View Full Version : US Universities Application FAQ V.2

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Leen
20-03-2008, 08:17 AM
Ok. The last thread was full. It will create a lot of headaches to browse through more than 2000+ post in the first thread.

For archieving purposes, this is the link to the earlier version of this thread.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1143

This is what you do here.
If you have good tips that you want to share here, please do so.

If you have specific questions to ask, ask here.

If you have the answers to the questions, post here.

Any unnecessary posts here will be deleted and poster will be reprimanded.

Thank you for your co-operation.

t
20-03-2008, 04:51 PM
this is what i found when i googled around.
the following colleges will meet 100% of your need if you are accepted
A)National Universities:
Harvard(need blind to internationals meaning ur financial situation will have no effect in the admission commitee's decision)
Princeton(need blind to internationals)
Yale(need blind to internationals)
Columbia University:Fu Foundation(engineering school)
Columbia University:Columbia College
Brown
Dartmouth
UPenn
Cornell
mit
georgetown(not sure, research it)
tufts
brandeis
lehigh(doesn't give that much)
georgewashington university(not sure, research into it)
Duke
UChicago
Cooper Union (will give full tuition to all accepted,including internationals-so if you can afford $10,000 its worth applying)

B)LAC
williams(need blind to internationals)
amherst
swarthmore
midllebury(need blind to internationals)
bates
bowdoin
colby
haverford
wesleyan
vassar
colgate
hamilton
washington and lee
trintity college
lafayette
bard
union
dickinson
franklin and marshall
sarah lawrence
gettysburg
skidmore
wheaton
st.lawrence
carleton, reed, macalester, oberlin, kenyon, colorado,whitman, connecticut, grinnell,occidental,lawrence(doesn't give much)

t
20-03-2008, 04:57 PM
i'm not so sure about wheaton and brandeis

aquila
20-03-2008, 04:59 PM
Hi folks,
Someone I know just got a full tuition scholarship under the GLobal Scholars Program to attend Clark University in fall 2008. I was wondering if there's any Clark alumni on Recom who wouldn't mind sharing what he/she thinks about Clark. Anyone who knows anything about Clark, I would really appreciate it if you can help us out here.

How is Clark's curriculum/studying environment/student life/research and service opportunities like?
What is Clark's reputation like?
Do employers/grad schools look favorably upon Clark alumni who have done well in school?

Thanks for your help!

forEVA
20-03-2008, 06:01 PM
err.. based on the previous responses by the senior citizens of recom in the earlier US uni app thread, getting a place in cornell doesnt guarantee a full ride there. ):

caramel_nut
20-03-2008, 06:06 PM
Columbia University is one of the stingiest colleges. Even if you are admitted, there is a very low chance of getting a decent financial aid package.

Besides, if you are applying for financial aid for some of the stingy colleges, you are basically out. The same applies to UPenn. The only way to get admitted by UPenn for an international student with aid is to apply EA. Even that is hard, considering the stiff competition and there are always many other students who are equally qualified but do not need finaid. Chicago has extremely limited finaid and I have not heard of anyone admitted by Chicago with aid yet.

caramel_nut
20-03-2008, 06:20 PM
Also, one thing to take into consideration about financial aid is the components that it consists. Be aware of the "self-help", "loans" and "expected parents contribution". Some finaid packages come with huge chunks of loans or self-help = not good. You wouldn't want to graduate with tons of loans or work yourself to death during the semester.

20-03-2008, 10:40 PM
err.. based on the previous responses by the senior citizens of recom in the earlier US uni app thread, getting a place in cornell doesnt guarantee a full ride there. ):

For Cornell, need blind is only for Americans.

For international students, the total financial aid is for 30 people. So, it would be a small number of international students would get financial aid. Cornell is on a fund raising drive to raise money, and any Cornell alumni can donate for this cause.

Congrats to 2 ReComers who managed to get into Uni of Chicago, and 2 more who are waitlisted!

Congrats to Su Ann (aka pinkpau) and Eu Win!

To Li Xian and Yi Xiang, all the best in your convertion of wait-listing to acceptance!

caramel_nut
21-03-2008, 12:47 AM
Columbia University is one of the stingiest colleges. Even if you are admitted, there is a very low chance of getting a decent financial aid package.

Besides, if you are applying for financial aid for some of the stingy colleges, you are basically out. The same applies to UPenn. The only way to get admitted by UPenn for an international student with aid is to apply EA. Even that is hard, considering the stiff competition and there are always many other students who are equally qualified but do not need finaid. Chicago has extremely limited finaid and I have not heard of anyone admitted by Chicago with aid yet.I got a PM regarding Stanford, so I thought I'd just share my thoughts here. For the past few years, Stanford has been need-aware towards internationals and applying for aid would seriously decrease your chances. Many int. students who were admitted in the past, chose NOT to submit a financial aid application despite needing the aid. Their main concern was to secure the offer, then seek for money later through other channels. Stanford has recently (as of last year) made some changes to their financial aid policy but as far as I know, the enhancements apply mainly to domestic students. Deducing from this line on Stanford's website:

"For all but some international applicants, financial status will not affect the admission decision."

I would think that unfortunately Stanford is still beyond reach of international students who need finaid. Stanford's endowment is actually pretty big, so I have been wondering where the $$$ goes if they don't spend it on international students' finaid or make any efforts to do that. xD

aquamarine7
21-03-2008, 01:39 AM
hi,i have a question:
i have already done 1 1/2 of adp in a local private college..if i wud like to apply to any need-blind uni as freshman, is it alright??i mean is it against the policy or anything?
Thanks in advance=)

Matt
21-03-2008, 03:52 AM
hi,i have a question:
i have already done 1 1/2 of adp in a local private college..if i wud like to apply to any need-blind uni as freshman, is it alright??i mean is it against the policy or anything?
Thanks in advance=)

Hmm. I guess it's rather tricky, and you'll have to send in emails to the universities asking for exemptions from their normal policies -- which is if you have done any degree transfer program or any courses providing university-level credits, you'll have to apply as a transfer applicant.

Alternatively, you can check if you can get your college to send in an application saying that you've treated that as a pre-u and not a transfer thing. But do check with the universities you wanna apply to.

I guess another thing to consider specifically for your case is that if you're applying to need-blind unis, means you're applying for admission in the fall of 2009, which means you'll apply at the end of this coming year. By then you'll have completed more than 2 years or so, and it's probably more unlikely that the universities will grant you exemption from their normal policies.

andrewlza
21-03-2008, 11:04 AM
hi,i have a question:
Thanks in advance=)

Email Pink Pau Su Ann -- she will be able to speak from her experience. http://quaintly.net.

aquamarine7
21-03-2008, 12:28 PM
owh so its actually much more complicated than it seems..the best thing is i shud email the need blind unis and find out from them i guess..Thanks guys=p

t
21-03-2008, 01:49 PM
Is there any other public school, such as Texas A&M, that offers financial aid to international students?

darkhello
23-03-2008, 12:21 AM
To answer your question, here's an excerpt from the NAFSA (www.nafsa.org) website:

Some public and private universities offer financial incentives for students to attend their institution. Most of the institutional aid available to international students is reserved for graduate study in the form of assistantships and fellowships. Because it is uncommon for U.S. institutions to offer aid to undergraduate international students, such scholarships are often quite competitive

Also, tuition fees at public universities are significantly cheaper than private ones, making it harder for internationals to get financial assistance. However, many small, liberal-arts colleges (for example: Williams, Middlebury and Mt. Holyoke) do offer a generous amount of aid and they are very well-worth checking out.

chyen
23-03-2008, 03:26 AM
However, many small, liberal-arts colleges (for example: Williams, Middlebury and Mt. Holyoke) do offer a generous amount of aid and they are very well-worth checking out.

LOL coincidentally, I just found out today I got admitted at Mount Holyoke. But I was horrified when I learned of the financial aid package they offered me!

Err basically under "Financial Need" they wrote "$0". I understand that when it comes to need-based aid, the college evaluates your family's financial situation and tries to meet your financial needs? Which is why I find it odd (okay, I was shocked) to find that MHC gave me a $10k grant + $3k loan + $2k work. There is no way I can attend MHC with that aid package (I'd have to pay around $36k a year)!

My parents are going, "See? Told you U.S. expensive." Our annual family income is below $40k, no family business, no assets worth a gazillion Ringgit. I wonder if it is normal for the average Malaysian from a middle (or perhaps lower-middle) class family to get such a financial aid package (from an LAC)?

Naively, I heard that LACs are generous, and I actually thought I'd get a better aid package than this LOL.

caramel_nut
24-03-2008, 04:30 AM
LOL coincidentally, I just found out today I got admitted at Mount Holyoke. But I was horrified when I learned of the financial aid package they offered me!

Err basically under "Financial Need" they wrote "$0". I understand that when it comes to need-based aid, the college evaluates your family's financial situation and tries to meet your financial needs? Which is why I find it odd (okay, I was shocked) to find that MHC gave me a $10k grant + $3k loan + $2k work. There is no way I can attend MHC with that aid package (I'd have to pay around $36k a year)!

My parents are going, "See? Told you U.S. expensive." Our annual family income is below $40k, no family business, no assets worth a gazillion Ringgit. I wonder if it is normal for the average Malaysian from a middle (or perhaps lower-middle) class family to get such a financial aid package (from an LAC)?

Naively, I heard that LACs are generous, and I actually thought I'd get a better aid package than this LOL.Why don't you write back to MHC and request them to re-evaluate your need for a better financial aid package? Give them good reasons backed with solid explanations and I'm sure they'd at least reconsider your finaid application.

ngai
25-03-2008, 11:17 AM
For Cornell, need blind is only for Americans.

For international students, the total financial aid is for 30 people. So, it would be a small number of international students would get financial aid. Cornell is on a fund raising drive to raise money, and any Cornell alumni can donate for this cause.

Congrats to 2 ReComers who managed to get into Uni of Chicago, and 2 more who are waitlisted!

Congrats to Su Ann (aka pinkpau) and Eu Win!

To Li Xian and Yi Xiang, all the best in your convertion of wait-listing to acceptance!

Hey Chen Chow, I got Chicago as well! Funny thing, cos I did not realize that they replied last Wednesday. Thought it would be April 1 like the rest!

25-03-2008, 08:03 PM
Congrats to ngai for getting Chicago!

Congrats to michii for getting Chicago too!

Congrats to pinkpau for getting NYU!

Syabas!

Anymore good news?

So, 4 ReComers got into Chicago already this year!

elizabeth
27-03-2008, 12:59 AM
Yep. More good news.

From INTEC, we have five successes in entering Northwestern.

Chia Chyuan, Mei Yueh, Yoke Peng, Tong Wei and Chun How.

Waitlisted: Sabrina, Elizabeth

If I'm not mistaken, two more from INTI was accepted, and a few more waitlisted, though I apologize I cannot remember their names...

darkhello
27-03-2008, 02:35 PM
Congrats to those who gained recent acceptance into the universities! For those who were waitlisted, here's a word of comfort. As someone who has managed to turn the ambiguity of being on the waitlist for the class of 2011 into the reality of acceptance, I urge you to NOT give up. A chance is a chance- no matter how slim it may be. If you are wondering what steps to take next, how to go about doing it or what type of updates the admissions might be looking for, I am more than willing to offer guidance and help.

Just email me!

ngai
27-03-2008, 06:42 PM
Congrats to those who gained recent acceptance into the universities! For those who were waitlisted, here's a word of comfort. As someone who has managed to turn the ambiguity of being on the waitlist for the class of 2011 into the reality of acceptance, I urge you to NOT give up. A chance is a chance- no matter how slim it may be. If you are wondering what steps to take next, how to go about doing it or what type of updates the admissions might be looking for, I am more than willing to offer guidance and help.

Just email me!

Darkhello, did you happen to gain acceptance into Yale? (Since you are in New Haven, CT) And you were waitlisted when the April 1 decisions were announced? How long did it take for them to bring you in in the end?

28-03-2008, 01:47 AM
For US University Admissions, would like to convey my latest congrats to:-

(The actual figures for Malaysia could be higher, below are those who I have found out)
Chicago (5 admits and 2 wait list) - Su Ann, Eu Win, Michelle, Jin Tik, Vincent (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Li Xian)

Dartmouth (1 admit) - Amy Ang (MBA at Tuck)

Harvard (1 admit) - Lin Lee (PhD)

MIT (2 admits) - Lin Lee (PhD), 1 undergrad

Mount Holyoke (1 admit) - chyen

Northwestern (6 admits and 5 wait lists) - Mei Yueh, Chia Chyuan, Yoke Peng, Tong Wei, Josh Foo, Fiona (Wait List: Sabrina, Julia, Jia Mun, Claire, Chun How)

NYU (3 admits and 2 wait lists) - Su Ann, Vincent Ang, Wan Xin (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Eu Win)

Rice (1 admit) - Sabrina

Stanford (1 admit) - Lin Lee (PhD)

UPenn (1 wait list) - (Wait List: Amy Ang (MBA)

Virginia (1 admit) - Wei Ken

----
Congrats! A large number of you guys are ReComers!

To all those on wait-list, do hope that you work hard to turn your wait list into reality!

To all those who didn't manage to get, lets not worry. Good Luck for your other applications!

An interesting commonality of those 11 who got Northwestern or on wait-list for Northwestern. They all apply to Cornell. :)

Good Luck to all of you who are still waiting for admission decision for other universities!!! Am sure you guys are excited about the Super Tuesday, 1st April (aka April Fool Day)... :)
-----
If anyone knows of more people who get, do share it here!

strikingstar
28-03-2008, 02:21 AM
Anyone got into Duke??? I know results are out.

vincentato
28-03-2008, 11:46 AM
the ONE MIT undergrad is Ooi Boon Teik
Congratz!

pinkpau
28-03-2008, 12:56 PM
oooiee chen chow

my heart skipped a beat ok when i saw all the ivies on your list. i thought they were undergrad admissions :( for 2 seconds i was so sad :(

wawa
28-03-2008, 10:44 PM
Thank you, chen chow. This might be a rather wet blanket for those waiting in agony for April Fools Day, please remember that getting into your dream university does not make or break you. Getting into your dream university simply makes the path to your dream slightly easier. If you are determined enough, you will always reach your final goals. Oh, and good luck!

ngai
29-03-2008, 02:27 PM
To all applicants of Stanford 2008, the email decision letters are already sent!

I am overjoyed to learn that I have been offered admission to the university.

I got to know from Chen Chow that so far 3 Malaysians are accepted and if anyone else received the good news, do share it here.

Thank you!

siong1987
29-03-2008, 02:45 PM
Congratulations. What major you are in for?

I got rejected by them... T_T

jimi7
29-03-2008, 02:47 PM
Great for you...

So,could you tell us what really have you done to impress them to make them admit you to the university?

afiqjenoba
29-03-2008, 02:50 PM
To all applicants of Stanford 2008, the email decision letters are already sent!

I got to know from Chen Chow that so far 3 Malaysians are accepted and if anyone else received the good news, do share it here.

Thank you!

huhu,congratulations
its not easy to get there,huhu

29-03-2008, 02:53 PM

Thank you!

Congratulations for your offer! Gaining acceptance into an Ivy League University sure ain't easy!

strikingstar
29-03-2008, 02:59 PM
Congrats on your acceptance.

(And above... Stanford is NOT an Ivy. Just because it is an elite institution doesn't mean it is an Ivy.)

29-03-2008, 03:03 PM
Congrats on your acceptance.

(And above... Stanford is NOT an Ivy. Just because it is an elite institution doesn't mean it is an Ivy.)

Woops...my mistake.

29-03-2008, 06:12 PM
Below are a list that I have come to know as of now for Malaysians who get into some of the top US Universities (The actual figures could be much higher). -

Carnegie Mellon University (2 admits) - Claire, Yiling
Chicago (5 admits and 2 wait list) - Su Ann, Eu Win, Michelle, Jin Tik, Vincent (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Li Xian)

John Hopkings (1 admit and 1 wait list) - Sabrina Lim Shin Jing (Wait List: Jia Mun)

MIT (2 admits) - Lin Lee (PhD), Ooi Boon Teik

Northwestern (6 admits and 5 wait lists) - Mei Yueh, Chia Chyuan, Yoke Peng, Tong Wei, Josh Foo, Fiona (Wait List: Sabrina, Julia, Jia Mun, Claire, Chun How)

NYU (5 admits and 2 wait lists) - Su Ann, Vincent Ang, Wan Xin, Wai Kar Leng, Samantha Lee (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Eu Win)

Rice (1 admit) - Sabrina

Stanford (4 admits and 1 wait list) - Lin Lee (PhD), Mei Yueh, Jin Tik, Timothy (Wait List: Chia Chyuan)

Swarthmore (1 admit) - Su Ann

UPenn (1 wait list) - (Wait List: Amy Ang (MBA))

- Info above are passed by some of you personally to me, or via other students. If you are uncomfortable of being listed, please email me, and I will remove immediately. If you know of others/yourself who have gotten in, do let me know, and I will put up. I'm not limiting to any university, just that the info I get are as above.

Congrats to all of you who got in, especially many of you are ReComers!

For those of you who got wait list, hopefully, you can turn it into an admission!

For those of you who didn't get, hope that you won't get too sad

ngai
29-03-2008, 09:35 PM
Great for you...

So,could you tell us what really have you done to impress them to make them admit you to the university?

To be honest, I was shocked to know of my acceptance. I did not send in any fancy stuff (art pieces, abstracts etc) but I guess the real emphasis is on your essays, recommendations etc. Like what Chen Chow mentioned, it would be better to fine tune and present the entire application pack as well as possible.

insertusername
29-03-2008, 10:42 PM
Below are a list that I have come to know as of now for Malaysians who get into some of the top US Universities (The actual figures could be much higher). -

Carnegie Mellon University (2 admits) - Claire, Yiling

John Hopkings (1 admit and 1 wait list) - Sabrina Lim Shin Jing (Wait List: Jia Mun)

NYU (5 admits and 2 wait lists) - Su Ann, Vincent Ang, Wan Xin, Wai Kar Leng, Samantha Lee (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Eu Win)

Rice (1 admit) - Sabrina

Stanford (4 admits and 1 wait list) - Lin Lee (PhD), Mei Yueh, Jin Tik, Timothy (Wait List: Chia Chyuan)

- Info above are passed by some of you personally to me, or via other students. If you are uncomfortable of being listed, please email me, and I will remove immediately. If you know of others/yourself who have gotten in, do let me know, and I will put up. I'm not limiting to any university, just that the info I get are as above.

Congrats to all of you who got in, especially many of you are ReComers!

For those of you who got wait list, hopefully, you can turn it into an admission!

For those of you who didn't get, hope that you won't get too sad
you forgot julia for carnegie

30-03-2008, 02:26 AM
Thanks for updates. It is not that I forget anyone, but rather I haven't obtained the info from anyone. Essentially, I just compile those updates that I got from many ReComers and others who kindly share with me.

Berkeley (1 admit) - Sivapratha

Boston (1 admit) - Josh Foo

Carnegie Mellon University (7 admits) - Claire, Yiling, Julia, Mei Yueh, Liang Yeet, Yoke Peng, Koon Hua

Duke (1 admit) - Samantha Lee

John Hopkings (1 admit and 2 wait lists) - Sabrina Lim Shin Jing (Wait List: Jia Mun, Sivapratha)

Rice (1 admit) - Sabrina

Stanford (4 admits and 2 wait lists) - Lin Lee (PhD), Mei Yueh, Jin Tik, Timothy (Wait List: Chia Chyuan, Sivapratha)

UCLA (1 admit) - Sivapratha

Congrats to all of you who got in, especially many of you who are ReComers! Getting into university is just the first step. Hope that you would make full use of your opportunities there!

For those of you who got wait list, hopefully, you can turn it into an admission! Do work hard to submit additional material to the university.

For those of you who didn't get, hope that you won't get too sad. Lets hope for the best for other universities that you apply. In the end, it is how you make use of the university opportunity.

t
30-03-2008, 10:42 AM
THE Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Club of Malaysia is organising a talk on undergraduates' admission to MIT.

The talk will be held on April 13 at the Royal Selangor Golf Club, Kuala Lumpur, from 10.30am to noon.

Students and parents are welcome to attend.

The dress code is smart casual.

For more information on MIT, application procedures and financial aid, log onto
www.mit.edu or e-mail
htewe@<hidden>.

30-03-2008, 10:48 AM
THE Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Club of Malaysia is organising a talk on undergraduates' admission to MIT.

The talk will be held on April 13 at the Royal Selangor Golf Club, Kuala Lumpur, from 10.30am to noon.

Students and parents are welcome to attend.

The dress code is smart casual.

For more information on MIT, application procedures and financial aid, log onto
www.mit.edu or e-mail
htewe@<hidden>.

Hopefully more ReComers will take the efforts to attend and learn from them.

Matt
01-04-2008, 07:50 AM
Ivy decisions are out!!!! How did everyone do?

01-04-2008, 07:53 AM
From my point of view, quite a few made it, but I won't keep my hopes up. I haven't check my result yet since I only applied for 1 school which result came out today

johnleemk
01-04-2008, 07:58 AM
Who got in, who got in? I'm from Dartmouth btw but anyone who wants to know more about education in the US should feel free to PM/email me.But I really really want to meet whoever got into Dartmouth. Because Dartmouth rocks. :D

01-04-2008, 07:59 AM
List that I manage to compile:-

(The actual figures for Malaysia could be higher, below are those who I have found out)

Berkeley (3 admits) - Sivapratha, Wen Jian, Ern Sheong

Brown (1 admit) - Julia

Carnegie Mellon University (8 admits) - Claire, Yiling, Julia, Mei Yueh, Liang Yeet, Yoke Peng, Koon Hua, Yi Xiang

Chicago (6 admits and 2 wait list) - Su Ann, Eu Win, Michelle, Jin Tik, Vincent, Kartik (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Li Xian)

Columbia (2 admits, 1 wait list) - Su Ann, Mei Yueh (Wait List: Claire)

Cornell (2 admits, 3 wait lists) - Ken Hui (Early Decision), Ern Sheong (Wait List: Jin Tik,
Sabrina, Yi Ling)

John Hopkings (1 admit and 2 wait lists) - Sabrina Lim Shin Jing (Wait List: Jia Mun, Sivapratha)

Princeton (1 admit) - Ming Loong

Rice (1 admit) - Sabrina

Stanford (4 admits and 2 wait lists) - Lin Lee (PhD), Mei Yueh, Jin Tik, Timothy (Wait List: Chia Chyuan, Sivapratha)

UCLA (2 admits) - Sivapratha, Aimran

UPenn (4 admits, 2 wait lists) - Su Ann, Josh, Samantha, Sabrina (Wait List: Amy Ang (MBA), Fu Han)

Virginia (2 admits) - Wei Ken, Aimran

Washington, St. Louis (1 wait list) - Sian Hong

Yale (1 admit) - Ee Lynn (Early Decision)

Matt
01-04-2008, 08:22 AM
CONGRATS!! Penn people especially SHOOT ME QUESTIONS. matteuspan[at]gmail[dot]com

lyzzy
01-04-2008, 08:45 AM
yale anyone?!!
herb scales (http://www.vaporshop.com/scales)

expectation
01-04-2008, 10:59 AM
congrats!! eh who's that who got into mt holyoke? please message me/email me/whatever me!!!!!

johnleemk
01-04-2008, 11:17 AM
I love how the last five posts are by current students/alums trying to figure out who got in. Must have scared off all the frosh.

ngai
01-04-2008, 11:53 AM
Congrats to all who made to it to the Ivy Leagues! I however only got wait listed for Cornell. Seems like this year has been very very competitive!

darkhello
01-04-2008, 12:41 PM
come on yalies...where are you??

caramel_nut
01-04-2008, 01:04 PM
I love how the last five posts are by current students/alums trying to figure out who got in. Must have scared off all the frosh.Hehehe, what to do, Malaysians are generally sampat, especially those who are overseas. I managed to stalk/track down personal information of some new admits in just a night. (My p-sets..... argh....) >.<

Congratulations to all those who have been admitted and welcome to the States!! It'll be a very eye-opening experience for you. :D

Congrats to all who made to it to the Ivy Leagues! I however only got wait listed for Cornell. Seems like this year has been very very competitive!Nvm Cornell is the only Ivy you got... Many people would kill to get Chicago and Stanford. Barring the in-the-middle-of-nowhere location of Chicago, the education offered is awesome and Palo Alto's weather is so much better than everywhere else (but no snow lah...).

01-04-2008, 01:33 PM
Hehehe, what to do, Malaysians are generally sampat, especially those who are overseas. I managed to stalk/track down personal information of some new admits in just a night. (My p-sets..... argh....) >.<

Congratulations to all those who have been admitted and welcome to the States!! It'll be a very eye-opening experience for you. :D

Nvm Cornell is the only Ivy you got... Many people would kill to get Chicago and Stanford. Barring the in-the-middle-of-nowhere location of Chicago, the education offered is awesome and Palo Alto's weather is so much better than everywhere else (but no snow lah...).

University of Chicago is not "in-the-middle-of-nowhere" lol. It IS in a sketchy neighborhood surrounded by ghettos but we're only half an hour by bus away from downtown Chicago!

caramel_nut
01-04-2008, 01:37 PM
University of Chicago is not "in-the-middle-of-nowhere" lol. It IS in a sketchy neighborhood surrounded by ghettos but we're only half an hour by bus away from downtown Chicago!Haha. Too bad Chicago is in the middle of US and the only way to get to East Coast (where most Malaysian students are!) is by flight. Too much of hassle. :P

pinkpau
01-04-2008, 04:07 PM
i am so excited to see who got in to HYP!!! how come nobody yet!

ngai
01-04-2008, 07:35 PM
i am so excited to see who got in to HYP!!! how come nobody yet!

I guess those 3 are the real Holy Grail this year. No one got Harvard yet only 1 each for Princeton and Yale (through Early Action some more!)

With exception to a few, I think it was an Ivy League massacre for most!

caramel_nut
01-04-2008, 09:11 PM
I guess those 3 are the real Holy Grail this year. No one got Harvard yet only 1 each for Princeton and Yale (through Early Action some more!)

With exception to a few, I think it was an Ivy League massacre for most!Well according to chenchow's blog, one guy got Harvard this year. The same guy got Princeton as well with another guy.

strikingstar
01-04-2008, 09:52 PM
I love how the last five posts are by current students/alums trying to figure out who got in. Must have scared off all the frosh.

Hehehe, what to do, Malaysians are generally sampat, especially those who are overseas. I managed to stalk/track down personal information of some new admits in just a night. (My p-sets..... argh....) >.<

Continuing the trend... Dukies PM me or send me an e-mail at strikingstar@<hidden>.

03-04-2008, 04:16 PM
List that I have as of now:-

Berkeley (5 admits) - Sivapratha, Wen Jian, Ern Sheong, Elaine Wong, Hanin

Bowdoin (1 admit) - Kartik

Brown (1 admit) - Julia

Carnegie Mellon University (9 admits, 1 wait list) - Claire, Yiling, Julia, Mei Yueh, Liang Yeet, Yoke Peng, Koon Hua, Yi Xiang, Chun How (Wait List: Wan Xin)

Chicago (6 admits and 2 wait list) - Su Ann, Eu Win, Michelle, Jin Tik, Vincent, Kartik (Wait List: Yi Xiang, Li Xian)

Colgate (1 admit) - Kartik

Columbia (3 admits, 3 wait list) - Su Ann, Mei Yueh (Wait List: Claire, Eu Win, Chun How)

Cornell (3 admits, 4 wait lists) - Ken Hui (Early Decision), Ern Sheong, Jia Hui (Wait List: Jin Tik, Sabrina, Yi Ling, Eu Win)

Dartmouth (2 admits) - Amy Ang (MBA at Tuck), Jia Hui

Georgia Tech (1 admit) - Puayen

Hamilton (1 admit) - Grace Liew

Harvard (2 admits) - Lin Lee (PhD), Jia Hui

Haverford (1 admit) - Kartik

Indiana (4 admits) - Fu Han, Lixian, Arshad, Hafiz

John Hopkins (1 admit and 3 wait lists) - Sabrina Lim Shin Jing (Wait List: Jia Mun, Sivapratha, Wan xin)

Ohio (1 admit) - Puayen

Princeton (2 admits) - Ming Loong, Jia Hui

Purdue (1 admit) - Puayen, Zihong

Rice (1 admit) - Sabrina

Swarthmore (2 admits) - Su Ann, Zhong Liang

Texas-A&M (1 admit) - Puayen

Texas-Austin (1 admit) - Puayen

UCLA (2 admits) - Sivapratha, Aimran

UIUC (5 admits) - Jonathan Lee Liang Hoong, Jian Wei, Basyirah, Arshad, Lixian

UMich (1 admit) - Zihong

UPenn (6 admits, 3 wait lists) - Su Ann, Josh, Samantha, Sabrina, Cher Hao, Eu Win (Wait List: Amy Ang (MBA), Fu Han, Pui Yin)

Vassar (1 admit) - Kartik

Virginia (2 admits) - Wei Ken, Aimran

Washington, St. Louis (1 admit, 2 wait lists) - Jia Hui (Wait List: Sian Hong, Wan Xin)

Wesleyan (1 admit) - Jia Hui

Yale (1 admit) - Ee Lynn (Early Decision)

James_Padfoot
03-04-2008, 04:55 PM
I was just going to tell you Jia Hui got into Harvard, Dartmouth, Wesleyan and Cornell, but looks like you beat me to it, lol. Next year, it's my turn to apply! Lol!

lindley
03-04-2008, 09:49 PM
okay this is random but
kavidha youre here!!!!

i didnt know so many msians applied for US unis =)
i hope to be on the next list LOL

gabrielle
04-04-2008, 12:58 PM
I'm applying next year too.
Seeing all these results makes me so anxious for my turn...sigh~~~~~~~~~
I can't wait to apply, and at the same time, I'm stressed out.
(paranoid, I've been checking the registration dates for fall 2009 since middle of 2007!!)

Congrats to all those who got in! Take a break and savour the moment, after all the effort and anticipation.

lindley
04-04-2008, 10:03 PM
question.
if i wanna apply to go to university next year, do i have to send in my SAT scores the same time as my applications? or can i send them after?

ngai
04-04-2008, 10:20 PM
question.
if i wanna apply to go to university next year, do i have to send in my SAT scores the same time as my applications? or can i send them after?

Yeah I think it should not be a problem provided that they receive your scores by the stated application deadline. But to be honest, I retook my SAT in January and still sent improved scores to them although the SAT deadline for some is by January!

lindley
04-04-2008, 10:33 PM
ohhh!! i really need the jan one cos im studying SAM now, and i have no time to study for my SAT and SAT II subs..T.T

and my exam is in june. sigghh
plus, its my first time taking so i think results wont be so good

jimi7
07-04-2008, 02:26 AM
How do you guys did the recommendation letter?
Do you write them yourselves and get the signature from the teacher or do you ask the teacher straight away to write the recommendation lette?

ngai
07-04-2008, 07:21 AM
How do you guys did the recommendation letter?
Do you write them yourselves and get the signature from the teacher or do you ask the teacher straight away to write the recommendation lette?

It really depends on how willing your teacher is to write a solid recommendation for you. If he/she is, then good. But if not, just go ahead and write one for yourself and then get his/her signature. But experience tells me that it is much better to do this in advance and not scramble for an appointment with the teacher in the last minute! Especially your typical smk high school teacher who may be busy at times.

Matt
07-04-2008, 09:05 AM
I would recommend, however, as far as possible you should try to get your teachers to write them for you rather than write them yourself.

wawa
07-04-2008, 10:13 AM
Also get teachers who have substantial experience in teaching (i.e. many years teaching) as the recommendation forms often do ask the teacher the number of years they have taught and to rank you compared to all previous students. Thus, recommendations from experienced teachers would count strongly.

gabrielle
07-04-2008, 10:20 AM
I would recommend, however, as far as possible you should try to get your teachers to write them for you rather than write them yourself.

I disagree.
Considering that 99% of all Malaysian teachers don't know how to write a brilliant, original, spanking, outstanding essay and the fact that I write better than them anyway (it's true; sue me if you think I'm a snob), I write my own testimonials then get the teachers to sign them.

Depending on how confident you are with your writing skills, I suggest you consider writing your own testimonials if you think you can come up with better ones.

insertusername
07-04-2008, 11:58 AM
I disagree.
Considering that 99% of all Malaysian teachers don't know how to write a brilliant, original, spanking, outstanding essay and the fact that I write better than them anyway (it's true; sue me if you think I'm a snob), I write my own testimonials then get the teachers to sign them.

Depending on how confident you are with your writing skills, I suggest you consider writing your own testimonials if you think you can come up with better ones.
You'd be surprised by how easy it is to notice similiar writing patterns

Matt
07-04-2008, 12:18 PM
I disagree.

lol. chill dude. let your conscience dictate it then.

gabrielle
07-04-2008, 04:20 PM
lol. chill dude. let your conscience dictate it then.

Okay, I'm harsh, sometimes.

Anyway, rather than the criticism of the language ability of our local teachers, my main point is that often times, it is better to write your own testimonial.

Reasons:-
Your teacher doesn't understand you as much as you do yourself.
Your teacher is preoccupied with mountainous work loads, you're not.
Your teacher has exhausted creative ideas after decades of work, you haven't.
Your teacher has to write similar testimonials for a bunch of other students.
Your teacher will not walk the extra mile to write a brilliant recommendation for you that's bound to present you as first-class university material; only you, the applicant, will do that.

But that, of course, is still subjected to your own writing ability and whether you're fortunate enough to have a reliable teacher.

Good luck.

wawa
07-04-2008, 09:13 PM
Wow, that's a really dim view of today's teachers!

I guess it varies from school to school. Back in STPM, my two teachers spent time writing my literally glowing recommendation, which I think was instrumental in getting my Stanford admission (I had no part in the writing). I've read both of them (they're english is superb, btw), and its interesting to note that they presented me in a very different light and point of view than I would have presented myself (i.e. teacher's view). Since I already have the essays to 'show' myself, the teachers managed to convey a complementary/educators' idea of what kind of student I am. Something to consider for those who are considering writing themselves.

So, I guess its more of weeding and seeking for the 'right' recommending teacher, and showing them that you are worth it! There are gems out there! :)

lyzzy
08-04-2008, 01:11 AM
i guess for some schools it may be easy to get teachers who are familiar with the concept of writing recommendation letters for their students. however, during my time and in my secondary school (i think the situation may have changed now as more and more people are applying to the states), my teachers had no clue whatsoever on how to write a critical and balanced recommendation letter.

what i did, instead of writing it for them, was to give them a list of what i wanted them to cover in my letter of recommendation. for example:
1) academic performance: grades as well as academic initiatives
2) personal characteristics
3) extracurricular activities (only if relevant to the subject)
4) career goals and general life plan
and etc.

actually, even in univ, some professors will ask the student for a list of accomplishments and key points to stress (or at least, a resume) when writing a recommendation letter.
aromed vaporizers (http://www.vaporshop.com/aromed-vaporizer.html)

bambi
08-04-2008, 08:48 PM
Hi,
Sorry this maybe random but I really need to know whether any of you or your friends applied to St Johns U ( Queens,NY ) as I am contemplating of studying there this fall as undergraduate. I heard many bad stuff about it like safety issues, lousy professors, ugly campus..tetc, but it has offered me a generous scholarship and its my only chance of studying in US. Any advice ??

eslite
09-04-2008, 01:10 AM
Hi,
Sorry this maybe random but I really need to know whether any of you or your friends applied to St Johns U ( Queens,NY ) as I am contemplating of studying there this fall as undergraduate.
I have a friend who is currently studying there as a Sophmore. I don't know too much about it but if you want I could ask if he is willing to answer any queries you might have.

In addition, I always thought Quuens is one of the "safer" area in NYC.

09-04-2008, 01:58 AM
Calling for all alumni and current students of U.S. Universities to sign up for Facilitator for USA For Students (http://www.usaforstudents.org), an American Universities Education Fair. This is the US Education Fair that Discover US Education, US Embassy, MACEE and AUAM are co-organizing.

For those who have just gotten admission this year, do sign up as Facilitator too!

For those who plan to apply for US Universities, do sign up as Attendee!

expectation
09-04-2008, 12:50 PM
Calling for all alumni and current students of U.S. Universities to sign up for Facilitator for USA For Students (http://www.usaforstudents.org), an American Universities Education Fair. This is the US Education Fair that Discover US Education, US Embassy, MACEE and AUAM are co-organizing.

For those who have just gotten admission this year, do sign up as Facilitator too!

thanks chenchow =) oh wait, i can use the new thanks function..oh well!

--

ok sudden realization of the day is please please if you're doing your a levels and you got accepted, please continue your alvls! I'm gonna regret for life that I didn't do that and couldn't transfer a year worth of credits over now T_____T

bambi
09-04-2008, 07:41 PM
Hi eslite,

Thanks for the info. Could u pm me ur friend's email so I can ask him more about the residential and student life there ? ( safety, transport, etc )

Thanks a lot in advance !!

Matt
11-04-2008, 04:39 AM
thanks chenchow =) oh wait, i can use the new thanks function..oh well!

--

ok sudden realization of the day is please please if you're doing your a levels and you got accepted, please continue your alvls! I'm gonna regret for life that I didn't do that and couldn't transfer a year worth of credits over now T_____T

AGREED. Taking it a step further, applying without A-levels will also put you in a position where you might regret in the future. So short-cutting might get you out school a year or two earlier, but you could possibly short-change yourself. Hmph.

@<hidden>: haha I realize I know who you are!

Appolo
16-04-2008, 03:52 PM

I would be more tahn willing to apply as a facilitator. Sadly though, I still haven't received the best offer for my application.Haiz....

Can anyone tell me when the result for UCSD transfer will be out? The agony of waiting is simply unbearable.

Here's an apple and orange comparison.Penn State or Rutgers for biotechnology.Can anyone tell me more about these two university? Wouldn't want to make a mistake that i woukld regret for the rest of my life.

t
16-04-2008, 04:28 PM
i have several questions:
Q: how should i put my volunteering on the activities section? i did a variety of volunteering during different years...so how would i fill out the weeks per year and the hours per week thing? The common app leaves little room to give descriptions of the activities, what can i do?

Q: How should I list the positions I've held in clubs? if i started a new club, should i describe it under positions held, honors won, etc. section? Could it be considered as a position?

Q: does anyone know whether english club should be listed under "academic" or "other club/activity"?

Q: What do I put in the "additional info" portion? Should i put an extra resume to expound on the extracurricular activities i couldn't fit into the seven they gave us? What format should it be in? Essay or kind of like the "extracurricular, personal, and volunteer activities"?

Q: Also, under the "awards" part, could I also list things such as "University of New South Wales International Competitions for Schools" if i just participate only and not won any distinction/prize?

Q: For the courses section, there are only 7 spaces each semester, but if we have more courses, what can I do? How can I write the other ones?

Q: For the Common App recommendations, do teachers have to fill out one for every single school you're applying to? Or can photocopies be made of just one?

Q: I would like to send additional recommendations from people outside the school that i volunteered for. what form would i use? should i just ask them to write a letter? or should I give them the teacher recommendation form?

Q: Also, for my elaborate on an extracurricular essay, I was wondering whether I should do:

club
volunteer work

THANKS!=)

bambi
17-04-2008, 07:24 PM
Hi,

Does anyone have any clue about the student life in St Johns U ( Queens, NY) ? I have searched through the website and it does not give me a clear picture about it. And I could not find a msian alumni/ undergraduate from that uni, so I hope anyone of you can help me here.
Please list down the advantages and disadvantages you experienced.
THANKS a lot !!

Matt
18-04-2008, 02:59 AM
Q: how should i put my volunteering on the activities section? i did a variety of volunteering during different years...so how would i fill out the weeks per year and the hours per week thing? The common app leaves little room to give descriptions of the activities, what can i do?

Q: How should I list the positions I've held in clubs? if i started a new club, should i describe it under positions held, honors won, etc. section? Could it be considered as a position?

Q: does anyone know whether english club should be listed under "academic" or "other club/activity"?

Q: What do I put in the "additional info" portion? Should i put an extra resume to expound on the extracurricular activities i couldn't fit into the seven they gave us? What format should it be in? Essay or kind of like the "extracurricular, personal, and volunteer activities"?

Q: Also, under the "awards" part, could I also list things such as "University of New South Wales International Competitions for Schools" if i just participate only and not won any distinction/prize?

Q: For the courses section, there are only 7 spaces each semester, but if we have more courses, what can I do? How can I write the other ones?

Q: For the Common App recommendations, do teachers have to fill out one for every single school you're applying to? Or can photocopies be made of just one?

Q: I would like to send additional recommendations from people outside the school that i volunteered for. what form would i use? should i just ask them to write a letter? or should I give them the teacher recommendation form?

Q: Also, for my elaborate on an extracurricular essay, I was wondering whether I should do:

club
volunteer work

THANKS!=)

Put the most important activities -- they know that everyone comes in with a ton of activities, but they want to see which ones were most significant. And do list your positions if possible. An English club is under other club/activity I believe.

For the additional info part, elaborate on anything you believe will improve your application. But keep in mind that admission committees aren't looking for a long resume, but rather extremely strong involvement and accomplishment in one or two fields.

For the Awards part, you could list the UNSW competitions but I would advice against it because it is an open competition for anyone to participate in, so it wouldn't really be considered an award -- unless you had high distinctions.

You can list the additional courses in the Additional Information part.
Photocopies of recommendations are allowed. And definitely, other recommendations are accepted -- probably let them write letters since many of the questions on the Common App forms are teacher-specific.

For the ECA section, write on whatever feels was more important and had a more positive impact on your life :)

Hope this helps!

19-04-2008, 11:59 AM
Q: how should i put my volunteering on the activities section? i did a variety of volunteering during different years...so how would i fill out the weeks per year and the hours per week thing?

They are looking for significant volunteering involvement and not those just once in a year kind of volunteer. That's why they are asking for number of weeks and number of hours per week.

So, if yours is just once for half a day, it would be 1 week per year, and 4 hours per week.

If you have started the club, your position could be founder and another position that you hold. If you have done significant effort to start a club, that could go into your essay or highlight during interview.

When you say academic, do you mean academic club? Essentially, up to your judgment. For US Unis, they are not particular about technicality.

It could be any format and anything. Essentially, the thing that you can impress them the most. It is not about quantity, but quality.

I guess it is for those that you win something. You can include the participation in your resume, but it is not going to bring much impact. Even High Distinction is not bringing much impact, as there are just too many students who have it.

Choose the most relevant ones. You can always attach more things through supplement submission.

Do check on the forms. Ideally the teachers can copy and paste into all. I am not familiar with the Common Apps form, so would let others to respond.

It could be just a normal letter printed on A4 paper.

club
volunteer work

THANKS!=)

Up to you. Whichever that you think is most impressive.

Some extra tips:-
1. Being President of club, prefect etc is just too normal. In my conducting of Cornell interview, would say that 90+% would have that.

2. Merely going to charity home a few times a year is nothing special. Again more than 90% candidates have it.

3. Merely having 10A1s or for that matter more A1s does not mean much either, since almost everyone has it.

4. Being 1st in your high school is normal, since 80+% of students have it.

What we are looking is the unique stuff that you have done. Really special and outstanding.

Statistic for this year's Cornell Admission (as far as I know):-
Singapore - 76/450 (16%)
Malaysia - 4/83 (5%)

Good Luck!

thanks chenchow =)

Actually, for most universities, you can actually speak to the professors and ask them to let you sit for the final exams, and if you do well, you will get the credits!

Of course, if you could finish up your A Levels, no harm doing that!

t
19-04-2008, 06:56 PM
Amherst College to Extend Need-Blind Admission Policy to International Students

https://cms.amherst.edu/news/news_releases/2008/04/node/44842

Amherst College?s board of trustees has voted to extend the school?s need-blind admission policy to international students. The change, which will take effect during the 2008-09 admissions cycle, makes the school one of just eight colleges and universities in the United States to offer such a consideration to applicants from other countries.

?From the earliest days of Amherst?s existence, the college has recognized the value of attracting the most talented students from all over the world to our community,? said President Anthony W. Marx. ?By making the admission process need-blind for all applicants?including those from other countries?we hope that we are only reinforcing the message that we welcome all students to apply, regardless of financial standing. It is in everyone?s best interest that we are doing what we can to educate the best mix of future leaders.?

?Need-blind? means that a school makes admission decisions without holding financial need against that applicant. Amherst also agrees to meet the full financial need of every student who is admitted. Under previous guidelines, the college was need-blind only for American citizens and permanent residents.

Another great LAC made even more accessible to internationals!

bert
19-04-2008, 08:52 PM
Hey I don't get where it says stanford is need blind. the article about stanford is from 2 years ago.... and its recent financial aid initiative did not say that they would extend need blind admissions to international students.

ngai
19-04-2008, 09:52 PM
Hey I don't get where it says stanford is need blind. the article about stanford is from 2 years ago.... and its recent financial aid initiative did not say that they would extend need blind admissions to international students.

That's right. My heart almost skipped a beat when I read that news! I thought I would be the last person to miss out on a need-blind financial aid package!

So as of currently, Stanford has yet to announce that they are willing to go need-blind for internationals, although I think it is really high time they do.

andrewlza
21-04-2008, 11:34 AM
From the NYT:

"Tuition free, debt free."

The graphics below compares elite colleges and their financial aid plans: grants replacing loans, free tuition and parents pay nothing.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/20/education/edlife/essay.html?ex=1366430400&en=ae07b269ac2d45d5&ei=5124&partner=facebook&exprod=facebook

We need an easier way to post pictures. Seriously. This was such a pain.

t
26-04-2008, 03:03 PM
Can you get into a top college without any awards or accomplishments?

Matt
27-04-2008, 02:08 AM
Can you get into a top college without any awards or accomplishments?

It's possible, but highly unlikely -- just because so many others who apply have excellent academics and accomplishments. But on the other hand, if you can demonstrate your uniqueness and maturity through your essays, you give yourself a chance.

Also colleges look for people who can identify and speak of how even the common overlooked things of life have special meaning to them and have changed their lives :)

brucesharky
27-04-2008, 12:50 PM

I requested my teachers to fill up all the forms one for every single school. Erm, I printed mine (for all coz wanted a better impression to the admins =p) but I guess if you print one then photocopy the rest and then let the teachers fill up each one individually for each school also can. =) All the best!

It's late. I know. (Sigh, have not been to recom for ages since my spring semester =( ) But better late than never I guess.

My sincerest Thank You to all fellow recommers for sharing and answering my questions during my college application last year. Thank you for clearing my doubts. I'm flying to Stanford this fall.

I couldn't have done it alone. And to Chen Chow especially, thanks for well, giving me feedbacks for my essays and all the pointers for my college application (resume, letters of recommendation and of course Cornell interview (though I did not get in but thanks. =) )

Anyone applying this year (and in future), feel free to ask me about US applications, except about financial aids though. (Coz I'm under JPA scholarship(YES I'M ONE LUCKY KID), so I don't know about financial aids)

My e-mail: koalabearhero@<hidden>

It's late. I know. (Sigh, have not been to recom for ages since my spring semester =( ) But better late than never I guess.

My sincerest Thank You to all fellow recommers for sharing and answering my questions during my college application last year. Thank you for clearing my doubts. I'm flying to Stanford this fall.

I couldn't have done it alone. And to Chen Chow especially, thanks for well, giving me feedbacks for my essays and all the pointers for my college application (resume, letters of recommendation and of course Cornell interview (though I did not get in but thanks. =) )

Anyone applying this year (and in future), feel free to ask me about US applications, except about financial aids though. (Coz I'm under JPA scholarship(YES I'M ONE LUCKY KID), so I don't know about financial aids)

My e-mail: koalabearhero@<hidden>

Err... Why are the two threads automatically merged?

derexeddie
27-04-2008, 02:00 PM
i juz wanna ask 2 questions.

(1) All of you who got into the Ivies undergraduate, u all did A lvls for your pre-U or something else?

Pls reply me although this is a silly question, I am currently in the midst of choosing what pre-U programme to take and i want the best for my future. Hope to get some help from others.

(2) for the SAT test is it similar to A lvls?

t
27-04-2008, 02:37 PM
I'm so confused with the common app. What should I fill out for the Secondary School Report, Mid Year Report and Final Year Report?

caramel_nut
27-04-2008, 03:51 PM
Secondary school report = Form 4 and 5 + SPM (some people sent their Form 1-3 results as well but I personally didn't)

Mid-year = pre-u midterm results

Final Year = you only send this in after you get your final exam results

i juz wanna ask 2 questions.

(1) All of you who got into the Ivies undergraduate, u all did A lvls for your pre-U or something else?

Pls reply me although this is a silly question, I am currently in the midst of choosing what pre-U programme to take and i want the best for my future. Hope to get some help from others.

(2) for the SAT test is it similar to A lvls?
1. A Levels, STPM and IB are the most common.
2. No, totally different. SAT Reasoning (previously SAT 1) has three components - Math (super easy), verbal (the part which kills most Malaysians) and writing. Nothing similar to A Levels here. As for SAT Subject Tests, depending on which subject test you plan to take. Physics, Chem, Bio have some overlaps with A Levels syllabus but be reminded that A Levels doesn't cover all the topics tested in SAT 2. Generally, SAT 2 is pretty easy to score as compared to SAT 1.

t
27-04-2008, 05:02 PM
Secondary school report = Form 4 and 5 + SPM (some people sent their Form 1-3 results as well but I personally didn't)

For the Secondary School Report, how do you fill out your current year courses since they are looking for the semester based type of courses?

brucesharky
27-04-2008, 07:19 PM
For the Secondary School Report, how do you fill out your current year courses since they are looking for the semester based type of courses?

I did not fill up anything in the current year courses column for Secondary School Report. I just left it blank and then, I attached the report with my translated high school transcripts.(For me, I did put in from Form 1-5 and SPM, translated cert). I only filled up the current year courses in my mid-year report.

derexeddie
27-04-2008, 08:18 PM
hi

i have another question here...........

i know that entering Ivies is not easy. Harvard conducts interview session for the applicants, but for the other universities like cornell, princeton, yale......do they conduct interviews?? What about the other universities, i mean, not ivy league schools?? Do they carry out interviews? What about UCLA??

If all of the universities conduct interviews before choosing the students, where do the interviews are being conducted? For 1 student, they can apply to a few different universities, right? I am confused bcoz over in the UK, one applicant cannot apply for both, Oxford and Cambridge..........

Thx in advance.................

27-04-2008, 10:47 PM
You can apply to as many universities as you want. As far as I remember, Cornell, Princeton, and Yale all have interviews. Some other school may or may not conduct interviews in this country.

ngai
27-04-2008, 10:56 PM
Yeah, all the ivies would have alumni interviews for the applicants. The thing about alumni interview is it is optional and therefore opting not to attend one would not really confer a disadvantage to your application. But it is however recommended for applicants to request for the interview as the alumni would have the opportunity to see you in person and submit an assessment report to the universities.

However, there are a few top unis who actually do not offer interviews in Malaysia. Stanford is one of them. (Could be there are fewer alumni here). For Uni of Chicago, you have to request for an interview early in your application as there is a deadline to make that request.

p/s: Brucesharky = Mei Yueh? Hi there!

skyrainbow
27-04-2008, 11:05 PM
is it possible for form 6 students to apply overseas universities?

wawa
27-04-2008, 11:37 PM
Yes. Please note that for US, the application deadline is typically around December the year before you enter the uni.

brucesharky
27-04-2008, 11:52 PM
hi

i know that entering Ivies is not easy. Harvard conducts interview session for the applicants, but for the other universities like cornell, princeton, yale......do they conduct interviews?? What about the other universities, i mean, not ivy league schools?? Do they carry out interviews? What about UCLA??

If all of the universities conduct interviews before choosing the students, where do the interviews are being conducted? For 1 student, they can apply to a few different universities, right? I am confused bcoz over in the UK, one applicant cannot apply for both, Oxford and Cambridge..........

Yes, all ivies (correct me if I'm wrong) conduct interviews. Harvard's interview are for those short listed only. Other ivies conduct interviews: some, the interviewers will contact you, some upon your own initiative to request for one (Columbia's one of them and I did not have mine coz I didn't know have to request).

But for Stanford, and all the UCs (UCLA included),there's NO interview.

bert
28-04-2008, 12:08 AM
Dartmouth does not conduct interviews in Malaysia cos we probably have one of the smallest alumni base in Malaysia out of all the ivies.

28-04-2008, 02:35 AM

Yes, you can! A bunch of students who get into US universities do go through STPM.

Mid-year = pre-u midterm results

Final Year = you only send this in after you get your final exam results

1. A Levels, STPM and IB are the most common.
2. No, totally different. SAT Reasoning (previously SAT 1) has three components - Math (super easy), verbal (the part which kills most Malaysians) and writing. Nothing similar to A Levels here. As for SAT Subject Tests, depending on which subject test you plan to take. Physics, Chem, Bio have some overlaps with A Levels syllabus but be reminded that A Levels doesn't cover all the topics tested in SAT 2. Generally, SAT 2 is pretty easy to score as compared to SAT 1.

Besides those posted by caramel_nut, a bunch of students go through American Degree Foundation Programs too.

hi

Most of it have been answered by other ReComers. Yes. The interview is done in Malaysia, for those that offers interview. Usually it is conducted by alumni.

A side point, for all of you who want to know more about US Universities, do sign up for USA For Students - US Education Fair (www.usaforstudents.org)

strikingstar
28-04-2008, 02:43 AM
hi

Yes, all ivies (correct me if I'm wrong) conduct interviews. Harvard's interview are for those short listed only. Other ivies conduct interviews: some, the interviewers will contact you, some upon your own initiative to request for one (Columbia's one of them and I did not have mine coz I didn't know have to request).

But for Stanford, and all the UCs (UCLA included),there's NO interview.

No stipulation whatsoever for US schools. Unless you're applying Early Decision. You can only apply Early Decision to one school and it is a binding obligation. You can however, apply to all other schools Regular Decision in the meantime.

Then again, schools are increasingly moving towards Early Action, which is non-binding.

Duke conducts interviews but they are not mandatory.

caramel_nut
28-04-2008, 04:21 AM
Besides those posted by caramel_nut, a bunch of students go through American Degree Foundation Programs too.
Do be aware that if you do ATP/ADFP, you have a very low chance of getting into top universities (as in Ivies and Ivy-standard). There are exceptions (like Pinkpau) but those are quite rare.

MIT conducts interview as well and Dr. Ewe normally is the interviewer. Sometimes he passes a few students to other MIT alumni, depending on situation. Dr. Ewe loves to ask about science/math-based activities and competitions, so do be armed with those information. MIT's interview is also optional but it's always good to have one. You have to contact Dr. Ewe yourself to schedule an interview.

Tasslehoff
29-04-2008, 07:43 PM
Woah, Berkeley admitted quite alot of Malaysians this year! 5 up from 2 last year =)

Congratulations to all who were admitted! The hard work has paid off!

(sorry for the 'lag', been rather busy with stuff =P )

01-05-2008, 03:16 AM
Do be aware that if you do ATP/ADFP, you have a very low chance of getting into top universities (as in Ivies and Ivy-standard). There are exceptions (like Pinkpau) but those are quite rare.

A lot of those JPA scholars went through ADFP (Intec) and ADTP (Inti), and many of them do get into pretty good schools too. So, that's possible.

Essentially, it really boils down to individual.

------

johnleemk, a fellow ReComer has written an article on American Education at Malaysiakini (http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/82168).

Do read it! ReCom was mentioned there too! Thanks, John!

t
01-05-2008, 11:06 PM
I found the online version of the common app very difficult to use. One problem is that on the EC section, there is a limited number of characters that can be typed in. For example, I want to mention "Directed fund-raising effort for the Rain Forest Coalition that resulted in $5,000 in contributions" under the heading "community service" but it doesn't fit into the box there.

ngai
01-05-2008, 11:23 PM
I found the online version of the common app very difficult to use. One problem is that on the EC section, there is a limited number of characters that can be typed in. For example, I want to mention "Directed fund-raising effort for the Rain Forest Coalition that resulted in $5,000 in contributions" under the heading "community service" but it doesn't fit into the box there.

Yes, it was sort of a problem to me too when I used Common App. But there is always a way to economize the space provided without compromising what you want to state.

Perhaps you can put there "Director of Rain Forest Coalition project (Raised $5000)". The complete meaning of the statement is still put across.

t
01-05-2008, 11:40 PM
Perhaps you can put there "Director of Rain Forest Coalition project (Raised $5000)". The complete meaning of the statement is still put across.

It's still cannot fit into the box. There is very little space for me to explain. What should I do now?

derexeddie
01-05-2008, 11:50 PM
hi...

i juz wanna know whether SAT score alone is enough to apply for US uni?

pls answer...

chyen
02-05-2008, 01:16 AM

I had a bit of the same problem. You could always elaborate further in the "Additional Info" section under "writing samples" (or upload a Word document there, your choice). That's what I did anyway. I listed my activities very briefly on the Activities page (not that I had a choice!), and uploaded a document containing elaborations on the Writing Samples page.

02-05-2008, 01:31 AM
It's still cannot fit into the box. There is very little space for me to explain. What should I do now?

You can always highlight the main ones in your essays, have it written in your rec letters, or highlight it in your interview, or add in extra items!

Good Luck!

hi...

i juz wanna know whether SAT score alone is enough to apply for US uni?

pls answer...

It depends, but a lot of universities would need TOEFL too. And some better ones would need SAT2 too!

brucesharky
02-05-2008, 04:06 PM
I had a bit of the same problem. You could always elaborate further in the "Additional Info" section under "writing samples" (or upload a Word document there, your choice). That's what I did anyway. I listed my activities very briefly on the Activities page (not that I had a choice!), and uploaded a document containing elaborations on the Writing Samples page.

Yep! That's what I did too. I uploaded my resume in Word document in the "Additional Info" section.

winson
03-05-2008, 03:30 PM
Hi Guys, I am new here.

I am planning to apply to Penn U for intake 09. I am currently doing the IB. Just would like to know:

1) Is TOEFL like mandatory (no inch for exception) or you can get away with it? Coz my IB is like all English and I am doing the English done by the native speakers. What would you advise to do? Just take it anyway?

2) I am planning to take the SAT, but does everyone here who applies to US go thru the so-called preparatory classes in Princeton Review or whatever. I am not sure whether spending RM1k +++ to attend such classes are worthwhile. Or, we just like cross our fingers and try our best searching for practice tests? Do comment.

3) To those who have gotten into the Ivies, congrats. I would like to know do we apply to the unies individually? I believe they don't have anything like the UK UCAS? Pardon me for my ignorance. ... I used to be UK gung-ho but now I am checking out the US unis, which seems to be very tempting.

4) And finally, provided that we get a place in top unis in UK, US, or even Singapore, honestly how good are our chances to grab a scholarship?

These are some questions that I am entertaining right now. My IB is due in Nov 08, so I am planning to take the SAT in like end Nov 08. Pretty rushy. (thats why whether the preparatory classes is worth taking.... ) . I would appreciate a lot some fellow Recommers who could shed some light on this. Thanks a lot guys. Nice

Oh yeah, hi all, I am Winson. Nice to meet you. =P

andrewlza
03-05-2008, 09:47 PM
Hi Guys, I am new here.

I am planning to apply to Penn U for intake 09. I am currently doing the IB. Just would like to know:

1) Is TOEFL like mandatory (no inch for exception) or you can get away with it? Coz my IB is like all English and I am doing the English done by the native speakers. What would you advise to do? Just take it anyway?

2) I am planning to take the SAT, but does everyone here who applies to US go thru the so-called preparatory classes in Princeton Review or whatever. I am not sure whether spending RM1k +++ to attend such classes are worthwhile. Or, we just like cross our fingers and try our best searching for practice tests? Do comment.

3) To those who have gotten into the Ivies, congrats. I would like to know do we apply to the unies individually? I believe they don't have anything like the UK UCAS? Pardon me for my ignorance. ... I used to be UK gung-ho but now I am checking out the US unis, which seems to be very tempting.

4) And finally, provided that we get a place in top unis in UK, US, or even Singapore, honestly how good are our chances to grab a scholarship?

These are some questions that I am entertaining right now. My IB is due in Nov 08, so I am planning to take the SAT in like end Nov 08. Pretty rushy. (thats why whether the preparatory classes is worth taking.... ) . I would appreciate a lot some fellow Recommers who could shed some light on this. Thanks a lot guys. Nice

I'll answer your first three questions.

1) No.
http://tinkosong.com/2007/12/15/for-the-kiamsap-how-to-save-money-in-us-college-applications/

Language Proficiency Testing (waivable)

This is optional, in my experience. TOEFL and IELTS are evil money-sucking companies. I emailed the colleges:
?????
To whom it may concern,

I am an international applicant and I scored a 35 on the ACT English section. I speak English at home, and it is also the language I am most proficient in. Can the TOEFL requirement be waived?

Thank you,

Andrew Loh
????????

Responses:
?????????
Duke:
Hi Andrew??ABSOLUTELY!!!! With a 35 on the ACT English section, we
will not need to see a TOEFL score. Thanks for asking.
???????
Yale:
Then don?t worry about it. If your first language is English then don?t worry about the TOEFL.
????????-
Macalester:
We can waive TOEFL. Please once again remind us regarding your request for the waiver after we have received your ACT results and your application.
????????
Cornell:
The test is waived if students have a score of 670 or higher on the SAT Critical Reading Test.
????????

From my CommonApp:

Note that by definition, my ?mother tongue? is Chinese, whereas my ?first language?, ?language spoken at home? and ?language most proficient in? is English, and my ?medium of education? is Malay.

P/S Nag: You?re applying to US unis lah. Take lah some initiative. And muka tembok=good. Jangan shy shy.

2. No. The SATs are just like exams, and if there's one thing Malaysians are good at it is taking exams. Just memorize and study. Easy. Seriously, no one goes for those money sucking programs.

Buying books = good. Free online practice tests = better. Free books from friends/libraries/reading in Kinokuniya/MPH = best.

3. No. US has nothing like UCAS; the closest substitute they have is called the Common App (google), which is still a whole lot of work and forms and writing. Most colleges have supplements, which you'll have to complete individually for each school in addition to the Common App.

bert
03-05-2008, 10:12 PM
Hi Guys, I am new here.

also check out http://tinkosong.com/2007/12/15/tinkosong-series-on-us-universities-and-applications/

for more answers to your questions...

05-05-2008, 02:08 PM
can anyone enlighten me about ivy league please??? how do u apply for US universities??? by post or online??? do we have to post all the certified photocopy cert to the universities??? what's the difference between need blind and need based??? sorry for bombard so many ques...

ngai
05-05-2008, 03:02 PM
can anyone enlighten me about ivy league please??? how do u apply for US universities??? by post or online??? do we have to post all the certified photocopy cert to the universities??? what's the difference between need blind and need based??? sorry for bombard so many ques...

A useful walk through of the US University Application process can be found here:

http://tinkosong.com/2007/12/15/tinkosong-series-on-us-universities-and-applications/

Good luck!

05-05-2008, 10:32 PM
Recently I emailed a university to ask about their application deadline and this is the reply I got today,

Fall Semester (August-December) May 1 but no later than July 1

Spring Semester (January-May) No later than November 1

Does this mean,

If I am to apply for the fall semester 2009, all application much reach them by July 1st 2009? I thought application deadline for US universities for fall intake 2009 is somewhere in January 2009 and the results will be released somewhere in April 2009?

Or that only applies to certain school?

I am soooo confused

herm
05-05-2008, 10:53 PM
syamil,i pm u ady.plz check it out.thx yea.

12-05-2008, 10:29 AM
Recently I emailed a university to ask about their application deadline and this is the reply I got today,

Does this mean,

If I am to apply for the fall semester 2009, all application much reach them by July 1st 2009? I thought application deadline for US universities for fall intake 2009 is somewhere in January 2009 and the results will be released somewhere in April 2009?

I am soooo confused

okay so my question left unanswered...... (herm the pm u sent didnt answer the question, u know i visit here regularly you just want to draw my attention how very smart of you hehe)

anyway, another question.

for the ECA, i was the commander for a marching band and we made it to state level, and I have got certs for it (for every level eg school, district, blablabla) and it is also in my schools testimonial and sijil berhenti.

Is it enough to just submit the shcool testimonial?

I just dont see the point submitting lots of certs (like what i did for scholarship application harhar).

andrewlza
15-05-2008, 01:38 PM

Does this mean,

I am soooo confused

Yes. (What is with the message is too short function?)

silencer dragoon
15-05-2008, 01:42 PM
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...... when jpa's letter will reach us eh?

forEVA
18-05-2008, 03:37 PM

i did stpm too, n yes, i just got an offer this year.

oh, 1 more useful tip when applying to unis in the states, ur chance will instantly skyrocket if u apply to unis/colleges with no malaysians studying in it. so do check out their student body while doing ur research. plus once accepted, they'll give u LOTS of $$$ for u to come! i experimented with it n it worked.

btw, anybody knows anybody who's in tennessee atau kawasan-kawasan yang sewaktu dengannya?

18-05-2008, 06:19 PM
i did stpm too, n yes, i just got an offer this year.

oh, 1 more useful tip when applying to unis in the states, ur chance will instantly skyrocket if u apply to unis/colleges with no malaysians studying in it. so do check out their student body while doing ur research. plus once accepted, they'll give u LOTS of $$$ for u to come! i experimented with it n it worked.

btw, anybody knows anybody who's in tennessee atau kawasan-kawasan yang sewaktu dengannya?

u applied unis in states with actual SPTM results or trial results??? did u take any extra test like SAT??? how u applied for the unis in states??? were there any interviews conducted??? sorry for bombard u with so many ques...

forEVA
18-05-2008, 10:32 PM
lol. i applied using my trials.

SAT- a must.

this should answer all ur questions about how to apply to the states- http://tinkosong.com/category/united-states/

interview- depends. especially for unis with quite a number of alumni in msia such as the ivy league schools. i didnt have to go for interviews actually.

above all, do check out the US thread -from page 1 to current- for best results. dont be lazy. the senior citizens did help out a LOT in giving tips for application.

23-05-2008, 08:57 PM
one more ques... is it a must to submit SAT when u apply for US universities??? if it is a must, so we have to take SAT before SPTM trial exam... or we can submit the SAT result later???

23-05-2008, 11:24 PM
You can submit the SAT later but no longer than January or December where most ivy league standard universities stop accepting them. If you go to second tier, well maybe you can send in later.

bambi
27-05-2008, 10:59 PM
Hi,

Does anyone know anybody who is a student/ alumni from St Johns Uni
( Queens,NY )? I would like to know more about the study environment and on-campus experience as they have offered me a place as undergraduate for Fall 2008.
This is actually my second time asking as previously I had not found any answer.

It is a third tier uni, hence I am really worried. Could anyone pls advise me whether I should take the offer as I am given full tuition fee scholarship ? My second option would be staying here and study at Msia Monash University ( 2+1 with Aus ) under parents $$.

Thanks a lot !

27-05-2008, 11:10 PM
okay so my question left unanswered...... (herm the pm u sent didnt answer the question, u know i visit here regularly you just want to draw my attention how very smart of you hehe)

anyway, another question.

for the ECA, i was the commander for a marching band and we made it to state level, and I have got certs for it (for every level eg school, district, blablabla) and it is also in my schools testimonial and sijil berhenti.

Is it enough to just submit the shcool testimonial?

I just dont see the point submitting lots of certs (like what i did for scholarship application harhar).

Sorry that your question was unattended.

On the application deadline, most of the decently top university would have deadline of Dec 31st for applications of Fall the next year.

On activities, most US universities do not require certificates. Essentially, you just need to be able to highlight it well, be it through essays, recommendation letters, resume/cv etc.

Hi,

( Queens,NY )? I would like to know more about the study environment and on-campus experience as they have offered me a place as undergraduate for Fall 2008.
This is actually my second time asking as previously I had not found any answer.

It is a third tier uni, hence I am really worried. Could anyone pls advise me whether I should take the offer as I am given full tuition fee scholarship ? My second option would be staying here and study at Msia Monash University ( 2+1 with Aus ) under parents $$.

Thanks a lot !

Sorry that no one answered. Essentially, as of now, I think no one knew anything about it, so we are unable to answer. Maybe you can try some google search about it, or try college confidential.com

Beatles
29-05-2008, 12:39 AM
What's the difference between Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3? Is Tier 1 universities better than the others?

digital_lifeform
29-05-2008, 01:03 AM
What's the difference between Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3? Is Tier 1 universities better than the others?

Tier 1 is the best and tier 4 is the worst. Not 100% sure how and who ranks this tiers anyway. Furthermore, there is great variation within universities of the same tier.

You can always check the various university rankings available. But remember that they only serve as a rough guide to narrow down your choices. Then you have to research in to the fine details of each university too see really which is the best university for you. If you hop into Harvard straight away just because it is no 1 you may find yourself regretting when you get there if it is not really the kind of environment you envisioned it to be.

29-05-2008, 02:40 AM
What lah Jason, giving advice like this. You have the opportunity to study overseas. Therefore, you should always look out for the best possible outcome for you. Don't bother about any universities lower than Tier 1. Pick out the best and you are well to believe that you are receiving world class education.

bert
29-05-2008, 05:24 AM
Hi,

Thanks a lot !

Hi, I disagree that the outcome of going to a third tier university will always end up worse than the outcome of going to a first tier university. A lot of it is what you really make out of your experience. So I would argue that looking out for the best possible outcome for yourself doesn't necessarily mean that you have to choose a higher ranked school over a less higher ranked school, it should be going to a place where you feel that you would have the most potential and opportunities to develop, wherever that may be. Furthermore, not all of us are as good as capablanca, as it really isn't that easy getting into first tier schools if you don't have a privileged(in a broad sense) background.

First of all, I would really think about what I wanted to do or what my goals are in pursuing higher education. I would also look at where you might potentially end up working after graduation.

Going to St. Johns might offer you a better cultural immersion experience and might make you a more adaptable person than if you did a twinning program with Monash Malaysia. Also, if you plan to work in the States for a bit, going to a US college would probably be more preferable. In addition, going to the States allows you tremendous flexibility in choosing what you want to study and what you want to do after graduation as there are just tremendous resources and opportunities available, so if you're looking for self-exploration, an isolated environment in the US away from other Malaysians might be a more preferable option where you are free to remake yourself as you are not surrounded by people with similar mindsets from where you come from all the time.

It also depends what you want to study. I understand that they have good pharmacy programs there.

I actually have an acquaintance there doing pharmacy, but I'm rather hesitant about contacting her since I haven't spoken to her for a while.

Cheers.

edit: Sorry I wasn't being clear in last sentence of the 3rd paragraph. Also corrected some grammatical errors.

digital_lifeform
29-05-2008, 09:48 AM
Going to St. Johns might offer you a better cultural immersion experience and might make you a more adaptable person than if you did a twinning program with Monash Malaysia. Also, if you plan to work in the States for a bit, going to a US college would probably be more preferable. In addition, going to the States allows you tremendous flexibility in choosing what you want to study and what you want to do after graduation as there are just tremendous resources and opportunities available, so if you're looking for self-exploration, an isolated environment in the US away from other Malaysians might be a more preferable option where you are free to remake yourself and are not be surrounded by people with similar mindsets all the time.
Cheers.

Hmm. Cultural immersion in part is wishful thinking. I believe that only a certain percentage of Malaysian who go there actually try to fully assimilate with the US people and learn their way of thinking. And learning all this require a lot of interaction and not just observation from your room window. Go there only if you're willing to venture out to the strange people you will be meeting. You must be willing to keep all your prejudices and custom and whatsoever in a box, to become like a white sheet of paper. If you go there and you're not prepare to throw yourself into the colorful mixture there, you won't be anything more than a tourist staying there for a long time and after 4 years, you'll just realize you've spent alot of money and you're still very Malaysian.

Surrounded by people with the same mindset it not a bad thing. Many successful people has never studied overseas. They have just stayed here all their live, understood the local people and used that knowledge for their success.

29-05-2008, 11:44 AM
lol. i applied using my trials.

SAT- a must.

this should answer all ur questions about how to apply to the states- http://tinkosong.com/category/united-states/

interview- depends. especially for unis with quite a number of alumni in msia such as the ivy league schools. i didnt have to go for interviews actually.

above all, do check out the US thread -from page 1 to current- for best results. dont be lazy. the senior citizens did help out a LOT in giving tips for application.

mind share out the time-line in US Unis application procedure. i am confused. would very keen to knw the time you did your SAT1,SAT2,date of submission,date admited etc etc. might help alot to fellow juniors. =)

*no senior citizen,from page 1 till this ,have share the time-line in application,particularly for stpm leavers,like you*

Thanks in advanced.

Breaking news....
those who got admited to Ivy League,will automatically got JPA scholarship,effective next years.

ngai
29-05-2008, 12:02 PM
Breaking news....
those who got admited to Ivy League,will automatically got JPA scholarship,effective next years.

You sure? Any verified sources to look into?

29-05-2008, 12:08 PM
The Discover US Education last year did provide a rough timeline for the students. So, I expect this year to have the same thing too.

Why would JPA sponsored those who got into Ivy Leagues? If the student got into Harvard, he or she is already eligible for financial aid instead of opting for scholarship by JPA which will bond the student to the government. Not a good trade-off at all.

29-05-2008, 12:17 PM
Breaking news....

how u know that???

29-05-2008, 12:24 PM
how u know that???

Read here (http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/bnm/20080528/tts-parliament-winding-up-psd-993ba14.html)

and its on major newspapers today.

29-05-2008, 12:41 PM
It also states that JPA want the scholars to work there first to reduce the unemployment problem in Malaysia as well as gaining experience.

Then, what is the hoo haa that they want the scholars to return straight away to honor their bonds?

29-05-2008, 12:58 PM
It also states that JPA want the scholars to work there first to reduce the unemployment problem in Malaysia as well as gaining experience.

Then, what is the hoo haa that they want the scholars to return straight away to honor their bonds?

similar questions in mind.
how true is thier words this time? :twisted::twisted:

ngai
29-05-2008, 03:13 PM
The Discover US Education last year did provide a rough timeline for the students. So, I expect this year to have the same thing too.

Why would JPA sponsored those who got into Ivy Leagues? If the student got into Harvard, he or she is already eligible for financial aid instead of opting for scholarship by JPA which will bond the student to the government. Not a good trade-off at all.

Not exactly. Only Harvard, Princeton, Yale, MIT and now Penn is need-blind for international students. Those who obtained offers from the rest of the Ivies might not receive any aid at all.

29-05-2008, 03:21 PM

i have the same thought too... i dont think the scholars will come back after they have started to work there... so, who is going to help in the development of our country??? what's the point of giving the scholarship then???

29-05-2008, 05:43 PM
Not exactly. Only Harvard, Princeton, Yale, MIT and now Penn is need-blind for international students. Those who obtained offers from the rest of the Ivies might not receive any aid at all.

Err yes, but those who intended to apply must originally have a financial plan to support themselves in the first place. What JPA doing now is to take advantage of the situation where only those who manage to apply in are given the scholarship. What if this is another move to bind the outstanding students with rigid limitation of the Malaysian government? After all, this students must have something unique and outstanding in them to be accepted at all. I'm afraid that this uniqueness in them will be gone after going through the uniformity of what is known as the civil service.

However, all this are under the assumption that the students will be bonded to the government lah.

ngai
29-05-2008, 05:54 PM
Err yes, but those who intended to apply must originally have a financial plan to support themselves in the first place. What JPA doing now is to take advantage of the situation where only those who manage to apply in are given the scholarship. What if this is another move to bind the outstanding students with rigid limitation of the Malaysian government? After all, this students must have something unique and outstanding in them to be accepted at all. I'm afraid that this uniqueness in them will be gone after going through the uniformity of what is known as the civil service.

However, all this are under the assumption that the students will be bonded to the government lah.

And also under the assumption that the scholars will be under-utilized upon graduation. But I see your point.

Anyhow, there are scores of bright and promising students who would jump at any opened doors that would resolve their financial woes, especially when it comes to going to the universities of their dreams. So in this respect, the government has come up with the right initiative. It's now a matter of HOW the scholars would be treated throughout the entire process. But that is always a government policy kind of thing.

bert
29-05-2008, 08:08 PM

UPenn is not need blind. They are actually very stingy with aid for international students. Dartmouth is the fourth Ivy that went need blind recently.

MIT is not an Ivy, but them and Amherst, Williams, Middlebury are the four non-Ivies to offer need blind admissions for international student.

t
31-05-2008, 06:19 PM
Would the Ivies penalize me if I don't put any major when applying to Ivies?

31-05-2008, 06:33 PM
Would the Ivies penalize me if I don't put any major when applying to Ivies?

They won't penalize you for that. In fact, even if you declare any major, you can change it freely till 2nd or 3rd year usually.

forEVA
01-06-2008, 08:29 PM
mind share out the time-line in US Unis application procedure. i am confused. would very keen to knw the time you did your SAT1,SAT2,date of submission,date admited etc etc. might help alot to fellow juniors. =)

*no senior citizen,from page 1 till this ,have share the time-line in application,particularly for stpm leavers,like you*

sure! all in 2007, although definitely not recommended:

mid-oct: registered for the SATs and TOEFL.
nov 1st: took SAT I.
nov 10th: took TOEFL.
nov 14th-dec 2nd: sat for STPM.
nov 15th: applied SLC ED I (got rejected, partly because my app materials were incomplete).
dec 1st: took SAT II.

how?? bery bery the rush, right?.. :p

this is what i'd recommend anyone to do:

lower 6 til middle of upper 6: register and sit for the SATs and TOEFL.

simple as that. this will give u plenty of time to prepare for the SATs, TOEFL, STPM and if u want- ED!! ;)

01-06-2008, 09:22 PM
sure! all in 2007, although definitely not recommended:

mid-oct: registered for the SATs and TOEFL.
nov 1st: took SAT I.
nov 10th: took TOEFL.
nov 14th-dec 2nd: sat for STPM.
nov 15th: applied SLC ED I (got rejected, partly because my app materials were incomplete).
dec 1st: took SAT II.

how?? bery bery the rush, right?.. :p

this is what i'd recommend anyone to do:

lower 6 til middle of upper 6: register and sit for the SATs and TOEFL.

simple as that. this will give u plenty of time to prepare for the SATs, TOEFL, STPM and if u want- ED!! ;)

sorry... can u enlighten me about SLC ED??? i have never heard of it before...

01-06-2008, 09:31 PM
I would strongly suggest everyone not to miss the October SAT exam though, especially since you have time to prepare for it from now.

forEVA
01-06-2008, 09:52 PM
sorry... can u enlighten me about SLC ED??? i have never heard of it before...

Sarah Lawrence College Early Decision.

t
03-06-2008, 05:38 PM
For high school score, can I just send in my form 4&5, SPM and pre-U(SAM) results? OR do I really need to send in the form 1-3 & PMR results? If I'm studying in different schools from form 1-5, am I supposed to submit them separately? OR just put them in the same envelope with the secondary school report?

ngai
03-06-2008, 07:24 PM
For high school score, can I just send in my form 4&5, SPM and pre-U(SAM) results? OR do I really need to send in the form 1-3 & PMR results? If I'm studying in different schools from form 1-5, am I supposed to submit them separately? OR just put them in the same envelope with the secondary school report?

It's up to you really. What's more important should be the most recent results, eg PMR, SPM and pre-u.

As for the schools itself, stating in Common App that you attend these schools should suffice. It should be okay to put the materials in one envelope, provided you label them accurately to avoid confusion.

Don't worry, US unis don't major in the minors, as in, they don't scrutinize the technicalities. Just try to abide by their instructions and you should be fine.

jimi7
13-06-2008, 10:37 PM
Do the documents (common app and university forms) needed to be submitted online or by mail?

15-06-2008, 12:17 AM
Do the documents (common app and university forms) needed to be submitted online or by mail?

Online, except for your recommendation letters and other supplements via mail.

15-06-2008, 01:26 AM
Hey everyone, firstly congrats to those who manage to get in to their university of choice, and to those who didn't don't despair. For those applying all the best to you, and hopefully you will use ReCom to the fullest (but don't stress Chen Chow anymore ok) As I wasn't really following the latest happenings (e.g. the JPA new auto-scholarship w00t) I guess I won't be the best person to help anymore, especially in the application process.

Nevertheless, it's really great to know that there are still many Malaysians looking out to be a global citizen. Your overseas education will change you fundamentally, so be fully aware of every step you take from pouring through threads in ReCom all the way until your last flight home after graduation. If you only stumble upon these threads (especially after today's US Education Fair) do spend time to digest what people have to say, especially those who are currently there or those who graduated. Even as your foot paths might differ from the writer, much of the take home lessons will be useful to you as it was to the writer.

Again, congrats and all the best to everyone.

And yes, Stanford will take eons before they will help foreigners, _but_ if you have a scholarship before you apply that definitely puts you at an advantage (they like people who can pay.. serious.. countries don't go bankrupt so easily..)

jimi7
16-06-2008, 06:03 PM
Online, except for your recommendation letters and other supplements via mail.

that means a lot of recommendation letters have to be prepared,right?
i mean for each universities applied two. so, if applying 8 unis then 16 have to be prepared.

17-06-2008, 07:25 AM
that means a lot of recommendation letters have to be prepared,right?
i mean for each universities applied two. so, if applying 8 unis then 16 have to be prepared.

It is technically similar recommendation letter that you prepare multiple copy. Of course, if the recommendor is willing to put in efforts, you can ask him/her to help customize.

zzz
17-06-2008, 08:48 PM
You're allowed to send photocopies of recs.

HiddenEyes
19-06-2008, 09:21 PM
What lah Jason, giving advice like this. You have the opportunity to study overseas. Therefore, you should always look out for the best possible outcome for you. Don't bother about any universities lower than Tier 1. Pick out the best and you are well to believe that you are receiving world class education.
What are the universities in the first tier besides the Ivy Leagues? Is NYU in the 1st tier? What about University of Wisconsin Madison ? UIUC?

989Lee
20-06-2008, 10:59 PM
for the common application:
1. how can my teacher write on the teacher's evaluation? do i give he or she my password (is there?)and then my teacher can enter to my application form? if i waive my right to it, then does it mean when i access the form, my teacher's evaluation will not be shown?
2. for the school's report, mid-year and final year, should my preparatory centre (eg inti) or my secondary school fill them up?
3. what should i fill in for the secondary's school counselor? is secondary=inti?
4. arts and athlete supplements? what are they?
5. home school supplement?
6. international supplement?
and for my recommendations letters, what paper should my teachers write on? are they papers downloaded from the common app/my university of choice's website for this recom letters?

brucesharky
21-06-2008, 09:36 AM
for the common application:
1. how can my teacher write on the teacher's evaluation? do i give he or she my password (is there?)and then my teacher can enter to my application form? if i waive my right to it, then does it mean when i access the form, my teacher's evaluation will not be shown?
2. for the school's report, mid-year and final year, should my preparatory centre (eg inti) or my secondary school fill them up?
3. what should i fill in for the secondary's school counselor? is secondary=inti?
4. arts and athlete supplements? what are they?
5. home school supplement?
6. international supplement?
and for my recommendations letters, what paper should my teachers write on? are they papers downloaded from the common app/my university of choice's website for this recom letters?

1. Print out the teacher evaluation page. Then, ask your teacher to fill it up and attach a letter of recommendation to the form. Waiving your right means you will never see your teacher's recommendation. Not now, not in the future. I would strongly suggest that you waive your right coz it will give you more credibility and integrity.. something like tat la. And it helps your teacher to write a letter of rec. more freely.

2.mid year= INTI first sem results, filled up by your INTI counselor. final report only send up when the uni accepted u and u confim that ur attending the uni. Like me, I applied last year, sending my final report on July 1st this year.

3.Secondary school counselor under your school information is INTI. Secondary school report, your counselor = high school counselor.INTI counselor fills up ur mid year report.

4. art supplement is if you've done drawings or paintings or composed music etc and wanna show the uni, then burn into a cd and send it up to them. Attach a letter of recommendation from your instructors as well. However, unis like Stanford does not accept the common app arts supplement. Stanford uses it's own art supplement forms and the deadline to submit it is much earlier. So do check out each schools requirement.
athlete supplements: I DUNNO.

5.home school supplement: only if your homeschooled. So in yor case, ignore it.

6.international supplement= attach your SPM translated cert and get your high school conselor to fill it up also.

7.Well the teacher recommendation. You print out the teacher evaluation for common app or the uni's own forms (depends whether the uni uses common app or not). Get the teacher to fill up the teacher evaluation form. Then, attach a letter of recommendation by that teacher- written or typed, it's optional. My teacher typed and printed coz easier to do multiple copies for the 6 schools I applied to. Then, use Pos Malaysia (if wanna save money) to send to the schools u applied to. Hehehe.... hope this helps.

http://www.usaforstudents.org/publication.html

Do check out this website. Under the Tips for Applying to U.S. Universities, there's a lot of answers to your questions. =)

abyssesour
21-06-2008, 04:33 PM
dear seniors, i'm supposed to translate those bm certs into english right? exactly how do i do that? and which certs in particular do i have to translate?

Butters
21-06-2008, 06:55 PM
dear seniors, i'm supposed to translate those bm certs into english right? exactly how do i do that? and which certs in particular do i have to translate?

your spm cert....ask your school to do it for you....

brucesharky
21-06-2008, 07:45 PM

I translated my transcripts. (My internal exams for high school from Form 1-5) It depends on you though whether u want to just submit your upper form results or from Form 1-5.

As for public exams, I translated my PMR cert. I am studying in INTEC, so the counselor in INTEC helped all of us to get a translated SPM cert. by the gov. You can translate the SPM cert and get your school to certify alternatively.

And I did not send any of my co-cu certs. up. So, no need to translate your co-cu certs. unless you wanna send those international competitions certs.

26-06-2008, 12:27 AM
For those interested in preparing for US Universities Applications for end of this year. I'll be doing an informal sharing on 5th July 2008, 3pm at KFC KL Sentral.

Even if you are not on scholarship, you are more than welcome to let me know that you want to attend.

If you are interested to attend, do send me message with following info:-
Name:

Preparation Center (INTEC/Inti/Taylor's):

High School:

SPM Results:

Email Address:

Major:

Your Best Score in www.freerice.com (Which level):

firebolt
26-06-2008, 12:14 PM
hi I hope JPA scholars can help me on this:

If I want to go to Canada to visit my relatives during my winter/summer holidays in US( I have taken my Canadian visa), will JPA say no/will they be unhappy?

I know this sounds a bit absurd, but I just want your views.

**I dont know where to put my question, so i put it in this thread, since many JPA scholars visit this thread.

abyssesour
26-06-2008, 04:48 PM
oh regarding the translation of school transcripts and certs, I asked my school and they actually said that they have no authority whatsoever in handling it. >_> Is it possible if I translate it myself and then get the commissioner of oaths to certify it?

26-06-2008, 09:46 PM
oh regarding the translation of school transcripts and certs, I asked my school and they actually said that they have no authority whatsoever in handling it. >_> Is it possible if I translate it myself and then get the commissioner of oaths to certify it?

i translated the whole thing myself and then I asked the school to cop and certify.

btw, are you guys applying for Fall 09?

digital_lifeform
27-06-2008, 08:34 PM
hi I hope JPA scholars can help me on this:

If I want to go to Canada to visit my relatives during my winter/summer holidays in US( I have taken my Canadian visa), will JPA say no/will they be unhappy?

I know this sounds a bit absurd, but I just want your views.

**I dont know where to put my question, so i put it in this thread, since many JPA scholars visit this thread.

You can go anywhere you like. Just don't fail your subjects.

starbie
01-07-2008, 04:07 PM
one question here.. in general, do most US unis accept IELTS as an alternative to TOEFL?

01-07-2008, 04:22 PM
you can email respective Unis for further infos. =)

Butters
01-07-2008, 10:24 PM
one question here.. in general, do most US unis accept IELTS as an alternative to TOEFL?

it depends.....i suggest you to ask to the university you are applying....

starbie
03-07-2008, 03:58 PM
you can email respective Unis for further infos. =)

to be specific.. i wanted to know whether UPenn does accept IELTS..
and i emailed.. but there seems to be no reply from them.. :(

zzz
14-07-2008, 07:45 PM
Call them?

989Lee
20-07-2008, 11:12 AM
to be specific.. i wanted to know whether UPenn does accept IELTS..
and i emailed.. but there seems to be no reply from them.. :(
ya, dont know what happened to them cos i also e-mailed them (not only one time, mind you) about one month ago but still din get their reply!

UglyGirl
05-09-2008, 01:01 AM
Hello! Is that only the students who apply for American Degree Transfer Program can get in to US universities?

05-09-2008, 01:41 AM
Hello! Is that only the students who apply for American Degree Transfer Program can get in to US universities?

Nope. US Universities take students from any background. STPM, A Level, International Baccalaureate, American Degree Foundation Program, or American Degree Transfer Program.

jimi7
05-09-2008, 07:52 AM
anyone knows the Questbridge program..?
it offers some full scholarship..check it out

caramel_nut
05-09-2008, 11:14 AM
Questbridge is only for Americans.

UglyGirl
05-09-2008, 12:25 PM
Nope. US Universities take students from any background. STPM, A Level, International Baccalaureate, American Degree Foundation Program, or American Degree Transfer Program.

Umm... What if the course I studying is in UK system? Can I still get in to US uni?

chen622
05-09-2008, 01:09 PM
Umm... What if the course I studying is in UK system? Can I still get in to US uni?

Maybe you should explain in detail what course are you taking now. Is it A-level, a degree, or something?

abyssesour
05-09-2008, 01:10 PM
so basically i am to print out the teacher evaluation form from commonapp, pass it to my evaluators and then make multiple copies of them to be sent to unis?

UglyGirl
05-09-2008, 04:40 PM
Maybe you should explain in detail what course are you taking now. Is it A-level, a degree, or something?

umm A business degree program.

clep
05-09-2008, 07:31 PM
so basically i am to print out the teacher evaluation form from commonapp, pass it to my evaluators and then make multiple copies of them to be sent to unis?

If you're waiving your right to see the recommendation, and you're sending it together with your main application, just make sure it is sealed in individual envelopes for different unis, preferably with your teacher's signature on the flap. e.g. 1 application for Uni X has 1 TE envelope for each teacher with one TE form and the recommendation letter in it (if it is on a separate sheet).

If you are applying online you also have to 'invite' your evaluators using your Common App account (under school forms section). They can then choose to submit a paper copy or fill out the recommendation online.

For INTEC OSSP wants paper copies, so I guess no choice about that if you're in INTEC.

Jim
05-09-2008, 11:41 PM
Hey, someone please explain how to fill the Secondary School Report, International Supplement etc...

Whats the meanings of weighted, unweighted, class rank, quintile and .... ?

Even my school counselor don't understand when i showed the forms to him! :nuts

06-09-2008, 04:02 AM
Jim, you posted the same question at the other thread. It is replied there already.

On the recommendation letters, if can, do get it filled up online. That saved their job. If you mail paper copy, what it means is that they will take it and scan it.

jimi7
06-09-2008, 06:03 AM
Questbridge is only for Americans.

refer http://www.questbridge.org/cps/eligibility.html

Eligibility Requirements

Standardized test scores are not required, but are given significant weight in the selection process. QuestBridge strongly encourages students to submit any PSAT, PLAN, SAT, ACT, AP, or SAT Subject Test scores they may have received.

You must be a high school junior at the time of application.

US citizens, Permanent Residents, and foreign students are eligible to apply for the College Prep Scholarship.

I think we are just not that aware of this I would say.(including me though).But correct me if I'm wrong

caramel_nut
06-09-2008, 11:28 AM
Hmm they finally open it up for foreigners. During my year, it was only for Americans.

But do take note that this is not a full scholarship for university. It's a fund for students from lower income families to better prepare themselves application only.

abyssesour
08-09-2008, 09:04 PM
I'm a lil' confused about the recommendation letters =s am i supposed to print out the teacher evaluation form then let the teacher fill it in and then attach a the letter.. OR.. invite the teachers via commonapp? (im filling in everything online btw) Since Chenchow said it's better to fill it online, does it mean that my teachers have to type in and upload the softcopy? =s i already got my hardcopies T__T

Oh and about the 'Activities' section, there isn't enough space for me to write the details of the activity. Am I supposed to 'add another activity' ?? Like for instance, im actively involved in music:instrumental like state orchestra, college band etc. Should I clump them altogether or separate them??

i would be eternally grateful if you guys can clear this doubt of mine

andrewlza
09-09-2008, 02:36 AM
I'm a lil' confused about the recommendation letters =s am i supposed to print out the teacher evaluation form then let the teacher fill it in and then attach a the letter.. OR.. invite the teachers via commonapp? (im filling in everything online btw) Since Chenchow said it's better to fill it online, does it mean that my teachers have to type in and upload the softcopy? =s i already got my hardcopies T__T

for the past few years, teacher evaluations can only be submitted as hard copies.

Oh and about the 'Activities' section, there isn't enough space for me to write the details of the activity. Am I supposed to 'add another activity' ?? Like for instance, im actively involved in music:instrumental like state orchestra, college band etc. Should I clump them altogether or separate them??

i would be eternally grateful if you guys can clear this doubt of mine

write these in the "additional information" section. separate if you think it shows your talent more (and if you have no more activities); clump together if you think it focuses better.

09-09-2008, 07:37 AM
For teachers' recommendation, I think for this year, they highly recommend you invite the teachers to submit online. I believe for hardcopy, they would have typed and printed it out right? So, they just need to copy and paste into it.

Agree with what andrewlza said. Ideally if you have a lot of stuff, then combine this into 1. Of course, if you have very significant level of achievements in each type, then separate them to highlight.

Vulcan_Raven
09-09-2008, 08:57 PM
Hi, I am new here. I am Raymond and nice to meet you all.

I am currently applying to Fall 2009 admission to US universities.
Recom had been a useful resource site for me for the past few months and I appreciate what the Recom community has done to help others especially in the application procedures.

I have a question though,

The wordings of the certifcation in Malay such as "Saya akui bahawa salinan ini..." on photocopied certs, are they accepted as certified true copies? Or should I get someone who has a cop in English?

09-09-2008, 09:19 PM
You should get an English cop, "that this is a certified true copy". Unless the people in the admission office can read Malay, the stamp is practically useless.

09-09-2008, 10:41 PM
You should get an English cop, "that this is a certified true copy". Unless the people in the admission office can read Malay, the stamp is practically useless.

Concur with capablanca.

liangfuhan
10-09-2008, 05:17 AM
for the past few years, teacher evaluations can only be submitted as hard copies.

write these in the "additional information" section. separate if you think it shows your talent more (and if you have no more activities); clump together if you think it focuses better.

I also think that it is good to note that the selection committee looks for both breadth and width in an applicant's extra curricular activities. The number of slot given is sufficient, but please do not purposely fill all 8 for the sake of a better impression.

clep
10-09-2008, 07:09 AM
Breadth and width are the same thing, perhaps depth is the word you're looking for ;)

Vulcan_Raven
10-09-2008, 11:59 AM

Thanks for the reply. That cleared up my confusion.

(sorry for not grouping the questions together with my previous post)
1. Supplement Essays
I have completed the essay for the Common Application, now proceeding to the essays found in the supplements. I kinda don't know how to tackle the questions in the school specific supplements. The supplement essays, some of them are quite peculiar and totally different style from the Common App essay. Are they judging by how I respond to "Favourite movie", "Favourite food", "What you do during afternoon?" using psychology? If lets say I answer that my "favourite movie" is Cicakman, will they penalize me because it is a crappy movie?

2. Translation of certificates/transcripts
I have read through the posts and found out that we can do the translation ourselves and certification is not required. But do I need to certify the Malay words word-by-word, or do I translate only what's important?

Thanks in advance!

10-09-2008, 01:02 PM
Well, for the supplement essays, you will send a unique essay to each college. So, might as well make it as specific as possible. If your favorite movie is "Cicakman", you might give a brief introduction and then elaborate the storyline by putting how it relates to your character etc.

For the translation, it's up to you. As long as they get the message. But personally, I don't find it difficult to translate everything. After all, how many words can a certificate contains?

sunshineroger
10-09-2008, 05:12 PM
I am very confused right now? As I have learned from the various threads in ReCOM, The Midyear Report is something like the latest college transcript and the Final Report is not needed for now.

But the officer in Inti UC told me that the Midyear Report is the SPM forecast result?? And the Final Report requires a signature???

Let say I am applying to 20 universities. Should I print 20 school forms and make my teachers fill up 20 times?

About the recommendation letter, should I get 20 authentic copies with authentic signatures? Or should I photocopy them?

Opinions, anybody?

Thanx in advance.

passOUT
10-09-2008, 10:21 PM
I am very confused right now? As I have learned from the various threads in ReCOM, The Midyear Report is something like the latest college transcript and the Final Report is not needed for now.

But the officer in Inti UC told me that the Midyear Report is the SPM forecast result?? And the Final Report requires a signature???

Let say I am applying to 20 universities. Should I print 20 school forms and make my teachers fill up 20 times?

About the recommendation letter, should I get 20 authentic copies with authentic signatures? Or should I photocopy them?

Opinions, anybody?

Thanx in advance.
Broken BBcode corrected. ~Xon @<hidden> 11/9

I am printing out one form for my teacher to fill and then proceed to make copies of it. As for the recommendations letters, I think you should probably make copies from the original one and get your teacher to sign.

That's what I'm planning to do...hope that helps :)

liangfuhan
11-09-2008, 09:22 AM
Breadth and width are the same thing, perhaps depth is the word you're looking for ;)

Thank you! Yes, breadth and depth!

abyssesour
11-09-2008, 10:40 AM
Broken BBcode corrected. ~Xon @<hidden> 11/9

I am printing out one form for my teacher to fill and then proceed to make copies of it. As for the recommendations letters, I think you should probably make copies from the original one and get your teacher to sign.

That's what I'm planning to do...hope that helps :)

I'm going to invite my teachers via CommonApp (:

pinkpau
15-09-2008, 02:33 AM

1. you have two options regarding the secondary school report + mid year report:

a) use your SPM (form 3 - form 5 or even from Form 1 if you so wish) as secondary school report, and then pre u/alevels in your mid year report. this is what i would recommend doing.

OR

b) use your pre u/alevels in your secondary school report AND also the mid year report. not advisable because you're totally disregarding your high school grades. but i know one or two people who did this, only because their SPM results were really bad.

2. dont use your forecast results, especially not your SPM

3. your teacher completes and signs one form, and you photocopy it 20 times for your 20 schools

4. as for recommendation, 20 photocopies but each with authentic signature. that said, my teachers only signed on one form and photocopied the rest.

hope that helps :)

oh. i would also recommend using high school grades (instead of college/pre u in the secondary school report, simply because your high school teachers will be able to write you better recommendations :) of course, this may differ from individual to individual, but chances are that the teachers and counselors in your high school will know you much better than your pre-u lecturers/admin staff.

silent_man
16-09-2008, 11:34 AM
Assuming I am applying as a secondary school candidate (after SPM), what can i use as my mid year report?
Since you say the SPM forecast result is not advisable, then what options do I have?
Please reply ASAP..
Thnx in advance..

pinkpau
16-09-2008, 01:15 PM
would you have finished SPM and gotten ur results by the time you're applying? or are you taking SPM this year?

if you already have your SPM results (and only that, with no Pre-U), then i would suggest using your Form 1 - Form 5 (including SPM results) as your Secondary School Report, then write them a letter saying that you have already completed your SPM and have no 'mid year report' to send in. either that, or you can send in up to your trial results for Sec School Report, then send in SPM results as Mid Year Report.

if you are sitting for SPM this year and therefore will not have your results in time for December.. i would actually suggest applying next year, because you will have a severe academic handicap compared to the rest of the people in your applicant pool. nevertheless, if you really want to apply this year, (and it's not impossible to gain admission this way! just a lot harder), then definitely send in your trial results and forecast as Secondary School Report, and send in your SPM results as Mid Year Report when March 2009 rolls around.

make sure you write them a clear letter explaining this, though, because usually they require international students to complete a Pre-U course.

camy
25-09-2008, 12:10 PM
Hello! I have been away from Recom for quite a while and its a bout time for applications. My questions are as below:

1. How does the Mid-Year Report differ from the Year-End report? (I'm taking IB and my finals are in May 2009, meaning that my second year of IB started in June 2008)

2. What additional attachments should I include and get from my counselor? He/she has to write an evaluation letter too am I not correct?

3. For the transcripts, is it ok if i attach a testimonial that lists all my cocuricullar activitities in my SMK? If I am doing IB in a school, SriKDU, should I do the same for my CAS activities?

4. In CommonApp, we are allowed to invite our teachers for recommendation online. Is this for the teacher or for the counselor evaluation/recommendation?

5. Is a school testimonial(that lists my achievments and character in my SMK) the same as transcript? Or is the transcript like a report card? Is my SPM results the results

6. When bundling the forms, where do you normally put the translated certs and official certs?

Thank you in advance and sorry for reiterating some of the questions.. I just couldnt find PRECISELY what I wanted to know.

clep
25-09-2008, 11:49 PM
4. Both. They can opt out of doing it online too. The counselor has to include a pdf copy of your transcript and documents, though.

26-09-2008, 07:41 AM
Hello! I have been away from Recom for quite a while and its a bout time for applications. My questions are as below:

1. How does the Mid-Year Report differ from the Year-End report? (I'm taking IB and my finals are in May 2009, meaning that my second year of IB started in June 2008)

2. What additional attachments should I include and get from my counselor? He/she has to write an evaluation letter too am I not correct?

3. For the transcripts, is it ok if i attach a testimonial that lists all my cocuricullar activitities in my SMK? If I am doing IB in a school, SriKDU, should I do the same for my CAS activities?

4. In CommonApp, we are allowed to invite our teachers for recommendation online. Is this for the teacher or for the counselor evaluation/recommendation?

5. Is a school testimonial(that lists my achievments and character in my SMK) the same as transcript? Or is the transcript like a report card? Is my SPM results the results

6. When bundling the forms, where do you normally put the translated certs and official certs?

Thank you in advance and sorry for reiterating some of the questions.. I just couldnt find PRECISELY what I wanted to know.

1. For your midyear report, it would be your performance from June 08 to the time you submit application. Final year report is the entire 2nd year of your IB.

2. You need to get at least 2 teacher's evaluation. I would advise it be different person than your counselor, as your counselor would already write for you for the midyear report.

3. The listing of activities would be called Resume/CV. Yes. Do that. Do include actual statistic though. Being President of club means nothing, but if you being president of club and able to increase membership by 50%. It means something.

4. Hope other ReComers can answer.

5. Transcript is your report card.

6. Sort in a clear manner than it is fine. Label it well.

------
app2us (www.app2us.com), which I believe some ReComers know, will be giving a free talk on 29th October 2008. The talk is free of charge, and the speakers would be flying in from India to deliver it. I highly recommend you to join it, as the speakers are very knowledgable on US Applications and they are paying their own way to deliver this talk in KL to give back to community.

So, do RSVP at app2us (http://app2us.com/). Go to forum, and you'll see the thread to register for KL talk. They would only be able to come, if there are sufficient responses from Malaysians. Do spread the words!

gman
26-09-2008, 11:55 AM
hi there, i would just like to ask:

1. for the activities section, when they ask how many weeks per year and how many hours per week did we spend on doing that activity, how should i fill it in if the time spent differed from year to year as i joined that activity for a few years consecutively? eg. i was in the football team for 2 years but we only managed to reach the district level, but for my third year, we reached the state level.

2. when they ask us to put in the name of the activity or specific details for the activity, how do we fill it in? do we just put the name, e.g "National english debate championship"? or do we have to mention other things as well?

3. about the school we are currently in or graduated from, do we put in our preparatory centre (INTEC/INTI) or our previous secondary school? since we need to get recommendation letters from our teachers in secondary school, will it cause confusion if we put our preparatory centre as our current school but get recommendation letters from our previous secondary school?

4. if i wish to submit a supplementary piece of work such as music or a drama, do i have to fill up the arts supplement form?

30-09-2008, 12:50 AM
hi there, i would just like to ask:

1. for the activities section, when they ask how many weeks per year and how many hours per week did we spend on doing that activity, how should i fill it in if the time spent differed from year to year as i joined that activity for a few years consecutively? eg. i was in the football team for 2 years but we only managed to reach the district level, but for my third year, we reached the state level.

2. when they ask us to put in the name of the activity or specific details for the activity, how do we fill it in? do we just put the name, e.g "National english debate championship"? or do we have to mention other things as well?

3. about the school we are currently in or graduated from, do we put in our preparatory centre (INTEC/INTI) or our previous secondary school? since we need to get recommendation letters from our teachers in secondary school, will it cause confusion if we put our preparatory centre as our current school but get recommendation letters from our previous secondary school?

4. if i wish to submit a supplementary piece of work such as music or a drama, do i have to fill up the arts supplement form?

1. Choose the year that you are most active and do an average hour then.

2. A descriptive name would be good. Event name is fine, but make sure they know what it is.

3. Currently in - INTEC/Inti , Secondary School would be your high school. You can get rec letters from anyone, so getting from former schools are fine.

4. Not too sure on the form. Other Recomers could answer on that, but do submit it. One way also is to bring it to show during interview.

Good Luck!

gnaw
02-10-2008, 09:33 PM
Hi, I want to ask about the Academics Section in the CommonApp form:

1. What should i write for 'Graduation Date' under Secondary School Currently Attending (INTI)?

2. Whom should I ask to be the Counselor for that section? Is it any lecturer from INTI or the principal/vice principal from secondary school?

3. The Mid-Year Report (results for first sem at INTI, correct me if i am wrong) should be done by this Counselor right? So for the Teacher's Evaluation, I should get another lecturer and another secondary school teacher to fill that up together with a recommendation letter...is that right?

4. If I want to get a recommendation from other sources (not by teachers/lecturers), does that person need to fill in anything in the forms? Or just the letter (signed and certified) would be sufficient?

Thanks, and sorry if my questions have been asked before...I really have read through all the pages in this thread...but I'm still confused...T.T~ Thanks again~

Matt
03-10-2008, 05:42 AM
Hi, I want to ask about the Academics Section in the CommonApp form:

1. What should i write for 'Graduation Date' under Secondary School Currently Attending (INTI)?

2. Whom should I ask to be the Counselor for that section? Is it any lecturer from INTI or the principal/vice principal from secondary school?

3. The Mid-Year Report (results for first sem at INTI, correct me if i am wrong) should be done by this Counselor right? So for the Teacher's Evaluation, I should get another lecturer and another secondary school teacher to fill that up together with a recommendation letter...is that right?

4. If I want to get a recommendation from other sources (not by teachers/lecturers), does that person need to fill in anything in the forms? Or just the letter (signed and certified) would be sufficient?

Thanks, and sorry if my questions have been asked before...I really have read through all the pages in this thread...but I'm still confused...T.T~ Thanks again~

1. When you'll finish your final exams
2. Yes. It doesn't really matter who you choose the counselor to be, just make sure it's consistent.
3. Yes. You usually have a counselor evaluation also
4. Oh are you referring to an employer/peer recommendation? Just a letter would be sufficient, it's extra material.

No problem, don't hesitate to ask

andrewlza
03-10-2008, 02:56 PM
http://quaintly.net/2008/10/02/pinkpaus-guide-to-us-college-applications-part-1

pinkpau is my hero <3

lotus
04-10-2008, 05:55 AM

pinkpau is my hero <3

i see what you mean. pinkpau has provided a kind of lifeline to all those who are drowning in US university applications.

04-10-2008, 07:49 AM

gnaw, matt have responded to your questions well, so I don't need to restate.

It is our pleasure to respond. So, feel free to post questions here.

pinkpau is my hero <3

Fully agree with andrewlza.

Can I request all ReComers who post here to read that guide first? I would say that I fully agree with everything that pinkpau is sharing. A very comprehensive and great guide.

She still have another 2 series to come out. So, stay anticipated!

camy
05-10-2008, 02:30 AM
Hi again!

I read that fantastic post and couldn't thank anyone more than you, Sue Ann.
I still have a question though:

Can a fee waiver be denied by the adcom? Isn't it a risk to request for a fee waiver? Are there specific terms and conditions that you have to meet to qualify for this?

I used to think that the scholarship providers will pay for the application fees (e.g: Petronas pays for up to 4 applications).

Oh, and what about the Financial Statement (I know that Pet scholars have forms to fill)? If a uni requires a financial statement, don't you think that it is very likely that they would prefer you to pay for the application/processing? (I'm presuming that the less well-off unis need more money la..)

05-10-2008, 03:58 AM
Yes, they can deny your fee waiver, but you can try submit it early and see how it goes. Try early.

Most scholarship agencies would pay for a few applications, but self-sponsored candidates would have to pay for it.

On financial statement, most unis only require it after you get admitted.

gnaw
05-10-2008, 11:57 PM
According to the CommonApp in School Forms section, we can only invite one counselor and two teachers..
But I have two counselors (one from secondary school and one from INTI) writing for me...how do I solve this?
Should the counselor be the same as the one i wrote in Academic Section (under secondary school currently attending)?

Thanks in advance~

ntyf
06-10-2008, 11:10 AM
sigh i so hate to keep posting questions here but i'm so confused:

1. I'm in college so I'm going to send in the MYR with the rest of my college app materials- the MYR will include my final sem results, hopefully, so that said, do I only send in my FYR (which is an identical copy of the MYR) after college decisions are released next year(if i get accepted)?

2. I'm going to do all my reports on paper, but what about the essays and all the other additional stuff (resume, supplements, standardized test scores, etc.)? Are those sent online via common app., or on paper as well? Cause commonapp stated in bold that electronic and paper applications shouldn't be mixed and matched?

Matt
06-10-2008, 11:31 AM
sigh i so hate to keep posting questions here but i'm so confused:

1. I'm in college so I'm going to send in the MYR with the rest of my college app materials- the MYR will include my final sem results, hopefully, so that said, do I only send in my FYR (which is an identical copy of the MYR) after college decisions are released next year(if i get accepted)?

2. I'm going to do all my reports on paper, but what about the essays and all the other additional stuff (resume, supplements, standardized test scores, etc.)? Are those sent online via common app., or on paper as well? Cause commonapp stated in bold that electronic and paper applications shouldn't be mixed and matched?

1. Yes that's right. About your FYR, you can send in the identical copy of the MYR with a small explanation that it is identical because you had already finished your pre-u education by the time you sent in your MYR (due to the different timing of educational semesters in M'sia and in the US).

2. I'd suggest you send as much as possible online, simply because it's more reliable, and paper-less is the direction admission committees are heading towards -- ie use the Common App. If there're supplementary material which need to be sent in hard copy that's perfectly fine though.

Note: Make sure you get CollegeBoard to send in your standardized test scores because that's the only legitimate way to report your SAT scores. Also, beware of redundancy in the content of your resume and supplements, because it's natural to want to list as much as possible in your resume especially. Standard practice in the US is to keep it to one page max :)
Cheers.

t
06-10-2008, 10:09 PM
Can I send in a different commonapp essay online for each school to which I apply?

07-10-2008, 12:58 AM
According to the CommonApp in School Forms section, we can only invite one counselor and two teachers..
But I have two counselors (one from secondary school and one from INTI) writing for me...how do I solve this?
Should the counselor be the same as the one i wrote in Academic Section (under secondary school currently attending)?

Thanks in advance~

Use paper form for the school report, and hence you can send both.

But ideally secondary school counselor would be from your secondary school, and Inti one would fill in your mid year report.

Can I send in a different commonapp essay online for each school to which I apply?
Yes. You can and you should. :)

t
07-10-2008, 01:03 AM
Yes. You can and you should. :)

But doesn't it say it can't be changed after submission to any college?

Matt
07-10-2008, 03:38 AM
But doesn't it say it can't be changed after submission to any college?

Yes that's true. But you can make multiple copies of it, specialized for each university :)

ntyf
09-10-2008, 04:31 AM
hey, why is it in the international supplement we're supposed to 'type and print in black ink'? why can't i fill it in by hand like all the other forms? we ARE supposed to fill the other forms by hand if we're mailing them right?

and also, i took 11 subjects but there are only 10 spaces in the int.supplement form, so i just attach another paper listing all 11 subjects i took and strike out the section in the form?

plus, regarding the TE: i fill out ONE form, and then hand it over to my teacher, and once she's done i ask her to photostat 10 copies right?

gnaw
09-10-2008, 05:10 PM
Use paper form for the school report, and hence you can send both.

But ideally secondary school counselor would be from your secondary school, and Inti one would fill in your mid year report.

Oh, that means if i'm not submitting the TE and SSR and MYR online, i don't need to invite the teachers right?

-----------
I went to ask Ms.Sri at INTI's University Placement Office about the MYR just now. She advised us to use forecast SPM results for MYR and real SPM results for FYR, because some universities specifically state that they will not accept freshman applications if the student has taken any college courses.

We can choose to use INTI first sem results for MYR and 2nd sem results for FYR; or real SPM results for MYR and 1st sem results for FYR; but when we request her to do the MYR or FYR we must write a letter stating clearly that we are fully responsible for this decision to use which results for which form (to prevent parents from complaining ^^;)

Hope this will help clear the air for INTI students (although i guess most ppl have already asked about it)

Vulcan_Raven
09-10-2008, 08:17 PM
Oh, that means if i'm not submitting the TE and SSR and MYR online, i don't need to invite the teachers right?

-----------
I went to ask Ms.Sri at INTI's University Placement Office about the MYR just now. She advised us to use forecast SPM results for MYR and real SPM results for FYR, because some universities specifically state that they will not accept freshman applications if the student has taken any college courses.

We can choose to use INTI first sem results for MYR and 2nd sem results for FYR; or real SPM results for MYR and 1st sem results for FYR; but when we request her to do the MYR or FYR we must write a letter stating clearly that we are fully responsible for this decision to use which results for which form (to prevent parents from complaining ^^;)

Hope this will help clear the air for INTI students (although i guess most ppl have already asked about it)

Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't SPM results already included in the International Student Supplement? If one puts SPM in the MYR and FYR, then there will be 3 duplicates of the same type of exam(forecast or real one, it's still SPM). So as pinkpau has stated, it is definitely imperative to include Pre-U studies as one of the reports so that AdComs can gauge a student's performance better.

Plus, Inti UC is definitely not the "College"(university) that they term it in US. It is not a university. Hence, no matter what we do, it is not "college courses" .So I don't think US universities will be too particular about that.

Out of Topic: Sometimes I do think UPO or AUP office is trying "too hard" to help their students, but ended up making the process very troublesome.

clep
09-10-2008, 11:38 PM

-----------

You still have to invite them online. Once they log into their account they will have the option to submit it offline or online. They should choose the corresponding option. I know this because my counselor did it a few weeks ago.

-----------------------

For any INTEC students applying ED, we would need to request an Statement Of Results from the HEA to send first for the MYR in lieu of final grades, since our finals are end of October and the results will only be out two weeks minimum after that. You need to go to HEA, get a SOR Request Form, and hand to to Pn. Suzana, who will then give it to Pn. Rohayu. Usually it takes only a day or so for them to get it done, but since the deputy academic director is now away for a week or so, there might be some hitches.

Also, for the MYR report in INTEC to be used in applying ED, usually Pn. Norshamila would be the school counselor.

Any other INTEC students applying ED do PM me or something. Would like to know who else is doing so.

caramel_nut
10-10-2008, 06:33 AM

-----------

Wow, there is a BIG misunderstanding here and I hope other ReCommers don't get misled. If at all possible, submit your INTI results.

College in US = university in Malaysia. Hence, it makes sense that US colleges state that they don't accept freshman applications from those who have studied in other colleges before.

Also, you are applying to a US college, not a US university.

In fact, if you don't submit your INTI results, you will be at a very big disadvantage for not having 12 years of schooling. Some Ivies like Harvard and Yale are very particular about this.

gnaw
10-10-2008, 11:36 AM
thanks for the clarifications! i will use the INTI first sem results for MYR since that was my initial plan.

---
ntyf,
for the TE: yup, i printed one copy and gave it to my teacher to fill in and then she photostated 5 copies and signed them....

HiddenEyes
10-10-2008, 06:12 PM

-----------

Yale does that if I'm not mistaken. But basically, it's fine for you to have some college courses. Nothing wrong with that..It might serve as an advantage if you have good grades.
I've heard people getting in UPenn as freshmen with more than 3 sems of ADTP.
Email the admissions office if that might ease your worries.

caramel_nut
10-10-2008, 10:55 PM
Yale does that if I'm not mistaken. But basically, it's fine for you to have some college courses. Nothing wrong with that..It might serve as an advantage if you have good grades.
I've heard people getting in UPenn as freshmen with more than 3 sems of ADTP.
Email the admissions office if that might ease your worries.
Most colleges are fine with students taking college classes, as long as they are not registered as a full-time student at another college. In fact, as pointed out by HiddenEyes, the college classes will work to your advantage since they show your competitiveness and ability to take on classes more difficult than your current level. However, if the student is registered as a full-time student at another college, then the student would have to apply for transfer instead of freshman admissions.

Anyway, I don't think the college classes part applies much to Malaysian students since few of us have taken college level (Malaysia's university level) classes. ADTP is pretty much just another high-school level program (Grade 11 and 12) provided you don't do it for more than 3 semesters.

989Lee
11-10-2008, 12:53 AM
MYR and FYR are killing me!!!!!!myr fyr myr myr myr fyr............

passOUT
11-10-2008, 09:40 PM
Most colleges are fine with students taking college classes, as long as they are not registered as a full-time student at another college. In fact, as pointed out by HiddenEyes, the college classes will work to your advantage since they show your competitiveness and ability to take on classes more difficult than your current level. However, if the student is registered as a full-time student at another college, then the student would have to apply for transfer instead of freshman admissions.

Anyway, I don't think the college classes part applies much to Malaysian students since few of us have taken college level (Malaysia's university level) classes. ADTP is pretty much just another high-school level program (Grade 11 and 12) provided you don't do it for more than 3 semesters.

I'm sorry but I couldn't get your point.

For example, aren't the JPA scholars at INTEC/INTI considered as full-time students? I mean, they are studying at a university college. And, why did you say that ADTP is much of another high school level program?

By the way, as far as I know, Princeton University has stated clearly that "we consider students who have begun college or university studies elsewhere to be transfer applicants. We do not permit such students to apply for freshman admission."

Hence, does it mean that we are not allowed to apply as freshman once we are doing ADP (since ADP IS a university level program)..

Can anyone please clarify that? Thanks in advance...

clep
11-10-2008, 09:49 PM
989Lee: FYR's only due after you get admitted to a university, with final grades then.

---------

The essays are killing me, personally. I know it's all about voice, voice, voice, being detailed, and not writing what you think the admissions committee wants to hear. But doesn't it boil down to them making a decision based on what they glean from your essays in the end?

Any thoughts, advice, remarks on essays welcome.

passOUT
11-10-2008, 10:39 PM
^
Erm...follow your heart???

caramel_nut
11-10-2008, 11:27 PM
989Lee: FYR's only due after you get admitted to a university, with final grades then.

---------

The essays are killing me, personally. I know it's all about voice, voice, voice, being detailed, and not writing what you think the admissions committee wants to hear. But doesn't it boil down to them making a decision based on what they glean from your essays in the end?

Any thoughts, advice, remarks on essays welcome.
Well, you sow what you put in. :D

It was very agonizing for us in the past years but we are all happy we made the decision to persevere and churn out the essays no matter what.

I'm sorry but I couldn't get your point.

For example, aren't the JPA scholars at INTEC/INTI considered as full-time students? I mean, they are studying at a university college. And, why did you say that ADTP is much of another high school level program?

By the way, as far as I know, Princeton University has stated clearly that "we consider students who have begun college or university studies elsewhere to be transfer applicants. We do not permit such students to apply for freshman admission."

Hence, does it mean that we are not allowed to apply as freshman once we are doing ADP (since ADP IS a university level program)..

Can anyone please clarify that? Thanks in advance...University college & college are just some Malaysian terms. Again, I am saying that as long as you don't enroll yourself in a university, you will be fine. INTI/INTEC or whatsoever can be a university or university college but as long as you explain in your application properly that you are doing a program that is equivalent to US Grade 11 and 12 (because the first three sems at INTI/INTEC are basically US high school standard), they will understand.

sunshineroger
12-10-2008, 05:25 PM
This is a bit of irrelevance here. So my apologies.
Anyone from INTI UC going for Novenmber SAT/SAT 2 in Metropolitan College?
Ms. Dot said if we get 10-15 people, INTI can arrange transport for us.:)Contact me at gohian25@<hidden> (gohian25@<hidden>).

clep
12-10-2008, 11:57 PM
My problem is mainly having too much to write. I developed four or five different personal statement ideas into individual essays, and now I'm wondering which one to submit. Even after filtering out the parts of my personality that I think my teachers would address in their recommendations, I'm left with so much that I want to show the admissions committee. Should I try to condense those different themes into one essay?

---------------

On a different note, this question is directed to anyone who's familiar with the Common App Art Supplement. After checking with the respective admission offices, I'd be sending a CD with scans of my art along with a paper sheet detailing title, size, and medium of the works. Is there any recommended way to order the pictures, and is there any other information I should include in the package? Should I wish to note which pieces have been published/received awards, I can just briefly do so in the paper sheet, right? Also, for the resume requested by the CA supplement - I'm not too sure what they mean by "including any related experiences". Does this mean relevant experiences with art excluding awards and workshops since the last two were mentioned earlier in the supplement?

----------------

Also (phew, that's a lot of questions) is putting all the hard-copy components of the application, each in its own sealed envelope e.g. smk transcripts, counselor recommendations, into the same big envelope for mailing okay? I thought the official transcript had to be sent from the school, as with the teacher recs.

abyssesour
13-10-2008, 10:42 AM
^ yeah putting all the hardcopies (sealed in separate envelopes) into one big envelope is fine

how do i fill in the current year courses for secondary school report? i mean there are columns saying first semester, second semester, trimester etc. where do i fill in my spm subjects?

Matt
13-10-2008, 12:13 PM
My problem is mainly having too much to write. I developed four or five different personal statement ideas into individual essays, and now I'm wondering which one to submit. Even after filtering out the parts of my personality that I think my teachers would address in their recommendations, I'm left with so much that I want to show the admissions committee. Should I try to condense those different themes into one essay?

---------------

Also (phew, that's a lot of questions) is putting all the hard-copy components of the application, each in its own sealed envelope e.g. smk transcripts, counselor recommendations, into the same big envelope for mailing okay? I thought the official transcript had to be sent from the school, as with the teacher recs.

1. Yea totally understand how you feel, I spent a lot of time shortening my essays and making them more concise. It's really up to you how you want to approach this, but I'd say really just put everything you think is absolutely indispensable (i know it sounds cliche, but it does make sense). Also, don't try to put in too many themes into a single essay, just writing about a few essential ones in great detail usually works better.

2. Yes that's okay, but seal each of them in smaller envelopes if possible within the big one, because even if you've read them you want to make sure it doesn't appear that you've tampered with them in any way. And just make sure you separate what comes from you (ie any supplemental material etc) and what's from the school -- not even in the same big envelope. Integrity is highly valued in the US, especially among admission committees.

^ yeah putting all the hardcopies (sealed in separate envelopes) into one big envelope is fine

how do i fill in the current year courses for secondary school report? i mean there are columns saying first semester, second semester, trimester etc. where do i fill in my spm subjects?

Are you taking SPM this year? If you are, put it under the second semester.
But if you're doing a pre-u program, SPM results should come in your transcript; list the subjects you're taking in the current year courses section.

clep
13-10-2008, 04:15 PM
What if I have documents from three schools (2 smks, and 1 pre-u institution)? Do I need to separate each of them into individual big envelopes?

passOUT
13-10-2008, 07:22 PM
Are you taking SPM this year? If you are, put it under the second semester.
But if you're doing a pre-u program, SPM results should come in your transcript; list the subjects you're taking in the current year courses section.

Hold on...you mean SPM subjects or the current subjects for pre-u?
thanks...:)

Matt
13-10-2008, 10:58 PM
Hold on...you mean SPM subjects or the current subjects for pre-u?
thanks...:)

Current subjects for pre-u.

What if I have documents from three schools (2 smks, and 1 pre-u institution)? Do I need to separate each of them into individual big envelopes?

Preferably, but if you can't it should be fine too.