-fly somewhere in this June
-4 years to finish degree
-jobs are not promised although there are 10 years bond with the government
UK universities(bank negara)
-financial engineering
-2 years foundation(a level)>probably in kyuem,intec or ktj
-but if fail to achieve the minimum requirement you'll be just kick out
-4 years degree in enrolled top UK university
-bonded for 10 years under bnm n promised a job being Senior Executive for start
-can further until Phd
though from the list looks like bank negara is a way better
i am still confuse which one is the best choice
anyone can give your opinions here
i would really appreciate it:)
12-04-2008, 09:12 PM
How did you get into uni under JPA straight away? For me, both offer seems quite nice. It depends on your interest. You want chemical engineering or financial engineering, both very different. Don't worry about foundation, you can catch up later on.
But I like Bank Negara offer, wah. So nice...
12-04-2008, 09:31 PM
I feel that the Bank Negara offer is better because of the long term benefits like a guaranteed job and the opportunity to further your studies. But of course, you'll have to work hard if you don't want to be kicked out.
lindley
12-04-2008, 09:34 PM
from the list i'd say BN is better lor.
it depends actually, if you wanna go to UK to study den take BN =)
Jeryliza
12-04-2008, 10:17 PM
Have you already gotten the offer from jpa and bank negara?
Like capablanca said, it all depends on which course you prefer. Do you like chemical engineering more or financial engineering? Also, you have to consider if you would actually like being bonded to a company for 10 years -sometimes the jpa bond is not fully enforced, whereas if you accept bank negara scholarship, you're tied down to it for a full 10 years.
That said, I agree with everyone that the BN scholarship is definitely more attractive. Wish you luck in choosing the right one! You're really lucky to get offers from both(congrats!), so whichever you choose, it'll still be a good course free of charge.
BTW, where is Vanderbilt University?
13-04-2008, 03:18 AM
Title changed to reflect contents, thread moved to the scholarship section
afiqjenoba
13-04-2008, 11:19 AM
thanks for giving ur opininions..:)
btw,Vanderbilt university is is US,Nashville
just i want to know,is it true that JPA graduates have problem to work after they graduate?
i need someone to really clarify me on this, heard rumors that many of them end up jobless, i did not know how far this is true or not
so anyone???:(
13-04-2008, 04:24 PM
thanks for giving ur opininions..:)
btw,Vanderbilt university is is US,Nashville
just i want to know,is it true that JPA graduates have problem to work after they graduate?
i need someone to really clarify me on this, heard rumors that many of them end up jobless, i did not know how far this is true or not
so anyone???:(If you expect the government give a job on a golden plate, then yes, you will most probably end up jobless...
leinad
13-04-2008, 04:30 PM
BN better LOL.
ya , i think bank negara is better, my mum wanted me to apply for financial engineering with BN last year but my results too crappy. grats to u, u must b an exceptional student to get those offers.
extell
13-04-2008, 07:39 PM
Lotsa support for bank negara. (count me in)
Think long term, I think the offer really benefits you in future. ;)
Goodluck with whatever choice you make, k.
zureen
17-04-2008, 02:53 PM
u already got the offer from JPA and Bank Negara? wow
prince_J
19-04-2008, 10:55 AM
i will say JPA scholar will have more freedom although the benefits of being a JPA scholar is not as good as bank negara...
but, well, as everyone said, is not about the scholarship, is more about what interest do you have?
afiqjenoba
20-04-2008, 02:08 AM
thanks guys,
finally i chose jpa
cause the freedom after i graduate will give me better opportunities for the future.
and most importantly, 10 years bond with bnm will definitely limited my ideas to surpass beyond what course i take.
thanks again:))
thanks guys,
finally i chose jpa
cause the freedom after i graduate will give me better opportunities for the future.
and most importantly, 10 years bond with bnm will definitely limited my ideas to surpass beyond what course i take.
thanks again:))
What freedom r u talking about? I thought JPA also has bond. :amazed
extell
24-04-2008, 01:10 PM
Yeah, I think this is really odd. There is supposed to be bond, unless you've decided to pay the fine. Btw, are you (thread owner) offered already? Whatever choice you've made, good luck ^^
24-04-2008, 01:11 PM
6 years bond mostly, 10 years for medic students
abuzar
10-05-2008, 04:11 PM
i hope those seniors can tell us the advantages and disadvantages of these scholarships from your experiance because sometimes something that is written in contract does not reflect the true scenario...so share ur experiance,your rumours....and please include also in which scholarship,you will easy get a job.
ame.zost
12-05-2008, 03:09 AM
depends on the program they offer u...
go for the one interested in and u want to further...
so that u wont regret in the mid of your journey...
dont choose the because of the bonding or the pocket money they give...
malay proverb says, bersusah dulu, bersenang kemudian...
about the bonding, in my opinion its an advantage sometimes..
u know y?
because not all graduates get their job easily..
many employers reject them because they r fresh graduates, no experience..
who really wants them??
they want smone who have experience, can do the works for the company...
im not saying ALL, some of them...
sherenesheep
12-05-2008, 03:24 PM
jpa, no bond.. so there is a posibility that u mite hav a hard time finding a job after u graduate...
petronas, mite hav bond... if they wanna hire u, u are all set for hte future den... its ok if u have to pay work for them every 2 years they sponsor u.. u can rest assure that u hav a job..
jpa don hav to pay bak, petronas hav to pay bak..
it depends la.. to each their own... my fren got mara, but he said if he got petronas, he will choose petronas...
abuzar, u got jpa oso??
shakira
12-05-2008, 03:31 PM
yeah jpa no bond... petronas u will hav to work for them for a few years and they will really hold u back...(so my uncle says).. his friends all has managed to go up but he cant because of his bond. from what i heard, jpa will look for job for u. is it true? within 2 months if they dont get a job for u, u r free to go.. not sure bout this though.
sherenesheep
12-05-2008, 03:33 PM
yeah jpa no bond... petronas u will hav to work for them for a few years and they will really hold u back...(so my uncle says)...
in the oil and gas field, i think petronas reli good... cuz my couz from another oil company wants to retire in petronas... but then again, to each their own....
alepbing
12-05-2008, 03:39 PM
jpa, no bond.. so there is a posibility that u mite hav a hard time finding a job after u graduate...
petronas, mite hav bond... if they wanna hire u, u are all set for hte future den... its ok if u have to pay work for them every 2 years they sponsor u.. u can rest assure that u hav a job..
jpa don hav to pay bak, petronas hav to pay bak..
it depends la.. to each their own... my fren got mara, but he said if he got petronas, he will choose petronas...
abuzar, u got jpa oso??
eh, JPA got bond la. bond with the govt. especially those critical jobs like doctors. petronas has bond too... not exactly 2 years of a year of your studies. they told me that we work with them at least for 7 years.
you dont have to pay back for petronas. if they employ you after you graduated, they wont ask you to pay back. but if you do not work with them, then you got to pay back. jpa is like that too if im not mistaken.
yeah jpa no bond... petronas u will hav to work for them for a few years and they will really hold u back...(so my uncle says).. his friends all has managed to go up but he cant because of his bond. from what i heard, jpa will look for job for u. is it true? within 2 months if they dont get a job for u, u r free to go.. not sure bout this though.
what do you mean go up?
you have to work for the govt if you recieve JPA's scholarships. serious.
sherenesheep
12-05-2008, 03:42 PM
you dont have to pay back for petronas. if they employ you after you graduated, they wont ask you to pay back. but if you do not work with them, then you got to pay back. .
oh yeah i forgot to mention that part.. hehe clever boy... :P
u pay bak by percentage, according to ur grades.. the higher ur grades, the lower the percentage....
what do you mean go up?
you have to work for the govt if you recieve JPA's scholarships. serious.
i know for medic hav to work with gov.. 10 years.. but other courses no bond rite???
shakira
12-05-2008, 03:57 PM
yeah.. u are tied up to the goverment.. but of they cant giv u the job within 2 months u are free to go.. not medicine though.. i have gotten a really bad impression on petronas already. a lot of my family members are working in petronas, to be exact, 9 people.. and when i was not even short-listed i was furious.. my uncle as i said he could not go up as in to a higher level with better pay..
13-05-2008, 08:12 PM
Threads merged and renamed "Choosing between scholarships"
Xianst
13-05-2008, 09:16 PM
How I wish I were the one starting this post.. haha!.. Anyway... I too think that BNM is better.. but then it depends on what you like in the end.. either chemmicall engineering or financial engineering
Beatles
14-05-2008, 01:26 AM
Hello everyone. I wish to ask your opinion.
If you get both JPA and Petronas sponsorship, which one is better?
Here's some information:
1)JPA
-yet to receive offer letter
-need to confirm on 13th May
-course offered: engineering
-Pre-U in Malaysia, degree course in overseas (according to JPA website, its either US, UK, AUS, NZ or CA, during interview, I say I would like AUS)
-Don't know have bond or not but I know must come back to Malaysia (which is the right thing to do)
-Foreign degree
2)Petronas
-receive courier service today
-need to confirm on 16th May
-course offered: civil engineering
-Local degree
-5 years in UTP Perak (1 year foundation + 4 years degree)
-10 years bond (also good de at least need not fear of jobless)
Previously I already being offered to study Diploma in Digital and Precision Engineering by Nanyang Polytechnic (full scholarship, 3 years diploma programme, monthly allowance S$800, serve 5 years bond with Singapore Government upon course completion, can get practical training in Germany, Japan or Switzerland for 3 months) But I decline it because my interest is in engineering regarding construction, civil and structural.
I will appreciate if someone can give opinion. Thank you very much!
vimal06
14-05-2008, 01:27 AM
ermm, if JPA you have to confirm by 13th means its already the 14th today.. Isnt it too late??
Beatles
14-05-2008, 01:30 AM
Yes I know. Actually I already intended to choose JPA, so I already choose 'terima tawaran'. I just want to know your opinion. Thanks very much
seeweijie
14-05-2008, 01:34 AM
I would suggest you to pick the JPA offer because JPA is oversea while Petronas is local..
There isn't much chance for us to study oversea... once you get it... you should grab it..
About the certs.. definately foreign certs will be better.. it is more recgonised compared to local 1...
About the job you are bonded if there is a vacancy... You are free if there is no vacancy.. i mean for JPA.. If you are good you need not worry that you would end up jobless.. Many companies will offer you a job once you graduate.. (correct me if i m wrong)
14-05-2008, 02:31 AM
Thread Petronas or JPA merged with this thread
14-05-2008, 10:32 AM
yeah.. u are tied up to the goverment.. but of they cant giv u the job within 2 months u are free to go.. not medicine though.. i have gotten a really bad impression on petronas already. a lot of my family members are working in petronas, to be exact, 9 people.. and when i was not even short-listed i was furious.. my uncle as i said he could not go up as in to a higher level with better pay..
No, I think you need to wait for 6 months before the government release you from bond if there are no job offer. Why does everyone think scholarships have no bond? Why would they even give it out in the first place then.
GunbladerQ
14-05-2008, 11:39 AM
I am in the exact situation as Beatles, except mine in Petroleum engineering in UTP
seeweijie
14-05-2008, 08:15 PM
I am in the exact situation as Beatles, except mine in Petroleum engineering in UTP
So you should pick JPA like him also..
vinnie90
21-05-2008, 12:15 PM
How about this?
Sime Darby scholarship
-Acc n Finance
-Doing SAM at Taylors
-Then to Australia for degree
-Bonded with an MNC n largest company in Msia(8 years if not mistaken)
-Starting pay abt 3K
BAnk Negara Scholarship
-Economics
-Doing Alvl at KYUEM/KTJ or ADP at INTEC/Uniten
-Going to UK/US for degree
-Bonded with central bank of msia(10 years)
-Starting pay also abt 3k
Hopefully would be able to seek advices n opinions from more ppl as i cannot afford to regret 10 years down the road...thank you ...
runninghorse
21-05-2008, 12:23 PM
How about this?
Sime Darby scholarship
-Acc n Finance
-Doing SAM at Taylors
-Starting pay abt 3K
BAnk Negara Scholarship
-Economics
Hopefully would be able to seek advices n opinions from more ppl as i cannot afford to regret 10 years down the road...thank you ...
if you dont like bonding then i would suggest you to take sime darby...
btw what is MNC?
vinnie90
21-05-2008, 12:49 PM
MNC is multinational company..Sime Darby has ventures in Australia, UK,etc...
if you dont like bonding then i would suggest you to take sime darby...
btw what is MNC?
Im okay with the bond...But would like to know which 1 wil be a better choice -That could bring me further in 10 years time.Based on which factors shud i consider n weigh upon?
haiz...
passer-by
21-05-2008, 12:52 PM
How about this?
Sime Darby scholarship
-Acc n Finance
-Doing SAM at Taylors
-Starting pay abt 3K
BAnk Negara Scholarship
-Economics
If I were you, I would choose Sime Darby scholarship. For some reasons, i think that Acc and Finance are much more in demand in the market, and it sounds more professional too.
shakira
21-05-2008, 12:58 PM
wow! congrats vinnie on securing both the scholarships! its a really hard choice to make. bank negara is known to be generous in allowance. sime darby im not too sure though. sime darby is more on plantation and stuff, while bank negara is well, the central bank. as an economist there, you will most likely be able to work with your group of ppl. while in sime darby, maybe on your own..(just an assumption) not many secured the bnm scholarship rite? 10 or so only? it's totally up to you.. hope this got u thinking.. gud luck!
vinnie90
21-05-2008, 01:22 PM
wow! congrats vinnie on securing both the scholarships! its a really hard choice to make. bank negara is known to be generous in allowance. sime darby im not too sure though. sime darby is more on plantation and stuff, while bank negara is well, the central bank. as an economist there, you will most likely be able to work with your group of ppl. while in sime darby, maybe on your own..(just an assumption) not many secured the bnm scholarship rite? 10 or so only? it's totally up to you.. hope this got u thinking.. gud luck!
Thanks Shakira..No.there are abt 50 scholars under Bank Negara..while SimeDarby is about 14..
So u think Bank Ngr is better bcox of the generous allowance n working environment? =) thanks again shakira!
21-05-2008, 02:30 PM
Bank Negara where got generous with allowance? Working environment got lah.
vinnie90
21-05-2008, 02:51 PM
Bank Negara where got generous with allowance? Working environment got lah.
u were the previous scholars? the allowance is low?or u have worked there previously? Sime is giving rm350 per month for Pre U; rm400 for transport allowance..how abt Bank?
silent_man
21-05-2008, 06:27 PM
bank negara monthly allowance 4 pre u is RM 400++ (i asked a senior)
prince_J
22-05-2008, 12:29 AM
erm... bank negara gives really little allowance for pre-uni, compared to ALL scholarships...
BUT..... you are given RM 3500 for laptop, which is not given for other scholarships except petronas... so, say if you study ADP for 12 months, so to be fair, you are receiving an extra rm 300 each month as allowance.... So, all in, BNM still not a bad deal...
for BNM, you get to study in US or Australia for 4 years, but sime darby is only for 3 years...
(BNM UK bound is also only for 3 years)
vinnie90
22-05-2008, 04:20 PM
erm... bank negara gives really little allowance for pre-uni, compared to ALL scholarships...
BUT..... you are given RM 3500 for laptop, which is not given for other scholarships except petronas... so, say if you study ADP for 12 months, so to be fair, you are receiving an extra rm 300 each month as allowance.... So, all in, BNM still not a bad deal...
for BNM, you get to study in US or Australia for 4 years, but sime darby is only for 3 years...
(BNM UK bound is also only for 3 years)
HAHA!!going to US or Australia seems to be more attractive then...
22-05-2008, 04:56 PM
Nah, you finish earlier, you can go working or do postgraduate earlier. Isn't that better?
Latasha757
24-05-2008, 05:33 AM
I'm working on a scholarship contest on brickfish.com here is my entry:
http://www.brickfish.com/Pages/PhotosAlbums/PhotoView.aspx?picid=492295_51210776&=PPIMEMAIL_PPIMEMAIL&isep=1&pbapi=661158&pbvi=19289792
Just thought you may be interested.
seeweijie
24-05-2008, 04:28 PM
bank negara monthly allowance 4 pre u is RM 400++ (i asked a senior)
Which is true? I heard that Bank Negara gives relatively high allowance compared to other scholarships... isn't it?
RM400++ is considered high?
How about this?
Sime Darby scholarship
-Acc n Finance
-Doing SAM at Taylors
-Starting pay abt 3K
BAnk Negara Scholarship
-Economics
Hey, I have also secured bank negara scholarship for economics and i planing to take it... They tell me i will be doing my degree in Australia...
How u know so much about the offer? You have recieved the official letter that list out those details? If so, when?
I am waiting for the letter..
nhling
24-05-2008, 05:22 PM
The JPA scholars who are studying in Japan currently aren't bonded to the government if they graduate from bacherlor degree. I assume it's due to lack of vacancy in the government. I'm not sure if they would let you off when they sponsor you to master degree. As I am now being sponsored by JPA to master degree in Japan, I would be glad if someone could enlighten me on the bonding and what sort of work they would give if I am to work for the government. My course is Mechanical Engineering.
For those who got BN scholarship, congratulation to you! I have friends who studied financial/business related courses in Japan and later work in renowned financial institutes like JP Morgan, Merrill Lynch where they fetch high starting salary like USD5000. Although u might be bonded to the BN for a few years, you can opt to work in private financial institution after the bond ends. By that time with rich experience and better social network, I believe you can fetch handsome salary.
vinnie90
25-05-2008, 12:48 AM
Which is true? I heard that Bank Negara gives relatively high allowance compared to other scholarships... isn't it?
RM400++ is considered high?
Hey, I have also secured bank negara scholarship for economics and i planing to take it... They tell me i will be doing my degree in Australia...
How u know so much about the offer? You have recieved the official letter that list out those details? If so, when?
I am waiting for the letter..
no..i havent..But i asked them =)
seeweijie
26-05-2008, 09:37 PM
Has anyone received the official letter from BNM?
ais_kacang
30-05-2008, 12:21 PM
Identify which scholarship is more suitable with your own needs and future..:))
Click Here>>For Malaysia Scholarship Tips & Guidelines (http://scholarship.pbmresources.com)