View Full Version : beckham's rumours
suhana
08-04-2004, 11:12 AM
Reading an article in yesterday's newpaper that touched on Beckham's affair made me realized that the western idols or their "very important peoples" can't run away from scandal. And these scandals are sometimes very serious that they could ruin the person's career and even his or her personal life. Even Clinton faced the same problem. The question is, is it true, or is it just a gimmick or is it a sabotage?
08-04-2004, 11:50 AM
another question is: do u really care about those rumors? just another entertainment news.
08-04-2004, 01:23 PM
Yeah, most celebrities (especially from the States) make up rumors so as to make themselves a hot issue. Well, there's this line i picked up from S Club in LA: "When we are popular, people will buy our albums."
SpRInG
08-04-2004, 03:41 PM
sigh......
what's wrong with the world mama....
:roll: :roll: :roll:
08-04-2004, 04:24 PM
becks is having an affair?!!?!? 8O
Man..and i knew nought bout this...*sigh* :?
08-04-2004, 04:59 PM
Cheap publicity? Don't have to strain our necks and look disgustingly at the mat sallehs. We have such people right among our local artists. Often these people are those who have not much talent but crave for instant popularity.
08-04-2004, 08:26 PM
All that stuff is probably trumped up (or sexed up) unofficial reports done by the media. But hey, if it sells mags and newspapers, who cares whether its real or not?
08-04-2004, 10:09 PM
maybe we should shift our attention to more worthy issue?
anyway, u know 90% of those rumors are fake right? why even bother about that?
08-04-2004, 10:57 PM
i don't know if it is a rumor or not..... but i hope it is not ..... because i pity the children.... i pity most of the children of superstars.... and celebrity... not only are they exposed to publicity at a young age ...... they are also subjected to the cruel rumors about their parent's relationship...........
08-04-2004, 11:04 PM
i pity the children.... i pity most of the children of superstars.... and celebrity... not only are they exposed to publicity at a young age ...... they are also subjected to the cruel rumors about their parent's relationship...........
that's the sacrifice of becoming too popular
lilet
08-04-2004, 11:12 PM
Whether Beckham is involved in an affair or not is not of great importance but the increasing commercialisation of sports is an issue that is frequently debated over right now.
I've heard reasons against this kind of commercialisation such as the money spent on sports commercial featuring sport celebrities eventually go into their pockets, it also projects a fake, glitter-filled image of sports and thus, makes the modern teenagers aspiring to venture into sports without knowing what sports really is...
There are good effects too like it creates more jobs in the sports and advertising industries and help promote a certain sport more extensively... But then again, too much emphasis on a few more popular sports only like football, basketball, F1 racing and so on will cause the other type of sports to lose popularity and eventually get wiped out of memory... :wink:
Any other opinions on this? I'm just giving a few only... :)
08-04-2004, 11:26 PM
By other sports do you mean mud-wrestling or camel racing? :D
The commercialization of sports isn't really an issue if you ask me. Sportsmen who seek fame and a celebrity status are usually rare. I mean, how many David Beckhams or Anna Kournikovas are out there? Most sportsmen actually shun the limelight. To them, what they are doing is just another job...And aspiring youths who venture into sports hoping to seek fame are usually left with the only thing they have - aspirations, because they ain't good enough at the sport. The good sportsmen are usually normal guys don't really want the fame, save for a few.
Which reminds me...I haven't touched my Championship Manager game in quite a while...
15-04-2004, 02:51 AM
the rumours are getting sicker and sicker..... i sense some similarities with the clinton sex scandal...
15-04-2004, 02:53 AM
http://www.abc.net.au/am/content/2004/s1085521.htm
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/allnews/tm_objectid=14139811&method=full&siteid=50143&headline=cousin-s-sweet-revenge-name_page.html
soul_out
15-04-2004, 07:41 PM
well, i think the scandal with Rebecca Loss is quite true...and the interview with her regarding the scandal will show on tv tonite...
violet1403
16-04-2004, 07:26 AM
the price of fame is just too high. i for one admit that i just cannot tolerate all this scandal issues. when you are famous everybody wants to know about you. cannot even wear tatty jeans without being "papparazied". what a way to live. better be an average person but lives happily. :D
16-04-2004, 11:30 AM
what's the big deal if he's having sex around? that's his freedom right? what the heck has to do with his soccer career? His job is just to play soccer that;s all. He's not going to make any important decision that will change people's life or a country's fate like Clinton did. So as long as he's playing well, what the hell is wrong with that? Some more those girls were willing to do that themselves. Just supply and demand that's all. I dun see the need to make it such a big deal and there's no need for this kind of news to become the headlines.
16-04-2004, 12:21 PM
what's the big deal if he's having sex around? that's his freedom right? what the heck has to do with his soccer career? His job is just to play soccer that;s all. He's not going to make any important decision that will change people's life or a country's fate like Clinton did. .
you forgot, he's employed by many big companies as their representer. A lot of money is being paid to him to do advertisement and endorse product. Having a bad reputation would mean he looses this. Beckham is considered to be a good boy and a role model for many boys.
No company would want a guy who is notoriously knowned for sleeping around.
16-04-2004, 12:27 PM
oh yeah..i forgot about those..my bad
16-04-2004, 05:06 PM
i think sleeping around is quite common ....especially for footballers..... the media just cannot believe that their "wonderboy" is so human after all..... anyway i do not like the way the media go on and on about "malaysian-born" Sarah Marbeck.... she doesn't even live in Malaysia....so wat's the fuss about her being born in Malaysia? are her actions something to be proud of????
16-04-2004, 09:35 PM
malaysia boleh?
17-04-2004, 04:46 PM
:lol: Malaysia Boleh?
18-04-2004, 02:05 PM
i think sleeping around is quite common ....especially for footballers..... the media just cannot believe that their "wonderboy" is so human after all..... anyway i do not like the way the media go on and on about "malaysian-born" Sarah Marbeck.... she doesn't even live in Malaysia....so wat's the fuss about her being born in Malaysia? are her actions something to be proud of????
yeah true, they made that thai "Mahsuri" a star too.
24-04-2004, 01:29 AM
Why can't the celebs have their own lives? If my next door neighbour has 5 concubines (just say), i bet even the Penang ppl are not interested in it lar... But what happens if Ben Affleck throws a kiss at some girl? The whole world MUST know it by the next day... What's so interesting about that, unless the girl happens to have some sort of cancer and is immediately cured...
b_ronick
24-04-2004, 02:43 AM
as someone mentioned before..it is the price of fame..
everything you do when you are famous are just being scrutinized by the papparazi..
it's how the world of fame works!
24-04-2004, 02:54 AM
Yeah, we are creating a new species among ourselves - Homo celebretus
Eh B_ronick, how do you include the animation in your signature part?
b_ronick
24-04-2004, 02:58 AM
you want me to tell you at this thread? pretty irrelevant isn't it?hahah
anyway...go look for an url of an animation that you want to include..
then type the url in between try out and see
lilet
24-04-2004, 10:04 AM
That's a cool name~! Then what should the paparazzi and the people who idolise these "Homo celebretus" be called? ;-)
gesar
24-04-2004, 02:59 PM
hmmm...interesting names....
well, wat were we saying? oh yeah...celebrities with rumours spreading around the world...hmmm, well, true enuff that it is the price of fame...yeah...they wanna be famous, they have got to pay the price...every little thing that they do will be observed by the paparazies....hmm, poor them...well, no wonder sometimes even the celebrities themselves cannot stand their own lives...hmm, and yeah, i agree with someone who said that its their children that we are concern of..
24-04-2004, 03:39 PM
That's a cool name~! Then what should the paparazzi and the people who idolise these "Homo celebretus" be called? ;-)
Ermm.... Can't think of any right now... Perhaps Homo annoyus? coz they annoy the celebrities.... Or Homo kepos?[/i]
gesar
25-04-2004, 01:59 PM
HAHA...good one...hehe....that will do....
yeah..a bunch of kepos hanging around the celebrities all the time...come to think of it, they now sound more like leaches which can never let go their victims...
SpRInG
26-04-2004, 12:51 AM
Why can't the celebs have their own lives? If my next door neighbour has 5 concubines (just say), i bet even the Penang ppl are not interested in it lar... But what happens if Ben Affleck throws a kiss at some girl? The whole world MUST know it by the next day... What's so interesting about that, unless the girl happens to have some sort of cancer and is immediately cured...
well, like what b_ronick said, that's the price of fame... actually responding to the first question. It's not why can't they have their own lives, but it's because they have chosen to become so.
At the very first place, they must know that there is a price to pay, to be famous... and really, they got famous, because of the media also... so, nobody praises the work of the media when they are populating a star, but heavily criticizes the media when they started writing about rumors and personal lives....
Although I do not personally support the media in doing so, however, it does not mean that the media is to be totally blamed for this when it happened. Think about it.... they wanted to be famous, therefore, they know that their lives will be scrutinized. Yes, although they are still human, but well, they should know how to behave...
26-04-2004, 01:23 AM
A price to pay? Well, they are famous, but shouldn't it be only on stage or fields? Why should it be even in their homes? I guess the media and the public have abuse their roles... i mean, i enjoy watching Carsillas or Fletcher playing their matches, but i'm not interested at all with what they eat everyday or what they do over the weekends...
SpRInG
26-04-2004, 01:30 AM
well, just think about it.... they asked for it themselves... they want to be famous.... u think a person can be famous just like that?
they are paid greatly, because of their fame, meaning that, well, they should be fully aware that they are paid because of the reputation... so, they should be ready for it.. so, if u do something funny, just be prepared lah, right?
26-04-2004, 02:30 AM
well, just think about it.... they asked for it themselves... they want to be famous.... u think a person can be famous just like that?
they are paid greatly, because of their fame, meaning that, well, they should be fully aware that they are paid because of the reputation... so, they should be ready for it.. so, if u do something funny, just be prepared lah, right?
Well, let me give some example (dunno whether they are valid or not. If not, then forgive me :P )
Ok, let us zoom into INTEC . . . Then into ATU10 . . . We have a few celebrities, but i'm going to name a few. First, we have the brainiest Chiun Lin... Then we have our Stanford star . . . Hehe . . . Well, they are celebs too, rite (coz they performed well and famous among us), but i dun think that we would be that kepo to know what time they eat, who they go out with, and stuffs . . . rite?
SpRInG
26-04-2004, 03:14 PM
well well well, i'm sorry because i may sound offensive, but with all due respect, they are not celebrities.... first, are they paid a high wage? were their news covered by any media? no
26-04-2004, 03:21 PM
first, are they paid a high wage?
you probably have no idea how many millions he is paid per week.
Yeah, not per month but per week. he is prolly richer than your typical hollywood puppets.
for god's sake, he is at REAL MADRID. not at selangor or ns cempaka.
but then, yeah, who cares about beckham's personal life. all ppl should care, if ppl observe soccer at all, is his boot.
26-04-2004, 11:27 PM
guys don't give a flying fark about who or what beckham boinks. it's the starry eyed teenage girls who lap up the gossip. what are starry eyed teenage girls doing watching futbol anyway. hehe.
27-04-2004, 12:32 AM
what are starry eyed teenage girls doing watching futbol anyway.
perhaps they're watching the other ball(s). *ahem...ahem...*
or perhaps they're waiting till the end of the match to see if Paolo Maldini or Francesco Totti takes of their shirts...
27-04-2004, 12:31 PM
do u know why media keep reporting famous celebrities and their personal affairs??? actually there is a hidden habit in every human that they want to be famous by getting near to things or poeple who have certain level of popularity.
how the media get more readers to buy their magazines??? reporting celebrities affairs is 1 of the methods to make the magazine popular.
just like ppl prefer to buy branded shoes like adidas n nike.not because of its quality but to hope the small tick on the shoes could raise their standard in society.
then why people like to talk about celebrities but not ur neighbour who has 5 concubines??? speaking out famous 'bechkam' who is in the famous football club 'real madrid' n having affairs with 'famous' malaysia-born model 'sarah' will definately attract more listeners instead of talking about concubines!
bechkam affairs??? just 1 out of million of famous things for unpopular people to get famous with.........
28-04-2004, 03:26 PM
well well well, i'm sorry because i may sound offensive, but with all due respect, they are not celebrities.... first, are they paid a high wage? were their news covered by any media? no
How do you define celebrity?
according to dictionary.com,
Celebrity==
1. A famous person
2. Reknown, fame
So where did money come in?
SpRInG
28-04-2004, 06:04 PM
yes, no doubt, celebrity means a famous person.. a reknown person...
but where did money come in? from their income of course. Do you think Beckham really worth so much if he wasn't famous??
you are calling the few person in INTEC as celebrity, but hmm... i dun regard them as celebrity as all... are they famous? no!! Explanation? Go ask any lecturer, take one erm... AUSMAT lecturer, see do they know any of your self-decared celebrity
29-04-2004, 05:20 AM
yes, no doubt, celebrity means a famous person.. a reknown person...
but where did money come in? from their income of course. Do you think Beckham really worth so much if he wasn't famous??
you are calling the few person in INTEC as celebrity, but hmm... i dun regard them as celebrity as all... are they famous? no!! Explanation? Go ask any lecturer, take one erm... AUSMAT lecturer, see do they know any of your self-decared celebrity
Hmm.. i think you've got mixed up with artistes and celebs . . . Nvm . . . But Chiun Lin and Icebergs are well known enough among us, rite? that makes them the celebs in ATU
29-04-2004, 12:30 PM
just like ppl prefer to buy branded shoes like adidas n nike.not because of its quality but to hope the small tick on the shoes could raise their standard in society.
I so beg to differ! There are people who buy shoes of well-known brands (original, that is) for the quality and not to elevate their positions in the society whatsoever. Perhaps whom you're refering to are those who go for fake stuff.
29-04-2004, 12:31 PM
what are starry eyed teenage girls doing watching futbol anyway. hehe.
mebbe some of us GIRLS do ENJOY watching football. It always piss me off, that guys think football's made for them..and them only...heh :twisted:
29-04-2004, 12:41 PM
what are starry eyed teenage girls doing watching futbol anyway. hehe.
mebbe some of us GIRLS do ENJOY watching football. It always piss me off, that guys think football's made for them..and them only...heh :twisted:
well, note that i specifically spelt out "starry eyed teenage girls." so if you're not one of them critters, you have nothing to worry about.:D
29-04-2004, 02:09 PM
I AM a teenager hehehe, you can omit the starry-eyed though (actually i'm not a teenager, already hatachi desu..but it's in the mind..if you feel young..then you are young LOL)
29-04-2004, 10:43 PM
budak kerek teenager?? hurmmmmmm :?: :?: :?:
30-04-2004, 02:14 PM
Taufiq topik...you are SO out of topic...at least i;m kinda admitting that i AM hatachi desu, unlike SOME ppl yg 'perasan' mude...although diri tu dh ni ju ichi sai desu (hehe..betul ke grammar aku nih?)
:wink: *hint..hint...org yg ckp me NOT a teenager tuh laa..hehe*
30-04-2004, 02:41 PM
Taufiq topik...you are SO out of topic...at least i;m kinda admitting that i AM hatachi desu, unlike SOME ppl yg 'perasan' mude...although diri tu dh ni ju ichi sai desu (hehe..betul ke grammar aku nih?)
:wink: *hint..hint...org yg ckp me NOT a teenager tuh laa..hehe*
nan des ka? (is this correct? Dunno, i know how to speak this line, but not writing it down)... Are you guys conversing in Japanese here? Can teach me a little?
30-04-2004, 02:53 PM
join the anime+nihongo SIG, Elansar..we're having a roll there...learning nihongo plus we got real good senseitachi!! *salute to senseitachi* i just started and am loving it...*mcm iklan McD jaa*
it's nan desu ka?
you missed a U tu je :)