View Full Version : Kerajaan digesa benarkan siswa aktif berpolitik

06-04-2004, 08:01 PM
Cindy Choo
4:11pm Tue Apr 6th, 2004

Kebanyakan golongan remaja gagal mendaftar sebagai pengundi mungkin berpunca daripada larangan terhadap mahasiswa pusat pengajian tinggi (IPT) daripada bergiat aktif dalam politik, kata Yang Dipertua Majlis Perwakilan Pelajar Universiti Malaya (MPPUM), Muhd Ramadhan Fitri Ellias.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

06-04-2004, 08:06 PM
It is rather obvious isn't it? And they claim young Malaysians are apathetic towards politics...bah!

07-04-2004, 09:29 AM
the govt oppresses criticial thinking.
the govt oppresses constructive debate.
the govt oppresses the rise of young leaders by closing the door to patriots.

there's a ban on political activism (unless you're with umno), akujanji, and with hishamuddin as education minister, a radical umno youth master, we cannot hope for an education system that creates leaders.

07-04-2004, 11:02 AM
ssshh. not so loud. there's always akta universiti dan universiti kolej to keep siswa-siswi in line. still want to buat hal, there's good old ISA.

07-04-2004, 11:53 AM
Unfortunantly guys, the majority of malaysian studens don't actually care about politics. Whether there's a law prohibiting students participation or not.

theT
07-04-2004, 12:10 PM
people dont care coz they dont see the importance of it.

07-04-2004, 12:32 PM
i think there's also a sense of futility about meddling in politics. i mean, say you're into issues of social justice, why bother at all when
1) you know you'll be marked for all manners of character assination and legal and extra-legal prosecution
2) you can benefit by bodekking the ruling elite?

that is why i have the utmost respect for people like lim guan eng.

07-04-2004, 01:06 PM
me too.

ssshh. not so loud. there's always akta universiti dan universiti kolej to keep siswa-siswi in line. still want to buat hal, there's good old ISA.

dear polis diraja malaysia (i'm sure you guys are monitoring recom),
i'm not here to buat hal. i love my country (malaysia) and wish to see her prosper. if you want to lockup kids who want to communicate with the government, then what's the point? we are here to learn, not getting paper degrees. and learning means questioning and thinking and communicating.

07-04-2004, 01:11 PM
people dont care coz they dont see the importance of it.

so there *needs* to be political awarness. not only that, there need to be conscience awareness too. why do they think it's alright to stoop so low and be drones of a ruling elite?

as for those of us overseas, i think we're fortunate for being able to go abroad and receive fresh perspectives on things. and i guess it is up to many of us to go back and 'save' malaysia.

07-04-2004, 01:14 PM
i think there's also a sense of futility about meddling in politics. i mean, say you're into issues of social justice, why bother at all when
1) you know you'll be marked for all manners of character assination and legal and extra-legal prosecution
2) you can benefit by bodekking the ruling elite?

that is why i have the utmost respect for people like lim guan eng.

Believe it or not, i think all opposition leaders had been detained in ISA atleast once.

But no..., BN is the less of two evil! I hope i wont be sent to ISA if i said that in Public. I'm planing to print a nice political incorrect shirt and wear it when i go to malaysia.

07-04-2004, 01:59 PM
Unfortunantly guys, the majority of malaysian studens don't actually care about politics. Whether there's a law prohibiting students participation or not.

It's not that we dun care. It's that we are not encouraged to. In PMR, our essays can touch on any issues except Malaysia's politics. And there's always this scary ISA that threaten to lock people up if they bring up some political issues ... So, who's so stupid to go and talk about politics??? We are suppressed from discusing it; it's not that we are indifferent towards it.

07-04-2004, 10:13 PM
So, who's so stupid to go and talk about politics???

sigh.. this sentence epitomizes the failure of our malaysian education and political systems.

we malaysian students lack the zeal to be revolutionary, to be aggressive, to be inquisitive.... at this rate, we're never going to be able to compete against the rest of the world. we're friggin doomed.

actually i just realized, what you, me, and all of us here at recom are doing, is quite parallel to us sitting around a mamak, bitching about the govt, the system, everything.... and not doing anything about it. "i think badawi should..." - "i hope that malaysians will..." - "this sucks... that sucks..."

but what do we do about it?

07-04-2004, 10:25 PM

It's not that we dun care. It's that we are not encouraged to. In PMR, our essays can touch on any issues except Malaysia's politics. And there's always this scary ISA that threaten to lock people up if they bring up some political issues ... So, who's so stupid to go and talk about politics??? We are suppressed from discusing it; it's not that we are indifferent towards it.

you are an epitome of a facist's success.

there is a song that goes like this. get up stand up. fight for your rights.

I guess you probably wouldnt be one of the song admirers.

08-04-2004, 12:48 PM
you are an epitome of a facist's success.

let's not attack the messenger shall we? if we want to create awareness among youngsters back home this is exactly the mentality we'll have to face. i was in their shoes once.

08-04-2004, 01:30 PM
I think there are other ways to "get involved" during school days given the current restrictions. One way is to join one of the many NGOs and civil societies that we have in Malaysia. They are not exactly government, but they, just like the government, is out there to serve the people, aware of issues that are close to their hearts, and fights injustice and apathy at all fronts.

10 years ago, there was a news article that ran on the newspapers thet goes something like "University students, when asked 1 question doesn't know 3 answers" (一问三不知). It seems at that time to me that being concerned is a virtue. What I never understood was how one can be said to be totally ignorant, especially when certain things affect him or her directly.

This week @<hidden> Stanford, we're happy to have the secretary general of our national human rights society around, and we're really happy to have a chance to talk to her. All my expectations of her being some big shot was totally blown away when I see an ordinary lady, little shy, speaks, acts just like most of us, and yet has just came from Washington D.C., briefed delegates about the human rights situation in Malaysia, asked for foreign fund injection to help raise awareness and spread democracy etc. At our age, she did mostly what we're doing, except she's in at least 10 activtist groups (note, not politics), campaigned against this, campaigned against that, rowed a kayak against a big ship carrying illegal logs in Sarawak etc.

I don't think rowing a kayak is politics. It may have political repercussions, but it is definitely not going out there to support bn or dap etc. So why not we get out there and do something for the people that we care about? 8)

08-04-2004, 02:18 PM

I wouldn't mind ... But we have to be realistic. Uhmm... If i got up and criticize about Malaysia's politic in public - my chances are:
1. Detained by the police
2. Thrown into lock up by ISA
3. got my scholarship terminated by JPA

as far as i'm concerned, we, the scholars are not allowed to be involved in any political parties... So all we can do (to show our zeal) is to discuss it . . .

Perhaps there are other students who are totally nonchalant about our politics stuffs, but believe me, if there's not restrictions or limitations to the students to participate in it, then I would not hestitate to participate as well.

SpRInG
08-04-2004, 03:33 PM
responding to the topic of this forum, i think the government should not bar higher education students to participate in politics lo..... u noe why they're so scared or not?

koz at this level, students can think most critically..... so ah, most probably the governmetn scared that students can find out too many dirty things about politics while they're studying.. and then exposing it all in their academic papers... tat's why.... stop students... in other words, depriving students..... of their natural right to voice out their opinion

kekekek

:roll: :lol: :lol: