View Full Version : Malaysian of Century :: A poll
19-10-2003, 03:40 PM
Hello everyone,
Dharman100 suggested that we should create a poll for Malaysian of Century.
I strongly agree with him and I think we can create a sense of pride for being who we are : Malaysians ourselves.
When I want to create the poll ... I was wondering, who should I put?
I obviously believe that there's only one person that we can think of right now, and that is our Prime Minister , Dr Mahathir Mohamad
But who else.?... any suggestion?
oreoboy
19-10-2003, 04:00 PM
erm... should i say... Tuanku Abdul Rahman Putra Al Haj?Yeah... i'm also extremely proud of our Dr M... but Tuanku Deraman was the one who got our nation into independence... And he also playing a big role in making our country towards today...
But is it possible that our beloved Dr M also will put Tuanku Deraman in the poll if he join our forum? hehehe.. maybe! Who knows!!
Dharman100
19-10-2003, 04:15 PM
Yup. our pm will be the number one canditate,,, but bfore that..thats not the ultimate reason of this poll..the ultimate objective to get to now about powerful malaysians who are actually influencing the world..
this poll must be a chance for us to learn more about our Malaysian Power personals..
Other than Mahathir himself, the other person who I can think of rigth now is Ananda Krishnan.. The business tycoon in Malaysia.. and also our late DRB HICOM CEO, Tan Sri Yahya..
I will try to get some biodata on these people...
20-10-2003, 08:36 AM
I don't think that is beneficial enough
since some may start to think politically
what if suddenly there are people
who suggest Anwar Ibrahim?
Most probably a quarrel will start
and it is not a healthy argumentation
maybe we can think about other poll
that might be good for everyone.
~just a thought~
and what is wrong with suggesting anwar? sure he may be sexually deviant, but he did do some good things :P and the things he did are a lot more useful than sailing/biking around the world.
20-10-2003, 11:48 AM
i think the main purpose of this would be for us to have some role model on various aspects....i like the way narayana murthy, infosys chairman and chief mentor answer one of my friends' question. he said that we should model someone based on different aspects. So, in his contact, he modeled after Sony, Toyota etc on quality, HP on certain things, this company on other things etc...since we can't really compare two individuals and saying who is better...we have to see what aspect we are looking at...
21-10-2003, 12:09 PM
i like that idea!
rather than just looking at the person
i think it is better to see certain qualities in him/her
because every person has his/her shortcoming right guys?
23-10-2003, 01:59 PM
I sometimes don't like my own idea for not including politics in our discussion, since our lives revolving around politics. Like Aristotle said, "Man by nature is a political animal"
But somehow, I have to insist that Politics in Malaysia is still destructive, not constructive.
WHat I mean by that?...
That we like to destroy people, instead of supporting them.
We in Malaysia like to point fingers to others when someting go wrong.
When we don;t get what we want, we quickly blame everyone around us.
This is not suppose to happen in the country like Malaysia, since, after extensive research , observation , etc, I still consider Malaysia as one of the well-managed countries economically. And its economic policies is very revolutionary and new, especially to the developing world.
Especially how the Governement manage the 1997's financial crisis. I'm very proud of that.
But somehow, people like to the idea of hatred. And that's essentially the political recipe in Malaysia. The Recipe of Disaster.
We , the New Generation of Malaysia , should step back and think about the future of Malaysian Politics. I hate to exclude politics in our discussion because it doesn;t reflect the reality ...but I know, sometimes,
we get too emotional and we unnecassarily debated about who's right and who's wrong.
Let me tell you one very important thing in politics: Nobody is right and Nobody is wrong in politics. They;re all the same. While there probably a black and white in politics, there's a grey area.
So, it's almost fruitless to discuss who's the hero and what has he done to a particular organization if that organization is a political one.
Therefore, I suggest , we find who are successful entrepreneurs ONLY.
No political Figure included.
Because we, especially among the Malays, very lack entrepreneur spirit,
and this is the time for us to run away from the "Government Contract"
mindset.
No Government Contract. Leave that to some random incapable people whose desire is to get rich quickly and nothing else.
I still believe that with 300 people, we can change the world.
And with 300 people in ReCom, we can do business with each other.
24-10-2003, 12:56 AM
I would certainly hope that every Malaysian, including all politician would act based on their true conscience. But I guess it is not an idealistic world, so better I get back to realism.
I think one of the huge problem in Malaysia would be corruption. Heartening to hear that Pak Lah would challenge it to its root to get rid of corruption in Malaysia. We are still lying a lowly of 104th rank in transparency ranking in the world, although we manage to improve from 110th rank last year. We are a fast developed nation, and I think we should rank at worst case 20th rank and not beyond 100th rank in this aspect.
24-10-2003, 04:28 AM
We are ranked 104th?
oh man... we should do something..
go Pak Lah!! we'll be supporting you as long
as you are doing the right thing you should do
30-10-2003, 10:15 PM
I don't know where you got your information from Chen but.. last i checked Malaysia was 37th.
here's a link http://www.transparency.org/cpi/2003/cpi2003.en.html
31-10-2003, 01:29 AM
Thanks thirdshifter for the link to Transparency Ranking. I quote it from a speech given by Pak Lah.
But it is definitely very relieving to see for ourselves in the link given by you. I thnk yours would definitely be the more accurate one, as it comes from a very reliable source. So, we are currently lying at 37th, but I think we should still work hard to move up the ladder!!!
31-10-2003, 03:09 AM
37 is better than 104
there are still room for improvement there!
what/whom are we hiding things from?
31-10-2003, 12:52 PM
WHat I mean by that?...
That we like to destroy people, instead of supporting them.
We in Malaysia like to point fingers to others when someting go wrong.
you're absolutely right.
of course, pointing fringers is fun. not constructive in any way, but fun.
31-10-2003, 11:33 PM
unless it's pointed at you. :p
01-11-2003, 12:35 AM
So, if fun is the determining factor of Malaysian politics, then , Malaysian should not involved themselves with politics heavily.
The people should do more about developing the country.
if we want to Have fun, we can watch movie or something, or listen to Music.
01-11-2003, 12:55 AM
eating laksa penang or kari mamak also fun!
oh i miss Malaysia..
(ops.. lari tajuk)
01-11-2003, 12:23 PM
There's no one else i think better qualified other then our most beloved P.Ramlee.
Anyway i'm a penangites so i'm a little biased :)