View Full Version : My Piece of Advice to the JPA applicants
davidchak
16-03-2008, 10:05 PM
I know it is not easy to get JPA.
But before applying for whatever course you want to, ask yourself the following questions:
1)Are you sure you want to become a doctor or engineer or whichever you apply to?
Doctor and Engineer, these names may sounds glamour. But in reality, did you know that a doctor have to be on call 24/7 and an engineer may have to spent his or her days with machine? Be sure of your interests, dont go with the flow or for the name. Go for your heart, be what your heart wanted to be. Remember, not everyone is tailored for these jobs. No job is bad job. As the chinese proverb, 行行出状元, "all job is good job." goes, it is not the title that is important but your interests.
3)Are you good enough for JPA?
You might think that your 10As results "should be" good enough for JPA. But think it another way, your results are good but JPA wants the BEST. 10As is nothing compared to 10A1s and 10A1s is nothing compared to 14A1s.
If you get JPA medicine with 10As result, I would say its a miracle. Your chances of securing these scholarship with "good" results is, unfortunately, very slim. If your results are "good", why not try other alternative like Biotech, Liberal Arts or even Social Science?
3)Do you have what it takes to secure the scholarship?
Many sought to become engineer and doctor. However, do you have what it takes to get there? Getting JPA doesnt means a ticket to go oversea. You still have to pass your Pre-U studies. I know, you might argue "hey, i got 10As for my SPM" but you must also know that SPM and Pre-U, theres a huge gap in between. Getting good in SPM does not guarantee a high score in your pre-U studies. If you flunk your pre-U ie. not meeting JPA's target, then you gotta kiss good-bye to your scholarship.
Pardon me for any grammatical errors, was too lazy to go over it again. Just my 2cents...
But before applying for whatever course you want to, ask yourself the following questions:
1)Are you sure you want to become a doctor or engineer or whichever you apply to?
Doctor and Engineer, these names may sounds glamour. But in reality, did you know that a doctor have to be on call 24/7 and an engineer may have to spent his or her days with machine? Be sure of your interests, dont go with the flow or for the name. Go for your heart, be what your heart wanted to be. Remember, not everyone is tailored for these jobs. No job is bad job. As the chinese proverb, 行行出状元, "all job is good job." goes, it is not the title that is important but your interests.
You might think that your 10As results "should be" good enough for JPA. But think it another way, your results are good but JPA wants the BEST. 10As is nothing compared to 10A1s and 10A1s is nothing compared to 14A1s.
If you get JPA medicine with 10As result, I would say its a miracle. Your chances of securing these scholarship with "good" results is, unfortunately, very slim. If your results are "good", why not try other alternative like Biotech, Liberal Arts or even Social Science?
Many sought to become engineer and doctor. However, do you have what it takes to get there? Getting JPA doesnt means a ticket to go oversea. You still have to pass your Pre-U studies. I know, you might argue "hey, i got 10As for my SPM" but you must also know that SPM and Pre-U, theres a huge gap in between. Getting good in SPM does not guarantee a high score in your pre-U studies. If you flunk your pre-U ie. not meeting JPA's target, then you gotta kiss good-bye to your scholarship.
Pardon me for any grammatical errors, was too lazy to go over it again. Just my 2cents...
Can share something about Nanotechnology? do JPA offer this??
hey, regarding nanotechnology, i reckon they do offer engineering science...n nanotech is under engineering science. so, yes, it is offered under jpa...
davidchak
16-03-2008, 11:22 PM
I think they do.
Look, the thing is JPA grouped the courses together.
Like Nanotech, you can study Nanotech if you get JPA scholarship for "SAINS" or you can study Nanotech via Nanotech Engineering for JPA Engineering Scholarship
hey, regarding nanotechnology, i reckon they do offer engineering science...n nanotech is under engineering science. so, yes, it is offered under jpa...
i am stuck there now...where is science enginnering????
duke23
16-03-2008, 11:32 PM
david i have a question for you.i messaged u.do check:)
its engineering science.... i.e. you learn half-engine & half-science. Engineers are typically more geared towards the application side and we typically don't bother with derivations etc (just 'use' it). Engineering science gives you a better grounding in understanding the fundamentals, and typically for people who want a career in engineering research.
Nanotech (I really think its a widely misused word) is about technology with at least one spatial dimension that is in the nanoscale and has properties that differ from bulk properties. I'm not sure about JPA's classification, but you can do 'nanotech' in most engineering discipline, i.e. although my major is classified as Electrical Engineering, I deal with nanotechnology exclusively in my research.
17-03-2008, 12:05 AM
Didnt Luke did nanotech or specialized in it or smthg?
davidchak
17-03-2008, 01:30 AM
david i have a question for you.i messaged u.do check:)
Answered your PM.
if anyone of you have any question regarding the "alternatives" do message me. I am always willing to help people.
Btw, I am one of those people who chose alternatives last year and am glad that i secured the scholarship.
duke23
17-03-2008, 01:45 AM
is social science sains ikhtisas?
davidchak
17-03-2008, 01:49 AM
Yes..
I checked with the guidelines posted on eSila. Social Science shld be under Sastera dan Kemanusiaan, cuz the contoh they gave is same like mine last time.
duke23
17-03-2008, 01:56 AM
Yes..
I checked with the guidelines posted on eSila. Social Science shld be under Sastera dan Kemanusiaan, cuz the contoh they gave is same like mine last time.
but there's also economics there
davidchak
17-03-2008, 02:04 AM
Yes. Thats right.
Economics is one big branch of social science.
P/S: I believe i said the samething in my pm.
duke23
17-03-2008, 02:09 AM
Yes. Thats right.
Economics is one big branch of social science.
P/S: I believe i said the samething in my pm.
but on the e sila thingy i dont think they grouped econs and saster and kemanusiaan as one..they seem to have seperated it..although im very much aware that its a brance of social science..just wondering if this might lead to complications later on
17-03-2008, 02:15 PM
1.At the age of 18, many are still unsure as to where their interest lies! Thus, they have no choice but to choose careers which are deemed more respectable than others. Using our 'hearts' can sometimes leads to ill judgements so we might as well use our brains. Generally, all these are very vague since students might make the wrong choices and become ashtray so I don't see the need it.
2.Securing a scholarship for a medical course with 10As? Why not? Believe me, Malaysia is a place where things always happen miraculously! You do realise you will come after fire for posting "10A1s is nothing compared to 14A1s" right? A student's success is not determine by the number of As they obtain! Do not undermine other people's results by posting such foolish statements. I find this very disturbing, even if it meant well. It looks as if you are trying to patronise potential applicants here, instead of giving constructive advice.
3.This is probably the only sensible thing from your post. Nevertheless, I have a friend who scored every grade obtainable for his SPM (A1 to 9G) but still managed to do very well for his pre-university programme.
matchgirl
17-03-2008, 02:26 PM
I get 13A1s plus oso an A1 in GCE
will I stands a chance to get medicine in JPA?
Al-Bert
17-03-2008, 03:03 PM
1.At the age of 18, many are still unsure as to where their interest lies! Thus, they have no choice but to choose careers which are deemed more respectable than others. Using our 'hearts' can sometimes leads to ill judgements so we might as well use our brains. Generally, all these are very vague since students might make the wrong choices and become ashtray so I don't see the need it.
2.Securing a scholarship for a medical course with 10As? Why not? Believe me, Malaysia is a place where things always happen miraculously! You do realise you will come after fire for posting "10A1s is nothing compared to 14A1s" right? A student's success is not determine by the number of As they obtain! Do not undermine other people's results by posting such foolish statements. I find this very disturbing, even if it meant well. It looks as if you are trying to patronise potential applicants here, instead of giving constructive advice.
3.This is probably the only sensible thing from your post. Nevertheless, I have a friend who scored every grade obtainable for his SPM (A1 to 9G) but still managed to do very well for his pre-university programme.
1.) Agreed...
2.) I have to stand by Davidchak in regard to this issue... If you find your result has slim chance to secure the scholarship for medical course, then you should try to think of applying the scholarship for other courses that may interest you if you want the scholarship badly... I never aim to something with low chance of success...
3.) You'll be kicked too if you don't do well in university level after pre-U.... i guess so...
17-03-2008, 03:08 PM
Frankly, your chance is rather high...
matchgirl
17-03-2008, 03:40 PM
Frankly, your chance is rather high...
i hope so.......
cos the oni b is in est...
btw, does anyone know what should i bring wear or pay attention to during the hospital visits?
17-03-2008, 04:16 PM
i hope so.......
cos the oni b is in est...
btw, does anyone know what should i bring wear or pay attention to during the hospital visits?
For the attire, just be polite and easy for you to move around (you have to visit several departments everyday). There aren't many things you should bring, you might want to bring a notebook and pen to jot down things if you want, and the letter which request you to the exposure programme. Just make it a visit to hospital, nothing related will be asked in interview. Though, you'll have to write a review after the visit and send it together during interview.
matchgirl
17-03-2008, 04:43 PM
For the attire, just be polite and easy for you to move around (you have to visit several departments everyday). There aren't many things you should bring, you might want to bring a notebook and pen to jot down things if you want, and the letter which request you to the exposure programme. Just make it a visit to hospital, nothing related will be asked in interview. Though, you'll have to write a review after the visit and send it together during interview.
so is t-shirt plus jeans ok?
17-03-2008, 04:54 PM
what is sastera dan kemanusiaan under Jpa? i am a science student , is it possible for me to choose this course? Is sastera dan kemanusiaan related to science? what is the job prospect?
17-03-2008, 04:54 PM
so is t-shirt plus jeans ok?
Some staff in hospital might give some comments but I suppose it should be all right since they're not going to judge you or give marks.
nicole robbin
17-03-2008, 05:45 PM
senior or whoelse..i need d advice now...i get 9a1 2a2 n 1b...is there chances 4 me 2 get jpa scholarship 4 science???
davidchak
17-03-2008, 05:58 PM
what is sastera dan kemanusiaan under Jpa? i am a science student , is it possible for me to choose this course? Is sastera dan kemanusiaan related to science? what is the job prospect?
They may have changed the name this year. But i think it includes social science as well since the examples it gave are the same as I applied last year.
Social Science includes Psychology as well.
nicole robbin
17-03-2008, 06:14 PM
wat is pyocology??
is social science sains ikhtisas?
duke, they are two separate courses. Social science has nothing direct to do with science. It's more towards psychology thingy.;)
sugarspice
17-03-2008, 11:23 PM
Answered your PM.
if anyone of you have any question regarding the "alternatives" do message me. I am always willing to help people.
Btw, I am one of those people who chose alternatives last year and am glad that i secured the scholarship.
hello david. may i ask what did u mean by "alternatives"??
thanks.
18-03-2008, 09:45 AM
Some staff in hospital might give some comments but I suppose it should be all right since they're not going to judge you or give marks.
i would say jeans would not be really appropriate, though i would say the hospital staffs would bother no less to make a fuss out of it. but i'd say pants would be a more appropriate attire. t-short would be fine, but hopefully not with those "expressive" designs. a plain sober coloured t-shirt would be better.
senior or whoelse..i need d advice now...i get 9a1 2a2 n 1b...is there chances 4 me 2 get jpa scholarship 4 science???
well, if you are interested in science, you do stand a chance, rather high i'd say. but tough fight would be emminent. again, it depends on which subject you got B. if its science related or any of the core subjects, then things might be different.
nicole robbin
18-03-2008, 12:23 PM
i get b 4 my sst n 2a2 4 my bc n moral..i m hesistating 2 apply enginerin 2 korea or sains 2 europe conutry la...which stand 2 higer chance??
davidchak
18-03-2008, 02:16 PM
Korean universities are hard to get in...
18-03-2008, 02:58 PM
Gal, opt for something better instead of JPA. You are better than that. =)
18-03-2008, 05:01 PM
Gal, opt for something better instead of JPA. You are better than that. =)
Perhaps you're right, but if she's is really interested in doing medicine, JPA would be a more direct way, since there aren't many scholarships available for students who are willing to do medicine, JPA is one of the good options.
Could anyone give me some examples of what courses would be under the 'Sains' option? Like nanotech was under engineering, etc.
18-03-2008, 05:58 PM
Physics, chemistry, biology...Hehe, be creative and you can think up of a lot of names yourself.
i am stuck there now...where is science enginnering????
where or what? engineering science is the highest level of engineering...itz like...a major of engineering...just that itz more advanced compared to mechanical, electrical, etc. so, if u wanna pursue in nanotechnology, u can do it through enrolling urself in engineering science...
insertusername
18-03-2008, 06:57 PM
when will the interviews start?
18-03-2008, 10:19 PM
around 1 week after u know u r shortlisted for interview
wendy191
18-03-2008, 11:25 PM
panggilan mengikut program pendedahan kerjaya seorang doktor (bagi pelajar yang memohon perubatan)-- 21 Mac
program pendedahan kerjaya doktor - 24 Mac hingga 28 Mac
panggilan temuduga - 28 Mac
Temuduga JPA- 1 hingga 4 April
19-03-2008, 09:30 AM
OMG.. this is so fast.. good luck guys!!!!
19-03-2008, 10:05 AM
duke, they are two separate courses. Social science has nothing direct to do with science. It's more towards psychology thingy.;)Social science IS science, just a different branch.
Physics, chemistry, biology...Hehe, be creative and you can think up of a lot of names yourself.Well, i am guessing that most school leavers cannot go past physics, chem and bio. In between these names that are lots of things that can be branched out of them as well, like astrophysics, biochemistry, and so on.
19-03-2008, 02:16 PM
Physics, chemistry, biology...Hehe, be creative and you can think up of a lot of names yourself.
you forgot math.
matchgirl
19-03-2008, 02:47 PM
Perhaps you're right, but if she's is really interested in doing medicine, JPA would be a more direct way, since there aren't many scholarships available for students who are willing to do medicine, JPA is one of the good options.
i really hope that i can get jpa.
cos i will have to do form 6 if i cant get it...
miracle seed is right there arent many scholarships offer to students who want to study medicine..plus i have a sole B3 in EST and i dunno would it affect my chances or not.
19-03-2008, 05:59 PM
i really hope that i can get jpa.
cos i will have to do form 6 if i cant get it...
miracle seed is right there arent many scholarships offer to students who want to study medicine..plus i have a sole B3 in EST and i dunno would it affect my chances or not.
not to be a spoilsport, but from previous knowledge, i would say the chances are not that high. especially for medicine.
davidchak
19-03-2008, 06:52 PM
A straight A1 is a must if you wan to compete with others in getting medic scholarship, imo.
Al-Bert
19-03-2008, 07:02 PM
A straight A1 is a must if you wan to compete with others in getting medic scholarship, imo.
Are you sure? If I'm not mistaken, JPA provides the most seats for medic course out of 2000 scholarships offered...
In my opinion ( study based on this year's trend ), a straight A1 is only a must if only you wish JPA to send you to do medic course in Europe or Australia or New Zealand....
19-03-2008, 09:06 PM
Are you sure? If I'm not mistaken, JPA provides the most seats for medic course out of 2000 scholarships offered...
In my opinion ( study based on this year's trend ), a straight A1 is only a must if only you wish JPA to send you to do medic course in Europe or Australia or New Zealand....
Yup, it's true...
And an add-on, for JPA scholarship, it's not really necessary to have straight A1 to get Western countries for medicine, but from past years' trends, you'll need at least 12A1, or else, normally you'll get East Europe countries, India, and Indonesia. To secure JPA scholarship for medicine, you don't really need straight A1s, but at least 10A1, if there isn't much changes this year.
19-03-2008, 10:33 PM
Yes, for certain groups of individuals only.
20-03-2008, 02:16 AM
well, they do offer most seats for medicine, but then again supply and demand. there's way more students who wants to aply for medicine than any other courses.
Yup, it's true...
And an add-on, for JPA scholarship, it's not really necessary to have straight A1 to get Western countries for medicine, but from past years' trends, you'll need at least 12A1, or else, normally you'll get East Europe countries, India, and Indonesia. To secure JPA scholarship for medicine, you don't really need straight A1s, but at least 10A1, if there isn't much changes this year.
i'd agree. but then again, you also need to have a strong background in your non academic areas.
matchgirl
20-03-2008, 07:56 PM
Yup, it's true...
ok, i get 14 A1s an a B3, so do i stands a great or moderate or none-at-all chance?
Hamster
20-03-2008, 08:38 PM
A piece of advise to all potential JPA scholarship holders, be very careful when you fill up your application forms, do your best during the interview, be presentable. You need not have to go in latest fashion or branded attire. Be neat and tidy, bring along the required documents and most of all your CONFIDENCE.
21-03-2008, 12:21 AM
ok, i get 14 A1s an a B3, so do i stands a great or moderate or none-at-all chance?
I would say, great chance, if only results is considered. I don't know about others.....
elizabeth
21-03-2008, 02:13 AM
2)Are you good enough for JPA?
1) I agree with you, though admittedly many are still unsure about their options. Just listen to your heart, think about what you might like, weigh your strengths and weaknesses, and decide! let not your parents decide for you!
2) That hurts, David. Are you implying that people like me can only apply for Biotech and such? (I got Biotech US btw- and I got 10 1As -proud of the small town gal's achievements-)
medic is demanding, but who is to say 10 1As is not enough? As are not good indicators of success! (my fav refutation) Many great men didn't even completed high school (read: Thomas Edison) and yet they performed greatly in life, science included... Shame on you to patronize this way!
And whoever said that Biotech and Liberal Arts are inferior? (you certainly do imply it!) Do you know that some of the best universities in the US place emphasis on the integration of sciences (or any major, as a matter of fact) WITH liberal arts? The universities actually take pride in creating holistic individuals- hence note the importance of liberal arts! Biotech is tough too, just ask any ADFP student in INTEC, they will tell you that the course is demanding and difficult! For this semester, those most deprived of sleep to study is Biotech+Calculus students- Engineering students have more free time! (sorry I can only relate a lot to ADFP- since I am in that program) It might not be as thorough as Medic when it comes to the study of the physiology and anatomy, but the subject is excellent in its own standards- like the detailed aspect of studies of the genome and proteins.
and I would like to emphasize again, many 1As are not indications of success. for me, taking 10 subjects was due to practicality. Sure, I could have taken Accounts and Art and Bible Study or Buddhism and get 13 1As instead. But what's the point? If I want to be a research scientist in a Bio lab, what am I to do with Art? Be a better artist in sketching cells? To shade them? To use an array of color in painting the cells? How about accounts? to calculate the net profit of amoebas? ANd unless I am very passionate about my religion to devote many many many hours studying the intricacies of the religion without the aid of a teacher (and risk a C in my paper- I'd say), why must I take it?
Geez, I just wish you would have phrased it better! Currently, my impression of you is a 14 1As student who got medic and is damn egoistic about it!
3) Some people are late bloomers, dear. If I am so gullible as to take your words verbatim, I will just say that I got 10 As out of luck, not capability (since I thought I flunked my Bio), and that a small town gal like me should just go get married and forsake all dreams of going abroad, coz' hey, what chance will I get? MERELY 10 1As, mediocre co-curriculum, and so 'bagan' from 'small town no one knows, how to fight with the KLites?'...
But I chose to chase my dreams. I am now heading for US, and I am proud to say that I had gotten decent marks in SAT and TOEFL and INTEC exams- this small town gal did well enough to be in the list of the nine people who passed the three prerequisites of JPA to apply to Ivy League and Ivy League Standard.
*I am not trying to brag, but I just want to prove that even if others think you are not good enough- trusting in yourself is imperative in life- you can prove them wrong and succeed! Take their criticism and skepticism as a challenge to improve yourself and annihilate their stand*
David might mean well, but to all of you out there, do not EVER doubt yourself. Do not allow others to pressure you into doubting yourself~! Each of us is unique; there is something worth pursuing in there. If you think you are good enough for it, go for it! My friend with 9 1As and 1 3B managed to secure JPA scholarship to Korea for Engineering!
Just believe and try. You lose nothing by trying your best, and everything to gain! Have faith!
"The brave might not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all". Don't go for your interview with no confidence in yourself. Just try your best no matter what- you do not want to regret it too late down the pathway of life.
davidchak
21-03-2008, 03:24 AM
Geez, I feel tempted to quote you but the page will be dragged down for sure.
2) I do not mean that liberal arts and others are inferior to others.
Just that instead of going into main stream, why not consider other alternatives? Alternatives doesnt necessary means inferior.
Yes, I know A1s are not indicator of cleverness but it does when it comes to JPA judgment. Look, 10A1s are excellent in my opinion. But to JPA and other sponsors, you are still one class lower than those with 12A1. And 12A1 are still in lower class than 14A1s. As for Medic, you do know that Medic is hot cake to all SPM grad. Obviously, the standard will be raised when there were too many good students applying for the scholarship. And in that case, your chances will be slimmer if your results are just "good".
3)Both of our statements are mere asusmption. There are people who do bad in their SPM but excels in their Pre-U and there were people who did excellent in SPM but terribly in Pre-U. The main point here is that SPM do not indicate good result in Pre-U.
I do not wish to diminish or make others doubt of their ability. What i meant here is that, do not chase blindly to the major course. Take a deep breath, rethink what you really want. Thats all.
I am sorry if you feel that way.
Btw, I do know about US education and I think their system is great. If I am not mistaken, during the first two year, you ought to take the courses from all 4 disciplines. In the third year only you will be taking courses related to your major.
P/S: I am no medic scholar nor i did get 14A1s. Heck, I didnt even get 10A1s! lol
21-03-2008, 04:09 AM
Well, the number of A1s doesn't really determine whether the student gets the course of their dreams or not. Just look around you guys, i'd bet there are students that only have 6As and still managed to get into the medical programme
Al-Bert
21-03-2008, 09:54 AM
2) That hurts, David. Are you implying that people like me can only apply for Biotech and such? (I got Biotech US btw- and I got 10 1As -proud of the small town gal's achievements-)
medic is demanding, but who is to say 10 1As is not enough? As are not good indicators of success! (my fav refutation) Many great men didn't even completed high school (read: Thomas Edison) and yet they performed greatly in life, science included... Shame on you to patronize this way!
And whoever said that Biotech and Liberal Arts are inferior? (you certainly do imply it!) .
Dear Elizabeth, please reread Davidchak's first post again... You didn't really get his point...
The amount of A is really the indicators of success in securing the JPA scholarship... He never mentioned As are the indicators of success in future...
Davidchak never implied anything that Biotech or Liberal Arts are inferior.. He promoted the equal in nobility of all kind of jobs - He wrote 行行出状元, "all jobs is good jobs"!
sNaiL0810
21-03-2008, 01:27 PM
i am sure david are not making an insulting point here
calm down everyone
elizabeth
21-03-2008, 05:38 PM
Rereading it, I find that his (davidchak's) words are not insulting by themselves, that I have to admit.
But reading them under the heading "Are you good enough for JPA?" made me raise my eyebrows. Coz' when I connect the statements to the heading, I read nuances... and his usage of ( "good" ) made me think he's implying 10 1As is a horrible result. If I think that something is good, but not great, then I differentiate the two by saying: you need great results to secure Medic- good results might be insufficient in the eyes of JPA...
rather that "good" results... I usually use " XXX" to emphasize on sarcasm. (the quotation marks is used to indicate sarcasm- geez I am wording this badly)
Perhaps I am just oversensitive- overanalyzing and thinking too much- making deductions out of nothing of substance. *bow head* I apologize. Gomen!
Oh. David. I agree about the JPA and SPM student perception on 12 1As and Medic. It shows the mentality... Sadness in mentality. Where has true passion gone? A good number of those who are studying medic (source from a JPA medic scholar in Manipal) take it merely because it has good prospects. good money etc.
I'm not entirely sure I want someone so nonchalant about the profession treating me! Think properly before you decide- I have had establish doctors in my local hospital advising me against taking medicine. (hence I have never even entertained thoughts of taking up medic)
Don't jump on the bandwagon. Look beyond what's popular to what you're truly passionate about.
oh. and you did get the gist of US education. That's why I love it so much. =D I can study close to anything I want if I have the time and if the university offers it
21-03-2008, 06:56 PM
Oh. David. I agree about the JPA and SPM student perception on 12 1As and Medic. It shows the mentality... Sadness in mentality. Where has true passion gone? A good number of those who are studying medic (source from a JPA medic scholar in Manipal) take it merely because it has good prospects. good money etc.
I'm not entirely sure I want someone so nonchalant about the profession treating me! Think properly before you decide- I have had establish doctors in my local hospital advising me against taking medicine. (hence I have never even entertained thoughts of taking up medic)
Don't jump on the bandwagon. Look beyond what's popular to what you're truly passionate about.
Well, a lot of people did ask me about why i didn't take up medicine, and intead took up engineering instead. My reply to them? I do what i like to do...
21-03-2008, 08:09 PM
Hehe, same here. Though I can't be sure whether I am passionate about my current course but one thing is for sure, it beats medicine hands down.
bluez_aspic
21-03-2008, 08:29 PM
[[edited]]
Hamster
21-03-2008, 08:34 PM
hey, you guys out there, please stop arguing bt how many A1s you get and who is more superior. My friend who is top girl iin her school, gets 12A1s, father unemployed, mum salary less than 2k was rejected by JPA. So to you who successfully got a place. please treasure and work hard, and to those who do not get a place, its not the end of the road.
Myself_psl
21-03-2008, 08:42 PM
Can i get some advice from senior?
i am applying for jpa, i choose pharmacy course, can i know how to prepare for the interview?
21-03-2008, 11:06 PM
Can i get some advice from senior?
i am applying for jpa, i choose pharmacy course, can i know how to prepare for the interview?
You mights want to look around a bit. There are lots of tips laying around already...
22-03-2008, 12:11 AM
i am sure david are not making an insulting point here
calm down everyone Interpretations vary between individuals.
hey, you guys out there, please stop arguing bt how many A1s you get and who is more superior. My friend who is top girl iin her school, gets 12A1s, father unemployed, mum salary less than 2k was rejected by JPA. So to you who successfully got a place. please treasure and work hard, and to those who do not get a place, its not the end of the road.
I feel for you friend. It is disheartening to see that these cases still prevail despite numerous calls for meritocracy in their awarding of the scholarship.
Well, the number of A1s doesn't really determine whether the student gets the course of their dreams or not. Just look around you guys, i'd bet there are students that only have 6As and still managed to get into the medical programme
How right you are!! Puzzling isn't it??
22-03-2008, 12:22 AM
Well, the number of A1s doesn't really determine whether the student gets the course of their dreams or not. Just look around you guys, i'd bet there are students that only have 6As and still managed to get into the medical programmeHow right you are!! Puzzling isn't it??
Sometimes, scholarships involve more than results, and more things than what we can imagine.... And most of the time we can't change it, we do not have the power and influences like some other people...
lost lamb
22-03-2008, 01:09 AM
Can u guys stop arguing and give us advices?(i mean the chaos tht started by david)
It's actually depends on luck to secure jpa scholarship(my personal thought),because there're so many weird examples of outstanding students can't get scholarship).
what i'm goin to ask is that wat are the sub courses under "science" in jpa scholarships?
I heard Xon said got 26 sciences,can anyone tell me about all 26 courses available?
22-03-2008, 09:47 AM
Can u guys stop arguing and give us advices?(i mean the chaos tht started by david)
It's actually depends on luck to secure jpa scholarship(my personal thought),because there're so many weird examples of outstanding students can't get scholarship).
what i'm goin to ask is that wat are the sub courses under "science" in jpa scholarships?
I heard Xon said got 26 sciences,can anyone tell me about all 26 courses available?
I don't see any arguing here, just discussion. Anyway, you've used the wrong thread to ask your questions.
22-03-2008, 10:05 AM
No one is going to write down about all 26 since I doubt anyone knows more than a few. My friends here are under JPA science but most of them are sticking to one main stream before discovering their path and specialized in them.
And, btw, rose of different names still smells the same. Thus is something JPA could not grasp as each uni has different name for the same course. So, sometimes, the student as a hard time applying to a uni because the name of the course differs from what is stated by JPA.
matchgirl
22-03-2008, 08:32 PM
I would say, great chance, if only results is considered. I don't know about others.....
i am very active in kk,and had won 3 national prizes last two years...
i participate in 2 languages debate team, forum, essay writings contest and many more...
i am a schol prefect and also the editor of the school mag.....
i am a representative in badminton club...
22-03-2008, 09:10 PM
No one is going to write down about all 26 since I doubt anyone knows more than a few. My friends here are under JPA science but most of them are sticking to one main stream before discovering their path and specialized in them.
And, btw, rose of different names still smells the same. Thus is something JPA could not grasp as each uni has different name for the same course. So, sometimes, the student as a hard time applying to a uni because the name of the course differs from what is stated by JPA.Sometimes, people are so attached to the 'name' that calling it by any other means will turn it into a completely different thing...
davidchak
22-03-2008, 09:14 PM
i am very active in kk,and had won 3 national prizes last two years...
i participate in 2 languages debate team, forum, essay writings contest and many more...
i am a schol prefect and also the editor of the school mag.....
i am a representative in badminton club...
I would say you have very high chance of getting it. Provided that you dont screw up your interview, psychology test(yes, they have one), and your family is not super rich.
22-03-2008, 09:18 PM
I would say you have very high chance of getting it. Provided that you dont screw up your interview, psychology test(yes, they have one), and your family is not super rich.
Don't worry about the psychology test. I don't think it will affect anything.
p.s. You can manipulate the psychology test to your own liking. Had you ever took the psychology test in your school? It is almost the same thing. Figure out how to count each personality and you can adjust your answer to get what you. But as for me, I answered truthfully because honesty is the best policy.
22-03-2008, 09:20 PM
p.s. You can manipulate the psychology test to your own liking. Had you ever took the psychology test in your school? It is almost the same thing. Figure out how to count each personality and you can adjust your answer to get what you. But as for me, I answered truthfully because honesty is the best policy.
Cheating in a psychology test is just like cheating yourself, don't do it...
elizabeth
22-03-2008, 11:08 PM
And, btw, rose of different names still smells the same. Thus is something JPA could not grasp as each uni has different name for the same course. So, sometimes, the student as a hard time applying to a uni because the name of the course differs from what is stated by JPA.
Hear hear...
I'm having a tough time because fewer than ten schools in the US (at least, those approved by JPA) has Biotechnology...
23-03-2008, 02:10 PM
That is ill-advised. Cheating gets you no where in life.
insertusername
23-03-2008, 04:24 PM
That is ill-advised. Cheating gets you no where in life.
seriously?
23-03-2008, 05:13 PM
seriously?
Just look at Bush. Or most politicians out there.
23-03-2008, 06:19 PM
DIGRESSION..
Cheating in a psychology test is just like cheating yourself, don't do it...
Actually, that's not called cheating. It is just memorizing answers.. You have done the test before, and then just recall from the memory and shade the answer..
What's wrong with that?
23-03-2008, 06:52 PM
DIGRESSION..
Actually, that's not called cheating. It is just memorizing answers.. You have done the test before, and then just recall from the memory and shade the answer..
What's wrong with that?
You should be answering honestly rather than memorizing answers... Why treat it just like another version of pendidikan moral?
insertusername
23-03-2008, 08:27 PM
meh theyre better off than most people
lost lamb
24-03-2008, 05:33 PM
I don't see any arguing here, just discussion. Anyway, you've used the wrong thread to ask your questions.
OOhhh, just realise about it,thanks for telling.I thought this thread is about advices on courses.
25-03-2008, 04:10 AM
meh theyre better off than most people
not really. They got to carry their bad names and actions to their graves...
Imaging the shame of being named the worst president of the United States and having the live the rest of your live knowing that...