View Full Version : Physics: Career Prospect
lindley
04-04-2008, 10:00 PM
quick question.
if im really into physics and wish to major in it, what jobs are available for me?
other than teaching. assuming ive gotten my masters lol
bean89
04-04-2008, 10:40 PM
r u a student still or already working and is looking for a job... with a cetificate of physics...??
physics, u can do lots of stuff... teaching is one of them, physicist, engineers erm... or lab work... not sure though...
but can u tell me stg? how to love PHYSICS?? i hate it but i have to hook up with it for the rest of my life...=(
lindley
04-04-2008, 10:42 PM
oh im a student, currently studying SAM.
but if i wanna do engineering, dont i have to major in engineering and not phy alone?
haha i dunno i find that just love it. its easy to understand, and you can act see the proof to the concepts. unlike chemistry LOL. im hopeless in that T.T
skyrainbow
04-04-2008, 11:12 PM
i think one can become teacher, physics paper writer, n scientist loh.
there r many kinds of scientist- meteorologist, biophysicist, theoretical physicist, the one wif nuclear energy, Hydrologists ....etc.
check
http://scidiv.bcc.ctc.edu/physics/careerchoice.html
i think those r v interesting n spiritually rewarding career.
but it does not guarantee that we'll get rich before 30, unless u find/invent sth or bring out some new theory n win some award (like the noble prize). imho
haiz.. if i can get rich by studying tis stuff, i'll go for it. but $ matter more to me loh. XD
wat's ur opinion ler?
bluez_aspic
04-04-2008, 11:53 PM
Physicists (especially those with postgrad qualifications) are commonly employed in the financial sector too. There's been increasing application of techniques routinely used in Physics to economic modeling (like Quantum Field Theory, Renormalization Group Analysis - it's just mathematics, really, only that these methods have yet to be made rigorous).
re: Physics research - there's a lot of stuff to be done in Applied Physics (condensed matter, quantum computing). I'm rather pessimistic about theoretical physics since there's little data to guide us and it's just light years away from our experimental capacity. Some are banking that the Large Hadron Collider would herald another Golden Age of (Theoretical) Physics - but I don't know enough to comment.
Personally I'm hoping that the Higgs particle will not be found 'coz that would be REALLY interesting :D
(then again, I was the one who hoped that Howard would beat Rudd, and Obama be trashed by Clinton too)
lindley
05-04-2008, 09:48 AM
i had no idea that physicist are employed in the financial sector also..o.O
05-04-2008, 10:07 AM
Physics is sth abstract as i noe..The formulae as well as the mathematical problems some are not apply in our daily life and work.
U r doing SAM now...r u choosing physics as well?
WilsonCWJ
05-04-2008, 10:37 AM
oh im a student, currently studying SAM.
but if i wanna do engineering, dont i have to major in engineering and not phy alone?
haha i dunno i find that just love it. its easy to understand, and you can act see the proof to the concepts. unlike chemistry LOL. im hopeless in that T.T
Hye Im currently taking up SAM too. And I love physics. Though currently im taking up the engineering/pure science package...
lindley
05-04-2008, 11:14 PM
wilson- omg does it mean youre in taylors? cos as far as i know, taylors is the only college offering SAM
starlemon-haha yeah my package includes physics =)
JiaZheng
06-04-2008, 11:20 AM
physics is actually a good undergrad prep for an mba, if that's what you want
lindley
06-04-2008, 01:20 PM
lol act i meant that if youre majoring in phy, just physics, not like pre engineering or what, what kinda jobs can you get? cos its like really general right?
bluez_aspic
06-04-2008, 02:06 PM
lol act i meant that if youre majoring in phy, just physics, not like pre engineering or what, what kinda jobs can you get? cos its like really general right?
This article is almost a decade old, but still:
http://www.tipmagazine.com/tip/INPHFA/vol-5/iss-6/p9.pdf
lindley
06-04-2008, 02:12 PM
haha omgosh thanks =)
06-04-2008, 02:58 PM
wilson- omg does it mean youre in taylors? cos as far as i know, taylors is the only college offering SAM
starlemon-haha yeah my package includes physics =)
Just a slight digression, Taylor is not the only place offering SAM, lots of other places provide them too.
lindley
06-04-2008, 05:26 PM
lol. like where ar?
act i was referring to subang only LOL
cos like sunway, it doesnt offer SAM but AUSMAT
06-04-2008, 07:06 PM
Well..majoring in physics ...the job prospect is indeed wide.Being a physicist is oso 1 of the job prospect.
Physicists explore and identify basic principles and laws governing the motion, energy, structure, and interactions of matter. Some physicists study theoretical areas, such as the nature of time and the origin of the universe; others apply their knowledge of physics to practical areas, such as the development of advanced materials, electronic and optical devices, and medical equipment.
Physicists design and perform experiments with lasers, particle accelerators, electron microscopes, mass spectrometers, and other equipment. On the basis of their observations and analysis, they attempt to discover and explain laws describing the forces of nature, such as gravity, electromagnetism, and nuclear interactions. Experiments also help physicists find ways to apply physical laws and theories to problems in nuclear energy, electronics, optics, materials, communications, aerospace technology, and medical instrumentation.
Most physicists work in research and development. Some do basic research to increase scientific knowledge. Others conduct applied research to build upon the discoveries made through basic research and work to develop new devices, products, and processes. For example, basic research in solid-state physics led to the development of transistors and, then, integrated circuits used in computers.
Physicists also design research equipment, which often has additional unanticipated uses. For example, lasers are used in surgery, microwave devices function in ovens, and measuring instruments can analyze blood or the chemical content of foods.
A small number of physicists work in inspection, testing, quality control, and other production-related jobs in industry.
Much physics research is done in small or medium-sized laboratories. However, experiments in plasma, nuclear, and high-energy physics, as well as in some other areas of physics, require extremely large, expensive equipment, such as particle accelerators. Physicists in these subfields often work in large teams. Although physics research may require extensive experimentation in laboratories, research physicists still spend much time in offices planning, recording, analyzing, and reporting on research.
Physicists generally specialize in one of many subfields: elementary particle physics, nuclear physics, atomic and molecular physics, condensed matter physics (solid-state physics), optics, acoustics, space physics, plasma physics, or the physics of fluids. Some specialize in a subdivision of one of these subfields. For example, within condensed-matter physics, specialties include superconductivity, crystallography, and semiconductors. However, all physics involves the same fundamental principles, so specialties may overlap, and physicists may switch from one subfield to another. Also, growing numbers of physicists work in interdisciplinary fields, such as biophysics, chemical physics, and geophysics.
Those with bachelor degrees in physics are rarely qualified to fill positions in research or in teaching at the college level. They are, however, usually qualified to work as technicians or research assistants in engineering-related areas, in software development and other scientific fields, or in setting up computer networks and sophisticated laboratory equipment. Increasingly, some may qualify for applied research jobs in private industry or take on nontraditional physics roles, often in computer science, such as systems analysts or database administrators. Some become science teachers in secondary schools.
The qualifications are many.For u who really into majoring physics. u must possess mathematical ability, problem-solving and analytical skills, an inquisitive mind, imagination, and initiative are important traits for anyone planning a career in physics or astronomy. Prospective physicists who hope to work in industrial laboratories applying physics knowledge to practical problems should broaden their educational background to include courses outside of physics, such as economics, information technology, and business management. Good oral and written communication skills also are important because many physicists work as part of a team, write research papers or proposals, or have contact with clients or customers with nonphysics backgrounds.
Go to achieve ur dreams if u r really clear with the word 'PHYSICS' .
Those who really into acheiving their dream in preseverance,it may really come true as well.
06-04-2008, 07:53 PM
A basic Physics degree, a plateform for most to venture into research.
ph7klw
03-05-2008, 04:46 PM
I am a physicist by trainning and I have a PhD and several postdoc experience from top universities around the world. If you want to study physics because you want to work on the field of physics, then , make sure that you are very good. It is extremely hard to find a permanent position in the field of physics research, needless to say, almost non existence in Malaysia. You surely need a Phd to venture into research.
Of course graduating from physics allow u to work as an engineer too. I went to a career fair in Malaysia just a few weeks ago. I approached an IT firm. I told him I was trained a physicist. He immediately replied, "oh that would be hard to get the job."
If you really like physics, make sure that there is some industrial relavance even more for your PhD. Be sure that you have lots of emotional support along your way to become a full-fledged physicist if you are Malaysian. The road is tough but not managable.Be sure that you are willing to accept that people who are more stupid than you can earn twice a much money as u.
It takes more than intelligence and perservance to become a physicist.
lindley
03-05-2008, 05:18 PM
what abt becoming a consultant? *with a phd of course*
ph7klw
04-05-2008, 11:11 AM
of course u can. However, do aim the job market around the world not necessary in Malaysia. It is obvious that when you search jobstreet.com.my , the consultants they needed are mainly IT. Finding employers in private sector who are willing to employ you with a work permit/visa in the field of physics is a needless to say not easy.
lindley
04-05-2008, 11:13 AM
lol act i plan to work outside of msia? esp like in the US cos thats where the research is happening?
truthseeker
05-05-2008, 04:13 PM
I'm very interested in physics as well and plan to do a career related to physics, not so much on engineering though. Well, I have narrowed down a few fields which I would like to see myself doing in time to come: quantum physics, material physics and astrophysics (quantum physics being the most preferred). Money is not my main agenda when it comes to career, so I think seeing people who are "more stupid" earning more money than me won't be a problem. I would surely liked to know more about the careers related to physics. Thx to lindley for starting the thread.=)
05-05-2008, 04:16 PM
I'm very interested in physics as well and plan to do a career related to physics, not so much on engineering though. Well, I have narrowed down a few fields which I would like to see myself doing in time to come: quantum physics, material physics and astrophysics (quantum physics being the most preferred). Money is not my main agenda when it comes to career, so I think seeing people who are "more stupid" earning more money than me won't be a problem. I would surely liked to know more about the careers related to physics. Thx to lindley for starting the thread.=)
Quantum physics? Nice... good luck to you there.
human99
06-05-2008, 12:39 AM
I am a physicist by trainning and I have a PhD and several postdoc experience from top universities around the world. If you want to study physics
May i know how many years of tertiary education is needed altogether to be a full-fledge physicist after all the doctoral etc?
Is it a big different taking pure/applied physics in undergrad?
Caltzx
11-05-2008, 10:42 PM
Read this article written by ZapperZ. He's a working physicist and he even has a blog. If you would read it, I think you'll realize it's worth your time. =)
http://docs.google.com/View?docid=df5w5j9q_5gj6wmt
And this is his blog:
http://physicsandphysicists.blogspot.com/
Having the dream of being a physicist is definitely worth it, though it's gonna be hard. If you choose this career, bear in mind that you'll have to go through and through. But anyway... good luck to you!
Yours Truly,
Einsteinium.
P.S. I'm also aiming for this. So I know how you're feeling. T_T
bluez_aspic
11-05-2008, 11:02 PM
Hey, thanks for the links =) Did a bit of Googling and discovered that ZapperZ's the guy who started http://www.physicsforums.com/. Awesome!
faizin
12-05-2008, 03:05 PM
Yeah,im also get hooked up in Physics.I prefer quantum physics and astrophysics. I agree with you that money is not the main agenda.Basically, a scientist does not put money on their main priority. The passion of getting to know or discover something is what they wanted.
I want to become theoretical physicist and by God will, i hope i can pursue my dream for winning the nobel prize for physics:P. If you are interested in Physics try to read Physics book that is wrote by Richard Feynman, Paul Davis and Michio Kaku. They were very good theoretical physicist that can explain something very clearly for the beginners.
truthseeker
17-05-2008, 01:43 PM
Thank you for all the links and also for the recommendation of physics books, will definitely look out for them. :)
ph7klw
17-05-2008, 04:17 PM
so many dreamers here just like I was young, wanna to become an astrophysicist. In school ,everyone thought that i would win a Nobel prize. Luckily or unlucky, a major disaster diverted me form majoring the field.
Looking back, such position as an astrophysicist is often reserve to its own citizen.. Top-notch physics job in US or UK often requires you have national clearance. If you are from foregin country, you wouldn't stand a chance. So, forget about working in CERN, nuclear fusion and other big project.
Being a theoretical physics, you just need a fast computer and working in academia.
I also recommend people reading
http://www.amazon.com/My-Life-Quant-Reflections-Physics/dp/0471394203
human99
18-05-2008, 01:38 AM
so many dreamers here just like I was young, wanna to become an astrophysicist. In school ,everyone thought that i would win a Nobel prize. Luckily or unlucky, a major disaster diverted me form majoring the field.
Looking back, such position as an astrophysicist is often reserve to its own citizen.. Top-notch physics job in US or UK often requires you have national clearance. If you are from foregin country, you wouldn't stand a chance. So, forget about working in CERN, nuclear fusion and other big project.
Being a theoretical physics, you just need a fast computer and working in academia.
I also recommend people reading
http://www.amazon.com/My-Life-Quant-Reflections-Physics/dp/0471394203
got a few queations to ask, hope everyone who sees this could help answer
thanks in advance:
1)does working in academia gives good future prospect?
2)how long does it takes to finish all the postgrad/doctoral etc?
3)what is the difference between a undergrad degree in physics and applied physics?
4)I am going to study in physics NUS or NTU in Singapore, anyone know which one is better and why?
ph7klw
18-05-2008, 02:10 PM
thanks in advance:
3)what is the difference between a undergrad degree in physics and applied physics?
4)I am going to study in physics NUS or NTU in Singapore, anyone know which one is better and why?
1. Getting into academia in Physics is just like choosing a number to win a jackpot. It depends on whether there is a vacancy available and whether there is an opening with is in your field of expertise. Hot research topics, change every 5 years. So keep on eyes on it when you start doing a PhD.
Whether working in academia give u a good prospect depends on your meaning of what is a good prospect.
2). In UK, u need at least 3 years excluding yiour writing period. A good student can take 6 months to finish the thesis. However, it is common that people can take more than 6 months to finish a thesis. I have seen a Malaysian Mara scholar taking 8 years to finish writing the thesis. It also depends on how many unexpected problem u might encounter during your PhD. In US, it takes a year longer. Postdoc, is per contract basis. It is rare to find a postdoc of more than 3 years. 1-2 years are common. This is the period where your research is most productive and also a period where you access your chance to get into permanent position in academia.
3. In applied physics, you wouldnt study string theory, quantum electrodyanmics, planetary science and high energy physics. You will study something more practical and emphasis is often given in experimentation, such as material science, optics, electromagnetism. You are basically using physics with the aim of developing new technologies or solving an engineering problem. Research topics tend to have potential application. One of the hot research topic within applied physics at the moment is graphene.
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphene
Nowadays, research in applied physics is highly multi-displinary, a cross fertilisation of biology, chemistry, physics and engineering. Good university often provides a multidisplinary research for PhD students.
4. I cannot commend on this.
thanks in advance:
1. Getting into academia in Physics is just like choosing a number to win a jackpot. It depends on whether there is a vacancy available and whether there is an opening with is in your field of expertise. Hot research topics, change every 5 years. So keep on eyes on it when you start doing a PhD.
Whether working in academia give u a good prospect depends on your meaning of what is a good prospect.
2). In UK, u need at least 3 years excluding yiour writing period. A good student can take 6 months to finish the thesis. However, it is common that people can take more than 6 months to finish a thesis. I have seen a Malaysian Mara scholar taking 8 years to finish writing the thesis. It also depends on how many unexpected problem u might encounter during your PhD. In US, it takes a year longer. Postdoc, is per contract basis. It is rare to find a postdoc of more than 3 years. 1-2 years are common. This is the period where your research is most productive and also a period where you access your chance to get into permanent position in academia.
3. In applied physics, you wouldnt study string theory, quantum electrodyanmics, planetary science and high energy physics. You will study something more practical and emphasis is often given in experimentation, such as material science, optics, electromagnetism. You are basically using physics with the aim of developing new technologies or solving an engineering problem. Research topics tend to have potential application. One of the hot research topic within applied physics at the moment is graphene.
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphene
Nowadays, research in applied physics is highly multi-displinary, a cross fertilisation of biology, chemistry, physics and engineering. Good university often provides a multidisplinary research for PhD students.
4. I cannot commend on this.
orangie
26-05-2008, 01:37 AM
Congratulations to those who got the offer letter, can share the content of the letter.
human99
27-05-2008, 01:37 AM
Congratulations to those who got the offer letter, can share the content of the letter.
what do u want to be shared???
bean89
27-05-2008, 10:05 AM
Yeah,im also get hooked up in Physics.I prefer quantum physics and astrophysics. I agree with you that money is not the main agenda.Basically, a scientist does not put money on their main priority. The passion of getting to know or discover something is what they wanted.
I want to become theoretical physicist and by God will, i hope i can pursue my dream for winning the nobel prize for physics:P. If you are interested in Physics try to read Physics book that is wrote by Richard Feynman, Paul Davis and Michio Kaku. They were very good theoretical physicist that can explain something very clearly for the beginners.
any suggestions for someone who initially did not like physics but accidentally have no choice but to devote his/her life to physics.... and now she's learning to cope with physics and try loving it....any recommendation of books or stg??
Read this article written by ZapperZ. He's a working physicist and he even has a blog. If you would read it, I think you'll realize it's worth your time. =)
http://docs.google.com/View?docid=df5w5j9q_5gj6wmt
And this is his blog:
http://physicsandphysicists.blogspot.com/
Having the dream of being a physicist is definitely worth it, though it's gonna be hard. If you choose this career, bear in mind that you'll have to go through and through. But anyway... good luck to you!
Yours Truly,
Einsteinium.
P.S. I'm also aiming for this. So I know how you're feeling. T_T
You just gave the the best url i've ever got and lots and lots of hugs for you! You've made my day!!!