View Full Version : bad hair day
06-04-2004, 12:03 AM
Truck driver scalps wife for dyeing her hair
KUALA LUMPUR
A MALAYSIAN truck driver has admitted scalping his wife because she dyed her hair and refused to wear the tudung.
Mohamad Azhar Ngah, 34, told a court on Friday he attacked her with a knife at their home in Kuala Lumpur last week because of her appearance.
'I cut her scalp because she did not wear a tudung and she had dyed her hair. I did not like it,' he said.
He faces a jail term of up to three years, a fine and whipping with a cane when a sentence for the offence of voluntarily injuring his wife is handed down on May 14.
Mohamad Azhar said he sent his wife, accounts clerk Rafidah Ibrahim, 34, to the hospital after the attack.
The prosecuting officer, Chief Inspector A. Vasu, said he was still waiting for a medical report on her condition.
Mohamad Azhar and Rafidah have been married for 13 years. They have two sons and a daughter.
The husband, who is living in Kuala Lumpur, came originally from Kelantan, the state with strict Islamic laws ruled by Parti Islam SeMalaysia.
These include the compulsory wearing of headscarves for Muslim women in public.
After Mohamad Azhar pleaded guilty on Friday, he was taken to Sungai Buloh prison.
He will stay there until May 14 because he could not come up with the bail, set at RM2,000 (S$884). \-- The Star/Asia News Network, AP http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/storyprintfriendly/0,1887,243947,00.html
I wonder what color set him off.
06-04-2004, 04:00 AM
my god. i hope the wife is fine. this guy clearly has issues far deeper than an extraordinarily critical eye for women's hair color.
06-04-2004, 04:48 AM
well at least she won't have dandruff problems for awhile.
sorry.
06-04-2004, 10:06 AM
holy shit...
06-04-2004, 11:28 AM
I wonder what her fate would've been if she had pierced her nipple.
06-04-2004, 11:45 AM
I wonder what her fate would've been if she had pierced her nipple.
he would have taken a page out justin timberlake's book, and taken it to a whole new level...
06-04-2004, 01:07 PM
Perhaps she dyed the wrong color... Maybe it was red, and red makes him mad? Dunno ...
what am i crapping...?
06-04-2004, 02:23 PM
Her husband is too religious, no surprise since he's from Kelantan where strictest Islamic law ever imposed in the state of Malaysia.
jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:21 PM
The guy is crazy.. maybe he was a bull..Hope he is punished severly..taking advantage over the wife and showing his manlihood in the stupidest of ways.. there's a limit to be religious :evil: :evil:
Hey!! From this, we can see the effects of having too strict islamic law!
06-04-2004, 10:45 PM
Heck, I don't really like dyed hair myself...but scalping your wife for it? Either the bull theory explains it (kudos to the people who came up with it!) or he's been watching one too many westerns...
Religious or not, that sure as heck ain't the right thing to do if you don't like your wife's hair.
07-04-2004, 02:44 AM
just curious, does islamic law prohobits women from dyeing hair?
is tudung a must for islamic women? how come there are some malay women not wearing tudung? does that means they are not religious?
i have no intention to debate whether it's right or wrong in terms of religion but just curious and wanna know more. please dun misunderstand that i have a prejudice view towards islamic teaching
07-04-2004, 03:01 AM
HAY, YOU DONNO SH*T ABOUT ISLAMIC LAW. WHO THE HELL TOLD YOU THAT ISLAM PRACTISE SUCH LAW?? THE BN GOVT??
LOOK, IN ISLAM, IF YOU WIFE DOESN'T COMPLY, YOU TALK, IF IT DOESNT WORK, YOU DONT SLEEP WITH HER FOR A WHILE, IF IT STILL DOESNT WORK, YOU DIVORCE HER. THERE'S NOT LAW IN ISLAM STATING THAT YOU CAN INJURE YOUR WIFE, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.
if there's a law giving the power to the husband to injure his wife, that's not a "too strict islamic law". it's simply not an islamic law.
edit note:
i'm sorry if i am too emotional. i'm just sick of people making false assumption of my religion. i'm sick of the Govt who scare people about islam, and claim to be islamic.
07-04-2004, 03:16 AM
just curious, does islamic law prohobits women from dyeing hair?
if i'm not mistaken, you can only do that for your husband's eyes, which means, with no intentions of showing to other men
is tudung a must for islamic women? how come there are some malay women not wearing tudung? does that means they are not religious?
Yes, it's a must.
Why some muslim women dont wear it? Why some muslims drink? Why some christians have pre-marital sex (it's not allowed in christianity right)? Why do i always miss prayers?
Embracing a religion does not mean you comply with every teaching of the religion (even though you should). Just like being a cop doesnt mean one is not corrupted.
Are such women not religious? It's up to God to evauate them. But to me, if I intentionally disobey my religion (like missing prayers), I dont consider myself religious.
The thing that makes one an Muslim is Iman (faith).
Kufur is when Iman collapses. there are a few types of kufur.
If you disobey God, your faith will possibly be weaker.
If you not only disobey God, but saying/believing that what God wants you to do is not wajib (required), that's Kufur syari'e (law).
(Pendidikan Islam Form 4/5)
07-04-2004, 03:27 AM
i really wish non-muslims will stop drawing conclusions about islam based on isolated incidents like this. you guys kept complaining about having to learn about islam in your ethics class, couldn't you have used the opportunity to learn more about the religion from a muslim instead of bitching and whining?
stop making comments about kelantan and islam. we don't know anything. in my opinion, at least pas is honest about its mission, although i don't support it.
HAY, YOU DONNO SH*T ABOUT ISLAMIC LAW. WHO THE HELL TOLD YOU THAT ISLAM PRACTISE SUCH LAW?? THE BN GOVT??
LOOK, IN ISLAM, IF YOU WIFE DOESN'T COMPLY, YOU TALK, IF IT DOESNT WORK, YOU DONT SLEEP WITH HER FOR A WHILE, IF IT STILL DOESNT WORK, YOU DIVORCE HER. THERE'S NOT LAW IN ISLAM STATING THAT YOU CAN INJURE YOUR WIFE, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.
if there's a law giving the power to the husband to injure his wife, that's not a "too strict islamic law". it's simply not an islamic law.
edit note:
i'm sorry if i am too emotional. i'm just sick of people making false assumption of my religion. i'm sick of the Govt who scare people about islam, and claim to be islamic.
I'm very very very very very .... sorry if the message I post did offense you. But, I didn't mean it.
I never think that Islam pratice such law.
I think I have typed it in the wrong way, and made you misunderstood what I mean.
07-04-2004, 04:29 AM
again, I'm sorry for being too emotional.
Peace!! 8)
<---------------I look peaceful rite. :P
07-04-2004, 09:56 AM
Warning: Bad programmer humor. I'm wasting time while my deadline approaches
x = person;
if (x.thinking = narrow){
Kelantan = Islam;
}
else{
Islam = Cool;
}
return peace;
07-04-2004, 10:03 AM
Warning: Bad programmer humor. I'm wasting time while my deadline approaches
x = person;
if (x.thinking = narrow){
Kelantan = Islam;
}
else{
Islam = Cool;
}
return peace;
possible syntax error. your little code wont run because of the assignment in the if statement. =)
07-04-2004, 10:13 AM
no wonder my compiler was giving me errors...thanks...
now I can submit my assignment
07-04-2004, 12:11 PM
edit note:
I'm very very very very very .... sorry if the message I post did offense you. But, I didn't mean it.
I never think that Islam pratice such law.
I think I have typed it in the wrong way, and made you misunderstood what I mean.
Actually in Islam, Men are allowed to hit their wife. Not violently.
If memory serves me right. Islam prohibits men from hitting women, except in one very limited case when the wife is rebellious and disobedient - not when she disobeys one request or order - and only as a last resort. The husband should first admonish her, then abandon her bed if she continues to be rebellious, and only if those steps have failed ?may be? hit her.
This ofcourse is a simple common sense rule anyone could follow. It also left a very big generalization of Husband hitting wife in Islam.
There's no specific rule about how Hard the hitting (beating) is. It left too much room of abuse by Mens.
08-04-2004, 02:00 AM
Yes, thirdshifter. That's why i said "injuire" instead of hit/beat.
Yes, you can hit, and the worst beating is by using a handkerchief, that's what my previous teachers told me. The intent is not to hurt the wife physically, it's just to make a point that you really really need her compliance.
08-04-2004, 10:36 PM
i think a person's thinking and behavior influences his interpretation and practice of religious laws....... not vice versa....
just my opinion.... i am not that expert in religion,....... but i believe in human rights and equality..... and i also believe what john locke said
The state of nature has a law of nature to govern it, which [treats] everyone [equally]. Reason, which is that law, teaches all mankind... that being all equal and independent, no one ought to harm another in his life, health or possessions.
so whether we attack another mentally, emotionally or physically, i believe it is wrong..... whether it is the man hurting the woman or the woman hurting the man
15-04-2004, 09:57 PM
Religion is not meant to be like this, right? What I mean is we cant take religion as an excuse to break the law, or do something that a normal human know it is wrong. I am referring to all religions, religion should be something that we hold on to to make us a better human, not as an excuse for us to do something. I really hate it when ppl use religion as an excuse to do something, such as war and so on. Lame excuse...
Sorry, if i offended anyone. But please dont fight over religion. Religion is really not meant for this purpose.