View Full Version : Bank Negara Malaysia 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

debutante
04-01-2006, 02:32 PM
Does anyone know how to apply for them? Thanks...

debutante
04-01-2006, 02:34 PM
yeah... and was just wondering, how is it that one can appeal/re-apply to get a JPA scholarship? What are the procedures involved?

Jhuen
05-01-2006, 02:39 PM
hello debutante...the application's done online..u have to look out for the advert in the papers, last year,it was in utusan, hidden somewhere in the recruitments' section..the advert was out a few days before the results were announced, same day as jpa's advert..just fill in the blanks... .the deadline last year was seven days after the announcement of results...

well, good luck ebutante!wish ya all the best...any q's, just pm me, or post the q's here...

debutante
05-01-2006, 02:44 PM
thanks, Jhuen. :)

ltsdavid
05-01-2006, 10:32 PM
BNM scholarship requirements for last year

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=67&lang=bm&pg=231&ac=424

cutie87
06-01-2006, 10:59 AM
yeah... and was just wondering, how is it that one can appeal/re-apply to get a JPA scholarship? What are the procedures involved?

Do you mean for those 2004 SPM students can reapply for the JPA scholarship? Is the application form/procedure the same as the initial one? Pls enlighten. TQ

andrewlza
06-01-2006, 12:04 PM
oh so everyone can reapply?

or do i need a good reason, eg. i was on a student exchage program and so could not fly back for the interview last year?

victorvandort
02-03-2006, 03:32 PM
is there a bond for the BNM scholarship btw?

ltsdavid
02-03-2006, 05:13 PM
BNM offers 3 without bond scholarships annually.

debutante
02-03-2006, 10:26 PM
Andrew: From what I read (other forum discussions) apparently only those who got shortlisted for the interview could appeal if they didn't get an offer.

andrewlza
02-03-2006, 10:58 PM
yea i was shortlisted for the interview.

so i guess i'm just gonna reapply and appeal and what not ;)

Leen
04-03-2006, 12:54 PM
Is the Bank Negara online application out yet? The last time I saw it, the form is out and it stated there 2005/2006 but when I checked the due date, it is 16 Mrach 2005. :?: :?: Strange...

Jhuen
04-03-2006, 04:07 PM

for national top scorers, three without. but for the rest of the successful applicants, there is a bond. 10 years

Jhuen
04-03-2006, 04:11 PM
Is the Bank Negara online application out yet? The last time I saw it, the form is out and it stated there 2005/2006 but when I checked the due date, it is 16 Mrach 2005. :?: :?: Strange...

it's out.check out this link.

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=15&pg=20&ac=521#pre

all the best!!=)

04-03-2006, 07:39 PM
For BNM, the deadline is 7 days after SPM results are out. It is stated at the link above.

Leen
04-03-2006, 09:30 PM
I see. So indeed it's out. Looks like it is very brief and I dont have to fill in a lot of things. Anyway, can someone explain what is finance engineering? I am intrigued to see this course listed in the scholarship offer in that site.

WinnieH
05-03-2006, 10:57 AM
i would like to ask this... : if i get the scholarship, will it be continued till i get my degree or will it just end at A levels/American Degree Foundation Program/Australian Matriculation??

and if they don't cotinue it, does it mean that i can't get myself into malaysian university and must go to private ones instead?

juventus
05-03-2006, 11:01 AM
According to the advertisment and the website, if you fulfil the minimum requirements, your scholarship would be extended.

In the form that you have to fill up, you have to state what country you intend to pursue your studies.

Good luck!

WinnieH
05-03-2006, 11:07 AM
According to the advertisment and the website, if you fulfil the minimum requirements, your scholarship would be extended.

In the form that you have to fill up, you have to state what country you intend to pursue your studies.

Good luck!

oh wow! thanks for the information!

LYN
05-03-2006, 01:30 PM
How to appeal? i have already attended the interview last december but failed to get the scholarship.

05-03-2006, 03:31 PM
What is actuarial science in bm? I am very sure that BNM offers scholarship for this course. It's mentioned in their homepage i think... So wat is actuarial science in bm?

They mention that the closing date is on 16 MAC 2005.. but spm result is coming out only on the 13th of Mac... We won't be able to send them the cv and other documents on time!

Is it save to fill up this form online... ? I'm serious...

bush
05-03-2006, 03:33 PM
sains aktuari....

check today's paper for the deadline.

Yes, it is save to fill up the form online.

05-03-2006, 06:56 PM
sains aktuari....

check today's paper for the deadline.

Yes, it is save to fill up the form online.

Taank kiu.

Larry
07-03-2006, 10:08 PM
Application for BNM scholarships available through this website:

http://www.bnm.gov.my

Joep
08-03-2006, 12:10 AM
What is actuarial science in bm? I am very sure that BNM offers scholarship for this course. It's mentioned in their homepage i think... So wat is actuarial science in bm?

They mention that the closing date is on 16 MAC 2005.. but spm result is coming out only on the 13th of Mac... We won't be able to send them the cv and other documents on time!

Is it save to fill up this form online... ? I'm serious...

Closing Date :
Pre University : 7 days after SPM 2005 results announced
First Degree : 30 March 2006
Post Graduate : 30 March 2006

08-03-2006, 01:12 AM
Application for BNM scholarships available through this website:

http://www.bnm.gov.my

there's nothing about scholarship in that web.... :?

juventus
08-03-2006, 01:40 AM
yes there is. there's a search box in the website. type scholarship.

http://ntweb.mol.net.my/bnm/preu.html

juventus
08-03-2006, 01:42 AM
no. don't use the search box. use the site map.

08-03-2006, 01:57 AM
yes there is. there's a search box in the website. type scholarship.

http://ntweb.mol.net.my/bnm/preu.html

Oh this form again... i guess i'll have to wait for my spm result b4 filling in. thx anyway..

LYN
08-03-2006, 09:29 AM
Does anyone here know how to appeal for BNM? i truly hope that someone here can answer my question. Thanks in advance!

lXl
09-03-2006, 12:32 PM
they just asked us to go to their website and apply (i think its the same for JPA - not really sure whether there's an application form for it)

kaiba
09-03-2006, 06:24 PM
i m waiting nervously 4 my spm results tis year, goin 2 b release next monday!! arh!! :twisted:
wat i reali wanna know is tat, is BNM's scholarship a wise choie?
i m not very active in sports, so can i manage 2 get it?? is there any interview?? N wat r the FAQ? i hope some1 out there can giv me a hand...thx XD[/quote]

juventus
09-03-2006, 07:14 PM
Applying for the scholarship is free. Why not just go ahead? You won't know what they are looking for anyway.

But make sure you fulfil their mininum requirements (6A1s). If you feel you are not active enough in sports, choose a course that is less popular. But make sure you enjoy that course.

Shortlisted applicants would be called for an interview.

kevinkent
09-03-2006, 09:22 PM
Hi, long time din visit recom already....

So, my questions are:

1. Is there anyone who had been through the BNM scholarship interview? Or anyone, BNM scholarship holder? Mind to share? How is the interview going to be? Is it like JPA's?

2. About the ten years' bond for the scholarship, does it mean that no matter which course we are choosing, the bond will still be in ten years? :roll:

thanks in advance.....

Larry
09-03-2006, 09:26 PM

So, my questions are:

1. Is there anyone who had been through the BNM scholarship interview? Or anyone, BNM scholarship holder? Mind to share? How is the interview going to be? Is it like JPA's?

2. About the ten years' bond for the scholarship, does it mean that no matter which course we are choosing, the bond will still be in ten years? :roll:

thanks in advance.....

I would want to add one more question in this post, where will the interview be held?

YJ
09-03-2006, 10:23 PM
One more question here.
Why for BNM scholarship application form, there is no English For Science And Technology for subject choosing?

Jhuen
09-03-2006, 11:07 PM

So, my questions are:

thanks in advance.....

I would want to add one more question in this post, where will the interview be held?

hi there!!i've been through the interview, and here a bit on how it was like during my time(spm 2004)there were two interviews the first was a case study(in groups). a solo presentation(eg, how can u stop a company from going bankrupt?) and essay writing. two essays, one in bm and the other in english

second interview: it was a three to one interview. questions included,(for me and several others) tell me about yourself, why do u think bnm needs u..what are the functions of bnm, so do your research folks!!

the interviews were held at bnm itself..they'll give u a taste of what it's like working there.. :wink:

well, all the best to you folks!!and, the bond's ten years..yet to meet anyone with less..except the three top scorers who are not bonded.

kevinkent
10-03-2006, 11:49 AM
Wow, I would never thought that this BNM interview will be tougher than JPA's interview....

Looks like I have some homework to do for now....

Thanks Jhuen for the info.... :P

10-03-2006, 02:06 PM
Erm.. right now we just need to wait for our spm result, and then fill in the form online rite?

Please correct me if i am wrong. Thx a lot in advance.

ty
10-03-2006, 02:18 PM
::::BNM online application:::

when i click on the online application form, a dialog box jus pop out and i need to type my username and password... :?

>>>Connecting to ntweb.mol.net.my

username:
password:

it's quite weird coz i dont have any username or password stuff...

my q is is anybody thr facing the same prob as me??

if not, whr to get the username and password? :?:

anyone?? thx in advance.... :wink:

kevinkent
10-03-2006, 02:32 PM

when i click on the online application form, a dialog box jus pop out and i need to type my username and password... :?

username:
password:

Eh? How come I dun have this kind of prob one?

Maybe you should try this...
http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=15&pg=20&ac=521
click on the online-application....

Just try first... see if you can get into it or not.... :P

YJ
10-03-2006, 04:52 PM
For those get oversea, the bond period is same as local one?

ty
10-03-2006, 05:03 PM

username:
password:

whoa!! i can get in already....thx a lot kevinkent!!
erm...i found out that v need to get our results then only v can apply!! :wink:

10-03-2006, 07:52 PM

Good... Thx

kevinkent
11-03-2006, 07:10 PM

username:
password:

you're welcome.... by the way, I wonder how you bump into the website that they need the user name and password??

Anyone outside there got this kind of prob??? :roll:

WinnieH
11-03-2006, 09:04 PM
i m waiting nervously 4 my spm results tis year, goin 2 b release next monday!! arh!! :twisted:
i m not very active in sports, so can i manage 2 get it?? is there any interview?? N wat r the FAQ? i hope some1 out there can giv me a hand...thx XD[/quote]

yes. my sister's friend got it and now she's in cambridge.

Leen
11-03-2006, 09:48 PM
i m not very active in sports, so can i manage 2 get it?? is there any interview?? N wat r the FAQ? i hope some1 out there can giv me a hand...thx XD

yes. my sister's friend got it and now she's in cambridge.[/quote]

Wonderful. Can you ask her or tell us what actually do we have to do for the interviews, how will the interviews be conducted, what do the interviewers look for?

Personal question if you dont mind, what subject is she doing? :roll:

Colin
02-04-2006, 12:12 AM
Btw, who knows when they release the results for the BNM scholarship??? They Just state " * Only short-listed candidates will be contacted. " So has anyone got a reply yet???

02-04-2006, 01:45 AM
No.. haven heard anything from them either.... i wonder what's taking them so long. their closing date was WAAAAAAAAAAAY earlier than JPA... yet, it's already April, and they can't even post the list for the shorlisted candidates. If i am not mistaken u still can change ur details in the form. WTH...

nookief
02-04-2006, 02:05 AM
uhuhu,
i applied this BNM stuff too
n got an email form them!
i was so happy!
i klik it n ...............
i need to refill the form, wuuuuuu
got technical error in their system!
so , the closing date has been postponed~
30th march! huhu!

Leen
02-04-2006, 11:50 AM
uhuhu,
i applied this BNM stuff too
n got an email form them!
i was so happy!
i klik it n ...............
i need to refill the form, wuuuuuu
got technical error in their system!
so , the closing date has been postponed~
30th march! huhu!

DAMN!! Now I am wayyyyyy past their dateline already. I dont even know that they postpone the date. DAMN NS!!! :x Another reason to hate NS. I just hope that I can still be shortlisted. Stupid NS. It only make my life miserable. What are the changes made in their form? Do they add in EST? What else are changed? The columns of kk??

nookief
02-04-2006, 01:28 PM
huhu! dun be so mad la bro!
haha! nope! still no est! huhu! dunno y they didnt
put it~

zigot14
02-04-2006, 01:31 PM
DAMN!! Now I am wayyyyyy past their dateline already. I dont even know that they postpone the date. DAMN NS!!! :x Another reason to hate NS. I just hope that I can still be shortlisted. Stupid NS. It only make my life miserable. What are the changes made in their form? Do they add in EST? What else are changed? The columns of kk??

Did you get the ID and password when you first applied? If yes then you're fine. They only send the email to those who didn't get the password and ID due to some technical error.

And no changes were made to the form. It was exactly the same as the previous one. Also, about the EST, i asked them about it and here's what they replied:

" We wish to inform you that the subject "English for Science and Technology (EST)" is not included in the "component score" for the first stage of shortlisting. Therefore, you don't have to fill in the score for the EST subject. However, if you have been shortlisted, you have to show the result of EST to the panel of interviewer. Thanks."

Byes.

02-04-2006, 01:51 PM
Some lame cover-up excuse for their technical error.. see? they don even bother to add the subject during the second correction.

02-04-2006, 01:52 PM
Rite.. can't blame them. EST is totally, utterly, useless.

Leen
02-04-2006, 01:55 PM
Rite.. can't blame them. EST is totally, utterly, useless.

Care to explain why it is useless? :lol:

nookief
02-04-2006, 02:06 PM
every knowledge is useful la bro!
[/quote]

02-04-2006, 03:01 PM
No.. i feel the subject is redundant... it's just another ENGLISH paper.

There's nothing scientific or techonlogy about it. Worse still, you can't further explain a situation using what you had learned from physics, chemistry, or biology. (be short and concise, don put in anything unnessesary, WTH?) Not to mention the paper itself is not testing your knowledge regarding science or technology, it's more on writing essay or something related to your english skills. And it's not really that english as well, my friend scored an A1 in 1119 but a B3 in EST. And his bubble dream of becoming a JPA scholar went popped just like that. The only thing i learn from EST is answering in the way they want. That's all!

Well, if you ask me, EST is worse than pendidikan jasmani. I would rather study for English in Physical Education, instead of English in Science and Technology.

Oh well, it's over, and now the latest spm batch is having their science and maths subjects in english.... Envy them.

Just my 2 cents... not to offend anyone :)

WinnieH
02-04-2006, 03:14 PM
One more question here.
Why for BNM scholarship application form, there is no English For Science And Technology for subject choosing?

same problem here... haih... have anyone been called for interview? i mean bnm?

nookief
02-04-2006, 03:49 PM
Oh well, it's over, and now the latest spm batch is having their science and maths subjects in english.... Envy them.

yup, but the plek thing is~
they still learn this est stuff!
weirdo!

Colin
03-04-2006, 06:21 PM
So from what i see the closing date's on the 30th?? So when do they send a reply?? They'll contact you by email??? I'm totally lost in this... This waiting is killing me... Does anyone have any uncles or aunties working in BNM?? If got then could you please do me a favour and enquire the details... I tried calling the office but no one pick up....

nookief
03-04-2006, 06:57 PM
dunno when will all the applicant will be notified~
no news from them~

lianawakaka
03-04-2006, 07:02 PM
im also waiting for the call...hermmm....wonder when is it...anybody who got called by bnm, please tell us here.....so that we dont have to wait anymore....huhuhuhuewww :roll:

kevinkent
03-04-2006, 07:09 PM
im also waiting for the call...hermmm....wonder when is it...anybody who got called by bnm, please tell us here.....so that we dont have to wait anymore....huhuhuhuewww :roll:

As for as I know, BNM don't offer medic.. then what you choose?

One in a million

Do you have any affiliation with local TV station??
hehe....

lianawakaka
03-04-2006, 07:47 PM
:arrow: kevinkent....
dont get me wrong here, my first choice is medic, my second choice is engineering, so i chose engineering from bnm....( for ur information, i tried petronas too)
that's y im in confusion to do medic or engineering or medical engineering....(medical engineering is not famous in malaysia, where to study pun i dont really know)

anyway, that one in a million thing, it's just a song....nice song to me

nookief
03-04-2006, 09:45 PM
hurm, where will the interview will be held?
last year?
cuz im in sarawak, n i think im the onli one
from swak to apply this scholar!
do i have to go to kL to be interviewed?

WinnieH
04-04-2006, 10:26 AM
So from what i see the closing date's on the 30th?? So when do they send a reply?? They'll contact you by email??? I'm totally lost in this... This waiting is killing me... Does anyone have any uncles or aunties working in BNM?? If got then could you please do me a favour and enquire the details... I tried calling the office but no one pick up....

yeah. i sent them email but no reply too. what kind of service is that? so stupid.

Jhuen
04-04-2006, 01:16 PM
last year?

yup u'll have to go to kl. interview's held at bank negara itself.

haihai
04-04-2006, 02:32 PM
last year?

yup u'll have to go to kl. interview's held at bank negara itself.[b]

Are the interview in English or.........like JPA or not? have to write eassy???? :)

nookief
04-04-2006, 02:39 PM
tq Jhuen for the info~

ice111
06-04-2006, 09:14 PM
Hello...
They will call us if we are shortlisted for the scholarships?
And when they will start calling , they will the house or handphone?

ice111
06-04-2006, 09:14 PM
Hello...
And when they will start calling , they will call the house or handphone?

WinnieH
07-04-2006, 10:30 AM
Hello...
And when they will start calling , they will call the house or handphone?

i dont know... anyone living in kuala lumpur? can do the favour to call the bank negara??

07-04-2006, 11:01 AM
Wat? No one receive any replies yet? Even JPA interview is over! Geeeeeeeeeeeez.....

I hope all BNM scholars take note on this. And when you guys work for BNM, voice it out and mend it for our juniors' sake!

WinnieH
07-04-2006, 12:12 PM
Wat? No one receive any replies yet? Even JPA interview is over! Geeeeeeeeeeeez.....

I hope all BNM scholars take note on this. And when you guys work for BNM, voice it out and mend it for our juniors' sake!

yeah......... seriously, the waiting is getting up on my nerves. im sick of waiting. it's been soooo long. the 7days closing date after spm is ages ago....

and i just called the headquarters of BNM. no one pick up... they say i'm being put to the line to the operator but no one pick up. sial.

then i call the johor bahru branches. the lady ask me to call headquarters. then i told her no one pick up. and she say : well, what do you think? it's a hot line.

duh.

MyImmortal
07-04-2006, 09:54 PM
I am from Sarawak too. We have to go KL!!!! If I really afford to go and fly here and there I won't be applying for this scholarship in the first place. Kesian my dad.. he surely say " just invest lah and get the experience...try ur luck..."

WinnieH
07-04-2006, 10:05 PM
I am from Sarawak too. We have to go KL!!!! If I really afford to go and fly here and there I won't be applying for this scholarship in the first place. Kesian my dad.. he surely say " just invest lah and get the experience...try ur luck..."
did u get the call from them??

MyImmortal
07-04-2006, 10:17 PM
no i din get a call...i check website also nothing...i am kinda hoping that i did not get shortlisted for the interview...cause my dad would insist to go there...*sigh....dun wanna waste his money..

rhinoceros
08-04-2006, 12:15 AM
hello jhuen. i've noticed that u said that u went for the bnm interview last year.. So, did u get their scholaship? if u did, where did they send u for further studies?

dyee
08-04-2006, 01:27 PM
i heard that bnm scholarship interview is the second toughest after SC scholarship!

yeithau
08-04-2006, 10:15 PM
i m wondering when is the shortlisted list will be release for bank negara scholarship.....?

kaiba
09-04-2006, 07:47 PM
i m wondering when is the shortlisted list will be release for bank negara scholarship.....?

ya....the waiting reali SUXX. wat r those BN ppl doin anyway? v ppl here r reali nervous...so hayaku!!!

munyi88
09-04-2006, 10:43 PM
what! they will call? haha, bnm really sxxx! :roll:
hopefully they will call me! i just found that i didn't get petronas.

CrosshaRe
09-04-2006, 10:44 PM
I wrote an email to them enquiring.. no reply yet..

YJ
09-04-2006, 11:41 PM
If not mistaken, will be known by mid of april

victorvandort
10-04-2006, 12:07 AM
any idea whether BNM interviews will be done in a day? or spread over a few days like JPA's interview?

10-04-2006, 12:10 AM
wat? mid april???? JPA result coming out mid mei ler........

That will automatically cancel off those who are getting JPA.. quite smart actually.

10-04-2006, 10:27 AM
OOO, i hope they don't do that. We need those scholarships!!

Larry
10-04-2006, 12:07 PM

That will automatically cancel off those who are getting JPA.. quite smart actually.

I thought the jpa result will come out in the end of April!

This is what the interviewer told us!

Thingy
10-04-2006, 12:11 PM

End of april..its for bumiputeras who apply for japan courses

kaiba
10-04-2006, 12:27 PM

End of april..its for bumiputeras who apply for japan courses

yes. those who r applied 2 study overseas, other then japan, results will only b release on may. so, keep waiting..

ngu
10-04-2006, 12:28 PM
how do i reappeal for jpa scholarship for my first degree program.i was in the spm 2004 batch and i got the interview but was rejected by jpa.My lecturer told me that we can still apply because there will be some scholars who did not achieve the entry requirement for uni.

Jhuen
10-04-2006, 08:27 PM
hello jhuen. i've noticed that u said that u went for the bnm interview last year.. So, did u get their scholaship? if u did, where did they send u for further studies?

yup, i did, fortunately. i'm currently studying in kyuem..basically if u're offered to go to uk, u'll end up here, but if u chose us or aus, then most probably they'll send u to intec

WatermelonSeed
23-06-2006, 03:56 PM
Any seniors here?
I need ur help..
I've been offered to do Economics under BNM but i'm not sure what subject to do for my A-Level.. Any suggestions? Btw, what's A and As Level? Or A2 Level?? Kind of blur bout A-Level..
Another thing> Is it likely that I've obtained a good results but i may not b accepted by the top uni in UK? then what should i do???

Jhuen
23-06-2006, 05:48 PM
hi watermelonseed.basically, a levels is divided into twp parst, AS and A2. AS is taken after a year of stduy, and A2 will the final exam. some colleges do not offer AS, it's not compulsory. but since you're going to KYUEM, well, best to let you know that all students here take AS.

there are two sittings for AS and A2, one in may/june and the other in oct/nov. to fulfill the minimum requirement for universities in the UK, you will need to take at least 3 subjects i.e three A2 subjects(meaning that, in KYUEM, u study the subject for 2 years),.however ,more and more unis are requiering 3 1/2 subs i.e u will need to study an additional sub for a year, and take the AS examination after the one year. might sound a bit confusing, but no worries!!!u'll understand all once u begin ur a levels. also,u can repeat your AS papers, if your results are satisfactory. and dont worry, BNM will cover the costs=)

usually, if you've got good results, u'll definitely be accepted. you have six unis to choose fom dear!!ECAs count as well.

bush
23-06-2006, 05:55 PM
Any seniors here?
I need ur help..
I've been offered to do Economics under BNM but i'm not sure what subject to do for my A-Level.. Any suggestions? Btw, what's A and As Level? Or A2 Level?? Kind of blur bout A-Level..
Another thing> Is it likely that I've obtained a good results but i may not b accepted by the top uni in UK? then what should i do???

I think KYUEM has computing.

In any case, Mathematics, Further mathematics and Economics is a good combination for university. But if BNM or KYUEM insists that you take an AS subject(excluding GP and thinking skills), take AS physics or any other thing you're comfotable with.

ECAs don't really count. Yes, even for Oxbridge. Though it is desired that you have a life outside the academics, it is not in any way compulsory for you to have an illustrious ECA records in your CV to gain admission. ie, admission tutors don't look at your ECAs to decide whether to offer you a place. Academic promise or potential is the sole quality they look for.

Jhuen
23-06-2006, 06:28 PM
Any seniors here?
I need ur help..

I think KYUEM has computing.

In any case, Mathematics, Further mathematics and Economics is a good combination for university. But if BNM or KYUEM insists that you take an AS subject(excluding GP and thinking skills), take AS physics or any other thing you're comfotable with.

ECAs don't really count. Yes, even for Oxbridge. Though it is desired that you have a life outside the academics, it is not in any way compulsory for you to have an illustrious ECA records in your CV to gain admission. ie, admission tutors don't look at your ECAs to decide whether to offer you a place. Academic promise or potential is the sole quality they look for.

yes, KYUEM offers computing as well..i beg to differ bush. in your personal statement, you would have to include your involvement in activities. although i admit it isnt compulsory in any case, it will be highly advantageous and may be the cutting edge for an university admission.besides, the unis only consider students with good grades in the first place. ecas will help them differentiate the better students from the good ones.

bush
23-06-2006, 07:07 PM
yes, KYUEM offers computing as well..i beg to differ bush. in your personal statement, you would have to include your involvement in activities. although i admit it isnt compulsory in any case, it will be highly advantageous and may be the cutting edge for an university admission.besides, the unis only consider students with good grades in the first place. ecas will help them differentiate the better students from the good ones.

Just look at the universities' selection criteria.

For engineering

The candidate's application should give evidence of the following qualities:

1. High academic ability and potential, particularly in mathematics and physical sciences, as evidenced by:
1. Actual achievement in recognised national and international public examinations already taken during the course of schooling (eg, GCSE, AS-levels, etc)
2. Predicted or actual achievement in recognised national and international public exams taken at the end of a candidate's school or college career (eg, A-levels, IB, etc).
3. Academic references from independent and objective referees familiar with the candidate's recent work.
2. An active and sustained interest in and enthusiasm for the engineered world, interpreted broadly.

Candidates invited for interview (whether in Oxford, or at an Overseas Centre) should expect an academic or technical interview. They should be able to demonstrate:

1. Fluency in expressing core knowledge and ideas in physics and mathematics
2. Ability to apply existing knowledge methodically to new situations
3. Ability to assimilate and apply new concepts
4. Rapidity in thinking and reasoning

and to be able to discuss their:

5. Commitment to intense and sustained learning
6. Interest in and enthusiasm for the engineered world.

http://www.eng.ox.ac.uk/World/Academic/Admissions/Ugraduate/index.html

For Law

Successful applicants for admission to our undergraduate law programmes possess the following qualities, and the admissions process as a whole is designed to identify which applicants possess them in the greatest measure:

Application: motivation and capacity for sustained and intense work;

Reasoning ability: ability to analyse and solve problems using logical and critical approaches, ability to draw fine distinctions, ability to separate the relevant from the irrelevant, capacity for accurate and critical observation, capacity for sustained and cogent argument, creativity and flexibility of thought and lateral thinking;

Communication: willingness and ability to express ideas clearly and effectively; ability to listen; ability to give considered responses.

Throughout the admissions process, tutors will be seeking to detect the candidate's future potential as a law student. Existing achievement (as revealed in official examinations, predicted examination results, and school reports), as well as performance in the written test and interview, is relied upon mainly as evidence of future potential.

http://denning.law.ox.ac.uk/undergraduate/criteria.shtml

Chemical engineering at Imperial,

The undergraduate courses in chemical engineering are intended for able students who are selected on the basis of academic ability as well as motivation. The former will normally be judged by performance in examinations, while the latter will be assessed at an interview which all applicants attend if they live within reasonable travelling distance, or if they can meet one of our staff in another place. In terms of Advanced Level grades, offers are normally made within the range AAA to ABB. In recent years more than three quarters of entrants had A-level points achievements of at least AAB. We insist on candidates offering Mathematics and Chemistry at A-level in addition to another subject at A-level (such as Physics or Biology, for instance).

http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/chemicalengineering/courses/undergraduate/admissions

These are a few examples,
You are putting it in such a way that if you do not have ECAs, you'll be left behind. That is not the case, Academic aptitude is what they look for, not whether you have climbed Mt Kalimanjaro or your other ECA and CCA achievements. Those two only serve as evidence that you have a life outside your studies and not as an added point for you to gain admission.

This is the UK, not US.

[/quote]

Jhuen
24-06-2006, 11:48 AM
yes, bush, academic qualities are important. i'm not denying it. the most important aspect they look at is your academic achievements.

indeed even if u have climbed mount everest, but u only got 3 C's, you may not gain admission. but if the students have equal results what then?apart from the extension papers and those of the likes of STEP? i'm not saying that u should join just to gain admission.most EcAs are fun to be involved in anyway. joining these activities will be helpful, at least a bit. but that doesnt mean you should prioritise ecas over academic abilitilites.

bush
24-06-2006, 03:38 PM
Then why and what are you disputing by suggesting that ECAs and CCAs are tie breakers? ie one would be at an advantage with an outstanding record of ECAs and CCAs. As in dicated here,

it will be highly advantageous and may be the cutting edge for an university admission.

They are not even considered in admission process to start with.

All I said is that academic aptitude is the one and only criterion, ECAs and CCAs do not play a role whatsoever. You disagree with that.

arun
25-06-2006, 10:14 AM
Hey has anyone heard from BNM about the first degree scholarship? The interview was around a month ago, but I haven't heard from them yet :?

Jhuen
25-06-2006, 11:27 AM
wow bush, u sound rather..exasperated...erm..

yeah, maybe you're right. and maybe i was wrong...but was just wondering then, why bother so much with personal statements and all if ecas were so insignificant??but, yeah, i supposed you're right..i mean, i dont have any facts to support me right?just logic..

cheers bush!!and chill out man!dont get so hyped up!have a nice day.

peace out..

bush
25-06-2006, 12:25 PM
wow bush, u sound rather..exasperated...erm..

yeah, maybe you're right. and maybe i was wrong...but was just wondering then, why bother so much with personal statements and all if ecas were so insignificant??but, yeah, i supposed you're right..i mean, i dont have any facts to support me right?just logic..

cheers bush!!and chill out man!dont get so hyped up!have a nice day.

peace out..

ECAs and CCAs indicate good time management skills. Also, it is particularly useful to relate your non-academic activities to the course that you intend to pursue. For example, a fellow applying to read medicine may put in cases where he spent his time reading up medical journals or working as an assistant at a nearby clinic during school holidays or volunteered to work for the Red Cross or whatever. These are written to show that one has a genuine interest and is motivated to pursue a said course. That's why it is encouraged to fill in some non-academic bits into the PS.

I don't mean to b*tchslap you or whatever.

Jhuen
25-06-2006, 05:26 PM
ECAs and CCAs indicate good time management skills. Also, it is particularly useful to relate your non-academic activities to the course that you intend to pursue. For example, a fellow applying to read medicine may put in cases where he spent his time reading up medical journals or working as an assistant at a nearby clinic during school holidays or volunteered to work for the Red Cross or whatever. These are written to show that one has a genuine interest and is motivated to pursue a said course. That's why it is encouraged to fill in some non-academic bits into the PS.

I don't mean to b*tchslap you or whatever.

Exactly!!if u're not involved in ecas, then how can u do that?by showing you've got good time management skills, leadership qualities ec, that will help in some way in gaining admission right??

and about the b*tchslap thingy..dont worry, i know you're bigger than that. unless my sense of judgement fails me.

bush
25-06-2006, 09:16 PM
Exactly!!if u're not involved in ecas, then how can u do that?by showing you've got good time management skills, leadership qualities ec, that will help in some way in gaining admission right??

and about the b*tchslap thingy..dont worry, i know you're bigger than that. unless my sense of judgement fails me.

Whatever the case, we need to be clear with one thing. They(ECAs and CCAs) do not effect admission chances.

In case you don't know, all of us have lives outside of studies, what sets us apart from those who managed to get into top colleges in the US is that they have CVs which are absolutely remarkable. Remarkable as in modifying genes of some fish so that it may glow in the dark or write book reviews and all.

Remember, mentioning that you play football when you're free or collect stamps or currencies won't work. That is precisely what applicants to the UK write, as it is enough to act as evidence of life outside studies.

Saying that the ECAs and CCAs help one to gain admission is an overstatement. More so for courses other than medicine. With proper grades and a decent personal statement, you'll be off to the UK in no time.

You can write(also encouraged to write) about the philosophy of life in your US application, but you'll be asked to cut the crap for the UCAS personal statement.

WatermelonSeed
25-06-2006, 10:09 PM
Jhuen:
How to know which one is u?? haha
will u b there with us during the one week induction?

cheese87
06-07-2006, 03:32 PM
Good afternoon my dear future colleague Watermelonseed!!! Allow me to shed some pointers on how to identify Jhuen :P

1. Speaks fast
2. Pony-tailed, straight hair
3. Round-rimmed specs
4. Black Motorola handphone
5. Trying v hard to speak Chinese
6. Quite loud voice but not as booming as Punit the Diva
7. Quite nervous at times
8. U will start to sweat profusely if u stand >1 minute beside her
9. Always on the go
10. V active, her molecules revolve and vibrate much faster than normal solid's at room temperature (new physics phenomenon)
11. U can c her almost anywhere in college
12. Corporate lady type
13. Takes part in 99% of college activities
14. Wears a black baju kurung with greenish-yellowish bunga or pink baju kurung with orangy-chocolatey-yellowish bunga occasionally, if not a black skirt...

K, I guess tat's enough for now... Should be easy for u.. Good luck!!! :D

With regards,
Chua@<hidden> Yang

p/s: u must belanja me at cafe later, coz i'm risking my life to help u... Jhuen's gonna kill me 4 tis.... :lol:

WatermelonSeed
06-07-2006, 10:00 PM
Good afternoon my dear future colleague Watermelonseed!!! Allow me to shed some pointers on how to identify Jhuen :P

1. Speaks fast
2. Pony-tailed, straight hair
3. Round-rimmed specs
4. Black Motorola handphone
5. Trying v hard to speak Chinese
6. Quite loud voice but not as booming as Punit the Diva
7. Quite nervous at times
8. U will start to sweat profusely if u stand >1 minute beside her
9. Always on the go
10. V active, her molecules revolve and vibrate much faster than normal solid's at room temperature (new physics phenomenon)
11. U can c her almost anywhere in college
12. Corporate lady type
13. Takes part in 99% of college activities
14. Wears a black baju kurung with greenish-yellowish bunga or pink baju kurung with orangy-chocolatey-yellowish bunga occasionally, if not a black skirt...

K, I guess tat's enough for now... Should be easy for u.. Good luck!!! :D

With regards,
Chua@<hidden> Yang

p/s: u must belanja me at cafe later, coz i'm risking my life to help u... Jhuen's gonna kill me 4 tis.... :lol:

sure, my dear senior. but if i am to treat u, then i muz ask another q again. How to identify u? wakaka. perhaps jhuen can help to answer.. =p

Jhuen
09-07-2006, 09:36 PM
Chua Zie yang!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
huh!!!i just saw your post..havent noticed it!!you're so so so dead man!

okay watermelon's seed.here's to identify this fella here.

Chua zie yang( quote: hi. let's start the ice breakingnow, my name's chua=)

1 very little hair on his head..a bit wavy.
2 goes around saying good morning,good afternoon and good evening to everyone(in english, kantonis)
3. teases u and then apologises profusely, which is extremely irritating.
4 smirks at ppl all the time.
5 blue nokia handphone(some old ancient model)
6 walks fast
7 carries a water bottle around, cant remember the colour.
8 okay, i admit it..he's good in badminton..
9 looks like an ah pek
10 during dinner, often wears white t shirts.
11 think he's bespectacled.(okay, i dont really notice u at times!!!)
12. rather proud of his angry elephant school.
13. and yah, lastly..ermm..he's er, not ..not really tall...in fact..he's kinda the opposite.k lah..average height..

alright, there!okay, i'll see u in college!chow chow!! :lol:

cheese87
09-07-2006, 10:01 PM

1 very little hair on his head..a bit wavy.
2 goes around saying good morning,good afternoon and good evening to everyone(in english, kantonis)
3. teases u and then apologises profusely, which is extremely irritating.
4 smirks at ppl all the time.
5 blue nokia handphone(some old ancient model)
6 walks fast
7 carries a water bottle around, cant remember the colour.
8 okay, i admit it..he's good in badminton..
9 looks like an ah pek
10 during dinner, often wears white t shirts.
11 think he's bespectacled.(okay, i dont really notice u at times!!!)
12. rather proud of his angry elephant school.
13. and yah, lastly..ermm..he's er, not ..not really tall...in fact..he's kinda the opposite.k lah..average height..

alright, there!okay, i'll see u in college!chow chow!! :lol:

Huhu.. c told ya! :lol: Well, I agree with all except the 1st one and 4th.. :P Well, my hair depends on season, like wild grass... After a holiday, it'll usually be v short... In two months time, I'll be growing a tropica rainforest on my head! :P Hmm.. and the 4th 1, sorry 2 say, erm..erm.. I just can't stop smilling n laughing sometimes when i see Jhuen,not really a smirk.. It just happen naturally and logically becoz i find her funny..in a nice way :lol: :lol: :lol:

LePip
12-07-2006, 12:13 AM

:

so true!

hi juniors (jhuenri, zieyang), not you other guys. hey guys haven't heard frm you all in a while... how's life back in college? well, if one of you does happen to read this anyway. miss irritable snrs like me yet?? :) hey... so how's all the bullying going? gee, i really am missing college huh. just hoping for a lil news here and there about all your bank negara company meetings over there. and how's my two daughters?? oh how you've grown *tear rolls down*
btw, sorry to chat like this, but yea did you guys make any progress on all that questionnaire panel thingy at bnm? how's the juniors?? meaning... any cute ones? haha. for zieyang!

cheese87
19-07-2006, 10:45 AM
Hihi there Ben!! Yup, missed you guyz alot!!! Came back monday evening, felt so lonely looking at u guyz' empty chalet.... :cry:

Come tuesday and enter the magnificent juniors.. you can't believe it, BNM sent a really big lot here! The situation's like this: last year we went to Scholar's Day in a van, this year we need a tour bus!! We've got around 27 BNM juniors (including those on special award)!!!! :) I even got a "the-others-called-him-my-clone@<hidden>" here!!! :D

Huhu, Samurai's over adi, v fun tat night! Yup we continued the TV room tradition(can't name it exactly here, sensitive).... fun too, only this time i get another round of it coz i acted as a junior... :P The juniors this year are cool!!! :wink: U'll get to meet them soon!! :wink: :wink: :wink: :lol:

To worsen ur nostalgia, i am typing this in front of a RC com... :twisted:

Rite, i think tat's it for now, hope to see you soon! Take care n God Bless! :)

far_peace87
25-07-2006, 01:46 PM
Ben ben!!!!!!!!

how are you how are you??heard your voice the other day!!u holidaying with avinder and all??hope u guys are enjoying yourselves!!

gosh, life in college is surely very different without you guys...what more being a senior now!!sigh..miss u guys a lot!come lah for the installation!!!!!!please please!!!!

yup, samural's all over!!juniors here are okay, just wait till you guys meet them!!bnm so semangat this yuear, sending so many over...like what zie yang said, 27 in total...we had a bnm lunch the other day, and boy, the ends were so far apart!the juniors had to come to the middle when they were to introduce themselves..,the bullying and all, haha, now that the induction week's over, almost doesnt exist.but i had fun during the induction wek..heheh..they just couldnt pronounce my name lah ben!!!

gotta go for class now, mr dant's..hope to see you soon!!!do take care, and may God bless you lots!!!

clairejia
14-08-2006, 12:44 AM

for national top scorers, three without. but for the rest of the successful applicants, there is a bond. 10 years

Wah, who on earth told you the bond is 10 years???

THE ACCURATE INFORMATION IS: you are bonded TWO years for every ONE year they sponsor you.

OK? NOT TEN YEARS.

bush
14-08-2006, 01:23 AM

THE ACCURATE INFORMATION IS: you are bonded TWO years for every ONE year they sponsor you.

OK? NOT TEN YEARS.

Pre-u, two years. Degree, 3-4 years. Doesn't it come up to 10 years?

clairejia
14-08-2006, 10:58 AM

OK? NOT TEN YEARS.

Pre-u, two years. Degree, 3-4 years. Doesn't it come up to 10 years?

what about those who apply while they are currently studying in the American Degree Transfer Program? Like me, I applied for BNM this March and I got it. I'm already halfway through my ADTP at INTI on a 100% no-bond scholarship. They offered to sponsor me for my remaining two years in US. So I'll be bonded for 4 years.

True, that those who are being sponsored for pre-u and degree may be bonded for 10 years. I was just trying to clear up the misinformation that ALL BNM scholars are bonded for 10 years flat. Hope it is clear now :wink:

Jhuen
20-08-2006, 08:14 PM
hello clariejia, how are you??yes, the accurate one would be two years of bondage for each year of sponsorship. but ten years, is the conventional one( two yers preu, 3 years uni), so i jut typed that done. my apologies for the mistake. shall i see u during scholar's day then?

clairejia
20-08-2006, 11:08 PM
scholar's day? what scholar's day? there is a scholar's day? lol. :lol:
are you also a bnm scholarship holder? mind telling me what perks and conditions they offer? i've yet to see the contract. but i've already received the offer letter.

clairejia
20-08-2006, 11:13 PM
Hey has anyone heard from BNM about the first degree scholarship? The interview was around a month ago, but I haven't heard from them yet :?

arun... remember me? i was interviewed on the same day as you! the chinese girl with the pink blouse, remember? btw, i saw your name in the papers today, congrats on getting 5A's man! so were you successful? they called me on 8 July to inform me.

WatermelonSeed
23-08-2006, 11:33 PM
Hey BNM Scholars.. How are u guys going back to college (he KYUEMians) after the annual dinner? I heard tat the college (or bank) is providing transport back to college, is it true??

Jhuen
24-08-2006, 05:48 PM
hi clareijia, yes i'm a scholar too, but i'm still doing my alevels;pre u scholarships..i'm not too sure about the scholars day;who's invitd and all...did u receive a letter from bnm?it's this tuesday.

hello watermelon's seed...akmal said that there will be no tranport from colleg, one van's being used to fetch east malaysians from klia,the other driver's on holiday..so we gotta arrange our own tranport..btw, u're from kl, shouldnt be a prob for you rite??hehe..we're allowed to reach college late.

ericjoe
05-04-2007, 06:21 PM
a friend of mine got a call from bank negara and she is selected 4 the interview!!!! anyone who has been selected plz leave a post on where, when and what time ur interview is...and most importantly how does bank negara contact the selected one...

liangfuhan
05-04-2007, 06:46 PM
i think your friend was the top 100 students in malaysia, my friend got called too.. it's a totally different award, than what we, 'average' students apply...

yhc
05-04-2007, 06:47 PM
erm, may i ask sth? what is the link to check for it?
thanks a lot.

05-04-2007, 06:51 PM
i think your friend was the top 100 students in malaysia, my friend got called too.. it's a totally different award, than what we, 'average' students apply...
Do you mean the bank negara special awards? Isn't that given to only the top 3 of M'sia? Wow, is your friend in the top 10?

ericjoe
05-04-2007, 06:55 PM
it is not an award..it is the scholarship!!! there is no link to check our status so far....i also have no idea how bank negara short listed the candidates..

05-04-2007, 07:02 PM
Really? U mean they called? how do they shortlist them?

liangfuhan
05-04-2007, 07:04 PM
my friend was 13th in the whole malaysia, top in perak... he studied in some boarding school, he's actually from PJ, yeah and it's great that he got it... he got shortlisted even without applying or anything, they don't even have to be bonded with them, their interview is tomorrow...

as for us, i have no clue la, i guess it'll be out soon... what did ur friend say, eric joe?

LeonZero
05-04-2007, 07:53 PM
well, i saw something at their own website.

its located at the most most bottom of the page...

* Only short-listed candidates will be contacted.

DarlingAngel
05-04-2007, 08:28 PM
When will the rest of us know?

honweng
05-04-2007, 10:18 PM
I got it.
I received a call on this tuesday..
But i was not at home.
So, later i called her back.
Sho told me i am shortlisted.
But i dont have very good result!

ericjoe
05-04-2007, 10:32 PM
I got it.
But i was not at home.

how did the lady call u back? u were not at home.. how come u know u had a call from bank negara? how is ur result?

DarlingAngel
05-04-2007, 10:39 PM
When's the interview?

honweng
05-04-2007, 10:39 PM
24 april

honweng
05-04-2007, 10:44 PM
I got 10As only

DarlingAngel
05-04-2007, 10:44 PM
great!still have time to contact ppl like erm..me:)

mi1_niyiL
05-04-2007, 10:48 PM
^^^

haha, ur really optimistic :)

keep up the spirit!!! :D

cj6455
05-04-2007, 11:29 PM
if now still haven receive a call means no chance alr???does d interview carried out in juz 1 day??

Yvonne89
06-04-2007, 12:04 AM
i dont think priority is given to top 100. i was listed as top 100, but didnt even get the call till today....

Btw, i got a call from 2331**** (cant remember) could it be bank negara?

i dun think so, thats kl number, so somewhere near klcc.

Zxong122
06-04-2007, 12:17 AM
I got it.
But i was not at home.

how did the lady call u back? u were not at home.. how come u know u had a call from bank negara? how is ur result?

Sorry,I would like to ask a question.I did also apply for national bank.Today I am going to jpa interview.Then I receive a phone from Putrajaya.But when i receive it ended,probably is because i din notice it.But then i didnt care about it.I would like to know is 03-88823331 the number ?

boy89_12A1
06-04-2007, 01:10 AM
my friend was 13th in the whole malaysia, top in perak... he studied in some boarding school, he's actually from PJ, yeah and it's great that he got it... he got shortlisted even without applying or anything, they don't even have to be bonded with them, their interview is tomorrow...

as for us, i have no clue la, i guess it'll be out soon... what did ur friend say, eric joe?

Hello, what on the earth is happening here,
he didn't even apply and yet still he is called for the interview ?? Is it a joke ??

Your friend must have been a bumi.....

Tasslehoff
06-04-2007, 01:15 AM
Bank Negara has a list of your actual SPM marks (ask any BNM scholar)

Hence they can pick those on the top end of the list and get thier contacts. In previous years, there are some that has gotten into the interview without even applying.

yhc
06-04-2007, 01:28 AM
but that sounds ridiculous..

boy89_12A1
06-04-2007, 01:30 AM
a friend of mine got a call from bank negara and she is selected 4 the interview!!!! anyone who has been selected plz leave a post on where, when and what time ur interview is...and most importantly how does bank negara contact the selected one...

when will the rest of us will know ???

2day its already friday.... hopefully thay will call us 2day...

the next 2days, considered off days

boy89_12A1
06-04-2007, 01:37 AM

Hence they can pick those on the top end of the list and get thier contacts. In previous years, there are some that has gotten into the interview without even applying.

Maybe, but getting BNM scholarship is not easy... there r a few stages of interview

Tasslehoff
06-04-2007, 01:43 AM

Maybe, but getting BNM scholarship is not easy... there r a few stages of interview

No one said it was easy ^_^ Your grades may get you into the interview, but it boils down to your performance there to gain the scholarship :)

boy89_12A1
06-04-2007, 01:56 AM

No one said it was easy ^_^ Your grades may get you into the interview, but it boils down to your performance there to gain the scholarship :)

have u been to that interview since u know so much ???

Tasslehoff
06-04-2007, 02:09 AM
Nope. BNM doesnt offer ChemEng

I've a few friends who has gotten the scholarship last year and have shared with me in detail thier interview experience so that I can aid my juniors who are applying for the scholarship this year ^_^

zulaikha
06-04-2007, 08:17 AM
i dont think priority is given to top 100. i was listed as top 100, but didnt even get the call till today....

Btw, i got a call from 2331**** (cant remember) could it be bank negara?

i dun think so, thats kl number, so somewhere near klcc.

Yvonne89 i think the number belongs to petronas..
i received a phone call yesterday from petronas..the number>>03-23314830 :)

Excal
06-04-2007, 11:04 AM
I called the BNM and found out that I was not shortlisted. Too bad only 120 people are shortlisted. Those who are not called now might be called later if someone from the 120 don?t want it; very UNLIKELY though. What hard luck, people. :( Nvm now putting my sights on Petronas. :P

Zxong122
06-04-2007, 12:25 PM
I called the BNM and found out that I was not shortlisted. Too bad only 120 people are shortlisted. Those who are not called now might be called later if someone from the 120 don?t want it; very UNLIKELY though. What hard luck, people. :( Nvm now putting my sights on Petronas. :P

May I know the num of bank negara ?

liangfuhan
06-04-2007, 04:21 PM
i just called bank negara, they will only call the top 100 students (both academically and active in cocurricular activities) in malaysia for the interview, and if they do not find a certain amount of recipients suitable for the scholarship, they will contact the second 100 students, and i'm sad to say that I guess i'll have to wait another week.

honweng
06-04-2007, 10:21 PM
Forget to tell something. Bank Negara scholarship is from 8.00am-4.00pm on 24april at Bank Negara.

gabrielle
06-04-2007, 10:34 PM

you sure your friend was top in perak? my friend who sat in front of me got 14A1s and was supposed to be the top in perak.no offence. just clarifying

liangfuhan
06-04-2007, 10:48 PM
apparently, it doesn't go by the number of A1s you get, instead they go by your raw score. I don't know, but i'm pretty sure he's top in perak and 13th in malaysia

gabrielle
06-04-2007, 10:56 PM
apparently, it doesn't go by the number of A1s you get, instead they go by your raw score. I don't know, but i'm pretty sure he's top in perak and 13th in malaysia
is he from mckk?

sweetiojj
07-04-2007, 12:39 AM
can i know what is the phone num for bank negara?

rulb
07-04-2007, 10:01 AM

Yeah. It doesn't really matter if you're top in Perak or in some other state. You might or might not get it if you're top. Even if you're not so top, you might have a chance at it. As far as I can recall, the interview was over a few days or maybe even 2 weeks. Last year, I think they called people in stages. Who knows. There's still a possibility they'll call people up.

jhmh
07-04-2007, 12:25 PM
ish...all this suspense is killing me.

07-04-2007, 12:29 PM
Good luck to all of you! Bank Negara has a much higher standard interview compared to JPA's. Is harder but take it as a challenge!

07-04-2007, 01:54 PM
When is the last day when BNM officially stop calling the candidates phone no. Cause I haven't got any news and is still optimistic about my chances :D

propapanda
08-04-2007, 11:25 PM
hey there ^^

i just wanna know if this "call" you guys have been talking about is concerning the pre-u scholarships or the first degree scholarship, and if the interview date is for both types of scholarship since each has a diff closing date.

TIA. 8)

honweng
09-04-2007, 03:11 PM
Can i know anyone is also shortlited so far? I want to confirm the date n time.

09-04-2007, 04:53 PM

you sure your friend was top in perak? my friend who sat in front of me got 14A1s and was supposed to be the top in perak.no offence. just clarifying

r u from ave maria... bcoz d 14 A1 student u meant most probably is d gal Choo ...?

nysha
09-04-2007, 11:04 PM

they call u up...tats hw u noe u gt selected...mine is on the 25th april...btw any1 hu is a bank negara scholar any tips please..do share thm i am desperate for tips thanks....btw u will b informed bout the scholarship by tis week if u r short listed (the bnk negara officer told me dat)
Half-Baked (http://half-baked.com)

WatermelonSeed
09-04-2007, 11:17 PM
hey there ^^

i just wanna know if this "call" you guys have been talking about is concerning the pre-u scholarships or the first degree scholarship, and if the interview date is for both types of scholarship since each has a diff closing date.

TIA. 8)

If i am not mistaken, it should b pre-u one.

DarlingAngel
10-04-2007, 08:45 AM
Has anyone from Kuching been called?

anglerfish_9
10-04-2007, 10:05 AM
Can I know the phone no. for Bank Negara ? Thanx

nysha
10-04-2007, 11:58 AM
tis is bank negara's number 0326907246............u cn cALLem up n ask em to check 4 u....thy will do it ya noe....best of luck...gambate
PAYMENT PROTECTION INSURANCE ADVICE (http://www.insurance-forums.org/payment-protection-insurance/)

Excal
10-04-2007, 12:04 PM
Contact Information

Recruitment & Scholarship Section
Human Resource Management Department
11C, Bank Negara Malaysia
Jalan Dato' Onn
50480 Kuala Lumpur

Tel. No. : +60 3 2692 5373, +60 3 2690 7246, +60 3 2690 7242
Fax No. : +60 3 2698 7929 / +603 2694 2909
E-mail : recruit@<hidden>

p.s. Hope it helps

nysha
10-04-2007, 12:08 PM
hey any1 hu gt called frm khazanah whn is ur interview??? haiz...have all the candidates been called up ady???weird i called khazanah just a while ago n they told me dat the interview is being conducted????
Ebony fuck tube (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/296/ebony/videos/1)

-ELaiNE-
10-04-2007, 05:39 PM
Wait..do we still stand a chance to be called or what?
I'm blur..some people said there'll be a few stages of interview and they may notify us later but others said the interview has already been or is already being conducted..(this applies for both khazanah and bank negara)
Why can't they do it like JPA? Let us check our status online and conduct the interview in a stretch of 3-4 days? Why complicate things and make us live in suspense? Swt.. :roll:

wenn
10-04-2007, 06:50 PM
i juz came back from khazanah interview.......i saw the lady that was in the registration counter kept calling ppl to come interview tomorrow
i think u just have to wait , n still hav chance to get the scholarship

rulb
10-04-2007, 08:00 PM

they call u up...tats hw u noe u gt selected...mine is on the 25th april...btw any1 hu is a bank negara scholar any tips please..do share thm i am desperate for tips thanks....btw u will b informed bout the scholarship by tis week if u r short listed (the bnk negara officer told me dat)

Be yourself and of course be sure about why you want that particular course and country. Quick thinking and confidence are also important. From what I went through last year, be prepared to do presentations, group work, BM and English essays and of course individual interview.

10-04-2007, 09:44 PM
Hi, I received my phone call from Bank Negara yesterday. They say I got an interview this Thursday (12 April 2007). So, wish me luck and I hope to see some of you there.

10-04-2007, 09:48 PM
And I won't be available this few days because I need to board the plane and will be not have any internet connection.

pjaya89
10-04-2007, 09:49 PM
Hi, I received my phone call from Bank Negara yesterday. They say I got an interview this Thursday (12 April 2007). So, wish me luck and I hope to see some of you there.
you are in the top 100 right? :P

10-04-2007, 10:16 PM
Yup, in the top 100

11-04-2007, 01:39 AM
i juz came back from khazanah interview.......i saw the lady that was in the registration counter kept calling ppl to come interview tomorrow
i think u just have to wait , n still hav chance to get the scholarship

Oh darling ~
I lOve u~
u r d only one bringing hopes to us ...
oh oh oh ...
hope tat I won fall down into d valley~ :?

nysha
11-04-2007, 09:06 AM

Hello, what on the earth is happening here,
he didn't even apply and yet still he is called for the interview ?? Is it a joke ??

Your friend must have been a bumi.....

its soooo ridiculous...hw cn sum1 hv nt applied n yet been shortlisted???
Toyota kz engine (http://www.toyota-wiki.com/wiki/Toyota_KZ_engine)

honweng
11-04-2007, 09:21 AM
Does anyone go to BNM scholarship interview on 24th April??

nysha
11-04-2007, 11:13 AM
any 1 on the 25th??? pls do reply me ....
HA-420 HONDAJET (http://www.honda-wiki.org/wiki/Honda_HA-420_HondaJet)

11-04-2007, 09:14 PM
Prince_J of recom is one the excellent BNM scholars that is admitted into University of Chicago, ranked 8th in the world. Anyone who wants to contact him just search for his email and he will be more than willing to help you guys out.

prince_J
11-04-2007, 09:50 PM
....... :oops: -_-!!!

seiryu... dun flatter me...

well, juniors... good luck in your interviews ya..
showcase ur talent in the whole process...

for example, i sang in my interview...."Angels Brought Me Here"...

ha ha...and tell them how good u are, but remember, do not sound cocky and as if u are boasting.. :)

wanna know anything, just pm me..

BANK NEGARA ROCKS!!!

boy89_12A1
12-04-2007, 05:01 PM

what time is ur interview ? my kl friends are goin on that day 2

nysha
12-04-2007, 07:16 PM

what time is ur interview ? my kl friends are goin on that day 2

8 am...haiz...nervous
HERBALAIRE (http://herbalairevaporizer.com/)

honweng
12-04-2007, 09:51 PM
Do i have to prepare anything 4 BNM scholarship interview? I am quite nervous now. What should i behave? Can anyone pls help me?

prince_J
13-04-2007, 11:40 AM
hmm....

just do your best and be yourself...

and never try too hard to express yourself...:)

hope to see u guys as my junior ya!!

13-04-2007, 11:58 PM
Ahh. Finish the BNM interview. Damn nice the inteviewers. One of the nicest person I saw. Wish I can repeat the process again.

14-04-2007, 12:00 AM
Ohh. And just in case anyone was wondering. My interview was for the top SPM students not the one where you apply online.

yhc
14-04-2007, 12:18 AM
Ahh. Finish the BNM interview. Damn nice the inteviewers. One of the nicest person I saw. Wish I can repeat the process again.

I see, how was it being conducted? mind to share with us?

nysha
14-04-2007, 12:23 AM

I see, how was it being conducted? mind to share with us?

yeah pls do share wid us...i m sure evry one wuld luv to noe
HARMED BY PAXIL (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/paxil/)

14-04-2007, 01:19 AM
Ohh. And just in case anyone was wondering. My interview was for the top SPM students not the one where you apply online.

so u meant for those applied on9 still not out yet ? :P

nysha
14-04-2007, 08:43 AM

so u meant for those applied on9 still not out yet ? :P

its all out ady...yesterday was the last day to call up the candidates :?
JAILBROKEN (http://jailbroken.org/)

Vint
14-04-2007, 09:49 AM
yesterday was the last daY??? 8O

14-04-2007, 02:04 PM
Well, my interview was using a different format than the one where you apply online so I can't help you with this.

They told me it is a little bit stricter cause there is a lot of applicants.

nysha
14-04-2007, 06:42 PM

yeah im sure abt dat.
PROBLEMS FROM NEXIUM (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/nexium/)

yahoo1234
14-04-2007, 06:59 PM

yeah im sure abt dat.

r u sure about that ? who told u ? Where did u get the source of info ? :?:

propapanda
14-04-2007, 08:30 PM
hey there ^^

TIA. 8)

If i am not mistaken, it should b pre-u one.

thanks yeah ^^ and best of luck to those goin for the interview~!

nysha
14-04-2007, 11:35 PM

yeah im sure abt dat.

r u sure about that ? who told u ? Where did u get the source of info ? :?:

the nice lady frm bank negara told my fren whn he called her up to check his application status...
Prilosec attorney (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/prilosec/)

honweng
15-04-2007, 10:26 PM
Anyone will go on 23th april?? Just wanna to find someone who is going the same day like me...

-ELaiNE-
16-04-2007, 05:07 PM
I don't think bank negara has quite finish calling people up yet. My friend just received a call this morning. He applied for law..interview's on 30th April. Another friend of mine applied for econs and his interview's on 25th April. According to him(he called up bnm), they segregate applicants based on the courses they applied. Actuarial science interview is on 23-24th, economics 25-27th, law 30th and so on.. btw, i applied for mathematics. I'm still anticipating their call. If anybody who applied for maths receives a call please post here. Thanks! :D

honginn89
16-04-2007, 09:51 PM
hey thats me..
the friend that elaine said...
applying for econs and going to be interview on 25th of april...
so nervous... any tips from seniors or anyone who just when through the interview???

nysha
16-04-2007, 09:54 PM
hey thats me..
the friend that elaine said...
applying for econs and going to be interview on 25th of april...
so nervous... any tips from seniors or anyone who just when through the interview???

hey luks like i will b seein u there huh....cool...
Kids Prilosec (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/prilosec/)

ordinarypoet
18-04-2007, 09:58 AM
How about accounting or corporate finance? Is there anyone here who applied for those? Those were the two courses I chose... if anyone applied for that and got a call, kindly post about it here!!

to hear you guys saying that they segregate the interview dates based on course gives me some glimmer of hope. I thought this was over and done with last week!

19-04-2007, 02:16 AM
Anyone going on 9th of May ?

-ELaiNE-
19-04-2007, 01:32 PM

Are you going on the 9th? Can i know what course you applied for? I'm still waiting for the call..gosh, they seem to take forever to call everyone up..lembap la bnm.. 8)

19-04-2007, 03:11 PM

Are you going on the 9th? Can i know what course you applied for? I'm still waiting for the call..gosh, they seem to take forever to call everyone up..lembap la bnm.. 8)

they wont call u unless u gt it... my 1st choice is account, then actuarial science.. since d dates for actuarial sciencs over(according ur logictics ) .. then mayb I gt selected for account... haiz.. y no engineering courses for BNM... mayb I can design their building mah.. wakakaka...

ordinarypoet
19-04-2007, 08:33 PM
JetLee0510: may i know when did you get the call from BNM?

19-04-2007, 09:40 PM
JetLee0510: may i know when did you get the call from BNM?

tis Tues. but actually they called many times bt I dun realize..

prince_J
19-04-2007, 10:11 PM
no worries...

bank negara will call you till you receive the phone call...

since so many juniors asking me on how the interview being conducted, means well i just post it here...

just do a brief intro..

i did my SPM in 2005 and now a student in INTEC, Shah Alam under Bank Negara Scholarship... USA- University of Chicago , major- economics....

initial country that i applied - australia
initial major i applied - law

Well.. the whole interview is kinda relazing if you don't take it too hard... i repeat, not too hard, but take it seriously! :D

This is how it was being conducted LAST YEAR!!!
it can be divided into 4 parts...

1st- Essay Writing

Normal SPM essay question... suppose to have time limit... but just write till the very last minute... puan rafidah is not the "pengawas" SPM that will pull away your paper.. and yeah, there will be one in english, one in BM!! maybe u would like to try out some questions that can "hint" bank negara on why they should choose you!

2nd - CAse Study - Individual

u will be given a task.. like "the apprentice".. you are the project manager with no people to help you.. but u only got to plan the whole event... think creatively and carefully... if you are president for an active club such as interact or leo club, this part should be easy for you!!! try to convince the evaluator with every plan u make...

3th - CAse study - group

u will be given a task... but this time, u got a role to play... like secretary, director, manager.. bla bla bla...
so, remember to play only your part only... dun "pandai-pandai" try to act as if you are capable to do every single task.. if u are tresurer, just take care of the monetary section... but of course, at times, u gotta react according to situation! :)
This task is actually to see how well u are a team player...

4th - Personal Interview

Be yourself... the question are mostly personal questions.. like why u love to play badminton? and some same old interview common questions.... be yourself... trust me..

in general, bank negara's interview is really fun!!! and the interviewers are really nice people too.. so no worries... maybe u guys will want to read through the bank negara policies and working ethics before going... it is nothing important, but if that can show that u did your homework be4 going, so y not?

try to showcase ur talent on that day... but only if u can convince the evaluator or interviewers to let u show it... for example, i sang "angels brought me here" at the end of my interview.. ha ha~ what an experience!

so guys... i think my elaborations is detailed enough gua~
but this is what happen last year!! maybe anyone from this year batch will want to add on or correct me.. just do it!!

so, see ya!! hope to see you guys here... and oh ya..

if i'm not mistaken, if u are selected to go US.. u will come to INTEC on either 18th of june or 2nd july.. there will be two batches!! so see ya!!!

19-04-2007, 10:31 PM
Prince_J.. u r reli helpful... THANKS A LOT ~

honweng
19-04-2007, 10:47 PM
Thanks!! Prince_J. U really help me so much!

prince_J
20-04-2007, 01:06 AM
he he~

not at all... actually, need you guys to be my juniors so that i can sell all my books to you!! wahaha~ can give discount some more... ha ha~

joking joking~ :twisted:

rossycarnation
20-04-2007, 07:34 AM
i got a call from bank ngr on 16th apr...

mine is on 30th apr, 8am..

prince_J, or anyone!!! can i know wether the interview session will be conducted in english or malay language?? :roll:

20-04-2007, 10:50 AM
he he~

not at all... actually, need you guys to be my juniors so that i can sell all my books to you!! wahaha~ can give discount some more... ha ha~

joking joking~ :twisted:

reli ? is the books same even for different courses .. ?

no koing no joking ~ :evil:

20-04-2007, 10:50 AM
i got a call from bank ngr on 16th apr...

mine is on 30th apr, 8am..

prince_J, or anyone!!! can i know wether the interview session will be conducted in english or malay language?? :roll:

oh yea u reminded me... ask PRINCE OF JAMAICA... haha...
bt I tink it shd be in english lah,,

20-04-2007, 04:25 PM
I just got another call from BN saying I can have another interview on 24 April. The problem is, should I accept it because of the short notice they gave me and I still need to buy the plane tickets. :?

juliaroxxx
20-04-2007, 09:15 PM
is there any way i can check my application form online? forgot what i picked as my 2nd choice T.T...

juliaroxxx
20-04-2007, 09:19 PM
anyone goin on the 4th of May??

rulb
20-04-2007, 11:49 PM
I just got another call from BN saying I can have another interview on 24 April. The problem is, should I accept it because of the short notice they gave me and I still need to buy the plane tickets. :?

Why another interview?? Common sense will tell you that if you don't go, your chances of getting the scholarship will be -50%. E.Malaysia?

yhc
21-04-2007, 12:53 AM

Why another interview?? Common sense will tell you that if you don't go, your chances of getting the scholarship will be -50%. E.Malaysia?

yeah, grab the chance you have!! do you know how many people outside there are eagerly waiting for the chances and were being turned down....?

it's your chance...

liangfuhan
21-04-2007, 01:48 AM
Yeah I think that you should give it a try, but if you're nt willing to, fine by me, i mean - less men more share... WHEE!

haha, I'm not that mean by the way. Oh yeah, i got called for a session on the 27th of April, 8 am to 4 pm...

21-04-2007, 01:04 PM
capablanca... since u went to the 1st interview... so y nt continue it... ?
if nt tis will waste ur effort b4, n if u go tis time, u might get it , rite ?

btw, my interview on 9th of MAy.

21-04-2007, 01:40 PM
Yup, I am from East Malaysia. The problem is that I still need to buy the air plane tickets and it is very stressful to travel in such short notice. I experience it during my first interview. Anyway, I still have school on that day and I also has a science competition that day.

rossycarnation
21-04-2007, 02:04 PM
actually, what do we have to bring for the interview??

passport-sized photo, certificates, spm result??
the original or copy ?? 8O

hehe...somebody can answer?? :roll:

liangfuhan
21-04-2007, 02:18 PM
i think we have to bring our original certificates, i'm not too sure about certified copies

nysha
21-04-2007, 03:28 PM

yup...passport size pic ur ori cert n results ------------->accordin to wat she told me.......n yah dun 4get ur ic :D
WASHINGTON MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARY (http://washington.dispensaries.org/)

-ELaiNE-
21-04-2007, 04:39 PM
Anybody who applied for Mathematics got called for interview already?? 8O

21-04-2007, 05:08 PM
Can anyone tell me if those who applied for accountancy have been called for interview?

21-04-2007, 10:57 PM
Yup, I am from East Malaysia. The problem is that I still need to buy the air plane tickets and it is very stressful to travel in such short notice. I experience it during my first interview. Anyway, I still have school on that day and I also has a science competition that day.
then u hv to decide which one to put down.. I guess bank negara scholarship interview is worth going..

21-04-2007, 10:57 PM

they said original only ... no need bring copy

21-04-2007, 10:59 PM
Can anyone tell me if those who applied for accountancy have been called for interview?

mayb I'm the one u r looking ?
Accountancy is my 1st choice n acturial science 2nd...

21-04-2007, 11:53 PM
Huh, they didn't see the certs when I went there last time. But then, they also ask me to bring it, what a waste of energy.

rulb
22-04-2007, 01:31 AM

Well, I guess you can call yourself lucky or unlucky for getting the second interview. Most people only have one. But if BNM is the one you want, then you better go for the interview. It's like you're surrendering even before you step into the 2nd interview if you don't go. Many people would die to be in your place. I don't see what's so stressful about travelling on short notice. I did that as well last year. 3 days to get ready. If you think this is stressful, then better think 3,4, 5, 6, 7, 8,9, or 100 times. Any scholarship will give you stress even if some people refuse to admit it. You have to live up to your sponsor's , parents' and your own expectations day in and day out. Wait till you have to do your application for uni. Even more headaches are bound to come your way. This is just the start. Once you get your hand on any scholarship, there's more to come. If a good education, an overseas experience, a chance to broaden your social network, a chance to be part of a different culture and ultimately, success are what you're looking for, there'll always be stress. It's just the way you look at it, deal with it and live with it. Sacrifice is like a ritual that one has to make just to get something good. Success doesn't come easy. Just a piece of my mind.

rossycarnation
22-04-2007, 07:53 AM
Huh, they didn't see the certs when I went there last time. But then, they also ask me to bring it, what a waste of energy.

since u experienced the interview, why not u tell us how was the interview session???

is it the same like prince_J had told us??

we have to write essays? :roll:

nysha
22-04-2007, 10:28 AM

since u experienced the interview, why not u tell us how was the interview session???

is it the same like prince_J had told us??

we have to write essays? :roll:

yeah pls do tell us more bout da interview k.. thnks...
Body science (http://bodyscience.ws/)

22-04-2007, 01:42 PM
My previous interview is not like yours. But when they called me for the second time, they mentioned something about needing to write essay, do presentation and so on. The time is from 8.00 to 4.00 which means one whole day.

honweng
22-04-2007, 08:24 PM
I am going to the interview tomorrow. Wish me good luck!!!

yhc
22-04-2007, 11:17 PM

ooh... ALL THE BEST!!! :D

rossycarnation
22-04-2007, 11:44 PM

good luck honweng!!!!

n don't 4get to tell us ur experience!!!heheh :D

Matt
22-04-2007, 11:53 PM
are the bank negara scholarship results for those who are applying for undergrad (not foundation leading to undergrad) out yet?

liangfuhan
23-04-2007, 04:57 PM
does anyone know whether the candidates are required to fill up the form during the interview?

23-04-2007, 05:58 PM
Sigh, didn't get it. But it is not my loss (eventhough it is). When one door closed, the other opened. Good luck to you guys.

liangfuhan
23-04-2007, 07:19 PM
capablanca, i thought that you were the one contemplating whether should you be travelling from east malaysia for the second interview? what happened?

well, anyway, just keep up with the other scholarshipa applications, I'm sure with that determintation of yours, you'd make it... whee!

rossycarnation
23-04-2007, 08:26 PM
yeah...what happen capablanca???

and...where's honweng?? how was the interview??

really hope honweng can tell us about the interview.. :D

heheheh...plz..

rulb
23-04-2007, 09:05 PM
does anyone know whether the candidates are required to fill up the form during the interview?

had to fill in last year but i brought my internet printout(im always paranoid so i print everything) so i just hand that in. Not sure about this year.

liangfuhan
23-04-2007, 10:22 PM
oh okay, but would that include filling up the personal details like race, religion, parents IC number?

wht about cocurricular activities

rossycarnation
24-04-2007, 09:22 AM
do we need to bring birth certificate???

n our parents' birth certificates??? salary slip??

24-04-2007, 10:11 AM
So is the result out or not? Why is someone saying that they didn't get it while others are asking about what to bring for the interview :? ?