View Full Version : A Big Thread On JPA Scholarship (My experience and tips)
Judith
03-04-2010, 11:21 PM
in my opinion,better dont include anyhting extra unless they were to ask u.:)
But, can i tell them about my thought and personalities?Or does that seem impolite?Thank you.:)
That seem VERY "extra". >.<
03-04-2010, 11:32 PM
Mentioning your name, hometown, family background and course applied is already a lot. Don't steal the spotlight unneccessarily.
zzWingzz
03-04-2010, 11:35 PM
Mentioning your name, hometown, family background and course applied is already a lot. Don't steal the spotlight unneccessarily.
Unless you are dfa.
Chichiro
03-04-2010, 11:39 PM
ya...i got a fren in mmu...any question to ask?
thx for the reply and yes , i hv question here , is jpa offering scholarship for IT course in mmu ? and i applied for local and sadly there are only sains and sastera for the bidang , so i choosed sains :( , am i goin the wrong way now ?
IT related to computer science...it is science..... :P
Judith
03-04-2010, 11:44 PM
Unless you are dfa.
mind to tell me what is dfa?:oh
amienieya
03-04-2010, 11:44 PM
just wanna ask, my father was a pensioner and he said he doesn't have the slip gaji. how?
billiejean
03-04-2010, 11:46 PM
May i ask.... i won pertandingan peringkat daerah and mewakili daerah to negeri but din win... And i didn't get the cert for participating in the peringkat negeri's competition.. T.T.. so what shud i do? is it ok if i put the cert stating that i've won the peringkat daerah's one only? :confused:
YulieNie
03-04-2010, 11:48 PM
So, i c we nid 2 introduce urselves. N i wanna ask...do v nid 2 prepare a paperwork for it? or something like tat?
May i ask.... i won pertandingan peringkat daerah and mewakili daerah to negeri but din win... And i didn't get the cert for participating in the peringkat negeri's competition.. T.T.. so what shud i do? is it ok if i put the cert stating that i've won the peringkat daerah's one only? :confused:
Certification of Participation carries no value,my dear. For your case, only the "won Daerah" Certification can help you. Remember you did not win Peringkat Negeri right?
So, i c we nid 2 introduce urselves. N i wanna ask...do v nid 2 prepare a paperwork for it? or something like tat?
Not advisable to "prepare paperwork" or "memorise speeches". XD
But you must have a rough idea about YOURSELF and how to sell yourself the right and simple way. :)
03-04-2010, 11:55 PM
someone call tell me what is the current and world issues now...?:confused:
Since you can take the effort to ask what the current issues are, I don't think it would be diffcult to find out yourself by reading the newspaper or just watch the tv. Or easier still, since you can go online, the window to the world is just a few clicks away.
I'm not trying to be mean or anything but I just want to advise you to not learn/know just for the sake of interviews (or even examinations). I won't be going long-winded explaining why, but instead summarise through this quote:
"True scholarship consists in knowing not what things exist, but what they mean; it is not memory but judgment." -James Russell Lowell-
billiejean
03-04-2010, 11:56 PM
Certification of Participation carries no value,my dear. For your case, only the "won Daerah" Certification can help you. Remember you did not win Peringkat Negeri right?
thank you.. but i've put in my application form stating that i've mewakili daerah... erm is it advisable to ask my teacher to write a testimonial for me regarding this issue? coz i dun want jpa to think that i've cheated in my application...:cry
How you stated that in your application?
Judith
04-04-2010, 12:03 AM
pendapatan in jpa , we use pendapatan kasar, can ?
billiejean
04-04-2010, 12:09 AM
How you stated that in your application?
i put mewakili daerah for xxxxxx... but i dun have the cert... haiyo.... my teacher promised to hand me the cert but didn't and after a month of persuading.. she said she lost it... *stunned!*..
04-04-2010, 12:12 AM
Hi, when I completed section A of the online quiz, it was stated that 'anda gagal menjawab semua soalan' and I could no longer return to check my quiz.
I'm just wondering, this quiz is very important when they choose who gets the scholarship?
Oh my... It happened to me last year (Yeah, i know... Curiosity killed the cat, ALMOST). Please don't ask me to tell the story.
Fortunately, I managed to go back to the quiz and submit it. And got the surat pengesahan ambil ujian printed out. Nevertheless, NEVER EVER ATTEMPT WHAT I DID (but I'm sure you guys aren't foolish like me, right? Haha). Once bitten, twice shy.
If your situation is not due to exceeding time limit, then I think you should call JPA to rectify the problem.
i put mewakili daerah for xxxxxx... but i dun have the cert... haiyo.... my teacher promised to hand me the cert but didn't and after a month of persuading.. she said she lost it... *stunned!*..
IRRESPONSIBLE TEACHER. -.-
If I am you, I will ask that teacher to write an explanation letter.
This might not be the best way. You should think of other solution.
What you mean by Pendapatan Kasar first?
04-04-2010, 12:16 AM
If she can't make another one before your interview date, you have no choice but to replace it with another achievement cert.
04-04-2010, 12:18 AM
just wanna ask, my father was a pensioner and he said he doesn't have the slip gaji. how?
Ask your father for a slip for his pension. He should have something like that.
Maybe you should ask your teacher to prepare a school level "penghargaan" type of cert that shows you participated in that particular competition. It will be easier than asking your teacher to write your testimonial, again. :)
Judith
04-04-2010, 12:18 AM
What you mean by Pendapatan Kasar first?
gaji pokok in the pay slip one.i do not remember what i filled for the online application.:winkI think the online one stated fill in pendapatan kasar.Anyone remember about this?
04-04-2010, 12:20 AM
No. Use pendapatan bersih/net salary.
billiejean
04-04-2010, 12:22 AM
yea... sadly... but would JPA automatically know that I've went for the state level comp because i've won the daerah one? sorry for bothering u...:laugh
04-04-2010, 12:22 AM
If she can't make another one before your interview date, you have no choice but to replace it with another achievement cert.
Maybe you should ask your teacher to prepare a school level "penghargaan" type of cert that shows you participated in that particular competition. It will be easier than asking your teacher to write your testimonial, again. :)
That's what I was referring to in the above reply. Thanks for explaining further, BB!
yea... sadly... but would JPA automatically know that I've went for the state level comp because i've won the daerah one? sorry for bothering u...:laugh
Don't assume a guy likes you until he tell you so. :P
Get me?
billiejean
04-04-2010, 12:33 AM
Maybe you should ask your teacher to prepare a school level "penghargaan" type of cert that shows you participated in that particular competition. It will be easier than asking your teacher to write your testimonial, again. :)[/quote]
I hope she is willing enough to prepare one for me.. if not i'm doomed:nuts
Don't assume a guy likes you until he tell you so. :P
Get me?
haha.. that's a unique way of explaining my queries!!:)) ok.. i get it.. thanks alot!!:))
04-04-2010, 12:33 AM
I hope she is willing enough to prepare one for me.. if not i'm doomed:nutsI thought you should know that you do not have the corresponding cert by the time you fill the application form? You should have approached your teacher earlier instead of doing risky last minute work.
04-04-2010, 12:39 AM
I hope she is willing enough to prepare one for me.. if not i'm doomed:nuts
Actually, I, too face the same problem as you. My teachers were so irresponsible that they never prepare my certs. I revisited my school many times ( i think more than 10 times) just to get my certs but I still failed to get it. So, instead of waiting for the teacher to do it for me, I took a few empty certs and started doing it myself. In about one hour, everything is done and I just ask my teacher to take it to the principal for the signing part and everything is done. Foolish of me for not doing so earlier but I'm glad that its done now. :)
Just a piece of advice, if your teacher don't do it, do it yourself.
Sunny92
04-04-2010, 12:39 AM
what we should talk about family backgroud beside occupation? we need to talk about the income of family?
billiejean
04-04-2010, 12:45 AM
I thought you should know that you do not have the corresponding cert by the time you fill the application form? You should have approached your teacher earlier instead of doing risky last minute work.
yea... i've mislooked this participation:cry... haiz... anw.. thanks for the advice..!:)
Actually, I, too face the same problem as you. My teachers were so irresponsible that they never prepare my certs. I revisited my school many times ( i think more than 10 times) just to get my certs but I still failed to get it. So, instead of waiting for the teacher to do it for me, I took a few empty certs and started doing it myself. In about one hour, everything is done and I just ask my teacher to take it to the principal for the signing part and everything is done. Foolish of me for not doing so earlier but I'm glad that its done now. :)
my teacher will hammer me if i get my certs done like that... haha! well, lucky u! hehe! i'll have to catch hold of my teacher to get things done right then!:))
04-04-2010, 01:48 AM
my teacher will hammer me if i get my certs done like that... haha! well, lucky u! hehe! i'll have to catch hold of my teacher to get things done right then!:))
My teachers did not prepare the certs too. As a result, it was the students us that went to the office to do it ourselves if we are willing to go through all the trouble.At least it's better than not doing anything right? :wink
Sellly
04-04-2010, 08:32 AM
Sorry. but I just need to ask a question. What if my father was retired at the time I applied for the JPA scholarship (March) and got a job in April? I dont have the kad pesara and stuff.
iNaesu
04-04-2010, 01:20 PM
Was the time up? Or did you answer every single question?
I answered every question but I was still on the page when there were only a few seconds left. I remember clicking the 'simpan' button with a few seconds left though :S
It was written 'Jawapan ujian anda telah berjaya disimpan dan akan diproses.' on my surat pengesahan though.
04-04-2010, 03:11 PM
I answered every question but I was still on the page when there were only a few seconds left. I remember clicking the 'simpan' button with a few seconds left though :S
It was written 'Jawapan ujian anda telah berjaya disimpan dan akan diproses.' on my surat pengesahan though.
If that's the case, what are you worrying about? :))
nuel92
04-04-2010, 07:28 PM
During the ujian, what happen if we forget to answer one question by mistake and send it?
pothguru
04-04-2010, 08:01 PM
During the ujian, what happen if we forget to answer one question by mistake and send it?
think its impossible to do that..they will say you havent finish answering and wont let you send :)
clover92
04-04-2010, 08:10 PM
I wan to ask every1
1. can we bring our own notebuk into the room???
2. how true is the statistic for the marking scheme:
80% for spm result
5% for coco
5% for interview n so on
3. does we nid to bring our oral cert thr??
4. wad type of shoes shuld we wear wif baju kurung??
chaiyeen
04-04-2010, 08:17 PM
I wan to ask every1
1. can we bring our own notebuk into the room???
2. how true is the statistic for the marking scheme:
80% for spm result
5% for coco
5% for interview n so on
3. does we nid to bring our oral cert thr??
4. wad type of shoes shuld we wear wif baju kurung??
1. Certainly.
2. Pretty relevant as one of the forumers here got the info from a JPA officer. However, you will never know how they REALLY judge a candidate. Thus IMO, no matter how is the marking system like, all you can and need to do is to perform your best during the interview.
3. Oral/ Peka/ Add Maths Project certs are not needed.
4. Preferably black covered shoes.
Descartes
04-04-2010, 08:20 PM
Will JPA take the choice we make about the country we want to go into consideration when they want to choose the candidates who can get the scholarship?
clover92
04-04-2010, 08:21 PM
Doesnt it is very weird that baju kurung wif black color of skul shoes??
Descartes
04-04-2010, 08:22 PM
If i choose medicine in England, will the interviewers kick me out since the seats to England are too few?
chaiyeen
04-04-2010, 08:25 PM
Doesnt it is very weird that baju kurung wif black color of skul shoes??
Not school shoes but those leather-like ones. According to the seniors, most of the girls dressed up that way last year. And well, I don't think anyone has the mood to judge your shoes :P
If i choose medicine in England, will the interviewers kick me out since the seats to England are too few?
You don't get to choose the country, JPA is the one who decides for you.
Chichiro
04-04-2010, 08:39 PM
IT related to computer science...it is science..... :P
thx , im feeling relief now :D
and i need to confirm sth , at the beginning of the interview the interviewers will ask what course u want to choose then i just answer them IT ? :P
clover92
04-04-2010, 08:45 PM
can we wrote thg inside our notebuk??
or we muz make sure tat it is a new notebuk so tat we will not be consider as cheating??
chaiyeen
04-04-2010, 08:47 PM
or we muz make sure tat it is a new notebuk so tat we will not be consider as cheating??
My opinion is that interview is not even an exam so there's no such thing as cheating. Just my 2cents though :P
starlover
04-04-2010, 09:19 PM
You mean, during the interview? You'll be given a piece of paper..So you don't have to bring in your notebook to the interview room :P
rachelhoo
04-04-2010, 09:39 PM
can someone tell me?? Can I wear dress instead of OL wear?? my dress is black,white,blue. And can I wear high heels instead of leather shoe?
chaiyeen
04-04-2010, 09:45 PM
can someone tell me?? Can I wear dress instead of OL wear?? my dress is black,white,blue. And can I wear high heels instead of leather shoe?
I dont think dress is considered formal for an interview. Can someone clarify this?
ttsheng
04-04-2010, 09:47 PM
Actually, i hv something to ask. I applied for general engineering. Is it important for us to understand all type of engineering? Will they ask you something general about engineering to see whether u understand engineering or not? Or they might just probably ask you about what type of engineering u prefer and the reasons u choose it. Someone help me pls.
iceblender
04-04-2010, 10:15 PM
Actually, i hv something to ask. I applied for general engineering. Is it important for us to understand all type of engineering? Will they ask you something general about engineering to see whether u understand engineering or not? Or they might just probably ask you about what type of engineering u prefer and the reasons u choose it. Someone help me pls.
as far as i know from other recommers,it's no need to undrstnd gnerally about engineerg,commonly,thy'll ask what type of engineerg do you wnt 2 take/prefer n why,,make sure u hve deep undrstndg about ur preferences,,chill:)
KHARTHIKD
04-04-2010, 10:39 PM
In the self introduction part, do we need to tell about our co-curricular achievements ? I mean the introduction must be short, right ?
04-04-2010, 10:47 PM
Not school shoes but those leather-like ones. According to the seniors, most of the girls dressed up that way last year. And well, I don't think anyone has the mood to judge your shoes :P
In my case, the interviewers couldn't even see our shoes...
amienieya
04-04-2010, 10:47 PM
[quote=BattleBoyz;301890]Ask your father for a slip for his pension. He should have something like that.
if he had, it was the old want... hurm...how?
04-04-2010, 10:55 PM
I think it's better to wear office wear. As for shoes, preferrably covered shoes, regardless high heels or not.
In the self introduction part, do we need to tell about our co-curricular achievements ? I mean the introduction must be short, right ?
No need, unless required to do so.
05-04-2010, 12:02 AM
if he had, it was the old want... hurm...how?
If thats the only slip your father has, then you have no choice but to bring it. Its the proof of your father is a retiree.
05-04-2010, 09:04 AM
I thought the Gaji Pokok is Gross Salary, which means the salary gained before deducting everything(tax, loan, etc etc). Gosh, i put $ 6k for the salary(gross), but in fact, my mom's net salary is just approximately $ 1k. Should i tell JPA officer about this? Days before interview, or on the interview day itself? By the way, i think the salary slip should be able to prove that. Any advice is welcomed. Thanks in advance. :)
AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 09:46 AM
I thought the Gaji Pokok is Gross Salary, which means the salary gained before deducting everything(tax, loan, etc etc). Gosh, i put $ 6k for the salary(gross), but in fact, my mom's net salary is just approximately $ 1k. Should i tell JPA officer about this? Days before interview, or on the interview day itself? By the way, i think the salary slip should be able to prove that. Any advice is welcomed. Thanks in advance. :)
it should be gross income.
sell yourself. dont tell us the boring part
the best man win
no notebook. you will be provided with paper. just bring the pen
your panel will be an engineer. be fully prepared as the panel is free to ask you anything. and make your brain is in same wavelength of engineer
Will JPA take the choice we make about the country we want to go into consideration when they want to choose the candidates who can get the scholarship?
you can choose some
05-04-2010, 09:46 AM
it should be gross income.
Thanks a lot. But why the previous recommer stated that the income should be net salary? It's confusing. >.<
no notebook. you will be provided with paper. just bring the pen
But i think you'd need something hard (eg.notebook) to support you when writing on the paper provided as you don't have a table for you to write on.
AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 09:47 AM
wrong advise
05-04-2010, 09:50 AM
wrong advise
Okay then. Thanks a lot by the way. :)
AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 10:05 AM
should i bring along photocopied cert of koko along too? it is not stated but i juz worried it is needed... And anything else needed 2 be brought along too...so worry if miss out something
no need. just bring anything requested
Thanks a lot. But why the previous recommer stated that the income should be net salary? It's confusing. >.<
But i think you'd need something hard (eg.notebook) to support you when writing on the paper provided as you don't have a table for you to write on.
if then, my net salary will be zero.
it's not like you will be writing an essay. just points, scribble, more scribble, hanging man, 911 or etc
hello everyone,,,,,do they really want the sijil bahasa asing?since i'm taking engineerg n doesn't seemed related to arabic languages which i'd learned when i was in secondary school
just bring it
Consider this two scenarios:
1. A student whose active in koku and got a lot of certs but can't do well in the interview.
2. A student whose not active in koku and got less certs but can perform well in the interview.
If you are the interviewer, which one of them will you pick for the scholarship?
it will be translated into points. which one higher will get it.
no need a lot of cert, just a few might do it.
starlover
05-04-2010, 10:38 AM
I dont think dress is considered formal for an interview. Can someone clarify this?
I don't think dress is formal either. Long skirt is okay. High heels? How high is high? Better not too high..
Yea, make sure you know about the course you want to take up. To show that you're enthusiastic and confident about it =)
Type and reasons = of course. You should be able to explain that if they ask about it.
Err..you don't even have time to write properly. Scribbling only =.=
Write on your lap =D
They won't allow you to bring in the notebook..
05-04-2010, 10:49 AM
Err..you don't even have time to write properly. Scribbling only =.=
Write on your lap =D
Oh really? Okay then, just write on my lap. It's been months since my last writing. :oh
AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 10:57 AM
Oh really? Okay then, just write on my lap. It's been months since my last writing. :oh
if you're taking architecture, don't be shocked if you're ask to sketch something
05-04-2010, 11:07 AM
if you're taking architecture, don't be shocked if you're ask to sketch something
Sorry i'm not taking architecture. I'm applying Science, intended to major in Actuarial Science, or Mathematics & Statistics. :)
kyoko3102
05-04-2010, 12:26 PM
omg , its tat really true? !
AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 12:42 PM
yes. don't you worry about it much.
iceblender
05-04-2010, 12:53 PM
may i know what is gross income actually?my parents said that it is gaji pokok+elaun2,,is it true???
AbangBesar
05-04-2010, 12:56 PM
may i know what is gross income actually?my parents said that it is gaji pokok+elaun2,,is it true???
yes. all your parent income before any deduction such as EPF, housing loan, car loan etc
lilynda
05-04-2010, 03:35 PM
most of them said there are 1500 scholarships available this year, which means lesser than previous years. T.T
windmill
05-04-2010, 03:59 PM
omg, I am taking architecture. What will they ask us to sketch? Did u take architecture as well?
05-04-2010, 04:04 PM
most of them said there are 1500 scholarships available this year, which means lasser than previous years. T.T
yeah, economics recession, and the government is getting poorer. Or, politics. :notrust:notrust:notrust
ttsheng
05-04-2010, 04:11 PM
nope, i dun think so. ur academic part depends on ur SPM results.
How is that actually? I am just wonder. Are they going to consider those who have straight A's or those who have more A+?:amuse
those who get all A+ for the nine important subjcts are most likely to get.
chaiyeen
05-04-2010, 04:25 PM
I notice that many of the groups didnt have the group discussion session this year. Or is it only for those who applied for medic/dentistry/pharmacy?
Btw, did you guys and your group members mention about your koko activities (if the interviewers did not specifically ask for what they want) during the self intro?
KwHau
05-04-2010, 04:42 PM
U can bring a notebook in if you want.. I had my interview today and most of them did bring a notebook except for me. but it is quite unnecessary to do so. since they will be just ask you some general questions and i dun see how a notebook will help if u were to refer to it at all times..
wahaha
05-04-2010, 04:44 PM
er....we must wear baju kurung?
how about baju kebaya? bcoz i have onli baju kebaya from my relatives~
05-04-2010, 04:57 PM
U can bring a notebook in if you want.. I had my interview today and most of them did bring a notebook except for me. but it is quite unnecessary to do so. since they will be just ask you some general questions and i dun see how a notebook will help if u were to refer to it at all times..
I don't think we can refer the contents inside the notebook, but we can use them as support for us when we're writing.:)
aivee
05-04-2010, 05:16 PM
omg, I am taking architecture. What will they ask us to sketch? Did u take architecture as well?
one of my senior (3 years older than us) also applying for architecture n he told us dat he was asked to sketch! but i dunno wat he was told to sketch lar, n he said dat he was the unlucky one. :huh But finally he got the scholarships! N he din get straight A's in SPM, he got B3 for his bio.
Wat he advised is to be confident n is able to explain wat u have drawn to the panels, firmly.. so juz be confident to urself:nuts!
all the best!
edoovel
05-04-2010, 08:21 PM
we should shake the interviewers' hands when we go into the room or when we are about to leave the room?
ikhwan92
05-04-2010, 08:38 PM
mine was done this evening.
so at all,it was enjoyable.no joke.we juz laugh and laugh.so no pressure at all.
but who knows rite.haha.erm,mine was lucky coz we were the last which was at 5pm.
n more lucky(for me la),it was conducted all in malay.juz a lil bit in bi.n no discussion at all.mebi it because we were the last one.:P
05-04-2010, 08:43 PM
we should shake the interviewers' hands when we go into the room or when we are about to leave the room?
it's up 2 to u. it's actually not necessary to shake their hand. I did it at end of the interview though.
realn00b
05-04-2010, 10:26 PM
I did my interview in durian tunggal today at 2pm as i applied for medicine.. but i changed to law anyway.. the introduction was done in bm but the questions were done in english..it really depends on your interviewer
whimsical
05-04-2010, 10:30 PM
I did my interview in durian tunggal today at 2pm as i applied for medicine.. but i changed to law anyway.. the introduction was done in bm but the questions were done in english..it really depends on your interviewer
please do elaborate and share your experience in 'jpa interview experience sharing' thread.We would love to hear more from you :)
Judith
05-04-2010, 10:40 PM
It's the salary gained before deducting everything.i went to the interview already and the clerk told me this.:)
05-04-2010, 11:38 PM
wrong advise
Hmmm... Now that I think of it, I think it's gross income... Thanks for correcting.
Me and my lack of mindfulness :P
ChiaYi
06-04-2010, 09:01 AM
For my group, we did it after the interview! But then again, I think you can do it anytime, provided the time and 'situation' is okie! :))
It is not necessary. You can do if you want to.
Leon2wong
06-04-2010, 07:19 PM
What should i answer if the interviewer asks me why do you want to choose engineering?
chaiyeen
06-04-2010, 07:23 PM
What should i answer if the interviewer asks me why do you want to choose engineering?
Why dont you ask yourself that question? Why did you pick engineering?
06-04-2010, 09:35 PM
Why dont you ask yourself that question? Why did you pick engineering?
I agree with u. why engineering? Is it before of the subjects like maths, physics, etc? or a good job opportunity or ...
Glassylicious
07-04-2010, 06:58 AM
Here's wishing good luck to all remaining candidates! =D I haven't actually been through the PILN selection process BUT I have been through some interviews, and the best advice I can give is, keep your nerves together! :P
I know it's so easy to go "OHMYGOD" *freaks out and runs around like a headless chicken* and trust me, I've been there and done that, but seriously, the interviewer is only here to assess you [to look into your brain, so to speak] and the entire process sounds really fun anyway, so why not treat it as an "education camp" of sorts, hehehe.
Oh, and by the looks of it, definitely brush up your general knowledge, and stay focused at all times. I know you can do it! =D
P.S. Don't worry too much if you think you messed up. I'll bet you my last few Famous Amos cookies that nobody in Recom will screw up as badly as I did in my university interview, and they still gave me an offer anyway. ;) You'll never know how well or badly you actually did, so it ain't over until the fat lady sings!
All the best, everyone! *hugs*
Leon2wong
07-04-2010, 10:15 AM
Where is the best country for studying engineering?america,australia,canada,jerman,perancis,uk or us?
kyoko3102
07-04-2010, 10:28 AM
Where is the best country for studying engineering?america,australia,canada,jerman,perancis,uk or us?
japan the best ! =D
I think japan..but you have to give your reason..interviewers maybe ask you why japan and not europe country..
lyod71
07-04-2010, 12:01 PM
i applied for PIDN science and i want to do dentistry. Is that posible? or the science is only for computer science, degree in biology ...etc...?
edoovel
07-04-2010, 04:46 PM
My interview is on tomorrow 8am, but I just checked the JPA website, the time is changed to 10am and they also mentioned my panel number. So please do check again. The latest letter released was on today (7 April).
07-04-2010, 04:55 PM
i applied for PIDN science and i want to do dentistry. Is that posible? or the science is only for computer science, degree in biology ...etc...?
Yes i think you can. :)
My interview is on tomorrow 8am, but I just checked the JPA website, the time is changed to 10am and they also mentioned my panel number. So please do check again. The latest letter released was on today (7 April).
Yeah, mine changed as well. Well, i got to know that i'd be in Panel 3, but for the time, date, and place, they are still the same, this Friday, 8am in Putrajaya. :) Thanks a lot, and good luck to you! :)
edoovel
07-04-2010, 05:12 PM
Yeah, mine changed as well. Well, i got to know that i'd be in Panel 3, but for the time, date, and place, they are still the same, this Friday, 8am in Putrajaya. :) Thanks a lot, and good luck to you! :)
Lol thanks and good luck too. I so happened to check it (just out of no reason and suddenly shocked to see changes)... maybe they will change again further.. need to check constantly lol
07-04-2010, 05:21 PM
Lol thanks and good luck too. I so happened to check it (just out of no reason and suddenly shocked to see changes)... maybe they will change again further.. need to check constantly lol
Yeah, but i think they are unlikely to change it anymore as tomorrow would be your interview day. For me, i think i will check it tomorrow. Thanks anyways!!! :)
07-04-2010, 10:33 PM
Have you heard of this joke?
It is heaven when the cook is French, the officer is British, the engineer is German, the banker is Swiss, the lover is Italian.
It is hell when the cook is British, the officer is German, the engineer is French (sorry Boyz_Zoo :P), the banker is Italian, the lover is Swiss.
Don't take it too seriously, seriously.
Chichiro
07-04-2010, 10:38 PM
It is heaven when the cook is French, the officer is British, the engineer is German, the banker is Swiss, the lover is Italian.
haha nice joke , but i think it is quite true , i have heard that German is the best in engineering from my friend before :D
fallenangelxoxo
07-04-2010, 11:33 PM
thanks alot...mine also changed...from 8am to 11.15...so wat is the best time to reach there?? 10??
07-04-2010, 11:54 PM
thanks alot...mine also changed...from 8am to 11.15...so wat is the best time to reach there?? 10??
10am is too early, but no harm though. Best time to reach there, should be 10.45am, half and hour before the time, i think. :)
fallenangelxoxo
08-04-2010, 12:00 AM
10am is too early, but no harm though. Best time to reach there, should be 10.45am, half and hour before the time, i think. :)
it doesnt really matter wat time you reach rite?? coz i am afraid tat they might hav a specific time for registeration...
08-04-2010, 12:19 AM
it doesnt really matter wat time you reach rite?? coz i am afraid tat they might hav a specific time for registeration...
Nope, they don't have. As long as you reach there on time, it's okay i think. :)
qinng
08-04-2010, 10:08 AM
mine is changed to 4pm today...is it accurate? should i go at 2pm as stated on the previous slip or before 4pm? confusing man...
08-04-2010, 11:07 AM
mine is changed to 4pm today...is it accurate? should i go at 2pm as stated on the previous slip or before 4pm? confusing man...
If you don't believe on the interview letter, just give them a call and figure it out. :)
phoebec
08-04-2010, 11:17 AM
If it's panel 4, does it mean my interview will be much later than 8am? Panel 1 start then panel2.. or does it just mean that i'm in diff room?
08-04-2010, 11:28 AM
If it's panel 4, does it mean my interview will be much later than 8am? Panel 1 start then panel2.. or does it just mean that i'm in diff room?
No idea. But mine is Panel 3, would like to meet you there!!! :)
08-04-2010, 12:05 PM
Each panel is at different rooms (or even different stories as well, depending on the building of your interview). They all start at the same time and each panel will have 25 candidates.
fallenangelxoxo
08-04-2010, 01:08 PM
can i know wat is jpa's phone number?? i wanna call to clarify about the timing...
ttsheng
08-04-2010, 02:28 PM
Can some one please tell me which field of engineering is more advance in US? Electrical or electronic? Haha:) but i thought it's the same..?
Chichiro
08-04-2010, 05:11 PM
can i know wat is jpa's phone number?? I wanna call to clarify about the timing...
03-8885 3704
Sunny92
08-04-2010, 07:47 PM
Anyone know when the result of JPA scholarship come out??
08-04-2010, 07:57 PM
Anyone know when the result of JPA scholarship come out??
Its coming on the third week of May. Not sure which day though.
gelato
08-04-2010, 08:09 PM
today was my interview and guess what for those who were in the same panel like me( panel 5), wearing a shirt and skirt / slacks is NOT FORMAL! It was ridiculous !! :notrustThe officer in charge was saying that for girls only baju kurung is FORMAL!and others are not formal.
Others who supposedly wore formal( shirt +slacks/skirt) in other panel wasn't told that. It seems only the officer in charge of my panel has problem with us wearing 'formal' attire.
kun_JK92
08-04-2010, 08:16 PM
today was my interview and guess what for those who were in the same panel like me( panel 5), wearing a shirt and skirt / slacks is NOT FORMAL! It was ridiculous !! :notrustThe officer in charge was saying that for girls only baju kurung is FORMAL!and others are not formal.
Others who supposedly wore formal( shirt +slacks/skirt) in other panel wasn't told that. It seems only the officer in charge of my panel has problem with us wearing 'formal' attire.
It is ridiculous!only baju kurung is formal??lolz...
gelato
08-04-2010, 08:29 PM
It is ridiculous!only baju kurung is formal??lolz...
In fact she was telling us that we can even wear cheongsam rather than proper formal attire .what??!!:amazed
One indian girl from the same panel like me was so furious with this as the lady kept on demanding her to change her clothes but not so much of the others who wore like her (including me):P
i have no idea why.lol
Chichiro
08-04-2010, 08:45 PM
In fact she was telling us that we can even wear cheongsam rather than proper formal attire .what??!!:amazed
One indian girl from the same panel like me was so furious with this as the lady kept on demanding her to change her clothes but not so much of the others who wore like her (including me):P
i have no idea why.lol
haha lol , so indians can wear sari as well ? :laugh and i think only your panel's officer is that weird xD , during my interview , there were even girls who wore cotton long pants :P
yvonne91
09-04-2010, 06:45 PM
If the dress looks formal..then i think it's ok...high heels?sure, but make sure that it covers up your toes..btw, baju kurung is the ideal choice:)
candelifera
10-04-2010, 12:15 PM
Since the lady suggested cheongsam...can I wear a Punjabi suit for the interview?
10-04-2010, 12:18 PM
Since the lady suggested cheongsam...can I wear a Punjabi suit for the interview?
that's up 2 u.
candelifera
10-04-2010, 12:21 PM
But it IS allowed,right?
10-04-2010, 12:23 PM
But it IS allowed,right?
i hv no idea. last year, v jz wear formal uniforms and wen 2 the interview.
yvonne91
10-04-2010, 09:17 PM
But it IS allowed,right?
nah..the safest one would be baju kurung..hihi..if you don't have one..just go and buy it..it would be extremely useful if you really get the scholarship..in short, you need it....:)
candelifera
10-04-2010, 09:28 PM
Oh...I dunno yet what I'm gonna use. But did anyone see ANYBODY wearing a Punjabi suit? (LOL I'm desperate, I know)
11-04-2010, 12:39 AM
Oh...I dunno yet what I'm gonna use. But did anyone see ANYBODY wearing a Punjabi suit? (LOL I'm desperate, I know)
As far as I know, nope, nobody wears Punjabi suit. I think its better if you just wear office wear for the interview. Why take the risk? :P
Chichiro
11-04-2010, 12:44 AM
If you really don't want to buy baju kurung then go rent for it :P
luckblessed
11-04-2010, 01:46 AM
Hello guys i need some help here...can i change the course applied before the interview? i applied for pidn...and if not wronged i chose accounting...and now i think computer science still suits me better...so...is there by any chance i can change my course applied? Also if the interviewers ask what course i'm choosing must i answer the same course as i have chosen during the online application? You guys' helps are VERY VERY VERY MUCH APPRECIATED...
*off to sleep and will be back when i wake up^^
11-04-2010, 01:55 AM
Hello guys i need some help here...can i change the course applied before the interview? i applied for pidn...and if not wronged i chose accounting...and now i think computer science still suits me better...so...is there by any chance i can change my course applied? Also if the interviewers ask what course i'm choosing must i answer the same course as i have chosen during the online application? You guys' helps are VERY VERY VERY MUCH APPRECIATED...
*off to sleep and will be back when i wake up^^
Erm...I'm not sure about this. But if the interviewer ask, just tell the truth: that u initially applied for A but now u're switching to course B
Of course, be prepared for them to shoot you asking why didn't you make up your mind properly before applying
luckblessed
11-04-2010, 02:07 AM
Erm...I'm not sure about this. But if the interviewer ask, just tell the truth: that u initially applied for A but now u're switching to course B
Of course, be prepared for them to shoot you asking why didn't you make up your mind properly before applying
oopz it happened that i'm still awake:) thx very much for ur advise:)) i really wonder if i can change it before entering the interview...like informing the urusetia beforehand maybe? Anyway i opened up a new thread...hope i can get some help there...sry if i caused any inconvenience in this thread:(
11-04-2010, 02:13 AM
oopz it happened that i'm still awake:) thx very much for ur advise:)) i really wonder if i can change it before entering the interview...like informing the urusetia beforehand maybe? Anyway i opened up a new thread...hope i can get some help there...sry if i caused any inconvenience in this thread:(
Nope, any question about JPA can be posted in this thread or the other two, and it'd never be considered as inconvenience to us. I was wondering, when i was a new user in this forum, i never knew how to create a thread, even i had to create one. But, well, it took me weeks to find out the way. Now lots of newbies are a lot smarter, can create their own threads easily and fast, but without looking for some created and available threads to ask questions. I think everyone'd more than willing to help you here, including me!!! :amuse Anyways, sorry if i hurt your feeling, but just my two cents here. :)
11-04-2010, 02:29 AM
It will not cause inconvenience if you post your questions here but i would not encourage you to open a new thread to ask the same question you asked here. By the way, you should ask the officers if you can change on your interview day. If they say can, then you are lucky. If not, then be prepared to answer accounting-related questions. :)
11-04-2010, 02:41 AM
Don't worry too much about opening new threads. The mods will close them down/merge with existing threads if deemed suitable. The new thread is missing now :P
Just don't you go create a new thread for every new question that you have -.- Else the mods and admins won't be able to sleep at night trying to cleaning up the clutter
aqilah92
11-04-2010, 09:19 AM
No idea. But mine is Panel 3, would like to meet you there!!! :)
I was in panel 3 also that friday..11.00 a.m... the panels all women right?
3 hours waiting for my turn such a boring day plus im nervous.. shivering and cold..but which one are you? maybe we sit in the same row I guess coz we all waiting in front of the same room..
the question for me is quite simple.. "give the synopsis of your FV movie"..:P
even Its not so tough but the interviewer seem so bored an we all failed to impress them...:(
luckblessed
11-04-2010, 10:23 AM
Nope, any question about JPA can be posted in this thread or the other two, and it'd never be considered as inconvenience to us. I was wondering, when i was a new user in this forum, i never knew how to create a thread, even i had to create one. But, well, it took me weeks to find out the way. Now lots of newbies are a lot smarter, can create their own threads easily and fast, but without looking for some created and available threads to ask questions. I think everyone'd more than willing to help you here, including me!!! :amuse Anyways, sorry if i hurt your feeling, but just my two cents here. :)
It will not cause inconvenience if you post your questions here but i would not encourage you to open a new thread to ask the same question you asked here. By the way, you should ask the officers if you can change on your interview day. If they say can, then you are lucky. If not, then be prepared to answer accounting-related questions. :)
Don't worry too much about opening new threads. The mods will close them down/merge with existing threads if deemed suitable. The new thread is missing now :P
Just don't you go create a new thread for every new question that you have -.- Else the mods and admins won't be able to sleep at night trying to cleaning up the clutter
thx guys for ur generous answers:nuts seems like its not gonna be a safe option for me to change my course applied during the interview...maybe i'll juz go with the accountancy~.~wonder what preparation about the course should i do@<hidden>@<hidden> i didn't even took prinsip akaun in my spm:cry wish that the interviewers dun ask me questions too deep in accountancy:P
11-04-2010, 02:33 PM
thx guys for ur generous answers:nuts seems like its not gonna be a safe option for me to change my course applied during the interview...maybe i'll juz go with the accountancy~.~wonder what preparation about the course should i do@<hidden>@<hidden> i didn't even took prinsip akaun in my spm:cry wish that the interviewers dun ask me questions too deep in accountancy:P
If you really don't want to do accountancy then it's better to change. It's not about being safe or not.
As for the interview, don't worry. I don't think they'll ask you too deep in accountancy. But I do recommend background reading on the accounting field so you'll have a better idea about the path you're pursuing.
luckblessed
11-04-2010, 03:09 PM
If you really don't want to do accountancy then it's better to change. It's not about being safe or not.
As for the interview, don't worry. I don't think they'll ask you too deep in accountancy. But I do recommend background reading on the accounting field so you'll have a better idea about the path you're pursuing.
Accountancy isn't that bad either...juz that computer science is more of my interest...still...i guess by accountancy i can secure more stable jobs...thats much more important to me...now i'm thinking how i'm gonna face the interview...guess i'll have to prepare some answers for the popular questions which are related to the course...
1.Why would u choose this course?
this is still an 'okay' question...maybe i can blablabla out of it:P
2.How can u contribute to the country?
I put this one in red...bcuz this one's kiliing me:cry what accountants can contribute eh...doing accounts:notrust?
2 days to interview...gonna have to collect as many infos as i can b4 that:cry
11-04-2010, 03:21 PM
I put this one in red...bcuz this one's kiliing me:cry what accountants can contribute eh...doing accounts:notrust?
I'll give you a simple answer.
Accounting knowledge is very helpful in financial decision making. The government needs this a lot...
11-04-2010, 03:59 PM
1.Why would u choose this course?
this is still an 'okay' question...maybe i can blablabla out of it:P
2 days to interview...gonna have to collect as many infos as i can b4 that:cry
Try google the job coverage of an accountant. From there, relate to how you can contribute to our country. Try to be creative while making out a draft for your answer, e.g. include things like New Economic Model and so on. Be sure you know everything you answer because the interviewer might shoot you back based on your answer. :)
luckblessed
11-04-2010, 05:49 PM
I'll give you a simple answer.
Accounting knowledge is very helpful in financial decision making. The government needs this a lot...
Thx for ur comment i'll try to put this into my draft:) Anyway lets hope i can remember the points i've allocated when i really enter the interview...one tends to get amnesia during critical moment...at least i tried it before:P
Try google the job coverage of an accountant. From there, relate to how you can contribute to our country. Try to be creative while making out a draft for your answer, e.g. include things like New Economic Model and so on. Be sure you know everything you answer because the interviewer might shoot you back based on your answer. :)
wow that one's a real stuff... never even heard of it:omg time to put GOOGLE on efficient use:study
11-04-2010, 09:24 PM
I was in panel 3 also that friday..11.00 a.m... the panels all women right?
3 hours waiting for my turn such a boring day plus im nervous.. shivering and cold..but which one are you? maybe we sit in the same row I guess coz we all waiting in front of the same room..
the question for me is quite simple.. "give the synopsis of your FV movie"..:P
even Its not so tough but the interviewer seem so bored an we all failed to impress them...:(
Oh, well i wore blazer that time, and i was in the first group!!! :amuse Did you saw me? Well, i don't think i saw you cause too many people at that time. Well, if you read my interview experience here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=10461&page=9), i'm really getting worried as they showed their boredom face during the interview, and yet they never shoot me, missed my chance to impress them. :cry :cry :cry
candelifera
11-04-2010, 10:57 PM
The question I hate is 'which country would you prefer'. I'm taking medicine, and it looks like the UK has better quality, but the unis they meant are Oxford and Cambridge. Anyone got any advice? Which country and why. Pls and thank you.
luckblessed
11-04-2010, 11:05 PM
Errrr by the way if i'm applying PIDN i shouldn't have the problem of choosing which country to go...but are they by any possibility gonna ask which IPTA or local college i will choose?
11-04-2010, 11:13 PM
The question I hate is 'which country would you prefer'. I'm taking medicine, and it looks like the UK has better quality, but the unis they meant are Oxford and Cambridge. Anyone got any advice? Which country and why. Pls and thank you.
That is my favourite question!!! But then, they(the interviewers) didn't ask me on which country would i prefer and the reasons!!! :cry :( :cry
For me, i'd be choosing UK, because of its calmer atmosphere for us to study, and relatively lower crime rate as compared to US. (By the way, i'm applying for Science and the only countries offered to this course are UK and US) (And i didn't have any chance to say out my reasons of choosing UK, and missed out the chance to impress them!) :cry
Errrr by the way if i'm applying PIDN i shouldn't have the problem of choosing which country to go...but are they by any possibility gonna ask which IPTA or local college i will choose?
Maybe you should prepare it. :)
candelifera
11-04-2010, 11:20 PM
Thanks for the advice:), but the US is not on the list. I'm thinking, if I say UK and they ask me why not country X or Y. Say...why not Russia or Poland or India...
11-04-2010, 11:35 PM
Thanks for the advice:), but the US is not on the list. I'm thinking, if I say UK and they ask me why not country X or Y. Say...why not Russia or Poland or India...
Well, maybe you can say medicine course in UK (Oxbridge, etc) are way better than that offered in country X or Y.
kyoko3102
11-04-2010, 11:47 PM
and russia & others nid learn their language which is hard for u too ? hahax
gelato
12-04-2010, 12:40 AM
well for us panel 5, the lady said that we were not allowed to wear office wear which is formal .
To her it is not considered formal :notrust
chunkit
24-04-2010, 02:46 PM
yo
anyone know what is the minimum ielts requirement set by jpa?
ausmat student here, from intec uitm
24-04-2010, 03:31 PM
yo
anyone know what is the minimum ielts requirement set by jpa?
ausmat student here, from intec uitmIt depends on the country, or individual university.
last year, we had many false alarms too :)
be patient, the results should be out by the end of may or early june, coz' registration of new students normally falls on the first week of july
so, there's a lot of shaking-legs time now :)
lilynda
13-05-2010, 02:11 PM
For those who want to become an engineers, u must take biology subject in spm.
"Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) merujuk kepada surat Bapa Kecewa, Teluk Intan, Perak bertajuk “Bapa Kecewa Anak Dapat 10A SPM Gagal Dapat Biasiswa Lanjut Pelajaran Ke Luar Negara (http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/Bapakecewaanakdapat10ASPMgagaldapatbiasiswalanjutpelajarankeluarnegara/Article/index_html)” yang disiarkan dalam akhbar Berita Harian bertarikh 7 Mei 2010.
Syarat dan kriteria untuk biasiswa JPA bagi Program Ijazah Luar Negara (PILN) tahun 2010 telah dipaparkan di Portal JPA ( www.jpa.gov.my (http://www.jpa.gov.my)) pada awal Mac 2010.
Bagi permohonan pengajian ke luar negara dalam bidang kejuruteraan, JPA telah meletakkan syarat utama bahawa seseorang pemohon perlu sekurang-kurangnya memperoleh 9A, khususnya, di dalam subjek-subjek sains, iaitu, Biologi, Kimia, Fizik, Matematik dan Matematik Tambahan. Mata pelajaran ini, lazimnya, diambil oleh pelajar aliran sains untuk membolehkan mereka memohon penajaan untuk melanjutkan pengajian dalam bidang-bidang kritikal termasuk kejuruteraan." from jpa website
The boy who didnt take biology was not called 4 interview. Thus, apply jpa courses according to the criterias. You will not be given the interview chance if u dont meet the requirement.
13-05-2010, 05:00 PM
wow, y is it bio an important criteria in engineering field? I know that it plays some part but that shouldn't be criteria to disqualify a good student the chance to get selected for the interview. haiz
IamSaphiraQueen
24-06-2010, 04:01 PM
Edited off. Please quote only part of a long post that you want to answer to, to keep the thread tidy.
seehua
mine ask about mat rempit, i give my interviewer an answer and he keep on shooting me, haiz...and he speak really low, i cant barely what he is asking...
noname4287
02-09-2010, 06:02 AM
ayooo
almos 2 month aftr da july semster
but stil dun get da ''elaun'' from da jpa
anyone??
:(
02-09-2010, 11:53 PM
I think you should contact them to prevent further delays.
04-09-2010, 06:55 PM
ayooo
almos 2 month aftr da july semster
but stil dun get da ''elaun'' from da jpa
anyone??
:(
hv u submitted all d necessary documents cause JPA won't bank in d allowance until ur documents r cleared. it best 2 confirm tat woth jpa officers.
pravin93
10-04-2011, 01:54 AM
Im going for Jpa interview on 13 April.
As for borang pengesahan pendapatan, i can't get signature/cop from py pengetua as she is in batu pahat(my school there) while i am in klg valley.:(
I cnot go back there n get her cop b4 13th, so how can i explain this during interview?
Thank you.
10-04-2011, 08:42 PM
Im going for Jpa interview on 13 April.
As for borang pengesahan pendapatan, i can't get signature/cop from py pengetua as she is in batu pahat(my school there) while i am in klg valley.:(
I cnot go back there n get her cop b4 13th, so how can i explain this during interview?
Thank you.
well, i think tat u should call JPA 1st n ask their advice. Maybe u cn get a certification frm some1 else like Justice Peace, etc if u got d green light frm JPA
uonald
07-05-2011, 06:29 PM
hey i've got a question. for PIDN (local jpa), do i get to choose the uni i want to go? if no, how did people get to go to cool universities like Monash or Nottingham under PIDN??
fallenangelxoxo
09-05-2011, 02:43 AM
hey i've got a question. for PIDN (local jpa), do i get to choose the uni i want to go? if no, how did people get to go to cool universities like Monash or Nottingham under PIDN??
hey, we wont get to choose which uni to go...i am a PIDN scholar in MMU...i am not sure about how they went those uni but i am sure tat JPA choose them base on the course that they are taking...in MMU there are engineering, accounting and economics students...so depend on ur luck...but dun be picky...its lucky to have the scholarship =) and one more thing...you might be offer PIDN under IPTA...which means you have to continue ur matriculation/form 6 while being bonded by jpa after completion of ur studies..tat is worst than getting IPTS...LOL!!
OverseasEdu
06-07-2011, 09:55 PM
Hey, where can i get more information about the breakdown of scholarship they provide? I've been searching around but couldn't get anything from the Esilav2 website. :(
wonderland
03-04-2012, 05:32 PM
Did the thread died? considering the level of activity here.
raindrops
03-04-2012, 06:17 PM
Thank you. U are very helpful.