View Full Version : Unfair for people to get 2 scholarships at a time?
lowxuan
03-04-2008, 12:17 AM
I wander that is it unfair for some scholars hold 2 scholarship at the same time? They eventually decrease the chances for others to gain the scholarship.
leinad
03-04-2008, 12:19 AM
i think we have a thread on this already.
and it doesnt really matter because they can only take 1 scholarship. they would have to reject the other one
GuoSheng
03-04-2008, 10:36 AM
and besides, if he or she deserves it, why not?
Wellbutrin Settlement (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/wellbutrin/)
insertusername
03-04-2008, 10:50 AM
no
/thread
03-04-2008, 10:50 AM
Thread moved to the debates section.
I wouldn't say it's unfair, since most providers don't have connection with each other saying 'hey, I take this student under my scholarship la, you take the others.'
If you can prove your capability, you will get it, end of answers...
leinad
03-04-2008, 11:57 AM
my friend used to be under Asean for her pre-u, then she got offered Bank Negara, but she decided on jpa. hahahaha.
and yeah, if they really deserve it, why not?
but it would be good thing for sponsors to comunicate with one another to spread out the scholarships so more people (who deserves it) would get them.
dcwk04
03-04-2008, 01:33 PM
The most idealistic thing to do is form a Scholarship Council in Malaysia, where every government (JPA, MARA), corporate (Petronas, Shell, UEM, Khazanah) and bank (BNM, etc) scholarship is combined.
One database so that you apply scholarship once only, and they will choose which one for you. No need filling in 10 online applications and going crazy. One interview nationwide, so no need to go for 10 interviews.
Like that, everyone will get one scholarship only. And everyone gets equal opportunity.
But not realistic since different organizations have different ideals. Sigh. Oh for an ideal world!~ haha
03-04-2008, 02:33 PM
The most idealistic thing to do is form a Scholarship Council in Malaysia, where every government (JPA, MARA), corporate (Petronas, Shell, UEM, Khazanah) and bank (BNM, etc) scholarship is combined.
One database so that you apply scholarship once only, and they will choose which one for you. No need filling in 10 online applications and going crazy. One interview nationwide, so no need to go for 10 interviews.
Like that, everyone will get one scholarship only. And everyone gets equal opportunity.
But not realistic since different organizations have different ideals. Sigh. Oh for an ideal world!~ haha
I don't think this will be fair then. Each sponsor give out scholarship because they have their own agenda and wanted the best talents possible for them. If everything is centralized, will they still have the incentive to provide better funds criteria to woo the top scholars.
Even though it will be equal opportunity, not all who apply deserves it. I think it is better to have separate so that they will be competitions between sponsors and applicants. Thus, better way of selecting. Plus, if everything is centralized, what if someone apply for certain course only to want to change it a short while after that? Won't that person be stuck like that? I know a lot of scholars who never think about their future careers even till after the point of the interview and receiving scholarships. The problem with centralized system, will it be flexible enough to accommodate any changes?
In the end, I only have one thing to think about people who wants to go through this once only - lazy.
dcwk04
03-04-2008, 02:49 PM
I don't think this will be fair then. Each sponsor give out scholarship because they have their own agenda and wanted the best talents possible for them.
I think you might be right here. Each sponsor has their own type or breed of selection process, whereby they filter potential candidates for THEIR OWN purpose. They are selecting those that meet the criteria for their company or organization.
Those who get two or more scholarships just proves that they have the many qualities or talents that fulfill these selection criteria looked for by the sponsor. So they deserve it.
Plus, if everything is centralized, what if someone apply for certain course only to want to change it a short while after that? Won't that person be stuck like that? I know a lot of scholars who never think about their future careers even till after the point of the interview and receiving scholarships. The problem with centralized system, will it be flexible enough to accommodate any changes?
This is incredibly odd. Why on earth would they apply to that scholarship in the first place if they are not determined for that course? Would someone who dislike Engineering apply for Engineering just to "see if I can get it"? I think thats crazy for them to do it.
Furthermore, do sponsors allow them to change their course out of whim? I dont think, even, seperate sponsors are so flexible as to do this. They approved that persons scholarship application for that 'certain course' because they have a NEED for that job/skill. Can you change Engineering to Medicine out of whim?
In the end, I only have one thing to think about people who wants to go through this once only - lazy.
Hehehehehehehe. =D
03-04-2008, 03:04 PM
This is incredibly odd. Why on earth would they apply to that scholarship in the first place if they are not determined for that course? Would someone who dislike Engineering apply for Engineering just to "see if I can get it"? I think thats crazy for them to do it.
Furthermore, do sponsors allow them to change their course out of whim? I dont think, even, seperate sponsors are so flexible as to do this. They approved that persons scholarship application for that 'certain course' because they have a NEED for that job/skill. Can you change Engineering to Medicine out of whim?
You might be surprised. There are a lot of "whisper" saying that they will change their career once they finish their studies.
03-04-2008, 03:59 PM
You might be surprised. There are a lot of "whisper" saying that they will change their career once they finish their studies.
I totally agree. I kinda had the mentality "I'll just apply to see if i can get it", although I still had some interest (which is lacking more and more now). Probably go into another field.
03-04-2008, 04:53 PM
for me it's even more unfair, when we grab one's opputunity to apply more than one scholarship while he is capable and qualified for it...
dun worry about this girl.. u will get it if u r deserved for it.. and vise versa
8)
prince_J
03-04-2008, 11:28 PM
i used to hate people who received many scholarships and hold to them until the very last minutes... However, i realize, if one deserves to receive many scholarships, then he should be given the every right to CHOOSE what suits him the best!
However, let's say if MR A has gotten scholarship X, but then, he stills apply for scholarship Y "for fun".... In this case, i will really think it is pretty unfair for others as it only increase the applicants pool and reduce the chances of others!
14-04-2008, 09:39 AM
It's not wrong to get more than 1 scholarship , if the person is really excellent . I don't see anything wrong with it . It sounds like we jealous if we say it's unfair .
However , I think if the person who is offered 2 scholarships , choose A scholarship and reject B scholarship , B company/?? should give the scholarship away to another student , instead of holding it back .
yummyummylicious
14-04-2008, 12:27 PM
It's not wrong to get more than 1 scholarship , if the person is really excellent . I don't see anything wrong with it . It sounds like we jealous if we say it's unfair .
However , I think if the person who is offered 2 scholarships , choose A scholarship and reject B scholarship , B company/?? should give the scholarship away to another student , instead of holding it back .
agree with ya bcoz there are a lot of deserving students outside and their family just cant provide them with the amount of money to further their studies...conclusion: if one has secured a scholarship and the course provided is what you want and good privilege, just pls DONT apply for another scholarship...its like killing another chance of others...
14-04-2008, 08:32 PM
If they already secure one , why waste money to post another letter to other scholarships' sponsors ?? Wasting money , time and energy .
extell
14-04-2008, 09:05 PM
Applying for more than 1 scholarship might be like an "insurance policy" so that if he/ she didn't get scholarship A, he/she can still choose B. Moreover, it's not like the applicant knows the results immediately, so it can't be blamed if a person applies for more than 1 and luckily got 2 or 3.
p/s I wasn't even called up for any interviews so far...only jpa interview...
yummyummylicious
14-04-2008, 09:23 PM
Applying for more than 1 scholarship might be like an "insurance policy" so that if he/ she didn't get scholarship A, he/she can still choose B. Moreover, it's not like the applicant knows the results immediately, so it can't be blamed if a person applies for more than 1 and luckily got 2 or 3.
p/s I wasn't even called up for any interviews so far...only jpa interview...
well, in this case , i think we are actually meaning if one already 100% sure of getting a scholarship / already secured a scholarship then...
extell
14-04-2008, 09:31 PM
well, in this case , i think we are actually meaning if one already 100% sure of getting a scholarship / already secured a scholarship then...
Then,....it's not wrong to apply for another, no guarantee that one will get it anyway.
But for example, if one got Medic in UK, then cut the crap. There's no point in applying for more, right?
:amuse
btw, are you going for educamp? I wanna wish you goodluck^^
yummyummylicious
14-04-2008, 09:38 PM
Then,....it's not wrong to apply for another, no guarantee that one will get it anyway.
But for example, if one got Medic in UK, then cut the crap. There's no point in applying for more, right?
:amuse
btw, are you going for educamp? I wanna wish you goodluck^^
well, no, i didnt even have the chance to go!!! hehe, i'm not even shortlisted...but i really wanna go to make more friends and gain experience...and i knew quite a number of ppl didnt want to go for the Educamp bcoz they are afraid if they attend, the chances of getting jpa will be slimmer...mmm, dunno how true is this, but i think they should give themsleves a try...
i guess your good luck just U-turn for the jpa lar...hehe...anyway, thx!
14-04-2008, 10:10 PM
for me it's even more unfair, when we grab one's opputunity to apply more than one scholarship while he is capable and qualified for it...
dun worry about this girl.. u will get it if u r deserved for it.. and vise versa
8)
This fellow is offered scholarships by Asean, BNM, n JPA...n also matrikulasi (if it is also a scholarship..)
yummyummylicious
14-04-2008, 10:18 PM
This fellow is offered scholarships by Asean, BNM, n JPA...n also matrikulasi (if it is also a scholarship..)
emmm, so this is the real JetLee huh, offered multiple scholarships...and get soooo headache of choosing which one...lol...mmm, *sit in front of my pc, and start imagine what if all this happen to me, i am juz so envious*...:P
well he/she is a lucky man..
extell
15-04-2008, 08:09 PM
well, no, i didnt even have the chance to go!!! hehe, i'm not even shortlisted...but i really wanna go to make more friends and gain experience...and i knew quite a number of ppl didnt want to go for the Educamp bcoz they are afraid if they attend, the chances of getting jpa will be slimmer...mmm, dunno how true is this, but i think they should give themsleves a try...
i guess your good luck just U-turn for the jpa lar...hehe...anyway, thx!
Eh, what happened? I oso didn't go, because I attend the previous one. :amuse
It was four days and I bet it's a hell lot better this this batch's. Glad I had the chance. Now, my petronas application is pending, I hope it won't affect my jpa one. :(
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 10:41 PM
Eh, what happened? I oso didn't go, because I attend the previous one. :amuse
It was four days and I bet it's a hell lot better this this batch's. Glad I had the chance. Now, my petronas application is pending, I hope it won't affect my jpa one. :(
well, what i can say is have faith..lol..emmm, there's nothing we can do lar at this moment...and i also have no idea on how ppl are shortlisted...and i wanna know why i am rejected...because i knew a friend of mine who got 9A1 and 1B3 was shortlisted fot the Educamp and her co-curricular is not really good..in fact she's quite passive in CCA...sigh...
extell
16-04-2008, 10:59 AM
Oh..no idea too. Backdoor? Racial issue? I wasn't selected for matrix either...All my bumi frens were. All. ^^ Anyway, I wish them best of luck.
Read here, the matrix thing: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6067&page=177
16-04-2008, 03:07 PM
Does it matter if someone got offered more than one scholarship? That's what they obtained with their own efforts. In the end, when that person chooses one scholarship over the other, in most cases, the sponsors would offer the scholarship to the next best ones, i.e. JPA scholarship has/had a second intake.
If you think that someone who got offered more than one scholarship can lower your chances of getting a scholarship significantly, it's not true except for cases where only a few applicants apply for the scholarship. What makes you think that you're "the next best person"?
16-04-2008, 05:39 PM
Please keep to the theme of the discussion. If you want to vent out your dissatisfaction, do so in the appropriate thread.
Does it matter if someone got offered more than one scholarship? That's what they obtained with their own efforts. In the end, when that person chooses one scholarship over the other, in most cases, the sponsors would offer the scholarship to the next best ones, i.e. JPA scholarship has/had a second intake.
If you think that someone who got offered more than one scholarship can lower your chances of getting a scholarship significantly, it's not true except for cases where only a few applicants apply for the scholarship. What makes you think that you're "the next best person"?
Good one
16-04-2008, 07:37 PM
The way I see it, it's pretty much like US universities doing their own admission and rejection independent from other universities.
Appolo
16-04-2008, 09:54 PM
Agree with gal_flower and YoungYew on that.
I think people are at times spiteful and jealous about the achievement of others.It's not that I'm trying to patronize those who cimmented intensively on the unfair scenario of securing more than 1 scholarship.But, I really do feel that sometimes we are too obssed about ourselves that we tend to dismiss the strength of other applicants.Its always about me, me,me.Why he got it and not me? How come that less competitive candidate won against me for the scholarship? Me, Me, and me again...
I remembered how frustrated i was when i applied for a lot of scholarships and was rejected for practically all.There was this friend of mine who happened to secure petronas and telekom(though both are local scholarship) and even matriculation.Basically, his worries about future tutioin fees are settled.
Imagine how i felt back then when i do know that i have traits that gave me an edge over this friend of mine and yet i still lost in the game for scholarships.I was frustrated.Worried and even grew envious of this friend of mine.
When I look back in retrospect, I realized that it was really wrong for me to think that way because at the end of the day, its how you continue your education that matters.Take a read at those stpm sucess stories, some of them were being rejected for scholarships and life goes on!
Glassylicious
19-04-2008, 11:21 AM
It all boils down to human nature.
Why? We all love to have choices. I'm pretty sure everyone would love to be able to choose between a scholarship offer of say, SC, BNM and Khazanah, admit it. ;)
Let's face it. When it comes to applying for scholarships/sponsorships and basically chasing down free money, it's a dog-eat-dog world out there. If you were amazing during your interview and have 7362346 credentials and achievements under your belt, good for you. If dozens of organizations extend an offer to you, good for you, you probably deserve it. You deserve to have the privilege to be able to choose the offer that best suits your needs and aspirations.
If you weren't chosen, it simply means you were not good enough. Scholarship applications are very competitive, and as much as we all hate to admit it, the majority of the applicants will no doubt be regarded as being "not good enough", due to the extremely limited places each organization can offer [some companies probably only give out half a dozen scholarships per year]. When you're an organization who is looking for a student to throw half a million ringgit at for their expensive overseas education, you kinda want to make sure that student is the best person for the job and that your sponsorship will be worthwhile. You want to see your half a million ringgit go to someone competent, and you want results.
As such, it is natural that these organizations would want nothing but the best, and really, when you have 500 applicants competing for 6 places, obviously 494 applicants will eventually be deemed as "not good enough". So really, if you don't get chosen due to some applicants who seem to swoop scholarship offers faster than a sweeping janitor, stop harping over how unfair offer-hogging is. It simply means that comparatively, you just weren't good enough. Or maybe the organization felt that you just were not the right one.
And besides, as another user has accurately pointed out: "What makes you think you're the next best person anyway?" ;)
My second point is that, applying for numerous scholarships is simply the most logical thing to do. Given the unpredictable nature of the granting of scholarships, for example you can never be sure which applicant will end up getting chosen, even if he/she has stunning credentials on paper, it is only rational for people to apply to as many organizations as possible. It would be unrealistic, and not to mention suicidal, to only apply to one organization. You can't exactly predict which organization would accept you and which would not, or if any would accept you in the first place to begin with. So if 3 out of 6 organizations offer you a scholarship, who is to blame you, really?
With that said, I do agree, however, that if a successful applicant turns down a scholarship offer from a company in favour of another offer, the said company should fill in the gap by extending the offer to the next best applicant.
HaveYouMetTed
25-04-2008, 01:08 PM
seriously, i think that there's nothing to debate on this topic. its all one-sided. think bout it. DID you apply for only ONE scholarship? heck, nobody does that!
if say *jenny gets 4 offers, she'll pick her favourite and she'll have to reject the rest. and for those of you who dont already know, these companies that offer the scholarships, they do have a waitlist of students according to rank which means if they hadnt offered the scholarship to jenny, that person would've gotten it anyway, its just that you know, he wasnt as good and maybe just missed out by a little bit. its only a matter of time, if you deserve it, you deserve it. its not like a person can study in oxford, harvard and yale all at the same time. thats bit ridiculous now innit?
and ALSO, they are people who are undecided in what they wanna do for the rest of their lives. well, its not like they're indecisive or anything but most ppl would have a couple of preferences. not everybody's dead set on being i.e: a doctor or an accountant. some ppl may like actuarial science and accounting and also have an interest in law. so for different scholarships, they're gonna apply for different courses. what's so wrong with that? to that person, it's not like im gonna try and see if i can get this accounting scholarship, just for the hang of it. maybe accounting is just a second choice.. you know, just in case he doesnt get a medical scholarship. do you catch my drift??
so dont have those ppl with multiple offers a hard time. everybody tries their best to get a hold of a scholarship, they're not tryna boot you out of one. so think bout it before you go all negative on those who've gotten like 3 or 4 offers. its really unfair to talk bout them like that.
FYI : i'm not yet a scholar.. still waiting for the results. just like y'all.
AND ALSO, i think that its simply impossible for the country to just have ONE scholarship database. every company or organization is looking for something different. if you've gone to many interviews, you'll know.. i've been to quite a few in the past few weeks and i have to say, these interviews are hardly ever the same. some interviews are casual, they just wanna get to know you. some are gruelling, they drill you to the core. and they really test your patience and integrity in certain matters. so how exactly can it only be that each student gets interviewed once? we cant be that lazy right? attending interviews i'd say is a bloody honour. i met a girl from sarawak who flew to kl like 3 times in a month, just to attend these interviews. so be thankful and dont complain.
PLUS, i can bet you a billion bucks that if you check on all the scholars every year, no one person holds 2 scholarships at the same time. they have to give it up for other ppl. so YES, it is equal opportunity. some ppl mightve just been unlucky that the really kickass individuals were interviewing for the same scholarship. i feel your pain.
Holding two scholarship at once? Oh yes that is totally unfair even if they are eligible and deserve it.
If by 'getting' you mean offered than that's a yes too. But with the online system nowadays I don't think it happens anymore. Either you'll get one of the other or nothing at all depending on how you performed at the interview.
xinni
26-04-2008, 11:52 PM
well , in my point of view I don't think it's UNFAIR for people to secure two or more scholarships as we know one can only deserve a certain scholarship because he or she is outstanding enogh .. it's shows that their hardworks are being aid off at the end .. it's reasonable enough =)
Glassylicious
26-04-2008, 11:53 PM
Holding two scholarship at once? Oh yes that is totally unfair even if they are eligible and deserve it.
If by 'getting' you mean offered than that's a yes too. But with the online system nowadays I don't think it happens anymore. Either you'll get one of the other or nothing at all depending on how you performed at the interview.
Uh. So. I'm interested to know. What "online system" is this? Could you specify some organizations which employ the usage of this "online system"?
I wander that is it unfair for some scholars hold 2 scholarship at the same time? They eventually decrease the chances for others to gain the scholarship.
Uh. So. I'm interested to know. What "online system" is this? Could you specify some organizations which employ the usage of this "online system"?
Online system as in the application process. Most of the scholarships now are applied online. So in a way the database is shared to prevent scholars from getting 2 scholarships.
Let's say you applied for JPA and Petronas. You've been through both interviews. When the results are announced, very likely you will get one of the two rather than both.
Since the database is online, they can quickly check whether you have received one of the two.
Glassylicious
27-04-2008, 12:27 AM
Online system as in the application process. Most of the scholarships now are applied online. So in a way the database is shared to prevent scholars from getting 2 scholarships.
Let's say you applied for JPA and Petronas. You've been through both interviews. When the results are announced, very likely you will get one of the two rather than both.
Since the database is online, they can quickly check whether you have received one of the two.
And you are absolutely sure that organizations which ask applicants to apply online, actually share the information with one another?
I'm not absolutely sure but to a certain extent yes. It won't be fair if someone was offered Khazanah and Petronas would it?
He may (has to actually) reject either one and they're left with a vacant spot. They can find another person to fill it in but it would take sometime.
Again, I only assume but there is a high chance they do cross-ref with other corporations to make sure they don't sponsor the same candidate.
Glassylicious
27-04-2008, 12:54 AM
I'm not absolutely sure but to a certain extent yes. It won't be fair if someone was offered Khazanah and Petronas would it?
He may (has to actually) reject either one and they're left with a vacant spot. They can find another person to fill it in but it would take sometime.
Again, I only assume but there is a high chance they do cross-ref with other corporations to make sure they don't sponsor the same candidate.
Well, for some, it may not be fair, but the fact is, some applicants DO get offered scholarships by more than one organization.
If you scroll up, you will see my first post which contains my full opinion on this issue. Allow me to quote a relevant part.
"When you're an organization who is looking for a student to throw half a million ringgit at for their expensive overseas education, you kinda want to make sure that student is the best person for the job and that your sponsorship will be worthwhile. You want to see your half a million ringgit go to someone competent, and you want results."
So to reiterate, when they're all looking for nothing but the best [as these scholars usually end up working for them as bonds], what makes you think they'd give up a great candidate to another company? Wouldn't they both compete to get the best candidates? In the corporate world, it's a dog-eat-dog world, and every company wants to snatch up the best people for the job.
It may not be fair, but since they're the ones giving out the money, they are entitled to choose whoever they feel is the best.
True. But good candidates are not really that difficult to find. Of course out of the 5000 straight A1s students and the thousands other straight As students, not all would be able to carry themselves well. Perhaps half of it maybe.
I get your point on the dog-eat-dog world. Every corporation would definitely want the best candidates for the job. But all the corporations are mostly big Malaysian companies that are involved in the development of our country. When the cycle comes full circle, at the end of the day the candidates will contribute towards the country.
They may have sat down and sign an MoU between themselves. One thing for certain is that between JPA, MARA and Petronas they do have that. Possibly same goes between UEM and Khazanah.
Glassylicious
27-04-2008, 08:57 AM
True. But good candidates are not really that difficult to find. Of course out of the 5000 straight A1s students and the thousands other straight As students, not all would be able to carry themselves well. Perhaps half of it maybe.
I get your point on the dog-eat-dog world. Every corporation would definitely want the best candidates for the job. But all the corporations are mostly big Malaysian companies that are involved in the development of our country. When the cycle comes full circle, at the end of the day the candidates will contribute towards the country.
*nods* I completely understand your rationale.
But going back to the point...I still don't think the corporations correspond with each other in selecting their scholars, because a few people still get multiple offers. =(
Also, it'd be very difficult to tally everything, as some of these organizations [in terms of vision, aim, functions] are drastically different. In the event that two extremely different companies want the same candidate [let's assume Petronas and Bank Negara], each believing that this particular candidate is more suitable for their respective company, what will happen? =P
I agree with you as well. And yes there have been cases of people getting double offers.
Yeah Petronas and Bank Negara(BN) are two completely different corporations. They'll have different agendas to fulfil.
I guess since BN choose only a small amount of people from the beginning all the way until the scholarships are given out, double offers might not happen.
But I think the interviewees can see whether you are really interested in securing the scholarship with them. Unless you do have a strong passion for Economics and Engineering. To be honest, most (not all) candidates apply for a course just to secure a scholarship.
And to answer your question, I really do not know. Sorry. But a real life experience may help. Do you know anyone who gets a double offer from those companies?
Glassylicious
27-04-2008, 09:25 AM
I agree with you as well. And yes there have been cases of people getting double offers.
Yeah Petronas and Bank Negara(BN) are two completely different corporations. They'll have different agendas to fulfil.
I guess since BN choose only a small amount of people from the beginning all the way until the scholarships are given out, double offers might not happen.
But I think the interviewees can see whether you are really interested in securing the scholarship with them. Unless you do have a strong passion for Economics and Engineering. To be honest, most (not all) candidates apply for a course just to secure a scholarship.
And to answer your question, I really do not know. Sorry. But a real life experience may help. Do you know anyone who gets a double offer from those companies?
Specifically, I do not personally know anyone who got offers from both Petronas and Bank Negara [hence why in my previous post, I used the term "assume"]. However, I do know some people who got JPA and something else [the name of the company escapes me at the moment, as it was more than a year ago]. It's happened before. The Petronas + Bank Negara example I cited might be deemed a bit extreme, but yeah. =P
Oooh, here's a Recom user who was given JPA and Bank Negara offers. Or at least he implied to have received offers from both of them.
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6481
Hmm, it does happen. Personally, I myself do not know anyone who has gotten a double offer.
It'll be more interesting if we can know how many people who do get double offers. But I guess if it does happen, they may have a 'standby' list to ensure that the deserving people gets a scholarship when someone rejects it.
Glassylicious
27-04-2008, 09:41 AM
Hmm, it does happen. Personally, I myself do not know anyone who has gotten a double offer.
It'll be more interesting if we can know how many people who do get double offers. But I guess if it does happen, they may have a 'standby' list to ensure that the deserving people gets a scholarship when someone rejects it.
Yeah, that's how I think it's done.
My current opinion that they do not correspond with each other still stands [but I acknowledge that there might be some form of cooperation between JPA and MARA, thanks for reminding me about it]. I am willing to be disproved though, should anyone bring up some proof of information sharing and cooperation between these big organizations. =P
It has been a pleasure exchanging views with you, hfz. Thanks for offering a bit more perspective to the matter. =) Cheers.
Petronas and JPA/MARA does have an MoU between them. They clearly explained that at the EduCamp. Between others I really do not know.
And yes, it has been a pleasure too exchanging views with you, Glassylicious. All the best for your future studies then! :)
abuzar
27-04-2008, 12:32 PM
I don't think this will be fair then. Each sponsor give out scholarship because they have their own agenda and wanted the best talents possible for them. If everything is centralized, will they still have the incentive to provide better funds criteria to woo the top scholars.
Even though it will be equal opportunity, not all who apply deserves it. I think it is better to have separate so that they will be competitions between sponsors and applicants. Thus, better way of selecting. Plus, if everything is centralized, what if someone apply for certain course only to want to change it a short while after that? Won't that person be stuck like that? I know a lot of scholars who never think about their future careers even till after the point of the interview and receiving scholarships. The problem with centralized system, will it be flexible enough to accommodate any changes?
100% agree with you.well,for me,i dont think this centralized system is fair.what will happen if a student,well-rounded student suddenly fall sick on the interview day and he applied for 10 scholarships?He will be the unluckiest boy in the world.the good thing about separate interviews is that we can prepare more for the next interview.For example,i was very nervous when i attended the JPA interview(although i done pretty well in the interview.Alhamdulillah) but when i attended the Petronas Educamp although the Educamp was in Kuching and i flew all alone from Miri,i was not feeling that nervous.Besides,attending many interviews will prepare us for job interviews which are harder than the scholarship interviews.It does not matter if we attend many interviews because the interviews are conducted when we are actually "free".Although some of us may work or participated in NS programmme,but NS programme allow us to attend interviews and i also believe our employers will also allow us to attend the interviews,right?
27-04-2008, 05:52 PM
Again, I only assume but there is a high chance they do cross-ref with other corporations to make sure they don't sponsor the same candidate.Like the companies knows the meaning of "common good"
Like the companies knows the meaning of "common good"
I dunno. After all they are working towards a common goal.
kintaro_kun
27-04-2008, 11:05 PM
common goal, which is maximum profits for their own entities.
HaveYouMetTed
28-04-2008, 11:33 AM
[COLOR="Black"][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]there is no one person that can secure 2 scholarships. he can only be offered 2 or more.. by getting more than 1 offer, this person HAS to choose only 1. therefore, NOT depriving others of scholarships. bank negara isnt going to cut down the 50 scholarships to 40 if 10 of the candidates reject their offer, they're gonna offer these scholarships to the next best 10. so, do you understand this now? its pretty much common sense you know. so if you're good enough to get it, you'll get it, even if you're waitlisted. if you're not good enough, then im sorry, obviously the organisations think that someone else is better than you.
btw, the online system, is only for each company's use. my cousin works for bank negara and i asked him bout it. the online system, is for them to shortlist candidates without having to have 100 clerks sorting out the 8a's pile, the 10a's pile.. the online system is basically a filter for them to pick the best out of the thousands that apply.
and these companies do not share an online system. they are also in some ways, competing to get the best candidates. and as you can see, all the application forms are different. so information sharing is not done. and if they wanna share your information, they have to go through you first, cos it's all personal private information. read the terms and conditions.
so there you go, dont worry bout all these nonsense bout getting only 1 or not gettin anything at all. these organisations are gonna have a headache if they have to work with each other. so its impossible.
my friend was offered, petronas, bnm and jpa last year. when online application had already started. so dont go around scaring ppl okay. it's hard enough for us to sleep at night, anxiously awaiting the verdict.
it takes bout two weeks. 2 weeks isnt a very long time to wait for half a million bucks. its a really small price to pay if it means getting a scholarship. if you're not as good, just thank god you're waitlisted cos the possibility of ppl pulling out esp for bank negara and petronas are really really really high. cos a lot of students who wanna study med will usually go with jpa. and reject the rest. but khazanah, i dont think so. its bloody prestigious and we're all biting our fingernails hoping to get to the 3rd round.
Okay I get your point. And its interesting since, your friend got JPA and Petronas since they do have an MoU between them.
28-04-2008, 12:51 PM
Okay I get your point. And its interesting since, your friend got JPA and Petronas since they do have an MoU between them.
we don't know the content of the MOU. It might after all contain clauses regarding to double offers as necessary since they cannot get themselves to agree on who to take that particular guy...
They have stated that they will not give out double offers, to people who have obtained either one.
megatfais
04-05-2008, 12:50 PM
it shud be fine to apply for a number of scholarships.becuz u never know which one u wud get rite.its better to play safe.
but then to me its rather unfair to go for scholarships interviews wen u have one secured.and wen the other scholarships that u are applying are also offering the same course that u have been secured a place for.that wud affect other people chances.unless u are so undecided that u wan to be offered scholarships for diff courses.
i mean,hey comon,ur not the only one hu wants to go abroad.another case is,wen u wana do a specific course(medic usually,no offense) but then it is not offered that that body.dun bother to apply.cuz u know that u wud reject the offer.might as well u let other people who really wan to do the courses offered by the company to apply.
They have stated that they will not give out double offers, to people who have obtained either one.
i tot that is only applicable if we apply for the same course for both bodies?
05-05-2008, 04:57 PM
it shud be fine to apply for a number of scholarships.becuz u never know which one u wud get rite.its better to play safe.
but then to me its rather unfair to go for scholarships interviews wen u have one secured.and wen the other scholarships that u are applying are also offering the same course that u have been secured a place for.that wud affect other people chances.unless u are so undecided that u wan to be offered scholarships for diff courses.
i mean,hey comon,ur not the only one hu wants to go abroad.another case is,wen u wana do a specific course(medic usually,no offense) but then it is not offered that that body.dun bother to apply.cuz u know that u wud reject the offer.might as well u let other people who really wan to do the courses offered by the company.
i tot that is only applicable if we apply for the same course for both bodies?If i can get the better one why would i not want to go for it? Everybody will be looking out for their own interests anyway. What makes you think that YOU will get it instead if he doesn't apply for it? No, getting 30A1s in SPM isn't a good argument now.
megatfais
06-05-2008, 12:12 AM
If i can get the better one why would i not want to go for it? Everybody will be looking out for their own interests anyway. What makes you think that YOU will get it instead if he doesn't apply for it? No, getting 30A1s in SPM isn't a good argument now.
define ur term 'better one'.
if one doesnt apply for a scholarship,duhh,the chances of other people to get the scholarship is higher.as simple as that.i dun tink futher elaboration is needed on that.
06-05-2008, 01:03 AM
if one doesnt apply for a scholarship,duhh,the chances of other people to get the scholarship is higher.as simple as that.i dun tink futher elaboration is needed on that.
I doubt the chances will be much higher. If you are worthy of it, you would have gotten one by now...
Glassylicious
06-05-2008, 07:18 AM
I think by "better one" he meant a scholarship with a shorter bond perhaps, or one offered by a more prestigious organization. Or one which will offer a better job after graduation. Basically it's all relative. Different people are going to have different perceptions on which scholarship is "better".
As I mentioned in my very first post in this topic, people like to have choices so they apply to many places. It's human nature.
Olataro
06-05-2008, 11:11 AM
insecurity..................well i have seen ppl with as much as 8 scholarships...............
Who was it? It was my cousin. She was offered a scholarship when she was in form 3.
And thats no ordinary scholarship..............its the one from australia.............
megatfais
06-05-2008, 11:30 AM
I doubt the chances will be much higher. If you are worthy of it, you would have gotten one by now...
its crystal clear that wen less people apply for a scholarship then the chances of getting it is higher.i dun see any relevence of ur words.
06-05-2008, 11:35 AM
It isn't unfair, whatever the number of scholarships applied, and secured, a person can only choose one, then for the rest, the sponsors will the get some other students in waiting list to fill up the empty places left by him... Say he got offers of 7 different scholarships, but he will only end up choose one, other sponsors will then get another 6 persons to fill up the places, at the end, there are still 7 scholars... The only advantage he got is to choose the scholarship he wants, since he's really good, worked hard and deserves it, why not?
megatfais
06-05-2008, 11:40 AM
It isn't unfair, whatever the number of scholarships applied, and secured, a person can only choose one, then for the rest, the sponsors will the get some other students in waiting list to fill up the empty places left by him... Say he got offers of 7 different scholarships, but he will only end up choose one, other sponsors will then get another 6 persons to fill up the places, at the end, there are still 7 scholars... The only advantage he got is to choose the scholarship he wants, since he's really good, worked hard and deserves it, why not?
some companies dont have waiting list.
PaTiEnT
06-05-2008, 11:45 AM
^ Well, it could be that the candidate is versatile. You can have different aims and goals and whatnot, but require the a person of the same mettle to carry out these different goals.
Firstly, I don't think it's unfair that one person is offered many scholarships (this proves they are good), but it is unfair if a scholarship holder applies for another one "for the heck of it". It may be fun to see if you can get it, but you're killing other people's chances.
Secondly, I don't think scholarships shouldn't be "standardized" into one system either. Otherwise, there's lack of autonomy, not just in the diversity of people who manage to obtain these scholarships but I have a feeling that eventually, the selection process will become so corrupted it might as well be called JPA No. 2.
Cheers!
06-05-2008, 01:33 PM
It isn't unfair, whatever the number of scholarships applied, and secured, a person can only choose one, then for the rest, the sponsors will the get some other students in waiting list to fill up the empty places left by him... Say he got offers of 7 different scholarships, but he will only end up choose one, other sponsors will then get another 6 persons to fill up the places, at the end, there are still 7 scholars... The only advantage he got is to choose the scholarship he wants, since he's really good, worked hard and deserves it, why not?Correct: some people are soo deeply ingrained with their self pity that they see nothing else outside of their "poor" fate.
some companies dont have waiting list.
A lot of them still do...