View Full Version : JPA 2008: Interview Experience Sharing

Pages : 1 [2]

matchgirl
05-04-2008, 07:15 PM
so u did go for the ASEAN scholarship interview? which year? did u get it?

2007, got it and rejected

yea yea..a positive and a clever girl..matchgirl..i hope i can be like you..

thank you thank you...
too great a compliment for me...
=)

well,to be or not to be,this is the question.. AHAHAHA...

be like your own. everything will be fine...Xp

*what am i talking here?? crabs or craps? LOL*

you oso pening d....
wakakakakaka

lindley
05-04-2008, 11:12 PM
JPA results for everything else except german/japan engineering will be out on 12 May =)

kaera
06-04-2008, 12:19 AM
JPA results for everything else except german/japan engineering will be out on 12 May =)

For real? what a long time more to wait for it..

extell
06-04-2008, 12:38 AM
medical would be in mid may. recalled someone in the interview asking... =.=

06-04-2008, 04:14 AM
hey,anybody got simple question like me to day-Benifits of participation of cocuriculum-based activities?
and...why you choose this course?

anyone got the same question as mine?quite easy ,rite?and we don't need to introduce ourself.

oh ..tat's exactly same with my little frend..

hmm hmm .. juz realize who u r.. wakakaka
zls!

herm - a square pillar topped with a bust
Microsoft? Encarta? 2007. ? 1993-2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

06-04-2008, 06:38 AM
Digressed posts moved here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6298)

lindley
06-04-2008, 10:50 AM
yea 3rd week of may, but to be more exact it'd be out on the 12th. haha i knowww. long time T.T

06-04-2008, 10:58 AM
yea 3rd week of may, but to be more exact it'd be out on the 12th. haha i knowww. long time T.T

Be patient , my dear. Do something meaningful while waiting for the results.

lindley
06-04-2008, 11:00 AM
lol im studying now LOL xD

06-04-2008, 11:16 AM
lol im studying now LOL xDOh, good then. All d best for your scholarship..

herm
06-04-2008, 12:51 PM
oh ..tat's exactly same with my little frend..

hmm hmm .. juz realize who u r.. wakakaka
zls!

herm - a square pillar topped with a bust
Microsoft? Encarta? 2007. ? 1993-2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

what lil friend do u mean?
huh?wow..u go n find out the meaning?

minic00per
06-04-2008, 12:56 PM
any0ne here applied 4 biotech????w0ndering if biotech is c0mpetitive like enginering n medic.....

qwerkie
06-04-2008, 12:56 PM
april 4
ipoh
panel 4

there were 7 people in my group.
2 engi (including me), 3 medic, 1 pharmacy, 1 biotech.
so we went in, and the interviewer terus tembak 2 of the girls because they
were wearing sports shoes and slacks! GREAT start (rolls eyes)

we introduced ourselves in bm. all the normal stuff la.

our discussion was "Technology is a Double-edged Sword". i was expecting
something a bit more difficult, but hey, i'm not complaining..:))

until that @<hidden>%$#@<hidden> medic student opened his mouth and started talking
non-stop! i mean, dude!! its a DISCUSSION!! and all he talks about is medic
medic medic.. so i got fed up and started talking too. since my voice is clearer
and louder than his mumbling, i would say there was not much 'interference'.
:amuse. i did ask one of the quiet girls what she thinks, but even the @<hidden>%&$'s
mumbling is louder than her voice...:huh.

we discussed about the advantages and disadvantages, and we came up with
quite a lot of matter too. but the interviewer had to ask the quiet ones for
their opinion lar.. Moral of the story: Speak Up!!

after that, the interviewer asked us some questions. about why we choose
which course and all.. it was in bm..:cry

interviewer:kenapa ambil engineering? nampak macam medic student ni..

me:sebab engineering lebih fleksibel. jadi saya ada
masa untuk buat benda lain. (my bm sucks, ok? if it was in english, i would
have told her about why i derive more satisfaction from making things work
than from holding a bloody, beating heart)

interviewer:oh, buat benda lain? benda apa?

me:erm.. masa dengan keluarga? (-.-")

interviewer:tapi, engineering kat msia tak sama
dengan engineering kat luar negara. engineer kita sibuk! stres!

me:saya rasa saya boleh tahan untuk 6 tahun.. (RED
ALERT!! cardinal sin #1: don't let them know you are gonna bail out of civil
service the first chance you get!!)

............but she wasnt that sharp.............

interviewer:habis, kalau suami marah? (what the...)

me:cari suami yang tak akan marah (you should see her face light up!)

interviewer:oh, macam mana nak cari??

me:cari engineer.. (i honestly do NOT know why i said that)

gods. in a JPA interview, no less! why is she asking me about how i am going
to find a husband?!? what if i prefer females?? (i don't) what if i just dont
want to get married??

believe me, this is not even the weirdest part of the interview..

the weirdest part is i think she likes me..

so this whole thing is either gonna be a huge success, or a spectacular failure..

herm
06-04-2008, 01:08 PM
wow,qwerkie
really weird experience for you.

hmmm, wierder than mine.
no need to introduce ourselves.

lindley
06-04-2008, 01:18 PM
lol! its good if she likes you then! =p
my interviewer laughed at me twice okay. in front of everyone else T.T

cpteh90
06-04-2008, 02:05 PM
wud like to ask u guyz a ques...durin my interview...da discussion part...i kinda asked a malay boy a ques...n he doesnt understand my ques at all..n he answered sumthin sooooooo out of my ques which bof da interviewers n me dn understand.im afraid i kinda like 'attacked' him.but wen he simply answered my ques, even da interviewers were laughin at him.so...wil my scholarship chances be less lidet?

lindley
06-04-2008, 02:14 PM
i dont think so lar,i mean you asked him a question, not to say you were challenging him or anything right?
dont worry too much about it =)

minic00per
07-04-2008, 03:04 PM
i'm da only malay in ma gr0up.one indian n 3 chinese.i did da interview in USM n chinese are da majority that applied.i talked 2 2 chinese girl in my gr0up n thank g0d they help me 2 c0ntr0l my nerve.

i 0nly had 2 intr0duce myself in bm n give opinion bout malaysia achievement in eng....it s0unds easy but when u were in da same gr0up wif debater , head prefect, n eng is their 1st language. they make u s0und bad....atleast i think so...

neway i'm da last pers0n 2 talk.every0ne kind of c0mpete with each other 2 give their opinion 1st.i i didnt even try 2 b the 1st t0 talk n alll i d0 was listen 2 their opinion carefully.but my opinion is diff fr0m them.they all talk bout multiracial n i'm da only one talk bout developement....n my eng n0t as fluent as others but i talk without hesitate anyway.

so , is being da last 2 talk will affect da chance 2 secure scholarship.i'm kinda worry c0z my dad will have a tough time 0nce i further my study as all of my sibling in their tertiary educati0n.n i'm g0ng crazy waiting 4 da result.hehe

07-04-2008, 04:43 PM
i'm da only malay in ma gr0up.one indian n 3 chinese.i did da interview in USM n chinese are da majority that applied.i talked 2 2 chinese girl in my gr0up n thank g0d they help me 2 c0ntr0l my nerve.

i 0nly had 2 intr0duce myself in bm n give opinion bout malaysia achievement in eng....it s0unds easy but when u were in da same gr0up wif debater , head prefect, n eng is their 1st language. they make u s0und bad....atleast i think so...

neway i'm da last pers0n 2 talk.every0ne kind of c0mpete with each other 2 give their opinion 1st.i i didnt even try 2 b the 1st t0 talk n alll i d0 was listen 2 their opinion carefully.but my opinion is diff fr0m them.they all talk bout multiracial n i'm da only one talk bout developement....n my eng n0t as fluent as others but i talk without hesitate anyway.

so , is being da last 2 talk will affect da chance 2 secure scholarship.i'm kinda worry c0z my dad will have a tough time 0nce i further my study as all of my sibling in their tertiary educati0n.n i'm g0ng crazy waiting 4 da result.hehePlease refrain from using l33t like language here. No it doesn't look cool, and yes, it prevents the others from reading your post properly... And it's annoying as well...

crystalblue
08-04-2008, 01:29 PM
i think i met u tt day... FakeAngel

08-04-2008, 04:00 PM
april 4
ipoh
panel 4

there were 7 people in my group.
2 engi (including me), 3 medic, 1 pharmacy, 1 biotech.
so we went in, and the interviewer terus tembak 2 of the girls because they
were wearing sports shoes and slacks! GREAT start (rolls eyes)

we introduced ourselves in bm. all the normal stuff la.

our discussion was "Technology is a Double-edged Sword". i was expecting
something a bit more difficult, but hey, i'm not complaining..:))

until that @<hidden>%$#@<hidden> medic student opened his mouth and started talking
non-stop! i mean, dude!! its a DISCUSSION!! and all he talks about is medic
medic medic.. so i got fed up and started talking too. since my voice is clearer
and louder than his mumbling, i would say there was not much 'interference'.
:amuse. i did ask one of the quiet girls what she thinks, but even the @<hidden>%&$'s
mumbling is louder than her voice...:huh.

we discussed about the advantages and disadvantages, and we came up with
quite a lot of matter too. but the interviewer had to ask the quiet ones for
their opinion lar.. Moral of the story: Speak Up!!

after that, the interviewer asked us some questions. about why we choose
which course and all.. it was in bm..:cry

interviewer:kenapa ambil engineering? nampak macam medic student ni..

me:sebab engineering lebih fleksibel. jadi saya ada
masa untuk buat benda lain. (my bm sucks, ok? if it was in english, i would
have told her about why i derive more satisfaction from making things work
than from holding a bloody, beating heart)

interviewer:oh, buat benda lain? benda apa?

me:erm.. masa dengan keluarga? (-.-")

interviewer:tapi, engineering kat msia tak sama
dengan engineering kat luar negara. engineer kita sibuk! stres!

me:saya rasa saya boleh tahan untuk 6 tahun.. (RED
ALERT!! cardinal sin #1: don't let them know you are gonna bail out of civil
service the first chance you get!!)

............but she wasnt that sharp.............

interviewer:habis, kalau suami marah? (what the...)

me:cari suami yang tak akan marah (you should see her face light up!)

interviewer:oh, macam mana nak cari??

me:cari engineer.. (i honestly do NOT know why i said that)

gods. in a JPA interview, no less! why is she asking me about how i am going
to find a husband?!? what if i prefer females?? (i don't) what if i just dont
want to get married??

believe me, this is not even the weirdest part of the interview..

the weirdest part is i think she likes me..

so this whole thing is either gonna be a huge success, or a spectacular failure..

haha..that's really funny!! cari engineer..hehe..that's a really good answer girl!!
well, I've been to an interview for MRSM students only and one man asked me.. Are u going to get married while u're studying overseas? <---what da heck!! then I said I think I'll get married AFTER i get a stable job coz I hav to focus on my study..haha..
i just think they r bored with the same questions asked..haha

digital_lifeform
08-04-2008, 04:06 PM
wud like to ask u guyz a ques...durin my interview...da discussion part...i kinda asked a malay boy a ques...n he doesnt understand my ques at all..n he answered sumthin sooooooo out of my ques which bof da interviewers n me dn understand.im afraid i kinda like 'attacked' him.but wen he simply answered my ques, even da interviewers were laughin at him.so...wil my scholarship chances be less lidet?

I do not think so. During my interview last year, it was a free for all discussion. Topic was given and we we free to decide how the discussion proceeded. The interviewers just sat back and watched. So happened my interviewers were very sharp. We had a topic on first world facilities and third world mentality and somewhere during the discussion, one guy lashed out at the former Director of the ISA who was charged with corruption. Then the trial hasn't even commenced and the guy was hitting at the former Director of the ISA as if he was already convicted and is the worse man on earth. So i pointed the fact out to him and we argued abit till another member of the group reminded us that we were going a bit off topic. The interviewers seemed to like that whole incident as they changed position from leaning back to perching forward and were smiling. Throughout the discussion, some of them tried to pass the discussion to another member when they had finished saying what they wanted to by asking another person in the room( and some were out to kill). Two or three times the other person couldn't answer properly and were ticked off by the interviewer. And well after my 'attacks' (I didn't see it as attacks though) I was the only one from the group of seven who was offered the scholarship.

08-04-2008, 04:15 PM
i'm just curious about something.. If I was given the JPA sch (hopefully..fuhh).. and get to go to UK..then, did they fix the place for me to do A-Level?? is it in INTEC or they just put me anywhere they like??

digital_lifeform
08-04-2008, 07:34 PM
i'm just curious about something.. If I was given the JPA sch (hopefully..fuhh).. and get to go to UK..then, did they fix the place for me to do A-Level?? is it in INTEC or they just put me anywhere they like??

They will put you wherever they like.

lindley
08-04-2008, 07:48 PM
lol my friend whos a jpa scholar said that you have to make yourself stand out during the interview. be funny, lame, whatever as long as they remember you.

wth? LOL

08-04-2008, 07:57 PM
For students who are going to the UK, JPA will place them in a college in Lembah Beringin... (if i remembered the name correctly)

08-04-2008, 08:07 PM
For students who are going to the UK, JPA will place them in a college in Lembah Beringin... (if i remembered the name correctly)

Kolej Yayasan UEM, aka KYUEM. I have a friend studying there..

08-04-2008, 08:45 PM
really? but my one of senior who got architcture UK is in INTEC rite now...

08-04-2008, 08:54 PM
really? but my one of senior who got architcture UK is in INTEC rite now...i was referencing to those who are taking medicine in UK...

jun
08-04-2008, 10:08 PM
wat about german engineering..will they send all the students under this programme to INTEC??? i wish not coz i heard that in INTEC there is a lot of stealing goin on and the place is not that good ? is that true? will they send to private uni like KDU???

08-04-2008, 10:26 PM
wat about german engineering..will they send all the students under this programme to INTEC??? i wish not coz i heard that in INTEC there is a lot of stealing goin on and the place is not that good ? is that true? will they send to private uni like KDU???
Some will be send to KBU, the rest will be send to INTEC...

don't worry about the bad things abt INTEC. Though security is lacking, I'd say the experience there will be some of the best in your life ;)

08-04-2008, 10:36 PM
owh..by the way, what are 'the bad things' bout INTEC?

AlynQq
09-04-2008, 02:37 PM
May i asked did the interviewers take away u guys' "slip temuduga" when u go 4 JPA interview??Plz reply me...........thx a lot!!!!!

dilenkumar
09-04-2008, 03:06 PM
May i asked did the interviewers take away u guys' "slip temuduga" when u go 4 JPA interview??Plz reply me...........thx a lot!!!!!

yeah...they took mine too...:)

09-04-2008, 03:23 PM
Where will they put the students who took dentistry and wannna to go to ireland ?

09-04-2008, 03:43 PM
Where will they put the students who took dentistry and wannna to go to ireland ?
Some Ireland-bound students are in Kolej MARA Banting and Intec...

matchgirl
09-04-2008, 03:47 PM

do they offer UK medicine to non bumiputeras?

nicole robbin
09-04-2008, 04:52 PM
hihi...first time here..to share my experience...
phew, what a relief!

Time : 3rd April
Venue : PTPL Kota Bharu, Kelantan
Panel : 1

I went there dressed in a long-sleeved blouse and slacks. But then i changed into baju kurung as the ppl at the counter didn't seem to think my dressing was formal enough O.O My group had 6 ppl-3 girls, one malay one chinese one indian, 3 boys, 2 malays one chinese. 11-something we went inside the room. There were 7 chairs facing the interviewers, a malay man and lady. En.Kamarulzaman asked us to sit according to our numbers. Then as all of us were very quiet, he tried to make us more relaxed by commenting on how depressed we all looked. "Tak pernah dengar tentang Kelab Keceriaan ke?" and after some more silence he asked "how are you feeling now?" Each of us answered in turn. Then he joked some more ^_^ He also asked whether any one of us had been to an interview before. A malay boy, who's studying at Petronas was the only one..

After that he asked us to do our introductions..name, family background, school and chosen course. I was no.1 so i started first-in BM, sinced he asked in BM. I felt weird since i didn't end my intro properly with a thank you...instead just left it in silence >.< No.2 a malay boy spoke in BI and so the rest used BI as well. The interviewer threw in a surprise question for no.3 asking how far was Tanah Merah (his home) from Kota Bharu in km..haha. He didn't smack us but laughed with us.

The next part, he gave us the topic- "Talk about a mistake you made and what you learnt from it" Thank god it wasn't a difficult question >.< He gave us about 5 minutes to think and discuss (but we didn't really discussed anything). During the "think-time" he popped some questions for us while checking the clear holders. He asked me whether i played in basketball, i said yes but not good at it. (The penyertaan written in the sijil was just for show...i don't really know how to play it =P) Then he asked how many players are there in a team. I couldn't think for a sec, then i remembered Slam Dunk and told him 5, hehe~

He asked no.6 to start first, then my turn, then random. I liked the fact that all of them were really earnest in their speech. Me...i started alright but fumbled in the end..really need to practice speaking in english..sigh. After all of us had finished, we were allowed to leave, except one (probably because she didn't attend the Kursus Pendedahan Kerjaya Seorang Doktor).

We left and returned to the counter to give them our no.tags, borang pengesahan pendapatan and checklist (and borang pengesahan kehadiran kursus doktor). I asked them whether i could change my course. They said did you tell the interviewers, the borang is with them. So i rushed back to the room and asked the interviewer. He gave me the form to apply for change of course, it's blue in colour, you have to write the course you want to change to and your reason (there's a lot of space to write that, don't worry). After completing the form hand it back to the interviewer (who was very kind, asked me to consider my decision properly). I do hope that this time my decision will be the correct one..and i will stick to it.

Thank you very much, my neighbour who drove me to the venue when my car got a flat tyre this morning >.<, uncle who lent me the baju kurung, one of the counter ladies who was very kind and Mr.Kamarulzaman, who was very nice to us! Good luck to tomorrow's batch! (Sorry that my writing is kind of boring..)

p/s i was thinking perhaps it was due to our nervousness that he gave us an easier topic....just a hypothesis >_<

hey,gnaw?? they reali allow 2 change har??? i duno realise dat...so u change 4 wat course 2 wat course?? b4 i oso plan 2 change d..bt juz x sure can or not..how is ur result? yu wan 2 change leh? now i chose sains d la...cant change d...

AlynQq
09-04-2008, 08:14 PM
is there anyone who brought their JPA "slip temuduga" bt was not taken by interviewers?plz reply me promptly...........coz i'm worried about it.....!!!!tqtq

plz................y dun hv anyone reply me????
i really really worry about it...........

09-04-2008, 10:23 PM
is there anyone who brought their JPA "slip temuduga" bt was not taken by interviewers?plz reply me promptly...........coz i'm worried about it.....!!!!tqtq

no, they took my slip

AlynQq
09-04-2008, 10:30 PM
no, they took my slip

OMG!!!!!They didn't take mine...............will it b a problem?Does it mean tat i fail 2 get the scholarship?some of my frens same v me..............:(

09-04-2008, 10:34 PM

I never hear of MARA Banting . :(Where is it ??

09-04-2008, 10:42 PM
I never hear of MARA Banting . :(Where is it ??
Banting, Selangor

OMG!!!!!They didn't take mine...............will it b a problem?Does it mean tat i fail 2 get the scholarship?some of my frens same v me..............:(Why don't you just stop the doomsday scenario and call them to clarify?

milkshake
09-04-2008, 10:46 PM

They didnt ask for the slip temuduga..all they asked was the borang pendapatan keluarga thing... but i did put the slip temuduga together with all the other photostated documents. But they didnt asked for it though.. :)

09-04-2008, 11:28 PM

oh reli? i tot they are going to ktt
??

Vaan
09-04-2008, 11:45 PM
well, i juz hav mine finished.
i went there at 1.45, went in at 4.30, came out at 520

ipoh, panel 1, last group.
lasy day, last session, last group...

still happy about titles we got, sex education, rasuah, though i donno wat is PIN.
i oso donno whu's d minister of PENGANKUTAN, tat's bad ,rite...
nvm, i hav gone thru it... no regrets, even though i cant secure it...

anyway, it's better thn wat i expect... coz i heard panel 1 is giving all those weird question ( isu palestin-israel, NAM, suruhanjaya reid...) but i oso got PIN laaa

lastly, THANKS TO ALL RECOMERS sharing here, at least i prepared sth... n everything runs wit wat i expect..

FakeAngel, may I ask which one is you? I'm also panel 1, last batch, last day, last session in Ipoh but I go in at 3.30pm, come out at 4.30pm. If I am not mistaken there are like 3 girls and 2 boys that is going in for the last session. Anyway are you a girl or boy? If you are a girl, are you the one wearing the yellow baju kurung?

Sorry for being so curious but actually I just want to know coz I suspect somebody (one of the girls sitting at another row) is a ReCommer when I was sitting waiting for my turn.

I worse, I (yes only me 'victim' coz I applying for medicine course) was asked about AFTA, IMF, Menteri Pelancongan Malaysia, Menteri Luar Negara, Perlembagaan, Rukunegara (fourth line). I am also the one who rush back to the interviewer room searching for my IC.

i think i met u tt day... FakeAngel

Wa liao...if you have met FakeAngel then wa liao.... really wa liao....May I ask which one is you?

herm
09-04-2008, 11:59 PM
oh reli? i tot they are going to ktt
??

hey,u really hope ktt arr?
haha...i knw la

ZhannaC
10-04-2008, 01:42 AM

They didn't take mine either.. I mean, it was in my clear holder with the original certificates, the lady checking the files just asked me to put the 'slip temuduga' in the first page of my clear holder.. as the website didn't tell me that I needed to bring it, I was thankful I brought it, but didn't have a copy of it.. the lady knew that, she just asked me to put it in the clear holder.. and after the interview asked us for the Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan.. nothing else.

Anyway, JPA themselves should have our 'slip temuduga'.. we printed it from their website after all.

:) Don't worry so much about it. One tiny detail like that will unlikely affect your scholarship results. Why, I know someone who forgot to bring his dad's original 'slip gaji', only had the photostated one, and still got the JPA scholarship. :)) Haha.

ohyying
10-04-2008, 01:58 AM
Im new here lol...well..JPA interview experience..hmm was like quite fun actually...because I got a relatively easy question

"What is ur proudest personal achievement and why?" and another question which i got was "What type of person do u think we are looking for?" Btw, i was in Group 2, Panel 1, USM 3rd April 2pm(thursday)...

But i can't help but to think in another aspect, i didn't get tembak-ed by the interviewer AT ALL..but everybody else (8 ppl in the group including myself) kena in one way or another...so does this mean he has no interest in me??

and im really anxious about the results of it....aihhhh.....>.< and he even playfully teased me like "finally...the gurl sitting right in the middle (wif a grin on his face)" well i was No. 5 but he went lik No. 8 - No. 6 then No. 1- No. 4 and then i was the last person to talk...

i shud thank him in a way tho..for giving me ample time to properly structure my entire 'speech'..thank goodness it wasn't the kind where everybody fights to talk....everybody got a fair chance to talk as long as they wanted to...really hoping for the best out of it...and it kinda freaks me out to know that there were so many people whu applied for pharmacy..ouch!

AlynQq
10-04-2008, 03:41 PM
Im new here lol...well..JPA interview experience..hmm was like quite fun actually...because I got a relatively easy question

"What is ur proudest personal achievement and why?" and another question which i got was "What type of person do u think we are looking for?" Btw, i was in Group 2, Panel 1, USM 3rd April 2pm(thursday)...

But i can't help but to think in another aspect, i didn't get tembak-ed by the interviewer AT ALL..but everybody else (8 ppl in the group including myself) kena in one way or another...so does this mean he has no interest in me??

and im really anxious about the results of it....aihhhh.....>.< and he even playfully teased me like "finally...the gurl sitting right in the middle (wif a grin on his face)" well i was No. 5 but he went lik No. 8 - No. 6 then No. 1- No. 4 and then i was the last person to talk...

i shud thank him in a way tho..for giving me ample time to properly structure my entire 'speech'..thank goodness it wasn't the kind where everybody fights to talk....everybody got a fair chance to talk as long as they wanted to...really hoping for the best out of it...and it kinda freaks me out to know that there were so many people whu applied for pharmacy..ouch!

:)Hi.Ur experience was quite weird.If i were u,i'll definitely worried 2.Mayb the interviewers wan 2 test u?Who knows??:)dun worry so much........coz u'r the extra-ordinary one.:)Well,i was wondering how u answer all the questions?N how's ur "speech"???My question was quite easy 2:"How r u going 2 promote malaysia 2 the foreign students if u get the scholarship?"

AlynQq
10-04-2008, 03:45 PM
They didn't take mine either.. I mean, it was in my clear holder with the original certificates, the lady checking the files just asked me to put the 'slip temuduga' in the first page of my clear holder.. as the website didn't tell me that I needed to bring it, I was thankful I brought it, but didn't have a copy of it.. the lady knew that, she just asked me to put it in the clear holder.. and after the interview asked us for the Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan.. nothing else.

Anyway, JPA themselves should have our 'slip temuduga'.. we printed it from their website after all.

:) Don't worry so much about it. One tiny detail like that will unlikely affect your scholarship results. Why, I know someone who forgot to bring his dad's original 'slip gaji', only had the photostated one, and still got the JPA scholarship. :)) Haha.

Oh,thx a lot!!!:)Huh,what a relieve!!May God Bless ME n U 2..............tq:))

xiaobit
10-04-2008, 06:47 PM
It has been one week after the interview. Wiating for the result... my heart is still palpitating hard thinking of the interview. May be it is a bit late for my to share my experience here.

my session is on 3rd Apr 2 pm Poli Merlimau.

Task Given:
1) introduce yourself in bm (since the interviewer speak in bm, but they didn't say whether we can speak in bi)
we had to talk abt latar belakang keluarga, pencapaian koko...

2)Adakah anda setuju bahawa penglibatan dlm koko akan menjejaskan pencapaian anda?

3) Do u think Malaysia can achieve Vision 2020?
4) pada pendapat anda, apakah bidang yang memberi impak terbesar kpd ngr?

Air in the room was quite stiff. nothing like "attacking" by the interviewers.
SInce it was a discussion, everyone didn't have to grab chance to talk, but it seemed to be lack of atmosphere of "attacking"

Well, it was a memorable eperience. whatever the result will be, the whole situation happening on that day will be forever playing in my brain.

Let's pray for the best. :wink

Vaan
10-04-2008, 07:23 PM
It has been one week after the interview. Wiating for the result... my heart is still palpitating hard thinking of the interview. May be it is a bit late for my to share my experience here.

my session is on 3rd Apr 2 pm Poli Merlimau.

Task Given:
1) introduce yourself in bm (since the interviewer speak in bm, but they didn't say whether we can speak in bi)
we had to talk abt latar belakang keluarga, pencapaian koko...

2)Adakah anda setuju bahawa penglibatan dlm koko akan menjejaskan pencapaian anda?

3) Do u think Malaysia can achieve Vision 2020?
4) pada pendapat anda, apakah bidang yang memberi impak terbesar kpd ngr?

Air in the room was quite stiff. nothing like "attacking" by the interviewers.
SInce it was a discussion, everyone didn't have to grab chance to talk, but it seemed to be lack of atmosphere of "attacking"

Well, it was a memorable eperience. whatever the result will be, the whole situation happening on that day will be forever playing in my brain.

Let's pray for the best. :wink

Wow! your interview was better than mine.

My self intro was in BM (The interviewer insists on it!) Cannot speak in English.

Group Discussions:
Rukunegara
Perlembagaan
ASEAN Establishment
AFTA issue
IMF issue
Menteri Pelancongan Malaysia.

Because I am applying for medicine. I was given ''special'' treatment. I was boomed and bashed by random questions that were asked by the interviewer such as:

Rukunegara - Fourth Line and Third Line
What is Perlembagaan in English
Rules are mend to be broken, Give your opinion
Menteri Luar Malaysia.

ohyying
10-04-2008, 07:23 PM
:)Hi.Ur experience was quite weird.If i were u,i'll definitely worried 2.Mayb the interviewers wan 2 test u?Who knows??:)dun worry so much........coz u'r the extra-ordinary one.:)Well,i was wondering how u answer all the questions?N how's ur "speech"???My question was quite easy 2:"How r u going 2 promote malaysia 2 the foreign students if u get the scholarship?"

HAHA...hie ther..where did u have ur interview??because dat question of urs, one fren of mine got it too! =) erm...my answer to his second question was "someone with gud personality, confident, of coz excels in academic and active in cca and other activities around....all in all, an all-rounder!" but i missed out the ever-so-important-statement-in-Msia, "someone whuz willing to serve the country" grrr...it only striked me when i stepped out of the room...but well..not lik my ans is wrong...so im fine by it....as for the main question on proudest achievement...haha...i think i did ok....but its kinda embarrassing if i were to post it up here!!=) :wink but i blif it was delivered with the right strength and stresses.....and i understand that u applied for pharmacy (from the previous pages)...hows ur results??

milkshake
10-04-2008, 07:46 PM
How come you guys interview seems to be so tough.. Mine was kinda short n simple... Not sure it that's a good sign or not...

We self intro in English since she interviewers asked in English... i gave a very simple self intro..i didnt talk much bout my achievements in KK n all.. Then they gave us a topic which was "talk about a mistake u made and what u've learnt from it" Then they call our names 1 by 1 to answer. And that's all...end of interview...everything was in english by the way.. is that a bad sign of them not being interested? Please give ur honest opinion. =)

AlynQq
10-04-2008, 08:03 PM
How come you guys interview seems to be so tough.. Mine was kinda short n simple... Not sure it that's a good sign or not...

We self intro in English since she interviewers asked in English... i gave a very simple self intro..i didnt talk much bout my achievements in KK n all.. Then they gave us a topic which was "talk about a mistake u made and what u've learnt from it" Then they call our names 1 by 1 to answer. And that's all...end of interview...everything was in english by the way.. is that a bad sign of them not being interested? Please give ur honest opinion. =)

Actually,there's no easy/tough questions...........it depends on how u express urself..........it was not a problem if ur interview conducted in English coz it depends on the interviewers,if they asked u in English,then it's ok.Not 2 worry.:)

Vaan
10-04-2008, 08:05 PM

How long was your interview? If it's long, yes they are interested if it's short, obviously they have no interest and just want to finish the interview fast.

minic00per
12-04-2008, 06:38 PM
is it true that if you get petronas scholarship you wont get jpa??

smile!
12-04-2008, 10:41 PM
is it true that if you get petronas scholarship you wont get jpa??

i'm not sure also... that's y i'm doubtful whether to go for petronas educamp or not.. i heard that if u get for petronas jpa will give ur place to the others.. they dont wanna offer u two scholarships and let u choose it seems.. but i want the course i applied for jpa.. so i have no idea whether to attend the educamp or not.. :confused:

AlynQq
12-04-2008, 11:09 PM
i'm not sure also... that's y i'm doubtful whether to go for petronas educamp or not.. i heard that if u get for petronas jpa will give ur place to the others.. they dont wanna offer u two scholarships and let u choose it seems.. but i want the course i applied for jpa.. so i have no idea whether to attend the educamp or not.. :confused:

Oh,so u'r now in dilemma...........bt u'r not sure whether u'll get the JPA or not...............so i think u'll better grab any chance offered 2 u..............................i noe it's vy difficult 2 make a decision............................Anyway,gud luck!!!:)

smile!
12-04-2008, 11:12 PM
Oh,so u'r now in dilemma...........bt u'r not sure whether u'll get the JPA or not...............so i think u'll better grab any chance offered 2 u..............................i noe it's vy difficult 2 make a decision............................Anyway,gud luck!!!:)

hahaha..thanks a lot.. anyway, did u apply for petronas?

AdreanaBhatt
12-04-2008, 11:19 PM
Wow! your interview was better than mine.

My self intro was in BM (The interviewer insists on it!) Cannot speak in English.

Group Discussions:
Rukunegara
Perlembagaan
ASEAN Establishment
AFTA issue
IMF issue
Menteri Pelancongan Malaysia.

Because I am applying for medicine. I was given ''special'' treatment. I was boomed and bashed by random questions that were asked by the interviewer such as:

Rukunegara - Fourth Line and Third Line
What is Perlembagaan in English
Rules are mend to be broken, Give your opinion
Menteri Luar Malaysia.

oh my god. Yours sounds so scary. My interview went relatively smooth. I applied medicine too but the interviewers didn't bombard us with random question. We got two questions-Unemployment amongst graduates and tahun melawat melaysia 2007. I did mine in merlimau melaka btw

AlynQq
12-04-2008, 11:21 PM
hahaha..thanks a lot.. anyway, did u apply for petronas?

Nono,i'v no interest on the courses offered........so,i applied 4 others.............:)

Vaan
12-04-2008, 11:36 PM
oh my god. Yours sounds so scary. My interview went relatively smooth. I applied medicine too but the interviewers didn't bombard us with random question. We got two questions-Unemployment amongst graduates and tahun melawat melaysia 2007. I did mine in merlimau melaka btw

Yaloo...so scary.Wow you also apply for medicine. Same boat.

smile!
12-04-2008, 11:40 PM
Yaloo...so scary.Wow you also apply for medicine. Same boat.

haha...hopefully u all can sail to the same country also la.. LOL

Vaan
13-04-2008, 12:38 AM
haha...hopefully u all can sail to the same country also la.. LOL

How about u? Sailing in the same boat as well?

AdreanaBhatt
13-04-2008, 12:33 PM

what country are you hoping to get? i heard to go to ireland, you need to get insanely good grades as in a LONG string of a1's

ratiut
13-04-2008, 12:49 PM
hey milkshake, my interview was totally the same as urs..but mine was conducted in both english n BM..the topic given was also the same..totally..where is ur interview??

smile!
13-04-2008, 02:07 PM

Haha... I applied for actuarial science for JPA.. not medicine.. but MIGHT be on the same boat.. LOL

Vaan
13-04-2008, 02:54 PM
what country are you hoping to get? i heard to go to ireland, you need to get insanely good grades as in a LONG string of a1's

Yes, however I also heard that if you speak good english and is able to convince and impress the interviewers, they will send you to Ireland coz from the way you speak and act, you showed great capabilities as a potential excellent student.

I hoping to get whatever country also can la...as long as the JPA pay everything and recognised by LAN as well as the Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysia. So I'll do some research into the country that they have sent me to (if I get JPA).

Haha... I applied for actuarial science for JPA.. not medicine.. but MIGHT be on the same boat.. LOL

Hey, you're right! who noes we might ended up in the same boat heading to the same country in the same university.:)

wendy191
14-04-2008, 01:19 PM
JPA INTERVIEW 2008 TOPICS

1.What is Vision 2020 to you? What are the challenges in reaching Vision 2020?
2.Which movie do you like the most and why?
3.why education is important
4.Steven Hawking's "The Brief History of Time"
5.How Malaysians students can do better abroad
6.Malaysia's younger generation prefer to watch entertainment program than to watch serious programs such as news and current affairs
7.Belajar di luar negara memberi kelebihan berbanding belajar di dalam negara.
8.Healthy Lifestyle. Way of promoting healthy lifestyle while studying abroad
9.Rising oil prices is a threat to our country's economy
10.Major achievements and developments of Malaysia from the past 50 over years since independence
11.What is the best sports achievement in Malaysia
12.Importance of education
13.Name a sport which excels well in Malaysia. Why?
14.China and India are rising stars of economy in Asia
15.Reality TV programme
16.Films you have watched recently && what you thought of it
17.One thing you wish to change about your school life; what would it be and why
18.Patriotism / How and what should you do to show patriotism
19.Telefon mudah alih-keperluan atau kemewahan / Is mobile phones a necessity or luxury
20.Do you agree that there's been a decline in reading among the young?
21.banyak palajar yang telah dihantar overseas tidak mahu balik ke malaysia untuk kerja selepas graduate. apa langkah yang boleh JPA ambil untuk tarik mereka balik ke msia.
22.How can Malaysian students studying abroad promote Malaysia
23.Do u agree that our education system is too exam-orientated
24.Housewife as the first line in the development of human capital resources.
25.The recent cases of child abduction have increased public awareness on the lack of security in the country.
26.visit malaysia year 2007
27.sekolah kluster / cluster school
28.NAM/ PBB /OIC
29.how to be a good leader
30.Who aspires &inspires you
31.Why government still send students abroad when we Malaysia intend to be an education hub in our region?
32.The secret of success
33.What are your proudest achievements in life to this date

Other question:
1.yang Dipertuan agong's name
2.What is JPA
3.prime minister name
4.Prime minister?s father?s name
5.Nama Menteri Pertahanan
6.What do you see yourself doing in 10 years time. What would you contribute to the country
7.Which country would u choose to study oversea? Why?
8.Why do you think you deserve the scholarship?
9.What strength do you have to go study overseas
10.What income do you expect when u graduated
11.what would you do if JPA does not offer you a scholarship
12.name two lines from Rukun Negara
13.Do you think those who got 10 a1 and above should automatically granted a scholarship

I summarise the topics until day 3 only. Having sore eyes.argh.

16-04-2008, 06:15 PM
People, do keep chatters to the minimum as it will hinder the others from effectively extracting the relevant information from the thread. and keep exchange of contact details to your private messages...

20-04-2008, 10:12 PM
Thanks to Wendy191 for summarizing those topics of JPA Scholarships interview of 2008. This would be great asset for future year students.

Thanks to all ReComers who have shared all the topics that being asked throughout the nation. It is great to see so many ReComers are so willing to share information to help your fellow friends, as well as to help future generation of students.

I have added in other topics shared by all of you and this would hopefully be able to be used by students from future years as a guidance. Maybe fellow ReComers could actually gather the past year JPA Scholarships topics and share with your juniors in your high school, and remind them to come to ReCom.org to prepare for their scholarships applications next year.

Good Luck to all of you who are applying too! Hopefully, you guys would continue to stay at ReCom.org, irrespective of whether you get your scholarship. It is a good platform for you to share and learn. And since you have gone through scholarship, it doesn't mean that that's the only thing you can share in ReCom. You can initiate discussion, share information, opportunities, ask for opinion/feedback etc. It is a community of fellow Malaysians, especially the students and youth community!

2008 JPA Scholarships Topic
6.Malaysia's younger generation prefer to watch entertainment program than to watch serious programs such as news and current affairs
10.Major achievements and developments of Malaysia from the past 50 over years since
independence
12.PhD Scholars: do they serve purpose for the development of community and country or it is for namesake?
13.Ko-kurikulum sedikit-sebanyak menjejaskan pelajaran. Setuju atau tidak?
14.China and India are rising stars of economy in Asia. Do u agree with that? will this growth help Malaysian economy or pose a threat to the economy? In your opinion, what should be done to improve malaysia's economy to compete with them?
15.Reality TV programme
16.why local graduates can't find job?
17.One thing you wish to change about your school life; what would it be and why
19.Telefon mudah alih-keperluan atau kemewahan / Is mobile phones a necessity or luxury
21.banyak palajar yang telah dihantar overseas tidak mahu balik ke malaysia untuk kerja
selepas graduate. apa langkah yang boleh JPA ambil untuk tarik mereka balik ke msia.
25.The recent cases of child abduction have increased public awareness on the lack of
security in the country.
28.NAM/ PBB /OIC / ASEAN
31.Why government still send students abroad when we Malaysia intend to be an education hub in our region?
32.The secret of success
34.Do you think those who got 10 a1 and above should automatically granted a scholarship
35.RMK9 - 9th Malaysia Plan
36.Dewan Rakyat
37.Constitution/Perlembagaan
34. Is money everything?
35. Disadvantage of internet
37. should we have limitation on freedom of expression
38. Suruhanjaya REID
39. How do you describe a developed country? What should be used as an indicator to a
developed nation?
40. Proton is our locally produced cars. However, efforts by the government to promote
Proton have been deemed a burden to the people. In your opinion, should or should not
Proton be manufactured?
41. Children nowadays are spoiled, unruly and indiscipline. Is it true.
42. Palestine-Israel Issue
43. GE 2008
44. Pelan Integriti Nasional
45. Pirated cds affect entertainment industry
46. Benifits of participation of cocuriculum-based activities?
47. Technology is a Double-edged Sword
48. AFTA
49. IMF
50. What type of person do you think JPA is looking for?
51. pada pendapat anda, apakah bidang yang memberi impak terbesar kepada negara?
52. Rules are mend to be broken, Give your opinion
53. Unemployment among graduates

Other question:
1.Yang Dipertuan Agong's name
2.What is JPA
3.Prime Minister's name
4.Prime Minister?s father?s name
5.Minister's/Menteri Besar/Chief Minister's/JPA DG Name
6.What do you see yourself doing in 10 years time. What would you contribute to the country
7.Which country would you choose to study oversea? Why?
10.What income do you expect when you graduated
13.Talk about a mistake you made and what you learnt from it
14.Singing of patriotic song (Keranamu Malaysia, Khidmat Negara)

ZhannaC
20-04-2008, 10:17 PM
Add mine..

Who is your role model and why? :)

Iskandar Zulkarnain
21-04-2008, 01:08 AM
Thanks to Wendy191 for summarizing those topics of JPA Scholarships interview of 2008. This would be great asset for future year students.

Thanks to all ReComers who have shared all the topics that being asked throughout the nation. It is great to see so many ReComers are so willing to share information to help your fellow friends, as well as to help future generation of students.

I have added in other topics shared by all of you and this would hopefully be able to be used by students from future years as a guidance. Maybe fellow ReComers could actually gather the past year JPA Scholarships topics and share with your juniors in your high school, and remind them to come to ReCom.org to prepare for their scholarships applications next year.

Good Luck to all of you who are applying too! Hopefully, you guys would continue to stay at ReCom.org, irrespective of whether you get your scholarship. It is a good platform for you to share and learn. And since you have gone through scholarship, it doesn't mean that that's the only thing you can share in ReCom. You can initiate discussion, share information, opportunities, ask for opinion/feedback etc. It is a community of fellow Malaysians, especially the students and youth community!

2008 JPA Scholarships Topic
10.Major achievements and developments of Malaysia from the past 50 over years since
independence
12.PhD Scholars: do they serve purpose for the development of community and country or it is for namesake?
13.Ko-kurikulum sedikit-sebanyak menjejaskan pelajaran. Setuju atau tidak?
14.China and India are rising stars of economy in Asia. Do u agree with that? will this growth help Malaysian economy or pose a threat to the economy? In your opinion, what should be done to improve malaysia's economy to compete with them?
15.Reality TV programme
16.why local graduates can't find job?
21.banyak palajar yang telah dihantar overseas tidak mahu balik ke malaysia untuk kerja
selepas graduate. apa langkah yang boleh JPA ambil untuk tarik mereka balik ke msia.
25.The recent cases of child abduction have increased public awareness on the lack of
security in the country.
28.NAM/ PBB /OIC / ASEAN
32.The secret of success
34.Do you think those who got 10 a1 and above should automatically granted a scholarship
35.RMK9 - 9th Malaysia Plan
36.Dewan Rakyat
37.Constitution/Perlembagaan
34. Is money everything?
35. Disadvantage of internet
37. should we have limitation on freedom of expression
38. Suruhanjaya REID
39. How do you describe a developed country? What should be used as an indicator to a
developed nation?
40. Proton is our locally produced cars. However, efforts by the government to promote
Proton have been deemed a burden to the people. In your opinion, should or should not
Proton be manufactured?
41. Children nowadays are spoiled, unruly and indiscipline. Is it true.
42. Palestine-Israel Issue
43. GE 2008
44. Pelan Integriti Nasional
45. Pirated cds affect entertainment industry
46. Benifits of participation of cocuriculum-based activities?
47. Technology is a Double-edged Sword
48. AFTA
49. IMF
50. What type of person do you think JPA is looking for?
51. pada pendapat anda, apakah bidang yang memberi impak terbesar kepada negara?
52. Rules are mend to be broken, Give your opinion
53. Unemployment among graduates

Other question:
1.Yang Dipertuan Agong's name
2.What is JPA
3.Prime Minister's name
4.Prime Minister’s father’s name
5.Minister's/Menteri Besar/Chief Minister's/JPA DG Name
7.Which country would you choose to study oversea? Why?
10.What income do you expect when you graduated
13.Talk about a mistake you made and what you learnt from it
14.Singing of patriotic song (Keranamu Malaysia, Khidmat Negara)

I'm now studying using JPA Scholarship in INTEC. I applied using SPM result.
If you really analyse the list of scope, you will realise only three: Patriotism (Malaysia and ASEAN), Yourself (Improvement and Motivation), Activties or Programmes you participated before.
I was Wira Terbaik during my National Service in Kem Princess Haliza in Sepang. In the interview, my question is: What do you think of NS? What kind of activities do you think that will achieve the objectives? Do you feel any changes on yourself?
As I applied for Medicine, so my question is: What motivate you to be a doctor? Why do you feel you are suitable to be a doctor?
So, just think critically and aware of current issues.
Good luck for newcomers to INTEC.
Just speak out, but NEVER boast yourself!
BE TRUTHFUL!

matchgirl
21-04-2008, 04:06 PM
my question is how does the rise in goods prices affect you life?

smile!
22-04-2008, 06:30 PM
oh...study local ar?? den if selected den which country we can go leh?? issit usa onli?? as inever heard ppl who chose sains go 2 uk leh...thx..

hey nicole robbin, i think u can check here..

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/StrukturPengajianProgram-ProgramPILN2008.pdf

nicole robbin
22-04-2008, 09:28 PM
tat 1 i hav check b4 d...no aus n new zealand d...bt in syarat there dis 2 r in d choice la..thx ya..snail..

23-04-2008, 05:52 AM
Chatty Posts deleted, unrelated posts moved to the related threads

teiya_drumzaddict
01-05-2008, 04:18 PM
hey do they actually count the country that we choose during the interview and send us to that particular country if let's say we get the scholar? Or they'll decide the country they're sending us to?

digital_lifeform
01-05-2008, 06:16 PM
I know it is too late already for the JPA 2008 batch, but hopefully this advise is useful for the JPA 2009 batch. This just came to me when I looked that the list of the interview topics.

First of all, there is no need to read up all those interview topics cause there is no way you can prepare for every possible question the interviewer can ask you. But there are few basic things you need to keep in mind.

1. Know all your personal details, you may be asked about it during the interview as the officer might want to double check or catch liar, it happens.

2. You are applying for a scholarship from JPA, so at least memorize the names and titles of all the big shot in JPA as well as all the ministers and ministries.

3. At least have a brief idea why you deserve the scholarship and why you picked the course of you choice. No need for a well prepared script if you are used to giving impromptu responses.

4. Be courteous, speak just enough to put your point forward. Allow other to have a chance to speak. Interrupt only if it is absolutely necessary. If you are given a topic such Steven Hawking's "The Brief History of Time" share what's it about because not everyone know what that is. You'd surely get extra points for that.

5. Crap. You must know how to talk nonsense, it is an essential life skill. If the topic is a direct question, give it a little taught and simple say what comes to your mind. If you really know nothing about it, you can just pretend to know. Pick up hints and clues along the way and elaborate on what others have said.

honeydew
13-05-2008, 05:45 PM
i wrote it now bcoz im free now, finished kplspm interview. hope to help juniors. my interview was on the third day, 2pm. 15 ppl divided into 3 groups, im the 2nd group. 2 malay female panels, kind and friendly. only 2 questions, introduce urself in malay+a person who inspires and aspires u. given 5 min to write points, on our own paper. finished after an hour. my jpa interview is simpler than ordinary interviews, kplspm is more like an interview where i need more preparations. juniors, b hardworking to prepare for interviews, i feel sense of accomplishment bout myself for tat.

03-06-2008, 11:18 PM
thread locked. Reason: this thread had served its purpose. and it viewable for future reference.

Xon~