View Full Version : A Big Thread On JPA Scholarship (My experience and tips)

Pages : [1] 2 3

thomas_hang0000
09-04-2008, 03:25 AM
Hi all and I'm a Recom-mer who used to surf this site for a long time for the latest info and I've gained endless benefits from this site, for free. Thus I'm here trying to share my experience and things that I know throughout the application of JPA Scholarship for the year 2008 with other Recom-mers.

This' what I experienced on 2008, obviously there're changes on 2009 (onwards). Thus I'm not sure if the information I've written expires or not. Anyway, I hope this article could clarify most questions in students applying for JPA Scholarship. Here it goes.

Many post SPM students will start to worry about their coming JPA interview after the release of their results. So I am too. But I've becoming a 'senior' of JPA interview already; I just had my interview on 4th April 2008 (8am, Panel 1, in INTURA in Sungai Petani). Here I would like to share with you all the information I've gathered so far before and after the JPA interview. Hope this will be helpful for people like me (who worry a lot and tried much on searching info about JPA things). I mean those who're goin' to have their JPA interview on 09' or so.

The JPA scholarship registration will be open right after the SPM result is released (early-mid of March), and only 2 weeks (14 days) are allocated for you all to fill the registration form. No mailing is required. This can be said as phase one. Just submit your info and cross your fingers to be shortlisted.

Before you register that scholarship, you need to sign up your IC number and your name to make an ID in eSila; so that you can proceed with your scholarship registration (there you fill your personal information). Make sure that you fill your details (especially IC number) correctly. Once it's submitted, it will be hard to undo the changes.

The online form is quite linear, compared to some other scholarships' online form. Just point your cursor (mouse) to the word "Panduan" if you need help on how to fill. Read carefully and follow everything stated there. There's one little bug I noticed from that form. In that salary section, they require you to fill 000.00 as asked in "Panduan" if your parent(s) have no income. But after submitting it, the value is changed to 0.00. That?s normal; don't waste your chance just to edit this value. It cannot be changed to 000.00. How I know this? It?s because I've tried on this year- and thus wasted 1 chance for editing.

For those whose parents are doing their own business (no salary), just divide annual profit by 12 (as one year got 12 months, right?). The annual profit's figure can be obtained from the Borang B or J or things like that. But it's still advisable to seek help from teachers or accountants for 100% precise answer.

Read the information given before filling the form. The rest shouldn't be a problem. Fill them up just like a normal online form. If I'm not wrong it's required to be filled in CAPITAL LETTERS. Don't forget this. After filling everything up, double check and submit it.

Check the site frequently. Normally the shortlisted name list will be released just one or two days after the closing date of online application (end of March). For those who take Medicine (Kedoktoran), keep your eyes open for the Kursus Kerjaya list (earlier). And it's compulsory to participate. Don't serve it as a trip to hospital or something. Notice everything you see and learn things from there. The reason is... continue-reading. Those who joined this kursus and think that they regretted still can change their mind. But it's during the interview day. Wait till that day and let the secretary (I prefer to say kerani ><) know that you want to change course.

Ok. Let?s say you're shortlisted. Congrats. You're one step nearer to the scholarship. Don't forget the interview time, panel, and location. What to prepare? This will be your big question. You got a few things to take care of. I say: attire, self-introduction, documents and... er mental-preparation + confidence.

What to wear?
A-must (in my opinion):
Males:
Slack (black or brown)
Leather shoes (I dunno how to say in English, in BM, kasut kulit, brown or black)
Alternative: 'Kasut batu' (I think the noise is quite annoying, it's up to you)
Long sleeve (You should know what is it, personally I think plain coloured one is better, try to avoid those with fancy stripes with different colours)
Tie (Must must must, don't ignore this)
Belt (I didn't wear it there, I think it's not really important)

Females:
Baju kurung (oh gawd, girls are lucky. Just get 1 set of baju kurung and you're done!)
Alternative: Males' attire (the interviewers consist of MALAY mostly; you know... you know... So personally I think the former- baju kurung is much better)
Leather shoes (Yeah it looks weird with baju kurung, but I saw more than 90% of them wearing this for interview)

Oh, some ask whether can wear National Service's attire or not. Try not to. I don't think it's formal.

How about batik (for males)? This one is the real formal dressing. But I really got no idea. So far I noticed, nobody wears this.

Coat (Kot in BM)? Yes, it really makes you look professional. But be prepared to be showered with tough questions (I think so). As it's like you're sticking a note on your forehead 'shoot me'. Try to be moderate lah... Why try so hard to be so special out of them? No point right? (But I saw got people wear this during the interview session. You can wear, but reconsider ><)

What to fit in your clear holder?
According to this year's (2008, latest, we know this only when we're in the interviewing place), the arrangement goes this way:

1. Slip Temu Duga (printed)
2. Slip Pemohonan (printed)
3. Your IC (original, leave 1 blank page for this. Just take out your IC and fit into this page when you're reporting to kerani, maybe you still need IC to do something else right?)
4. Your birth cert (original)
5. Father's birth cert (original)
6. Mother's birth cert (original)
7. Surat kewarganegaraan (of your parents, original, ONLY for parents who're born before Independence Day, in case you dunno >< 31st August 1957)
8. SPM result (original, yes it's only that printed slip, though it really looks like just a fake copy :/ )
9. Cert. of Co-curricular activities (original, put the best things you had during Form 4 and Form 5, bear in mind that these are the proves to show that you're better than the others. THIS-IS-IMPORTANT! ) "Try not to be arrogant while mentioning IT even though your performance is very good" -AnnDeBlurry, milkshake :)
10. Sijil Tamat Sekolah (original, the one with all the details of you, including your co-curricular performance and so)
11. Slip gaji (original)
Alternative: For those whose parents have their own business (bekerja sendiri), grab the returned Borang B or J or BE or (other code, I dunno much about this) and put the whole thing into that transparent A4 pocket. I've asked a lot other people and they suggested this, because there're no other better proves to prove their salary who do business themselves, since past 2 years (2006 I think), there's no return slip anymore. If not, we need to present that slip but not the Borang thing. So no slip gaji is needed anymore for this.
12. Borang pengesahan pendapatan (printed, filled)
*** Only get them signed by your Pengetua/ Penolong Kanan, but not Guru Kanan Mata Pelajaran, as what stated in the guideline provided with online borang pengesahan pendapatan, which is a PDF file. Maybe the interviewers aren't really gone into this, but just in case if you meet the choosy ones...

Provide a certified (yang disah, the photocopied version of slip temu duga, slip pemohonan and borang pengesahan gaji don't really need to be certified anymore, but if you want to, just go with it) photocopied set of the documents (stated in 1 to 12, ALL of them, they need to take back the copied set) and just put them in a transparent pocket or an envelope or take it with bare hands, you choose. Clip them together anyway you like, or you just take them there and give the job to the kerani. Paperclips are there, don't worry.

Anything else to prepare before-hand?
Write a script on self introduction. It's not 100%, just in case they need you to introduce yourselves. Include these things:
1. Name (for sure ==)
2. Last previous school (meaning you graduated from which secondary school)
3. Parents occupation (businessman, grocer, full-time housewife or so)
4. Siblings (Just say got how many brothers and/or sisters. If many of them are still studying, let them know; if all of them already graduated and can support your family... don't mention this until they ask you. This' kind of strategy heh)
5. Your co-curricular activities (This one is the real thing, say what achievements you got and do self-promotion and squeeze everything you got to them, try to make stars appear around you. But in my interview, I was not asked bout own co-curricular activities, thus I got no chance for this)
6. Which course you choose (with country)
7. Why you choose this course
8. Why you choose this country

Just know what you going to say. Memorising doesn't really help. As you need eye contact when communicate with the interviewers, and to me that time, I can?t load anything out of my memory--- I just said anything I thought of that time. So... memorising is a waste... trust me (or depends on how one thinks maybe :/ )

Let?s do a bit fast forward, enough for a few days of torturing (for people like me). It's the day. Go to the interviewing place you selected in that online form. Fetch the location map before-hand if you really don't know where it is. Don't lose this golden opportunity because of you are lost or dunno how to reach there that day.

You're on your formal attire, holding a clear holder. And having one or two pens (or pencils) in your pocket, as well as 1 thick covered notebook (some people bring test pad or A4 papers with plastic folder). You need a thick one as a base because there is no table provided for you to write, so most probably you write on your thigh and of course something hard is needed so that you can write really fast!

Upon reaching there, search for name lists and sign beside your name (that doesn't really matter, if I?m not wrong). And proceed to the kerani(s); most probably they're just next to the door of interviewing room, insulated. There, you have to sign your name this time, to show that you're present. And then the kerani will ask you to take the original copy out, as well as the photocopied ones. She/he will check and make a few marks there and they're kept. This means you're not bringing the documents into the room. The kerani's will do for you. The groups are arranged this way: 8am, 10am, 2pm or maybe got other time. Most probably it'll be done in 2 rounds or 3, each round take more or less 1 hour. So this means you really got to wait there long unless you're lucky enough being the first batch to enter the interviewing room. Relax and check who's goin' to be with you. Try to be familiar with them and make friends with them. Talk and share things with them. I did that and it really feels great. Of course if you want to, mix with others from other panel and group too! This'll temporarily make you forget about that interview thing and relax for a bit.

When it's your turn, the kerani will give you all number-tag and wear them. The interview is done in group, not one by one into the room (solo). She/he will ask you all to line up at the door to the interviewing room. IF you're the first one, I got to say that... you're lucky (or not, I got number one too ^^). Take a deep breath. Knock the door, stick your head in, greet them and ask permission to go in. Just say it loud enough. They WILL reply to you, don't worry. Go in and stand right in front of the seat according to number. Wait until they allow you all to sit, thank them and sit. Mind your sitting posture. Leg-shakers, learn not to do it in front of the interviewers! You really don't notice you're doin' that if you don't pay attention to that. Don't kill your opportunity.

They real game begins. The way it starts will be different. Some of the interviewers will add a little seasoning so that they're not bored of the repeating routine. So, prepare yourself for anything surprising >< If it goes the common way, there are three:
1. Introduction to yourselves, followed by discussion and personal questions.
2. Discussion and personal questions (You just state your name and school before you talk about your opinion, which would be nicer. Ish, I forgot to do that T.T)
3. Introduction to yourselves and personal questions ONLY (Oh, you're da' lucky man!)

The questions vary from current issue to unexpected ones. We say, no politics at our age, but during our year (2008 ), some of them were asked opinion about the General Election throughout the session (oh ****). Crazily, some were asked about their favourite TV show (or which they watched recently) and why they chose that. Another is: What's the headline of yesterday? This' the question for one of my Alor Setar friend. That night before he didn't read nation headlines, but only sports. Thus he just told them what he knew, which is, the result of soccer match (which team win which team by how much). The interviewers laughed. Is is a good sign? Nobody knows. Anyway he's one of the JPA scholar now, too.

These questions are really unexpected. Just be alert and I don't think you can really prepare for this :/ Read newspapers daily and this might help. If you're asked current issue, the list is here: (Thanks to other Recom-mers)

1. Increasing crime rate among students
2. Patriotism among teenagers
3. Parents are spending less time with their children (Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak)
4. Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
5. Reality TV program give negative impact on students or not
6. Presents students are more pampered
7. 1st class infrustructure, 3rd class mentality (1st class infrastructure and 3rd class mentality still prevails)
8. Schools emphasize on academics excellence (Education system too emphasised on academics and tourism)
9. Junk food
10. Teenagers nowadays do not socialize
11. ICT: Advantages and disadvantages
12. Tahun ini ialah Tahun Melancong Malaysia. Apakah usaha yang boleh anda buat untuk melaksanakan program ini?
13. Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life, do u agree?
14. Heavy fines should be issued to litter bugs
15. Human resource
16. Drugs
17. Students who are choosy in picking their courses (Graduate unemployment is due to graduates being choosy about their job?)
18. Global warming
19. RMK 9
20. Things to prepare before going abroad
21. Children nowadays prefer to play computer games, etc
22. Violence
23. Female vs. Male in Academic Achievements
24. Reading Habit Among Youth is Declining
25. Dasar pandang ke timur
26. Corruption
27. Do you agree that bloggers should be registered?
28. Education system
29. The philosophy of a coin [the most unexpected question for me]
30. Do you think it's the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream?
31. Should school uniform be abolished or not
32. Tell us one strength and weakness of yours. One only
33. Pick a cartoon character that would best explain you and why
34. Picture yourself in 10 years time and what would you want to be
35. Isu-isu semasa di Malaysia pada masa kini?
36. Kemajuan sains dan teknologi membawa lebih banyak keburukan atau kebaikan
37. Your favourite TV programs and why
38. Nelayan laut dalam lebih mengutung daripada peladang
39. National Service for females should be established or not?
40. Malaysia harus membina sebuah pusat penyelidikan di kutub selatan
41. Negara barat dikatakan lebih maju dalam bidang IT. Apakah sebabnya?
42. Leadership & followership. The conclusion between leadership & followership
43. Our leader idols

44. Public Transport in Malaysia
45. Quality of Local Film vs. Foreign Film
46. Increasing crime Rate
47. Reality TV Shows (e.g.: Malaysian Idol)
48. Study Abroad vs. Study in Malaysia
49. Graduate Unemployment
50. National Service
51. Agricultural
52. Teaching of Mathematics and Science in English
53. Patriotism
54. 9th Malaysian Plan
55. How to promote our country?
56. Drug Abuse in Malaysia
57. Female vs. Male in Academic Achievements
58. Usage of Hand phone in Schools
59. Qualities of a Good Leader
60. Pollution
61. Healthy Lifestyles
62. Pros & Cons of Fast Food
63. Aspiration of Malaysia to be Center of Education Excellence vs. Sending Students Abroad
64. How will AFTA affect our Automobile Industry?
65. Vision School
66. Pros & Cons of Using Credit Card
67. Declining Reading Habit in Malaysia
68. Courtesy among Malaysians
69. Children nowadays are being pampered
70. Terrorism
71. ICT: Advantages and Disadvantages
72. White Collar Crime
73. Ways to Overcome Piracy (Counterfeit) Problem
74. 1st Class Facility, 3rd Class Mentality
75. Price of Petrol Increasing
76. Age for Driving License
77. Foreign Workers in Malaysia

The question discussed in my own interview session is "My mission and my vision", we're blank for a few seconds, but later know that it's just about our occupation, linked to what course we choose and how we gonna do contribution, something like this. My friends were to discuss about "Reading habit" and "Vision 2020".

Some panel gives 2 minutes to prepare for discussion. Some allocates 5 minutes. It really depends on your luck. Slide out the stationery and write fast. Think fast (I fail at brain storming T.T) and take down the points. Don't write essay, though some people really have the ability to write a 200 word essay in 5 minutes >< Holy**** Just don't try it.

The interviewer will be kind enough to ask who's going to start (while some panel don't, that's rare). If you're ready, raise your hand and start. Being the first can be a good thing, or the other way. Being the first, you can share all of your points, without worrying your points being mentioned by the others. But if you are not the first one, be smart. Point stealing is commonly done in my group. They steal points and further elaborate it so that they need not to draw out new points. It's not wrong, right? ><

Let?s go to the personal questions part. Oh this one is another crazy one. Those who take medical, I got a little list for you to prepare:
1. How do you think about that Kursus Kerjaya Kedoktoran? (Very very common)
2. How many teeth do an adult human have?
3. How many bones do an adult human have?

And for those who take other courses:
1. How do you think can contribute as a/an (job of your course) to our country?
2. How do you think can contribute as a/an (job of your course) to achieve K economy? (I think it's about the same. K economy= Economy based on Information Technology, just boom about, ha-ha)

And weird questions include:
1. What's the name of our Yang Dipertuan Agung? (Famous question in Kelantan state, Kelantanese, be prepared >< and the answer is Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, the Sultan of Terrenganu and also the 13th Sultan of Malaysia)
2. (Let your imagination goes wild, expect the worst from them... any question just to make you panic. Just answer them calmly. Er, if you really dunno, just admit it. It's only when if you REALLY don't know about that. Saying dunno too much will surely ruin your impression to them too.)

Some of the time, I noticed that if you you're asked 1 question that you dunno, and IF you keep quiet and act like thinking of it, they'll probably ask another easier question. They're kind, they won?t eat you up. Try your best to answer the second question. If you fail them once more, uh, most probably they'll not ask you any other questions anymore >< Amen.

Some of the interviewers are paid to 'shoot' people. Meaning they find out the weak point of the things you said and they question about it. So, think a bit before you wanna say something, and be prepared to answer the questions they gonna shower you.

In fact, these 2 parts are just to test your confidence. Don't be nervous (but I did T.T and the interviewer ask me to relax and don't be nervous >< I?m sure this is a bad thing to me) Even if you think that your answer is a bit out of topic, just continue saying. It's not really a test to your ability of giving perfect points. They'll hear whatever you say. They are kind, again I say.

What happened to me?
In personal question section, I was asked: (we didn't have self-introduction part)
Q: Why do you choose Japan? (I chose Diploma in Engineering: Japan)
A: I think that Japan has nice culture and I would like to enjoy it. The technology over there is great too. I want to study the technology over there and bring the information back to contribute to our own nation. (Meaning import technology, how silly am I :/ )
Q: I don't think that the culture over Japan is nicer than the Western places. Western people respect other people better than the Eastern people. How do you think? (And the other interviewer says in BM) Apakah pendapat kamu?
A: Namun demikian, orang Barat sering dikaitkan dengan budaya kuning... (I haven't finish my talk, but the interviewer cut through my words)
Q: (She nodded) then if we compare between Japan and Korea, why you choose Japan?
A: It's because Japan has better technology and is the closest to our country (among the other countries) (Oh gawd, both the interviewer laugh at me ==)...

This is what happened to me. It's quite brief and I was quite nervous there. Notice that if they ask in Malay, then answer in Malay. Don't answer in English if they ask in Malay. That gonna kill your chance.

The interview days are around 1st of April. There are cases where interviewers play fool with interviewees on that day(April Fool, man). An example is, they keep change the language and for this, you'll need to pay attention to the language they use and answer with that language too. They might like to play fools with ya, but not all.

For those who have learnt other Languages that meets the country(course) you're choosing, you may want to include the certificate in your clear holder. Probably the interviewers'll ask you to speak abit of it. Just say a few simple sentences. For Japanese, some of my friends said there're people just saying 'ohaiyougozaimasu, watashiwa... ' this sort of thing. Sounds simple :/

After this, they will say the session is ending and ask you all whether have any question to ask or not. Then you all will be asked to walk to them and take the clear holders, which the kerani has taken to them. They'll also remind you all to take the online personality test at eSila. At this moment, if you did well and think really need to shake their hands to perfect the whole session, Do IT. English style will do, if you're a Chinese and you do the Malay style, it's a bit weird but again, it's up to you. Then greet them thanks and leave the room. If you're the last to leave, close the door with your hand, though it'll close automatically. Do it, maybe they'll notice this, who knows?

Then don't leave there yet. Take the Slip Temu Duga (original, printed) out and hand it to the kerani, they need this one. Then you'll be asked to leave. Sigh of relieve. Here your blood pressure is normal again.

It's not end yet. You got to take the online personality test in eSila within the 10 days (from the first day of interview). Serve this test seriously. Make sure your browser doesn't break down frequently and electricity supply to your home is stable (man, not a joke ><). If not, go to your friends' house to do this. Who knows that the God wants to play fool on you due to your carelessness? Also make sure that your computer time is correct. Change CMOS battery and synchronise the date and time via internet if you're using XP or Vista IF NEEDED. This sounds funny, but this is just to make sure that the odds aren?t going to happen to you. If not mistaken, this test can only be done ONCE. Not a joke, man ><

Login to that page and proceed with caution. You'll be shown a bunch of questions (around 250) and asked to finish in 45 minutes. There're 4 sections. First is more on moral thing (Smart smart lo here). Second part is about what are you interested on if you're given the chance. The third part is on your current ability. While the last part is about what job would you like to have if it's available to you? There must be a few NOs for the whole list of questions, unless you're the perfect guy ><

After finishing it, click HANTAR and print that page as asked. Then you're done. Pray for the best. Everything ends here. Sit back and rest after weeks of hard work. May rays of luck shine upon you all.

It has been a few years since I created this article. The course I've chosen is KEJURUTERAAN (JEPUN). Currently studying Control Engineering(diploma) in Oyama National College of Technology, Japan (Tochigi Prefecture).
Please give comments on this article. Your valued opinion is much appreciated ^^ Thanks.

09-04-2008, 06:44 PM
Thanks for the nice long detailed explanation

Thread stickied

lindley
09-04-2008, 07:54 PM
just wanna ask right, the borang pengesahan pendapatan, my dad filled it up wrongly *he refused to listen to me..argh!!* but the lady asked me to fill it up again and get it certified by some guy in Putrajaya there. so thats what i did, but my photocopy and the new original is diff. will that affect my chances of getting jpa?

AlynQq
09-04-2008, 08:44 PM
OMG!!!!the interviewers didn't take my slip temuduga..................will it b a problem??some of my frens oso same v me.............does it mean tat we failed 2 get the scholarship?????can anybody reply me??i'm so worry.............

lindley
09-04-2008, 08:57 PM
har no worr. i think that is just proof that you were called right? dont worry so much =)

AlynQq
09-04-2008, 09:01 PM
har no worr. i think that is just proof that you were called right? dont worry so much =)

Tq.U'r the only person who replied me n comfort me.........:)Bt i really worry...........do u noe when will the result come out?

lindley
09-04-2008, 09:03 PM
lol. for germany/japan engineering results will be out on 18 april
for other courses, results will be out on the 12th of may =)

thomas_hang0000
09-04-2008, 09:17 PM
just wanna ask right, the borang pengesahan pendapatan, my dad filled it up wrongly *he refused to listen to me..argh!!* but the lady asked me to fill it up again and get it certified by some guy in Putrajaya there. so thats what i did, but my photocopy and the new original is diff. will that affect my chances of getting jpa?

That borang is the thing to prove your parents salary. If the figure over there have not much different (of about RM500) it shouldn't be a problem. The one you handed to them is the photocopied one... so it would be better if the figure in photocopied version refers to the real figure (just about the same as Borang J or B things) >< Meh don't worry too much dude.

Thanks for the support. If there're anything I missed or any info that I've presented is misleading, do let me know and I'm ready to correct them. :)

lindley
10-04-2008, 06:48 PM
lol phew. the figures are exactly the same in the new original and the photocopy. only the pengesahan by diff people lol. im a dudette btw lol. sorry being lame xD

great thread btw. i just told my friend abt this =)

thomas_hang0000
10-04-2008, 06:57 PM
Congrats lol. Now you need not to worry about it anymore.
Thanks in advance for your comment.

jun
10-04-2008, 07:11 PM
lol. for germany/japan engineering results will be out on 18 april
for other courses, results will be out on the 12th of may =)

hey are you sure about this....as i noe france and japan engineering oni come out at 18 april..not german engineering lah

thomas_hang0000
10-04-2008, 07:14 PM
hey are you sure about this....as i noe france and japan engineering oni come out at 18 april..not german engineering lah

Yeah what I know is, Engineering in German is the last among these. And Japan is the earliest one.

milkshake
10-04-2008, 07:24 PM
. Your co-curricular activities (This one is the real thing, say what achievements you got and do self-promotion and squeeze everything you got to them, try to make stars appear around you ><)

Xon edited the broken BBcode.

Really?? I read somewhere in recom...they are people saying try not to promote urself too much which in a way show that ure too arrogant and that ure very great because whatever about you,the interviewers know cause it's all in the file n all. Due to that,I did not talk a lot bout my co-curricular activities. =(

when the results are out...we just check the esila website to find out is it?

thomas_hang0000
10-04-2008, 07:44 PM
I didn't have the chance to introduce myself. They straight away went to discussion part.
It's OK if you think that those certificates are already more than enough to prove that you're special among them.
If you want to talk about that, be moderate lah. When they ask you questions like "Why do you think that you deserve this Scholarship?", your also need to do a bit self-promotion, or I don't think there're any other better ways to answer that.
Again, be moderate lo.

Lol If I'm not wrong it should be eSila. If not, where else can we check? newspaper or...? I'm not sure about this :wink

FakeAngel
10-04-2008, 09:15 PM
OMG!!!!the interviewers didn't take my slip temuduga..................will it b a problem??some of my frens oso same v me.............does it mean tat we failed 2 get the scholarship?????can anybody reply me??i'm so worry.............

do not worry. i'm worse den u. i had my interview on 4th, and i went for vacation after tat. until today i oni found out tat the clerk forgot to take my original borang pengesahan pendapatan, ( perhaps it's my responsibility oso). so , i called them up asking bout the slip n borang. they said they don realli need the slip

lindley
11-04-2008, 08:15 AM
eh really? i thought i saw on the notice board german engineering come out on 18th. i must have been mistaken then

SORRY!

11-04-2008, 09:36 AM
Really?? I read somewhere in recom...they are people saying try not to promote urself too much which in a way show that ure too arrogant and that ure very great because whatever about you,the interviewers know cause it's all in the file n all. Due to that,I did not talk a lot bout my co-curricular activities. =(

when the results are out...we just check the esila website to find out is it?[/QUOTE]----by milkshake

However , in my case , the interviewer asked us to mention about our co-curriculum activities while introducing ourselves . So , we just have to tell it to them . Try not to be arrogant while mentioning it eventhough your performance in ECC is very good .

lindley
11-04-2008, 07:35 PM
yeah. they said when you wanna promote yourself, dont do it till the extent that other candidates get annoyed as well. thats when you know that youve gone overboard. =)

B.T.SengYee
13-06-2008, 02:18 PM
is it going to be the same thing happen in 2009 fot the interview..
who knows..
ntw it was an good article mentining every part of the interview n the whole process to get jpa scholarship.
well done...
Park beach condo pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

Yvette
15-07-2008, 08:30 PM
i was just wondering whether JPA interviews are still conducted in debate style.. hmm..
if that is still the case, u just have to show ur reasoning skills and social skills. Do not dominate the discussion/debate.. smile and assume a pleasing demeanor..sell urself well and
make sure what you say leaves an impression on the panel.

remember to give a firm handshake (if applicable) and thank the panel after the interview!

xinni
15-07-2008, 08:34 PM
i was just wondering whether JPA interviews are still conducted in debate style.. hmm..
if that is still the case, u just have to show ur reasoning skills and social skills. Do not dominate the discussion/debate.. smile and assume a pleasing demeanor..sell urself well and
make sure what you say leaves an impression on the panel.

remember to give a firm handshake (if applicable) and thank the panel after the interview!

Well , mine was conducted in debate style . By the way I didn't get the scholarships in the end.

Appolo
08-11-2008, 04:00 PM
Is there any way we can combine this thread with the thread on appealing?

med_rose
21-12-2008, 06:45 PM
hey there!i don't know whether i'm in the wrong thread..but it's about jpa application..actually,when we apply for jpa scholarships,they will let us choose what courses we would like to take in where?or they will just send you to any college and study whatever..?i heard many people saying they are sent by jpa to russia/india n bla.. to study medicine.but how's the a-level before really taking medicine??:huh

thomas_hang0000
23-12-2008, 05:36 PM
For now, right few days after receiveing SPM result, JPA scholarship application will be open. Keep your eyes open on that. It'll be an online form. Fill with care, though you'll be given other 2 chances to edit, but it's advisable not to waste them.

There will be a list in the form for you to choose, they come such way:
(COURSE)-(COUNTRY)
For example, I'm taking ENGINEERING-JAPAN
Of course there are ENGINEERING-KOREA, ENGINEERING*, ENGINEERING-GERMANY, and blah blah blah...
You might wonder why there's no country for certain choice. For this ENGINEERING, that will be America (and other countries). For other courses I'm not sure. Bout' the rest, they're stated there.

And don't worry they won't send you to courses you didn't choose (so far I know). I think it'll only be possible in application for local university and other applications.

For THIS application, we all are studying the specified country's language and foundation course in Malaysia for a few years. The shortest that I know is around 3 month, which is MEDIC-RUSSIA. Then we'll be sent oversea (to the country we chose) after passing an important exam. If fail, got to stay for another one or few semester and retest. All the courses are more or less the same.

23-12-2008, 07:59 PM
There is a list of courses and countries offered published on the website when the application is open. If you get the scholarship, you might be sent to any country in the list, decision in the hand of JPA. However, you will get to know which country you get when you receive your offer letter, or sometimes can be checked online. For some courses, some specific countries are treated as different category. Engineering is a good example. There are Japan Engineering, France Engineering, Korea Engineering, German Engineering. If you apply specifically for any of this, you will get only the country you apply for. However, there is another Engineering, which includes US, Canada, Australia etc, depending on the list that year, you might get any of these countries if you secure the scholarship. For medicine and dentistry, there is another specific category-- Middle East, which requires Bahasa Arab in SPM, others are under the same category, which means you might get, from Indonesia, to Russia, India, Australia or UK.

med_rose
26-12-2008, 10:07 PM
Thanks alot!!but,how about like if i want to take medicine..can i take the a-level in a local private college first?

razor
27-12-2008, 03:52 AM
Thanks alot!!but,how about like if i want to take medicine..can i take the a-level in a local private college first?

Hi, I've been offered a scholarship to do medicine last year and I'll try to clear your doubt. Trust me, las yr, I asked d same question 2 myself! I'll tell u hw d medicine program is as offered by jpa.

If u were posted 2 any of d twinning programs (PMC-Ireland, IMU, MMMC-India), u'll hv 2 do ur a-level at International Education Centre, INTEC, wic is under d purview of UiTM. Mind u, it's a lengthy 2-year course, so u wun really fly immediately.

If u were offered a full 5 year medical studies in India, u'll do ur a-level at Management & Science University (MSU) for also 2 yrs b4 u fly.

However, if were offered to study in Russia, then u dun nd 2 wry bout ur a-level coz u only nd 2 attend a 3-month preparatory course before flying. :amazed

Since medicine is a very long (in sense of time) discipline, it is advisable 2 'save' as many years as possible. Unfortunately, it is a must, yes, a MUST 4 u do ur a-level at institutions fixed by jpa. Unless of course, if ur dad knows d top gun in d administration etc.

I did consider doing a one-year a-level course but then d jpa officer i contacted asked me 2 not submit an appeal for they mite reject n worse, terminate 2 scholarship upon discovering ur ability 2 afford a private, tertiary education (or should i say sesquisecondary education?). Also, i dun wish 2 burden my parents 2 fork out an unnecessary 10k 4 it.

Hope i've answered ur question. If u wud lk 2 ask nyting about hw d pre-u course for medicine, pls dun hesitate. :wink

DireAnguish5678
13-01-2009, 07:30 PM
There is a list of courses and countries offered published on the website when the application is open. If you get the scholarship, you might be sent to any country in the list, decision in the hand of JPA. However, you will get to know which country you get when you receive your offer letter, or sometimes can be checked online. For some courses, some specific countries are treated as different category. Engineering is a good example. There are Japan Engineering, France Engineering, Korea Engineering, German Engineering. If you apply specifically for any of this, you will get only the country you apply for. However, there is another Engineering, which includes US, Canada, Australia etc, depending on the list that year, you might get any of these countries if you secure the scholarship. For medicine and dentistry, there is another specific category-- Middle East, which requires Bahasa Arab in SPM, others are under the same category, which means you might get, from Indonesia, to Russia, India, Australia or UK.

I didn't take Bahasa Arab in SPM, and I got offered Perubatan Timur Tengah. In the interview, they asked me if I would take an offer to go to Indonesia, and I said yes, but then later I didn't get an offer to go to Indonesia. Actually, when my mom found out I was willing to go Indonesia, she kind of disagreed, because she says it's a step backwards. I couldn't really understand her point of view, but I didn't find anyone else who could clarify, so I just shrugged it off and forgot about it.

Anyway, it's also important to note, that if MARA or JPA sends you to do A levels or even ICPU, which my friends got, those who do not do very well are still able to study in a different country than offered. For example, if they received an offer for twinning at IMU, and then didn't get into IMU, MARA will still sponsor you to Russia, Indonesia, etc.

btw, i just wanted to say hi to everyone here, because I'm new to recom.org

justcameforfun
22-02-2009, 07:34 PM
I would like to ask if you are required to submit your form 4 results or not.:huh

are your chances affected if your results were not good during form 4? pls answr...

gman
22-02-2009, 10:27 PM
no, you don't need to submit your form 4 results. your spm results are the ones needed for this application.

CCY_to_the_top
09-03-2009, 01:13 PM
hei guys!! revive this thread!!

12-03-2009, 07:58 PM
lets hear some questions,only then can we revive this thread...btw,to all juniors,i seriously advice u all to read up all the past threads.they shud answer almost all things jpa.

vesperano
17-03-2009, 05:38 PM
I wasn't active in co-curriculum activities,
but I have my own reasons for that,
I wonder will I have a chance to explain during the interview?
If they ask me to tell about my achievements and stuff like that,
can I say frankly that "I wasn't very active in co-cu because .... blah blah blah"?
My greatest interest is Psychology,
and the main reason I chose to seclude myself up is to experience and to explore different perceptions on world/things, and not to be bonded by the healthy mindset of average teenagers....sounds stupid though, but I did learned a lot so far, including the ability to empathize with different sorts of personalities.

Another reason is that I have to make kuih and sell them at Pasar Malam every day and worked as a promoter at a local supermarket for the weekends. I take all these as some sort of extra-curricular activities too, at least I communicated with the society :P During school holidays, I went for various part time jobs at other places, learned the important of teamwork, tolerance, lived together with strangers, leaderships, financial management etc which was quite the same as going to camp. =_="

chong
17-03-2009, 11:44 PM
U r really really great! U r so kind!
Actually, less ppl like u.
Thanks a lot for sharing ur valuable experience. We really need it.

18-03-2009, 03:51 AM
I wasn't active in co-curriculum activities,
but I have my own reasons for that,
I wonder will I have a chance to explain during the interview?
If they ask me to tell about my achievements and stuff like that,
can I say frankly that "I wasn't very active in co-cu because .... blah blah blah"?
My greatest interest is Psychology,
and the main reason I chose to seclude myself up is to experience and to explore different perceptions on world/things, and not to be bonded by the healthy mindset of average teenagers....sounds stupid though, but I did learned a lot so far, including the ability to empathize with different sorts of personalities.

Another reason is that I have to make kuih and sell them at Pasar Malam every day and worked as a promoter at a local supermarket for the weekends. I take all these as some sort of extra-curricular activities too, at least I communicated with the society :P During school holidays, I went for various part time jobs at other places, learned the important of teamwork, tolerance, lived together with strangers, leaderships, financial management etc which was quite the same as going to camp. =_="

co-curriculum is an important part but in the interview thay will most likely to ask a lot of general knowledge stuff,so im not sure if you can talk much about it.well,your certificates are there to show them your achievements in co-curriculum.by the way,if you are interested in psychology,i suggest you apply for social science.but better hurry,because i think the deadline is very near already.good luck in your application and please dont fret about trivial matters like if you stand a greater chance or not.just do your best in your interview,because that can really help you and remember that your results and all cant be undone.what you can do now is prepare more for your interview should you get shortlisted and just hope for the best.

joyce91
19-03-2009, 02:06 AM
could i know that whether i need to summit my father's nationality cer during interview even though my parent were divorced?

19-03-2009, 02:14 AM
could i know that whether i need to summit my father's nationality cer during interview even though my parent were divorced?

do you mean that your father is not malaysian?for that,i think it will be better for you to refer to jpa.

joyce91
19-03-2009, 02:44 AM
he is malaysian bt was borned be4 1957,so im quite troublesome if my dad's birth cert is needed...so hw can i refer to jpa?whether i'll received letter from jpa?

19-03-2009, 02:48 AM
i think someone already answered this question in "jpa 2009" thread.try checking it out.honestly,i don't know.

JiaTern
22-03-2009, 02:26 PM
I am new to this forum and if i said something wrong please forgive me.

TS, as you mentioned that all photocopied documents need to be certified, does it means taking the photocopied documents back to my secondary school and ask the pejabat to certify them? If yes, help me to answer the next question.

What documents need to be photocopied and certified?
I am listing out all I think need to be certified, and if I miss out something or I have something no need to be certified please tell me ah.
(all photocopied unless stated)
-My IC
-My birth cert
-My parents' birth cert
-SPM result
-Sijil Tamat Sekolah
-Surat Akuan
-Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan
*This 2 i dunno need to be certified or not: Original certs of co-curricular activities. I have lots of it, need to be certified? Or just take the original ones and show them in the interview?

Oh yea one more question. My dad's in heaven and my mum's working as a school librarian helper in a primary school (not teacher, not government staff) and she doesnt have the slip gaji. How to prove my mum's salary?

Sorry for asking so much, but I hope someone can clarify for me. Thanks so much!

22-03-2009, 02:32 PM
I am new to this forum and if i said something wrong please forgive me.

TS, as you mentioned that all photocopied documents need to be certified, does it means taking the photocopied documents back to my secondary school and ask the pejabat to certify them? If yes, help me to answer the next question.

What documents need to be photocopied and certified?
I am listing out all I think need to be certified, and if I miss out something or I have something no need to be certified please tell me ah.
(all photocopied unless stated)
-My IC
-My birth cert
-My parents' birth cert
-SPM result
-Sijil Tamat Sekolah
-Surat Akuan
-Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan
*This 2 i dunno need to be certified or not: Original certs of co-curricular activities. I have lots of it, need to be certified? Or just take the original ones and show them in the interview?

Oh yea one more question. My dad's in heaven and my mum's working as a school librarian helper in a primary school (not teacher, not government staff) and she doesnt have the slip gaji. How to prove my mum's salary?

Sorry for asking so much, but I hope someone can clarify for me. Thanks so much!

As for this documents,you need to certify it by pegawai gred A which means your pengetua.
-your IC
-your birth cert
-parents' birth cert and ic
-SPM result
-Sijil Tamat Sekolah
-salary slip (if your parents has else borang J)
-Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan form which to be download from esilav2.gov.my and completed

Meanwhile, for the extra-curricular certs, you can certify it with your school education counselor. But I do not think you're required to photocopy your extra-curricular certs, as the interviewers will go through the originals. Only those mentioned documents as above need to be photocopied and submitted to JPA

As for your mother, you need to get the Borang J.

JiaTern
22-03-2009, 02:39 PM
As for this documents,you need to certify it by pegawai gred A which means your pengetua.
-your IC
-your birth cert
-parents' birth cert and ic
-SPM result
-Sijil Tamat Sekolah
-salary slip (if your parents has else borang J)
-Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan form which to be download from esilav2.gov.my and completed

Meanwhile, for the extra-curricular certs, you can certify it with your school education counselor. But I do not think you're required to photocopy your extra-curricular certs, as the interviewers will go through the originals. Only those mentioned documents as above need to be photocopied and submitted to JPA

As for your mother, you need to get the Borang J.

Oh thanks. Not so worried now. But my school's pengetua has just retired at the end of last year and now the new pengetua is taking over her position. Not so "friend" with the new one, haha~

Oh yea one more thing before I forget. My report card for form 4 form 5 is BLANK! Because that 2 years my school changed the system to "report slip" style, where every semester we are given an A4 paper with results printed. All of us including my friends thought that our school we give us a formal report card after we have graduated, but the report card is the OLD one, only has form1-form 3 results. So should I include the former results when I go for interview? or can I just rely on my SPM?

22-03-2009, 02:48 PM
Oh thanks. Not so worried now. But my school's pengetua has just retired at the end of last year and now the new pengetua is taking over her position. Not so "friend" with the new one, haha~

Oh yea one more thing before I forget. My report card for form 4 form 5 is BLANK! Because that 2 years my school changed the system to "report slip" style, where every semester we are given an A4 paper with results printed. All of us including my friends thought that our school we give us a formal report card after we have graduated, but the report card is the OLD one, only has form1-form 3 results. So should I include the former results when I go for interview? or can I just rely on my SPM?

Doesn't matter..Try to be 'friendly' else if you're rich, go to the commissioner of oath (will charge you abt 2 bucks per document). haha.
And yea, since JPA did not ask for form 4 results, why are you troubling yourself. Unlike petronas, jpa only requires your spm results.

Good luck.

JiaTern
22-03-2009, 02:56 PM
Doesn't matter..Try to be 'friendly' else if you're rich, go to the commissioner of oath (will charge you abt 2 bucks per document). haha.
And yea, since JPA did not ask for form 4 results, why are you troubling yourself. Unlike petronas, jpa only requires your spm results.

Good luck.

Okay. Thanks. Now I only hope I am REALLY shortlisted for interview, worrying about my interview doesn't help. BTW, I am not rich!

22-03-2009, 02:58 PM
Okay. Thanks. Now I only hope I am REALLY shortlisted for interview, worrying about my interview doesn't help. BTW, I am not rich!

As long your results fulfill the minimum criteria, you're guaranteed shortlisted for interview, but not to be awarded the scholarship.

cheeann
25-03-2009, 11:59 AM
JPA scholarship offer u to study only to diploma level or will proceed into degree after that?

25-03-2009, 12:10 PM
JPA scholarship offer u to study only to diploma level or will proceed into degree after that?

As for Program Ijazah Luar Negara, JPA only offer for degree program, not for diploma.

It goes like this, depending of the country you're going pursue your undergraduate studies, you will be doing pre-university study locally.

For anyone wondering what is 'Sijil-sijil kewarganegaraan Ibu,Bapa/Penjaga', it is MyKad@<hidden>

Please take note.

cheeann
25-03-2009, 12:13 PM
If i choose diploma in engineering(korea), whether i can choose the field of study(like mechanical, civil, Electrical) or JPA arrange 4 me?

25-03-2009, 12:28 PM
If i choose diploma in engineering(korea), whether i can choose the field of study(like mechanical, civil, Electrical) or JPA arrange 4 me?

You can choose your own. That's the advantage of JPA. :))

cheeann
25-03-2009, 01:23 PM
xellos, have u apply jpa before?
seem u know many things about jpa.

JiaTern
25-03-2009, 02:06 PM
Xello, the pengetua of my ex-school will not be available for this whole week, i can't certify my documents! the office lady say the penolong kanan can help me certify, but i dunno is the penolong kanan a Pegawat Gred A, how? Will they accept?

And, if i am given the scholarship and i will need to study in Pre-U before i go to the chosen country for degree right? Then the pre-u I need to pay myself? or it's included in the scholarship? And how about the living expenses (shelter, food, etc) in pre-U and degree?

25-03-2009, 03:24 PM
xellos, have u apply jpa before?
seem u know many things about jpa.

Oh yea, shall i remind you for Japan programme you'll be doing diploma. Sorry for my incomplete details as I only covered up on English countries. If Japan is the country of course, then you will only doing you Japanese language studies over here in Malaysia.After that, you will pursuing your education in Japan only. And if you're going to france, most likely you'll flying in 3-4 months.

Xello, the pengetua of my ex-school will not be available for this whole week, i can't certify my documents! the office lady say the penolong kanan can help me certify, but i dunno is the penolong kanan a Pegawat Gred A, how? Will they accept?

And, if i am given the scholarship and i will need to study in Pre-U before i go to the chosen country for degree right? Then the pre-u I need to pay myself? or it's included in the scholarship? And how about the living expenses (shelter, food, etc) in pre-U and degree?

For 'safety' measures, go verify them in Jabatan Pendidikan Negeri. Ask for pegawai Gred A or you can ask other school headmasters to do it too, of course with their permission.

Do not need to pay anything, generally. Living cost all covered up. Anyway do not worry, they will brief you on that , if you secured the scholarship and before signing the contract.

Right now, concentrate on your interview. Good Luck. Keep Recom posted about your progress.

JiaTern
25-03-2009, 03:27 PM
But I have no time and I dunno where is Jabatan Pendidikan Negeri... It will be complicated for me T_T Really cannot ask penolong kanan? The penolong kanan is the pentadbiran one, the highest penolong kanan

25-03-2009, 03:32 PM
But I have no time and I dunno where is Jabatan Pendidikan Negeri... It will be complicated for me T_T Really cannot ask penolong kanan? The penolong kanan is the pentadbiran one, the highest penolong kanan

Haha, I can't advice on why cannot gpk instead of headmaster . As you know, in the borang pengesahan pendapatan its mentioned as

6. PENGESAHAN ( hendaklah disahkan oleh Guru Besar / Pengetua Sekolah Menengah )

So, why want to take the risk? :))
Anyways, any other seniors have suggestions on this?

JiaTern
25-03-2009, 03:40 PM
Haha, I can't advice on why cannot gpk instead of headmaster . As you know, in the borang pengesahan pendapatan its mentioned as

6. PENGESAHAN ( hendaklah disahkan oleh Guru Besar / Pengetua Sekolah Menengah )

So, why want to take the risk? :))
Anyways, any other seniors have suggestions on this?

Oh I just called my school and I am told that the pengetua will be back on Friday, so I still can ask her to certify my documents. Thanks a lot for your patience to answer my questions =)

25-03-2009, 03:42 PM
Oh I just called my school and I am told that the pengetua will be back on Friday, so I still can ask her to certify my documents. Thanks a lot for your patience to answer my questions =)

Glad to hear that. So get those things done fast, as later you can do you 'homework' for interview.

Good luck .

JiaTern
25-03-2009, 04:20 PM
Oh yea, if just in case the pengetua is busy again, the Pesuruhjaya sumpah can verify? My mum said the pesuruhjaya sumpah grade very high, can certify the EPF socso bank etc, how about JPA one?

thomas_hang0000
25-03-2009, 04:36 PM
Oh yea, if just in case the pengetua is busy again, the Pesuruhjaya sumpah can verify? My mum said the pesuruhjaya sumpah grade very high, can certify the EPF socso bank etc, how about JPA one?

http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=215688&postcount=43

And you'll be flying soon in 3 4 months time. Same goes to France too.

If not mistaken, preparatory courses for Japan take 2 years. It's that long. France and Korea are shorter, less than 1 year time.

For anyone wondering what is 'Sijil-sijil kewarganegaraan Ibu,Bapa/Penjaga', it is MyKad@<hidden>

I was told that these certificates are to those born before Independence Day. Parents whose born after Independence Day wont have this. Just ignore this if your parents are born after Independence. I don't think it's IC.

Please correct me if I'm wrong :)

JiaTern
25-03-2009, 05:02 PM
Oo i didnt know commissioner for oaths is the same as pesuruhjaya sumpah XD
okay thanks!

p0laris
25-03-2009, 09:03 PM
wow..this thread is fantastic !!! thx for ur info...it really helps a lot...
i have a question...can I choose which college to go for the local pre u study?
Or they decide for us??

25-03-2009, 09:23 PM
wow..this thread is fantastic !!! thx for ur info...it really helps a lot...
i have a question...can I choose which college to go for the local pre u study?
Or they decide for us??

you're most welcomed.
As far I knew, you can't choose the college in which you want to do pre-u.
JPA will do the decision depending on your course and country selection.

In addition, those college chosen by JPA are good, like Taylors and INTEC.

Cadence_hope
25-03-2009, 09:38 PM
For my choice of course which is actuarial science, I heard most of the scholar with this course will be arranged to take pre-U in INTI-UC. But now I'm hesitating whether I should register in INTI(SJ) before 4th of May because the results of application will be announced by jpa about 12th May. If I have started my study and suddenly jpa tells me that I got scholarship, then all the fees I'd pay are non-refundable. Haiz. If I choose not to register and I fail to get jpa, I will have to wait for another intake after few months. Really vexed with this.

p0laris
25-03-2009, 09:45 PM
you're most welcomed.
As far I knew, you can't choose the college in which you want to do pre-u.
JPA will do the decision depending on your course and country selection.

In addition, those college chosen by JPA are good, like Taylors and INTEC.

ooh...for ur info...im currently doing ausmat in sunway uc...
if i`m selected...can I just continue my current course at sunway and not going to other college??

For my choice of course which is actuarial science, I heard most of the scholar with this course will be arranged to take pre-U in INTI-UC. But now I'm hesitating whether I should register in INTI(SJ) before 4th of May because the results of application will be announced by jpa about 12th May. If I have started my study and suddenly jpa tells me that I got scholarship, then all the fees I'd pay are non-refundable. Haiz. If I choose not to register and I fail to get jpa, I will have to wait for another intake after few months. Really vexed with this.

yup...my senior who scored 16a1 in spm 2007...is now doing american degree transfer programme in inti nilai under jpa sponsorship...he`ll be going to US this year...

25-03-2009, 09:53 PM

A few months late is far better than wasting money.

If you're confidence that you can secure the scholarship, why don't you wait then, but let me warn you, there is no way to guarantee that you will secure the scholarship.

Likewise, you can start your study first. Have something that you can really rely on 100% as the statistics of securing the JPA would not crop up to 100%. In some rare cases, the university might refund. For example i have a friend who was doing A-level in taylors at January intake. He then offered by BNM scholarship and will be doing SAM in taylors.(It was based on trial intake). So taylors had agreed to refund a certain percentage of the money.

So, its all up to you.

Cadence_hope
25-03-2009, 11:31 PM
Likewise, you can start your study first. Have something that you can really rely on 100% as the statistics of securing the JPA would not crop up to 100%. In some rare cases, the university might refund. For example i have a friend who was doing A-level in taylors at January intake. He then offered by BNM scholarship and will be doing SAM in taylors.(It was based on trial intake). So taylors had agreed to refund a certain percentage of the money.

Thanks for your info. I'd asked the counselor of INTI, she said jpa only arrange their scholars to INTI-UC (not for the one in SJ) and once I register they won't refund those paid fees to me. T_T.. Is it jpa announce the list of succeeded candidates in the middle of May? I heard that last time but still want to confirm. ><
I read from the newspaper about how the marks given to decide one can get scholarship or not. Only 5% of overall marks decided by our interview performance, compared to 10% last year. 75% decided by SPM results. That's a good news for post spm candidates who did well in the exam. 95% of the overall marks had already confirmed before the interview. :)

p0laris
25-03-2009, 11:34 PM
I choose pharmacy..normally they put the pharmacy applicants into which college??

ing
26-03-2009, 04:00 AM
thanks for sharing your experience ang tips here, it helps a lot.....i have a question, is it encouraged to do the online test first before going to the interview?

jianyi_crystal
26-03-2009, 11:39 AM
i really enjoy to read your article...u really kind list all down for us as a reference. i keep laughing from top to bottom, u really a good writer, although it is very very long , bt i did feel bore to it.... u will go japan later right.....wish u good good luck...and success to be wat u want to be:wink

Gan
26-03-2009, 01:29 PM
oh gosh, this is really a saver i guess. i'm going for the interview next week or so, so this's really gonna help! thanks a lot again ;)
and yea, you are really a funny writer, ever thought of doing some writing? ;)

26-03-2009, 01:55 PM
yup...my senior who scored 16a1 in spm 2007...is now doing american degree transfer programme in inti nilai under jpa sponsorship...he`ll be going to US this year...

i know that guy...haha...sorry for the digression.please continue.hehe...

p0laris
26-03-2009, 03:27 PM
i know that guy...haha...sorry for the digression.please continue.hehe...

ooh..u knew him?? you`re study in inti uc also??

26-03-2009, 03:57 PM
I choose pharmacy..normally they put the pharmacy applicants into which college??It depends on the country you get... For example, Australia-bound students might be placed in Intec, while UK-bound could be in UCSI... It's not always the same for every year, they might send to different preparatory colleges for different years...

p0laris
26-03-2009, 04:11 PM
It depends on the country you get... For example, Australia-bound students might be placed in Intec, while UK-bound could be in UCSI... It's not always the same for every year, they might send to different preparatory colleges for different years...

oic...thx4 ur info..
erm..may i know where is Intec??

26-03-2009, 04:14 PM
oic...thx4 ur info..
erm..may i know where is Intec??Intec is located in UiTM, Shah Alam.

Nurulhuda
27-03-2009, 12:31 AM
waaa..it's great..
congrats to u..
i'm also taking that courses..
n wiill be interview next week..
i'm kinna nervous...
r they ask u whether u can speak japanese or not?
persediaan brapa lama?
setahun ka?

thomas_hang0000
27-03-2009, 12:02 PM
r they ask u whether u can speak japanese or not?
persediaan brapa lama?
setahun ka?

In that interview, if you include certificate on your Language course, they will ask you to speak one or two sentences.
For ENGINERING (JAP), preparatory course (in Malaysia) lasts 2 years.

poonie
27-03-2009, 01:57 PM
Wow! So many things to prepare for JPA...
After reading this, i become more nervous...
Is it true that girls must wear baju melayu for the interview session?
When u go for the interview, all the girls that u saw, including indian n chinese all wear baju melayu???
Will the interviewer ask abt family's finance background???

thomas_hang0000
27-03-2009, 02:04 PM
When u go for the interview, all the girls that u saw, including indian n chinese all wear baju melayu???
Will the interviewer ask abt family's finance background???

There were Chinese who didn't wear baju kurung too. Some of them wore white long sleeves.

If your family's finance isn't very high, they wont bother. But if your parents monthly income is over limit (eg 5 digits), they might ask. Then you need to think of a way to explain why you still need this scholarship though parents can afford you financially.

zzWingzz
27-03-2009, 06:23 PM
Hey everyone. I got something to ask u all.
My dad is a bus driver so he dun hav any payslip.
So what can i do?
Am i only needed to fill the borang pengesahan pendapatan and let the pengetua certify it for me???
Any reply is appreciated. Thx!!!

27-03-2009, 06:27 PM
Hey everyone. I got something to ask u all.
My dad is a bus driver so he dun hav any payslip.
So what can i do?
Am i only needed to fill the borang pengesahan pendapatan and let the pengetua certify it for me???
Any reply is appreciated. Thx!!!

Get the Borang J from Lembaga Hasil Dalam Negeri. That supposed to substitute borang pendapatan for self-runned bussiness.

zzWingzz
27-03-2009, 08:03 PM
OMG, my dad claimed that he dun hav any borang J...
In fact he dun even pass up the income tax form this year.
My interview is next tuesday so everything is gotta be rush.
I heard that without borang pendapatan i cant even go into the interview right???
Gosh i'm so panicked now. @<hidden>@<hidden>

27-03-2009, 08:11 PM
OMG, my dad claimed that he dun hav any borang J...
In fact he dun even pass up the income tax form this year.
My interview is next tuesday so everything is gotta be rush.
I heard that without borang pendapatan i cant even go into the interview right???
Gosh i'm so panicked now. @<hidden>@<hidden>

I'm not scaring you, but that's the fact.

Use the borang B of 2007. Else ask you dad to fill in the borang B for 2008 and photocopy it. Get it verified by pengetua on monday. (get it verified by pengetua in the morning, then afternoon submit the borang to LHDN.:)))

Well, unless you interview is not 31st or 1st, you still have plenty of time.

Scrmath
27-03-2009, 08:35 PM
Do we need to get the slip permohonan for the interview?i only hav slip temu duga and i heard needslip permohon..and is interview allocate only 5 percent?i wonder y so low,it should be high wad..

27-03-2009, 08:55 PM
Do we need to get the slip permohonan for the interview?i only hav slip temu duga and i heard needslip permohon..and is interview allocate only 5 percent?i wonder y so low,it should be high wad..

Only required slip temuduga.

Well about the 5 percent, ignore it. That's what they say, but it's not actually implemented.

ivonlove
28-03-2009, 09:33 AM
hi.i would like to ask
Borang pengesahan pendapatan states that we must enclosed wif certified copied ic / card oku/pengesahan jabatan kebajikan .....

the certified copied ic is whose???mine??my dad??my mum???or my sibling???or principal?????

my interview is on next tueday so i wish that i can get the reply as soon as possible....

thx a lot~~

28-03-2009, 09:35 AM
hi.i would like to ask
Borang pengesahan pendapatan states that we must enclosed wif certified copied ic / card oku/pengesahan jabatan kebajikan .....

the certified copied ic is whose???mine??my dad??my mum???or my sibling???or principal?????

my interview is on next tueday so i wish that i can get the reply as soon as possible....

thx a lot~~

Your parents' obviously.

ivonlove
28-03-2009, 10:02 AM
thanks for replying me~~~~~~
and i wanna ask a few question again

1.in the conclusion,wat is sijil kewarganegaraan???
2.can JKKK certified the copied document such as surat beranak??as in the surat pengesahan temuduga doesn't states that it must be certified by whom.....
3.need i photocopy my spm result,sijil berhenti,sijil kokurikulum,borang pengesahan pendapatan???as in the surat pengesahan temuduga,it doesn't states that.it only states that we must have copied ic,parent and our sijil beranak....

thx........................................

xiaOchU
28-03-2009, 11:12 AM
Sijil kewargenegaran is for those who was born in 1957 (that's what i heard) so if your parents were born in 1957, you certainly need to photocopy the sijil kewarganegaraan.
and ya, you certainly need to photocopy your spm result,sijil berhenti,sijil kokurikulum,borang pengesahan pendapatan...and need to be certified too by your principal.

darina4srk
28-03-2009, 11:19 AM

quite true, about the interview percentage

ivonlove
28-03-2009, 11:34 AM
Sijil kewargenegaran is for those who was born in 1957 (that's what i heard) so if your parents were born in 1957, you certainly need to photocopy the sijil kewarganegaraan.
and ya, you certainly need to photocopy your spm result,sijil berhenti,sijil kokurikulum,borang pengesahan pendapatan...and need to be certified too by your principal.

but it doesn't state that we need to photocopy our spm result,sijil berhenti,sijil kokurikulum,borang pengesahan pendapatan and also doesn't that they must be certified by principal except borang pengesahan pendapatan.......so how a???

thomas_hang0000
28-03-2009, 11:59 AM
but it doesn't state that we need to photocopy our spm result,sijil berhenti,sijil kokurikulum,borang pengesahan pendapatan and also doesn't that they must be certified by principal except borang pengesahan pendapatan.......so how a???

Hello, you need to hand a copy of certs (that can prove anything) to the kerani there after interview. About which to photostat or not, Better safe than sorry right?

PS. There are questions repeated over here. Why not just spent a little time reading the first post?

28-03-2009, 02:54 PM
Reminder: Please read the previous post or run a search before asking any question.

Don't be too lazy and expect people to answer your questions each time. Make an effort to skim through the entire thread.

nadalism
28-03-2009, 05:25 PM
Just wondering what were your spm results Thomas? XD

GaryL
28-03-2009, 10:25 PM
Can I use the borang EA to subsitute the slip gaji ibu bapa? My dad run his own business so can he print the slip for himself? My dad also says he doesnt have a borang J. Pls help, my interview is also on tuesday 8am....the earliest fellas to go in i think... T.T

Xion
28-03-2009, 10:58 PM
ummm...well...i wanna ask a question...
how many people will go for the interview at the specific place ?
more than hundred...?
do i have to wait for a long time before my turn...?

28-03-2009, 11:08 PM
Can I use the borang EA to subsitute the slip gaji ibu bapa? My dad run his own business so can he print the slip for himself? My dad also says he doesnt have a borang J. Pls help, my interview is also on tuesday 8am....the earliest fellas to go in i think... T.T

Dude, this matter has been discussed so countless times. Please read previous post especially in JPA 2009.

For those running own business borang EA is the 'slip gaji'. But make sure you photocopy it and verified by pengetua. But your dad cannot make his own payslip.

more than hundred...?
do i have to wait for a long time before my turn...?

Instead asking these question, it would be wiser for you to ask how many agong's had ruled our country. That would at least help you in interview.

haha.

28-03-2009, 11:32 PM
more than hundred...?
do i have to wait for a long time before my turn...?It depends on your centre, of course some will have more people while others might be less. Since they spread out the interview into few days, and conduct in two sessions per day, the number shouldn't be too large per session. Since there is another session in the afternoon, you can expect the interview to be finished latest by 1p.m or so and perhaps around 5.30p.m for afternoon session. However, I don't think it will take that long if you are in the first group...

Blueberina
29-03-2009, 03:14 AM
can i used black n white original slip temuduge instead of coloured one? is it valid? :oh

winter_cool
29-03-2009, 03:37 AM
hmm... i think u shud use the coloured one, cuz it looks more like original..(i wonder why dont u print it out in colour?:huh)

29-03-2009, 08:13 AM
can i used black n white original slip temuduge instead of coloured one? is it valid? :oh

Yea, you can print it in black and white, as none of them are original - computer generated message.

GaryL
29-03-2009, 08:54 AM
Dude, this matter has been discussed so countless times. Please read previous post especially in JPA 2009.

For those running own business borang EA is the 'slip gaji'. But make sure you photocopy it and verified by pengetua. But your dad cannot make his own payslip.

Dude, i think I'm the 1st to mention the borang EA lar... but how sure r u on Borang EA=slip gaji? Not that i don't trust u, I just wanna make sure it's correct before the interview.

thomas_hang0000
29-03-2009, 09:06 AM
Dude, i think I'm the 1st to mention the borang EA lar... but how sure r u on Borang EA=slip gaji? Not that i don't trust u, I just wanna make sure it's correct before the interview.

I was told that Borang EA refers to those work for others, not having their own business. If you have Borang EA, then you have legal slip gaji.
I didn't come across this before, if I made any mistake, please correct me. And this parents' income stuff is a REAL headache to many students.

You said 'My dad runs his own business'.
Regardless being taxed by Lembaga Hasil or not, there'll be a Borang B.

Check it out:
http://www.hasil.org.my/melayu/bm_NO5_2.asp
http://www.hasil.org.my/melayu/bm_NO5_1.asp

29-03-2009, 09:09 AM

For those running their own business, it's known as borang B.
For those those working and who do not have pay slip, then use borang BE.

mllby
29-03-2009, 11:14 AM
do the certificates of my cocuriculum achievement need 2 be certified?

29-03-2009, 11:33 AM
do the certificates of my cocuriculum achievement need 2 be certified?

It depends on you, because JPA did not mention anything about photocopies of co-curriculum certs

GaryL
29-03-2009, 02:18 PM
So...let's make this topic clear once and for all for the sake of all the other candidates as well.

My dad runs his own business so he state his job as the Pengarah Syarikat. So, I should replace the slip gaji with Borang B and not Borang EA?

Thks for ur help.

Bella
29-03-2009, 10:25 PM
hi,thomas_hang0000.Since u r an ex-JPA scholar.i would like to have a question to ask u.I have applied accouting as my course when i reallycant find law in the selection.Unfortunately,i heard that course from my friend after the deadline.Now,i'm given permission to the interview at pd politeknik.Can i change my course now?waiting for your kindly reply.help..TQ.

RaEwong
29-03-2009, 10:45 PM
if we really do get d jpa scholarship. how long will they take to inform us??? my nail or online??

ponyo
29-03-2009, 10:55 PM
Question to ask:

Certs such as Oral Eng Test, Project Work, etc. do we need to file them under Sijil Koko or don't have to file them at all?

29-03-2009, 11:08 PM
Question to ask:

Certs such as Oral Eng Test, Project Work, etc. do we need to file them under Sijil Koko or don't have to file them at all?

Don't put at all. The time allocated to flip through those cert can be utilized to flip through your coco certs

29-03-2009, 11:09 PM
if we really do get d jpa scholarship. how long will they take to inform us??? my nail or online??

via online and mail...dun worry.if you get it,yo guys will start in july.so start to enjoy your holiday from now.hehe.

sch_hong91
30-03-2009, 01:26 AM
Im applying medicine and my interview is on 1st April.Will the interviewers really fool u around jz b'coz of april fool?Im so worry bout that interview since seemingly so difficult.
And may i ask that if u are selected to obtain the scholarship,is that u are straightly sent 2 overseas o nid 2 study locally 1st b4 sent to overseas,summor since we are only spm leaver,b4 we sitting in degree of MBBS(for medicine),is that we are needed to study in A-level under JPA sponsor?
Thanks for your reply...

30-03-2009, 01:40 AM
Im applying medicine and my interview is on 1st April.Will the interviewers really fool u around jz b'coz of april fool?Im so worry bout that interview since seemingly so difficult.
And may i ask that if u are selected to obtain the scholarship,is that u are straightly sent 2 overseas o nid 2 study locally 1st b4 sent to overseas,summor since we are only spm leaver,b4 we sitting in degree of MBBS(for medicine),is that we are needed to study in A-level under JPA sponsor?
Thanks for your reply...

Don't about that. Interviewer might deploy a little prank perhaps to ease the tension. That's all. Remember, they have their professionalism too, so won't be doing anything to extreme.

you cant fly overseas, because until form 5, we only studied for 11 years. International minimum requirement is 12 years. So before you being sent to overseas, you will be undergoing preparatory programme or pre-university studies.

GaryL
30-03-2009, 10:43 AM
ok, I called JPA and asked about the slip gaji. Borang EA can be used. Not sure about the Borang B or J.

Sorry for beinga nuisance...

lordfoong
30-03-2009, 11:41 AM
does any1 tell me wats the sijil kewarganegaraan is?? my parents dun hav it...cn i jz ignore it?

30-03-2009, 11:54 AM
does any1 tell me wats the sijil kewarganegaraan is?? my parents dun hav it...cn i jz ignore it?

Can you please read the previous post or JPA 2009 thread. It has been discussed hundreds of time.

calvinboey
30-03-2009, 01:30 PM
i've read the previous thread and cant find this question.

my dad quit his job last month, he dun intend to work for the next week years. (a better word, he plan to retire early). so he do not have a salary slip and also retirement card. what shall i do?

my interview is the day after tomorrow. seems like i'm in a deep trouble.

30-03-2009, 01:35 PM
i've read the previous thread and cant find this question.

my dad quit his job last month, he dun intend to work for the next week years. (a better word, he plan to retire early). so he do not have a salary slip and also retirement card. what shall i do?

my interview is the day after tomorrow. seems like i'm in a deep trouble.

Stay cool.:)
What did put in your dad's salary field? Explain them verbally about your situation and they will understand.

Or you can use the past month's salary slip. It opt to be safe route.
No questions asked and you're not in trouble.

momo
30-03-2009, 01:50 PM
hi, i have a question here, my father does not have a pay slip so can i use the letter written by the majikan? in the letter my father's salary per month is stated
thx for any info that can be given

calvinboey
30-03-2009, 01:56 PM
now what i plan to do is bring my dad's last salary slip to the interview just in case. at the form, i ady put a dash

edit: i do not wan to use my dad's salary slip as if i use, the family income would be higher already. i want to keep it low. its not that i am desperately poor, but i am not rich either, i wan to save some money because i still hav few brothers in secondary school.

ok rite?

zzWingzz
30-03-2009, 02:09 PM
Do we have to bring our own clear folder??

jolene_3cho
30-03-2009, 02:16 PM
First of all, thanks for sharing~ At least I get a clearer view on how the interview is going to be...I have no idea that there will be brain storming sessions as well as "how many teeth/bones do an adult human have?" questions. =='

Is it really necessary to speak in Malay if they ask in Malay? Or can I just change the language like..."Is it possible that I answer that in English?"

Will there be any ways to know the interviewer's name?

And lastly, are those which are in the same group as me are of the same course? Or from different courses?

Thanks for replying!~

poonie
30-03-2009, 02:18 PM
Can you please read the previous post or JPA 2009 thread. It has been discussed hundreds of time.

Why r u always seems like frustrated?! :mad
If u really dun want to answer him, just ignore it...

CCY_to_the_top
30-03-2009, 02:19 PM
Do we have to bring our own clear folder??

if its not yours, then who's clear folder you wanna bring??

30-03-2009, 02:27 PM
Why r u always seems like frustrated?! :mad
If u really dun want to answer him, just ignore it...

Hey, I'm not frustrated yea, just that the particular matter had been discussed for a few past days. Replying it would make the thread unnecessarily longer. Don't take me wrong.:)

Is it really necessary to speak in Malay if they ask in Malay? Or can I just change the language like..."Is it possible that I answer that in English?"

Will there be any ways to know the interviewer's name?

And lastly, are those which are in the same group as me are of the same course? Or from different courses?

Thanks for replying!~

1. For the first question, no one can give you the exact answer. It depends on the interviewer. Some interviewer are flexible to allow change of language medium, whereas some do not.

2. I wonder why do you want to know their name. If they do not have a name tag, you can ask them. There is nothing wrong with that.

3. The interview session of four candidates are from same course.

I hope I've answered your questions.

tadaa
30-03-2009, 02:28 PM
in the borang pengesahan pendapatan, written there they want ic....but whose ic? I sure hope not pengetua's...:notrust

30-03-2009, 02:30 PM
in the borang pengesahan pendapatan, written there they want ic....but whose ic? I sure hope not pengetua's...:notrust

Your ic and your parents'.

poonie
30-03-2009, 02:39 PM
[quote=xellos;217240]Hey, I'm not frustrated yea, just that the particular matter had been discussed for a few past days. Replying it would make the thread unnecessarily longer. Don't take me wrong.:)

:oh... so sorry about that ... Me too, thought the same as u but if u reply something in red colour, it seems so important n the feelings would be like getting scolded... so, i thought u r getting frustrated... haha :P

iqabishoujo
30-03-2009, 02:42 PM
Hi all and I'm a Recom-mer who used to surf this site for a long time for the latest info and I've gained endless benefits from this site, for free. Thus I'm here trying to share my experience and things that I know throughout the application of JPA Scholarship for the year 2008 with other Recom-mers.

This' what I experienced on 2008, obviously there're changes on 2009 (onwards). Thus I'm not sure if the information I've written expires or not. Anyway, I hope this article could clarify most questions in students applying for JPA Scholarship. Here it goes.

Many post SPM students will start to worry about their coming JPA interview after the release of their results. So I am too. But I've becoming a 'senior' of JPA interview already; I just had my interview on 4th April 2008 (8am, Panel 1, in INTURA in Sungai Petani). Here I would like to share with you all the information I've gathered so far before and after the JPA interview. Hope this will be helpful for people like me (who worry a lot and tried much on searching info about JPA things). I mean those who're goin' to have their JPA interview on 09' or so.

The JPA scholarship registration will be open right after the SPM result is released (early-mid of March), and only 2 weeks (14 days) are allocated for you all to fill the registration form. No mailing is required. This can be said as phase one. Just submit your info and cross your fingers to be shortlisted.

Before you register that scholarship, you need to sign up your IC number and your name to make an ID in eSila; so that you can proceed with your scholarship registration (there you fill your personal information). Make sure that you fill your details (especially IC number) correctly. Once it's submitted, it will be hard to undo the changes.

The online form is quite linear, compared to some other scholarships' online form. Just point your cursor (mouse) to the word "Panduan" if you need help on how to fill. Read carefully and follow everything stated there. There's one little bug I noticed from that form. In that salary section, they require you to fill 000.00 as asked in "Panduan" if your parent(s) have no income. But after submitting it, the value is changed to 0.00. That?s normal; don't waste your chance just to edit this value. It cannot be changed to 000.00. How I know this? It?s because I've tried on this year- and thus wasted 1 chance for editing.

For those whose parents are doing their own business (no salary), just divide annual profit by 12 (as one year got 12 months, right?). The annual profit's figure can be obtained from the Borang B or J or things like that. But it's still advisable to seek help from teachers or accountants for 100% precise answer.

Read the information given before filling the form. The rest shouldn't be a problem. Fill them up just like a normal online form. If I'm not wrong it's required to be filled in CAPITAL LETTERS. Don't forget this. After filling everything up, double check and submit it.

Check the site frequently. Normally the shortlisted name list will be released just one or two days after the closing date of online application (end of March). For those who take Medicine (Kedoktoran), keep your eyes open for the Kursus Kerjaya list (earlier). And it's compulsory to participate. Don't serve it as a trip to hospital or something. Notice everything you see and learn things from there. The reason is... continue-reading. Those who joined this kursus and think that they regretted still can change their mind. But it's during the interview day. Wait till that day and let the secretary (I prefer to say kerani ><) know that you want to change course.

Ok. Let?s say you're shortlisted. Congrats. You're one step nearer to the scholarship. Don't forget the interview time, panel, and location. What to prepare? This will be your big question. You got a few things to take care of. I say: attire, self-introduction, documents and... er mental-preparation + confidence.

What to wear?
A-must (in my opinion):
Males:
Slack (black or brown)
Leather shoes (I dunno how to say in English, in BM, kasut kulit, brown or black)
Long sleeve (You should know what is it, personally I think plain coloured one is better, try to avoid those with fancy stripes with different colours)

Females:
Baju kurung (oh gawd, girls are lucky. Just get 1 set of baju kurung and you're done!)
Alternative: Males' attire (the interviewers consist of MALAY mostly; you know... you know... So personally I think the former- baju kurung is much better)
Leather shoes (Yeah it looks weird with baju kurung, but I saw more than 90% of them wearing this for interview)

Oh, some ask whether can wear National Service's attire or not. Try not to. I don't think it's formal.

How about batik (for males)? This one is the real formal dressing. But I really got no idea. So far I noticed, nobody wears this.

Coat (Kot in BM)? Yes, it really makes you look professional. But be prepared to be showered with tough questions (I think so). As it's like you're sticking a note on your forehead 'shoot me'. Try to be moderate lah... Why try so hard to be so special out of them? No point right? (But I saw got people wear this during the interview session. You can wear, but reconsider ><)

According to this year's (2008, latest, we know this only when we're in the interviewing place), the arrangement goes this way:

3. Your IC (original, leave 1 blank page for this. Just take out your IC and fit into this page when you're reporting to kerani, maybe you still need IC to do something else right?)
7. Surat kewarganegaraan (of your parents, original, ONLY for parents who're born before Independence Day, in case you dunno >< 31st August 1957)
8. SPM result (original, yes it's only that printed slip, though it really looks like just a fake copy :/ )
9. Cert. of Co-curricular activities (original, put the best things you had during Form 4 and Form 5, bear in mind that these are the proves to show that you're better than the others. THIS-IS-IMPORTANT! ) "Try not to be arrogant while mentioning IT even though your performance is very good" -AnnDeBlurry, milkshake :)
10. Sijil Tamat Sekolah (original, the one with all the details of you, including your co-curricular performance and so)
11. Slip gaji (original)
Alternative: For those whose parents have their own business (bekerja sendiri), grab the returned Borang B or J or BE or (other code, I dunno much about this) and put the whole thing into that transparent A4 pocket. I've asked a lot other people and they suggested this, because there're no other better proves to prove their salary who do business themselves, since past 2 years (2006 I think), there's no return slip anymore. If not, we need to present that slip but not the Borang thing. So no slip gaji is needed anymore for this.
*** Only get them signed by your Pengetua/ Penolong Kanan, but not Guru Kanan Mata Pelajaran, as what stated in the guideline provided with online borang pengesahan pendapatan, which is a PDF file. Maybe the interviewers aren't really gone into this, but just in case if you meet the choosy ones...

Provide a certified (yang disah, the photocopied version of slip temu duga, slip pemohonan and borang pengesahan gaji don't really need to be certified anymore, but if you want to, just go with it) photocopied set of the documents (stated in 1 to 12, ALL of them, they need to take back the copied set) and just put them in a transparent pocket or an envelope or take it with bare hands, you choose. Clip them together anyway you like, or you just take them there and give the job to the kerani. Paperclips are there, don't worry.

Write a script on self introduction. It's not 100%, just in case they need you to introduce yourselves. Include these things:
1. Name (for sure ==)
4. Siblings (Just say got how many brothers and/or sisters. If many of them are still studying, let them know; if all of them already graduated and can support your family... don't mention this until they ask you. This' kind of strategy heh)
5. Your co-curricular activities (This one is the real thing, say what achievements you got and do self-promotion and squeeze everything you got to them, try to make stars appear around you. But in my interview, I was not asked bout own co-curricular activities, thus I got no chance for this)

Just know what you going to say. Memorising doesn't really help. As you need eye contact when communicate with the interviewers, and to me that time, I can?t load anything out of my memory--- I just said anything I thought of that time. So... memorising is a waste... trust me (or depends on how one thinks maybe :/ )

Let?s do a bit fast forward, enough for a few days of torturing (for people like me). It's the day. Go to the interviewing place you selected in that online form. Fetch the location map before-hand if you really don't know where it is. Don't lose this golden opportunity because of you are lost or dunno how to reach there that day.

You're on your formal attire, holding a clear holder. And having one or two pens (or pencils) in your pocket, as well as 1 thick covered notebook (some people bring test pad or A4 papers with plastic folder). You need a thick one as a base because there is no table provided for you to write, so most probably you write on your thigh and of course something hard is needed so that you can write really fast!

Upon reaching there, search for name lists and sign beside your name (that doesn't really matter, if I?m not wrong). And proceed to the kerani(s); most probably they're just next to the door of interviewing room, insulated. There, you have to sign your name this time, to show that you're present. And then the kerani will ask you to take the original copy out, as well as the photocopied ones. She/he will check and make a few marks there and they're kept. This means you're not bringing the documents into the room. The kerani's will do for you. The groups are arranged this way: 8am, 10am, 2pm or maybe got other time. Most probably it'll be done in 2 rounds or 3, each round take more or less 1 hour. So this means you really got to wait there long unless you're lucky enough being the first batch to enter the interviewing room. Relax and check who's goin' to be with you. Try to be familiar with them and make friends with them. Talk and share things with them. I did that and it really feels great. Of course if you want to, mix with others from other panel and group too! This'll temporarily make you forget about that interview thing and relax for a bit.

When it's your turn, the kerani will give you all number-tag and wear them. The interview is done in group, not one by one into the room (solo). She/he will ask you all to line up at the door to the interviewing room. IF you're the first one, I got to say that... you're lucky (or not, I got number one too ^^). Take a deep breath. Knock the door, stick your head in, greet them and ask permission to go in. Just say it loud enough. They WILL reply to you, don't worry. Go in and stand right in front of the seat according to number. Wait until they allow you all to sit, thank them and sit. Mind your sitting posture. Leg-shakers, learn not to do it in front of the interviewers! You really don't notice you're doin' that if you don't pay attention to that. Don't kill your opportunity.

They real game begins. The way it starts will be different. Some of the interviewers will add a little seasoning so that they're not bored of the repeating routine. So, prepare yourself for anything surprising >< If it goes the common way, there are three:
2. Discussion and personal questions (You just state your name and school before you talk about your opinion, which would be nicer. Ish, I forgot to do that T.T)
3. Introduction to yourselves and personal questions ONLY (Oh, you're da' lucky man!)

The questions vary from current issue to unexpected ones. We say, no politics at our age, but during our year (2008 ), some of them were asked opinion about the General Election throughout the session (oh ****). Crazily, some were asked about their favourite TV show (or which they watched recently) and why they chose that. Another is: What's the headline of yesterday? This' the question for one of my Alor Setar friend. That night before he didn't read nation headlines, but only sports. Thus he just told them what he knew, which is, the result of soccer match (which team win which team by how much). The interviewers laughed. Is is a good sign? Nobody knows. Anyway he's one of the JPA scholar now, too.

These questions are really unexpected. Just be alert and I don't think you can really prepare for this :/ Read newspapers daily and this might help. If you're asked current issue, the list is here: (Thanks to other Recom-mers)

3. Parents are spending less time with their children (Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak)
4. Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
7. 1st class infrustructure, 3rd class mentality (1st class infrastructure and 3rd class mentality still prevails)
8. Schools emphasize on academics excellence (Education system too emphasised on academics and tourism)
9. Junk food
12. Tahun ini ialah Tahun Melancong Malaysia. Apakah usaha yang boleh anda buat untuk melaksanakan program ini?
13. Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life, do u agree?
15. Human resource
16. Drugs
17. Students who are choosy in picking their courses (Graduate unemployment is due to graduates being choosy about their job?)
18. Global warming
19. RMK 9
22. Violence
26. Corruption
28. Education system
30. Do you think it's the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream?
43. Our leader idols

50. National Service
51. Agricultural
53. Patriotism
54. 9th Malaysian Plan
60. Pollution
61. Healthy Lifestyles
63. Aspiration of Malaysia to be Center of Education Excellence vs. Sending Students Abroad
65. Vision School
70. Terrorism
72. White Collar Crime

The question discussed in my own interview session is "My mission and my vision", we're blank for a few seconds, but later know that it's just about our occupation, linked to what course we choose and how we gonna do contribution, something like this. My friends were to discuss about "Reading habit" and "Vision 2020".

Some panel gives 2 minutes to prepare for discussion. Some allocates 5 minutes. It really depends on your luck. Slide out the stationery and write fast. Think fast (I fail at brain storming T.T) and take down the points. Don't write essay, though some people really have the ability to write a 200 word essay in 5 minutes >< Holy**** Just don't try it.

The interviewer will be kind enough to ask who's going to start (while some panel don't, that's rare). If you're ready, raise your hand and start. Being the first can be a good thing, or the other way. Being the first, you can share all of your points, without worrying your points being mentioned by the others. But if you are not the first one, be smart. Point stealing is commonly done in my group. They steal points and further elaborate it so that they need not to draw out new points. It's not wrong, right? ><

Let?s go to the personal questions part. Oh this one is another crazy one. Those who take medical, I got a little list for you to prepare:

2. How do you think can contribute as a/an (job of your course) to achieve K economy? (I think it's about the same. K economy= Economy based on Information Technology, just boom about, ha-ha)

1. What's the name of our Yang Dipertuan Agung? (Famous question in Kelantan state, Kelantanese, be prepared >< and the answer is Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, the Sultan of Terrenganu and also the 13th Sultan of Malaysia)
2. (Let your imagination goes wild, expect the worst from them... any question just to make you panic. Just answer them calmly. Er, if you really dunno, just admit it. It's only when if you REALLY don't know about that. Saying dunno too much will surely ruin your impression to them too.)

Some of the time, I noticed that if you you're asked 1 question that you dunno, and IF you keep quiet and act like thinking of it, they'll probably ask another easier question. They're kind, they won?t eat you up. Try your best to answer the second question. If you fail them once more, uh, most probably they'll not ask you any other questions anymore >< Amen.

Some of the interviewers are paid to 'shoot' people. Meaning they find out the weak point of the things you said and they question about it. So, think a bit before you wanna say something, and be prepared to answer the questions they gonna shower you.

In fact, these 2 parts are just to test your confidence. Don't be nervous (but I did T.T and the interviewer ask me to relax and don't be nervous >< I?m sure this is a bad thing to me) Even if you think that your answer is a bit out of topic, just continue saying. It's not really a test to your ability of giving perfect points. They'll hear whatever you say. They are kind, again I say.

What happened to me?
In personal question section, I was asked: (we didn't have self-introduction part)
A: I think that Japan has nice culture and I would like to enjoy it. The technology over there is great too. I want to study the technology over there and bring the information back to contribute to our own nation. (Meaning import technology, how silly am I :/ )
Q: I don't think that the culture over Japan is nicer than the Western places. Western people respect other people better than the Eastern people. How do you think? (And the other interviewer says in BM) Apakah pendapat kamu?
A: Namun demikian, orang Barat sering dikaitkan dengan budaya kuning... (I haven't finish my talk, but the interviewer cut through my words)
Q: (She nodded) then if we compare between Japan and Korea, why you choose Japan?
A: It's because Japan has better technology and is the closest to our country (among the other countries) (Oh gawd, both the interviewer laugh at me ==)...

This is what happened to me. It's quite brief and I was quite nervous there. Notice that if they ask in Malay, then answer in Malay. Don't answer in English if they ask in Malay. That gonna kill your chance.

The interview days are around 1st of April. There are cases where interviewers play fool with interviewees on that day(April Fool, man). An example is, they keep change the language and for this, you'll need to pay attention to the language they use and answer with that language too. They might like to play fools with ya, but not all.

For those who have learnt other Languages that meets the country(course) you're choosing, you may want to include the certificate in your clear holder. Probably the interviewers'll ask you to speak abit of it. Just say a few simple sentences. For Japanese, some of my friends said there're people just saying 'ohaiyougozaimasu, watashiwa... ' this sort of thing. Sounds simple :/

After this, they will say the session is ending and ask you all whether have any question to ask or not. Then you all will be asked to walk to them and take the clear holders, which the kerani has taken to them. They'll also remind you all to take the online personality test at eSila. At this moment, if you did well and think really need to shake their hands to perfect the whole session, Do IT. English style will do, if you're a Chinese and you do the Malay style, it's a bit weird but again, it's up to you. Then greet them thanks and leave the room. If you're the last to leave, close the door with your hand, though it'll close automatically. Do it, maybe they'll notice this, who knows?

Then don't leave there yet. Take the Slip Temu Duga (original, printed) out and hand it to the kerani, they need this one. Then you'll be asked to leave. Sigh of relieve. Here your blood pressure is normal again.

It's not end yet. You got to take the online personality test in eSila within the 10 days (from the first day of interview). Serve this test seriously. Make sure your browser doesn't break down frequently and electricity supply to your home is stable (man, not a joke ><). If not, go to your friends' house to do this. Who knows that the God wants to play fool on you due to your carelessness? Also make sure that your computer time is correct. Change CMOS battery and synchronise the date and time via internet if you're using XP or Vista IF NEEDED. This sounds funny, but this is just to make sure that the odds aren?t going to happen to you. If not mistaken, this test can only be done ONCE. Not a joke, man ><

Login to that page and proceed with caution. You'll be shown a bunch of questions (around 250) and asked to finish in 45 minutes. There're 4 sections. First is more on moral thing (Smart smart lo here). Second part is about what are you interested on if you're given the chance. The third part is on your current ability. While the last part is about what job would you like to have if it's available to you? There must be a few NOs for the whole list of questions, unless you're the perfect guy ><

After finishing it, click HANTAR and print that page as asked. Then you're done. Pray for the best. Everything ends here. Sit back and rest after weeks of hard work. May rays of luck shine upon you all.

It has been 1 year since I created this article. There're people curious that did I get JPA scholarship or not, just to make things clear, I succeeded too. The course I've chosen is KEJURUTERAAN (JEPUN). Currently studying in UTM (Setapak Jaya, KL) and will be migrating to INTEC (Shah Alam) April 09 onwards.

Please give comments on it. Your valued opinion is much appreciated ^^ Thanks.

annyonghaseyo....
i'm shortlisted for the interview this thrsday(2/4/2009) in trg...
have butterfly in my stomach...

i just want to know something about the interview...
i'm choosing for engnrng in korea...
what kind of questions they might ask me....
is it true that i have to read any article that related to engrng...
one of my sis's fren told me that they usually ask about the current issue...
so for this year i think the currnt issue must b UMNO conference rite....
i'm so tired of memorising minister's names...huhu...
is it necessary for me to do that....
one of my weakness is i dont know how to start a cnversation wif them...
n one more thing,..
i can write in english so well but the main prob here is i cant speak english fluently...:(
i took a long time to answer it...
of course i can speak english but not so fluent...
bside i'm afraid cuz i talk wif lots of gramatical mistakes...huhu..:cry
i'm afraid they wll b bored wif me...
do reply me if u r not busy...
sorry 4 dstrbng u...

momo
30-03-2009, 02:57 PM
hi, i have a question here, my father does not have a pay slip so can i use the letter written by the majikan? in the letter my father's salary per month is stated

maestro_zouk
30-03-2009, 02:59 PM
hello..
could anyone tell me ur opinion about science courses..
what majors are in market rite now??
i'm interested in marin biology..is it counted as science??
please tell me about ur opinions..

30-03-2009, 03:07 PM

sure, why not.

hello..
could anyone tell me ur opinion about science courses..
what majors are in market rite now??
i'm interested in marin biology..is it counted as science??
please tell me about ur opinions..

hey there again, i would prefer if you could post this in these threads.

What course should I choose to study (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=877)

or

What should I Choose (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8240)

The former is more active.

thomas_hang0000
30-03-2009, 03:26 PM
3. The interview session of four candidates are from same course.

Uhm, in my group (last year), there were:
1 Medic
3 (or 4) Engineering
and 2 (other courses, not sure... accounting?)

CCY_to_the_top
30-03-2009, 03:27 PM
u mean they mixed???

thomas_hang0000
30-03-2009, 03:29 PM
Yeah. My group was a mix of different courses' students. Interviewers asked us stuffs differently in personal questions part.

30-03-2009, 03:42 PM
mine was 1 qs,1 doctor,1 dentist,1 accounting,1 acturial science and 1 engineer(myself)

CCY_to_the_top
30-03-2009, 03:55 PM
oh great!! so some of the recomers are telling us that we are group according to our course...so if im applying medic, i might meet someone doing accountancy?? does it make sense???

30-03-2009, 04:02 PM
well,that was last year when the jpa officers were still the ones conducting the interview.this year might be different because the panel of interviewers includes professionals from the respective courses.

thomas_hang0000
30-03-2009, 04:06 PM
because the panel of interviewers includes professionals from the respective courses

Wow, where did you hear bout this? What I know is that they gonna do changes, but I'm not sure what are the changes...

30-03-2009, 04:09 PM
Wow, where did you hear bout this? What I know is that they gonna do changes, but I'm not sure what are the changes...

''Mulai tahun ini, panel temu duga dilantik daripada pegawai-pegawai Kerajaan pelbagai profesion dan kaum mengikut bidang-bidang tajaan. Misalnya, pelajar-pelajar yang memilih bidang perubatan/kesihatan akan ditemu duga oleh pegawai perubatan/pergigian/ farmasi yang terdiri daripada pelbagai kaum. Satu jawatankuasa khas akan menyelia urusan temu duga bagi memastikan pelaksanaannya telus, adil dan saksama.''

adopted from JPA press release
http://www.jpa.gov.my/2009/03/1021/lang/en/

thomas_hang0000
30-03-2009, 04:14 PM
Sweet. An appetizer for this year's students.

lordfoong
30-03-2009, 04:41 PM
yes i did read the 1st post, it says tat 4 parents who born b4 independence day hav to show their sijil kewarganegaraan, bt my dad born in 1956 n he say he dun hav it, so hw???

thomas_hang0000
30-03-2009, 06:03 PM
Same case, do use the search function :)

http://recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=214269&postcount=86

holy_spring
30-03-2009, 06:29 PM
hi~
im new in Recom
i have read all the threads and found that one of my question in my mind havent been answered~
that's should girls tie up their hair like horse tail or just leave it or need to tie like the Ballet dancer a??
thanks for giving me opinions~~
im going to interview this friday~~

vaanbalthier
30-03-2009, 06:51 PM
hi~
im new in Recom
i have read all the threads and found that one of my question in my mind havent been answered~
that's should girls tie up their hair like horse tail or just leave it or need to tie like the Ballet dancer a??
thanks for giving me opinions~~
im going to interview this friday~~

Haha, your question is really funny, reminds me of how I forcefully combed my hair down just to look smart. Anyway, I saw many many different hairstyles during the interview last year and it is actually up to you. If you feel that having a ponytail or letting your hair lose or tying a bun makes you feel more comfortable, then go with your choice. So long as your hair is neat and not messy then it will be okay.

BronzyBaby
30-03-2009, 10:07 PM
Thanks so much! Fantastic post. Thanks for being so detailed... My interview is tomorrow afternoon. Wish me luck! :))

30-03-2009, 10:10 PM
thanks so much! Fantastic post. Thanks for being so detailed... My interview is tomorrow afternoon. Wish me luck! :))

good luck everyone who going for interview tomorrow!! :))

holy_spring
30-03-2009, 10:34 PM
Thanks so much! Fantastic post. Thanks for being so detailed... My interview is tomorrow afternoon. Wish me luck! :))

good luck ya~
and hope to meet you here tomorrow to share you experiences with us~!
hehe:P
gambateh:)

calvinboey
30-03-2009, 11:06 PM

all the best to u! good luck.

thomas_hang0000
30-03-2009, 11:17 PM
May rays of luck shines upon you. Good luck for the incoming interviews :)

nadalism
31-03-2009, 11:16 AM
hi all, if there's a malay lady interviewer do i shake her hand too?? I'm a chinese/ non-muslim.. takut sensitive... ^^

lawteoh
31-03-2009, 01:21 PM
hi all, if there's a malay lady interviewer do i shake her hand too?? I'm a chinese/ non-muslim.. takut sensitive... ^^

weird that u should ask this.. shaking hands, if I und is nt sensitive at all.. lolz.. anyway, all the best!! =)

holy_spring
31-03-2009, 04:14 PM

i think...
it is nothing...
because it is just a courtesy...
they will understood..

technicolor
31-03-2009, 04:27 PM
Ya lorh.. Even I'm a muslim also don't know either I should or not.

btw I hate Nadal. :P

31-03-2009, 04:35 PM
Ya lorh.. Even I'm a muslim also don't know either I should or not.

btw I hate Nadal. :P

ok...as i a muslim,i would answer this....
well a female muslim cant shake hand with other guys or men or boys...
so if you are a guy/men/boy,just nod a bit to greet....
that means you understand her condition.....
but if you are girl/lady/women just shake them....

holy_spring
31-03-2009, 04:59 PM

oo~
meant that girl can shake with all the interviewers but boy prefer to shake with male interviewers rite??
*praying*

technicolor
31-03-2009, 05:10 PM

I am a Muslim too, but my female teachers just shake hands with me, that's confusing.

31-03-2009, 05:14 PM
oo~
meant that girl can shake with all the interviewers but boy prefer to shake with male interviewers rite??
*praying*

yup!!!!you can do t!!!

I am a Muslim too, but my female teachers just shake hands with me, that's confusing.

maybe she regards you as a son.....
i once shake hand with my male teacher who regards me as his daughter...

passer-by
31-03-2009, 09:35 PM

No, it's better for you not to do that. I've just attended a social etiquette talk few days ago and according to the speaker (a Muslim), it's NOTtheir practice to shake hand with people of different gender.

My Experience
It was the 3rd April of 2008, when my friends and I set off for our interview at USM, Penang early in the morning. Earlier on, I was quite relieved to find that two of my friends were actually going to have the interview at the same day, session and venue with me.

There are 2 interview sites in USM, Penang with 3 panel rooms (if my memory doesn’t play tricks on me). We arrived at one of the interview site and soon found out that we are at the right one after we successfully detected our names on the list pasted on the pillars. We went upstairs in search for the waiting room; parents are not allowed to go upstairs. There, an officer pointed to us the waiting room and asked us to sign beside our names which were listed on a list pasted on the wall to show that we are present before going in.

Three of us went inside the waiting room which I assumed to be an examination hall judging from the arrangement of tables and chairs. We thought we might be the earliest since we arrived an hour before our session (10.00a.m) starts, but quite a few of them were already there. We were then given a checklist to make sure that we brought all the necessary documents and were required to arrange all the documents in order according to the list. The officers there were very kind and helpful. (So, just in case if u suddenly realised that u got some problems with your documents, don’t be afraid to seek help from them).

After we were done arranging and checking the documents, we were called by our names, one after another to collect number tags from an officer. And what a coincidence, my friend and I were in the same group, consisting of 8 members. While the other friend of mine who was listed for another panel room got into a group of 6. We were asked to pin the number on our shirts and clip the same number together with our documents. Then, our documents were collected by one of the officers. So, we were bringing nothing when we were asked to queued up according to our number before the waiting room while waiting for our turns to go in.

As the previous group went out, we got into the room in a line when being told to. Our documents were brought in by the officer just now to the 2 officers sitting by the desk in front. One male and one female officer, both were in very formal black coat. One look in the face of the male officer was enough to tell me that this wouldn’t be a very formal interview.

After greeting the officers together, we were told to be relaxed a bit, probably everyone was serious-looking and some of us looked nervous. The male officer started to introduce himself and then congratulated us for making into this round. He made it clear that we had to introduce ourselves in BM, and answer the questions using English. Throughout the interview, the male officer did all the talking and asking while the female officer checked our documents and occasionally showed them to the male officer while we were answering the questions being asked.

Unlike the other panel room, our interview session was a spontaneous ask-and-answer session. The interviewer started the session by asking the first person (the person wearing the no.1 tag, and he called us by our number) to introduce herself. After that, she was required to express her opinion on illegal racing. Then, the interviewer called another person. That person seems to be startled for a second or so as though he forgot his own number. Everyone seems to tense up as we thought the interviewer was going in the order of number, but instead he just randomly picked on us to answer his question. After that guy finished introducing himself, the interviewer moved to other person.

When I came to the occupation part during the self-introduction, I mentioned that my father is a construction worker (buruh) .That interviewer seems unconvinced and he said something like, ‘Contractor la itu…’. Why they always have that kind of stereotype that Chinese is always the one who is working in high-paid sector? Nevertheless, I clarified it again and trying my best not to be too defiant. Then, after listening to others answering their questions, I was then asked about my dream car. The first thing that came to my mind is some kind of concept car. So, I proceeded with my idea with just a few word before being told that it must be a car that’s on the market. I hesitated for a second or so, then blurted out ‘Bugatti Veyron’ . ‘Why?’ I continued by saying that it’s one of the fastest car, bla,bla… aerodynamic shape… and so on. The interviewer probably never heard of that car before and so he wondered why not Ferrari or Mercz. According to him, that would be a good help to attract girls and so he continued with his theory that hot cars (Mercz , Ferrari) can help to attract girls easily..…= = lll ….

And that was it. My part of interview ends there (I didn’t realised that till the interview officially ended coz the interviewer randomly asked our opinions and no one knows who’s the next ). The rest of the time, I was listening to the others. One girl was being asked which country she would like to go to study for medicine and the reasons of her choice. England was her choice. Hearing that, the interviewer suddenly asked a guy sitting beside the girl, ‘Why don’t you choose England too? She said she wants to go there.’ All of us were like suppressing the urge to laugh out.

My friend who were there having the same interview with me was asked on how would he repay back his parents after he graduated. He said something like living together with his parents and taking good care of their health.
‘Let’s say you are married, and your wife doesn’t like that? What would you do?’
‘ I’ll make sure that she likes my parents and treats them well before getting married’
‘ok, .. if your wife insisted that you to move out and leave your parents alone, what would you do?’
‘Divorce’
‘Divorce ? Really?’
‘Yea, divorce’
‘Such a good boy la..’ (Laugh)

There was a girl who was being asked about the prize she got from her parents for getting such a good result. The girl said she got nothing from her parents. The interviewer continued by asking that whether she got any compliment from them and she replied by saying that her parents don’t care about her at all. The interviewer then started to nag her about this issue by saying that she could not think about it like that. He asked her whether is her parents that sent her to USM this morning. ‘Yes’ she replied. ‘There, see, your parents are actually care for you, they sent you here and they even waited outside for your interview to be over, for some of your friends here, they have to come here by their friends’ car…you should be grateful…bla,bla,bla…’

One guy was saying that he learned German before (he got a cert for sports in German language). The interviewer then came out with a German word and asked him to translate which he successfully did. So, be careful when you try to impress the interviewer and don’t take them as fool.

During the interview, the interviewer did ask what course do each of us choose and of course the reasons we chose it. He even shared his own experience with us, how he used to be very interested in becoming a lawyer and finally when he became one, he actually found it to be quite boring, and there he was interviewing us. …So, know your choice of subject well enough, make sure you have a solid reasons for what you’ve chosen. The whole interview lasted for about an hour (or maybe more than that)

By the way, I applied for engineering and my friend selected German engineering. Both of us got the scholarship. Another friend of mine who was in another panel room applied for pharmacist and was not so lucky and didn’t get it. His panel was a very formal one( scheme-like) with a common topic for all and they answered it according to number, so the last person actually got more time to brainstorm on ideas. Their topic was on drug trafficking and the ways to stop it.

BronzyBaby
31-03-2009, 09:44 PM
Hi all, my interview is over! *breathes a sigh of relief*

My group had 5 candidates. I think almost all the groups do. Anyway, there were three applying for medic, one for pharmacy, and me of course - veterinary medic. =D

My group was asked to introduce ourselves in BM, then we were given the topic of "How to improve the quality of Malaysian life". Quite a wide field of possible answers. So that was good. Then after that, they asked personal questions like "Why did you choose this course and which country would you like to go?". They also asked what's your motivation to study this course. To a few others, they also asked if the government sends them to another country NOT of their choice, would they go. Basic questions like that... I had three interviewers in which one of them was very nice. The other two were slightly stricter-looking. Luckily, it was the nice-looking interviewer who asked most of the questions. Hehe...

Seems like not many people apply for veterinary medicine..Anyone?

All in all, I think the interview was pretty relaxing for me. I really thank God for my "english-nized background". Haha.. It allowed to express myself better.

Well, basically, for those still waiting to attend their interview, just remember to be confident. Convey your ideas confidently but realistically, of course. Remember to smile often as well.. It makes you appear less nervous. Good luck! And remember to pray. ;)

shakirah
31-03-2009, 10:15 PM
ello people there..
i 2 wanna answer dat question...should we shake the interviewers hand if they're opposite gend...
my answer is certainly not! dis is bcoz we have the human rights as a muslim not 2 shake with oposite gender...and for the other muslim person who shakes the oppo gender,their religion concious is not strong enough...o pegangan agame yg x kuat..
but for the non muslim if u wanna shake ur hand with the oppo gender it depends on u..it juz my opinion...but it will be a no-no for me 2 shake hand with oppo gender..

31-03-2009, 10:20 PM
ello people there..
i 2 wanna answer dat question...should we shake the interviewers hand if they're opposite gend...
my answer is certainly not! dis is bcoz we have the human rights as a muslim not 2 shake with oposite gender...and for the other muslim person who shakes the oppo gender,their religion concious is not strong enough...o pegangan agame yg x kuat..
but for the non muslim if u wanna shake ur hand with the oppo gender it depends on u..it juz my opinion...but it will be a no-no for me 2 shake hand with oppo gender..

Well, the question has been answered. Take note everyone. Thank you shakirah.

Bella
31-03-2009, 10:50 PM
ello people there..
But what we have to do with the panel that opposite gender?Is impossible v just sheke hands with some and just ignore the opposite gender,is it?

passer-by
31-03-2009, 11:01 PM
But what we have to do with the panel that opposite gender?Is impossible v just sheke hands with some and just ignore the opposite gender,is it?

U don't ignore them, you can just say thank you for taking the time and nod ur head to acknowledge them.

Bella
31-03-2009, 11:05 PM
U don't ignore them, you can just say thank you for taking the time and nod ur head to acknowledge them.
what i'm worried was that will misundetstanding my action is non-respective at all.My interview will be on tml,2pm at pd politeknik.applied course is accouting.

JiaTern
31-03-2009, 11:26 PM
I would like to ask something about the slip gaji.
(I've read almost all pages, but none is similar with my case)
My father has passed away (so no salary of course), and my mum is working at a primary school as a library staff (not considered as government staff) with the pay rm900 per month. She doesn't have both borang J and pay slip. Since my mum no need to pay income tax (lower than rm2500 no need), she doesnt have Borang J lo.

I have one borang pendapatan from school, it wrote "Pengesahan pendapatan untuk ibu bapa yang tiada slip gaji", and i filled it and certified,signed and cop by my mum's boss. is it ok to use that?

passer-by
01-04-2009, 12:13 AM
I would like to ask something about the slip gaji.
(I've read almost all pages, but none is similar with my case)
My father has passed away (so no salary of course), and my mum is working at a primary school as a library staff (not considered as government staff) with the pay rm900 per month. She doesn't have both borang J and pay slip. Since my mum no need to pay income tax (lower than rm2500 no need), she doesnt have Borang J lo.

I have one borang pendapatan from school, it wrote "Pengesahan pendapatan untuk ibu bapa yang tiada slip gaji", and i filled it and certified,signed and cop by my mum's boss. is it ok to use that?

I think there shouldn't be any problem if it's certified by the right person and provided u fill in the borang pengesahan issued by JPA. My father is a construction worker with no fixed employment, still, I used to hand in the pay slip and borang pengesahan provided by JPA and it's acceptable.

xpinkbananax
01-04-2009, 10:06 PM
then wad if one wanted to apply for a change of course ? like for eg, i applied for accounting at the 1st option , b.management for 2nd and XXX for the 3rd, and i ended up getting the 2nd one.

so can i apply for a change of course? if yes, how can i do so?

YcajGno
02-04-2009, 01:18 PM
I would like to ask in the Introduction part, do we simultaneously explain to them why we chose and why we chose the country?
Or do they actually ask you first, then you start explaining to them about it?

02-04-2009, 02:34 PM
i'm wondering this question too...
someone please help?

thomas_hang0000
02-04-2009, 02:59 PM
I would like to ask in the Introduction part, do we simultaneously explain to them why we chose and why we chose the country?
Or do they actually ask you first, then you start explaining to them about it?

(2008 ) In my group (no self introduction), we told them bout this when only we're asked. Normally the interviewers will ask, unless your group got tons of other stuffs to discuss on.
If you have the self introduction part, it's better for you to explain this to them.

Update
According to blurblur,
www.j-son08.blogspot.com

"Sila beri perhatian, temuduga ini terdiri drpd 3 bahagian...blah3..."
So one by one , all the interviewees completed their 1st part by introducing themselves which included our name, school, family background, cocuricular achievements, hobbies and ambition.

Yeah, here came the 2nd part, where i performed better, i guess.
the title given was the importance of savings..
four of them talked about save money but i touched on saving energy ...this is when i started to talk a bit more fruently than b4.. Me heartbeat became to return to normal rate. Kekez..

The 3rd part we r asked to elaborate on why u choose this particular course , which country u wanted to go , why u want go there and why u deserve to go there as well...

blurblur
02-04-2009, 05:19 PM
just finished my jpa interview this morning
just click the link below to see my experience..kekez..
www.j-son08.blogspot.com (http://www.j-son08.blogspot.com/)
dun forget to leave some comments yah..!!thanks ..all to best for coming interviewees!! :amuse

thomas_hang0000
02-04-2009, 06:01 PM
Thanks for providing link to latest JPA Interview experience. I'm sure this'll help alot :)

blurblur
03-04-2009, 07:37 AM
hmm..welcome u guys..:laugh
all da bez in future undertakings!! dun eva gv up..!! Be positive and dun take jpa for granted..think about alternative way bside jpa..dun wait jpa blindly..
jpa will only be announced on the 3rd week of may..no point waiting..
only 25% of interviewees will kena jpa btw..:notrust

iqabishoujo
03-04-2009, 11:14 AM
my experience and tips...
straight to the point...
first of all u must know who is ur partner...
get to know them...
talk to them so that u wont think much bout da intrview...
k guys...

ok as for my group, the panel asked us to calm down coz he(the panel) told to us that he doesnt like us in nervous situation cuz it's hard FOR THEM to see OUR real personality (I DONT KNOW WHAT HE MEANT BY THAT..HEHE...)...
guys dontt be AFRAID of them...
they wont eat us...hehe..
my panel consist of 2 malays n 1 indian...
they r so nice...like them so much...

intro in malay: name, sibling, parents ocupation, coco achievemnt(the best one), course u choose...

ONE TIP : JUST TELL THEM WHAT THEY WANT ONLY...
DONT ADD ANYTHING ELSE FOR EXMPLE UR AMBITION OR ANYTHING ELSE CUZ THEY WANT TO MAKE IT SIMPLE...

in malay : why u choose korea....(I'm applying for engnrng in korea)...

in eng: what can b done to bring up our local university to an international level...(quite hard rite..huhu..)

DONT WORRY...THEY WILL GIVE U SOME TIME(one minute only..hehe) TO THINK ABOUT THE POINT...

in eng: y u deserved thE scholarship...

n finally they asked us whether we have a question to b asked or not...

our group asked the panel lots of que until the 1st panel told us to stop cuz our group took the longest time(1 hour n 30 minutes...) for the intrview...hehe...

TIPS: DONT THINK MUCH BOUT DA INTERVIEW....K GUYS...JUST RELAX...

msjellybean
03-04-2009, 02:08 PM
JPA interview experience.

I am a student from SPM 2008, I was called for an interview in Putrajaya in 2009. I scored 10A?s, 8A1, 2A2.I applied for biotechnology, and I do not have a specific country that I want to go, I will take what JPA can offer. This website is one of those I referred to before the interview and it helped a lot. So, I decided to share my personal experience.

My interview was at 2pm, I reached at 1.30++, checked the lobby, check the board(where all students are, there is the board) find for your name in the board to see which panel you are in. Panel is just to see which major group, each panel contains 15-20 students. Took an escalator up, waited for 1.50pm and entered the place which contained panel 1-15. Went over to the last panel, panel 15. Registered my name, waited for name to be called, I was lucky my name was quite above, so I was first batch to enter the interview room. Each group consist 5 person, Number 1-5.

We have a brief info from the lady from registration table, she told us to bring pen, pencil and a small note pad, or any paper (some lady say cannot bring anything in). We entered, my friend, Number 1, went over to give the panel a wish and handshake, all of us did the same. We sat at our places.

Panels introduced themselves, and they will tell you what to do. Introduction of self, background, choice of course, reason. It is normal. Intro what u can, no time limit, no need so long, no need so short, just when u finish, give them a nod or a smile, they will know, if they have anything else to ask, they?ll ask. No worries. Just answer what you can, if you are out of answer, say, ITU SAHAJA, or THAT?S ALL, depending on what language they spoke in.

My group contains of one future biotechnist, two future accountants, one future chemist, and one future lawyer. One girl was TOOOOOOOO quiet, we gave her chance to speak, but she did not want to speak, the panel told her to answer, but she couldn?t answer, although 5 of us are actually competing, but we still gave her space, you have to give others chance as SPEAKING TOO MUCH IRRITATES OTHERS! So luckily I have a chance to speak, all of us tolerate among each other. We lift up hand if we want to be the next one. Panel will then give a general topic (because all diff course) for us to discuss. My group create a joke out of ourselves because we did the discussion LOUDLY, when it is a silent discussion, panel laughed, but it is alright..they saved time.. =)

My question was one in English, one in BM, so what language they ask, just follow, to see are you able to speak both language. After all the questioning, panel thank us for being there and wish us all the best, we give them handshake and thank them. We waited for our file containing certs, and went back. My interview was roughly, 50 minutes.

Wish all future interviewers a good luck and all the best!

chopiex
03-04-2009, 02:19 PM
Had my JPA interview on March 2nd. Please read in my blog
www.chopiex-ffntasy.blogspot.com

p/s: pls kindly leave your comments

Wright
07-04-2009, 01:34 AM

What to wear?
A-must (in my opinion):
Males:
Slack (black or brown)

Females:

11. Slip gaji (original)

1. Name (for sure ==)

9. Junk food
15. Human resource
16. Drugs
18. Global warming
19. RMK 9
22. Violence
26. Corruption
28. Education system
43. Our leader idols

50. National Service
51. Agricultural
53. Patriotism
54. 9th Malaysian Plan
60. Pollution
61. Healthy Lifestyles
65. Vision School
70. Terrorism
72. White Collar Crime

What happened to me?

It has been 1 year since I created this article. There're people curious that did I get JPA scholarship or not, just to make things clear, I succeeded too. The course I've chosen is KEJURUTERAAN (JEPUN). Currently studying in UTM (Setapak Jaya, KL) and will be migrating to INTEC (Shah Alam) April 09 onwards.

Please give comments on it. Your valued opinion is much appreciated ^^ Thanks.

thank for a long and detailed explanation..

hazeem_1925
29-04-2009, 01:18 AM
hi, thomas....I want 2 thank u. U help me a lot in my recently jpa interview. ur article is superb... I m juz waiting for mu jpa result that is on 3rd week of may 2009..u help me a lot...thank u so much.. hope i will get the scholarship...=)...byeeee

CinD
21-05-2009, 12:46 PM
thanks for ur post.....wow~~~~it's totally in detail.:)

conanlover
27-05-2009, 10:06 PM
Thomas,wanna thanks for ur post too.
i read ur post before going to the interview and it really help me a lot.
sincerely,thanks ya..:)

xpinkbananax
14-06-2009, 03:40 AM
recom had been helping me and my fren out alot. prepared, though not fully cause it was a last minute decision. ive even added the link to my blog to hlp the others out and provide the link to my teachers so that they could help the students out. and a million thanks. :)

uskam1992
20-12-2009, 03:03 AM
truly appreciate ur detailed information. Thanks

Adrian92
30-12-2009, 12:26 PM
Nid Help guys!!!IF i gt jpa n plan 2 study engineering,they will send us 2 study pre-u 1st rite?Normally which pre-u they will ask us 2 study?A-Level?

blurhead
30-12-2009, 01:10 PM
Nid Help guys!!!IF i gt jpa n plan 2 study engineering,they will send us 2 study pre-u 1st rite?Normally which pre-u they will ask us 2 study?A-Level?

Yes, definitely pre-u first. Which pre-u you'll be heading to will depend on your destination when you do your degree (after your pre-u)...

For this year's (2009) batch, those who took german engineering went to either INTEC or KBU. Then there's those doing france engineering which were placed at either INTEC or MFI (Malaysia France Institute). Those doing general engineering were placed in various prep colleges, namely INTEC, KMB (Kolej Mara Banting) and so on...

A-levels or not, again, depends on your destination, if you're Australia/New Zealand bound, then you'll be doing Ausmat, otherwise it'll be A-levels or IB.

Go over to recom wiki if you need more info... :)

31-12-2009, 08:28 PM
Yes, they will send the scholars 2 study pre-u but the type of pre-uni tat they will study depends on the course.

There is 5 type of JPA Engineering Scholarships:
- France Engineering
- Germany Engineering
- Korea Engineering
- Japan Engineering
- Engineering (To English-speaking countries)

France Engineering
There is two batches in a year for this course. One batch will be studying their foundation at a high school in France then continue their degree/masters.

The other batch, the scholars have to study at Malaysia France Institute, Bangi for 20 months before going to France to do their degree/masters. This type of pre-u is called Pre France.

Germany Engineering
The scholars have to study a diploma at INTEC for 2 years n half before going to Germany. Forgotten the name of the course.

Korea & Japan Engineering
Don't much about it. Sorry.

Engineering
This pre-uni depends on which country you are heading to. For example for US, one must take SAT while for UK, one must take A-levels.

thomas_hang0000
01-01-2010, 12:38 AM
For Germany Engineering,
It's done at INTEC, UiTM Shah Alam. Course name is ALG (A Level Germany). After this 2 year (long course) you'll be straight away sent to Germany for Degree course.

Japanese/Korean Engineering is also done at INTEC. Japanese course name is KTJ (Kajian Tekninal Jepun) (can't remember Korean's). Bout the Japanese course, it's considered as 'short course' as it takes roughly 1.5 years only. After this you'll be sent to Japan for Diploma course (polytechnics). And you may advance to Degree Course after that. Please note that KTJ's not A Level. It's just a 'Preparatory Course', which the subjects are much simpler than A Level's. Here you study Maths, Physics, Chemistry (scope is about the same as matriculation), Japanese (main) and English.

wcing
01-01-2010, 11:24 PM
THANKS for sharing this huge thread.
Now I'm able to visualise how the interview takes place. May I ask a question? Are there any specific courses for us to choose? Like Engineering which includes EE, Software engineering, Environmental Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, etc ? Or there's only the general "Engineering" for us to choose?

01-01-2010, 11:33 PM
Yes, for the first stage Engineering only. You will specialize it later on during your course.

02-01-2010, 12:51 PM
THANKS for sharing this huge thread.
Now I'm able to visualise how the interview takes place. May I ask a question? Are there any specific courses for us to choose? Like Engineering which includes EE, Software engineering, Environmental Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, etc ? Or there's only the general "Engineering" for us to choose?
That depends on the scholarship. As I know, all the engineering scholarship offers you to choose what you want except for France Engineering which only provides the field of Mechanical, Electrical and Chemical.

However, you don't have to worry about it as you can still get the field of your choice. For instance, Mechanical has a also the field of Aeronautical.

Just don't worry so much yet. You still have time to choose your field when you do your degree.

phoebec
03-01-2010, 08:39 PM
can i apply for JPA scholarship to further my studies in mathematics? thnks in advance.

jocinda
09-01-2010, 03:58 PM
can i apply for JPA scholarship to further my studies in mathematics? thnks in advance.

Hey there. You just have to wait for your SPM results and apply at once. There are a lot of courses provided. And pick one which is closest to your ambition. :))

yugathes
09-01-2010, 09:02 PM

Hey there.. Yes u can apply apply for JPA scholarship to further your studies in Mathematics.. U can also try Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) scholarship if u want to major in Mathematics... One of my friend is a BNM scholar and she's doing Mathematics as well..

ayja
10-01-2010, 12:10 AM

Ministry of Education also offers Math =D

zarionette
13-01-2010, 09:39 PM
Hey there.. Yes u can apply apply for JPA scholarship to further your studies in Mathematics.. U can also try Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) scholarship if u want to major in Mathematics... One of my friend is a BNM scholar and she's doing Mathematics as well..

Is there the option for Mathematics in the field of courses in the JPA application form? Cuz i couldnt find anyone who received the JPA scholarships in the field of Maths when i was cheking out recom's scholarships holders infobase.

14-01-2010, 08:13 PM
Is there the option for Mathematics in the field of courses in the JPA application form? Cuz i couldnt find anyone who received the JPA scholarships in the field of Maths when i was cheking out recom's scholarships holders infobase.
well, the course that you are asking for is something rarely people ask for. thus ur chances of finding them in recom is very less. However, don't worry as JPA scholarship offers scholarship offers wide range of field, even if there is not a course tat specialises on maths but surely there are many courses tat can eventually lead you to specialising in maths.

runninghorse
15-01-2010, 05:21 PM

If you are interested to major in Maths, for JPA scholarship it is categorised under SCIENCE. That includes pure Biology, Chemisty, Physics and even Psychology (I think) etc so long the title of the degree is Bachelor of Science major in ____

16-01-2010, 12:52 PM
hey there, just wanna ask is there any Recomer who are now still waiting for the SPM'09 result and interested in pursuing actuarial science and gonna apply JPA after receiving the result in this coming March??? just wanna know more about my future classmates... cheers~ :amuse

19-01-2010, 08:41 PM
hey there, just wanna ask is there any Recomer who are now still waiting for the SPM'09 result and interested in pursuing actuarial science and gonna apply JPA after receiving the result in this coming March??? just wanna know more about my future classmates... cheers~ :amuse
way are u still waiting for SPM 2009's results? :huh

ayja
20-01-2010, 08:24 AM

That's awfully early! But it's good that you know what you want. When you do get the interview and need tips, I have a friend who's doing actuarial science whom would be able to offer you advice =) all the best!

snow_undine
30-01-2010, 08:31 PM
way are u still waiting for SPM 2009's results? :huh

SPM 2009's result refers to the students who took SPM in year 2009 and the result will only be out in around march 2010. i am one of those students too!:nod

30-01-2010, 08:45 PM
That's awfully early! But it's good that you know what you want. When you do get the interview and need tips, I have a friend who's doing actuarial science whom would be able to offer you advice =) all the best!

yeah it's great to know everything as early as possible as i don't wanna check for everything at the very last minute. Well, who is your friend that is doing actuarial science under JPA now? I would really appreciate it if you can introduce your friend to me. Thanks in advance... :)

SPM 2009's result refers to the students who took SPM in year 2009 and the result will only be out in around march 2010. i am one of those students too!:nod

yeah me too!!! Nice to meet you anyway...:)

kakija
01-02-2010, 04:43 PM
hye.. i'm also waiting 4 spm 09 result.. quite scary... huhu..
i'm interested in pharmacy.. anyone in the same basket with me?

02-02-2010, 12:43 AM
Many of my friends are interested in pharmacy. By the way, I'm also waiting for spm 09 result and I most probably will be taking engineering courses in future. Cheers~ :laugh

Judith
03-02-2010, 08:06 PM
I am currently waiting for my spm results too.By the way, I have great interest in medicine field and chemical engineering.

weiping2007
05-02-2010, 11:41 AM
I am currently waiting for my spm results too.By the way, I have great interest in medicine field and chemical engineering.

hey..i'm also a 09' SPM-er...:)...i have a great interest in medicine field...same as you...:))

Judith
05-02-2010, 07:59 PM
hey..i'm also a 09' SPM-er...:)...i have a great interest in medicine field...same as you...:))
Hi there !:) I would like to study about paediatric or traditional chinese medicine.What about you ?

woonmathic
06-02-2010, 03:34 PM
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your generosity in sharing about the above.
Its really an experience for those applying for this coveted and much sought after scholarship.
To many, its a life changing thing, and its once in a lifetime opportunity that should not be missed.
Although I am not directly benefiting from your post, but I must say that you are a good man, doing your part in helping others.
Keep up the good work and may you be blessed with God's choicest blessings. All the best for whatever you are doing.

Regards,

Mr Woon

Orlando
07-02-2010, 01:39 AM
yikes .. any idea whether thy wil offer d ivy league or setara scholarship tis year?..

ParadiseLost
07-02-2010, 10:23 AM
Hi all. SPM leaver here too. I'm interested in Mathematical/Computational Finance.. I am aware that JPA offers scholarship for Economics, but what about finance courses?

yin2000
07-02-2010, 01:04 PM
Hey I am waiting for the SPM results too. One more month only!!! so scary
I am interested in acturial science :)

07-02-2010, 08:20 PM
Hey I am waiting for the SPM results too. One more month only!!! so scary
I am interested in acturial science :)

Hey, i'm still waiting for the SPM results and similar with you, i'm interested in pursuing actuarial science since i was F4. Nice to meet you anyway...

07-02-2010, 08:34 PM
Seems like there are many of you who are interested in actuarial science...

07-02-2010, 09:36 PM
Seems like there are many of you who are interested in actuarial science...

yeah... that'd be much more competitive to securing scholarship for actuarial science this year... :(

08-02-2010, 12:05 AM
yeah... that'd be much more competitive to securing scholarship for actuarial science this year... :(

Yeah, I read in Star newspaper which stated more scholarships will be offered to students applying for medicine, pharmacy, engineering etc which all are related to sciences but it didn't mention any art stream courses e.g. economics, accounting etc including actuarial science. So, it will be quite competitive to those that will be taking actuarial science. Anyway, don't worry about it. I'm sure fellow recommers can secure this JPA scholarship. :)

08-02-2010, 01:06 AM
Yeah, I read in Star newspaper which stated more scholarships will be offered to students applying for medicine, pharmacy, engineering etc which all are related to sciences but it didn't mention any art stream courses e.g. economics, accounting etc including actuarial science. So, it will be quite competitive to those that will be taking actuarial science. Anyway, don't worry about it. I'm sure fellow recommers can secure this JPA scholarship. :)

What is the date of the Star newspaper??? I would really like to know it and for your information, actuarial science is not an art stream course. It's a combination of science and art course. By the way, i really hope that i can secure one. Thanks for your wish!!! :)

08-02-2010, 01:09 AM
Yeah, I read in Star newspaper which stated more scholarships will be offered to students applying for medicine, pharmacy, engineering etc which all are related to sciences but it didn't mention any art stream courses e.g. economics, accounting etc including actuarial science. So, it will be quite competitive to those that will be taking actuarial science. Anyway, don't worry about it. I'm sure fellow recommers can secure this JPA scholarship. :)There is an old thread in ReCom about the composition of JPA scholarships awarded to different course, cited from newspaper, you can dig out the thread if you are interested.

Anyway, if my memory doesn't fail me, about 50% of the places awarded goes to health science course (a.k.a. medicine, pharmacy and dentistry) and out of that about 70% goes to medicine. Another 600 places go to engineering, and the remaining are distributed among other course, do the math and you will get a rough idea on the places available.

08-02-2010, 01:37 AM
What is the date of the Star newspaper??? I would really like to know it and for your information, actuarial science is not an art stream course. It's a combination of science and art course. By the way, i really hope that i can secure one. Thanks for your wish!!! :)

Its yesterday's newspaper (7.2.2010). Anyway, just to correct my statement, the newspaper stated the scholarship offered this year was targeted at studies in critical fields e.g. what I stated. Not sure if I interpret its meaning correctly or not. :P Cheers~

There is an old thread in ReCom about the composition of JPA scholarships awarded to different course, cited from newspaper, you can dig out the thread if you are interested.

Anyway, if my memory doesn't fail me, about 50% of the places awarded goes to health science course (a.k.a. medicine, pharmacy and dentistry) and out of that about 70% goes to medicine. Another 600 places go to engineering, and the remaining are distributed among other course, do the math and you will get a rough idea on the places available.

What is the total places available for spm leavers?

08-02-2010, 01:52 AM
Its yesterday's newspaper (7.2.2010). Anyway, just to correct my statement, the newspaper stated the scholarship offered this year was targeted at studies in critical fields e.g. what I stated. Not sure if I interpret its meaning correctly or not. :P Cheers~

What is the total places available for spm leavers?I think it's 2000, if it remains the same for this year, and your interpretation is correct.

P/S: I just dig out the statistics thread and stick it on JPA subforum for reference.

08-02-2010, 02:09 AM
There is an old thread in ReCom about the composition of JPA scholarships awarded to different course, cited from newspaper, you can dig out the thread if you are interested.

Yeah there is an old thread in Recom stated about the composition of JPA scholarships awarded to different courses and i have seen it before. It was done by Chen Chow if i'm not mistaken. So that means only 400 places left for the other courses such as actuarial science, economics, accounting, etc. I still remember, for the scholarship for actuarial science course, there were 500+ people applied for it and about 200+ students being called up for interview in 2007/08 if i'm not mistaken. And only 70+ places offered for actuarial science course in the end. So, it'd be really competitive in getting that course to study overseas.

Etude
22-02-2010, 06:26 PM
hi~ I wanted to ask, if I want to take medicine course in JPA, what is the likely questions the interviewers will stress on? thanks..^^

22-02-2010, 09:12 PM
hi~ I wanted to ask, if I want to take medicine course in JPA, what is the likely questions the interviewers will stress on? thanks..^^
Sample questions: Every year, many people wants to apply for medicine in the JPA scholarship. Why of all the applicants, we should give you the scholarship?

They will likely stress what special capabilities do you have that is better than the other candidates.

KHARTHIKD
22-02-2010, 09:39 PM
Do they test our scientific knowledge by shooting us with questions like :

1. How does bronchitis develops ?
2. When does human bone mass starts to decline ?
3. What is osteopenia ?

These questions need lenghty answers though.

22-02-2010, 09:43 PM

3. What is osteopenia ?

I don't think that they will go that far as not all the interviewers have good knowledge in biology.

22-02-2010, 09:54 PM
I've heard before that there is at least one professional (e.g. doctor for medicine course interviewees) among the panel of interviewers.

KHARTHIKD
22-02-2010, 10:03 PM
that would be dreadful.................

22-02-2010, 10:09 PM
that would be dreadful.................

A bit of mistake in my previous post. It can be ANY professional since in each group (usually 5 in a group) every interviewee applies for a different course.

22-02-2010, 10:16 PM

3. What is osteopenia ?

These questions need lenghty answers though.I think even most of the first year medical students can't answer these...

thomas_hang0000
22-02-2010, 10:31 PM
I read an article in JPA official website last year, it's about interviewers of JPA interview on 2009 onwards will consist of professional(s) of certain field so that they can evaluate interviewees better.

Mulai tahun ini, panel temu duga dilantik daripada pegawai-pegawai Kerajaan pelbagai profesion dan kaum mengikut bidang-bidang tajaan. Misalnya, pelajar-pelajar yang memilih bidang perubatan/kesihatan akan ditemu duga oleh pegawai perubatan/pergigian/ farmasi yang terdiri daripada pelbagai kaum. Satu jawatankuasa khas akan menyelia urusan temu duga bagi memastikan pelaksanaannya telus, adil dan saksama.

Temu duga akan dijalankan secara berkumpulan mengikut bidang-bidang pengajian (misalnya perubatan/pergigian/farmasi/perubatan veterinar, kejuruteraan, sains dan teknologi dan sains sosial). Setiap satu kumpulan terdiri daripada empat orang calon dalam kelompok yang sama dan calon-calon ini akan ditemu duga dan mengadakan perbincangan mengikut topik yang diberikan oleh panel dalam Bahasa Melayu dan Bahasa Inggeris.

Original link:
http://www.jpa.gov.my/2009/03/1021/

Paragraph 7

weiping2007
05-03-2010, 12:45 PM
Hi there !:) I would like to study about paediatric or traditional chinese medicine.What about you ?

hi, sorry for the later reply..kinda busy as i'm doing an experiment..:P
i would like to study about pathology...:laugh...hmm...paediatric...do you like kids?

Judith
05-03-2010, 11:03 PM
i would like to study about pathology...:laugh...hmm...paediatric...do you like kids?
It's ok ! yes,i like kids very much.:)

weiping2007
07-03-2010, 03:37 PM
It's ok ! yes,i like kids very much.:)

hey, thanks for the website you give me...:nod...i don't like kids so much...

Judith
11-03-2010, 06:21 PM
hey, thanks for the website you give me...:nod...i don't like kids so much...
you are welcome.You will find them cute if you spend time with them.:)

sot1412
12-03-2010, 04:57 PM

awesome, i'd like to study about pathology too. But 1st, i guess I have to take up medicine course 1st right?

Oops...I forgot to introduce myself. I'm new here, just took my SPM results yesterday and applied for JPA scholarship already. Hopefully I'll get it. Anyone in the same boat as me? :)

weiping2007
12-03-2010, 05:03 PM
awesome, i'd like to study about pathology too. But 1st, i guess I have to take up medicine course 1st right?

Oops...I forgot to introduce myself. I'm new here, just took my SPM results yesterday and applied for JPA scholarship already. Hopefully I'll get it. Anyone in the same boat as me? :)

how's your results?

12-03-2010, 05:18 PM

So you're applying for medicine??? How was your result anyway??? Well, i have applied for JPA yesterday and choosing Economics, since there is no more Actuarial Science from JPA this year onward. Nice to meet you anyway. :) All the best for your application process.

ethmblue
12-03-2010, 07:13 PM

Hi, I've received my SPM results too and I've applied for Medicine as well. :)

chopiex
13-03-2010, 07:34 AM
Anyone who is interested to go to Japan, pls apply through JPA. Courses involved are engineering, social science, pharmacy ,dentistry, etc. No medicine. For further information abt the program, go to this threadhttp://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=10254

I can't wait for the 後輩(juniors) to come to my place!!!

みんな 学識を探して よくがんばってね。

mandarinoriental
13-03-2010, 08:46 AM
Hi, last year there was talk in my school that they have our koko records/results online.. like it's keyed into a database that JPA can check automatically or something, is it true?

AniFanZ
13-03-2010, 09:23 AM
Hi~ is JPA medicine course really that popular? I've got 11A+ and 1A for my SPM, so what are my chances of getting the scholarship for medic course, and go to countries like UK? XD

smy
13-03-2010, 09:36 AM
I got 7A+ and 3As for spm wat r the chances of me gettin scholarships to do medic since there r so many ppl wit good reslts dis year.

13-03-2010, 02:13 PM
Hi, last year there was talk in my school that they have our koko records/results online.. like it's keyed into a database that JPA can check automatically or something, is it true?

I'm not sure of this... But usually they will deduced your koko activities during interview by looking through your certificates.

Hi~ is JPA medicine course really that popular? I've got 11A+ and 1A for my SPM, so what are my chances of getting the scholarship for medic course, and go to countries like UK? XD

I got 7A+ and 3As for spm wat r the chances of me gettin scholarships to do medic since there r so many ppl wit good reslts dis year.

Girls, if you fulfil the requirements to apply for medic, just apply it.
You will have high possibilities to get to the interview.
During the interview is the most crucial part.
If you do extreme well without over shadowing others, then there will high chance of it...

And JPA now only send students to Ireland and India. Mostly are twinning program. If you are lucky, you get direct program to Ireland.

13-03-2010, 02:26 PM
And JPA now only send students to Ireland and India. Mostly are twinning program. If you are lucky, you get direct program to Ireland.JPA do send students to Czech Republic, Poland, Russia, UK and New Zealand, apart from Ireland and India, as well as twinning programmes. It seems Australia is removed from the list this year. However, generally places are very limited for UK, New Zealand and Ireland full course, thus students are more likely to get the others, as well as twinning programmes.

Akatsuki
13-03-2010, 07:31 PM

3. What is osteopenia ?

don worry...they won't ask u kinda of question like tis...sry for not introducing...i am a 08/09 batch of jpa-er...i am bk to share my view and experience to all the juniors...=)

thr's no certain answer for this...but...since your results already gd enough...jus do your very best in the interview..it's very important...and ur koko marks too...the rest is depends on your luck...gd luck...=)...i am a medicine jpa-er too
direct to ireland...am here to share my experience and help u all if i am able to...=)...welcome to recom!!!

I'm not sure of this... But usually they will deduced your koko activities during interview by looking through your certificates.

Girls, if you fulfil the requirements to apply for medic, just apply it.
You will have high possibilities to get to the interview.
During the interview is the most crucial part.
If you do extreme well without over shadowing others, then there will high chance of it...

And JPA now only send students to Ireland and India. Mostly are twinning program. If you are lucky, you get direct program to Ireland.

they sending medic students to NZ too...one of my frn got NZ...apart from india and ireland...UK is also another place but is bound to IMU 1st...btw,nemo...u r in INTEC now rite?i still cant find out who r u actually though already half a year?=.="..which programme are u in?

13-03-2010, 07:32 PM
JPA do send students to Czech Republic, Poland, Russia, UK and New Zealand, apart from Ireland and India, as well as twinning programmes. It seems Australia is removed from the list this year. However, generally places are very limited for UK, New Zealand and Ireland full course, thus students are more likely to get the others, as well as twinning programmes.

ooops i forgot other countries.... but NZ usually none... Even my batch, no medic students for ausmat...Maybe it's too tough...

prawnie
15-03-2010, 11:07 PM
ooops i forgot other countries.... but NZ usually none... Even my batch, no medic students for ausmat...Maybe it's too tough...

for the SPM 2008 batch, JPA does send students who will be majoring in medicine to NZ. They are currently doing their AUSMAT programme in Sunway Uni College. Not sure if the SPM2009 batch would be offered to be medicine in NZ or not, and which institution for their preparatory programme.

15-03-2010, 11:16 PM
for the SPM 2008 batch, JPA does send students who will be majoring in medicine to NZ. They are currently doing their AUSMAT programme in Sunway Uni College. Not sure if the SPM2009 batch would be offered to be medicine in NZ or not, and which institution for their preparatory programme.Just out of curiosity, how many NZ-bound medicine scholars are there? Normally JPA offer very few places to these countries.

prawnie
15-03-2010, 11:18 PM
Just out of curiosity, how many NZ-bound medicine scholars are there? Normally JPA offer very few places to these countries.

i'm not sure about the number of NZ-bound medicine scholars, but i am sure that there are NZ-bound medicine scholars in SYUC. I know two of them.

DCYL
15-03-2010, 11:38 PM
Hi! I'm applying for JPA scholarship for medicine locally. During the Program Pendedahan Kerjaya Seorang Doktor, what should I wear?:oh

15-03-2010, 11:49 PM
Just out of curiosity, how many NZ-bound medicine scholars are there? Normally JPA offer very few places to these countries.

AUSMAT in INTEC, my batch, none is majoring in NZ... medicine in NZ and Aussie need TER up to TER98+