View Full Version : Engineering
CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 01:18 AM
I hear that the Jpa scholorships are still being offered for engineering. That must indicate a demand for engineers. Could someone be specific about what kinds of engineers are needed as there are so many branches of engineering.
windy_city
04-04-2004, 01:35 AM
I hear that the Jpa scholorships are still being offered for engineering. That must indicate a demand for engineers. Could someone be specific about what kinds of engineers are needed as there are so many branches of engineering.
Engineers are needed everywhere!!!!
Build building, design the pc you use now, prepare drugs, design machine, design electronics chips, optimize a company performance, design medical appliances................ there are so many thing that we cannot have without engineers!!!
The demand for engineer is still strong, especially in developing countries like Malaysia, especially now when all the major companies are outsourcing their tech jobs in Asian because of the cheap and reliable labor. Almost every branch of engineering has its demand and supply. Just choose a branch that u like!!
CyberJaya
04-04-2004, 01:42 AM
Which branch of engineering has the most demand and least supply.
windy_city
04-04-2004, 02:00 AM
Which branch of engineering has the most demand and least supply.
A million dollar question!!!!
After you found the answer, pls tell me!!!!
SpRInG
04-04-2004, 07:01 PM
yealor....
that's not a very valid quesion actually... koz by answering that question, it is sort of like downgrading other disciplines of the engineering faculty...
koz each branch of the engineering field has its different function in the society... most demand and least supply - i believe this question also needs the parameter of time
windy_city
04-04-2004, 10:12 PM
yealor....
that's not a very valid quesion actually... koz by answering that question, it is sort of like downgrading other disciplines of the engineering faculty...
koz each branch of the engineering field has its different function in the society... most demand and least supply - i believe this question also needs the parameter of time
Actually it is a valid question, it is not downgrading any engineering major by answering it. Because the true is, that how society work, least demand most supply, and you will be as cheap as dirt bag.
Anyway, the thing is, this kind of thing fluctuate with time, so, it is very difficult to determine which major will be most damand and least supply when you graduate. If you can have an answer to that, chances are, others will know the answer as well, and they will pursue that major also, so by the time you graduate, you least supply major will be flooded with poeple!! Unless you have special ability to predict the future that others can't, then you are lucky!!!
noneedname
30-12-2004, 02:22 AM
--------
letter from friend ------------
I am a female Chinese Malaysian, living in the Washington DC area in the United States. I have read many of the letters that often talk about foreign countries when the writers have no real knowledge of actually living in those countries.
Many draw conclusions about what those countries are like after hearing it from someone else or by reading and hearing about them in the media or after four years in a college town in those countries.
I finished STPM with outstanding results from the prestigious St. George's Girls School in Penang. Did I get a university place from the Malaysian government? Nothing. With near perfect scores, I had nothing, while my bumi friends were getting offers to go overseas.
Even those with 2As got into university. I was so depressed. I was my parents' last hope for getting the family out of poverty and at 18, I thought I had failed my parents. Today, I understand it was the Malaysian government that had failed me and my family because of its discriminatory policies.
Fortunately, I did not give up and immediately did research at the Malaysian American Commission on Education Exchange (MACEE) to find a university in the US that would accept me and provide all the finances. My family and friends thought I was crazy, being the youngest of nine children of a very poor carpenter. Anything that required a fee was out of our reach.
Based on merit and my extracurricular activities of community service in secondary school, I received full tuition scholarship, work study, and grants to cover the four years at a highly competitive US university.
Often, I took 21 credits each semester, 15 credits each term while working 20 hours each week and maintaining a 3.5 CGPA. A couple of semesters, I also received division scholarships and worked as a TA (teaching assistant) on top of everything else.
For the work study, I worked as a custodian (yes, cleaning toilets), computer lab assistant, carpet layer, grounds keeping, librarian, painter, tour guide, etc. If you understand the US credit system, you will understand this is a heavy load.
Why did I do it? This is because I learnt as a young child from my parents that hard work is an opportunity, to give my best in everything, and to take pride in the work I do. I walked away with a double major and a minor with honours but most of all a great lesson in humility and a great respect for those who are forced to labour in so-called 'blue collar' positions.
Those of you who think you know all about Australia, US, or the West, think again. Unless you have really lived in these countries, i.e. paid taxes, paid a mortgage, taken part in elections, you do not understand the level of commitment and hard work it takes to be successful in these countries, not just for immigrants but for people who have lived here for generations.
These people are where they are today because of hard work. (Of course, I am not saying everyone in the US is hardworking. There is always the lazy lot which lives off of someone else's hard work. Fortunately, they are the minority.)
Every single person, anywhere, should have the opportunity to succeed if they want to put in the effort and be accountable for their own actions. In the end, they should be able to reap what they sow.
It is bearable that opportunities are limited depending on how well-off financially one's family is but when higher education opportunities are race-based, like it is in Malaysia; it is downright cruel for those who see education as the only way out of poverty.
If you want to say discrimination is here in the US, yes, of course it is. Can you name a country where it doesn't happen? But let me tell you one thing - if you go looking for it, you will find it. But in Malaysia, you don't have to go look for it because it seeks you out, slaps you in your face every which way you turn, and is sanctioned by law!
Here in the US, my children have the same opportunity to go to school and learn just like their black, white, and immigrant friends. At school, they eat the same food, play the same games, are taught the same classes and when they are 18, they will still have the same opportunities.
Why would I want to bring my children back to Malaysia? So they can suffer the state-sanctioned discrimination as the non-bumis have for over 30 years?
As for being a slave in the foreign country, I am a happy 'slave' earning a good income as an IT project manager. I work five days a week; can talk bad about the president when I want to; argue about race, politics, and religion openly; gather with more than 50 friends and family when I want (no permit needed) and I don't worry about the police pulling me over because they say I ran the light when I didn't.
How about you.............?
------------
30-12-2004, 03:23 AM
noneedname,
you're a college grad with outstanding STPM results, an IT project manager, and all the other accolades you bestow upon yourself, and THIS is the type of arguments you make? you are unbelievable...
from the ASEAN (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1500&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=15) thread:
It is better that you leave malaysia. This country is full of crap. Everything is crap here.
Also my advise to those Bumis : To the Hell with you!!!
If you agreed with what i had said, you know that this is making sense. However if you disagree on my views, here is 2 possibilities ---
(1) you are a bumi that is receiving help from the government and hence you don't make any contribution to the society.
(2) you are a corrupted, biased person that is easily influenced, just like our police force. Think about it.
from the Malay Reserve Land (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1362#35033) thread:
Look at America. What happened to the American Indians ?
Because they refuse or reluctant to be progressive and continue to stay in huts and forest reserves.
Not the babiputras we have here.
They realize Malays are :
1- LAZY
2- INCOMPETENT
3- NO SENSE OF URGENCY
4- SPOILT BY THE GOVERNMENT
the-model-racist-nation
17-09-2005, 08:48 AM
__earth: we do not condone cut and paste trolling activity. Moreover, this is out of topic. At the same time, we know you share the same IP as noneedname.
dey, the last reply was last year, why do u bring it up?
masdie
17-09-2005, 03:23 PM
Those of you who think you know all about Australia, US, or the West, think again. Unless you have really lived in these countries, i.e. paid taxes, paid a mortgage, taken part in elections, you do not understand the level of commitment and hard work it takes to be successful in these countries, not just for immigrants but for people who have lived here for generations.
These people are where they are today because of hard work. (Of course, I am not saying everyone in the US is hardworking. There is always the lazy lot which lives off of someone else's hard work. Fortunately, they are the minority.)
Every single person, anywhere, should have the opportunity to succeed if they want to put in the effort and be accountable for their own actions. In the end, they should be able to reap what they sow.
It is bearable that opportunities are limited depending on how well-off financially one's family is but when higher education opportunities are race-based, like it is in Malaysia; it is downright cruel for those who see education as the only way out of poverty.
If you want to say discrimination is here in the US, yes, of course it is. Can you name a country where it doesn't happen? But let me tell you one thing - if you go looking for it, you will find it. But in Malaysia, you don't have to go look for it because it seeks you out, slaps you in your face every which way you turn, and is sanctioned by law!
Here in the US, my children have the same opportunity to go to school and learn just like their black, white, and immigrant friends. At school, they eat the same food, play the same games, are taught the same classes and when they are 18, they will still have the same opportunities.
Why would I want to bring my children back to Malaysia? So they can suffer the state-sanctioned discrimination as the non-bumis have for over 30 years?
As for being a slave in the foreign country, I am a happy 'slave' earning a good income as an IT project manager. I work five days a week; can talk bad about the president when I want to; argue about race, politics, and religion openly; gather with more than 50 friends and family when I want (no permit needed) and I don't worry about the police pulling me over because they say I ran the light when I didn't.
How about you.............?
How come I never come across this post before? Hmm....
Anyway, when I forget about noneedname, forget about his cut-and-paste ideology and forget about his inappropriate posts, I am impressed with him to an extent especially regarding the quoted paragraphs above. We cannot deny that what he posted has no base. His other 'masterpieces' were rubbish but this one is exceptional. Think hard people, is this not what has become of our beloved Malaysia?
coolstudy
06-12-2006, 11:40 PM
Badawi can formulate any policy. On the ground level where the heads are not qualified themselves as their staff - many problems will arise.
Further the NEP will somehow make good researchers frustrated and will certainly be the main causes of frustrations. At best we can get the second rate staff to stay - the top ones will have no problem seeking better salaries and futures elsewhere without the glass ceiling overhanging their heads.
Our national sense of belonging will be lost when day in and day out we feel the impact of marginalisation in almost every sphere of educational or economic activities.
I think we are in even more for hubs of abandoned projects because it is the brains that matters, not real estate buildings which politicians are only good at how to initiate to build for their own gains. When coming to real research and real productive work, you only have lots of unemployable graduates lining up to fill them.
Best of luck Malaysia, while Malaysians of the best calibre are in our neighbouring countries creating state of art products and discoveries.
The people with brains first go to Singapore, then Australia, then the US. Apparently roughly 2 million Malaysians have emigrated since the 1970s. Wow, what a brain drain that is……….
(S)he did the right thing by moving out of Malaysia. As long as is a non-malay and Malaysian, you will be suppressed. They don't need scientists but more keris wielding morons to run the expensive labs.
So anytime the experiment didn't work out, they can go straight and blame that the equipment is outdated. Anybody disputes their claim, they can take out the keris and showed their "power". Good for them. Malaysia is turning to a baboon infested country.
Let alone those whose have already left. How about those who came back earlier with their foreign wives! The immigration department has made their renewal of visa a living hell, and they are not allowed to work no matter how qualified they may be. Eventually these "loyal Malaysians" also end up packing their bags and leave.
The politicians can say one thing but it never gets implemented at the ground level. Look at the mess surrounding Malaysia "My Second Home" campaign - how many have actually come here and then left in deep frustration!
The racists in Umno will also make certain that such policies will be doomed to fail. They would rather give citizenship to unruly and uneducated illegal Indonesians than some non-malay PhD holders.
Get your children out of this sucking country before it is too late! This is a hopeless and dirty country with all the lousy ministers and corrupted politicians.
I am afraid there is nothing second class citizens like us can do.
Emigrate to other countries looks to be a better option. Of course, the exodus has started decades ago. In fact, Umno will be most happy to see us go (race ratio, you know what I mean).
Umno does not depend on the second class citizens for the brains. They have the many universities in Bolehland to train their kind and churn out any number of experts you want. So brain drain is not a problem.
Yvette
10-12-2006, 12:43 PM
Hmm...I was just wondering if there are any JPA Scholars here studying an engineering course. I heard that JPA engineering students will have to further up their studies to a Masters. Is this true? Can anyone clarify?