View Full Version : The facebook

chocoholique
14-04-2004, 11:58 AM
Hey you dukies, join the facebook so that i can add you *GRIN*

Nadiah

aquila
15-04-2004, 07:45 AM
wahh... way to promote thefacebook.com Well, it reached Duke on Sunday and it's taking the campus by storm.. kinda anyways.. :P neat 'lil idea i must say

for those of you whose colleges are in thefacebook.com, add me too!

18-04-2004, 05:28 PM
Facebook? What's that? Something exclusive for Dukes only?

18-04-2004, 06:23 PM
Facebook is a networking website for student from listed university or college. Is it possible for those,who are not student in either one of the university/college but keen to have some contact with the students there, to register?

aquila
19-04-2004, 11:03 AM
Unfortunately, now it's open to all ivy leagues, duke, stanford, uva, bu, nyu, mit only. The founders are thinking of extending it but I don't know when. You guys will probably have to wait for a while.

it's a neat lil idea like i said. Almost like a race to see who has the most friends. That said, my mailbox has been flooded with requests for the past week. ;P

19-04-2004, 11:07 AM
meh, looks like nothing more than a glorified, elitist friendster. but that's not to say that i won't check it out if michigan is included. :D

20-04-2004, 05:30 AM
too bad that only a small percentage of Cornell students are aware of it... I think the expansion is pretty fast... They have been adding a few universities per week for the past few weeks..

20-04-2004, 05:47 AM
On the contrary, it was a phenomena in Stanford., with >7000 student signing up in the first 1 or 2 weeks. Actually, with all these friedster, orkut, linkedin, facebook etc coming up, what kind of business / initiative can we try to do here @<hidden> recom?

aquila
20-04-2004, 11:10 AM
It's now open to U of Illinois. I know some of ya are there so add me, yer!

25-04-2004, 01:09 PM
<s>elitist, glorified friendster</s> thefacebook.com has made its way to michigan. add me guys!

aquila
25-04-2004, 02:00 PM
haha... welcome to the "other" tool of procrastination... u sure u wanna join? anyways, search me up at duke.. sally ong.. pretty ez to find

26-04-2004, 09:15 AM
yeap, sent a request to add you. james ng. looks like chenchow has many friends, i'm guessing most are from recom. i think i'll just add everyone from chenchow's list hehe.

26-04-2004, 09:51 AM
are you guys sure its not friendster like?

coz if it is, hell with it.

aquila
26-04-2004, 09:54 AM
it is friendster like... also i can't seem to confirm u to my list of friends, topdog, if u want u can try adding me again

26-04-2004, 10:28 AM
i might sound like an hypocrite but add me, add me!

name is Mohd Hafiz Noor Shams

aquila
26-04-2004, 04:09 PM
you r one funny guy

26-04-2004, 05:23 PM
i take that as a compliment. thank you.

08-08-2007, 11:26 PM
^bump

It's been ages since someone talked in this thread I see... and in these years, boy oh boy, has Facebook grown.

After taking US and Canada by storm, it is "kinda" reaching Asia (at least more of my friends know about it). I joined after receiving an email from a friend who went on exchange to GeorgiaTech.

It is open to everyone now, so there's no "elitist" thing going on. I personally prefer it (a lot) to Friendster, it has a "cleaner" looking interface and it's open source if I'm not mistakened. It's getting a bit irritating with the applications but that's optional.

So do join Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/) today! :)

By the way, here's (http://valleywag.com/tech/data-junkie/the-world-map-of-social-networks-273201.php) an interesting webpage on "The World Map of Social Networks". (Friendster is such a South East Asian thing)

08-08-2007, 11:45 PM
It's taking Australia by storm too!

Anyway I think that the application has almost turned Facebook into Myspace, which is a bad thing. I just hate how everyone seems to have 10 different utilities, for example three message boards, two grafitti boards, and two "poke me" applications. I blame it on the "invite your friends" feature when you install application - I guess people don't know that they can invite zero friend in that step? :)

21-08-2007, 03:38 PM
Don't get facebooook unless you want to get hooked!!!! (like me...)

21-08-2007, 04:42 PM
Facebook labelled a 5-billion-dollar waste of time:

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2007/08/19/1187462123708.html

22-08-2007, 04:24 PM
Friendster, Facebook and MySpace were recently featured in the newspapers here. The gist of the articles is that apart from these social networking sites getting more popular, they're also getting businesses etc. People are utilising these platforms for other purposes apart from keeping in touch with friends nowadays. There was also another article a few days ago about how facebook is better than friendster.

Thank goodness I'm not addicted to Facebook... Just check it thrice a day... :)

23-08-2007, 01:40 PM
Friendster, Facebook and MySpace were recently featured in the newspapers here. The gist of the articles is that apart from these social networking sites getting more popular, they're also getting businesses etc. People are utilising these platforms for other purposes apart from keeping in touch with friends nowadays. There was also another article a few days ago about how facebook is better than friendster.

Thank goodness I'm not addicted to Facebook... Just check it thrice a day... :)

yo fei, add me!
Network: Brandeis University
Name: (you know it)

24-08-2007, 12:27 AM
yo fei, add me!
Network: Brandeis University
Name: (you know it)

Alamak... I added you already lah @<hidden>@<hidden> What lah you fishermanfrenz...