really, with all the negative sentiment in the US and with the Dow testing 12000, I'd urge you to think twice. GE's effect on KLSE pales in comparison to what's happening overseas.

What comes down can go down further, especially when you look at the run up KLSE has enjoyed in the past year.

I believe that KLCI is still very much undervalued compare to other Asian stock market exchange. The room for improvement is certainly greater than that of other countries. Furthermore, it is common knowledge that stock market usually fall after such a shock in the General Election.

And I believe that the government will stabilize and revive the economy soon. After all, I read some of the future plans made by the Opposition Coalition and think that they can do a lot to help the economy. If the public buy the stocks now, even if they lose a little in the beginning, I think they will still make it up in the long run. Well, a little common sense might advise us not to buy at the first one or two day as the impact will be most significant at this time.

tehjiao
11-03-2008, 01:06 AM
Stock Down today! but i believe that it won't last long if US market perform later.

11-03-2008, 11:18 AM
the share drops 120++ points.@<hidden>@<hidden>

11-03-2008, 01:38 PM
well, good time to get in to squeeze some profit before US recession is "officially" announced.

Seems that IJM & Genting could be a good buy? Any other suggestions?

Al-Bert
11-03-2008, 04:25 PM
I think Bursa might bounce back this few days after quite severe crash yesterday.... It's time for profit takers to make some tradings for quick profits... However, long term trend of KLCE and Dow Jones seems bearish, so investing in Bursa don't seem appropriate for the meantime from my point of view...

I heard from my relatives - Enter those plantation counters like IOI, stay away from UMNO or government counters, watch closely those banking counters... Blue Chips are always good choice after great market plunge...

Randomphantom
11-03-2008, 04:52 PM
Its seeing a rebound today, but I think it'll stay range bound or worse after that.
Those companies who kena teruk are those linked to mega-projects in jeopardy due to the new "management". Hopefully this crash will mean doing away with the excesses in the system.

forEVA
11-03-2008, 06:44 PM
reason of market dip:

partly political tsunami in msia. partly in line with dow jones.

*gasps*

will the US colleges give out lesser aid this year? i mean... recession coming!

Randomphantom
11-03-2008, 07:30 PM
will the US colleges give out lesser aid this year? i mean... recession coming!

wow, that should be the least of your worries should a recession happen....""

forEVA
11-03-2008, 07:46 PM
wow, that should be the least of your worries should a recession happen....""
i'm at the receiving end this year. should they decide to give out lesser aid to international students this year, i may not even be offered a place in the first place. so definitely not the least of my worries...

sugan
31-03-2011, 08:40 PM
will the sarawak state election affect the market, particularly sarawak based company?
YoungHornyTS cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/YoungHornyTS)