View Full Version : JPA's Exposure to Doctors' Career Programme

phoenix1892
20-03-2008, 08:56 PM
I just check the JPA website today and I got called in. So what I wanna know is that what should I bring to the hospital visit? And what should I wear? Thanks in advance.

Thread moved to the appropriate section

*seehua~

matchgirl
20-03-2008, 09:05 PM
I just check the JPA website today and I got called in. So what I wanna know is that what should I bring to the hospital visit? And what should I wear? Thanks in advance.

bring the documents requied as stated and wear casually because you have to move around alot

matchgirl
20-03-2008, 09:07 PM
bring along notepads and pens if you want tomake short notes...
plus, make as much research on hospital life as possible because they will rate you..

Al-Bert
20-03-2008, 10:03 PM
bring along notepads and pens if you want tomake short notes...
plus, make as much research on hospital life as possible because they will rate you..

As far as i'm concerned, nobody will evaluate you throughout the programme...

The programme is merely created for you to confirm whether being a doctor is the right career path for you...

Grab the chance to understand everything in hospital better by trying to do more observations, askings and contemplations...

Also more interactions with those hospital staffs and patients... ( But never disturb those who are busy )

phoenix1892
21-03-2008, 08:54 PM
Thanks all. So, they won't evaluate us too much right? I'm just worried that I would look or do something inappropriate or not up to standard.

21-03-2008, 10:07 PM
nah, i doubt they'll ever evaluate you guys one by one.. this event is more for yourself to expose to the life in a hospital and making sure if such life is really your choice in the first place.

22-03-2008, 12:28 AM
nah, i doubt they'll ever evaluate you guys one by one.. this event is more for yourself to expose to the life in a hospital and making sure if such life is really your choice in the first place.
Yea... That's the purpose of the programme, and for those going, be prepared to listen to some housemen keep telling you don't be a doctor. And it's not that they will not evaluate too much, it's not at all, only self-evaluation is involved.

matchgirl
22-03-2008, 08:34 PM
we will be going into the bilik mayat...
scary.....

phoenix1892
22-03-2008, 09:11 PM
we will be going into the bilik mayat...
scary.....

I'm looking forward to that though...

Now I'm still deciding what to wear. Someone mention casual, but please define casual? My dad insists I wear a bit more formal (button down with slacks), but I don't want to feel uncomfortable, especially if we gonna visit a lot of departments in a day. So please help me decide...

matchgirl
22-03-2008, 09:18 PM
I'm looking forward to that though...

Now I'm still deciding what to wear. Someone mention casual, but please define casual? My dad insists I wear a bit more formal (button down with slacks), but I don't want to feel uncomfortable, especially if we gonna visit a lot of departments in a day. So please help me decide...

aren't the prgramme last for 5 days?

phoenix1892
22-03-2008, 09:21 PM

Yeah, I need something to wear for the whole week. I don't have many 'formal' clothes, that's why I was hoping we can wear something more casual, like polo t and slacks or something like that.

matchgirl
22-03-2008, 09:24 PM
Yeah, I need something to wear for the whole week. I don't have many 'formal' clothes, that's why I was hoping we can wear something more casual, like polo t and slacks or something like that.

nobody is going to evaluate you...I think you might just save those for the four days interview.....

Kyle
22-03-2008, 09:37 PM
well, frm my experience, it's better to wear formal attire minus coats for da guys... unless u want to be da odd one out of the many ppl who will be wearing formal attire... nway, i hd memorable experience da las time i went for it n da most interesting part was meeting n talking to surgeons though they r v bz... in fact, they take time to talk to u...

well, there, we visited da mortuary... my first time n oso da gynae ward where i witnessed a birth... all in all, it was an eye opener... n dun waste a second of it... for those inspiring to be a doc, make sure it is motivated by ur sincere n pure desire to serve the ppl n nt for money... as it takes more than brains to be a doc... nway, all da best future-doctor-to-be!!!

Appolo
22-03-2008, 10:30 PM
nobody is going to evaluate you...I think you might just save those for the four days interview.....

agree.

A junior of mine fainted after seeing blood and he quicly changed his mind about medicine.Still, he got the scholarship!

22-03-2008, 10:33 PM
So, it's going to be 5 days this year? It only lasted for 3 days last time, perhaps this will give an even better exposure...

lance
22-03-2008, 11:59 PM
the interview is gonna b 4 days?
i thought juz choose a day. lol..

agree.

A junior of mine fainted after seeing blood and he quicly changed his mind about medicine.Still, he got the scholarship!

so does it means that, if we found out that doctor's life is not suitable for us then we can straight change our course applied?
or need to appeal??

23-03-2008, 09:34 AM
the interview is gonna b 4 days?
i thought juz choose a day. lol..
The interview is going to be held over 4 days, but you'll only go on one of the 4 days, and you don't have the right to choose the date, JPA will choose for you.]
so does it means that, if we found out that doctor's life is not suitable for us then we can straight change our course applied?
or need to appeal??
You'll be given a chance to change your course during interview.

aNUAr
23-03-2008, 09:53 AM
if we live far frm the hospital... re we going to be placed in a hostel??? or it's our just initiative to find out by ourselves...

23-03-2008, 10:18 AM
if we live far frm the hospital... re we going to be placed in a hostel??? or it's our just initiative to find out by ourselves...
It's very unlikely to happen, I don't think they will arrange accomodation for you during the programme, if your house is far away from hospital, and you don't want to travel far everyday, you'll need to find you own accomodation...

lawrenceleong888
23-03-2008, 06:51 PM
I would like to know if tomorrow's exposure to a doctor's career program, should I wear
1.long sleeves clothes + black slacks + men's shoes
or
2.normal t-shirt + blue jeans + sport shoes?
Cos the program is on tomorrow n there are so many opinions around, so I just want to confirm this as soon as possible. Thank you!

lawrenceleong888
23-03-2008, 06:52 PM
I would like to know if tomorrow's exposure to a doctor's career program, should I wear
1.long sleeves clothes + black slacks + men's shoes
or
2.normal t-shirt + blue jeans + sport shoes?
Cos the program is on tomorrow n there are so many opinions around, so I just want to confirm this as soon as possible. Thank you!

seiken
23-03-2008, 09:10 PM
erm..kwn ak ckp...
mara x de... jpa ade la..:)

English please.

Wyllie0915
23-03-2008, 09:19 PM

I'm confusing with this problem too!Tomorrow I am going for da exposure to doctor's career programme too!Which hospital you are going?

phoenix1892
23-03-2008, 09:52 PM
I'm confusing with this problem too!Tomorrow I am going for da exposure to doctor's career programme too!Which hospital you are going?

I'm going to Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Kota Kinabalu. Are there any Sabahans here?

HoLmEs_90
23-03-2008, 10:06 PM
Wyllie0915,i suggest to play it safe,just wear formal 4 2moro n then u can ask permission or information regarding the dress code from the officer in charge......mayb they will understand ur situation.....f.y.i,i'm going to the PPKD 2 but i'm in Sarawak....

23-03-2008, 10:17 PM
Hey matchgirl DO NOT wear casually. It is better to wear formal as patients usually expect at least that level of decency in clothing in the wards. It is more appropriate to dress professionally as you are there not as a visitor, but as a student.

Ask questions like mad! Doctors usually look busy but they will usually be glad to explain to you things. If you are lucky you might be able to see some procedures being done.

There is already a thread on this question asked by someone last year, check it out.

coolest cactus
23-03-2008, 10:37 PM
cn i ask some question here?im still new around this forum n nt really sure how it works.so what am i going to wear for the pendedahan kerjaya seorang doktor 2mr?is there anyone from ktn oso going 2mr?im rili confusing abt the attire...

Wyllie0915
23-03-2008, 10:51 PM
Wyllie0915,i suggest to play it safe,just wear formal 4 2moro n then u can ask permission or information regarding the dress code from the officer in charge......mayb they will understand ur situation.....f.y.i,i'm going to the PPKD 2 but i'm in Sarawak....

I'm going to Hospital Ipoh in Perak!Thanks for suggestion , Holmes!

Mandy Koay
23-03-2008, 11:37 PM
what does formal means for girls?must wear long skirt or what?

25-03-2008, 04:42 AM
what does formal means for girls?must wear long skirt or what?like what's always been said, baju kurung is the best...

25-03-2008, 02:13 PM
A button shirt and skirt/slacks would do. No slippers, wear enclosed shoes. You better get used to wearing formal attire, you'll be wearing it a lot during your university times and when you are working.

lance
25-03-2008, 05:53 PM
The interview is going to be held over 4 days, but you'll only go on one of the 4 days, and you don't have the right to choose the date, JPA will choose for you.]

oo...i c...
You'll be given a chance to change your course during interview.

during interview oni can change?
so the hospital nid not to do anything for it ?

25-03-2008, 07:47 PM
Do try to wear formal.

And while they might not be making specific observation, I would still like to strongly encourage everyone to give your best. Any poor attitude will easily stick in the mind of those officers.

I won't be surprised if there are people who would be writing observations after that.

They might not be having books to jot down, but those who leave good and bad impressions are going to get noticed.

No point taking the risk.

Good Luck!

Hope to see fellow ReComers to come here and share after Day 1 of the hospital visit.

tehjiao
26-03-2008, 11:27 PM
So anybody who've completed the program and willing to share something here?

HoLmEs_90
27-03-2008, 11:40 PM
i have attended the program for 4 days now...to be honest,i think dat some of the hospital staffs(especially the women) r unfriendly and unwilling to cooperate.....for e.g,one of the female doctor in the labour room doesn't give a damn about us....if we observe the labour process,she simply close the tirai or scold us....i know they have their own procedure but they should have respected us a little bit......not just giving us the cold look or raising their voice.....afterall,she's the one who supposed 2 help us to learn more about their work but dats so ironic.....i think that section is the worst 4 my hospital....so much 4 'exposure'.....i really envy those students in other hospital who got the chance to observe the labour process.... anyway,i really enjoyed seeing the new born babies.......so cute : )

28-03-2008, 02:08 AM
i have attended the program for 4 days now...to be honest,i think dat some of the hospital staffs(especially the women) r unfriendly and unwilling to cooperate.....for e.g,one of the female doctor in the labour room doesn't give a damn about us....if we observe the labour process,she simply close the tirai or scold us....i know they have their own procedure but they should have respected us a little bit......not just giving us the cold look or raising their voice.....afterall,she's the one who supposed 2 help us to learn more about their work but dats so ironic.....i think that section is the worst 4 my hospital....so much 4 'exposure'.....i really envy those students in other hospital who got the chance to observe the labour process.... anyway,i really enjoyed seeing the new born babies.......so cute : )

Don't blame her. She is probably concerned about the privacy of the to-be-mother.

wgy589
28-03-2008, 02:27 AM

Haha, dun expect to be a VIP there lar, u r of the least importance to any staff there

Leen
28-03-2008, 07:05 AM
Haha, dun expect to be a VIP there lar, u r of the least importance to any staff there

Food for thought. Taken from Grey's Anatomy.

Bailey: I have five rules. Memorize them. Rule number one, don't bother sucking up. I already hate you, that's not gonna change. Trauma protocol, phone list, pagers, nurses will page you. You will answer every page at a run. A run! That's rule number two. Your first shift starts now and lasts 48 hours. You're interns, grunts, nobodies, bottom of the surgical food chain. You run labs, run orders, work every second night until you drop, and don't complain. On-call rooms. Attendings hog them. Sleep when you can where you can, which brings me to rule number three. If I'm sleeping, don't wake me unless your patient is dying. Rule number four: the dying patient better not be dead when I get there. Not only will you have killed someone, you would have woke me for no good reason. We clear? (Meredith raises her hand) Yes?
Meredith: You said five rules. That was only four. Bailey: Rule number five: When I move, you move. (looks at pager and starts running)

You guys are not even doctors. So don't complain since you are also at the bottom of the medical food chain. :laugh

Nothing personal, I just find it amusing to be able to link back to one of my favorite drama series. Seriously, use your time well to discover your true potential and love for medicine. Some people went through the whole program and changed their courses. So, do take it seriously. :)

HoLmEs_90
28-03-2008, 09:10 PM
uwgy589t,no offence but did i say we deserve 2 be treated like VIP during the programme??no rite....:nod

Leen,the things dat u said is just similar 2 what the Pengarah Hospital told us 2day la.....hehe.... :P

she xplains dat that kind of treatment is just a normal thing in medical field....even the intern also sometimes feel like they r 'invicible' while visiting the wards......thanx 2 her,now i really understand about those procedure..the rough manner n scolding.....its just the same like watching Scrubs...hehe:wink

02-04-2008, 02:35 PM
uwgy589t,no offence but did i say we deserve 2 be treated like VIP during the programme??no rite....:nod

Leen,the things dat u said is just similar 2 what the Pengarah Hospital told us 2day la.....hehe.... :P

she xplains dat that kind of treatment is just a normal thing in medical field....even the intern also sometimes feel like they r 'invicible' while visiting the wards......thanx 2 her,now i really understand about those procedure..the rough manner n scolding.....its just the same like watching Scrubs...hehe:wink

I can't help but feel that this is similar to ragging in universities. You bully your junior doctors because in your past you were bullied. This has to stop..

02-04-2008, 03:07 PM

Pushing the juniors in a rough way isn't a good way to give them a start imo. Sure medicine is a rough field, but i think there are better ways to give a better first impression to the newbies in the field.

rogue20
02-03-2009, 09:56 PM
hmmm...lols. funny how u guys are obsessing bout your dressing :P

anyways, how did you guys apply for this course? I'm trying to apply for it this year and i dont see any of the forms on jpa website. the website is notoriously hard to navigate :notrust

Athersin
03-03-2009, 01:52 PM
Haha. this remind me of the time i apply to JPA Medicine. It is really fun to get to the hospital and exposured to the environment there. Get the chance to see a corpse too. :P

It turn out that i din secure it.

Hope those who apply to it can make a wiser choice. reconsider it !

eve88
03-03-2009, 07:55 PM
hm, this is slightly off topic, but for those non-JPA people who still want to see how its like in a public hospital, it may still be possible (I did this beginning of last year) to wander into the hospital clutching a self-written letter stating that you're planning to study medicine and would like to see how its like. Meet the 'head nurse' - its the most senior nurse in the organization chart - to get permission etc.

A really eye opening 3 days, as it turned out. Maybe better to go with a friend tho - it's a bit nerve wracking - not to mention stretches of boredom - trying to "blend in" in a ward....

03-03-2009, 10:22 PM
Well, the last time round I went for this course, I managed to see 2 full baby births, and allowed into the discussion room whereby the houseman were being scrutinised by the head of department to the reasons why their patients passed away and it was all really tensed... The next day we were being told we were not supposed to be in the labour ward as well as the discussion room.. HAHAHA!!!!!! then again it was a worthwhile experience though now my career path is no more medicine, it was a sure eye-opener.
So, good luck to those aspiring to be a doctor out there.. my only advice is... u have to be tough to be a doctor.

GaryL
21-03-2009, 04:18 AM
I got chosen for the 2009 session but 1 big question. Do v need to sleep over at the hospital? I need replies quick coz it's starting on the 23rd. Help pls T.T

21-03-2009, 09:56 AM
I got chosen for the 2009 session but 1 big question. Do v need to sleep over at the hospital? I need replies quick coz it's starting on the 23rd. Help pls T.TNo, you have to go to hospital everyday.

sarahcsm
21-03-2009, 10:18 AM
they've stated that we might also witness the 'on-call's?? Does it imply that we might have to stay at the hospital for irregular hours? Thanks!

music_freak28
21-03-2009, 10:29 AM
they've stated that we might also witness the 'on-call's?? Does it imply that we might have to stay at the hospital for irregular hours? Thanks!

Yerp. Some hospitals require you to be on-call. I think Hospital Selayang is like that because I remembered some of my friends went through that. (Do correct me if I am wrong.)

But it would be fun and a great exposure to be on-call. It really tests u if this is what you really want. Enjoy it. =) Visiting busy and challenging hospitals are always better than a hospital with literally no patients.

sarahcsm
21-03-2009, 11:42 AM
haha, thanks music_freak28!! Yeah, I agree, I mean who gets the opportunity to be on call =) What should we look out for, during this program. What should we like learn from it? thanks!

joyce91
21-03-2009, 01:52 PM
URGENT!anyone who had successfully changed the hospital that had been selected under exposure to doctor's career programme pls tell me hw to do!my friend had mistaken about the hospital,:cryso she want to change it since v need to participate 5 days continuosly!thank you in advance.

21-03-2009, 04:41 PM
I'm not too sure but my friend from NS last year(frm sem. who came to Swk for NS) jz went directly to the Hospital Umum Sarawak and did the exposure programme-well, explaining the hospital her situation of course-

I think the other thread : JPA Scholarship Hospital Visit should be merged with this thread to avoid confusion here..

misspenguin
21-03-2009, 08:21 PM
Can I know roughly what time the kursus will end daily?

21-03-2009, 10:47 PM
Can I know roughly what time the kursus will end daily?It depends on the hospital I think, some don't rally care and you can go if you want, as early as lunch break, but generally it would be around 4-5p.m...

joyce91
22-03-2009, 11:32 PM
do i need to bring a bag since i need to put my purse,hp,book,pens...?or it'll only make me inconvenience?

23-03-2009, 01:41 AM
Good Luck to all! Do treat it as good learning experience. Do share your experience here at ReCom.org too!

chong
23-03-2009, 06:22 PM
hello....i just came back from the programme. actually is not tat interesting le....
we just stand in front of those patients n we can do nothing...so sien...

sarahcsm
23-03-2009, 06:57 PM
haha, we went to the mortuary, but it was really nothing much, cause the guy himself was scared. I think he wanted to scare us, but he was scared himself. We went into the mortuary (which was very cold) for about 10 seconds and then came out. But we did get to see the equipment used to cut open the bodies. He introduced to us the HEPA filter, which works basically on the principle of suction. Usually, the unwanted contents of the stomach are emptied into a container, and then a lever is pushed. Then, the 'vaccuum' sucks up all the unwanted materials. =)

Some of my friends from other groups were dismissed by the doctors just after 10 minutes cause the clinics were rather crowded and the specialists were busy. Kind of disappointing, but what can we expect? lol. We're only students, not even house officers. Our presence only brings more trouble for these doctors =D.

23-03-2009, 09:17 PM
haha, we went to the mortuary, but it was really nothing much, cause the guy himself was scared. I think he wanted to scare us, but he was scared himself. We went into the mortuary (which was very cold) for about 10 seconds and then came out. But we did get to see the equipment used to cut open the bodies. He introduced to us the HEPA filter, which works basically on the principle of suction. Usually, the unwanted contents of the stomach are emptied into a container, and then a lever is pushed. Then, the 'vaccuum' sucks up all the unwanted materials. =)

Some of my friends from other groups were dismissed by the doctors just after 10 minutes cause the clinics were rather crowded and the specialists were busy. Kind of disappointing, but what can we expect? lol. We're only students, not even house officers. Our presence only brings more trouble for these doctors =D.

Thanks for sharing. At least the one's that didn't apply for medicine could get a glimpse..haha

goexianjeff
23-03-2009, 09:35 PM
xellos, what course do u apply? i have to say that the program is quite dull. it's merely a tour around the hospital. the lunch break was too long...

sarahcsm
23-03-2009, 09:46 PM
Thanks for sharing. At least the one's that didn't apply for medicine could get a glimpse..haha
no prob =) Thanks for reading =D .

Although today's programme was less than what i expected, it was still very much of an eye-opener. I learnt a lot =)

joyce91
23-03-2009, 10:31 PM
sarahchm,u're so nice can go to mortuary.since hospital that i was going is a primary hospital and it's also the 1st time the hospital are involved in the programme,so there is no much details.and v'll only start the details programme tmr.totally hv 11 ppl attended for the programme.tmr i need to be on call 24 hrs.which hospital are u joining for the programme?

sarahcsm
24-03-2009, 12:08 AM
the Penang GH. It's the 2nd biggest hospital in M'sia, so, everything's quite fast moving. Very crowded, but really cool. We got to see many departments. But I don't think we'll be asked to be on call for 24 hours. We'll only cause trouble to the doctors on call =) But I think it'll be a great experience for you, i'm sure you'll enjoy it =)

24-03-2009, 12:26 AM
Actually it is better if you go to a secondary hospital, which is not so busy but at the same time there are still a lot to be seen, it won't be crowded and students can spend more time in each departments, and benefit too as they move in smaller group. General hospitals are generally busy and crowded.

By the way, did anyone see post mortem? I missed out last time because I wasn't early enough, but be warned that some students vomited after seeing the live post mortem, it's bloody... :P

CCY_to_the_top
24-03-2009, 01:53 PM
I love Blood...^^

skatemusicianer
24-03-2009, 02:32 PM
Just have fun meeting other people la...the program isn't gonna help your technical medicine knowledge..haha..have fun.. i love blood too! lol.

joyce91
28-03-2009, 01:26 AM
finally...the programme was finished ...today,my group could see babies bathing!!!so cute!!that's y i always love O&G department.i also had the opportunity to see breastfeeding...so happy

Actually it is better if you go to a secondary hospital, which is not so busy but at the same time there are still a lot to be seen, it won't be crowded and students can spend more time in each departments, and benefit too as they move in smaller group. General hospitals are generally busy and crowded.

By the way, did anyone see post mortem? I missed out last time because I wasn't early enough, but be warned that some students vomited after seeing the live post mortem, it's bloody... :P
i agreed with u!i thought the best hospital to visit is HTJ,S'ban.Sadly to say that my hospital didn't hv any corpse..dun even hv the chances to vomit..:cry.

28-03-2009, 01:39 AM
finally...the programme was finished ...today,my group could see babies bathing!!!so cute!!that's y i always love O&G department.i also had the opportunity to see breastfeeding...so happySomehow, OBG seems to be hellish for medical students...

goexianjeff
28-03-2009, 01:10 PM
i saw a corpse at HTJ.

28-03-2009, 02:51 PM
i saw a corpse at HTJ.

Nightmares? lol

goexianjeff
28-03-2009, 03:45 PM
haha... just nightmares about interview

Joveen
28-03-2009, 04:39 PM
argh.. so disappointing.. didnt get to c a live post-mortem..Nevertheless, it was a good exposure to the aspiring doctors..

music_freak28
28-03-2009, 06:57 PM
What should we look out for, during this program. What should we like learn from it? thanks!

Oh. oops. I hope this is not too late.

Observe everything you see and ask if you're not sure of something. Do some basic research about the hospital you are about to visit. Learn about housemanship lifestyle (But don't be easily deterred by it:wink), about how a hospital operates and basically just all about a doctor's lifestyle.

Which hospital would you be visiting/already visited?

28-03-2009, 08:41 PM
argh.. so disappointing.. didnt get to c a live post-mortem..Nevertheless, it was a good exposure to the aspiring doctors..
Haha most medical students don't get to see that much post-mortem too. In fact I haven't seen one after four years.

28-03-2009, 10:52 PM
I was wondering, does every doctor working in government hospital have a chance to conduct post-mortem?

29-03-2009, 06:24 AM
Post-mortem can only be done by qualified specialist doctors e.g. pathologist / forensic specialist.

TheScales
29-03-2009, 12:48 PM
Yeah i didn't get to see a live post mortem too. But i'm not really that disappointed cuz i wasn't looking forward to watch one. :amuse

29-03-2009, 12:49 PM
Why is everyone talking about live post mortem? Is it in the program?

29-03-2009, 01:03 PM
Why is everyone talking about live post mortem? Is it in the program?

Exactly, im also wondering.

If you guys so eager want to see post mortem being done, go to youtube.com haha

29-03-2009, 02:04 PM
Why is everyone talking about live post mortem? Is it in the program?My bad? :P I don't think it's included in the programme, just a visit to mortuary was planned, seeing a live post-mortem is just a bonus, just as live delivery of baby. Somehow, I think shouldn't this programme also be conducted for those who apply for medicine for local universities? They should also be exposed before making a decision right?

29-03-2009, 04:05 PM
Live post mortem is not directly related to day-to-day work of a doctor, and I personally haven't been involved in any at all. I am afraid that the direct confrontation of the visceral organs could scare people away from the profession. Contrary to popular belief, you don't have to be "daring" to be take up medicine. Yes there are people who are more afraid of blood and gore than the others, but most people who do medicine get familiar and desensitised by ulcers, organs, sexual organs and what not.

In my humble opinion, it's more relevant to expose people to the lifestyle of doctor instead of not-as-relevant things as post-mortem. Lifestyle is THE important aspects to be considered, not whether one could see a post-mortem without raising an eyebrow.

29-03-2009, 06:43 PM
Yeah.. I only got to see the dead body but the specialist told us we are not ready to see a full post-mortem. They also showed us dead babies corpse, hands, legs, all preserved in an ice box but of course it's all wrapped up and we can't see anything except for the shapes.. LOL..

29-03-2009, 10:54 PM
In my humble opinion, it's more relevant to expose people to the lifestyle of doctor instead of not-as-relevant things as post-mortem. Lifestyle is THE important aspects to be considered, not whether one could see a post-mortem without raising an eyebrow.Yeah, totally agree. I think that's why the programme is named Exposure to Doctor's Career Programme rather than Hospital Tour, Get to Know Hospital etc.. :P

I think such programme should be implemented on STPM/Matriculation leavers too, since they are also going to be doctors if they successfully get into medical course, I don't think there should be any difference between JPA scholars and local undergraduates...

eve88
31-03-2009, 08:49 AM
I think such programme should be implemented on STPM/Matriculation leavers too, since they are also going to be doctors if they successfully get into medical course, I don't think there should be any difference between JPA scholars and local undergraduates...

Well, there is a difference in the amount of cash the government puts into a JPA scholar vs a local undergraduate. And it might not be such a good idea for there to be a "flood" of students come every dec/jan/feb...

But managed properly, it will be a real eye opener... possibly a school-based thing, where hospitals allow students to be "attached" for a few days / weekends.

As i said before, some (most?) hospitals do accept students (with a valid reason - being something along the lines of : I am a student, considering to do med and would like some exposure to what a doctor's life is like) - but this is entirely on the person's initiative to walk into the hospital and *ask*.

Kusoyii
18-03-2010, 07:48 PM
I applied JPA scholarship and i chose medicine.there is a program pendedahan kerjaya seorang doktor bagi calon2 yang apply for medicine.

:nutsCan anyone tell me what is the program all about?I heard we have to stay in hospital from 22-26?!are we allowed to go home?:( do we have to pay any fees? or wat?:laugh

My dad had booked tickets to kl on 25th...i wonder if i can withdraw from the program juz one day earlier?:huh coz the program end by 26th,i think there is not much things can be done on that day rite?

ohya..one more thing,when we r participating d program,how to show tat we r rili interested in this career?i know some will say try ask many questions...but, dont you think someone who asking too much questions can be quite annoying sometimes?he/she acts like he/she is the no.1 best,know everything?:notrust

plz ignore any grammatical mistakes..>< ahaha..

smy
18-03-2010, 08:30 PM
i applied for medic too.do we have to print out the borang kerjaya when we go for the program?

18-03-2010, 08:35 PM
i applied for medic too.do we have to print out the borang kerjaya when we go for the program?
is there any instructions asked you to do? If no, then you don't have to do it, but better than safe. just print it jz in case.

Kusoyii
18-03-2010, 08:52 PM

juz print out bah!?oni 3~4 pages i think:nuts coz the borang there got one part is " perlu disahkan oleh pihak hospital"so i think at the end of the program we nid ask pihak hospital "mengesahkan"and do penilaian bah..?!:amuse

18-03-2010, 08:55 PM
juz print out bah!?oni 3~4 pages i think:nuts coz the borang there got one part is " perlu disahkan oleh pihak hospital"so i think at the end of the program we nid ask pihak hospital "mengesahkan"and do penilaian bah..?!:amuseYou have to get the form sign as proof of your attendance on the last day. You don't have to stay in hospital for 5 days, but you have to go everyday. However there would not be any evaluation done by hospital on the students.

Kusoyii
18-03-2010, 09:01 PM
You have to get the form sign as proof of your attendance on the last day. You don't have to stay in hospital for 5 days, but you have to go everyday. However there would not be any evaluation done by hospital on the students.

huh?but i noticed that the borang there got bahagian B: penilaian terhadap program dan minat calon..and skala 1~3(1 stand for lemah,2 moderate,3-baik)..so who's gonna rate that? thank you ^^:nuts

alter_ego
18-03-2010, 09:04 PM
is this program specialized for those who applied for medic only?

18-03-2010, 09:06 PM
is this program specialized for those who applied for medic only?Yes, medicine only. Dentistry and pharmacy applicants do not have to attend the programme.

Kusoyii
18-03-2010, 09:18 PM
is this program specialized for those who applied for medic only?

yeah yeah...:nuts

alter_ego
18-03-2010, 10:39 PM
Yes, medicine only. Dentistry and pharmacy applicants do not have to attend the programme.

ooh.i see.thanx.

19-03-2010, 01:54 AM
I have merged the thread "Program Pendedahan Kerjaya Seorang Doktor" with an existing thread from the past. You can read the past posts to get a rough idea about what's going on =)

ged
19-03-2010, 07:57 AM
How do you guys check whether you're being called in for the exposure or not?
Is it through the website or e-mail?

ethmblue
19-03-2010, 12:42 PM
How do you guys check whether you're being called in for the exposure or not?
Is it through the website or e-mail?

Through the eSILA website. You can check now. :)

Marianne
19-03-2010, 01:40 PM
i come from sibu, who else being called for d programme???
Introduce urself pls..

div1ne
19-03-2010, 01:59 PM
Hi Marianne. I'm from Sarikei. :P

Btw, i have some questions for those who had undergone this career exposure program:
1) Ive read that most of you recommended the participants to use formal attire. Does this means that i have to wear a coat?
2) Does the program requires participants to write something a lot?
3) Which language does the hospital staffs (especially the doctors) prefers the most?
4) So, is it recommended for us to ask a lot of questions (even the questions that we might knew what the answers are :P )?
5) Do we need to have some sort of nametags to identify ourselves?

Thanks. :)

Fitrahana
19-03-2010, 02:07 PM
I'm Fitrahana from Kajang.. Mine is at Hospital Kajang.. who else being called at the same place?

mayb we can know each other in advance.. Hehe

19-03-2010, 02:10 PM
Hi Marianne. I'm from Sarikei. :P

Btw, i have some questions for those who had undergone this career exposure program:
1) Ive read that most of you recommended the participants to use formal attire. Does this means that i have to wear a coat?
2) Does the program requires participants to write something a lot?
3) Which language does the hospital staffs (especially the doctors) prefers the most?
4) So, is it recommended for us to ask a lot of questions (even the questions that we might knew what the answers are :P )?
5) Do we need to have some sort of nametags to identify ourselves?

Thanks. :)
1. Formal means shirt + slack + shoes, coat is not needed, it would just restrict your movement anyway, plus contribute to your sweats.
2. Don't think so, basically you can jot down whatever you want, but it's not necessary.
3. It depends.
4. You ask because you want to know, I don't see a need to ask something which you already know, they are not going to evaluate you anyway.
5. I don't think you need so, unless you are requested to do so.

ged
19-03-2010, 02:24 PM
22nd of March till 26th of March.
And I need to register for the National Service on the 27th of March.

Hey Marianne. A Sabahan here :)

Marianne
19-03-2010, 03:21 PM
nice to meet you =)

george1209
19-03-2010, 03:31 PM
Hi there,
i checked that i got the panggilan for program pendedahan doktor..
anyone here experience b4 ?..
can share what need to prepare ?
like wears, documents , etc...

btw, it need to print out the borang -borang rite?
here i have a question - -
If i print out but only is black and white no color can or not ??
coz their logo got color - -..my printer no color ink - -!!

ChiaYi
19-03-2010, 03:38 PM
I'm from Pahang and I am going to Hospital Sultan Haji Ahmah Shah in Temerloh next monday. Anyone going there as well?

Yes, I'm also very confused about the details. Is it confirmed that there will be no accommodations? I live like 80km from that hospital, but it is the nearest to my house already! :cry

Anyway, formal attire means NO sport shoes right? I figure sport shoes or sneakers will be better for walking since I heard we will be doing that a lot. I would appreciate it a lot if someone were to tell us all the details, including attire and other stuff! :))
Thanks a lot!

ged
19-03-2010, 03:41 PM
I'm from Pahang and I am going to Hospital Sultan Haji Ahmah Shah in Temerloh next monday. Anyone going there as well?

Yes, I'm also very confused about the details. Is it confirmed that there will be no accommodations? I live like 80km from that hospital, but it is the nearest to my house already! :cry

Anyway, formal attire means NO sport shoes right? I figure sport shoes or sneakers will be better for walking since I heard we will be doing that a lot. I would appreciate it a lot if someone were to tell us all the details, including attire and other stuff! :))
Thanks a lot!

Same here! :(

ChiaYi
19-03-2010, 03:42 PM
Hey Ged!
Are you going to the same hospital as I am next monday? I'm totally confused and anxious about that day! I wonder am I going to travel each and everyday to the hospital and back home!!! :(

cschuah92
19-03-2010, 04:34 PM
Juz google ppksd and u will find a lot of stuff on this.

This is a blog on a jpa scholar who is studying medic now :D
He shared his experience on this program for five days!
Day 1 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-first-day.html)
Day 2 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-2nd-day.html)
Day 3 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-3rd-day.html)
Day 4 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-4th-day.html)
Day 5 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-season-finale-xd.html)
He also shared his experience during the interview~
Interview (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/04/jpa-interview.html)
And this is when he get the JPA~
Get JPA! (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/05/another-step-ahead-perhaps.html)
This is his article on doctor's life and I find it interesting!
Doc's life~ (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/05/doctors-life-best.html)

Anyway, Ive juz read his blog and he didnt mention anything about the evaluation.
But he mentioned that he wore like a doc~ slack + white shirt + tie~ haha!
Summore, he did mention that he got the participation tag on the 2nd day~
He also mentioned that he can go to visit post mortem room even at night 9pm~ 9pm is oledi out of the visiting time for ppksd participant. I think most of it because he had the participant tag or wat so dat he had the permission to enter anywhere in the hospital during the programme.
I dont know about the shoes thingy~ curious also~
Going to buy tie, white shirt and slack 2nite wif my mum! WAKAKA!!!

Anyway, Im arranged to Hospital Sultanah Bahiyah, Alor Setar!
Any1 got to there also? Tell me! we can be frds! haha!
Im living in alor setar so there is no accomodation problem for me :)
Appreciating it~~~

ChiaYi
19-03-2010, 04:45 PM
Thanks for the link! I read his blog posts and I was like, "nothing about the girls?"

I find it quite difficult what to wear for girls! :cry

But thanks for the link anyway! :))

Kusoyii
19-03-2010, 04:54 PM
i come from sibu, who else being called for d programme???
Introduce urself pls..

hi,i come from bintulu.=) are u going to wear baju kurung ?

cschuah92
19-03-2010, 04:55 PM
Thanks for the link! I read his blog posts and I was like, "nothing about the girls?"

I find it quite difficult what to wear for girls! :cry

But thanks for the link anyway! :))
In his post on day 5, u can see everyone attire on that photo!
Including girl aha!

Click here (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_eZCKKawQrx4/Sc2v9Zr9MdI/AAAAAAAAAB4/dK0RHY_jdbU/s1600-h/DSC00293.JPG) for bigger photo!

As u can see, there is only 2 boy participant there, that is him~ and a malay~ i tot that malay is the person-in-charge~ haha!!!

U can see an indian girl wearing slippers also...

I think it muz be sweet to wear kasut batu like him.

It muz cost me alot for the attire like him... T.T

AuDrEySnOwY
19-03-2010, 05:08 PM
If we are called for the program pendedahan kerjaya doktor, does it mean that we are definitely going to be selected for the upcoming interview?

Marianne
19-03-2010, 05:12 PM
hi,i come from bintulu.=) are u going to wear baju kurung ?

no...mayb baju kurung a bit too formal...

div1ne
19-03-2010, 05:21 PM
If we are called for the program pendedahan kerjaya doktor, does it mean that we are definitely going to be selected for the upcoming interview?

Well, a friend of mine was called for the program but ended up not being called for the interview. So, i guess there must be some sort of evaluation on the participants, mainly their behavior and attitude.

cschuah92
19-03-2010, 05:26 PM
I think so.
If not why the JPA want to waste so much resource on us approving our ppksd and visiting the hospital?

ChiaYi
19-03-2010, 05:28 PM
In his post on day 5, u can see everyone attire on that photo!
Including girl aha!

Click here (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_eZCKKawQrx4/Sc2v9Zr9MdI/AAAAAAAAAB4/dK0RHY_jdbU/s1600-h/DSC00293.JPG) for bigger photo!

As u can see, there is only 2 boy participant there, that is him~ and a malay~ i tot that malay is the person-in-charge~ haha!!!

U can see an indian girl wearing slippers also...

I think it muz be sweet to wear kasut batu like him.

It muz cost me alot for the attire like him... T.T

hahaha! Yea, now that I squint my bad eyes I could finally see clearly! *is considering to bring a camera along*

Thanks so much! Now I'm like, going through my sister's wardrobe looking for FORMAL attire! Still looking for shoes though, wondering whether the shoes I wore for piano exams can be used... Hmm...

Good luck to everyone! I guess I have to stay with my mum since there doesn't seem to be any accommodations! :))

AuDrEySnOwY
19-03-2010, 05:29 PM
I thought your performance during the pendedahan is not evaluated?

cschuah92
19-03-2010, 05:36 PM
I saw some of the ex-PPKSDer said that they need to be prepared on-call to the hospital during the five days.
I think accomodation is important for people who live far from the selected hospital.

Kusoyii
19-03-2010, 05:41 PM
no...mayb baju kurung a bit too formal...

ahaha..then i guess i have to go farley buy some typical OL(office lady)blouses...and trousers/skirt too >< i oni got short pants.

cschuah92
19-03-2010, 05:49 PM
why most of the people applying for medicine are girls?
boys all doing engineer edi...
but can see meni girl aha!!!
scare my eyes will pain~
xDD
jk~

EvenGild
19-03-2010, 05:55 PM
Hi all, thanks for sharing so much on this forum, i've learned a lot through these posts.
I was wondering, if girls are wearing blouses and skirts, wouldn't it constrict our movements? (since we apparently need to move a lot)
And about the shoes (for girls) is it better to wear blacks, sneakers or sport shoes?

Kusoyii
19-03-2010, 06:09 PM
why most of the people applying for medicine are girls?
boys all doing engineer edi...
but can see meni girl aha!!!
scare my eyes will pain~
xDD
jk~

haha...my bro is doing his medicine in ucsi.his class mostly girls too :laugh
but wat i c is there r actually more male doctors than female one.my town there r oni 2 female doctors.others r all boys.
What my dad said is the girls married to the doctors and end up as housewives.:amuse

ChiaYi
19-03-2010, 08:37 PM
Hi all, thanks for sharing so much on this forum, i've learned a lot through these posts.
I was wondering, if girls are wearing blouses and skirts, wouldn't it constrict our movements? (since we apparently need to move a lot)
And about the shoes (for girls) is it better to wear blacks, sneakers or sport shoes?

I was wondering about the shoes problem too. But i think i'll go for sneakers! :nod
At least it looks a bit more... formal than my sport shoes! (sport shoes is bright red colour! :cry)

19-03-2010, 08:40 PM
I was wondering about the shoes problem too. But i think i'll go for sneakers! :nod
At least it looks a bit more... formal than my sport shoes! (sport shoes is bright red colour! :cry)
Well, technically, you are working for the hospital then. It is then more appropriate to wear formal (looking) attire

smy
19-03-2010, 09:51 PM
How come my fren's who applied for dalam negara din get called for the kerjaya program though she got all As.

Kusoyii
19-03-2010, 10:16 PM
How come my fren's who applied for dalam negara din get called for the kerjaya program though she got all As.

the program is "program pendedahan..........bagi calon program ijazah luar negara...":laugh

DCYL
19-03-2010, 10:25 PM
Hi, i want to clarify...JPA scholarships are for OVERSEAS medicine only isit? LOCAL medicine don't have ah? coz i applied PIDN but didnt get called in for PRogram Pendedahan:notrust.. and under the bidang, there's only 2 choices: Sains OR Sastera. Does that mean JPA scholarships for local studies are for science and literature only?

Does anyone know more about this???

19-03-2010, 10:37 PM
Hi, i want to clarify...JPA scholarships are for OVERSEAS medicine only isit? LOCAL medicine don't have ah? coz i applied PIDN but didnt get called in for PRogram Pendedahan:notrust.. and under the bidang, there's only 2 choices: Sains OR Sastera. Does that mean JPA scholarships for local studies are for science and literature only?

Does anyone know more about this???Apparently, as you said, there is no medicine under PIDN, just sains and sastera. So it's impossible for them to call all those who apply for sains to attend the programme, since sains doesn't equal to medicine.

EvenGild
20-03-2010, 01:02 PM

thanks for your opinion. by the way, i'm attenting the programme at Melaka Genaral Hospital, anyone is going there too? Wonder we could see fellow Recom there :laugh

ChiaYi
20-03-2010, 01:43 PM
thanks for your opinion. by the way, i'm attenting the programme at Melaka Genaral Hospital, anyone is going there too? Wonder we could see fellow Recom there :laugh

You are welcome, EvenGild! Hope you have fun in Melaka! :))

chunkiat
20-03-2010, 02:16 PM

I am going. hehe..:)

weiping2007
20-03-2010, 06:11 PM
Juz google ppksd and u will find a lot of stuff on this.

This is a blog on a jpa scholar who is studying medic now :D
He shared his experience on this program for five days!
Day 1 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-first-day.html)
Day 2 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-2nd-day.html)
Day 3 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-3rd-day.html)
Day 4 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-4th-day.html)
Day 5 (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/03/ppksd-season-finale-xd.html)
He also shared his experience during the interview~
Interview (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/04/jpa-interview.html)
And this is when he get the JPA~
Get JPA! (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/05/another-step-ahead-perhaps.html)
This is his article on doctor's life and I find it interesting!
Doc's life~ (http://sphinx-cw.blogspot.com/2009/05/doctors-life-best.html)

Anyway, Ive juz read his blog and he didnt mention anything about the evaluation.
But he mentioned that he wore like a doc~ slack + white shirt + tie~ haha!
Summore, he did mention that he got the participation tag on the 2nd day~
He also mentioned that he can go to visit post mortem room even at night 9pm~ 9pm is oledi out of the visiting time for ppksd participant. I think most of it because he had the participant tag or wat so dat he had the permission to enter anywhere in the hospital during the programme.
I dont know about the shoes thingy~ curious also~
Going to buy tie, white shirt and slack 2nite wif my mum! WAKAKA!!!

Anyway, Im arranged to Hospital Sultanah Bahiyah, Alor Setar!
Any1 got to there also? Tell me! we can be frds! haha!
Im living in alor setar so there is no accomodation problem for me :)
Appreciating it~~~

i also from Alor setar!

Marianne
20-03-2010, 06:14 PM
izit all the student tat apply for medic overseas being called to the programme or they juz select sum?

ged
20-03-2010, 06:31 PM
I was wondering bout that that too! Seems like those who obtained a B+ for Biology was also selected to join this career exposure program.

realn00b
20-03-2010, 06:51 PM
hey chunkiat ur from st.davids right?

20-03-2010, 07:38 PM
Guys, please keep this thread to just discussions about the program, and less of "which hospital I am going." posts...

confuser
20-03-2010, 08:18 PM
do we need to attend for those 5 days or just choose one of it?

ling910520
20-03-2010, 10:00 PM
If you dared you can tried it , i miss one day for the programs last year but they still give me my attendance for five days

sharona
20-03-2010, 10:02 PM
izit all the student tat apply for medic overseas being called to the programme or they juz select sum?
I was wondering too, it seems to me that most ppl get to go for this programme... can anyone tell?

20-03-2010, 11:15 PM

I was wondering bout that that too! Seems like those who obtained a B+ for Biology was also selected to join this career exposure program.

I was wondering too, it seems to me that most ppl get to go for this programme... can anyone tell?

this program is only for those who applied for medicine. it is normal for many people to apply for medicine. and it is only for people to get B+ to get selected as this is jz an exposure, not affect vry much in their selection for the scholarship.

chunkiat
20-03-2010, 11:42 PM
hey chunkiat ur from st.davids right?

you know me?

21-03-2010, 12:36 AM
As per ReCom chat vs discussion policy, all posts with chit-chat, friend-making elements should be posted under ReCom Chat Forum, any thread under education section is solely for discussion purpose, of related topics, for the convenience of members seeking information, as well as future reference. Since chit-chatting posts would make it difficult for members to browse through useful information, any unrelated posts would be removed without further notification. Feel free to use the PM function, or start a new thread in Chat Forum for any friend-making purpose.

Example of chats:
-Who is going to xxx hospital for exposure programme?-
-Anyone same place with me for interview?-
-Are you xxx? Do we know each other?-

Melzie
21-03-2010, 10:02 AM
do we need to attend for those 5 days or just choose one of it?

You wanna skip? Commitment is important in this line of work. It's better to show that you really wanna do this rather than giving a bad impression by skipping it. Unless you got something really important to do of course.

My friend came the last day of the programme. Come to think of it, she didn't get the scholarship. Another friend came on the 2nd day. She had to appeal for the scholarship and finally got it.

And just fyi, for my batch... The first day of the programme, they brought us into the morgue. The very next day, one student never showed up. Last I heard, he changed course to pharmacy. And yes, he got the scholarship for pharmacy.

This programme is an eye opener for everyone. It's important in the sense that here, you get to really decide if this is the life you want. Don't play-play ah :P

We are evaluated last year (at least that's what the nurses told me). They have to send written evaluation, or so I heard. But I guess they just give good evaluation for everyone of us. Not so sure about this though, hmmm... :huh

And just in case you wanna know what we did at the hospital during the programme, here's a link to my blog post on a day-to-day recollection of the 5-days programme :)

http://melzie13.blogspot.com/2009/03/day-to-day.html

P/S: Press the 'Entries' button once you arrived at my blog to read the post..

21-03-2010, 10:06 AM
And just fyi, for my batch... The first day of the programme, they brought us into the morgue. The very next day, one student never showed up. Last I heard, he changed course to pharmacy. And yes, he got the scholarship for pharmacy.

This programme is an eye opener for everyone. It's important in the sense that here, you get to really decide if this is the life you want. Don't play-play ah :P
They brought you to the morgue on the first day?! Who thought it's a good idea to bring in the "shock" element and thought it's a good representation of a doctor's career?

Yes at one point or another, a doctor would come to deal with dead people, extremely smelly people, horrible innards, and extremely ugly ulcer. However, just because you aren't used to the idea of seeing corpses at the age of 18, doesn't mean that you are NOT good for medicine. The shock element is not at all predictive of whether you make a good doctor. I have a coursemate here who has a phobia for needles and injection, but he's doing very well in medicine.

An exposure to a doctor's career should focus more on getting people to know what a doctor's life is really about. No, a doctor's life is rarely about being in the morgue or spending the night with 10 fresh mutilated bodies; unless you are a forensic pathologist. So what they should do instead is to get a doctor on the 30th hour of his shift to appear, have someone who regrets doing medicine and someone who doesn't regret to talk to the aspiring scholars, and most importantly, just stick around in a typical medical ward and/or theatre.

21-03-2010, 10:09 AM
p/s: Just read your blog post Melzie and it seemed that they do provide those information I mentioned in the rest of the program too. But I still think having the morgue on the first day is a BAD, BAD idea. Who knows the guy who ran off could have been a good doctor otherwise? Just because he's not used to dead body on the first day doesn't mean he will not get used to (yes, a lot of us medical students here would have squirmed on the things we see on a daily basis if not because of the desensitisation over many years)

EvenGild
21-03-2010, 05:39 PM
I am going. hehe..:)

Wow, seriously?? That's awesome! See you there :D Evengild is not my real name though :P see if you can know which is me :nod haha, good luck!

this program is only for those who applied for medicine. it is normal for many people to apply for medicine. and it is only for people to get B+ to get selected as this is jz an exposure, not affect vry much in their selection for the scholarship.

so does that means, people who get B+ have as much chance as straight As student to get the scholarship?

smy
21-03-2010, 07:15 PM
Wow, seriously?? That's awesome! See you there :D Evengild is not my real name though :P see if you can know which is me :nod haha, good luck!

so does that means, people who get B+ have as much chance as straight As student to get the scholarship?

Everyone will get shortlisted for the schl as long as they meet the min requirement which is 9As and As for bm sj and moral.

Hey does any recomers noes how many hours the program will last for each day? Besides do we have to overnight or stay till late at night to watch the doctor go on-call?

weiping2007
21-03-2010, 09:01 PM
i have some questions...do we need to go to the counter and show the clerk our letter? then she will take us go to somewhere? and do we need to pass up the borang kehadiran dan penilaian on the 1st day?

Melzie
22-03-2010, 01:42 PM
p/s: Just read your blog post Melzie and it seemed that they do provide those information I mentioned in the rest of the program too. But I still think having the morgue on the first day is a BAD, BAD idea. Who knows the guy who ran off could have been a good doctor otherwise? Just because he's not used to dead body on the first day doesn't mean he will not get used to (yes, a lot of us medical students here would have squirmed on the things we see on a daily basis if not because of the desensitisation over many years)

Yes I agree with you! We were so shocked when we look through our schedule on the first day to find that we're going to the morgue on the very first day. Everyone was practically squirming as we were walking towards the morgue. And the very coincidence that there was a fresh body that just arrived from a hit and run accident... I still remember the forensic pathologist twirling around the limbs of the body like it's Barbie or something :notrust

But, I was quite surprised that no one bailed out after we went to the delivery room...

Hey does any recomers noes how many hours the program will last for each day? Besides do we have to overnight or stay till late at night to watch the doctor go on-call?

Well I wouldn't know if it is any different from other hospitals. But mine was from 7 (or was it 8?) am till 5 pm. And for certain nights (if I was not mistaken, it was for 3 nights) we have on-call sessions from 7 pm till 10.30 pm.

realn00b
24-03-2010, 11:14 PM
can i apply for another course if im not interested in medicine?

24-03-2010, 11:33 PM
can i apply for another course if im not interested in medicine?You can inform the officer during interview.

NanaLiew93
21-05-2011, 04:58 AM
hi guys, I'm wondering is it a very formal procedure? like a lot of certification and identification needed plus name tags to join the programme? or many forms and such? I applied for medicine but i got biotech from JPA.. when I called JPA they said I can appeal and when I asked if I could attend this program since my appeal might be undermined by me not attending this program they said ok, and they'll connect me to a higher officer, but the phone line got disconnected and after that i can't reach them anymore. So i called the hospital and they said just come and they can slot my name in. Still, I'm worried it might be inappropriate and I might seem like I'm crashing the program illegally.. Since I don't have the forms and papers..