View Full Version : Bank Negara Malaysia 2008
fire-ablazed
13-04-2008, 10:58 PM
Are you referring to SPM applicants or A-levels? By the way, are there anyone who applied as an A-level student and got the interview call already? Cos the deadline was just last Friday.
Hey. I applied as an A level student. you too? HAven't got called yet though. getting a little worried. =S
prince_J
14-04-2008, 03:08 AM
oh bout the cafeteria.. yea la i still remember the atmosphere there very nice de!
and I love the toilet most most most!!! it is so romantic in the toilet!!!
with the brunchy rock wall and the warm yellow light~!!! =)
yeah... the toilet in the cafeteria is really damn nice! Ha ha~ but really, the food is good, but expensive... and if you look around, only big names eat there... haha~~
some tips : during lunch time, normally, the interviewers will wish to sit together with the candidates to somehow enhance friendship and get to know you more! So, feel free and brave to sit with the interviewers... they are nice people...
Iraka
14-04-2008, 04:47 AM
Hey. I applied as an A level student. you too? HAven't got called yet though. getting a little worried. =S
Me neither. Relax. It might take a while.
esther
15-04-2008, 12:50 AM
i got the call....but the date is same wit my petronas interview...i can only choose either one.....sad
megatfais
15-04-2008, 01:20 AM
i got the call....but the date is same wit my petronas interview...i can only choose either one.....sad
give em a call.try so have to the date changed for either one of those.
Are you applying as an SPM leaver or A-level student?
esther
15-04-2008, 09:57 AM
Are you applying as an SPM leaver or A-level student?
spm leaver....they said they will only hv the interview session on this thursday..so they wont change...
prince_J
15-04-2008, 02:49 PM
spm leaver....they said they will only hv the interview session on this thursday..so they wont change...
is petronas the camping thingy? is yes, i think you can check in a bit late la~
oh bout the cafeteria.. yea la i still remember the atmosphere there very nice de!
and I love the toilet most most most!!! it is so romantic in the toilet!!!
with the brunchy rock wall and the warm yellow light~!!! =)
u r very cute lah~:P
esther
15-04-2008, 11:09 PM
both petronas n bnm also dun let me change my interview time..so i can only choose either 1 .....haiz
ccter
16-04-2008, 03:18 PM
anyone applied as an STPM student?
Haha, I can give the scenarion behind the food. It's a buffet down there. You ask the chef to cook some of them like the spaghetti and then you pay at counter. But, it is expensive :(
Wah, so nice :huh
During my interview, BNM only serve us "nasi ayam" :notrust
Quoted from The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/4/24/nation/21048349&sec=nation) .
10 receive Bank Negara scholarships
By RICHARD LIM
KUALA LUMPUR: Dreams do come true ? ask 10 bright, young Malaysians who received Bank Negara Malaysia Special Scholarships to further their studies in their desired fields.
Among them is aspiring biotechnologist Azali Azlan who set a national record of 21As (20 A1s and 1 A2) in the 2007 SPM examinations.
?Many people ask me why I took so many subjects, and the answer is it's for my own satisfaction ... not to beat the record set by Nur Amalina Che Bakri (who scored 17 A1s in 2004),'' he added.
?I'm happy to be awarded the scholarship to pursue biotechnology which is a relatively new field that is growing fast and I intend to invent new products in the future,'' said Azali, who fasted during the entire examination period, taking dates and honey for strength.
Study award: Azali receiving the special scholarship from Zeti in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.
Bank Negara Governor Tan Sri Zeti Akhtar Aziz, who presented the scholarships in a ceremony at the bank yesterday, said the scholarships reflected the bank's commitment to nurture bright talents who could help in nation-building efforts.
?The quality of human capital will determine the future of the nation and I'm pleased to note that more than 1,000 students have received the scholarships so far,? she said.
prince_J
24-04-2008, 01:56 PM
Wah, so nice :huh
During my interview, BNM only serve us "nasi ayam" :notrust
haha... i was in the first day group for interview in year 2005! As we were in the first day candidate, we got to call anything we wanted because the rules have yet to be set! :p
seeweijie
24-04-2008, 03:01 PM
Mine is chicken rice too... the soup are so spicy...
Actually i was only half-full after having that lunch...
Charlotte.JL
24-04-2008, 07:41 PM
erm... is it didn't get phonecalls from bank negara = fail to get the scholarship?
Yea, most probably. But u can also check here https://bnmapp.finet.bnm.gov.my/scholar/admin/checkstatuspreu.asp
prince_J
26-04-2008, 02:11 PM
so good, never know they actually have a website!
Xianst
27-04-2008, 02:24 PM
i wonder if they have started calling the UG applicants....
hllwhee
27-04-2008, 03:53 PM
Hey,
I called them last week and they said no but they'll probably be calling in the next two weeks. :/
^
Looks like everything else is too. Can't beat UEM though. The interview hasn't even started!
ccter
27-04-2008, 04:16 PM
you mean khazanah? for the undergraduate?
Xianst
27-04-2008, 05:39 PM
arent they a lil too "fast"? hows about the sime darby one?
SC is havin the 2nd one and khazanah is going to have its 3rd soon....
Josh Loo
30-04-2008, 07:56 PM
hey there? i wonder when will the result being announced.. scare like hell :(
i think the results are out already rite? i read SKOR in NST to day and they showed 10 ppl who got the scholarship...one of them was that guy who got 20 A1 and 1 A2...
megatfais
30-04-2008, 08:12 PM
i thought those are the special scholarships?scholarships with no bonding.correct me if m wrong.
Josh Loo
30-04-2008, 08:28 PM
u r rite! tats no bond one...
then how bout got bond de.... jun... u got go interview ma?
opps no i did not go for the interview...was rejected.i did apply though...sorry so that was the special one is it? Hmmm lets see....do they have to go for the interview??
Josh Loo
30-04-2008, 08:40 PM
no one know when?
Sorry to say but Bank Negara has already chosen all 10 candidates for this scholarship. SO I guess discussions regarding 'when will the result come out' should be stopped.
Josh Loo
30-04-2008, 09:45 PM
sorry to say that the one annouced is special scholarship. tat one had no bond and medic course is offered. i m asking the one with bond. which is wat everyone is discussing now. :wink so the question need to be continued until it comes out with an answer
i thought those are the special scholarships?scholarships with no bonding.correct me if m wrong.
u r right :laugh
Avene
02-05-2008, 01:07 AM
Hey guys,
my friend called bank negara the other day. and they told him that the results will be out early May. So, pray hard and good luck guys! :))
p/s: we both applied for the undergraduate scholarships
ccter
02-05-2008, 01:19 AM
which results? the applicants shortlisted for interview?
Josh Loo
02-05-2008, 09:16 AM
Hey guys,
my friend called bank negara the other day. and they told him that the results will be out early May. So, pray hard and good luck guys! :))
p/s: we both applied for the undergraduate scholarships
me too.. thanks very much for ur info. so now juz need to pray :P
which results? the applicants shortlisted for interview?
no.result for those who get the scholar. interview is over.
Has anyone gone through the interview for degree-level studies (post A-level)? Or got the call already? Seems to take forever...
fire-ablazed
02-05-2008, 06:02 PM
Has anyone gone through the interview for degree-level studies (post A-level)? Or got the call already? Seems to take forever...
Nopes so far no one is called yet. I think so.
ccter
03-05-2008, 12:13 AM
me too.. thanks very much for ur info. so now juz need to pray :P
no.result for those who get the scholar. interview is over.
I think you meant the interview for the Pre-U level. I don't think that the interview list for the undergraduate level is out yet. Right, Avene?
03-05-2008, 12:17 AM
I think you meant the interview for the Pre-U level. I don't think that the interview list for the undergraduate level is out yet. Right, Avene?
I think it is already out....
fire-ablazed
03-05-2008, 12:18 AM
Are you sure about that Sillyboy?
03-05-2008, 12:21 AM
Are you sure about that Sillyboy?
One of us Recommers went for the interview...
Avene
03-05-2008, 12:29 AM
My friend called them and asked about the undergraduate scholarships. And they said that the results (shorlisted candidates for undergraduate) will be out in early may. (this two three weeks I guess)
ccter
03-05-2008, 12:32 AM
Cool! hope to see you there! and hopefully in Sime Darby too!
Xianst
03-05-2008, 07:48 PM
may i know which number i should call to contact the person who is in charge of the scholarship application?
Glassylicious
04-05-2008, 09:14 AM
What I did last time...
Just call the main number and ask to speak to the person who's in charge of the scholarships.
BNM said the results will be out this week! i'm so anxious!!! lolz :P
Has anyone get any call from BNM?
seeweijie
05-05-2008, 08:26 PM
BNM said the results will be out this week! i'm so anxious!!! lolz :P
Has anyone get any call from BNM?
Really??
I haven get the call...
I am anxious too... Pray hard.... Hope i can get it... God bless..
Really??
I haven get the call...
I am anxious too... Pray hard.... Hope i can get it... God bless..
Sorry, false alarm. :amuse
Now they say result will be out end of next week. Unbearably slow! :cry
seeweijie
06-05-2008, 11:27 AM
Sorry, false alarm. :amuse
Now they say result will be out end of next week. Unbearably slow! :cry
How you know?
You phone them?
How you know?
You phone them?
Yup ..... :))
silent_man
10-05-2008, 01:37 AM
why sooo late la???
Aiyah........JPA need to shortlist 2000 scholars also faster than BNM which only offering 50 scholarships out of the 130 candidates who were called for interview.
seeweijie
12-05-2008, 01:30 PM
So they are announcing the results by this week?
I think they wan to wait JPA to announce the results 1st, so that students who has already accepted JPA can decline them as soon as when they call the students.. so they can offer it to other stucents...
Xianst
12-05-2008, 07:58 PM
Well... I think so too... it will be hard for them if they give ppl the offers.. and then to realize that ppl dun want it
seeweijie
13-05-2008, 12:18 AM
today i just phone them.... they say will announce it by this week or mb next week...
i just wonder why the 'mb next week' phrase will come out from her mouth...
so late already... still say next week? haha..
prince_J
13-05-2008, 08:27 AM
my advise... bank negara always give u surprises... :)
i enrolled myself into Inti A Levels (assuming i never get JPA and BNM), mana tau, two weeks later, i received call... haha~
pwlim54
13-05-2008, 04:35 PM
so..is it confirmed bank negara results will be out next week? as in..17 may onwards?
Hey guys..I just called them just now. They said results will be out end of this week.
kaera
13-05-2008, 05:04 PM
Finally some news! Hope for the best guys! I ady got rejected by Sime darby anyways ^^
seeweijie
13-05-2008, 08:23 PM
Finally some news! Hope for the best guys! I ady got rejected by Sime darby anyways ^^
But you also get JPA already right... haha.. anyway wish you the best for Bank Negara also...
If u got it also, so which will u choose?
silent_man
13-05-2008, 08:38 PM
please let me get this...
kaera
13-05-2008, 08:52 PM
But you also get JPA already right... haha.. anyway wish you the best for Bank Negara also...
If u got it also, so which will u choose?
Hai yeap XP But I'm not sure where JPA sending me. If I get US probly choose JPA but if not, BNM la.. BNM scares me with their super duper long bond.
Xianst
13-05-2008, 09:22 PM
But then it is great to work in bnm isnt it??? I feel like working there atually.. but then not sure if i will even get the iinterview for their scholarships.. ahaa!
prince_J
14-05-2008, 03:12 AM
Hai yeap XP But I'm not sure where JPA sending me. If I get US probly choose JPA but if not, BNM la.. BNM scares me with their super duper long bond.
well, it is true that BNM's bond is indeed one of the longest in malaysia... but then, i felt that bank negara has a very good employee's policy... and the starting pay is quite good too... (please dont ask me the exact value..)... and i talked to a few BNM seniors, they told me that bond should not be a factor when you need to decide if BNM Scholarship suits u...
seeweijie
14-05-2008, 08:11 PM
I asked the officer when i went to the interview last time and they said the starting pay is about RM2000++......
kaera
14-05-2008, 08:20 PM
2940 to be exact. If I remember correctly. Does it include allowanace?
Im am not willing ot be bonded to slong as I wish to further my studies up to PhD level.. Also intent to go into the consulting line :)
haneulsag
14-05-2008, 08:23 PM
2940 to be exact. If I remember correctly. Does it include allowanace?
Im am not willing ot be bonded to slong as I wish to further my studies up to PhD level.. Also intent to go into the consulting line :)
From what i know about BNM, BNM does provide you the opportunity to go further your studies after you have started working for them...
That's another reason why BNM is so good...they may even considering to sponsor you overseas for Masters or PHD...
Btw, the pay is considered quite high for freshies...good to hear that...haha...
seeweijie
14-05-2008, 08:30 PM
Ya, they will give us the opportunity to further our study until Master or PHD with the condition that we have worked for them for few years (at least 3 years if i m not mistaken) and also good performance in work....
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 08:35 PM
how long is the bond? just curious..
seeweijie
14-05-2008, 09:03 PM
how long is the bond? just curious..
10 years (correct me if i am wrong)
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 09:18 PM
woah.. so long..
kaera
14-05-2008, 09:23 PM
From what i know about BNM, BNM does provide you the opportunity to go further your studies after you have started working for them...
That's another reason why BNM is so good...they may even considering to sponsor you overseas for Masters or PHD...
Btw, the pay is considered quite high for freshies...good to hear that...haha...
but if you do that.. your bond witht hem will add another 10 yrs or more (for up to PhD).. You'd proble end up working with them all your life..
seeweijie
14-05-2008, 09:34 PM
but if you do that.. your bond witht hem will add another 10 yrs or more (for up to PhD).. You'd proble end up working with them all your life..
Do you sure that they will add another 10 years bond? If really, then we will have to think over and over again before making any decision... 20++ years..
that's vr vr long....
haneulsag
14-05-2008, 09:46 PM
The duration of the bond depends on the duration u r under scholarship...2 x the years you r sponsored...
That means if ur scholarship covered from A-levels (2 years) plus University (3 years) that means = (2+3)x2 = 10 years...
I am not sure how long the addition of bond after they sponsor you for Masters or PHd...maybe it's the same scheme...x2...
Ya...that is a factor for consideration...but if you dream of studying overseas...it's a chance of a lifetime...moreover, if you perform well enough, maybe you can even get into top university...
Afterall, it depends on individual...
Well, that's just a little opinion from me as a local uni guy...
14-05-2008, 10:33 PM
i wonder how is Amalina Che Bakri now?? She received BNM scholarship rite??
kaera
14-05-2008, 10:43 PM
Do you sure that they will add another 10 years bond? If really, then we will have to think over and over again before making any decision... 20++ years..
that's vr vr long....
Every yr you go under their scholarship x2 years.. Imagine 5 yrs for degree, 2 yrs d most for Masters, PhD average 3 yrs so (5+2+3) x 2= 20 yrs working for BNM.. thats a very very long time. You'd probly end up wokrking for them ur whole life XD
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 10:45 PM
amalina the 17a1?
she failed cambridge
shes in edinburgh!
kaera
14-05-2008, 10:50 PM
serious? any proof?
14-05-2008, 10:57 PM
amalina the 17a1?
she failed cambridge
shes in edinburgh!
really?? I never heard anything about her..not interested anyway.. but seriously, she failed cambridge? why??
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 11:18 PM
yeah im sure
she failed to get good enuff marks to go cambridge
14-05-2008, 11:20 PM
owh..so will BNM continue her scholarship??
nadia.g
14-05-2008, 11:22 PM
omg! she failed cambridge. or she failed to enter cambridge? yeah she is currently in edinburgh
artistic1412
14-05-2008, 11:28 PM
that i dont know
point is, she still fails..
spm is not evrything,,
14-05-2008, 11:31 PM
wa..takotnye..it must be really hard out there
seeweijie
15-05-2008, 12:00 AM
Malaysia 2005 SPM Top Student go oversea end up failing in cambrige.. have to go edinburgh.. haha..
Every yr you go under their scholarship x2 years.. Imagine 5 yrs for degree, 2 yrs d most for Masters, PhD average 3 yrs so (5+2+3) x 2= 20 yrs working for BNM.. thats a very very long time. You'd probly end up wokrking for them ur whole life XD
I got other dream to achieve, not really willing to work at the same place for whole life.. I think others think the same as well.. but depends on individual also..
Glassylicious
15-05-2008, 08:33 AM
Hmm, I thought press reports said that she decided not to go to Oxford and went for Edinburgh instead, because she liked Edinburgh better? Something about being unable to resist Edinburgh's buildings. o_O
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nur_Amalina_Che_Bakri
I was trying to find the article in which she said she preferred Edinburgh, but to no avail. Just curious. Where did you get this Cambridge news from?
Anyway, terribly sorry to derail this discussion. If I get BNM I don't think I'd be looking at pursuing Masters or anything. Would probably work off my bond and then head off to a real law firm or something.
duke23
15-05-2008, 09:09 AM
she didnt fail in cambridge la.she failed to get an offer from cambridge but later to cover it up she said she preferred to study in edinburgh..biasala..malu wat kan..so have to find lame excuses la.
15-05-2008, 09:14 AM
haha..and the latest best student 2007 who got 21A were offered BNM sch too. He want to do what?? medic??
megatfais
15-05-2008, 09:33 AM
biotech actually.
prince_J
15-05-2008, 09:42 AM
well... amalina scored straight A's in A level ... and she took it in UK, means she is not that bad afterall...
artistic1412
15-05-2008, 10:43 AM
getting to those universities need a certain mark of cocu activities and personality as well
amalina just not cut out to go cambridge
while other students who didnt even score streta1 in spm could go cambridge
so, spm is not eveything..
pwlim54
15-05-2008, 01:43 PM
kaera..which course you're offered by JPA? Congrats!
seeweijie
15-05-2008, 09:52 PM
BNM will most probably coming out tmr... coz they said end of this week...
Good luck to all applicants...
vinnie90
15-05-2008, 10:54 PM
BNM will most probably coming out tmr... coz they said end of this week...
Good luck to all applicants...
I called today and they said the successful applicants have been selected.However,they have to wait for the Management or Trustees of Bank Ngr to agree and approve.Therefore, should the management approve it next week, we will only be informed by then =) hehe...
kaera
15-05-2008, 10:55 PM
kaera..which course you're offered by JPA? Congrats!
Thanks ^^ I got CompSc/IT. Also applied the same thing for BNM
lets hope the results are out tmr! Good luck guys! Honestly I hope I don't get so others can have a chance.. XD
megatfais
15-05-2008, 10:57 PM
....Honestly I hope I don't get so others can have a chance.. XD
thats so sweet of u.thumbs up.
pwlim54
15-05-2008, 11:25 PM
I called today and they said the successful applicants have been selected.However,they have to wait for the Management or Trustees of Bank Ngr to agree and approve.Therefore, should the management approve it next week, we will only be informed by then =) hehe...
So the results won't be out this week?
seeweijie
16-05-2008, 12:06 AM
Hopefully tmr... hope they do their work faster...
pwlim54
16-05-2008, 08:45 AM
But it's not even approved yet. Hmm... well. we'll just have to wait then.
Aries
16-05-2008, 11:56 AM
My fren called BNM. Most probably result will b out next week. Agree with kaera.. Actually it's gud 2 give others a chance if we already haf sth else...
pwlim54
16-05-2008, 08:10 PM
hey..the results are out. My friends got it. They just called about 7 pm
Xianst
16-05-2008, 11:57 PM
My fren called BNM. Most probably result will b out next week. Agree with kaera.. Actually it's gud 2 give others a chance if we already haf sth else...
HAHA. Eh. I think I should learn from u alll if I ever get a scholarsip.. ;)
Thumbs up too
Glassylicious
17-05-2008, 09:13 AM
Hmm. This is worrisome. What about those applying with A levels qualifications [scholarships for undergraduates]? o_O Were there even any interviews conducted?
ais_kacang
17-05-2008, 12:22 PM
BNM scholarship is hard to get..but once u get, for sure u'll have a bright future..:)
pwlim54
17-05-2008, 01:34 PM
Did any of you get any calls from BNM?
BNM scholarship is hard to get..but once u get, for sure u'll have a bright future..
Why?
Xianst
17-05-2008, 02:24 PM
Hmm. This is worrisome. What about those applying with A levels qualifications [scholarships for undergraduates]? o_O Were there even any interviews conducted?
Havent heard of anything yet. Getting anxious. Haha.
prince_J
18-05-2008, 02:07 AM
no worries la.... if you guys are so eager to know, give bank negara a call on monday morning!
kaera
19-05-2008, 07:15 PM
hey..the results are out. My friends got it. They just called about 7 pm
uwaaahhh really? Thats a shock.. Looks like I didn't get it then ^^ since its already been some time since they started to call ppl up. Grats to your friends who got it!
newney
19-05-2008, 08:34 PM
BNM scholarship is hard to get..but once u get, for sure u'll have a bright future..:)
Really? Is it better than JPA?
pwlim54
19-05-2008, 10:19 PM
uwaaahhh really? Thats a shock.. Looks like I didn't get it then ^^ since its already been some time since they started to call ppl up. Grats to your friends who got it!
Thanks. But both my friends' parents work in Bank Negara. I'm not sure how it goes...whether they're informing group by group.
seeweijie
19-05-2008, 10:52 PM
Thanks. But both my friends' parents work in Bank Negara. I'm not sure how it goes...whether they're informing group by group.
so your that friend also gt go interview?
pwlim54
19-05-2008, 11:26 PM
Yeah...they both went.
HaveYouMetTed
20-05-2008, 12:56 PM
i got the scholarship. but then i got petronas as well. YIKES.
fire-ablazed
20-05-2008, 01:27 PM
What is the fate of the undergraduate applicants? Lol.
silent_man
20-05-2008, 03:01 PM
i got it 2..:)
seeweijie
20-05-2008, 03:06 PM
So are you all going to choose Bank Negara offer or the other 1?
syawalhafriz
20-05-2008, 04:02 PM
i got it too. haha :)
seeweijie
20-05-2008, 05:26 PM
i got it too..
I got Econs at Australia..
Anyone got the same with me?
pwlim54
20-05-2008, 06:13 PM
i got it too..
Hey...congrats. DId you apply JPA? And..do you have an english name? Anyway...when you got the offer letter, can you tell me the details?
seeweijie
20-05-2008, 09:30 PM
Hey...congrats. DId you apply JPA? And..do you have an english name? Anyway...when you got the offer letter, can you tell me the details?
I failed JPA>... don have english name... hehe
i will tell u tomorrow...
i got it too..
Hey, i got it too, finance and banking, but they did'nt tell me the country.:huh
Was ur country mentioned in the letter?
newney
20-05-2008, 09:48 PM
i got it too..
Congrats!!!!:)
vinnie90
20-05-2008, 10:47 PM
Seeweijie..i got Econs too..But how do u know u are doing it in Australia? Its not written in d letter right?
prince_J
21-05-2008, 06:48 AM
omg.. so many people got going australia?
anyone coming to US??
congrats for all juniors who got the scholarship!!!
seeweijie
21-05-2008, 10:06 AM
Hey, i got it too, finance and banking, but they did'nt tell me the country.:huh
Was ur country mentioned in the letter?
It was not mentioned in the letter.. according to my friend the country will be stated in another letter that will be sent to you when you have accepted the offer..
The fella tell me my country when i call them up.. i missed their call coz i was in school (form 6) when they call me..
omg.. so many people got going australia?
anyone coming to US??
congrats for all juniors who got the scholarship!!!
Can you tell me what type of allowances and how much will they give for monthly allowance and other benefits Bank Negara provide?
Coz YTM also offer me to go Australia... Have to make some comparison before making any decision..
prince_J
21-05-2008, 01:05 PM
Can you tell me what type of allowances and how much will they give for monthly allowance and other benefits Bank Negara provide?
Coz YTM also offer me to go Australia... Have to make some comparison before making any decision..
I am not sure about allowance in Australia, but i am pretty sure that BNM gives out allowance based on city, and i believe that BNM will be giving you the best amount... :)
seeweijie
21-05-2008, 09:10 PM
I am not sure about allowance in Australia, but i am pretty sure that BNM gives out allowance based on city, and i believe that BNM will be giving you the best amount... :)
My friend (JPA scholars in UK) also say like that..
Beside monthly allowance? what other allowance provided? (book, laptop...)
How about other benefits? I mean in future sense..
kaera
21-05-2008, 09:38 PM
Eh well I didn't get any calls so im assuming I didn't get it ^^
Just want to say congrats to everyone to got it!! All the best to you.
I'll be leaving this thread then :D
seeweijie
21-05-2008, 10:26 PM
Eh well I didn't get any calls so im assuming I didn't get it ^^
Just want to say congrats to everyone to got it!! All the best to you.
I'll be leaving this thread then :D
Just call and ask for sure...
prince_J
22-05-2008, 12:20 AM
My friend (JPA scholars in UK) also say like that..
Beside monthly allowance? what other allowance provided? (book, laptop...)
How about other benefits? I mean in future sense..
ya.. we got pretty high allowance for book.. laptop is given during your pre-university scholarship...
bear in mind, the scholarship that you receive now is ONLY for pre-university education, which means you need to qualify yourself during your pre-uni exams (US-SAT, AUS-AUSMAT/SAM. UK-A-Level)in order to renew your contract into undergraduate studies (which is not that difficult to achieve)....
as a BNM scholar, you will be invited for BNM Annual Dinner (means you will have a chance to meet BNM's Governor, and listen to Malaysia's pop star live performances) :)
for those who has not received calls and really want to get BNM scholarship, no worries... Normally, many people will reject BNMbecause they apply BNM as their safety net, as in, they wanted to do engineering or medicine more than they wanna do finance or economics... So, if they obtain petronas or JPA, they will choose those compared to BNM... So, people from the waiting list will be called, and this will happen normally one week before INTEC starts the new academic session!
Another thing is that, BNM calls people batch by batch... So, if you have not received any call yet, do call them to double check...
good luck!
seeweijie
22-05-2008, 10:28 AM
ya.. we got pretty high allowance for book.. laptop is given during your pre-university scholarship...
bear in mind, the scholarship that you receive now is ONLY for pre-university education, which means you need to qualify yourself during your pre-uni exams (US-SAT, AUS-AUSMAT/SAM. UK-A-Level)in order to renew your contract into undergraduate studies (which is not that difficult to achieve)....
as a BNM scholar, you will be invited for BNM Annual Dinner (means you will have a chance to meet BNM's Governor, and listen to Malaysia's pop star live performances) :)
Thanks for your information..
The laptop is given to us or must return it back after we graduate?
They tell me my country is Australia, so most probably i will be doing Ausmat or SAM.. have to achieve TER 85% in SAM.. i think not hard to achieve gua..
Do you have any idea which college i will be sent to do my pre-U? INTEC? Taylor?
Which course are you studying now?
prince_J
22-05-2008, 02:56 PM
u shud be doing AUSMAT in INTEC....
and i did my ADFP in INTEC too, and i am now in Chicago.. :)
seeweijie
22-05-2008, 03:00 PM
u shud be doing AUSMAT in INTEC....
and i did my ADFP in INTEC too, and i am now in Chicago.. :)
What is the difference between AUSMAT and SAM?
What is INTEC stand for? Where is it located?
What is ADFP?
What course are you studying now?
silent_man
22-05-2008, 05:00 PM
SAM is more to southern australian universities (bt technically its accepted in all of australia), its almost da same as AUSMAT (grading, duration)..INTEC is International Education Centre in Sec 17, Shah Alam (a branch of UiTM)..ADFP is American Degree Foundation Programme (which is like pre-u 4 2 enter american u's, at the end of ADFP u hv 2 sit for your SAT's)
seeweijie
22-05-2008, 08:19 PM
Is INTEC a good place to study?
ZhannaC
22-05-2008, 10:34 PM
i guess it is a gud place.if not scholars wudnt be sent there.
how come there are diff colleges in INTEC?as in kolej cendana,kolej cemara and kolej akasia.
Those are the hostel names...
seeweijie
22-05-2008, 10:57 PM
LOL.shame on me.are they?i din know.hahaha.i havent read up all the contents of my parcel.omg...malunya.forgive me... :P
You got the parcel ad?
When u get it?
megatfais
22-05-2008, 11:00 PM
You got the parcel ad?
When u get it?
no3.not bnm.i wasnt even shortlisted for the interviews.mine is tnb.i got Ausmat in Intec.
HaveYouMetTed
23-05-2008, 12:46 AM
hey, just wondering if anybody here who got ECONOMICS that know that they're gonna be sent to the UK??
cos i've heard of those going to the US and to AUSTRALIA. i was just wondering bout the UK..
i've decided to choose BNM over petronas.. hopefully it's the right choice..
i still dunno which country they're sending me to.
seeweijie
23-05-2008, 09:48 AM
hey, just wondering if anybody here who got ECONOMICS that know that they're gonna be sent to the UK??
cos i've heard of those going to the US and to AUSTRALIA. i was just wondering bout the UK..
i've decided to choose BNM over petronas.. hopefully it's the right choice..
i still dunno which country they're sending me to.
so you have called petronas to reject their offer?
Xianst
29-05-2008, 04:03 PM
Any news for the undergrads?
seeweijie
29-05-2008, 08:45 PM
Anyone has received Bank Negara's official letter?
syawalhafriz
01-06-2008, 07:19 PM
still haven't received my offer letter. got one guy who is a bnm scholar told me that they will not send the offer letter. they will organize a contract giving ceremony and ask u come to receive the offer letter
seeweijie
02-06-2008, 10:57 AM
Ya, last time when i call the BNM, then she tell me we will be assembled not long after.
Mb they will call us in this few days.
prince_J
02-06-2008, 12:57 PM
still haven't received my offer letter. got one guy who is a bnm scholar told me that they will not send the offer letter. they will organize a contract giving ceremony and ask u come to receive the offer letter
yea.. that is true based on my past experiences...
seeweijie
02-06-2008, 03:55 PM
What will we do in the ceremony?
prince_J
03-06-2008, 12:46 PM
nothing... just go out and receive an envelope... and listen to some speeches... :)
seeweijie
03-06-2008, 01:54 PM
The envelope contain the contract, official letter and all those things?
The ceremony will be in June right? coz some will be in the July intake.. need time to make preparation ma..
We will sign the contract on that day itself or go back 1st then go to bank negara the next time to sign the contract?
Hey, i just got the call from BNM, the contract giving ceremony will be on 13 June, next friday :)). 9.00 am
prince_J
05-06-2008, 10:01 AM
some advice here...
make sure the medical center that is assigned to u (it will inside the envelope), will be the one that is the most convenient for you to visit..
For example, if u are from johor, you will be assigned to a medical center in Johor Bahru to do your medical check-up. But then, if you choose to go Melaka because it is nearer to you, or it is more convenient to go Melaka, do remember to ask them to change your letter...
k3nth
05-06-2008, 12:28 PM
The envelope contain the contract, official letter and all those things?
The ceremony will be in June right? coz some will be in the July intake.. need time to make preparation ma..
We will sign the contract on that day itself or go back 1st then go to bank negara the next time to sign the contract?
ya will we sign it on dat day?
Xianst
06-06-2008, 09:47 PM
Has Bank Negara cancelled the UG scholarships?
I think we should try and check with them. Have been calling for the weeks but none picked up actually.
WatermelonSeed
06-06-2008, 11:53 PM
ya will we sign it on dat day?
No, you don't sign it on that day. You'll need to find 3 witnesses (I think) to sign the contract as well. So you'll be given some time to complete your part and then bring it to Bank's HR once you are done.
ccter
07-06-2008, 12:03 AM
ya indeed.. Haven't been calling them... dunno what happened...
twinklecheesse
07-06-2008, 11:49 AM
Hi.I am offered corporate finance bnm . Since it is a pre-u scholarship , we will have to make sure we perform well in order to continue degree under the scholarship . Will it be difficult ? Is there anybody who fail to do it in the past? Quite worried about it =)
prince_J
07-06-2008, 04:46 PM
Hi.I am offered corporate finance bnm . Since it is a pre-u scholarship , we will have to make sure we perform well in order to continue degree under the scholarship . Will it be difficult ? Is there anybody who fail to do it in the past? Quite worried about it =)
not trying to scare you, but yea, i heard some scholars did fail to pass through the pre-u requirement.... (correct me if i am wrong) ... but then, if you work hard enough,it shouldn't be a problem to meet the requirement...
For UK - A Levels - 2A's,1 B
For US - SAT - Above 1200 excluding writing section..
For Aus/Nz - AUSMAT/SAM - ??? Not very sure... Shud be TER 90 i guess?
pink_dolphin1223
09-06-2008, 12:40 PM
ya indeed.. Haven't been calling them... dunno what happened...
I also didn't call by them
do anyone get informed by them about the UG scholarships?
xinni
09-06-2008, 12:53 PM
wel,did any of you who gt both jpa n bank negara,if so have u guys rejected one of them?
serenalee
09-06-2008, 01:23 PM
sigh..no news for the UG scholarship yet?
k3nth
09-06-2008, 03:34 PM
I recieved an offer for Pre-U in Mathematics
Is there a chance for me to do a degree in something other than Mathematics, maybe because my interest is there?
Am not worried of 10 years bond, but the job I will be doing, and the course I will be studying in university
HaveYouMetTed
09-06-2008, 07:06 PM
it really doesnt matter what degree course you take.
those who are taking econs will be taking a course called : Mathematics & Economics.
but then again, kenth, you're probably gonna do Pure Mathematics.
there's also Mathematics & Philosophy.
But in the end, mathematicians and economists do pretty much the same thing. maybe you'll be more on the calculation side that's all.
k3nth
09-06-2008, 09:35 PM
will be talking to bank negara staff on Friday, hopefully can clear things up and then think again whether this line suits me.
I'm really really unsure =\
vincentato
10-06-2008, 01:16 AM
no worries on job prospects for math grads
myriad of jobs... the most flexible one i believe
seeweijie
10-06-2008, 01:26 AM
anyone going to bank negara on this friday.. i heard there is a ceremony about the scholarship.. however the scholars are not compulsory to attend it..
they say they will send us the letter with the contract by this or next week..
i have waited it for such a long time.. hope it will reach me by tomorrow..
HaveYouMetTed
10-06-2008, 12:12 PM
im going up to the bank on friday.
i just think, personally, that it'll be better to go up and listen to whatever they have to say. cos i dunno, you dont wanna miss out on anything. plus, i'm afraid that they might lay off courier-ing the parcel to us.. cos well, as we all know, they are pretty slow.
silent_man
10-06-2008, 08:56 PM
i'm goin on friday 2.. :)
WatermelonSeed
10-06-2008, 11:04 PM
I recieved an offer for Pre-U in Mathematics
Is there a chance for me to do a degree in something other than Mathematics, maybe because my interest is there?
Am not worried of 10 years bond, but the job I will be doing, and the course I will be studying in university
May I ask what is your interest? Did you not apply for Mathematics? Not to worry, you can always try to talk to the Scholarship Department and decide what to do. When offered to do Mathematics, you can do something else besides Pure Mathematics. You can apply for MORSE, Maths and Stats, Maths and Econs, Econometrics and other subjects related to Mathematics. And upon graduation, you will get to choose the department that you would like to join. It doesn't mean that if you do Mathematics, you'll only be dealing with numbers for the rest of your life. =p
darkseraphim88
11-06-2008, 11:16 AM
hey i called regarding the UG yesterday,
the info i got are:
i) they are still shortlisting
ii) only 1 stage (assessment, test, interview all together)
seeweijie
11-06-2008, 01:30 PM
im going up to the bank on friday.
i just think, personally, that it'll be better to go up and listen to whatever they have to say. cos i dunno, you dont wanna miss out on anything. plus, i'm afraid that they might lay off courier-ing the parcel to us.. cos well, as we all know, they are pretty slow.
i'm goin on friday 2.. :)
Actually i want to go also but not free that day.. haiz..
So please post here your experience after u come back k..
I mean any information that we need to know..
Thanks..
pink_dolphin1223
11-06-2008, 02:31 PM
hey i called regarding the UG yesterday,
the info i got are:
i) they are still shortlisting
ii) only 1 stage (assessment, test, interview all together)
oh!so the result is not yet out?
but ....it have been so long ady since the deadline of application...:(
k3nth
11-06-2008, 02:57 PM
May I ask what is your interest? Did you not apply for Mathematics? Not to worry, you can always try to talk to the Scholarship Department and decide what to do. When offered to do Mathematics, you can do something else besides Pure Mathematics. You can apply for MORSE, Maths and Stats, Maths and Econs, Econometrics and other subjects related to Mathematics. And upon graduation, you will get to choose the department that you would like to join. It doesn't mean that if you do Mathematics, you'll only be dealing with numbers for the rest of your life. =p
well, actually I havent found my interest yet, or maybe I'm not looking hard enough. so yeah. in a whirlwind of thoughts now. but so far in lower six, maths seems to be the subjects that click in the best
syawalhafriz
14-06-2008, 01:44 AM
so, any news?
seeweijie
15-06-2008, 08:40 PM
Anyone who had gone to BNM HQ on friday please your experience...
darkseraphim88
16-06-2008, 11:37 AM
hi the long awaited UG list it out
there are calling us as we speak
it is only 1 round & at Bank Negara Block C
this wednesday
full day from 8.30 onwards
they called me abt 11 am
good luck everyone!
Xianst
16-06-2008, 12:05 PM
oh congratz! i didn't get the call.. aiks
fire-ablazed
16-06-2008, 02:03 PM
oh my..no one called. =(
Glassylicious
16-06-2008, 03:59 PM
*sighs and crosses Bank Negara off her already tiny list*
Hi. I'm a newbies here. Just gt my account signed up. I'm one of the BNM scholar. I'll be doing finance and banking at Uniten from 29th of June onwards.
I went to BN HQ for briefing last Friday. It's just a very short briefing where the BN's staffs explained to us how the scholarship works and what are the expectations on us.After some refreshment, we are allowed to go back home. There's nothing much on tat day actually.
syawalhafriz
16-06-2008, 11:06 PM
am i still able to reject this offer? anyone? =.=
seeweijie
17-06-2008, 12:02 PM
I got the letter already....
Pre-U Programme : A level
College : Kolej Tunku Ja'afar, Mantin, Negeri Sembilan
Course : Economics
syawalhafriz
17-06-2008, 12:06 PM
Pre-U Programme : A level
College : Kyuem, Lembah Beringin
Course : corporate finance
esther
18-06-2008, 12:21 PM
hi...i m bank scholar too...izzit after completed all those documents, we hv to bring it to bank negara ourselves?
Hi Esther. Ya, you can either bring it to them directly or mail it back to them. That's what the staff told me. Just make sure that your documents reach there on time.
esther
18-06-2008, 11:11 PM
oh...regarding the doc that hv to sent bac to the college, we hv to choose the courses ourselves?which department shud we go when returning the docs to college n bank?and izzit let principal to certify all those docs??
I believe Bank Negara already stated down the courses in which they require you to take (A lvl, PPOU, SAM etc) in the offer letter. N you have to return the documents to Scholarship Section of Human Resource Department (Forgot abt which floor, you gotta check it out with the officer at the entrance:)).Bout your last question, ya, you may bring it back to your school's principal in order to certify them.
pwlim54
19-06-2008, 07:55 PM
Are there anyone else who got A - levels in Taylors?
Pre-U Programme : American Degree Programme
College : Uniten
Course : Finance and Banking
seeweijie
20-06-2008, 01:12 PM
Anyone plan to go up to the HQ to hand up the documents?
floppyfish
20-06-2008, 07:05 PM
hello... i got SAM at Taylor's, Australia for Accounting. ANyone got SAM at Taylor's? :amuse
pwlim54
20-06-2008, 08:29 PM
My friend got Sam at Taylor's. Accounting as well.
seeweijie
20-06-2008, 11:21 PM
hello... i got SAM at Taylor's, Australia for Accounting. ANyone got SAM at Taylor's? :amuse
Esther got totally the same with you..
esther
20-06-2008, 11:31 PM
hi..i got the same course n college as well....
wanna ask that we dont hv to send the college booklet to taylor right?only submit it during the registration day?
floppyfish
20-06-2008, 11:58 PM
hi..i got the same course n college as well....
wanna ask that we dont hv to send the college booklet to taylor right?only submit it during the registration day?
hmm i wasn't too sure about that too... but if we submit it on the day itself would they have considered us to have registered already?
vincentato
21-06-2008, 01:08 AM
Pre-U Programme : American Degree Programme
College : Uniten
Course : Finance and Banking
Anymore ppl going Uniten?
Please do email me if you want to keep in touch.I just graduated from Uniten- going UChicago.
twinklecheesse
21-06-2008, 08:38 AM
Hi..
course:corporate finance
college:tayor's university college
pre-u:SAM
Do we have to choose the subjects to be taken in SAM ourselves?Or bank negara will arrange it for us?Do we have to fill in the taylor application form sent together with the bnm offer letter?Since we will only be sponsered to study our degree if we manage to gain admission to the top universities listed,I would like to know whether it is difficult to be accepted into these top 8 universities in australia :
-university of adelaide
-australian national university
-university of melbourne
-monash university
-university of queensland
-university of sydney
-university of new south wales
-university of western australia
thank you very much=)
seeweijie
21-06-2008, 05:41 PM
I got question about the BORANG PENGAKUAN PENJAMIN.
In the HARTA section, the penjamin need to fill in the nilai semasa for
1. Rumah (kaki persegi)
2. Tanah (ekar)
3. Kereta
4. Lain-lain(sila jelaskan)
Is it neccesary the exact nilai semasa? because it is troublesome to find it out. Or just fill in the price when the penjamin buy that time.
Another things is the section D PENGESAHAN
Is it only can be signed n cop by the boss(majikan) of penjamin? How if the penjamin work at outstation? Is there anyone who can sign the section other than the boss (majikan).
Many ?????????? appear... Worry...
esther
21-06-2008, 11:22 PM
hmm i wasn't too sure about that too... but if we submit it on the day itself would they have considered us to have registered already?
i dunno...i heard from one of the bank scholar who is goin to taylor as well that we only submit the college booklet during registration day.....if i only get the doc from bank on 17 june, that means i can submit all those docs within 2 weeks starting from 17 june right??o counting from 11 june??
Xianst
21-06-2008, 11:40 PM
Hi..
Do we have to choose the subjects to be taken in SAM ourselves?Or bank negara will arrange it for us?Do we have to fill in the taylor application form sent together with the bnm offer letter?Since we will only be sponsered to study our degree if we manage to gain admission to the top universities listed,I would like to know whether it is difficult to be accepted into these top 8 universities in australia :
-university of adelaide
-university of melbourne
-monash university
-university of sydney
thank you very much=)
unless u do not study at all and u are not good enough to score 8 or 9 a's in spm... it is bloody easy to get into all of these uni...
Is it neccesary the exact nilai semasa? because it is troublesome to find it out. Or just fill in the price when the penjamin buy that time.
Another things is the section D PENGESAHAN
Is it only can be signed n cop by the boss(majikan) of penjamin? How if the penjamin work at outstation? Is there anyone who can sign the section other than the boss (majikan).
1. I believe that the 'nilai semasa' is just an estimate (or a guesstimate). Try to get a clarification from the officer.
2. I think a b/p (bagi pihak) can also be accepted. Again, try asking the BNM officer.
Don't be worried. After all, the scholarship is already in your hands.
seeweijie
22-06-2008, 02:08 PM
1. I believe that the 'nilai semasa' is just an estimate (or a guesstimate). Try to get a clarification from the officer.
2. I think a b/p (bagi pihak) can also be accepted. Again, try asking the BNM officer.
Don't be worried. After all, the scholarship is already in your hands.
Thanks for your help.
Fot those going to UK, which exam would we take? IELTS or TOEFL?
WatermelonSeed
22-06-2008, 08:08 PM
Thanks for your help.
Fot those going to UK, which exam would we take? IELTS or TOEFL?
You'll have to take IELTS.
esther
22-06-2008, 11:43 PM
unless u do not study at all and u are not good enough to score 8 or 9 a's in spm... it is bloody easy to get into all of these uni...
bloody easy to get into??i got aus too...the min TER is 85%..the admission into aus U just solely depend on result??i m being offered accountancy..so i will only get the degree qualification once graduated..so can i take ACCA when working wit bank??
^
I think you should be able to take ACCA while working with the bank. I think if it is possible, you should ask if you can take it while you are still in university. That's even better.
floppyfish
24-06-2008, 08:11 PM
Hi..
-university of adelaide
-university of melbourne
-monash university
-university of sydney
thank you very much=)
As i know, for melbourne uni, you need a minimum of TER 85% to enter. But for guaranteed admission you need a minimum of either 90% or 95% somewhere between there, not too sure of the accurate score. I am not so familiar with the other unis though.
i dunno...i heard from one of the bank scholar who is goin to taylor as well that we only submit the college booklet during registration day.....if i only get the doc from bank on 17 june, that means i can submit all those docs within 2 weeks starting from 17 june right??o counting from 11 june??
huh? err, as i know they mentioned exactly 2 weeks from the date the offer letter (the letter stating which pre-u, college and date of the start of the course) was dated.
Oh so meaning submit the taylor's form during registration? ooo okay then, thx.. hahaha :P
Bloody easy to get in??? you gotta be kidding me... you need a high score of TER only they will accept you... =S the group of 8 aren't as easy to get in compared to the other aussie unis...
bloody easy to get into??i got aus too...the min TER is 85%..the admission into aus U just solely depend on result??i m being offered accountancy..so i will only get the degree qualification once graduated..so can i take ACCA when working wit bank??
Erm, im not too sure about acca but i spoke to this head of taylors business school and she said you cannot do CPA and the degree in aussie concurrently. :oh
She said we'll need a degree qualification only can we do the professional papers. Unless, we can get exemptions.
Oh and yea we can take any professional paper while working in bank, and they will reimburse the fees for the papers too. =)
silent_man
25-06-2008, 07:49 PM
any1 goin 2 uniten dis 29th?? I heard ther are 11 of us..
Xianst
25-06-2008, 07:58 PM
well... most of the ppl i know got ter over 90... all those who got 9a and above...
k3nth
25-06-2008, 09:40 PM
any1 goin 2 uniten dis 29th?? I heard ther are 11 of us..
hey, yeap im heading there, what course are u offered for?
im offered mathematics
silent_man
26-06-2008, 10:33 AM
hey, yeap im heading there, what course are u offered for?
im offered mathematics
economics..I guess i'll c u ther.. :)
floppyfish
26-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Apparently those staying at casa subang have already been assigned to their respective units and rooms according to the sponsors (everybody in the same unit from the same sponsor) and according to alphabetical order.
Don't know how true is that but... that was what I heard of. :)
artistic1412
26-06-2008, 11:49 AM
serious??
all sponsors stay together??
dats weird, theres only 8 sime darby, dont expect us to stay together ler..
4 boys 4 girls?
interesting thought..
Hi. I'm going UNITEN as well. Being offered finance and banking. Hope to meet you guys there.
esther
27-06-2008, 11:44 PM
Apparently those staying at casa subang have already been assigned to their respective units and rooms according to the sponsors (everybody in the same unit from the same sponsor) and according to alphabetical order.
Don't know how true is that but... that was what I heard of. :)
did u receive any call from taylors?i missed the call but when i called bac .the operator just asked me to wait for the call again cos she knows nth..but i hv waited 4 two days..they din call me again..i m worried..scared that i will be missed out...wat shud i do nw?
silent_man
28-06-2008, 02:16 PM
2mrw's d day..cu guys ther!
twinklecheesse
30-06-2008, 03:10 PM
Hi.
What did you mean by ' tommorrow is the day' ?
hi..does it mean that all bank negara's scholars are going to register for their respective colleges on 1 july 2008? or different dates depending on which colleges?
esther
30-06-2008, 04:24 PM
it depends on which colleges u r being offered...my registration day is 12july in taylor ..
floppyfish
30-06-2008, 09:03 PM
did u receive any call from taylors?i missed the call but when i called bac .the operator just asked me to wait for the call again cos she knows nth..but i hv waited 4 two days..they din call me again..i m worried..scared that i will be missed out...wat shud i do nw?
ooh yup i received a call frm taylors. she just asked me if i have received the whole kit frm taylors and whether ill be staying at the hostel. She also said the registration form is to be submitted on the registration day itself.
hmm, maybe you can try calling them back again? Tell them you received a miss call by taylors & are a scholar & maybe ask them to direct you to the person in charge? ^^
ccter
01-07-2008, 01:40 PM
you are business. they won't miss you. ;)
wenhuei
09-07-2008, 11:22 PM
halo. is there anyone who has been offered econs by bnm and will be doing a levels at kyuem this coming july?
seeweijie
10-07-2008, 01:44 PM
I have been offered econs, but i am going to do a level at KTJ... however, nice to meet you..
silent_man
11-07-2008, 05:54 PM
is ther any truth 2 rumours that ther wil b a few scholars sent to uniten? Coz my programme co-ordinaotr sed there is not enough students..
hllwhee
14-07-2008, 12:15 AM
Hi guys I realise this is probably rather out of place with regard to your topic of conversation now, but could I request for a favour?
If anyone hears of people getting called up regarding the undergraduate scholarship (results supposedly out mid-July which officially begins tomorrow!), would you mind posting it here asap or PM me if you don't want to post an irrelevant message like me (heh)?
Thanks very much! (:
Xianst
15-07-2008, 09:45 PM
Not yet... but i am getting anxious though i do not pin high hope on it lar... aiks
16-07-2008, 01:24 AM
Not yet... but i am getting anxious though i do not pin high hope on it lar... aiks
If you got it, will you be heading to Imperial?
Xianst
16-07-2008, 04:27 PM
Oh yea I will be going there - if I do get it. But you are goin there anyway right? Hopefully we can be classmates ;)
16-07-2008, 05:17 PM
Oh yea I will be going there - if I do get it. But you are goin there anyway right? Hopefully we can be classmates ;)
Yep! All the best to you! =D
Xianst
16-07-2008, 10:35 PM
Duh I havent heard anything from them yet... kinda scared..
Xianst
27-07-2008, 12:04 PM
any news from them?
27-07-2008, 04:07 PM
Still no news?? Yikes!
Caprio
28-07-2008, 12:16 AM
This thread here is turning into a kopitiam.:P
darkseraphim88
09-08-2008, 10:27 PM
heya frens
has any1 contacted bank negara regarding the results for undergrad?
UK intake is just a month away!
i hope they really announce asap
09-08-2008, 11:02 PM
heya frens
has any1 contacted bank negara regarding the results for undergrad?
UK intake is just a month away!
i hope they really announce asap
If you got it, where will you be heading?
US orientations are ard 1-3 weeks away lol. -.-
darkseraphim88
19-08-2008, 01:44 PM
i called em up. they have called some of us to fax our documents n it seems result should b out by the end of this week!
Good luck to every1 who applied! wish me luck as well!
prince_J
30-08-2008, 01:10 AM
this year, no US-bound scholars???!!! ?
malaysia
29-09-2008, 03:05 AM
I need some help here. Can anyone tell me how much is the allowances for BNM students in Ireland.
Ta.
malaysia
29-09-2008, 04:27 AM
why would bank negara send students to ireland?
i tot they take in the best and usually the best students dont go to ireland.(for medicine)
Where do the best go then?
I know someone who's being sent there. Does anyone else have any idea how much?
duke23
29-09-2008, 06:14 AM
if they had a choice between uk and ireland most students would opt to go to uk unless they get rejected by all the uni's in uk that they applied too.
liangfuhan
29-09-2008, 10:34 AM
WOW WOW WOW. The best don't go to Ireland? That's a little self-indulgent don't you think?
Well, I wouldn't say that Ireland is superior to any other country, tertiary education wise. It's just that Bank Negara has chosen to send its scholars to only three countries, UK, Australia and America.
malaysia
30-09-2008, 05:22 AM
WOW WOW WOW. The best don't go to Ireland? That's a little self-indulgent don't you think?
Well, I wouldn't say that Ireland is superior to any other country, tertiary education wise. It's just that Bank Negara has chosen to send its scholars to only three countries, UK, Australia and America.
Is it, how come someone that I know is in Ireland?
prince_J
24-10-2008, 06:04 AM
maybe he is under special scholarship where he can choose to study anywhere he wants without a bond... i mean, i am only assuming, not perfectly sure...
unfallengazer
26-10-2008, 04:44 PM
hello, I got shortlisted for interview based on my trials; interview's barely days away :oh
would like to know whether the fact that I never took econs in school will affect my chance at the scholarship; is textbook-based knowledge necessary or is good common sense and fluency in current issues sufficient?
and should I carry out some research on the Ministry too? or just BN?
hoping to hear from someone soon..I've got bout a week left=S
thanks a lot; really appreciate any help here!
kreshna
14-11-2008, 04:08 PM
hey, unfallengazer.
Could you tell me how was your interview experience and when they will announce the result?
Hey people. Don't create redundant threads. Please check around for existing threads.
Also, some questions have been answered for 10 thousand times. Please read through some pages / use the search button/ google your question online/ before questioning them over and over again.
Also, if you want to chat, please go to the chatroom.
hello, I got shortlisted for interview based on my trials; interview's barely days away :oh
would like to know whether the fact that I never took econs in school will affect my chance at the scholarship; is textbook-based knowledge necessary or is good common sense and fluency in current issues sufficient?
and should I carry out some research on the Ministry too? or just BN?
hoping to hear from someone soon..I've got bout a week left=S
thanks a lot; really appreciate any help here!
And to answer your question, I got called 2 days before my interview and I was even in national service at that time. Thank God, I made it to BNM HQ in time for the so-called last chance interview. And I had no econ background, I certainly did not apply to economics and yet, everything turned out fine.
So you don't need to panic. No need to do research on the ministry or whatsoever. In the interview, I told the interviewer that if you are happy, your water taste better because some guy in Japan managed to show that water crystal look better when nice music are played and water crystal look distorted/brownish when people curse/are angry. Certainly, knowing that trivial stuff doesn't help a bit in my TEXTBOOK knowledge but interview is not about TEXTBOOK knowledge. Just be creative and make a lasting impression.
silent_man
04-12-2008, 10:48 AM
Hie ther..I am a current BNM scholar, also doing Econs.. I would be more then gald to help those who are facing interviews now. Feel free to ask if you need anything.
ame.zost
14-12-2008, 04:40 AM
Is it, how come someone that I know is in Ireland?
maybe he was rejected by universities in UK.
its quite hard to enter Med school in Uk as u have to sits for tests apart form ur a-lvl/SAm/IB...
and all application is thru UCAS...
people in UK itself scored 6As in their alvl as they know how tough is it.
and BNM scholars are lucky enuff..
BNM feed them very well. im not sure how much do they give for the allowance.
but my seniors have once said they offer allowance for travelling during summer break. wOwOw....
vincentato
13-01-2009, 01:11 PM
and BNM scholars are lucky enuff..
BNM feed them very well. im not sure how much do they give for the allowance.
but my seniors have once said they offer allowance for travelling during summer break. wOwOw....
This is a fallacy. We are not paid allowance for traveling per se.
kismis
14-01-2009, 08:14 PM
Hey, just wondering (sorry if i'm posting the question in the wrong thread or whatever)
Did you guys apply for your BSN scholarship last year (2008, but only get to go to uni in 2009?
I thought that you would've needed to complete your pre-u before actually even applying. Or did you submit your forecast?
I've applied for uni for the Sept 2009 intake (in UK), please tell me I can still apply for BSN scholarship this year and still make it in time!
I'm new to the whole scholarship thing, sorry!
mysterio
06-02-2009, 12:59 AM
Hey, just wondering (sorry if i'm posting the question in the wrong thread or whatever)
Did you guys apply for your BSN scholarship last year (2008, but only get to go to uni in 2009?
I thought that you would've needed to complete your pre-u before actually even applying. Or did you submit your forecast?
I've applied for uni for the Sept 2009 intake (in UK), please tell me I can still apply for BSN scholarship this year and still make it in time!
Actually results are already out for bnm scholarship for the ones applying based on their trial 08 results..the scholarship includes foundation at KTJ, Taylors and few others..the interview for me was before SPM but there were some after SPM..I'm not sure but probably theres another one for those based on actual SPM results..
prince_J
08-02-2009, 06:10 AM
Some schools are given the privileges to apply using the SPM trial result. And these group of students will have their interview before SPM and get offer around this time.. (i heard some of the people in recom already gotten the scholarship...) And this kids, for UK bound, will get to do fast track 1.5 years of A- Level and fly to UK the following year.. (SPM 2008, confirmation of scholarship 2009, A- levels 2009-2010 , fly to UK in 2010 ) . And for US bound kids, they will have to take 1.5 years of ADFP (this is what happen in INTEC, i am not sure about other institutions) , in which they will get 3 months off during the SPM results are announced.... For Australia, if i am not mistaken, you will get to do SAM/AUSMAT for about a year and fly to Aus/NZ next year...
If you are not in these selected schools, you got to apply using the normal "common" application...You will have to apply once you get your result..
For students are successful, you will be notified around June after series of interviews and etc...
For uk bound, you will have to take 2 years A-Level.. (example, SPM 2008, Apply 2009, Result of scholarship 2009, A-Level 2009-2011, Fly to UK 2011) .
For US bound, you will have to take 1 year of ADFP program (again, this is what happen in INTEC). then fly together with those who receive the scholarship using their trial result.(example, SPM 2008, Apply 2009, Result of scholarship 2009, ADFP 2009-2010, Fly to US 2011) .
For Aus bound, you will have to take 1.5 years of SAM/Ausmat... (example, SPM 2008, Apply 2009, Result of scholarship 2009, SAM/Ausmat 2009-2011, Fly to Aus/NZ 2011) .
Hope these information helps! :)