View Full Version : SAT (United States)
janice
22-03-2008, 11:29 PM
I'm currently doing A-level and wish to enrol in Singapore University for Pharmacy later. One of the requirements is to take up SAT exam. However, I have no idea what is that about. Can someone please give me a piece of advice on what SAT is about and how am I going to sit for the test ? I'll appreciate much...
22-03-2008, 11:49 PM
SAT can be referred as US university entrances test. You can search more about it by going to www.collegeboard.com. In Malaysia, there are 4 places you can sit for them, each in Penang, KL (Metropolitan College), KK (Tshung Tsin Secondary School), and in Kuching. Please be aware that KK and Kuching tests are available once every 6 months. The SAT I test on your english and mathematical skills, while SAT II test on particular subjects.
janice
24-03-2008, 03:31 PM
Thanks for your information. By the way, may I know where to register to sit for the test ? How much will it cost ?
24-03-2008, 06:16 PM
Register online at collegeboard.com . Depending on the exchange rate. The cost for SAT I is $43.
lindley
04-04-2008, 09:53 PM
i think the latest SAT exam date for 08 is in june right?
gosh im screwed T.T
jimi7
07-04-2008, 01:44 AM
hello,i have done some of sat practice question and i would say..very tough
Could the recommers tell about the way to manage and score the critical reading section.?
the passage is very long and I can't really catch some of the weird words there.
tq
10-04-2008, 04:18 PM
What for one study Sat?
Sat by far now is quite hard.
insertusername
10-04-2008, 04:34 PM
What for one study Sat?
Sat by far now is quite hard.
what?:confused:
lindley
10-04-2008, 06:42 PM
what for? to get into universities LOL.
no lar i dont think its that hard lor. i mean most of the things we've already learnt in high school. just requires effort thats all.
11-04-2008, 03:55 PM
Approaches to the SAT Mathematics Section
Familiarize yourself with the directions ahead of time.
The test does not require you to memorize formulas. Commonly used formulas are provided in the test book at the beginning of each mathematics section. It is up to you to decide which formula is appropriate.
Read the problem carefully. Note key words that tell you what the problem is asking. Ask yourself the following questions before you solve each problem: What is the question asking? What do I know?
With some problems, it may be useful to draw a sketch or diagram of the given information.
Use the test book for scratchwork. You are not expected to do all the reasoning and figuring in your head. You will not receive credit for anything written in the booklet, but you will be able to check your work easily later.
Decide when to use a calculator.
For multiple-choice questions, you may want to refer to the answer choices before you determine your answer.
Eliminate choices. If you don't know the correct answer to a question, try some of the choices. It's sometimes easier to find the wrong answers than the correct one. On some questions, you can eliminate all the incorrect choices.
Make sure your answer is a reasonable answer to the question asked. This is especially true for student-produced response questions where no answer choices are given.
All figures are drawn to scale unless otherwise indicated.
lindley
11-04-2008, 07:32 PM
is it true that for SAT Physics calculators are not allowed? OMG
Yes, sadly it is true. Calculators are only allowed for math exams.
digital_lifeform
11-04-2008, 09:09 PM
You won't need a calculator for SAT physics. If you want to, you can memorize all the values for sin x, cos x, tan x where x in degrees in 0, 30, 45, 60, 90, 120, 125, 135, 150, 165, 175 etc. I didn't and none of the questions I did used any such values. If you are unlucky enough to sit for a test with a question that requires such value, just skip it.
Does anyone have 10 Real Sats?
AppryL89
22-04-2008, 02:18 PM
OMG!!!! my sat exam is coming soonnnnn....... 3rd may!!
u guys have any tips for the english part?
i'm not good especially in that part..hard to score marks and need an hour to complete one section that is supposed to be 20-25 minutes... help me!!
22-04-2008, 08:21 PM
i have SAT on 3rd may as well =)))
and i cant imagine 3 hours plus of thinking non stop =))
Do I have to sit for SAT II? I dont really think its necessary but from what I Heard, selective schools require applicants to sit for SAT II.
liangfuhan
22-04-2008, 09:26 PM
Hello hello people.
After commuting to Metropolitan College for 4 times to take the SATs (2 for SAT 1 and 2 for SAT 2) I must admit that I am a seasoned professional. I know that there's this very strict invigilator that you do not want to have. That's pretty much I can tell you. I did horribly for my SAT 2.
My initial score for my SAT 1 was equally horrible but I improved A LOT in my second test! It just proves that all you really need are critical reading skills, vocabulary, math skills, and LUCK.
I wouldn't say the vocab section is tough; most of the time, you can eliminate 50% of the choices at first glance. A lot of instinct there. Ok I am officially the lousiest forum member sorry la, I didn't get full score :\
22-04-2008, 10:03 PM
somethings telling me I will have to sit for SAT II.
AppryL89
22-04-2008, 10:29 PM
for the maths section. should i answer ALL the questions or leave it if i totally dont know how to do it?
comparing the practice tests in the book and the REAL SAT exam, which one is harder OR equal?? cant stop thinking all this craps.
i have to start practice, reading tough articles or else i will spend 3 hours of sleeping in the exam hall..
Sshyan
04-05-2008, 06:11 PM
i am spm leaver 2007 and will be taking stpm on the coming 12 may..(so scared man..)
anyway i m interested in taking sat as i know the us uni require sat..however, i m quite blur about the procedure of register sat and the preparation for doing sat..i have to register with collegeboard, rite? so when shud i start register? is it next year, that means 2009?
becoz i noe the application for us uni around december, does it mean that i have to register sat1 around june 2009? how about sat2?
seem i m quite blurr about the sat things..haha..hope all seniors can enlighten me on that..thanks alot..^_^
skyrainbow
04-05-2008, 06:45 PM
if i'm in kuching, where can i register for sat?
AppryL89
04-05-2008, 06:52 PM
if i'm in kuching, where can i register for sat?
u can do it online.---> www.collegeboard.com
04-05-2008, 08:30 PM
may i know where can i get SAT books in kuantan area??? anyone wanna sell SAT book here??? is the syllabus of SAT 2 subjects like biology, physics and chemistry same as form six syllabus???
Well I don't know about SAT books in Kuantan..I'm sure there are some sellers there..but the SAT 2 syllabus for biology and chemistry are not as tough as the form 6 syllabus. Physics though is very quantitative and will require much more advanced knowledge. Note that for Biology you have 2 options: Ecology or Molecular.
04-05-2008, 08:57 PM
do u mean SAT physics is tougher than SPTM physics??? plus, calculator is prohibited in SAT physics... is formula given??? what about SAT history and mathematics1 and 2???
Well I'm not so familiar with the STPM syllabus but I do know that SAT 2 Physics is as tough as the A2 level physics. I think there is a page on formulas given. Not too sure. Perhaps you can double check with that.
I did not sit for History so not too sure about that too. But you can either choose US History or World History. I think both are very tough cos I looked at the World History questions..they are like 2 notches harder than our SPM Sejarah Dunia.
Math 1 is very simple. Just basic form 3 form 4 math. Math 2 is just a bit harder. The syllabus is very similar to ours so there is nothing much new to study and learn.
lindley
04-05-2008, 10:20 PM
maths 2 is more like your add maths syllabus.
phy its not so hard lar. cos im taking a pre u programme now so we cover those chapters. and my pre u is not as hard as a lvls.
bio nth much i think. just mugging?
04-05-2008, 11:59 PM
I plan to take SAT next year as I want to prepare well before taking SAT . So , if I fail SAT and SAT II , can I sit for SAT on the same year again ?
Well there is no such thing as failing or passing. Just a matter of high or low scores. Yes, you can retake the tests as many times as you want in a year. So as long as you can pay for those test fees!
05-05-2008, 12:16 AM
OK , thanks ! How much shall we at least score to be considered as good ?
lindley
05-05-2008, 09:19 AM
as far as i know, or read actually, SAT scores which enable you to get into the university of your choice are good enough. the admissions site of the unis should state the requirements for your SAT scores.
anyway to ans your question, i've checked it out on collegeboard.com *trust me that site is dam useful =p*
What's considered a "good" score?
Generally speaking, scoring close to the mean (average)?about 500 on critical reading, 500 on mathematics, and 500 on writing?tells you that you scored as well as about half of the students who took the test. Each institution will have its own range of scores that it considers a good fit for its students. Because no single score can tell everything about how you performed on the test, the score reports sent to colleges also include percentiles and score ranges. (Collegeboard.com)
if you want to know more, just read the FAQ here.
http://www.collegeboard.com/student/testing/sat/scores/sending/sendingFAQ.html
hope this helped xD
07-05-2008, 05:14 PM
do u think study SAT by doing exercise obtained from internet is sufficient??? because there are no SAT books in kuantan... i dont have transport to go kl to buy...
Well it depends on how much good practice tests you can manage to obtain online. And depends on how much you are willing to spend online if KL is not an option for you. There are a few sites that offer free tests but it's really quite limited.
On the other hand, with a little bit of cash(well, actually quite a bit), you have access to many online SAT tests with tutorials, guidance, after-test evaluation, notes etc. So if you google it, you should be able to find a lot of resources.
I personally like to buy books cos it feels more like the actual testing conditions. So if possible, do make a trip to somewhere where you can find good books. Maybe during holidays or something.
a-level gal
07-05-2008, 06:03 PM
May i noe when can I take SAT exam?I'm currently doing my a-levels.Is it after a-level?
You can start taking whenever you feel ready! I think the May sitting is over, so please look out for the next sitting. Should be in June. And register early! 1 week before testing is risky, especially at Metropolitan College...I faced a full blow out last October,lol.
07-05-2008, 07:00 PM
You probably won't find any places in Metropolitan College if you register late for the October, November and December months because the scholarships students will all book their places there during that time.
lindley
07-05-2008, 09:19 PM
the next earliest sitting would be June 7th, but if im not mistaken, the deadline for applying for the June sitting is over already.
08-05-2008, 04:16 PM
You probably won't find any places in Metropolitan College if you register late for the October, November and December months because the scholarships students will all book their places there during that time.
If that's the case , we should register in how many months earlier ?
07-06-2008, 01:27 AM
which is better, take MUET before SAT or take SAT before MUET??? i am going to take MUET next year in may...
considering SAT important than Muet for your future? i would say MUET first.
I would take MUET may next year too. SAT still thinking....
vimal06
07-06-2008, 02:10 AM
wats the benefit of us taking MUET anyway>? how about people like wanna go JPA in
1st july??
wats the benefit of us taking MUET anyway>? how about people like wanna go JPA in
1st july??
MUET only for local Uni. those go JPA no more MUET lor my dear....