View Full Version : See Hua the technology buff

06-04-2008, 07:14 AM
Time for me to post up something about myself.

I am See Hua. At this time I am residing in Germany taking the course Optoelectronics Engineering at Hochschule der Wirtschafts and Technologie Aalen.

Well, I like to use and get to know more about the latest technology that is going to power the world right now or in the future.

If you guys have any questions, you may post them here.

p/s: I am a proud Sarawakian, the people who the others claim still lives on the trees...

06-04-2008, 09:34 AM
Do you live on the trees? Do you have elevators to climb up them? :nuts :nuts :nuts

06-04-2008, 10:28 AM
Wow, haha, many people has a wrong idea about Sarawakians. Btw, mind to explain more about your interest and hobbies? What's your motto in life ?

caramel_nut
06-04-2008, 12:49 PM
Next time if I happen to visit Germany, can host me? :P

I visited UK and France in Jan but didn't go to Germany, so itching to go there someday.

07-04-2008, 04:53 AM
Next time if I happen to visit Germany, can host me? :P

I visited UK and France in Jan but didn't go to Germany, so itching to go there someday.Sure, just give me some time to prepare for your arrival. Else you will get to sleep on the cold hard floor:P

Wow, haha, many people has a wrong idea about Sarawakians. Btw, mind to explain more about your interest and hobbies? What's your motto in life ?
Interests: I am pretty interesed in the world of technology, and I spend a great deal of the time in a day reading up on it. I love to know more about the computers that I am using and have managed to gather up a mass of theoratical and real world situations of both minor and major computer problems and how to go on and spot them as well as solving them to a degree.

Apart from that, i do mod my phone (w960i) once in a while (software only), and played with Linux (currently Ubuntu 8.04 Beta).

besides these geeky stuffs, I love to read up on a lot of things to know more about the workings of the world around me. I've been reading books on personal development and financials to help improve my chances of surviving the world today and not being bogged down by it.

Hobbies: reading, surfing the net, playing computer games, modding the phone, photography, visiting friends bla bla bla :p

Motto: Nothing is impossible

Do you live on the trees? Do you have elevators to climb up them? :nuts :nuts :nutsWE are the ones that invented the first elevators using ropes and rakit like platform to serve our needs. Afterwards, due to the huge amount of human power needed to power it, we decided to use the power of the lightning that occurs often in Sarawak to electrically power the lifts. The energy harnessed this way was stored in the first batteries ever invented in the world. And that was like... 500 years before the west even fount it.

caramel_nut
07-04-2008, 07:42 AM
Sure, just give me some time to prepare for your arrival. Else you will get to sleep on the cold hard floor:PHaha. No problem.. Will def inform if I'm going but I think I won't be going to Europe for some time. Already broke from my January trip. Save money first... :P

11-04-2008, 09:11 AM
Hello..see Hua..since u r studying engineering now..i would like to ask u some question..
how is the wireless zone being created?:)

11-04-2008, 01:49 PM
Hello..see Hua..since u r studying engineering now..i would like to ask u some question..
how is the wireless zone being created?:)
If you are talking about wifi, you will need a wireless router or at least a wireless access point to create a wifi zone. Note that obstacles like walls can affect the quality of the signals...

ZhannaC
01-05-2008, 02:21 AM
Time for an obligatory visit.. since I see you always kacau people's hangat posts.. just a bit off topic only mah..:P

Vseehua..

If I were to read it out loud, it'll sound like, 'We see Hua'. Is this some sort of ploy to feel flattered?? Wherever you go, forumers will 'see Hua'. Assuming Hua is your name lah. :laugh

Anyway, nice to meet you! Great job on this forum. Don't know where you mods find the time to actually moderate posts, and do a good job on it. :)

Er. You're a girl, right? I dunno.. :(

01-05-2008, 07:36 AM
V for Vendetta!! :D

ZhannaC
01-05-2008, 09:50 AM
Remember remember the 5th of November,
The gunpowder treason and plot
I know of no reason
Why...

So she is a she?

02-05-2008, 03:08 AM
Hmm... should i change my nick to reflect the fact that i am a guy?

02-05-2008, 10:12 AM
Time for an obligatory visit.. since I see you always kacau people's hangat posts.. just a bit off topic only mah..:P

Vseehua..

If I were to read it out loud, it'll sound like, 'We see Hua'. Is this some sort of ploy to feel flattered?? Wherever you go, forumers will 'see Hua'. Assuming Hua is your name lah. :laugh

Anyway, nice to meet you! Great job on this forum. Don't know where you mods find the time to actually moderate posts, and do a good job on it. :)

wahaha....see?.....I am not the only one who mistaken you as a "she" when I was still a newbies.....blueks!

Zhannac......see hua is a "he" la.....a very man "he" oo.....rite, seehua?:P:laugh

02-05-2008, 06:54 PM

Vseehua..

no, every single letter in my nick are derived from my real life name... now go and figure out what the V means... (note: not a christian name)

stupidboy
02-05-2008, 07:14 PM
I'll guess that the V stands for Voon. Am I correct?

02-05-2008, 07:19 PM
I'll guess that the V stands for Voon. Am I correct?
Correct! Although i am pretty surprised that people can guess it. It's an relatively uncommon surname after all...

stupidboy
02-05-2008, 07:24 PM
Correct! Although i am pretty surprised that people can guess it. It's an relatively uncommon surname after all...

Don't be surprised. It's not really that uncommon. After all I got a friend with that surname as well.

yogurt_addict
02-05-2008, 09:42 PM
Vseehua is a GUY ar?! lol...........i've been taken u as a she for such a looooooooong time
btw, i suggest tht u dont b so strict at hot threads....or else u wil b "everybody hates vseehua"...dont b annoyed, jz a suggestion

02-05-2008, 09:45 PM
Vseehua is a GUY ar?! lol...........i've been taken u as a she for such a looooooooong time
btw, i suggest tht u dont b so strict at hot threads....or else u wil b "everybody hates vseehua"...dont b annoyed, jz a suggestion
Well, no one told me that power is sweet anyway... The rules are there to be enforced. I did tone down my activity over the last few days anyway...

02-05-2008, 09:47 PM
Haha how is See Hua too strict? We have already laid out those rules in black and white, so we are only enforcing the rule to prevent serious digression. Patrolling and doing all the thread-moving, closing, deleting etc IS NOT our favourite work. And we don't get paid for doing all these, mind you. All the patrolling is done for the shared benefit of members.

Anyway, if there are cases where you feel some action is not justified and is not done according to the policies, you are always free to point it out either via PM or via one of the "complaints / comments" threads in the ReCom Headquarter. If we have made a mistake we are very happy to reverse it. (Yup all the deleted posts are kind of revertable, it's kind of a "recycle bin" thing when they are deleted)

ZhannaC
02-05-2008, 11:37 PM
Vseehua is a guy???

Oh.

It helps if you change your avatar then.. I must admit that kinda influenced my judgement.. :P

So much for thinking a girl was super interested in technology. :(

03-05-2008, 09:21 AM
Un-break my heart
Say you'll love me again
Undo this hurt you caused
When you walked out the door
And walked outta my life
Un-cry these tears
I cried so many nights
Un-break my heart
My heart~~~~

lindley
03-05-2008, 11:25 AM
zhannac LOL.
dam creative lar you.

hows the german language btw? hard? =p

ZhannaC
03-05-2008, 12:19 PM
Un-break my heart
Say you'll love me again
Undo this hurt you caused
When you walked out the door
And walked outta my life
Un-cry these tears
I cried so many nights
Un-break my heart
My heart~~~~

*Mends your heart back although I'm no doctor* I love you, youngyew...

Er wait, just to confirm, you're a guy right? I'm not the kind to love girls wan..

zhannac LOL.
dam creative lar you.

It's all part of being a student. Lameness just comes part and parcel of studying. :wink

Vseehua, why choose a flower as your avatar?? I know we shouldn't stereotype flowers as female and all but still..

03-05-2008, 12:48 PM
it's a lotus I think....?X?J?d????V...that's appliable for both gentleman and lady :amuse

*just my guess though

lindley
03-05-2008, 01:48 PM
lol potong stim right?
thinking that the 'girl' is interested in techie. LOL. xD

d3stinydanc3withm3
03-05-2008, 02:38 PM
p/s: I am a proud Sarawakian, the people who the others claim still lives on the trees...

Eh what are you talking about. We still live in trees la. But we've adapted la. Do you know, we have satellite dishes fixed to the top of the trees. And we've proudly switched from Indonesian parabolas to Astro ones, though they are mostly fake ones. But no matter, this shows that we are up-to-date!! Fan-tas-tic right?

lindley
03-05-2008, 05:29 PM
lol!! no comment xD

PaTiEnT
03-05-2008, 10:56 PM
*climbs up the tree and pokes vseehua*

d3stinydanc3withm3
03-05-2008, 11:29 PM
If you are talking about wifi, you will need a wireless router or at least a wireless access point to create a wifi zone. Note that obstacles like walls can affect the quality of the signals...

What about government plans to develop entire wi-fi zones in cities or even residential areas? They've been talking about doing this for some time, but knowing our gov, do you think it'll be done in the very near future?

stupidboy
04-05-2008, 01:43 AM
I pity you vseehua. First being thought of as someone who lives on trees. Then being mistaken for a girl. After that, being poked by PaTiEnt. Wonder what will happen to you next. Anyway, I have the same problem with you as well. Always being mistaken as a girl when people read my name.

04-05-2008, 01:49 AM
Eer, stupidboy mistaken as a girl? :D

twinkle
04-05-2008, 02:03 AM
See Hua is a product of SMK DPHA Gapor Stampin

stupidboy
04-05-2008, 02:11 AM
Eer, stupidboy mistaken as a girl? :D

I meant my real name.

d3stinydanc3withm3
04-05-2008, 02:28 AM
See Hua is a product of SMK DPHA Gapor Stampin

That's a long name. In my area the longest is SMK TDTHB (Tun Datu Tuanku Haji Bujang)

lindley
04-05-2008, 10:52 AM
ahahah im from SMK USJ 4. finish story. dam short xD

jun
04-05-2008, 03:48 PM
i am from HSM(highschool Muar) the shortest!!!!

stupidboy
04-05-2008, 06:25 PM
And now we talk about schools in here. Guess that for Recomers, schools are more interesting than vseehua. :laugh

05-05-2008, 03:03 PM
I am just two days away and my thread had grown to immense proportions? O.o What about government plans to develop entire wi-fi zones in cities or even residential areas? They've been talking about doing this for some time, but knowing our gov, do you think it'll be done in the very near future?From the examples that i get from the implementation in several cities in the world, it can be done. But don't expect T1 like speeds with it.

See Hua is a product of SMK DPHA Gapor StampinWhat the heck! Did you employ private eyes to secretly investigate me? Yea, I am a proud product of SMK Datuk Patinggi Haji Abdul Gapor, Stampin in Kuching (try beating the length of the name).

I pity you vseehua. First being thought of as someone who lives on trees. Then being mistaken for a girl. After that, being poked by PaTiEnt. Wonder what will happen to you next. Anyway, I have the same problem with you as well. Always being mistaken as a girl when people read my name.nvm la, i am already pretty used to misconceptions already.

05-05-2008, 03:09 PM
Yea, I am a proud product of SMK Datuk Patinggi Haji Abdul Gapor, Stampin in Kuching (try beating the length of the name).
Reminds me of Kennysia's post about super-long names in Kuching:
http://kennysia.com/archives/2005/06/datuknametoolon.php

05-05-2008, 04:48 PM
Reminds me of Kennysia's post about super-long names in Kuching:
http://kennysia.com/archives/2005/06/datuknametoolon.php
Yea i remembered that. I would have posted that along with my post if i am not that lazy :p (actually i am patrolling ReCom at work now :P)

It helps if you change your avatar then.. I must admit that kinda influenced my judgement.. :P

So much for thinking a girl was super interested in technology. :(How do you like my new avatar? :P

Sorry la, but disappointments for overexpectations are frequent in life :P

jun
05-05-2008, 04:57 PM
haha vseehua i dunno wats your avatar?? icannot see properly...is it casper or dragon ball??anyway got a few questions here
do you ever travel in germany during summer breaks or winter
are jpa scholars allowed to travel to other european countries like england with their own money
with a malaysian driving license can we drive in germany( want to try auto-bahn)

DANKE!

05-05-2008, 05:02 PM
haha vseehua i dunno wats your avatar?? icannot see properly...is it casper or dragon ball??anyway got a few questions here
do you ever travel in germany during summer breaks or winter
are jpa scholars allowed to travel to other european countries like england with their own money
with a malaysian driving license can we drive in germany( want to try auto-bahn)

DANKE!Darn! No image editor at my office computer :P Will have to edit it after i am back home later.

You are allowed and even encouraged to travel during the holidays. It'll be a waste if you don't travel during the holidays when you are studying here.

A malaysian licence is only valid for half a years time after the time when you first reached Germany. Means it's pretty useless here. To be able to drive here you will need to apply for the German driving licence (costs about 1000-1500 Euro in total for courses and practicals).

No, International driving licence is also valid for half a year (same as malaysia)

Al-Bert
05-05-2008, 05:21 PM
Vseehua, since you are optoelectronic engineering student, laser pointers should be a familiar gadget for you.

I have only one red laser pointer. Hence, is it possible for you to make me a green laser pointer, a blue laser pointer and a yellow laser pointer?

05-05-2008, 05:26 PM
Vseehua, since you are optoelectronic engineering student, laser pointers should be a familiar gadget for you.

I have only one red laser pointer. Hence, is it possible for you to make me a green laser pointer, a blue laser pointer and a yellow laser pointer?I've seen a green one owned by a senior here, but it's too powerful for public use (certified for use of trained engineers only). I haven't seen any yellow or blue ones yet though.

05-05-2008, 06:31 PM
haha vseehua i dunno wats your avatar?? icannot see properly...is it casper or dragon ball??
DANKE!

or casper with a red modzilla firefox?:P

casper the friendly ghost is gaining more and more fans here on recom....:amuse

update:haha, now casper the friendly ghost with trio villain ghost pulak:P

05-05-2008, 06:35 PM
So that i can haunt ReCom better

05-05-2008, 07:23 PM
Do you have casper fetish or geistophile or something? I think some of your earliest avatars in recom were also casper-related ... :nod:nod

ZhannaC
05-05-2008, 10:08 PM
How do you like my new avatar? :P

Sorry la, but disappointments for overexpectations are frequent in life :P

Well it's pretty neutral now.

PRETTY neutral. Casper is one of those 'cute cute' stuff that usually only girls will go "eeee sooooo cuuteee!" over it. :amuse Better than a flower lah, lotus or whatever you wish to call it.

twinkle
05-05-2008, 11:01 PM
What the heck! Did you employ private eyes to secretly investigate me? Yea, I am a proud product of SMK Datuk Patinggi Haji Abdul Gapor, Stampin in Kuching (try beating the length of the name).

Cheers~

We're Gaporians :)

caramel_nut
05-05-2008, 11:30 PM
I've seen a green one owned by a senior here, but it's too powerful for public use (certified for use of trained engineers only). I haven't seen any yellow or blue ones yet though.
I have seen a green one but it's for astronomy star gazing purposes. Super powerful. My astronomy prof uses it to point out stars and planets to us.

stupidboy
06-05-2008, 01:27 AM
Hahaha... Didn't think you would change your avatar just because you were mistaken as a girl. :laugh

jun
08-05-2008, 03:44 PM
Seehua need to ask you a few questions....which uni are you in now( in germany)
and which uni is currently the best to do mechanical engineering( specialising in automobile)...and does JPA send most of its scholars to BErlin or its scattered??

08-05-2008, 03:52 PM
Seehua need to ask you a few questions....which uni are you in now( in germany)
and which uni is currently the best to do mechanical engineering( specialising in automobile)...and does JPA send most of its scholars to Frankfurt or its scattered??
HTW-Aalen

Since i am not dong mechanical engineering i am not able to answer your question.

For those who are going to INTEC, JPA will send them to any of the unis found in the state of Baden-W?rttemberg. And yes, they are scattered all over

jun
08-05-2008, 07:11 PM
hey have you heard anyone being sent to Heidelberg university??since heidelberg is in the state of Baden-wurttemberg....i heard it is the top uni in germany is that true? ranked 60 in the world...btw wat does HTW stand for??? H = Hochschule T=?? W=?? hmm I was just guessing bout the hochschule...correct me if i am wrong ah...

09-05-2008, 02:38 PM
though it sounds kinda spooky.....

but I like the signature u use, haha!:D

09-05-2008, 03:18 PM
hey have you heard anyone being sent to Heidelberg university??since heidelberg is in the state of Baden-wurttemberg....i heard it is the top uni in germany is that true? ranked 60 in the world...btw wat does HTW stand for??? H = Hochschule T=?? W=?? hmm I was just guessing bout the hochschule...correct me if i am wrong ah...

Allow me to answer a few of your questions.

JPA scholars are sent to FH or now currently known as Hochschule f?r Technik only. Think of University of Applied Sciences if you may or an Engineering school.

As far as I know, no one in current JPA scholar after SPM program is in Heidelberg. Heidelberg is famous for social sciences and medicine I guess.

HTW= Hochschule f?r Technik und Wirtschaft.

So far JPA scholars are based in the state of Baden W?rttemberg only. Some are in the Cologne area (different circumstances which I will not elaborate).

In Baden, good places for automotive are Esslingen, Reutlingen, Ulm.

For Ulm I can personally say that we have sponsor from Porsche, A new workshop being built for automotive engineering and a student racecar project.

Esslingen have great reputation as it is closely linked to the automotive industry with supporters such as Daimler.

jun
09-05-2008, 06:20 PM
Allow me to answer a few of your questions.

JPA scholars are sent to FH or now currently known as Hochschule f?r Technik only. Think of University of Applied Sciences if you may or an Engineering school.

As far as I know, no one in current JPA scholar after SPM program is in Heidelberg. Heidelberg is famous for social sciences and medicine I guess.

HTW= Hochschule f?r Technik und Wirtschaft.

So far JPA scholars are based in the state of Baden W?rttemberg only. Some are in the Cologne area (different circumstances which I will not elaborate).

In Baden, good places for automotive are Esslingen, Reutlingen, Ulm.

For Ulm I can personally say that we have sponsor from Porsche, A new workshop being built for automotive engineering and a student racecar project.

Esslingen have great reputation as it is closely linked to the automotive industry with supporters such as Daimler.

wow tanks for answering....and you are in automotive is it?

09-05-2008, 07:25 PM
I'm in mechatronic but am a fan of cars in general. I wanted to pursue my degree in automotive at first but decided against it as I think I want to broaden my knowledge and see what other fields have to offer.

I'm currently specializing in mechanical simulations and have been offered a couple of jobs after my studies. So I'm happy.

jun
09-05-2008, 07:34 PM
i am also very interested in automotive...the reason why i want to pursue my studies in Germany was because i someday hope i can work with Daimler, BMW or even Porsche...i was ecstatic wen i found out that german engineering scholars were being sent to Baden-Wurtemburg(forget the spelling) becoz thats the state where large automotive companies hail from eg:daimler,porsche.etc....rite??actually it came out in papers to day that Germans are going to increase their trade with Malaysia soon...hmmm...so is wat is the job security like if we specialise in automotive?? are the job prospects good??

09-05-2008, 07:56 PM
Definitely good. There is a constant demand for skilled engineers in Germany if not Europe.

A word of warning, automotive is very demanding and competitive and they only go for the best, like all the companies here so don't expect to be spoonfed. However, the rewards are great too. Germany at least allows you to have 30 days paid holiday per year, that's 6 weeks!

Also, networking skills are a must. I've learnt the importance of it quite late but better late than never.

jun
09-05-2008, 08:29 PM
i see isee...wow thats interesting..tanks for answering all my questions...hopefully i will be able to go there someday to pursue my degree studies...tanks again

13-05-2008, 09:33 PM
i see isee...wow thats interesting..tanks for answering all my questions...hopefully i will be able to go there someday to pursue my degree studies...tanks again
Good luck. Sorry for not answering your questions myself. Was away for the last 4 days in Sweden

jun
13-05-2008, 10:22 PM
Good luck. Sorry for not answering your questions myself. Was away for the last 4 days in Sweden

no its ok...dun mind dun mind...

16-05-2008, 04:12 PM
Anybody in Germany wanna to be my tuition teacher for German? Vseehua?

16-05-2008, 04:16 PM
Anybody in Germany wanna to be my tuition teacher for German? Vseehua?
Ask if you have questions ;)

16-05-2008, 04:22 PM
Wow, free tuition teacher for new language, I like it!
How to express in German if I want to say my name is XXX?

16-05-2008, 04:25 PM
Wow, free tuition teacher for new language, I like it!
How to express in German if I want to say my name is XXX?
I am bla bla bla: Ich bin bla bla bla
My name is: Meine Name ist "put in your name here", or Ich hei?e "put anything her."

16-05-2008, 04:30 PM
It would bother you if I constantly ask you to translate simple english greeting words or others into german. Do you know any website that I can learn German? How do you learn German?

16-05-2008, 04:31 PM
It would bother you if I constantly ask you to translate simple english greeting words or others into german. Do you know any website that I can learn German? How do you learn German?
The best german online dictionary: http://dict.leo.org
german is learnt like any other language: by reading it

16-05-2008, 04:31 PM
http://translate.google.com would do the simple translation.

16-05-2008, 04:32 PM
http://translate.google.com would do the simple translation.
From what i gather from the results posted in ReCom, not very effective keke

16-05-2008, 04:33 PM
literature? German storybooks?

16-05-2008, 04:51 PM
literature? German storybooks?
kindergarten books will be a nice place to start :P

17-05-2008, 12:52 PM
Agree. Do you have some to borrow? Or better recommendations?

Olataro
18-05-2008, 01:20 AM
Oh, again is Vseehua a gal?

18-05-2008, 10:31 AM
In case anyone feels tempted to answer Olataro's question: she's just a troll, ignore her.

stupidboy
19-05-2008, 06:05 AM
So, Olataro is a girl?

19-05-2008, 08:47 AM
I think so. She said it a few times.

caramel_nut
19-05-2008, 10:20 AM
I think so. She said it a few times.LOLOLOL.

Hey See Hua, quick question. Is German hard to learn? I'm still thinking if I should take German Level 1 language class in my college this coming fall.

19-05-2008, 11:12 AM
I think so. She said it a few times.Beware of online gender swapping. A guy can claim he's a girl and vice versa in the interweb. Online behavior can be adopted, language can be imitated, avatar can be 'borrowed'; nothing beats meeting face-to-face offline to confirm online identity. :nod

19-05-2008, 03:02 PM
Hey See Hua, quick question. Is German hard to learn? I'm still thinking if I should take German Level 1 language class in my college this coming fall.
The hard part about is the strict grammatic rules that one had to adhere to when building the sentences, as well as the "gender" of the words. Means we have to memorize in the "the" (der, die or das in German) prefix along with the word as well.

Das Buch: The Book
Das Auto: The Car
Die Flaesche: The Bottles

bla bla bla...

If you think you can overcome it, by all means, go for it. learning a new language is never boring...

Olataro
20-05-2008, 01:50 AM
Great, now i am confused. Is Vseehua a babe or a dude??????

PS: I am a male.

20-05-2008, 07:26 AM
Sigh Olataro is still confused. Hope that See Hua can enlighten her.

20-05-2008, 02:08 PM
I won't, they will have to look out for it themselves. It's been that obvious for a very long time already, and was even stated out clearly in one thread.

I shall not answer this question anymore for this year

20-05-2008, 02:34 PM
I shall not answer this question anymore for this yearCan we ask again next year then? :P

20-05-2008, 03:13 PM
Can we ask again next year then? :Phaha... That statement means exactly what it says :)

20-05-2008, 09:22 PM
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3617&page=49
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3617&page=50

Olataro should stop this because it's obvious that she has read the clear-cut answers in these two pages but she continued to troll about seehua's gender.

Digressions have been moved.

http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6906

20-05-2008, 09:59 PM
Digressions have been moved.

http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6906
It was me who removed them :P Then again, the moved thread isn't viewable to the members anymore...

stupidboy
21-05-2008, 03:30 AM
It was me who removed them :P Then again, the moved thread isn't viewable to the members anymore...

Yeah, what is that thread actually? I can't see it.

21-05-2008, 08:25 AM
It was the removed digression by olataro etc trolling incessantly about vseehua's gender despite being made clear earlier.

I linked to it from here because I thought the "moved post" section is accessible by members. I didn't realise it's only viewable by the moderators.

jun
21-05-2008, 10:06 PM
It was the removed digression by olataro etc trolling incessantly about vseehua's gender despite being made clear earlier.

I linked to it from here because I thought the "moved post" section is accessible by members. I didn't realise it's only viewable by the moderators.

its ok we forgive you! JK JK!

Just wanna ask.....What about your family? i am going to guess that Vseehua is the oni child and if not probably the oni son (the rest sisters?) and Young yew is the youngest Luke prob in the middle ( got older and younger siblings) so.....am i rite?

21-05-2008, 10:08 PM
Nah I am not the youngest. What made you think so?

21-05-2008, 10:27 PM
Just wanna ask.....What about your family? i am going to guess that Vseehua is the oni child and if not probably the oni son (the rest sisters?) and Young yew is the youngest Luke prob in the middle ( got older and younger siblings) so.....am i rite?
Wrong wrong wrong (read it out loud using "correct correct correct" style :nod)

jun
21-05-2008, 10:30 PM
haiyo i was sooo wrong and i tot i was a good guesser..... i cannot explain why i tot so.....just intuition( clearly i was so wrong)....heheh waiting for seehua's reply!

22-05-2008, 12:32 AM
its ok we forgive you! JK JK!

totally wrong

I am the oldest in my family. I have 2 younger brothers :p

What makes you think that i have sisters anyway?

22-05-2008, 04:02 AM
Seehua may be a guy but I think there's a little girl hidden deep inside. :p

*Don't be angry, I'm your senior!

22-05-2008, 09:53 AM

*Don't be angry, I'm your senior!I am not allowed to get angry at my senior? Never seen such a rule...

in any case: :mad:mad:mad

jun
22-05-2008, 04:54 PM
totally wrong

I am the oldest in my family. I have 2 younger brothers :p

What makes you think that i have sisters anyway?

i see so you are the oldest in the family , young yew is not the youngest and luke is not in the middle....anyway i was just making a wild guess.....i am sure you are a very good Ko Ko( elder bro)( dunno whether spelled correctly o not)

24-05-2008, 11:47 AM

*Don't be angry, I'm your senior!

Why do you think so? 'There is a little girl hidden deep inside'?

jun
26-05-2008, 04:21 PM
hai i would like to ask a question...wat do yal do durin October Fest in Germany??? 1 more thing i heard a rumour about this thing in germany....is it true that in germany you are oni married LEGALLY for 7 yrs! which means after 7 yrs you will have to sort of like renew your marriage that is if you are happy...if you are not happy with your marriage then you dun renew your marriage ???? is it true??

anyone who has the answers can answer it does not need to be seehua specificaly.

27-05-2008, 01:26 PM
hai i would like to ask a question...wat do yal do durin October Fest in Germany??? 1 more thing i heard a rumour about this thing in germany....is it true that in germany you are oni married LEGALLY for 7 yrs! which means after 7 yrs you will have to sort of like renew your marriage that is if you are happy...if you are not happy with your marriage then you dun renew your marriage ???? is it true??

anyone who has the answers can answer it does not need to be seehua specificaly.
who the hell told you that? No, it's not true at all.

During Octoberfest we live our lives like any other normal day. Perhaps go for a drink or two but nothing else. The foreigners should give bayern a visit during the time though.

02-06-2008, 09:17 PM
See Hua, make some avatar for me too. Any superheroes, politicians, celebrities will do. If you want, you can create a version of you for me too. The avatars you have now is very cute. :P

ayja
03-06-2008, 12:06 AM
MR Robotic Penguin,

was just wondering what difference does it make between these two graphic cards -

the X3100 (not sure if they are the correct model)
and the GeForce 8300?

I think I can use the GeForce8300 to play DVD games right?

If you could be so kind as to explain, in layman's terms =D

03-06-2008, 12:19 AM
See Hua, make some avatar for me too. Any superheroes, politicians, celebrities will do. If you want, you can create a version of you for me too. The avatars you have now is very cute. :Pi got mine from here: http://tux.crystalxp.net/en.htm

MR Robotic Penguin,

was just wondering what difference does it make between these two graphic cards -

the X3100 (not sure if they are the correct model)
and the GeForce 8300?

I think I can use the GeForce8300 to play DVD games right?

If you could be so kind as to explain, in layman's terms =D
both can be used to play dvds well :)

GeForce 8300 will be a bit better at games than the x3100 but not much. If you want to play games i suggest buying something better.

if you just want to do word processing(MS word) and other office related stuffs while getting a capability to play music and videos, just about any new laptops in the markets will fulfill these requirements :)

03-06-2008, 09:14 PM
Seehua, can you help me with my Opera? The following shows the URL to the post (Actually I have asked youngyew about the problem I faced and he recommends me to you) You are my doctor now haha.
http://recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=187941&postcount=74

03-06-2008, 09:21 PM
Seehua, can you help me with my Opera? The following shows the URL to the post (Actually I have asked youngyew about the problem I faced and he recommends me to you) You are my doctor now haha.
http://recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=187941&postcount=74It happens to me even if i am using firefox with the DownItAll Extension. Usually what happens is that the connection is bad and a time-out (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeout_(telecommunication)) happened, causing the browser to drop it's connection to the server.

About the resume problem, the problem here will be that some servers doesn't support this function at all, requiring you to start every from the begining yet again. At times, some server requires you to have the exact same cookie at the time when you start your download. This will mean that you will not be able to continue your download After you've restarted your browser since the cookie's data will be modified everytime you connect to the site.

03-06-2008, 09:25 PM
It happens to me even if i am using firefox with the DownItAll Extension. Usually what happens is that the connection is bad and a time-out (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeout_(telecommunication)) happened, causing the browser to drop it's connection to the server.

About the resume problem, the problem here will be that some servers doesn't support this function at all, requiring you to start every from the begining yet again. At times, some server requires you to have the exact same cookie at the time when you start your download. This will mean that you will not be able to continue your download After you've restarted your browser since the cookie's data will be modified everytime you connect to the site.

Thanks, maybe it is server's problem, not my browser.

03-06-2008, 09:26 PM
Thanks, maybe it is server's problem, not my browser.

Or your connection. The internet connection in Malaysia isn't known to be reliable

05-06-2008, 06:22 PM
i got mine from here: http://tux.crystalxp.net/en.htm

Thanks seehua, penguin the pope is in the house...:laugh

05-06-2008, 06:23 PM
Thanks seehua, penguin the pope is in the house...:laugh

Soon the evil penguins will conquer the whole of ReCom *evil laugh* all hail Dr. Doom (youngyew) Penguin

05-06-2008, 10:01 PM
ur current avatar looks too robotic for me....=P

where's casper?

P/S:yippie, I'm now updraded to senior member...haha...you should feel proud tat I choose to drop my 500th post here...=P

05-06-2008, 10:12 PM
ur current avatar looks too robotic for me....=P

where's casper?

P/S:yippie, I'm now updraded to senior member...haha...you should feel proud tat I choose to drop my 500th post here...=PWell, i can try searching again through the 130 page of penguins at tux factory, but searches had revealed nothing as yet :P

hehe... Congrats on the promotion, but with promotion comes more work *evil laugh*

I think i'll change my avatar to a devil tux just to counter the serenity of the pope tux of SamuraiX:laugh

05-06-2008, 11:16 PM
Well, i can try searching again through the 130 page of penguins at tux factory, but searches had revealed nothing as yet :P

hehe... Congrats on the promotion, but with promotion comes more work *evil laugh*

I think i'll change my avatar to a devil tux just to counter the serenity of the pope tux of SamuraiX:laugh

Try the one in page 4 then. :laugh

05-06-2008, 11:35 PM
No idea who start this trend. But i am narutux now. LOL

05-06-2008, 11:37 PM
ReCom is flooded with penguins... :P

05-06-2008, 11:40 PM
*Points at youngyew*

Say hi to Tuxachu! :P

07-06-2008, 05:51 PM
*Points at youngyew*

Say hi to Tuxachu! :P

luke, tat's really cute!!:P:))

and vseehua...u also??

*haha, speechless*

I suppose soon enuf all the admins/mods will use penguin as their avatar.:laugh

10-06-2008, 02:27 PM
not only all the admins, all the members as well :P Soon there will be a movie about Linux invasion, coming to a cinema near you

18-06-2008, 05:49 PM
welcome back, casper!=P

18-06-2008, 10:21 PM
Thank you thank you :P

aitheng
21-06-2008, 09:44 PM
i hav a question n i think seehua u can help me.

erm.., i jus bpught a laptop n it claims tat is has built in bluetooth. i don know how to on it....nothing about bleutooth is mention in d manual. can u help me with tat???

Al-Bert
21-06-2008, 09:51 PM
Am wondering whether Bluetooth is a kind of electromagnetic wave?

21-06-2008, 09:54 PM
Bluetooth uses electromagnetic wave for communication; but bluetooth itself refers to the protocol (rules) employed in the communication between two devices.

aitheng
21-06-2008, 09:55 PM
one more question.., can i type Chinese words without having Chinese star?

21-06-2008, 10:00 PM
You can. For XP, Go to control panel -> regional and language options -> Languages to install chinese input method.

Alternatively, you can use Google Pinyin Input software (which I highly recommend, by the way): http://tools.google.com/pinyin/

If you don't want to install any software, you can actually type Chinese word online: http://www.chinese-tools.com/tools/ime.html

Some extra information here: http://ccat.sas.upenn.edu/~nsivin/chinp.html

whui
21-06-2008, 10:07 PM

erm.., i jus bpught a laptop n it claims tat is has built in bluetooth. i don know how to on it....nothing about bleutooth is mention in d manual. can u help me with tat???

If you are using vista, click start, on the "search" tab, type "bluetooth". Click it and follow the instruction. You can let ur laptop to search the device, or vice versa. But make sure to set "visible" so that both devices can recognize and communicate with each other.

jun
23-06-2008, 12:36 AM
Seehua i need to ask : what is the coldest temperature it can get in germany as well as the hottest.

23-06-2008, 03:57 PM
Seehua i need to ask : what is the coldest temperature it can get in germany as well as the hottest.-20?C to +35?C, from winter to summer

erm.., i jus bpught a laptop n it claims tat is has built in bluetooth. i don know how to on it....nothing about bleutooth is mention in d manual. can u help me with tat???You might want to look for any blue buttons or buttons with the following logo on it.http://www.bluetooth.com/NR/rdonlyres/1C377C0B-F75F-4A37-B19D-38AF43B77D07/0/logo.gif

Also, if your windows came preinstalled with your laptop, there might be an application with that logo as well in your taskbar to the bottom right of your screen. If everything fails, I would like to know the model and manufacturer of your laptop. This will help to narrow down the search for the root of the problem.

Am wondering whether Bluetooth is a kind of electromagnetic wave?Bluetooth itself is a type of short range, low power, communication protocol that operates over the unlicenced 2.4Ghz microwave band. Note that the very same band is also utilized by standard wifi 802.11b,g and eventually n protocols as well.

Trivia: The 2.4 Ghz band is the very same frequency used by your microwave oven to cook your delicious foods. But no worries though, the power levels utilized in bluetooth and wifi communication are much much lower than your oven itself. I would, however, advise limiting your exposure to bluetooth headphones (for cellphones) since it caused headaches in a small amount of cases.

one more question.., can i type Chinese words without having Chinese star?1. go to Start -> control panel -> region and language options.
2. Go to the "languages" tab (button is to the top)
3. near to the top, under the "text services and input language" is the "details" button. in the new window you have a window with the name of the language and type of the keyboard that you are using
4. to the bottom half to the right is the "add" button. Press it to get to yet another window.
5. Under the input language (the top drop down menu), choose "chinese, pinyin"
6. Under the keyboard layout, choose the US keyboard layout
7. Click ok and you will have a new keyboard layout that you can use to type chinese in.

A new bar will show up right next to your taskbar to the left. click on the keyboard-like icon and select chinese(pin yin) if you would like to type in chinese.

If there is any more problem feel free to ask.

09-03-2010, 12:34 PM
is attacking you from here, hammer!!!
Are you the mystery thread title changer? :P

09-03-2010, 01:41 PM
is attacking you from here, hammer!!!
Are you the mystery thread title changer? :P

Restless, you're so funny... :laugh Yeah yeah, are you mystery thread title changer? :P

09-03-2010, 05:12 PM
I think I should make the rename log open for public viewing :P

09-03-2010, 05:16 PM

And that means you're not the one changing? :oh

09-03-2010, 08:27 PM

LMAO.

Owh, please feel free to do that, it is much appreciated. :bow

15-03-2010, 10:22 PM
I had stared at your display picture for a long time, but I still don't get what is it. Is it two sheeps, dogs, or wolves? :))

[V stands for Voon? lawl... xD]

15-03-2010, 10:25 PM
They're two wolves in sheep's clothing...

15-03-2010, 10:30 PM

LOL.

By the way, See Hua, is it true in Germany most are using Macs??

15-03-2010, 10:30 PM
I had stared at your display picture for a long time, but I still don't get what is it. Is it two sheeps, dogs, or wolves? :))

[V stands for Voon? lawl... xD]

That reminds me of a sheep-dog :P

15-03-2010, 10:57 PM
So....is it true? the Mac thing

15-03-2010, 11:00 PM
So....is it true? the Mac thing

The Mac what thing?

15-03-2010, 11:07 PM
wolf! look up!
So why does people call you the technology buff?:woo

15-03-2010, 11:07 PM
Umm...read post #137...

15-03-2010, 11:11 PM
LOL.

By the way, See Hua, is it true in Germany most are using Macs??
Umm...read post #137...Most of the people still use Windows :P

wolf! look up!
So why does people call you the technology buff?:woo
I am pretty interested in technology stuffs, especially those related to computers. As such, people usually come to me if they have problems with their computers...

15-03-2010, 11:20 PM
Most of the people still use Windows :P

I am pretty interested in technology stuffs, especially those related to computers. As such, people usually come to me if they have problems with their computers...

Ah hah! So my friend was trying to brainwash me into buying a Mac ....based on the reason that most ppl there use it...

15-03-2010, 11:21 PM
Ah hah! So my friend was trying to brainwash me into buying a Mac ....based on the reason that most ppl there use it...Good choice, I am using a Mac myself :P

15-03-2010, 11:25 PM
Good choice, I am using a Mac myself :P

Lol. Fact is, I don't have a laptop yet. Not sure which to buy. If I buy a Mac, i'm afraid I dunno how to use since it's so different from windows...

Other than Mac, anything u can recommend for a laptop?

15-03-2010, 11:30 PM
Lol. Fact is, I don't have a laptop yet. Not sure which to buy. If I buy a Mac, i'm afraid I dunno how to use since it's so different from windows...

Other than Mac, anything u can recommend for a laptop?
Depends on what you will be using it for. If you only do websurfing, listening to music and watching movies, almost any laptop out there will do.

If you do watch higher definition movies, or do image or video editing, you will need one with a discreet video card (Nvidia or ATI).

As for size, i think 13-14 inch laptops carries a good compromise between comfort and portability.

Macs are pretty easy to use and switch to. However, switching the other way around (mac to windows) will take more effort, since there are lots of tiny comfort in usage that windows just don't have :P

15-03-2010, 11:33 PM
Depends on what you will be using it for. If you only do websurfing, listening to music and watching movies, almost any laptop out there will do.

If you do watch higher definition movies, or do image or video editing, you will need one with a discreet video card (Nvidia or ATI).

As for size, i think 13-14 inch laptops carries a good compromise between comfort and portability.

Macs are pretty easy to use and switch to. However, switching the other way around (mac to windows) will take more effort, since there are lots of tiny comfort in usage that windows just don't have :P

Thanks!

But in Germany, do we have lots of assignments that need certain software....or anything that would involve the need for video editing etc?

p/s: sorry...computer noob here...lol

15-03-2010, 11:35 PM
Thanks!

But in Germany, do we have lots of assignments that need certain software....or anything that would involve the need for video editing etc?

p/s: sorry...computer noob here...lol
You might need to use softwares related to programming (Matlab, C-Compilers, Labview etc.) But those won't require you to have special hardware, any computer will do...

Video editing? Nah, unless you take videos as your hobby...