View Full Version : Is it Possible for Jpa Scholarship?
anderscheng
14-03-2008, 12:29 PM
Hi i got 8A1, 3A2, and 1B3 for SPM. Is it possible to get a Jpa scholarship, i know the chances are slim. Have you ever heard of anyone achieving it against all odds? Do tell me which year you/your friends who achieved it.
14-03-2008, 03:14 PM
I did. But that was in SPM 2000. 8A1, 1C4 in BM. But I think the recommendation from my teachers helped.
14-03-2008, 03:18 PM
Hi i got 8A1, 3A2, and 1B3 for SPM. Is it possible to get a Jpa scholarship, i know the chances are slim. Have you ever heard of anyone achieving it against all odds? Do tell me which year you/your friends who achieved it.
never try, never know...why don't you just apply and see if you can get it instead of asking pointless questions that just invites endless speculation?
14-03-2008, 03:48 PM
never try, never know...why don't you just apply and see if you can get it instead of asking pointless questions that just invites endless speculation?
Yeah, I agree. It's one thing to ask for opinions but when every other thread is about the chances for scholarship, it really gets on people's nerves.
I tell you what, go to Putrajaya and ask the officer there. I think he could give you a better picture, such as number of applicants versus number of scholarships. More scientific.
One question before answering your question.
What do you get for your history and Moral Education? I believe it is compulsory to get at least A2 in those two subjects before you are allowed to apply for the scholarship.
Personally, I don't think that it is a smart move because one of my friends who couldn't apply to JPA because he got a B3 in Moral Education (and that's because he couldn't memorize all the 100000000 +++++ definitions). Right now, he just scored 4A in his STPM. Anyway, that's not really related to this thread.
davidchak
15-03-2008, 11:40 PM
I would say the chances is high...if you apply for Social Science =P
My results are worse than yours, and I got it. I have friends whose results is even worse than me and yet they secured JPA scholarship to go Canada...
16-03-2008, 12:45 AM
My results are worse than yours, and I got it. I have friends whose results is even worse than me and yet they secured JPA scholarship to go Canada...
However, they still have to study hard to achieve the cut off point by JPA...If not, they are not going to fly to Canada..
lhii_90
16-03-2008, 03:20 PM
Anyone can help me? i got b3 in english but get all a1 in other subject... do i have the chance 2 get JPA??? Cuz all course need eng 2a n above... so how?
honestly,not to scare you,i think you will be filter out during the first round by the computer.....BUT BUT,have a try....cos i might be wrong....
16-03-2008, 07:37 PM
Do have a try...Don't give up..
16-03-2008, 08:56 PM
Same ase like my bro who is also a SPM 2007 leaver
B3 for eng is such a disaster for him despite he managed to score 9As......applying the PPC(by MOE) programme to do Physics oversea also a problem
no harm trying though.....you never know until u try=)
passOUT
16-03-2008, 09:44 PM
well....like everyone says, you'll never know unless you've tried....
but.....
even if you did not get that, i supposed that's not gonna be the end of the world....
i already rest my case......hehe
kaixin90
17-03-2008, 12:16 AM
well i got two 3bs one for sejarah and one for est. Deadly right?
i still applied cuz everyone else did.
but i got 10 1As , 1As for GCE English, 2As for chinese.
and i hav quite high marks for koko (cuz i m head prefect)
do i still stand a chance?
17-03-2008, 12:22 AM
my advice: regardless what you get for spm, if u hv a bunch of As, just apply. who knows, you might get it. rather than worry n not apply coz u think u wont get it. My policy is always to try, at least if u fail, you know that youve put in at least some effort. G luck, and dont worry too much! theres so much to life than worrying abt things. Get that form filled up and send it in before the due date!
Ummmm. a B3 for core subjects really is a headache. But your head prefect post might helps...be happy.....
nicole robbin
17-03-2008, 05:50 PM
i get 9a1 2a2 n 1b ...is there a chance for me 2 apply science for jpa scholarship?? advice pls...
mistywie
17-03-2008, 09:45 PM
hey der, im a post-spm student . i got 8a1 n b3 for moral n est. has any1 ever gotten jpa wit such qualification? for medicine
Post moved from this thread (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=4454) and merged
*seehua~
carine
17-03-2008, 11:45 PM
japan n korea engineering they just need b3 for eng..maybe u can try that..
:)..i m from japan engineering ,, if got any question can post message to me
18-03-2008, 12:14 AM
Do try your best to submit and give it your best shot. No harm trying.
If you never try, you will never get it.
elizabeth
18-03-2008, 01:15 AM
hey der, im a post-spm student . i got 8a1 n b3 for moral n est. has any1 ever gotten jpa wit such qualification? for medicine
THink you posted this on the wrong thread. Haha. go straight for the scholarship threads to post there...
but just be confident of yourself. there is no strict rule for academic requirements. dun flunk too badly, make one hell of an impression- it'll do you good.
now go post this ques for more feedback in the correct thread. have a nice day!
Post merged, see above
*seehua~
18-03-2008, 02:52 AM
it does no harm if u try.. just try whether u will be invited for an interview onot , then.. whether will u secure the scholarship.. just try your best and u lost nothing whether you got the scholatship onot ...
18-03-2008, 02:59 PM
There you go, another miraculous case of scholarship awarding to the unworthy.
Everyone is asking whether they stand a chance in obtaining the scholarship. My advice is:" Just try your best" Nevertheless, bear in mind that sometimes there are other factors that may contribute to ones failure in securing the scholarship rather than qualifications.
18-03-2008, 11:24 PM
I would say the same as well. Just apply for it since the only thing that you will be wasting is a few minutes in front of the computer filling in the applications.
After you filled it in, pray that you will get it. If you kept thinking about the fact that you might not get it, i am sure the world will answer to that as your wish as well...
And let not JPA be your 'do or die' agency. Even if you don't get it, there will be lots of other shots coming from lots of other agencies for scholarships.
19-03-2008, 09:29 AM
I would say the same as well. Just apply for it since the only thing that you will be wasting is a few minutes in front of the computer filling in the applications.
After you filled it in, pray that you will get it. If you kept thinking about the fact that you might not get it, i am sure the world will answer to that as your wish as well...
And let not JPA be your 'do or die' agency. Even if you don't get it, there will be lots of other shots coming from lots of other agencies for scholarships.
i agree. in fact, JPA is not the only one that is offering scholarship. there are various public companies and private foundations which offer scholarships or loans especially for those who have low family income. not getting JPA is not your doomsday. there's more than that out there.
19-03-2008, 10:52 PM
i agree. in fact, JPA is not the only one that is offering scholarship. there are various public companies and private foundations which offer scholarships or loans especially for those who have low family income. not getting JPA is not your doomsday. there's more than that out there.
It was doomsday for me 2 years ago.
20-03-2008, 02:13 AM
well, it all comes down to how you think about it. if you are to look at JPA as your one and only option, i have no other say. but seriously there's more than that out there. in fact there's a magazine titled the scholarships of malaysia, or something like that. from there you can see, there's tonnes of scholarships and loans available in malaysia.
20-03-2008, 02:23 PM
well, it all comes down to how you think about it. if you are to look at JPA as your one and only option, i have no other say. but seriously there's more than that out there. in fact there's a magazine titled the scholarships of malaysia, or something like that. from there you can see, there's tonnes of scholarships and loans available in malaysia.
Not all of them are desirable scholarships. Students these days are very greedy, they would really like to further their studies overseas, myself included.
Appolo
20-03-2008, 02:42 PM
It's true that students tend to look for the prestigious first before securing their future with a so-called "not so popular" ones.
It is hard to set a particular standard as to how strong an applicant would be in comaprsion with the applicant pool.
You might say that you have straight A1s, Head prefects, State debator, not so affluent family and blah blah blah and you still receive rejection.The disappointment and resentment grows as you see a candidate weaker than you managed to secure the coveted scholarship and he grin at you.
Trust me, I've been through the same situation.Hence, my only advice is to really put your effort into it and really do well in your application.The selection canbe rather subjective so be sure to bear in mind that you might also face rejection.
Life goes on and you really have to plan ahead! Go and ask around.If your family cannot afford private education for you, go for form 6, matriculation or even local diplomas if you have to.Education does not stop after spm and scholarship applications.It's something for life!
ps: I'm extremely sorry if i have digressed from the topic.
20-03-2008, 07:26 PM
It's true that students tend to look for the prestigious first before securing their future with a so-called "not so popular" ones.
It is hard to set a particular standard as to how strong an applicant would be in comaprsion with the applicant pool.
You might say that you have straight A1s, Head prefects, State debator, not so affluent family and blah blah blah and you still receive rejection.The disappointment and resentment grows as you see a candidate weaker than you managed to secure the coveted scholarship and he grin at you.
Trust me, I've been through the same situation.Hence, my only advice is to really put your effort into it and really do well in your application.The selection canbe rather subjective so be sure to bear in mind that you might also face rejection.
Life goes on and you really have to plan ahead! Go and ask around.If your family cannot afford private education for you, go for form 6, matriculation or even local diplomas if you have to.Education does not stop after spm and scholarship applications.It's something for life!
ps: I'm extremely sorry if i have digressed from the topic.
yes, i totally agree with you.. sometimes you might think you are good yourself, but lest, we always tend to forget the fact that there is always someone better than us. and especially during application for scholarship or gaining entry into universities, we tend to think that as long as we do better that the minimal requirements set forth we would be definitely in, which is not the case. we are always chosen among the pool of people whom some might be less superior than we are while some are better than us. so rejection must always come together with acception.
sNaiL0810
20-03-2008, 07:31 PM
r u pointing me as ur FRIENDS WHOSE RESULT IS EVEN WORSE THAN ME?
sien...anyway, i did. I get 9A
21-03-2008, 04:33 AM
Not all of them are desirable scholarships. Students these days are very greedy, they would really like to further their studies overseas, myself included.
And you will be sour for life? Not getting scholarship doesn't mean doomsday for anybody. It just means that your path in life doesn't take you there. Maybe further down the road you might even be thankful for not getting *the* scholarship because you are much better off somehow than those who did.
davidchak
21-03-2008, 01:47 PM
And you will be sour for life? Not getting scholarship doesn't mean doomsday for anybody. It just means that your path in life doesn't take you there. Maybe further down the road you might even be thankful for not getting *the* scholarship because you are much better off somehow than those who did.
Agree on that. Do keep in mind that getting JPA means that you are bind to government for at least 5 or 6 years of your life.
5 or 6 years could mean a lot to those pursuing their dream.
22-03-2008, 12:18 AM
Yes, I'm thankful =D In fact, never been happier! =D
kaixin90
25-03-2008, 10:14 PM
my advice: regardless what you get for spm, if u hv a bunch of As, just apply. who knows, you might get it. rather than worry n not apply coz u think u wont get it. My policy is always to try, at least if u fail, you know that youve put in at least some effort. G luck, and dont worry too much! theres so much to life than worrying abt things. Get that form filled up and send it in before the due date!
well. i agree. it's better than not trying at all. anyway, i applied the first thing when i got home (while shedding my tears... ><)
i cant believe that my results is worst than my trial. They always said that spm trial would be better than the real exam.
my advise now to all spm takers is : dun believe in your trial exam!
thanks for your advice!
Ummmm. a B3 for core subjects really is a headache. But your head prefect post might helps...be happy.....
hmm..but i wasnt even qualified for the registration...
it's stated there I must have at least 2As for sejarah and bm.
i did know that this exam is going to have a huge impact on my life but I never expect it to be this big..
and now all of my friends is like getting so many scholarships and I am the only one left because I have that 3b in sejarah.
It really does make a lot of difference. just one 3b. even though u might have done better than others in your science subject.. Ah~
i think i will be going for form 6.
now I believe that what matters now is my last achievement. hopefully the history wont repeat itself.
><
thanks for your advice by the way!