View Full Version : rapists......
05-04-2004, 11:23 AM
what should we do with rapists? death sentence? what do you think?
05-04-2004, 11:33 AM
what should we do with rapists? death sentence? what do you think?
Death sentence for sexually assaulting somebody? I think thats a little too harsh.
Put them in Rehab.
Rape is as serious as Punching someone in the face for pleasure.
05-04-2004, 11:35 AM
Castration!!!
05-04-2004, 11:37 AM
what i'll like 2 suggest is, 1st time offenders rehab, 2nd time castration, 3rd time death sentence. agree?
05-04-2004, 12:14 PM
No no! If death sentence, then his suffering will be swift. Why not first time 10 years rehab, 2nd time castration, 3rd time - throw him inside a cage with many horny gays!!!
05-04-2004, 12:28 PM
"...put in cage with horny gays"
haha...it's a bad very bad offensive idea but I like it :D
Should we regard rapist as someone with mental illness? If so, I agree that first time rapist who is not mentally too ill to cure, to be whipped 10 strokes and put in rehab for 2 years, 10 years is not necessary(that sounds no difference with imprisonment).
2nd committer shall be whipped more than 10 strokes, sentenced to 5 years locked up and two years rehab.
3rd time committer shall be sentenced to life imprisonment.
05-04-2004, 12:34 PM
Should we regard rapist as someone with mental illness? If so, I agree that first time rapist who is not mentally too ill to cure, to be whipped 10 strokes and put in rehab for 2 years, 10 years is not necessary(that sounds no difference with imprisonment).
2nd committer shall be whipped more than 10 strokes, sentenced to 5 years locked up and two years rehab.
3rd time committer shall be sentenced to life imprisonment
Mental illness or no, they have ruined the lives of the victims. Imprisonment will not make them regret ... It just give them free food everyday with a place to stay. If you ask me, i think they should suffer ...
05-04-2004, 02:23 PM
how do you rehab a rapist? is there such thing? how do you teach a dude to control his sexual desires?
i say improve education. provide (proper) jobs. stable society. if everyone has a payroll, something to look forward to in life, some dignity, and some common sense (and awareness), i think we can reduce drastically rape offenses. it may not get rid of all of them, but i think it eliminates many.
death sentence is too much. how do you determine if a person really did it? you're gambling with someone's life here. what if the alleged rapist was framed? these are difficult questions, because we want to punish those who commit the crime too if you think about the victim + family's position.
rather than treating the symptoms we need to nip the problem at its bud.
05-04-2004, 04:00 PM
Rapists often do what they did out of lust and nothing more. They just can't control their desires/hormones/whatever as well as you and I can. It's a biological thingy you see - I mean we're all animals no matter how you choose to separate humans from all other living beings.
Also, I am rather disturbed by the way the media is handling this issue by branding rapists as 'evil' people. Are rapists truly evil or ar they just ordinary people like you and me who made the hormonally induced mistake of raping another individual? Giving these people the death sentence would probably be too harsh. I recommend a jail sentence and nothing more, but that is only for rape cases. Rape cum murder would be a different case altogether.
I agree with el_empty that a proper education and positive setting in life is the way to go.
SpRInG
05-04-2004, 05:04 PM
Rapists often do what they did out of lust and nothing more. They just can't control their desires/hormones/whatever as well as you and I can. It's a biological thingy you see - I mean we're all animals no matter how you choose to separate humans from all other living beings.
well, how to say... i do agree with part of it, and dun agree.. yea, rapist often do what they did out of lust... but then there are also rape cases happening to old woman, old granny... does lust really explain that? and then one more is that, not only lust, but rape is an act of violence, which brings more destruction to the victim than pleasure to the rapist....
if i'm not mistaken... from somewhere that i've read before, rape was described as an act of defilation... an act of destruction... more than an act of gaining pleasure out of sex... raping is just like taking the 'honor' away more than anything else...
the part i dun agree is tat we're all animals no matter how we choose.... well, if i want to explain this... it would be another long long long... 'leture'.. hehe... but briefly... i dun agree that we're all animals.... in any way we evaluate, how can we equate ourselves to animals?.... who agree with me?[/quote]
05-04-2004, 05:44 PM
I strongly agree with Spring.
Don't ever use so-called uncontrolled natural instinct as the reason.
Human does have natural instinct including lust as what animal has. But we are different cause we have intelligent brain which animal does not have one. We can controll our behavior unless someone has mental illness. That's why we have rehab for rapist, to bring them back to reality.
SpRInG
05-04-2004, 05:51 PM
yeah yekban81....
that's the rationale!!!
05-04-2004, 08:00 PM
How do you castrate a woman?
05-04-2004, 08:35 PM
Hey, it's not often that you hear women rape men. Got experience you wanna share, littlebigone?
05-04-2004, 08:54 PM
but then there are also rape cases happening to old woman, old granny... does lust really explain that?
Lust explains exactly that...I mean if you were a sex crazed person with hormones driving you to the edge of whatever, you can't control yourself - and hence you rape whoever, whenever you get the chance. Get my rationale?
But we are different cause we have intelligent brain which animal does not have one.
But that still doesn't separate us from animals from a biological perspective. Hormones still control us under certain circumstances. Take hunger and starvation for example. People starved for too long will often revert to violence in order to get food. I know that isn't right either, but its another good example of what happens when your hormones take control over your logic and intelligence. When desperation sets in, morality and ethics go down the drain. So as I've said before, we're still animals no matter how we try to claim we are not.
06-04-2004, 04:01 AM
mmm... ussdefiant (wah your name is so difficult to type)
you are right and wrong. we *are* animals no matter how much we argue. however we are very sophisticated as well, much more so than other animals. and to complement our critical thinking, we also have a more developed sense of emotions; shame, love, missing someone etc.
this means that we also understand fear and lust and ultimately, control. and then there's the awareness of the rule of law, law enforcement and its retribution etc. meaning the rapists who rape know that if they get caught they can kena teruk.
lust and sexual hunger can be powerful yes. and most lower animals will be happy to fornicate with reckless abandon. but humans, in addition to their lust, should also know that hurting someone comes with a price. why do they do it anyway? because
a) they won't get caught. or they think they won't
b) to make sure they don't get caught, they threaten the victim, or kill her etc.
c) society doesn't care (like what happened to phoolan devi... supposedly a whole village raped her?)
d) maybe they just don't know the law. but that's a lame excuse.
in short, with the exception of insanity, rape is a deliberate act. there's no question about it.
on a side note, did you guys know that malaysia's definition of rape is very undefined? it doesn't include (apparently? someone correct me if i'm wrong) anal penetration, the forceful use of objects, etc. and there's no clear policy on how to help the victims. they depend on AWAM and red cross etc.
the saddest thing is that, according to the grapevine, some parts of the society blame the victims as "them asking for it" - "who asked them to wear skimpy clothing?" etc. i think people like that should be stoned to death and have their livers fed to dogs.
06-04-2004, 04:46 AM
Hey, it's not often that you hear women rape men. Got experience you wanna share, littlebigone?
still got possibility rite? So just wondering how you would implement a fair castration law.
What I'm trying to say is that current laws and punishment may be adequate and we shouldn't look so far as castration. I think that the biggest problem is the mentality of society. Often rape cases go unreported because the victim is ashamed of what happened. In rape cases where you know the perpetrator, it is even worse as you start questioning if it was your fault, if it's right to accuse someone you know (husband, friend, neighbour, etc). Whatever the case is, rape is rape and people should start looking at victims as somehow involved in the cause of it. Something bad happened to them and they need help. Victims too need to understand that they have been taken advantage of. If someone breaks your car window and takes your stereo, isn't the first thing that you want to do is catch the culprit and punish them? Well, the same should go for rape.
on a side note, I thought that the animal reproduction process was purely for preserving the species. No pleasure is involved in animal fornication. I may be wrong though.
sanghanuman
06-04-2004, 09:16 AM
Oh yeah? death sentence and castration is too much for *just a rape case*?
Well, what if your mom, or your sister got raped until they can't walk properly because of permanent physical damage? What if that sister of yours come home everyday with tears in her eyes because of the society's punishment on her, the victim, while her rapist will be out of jail, roaming free in this freaking free world...maybe raping another girl or two before actually got his penis cut off or a death sentence?
How is it possible that people can actually be lenient towards rape crime until *the second and the third* time? Man, that's already 3 women..died the day they were raped. How can people accept the excuse of *lust* as something that we cannot do anything about, hence it is sort of okay to *give a second chance*?
Rape is having a sexual intercourse using force. No rape case should be tolerated. Not one.
06-04-2004, 09:40 AM
although i m a guy, i feel sorry for the rape victim too.
hmm...maybe death penalty can really help to prevent rape case from happening. if death penalty is implemented, those rapist maybe won't risk their life for the short moment pleasure but again, when they are horny, maybe death is not on their mind. some more, this might encourage murder to the rape victim too. if the rapist finally "cool" down and realize what he had done, he might just kill the victim since he's gonna face the same sentence anyway.
i still dun see any thing that will prevent rape case from happening at all. legalize prostitution? rape case still happen in those country with legal prostitution as well. maybe some of you are right, humans are still animal anyway. a high class one.
06-04-2004, 10:00 AM
Oh yeah? death sentence and castration is too much for *just a rape case*?
Well, what if your mom, or your sister got raped until they can't walk properly because of permanent physical damage? What if that sister of yours come home everyday with tears in her eyes because of the society's punishment on her, the victim, while her rapist will be out of jail, roaming free in this freaking free world...maybe raping another girl or two before actually got his penis cut off or a death sentence?
How is it possible that people can actually be lenient towards rape crime until *the second and the third* time? Man, that's already 3 women..died the day they were raped. How can people accept the excuse of *lust* as something that we cannot do anything about, hence it is sort of okay to *give a second chance*?
Rape is having a sexual intercourse using force. No rape case should be tolerated. Not one.
of course I would be angry but will your conscience be clear when u sentence that man to death? I don't think that anyone should have the right to sentence another to death, but that's another story.
What i was trying to point out is that the law is there, I think the implementation and society's views are the things that we should focus on.
sanghanuman
06-04-2004, 11:31 AM
of course I would be angry but will your conscience be clear when u sentence that man to death? I don't think that anyone should have the right to sentence another to death, but that's another story.
Personally, I prefer castration rather than death penalty. But mere caning and 5 years of prison won't do any good.
06-04-2004, 11:41 AM
i'm all for castration. just chop the damn thing off. but any crime no matter how grave shouldn't be dealt with using vigilante justice, so the accused has to be proven guilty beyond reasonable doubt. but no human has the right to sentence another to death.
06-04-2004, 12:28 PM
Yeah, castrate it off so that he is not doomed to repeat the same offense again. And this will save ppl from falling into the victims by these animals .....
06-04-2004, 12:36 PM
we don't talk about human rights with rapists because they don't respect it and thus do not deserve it!
06-04-2004, 12:46 PM
Why dun we get someone to rape the rapist? Tit for tat!
and both rapists live happily ever after, raping each other everyday :roll: ..
06-04-2004, 01:33 PM
and both rapists live happily ever after, raping each other everyday ..
Yeah, and others won't be the victim of this guy ..... Sigh ... I wonder if this rapists ever thought of being raped before raping someone else? maybe they like the idea??? Gross! :!:
06-04-2004, 02:27 PM
and both rapists live happily ever after, raping each other everyday :roll: ..
Crazy idea....haha :lol:
jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:25 PM
Personally, I prefer castration rather than death penalty. But mere caning and 5 years of prison won't do any good.
I agree
06-04-2004, 06:52 PM
I have just read Canny Ong murder trial:
http://202.186.86.35/special/court/canny/
I am totally shocked and saddened of how she could have been saved by several chances came along her way during her abduction. Only if those people/witnesses were attentive enough and fast thinker, Canny case could have been avoided to occur.
06-04-2004, 08:24 PM
not protesting implementing death sentence on rapists.....but won't you think it will bring negative result???
rapists think why not kill the victims after raping since it was the same punishment and it could be better when no 1 to accuse him.
06-04-2004, 10:16 PM
rapists think why not kill the victims after raping since it was the same punishment and it could be better when no 1 to accuse him.
I agree with this. Jail and rehab should be the way to go for rapists - but for rapists who commit the act of rape only. Rapists who cause physical harm or kill their victims should be put on trial for murder or causing grievious bodily harm. Advocating the death sentence only makes rapists think of new ways to dispose of the evidence - in which case they may even kill the victim intentionally and dump the body in some unknown spot where no one will ever find it.
Oh, and sorry la for the long nickname, el_empty... :)
violet1403
07-04-2004, 12:38 AM
I hate the thought that we have to "adjust" punishment to suit what the rapists might think, and what he might do. Making me realise that prevention is sooo much better than cure. Therefore, i really hope that the government do all they can to prevent rape from happening, that to find the solution after rape cases actually happened.
In my opinion, punish/castrate/whatever the rapists in public. This would teach other potential rapists to think twice. Furthermore, we have never have punishment done in public before have we? It might be interesting to know what this might result in..also, there is always a first time for everything.
sanghanuman
07-04-2004, 02:07 AM
Making me realise that prevention is sooo much better than cure. Therefore, i really hope that the government do all they can to prevent rape from happening, that to find the solution after rape cases actually happened.
Prevention is better than cure, you are right. But, the government cannot do much to help prevent rape cases. We do. When will we stop asking the government to do *everything* for us? It is time for us to lead the way towards prevention of crime. The government, they can help to bring the criminals to justice only after we failed to stop [the criminals].
I do not think that putting them in jail is helping them in any way. Rehab? have we not learned from past failures in trying to rehabilitate drug addicts? Rehab centers are simply not efficient.
Better save the cost of building new *rehabs for rapists*, "chop the damn thing off" (topdog, 2004), and build schools for orphans instead.
Men can stop rape.
07-04-2004, 09:28 AM
Hey while, we're working on torture punishments for male rapists I just thought up of one.
How about we insert a metal rod in their penises that always point downwards. Any subsequent erection would leave them rolling on the ground in extreme pain.
07-04-2004, 09:44 AM
How about we insert a metal rod in their penises that always point downwards. Any subsequent erection would leave them rolling on the ground in extreme pain.
not bad. but why go through all the trouble? just chop off lah.
actually after castration, we could make synthetic vaginas where their male genitalia used to be. then they can rape themselves.
07-04-2004, 09:46 AM
it's a continous punishment to remind them of their crime throughout their entire lives. When the pain gets too unbearable, they can chop it off themselves....
sanghanuman
07-04-2004, 10:36 AM
Whoa man!
What an idea. 8O
07-04-2004, 01:16 PM
if we chopper it off, can we put the weewee into a glasscase, and put it in the same prison cell as the rapist while he's serving his term?
and give him lots of porno.....
07-04-2004, 01:35 PM
How about we chop the thing off and we join it back, but in a different direction?
07-04-2004, 01:54 PM
Better save the cost of building new *rehabs for rapists*, "chop the damn thing off" (topdog, 2004), and build schools for orphans instead
Ouch ouch ouch. Imagine living without the one thing that makes you a physically complete man. Barbaric as it may sound, I am tempted to raise my hand and say, "Just do it".
07-04-2004, 02:06 PM
Good lar..... Let's create a "free-of-rapist" society!!!
07-04-2004, 10:15 PM
so what do you chop of from a woman who raped a man, or another woman?
08-04-2004, 01:32 PM
Uhmmm... Then we wait for that to happen first, then we'll see about that. After all, this is Malaysia's policy.
08-04-2004, 01:58 PM
Interesting. I haven't read anything on male rape, but I think it doesn't exist in the Malaysian law system. As for a woman raping another woman...equal punishment ought to be given because the effects left on the survivors would be just as equally devastating.
08-04-2004, 02:19 PM
so what do you chop of from a woman who raped a man
I think no one in Malaysia would believe the man... Instead, they may accuse the man of raping the woman.....
08-04-2004, 03:27 PM
I think no one in Malaysia would believe the man... Instead, they may accuse the man of raping the woman.....
Hehehehe...anyway it would be very difficult for the poor man to provide proof that he has been subjected to a forced sexual intercourse right?
08-04-2004, 03:35 PM
Yeah lar ... obvious rite? Remember what PCK said?
"When a man molest a woman, it's called a molest. When a woman molest a man, it's called SYOK!"
SpRInG
08-04-2004, 03:48 PM
SYOK????
u demam panas ke ape? SYOK??? after being molested???
08-04-2004, 03:54 PM
I was just quoting from Phua Chu Kang when he generalized the behavior and reaction of Asian men towards molest and sexual harassment
SpRInG
08-04-2004, 04:15 PM
anyway, that's no reason or justification for this molestation and sexual harassment to continue to happen, right?
08-04-2004, 08:34 PM
What do you people think is the general reaction of Asian girls when they are ogled at on the street? Girls in Recom - what is your reaction if a bunch of guys were to ogle at you in a public place?
08-04-2004, 10:11 PM
What do you people think is the general reaction of Asian girls when they are ogled at on the street? Girls in Recom - what is your reaction if a bunch of guys were to ogle at you in a public place?
both disgusting.....
08-04-2004, 10:12 PM
just wanna say i'm not girl
Coming from a school where there's about 50 gals and 2,000 guys, I found it personally very repulsive.
The stares and wolf whistles and rudeness makes me very defensive leaves me feeling violated. Its plain disrespectful and hopefully no guys in Recom does that. :!:
cryzpene
10-04-2004, 01:10 AM
I strongly agree with Spring.
Don't ever use so-called uncontrolled natural instinct as the reason.
Human does have natural instinct including lust as what animal has. But we are different cause we have intelligent brain which animal does not have one. We can controll our behavior unless someone has mental illness. That's why we have rehab for rapist, to bring them back to reality.
How would make him payback for the crime he commited? I think we should have both payback and rehab. Or perhaps put payback in rehab so that learn his or her (possible also) lesson.
aquila
10-04-2004, 06:36 AM
I don't believe in the death penalty at all. I mean I used to support the death penalty but now I oppose it. It is easy for us, people who are disconnected with accused people who are usually poor and disenfranchised anyways, to just point our fingers at the accused and tell them they should die and go to hell. However, consider this scenario. Say your bro, father, sister, mother, cousin, friend is charged with committing a serious crime. Won't you plead with the judge to give the person a second chance? After all, who are we to judge others? Let those who have no sin throw the first stone.
Also, the judicial system is not fool proof. Sometimes they mistakenly convict an innocent man or woman. Think of the grave injustice if the man had been executed although he knew all along that he had no part in the crime. If you take the time to watch documentaries on TV, I'm sure you'll come across cases whereby someone is put on death row for committing a certain crime but after a few years, DNA evidence proves that the man is innocent and he is set free. I mean, things like that happen all the time.
Unless of course, you'd rather have 10 innocent men die than let one guilty man survive.
24-04-2004, 01:48 AM
Are we sure that the rapist will feel sorry and regret that he raped the girl, or he claimed that just because he wants to serve a shorter sentence??? The most important thing is, how is he going to fix the damage he has done to the girl? Her self esteem, her confidence, her emotion, herself??? Or worse, her virginity (if she was before the tragedy)?
SpRInG
26-04-2004, 01:24 AM
I don't believe in the death penalty at all. I mean I used to support the death penalty but now I oppose it. It is easy for us, people who are disconnected with accused people who are usually poor and disenfranchised anyways, to just point our fingers at the accused and tell them they should die and go to hell. However, consider this scenario. Say your bro, father, sister, mother, cousin, friend is charged with committing a serious crime. Won't you plead with the judge to give the person a second chance? After all, who are we to judge others? Let those who have no sin throw the first stone.
Also, the judicial system is not fool proof. Sometimes they mistakenly convict an innocent man or woman. Think of the grave injustice if the man had been executed although he knew all along that he had no part in the crime. If you take the time to watch documentaries on TV, I'm sure you'll come across cases whereby someone is put on death row for committing a certain crime but after a few years, DNA evidence proves that the man is innocent and he is set free. I mean, things like that happen all the time.
Unless of course, you'd rather have 10 innocent men die than let one guilty man survive.
wow... yea... i totally agree!!!!
The most important thing is, how is he going to fix the damage he has done to the girl?
well well, what do you suppose is good enough to fix the damage that he has done to the girl? Being raped himself? Die? Castrated? The fact is, nothing can be done, in fact, to fix the damage that has been done.
about whether is the rapist is really sorry or not, is another matter altogether.. but all in all, there is no rationale for death sentence
26-04-2004, 01:45 AM
Hmmm......
Let's put it this way . . . If no severe punishment is given to the rapists:
First, let say this guy A raped a girl....
He was sentenced for rehab
Then guy B raped another girl
and he was also senteced for rehab
Guy C saw this very hot girl, he knew it was wrong, and he could be punished, but his self control gave away and said, "what the heck, it's only rehab"
Well, if we make the punishment more severe, let's say castration -
the Guy C realized that it's either lust or his genitals . . . And of course, logically, he would be afraid to perpetrate this inhuman act and forget about raping the girl. . .
26-04-2004, 01:58 AM
elansar,
Your Idea of rehab is? What i meant by saying Rehab is, prison with the access to a Dr. to help make these rapist realize what they are doing. Eventually the rehabilitated rapist might turn to be an evangelist promoting a healthier life to others.
We have to give people a second chance. Getting raped, although very traumatizing but there's no way using death sentences or torturing methods would prevent any future rapings.
How many people had been put to death for murder? How Murder still happens today? How many rapist had raped again after coming out of jail? The numbers would speak for itself.
BUt ofcourse we have those serial rapers which needs to locked up and kept away from society until they're 75 years old.
26-04-2004, 02:25 AM
Well, to me, the only thing that makes one repents is give them something traumatic so that they would be afraid of doing it again... Well, take for example - school counsellings. I wouldn't say that it is effective... incorrigible delinquent students will be given warnings, and that's all. And they are bound to repeat their offenses again until the principal threatens to expel them from schools. Well, at least this happens in my school.
26-04-2004, 02:37 AM
With well trained counsellors in school they wouldn't be any need for threats from the principal.
We need to find a system that would work for you, me, the rapist and the victim.
26-04-2004, 02:57 AM
With well trained counsellors in school they wouldn't be any need for threats from the principal.
We need to find a system that would work for you, me, the rapist and the victim.
Huh? Why me pulak? I'm not the rapist nor the victim [takut, takut]
26-04-2004, 06:23 AM
Huh? Why me pulak? I'm not the rapist nor the victim [takut, takut]
FOr you, so you can have a sense of security that there's no rapist going around rapping someone you might know.
widagdo
26-04-2004, 07:40 AM
elansar,
We have to give people a second chance. Getting raped, although very traumatizing but there's no way using death sentences or torturing methods would prevent any future rapings.
How many people had been put to death for murder? How Murder still happens today? How many rapist had raped again after coming out of jail? The numbers would speak for itself.
How do you know whether death sentence has reduced the number of murder? With death sentence, the number of murder case might be 1000; without death sentence, the number will definitely be more than that!
26-04-2004, 11:36 AM
i think that we are to quick to generalize bad people. The easiest way to label a bad person is a person who has done something bad. But then everyone has done something bad so every person is a bad person.
Unfortunately life is not as simple as that. There is something that many of us do that is spelled "m-i-s-t-a-k-e". Some mistakes are small and some are big. But nevertheless they're still mistakes and if someone truly repents from a mistake, then i feel that no matter how hard it is, we have to at least try to give the person a second chance.
This sounds very idealistic and I think that the implementation will have a lot of loop holes. Some may claim that people will definitely find ways to abuse this system. This is what I think people are afraid off when they hear someone propose a rehab system, especially for a crime as serious as rape.
But then, think again, we are only humans and as I said we do make mistakes. A rapist makes a huge mistake when he chooses to hurt his victim. But then society will make a bigger mistake if they were to ruin the life of an innocent person. Even if the person is not innocent, it is still a life ruined and can anyone ever be righteous enough to handle that responsibility. I doubt it but if you feel that your moral standards are sufficient for you to judge others, then by all means go ahead.
I also think that the law is build upon a foundation of fairness, equality and justice. Is the taking of a life equal to that of raping someone? Yes, you can say that the rape victim's life is ruined and all that, by it's only metaphorical. Taken plainly, rape cannot be punished equivalently by death. The biggest argument for the death penalty so far in this discussion has been that it will curb "potential" rapist from commiting the horrendous crime. But don't forget, that rape may still happen and then you will have to take away someone's life. What happens in that case? You'll say, "oh we were just joking, we were just trying to scare you guys."? Then there goes the integrity of the justice system and we're back at square one.
Before I end my long soliloquy, I just want to say what i had said earlier. I think that one of the biggest problems with rape is the way society views such cases. I think that many people still put the blame, at least partially, on the victim for provocating the crime. Educating the public and raising their awareness will help people understand the evil of the crime, create more support for victims, alert neighbourhoods to watch out for any possible incidences and i think most importantly, make rape victims speak out. This will help enforce current rape laws and send out the message that we are serious about rape.
Ok, that's all for now.
SpRInG
26-04-2004, 03:07 PM
yes, i very much agree with littlebitgone... we should not be quick to generalize bad people..... in fact, we are all human being... we all make mistakes. We are not perfect
although the act itself is disgusting and morally wrong, we should not be emotional in sentencing the commiter of the crime to certain degrees of punishment. This is because we are actually looking for solutions, solutions to curb and also to solve the situation after a rape case has happened, agree?
By punishing the perpertator severely will not solve anything. In fact, it may worsen the case
26-04-2004, 05:59 PM
well said littlebigone.
however i'd like to add that education shouldn't be limited to issues on reproduction, the law, rights, etc. education should entail its entire realm itself - primary, sec, tertiary, continued education. and it should be effective education. an effective education system raises the standard of living and ideally creates jobs. and employment means people have responsibility, wage, basic necessities, and most importantly, dignity.
the rise in standard of living can also parallel with a rise in civic mindedness. it's like comparing palo alto, (stanford's town) where crime rate is supposedly very low, to lagos, nigeria, where there's civil strife, high unemployment, low wages, etc and ultimately high crime rate.
this will not eliminate rape cases. but it for sure will drastically reduce it to a more controllable level.
27-04-2004, 01:31 AM
My two cents on the death sentence issue. I agree with some that it should be abolished, since there may be cases where the accused is innocent but wrongly executed. Even if the ratio of guilty to innocent people executed were 100:1 or even 1000:1 for that matter, it would still be a shame and a huge injustice to the innocent person. I always thought that the law should focus exclusively on the protection of the innocent rather than persecution of the guilty.
suhana
01-05-2004, 12:17 PM
The rapists had caused permanent damage. Thus, castration is the answer so that they will understand what permanent damage is. Anyway, I am not surprised if they create another crime such as robbery, murder, amok, and etc as a revenge after they are catastrated. :?
01-05-2004, 09:48 PM
Anyway, I am not surprised if they create another crime such as robbery, murder, amok, and etc as a revenge after they are catastrated. :?
Then you are making a generalization that all rapists are evil and can't repent. This attitude is the same reason why most people shun ex-convicts and refuse to employ them etc. But have you ever given a thought to those who have really learnt their lesson? Or what about those who were mistakenly convicted?
02-05-2004, 02:49 AM
Hmm... how about drugs traffickers who have learnt their lessons as well? Why can'tthey be absolved from death penalty?
SpRInG
03-05-2004, 10:43 AM
actually i don't support death penalty as well.... if possible, i want to advocate for an abolition of the death penalty, but well, this case of drug trafickers and the rape case, are two different cases with two different circumstances. Possessing of arms illegally will also end your life
03-05-2004, 12:02 PM
But nowadays, with the help of lawyers...even those who are guilty can sometimes escape from any punishment. Imagine a death sentence on an innocent person ("kambing korban")....
SpRInG
03-05-2004, 12:15 PM
yes, that is why i do not agree with the capital punishment.... it should be abolished... and should not be imposed on other crimes as well
03-05-2004, 12:17 PM
I'm sorry .....but what is meant by capital punishment? Hehe....blur case here...
SpRInG
03-05-2004, 12:29 PM
hehe, sorry sorry, i think it's the same meaning with death sentence... hehe, jez another nice way of phrasing it, i guess, haha
aquila
03-05-2004, 12:36 PM
does anyone have numbers on death penalty cases in msia? we never hear about it... I'd like to know how many people they hang each year... also, how many ppl are on death row and what percentage actually are executed?
i was just joking with my friend (she's indian but grew up in greece) about how we aren't even willing to spend money on convicts... hang them till death... sigh... the electric chair and lethal injection are obviously faster and less painful... how inhumane we are...
04-05-2004, 02:06 AM
the electric chair [is] ... faster and less painful...
you're very wrong dear. the reason chair electrocution was banned here is because it is much slower and more painful.
here's an interesting article by... get this... the American PAIN society (gosh...)
http://www.ampainsoc.org/pub/bulletin/sep02/poli1.htm
hanging is supposedly quite fast and painless, if done correctly. apparently it involves dropping through the trap and having the noose break your neck. now i don't know how efficient malaysia's jabatan jail is - if not done correctly the convict will have to suffocate for a while.
my 'favorite' one is china's way of economical death row. i don't know if this is true, but i hear they sign you up to a firing squad (sometimes in a stadium) and you, or rather your family will have to purchase the bullets used for the execution!
and the price range varies. from cheap but rusty, small, dented, possibly reused bullets, to expensive but larger, newer, armani bullets. the former will cause more pain, and they probably will have to re-shoot a couple of times to nail it in, while the latter will only need a shot to send you home.
how nice! not only do they cut cost, they make money at the same time. also how coincidental... bukit jalil stadium has been quite underused lately...
04-05-2004, 02:31 AM
does anyone have numbers on death penalty cases in msia? we never hear about it... I'd like to know how many people they hang each year... also, how many ppl are on death row and what percentage actually are executed?
i was just joking with my friend (she's indian but grew up in greece) about how we aren't even willing to spend money on convicts... hang them till death... sigh... the electric chair and lethal injection are obviously faster and less painful... how inhumane we are...
Hmm... Have you watched Green Mile? There's this one particular man who was sentenced to be electrocuted, however, the official in charge fooled around, and did not wet the sponge on the convict's head, and thus, he was BBQ to death. Very cruel indeed...
04-05-2004, 02:40 AM
wah...u guys are really making my goosebumps coming out. Let the rapists hear this..i think they will scared to their death!
SpRInG
05-05-2004, 03:13 PM
anyhow, does any of that support the death penalty, no right?
or is anyone supposing that it should be supported because it has a potential to make money???? *wink wink*
05-05-2004, 04:38 PM
wasn't the topic on rape?
besides the issue of capital punishment will be something that can be argued both ways and will never reach a consensus.
14-05-2004, 12:44 PM
Assalamualaikum waRahmatullah,
Saya teringat zaman di bangku sekolah. Ketika itu pada
setiap hari Ahad jam 4 hingga 5 petang ada siaran
Italian Football di TV3. Selagi boleh memang saya
tidak akan ketinggalan kerana memang minat sangat
dengan bola. Ketika menonton orang main bola, saya
juga bersemangat naik main sama. Sebaik sahaja siaran
berakhir, solat Asar ?xpress? kemudian terus ke padang
berhampiran bermain hingga ke azan Maghrib.
Saya rasa apa yang saya alami juga dialami oleh
orang-orang lain yang minat bola dan menonton siaran
bola. Tak kurang juga ialah mereka yang meminati sukan
lain. Siapa minat tenis atau badminton ketika menonton
siaran di TV akan bersemangat untuk turun ke
gelanggang bermain. Siapa minat golf ketika menonton
di TV akan tak sabar-sabar tungguh hari cuti untuk
bermain dengan rakan-rakan. Siapa minat Formula 1
ketika menonton siaran di TV akan bersemangat untuk
?tekan? kereta Protonnya yang telah diubah suai dengan
ekzos sebesar tin Milo.
Ringkasnya, jika seseorang itu minat sesuatu perkara
lalu perkara itu pula dihidangkan di hadapannya, dia
akan bersemangat dan teringin untuk melakukan atau
mendapatkan perkara tersebut. Hanya terdapat satu
perbezaan yang besar, orang itu akan mencari yang
?real? dan bukannya sesuatu sekadar di TV atau
majalah.
Semalam di akhbar saya membaca laporan bahawa pemimpin
kita meminta pihak akhbar memberi liputan yang lebih
luas berkenaan kes rogol supaya rakyat menjadi lebih
prihatin akan masalah ini. Pada waktu yang sama
kerajaan akan cuba menggubal undang-undang yang lebih
tegas berkenaan masalah rogol.
Akan tetapi saya dapati wujud satu kekurangan yang
besar. Kita hanya memberi perhatian selepas kes rogol
berlaku. Kita tidak beri perhatian bagaimana untuk
mengelak kes rogol daripada berlaku.
Antara cara mengelak yang tidak diberi perhatian oleh
kebanyakan pihak ialah pelbagai pendedahan kepada
senario wanita yang menampakkan anggota badan sambil
memperagakannya dalam aksi yang panas lagi hebat.
Perhatikan sahaja siaran MTV, Channel V, Hitz TV
(Astro), aksi artis di URTV, Panca Indra dan pelbagai
lagi iklan di majalah.
Cuba kaitan hal ini dengan apa yang saya katakan di
awal posting ini. Jika seseorang itu minat sesuatu
perkara lalu perkara itu pula dihidangkan di
hadapannya, dia akan bersemangat dan teringin untuk
melakukan atau mendapatkan perkara tersebut. Hanya
terdapat satu perbezaan yang besar, orang itu akan
mencari yang ?real? dan bukannya sesuatu sekadar di TV
atau majalah.
Tidak berlebihan jika saya katakan orang lelaki
apabila dia menonton aksi-aksi wanita yang menampakkan
anggota badan sambil memperagakannya dalam aksi yang
panas lagi hebat akan terangsang untuk mendapatkan
yang ?real? juga.
Untuk mendapatkan yang ?real? ini, orang lelaki
terbahagi kepada dua kategori:
Pertama adalah mereka yang ?slow and easy? untuk
mendapatkannya.
Kedua adalah mereka yang ?fast and tough? untuk
mendapatkannya.
Kategori atau cara kedua sering mendapat liputan
akhbar. Cara pertama jarang-jarang kerana
kebijaksanaan orang lelaki itu dan kesedaran wanita
yang menjadi mangsa bahawa pada asalnya dia sendiri
terikut sama.
Akhir kata, yang penting bukanlah laporan di akhbar
dan hukuman yang dijatuhkan. Akan tetapi yang penting
adalah tindakan pihak berwajib untuk memantau
faktor-faktor yang bakal mengakibatkan kes rogol.
Jika sebelum ini ada manhaj ?Cegah Sebelum Parah?,
maka manhaj yang seumpama harus juga diguna pakai
untuk menghadapi kes rogol di negara kita. Jika pihak
berwajib leka dalam hal ini, maka kita sendiri yang
perlu bertindak sekadar mampu.
Wassalam.
Just something that i got from a forwarded mail. Well, it seems that there are a lot of people still blaming on those victims.....sigh...
14-05-2004, 12:58 PM
I wonder if females rape males, will they impose a law for all men to cover up their whole body, from head to toe?
14-05-2004, 01:04 PM
A different way of looking at it:
there've been cases..where it was at first, it was sex with consent..then mebbe the gurl felt guilty etc...coz she's lost her virginity...
So, to compensate for that, she charged the guy w raping...she can say later (to her future husband perhaps) that she lost her virginity coz of rape n not just casual sec w a friend. A gurl losing her virginity to rape is easier for a guy to accept than her losing it due to sex w another guy.
well, my 2cents :wink:
14-05-2004, 09:39 PM
Remember Canny Ong? Her kidnapper claimed that she agreed to have sex with him. What do you think about that? I say that's a real cooked up story. And a ridiculuos one instead.
15-05-2004, 12:02 AM
Remember Canny Ong? Her kidnapper claimed that she agreed to have sex with him. What do you think about that? I say that's a real cooked up story. And a ridiculuos one instead.
it will be death penalty afterall...reasonable that stories like this emerged
15-05-2004, 12:06 AM
Well, in this case the murderer would be trialed for murder anyway, so I guess the death sentence is something he can look forward to. What I'm worried about however, is when the victim consents to sex, and then after that accuses the guy of raping her. Obviously the guy would be at a disadvantage and he'd be called a rapist and other such things. In this case, the death penalty or castration for rapists would surely be very unfair to the guy.
CyberJaya
15-05-2004, 12:17 AM
No no! If death sentence, then his suffering will be swift. Why not first time 10 years rehab, 2nd time castration, 3rd time - throw him inside a cage with many horny gays!!!
just rape the rapists back. :D
15-05-2004, 02:39 PM
Uhm... any reasons why you want to quote me? Hehe...
Well, in this case the murderer would be trialed for murder anyway, so I guess the death sentence is something he can look forward to. What I'm worried about however, is when the victim consents to sex, and then after that accuses the guy of raping her. Obviously the guy would be at a disadvantage and he'd be called a rapist and other such things. In this case, the death penalty or castration for rapists would surely be very unfair to the guy.
That's why guys should not jump into sex when a girl agrees to have it with him. He have to make sure that the girl is fully conscious and realize the consequences after their intercourse, and fully agree to have it with him. If the girl's semi-ready, then DON'T. I believe as a guy, if you love her (if not why copulate?), then you want to make her happy, right?
04-06-2004, 03:37 PM
Anyone read big bro in the star this week? Some guy was raped by his cousin... scary...
Moral of the article: guys can get raped too. It is far worst for a guy to be raped than a girl. He'll be futher humiliated and plus, there isn't much support or some organization for guy victims coz the numbers are too small. There're some women welfare society and such, but how often do we hear men welface society? I wonder how many laws are made for this too! hehe!
Anyway, rape is wrong, no matter who raped who. Something has to be done to reduce it. I think it can never be eliminated, its just the animal instincts in us. Its how nature works.
08-07-2004, 01:18 PM
It's getting too common nowadays... rapists who are relatives to the victims...
Held for raping granddaughter (http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/8/nation/8392732&sec=nation)
JEMPOL: A 55-year-old man was arrested for allegedly raping his 12-year-old granddaughter several times last year.
The man was picked up on Tuesday after the girl gave birth to a baby last month and a family member lodged a police report on the matter.
Are those ppl out of their mind? Even animals dont rape their youngs rite? Father raping daughters, grandpa raping granddaugther and so on.....it's really a pain to read such reports on news.
12-12-2004, 11:35 PM
FYI, animals do have sex with their siblings.
bunny
12-12-2004, 11:51 PM
there's no need for castration...just cut the balls off... that takes care of all the lust problems... first time, cut one ;second time cut both.. JUST KIDDING.... haha but that's what they do to stallions and dogs though.. what about animal rights man...
just a question: what happens when the guy u are dating rapes u? does it count as a rape? or do they consider u as a willing party?
P/ps: oh this is so embarassing.. I didn't know castration means cut the balls off... sorry!!
12-12-2004, 11:56 PM
there's no need for castration...just cut the balls off... that takes care of all the lust problems... first time, cut one ;second time cut both.. JUST KIDDING.... haha but that's what they do to stallions and dogs though.. what about animal rights man...
just a question: what happens when the guy u are dating rapes u? does it count as a rape? or do they consider u as a willing party?
Thats date rape. and its still rape.
bunny
13-12-2004, 12:45 AM
Thats date rape. and its still rape.
but in this case, it is very hard for the defense lawyer to prove that it is a rape right?
13-12-2004, 12:53 AM
Yupe...
but if the guy leaves any 'evidence' around, then he's pretty much implicated by the statement of the girl. forceful entry is obvious because you will see brusing around the thighs and other parts of the body, i think... but yeah, the forensics scientists have a way of determining whether it was rape.
13-12-2004, 06:25 AM
P/ps: oh this is so embarassing.. I didn't know castration means cut the balls off... sorry!!
a husband can be held for raping his wife also what (well, not in Malaysia, i think)...
kennytang
13-12-2004, 12:03 PM
i jz wanna say that rapists r nuts. i @<hidden>$#$-ing hate them. feel like killing them.
13-12-2004, 12:08 PM
a husband can be held for raping his wife also what (well, not in Malaysia, i think)...
marital rape laws works for non-muslims, but does not apply to muslims because the concept of marital rape does not exist in muslim laws...i think..
24-12-2004, 12:28 AM
marital rape laws works for non-muslims, but does not apply to muslims because the concept of marital rape does not exist in muslim laws...i think..
From what I know, rape in Islam is simply forbidden. whether it's marital, non-marital, etc.
Here's an update from Malaysia: The tragedy of the little girl who got raped by the 'Jaga' not long time ago has been repeated by the rape-and-murder of Siti Shazwani .
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/20041223082615/Article/
What is going on, fellow Malaysians?. Is there anything we could do to reduce this?. Those little kids are innocent. Not enough with a 'langgar-lari' of a boy was in way back home from his tuiton class by a truck-driver, now more child abuse.
Are we going backwards?. I thought we're aiming towards a more civilized society.
I think we really need to find some kind of consensus to be written somewhere. (newspaper, article, etc), about Malaysia's crime rate.
From what I observe, it's just getting worse.
sanghanuman
24-12-2004, 03:57 AM
guys can get raped too. It is far worst for a guy to be raped than a girl. He'll be futher humiliated and plus, there isn't much support or some organization for guy victims coz the numbers are too small. There're some women welfare society and such, but how often do we hear men welface society?
I don't think such comparison is acceptable. Why, do you think that girls who got raped are not "further humiliated"? And yes, we should think about initiating rape victims' shelter for men soon because the number of rape cases for men is increasing.
Anyway, rape is wrong, no matter who raped who. Something has to be done to reduce it. I think it can never be eliminated, its just the animal instincts in us. Its how nature works.
Rape is wrong. But taking "nature" as a reason why this is happening is not quite convincing. "Nature" equals sexual desire but what is unnatural about rapists is their inability to control their sexual desire.
24-12-2004, 08:37 AM
Not so long after my post about the rape of the kid, i read this :
http://utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=1224&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_02.htm
What a surprise. I think the Indons coming to Malaysia not only create a legal problem but also social problem. Any comment?
yeah, they do. But rape is one of the most henious crimes to do again'st a person.
24-12-2004, 12:09 PM
Not so long after my post about the rape of the kid, i read this :
http://utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2004&dt=1224&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Dalam_Negeri&pg=dn_02.htm
What a surprise. I think the Indons coming to Malaysia not only create a legal problem but also social problem. Any comment?
I think we shouldn't be blaming the Indonesian worker for the social problems we have. I think 99.9% of serious crimes in Malaysia are commited by Malaysians and i'm starting to think Indonesian are used as the scapegoats by the authorities these days. Easy way to shut the public up. These Indonesian immigrants barely have any legal rights in Malaysian judicial which is in the first place is already FUBAR.
What concern me now is, Our society have developed a mentality of, its all the Indons or Banglas fault. Which in reality is far from the truth. Sort of like how Islam is to many part of the world.
I'm saddened by the 9 year old siti Rape Murder. Where the hell was the parent? Letting your 9 y.o by herself riding a bicycle on a remote road itself is a stupid Idea. After charging who ever is responsible for the death of this girl i hope the parents get charged for being not to bright.
24-12-2004, 02:23 PM
well their little kampung was a safe place previously i suppose. i remember another kampung place where the kid was raped by tenaga workmen in a tenaga shed.
but to be honest, yeah, the parents could've been smarter. the same for many others. rape could've been prevented.
i hope everyone keeps in mind that majority of rape cases in malaysia are committed by assailants whom the victim know, or are relatives of - source from my friend who worked at the women's aid org, WAO. so watch your ass basically.