View Full Version : The Sarawakian Thread

14-12-2007, 11:08 AM
Hey,this thread is mainly to reunite all Sarawakian-based Recommers...

ALL ARE WELCOME~~~
Just Share what you think about our state and so on...

14-12-2007, 11:49 AM
Kuching
-The Spring will be open officially next month
-DUN building is under construction beside the Waterfront

Sibu
-Flash Flood currently

any updates?

kintaro_kun
14-12-2007, 02:40 PM
what do sarawakians and sabahans think of msians in the peninsula? do you think that the peninsula politicians always extort money from sabah sarawak while ignoring the welfare of the people there?

14-12-2007, 05:59 PM
what do sarawakians and sabahans think of msians in the peninsula? do you think that the peninsula politicians always extort money from sabah sarawak while ignoring the welfare of the people there?*looking at the state of development in sarawak compared to west malaysia* Yes, you are sucking away our money and give almost nothing back...

14-12-2007, 10:58 PM
I agree with Vseehua! No offence.
Hmm,what to do?

other than me,Vseehua
who else is Sarawakian?
sh3ng,jun yong,nigelsim and who?
say something you like....

AppryL89
23-03-2008, 10:46 PM
haih.. i didn't know this thread is exists..wahhh!!!
i'm from kuching..but currently studying in a private college in selangor..huhu
i miss the food in sarawak...whoaaa...hungry LOL!

no offense please... this is what i found out when i first come to west malaysia..
i met new friends in college..and they asked us many weird, funny questions...
like.. "do you still wearing traditional costumes at home with all the bangles and manik?"
abt, transportation... "do you guys travel by rakit?"
"are there people live on trees?"..."playing sumpit?"..

aduhh!!!! from my observation... most people here are not exposed with the unique cultures in sarawak and sabah.

23-03-2008, 11:23 PM
what do sarawakians and sabahans think of msians in the peninsula? do you think that the peninsula politicians always extort money from sabah sarawak while ignoring the welfare of the people there?
I'm Sabahan but I'll post here anyway. Hell yeah the federal government is sucking the money away from East Malaysia. We have plenty of resources here and yet I never the people benefited from the wealth here. Everything is scarce here. Even the orang asli never received any development as proposed by the ruling coalition. All are just bags of lies.

Plus, both the Chief Ministers should be replaced. I have never seen anyone who become so rich and yet was never investigated by the internal revenue. Check out their families accounts, they owned a lot of companies and sucking up all the wealth for themselves.

Al-Bert
24-03-2008, 04:39 PM
*looking at the state of development in sarawak compared to west malaysia* Yes, you are sucking away our money and give almost nothing back...

I heard my Sarawakian friend said that the terrain and geography of Sarawak is the main obstacle for rapid development....

Could it be a reason for the development in Sarawak is somehow retarded?

25-03-2008, 04:34 AM
I heard my Sarawakian friend said that the terrain and geography of Sarawak is the main obstacle for rapid development....

Could it be a reason for the development in Sarawak is somehow retarded?

there are lots of flat lands that are suitable for development as well...

What i can observe in sarawak is the chief ministers' company sucking up most of the government contracts offered and use it to construct inferior quality roads that needs lots of plaster even just after 2 months after completion...

03-04-2008, 10:38 AM

no offense please... this is what i found out when i first come to west malaysia..
like.. "do you still wearing traditional costumes at home with all the bangles and manik?"

aduhh!!!! from my observation... most people here are not exposed with the unique cultures in sarawak and sabah.

you gonna invite them for the Rainforest Musical Festival at july then...

*just wanna revive this thread to others,share anything in your mind. all are welcome. Xp*

03-04-2008, 11:06 AM
NOw where is that piece of forwarded mail debunking everything..

*Digs the mailbox*

caramel_nut
03-04-2008, 11:14 AM
Eeee? Sarawakian thread? Never know this thread exists. lol

Hi all, I'm from Bintulu, land of natural gas and yes.... I agree that Taib's and his cronies' companies are sucking all the money away.

Oh, and Sarawak laksa triumphs asam laksa and I miss my kampua. (Why am I writing such random stuffs? >.<)

03-04-2008, 11:18 AM
Eeee? Sarawakian thread? Never know this thread exists. lol

Hi all, I'm from Bintulu, land of natural gas and yes.... I agree that Taib's and his cronies' companies are sucking all the money away.

Oh, and Sarawak laksa triumphs asam laksa and I miss my kampua. (Why am I writing such random stuffs? >.<)Sarawak Laksa pwms Penang Laksa, very correct, though i doubt our friends in the peninsule knows how to enjoy it...

dcwk04
03-04-2008, 12:08 PM
Sarawak Laksa pwns Penang Laksa, very correct, though i doubt our friends in the peninsule knows how to enjoy it...

Haha I AGREE. People who say Penang Laksa is the best laksa in Malaysia have never tried Sarawak Laksa cause when they do... haha, surely change their mind la. Sarawak Laksa FTW!

Jeng jeng jeng.

Im Daniel from Kuching. My previous school was SMK Batu Lintang. I stayed in Terengganu when I was young for a few years so I have an affection for West Malaysia malay food. Omg. Nasi Kerabu... I WANT.

skatemusicianer
03-04-2008, 12:21 PM
Hey all, Skatemusicianer from Kuching here...I ain't a fan of laksa cuz it's darn spicy and I can't take spicy (pity..) but I've tasted Swak and Penang laksa before...I go for Swak...lol..

03-04-2008, 12:24 PM
Hi, i am from Sarawak as well. Kuching to be precise. Love the food here. Kolo mee in king centre upper floor is still the best in the whole country and the laksa.. compared to Penang and Kelantan laksas, we are way much better..

anderscheng
03-04-2008, 12:27 PM
HAHA!

Yes Sarawak Laksa rocks all the way up!!!!!!!

Anyway i am a very good friend to one of the "Tan Family" which are the ones who invented S'wak Laksa. If you want the paste , MUST BUY SWALLOW BRAND!!!!
SUPER NICE!

The only think i don't like about penang Laksa is the annoying bones u have to picked out from the fish. Haha. Other than that, i'm ok with it

dcwk04
03-04-2008, 12:27 PM
Haha, but NO insults to Penang Laksa. Its actually quite nice. I remember being quite "omg omg omg omg" (kuching people say sakai) when I saw pieces of fish and pineapple in my penang laksa. Such a unique experience.

I mean... pineapples! In laksa! Haha imagine the shock.

Why suddenly talk bout laksa during JPA interview time?

LOL

TheArtOfMedicine
03-04-2008, 01:36 PM
What a brilliant idea to start a thread for sarawakians!! I'm from Sibu, and currently taking A level in KL, planning to take up a really expensive degree at a ridiculously expensive country, it's always been a haunting experience by just thinking of the exorbitant price that my dad will be paying next year onwards..

Anyway, sarawak laksa is ANYTIME better than asam laksa. Perhaps i just don't seem to appreciate asam, i think it's an acquired taste, or i'm not used to it. So now, is there anyone here going or already studying in the UK? State the city that you're staying in at present too.

Did someone realise that Sarawakians are somehow discriminated/looked down on by those in the west(malaysia)?

p/s: i just realised my nick has betrayed my intention to create the suspense on the degree that i'm going to take.(shouldn't have put such an obvious nick)

dcwk04
03-04-2008, 01:41 PM
Did someone realise that Sarawakians are somehow discriminated/looked down on by those in the west(malaysia)?

I know! Quite a bit of people (I'm not sure if its out of ignorance or just teasing us) think we come from rural areas, live on trees, have no access to internet, live on trees, use sampan to transport, and live on trees.

Malaysia has to do something about those tourism advertisements of Sarawak. So misleading. =P

I had an experience once when an 'auntie' (father's friend) from West Malaysia came to Kuching. She was extremely shocked when she say skyscrapers and roads and BMWs/Merc on the roads. At my house when she opened her bag, guess what?

FULL OF MAGGI MEE!

She thought she was going to starve on sago worms or something. Hahaha so funny la!

Sh3ng
03-04-2008, 02:03 PM

Haha, count me in! I'm from Kuching. I had the same experience when my friends and i went to KL and Terengganu for the National Science Innovation & Engineering Competition(Intel M'sia). My new friends asked d same questions too..... " do u guys live on trees?........how about d transportation?..... rakit? sampan?"..... and so on...... haiz.... and we had to explain to them one by one(story time) so that they know more about Sarawak.

One of my team mate even joked to them:" We are living on trees, swing here and there, and we use escalators!" That particular team mate loves listening to music, so she keeps listening to her ipod, mp3, mp4.... with her headset on throughout d whole activity. Then, my west malaysia new friends were quite curious and asked her where she bought it. Of course, she replied Kuching. My west malaysia new friends were quite amazed, shocked, " Wow, really? U can get these in Kch? Kuching very high-tech meh?" My friend was quite frustrated that time. aiyoo, how can they said that!

TheArtOfMedicine
03-04-2008, 02:19 PM
Yes, that's why we have to show them that we're capable of achieving amazing results, be it academic or in real life. Sarawak hasn't got anyone to secure an offer from the Oxbridge for quite some time, and apparently i failed that mission. It's still cool to have a girl from Kuching to receive scholarship to pursue a degree at Harvard University,which is the purest of the cream. Ha!

03-04-2008, 02:47 PM
Yes, that's why we have to show them that we're capable of achieving amazing results, be it academic or in real life. Sarawak hasn't got anyone to secure an offer from the Oxbridge for quite some time, and apparently i failed that mission. It's still cool to have a girl from Kuching to receive scholarship to pursue a degree at Harvard University,which is the purest of the cream. Ha!
I thought a lot of those in the top unis from Sarawak? I seems to think that the proportion of Sarawakian are dominating compared to other states in Malaysia.

Yeah, I always received questions like do you live up a tree when I went to West Malaysia. Hullo? I can't even climb a tree properly.

TheArtOfMedicine
03-04-2008, 04:11 PM
Woohoo! I just found out there's a guy from Kuching who got a scholarship from Sime Darby to read Engineering in Cambridge. Cool! Btw, i bet no one here climbs a tree.

03-04-2008, 04:32 PM
AHAHAHAHAHA. I am utterly happy to see fellow Sarawakians and Sabahans here. Xp

Well,i am not surprised to know fellow Sarawakians and Sabahans doing well in top unis overseas. AHAHAHA

And...with alot recomers here.... i guess they no longer think we stay up in the tress. XPXP

ummmm,okay,other than Sarawak Laksa,what is other thingy we are proud of?

Hmmmmm,the diversity of Orchics? LOL. Or other foods???
anyone here try tuak before?

luthien
03-04-2008, 05:32 PM
d fact tat i'm a sarawakian made me proud enough ad.. Haha..

Hi. i'm frm sarikei =)

03-04-2008, 06:52 PM
d fact tat i'm a sarawakian made me proud enough ad.. Haha..

Hi. i'm frm sarikei =)

dear luthien,do you mind share why you're proud of being Sarawakian?

*immitate the jpa interviewers style...*

luthien
03-04-2008, 07:42 PM
dear luthien,do you mind share why you're proud of being Sarawakian?

*immitate the jpa interviewers style...*

ceh.. like u're d onli 1 who'd been thru d interview.. haha..

ahemm.. well, first of all, sarawak is a part of Borneo,d 3rd largest n one of the oldest island in the world.. Each year, thousands of tourists came especially to visit the land which i call home.. Sarawak boasts great natural landscapes bla, bla, bla.. =P

03-04-2008, 07:49 PM
ceh.. like u're d onli 1 who'd been thru d interview.. haha..

ahemm.. well, first of all, sarawak is a part of Borneo,d 3rd largest n one of the oldest island in the world.. Each year, thousands of tourists came especially to visit the land which i call home.. Sarawak boasts great natural landscapes bla, bla, bla.. =P

sorry lar..i act cute awhile no harm right??? LOL...

wah wah... anything else make you proud as sarawakian? Xp

bean89
03-04-2008, 07:56 PM
i just found this thread...nice meeting people in this forum. I'm from kuching sarawak, now based in petaling jaya selangor doing my A levels!
yay! sarawakian rocks!

AppryL89
03-04-2008, 07:59 PM
Xon, yea.. i did invite them...
the flight during the rainforest week is super, duper cheap...to and fro rm165-air asia.. better book now if u wanna go back..

luthien
03-04-2008, 08:18 PM
Kampua Mee!!!

anderscheng
04-04-2008, 02:15 PM
I know! Quite a bit of people (I'm not sure if its out of ignorance or just teasing us) think we come from rural areas, live on trees, have no access to internet, live on trees, use sampan to transport, and live on trees.

Malaysia has to do something about those tourism advertisements of Sarawak. So misleading. =P

I had an experience once when an 'auntie' (father's friend) from West Malaysia came to Kuching. She was extremely shocked when she say skyscrapers and roads and BMWs/Merc on the roads. At my house when she opened her bag, guess what?

FULL OF MAGGI MEE!

She thought she was going to starve on sago worms or something. Hahaha so funny la!

Oh the IRONY!

And yet, Recom is over-populated with Sarawakians.............This proves, S'wakian more ICT intellect! haha.

caramel_nut
04-04-2008, 02:37 PM
Yes, that's why we have to show them that we're capable of achieving amazing results, be it academic or in real life. Sarawak hasn't got anyone to secure an offer from the Oxbridge for quite some time, and apparently i failed that mission. It's still cool to have a girl from Kuching to receive scholarship to pursue a degree at Harvard University,which is the purest of the cream. Ha!Not true, I'd say. Sarawak has sent a fair amount of students to some of the best universities in the world every year and I know quite a number of them well. In fact, judging from the admissions rate for US colleges for last year alone, Sarawak is among the tops in the country.

AppryL89
04-04-2008, 02:58 PM
Not true, I'd say. Sarawak has sent a fair amount of students to some of the best universities in the world every year and I know quite a number of them well. In fact, judging from the admissions rate for US colleges for last year alone, Sarawak is among the tops in the country.

wow... feel more motivated to study now..
US here I come...

caramel_nut
04-04-2008, 03:05 PM
wow... feel more motivated to study now..
US here I come...Well, it's great that you're motivated but do be aware that US college application process is very gruesome and those who got accepted not just excel academically but also did some amazing things that differentiated them from the rest in the strong applicants pool... good luck though.

TheArtOfMedicine
04-04-2008, 03:22 PM
Oops, my bad. I'm more into the UK universities and i don't think there are many sarawakians studying in the elite universities in the UK. Most of them opt for US due to the availability of scholarships. I didn't do much research on the US universities and therefore, thought there aren't many sarawakians there. I'm absolutely sorry for this and i beg for you guys' forgiveness.

Does anyone here know of a place to satisfy my urge of having a plate of traditional kampua?(the one made with the use of pork lard..I know it's unhealthy!)in KL, of course.

I got to try out the so called'' sarawak noodles'' at a chain outlet owned by a Miri guy(it's called face to face, sort of a lame name, i have to admit), it wasn't at all similar to the one we have back in Sibu. My friend told me there is one stall in Wangsa Maju that sells it but that would be a tiring journey for me just to get there from, Brickfields.

Lexirphiw
04-04-2008, 03:31 PM
Just found out this thread does exist! Anyway , I'm also a Sarawakian , from Kuching as well.

One of my team mate even joked to them:" We are living on trees, swing here and there, and we use escalators!"

I remember that one of my teachers also told us the same thing. However , my teacher added that "we do no need aircon as we live on the tree , it's natural fresh cold air , what more to say no mosquito at all". Her West Malaysian friend didnt know that there is development here until the day she visited Sarawak. By then she's amazed. Firstly , for sure , the big houses , beautiful gardens and a lot more. Now , we even got a SPA village , the Damai Puri Spa Resort. Anyone has gone there?

skatemusicianer
04-04-2008, 04:31 PM
My friend went there and he said it was real lovely! : ) Flat screen tvs..yehaww..

It's amazing sometimes that we Sarawakians don't holiday in our own state..we go somewhere else..lol..

bean89
04-04-2008, 10:26 PM
wah wah... anything else make you proud as sarawakian? Xp[/QUOTE]

i dont know why but, it's just natural for me to feel proud to be a sarawakian. it's a state of respect and dignity and we have our own unique values....

TheArtOfMedicine
04-04-2008, 10:33 PM
I wouldn't say i'm VERY proud for being a sarawakian, but i do get agreesive and stand up for my home state when someone says something nasty about Sarawak.

caramel_nut
04-04-2008, 10:34 PM
Oops, my bad. I'm more into the UK universities and i don't think there are many sarawakians studying in the elite universities in the UK. Most of them opt for US due to the availability of scholarships.There are more Sarawakians in UK than in US. I do know of tons of Sarawakians scattered all over UK but only a handful who go to US. The reason why there are less Sarawakians in US is due to the more competitive nature of the application process. Basically for UK universities, as long as you get decent results, obtaining a conditional offer isn't hard, with the exception of Oxbridge but then even Oxbridg'e conditional offer isn't as hard to get as the offer from US colleges.

I'm digressing too much from the topic now but I do feel that often times Sarawakians have a wrong perception of the whole US and UK university application process...

I won't be back in Bintulu for a long time (if unfortunate, a year more or so) but I miss the sea that I grew up with. And kampua. And Sarawak laksa of course. :P

skyrainbow
05-04-2008, 12:16 AM
i think sarawak is more peaceful than the semenanjung.

there r fewer casses of murder, rape, kidnaping, missing kids, snactch theft, car accidents....ect., so feel safter.

it's cooler, many rain this year in kuching.

n sarawak has many land for planting paddy. so sarawak will be one of the last state to go out of food/ rice. n starvation will not be an issue here loh.

i visited the long house once. n there r tv set, carpet, modern sofa in the bidayuh(ithink) house.- hope this wont chase away the tourist XD

it's a v. good place to grow up in. n there r many resourse here for development too, imho

but i too hope tat sarawak will have more huge shopping mall soon, though there r many oledi.- juz want more air conditioned places for sarawakian to walk around .

lyne
05-04-2008, 12:18 AM
Hey there. I just came across this thread. I'm amazed to know there's so many swakians here. Hi, I'm charlene from Miri. Is anyone here from miri? I'm currently studying at KL for my pre-u. I can say that it's tough.

Oh well, when I first went to college, or more precise, when I met my classmates, they actually could not tell that I'm from Sarawak. I mean it shows that Swakians aren't that old-fashioned after all aye?
But I'm not sure whether my classmates were joking or not, they keep asking whether I live on trees and how I get here using sampan and how I move by swinging from trees to trees. I mean if they were meant to be a joke, I'm totally fine with it.
But constant repetition of this joke becomes lame and then annoying in a way.
I find it hard to laugh about when those semenanjung ppl [no offense] who know that swak are not that laid back and just try to make fun of it.

darklord_90
05-04-2008, 12:27 AM
i think the Spring is just so empty. disappointed.

KK City in Sabah, is 5 years ahead of Kuching City.

Fast developement there. Kuching? a Bridge takes few years...

skyrainbow
05-04-2008, 12:31 AM
hey, u noe tat zhang dong liang is from kuching XD..jk

luthien
06-04-2008, 09:33 AM
i think the Spring is just so empty. disappointed.

KK City in Sabah, is 5 years ahead of Kuching City.

Fast developement there. Kuching? a Bridge takes few years...

hey, we got more flyovers than in sabah eh.. haha..

i think onli d shopping complexes n resorts r ahead lor..

TheArtOfMedicine
06-04-2008, 08:48 PM
There are more Sarawakians in UK than in US. I do know of tons of Sarawakians scattered all over UK but only a handful who go to US. The reason why there are less Sarawakians in US is due to the more competitive nature of the application process. Basically for UK universities, as long as you get decent results, obtaining a conditional offer isn't hard, with the exception of Oxbridge but then even Oxbridg'e conditional offer isn't as hard to get as the offer from US colleges.

I'm digressing too much from the topic now but I do feel that often times Sarawakians have a wrong perception of the whole US and UK university application process...

I won't be back in Bintulu for a long time (if unfortunate, a year more or so) but I miss the sea that I grew up with. And kampua. And Sarawak laksa of course. :P

Yes, but i would say Australia has the highest number of Sarawakians compared to both US and the UK. However, i couldn't agree with your statement saying ''Basically for UK universities, as long as you get decent results, obtaining a conditional offer isn't hard'', i know you weren't trying to generalise the whole situation, but i find that rather misleading. And it actually degrades the quality of tertiary education in the UK. In my College in KL, i have quite a few friends who were rejected by all the medical schools that they applied to, some only received one offer, and only two managed to secure two. According to the statistics regarding the admissions process for medicine in the UK, 60% of the applicants were rejected by all the four medical schools they applied to, 10 percent received 3 offers and 0.9% managed to obtain 4 offers. Perhaps medicine isn't at all the same as the other courses. However,it's true that the UK's admissions process emphasises more on the grades than anything. But for medicine, personal statement and interview are equally considered when it comes to decision making. Keep in mind that the British government imposes a quota of 7.5% out of the overall intake of every medical schools in the UK, which means each of them will only take in about 20 international students annually. I dare not say much about the other courses, but it gets more difficult if you apply to the more established Universities in the UK, such as the red bricks, compared to the newly established ones, such as Bangor or Exeter. Most of the sarawakians that i know of are pursuing their degree at Northumbria, which isn't really prestigious, and thus makes it easier for them to get an offer.

caramel_nut
06-04-2008, 09:18 PM
Ask any student who applied to both UK and US top universities and you'll get the same answer. Securing an offer from HYPMS or even the liberal arts colleges is way harder than getting an offer from Oxbridge, LSE or Imperial. The reason why I say all these is because I myself have gone through the process and received conditional offers from all the six that I applied to in UK, including Camb and I know a number of Malaysians in some of the best universities in UK and US very well before they get to where they are today.

Basically for Oxbridge, I'd think that the personal statement doesn't count at all. As long as you don't screw it up, it doesn't matter. The most important factor in determining whether a student would be offered a place is his/her performance in the interview other than the grades.

Lalala11
06-04-2008, 10:25 PM
Hi! 'Kuching'ian here =)

milkshake
07-04-2008, 03:43 AM

there r fewer casses of murder, rape, kidnaping, missing kids, snactch theft, car accidents....ect., so feel safter.

n sarawak has many land for planting paddy. so sarawak will be one of the last state to go out of food/ rice. n starvation will not be an issue here loh.

i visited the long house once. n there r tv set, carpet, modern sofa in the bidayuh(ithink) house.- hope this wont chase away the tourist XD

it's a v. good place to grow up in. n there r many resourse here for development too, imho

but i too hope tat sarawak will have more huge shopping mall soon, though there r many oledi.- juz want more air conditioned places for sarawakian to walk around .

The crime rates in sarawak is indeed lower than west malaysia.. but nowadays burglary in kuching is kinda scary...these few weeks,there's always been news bout this 5 burglars that break into people's house then they'd tie up whoever that's in the house..there was a news bout george chan's kuching house got broke in too or something like that...
Totally agree with the shopping mall thing...we need more megamalls with nice affordable brands too like those in west m'sia.. kuching currently has 'The Spring' but so far quite a number of shops in it is still in the progress of opening.. What about other cities in sarawak? :)

dcwk04
07-04-2008, 09:51 AM
I've heard many people joke that the entire 'The Spring' shopping mall is just one wing of KL's Mid Valley Megamall. Haha. But at least they built it la! If not, die lar- Kuching no place to shop!

anderscheng
07-04-2008, 11:16 AM
I've heard many people joke that the entire 'The Spring' shopping mall is just one wing of KL's Mid Valley Megamall. Haha. But at least they built it la! If not, die lar- Kuching no place to shop!

I totally agree with you. Anyway, i think its a bit sudden with the metropolis style of living. Walk in the building and you hardly see anybody carrying large bags of clothes, shoes etc...except of course for the rich tai-tai's . Haha. Heck, i think Everrise even beat Tai Kiong in the amount of goods sold. I think the stuff sold there are a bit overpriced. You can't have KL priced goods here with a meager Sarawakian's pay.

TheArtOfMedicine
07-04-2008, 01:58 PM
Ask any student who applied to both UK and US top universities and you'll get the same answer. Securing an offer from HYPMS or even the liberal arts colleges is way harder than getting an offer from Oxbridge, LSE or Imperial. The reason why I say all these is because I myself have gone through the process and received conditional offers from all the six that I applied to in UK, including Camb and I know a number of Malaysians in some of the best universities in UK and US very well before they get to where they are today.

Basically for Oxbridge, I'd think that the personal statement doesn't count at all. As long as you don't screw it up, it doesn't matter. The most important factor in determining whether a student would be offered a place is his/her performance in the interview other than the grades.

Yes, i agree with you regarding Oxbridge's admissions policy, it's quite safe for me to say they only look for those who are extremely capable, in terms of academic potential. So, which US University made you drop Cambridge's offer?

07-04-2008, 02:38 PM
The crime rates in sarawak is indeed lower than west malaysia.. but nowadays burglary in kuching is kinda scary...these few weeks,there's always been news bout this 5 burglars that break into people's house then they'd tie up whoever that's in the house..there was a news bout george chan's kuching house got broke in too or something like that...
Totally agree with the shopping mall thing...we need more megamalls with nice affordable brands too like those in west m'sia.. kuching currently has 'The Spring' but so far quite a number of shops in it is still in the progress of opening.. What about other cities in sarawak? :)

Hmm...seem that Sarawak has been frought with the crime problems recently.
that is probably the influx of illegal immigrants into Sarawak.Some who come from Borneo are even terrorist and they tend to break malaysia rules by robbing others people or invovle in burglary..maybe due to their poverty.

Sarawakians consist of many ethnics like bidayuh, iban,etc..
I have been for Sarawak and meet the people there . In astonishment,although they are not live in a skyscapper like us, they tend to maintain their own good moral values as well as their own custom.This made them very care of their own good cultural and moral values.As a result,there are less amount of them that get into the rut of moral decay and crime problems.

kintaro_kun
08-04-2008, 10:13 PM
UoL external comes to mind, though not exactly "online", but its still being done externally.

kintaro_kun
08-04-2008, 10:29 PM
since youre working like everyone else, why not try studying night classes or weekend classes? many part time programmes for MBA understand the needs of working professionals, and have courses with timetables suited for the working folk.

you can try looking at this:

http://www.mbs-worldwide.ac.uk/global_network/malaysia.asp

http://www.gsb.strath.ac.uk/mba/studyoptions/international/malaysia/

if you really want to have a wholly online MBA environment, you could try this:

http://www.u21global.edu.sg/Education/Programme/Business_Management/MBA

cheers

TheArtOfMedicine
08-04-2008, 10:32 PM
I thought snatch thefts are quite rampant in Sarawak nowadays? I had a relative who encountered two of these people, she was utterly foolish to refuse to give in, and she ended up being slashed on her arm and obviously those two guys fled with her handbag.(without being caught, i suppose)

p/s: She was in Miri when that happened.

12-04-2008, 10:41 PM
kuchingite here...hehe.sarawak rox!!!we mix around very well dont you think.no racism.all races go to the same school.no offence...

extell
13-04-2008, 07:45 PM
hi^^ 1st time in this thread. Just wanna say hello to all Sarawakians. The Spring seems to be the central of attraction, but the car park fees has been implemented. Hehe... RM1 underground and RM3 outside (per entry I believe). Very good...making money already... >:O

13-04-2008, 07:51 PM
i dont like spring actually.not that many choice,mostly food only there.and so damn expensive.

abuzar
13-04-2008, 08:41 PM
*looking at the state of development in sarawak compared to west malaysia* Yes, you are sucking away our money and give almost nothing back...

nolah..we cant say that much...maybe its our foult....u see...in sarawak and sabah expecially...corruption is a way of life.....and also we are poor because of the attitude of our people...besides...not the whole west malaysia is rich...only the pantai barat is rich...because of bijih timah...bijih timah have been comercialised there hundreds of years ago...and its was really abundant...in sarawak there are resources...but..."alang-alang"

13-04-2008, 11:04 PM
nolah..we cant say that much...maybe its our foult....u see...in sarawak and sabah expecially...corruption is a way of life.....and also we are poor because of the attitude of our people...besides...not the whole west malaysia is rich...only the pantai barat is rich...because of bijih timah...bijih timah have been comercialised there hundreds of years ago...and its was really abundant...in sarawak there are resources...but..."alang-alang"
Resources? The oil we have are taken away by petronas carigali...
Gold? Depleted
Tin? we never have any...

extell
14-04-2008, 08:54 AM
i dont like spring actually.not that many choice,mostly food only there.and so damn expensive.
Yeps. I think SushiKing is too flooded. Everyone is like going "sakai" over the revolver. :amuse No offence, but ordering from the table is also the same. One thing that irritates me is the waiters and waitresses shouting in broken Japanese. Can't blame them, but if a real Japanese visits, he or she will be laughing badly.

The food court has to sell expensive food because the rental is just too high per stall. Besides, not all stalls have been occupied...:huh

Oh ya, for promo price;
1)
My111: Buy 1 FREE 1 all sushi items
(unlimited order for same or lower value). Dine-in only.

Sms 'my111 sushiking' to 33365.
(RM 3.50/download)
(Limited to one mobile number once a year.)

2)
My365: New promo: 10% off on total bill. Dine-in only.

Sms 'my365 sushiking' to 33365.
(RM1.50/download)
(Unlimited times)

Terms & Conditions
Not applicable with other on-going promotions. My111 valid unlimited for all sushi for same or lower value. My111 and My365 valid for dine-in only. Customers need to present voucher with details and serial number upon ordering. Only My111/My365 at any one time.

(excerpt from http://freevoucher.com.my/detail.php?id=5)

Enjoy~ :wink

Additional: The SMS is downloadable once per handphone per year. The waiter/waitress will delete it after he/she writes down the number. And, the SMS will only be valid for 1 week.

Just info for Kuchingites, maybe most people already knew...hehe

milkshake
16-04-2008, 12:15 AM
hi^^ 1st time in this thread. Just wanna say hello to all Sarawakians. The Spring seems to be the central of attraction, but the car park fees has been implemented. Hehe... RM1 underground and RM3 outside (per entry I believe). Very good...making money already... >:O

Yea..the management is smart to charge.. but i think RM1 is a very reasonable price...I heard the reason why they implement car park fees is because they do not want Swinburne students to park their cars there since it was free last time.. Padini Concept Store has finally opened in Spring.. I think that so far is the best shop in The Spring.. Heard that MNG is opening late this month.. Yay! for those MNG fanatics.. There's new stock for handbags and shoes too in Charles & Keith.. :)

extell
16-04-2008, 01:44 PM
Only for the rich eh? >.>
Nyeh...spring is nice to window-shop tho.

skatemusicianer
16-04-2008, 02:15 PM
Did anyone go to Big Apple? Delicious donuts there..but on the opening day, everyone was so desperate to buy it..like never eat donut before, no offense..lol..

16-04-2008, 02:57 PM
Well, everyone was so desperate to try out all the new stores! Starbucks la, Sushi King la, Kenny Rogers la and so on. What to do?

Hope that by the time I go back to Kuching, there won't be such a big crowd everywhere...

16-04-2008, 05:48 PM
Well, everyone was so desperate to try out all the new stores! Starbucks la, Sushi King la, Kenny Rogers la and so on. What to do?

Hope that by the time I go back to Kuching, there won't be such a big crowd everywhere...
Not me... I'd rather go for our kolo mee and laksa instead of more generic branded foods...

dcwk04
16-04-2008, 06:18 PM
Lol.. I worked in Kenny Rogers in January/February/EarlyMarch...

And yeah, Id rather go for your ordinary chicken rice or kolo mee. *Drools*

milkshake
16-04-2008, 08:58 PM
Did anyone go to Big Apple? Delicious donuts there..but on the opening day, everyone was so desperate to buy it..like never eat donut before, no offense..lol..

oOoo...Big Apple's donuts are delicious... For chocolate lovers, u should really try the donut called "alien" or something like that... on top of the donut,there's chocolate which is further decorated with strips of chocolate making the donut look pretty and cute and when u bite..the chocolate inside is delicious...yummy yummy... up till today,he queue in big apple is still very long... but people are saying it's gonna die off after a month.. everybody likes to try new stuff at first...but after trying once or twice...they wont be so keen anymore... human nature...hehe..

extell
16-04-2008, 10:45 PM

Yeah, heard there were free donuts given. Hehe...people actually queue up for 2 bucks worth of buns? (no offence)

17-04-2008, 12:07 AM
Yeah, heard there were free donuts given. Hehe...people actually queue up for 2 bucks worth of buns? (no offence)
aiyo, you know how kiam siap the ppl in kuching are la...

then again, i think the westerners(west malaysians) are even more so

extell
17-04-2008, 09:47 AM
aiyo, you know how kiam siap the ppl in kuching are la...

then again, i think the westerners(west malaysians) are even more so
Hehe...everyone has a little bit of kiamsiapness la. Can't blame them. True enough, we all enjoy new things for a moment, then chuck it away once we had enough.

p/s Don't do that to your spouse! :wink

Not me... I'd rather go for our kolo mee and laksa instead of more generic branded foods...

Yeah. Rather than eating a freakin 20 bucks fisherman's basket at manhattan f m, I rather eat 6 bungkus laksa^^ 6!!! can feed the whole family...

17-04-2008, 10:12 AM

I'm SOOOOOO craving for kolo mee...someone courier it to me?

extell
17-04-2008, 08:11 PM
I'm SOOOOOO craving for kolo mee...someone courier it to me?

eep..by the time sampai oredy sticky and baddd :amazed

TheArtOfMedicine
22-04-2008, 10:52 PM
Hi everyone! I just found a place that serves authentic Sarawak Laksa recently and i think it's a great idea to share it with all the sarawakians who are craving for sarawak laksa. The place is in Bangsar, Jalan Ara Kiri and it's basically a hawker stall under the shelter of ''Nam Chum Coffee Shop'' with many other stalls. I was simply googling under the title sarawak laksa and someone turned out to have tasted it and posted on his blog. The owner of the hawker stall is a lady from Kuching and the sarawak laksa she makes is probably one of the most authentic in KL. It's totally different from the normal asam laksa or thick curry laksa that most KL stalls serve. Yes, let me reassure you, that IS the real one. I found another place that sells Kolo Mee too, got to try it tomorrow after my last trial paper! I'll keep you guys updated.

All of you may want to have a look at this, which links to the blog that i mentioned above.

http://www.deliciousasianfood.com/2007/05/30/sarawak-laksa-at-kuala-lumpur/

Here is another write-up of the same place and you can find the full address and a map of the area where the stall is situated.

http://masak-masak.blogspot.com/2006/08/sarawak-laksa-nam-chuan-bangsar-kl.html

Picture speaks a thousand words, i bet you should be convinced by the photos that those two persons posted on their blog sites now. Just a general reminder, Nam Chum cafe isn't really that much of a grade 'A' restaurant in terms of cleanliness(i'm putting this in a very nice way) but i think it should be OK if you were to take the seats outside the building. It's really stuffy and greasy and..everything that you should expect out of a typical chinese hawker stall.

30-04-2008, 01:26 PM
Nice, now i would like to go and be a critic as well kekkee

PaTiEnT
01-05-2008, 07:44 PM
hey all.. :) Mirian currently in Australia. <3 Sarawak! :)
It's even more frustrating to hear "Do you live on trees?" from fellow Malaysians here in Australia than it is in Malaysia.. or should I say.. more embarrassing. But I suppose this ignorance is deeply instilled by misleading advertisements of our beautiful forests and natural caves :)

*Glares at Azlina Othman* :P HMPH!

abuzar
01-05-2008, 08:54 PM

yup,but,there are very few people herelah.Even selangor which is smaller than miri or maybe same size has more people tahn the whole sarawak.

hi.i am from miri.Pujut.Actually i was born in beaufort,Sabah but i've grown in Sarawak.Sarawak is the best.

nhling
01-05-2008, 09:19 PM
I'm from Sibu, my favourite dish is Kamphua of course. Anyone second it? hehe

06-05-2008, 04:41 PM

gonna agree. and i used to work there!!~ LOLx..

hoi!!!! we should know each other well.... ME STARBUCKS there!!!!

d3stinydanc3withm3
06-05-2008, 05:02 PM
Hey there. I just came across this thread. I'm amazed to know there's so many swakians here. Hi, I'm charlene from Miri. Is anyone here from miri? I'm currently studying at KL for my pre-u. I can say that it's tough.

Oh well, when I first went to college, or more precise, when I met my classmates, they actually could not tell that I'm from Sarawak. I mean it shows that Swakians aren't that old-fashioned after all aye?
But I'm not sure whether my classmates were joking or not, they keep asking whether I live on trees and how I get here using sampan and how I move by swinging from trees to trees. I mean if they were meant to be a joke, I'm totally fine with it.
But constant repetition of this joke becomes lame and then annoying in a way.
I find it hard to laugh about when those semenanjung ppl [no offense] who know that swak are not that laid back and just try to make fun of it.

It's great to see fellow Mirians here too. So far there's 3 excluding me. Charlene Patient and Abuzar. Which school are you guys from? And what year? Im a columban, 06 SPM batch

PaTiEnT
06-05-2008, 11:04 PM
^
hello hello.. :)
u're my sister's age (1988?), and im old. LOL.
chunghua 2002 spm batch

milkshake
06-05-2008, 11:33 PM
gonna agree. and i used to work there!!~ LOLx..

hoi!!!! we should know each other well.... ME STARBUCKS there!!!!

I used to work in Spring too... A friend of mine,Dixon used to work in starbucks.. Ur nick sounds like Dixon..r u?

alepbing
06-05-2008, 11:46 PM
I saw few replies on how federal govt sucks all the weatlh of malaysian borneo. to tell you the truth, I went to Sarawak and Sabah a few of times, and I will not say that both states are somehow left behind from the states in penisula.

when I was in kuching, i wasnt surprise with what I saw. It was quite developed, and I even think it is cleaner than some cities in the east msia. I can bet you, Kuching, is a lot more developed than Kangar. It is even better looking than Seremban (maybe because of the river hehe). (no offense Serembanians). I dont think it is sooooo left behind like it is labeled-lah.

Besides, of course you cannot compare Sarawak and Sabah with KL, Selangor, Penang and Johore because these four states have like the biggest population put together. In Klang Valley itself, there are 7 millions Malaysians staying, excluding Pendatang Haram. (i counted from wikipedia). So you can expect that the physical development in KL areas is more obvious than those in Sarawak and Sabah.

All I'm saying is that I think that Sabah and Sarawak are not that poor, left behind and undeveloped (maybe the areas at those hulus).

06-05-2008, 11:55 PM
I used to work in Spring too... A friend of mine,Dixon used to work in starbucks.. Ur nick sounds like Dixon..r u?

What's your name? LOL,yupz,i am dixon. which lot you work for?

06-05-2008, 11:58 PM
I saw few replies on how federal govt sucks all the weatlh of malaysian borneo. to tell you the truth, I went to Sarawak and Sabah a few of times, and I will not say that both states are somehow left behind from the states in penisula.

when I was in kuching, i wasnt surprise with what I saw. It was quite developed, and I even think it is cleaner than some cities in the east msia. I can bet you, Kuching, is a lot more developed than Kangar. It is even better looking than Seremban (maybe because of the river hehe). (no offense Serembanians). I dont think it is sooooo left behind like it is labeled-lah.

Besides, of course you cannot compare Sarawak and Sabah with KL, Selangor, Penang and Johore because these four states have like the biggest population put together. In Klang Valley itself, there are 7 millions Malaysians staying, excluding Pendatang Haram. (i counted from wikipedia). So you can expect that the physical development in KL areas is more obvious than those in Sarawak and Sabah.

All I'm saying is that I think that Sabah and Sarawak are not that poor, left behind and undeveloped (maybe the areas at those hulus).
Are you sure? look at the roads that we have at the fringes of the city to the south, and you will see that the standard of construction are so bad that they are practically irreparable.

FYI we are the ones who are producing the oil so we should get a bigger share of the income, NOT the federal government.

07-05-2008, 12:06 AM
Are you sure? look at the roads that we have at the fringes of the city to the south, and you will see that the standard of construction are so bad that they are practically irreparable.

FYI we are the ones who are producing the oil so we should get a bigger share of the income, NOT the federal government.

agreed. perhaps the lion's share. LOLx.

but,i think the problem is on the head of our state government...monopolying....bla bla bla...

alepbing
07-05-2008, 12:06 AM

i did not see that part of the town.

true, but our nation got the money also from Terengganu's oil, Selangor's and Penang's industrial activities and also from tourism. and we are a federation, we share what we have, shouldnt we? as also written in the contitution and the agreement made by Sarawak's and Sabah's govt on 1963.
and i dont think that Sarawak and Sabah are being neglected that bad. look at Sibu, it is a nice city but of course there will be less physical development there compared to cities like KL and Penang because it is less populated.

sorry if I argue, but im giving my view :)

07-05-2008, 12:08 AM

true, but our nation got the money also from Terengganu's oil, Selangor's and Penang's industrial activities and also from tourism. and we are a federation, we share what we have, shouldnt we? as also written in the contitution and the agreement made by Sarawak's and Sabah's govt on 1963.
and i dont think that Sarawak and Sabah are being neglected that bad. look at Sibu, it is a nice city but of course there will be less physical development there compared to cities like KL and Penang because it is less populated.

yea, hogging 95% of the revenue from us, that is sharing...

07-05-2008, 12:11 AM

FYI,our state produce timber far more than other states and the volume of our oil,far more in comparison to the sum from others.

alepbing
07-05-2008, 12:12 AM
yea, hogging 95% of the revenue from us, that is sharing...

95%? owh wow.

captainawesome
03-05-2010, 03:55 PM
is this thread dead? HAHAHA. greeting from Kuching.

lilynda
03-05-2010, 04:00 PM
is this thread dead? HAHAHA. greeting from Kuching.

hihi..im from meow city too

LLCH
03-05-2010, 04:33 PM
Greetings from both Miao miao and Bintulu