View Full Version : Enquiries? Come in here.

Leen
13-03-2008, 02:27 PM
The title says it all. If you have questions about this forum, ask here. Or if you have a specific topic to ask, by all means, you can go ahead and make your own thread. The staff will try to answer your question(s) as soon as possible.

22-03-2008, 12:59 AM
If I want to sell my old textbooks, where shall I post?
Advertisement?

23-03-2008, 11:47 AM
How can i change font while i am posting reply? there is no font section for me to choose.
so how ?

23-03-2008, 11:52 AM
Read this,it might help....

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=153044#post153044

23-03-2008, 06:17 PM
Anyone, please?

23-03-2008, 06:44 PM
If I want to sell my old textbooks, where shall I post?
Advertisement?
Just set up a new area for buy/sell, it's a forum called "market place".

http://recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=77

23-03-2008, 09:37 PM
Oh, just added?

Good then, thanks mod

Charlotte.JL
04-04-2008, 10:57 AM
hello..i'm new here
can i know how to edit my username? =.=

04-04-2008, 11:23 AM
hello..i'm new here
can i know how to edit my username? =.=
It's not editable after you've created it...

04-04-2008, 11:51 AM
It's actually editable by the admins but we do not recommend it as confusion may arise.

04-04-2008, 11:53 AM
The title says it all. If you have questions about this forum, ask here. Or if you have a specific topic to ask, by all means, you can go ahead and make your own thread. The staff will try to answer your question(s) as soon as possible.

<digression>http://www.future-perfect.co.uk/grammartips/grammar-tip-enquiry-inquiry.asp</digression>

yummyummylicious
12-04-2008, 02:03 PM
i wanted to ask something about the IPTA thingy...because i applied for it and i heard for ppl, they said the shortlisted namelist published in the website is just for those applying art / music courses and since i am applying for science related courses , thus my name will not be published there yet...am i right? and i find it hard to get a thread to post this question...

13-04-2008, 03:29 AM
i wanted to ask something about the IPTA thingy...because i applied for it and i heard for ppl, they said the shortlisted namelist published in the website is just for those applying art / music courses and since i am applying for science related courses , thus my name will not be published there yet...am i right? and i find it hard to get a thread to post this question...If you are sure that no threads have been opened about this topic, go ahead and open it. The most you will get if there IS an existing topic is that the thread will be merged...

Of course, that would mean more work for us, but i think it's better to ask a question rather than keeping mum on it...

Glassylicious
24-04-2008, 10:30 PM
Heylo everyone. =)

Just curious. What is this forum's policy on bumping old topics? I am a fairly new member, but I noticed that people bump topics which are 1 or 2 years old to either agree with something that's already been said and discussed, or to add very little new information/point to the discussion.

Previous forums which I've been a member of, do disallow bumping of old topics [perhaps topics which was last posted in, six months ago] unless the topic is relevant again due to current situations/circumstances, or unless the user had something really substantial to contribute.

So, back to my question. Is that allowed here?

Leen
24-04-2008, 10:40 PM
It is allowed and we don't have any policy against it so far as long as the person doesn't keep doing it. If he/she bumps a thread to just say thanks, we'll just delete the post since the thanks hack is there already. If he/she actually does intend to keep the thread alive, we'll allow it to happen so long he/she doesn't bump every single old threads and doesn't bump the thread 109935357896124 times a day. :grin

Glassylicious
24-04-2008, 10:43 PM
Ah, all right. So bumping of old threads is allowed, just not excessively. Thank you for clarifying. =)

03-05-2008, 12:26 AM
Could the mods remove the names from the polls?? I think it is important to protect the voter's anonymity.

03-05-2008, 09:08 AM
In vBulletin, poll options are by default public. I will try to look at whether it's possible to turn it anonymous though. Thanks for the feedback.

03-05-2008, 04:16 PM
ReCom New Age: Everything from tarot to fengshui to miracles

quoted frm the ReCom Activities Hub >Recom New Age

http://recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=72

for some time I keep on wondering....if Aiesec Miracle Youth Conference got anything to do with either "tarot", "fengshui" or "miracles"......is it that Aiesec Miracle Conference is such a "miracle" just because it got a word "miracle" within its name, until it's qualified to be claimed as a "miracle" itself?

In my humble opinion, it's rather confusing for the recommers to put the Aisec MYC threads under Recom New Age(although initially I suggest the Aiesec MYC 2008 to be moved to Recom New Age, since the last year's threads regarding Aiesec MYC are there)

Ppl won't relate Aiesec Miracle Youth Conference as some sort of "miracle", but rather relate it as a meaningful "teenage programme"(ie some sort like"youth and charity" thingy)

Just my opinion though, but I do hope dear Mr mod can kindly look into it.:)

Thanks in advanced.

03-05-2008, 04:30 PM
Thanks for the notification! It must have been a careless mistake when we did the organisation.

I have already relocated the whole AIESEC sub-forum under "youth and charity" section. :)

runninghorse
04-05-2008, 08:31 AM
Helloo... may i know how to upgrade my member status from newbie to junior member to full member?

wat is counted? number of posts or no. of thanked posts?:amuse

04-05-2008, 08:54 AM
http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6338

Appolo
10-05-2008, 07:19 PM
Hai,I'm rather curious right here about the display of posts.

I remembered posting some replies today and was surprised to see that all of them were removed.Can anyone explain that? I did not include anything that deviate from ethical conducts as a recommer.

So what's the problem as i swear that i managed to post it successfully this morning.

10-05-2008, 07:21 PM
As Luke explained in the chatterbox, he was doing some site development on the backend some half a day ago, and he accidentally damaged the whole forum database. So he had to restore the forum using an earlier back up, and by doing so there are some 10-hours worth of posts that were lost in ReCom.

We apologise for the inconvenience. :(

blaxice
22-05-2008, 02:17 PM
i want 2 know how i can change status frow newbie to other status such as junior member? it depend on thanks or posts? tq

eeerr... i already get the answer... tq again

26-05-2008, 05:51 PM
I notice that I have to re-log in every 5 - 10 minutes when I remain idle on recom or am replying to a post. Am I the only one having this problem?

26-05-2008, 06:27 PM
I notice that I have to re-log in every 5 - 10 minutes when I remain idle on recom or am replying to a post. Am I the only one having this problem?

Erase the ReCom cookies and try logging in again

26-05-2008, 07:40 PM
It probably is due to our time-out setting. I don't have this problem because I tick the "remember me" option when I sign in. I will have a look at the setting and maybe extend it to like 20 minutes or so. But we can't set it to too long due to security reasons.

nobody
27-05-2008, 03:17 AM
...specific topic to ask, by all means, you can go ahead and make your own thread. The staff will try to answer your question(s) as soon as possible.

Er HEM!! MY PROBLEM WILL BE...

Anyone can please let me know...how to start a new thread in this forum =.=

Yea...I dunno how to do it...

HELP please...

sorry if i sound rude...lol...
Outdoor Teen (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/813/teen/videos/1)

Glassylicious
27-05-2008, 08:18 AM
1. From the forum index, click on a board.
2. On the left hand side, before you see a list of topics, there's a button called "New Thread".
3. Click on the button.
4. Type in the title of your new thread.
5. Type in the contents of the main post.
6. Click "Submit Reply".
7. Viola! A new thread has been created!

nobody
27-05-2008, 03:10 PM
hermm...thanks, but...okay...i'm stupid...

erm...>.<

Which forum index to you mean? the forum index of the whole recom or the forum index of this recom section only?

Erm...and...where is "the board"?

OMG...i'm stupid i know...

ANYWAY...THANKS A LOT...
Suzuki gt series history (http://www.suzuki-tech.com/wiki/Suzuki_GT_series)

27-05-2008, 03:12 PM
On the upper left of each page, there is a button that says "portal / index". Click on the "index".

Glassylicious
27-05-2008, 03:14 PM
hermm...thanks, but...okay...i'm stupid...

erm...>.<

Which forum index to you mean? the forum index of the whole recom or the forum index of this recom section only?

Erm...and...where is "the board"?

OMG...i'm stupid i know...

ANYWAY...THANKS A LOT...

Forum Index of the whole of Recom. This is the forum Index: http://www.recom.org/forum/index.php

Now, on that page, you can see many boards, such as "Malaysia Today", "Window to the World", and "Education". Those are called boards.

This board is the "Questions/Comments/Complaints" board.

27-05-2008, 03:19 PM
Youngyew, there is a suggestion: why don't the administrator or any including moderators provide more choice of themes for ReCom. (I mean the appearance of ReCom). You know, nowadays, people pay more emphasis on personalization.

27-05-2008, 03:52 PM
Youngyew, there is a suggestion: why don't the administrator or any including moderators provide more choice of themes for ReCom. (I mean the appearance of ReCom). You know, nowadays, people pay more emphasis on personalization.
Read http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=153012

27-05-2008, 03:57 PM

If it is that easy for untrained volunteer moderators to create umpteen customised themes for a not-for-profit forum, we would have offered 10 themes for everyone. :D

runninghorse
29-05-2008, 02:12 PM
Ermmm... if i wanna upload some images from photobucket to recom forum here... which code should i paste here?

-email and IM
-direct link
-HTML code
-IMG code

which one to choose?

one more questions-do i just need to paste the code on the white typing space will do?

29-05-2008, 02:15 PM
Ermmm... if i wanna upload some images from photobucket to recom forum here... which code should i paste here?

-email and IM
-direct link
-HTML code
-IMG code

which one to choose?

one more questions-do i just need to paste the code on the white typing space will do?
IMG code will do, and yup paste it in the typing area ..

runninghorse
29-05-2008, 02:54 PM
Sorry i got another problem here...

if let say i wanna have some space between these two words WEE and LEE (in the same line)... how do to it? I realize that just press the space bar between the two words have no effect at all after previewing my post...

WEE LEE

JYHee
19-06-2008, 10:30 PM
How to create a website that sells thing...like bird nest.

Need license or not?

19-06-2008, 10:41 PM
How to create a website that sells thing...like bird nest.

Need license or not?
You are asking your questions in the wrong section

aitheng
22-06-2008, 05:16 PM
i have a question about the number of posts.

i posted a reply n the posts counter doesnt increase... may i know wats wrong? anything got to do with my web browser?

thank.

22-06-2008, 05:25 PM
In some places like chat forum, social and entertainment corner etc, the posts are not counted towards your post count. We did that so that people don't use spams to increase their post count.

22-06-2008, 06:44 PM
You would see "Just FYI, new posts and threads in this forum are not counted towards your total post counts." warning message above the reply form (full reply form with smilies buttons, not the quick reply) for those forums that have post counts disabled.

Update: I've just configured the warning message to also shows up in the quick reply. Now you have no excuse for not seeing it ...

JYHee
22-06-2008, 09:45 PM
You are asking your questions in the wrong section

erm....then any place for me to ask this question?

22-06-2008, 09:59 PM
Programming and Web Development
(http://recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)

aitheng
26-06-2008, 08:13 PM
do we have any thread specially for australia universities???
i hav problem finding it. can any1 pls help...

26-06-2008, 09:09 PM
Would you mind to be more specific? What aspect of Australia universities? What courses?

There are quite a few threads about studying in Australian universities, when you search remember to select "search title only"

01-07-2008, 09:48 PM
[Quote]ElansarGelmir, you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

Your user account may not have sufficient privileges to access this page. Are you trying to edit someone else's post, access administrative features or some other privileged system?
If you are trying to post, the administrator may have disabled your account, or it may be awaiting activation.
[\quote]

Uhhh.... Can someone explain to me what's going on?

01-07-2008, 09:49 PM
Uhhh.... Can someone explain to me what's going on?Does that apply to the whole forum or just particular pages?

01-07-2008, 11:11 PM
I tried it on the same page several times. It did not work. Then I tried on other pages, then it worked. Then I tried on the problem-ed page again, and this time, miraculously, it worked. But it would still be interesting to know what happened.

01-07-2008, 11:23 PM
Eeerm, someone might have been playing with the permission settings when you got blocked out. Without the specific page it's really hard to tell though. :(

ARC
10-07-2008, 05:43 PM
i get moe scholarship for special edu in uniten but frankly speaking,i think i dont like it(even though i dunno what it is really)..In fact,i applied biology but dunno,somehow i get special edu..can some1 tell me if i can change to other course or not?

10-07-2008, 05:46 PM
i get moe scholarship for special edu in uniten but frankly speaking,i think i dont like it(even though i dunno what it is really)..In fact,i applied biology but dunno,somehow i get special edu..can some1 tell me if i can change to other course or not?
You may create a new thread in the undergraduate section for your questions. This thread is for technical questions about the site only

DoomScythe
22-01-2009, 01:51 AM
I tried posting in a thread called "Program Penghantaran Pelajar Cemerlang/ TESL 2007" and I got this message:

Thank you for posting! Your post will not be visible until a moderator has approved it for posting. You will now be taken back to the forum. If you opted to post a poll, you will now be allowed to do so.

Can anyone tell me why is there such a restriction? Is it just me or it is the nature of that particular thread?

22-01-2009, 02:16 AM
We employ an automatic spam filter in this forum, and for some mysterious reasons it had labelled your post as a spam and held it for moderation. I have already put it back to its rightful place, and sorry for the inconvenience!

DoomScythe
22-01-2009, 02:21 AM
Okie. Thanks for the swift reply.

celestial_sacred
05-02-2009, 12:52 AM
Is it alright if two ReCommers use the same IP address? My sister and I have accounts each here.

05-02-2009, 03:53 AM
Sure, it's just based on your user account.

05-02-2009, 06:16 AM
Is it alright if two ReCommers use the same IP address? My sister and I have accounts each here.IP addresses won't affect your activities here. It is the information stored by your browsers that will. Of course, if you are supplied banned address (on our list, for antispam purposes) by your Internet Service Provider, both the computers won't be able to connect,...

celestial_sacred
05-02-2009, 11:03 AM
That's enlightening. Thanks capablanca and vseehua~

DoomScythe
05-04-2009, 06:56 AM
Hi,

I tried to edit my details and it says that it requires my registration details. Why do I need them to edit my profile details?

05-04-2009, 07:04 AM
What do you mean by requiring your "registration details"? You mean you are asked to enter your username and password?

DoomScythe
05-04-2009, 07:14 AM
User CP > Edit Your Details

On that page, apparently I have to include all of the information in the first 'block'. I don't want to do that. Is there a way? Thanks.

05-04-2009, 12:24 PM
We implemented the mandatory fields last time to help us weed out spammers when there was a deluge of spambot attack. We will look into making the change so that you don't have to put in everything, but it remains possible that the requirement will not change. What is it that you don't want to put there? :)

DoomScythe
05-04-2009, 10:18 PM
Oh come on youngyew, you don't expect me to reveal my dirty laundry here in the public forum, do you? Let's just say that there are *some* things that that are best kept in the closet. :P

I understand that if you want to weed out spammers and all, those fields are required for registration. But I am already registered, thus why the need to have those fields filled just to change my details?

05-04-2009, 11:13 PM
I thought the mandatory fields are just the first four details including gender, why you join recom and location. How is that your dirty laundry? :p

DoomScythe
05-04-2009, 11:40 PM
Ahhh, k. Nevermind. I found out I can just insert spaces into it and bypass it that way. :) Btw, the comment about dirty laundry was really a joke. :P

I'm actually a transvestite. :nuts

Glassylicious
13-04-2009, 04:35 PM
I'm not sure if this topic is the right place to do this, but I do have a technical complaint with regards to the forums.

Please see the screenshot I attached to the post. While immensely flattering and beneficial to the ego, it remains rather disturbing. Just thought I might bring this to attention, since it may be a sign that there is a bug somewhere.

Smilehoe
13-04-2009, 05:25 PM
Aww.. I really don't know so many people appreciate the movie's review. :P

13-04-2009, 07:02 PM
Aww.. I really don't know so many people appreciate the movie's review. :P

LOL. everyone appreciates her review on Knowing. LOL. but i think this can only be solved by moderators. hahaha!

13-04-2009, 08:45 PM
I tried removing the 4 billion thanks but it didn't work. It probably needs some debugging by people who know programming, but unfortunately I don't. Since it doesn't affect your real "thank" counts, so I guess we would just let it be? :)

Glassylicious
13-04-2009, 09:14 PM
Hahahah, sure, no probs. I had my programmer friend look at it and here's what he said:
Chow: heh i figured as much
this is an integer overflow
if you take that figure
+1
= 2^32
when you have an unsigned integer 0, subtracted by 1, it becomes 11111111111111111 (however many bits there are, it will be flipped)
a 4 byte integer has 32 bits
you see the significance?
this is 111111111111111111 (32 1's)

Unfortunately I can't make head or tail of most of it but I bet some of the other Recom admins might!

13-04-2009, 09:49 PM
Haha ya I kinda guessed it's some sort of overflow problem, but I have no technical knowledge whatsoever to fix it. :( By the way Excel 2007 also has a bug (http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/875/1044875/math-bug-found-excel) that makes it go nuts when the number 65535 (2^16-1) is involved. :D

Amaya_Sakura
21-04-2009, 11:01 PM
Hi, I'm new here and I want to know how to delete my account here. Thanks beforehand!

21-04-2009, 11:07 PM
While the admins could delete any user account, we don't really provide the service. You are always free to use anonymous details if you are concerned about privacy or confidentiality. Besides, if for any reason you need to delete or edit a particular post, you are free to do so within reasonable limit.

Glassylicious
02-05-2009, 02:20 PM
Hi. It's me again!

May I know what is the official "capacity" for starting a new thread? You see, I've written a guide which I think might be helpful, and I'm about 80% done EXCEPT I just took a look at what I've written so far, and it's positively MAMMOTH. [There are more than 3000 words so far].

I'm not sure if I would be hitting the word/character limit of the forum and would like to check with the admins [who obviously know better] first. I did think of posting them in separate posts but then I remembered that Recom has this "automerge" feature for double-posting.

Either way, would it be advisable for me to put the entire thing in one post?

02-05-2009, 07:22 PM
I am not very familiar with the word limit of the posts. Just do whatever you like and tell us if you face any trouble. :)

chongkeat
02-05-2009, 08:52 PM
Hey, erm, just wondering about the "banned" thingy.....

At first, I thought it was a sort of a "joke" title by moderators, since I've only ever seen one member with that title (iQing). Then, just now, I saw another member (ninjamole) who was banned. So....?

I wonder, is there any criteria for an account to be banned? Also, what kind of an offence can one commit that is so serious as to warrant banning?

Or maybe another member managed to make a "joke" title, perhaps......

03-05-2009, 08:19 AM
Usually members who are banned are outright spammers from the first day (post advertisement but no other things). In the case of iQing, he continually displayed indecent and uncivilised behaviour in the forum, and we had to ban him to maintain the order of the forum

kid
03-05-2009, 11:36 AM
hrm, will d mod give us warning first before ban?

chongkeat
03-05-2009, 12:03 PM
Hmm, are there any mechanisms in place to prevent, however improbable, any misuses of power? Like, say, voting among mods or the ability to "unban" accounts?

Just wondering......

03-05-2009, 12:40 PM
As far as I could remember, only iQing and Fourthshifter were the "real" banned members; whereas all other "banned" members are just spammers who got banned on the first day. And guess what - Fourthshifter and iQing are one and the same. iQing registered the nick "Fourthshifter" after the iQing account got banned.

Don't worry too much about being banned. As long as you are not an ass (pardon the language) you would be fine.

And to answer your questions, yes you will always get warning before you get any real punitive action. As for the "watchdog" mechanism, while we don't really have any official organisation for that; people can always complain in this section of the forum (Questions / Comments / Complaints) and we will listen to everyone with an open heart.

We are ordinary students like everyone here, so don't feel like you are under tight security or anything. Sometimes we might appear stern but that's all with the intention of keeping the forum in order. So just obey the rules, and as have much fun as you like.

SapphireDragon
03-05-2009, 01:40 PM
What wrong did iQing did? What are the criteria for being banned?

03-05-2009, 04:23 PM

If you had been in ReCom in the early months of 2006 (that was the period when I first came in) then you would know what sort of person iQing really was.

Frankly, he was the reason I remained inactive for almost two years. After all, what's the point of participating in a forum if there is this person who likes to incite sentiments and provoke people in a negative manner, without really contributing something constructively.

Glassylicious
03-05-2009, 04:44 PM
I don't think he was always a troll though. Looking around you can see many old topics he started that weren't of a controversial/flame-inciting nature. I'm pretty sure he didn't sport appalling behavior when he first joined. Something just went wrong along the way.

03-05-2009, 05:28 PM
iQing was one of the active members in the early days of ReCom. He did contribute to ReCom in various ways and not all his posts were bad.

However, in the later days he started showing uncivilised behaviours in the forum. He constantly trolled various threads, refused to obey basic rules of the forum, cherry-picked on others' technical errors but refused to admit and correct his own misdoing. When moderators did not submit to his various requests, he turned into defacing various threads, deleting his own posts (hence rendering the whole thread incomprehensible) and/or filling them with gibberish or protest sentences. He also launched endless personal attacks against fellow members and moderators, and they ranged from meaningless humiliation to an outright request for someone to kill himself.

I do not wish to make any judgment on iQing/Fourthshifter's character in real life; but his behaviour was simply overly disruptive to the normal operation of the forum and therefore we had to ban him to maintain the order.

03-05-2009, 08:37 PM
I think we've said enough about iQing/Fourthshifter. Let history be history.

03-05-2009, 09:01 PM
As far as I could remember, only iQing and Fourthshifter were the "real" banned members; whereas all other "banned" members are just spammers who got banned on the first day.

May I know the reason(s) other members who were banned on the first day only? It means the moment when they registered then got banned?

Because I ever saw members other than iQing/Fourthshifter are banned without any posts in ReCom, they're still new I guess.

03-05-2009, 09:01 PM
Who would have thought Recom would have a "dark" past. I really didn't know it was that serious. Thanks for the enlightening info anyway. No enquiries from me currently.

03-05-2009, 09:49 PM
May I know the reason(s) other members who were banned on the first day only? It means the moment when they registered then got banned?

Because I ever saw members other than iQing/Fourthshifter are banned without any posts in ReCom, they're still new I guess.
The spammers are usually banned within the day itself (the spams are mostly filtered automatically by the spam filters). Their post counts are zero because we delete the spams, so they end up with zero post count.

03-05-2009, 09:54 PM
KeiKo123,we do ban spammer/spam bots who/which spammed in "social and entertainment" thread. The software we using has been set to disallow post count for that forum,get me? :)

04-05-2009, 03:10 PM
Oh I see. Thanks youngyew and Xon for the explanation. :)
It cleared my doubt before.

04-05-2009, 11:35 PM
Recently, my friends and I encounter Database error while we were surfing recom. What is it about?

SapphireDragon
04-05-2009, 11:40 PM
Any more dark pasts of Recom? Please share with us.

05-05-2009, 05:58 AM
Boyz_Zoo, I experienced the same thing too, and it probably due to the temporary overload of our server when a lot of people are logged in at the same time.

SapphireDragon, nothing else that I could think of.

05-05-2009, 07:32 PM
Why was the whole Recom server down from 1.30 p.m. till 7 something today?

kid
05-05-2009, 07:56 PM
so no one can actually login to recom during dat time? i tot it juz me

05-05-2009, 08:03 PM
Server was down. Bachok had contact the Hosting Company for this issue.

05-05-2009, 08:26 PM

Yeah same problem...funny thing was right now both opera n internet explorer still cant access but firefox could...

for one moment, I thought I was banned or something...LOL

The spammers are usually banned within the day itself (the spams are mostly filtered automatically by the spam filters). Their post counts are zero because we delete the spams, so they end up with zero post count.

Hmmm, just wondering...if a person gets banned like iQing/ Fourthshifter...couldnt they register as another user using another username?

I wonder if any banned accounts are ever reactivated?

hrixenz
05-05-2009, 08:41 PM
http://www.geocities.com/hrixenz/recom.jpg

I got this. I thought someone hacked the website. :P

05-05-2009, 08:45 PM
http://www.geocities.com/hrixenz/recom.jpg

I got this. I thought someone hacked the website. :P
Wah, you got that. Mine only said that there no connection. What is your internet browser? Anyway, I heard that Recom has been hacked before few years ago. Why is it people want to hack Recom? It has not high level secrets or does it?

hrixenz
05-05-2009, 08:48 PM
Wah, you got that. Mine only said that there no connection. What is your internet browser? Anyway, I heard that Recom has been hacked before few years ago. Why is it people want to hack Recom? It has not high level secrets or does it?

It's Mozilla Firefox. :ffwub

05-05-2009, 08:51 PM
That's such a cute emoticon!! LOL...

To boyz_ : I guess people hack for the heck of it...(pardon the pun)

05-05-2009, 08:51 PM
I too use Mozila but mine say no connection or something. Strange. Ah, don't care. Main thing, why people want to hack Recom?

cuppycake
05-05-2009, 09:00 PM
so no one can actually login to recom during dat time? i tot it juz me

Yeah, I got that no connection too. first it was database error and then the no connection. I though I was the only one too.

05-05-2009, 09:28 PM
There are many automated bots out there that hack susceptible forums.

Nickvl, yes we can't stop people from registering a new account under another identity, but people only have that much patience before they give up or grow out of it. :P No one has ever been unbanned as far as I know. They were all spammers anyway and none of them has ever appealed over the ban.

05-05-2009, 09:29 PM
There are many automated bots out there that hack susceptible forums.

Nickvl, yes we can't stop people from registering a new account under another identity, but people only have that much patience before they give up or grow out of it. :P No one has ever been unbanned as far as I know. They were all spammers anyway and none of them has ever appealed over the ban.
How can they actually appealed to the ban? I thought when they are banned they lost their right to post.

05-05-2009, 10:01 PM
How can they actually appealed to the ban? I thought when they are banned they lost their right to post.
"Contact Us" :)

06-05-2009, 01:58 AM
Me too. I thought I was banned at the moment I couldnt login Recom for the whole afternoon. Mine just appeared "the link appears broken".

kid
06-05-2009, 02:20 AM
hrm, y cant i put 'moving' avatar like leen d peacemaker?

06-05-2009, 07:47 AM
Your 'moving' avatar (it's called 'animated GIF' btw) should be at most 100 pixels wide and 100 pixels tall (100x100) or else the forum software will automatically resize it down, causing it to lose the animation.

06-05-2009, 06:40 PM
While I was looking around the members' list, I saw a few members joined around the year 2003-2005 but their last visit is at 1 January 1970. Why is that so? I don't think that ReCom existed then.

06-05-2009, 06:56 PM
Bug I guess. 1 January 1970 is the first day in the Unix time:

Unix time - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unix_time)

16-05-2009, 09:36 PM
When i log on today, my notification showed "Incoming Visitors Message Awaiting Approval'. What does this mean? I have already viewed the message but the notification still shows as though its unread...

27-05-2009, 09:18 PM
When i log on today, my notification showed "Incoming Visitors Message Awaiting Approval'. What does this mean? I have already viewed the message but the notification still shows as though its unread...
that happens when someone posted a visitor message in your user profile and the message contains email address. Our forum software automatically moderates such messages for moderators to look at and approve or delete them.

I'd like to ask fellow moderators here, what is the most appropriate action to take on such moderated visitor message: approve it or delete it? how much risk of damage is there if we let someone publicize his/her email address on the plain view in here?

27-05-2009, 09:24 PM
that happens when someone posted a visitor message in your user profile and the message contains email address. Our forum software automatically moderates such messages for moderators to look at and approve or delete them.

I'd like to ask fellow moderators here, what is the most appropriate action to take on such moderated visitor message: approve it or delete it? how much risk of damage is there if we let someone publicize his/her email address on the plain view in here?it won't damage us much for sure, but members will get their mailboxes filled with spam since it's their mailbox that will be flooded with spams...

I think we should let everyone know that, by exposing their mail address to the public, it will inavertably be picked by various spam bots that are crawling the net harvesting for addresses to spam.

28-05-2009, 12:28 AM
Is there a way to send some automatic warning message to anyone who post their email address online? It could be some regular expression that could detect email in a post / visitor message, and once an email address is detected in any of those they will just get a pop-up to warn them about the consequence. If they still want to post it then they will just have to deal with the consequence by themselves.

Is it possible?

Smilehoe
05-08-2009, 09:21 AM
Is there a way to allow the user to navigate to the last page of the thread listed on front page? Like in the forum index, there's the "last page" button.

05-08-2009, 11:56 AM
It's there - just click on the > symbol under "last post" column. It brings you to the last post. Or if you want, click on the V symbol just to the left of the thread title to go to the first unread post.

(It's interesting most people don't even notice those shortcuts are there :P)

p/s: The V symbol only works if you are logged in, of course.

isha02
22-09-2009, 09:43 PM
how do i start a new thread?
im a newbie here so stil kinda confused...huhu...

Go to any forum, subforum you like and you'll see a "new thread" button. Use that to make a new thread. ~Leen

stupidboy
24-10-2009, 06:13 PM
Just a simple question. Why can't I upload a picture into my signature? I've tried using code but it didn't work. Actually I'm not sure of the code as well, hahaha. Thanks in advance!

P/S : ReCom has changed a lot since I last logged in!

sugan
02-03-2010, 01:45 PM
excuse, me , i have trouble opening recom's portal page, why?
it 's written that ' invalid path'
California Medical Marijuana Dispensary (http://california.dispensaries.org/)

02-03-2010, 02:40 PM
excuse, me , i have trouble opening recom's portal page, why?
it 's written that ' invalid path'

we are still uploading and setting up the forum, please be patient...

Huwiez
04-03-2010, 05:39 PM
hi, i' m new here.. may i know taking 12 subjects in spm 2010 will help in applying scholarship?

04-03-2010, 09:27 PM
Hi Huwiez this is the place to ask questions about this forum instead of education problems. For your SPM-related question you might want to post it in one of the SPM discussion threads. Thanks. :P

SoooNegative
18-05-2010, 02:40 PM
Omg... I cant find the New Thread button.... :(

18-05-2010, 02:42 PM
Omg... I cant find the New Thread button.... :(Go to the forum section that you would like to start a new thread, there is a button on top left above the list existing threads...:)

SoooNegative
19-05-2010, 11:47 PM
Do mods look through every thread? Or just set up the system so that certain words will alert them to a thread? Because there are really a lot of threads... Just curious

Leen
23-05-2010, 11:37 AM
Do mods look through every thread? Or just set up the system so that certain words will alert them to a thread? Because there are really a lot of threads... Just curious

I'll say for myself.
No I don't look through every thread because there are too many of them. Not only that, there are a lot of old threads buried deep in the forum. Since they are inactive and they do not cause any activity, we just leave it there without browsing through.

For the active ones, yes. We read them as we feel led to. No rigid system here. :laugh

23-05-2010, 12:20 PM
We also rely on members like yourself to report any posts that may be in violation of the forum rules. You can report any post by clicking on the triangle icon on the lower left of each post. :)

edcac
02-06-2010, 09:26 AM
I was wondering if there is a way to change my default font.

02-06-2010, 12:38 PM
As far as I know there is no option to change the default font. You are always free to change your font when you need to by using the toolbar when you are typing a reply.

By the way I would not encourage using different font types and sizes since it could distract readers. You are free to change them of course, but please kindly change them sparingly. :)

edcac
02-06-2010, 08:55 PM
As far as I know there is no option to change the default font. You are always free to change your font when you need to by using the toolbar when you are typing a reply.

By the way I would not encourage using different font types and sizes since it could distract readers. You are free to change them of course, but please kindly change them sparingly. :)

I see, okay, got it. Thanks for the help! :))

IamSaphiraQueen
28-06-2010, 02:20 PM
hi, i would like to promote Green Lung ( an anti-tobacco student voluntary organization) on re com. under which forum category should I open up a new thread to promote it? i'm new in recom, btw.

28-06-2010, 02:31 PM
hi, i would like to promote Green Lung ( an anti-tobacco student voluntary organization) on re com. under which forum category should I open up a new thread to promote it? i'm new in recom, btw.

Youth (http://www.recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=76) might be appropriate. :)

saycheese_louis
08-09-2010, 06:19 PM
How to start a new forum?

sleevelesssky
08-09-2010, 06:35 PM
How to have a personalized title without being an admin

08-09-2010, 06:37 PM
^ It is not possible for Registered Member to start a Forum/Sub-Forum. However, you may suggest it for the Moderator/Admin Panel to decide if appropriate.

I hope this reply helps. :)

08-09-2010, 06:43 PM
Louis, do you mean start a new thread or start a new forum?

08-09-2010, 06:53 PM
Louis, do you mean start a new thread or start a new forum?

I think it was "start a new thread" instead! :laugh

09-09-2010, 12:39 AM
Or maybe create a rival forum, lol... After all, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery :P

YuPi93
28-06-2011, 09:18 PM
Is it possible to delete recom account?

28-06-2011, 10:17 PM
Is it possible to delete recom account?

I would like to reiterate that deleting an account is not possible. I hope this is a clear statement from the moderator/administrator panel here.

Have you ever wonder: could you undo your life?

eve88
27-07-2012, 07:06 AM
Yay 1 year bump!

Qn : Is it possible to mute a user (ie i dont see his posts, he doesnt clutter up my front page etc)

29-07-2012, 01:37 AM
Yay 1 year bump!

Qn : Is it possible to mute a user (ie i dont see his posts, he doesnt clutter up my front page etc)

It is not possible to do that on the current web software.