06-04-2004, 12:51 PM
May i add a few,

Kong kiat Kuat
Lan Chap Kuat
Tong Sam Pah
Ah peng San
Lom Pat Tiang

few names i think would be really not cool to have.

06-04-2004, 01:03 PM
I think I've come across people have some of the names listed above .. :roll: :roll:

06-04-2004, 01:15 PM
Well, my mom's friend's called Robert Lee, and everyone in her office calls her Robbery. Even i called him Unc Robbery (when i was small lar)

06-04-2004, 01:15 PM
koh teck teh (teh=short in hokkien)

monica cheng has always been my favorite.

06-04-2004, 02:17 PM
Well, my mom's friend's called Robert Lee, and everyone in her office calls her Robbery. Even i called him Unc Robbery (when i was small lar)

are you sure it was robbery, or was it robbelly?

jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:11 PM
Very interesting.. :lol: :lol:

tuinkle
06-04-2004, 04:25 PM
Indeed... those aren't the very best of names to have in the Malaysian culture (most Americans etc would be a blur)
But I really do hope there will be less mockery towards such poor souls... sometimes it's their parents (in my case, my grandma) who bestowed such names upon their child, although always in good faith.
So when we are born, we are more or less attached with that name. Don't really have a choice.

What's in a name?
Shakespeare said: A rose by any other name still smells as sweet.

^^
May

06-04-2004, 08:27 PM
just dun put english names in front of surname except unavoidable

06-04-2004, 08:41 PM
I actually have a friend with the name
Eugene Ee Eu Gene
Redundant, I would say.

06-04-2004, 09:43 PM
I have a coursemate...his name is Low Kah Win....
It's true...when I saw that the first time, I was like: My lecturer had typo on that name? Who knows, he said, that's his name... :wink:

06-04-2004, 10:21 PM
Kong kiat Kuat
Lan Chap Kuat

Haha...I like these two! :D

07-04-2004, 08:57 AM
Lan Chap Kuat

ha ha, good one. if lan chap kuat sounds too obvious, To Cheng Kuat will do too.

07-04-2004, 09:03 AM
Chow Chee Bai

Sorry...

07-04-2004, 02:17 PM
Chow Chee Bai

What de heck??? Really pity this guy ... or gal???

Eugene Ee Eu Gene
Redundant, I would say.

Well, luckily i dun have Sherman as my English name. It would have been redundant as well.....