View Full Version : JPA Scholarship For Dentistry
phoebe902004
15-04-2008, 01:29 PM
All JPA applicants for dentistry course are welcomed to discuss about their interview personal experience, their thoughts, interest in this particular field, and etc. Also, not forgetting JPA scholarship holders in dentistry field, do share ur experience with us. Last but not least, others' opinions regarding this field are also welcomed and encouraged!:amuse
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 01:38 PM
emmm, i am applying for dentistry course in jpa 2008 too...well, may i know the quota given to this course and any criteria / parameters considered as well ???
one more thing...mmm, is dentistry courses for jpa have a big competition like medicine course also? kinda worried...and is it easy to get it? ok, this last question sounds silly, but i'm just curious...and very worried...
phoebe902004
15-04-2008, 02:06 PM
i applied for dentistry course in jpa 2008 too..the ques u jz posted have been lingering in my mind too.i hope someone could help us here..!!where are u from yummyyummylicious??
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 02:14 PM
i applied for dentistry course in jpa 2008 too..the ques u jz posted have been lingering in my mind too.i hope someone could help us here..!!where are u from yummyyummylicious??
can i kept it as a secret...lol...:P
well, as i knew, there are many ppl applying for dentistry course too...well, the common reasons are maybe dentistry courses is easier to get compared to medicine courses ( but i dont know how true is this ), and there's a great potential in expanding this field in Malaysia...
phoebe902004
15-04-2008, 02:17 PM
haha.ok, i understand..well, anyone out there who's a JPA scholar for DENTISTRY??
15-04-2008, 02:28 PM
Count me in , I also applied for dentistry ~~!!
phoebe902004
15-04-2008, 02:33 PM
hahah..this is getting exciting..i hardly see any jpa dentistry scholar here..the other day i went up to search..there were only 3 of them.this year JPA is offering dentistry scholars to either uk, aus, india, nz and jordan.i heard the results gonna be out in mid of may.did u guys apply for any other scholarship?eg petronas, pnb, tm, tnb, shell, khazanah or bnm?which course did u apply since only jpa offer dentistry..?
15-04-2008, 02:38 PM
hi , phoebe902004 , I added u in msn ~!~
phoebe902004
15-04-2008, 02:39 PM
hi , phoebe902004 , I added u in msn ~!~
haha..yea, i added u in!nice knowing yea..!
Aries
15-04-2008, 03:33 PM
I applied dentistry too... Wondering wat's d quota 4 dentistry this year.. I heard that dentistry mght b harder 2 get than medicine ler... Izzit true?
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 03:47 PM
I applied dentistry too... Wondering wat's d quota 4 dentistry this year.. I heard that dentistry mght b harder 2 get than medicine ler... Izzit true?
mmm, pls tell me this is not true...i really hope i can get this one...:cry
15-04-2008, 03:50 PM
Me too , I can only put my hope on jpa if i want to study in oversea , don't let me down~~
tiffy!
15-04-2008, 04:30 PM
i applied dentistry too!! am attending the petronas camp on thurs and fri. anyone?
phoebe902004
15-04-2008, 04:36 PM
i applied dentistry too!! am attending the petronas camp on thurs and fri. anyone?
ure lucky..i dint get to go for the camp..huhue..my only hope now is jpa!!:cry
yummyummylicious
15-04-2008, 04:46 PM
ure lucky..i dint get to go for the camp..huhue..my only hope now is jpa!!:cry
same like me too...how sad, got rejected again and again...and well i guess the Same thing wont happen on JPA kua?
15-04-2008, 05:10 PM
Hope so don't !! I kinda of depends on JPA .... if i am rejected again , I'll be really really sad T.T
nana90
15-04-2008, 06:51 PM
i applied dentistry too! hopefully i get this scholarship coz i really wan to bcome a dentist..
tiffy!
16-04-2008, 10:09 AM
i too rrly wanna become a dentist!!!! but Petronas didnt offer dentistry so i applied economics.
pls don't feel down!!! we shouldnt pile ALL our hopes on one basket! i wish u all the best of luck for JPA yeah! (:
16-04-2008, 11:21 AM
Just a question here: For all those who applied for dentistry, will you go if you're given India, instead of other Western countries?
nana90
16-04-2008, 11:23 AM
Just a question here: For all those who applied for dentistry, will you go if you're given India, instead of other Western countries?
for me..i will go..:)
phoebe902004
16-04-2008, 11:36 AM
ill go too..its better to have one than none, rite?moreover India economy is booming now.i heard they're planning to build the tallest building and the longest bridge..moreover, ull be more recognised if ure a scholar.u can apply for another scholarship to further ur studies after working for the government.perhaps ull be getting the chance to further studies to western countries then.unless ure given other scholarship to western countries,u can rethink about it..:))
Well, I also applied 4 dentistry 4 dis year jpa...Im really passionate bout dis field bcz I really want 2 become an orthodontist...I had da experience of wearing braces 4 2 years when I was 14 n have gone through da experience of monthly checkups n ways 2 take care of my braces...Since then, I have decided 2 be an orthodontist.(I explained dis during my interview...I realized when I started explaining this, both da pengawai jpa were looking n listening)...I have heard frm frenz dat 500 jpa scholarships r available 4 medical students dis year (correct me if im wrong)..so I have no idea wats da quota like 4 dentistry scholars...If im given da chance 2 study in India,4 me would be no probs cz as long I come out as a qualified dentist recg by da country n da world...im fine with it...If u go 2 India, you'll be more experienced, cz dere is a lot of weird cases there....hehe
whr r u having ur interview?
straight a1s?
dennisssj
16-04-2008, 12:41 PM
hmm.. i applied for dentistry for JPA 2008 too...
well, i hope that JPA will give me at least to study in India or at best is Australia/New Zealand. UK and Ireland seem impossible for me..(not straight A1, nor A and subjects taken not more than 11).
India-i'll sure be going!
all the best!
dennis~~
phoebe902004
16-04-2008, 01:09 PM
haha!i too used to wear braces before.i dream of becomg an orthodontist too, thanks to my braces coz they reli motivate me into this field!huhu:))..miss my braces..love them so much..!
whr r u having ur interview?
straight a1s?
My interview was in Kluang. Nope. Nt str8 a1's. 10A1 n 1A2. A1 in GCE-O. Really pray n hope I will get it with da stiff competition out there.
haha!i too used to wear braces before.i dream of becomg an orthodontist too, thanks to my braces coz they reli motivate me into this field!huhu:))..miss my braces..love them so much..!
Haha..I miss my braces too...but im still wearing my retainers eventhough more than 1 1/2 yr....4 fun actually!!!
phoebe902004
16-04-2008, 01:31 PM
My interview was in Kluang. Nope. Nt str8 a1's. 10A1 n 1A2. A1 in GCE-O. Really pray n hope I will get it with da stiff competition out there.
Haha..I miss my braces too...but im still wearing my retainers eventhough more than 1 1/2 yr....4 fun actually!!!
haha..cool..im no longer wearing my retainers..its kinda disturbing esp when u wanna eat, uve to take them off first..tsktsk..
sopie
16-04-2008, 01:46 PM
y every1 want 2 be orthodontist??? Me apply 4 dentistry too..... interview at putrajaya.
phoebe902004
16-04-2008, 01:54 PM
nah, dont think its everyone..the only ones known wanting to become one here are qdfb n me..what about u sopie?
yummyummylicious
16-04-2008, 03:49 PM
y every1 want 2 be orthodontist??? Me apply 4 dentistry too..... interview at putrajaya.
well, not everyone lar...i applied dentistry courses too...well, for me i dont wanna specialised in orthodontist..i wanna specialised to become paediatric dentist...well, i like dealing with kids and teenagers...
hmmm, well, orthodontist can actually make a loads of money...i knew a dentists, he's my uncle...he's just a normal dentist, but he took courses to become an orthodontist,i cannot remember clearly whether is a 3 years course or 3 months course...well, one must specialised in that field lar i guess, not that once you graduate you will become an orthodontist straight away...lolz...
well, i dont mind too...in fact india is where i wanna go...somemore can visit Taj Mahal...lol...hehe
Well, there are so many fields in dentistry. In my case, 2 become an orthodontist, u have 2 become an ordinary dentist 1st den only u can specialised into da fields u desire.Not sure 4 how many years though( 2-3years). If u don wan 2 become an orthodontist, u could become a paediatric dentist, prosthodontist, dental surgeon, endodontist, periodontist.
phoebe902004
16-04-2008, 07:51 PM
Well, there are so many fields in dentistry. In my case, 2 become an orthodontist, u have 2 become an ordinary dentist 1st den only u can specialised into da fields u desire.Not sure 4 how many years though( 2-3years). If u don wan 2 become an orthodontist, u could become a paediatric dentist, prosthodontist, dental surgeon, endodontist, periodontist.
so true..!:nod
yummyummylicious
16-04-2008, 08:21 PM
let me add somemore, one can also choose to specialised to become : oral surgeon, oral pathologists and even forensic dentist...
Count me in, i applied for dentistry under JPA 2008 too!
During my interview, the panel once asked me whether i will accept if country offered is Indonesia, then i answered "Of course i will accept" in no time. A bit rush? Hmm, i dont think so since i really want to become a dentist, so i dont mind about the location as long as i'm given chance to study dentistry..
I agree with u...As long we are given da chance 2 study dentistry, da country does not matter 2 me...If we get it, jpa is so kind enough 2 sponsor 4us...i think we should ask no more....Plus, after we come out as profesional dentist, if we are doing a good job, I think da patients wont ask where did u study, as long they r curious lah ( but there r some ppl dat r very particular where did u get ur degree frm).....
hello,i also apply for dentistry,nice to meet u all!
I have a few questions here.
1)u can only specialize in dentistry after u serve the government for 10 years under the bond?
2)after the bond, if i want to specialize ,does it matter which university i came from?
3)after the bond,if i want to work overseas,does it matter which country i graduated from?
4)is India a good country to study dentistry?
phoebe902004
12-05-2008, 09:13 PM
hey, anyone got jpa scholarship for dentistry?=)i only know one recommer hu got it.what about d others?
I got it....
13-05-2008, 12:49 AM
Haha , ok , I got it ~~ Officially tell it here .
Aries
13-05-2008, 09:25 AM
ok... i gt it too... nice 2 meet all of u here
sopie
13-05-2008, 10:20 AM
:laughi also got it!!! huhuhuhuhu..........
13-05-2008, 11:00 AM
Sorry to interrupt, but since you all haven't got your offer letter, you still don't know your destination countries... Anyway, if according to previous years, those who got around 10A1s are most likely to get India... 11A1 and above, you stand a chance to go Australia, Ireland, Uk etc... So mentally be prepared...
laila89
13-05-2008, 11:16 AM
I also got dentistry... :))
At last, I know that there are many applicants for dentistry..
Lalala11
13-05-2008, 12:11 PM
HI phoebe! Hahaha! Congrats 4 getting jpa scholarship in dentistry!
Sorry to interrupt, but since you all haven't got your offer letter, you still don't know your destination countries... Anyway, if according to previous years, those who got around 10A1s are most likely to get India... 11A1 and above, you stand a chance to go Australia, Ireland, Uk etc... So mentally be prepared...
do u mean that 11A1 and above will be sent to either Australia,Ireland or UK ?
if less than 11A1,it is India?
Shawn_Paul
13-05-2008, 12:33 PM
Hmm I've got Dentistry as well but i don't mind India. Human nature to always 'want more' =.=
Herm hes just basing it on previous years. I don't think it works like that anyway.
blursylvia
13-05-2008, 03:45 PM
wow...so many future dentists here~
congrats everyone ya!!
me too..got dentistry!!
13-05-2008, 04:03 PM
do u mean that 11A1 and above will be sent to either Australia,Ireland or UK ?
if less than 11A1,it is India?
Not exactly, but most likely to be that, though there are some exceptions too... One of my friends who got 11 straight A1 got Australia, while some with 10A1 and perhaps an A2 got India...
Lalala11
13-05-2008, 04:24 PM
Phoebe, nex time gv me free dental service can??
honeydew
13-05-2008, 05:34 PM
i got it too..
phoebe902004
13-05-2008, 08:59 PM
Phoebe, nex time gv me free dental service can??
hahaha.out of all jpa dentistry scholars u ask me..huhue!:P
blursylvia
13-05-2008, 09:02 PM
hey...to all future dentists..can you all PM me ur contact(msn), so that to keep in touch..thx ya!!
phoebe902004
13-05-2008, 09:05 PM
hey...to all future dentists..can you all PM me ur contact(msn), so that to keep in touch..thx ya!!
good idea.phoebe902004@<hidden>s for msn..hope to get in touch with the others too!
Shawn_Paul
13-05-2008, 09:28 PM
Dentists RAWK xD..Yeah we'd all better keep in touch as we might be meeting in the very near future xD
Lalala11
13-05-2008, 11:01 PM
hahaha.out of all jpa dentistry scholars u ask me..huhue!:P
Hahaha! Coz ur d only one i know here wat :P
phoebe902004
14-05-2008, 12:27 AM
Hahaha! Coz ur d only one i know here wat :P reli?how do u know me?:)
14-05-2008, 12:29 PM
List of Recommers who get JPA scholarships for dentistry course :
>>phoebe902004
>>Jace
>>AnnDeBlurry
>>herm
>>Aries
>>sopie
>>laila89
>>Shawn_Paul
>>blursylvia
>>honeydew
>>Ah Seng
>>colzgirl
Thanks to phoebe902004 for creating this topic which unites the future dentists !
colzgirl
14-05-2008, 12:57 PM
hi i'm a newbie
i oso got dntistry..
Lalala11
14-05-2008, 01:03 PM
reli?how do u know me?:)
Aiyo phoebe... Still dunno me ka? See my name got number 11.... Hahaha. :laugh
phoebe902004
14-05-2008, 04:12 PM
hahaha..oh..shida ka?aiseh..dah agak dah!
btw, seems like the jpa medicine scholars '08 hav started their own thread too..=p
Lalala11
14-05-2008, 04:25 PM
No need 2 leak out my identity lah wei. Confidential laa.... :notrust
Hehe. Not me start d thread bah :laugh
phoebe902004
14-05-2008, 07:34 PM
No need 2 leak out my identity lah wei. Confidential laa.... :notrust
Hehe. Not me start d thread bah :laugh
hahaha!i knowla u dint start the thread..
is there any senior member doing dentistry under jpa in recom?maybe u can share ur experience studying dentistry as well as state where are u(or gonna be) studying?help from u people would be greatly appreciated!!plz post smthing in here and share ur experience n knowlegde so that we can prepare ourselves for the future challenges to become excellent dentist..
Shawn_Paul
15-05-2008, 11:09 AM
Heard someone mention in another thread there was a group for JPA scholars 2007. If there's enough wana make a Dentistry Jpa Scholars group? For 2008 of course xD But this thread is dying down x_X
15-05-2008, 11:25 AM
Ok , let me provide some info here .
As I know (info from a medic student from UPM ) , Students study under medicine and dentistry will learn the same things for the first two years , which means we might share the same class with medic students for the first two years .
phoebe902004
15-05-2008, 11:42 AM
Heard someone mention in another thread there was a group for JPA scholars 2007. If there's enough wana make a Dentistry Jpa Scholars group? For 2008 of course xD But this thread is dying down x_X
how exactly do we make a dentistry JPA scholars group?
colzgirl
15-05-2008, 11:55 PM
maybe in fs..much easier i guess
Shawn_Paul
16-05-2008, 07:22 PM
We could make one in friendster providing all of you have it. Most of yall have it i guess. Who wana make? Phoebe do the honours =p
16-05-2008, 07:38 PM
Ok , let me provide some info here .
As I know (info from a medic student from UPM ) , Students study under medicine and dentistry will learn the same things for the first two years , which means we might share the same class with medic students for the first two years .
Are you sure with this infomation? As I know, medicine and dentistry students will learn more or less the same things for first two year, but not exactly the same, and they will have seperate classes... In fact dental and medical faculties are seperated in universities... Plus, if I'm not mistaken, there isn't any dentistry course in UPM...
Shawn_Paul
16-05-2008, 07:40 PM
http://www.friendster.com/group/tabmain.php?gid=1518054
Btw guys, that is the link for Jpa Scholars 2008 group in Friendster.
16-05-2008, 07:48 PM
Are you sure with this infomation? As I know, medicine and dentistry students will learn more or less the same things for first two year, but not exactly the same, and they will have seperate classes... In fact dental and medical faculties are seperated in universities... Plus, if I'm not mistaken, there isn't any dentistry course in UPM...
Yes , there is dentistry course there....Maybe it'll be different in different universities...My main point is what they learn are more or less the same .
Da 1st 2 yrs is da same, anatomy n bla bla.... In Malaysia, only UM n UKM offer dentistry....
phoebe902004
17-05-2008, 09:15 AM
guys, ive formed a group i.e. 'Dentistry JPA Scholars 2008' in Friendster. i guess most of u have a friendster account. so, hopefully, this makes it easier for us to keep in touch with one another. here's the link http://www.friendster.com/group/tabmain.php?gid=1520036
17-05-2008, 09:32 AM
Da 1st 2 yrs is da same, anatomy n bla bla.... In Malaysia, only UM n UKM offer dentistry....
However, if I'm not mistaken, although both study anatomy, dental students and medical students study different parts of body at different details, dental students study head, neck and brain in detail, but parts below abdomen are not that important, while medical students hav to study all, but head part not as detailed as dental students. Correct me if I'm wrong...
phoebe902004
17-05-2008, 10:16 AM
However, if I'm not mistaken, although both study anatomy, dental students and medical students study different parts of body at different details, dental students study head, neck and brain in detail, but parts below abdomen are not that important, while medical students hav to study all, but head part not as detailed as dental students. Correct me if I'm wrong...
i suppose u maybe right coz our jaw including teeth and gum are closely connected to d brain and neck through the nerves in the head..once i got a bone stuck in my gum i suffer nerve pain that whole week until my dentist removed it off:amuse.
blursylvia
17-05-2008, 10:43 AM
The Bachelor of Dental Science is a five-year full-time professional degree course. Following successful completion of this course, the graduate is able to register with the Dental Board of Western Australia as a dentist and enter the profession immediately, without any further training period. The course is subject to quota with approximately 50 places divided between Standard (1/3) and Non-standard (2/3) applicants.
This course of study provides education and training to be a dentist, involving students in the dental care of patients. Modern dentistry is concerned with the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of diseases of the mouth in order to maintain oral health. As personal appearance, speech and general health are assuming more importance with individuals, they are demanding higher levels of professional care, orthodontic treatment, replacement of missing teeth and the treatment of gum disease, and discoloured and damaged teeth.
In the course of practice, the dentist is required to undertake sophisticated treatment procedures and to use a wide variety of materials. Therefore a sound physical scientific background is essential. In addition, the dentist must have an extensive knowledge of the structure and functions of the human body in order to understand all that is necessary for the well-being of patients. Graduates need to be thoroughly proficient in the diagnosis, treatment planning and treatment procedures associated with all the dental conditions they may be called upon to treat.
In the first year of the course, students study basic medical sciences, medical chemistry, physiology, biophysics, biomorphology and oral health and disease. In the second year some of the first-year subjects are continued and histology, biochemistry and microbiology are introduced. There is a gradual progression towards dental subjects until, in the final year of the course, students spend most of their time working in clinical supervised out-placements. Students are rotated through a series of clinical settings, both in central and metropolitan Perth, as well as rural practice.
The majority of dentists are self-employed in general dental practice. Some are employed in the state's dental services, providing dental care to children, the indigenous, and the geographically and financially disadvantaged communities. There are also opportunities for graduates to become academics undertaking teaching and research in the university sector.
jz a sharing...found it from the website of the university of western australia..
Program Outline
The Bachelor of Dental Science (BDSc) program normally takes five years of full-time tertiary study. The BDSc program is based on the 1-3-1 model of dental education:
* one year of basic science
* three years of applied dental science
* one year of extramural clinical practice
The first year of study in basic sciences is undertaken at UQ's St Lucia campus, while the next three years are largely completed at the School of Dentistry in Turbot Street.
The final year consists of full-time clinical practice within Queensland Health clinics located throughout the State.
The BDSc program is built on a foundation of general studies in the biological sciences. Students are trained as scientists as well as clinical practitioners.
Students commence clinical work in a few areas during second year, and this experience is broadened in third and fourth years. Patients are assigned to each student, who is then responsible for their dental care.
Years 2-4 cover most of the clinical work in discipline areas such as:
* General Dental Practice
* Operative Dentistry
* Orthodontics
* Paediatric Dentistry
* Periodontics
* Prosthodontics
Students also attend teaching hospitals for experience in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. Studies in Community Dentistry, Dental Materials, Oral Biology and Pathology and Pharmacology continue during these years.
from the university of queensland
honeydew
17-05-2008, 05:26 PM
do all dental students need to perform surgery? wat bout wen working? dentistry got housemanship too rite? 2 yrs?
19-05-2008, 02:02 AM
do all dental students need to perform surgery? wat bout wen working? dentistry got housemanship too rite? 2 yrs?
So far housemanship for dentistry is still one year if I'm not mistaken...
sopie
19-05-2008, 07:39 PM
and uitm too.....:)
Hi.. I'm new here...
I got Dentistry course too...Wander there are how many JPA scholars this year that get this course..
yummyummylicious
20-05-2008, 10:22 PM
Anyone knows if we study dentistry can we end up being a dental hygienist instead of a dentist? or after we get our degree in dentistry we are automatically is a dentist and also a dental hygienist OR we have to take extra courses/further study to become a dental hygienist???
I'm not sure but i thought that after we finish the degree course, we willl only be a dentist...:)
can i ask a question? do u all actually love teeth so dats y u choose dentistry? for me, i actually like psychology but psy cant earn money n my mom wants me 2 take dentistry...so i chose it...
phoebe902004
22-05-2008, 04:46 PM
can i ask a question? do u all actually love teeth so dats y u choose dentistry? for me, i actually like psychology but psy cant earn money n my mom wants me 2 take dentistry...so i chose it...
for me, yes i do love teeth.urm, psychology earns lots of money in the overseas bt not in msia. thats wad i heard coz malaysians still dont think its worth it to spend money by visiting psychologists.well, its a diff case in the overseas..:)
colzgirl
25-05-2008, 09:51 PM
is it true that the bond for JPA scholars doing dentistry are 10 years?
Which one is better, working for the gov or going private?
yummyummylicious
26-05-2008, 12:10 AM
is it true that the bond for JPA scholars doing dentistry are 10 years?
Which one is better, working for the gov or going private?
yesss, its so true...the bond is 10 years...
If you are working for money, then going private will be better. From a recent statistic, the paid for a dentist in the gov sector is RM2800.00 (more or less) and in the private sector , the paid for a dentist will be RM6000 to RM8000...(pls correct me if i am wrong)
i'm bound to india..do i hav to bond for 10yrs also??? dats not gonna b fair cz india's cheaper than uk n ireland..in fact it's da cheapest among all countries so if the bond is also 10yrs i'm gonna reject it...
26-05-2008, 11:37 AM
i'm bound to india..do i hav to bond for 10yrs also??? dats not gonna b fair cz india's cheaper than uk n ireland..in fact it's da cheapest among all countries so if the bond is also 10yrs i'm gonna reject it...
Yes, bond for the same course is the same regardless of the country... Dentistry is 10 years for all countries...
blursylvia
26-05-2008, 12:12 PM
me too..
i got india
goin to KTT
well...india dentistry needs around 300k but UK needs 1 million...
and both oso bond 10 years...a bit not fair...
skyrainbow
26-05-2008, 12:15 PM
but the 300k not yet include living cost right?
blursylvia
26-05-2008, 12:22 PM
i m not very sure..but living cost at india is quite low...300k++ shud b enuf
Shawn_Paul
26-05-2008, 01:17 PM
I'm India bound as well thru KTT.
Guess i have a coursemate already =D
Anyway it'll be appreciated if you people would kindly state your
1. Pre-U
2. Country
Thx anyways xD
nana90
26-05-2008, 02:46 PM
i got da letter oredy..
will doin a-level at ucsi
26-05-2008, 03:59 PM
i m not very sure..but living cost at india is quite low...300k++ shud b enuf
For students studying in India, they will receive a monthly allowance of USD500 or USD700, depending on the place they study. USD700 for bigger cities ...
phoebe902004
26-05-2008, 04:02 PM
For students studying in India, they will receive a monthly allowance of USD500 or USD700, depending on the place they study. USD700 for bigger cities ...
what about other countries?is it as high as that?
26-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Phoebe , have you get the letter ?
26-05-2008, 04:16 PM
what about other countries?is it as high as that?
Australia is about AUD 900++ and AUD 1100++ for smaller and bigger cities, I don't know the exact amount though...
wow...i din knw d allowance is so high for india..but the tuition fees is only 100k la...n da living cost there only arnd RM400...
26-05-2008, 04:29 PM
wow...i din knw d allowance is so high for india..but the tuition fees is only 100k la...n da living cost there only arnd RM400...
Tuition fee for India dentistry course is about USD80,000++ and the living cost is not that low. The cheapest hostel would cost about USD100 per person per month...
26-05-2008, 04:32 PM
Tuition fee for India dentistry course is about USD80,000++ and the living cost is not that low. The cheapest hostel would cost about USD100 per person per month...
Are you studying dentistry there ?
26-05-2008, 04:35 PM
Are you studying dentistry there ?
No, I'm heading to India for medical course...
But I have lots of friends heading there for dentistry course...
No, I'm heading to India for medical course...
But I have lots of friends heading there for dentistry course...
ooo...u're india bound?? u get jpa oso?? which uni in india is da best?? i was aiming for manipal...any other better ones? my dentist recommended manipal
phoebe902004
26-05-2008, 04:57 PM
USD 80, 000+??are we gonna be sponsored by jpa, or do we need to pay by ourselves if we're taking up tuition classes?
Phoebe , have you get the letter ?
not yet.but mum called jpa and told me im heading to india.i heard u got uk!!congrats..hehe.
wanna ask smthg...every yr many dentists graduated frm uni and hav to work for gov 3yrs BUT every General Hospital only has about 1 or 2 dentist so how to hav so many dentists working in GH? N we hav to bond 10yrs for jpa scholars...do they hav the place for us??? If they dont hav place can we juz cabut lari? 1 of my frens she was a jpa scholar 4 engineering. When she graduated she sent a letter to inform jpa but the gov din ask her to work for the gov so finally she work for private company...
phoebe902004, wat course did u apply? i also got india. Dentistry. But havent receive my letter yet...tuition fees means the fees for the course only. There r other fees like exam fees , caution fees n all dat. Watever fees it is, it'll b sponsored by the gov..dont worry...
phoebe902004
26-05-2008, 05:24 PM
wanna ask smthg...every yr many dentists graduated frm uni and hav to work for gov 3yrs BUT every General Hospital only has about 1 or 2 dentist so how to hav so many dentists working in GH? N we hav to bond 10yrs for jpa scholars...do they hav the place for us??? If they dont hav place can we juz cabut lari? 1 of my frens she was a jpa scholar 4 engineering. When she graduated she sent a letter to inform jpa but the gov din ask her to work for the gov so finally she work for private company...
phoebe902004, wat course did u apply? i also got india. Dentistry. But havent receive my letter yet...tuition fees means the fees for the course only. There r other fees like exam fees , caution fees n all dat. Watever fees it is, it'll b sponsored by the gov..dont worry...
dentistry too..
phoebe, i pm-ed you...go c....
sopie
26-05-2008, 05:57 PM
i got da letter oredy..
will doin a-level at ucsi
same here :))
26-05-2008, 08:13 PM
not yet.but mum called jpa and told me im heading to india.i heard u got uk!!congrats..hehe.
Welcome :)
Count me in ~
nana90
26-05-2008, 08:21 PM
got da same place meh? weee~ hope to c u there! :)
sopie
26-05-2008, 08:46 PM
got da same place meh? weee~ hope to c u there! :)
:dance me tooo!!!:thumbs
Shawn_Paul
26-05-2008, 11:31 PM
Jace i heard u said noway u're gona accept JPA?
Rejected?
Btw my dentist, aunty, grandfather and friend recommended Manipal =.=
Of course la Manipal is the most prestigious. But there's one in Salem too and a few others. They seem okay xD.
What I'm worried about is KTT >_< *gulp*
i'm ok wif india but i'm VERY NOT OK with KTT:notrust....hopelessly ugly, geli, horrible, terrible.....yucks !!! Can't bring myself to accept the offer....mayb i'll ask jpa whether i can do my a-levels in penang at my own expense since i'm already halfway thru the AS exam. Then later baru take da scholarship go india...I like manipal too..:nuts
btw...i still haven received my offer letter yet ...wonder wat happened :notrust...
Shawn_Paul
27-05-2008, 11:02 PM
No1 likes KTT by looks. Maybe it'll be okay lol. I don't know wether they allow that or not hmm. No letter here too.
dcwk04
28-05-2008, 09:04 AM
Hey guys, =P
I also got India. But have NOT received my offer letter. I suppose all the India dudes get their letter late, because, *cough cough* we are second rate.
NO LA! Joking. India is as good as any other place. The fact that JPA wants to sponsor us overseas is already great, so no need complain liao. Heck they can give me <s>Iraq</s> (woi, how to strike out in this forum? dang...) and I'll accept it.
Just the KTT part. Bit dodgy. But what to dooo.
lc_lian
28-05-2008, 11:41 AM
received letter:
Nana90 -uk-usci
Anndeblurry -uk-ucsi
Sopie -uk-ucsi
skenz1231 -uk-ucsi
herm -uk-ucsi
Shawn_paul -india-ktt
not receive yet:
Jace -india
Blursylvia -india-ktt
Phoebe902004- india
dcwk04 -india
no one's going to other countries other than uk and india? aus? ireland? nz??
think they send the letters of uk bound scholars first..
oya..i got dentistry too.. but still waiting for the letter.
28-05-2008, 11:54 AM
i'm ok wif india but i'm VERY NOT OK with KTT:notrust....hopelessly ugly, geli, horrible, terrible.....yucks !!! Can't bring myself to accept the offer....mayb i'll ask jpa whether i can do my a-levels in penang at my own expense since i'm already halfway thru the AS exam. Then later baru take da scholarship go india...I like manipal too..:nuts
btw...i still haven received my offer letter yet ...wonder wat happened :notrust...
Some students had the same request before, but JPA did not allow. The statement given by JPA is: You're now under sponsorship of JPA, and you have to follow and attend all courses and programmes arranged by JPA. Many students had the same feelings as you before, but if you know the way, you can find yourself enjoying your life in KTT.
P/S: Friends is one thing you'll treasure the most in KTT.
ah_seng
28-05-2008, 12:12 PM
i think Jace should be allowed to continue in Taylor...if not it is wasted...
28-05-2008, 12:27 PM
i think Jace should be allowed to continue in Taylor...if not it is wasted...
There was a same case in my batch. A student already had AS cert when she sat for AS. Nothing can be done though...
haih...since like dat i'm gonna hav to reject...at least i din waste it coz another person will have the chance to continue his/her studies wif this scholarship... Good Luck to all of you ya !!
Shawn_Paul
28-05-2008, 01:35 PM
Hey guys, =P
I also got India. But have NOT received my offer letter. I suppose all the India dudes get their letter late, because, *cough cough* we are second rate.
NO LA! Joking. India is as good as any other place. The fact that JPA wants to sponsor us overseas is already great, so no need complain liao. Heck they can give me <s>Iraq</s> (woi, how to strike out in this forum? dang...) and I'll accept it.
Just the KTT part. Bit dodgy. But what to dooo.
You sure about that Iraq part? :))
Most people aren't complaining about India but KTT lol.
But word from the seniours ain't too bad.
Miracle_seed how do we recognise you when we're there?
My letter arrived and is on it's way to me as i speak. Err type. :P
received letter:
Nana90 -uk-usci
Anndeblurry -uk-ucsi
Sopie -uk-ucsi
not received yet:
Jace -india
Blursylvia -india-ktt
Shawn_paul -india-ktt
Phoebe902004- india
dcwk04 -india
no one's going to other countries other than uk and india? aus? ireland? nz??
think they send the letters of uk bound scholars first..
oya..i got dentistry too.. but still waiting for the letter.
count me in! i get ucsi-uk too.
btw,which country u get?dentistry too?
dcwk04
28-05-2008, 03:33 PM
Lol guys, if any of you india-bound have gotten your offer letters, TELL US IN RECOM OK?
Because im still waiting for my offer letter. And when you guys start getting them, baru I panic. =) Im controlling myself first. Cannot have "premature panic".
28-05-2008, 04:05 PM
Miracle_seed how do we recognise you when we're there?
My letter arrived and is on it's way to me as i speak. Err type. :P
Erm... When you all register I won't be in the college... Perhaps I will only go back for a while if briefing is held there... By the way, I'm not your senior but super senior... (Too old? :P)
skenz1231
28-05-2008, 04:19 PM
i oso gt ucsi..uk...
those that goin ucsi feel free to PM me o...:)
Shawn_Paul
28-05-2008, 05:40 PM
Erm... When you all register I won't be in the college... Perhaps I will only go back for a while if briefing is held there... By the way, I'm not your senior but super senior... (Too old? :P)
LoL when are you leaving for err India/Poland/Indo and what's ur course?
Super senior o.O lol
Lol guys, if any of you india-bound have gotten your offer letters, TELL US IN RECOM OK?
Because im still waiting for my offer letter. And when you guys start getting them, baru I panic. =) Im controlling myself first. Cannot have "premature panic".
I've got my letter. PANIC PANIC lol. Relax la you'll be getting it soon.
sopie
28-05-2008, 05:43 PM
waaaa......so there are 5 people here got ucsi - uk dentistry....me(sopie), anndeblurry, nana90, herm(r u boy or girl??...just asking....curious..hehehe) n skenz1231. cool2...let's find each other at usci k?
lc_lian
28-05-2008, 05:53 PM
yea.. dentistry. but still havent got my letter yet
Shawn_Paul
28-05-2008, 06:36 PM
lc_lian well not to get ur hopes down or anything, but most probably u'll be getting India.
skenz1231
28-05-2008, 07:51 PM
hah...
any guys going ucsi a??
28-05-2008, 08:32 PM
lc_lian well not to get ur hopes down or anything, but most probably u'll be getting India.
Shawnnie , India is not that bad after all lah .
hah...
any guys going ucsi a??
Me me ! I wonder how to recognize recommers there =.= :huh
dcwk04
28-05-2008, 08:33 PM
Guys. I've been checking through my offer letter like, 5 times, already.
And i cant find LAMPIRAN A3.
This lampiran is supposed to tell me my "allowance" for when I am in INDIA. Am I the only one who dont have this lampiran? Can anyone tell me what It says, please? Thanks a lot. Im kinda worried if it has anything important.
yummyummylicious
28-05-2008, 09:00 PM
Guys. I've been checking through my offer letter like, 5 times, already.
And i cant find LAMPIRAN A3.
This lampiran is supposed to tell me my "allowance" for when I am in INDIA. Am I the only one who dont have this lampiran? Can anyone tell me what It says, please? Thanks a lot. Im kinda worried if it has anything important.
you are not the only one, i got india too...and i dont have the Lampiran A3 too...
Shawn_Paul
28-05-2008, 09:15 PM
Shawnnie , India is not that bad after all lah .
Me me ! I wonder how to recognize recommers there =.= :huh
Jo Ann zzz come trade places =D Yeah India is good after all. You know humans la 'Give calf want thigh' =P
How to recognise? Friendster la. Careful before adding Blurry tho, she mad =D joking hahaha..
28-05-2008, 10:19 PM
Jo Ann zzz come trade places =D Yeah India is good after all. You know humans la 'Give calf want thigh' =P
How to recognise? Friendster la. Careful before adding Blurry tho, she mad =D joking hahaha..
LOL , you mean they're greedy ? Trade place , phewww....
No offence , I don't mind go to any country except INDONESIA (though it's not on the list ) , ><
Errrrrrr , don't memburuk-burukkan saye =p , I am not mad just crazy =p
thia_lyn
28-05-2008, 10:34 PM
i'm going to india for dentistry too ;)
Shawn_Paul
28-05-2008, 10:56 PM
You guys, in the offer letter does it say tempoh pengajian 60 bulan di India?
No1 got twinning or will it be decided later on?
thia_lyn
28-05-2008, 11:01 PM
You guys, in the offer letter does it say tempoh pengajian 60 bulan di India?
No1 got twinning or will it be decided later on?
Yeah.. Mine is 60 months and didn state whether it's for twinning or not. they just wrote there Universiti di India.
you are not the only one, i got india too...and i dont have the Lampiran A3 too...
Yeah.. I guess all of us who are going to india will not hav the lampiran. but i heard that the pocket money they are providing for students in india is about 500USD per month.
yummyummylicious
28-05-2008, 11:09 PM
Yeah.. I guess all of us who are going to india will not hav the lampiran. but i heard that the pocket money they are providing for students in india is about 500USD per month.
What i know, the allowance is different from states to states ( or cities to cities ) Some will be given 500USD / month and some will be given 700USD /month.... depends on your place as living costs are different...
Shawn_Paul
28-05-2008, 11:15 PM
Hey all you dentistry India bound people. I've started a thread entitled JPA India Dentistry 2008 under JPA section. We could get to know each other better there as this is an open thread. Please read an reply if you wish too =D
cathy
28-05-2008, 11:32 PM
anyone get ireland??
country-ireland
college-ucsi
actually is my friend who get..anywhere,anyone same package v my friend pls pm me:)
waaaa......so there are 5 people here got ucsi - uk dentistry....me(sopie), anndeblurry, nana90, herm(r u boy or girl??...just asking....curious..hehehe) n skenz1231. cool2...let's find each other at usci k?
i m a girl :))
clear ?HAHAHAHAHAHA~~~!!!
c u soon!
sopie
29-05-2008, 01:00 PM
i m a girl :))
clear ?HAHAHAHAHAHA~~~!!!
c u soon!
ooooo...hahahaha. i thought soooo :P
anyone get ireland??
country-ireland
college-ucsi
actually is my friend who get..anywhere,anyone same package v my friend pls pm me:)
dentistry???
lc_lian
29-05-2008, 04:24 PM
u guess it rite.. india for me
ah_seng
29-05-2008, 05:40 PM
When you are heading 2 India, u know it is the start of all thing wonderful...You see, the universities there offer a lot of places for foreign dentistry students(although the quota increase now). That means we actually no need 2 worry should we cannot have a place to study degree. It is not so competitive like UK, Ireland and Australasia countries where offer very few place for foreign students(some even offer one place). Plus,those who go for those western countries have to compete with student from other countries and other private college students as well(as those countries have "class" mah!) Some U in UK and Aus even required u to attend interview because the place offer for foreign student are so limited.
Relax fellow India-bound dentistry students, let's strive hard and aim toward the university!!
when we graduate, do we have housemanship like medic students??? If hav, how many years? I knw we gt 2 serve da gov for 3 yrs if we're not under jpa scholarship...if there's housemanship dat means 5yrs wif da gov n jpa scholars dat means gt2 bond wif the gov 15yrs in total???
sopie
29-05-2008, 08:25 PM
when we graduate, do we have housemanship like medic students??? If hav, how many years? I knw we gt 2 serve da gov for 3 yrs if we're not under jpa scholarship...if there's housemanship dat means 5yrs wif da gov n jpa scholars dat means gt2 bond wif the gov 15yrs in total???
well...it stated in our contract that we have to serve the gov for 10 years only.....
skenz1231
29-05-2008, 10:58 PM
aftr graduate, we will become dental officer(D.O)... while medical students undergo 2 years housemanship b4 becomin medical officer(M.O).. correct me if im wrong
cathy
29-05-2008, 11:55 PM
dentistry???
yaya..u will go ucsi too??
college-ucsi
course-dentistry
i got some question here,hope anyone can answer me....
1)did we need to sumit anything else like photocopies of certs?
2)are we need to send the application n accommodation forms earlier or during registeration 's day?
3)in the forms,what should we fill in for:
a)borang pengakuan kddkn kewangan penjamin-nama(ucsi?),nama kursus(a-leval/dentistry?),tahun pengajian
b)borang pemeriksaan kesihatan-programme(a-leval/dentistry?)
c)borang maklumat penjamin-institusi(usci?)
d)borang biodata pelajar-nama kolej/institusi(ucsi?),bidang pengajian(a-leval/dentistry?),negara/program
e)borang penerimaan/penolakan-universiti/negara(since we still duno which u will be enter)
thanks...........
I got
course: Dentistry
college: Non other than KTT
violet28
30-05-2008, 11:27 AM
Hey, newbie here, i got jpa scholarship 4 dentistry as well :)
college: KTT
sopie
30-05-2008, 04:03 PM
yaya..u will go ucsi too??
college-ucsi
course-dentistry
i got some question here,hope anyone can answer me....
1)did we need to sumit anything else like photocopies of certs?
2)are we need to send the application n accommodation forms earlier or during registeration 's day?
3)in the forms,what should we fill in for:
a)borang pengakuan kddkn kewangan penjamin-nama(ucsi?),nama kursus(a-leval/dentistry?),tahun pengajian
b)borang pemeriksaan kesihatan-programme(a-leval/dentistry?)
c)borang maklumat penjamin-institusi(usci?)
d)borang biodata pelajar-nama kolej/institusi(ucsi?),bidang pengajian(a-leval/dentistry?),negara/program
e)borang penerimaan/penolakan-universiti/negara(since we still duno which u will be enter)
thanks...........
i tried to answer ur question as best as i could k :)
1) no photocopies of certs....only photocopy of acc book(have u open cimb bank acc?)
2) during registration day
3) i dont understand actually ur question....sowie. but if u mean we need to fill the institusi section with ucsi and bidang pengajian a level....then, yes it is the way we should fill it. correct me if i'm wrong.
colzgirl
31-05-2008, 12:12 PM
anyone get ireland??
country-ireland
college-ucsi
hi i oso got
country- ireland
coll - ucsi
i think we all should make an online conference in YM mssngr or MSN (but i dun hve MSN mssngr) before heading to college for a lvl. Anyone interested?:wink
i prefer MSN as most ppl hv it:)
*hands up*
01-06-2008, 03:05 PM
hi i oso got
country- ireland
coll - ucsi
i think we all should make an online conference in YM mssngr or MSN (but i dun hve MSN mssngr) before heading to college for a lvl. Anyone interested?:wink
Ok , I am definitely interested ~~ But also prefer msn....We decide the date and time 1st , k ?
colzgirl
01-06-2008, 04:12 PM
Ok , I am definitely interested ~~ But also prefer msn....We decide the date and time 1st , k ?
Yup sure, but until now only 3 person including me are up to this...Anyoneeeee...hello2 (echo):P
01-06-2008, 04:17 PM
Yup sure, but until now only 3 person including me are up to this...Anyoneeeee...hello2 (echo):P
wait till later , I think maybe they're going out shopping now =p
Hai, sorry 4 being late.
Count me in.:)
I get dentistry in Australia.
But, so far, no one here gets d same country as mine.
ANYONE?:cry:
Feel free 2 PM me.
phoebe902004
12-06-2008, 10:52 AM
omg.seriously?ure the first person i know going to australia.if u dont mind telling,what was ur spm result?
Hai, sorry 4 being late.
Count me in.:)
I get dentistry in Australia.
But, so far, no one here gets d same country as mine.
ANYONE?:cry:
Feel free 2 PM me.
whr will you do ur pre-U?weird lah...are you the only one goin aussie 4 dentistry?
11A1, GCE-O A1.
Intec, Ausmat.
So far, I'm d only one.
Sob...
sopie
12-06-2008, 11:33 PM
11A1, GCE-O A1.
Intec, Ausmat.
So far, I'm d only one.
Sob...
Cool!! i also curious y u r alone??...anyway congratzz! ausie is soo cool :)
It's also not easy to fly there, coz some seniors said d cut-off point is sooo high.
But, I'll try my best .Work Hard..
U all must work hard too!
fatVirgo
13-06-2008, 09:12 AM
hai everybody.......Huuuu~
i'm a new member... :D
taking dentistry at UCSI...
here i wanna share a really interesting blog to all...
jus click...------------>
http://drleen.wordpress.com/2007/05/29/kerjaya-sebagai-doktor-gigi-di-malaysia/
received letter:
Nana90 -uk-usci
Anndeblurry -uk-ucsi
Sopie -uk-ucsi
skenz1231 -uk-ucsi
herm -uk-ucsi
Shawn_paul -india-ktt
not receive yet:
Jace -india
Blursylvia -india-ktt
Phoebe902004- india
dcwk04 -india
count me in......:P
sorry for being late...
hihi~
:confetti
course-of koz dentistry
country-UK
college-ucsi
fatVirgo
13-06-2008, 10:21 AM
huhu...really late lah:P
is it true...:laugh
haha~
fatVirgo kicks herm.....dussssssshhhhhhhhh
herm...c u at UCSI lol....
cant wait to that moment!!!!
Aries
13-06-2008, 10:52 AM
11A1, GCE-O A1.
Intec, Ausmat.
So far, I'm d only one.
Sob...
U'r nt d only one...On recom mayb...bt aus 4 dentistry definitely not... I saw another guy who gt australia on friendster too... Dun worry...u wont b lonely there...All the best
nana90
13-06-2008, 06:21 PM
for those who are going to UCSI, please join this chat forum & share your information about UCSI..the more the merrier! :laugh
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6995
miyuki
16-03-2009, 11:14 AM
hey, i m a new member here. i would like to ask you something regarding the jpa scholarship. i just got my spm results and considering dentistry. do i have to apply the jpa scholarship first or i have to do pre-u course first?
CCY_to_the_top
16-03-2009, 12:28 PM
apply JPA 1st of course...the JPA scholarship include the PRE-U course..
hey, i m a new member here. i would like to ask you something regarding the jpa scholarship. i just got my spm results and considering dentistry. do i have to apply the jpa scholarship first or i have to do pre-u course first?
Which country are you applying for?
I'm also applying dentistry. =)
16-03-2009, 03:38 PM
Which country are you applying for?
I'm also applying dentistry. =)I don't think you can choose.
yuan_renn
30-03-2009, 10:16 PM
Hello all, Good Luck for ya interview!
AaronJ
23-04-2009, 10:56 PM
hi guys..
i'm kinda new here..
I applied for dentistry..
so hopefully,they will offer the scholarship to me..
haha~
nana90
26-04-2009, 02:12 PM
gud luck to all my juniors..kinda excited waiting 4 u guys coming to ucsi..:)
anything about jpa dentistry just pm me..hopefully i can help u..:nod
AaronJ
26-04-2009, 10:38 PM
thx..
nana90,ermm..
how's ur SPM results?
you are in UCSI? that means you are going to UK/Ireland?
Sweet!!!
AaronJ
04-05-2009, 07:28 PM
Gosh, I thought there are many students here applying for Dentistry?
Where have they gone to?
yuan_renn
05-05-2009, 08:49 AM
Gosh, I thought there are many students here applying for Dentistry?
Where have they gone to?
Here I am:P
poutingdoll
05-05-2009, 09:40 AM
LOL I also applied for dentistry~
Hihi. Im applying dentistry too..
AaronJ
05-05-2009, 07:38 PM
I applied for dentistry too..
r u guys confident about securing the scholarship?
I heard you need t get AT LEAST 12A1 to go to UK/Ireland?
This tat true?
fookent
05-05-2009, 09:55 PM
I'm applying dentistry too...can the senior who get the JPA scholarship for dentistry post ur result at this thread....
at least we can know about the average result to get the scholarship...
AaronJ
05-05-2009, 10:17 PM
if you refer to the previous post..
most of those who managed to secure the scholarship scored 11A1 and above..
If your aim is to go to UK/Ireland,I think u need to score at least 12A1..
This is what I have heard so far..
poutingdoll
06-05-2009, 09:59 AM
if you refer to the previous post..
most of those who managed to secure the scholarship scored 11A1 and above..
If your aim is to go to UK/Ireland,I think u need to score at least 12A1..
This is what I have heard so far..
I only got 9A1...
aiyaiyaiyaiyai........
If the results is like 10A1 n 1A2 which is chinese?
AaronJ
06-05-2009, 06:55 PM
If the results is like 10A1 n 1A2 which is chinese?
I am not sure about that..
but what we can do now is to pray hard..
ermm..
BTW, the 12A1 does not include GCE..
all the best..
and I hope they will release it by 8th May..
I'm getting sick of it..
junedesst
09-05-2009, 10:43 AM
i got 9a1 and 1a2,
and i got the scholarship,
how bout you guys?
sopie
09-05-2009, 10:44 AM
I only got 9A1...
aiyaiyaiyaiyai........
no worry u still got a chance to go to uk/ireland. Well..i got 9A1 2A2 for spm 2007 and i got dentistry uk(actually i didn't put any hope i can get uk....i think i got india but well my luck i guess :P)....here i am at ucsi... cant wait to see u all juniors!!
AaronJ
09-05-2009, 11:09 AM
Well,I didnt get the scholarship for JPA..
I obtained 11A1 and an A1 for GCEO..
I'm going to singapure after my A-level..
good luck to all recommers who got it..
tadaa
09-05-2009, 11:19 AM
got 11A1 and A1 for my gce o-level....and i got the scholarship...
just wondering where they're gonna send me....
AaronJ
09-05-2009, 11:20 AM
got 11A1 and A1 for my gce o-level....and i got the scholarship...
just wondering where they're gonna send me....
you are so lucky..
all the best..
yuan_renn
09-05-2009, 04:50 PM
Well,I didnt get the scholarship for JPA..
I obtained 11A1 and an A1 for GCEO..
I'm going to singapure after my A-level..
good luck to all recommers who got it..
Don't even consider apealling it?
Anyway, whatever is your decision, hope you will be successful in your life
poutingdoll
09-05-2009, 05:09 PM
no worry u still got a chance to go to uk/ireland. Well..i got 9A1 2A2 for spm 2007 and i got dentistry uk(actually i didn't put any hope i can get uk....i think i got india but well my luck i guess :P)....here i am at ucsi... cant wait to see u all juniors!!
OMG FOR REAL?!!! Good gracious I worried the whole night that I'll be placed in India...though there isn't any guarantee about it...:cry It's comforting reading your post ;D I'll just hope that luck is on my side. 9A1 isn't that bad at all~ At least for now!
AaronJ
09-05-2009, 05:27 PM
Don't even consider apealling it?
Anyway, whatever is your decision, hope you will be successful in your life
yup..
I WILL appeal..
but I think my chances are slim..
haha~
yuan_renn
09-05-2009, 05:36 PM
yup..
I WILL appeal..
but I think my chances are slim..
haha~
I see, GOOD LUCK pal. Do consider to seek help from MCA, it might become handy. Cheers
sopie
09-05-2009, 10:10 PM
OMG FOR REAL?!!! Good gracious I worried the whole night that I'll be placed in India...though there isn't any guarantee about it...:cry It's comforting reading your post ;D I'll just hope that luck is on my side. 9A1 isn't that bad at all~ At least for now!
haha~~...u should b thankful u got the scholarship k no matter where u get place:) well no worry so much....my friend he got 1 b3 in his spm and he got dentistry ireland-bound...and he's a chinese!! no worry maa.... it's all depends on ur luck :wink pray hard k....
Sophie, I KNOW WHO IS THAT PERSON!!!!!!! My friend too...!!! Is he Yijing?
tadaa
09-05-2009, 11:12 PM
initially i was oso worried about being sebt to india...but not anymore. I heard from an medic graduate from manipal, india that jpa students there are given special treatment....hostel all not that bad...so i guess i'm feeling a little more at ease now.....
yuan_renn
09-05-2009, 11:32 PM
initially i was oso worried about being sebt to india...but not anymore. I heard from an medic graduate from manipal, india that jpa students there are given special treatment....hostel all not that bad...so i guess i'm feeling a little more at ease now.....
JPA still sending scholars to Manipal? I thought it's not recognised by government already? Yay, got special treat for us!!!
tadaa
09-05-2009, 11:46 PM
i donno how its gonna be after this lar...she said a lot of politics going on inside....for jpa students the hostel is more like an average malaysian hostel while the rest of the hostels are quite ancient...(read: no tiles in bathrooms)
dcwk04
09-05-2009, 11:54 PM
Lol. Why you guys so scared of getting India? Its just another country to get your course done with... and its like, an adventure! India! Wooh! Haha
yuan_renn
10-05-2009, 12:12 AM
i donno how its gonna be after this lar...she said a lot of politics going on inside....for jpa students the hostel is more like an average malaysian hostel while the rest of the hostels are quite ancient...(read: no tiles in bathrooms)
Lmao, ancient huh, nice to hear!
tadaa
10-05-2009, 12:28 AM
Lmao, ancient huh, nice to hear!
huh...nice to hear???
why???
u interested in staying in a prehistoric building previously infested with dinosaurs ah???
10-05-2009, 01:31 AM
It's interesting to see that the trend JPA awarding scholarship this year has changed, perhaps they have different criteria in determining country this year instead of number of A1. By the way, having a B3 doesn't really matter last time, if you have even more A1s to cover up, say 12. Generally, bumis need less number of A1 than non Bumi to get the same country.
Sorry to burst your bubble but don't get your hopes up high yet. Last year mostly 13A+ got uk. The bulk of JPA dentistry will be coming to lovely KTT.
junedesst
10-05-2009, 10:16 AM
ohh, bt what is KTT?
KTT is where u will be doing a-lvls be4 going to india
http://www.ktt.edu.my/
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5165
yuan_renn
10-05-2009, 11:28 AM
It's interesting to see that the trend JPA awarding scholarship this year has changed, perhaps they have different criteria in determining country this year instead of number of A1. By the way, having a B3 doesn't really matter last time, if you have even more A1s to cover up, say 12. Generally, bumis need less number of A1 than non Bumi to get the same country.
Agree, they have changed their trend, so now we can't say how they will judge us for sure. But for me, any country will do:)
huh...nice to hear???
why???
u interested in staying in a prehistoric building previously infested with dinosaurs ah???
Yaya, like jurassic park! RAWR!!!!!!!!!!!!
tadaa
10-05-2009, 12:04 PM
[quote=yuan_renn;239739]Agree, they have changed their trend, so now we can't say how they will judge us for sure. But for me, any country will do:)
i agree with you there...as long as it's free, i'm happy!!!
india not bad what....:)
[quote=yuan_renn;239739]Agree, they have changed their trend, so now we can't say how they will judge us for sure. But for me, any country will do:)
That's the spirit! India rocks!
yuan_renn
10-05-2009, 02:10 PM
Lol, as long as it is free XD
sopie
10-05-2009, 03:25 PM
Sophie, I KNOW WHO IS THAT PERSON!!!!!!! My friend too...!!! Is he Yijing?
hahaha...u noe yijing?? he's my batch mate...he's not dentistry laa but pharmacy-uk bound...doing a-lvl with me here in ucsi hehe
poutingdoll
10-05-2009, 04:15 PM
I'm grateful, really! Maybe I did worry too much =/ Shouldn't have watched slumdog millionaire, I pictured slums when people mention India...TEEHEE!! Yeah, I'll pray hard, just hope that I'll get the country I want *fingers crossed*
hahaha...u noe yijing?? he's my batch mate...he's not dentistry laa but pharmacy-uk bound...doing a-lvl with me here in ucsi hehe
Oh, sorry wrong facts. Of course I know Yijing, sophie I was there at UCSI with you and all JPA scholars, remember??? with you in Group A!!! :cry you forgotten me and it 's only about 8 months or so.....no!!!!
wait...your friend got English B3 for English or English 1119? Is your friend (dentistry) in UCSI? Group A?
duke23
10-05-2009, 06:08 PM
Oh, sorry wrong facts. Of course I know Yijing, sophie I was there at UCSI with you and all JPA scholars, remember??? with you in Group A!!! :cry you forgotten me and it 's only about 8 months or so.....no!!!!
wait...your friend got English B3 for English or English 1119? Is your friend (dentistry) in UCSI? Group A?
then you got transferred to monash?or kicked out?:) jk
tadaa
10-05-2009, 09:49 PM
11A1 not enough for UK ah?...
what happens if we get UK, and do well in A levels...
but fail in the entrance exam or interview???
do we have to continue locally???
duckie
12-05-2009, 04:26 PM
:ohoh my GOSH!!! great man...WWWOOOWWWW!!! i got 11A1s n an A1 for 1119...i got it...thank God!!!at least now i noe dat uk is NOT IMPOSSIBLE...phew..btw when will we noe which country???apparently getting UK is lk winning d lottery.. but india also not bad...at least its still a RM300,000's deal..XD
poutingdoll
12-05-2009, 04:35 PM
I read somewhere (but I forgot where) in the forum, they say if you get UK and you failed the UK entrance exam they're gonna relocate you to another country which is "easier" to enter, they won't put you back locally I think, since they promised you PILN ;D
:ohoh my GOSH!!! great man...WWWOOOWWWW!!! i got 11A1s n an A1 for 1119...i got it...thank God!!!at least now i noe dat uk is NOT IMPOSSIBLE...phew..btw when will we noe which country???apparently getting UK is lk winning d lottery.. but india also not bad...at least its still a RM300,000's deal..XD
We have to wait for the letter :laugh
12-05-2009, 04:43 PM
I read somewhere (but I forgot where) in the forum, they say if you get UK and you failed the UK entrance exam they're gonna relocate you to another country which is "easier" to enter, they won't put you back locally I think, since they promised you PILN ;D
It don't have to be necessarily that way. They do promise overseas, but bear in mind.
It's you're sole responsibility to perform well and get an admission. Since JPA is not a business entity - government- they do consider and lenient. But in cases where you did very badly, they might dismiss you or only sponsor you to study locally.
AaronJ
12-05-2009, 05:02 PM
congratez..
I scored the same results but I didnt get the scholarship..
Hope that u get the scholarship 2 UK!!
duckie
12-05-2009, 09:32 PM
congratez..
I scored the same results but I didnt get the scholarship..
Hope that u get the scholarship 2 UK!!
thx....hope so..mayb u'll get it after u appeal...there's still hope..good luck!XD:wink
yuan_renn
12-05-2009, 10:22 PM
Jia You AaronJ, everything will be fine:)
AaronJ
12-05-2009, 11:21 PM
Jia You AaronJ, everything will be fine:)
thx..
yuan renn n duckie..
hope so..
but I know it's hard..
hopefully lady luck is on my side..
sopie
13-05-2009, 08:30 AM
hahaha...i noe u la of coz....saje je buat x kenal =P he's in group b la that guy not yijing....u r 'making money' rite if i'm nort mistaken miss Chua called u that? hahaha:P
There are a few of my seniors(7 or 6 people) didn't get a place in uk for dentistry course and all of them do very very well in their academics....well means straight 4 A's!! Some of them only get 1 interview out of 4 universities they chose and unfortunately they are very very lucky to get that one offer... So here i'm not going to burst ur bubbles because getting scholarship to Uk espeacially for dentistry means that u have to be prepared mentally beacause it's a tough course. So for those of my seniors who do not get any offer yet, JPA already told them the probabaly going to be sent to India.
poutingdoll
13-05-2009, 09:37 AM
Any of the Recomers are currently in India Uni for Dentistry or for the matter any other courses....
Need info on the following:-
Standard of the Uni you are in
Living Standard - Water & Electricity, Road network, airport etc
Cost of living - On a scale of 1 (Cheapest) - 10 (Most expensive) would JPA allowance be sufficient to meet your dialy expenses?
Type of environment e.g. Town, Kampung, City, cleaniness, Malls Food (all curry only) etc
Another thing is the accomodation arrange by JPA?
hallo
13-05-2009, 11:36 AM
There are a few of my seniors(7 or 6 people) didn't get a place in uk for dentistry course and all of them do very very well in their academics....well means straight 4 A's!! Some of them only get 1 interview out of 4 universities they chose and unfortunately they are very very lucky to get that one offer... So here i'm not going to burst ur bubbles because getting scholarship to Uk espeacially for dentistry means that u have to be prepared mentally beacause it's a tough course. So for those of my seniors who do not get any offer yet, JPA already told them the probabaly going to be sent to India.[/quote]
what does this mean?meaning that even in the letter,jpa say that we'll be going uk,we're still nt confirm that we r reali going uk?meaning that after v do a-level then v still need to interview to enter certain U in UK?izzit?
13-05-2009, 12:47 PM
what does this mean?meaning that even in the letter,jpa say that we'll be going uk,we're still nt confirm that we r reali going uk?meaning that after v do a-level then v still need to interview to enter certain U in UK?izzit?Of course you'll need to pass the cutoff point and get offer from any university in the country, or else you would be sent to other countries.
poutingdoll
13-05-2009, 12:54 PM
what does this mean?meaning that even in the letter,jpa say that we'll be going uk,we're still nt confirm that we r reali going uk?meaning that after v do a-level then v still need to interview to enter certain U in UK?izzit?
Yes..she means that.
@<hidden>: so you made it through the interview and secured a place in UK?? The whole "failing to get a place after interview thing"..it only happens if we get UK..? right?? I mean being rejected and all. Since their standard is higher...or..it is possible with Aus,Ireland and NZ too?
Haih at the end of the day..the offer letter still means nothing..HUH....:cry
13-05-2009, 01:05 PM
Yes..she means that.
@<hidden>: so you made it through the interview and secured a place in UK?? The whole "failing to get a place after interview thing"..it only happens if we get UK..? right?? I mean being rejected and all. Since their standard is higher...or..it is possible with Aus,Ireland and NZ too?
Haih at the end of the day..the offer letter still means nothing..HUH....:cryIt happens to every country, if you fail to get any offer from universities of the country, the same thing happens. This is particularly true for dentistry because there are very limited places for dentistry almost in every country.
poutingdoll
13-05-2009, 01:12 PM
It happens to every country, if you fail to get any offer from universities of the country, the same thing happen. This is particularly true for dentistry because there are very limited places for dentistry almost in every country.
Owh good lord :shock:
tadaa
13-05-2009, 02:29 PM
i've heard of seniors getting uk, ireland and india...but how come no seniors here going to NZ and australia...this year first batch ar???
13-05-2009, 03:14 PM
i've heard of seniors getting uk, ireland and india...but how come no seniors here going to NZ and australia...this year first batch ar???
Probably a cut cost measure cause the Australian and New Zealand Dollar dropped tremendously during the economic meltdown. So, it is cheaper to people there than sending them to UK.
13-05-2009, 04:10 PM
i've heard of seniors getting uk, ireland and india...but how come no seniors here going to NZ and australia...this year first batch ar???No, this is not the first batch, my friend got Australia for dentistry 3 years ago, and according to her, there were just about 12 Australia-bound dentistry students for her batch, and places for dentistry in Australia are very limited, only 6 universities offering dentistry that time, and now the number has gone down because some have changed the entry requirement and dentistry is no longer an undergraduate course. I think the case would be more or less the same for New Zealand, as there are only 2 universities offering medicine in New Zealand, there shouldn't be more for dentistry.
duckie
13-05-2009, 10:22 PM
It happens to every country, if you fail to get any offer from universities of the country, the same thing happens. This is particularly true for dentistry because there are very limited places for dentistry almost in every country.
oh dear.........meaning dat if we hav met d min requirements in A levels, d university probably wont accept us ??? straight As also cant get in then wat exactly do they want??? i heard dis only happens to those who fail to meet d min requirements??omg...dis is really tough...:cry
sopie
15-05-2009, 05:43 PM
Yes..she means that.
Haih at the end of the day..the offer letter still means nothing..HUH....:cry
hahaha....don't apply yet la...will apply dis september when ucas open...i was saying these based on my experience watching and talking with my seniors who had apply... the interview is for us to get place in uk and it will conducted by at least 2 senior tutors or admission tutors of the universities...they will fly from uk each year to recuit malaysian students to study in their universities... actually it happen to australia and also new zealand and also ireland... if we do not do very well during the interviews they will reject us la... australia and new zealand are much tougher...my batch, jpa only send 9 people to australia and 2 people to new zealand compare to uk they send 17 people and ireland 9 people...india i guess will be more that these figures la of coz...:amuse
Universities in aus/nz look basically base their allocations of places in their university on your TER.
for australia -certain universities do not necessarily look at your TER (percentile) but instead, they look at your ISAT scores (it's a test - google to find out more) first before determining if you should be granted for an interview. Then it will largely be based on your performance during the interview.. if you're granted a spot - they wouldn't place so much emphasis on TER, instead they will allocate a space if you pass the minimum TER. Other unis however, will grant everyone an interview at first, and only give you a spot once you get the required TER. Mind you, the TER requirements for dentistry are relatively higher compared to other courses, sometimes even more than medicine. So yes, dentistry for australia requires a lot of hard-work, not only academic-wise. Different universities have different processes that students have to go through. But you needn't worry about the process, if you're aus bound IDP Edu Aus will come to college to give you a briefing on the process, deadlines for applications and they will liase with your scholarship body - leaving the rest up to you, and your brain. Oh and some unis require CVs as well.
And uniMelb now no longer accepts undergraduate students for dentistry, medicine and vet science.
sopie
16-05-2009, 09:26 AM
ooo....forgot to mention if u get uk...u have to take ukcat test and write ur own personal statement in ucas form....they will ask what u write in personal statement during the interview so dont make up story...just write about urself. There is no cut point for ukcat because they will ranking u with all students who apply which are from all over the world(like top 100 or 200) and if u are within the ranking..u will get the interview....dont be scare la if u get the scholarship to any country, i'm sure u will work really hard to get a place there:)
poutingdoll
17-05-2009, 07:55 PM
I was told my letter would be sent on 29/05 and course to start by end of June......Country however still unknown
Any one of you ReComer got any idea abt the college .......
I was told my letter would be sent on 29/05 and course to start by end of June......Country however still unknown
UK - UCSI
Aus/NZ - INTEC
India - KTT
poutingdoll
18-05-2009, 09:13 AM
UK - UCSI
Aus/NZ - INTEC
India - KTT
Awesome!!! thanks :))
18-05-2009, 11:31 AM
I thought the letter will be sent on 16/5 onwards? Yours is 29/5, for me it's kinda late already...
Was the JPA calling you and informing about those to you?
yuan_renn
18-05-2009, 11:36 AM
You called them?
poutingdoll
18-05-2009, 03:00 PM
You called them?
I email them & JPA reply to me...
yuan_renn
19-05-2009, 12:51 PM
My sis just phoned them and they said we won't know which country we got in the coming letter. They will only decide to send us to which country after our pre-U, depends on our result. If you get 4.00 then you can choose your favourite country:)
junedesst
19-05-2009, 01:30 PM
yua renn, are you sure? because you know in the surat pemberitahuan at the esila web, they say that they're gonna tell you which country you got,
bt i hope we know the country we got until we finished pre-u,
dcwk04
19-05-2009, 01:38 PM
My sis just phoned them and they said we won't know which country we got in the coming letter. They will only decide to send us to which country after our pre-U, depends on our result. If you get 4.00 then you can choose your favourite country:)
Whoa serious? Thats cool. Theres cons to this though.
You guys will be competing heavily among yourselves (scholars), and the sense of camaraderie and comradeship that comes with what "country-bound" you are would probably be gone.
Like for example, we India bound scholars know that we're going to India and all we need is a minimum cut off point of ABB. As long as we get that pointer, we'll be flying overseas to matter what. Theres no unfriendly competition among us cause we all know "we're all in this together" (haha quote High School Musical, akk..).
But now the juniors will have no bound, everyone will be fighting for the top position... hmm.. maybe thats a good thing for academics. Depends lah. If all of you kiasu then everyone go crazy la.
yuan_renn
19-05-2009, 03:24 PM
yua renn, are you sure? because you know in the surat pemberitahuan at the esila web, they say that they're gonna tell you which country you got,
bt i hope we know the country we got until we finished pre-u,
I'm not the one who called. My sissy told me de.
Whoa serious? Thats cool. Theres cons to this though.
You guys will be competing heavily among yourselves (scholars), and the sense of camaraderie and comradeship that comes with what "country-bound" you are would probably be gone.
Like for example, we India bound scholars know that we're going to India and all we need is a minimum cut off point of ABB. As long as we get that pointer, we'll be flying overseas to matter what. Theres no unfriendly competition among us cause we all know "we're all in this together" (haha quote High School Musical, akk..).
But now the juniors will have no bound, everyone will be fighting for the top position... hmm.. maybe thats a good thing for academics. Depends lah. If all of you kiasu then everyone go crazy la.
Yeah, +1 for this:)
19-05-2009, 05:51 PM
Hmm... It's interesting if it's true... However I think it's not quite likely to happen, as different countries require different pre-U, which pre-U will all of you taking then? A-Level?
dcwk04
19-05-2009, 06:14 PM
Hmm... It's interesting if it's true... However I think it's not quite likely to happen, as different countries require different pre-U, which pre-U will all of you taking then? A-Level?
If they are ALL taking A Levels, Im gonna be sadistic and hope they all come to KTT (even though I know theres not enough space to accomodate BUT) it'll be so cool and I'll have tonnes and tonnes of juniors! *squeals*
Right. Cool.
19-05-2009, 06:33 PM
Oh yeah, coming to think about that, if the news is to be true, I guess we know why this year many students with brilliant results didn't secure the scholarship, instead some with average results managed to... :P
yuan_renn
21-05-2009, 10:52 PM
One of my friend's friend said he already got the offer letter, going UK? So anyone got the letter? Look, I'm not sure whether this news is reliable or not, so no flamming, thanks:P