View Full Version : Scholarship Holders Getting Bankrupt?
stupidboy
16-04-2008, 12:31 AM
What do you all think of this issue?
I've seen a lot of scholarship holders getting bankrupt. In bankrupt I mean they ended up with -xxx(could be in RM,?,$,etc) in their bank before the next allowance is banked in. Thus, they borrow money from their friends(who didn't bankrupt) and maybe even other ways(I haven't seen anyone borrow money from the bank yet).
What the hell's wrong with these people? When questionned, they'll say that the allowance is not enough, the things in overseas are too expensive, etc. And we even see a lot of the scholarship holders asked for their allowance to be increased. And yet it's actually enough for us to eat well, sleep well and study well(I mean we can still buy books for our studies, hahahaha). Maybe we won't have enough to visit the places around us, which everyone would like to, but we're sponsored for our studies and nothing else. So we might as well know our limits and not exceeding it. Besides, those in Malaysia can only visit Malaysia. (Just a little addition, some of them even buy remote control cars from eBay and many more. And as for food, they buy the ones of the lousy brands cause it's way cheaper.)
But these people that I've seen getting bankrupt, for them it's like we cannot 'waste'(you'll understand it in my next sentence) the money we get. "We have to spend it all as fast as we could! What if you die today? You'll just waste your money and time cause you didn't enjoy your life by using all your money". Someone who really knows how to safe money for them it's like, "You're so stingy! All you do is safe money and nothing else. You're so rich cause you only safe money, but we got bankrupt cause we enjoy life".
[I'm not being racist here but most(I did say most and not all) of these people are Malays. Sorry if I hurt any of your feelings, but I'm just saying what I see and not more.]
But most importantly, does these people deserve scholarships? Haven't they think about those who didn't get anything? Haven't they think about their parents who worked so hard for them? When I think about it, I feel really sorry for those who are a little unlucky in not getting anything. :(
So for those future scholarship holders, please don't let this happen to you!
PS: I think there are quite a lot of grammar mistake in it, so sorry. It's been a long time since I wrote something in english. :)
nadia.g
16-04-2008, 09:47 AM
I understand wat ur saying. I admit there are ppl like that who spends like hell. its up to them actualy, as long as we dont turn out to be such big spenders n waste unnecessarily on stuff we don't need.
sigh.. the money shud be put to good use. n students shud not ask for more money from parents.
i even know some ppl, who are so thrifty. they have enough money for themselves to enjoy but still have enough (a lot actually) money to send to their parents back in Msia.
follow that example (=
16-04-2008, 10:17 AM
I think this issue is pretty much up to each individual's spending habit. Some people's expenditure is pretty much 99% on their current need and luxuries and 1% for the future; while some people's is just the opposite. There's a balance we need to strike between the current and the future.
By the way, I have a pretty positive account balance here. :P
extell
16-04-2008, 10:19 AM
Anyone heard the story about JPA scholars going to public toilets to "take" toilet papers because they can't afford it? My mum read it in the papers. People are complaining that their COLA isn't sweet enough. >.<
16-04-2008, 10:22 AM
they should get a part-time job..just to add some pocket money to buy foods/stationeries.. I'll do that if I got scholarships..selling malaysian kuih..haha
16-04-2008, 10:26 AM
However, some of the cases might not be because of their spending habit. For example, some of my friends who go US this year are required to stay in dorm for first year and purchase meal plans. But, the housing cost alone has exceed what JPA provide as our housing and food allowances, so how?
extell
16-04-2008, 10:28 AM
I'll so work part time if I get european countries >.<
I hope I do, coz it's not so bad anywae.
16-04-2008, 10:33 AM
what is the best/easiest part-time job??? :
-restaurant..(clean dishes, cleaner)
-what else??
extell
16-04-2008, 11:01 AM
Maybe waitress? Or street artist? Earns lots by drawing because people in europe and mid east appreciates art.
pssst: Matrix results out, link's here (in my post); http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6067&page=177
stupidboy
16-04-2008, 12:10 PM
I understand wat ur saying. I admit there are ppl like that who spends like hell. its up to them actualy, as long as we dont turn out to be such big spenders n waste unnecessarily on stuff we don't need.
sigh.. the money shud be put to good use. n students shud not ask for more money from parents.
i even know some ppl, who are so thrifty. they have enough money for themselves to enjoy but still have enough (a lot actually) money to send to their parents back in Msia.
follow that example (=
Yeah, I'm not one of them that's for sure. (and some of them even call their parents to send stuff(like shirts,food,etc) from Malaysia which cost about a few hundred ringgit for shipping it.)
I think this issue is pretty much up to each individual's spending habit. Some people's expenditure is pretty much 99% on their current need and luxuries and 1% for the future; while some people's is just the opposite. There's a balance we need to strike between the current and the future.
By the way, I have a pretty positive account balance here. :P
But don't you think this kind of habit is murderous? Wasting scholarship allowances like that. They don't even have that 1% for the future. It's about -20% for them.
However, some of the cases might not be because of their spending habit. For example, some of my friends who go US this year are required to stay in dorm for first year and purchase meal plans. But, the housing cost alone has exceed what JPA provide as our housing and food allowances, so how?
For these cases, it's JPA's fault not providing enough allowance for the students. But from what I've seen, I know they have enough to eat well and sleep well. And yet they ended up bankrupt.
they should get a part-time job..just to add some pocket money to buy foods/stationeries.. I'll do that if I got scholarships..selling malaysian kuih..haha
I'll so work part time if I get european countries >.<
I hope I do, coz it's not so bad anywae.
You won't have that much time for part time jobs. Trust me.
16-04-2008, 12:17 PM
But don't you think this kind of habit is murderous? Wasting scholarship allowances like that. They don't even have that 1% for the future. It's about -20% for them.
Yeah in that case the habit is a quite a concern.
16-04-2008, 12:26 PM
Technically you're not supposed to get a part time job if you're on a scholarship as it would breach your contract..
extell
16-04-2008, 01:40 PM
I depends on what course we are taking and where our workplace is. Besides, there are plenty of ways we can earn $$. Like doing art commissions online. I've done some before.
yummyummylicious
16-04-2008, 05:46 PM
What do you all think of this issue?
[I'm not being racist here but most(I did say most and not all) of these people are Malays. Sorry if I hurt any of your feelings, but I'm just saying what I see and not more.]
But most importantly, does these people deserve scholarships? Haven't they think about those who didn't get anything? Haven't they think about their parents who worked so hard for them? When I think about it, I feel really sorry for those who are a little unlucky in not getting anything. :(
So for those future scholarship holders, please don't let this happen to you!
PS: I think there are quite a lot of grammar mistake in it, so sorry. It's been a long time since I wrote something in english. :)
BRAVO!!! emmm, and i can actually understand what you mean...
i feel sad for their parents too...and i think if these scholarships are given to the more deserving and come from a not so rich family, they will appreciate more and use it in a better way!
So i will keep this in mind and wont do like what you mentioned if i am able to secure a scholarship...
hmm, just curious..are you a JPA scholar or ....???
You won't have that much time for part time jobs. Trust me.[/QUOTE]
well, i guess this actually depends on how you do your timetable...one can handle both if one is hardworking...but just kinda difficult lor...
Technically you're not supposed to get a part time job if you're on a scholarship as it would breach your contract..
mmm...my friend's brother had finished his degree in US, he's a JPA scholar for bio-chem...mmm, he actually had a part-time job for around 3 to 4 months just to get some pocket money to Europe with his friends during a semester break wor... but anyway, he managed to do well in his exams too...
zureen
16-04-2008, 05:54 PM
hey stupidboy..im a malay and i don't get bankrup and i don't spend like hell the money petronas gave me..so don't generalize okay..don't be insensitive..
16-04-2008, 06:05 PM
I've seen chinese who ended up with negative balance as well...
Thread moved to the debates section
Oh man, what can I say,haha. For those scholarship holders who actually did as how you depicted them, well it's typical Malaysian attitude isn't it? Kiasu.
16-04-2008, 09:37 PM
Blah, the JPA officer knows about it too and inform us to do job secretly as he knew the allowances are not enough for some places.
Appolo
16-04-2008, 09:41 PM
Oh man, what can I say,haha. For those scholarship holders who actually did as how you depicted them, well it's typical Malaysian attitude isn't it? Kiasu.
What's the connection between kiasu and spending money excessively?
I remembered the time I went broke(account balance rmxx.00) with no apparent reason.After I made a rough estimation of the money that I spent, i was surprised as a majority of them actually came from the club activities that I joined, assignments to be printed, books that i bought and other related expenses that were not related to luxury living.
Luckily it happened a month before the release of another round of allowance by JPA.Still, I was so ashamed to ask back home for money and I kinda made a deal with my dad about spending my money wisely.He gave me only 150 for that particular month(30 days) and that's it!
So, the spartan training of my dad really paid off as i am more particular when it comes to money right now.A ringgit saved is a ringgit earned....
16-04-2008, 09:43 PM
Appolo, are you referring to pre-U in Malaysia? I agree that JPA allowance during pre-U is just enough, and can quite easily exhaust with daily and academic necessities.
For my current living though, it's quite impossible to finish it unless you choose to live in luxurious accommodation and lead an extravagant lifestyle.
Appolo
16-04-2008, 10:00 PM
Appolo, are you referring to pre-U in Malaysia? I agree that JPA allowance during pre-U is just enough, and can quite easily exhaust with daily and academic necessities.
For my current living though, it's quite impossible to finish it unless you choose to live in luxurious accommodation and lead an extravagant lifestyle.
Yup.It happen last year as a matter of fact.I'm currently trying to train myself to be more disciplined when it comes to spending money that are not mine to begin with.Won't want to make an international call just to ask money though...Haha..
16-04-2008, 10:54 PM
stupidboy...i suggest you read a thread by the title 'JPA allowance'
p/s i dont know how to make a link.hehe..
stupidboy
17-04-2008, 01:24 AM
well, i guess this actually depends on how you do your timetable...one can handle both if one is hardworking...but just kinda difficult lor...
Well, it actually depends more on the time table of your school(or I dunno how you call it). If you have a very pack time table, there's not really any chance for you to get a job even if you manage your own time table wisely.
hey stupidboy..im a malay and i don't get bankrup and i don't spend like hell the money petronas gave me..so don't generalize okay..don't be insensitive..
I've seen chinese who ended up with negative balance as well...
Thread moved to the debates section
Sorry, sorry... But I don't really mean it. I'm just saying what I've seen and nothing more. I know there are quite a lot of chinese getting bankrupt as well. But from what I've seen it's like that(maybe it's cause there's not really any chinese here?). Sorry again...:(
17-04-2008, 01:28 AM
did you read the thread i mentioned stupidboy?its very nice,it will show you how is the actual financials of the overseas scholars..
stupidboy
17-04-2008, 01:30 AM
I agree as well that the JPA allowance for pre-U in Malaysia is just enough. I've even heard that many don't have enough and moreover JPA is always late when it comes to banking-in the allowance.
But what I'm really saying here is for those students who have more than enough money to survive and yet they're almost dead.
zureen
17-04-2008, 01:59 AM
Sorry, sorry... But I don't really mean it. I'm just saying what I've seen and nothing more. I know there are quite a lot of chinese getting bankrupt as well. But from what I've seen it's like that(maybe it's cause there's not really any chinese here?). Sorry again...
it's okay stupidboy. i do agree with you in some ways. i gotta say, it's really hard balancing ur expenditures in areas with a high living cost. so, for scholars who are sent to isolated areas e.g Banting, Lembah Beringin etc, be grateful as us scholars in the city have to spend a lot on food everyday. and they're not cheap, trust me.
stupidboy
17-04-2008, 02:17 AM
stupidboy...i suggest you read a thread by the title 'JPA allowance'
p/s i dont know how to make a link.hehe..
did you read the thread i mentioned stupidboy?its very nice,it will show you how is the actual financials of the overseas scholars..
JPA Allowance (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5739&highlight=jpa+allowance)
Yeah, it's a nice thread. But it's seems like most of the JPA scholars having problem with their allowance are the local and US scholars.
it's okay stupidboy. i do agree with you in some ways. i gotta say, it's really hard balancing ur expenditures in areas with a high living cost. so, for scholars who are sent to isolated areas e.g Banting, Lembah Beringin etc, be grateful as us scholars in the city have to spend a lot on food everyday. and they're not cheap, trust me.
Thanks! Yup, in big cities it'll be quite hard but normally the allowance would be enough unless we're under JPA, then we might have lots of problems(just kidding here :P). But it does seem like JPA scholars have more problems. Is it because they've just too many scholars to handle with?
17-04-2008, 02:29 AM
For my case, the COLA I am receiving is not enough for my monthly expenditure...Have to use my own pocket money...
stupidboy
18-04-2008, 04:59 AM
For my case, the COLA I am receiving is not enough for my monthly expenditure...Have to use my own pocket money...
Why do you call it COLA?
18-04-2008, 07:04 AM
Yours truly is one of them, the cost was really high that it forced many of us to live off-campus (find our own houses, sign own contracts, and pay our own bills, cook our own foods etc). In-campus housings are just plain expensive. Friends who stay in-campus had to fork out an additional 900 USD to cover 4 month rental + meal plan. That's about RM 2700 every 4 months. Wonder where they even get the money to buy toilet paper.
Nevertheless, i think, the shortage could be settled off pretty easily if we stay out and work part time within the university.
kintaro_kun
18-04-2008, 03:13 PM
Yours truly is one of them, the cost was really high that it forced many of us to live off-campus (find our own houses, sign own contracts, and pay our own bills, cook our own foods etc).
Nevertheless, i think, the shortage could be settled off pretty easily if we stay out and work part time within the university.
sounds like THE REST OF US NON-JPA folks. welcome to the real world.
stupidboy
18-04-2008, 07:19 PM
Yours truly is one of them, the cost was really high that it forced many of us to live off-campus (find our own houses, sign own contracts, and pay our own bills, cook our own foods etc). In-campus housings are just plain expensive. Friends who stay in-campus had to fork out an additional 900 USD to cover 4 month rental + meal plan. That's about RM 2700 every 4 months. Wonder where they even get the money to buy toilet paper.
Does this mean that most of you buy food instead of cooking yourself? Cause I know a lot of scholars actually have to cook for themselves and besides, quite a few have their own little kitchen in their apartments. I don't really know a lot but please do correct me if I'm wrong.
SuzeHanna
18-04-2008, 08:52 PM
Yours truly is one of them, the cost was really high that it forced many of us to live off-campus (find our own houses, sign own contracts, and pay our own bills, cook our own foods etc)... Nevertheless, i think, the shortage could be settled off pretty easily if we stay out and work part time within the university.
'Forced' is such a strong word.. Here in NZ, we have about the same situation - for the first year, we're given accommodation (accommodation only, no meal plans, and we do pay our own bills (well, our electricity and credit card bills), but for the second year, we're 'free' to live wherever we want. We will be provided an accommodation, if we REALLY CAN'T find a home, but we don't have to live in the Uni accommodation if we didn't want to. But to me, this is awesome coz it's a great opportunity to meet new people, to experience live in a completely new setting. Additionally, surveying for a place to stay is part of living life. You might find a cheaper place than what the government could have given you. As for cooking, well. I don't believe any harm could come from having to cook! (stupidboy: yup, we have a kitchen in our little apartment, I love it!) Plus, wouldn't it be more fun to eat out once in a while? After all, you are overseas. ; )
Back to the topic at hand though, as a scholarship student living in Auckland, New Zealand, I think the government gives us quite enough to live on. Quite enough, meaning after all's said and done, we're still able to spend on shopping. To start-up life overseas costs a lot of money - letting go of the first fortnightly rent, stocking up on food, getting to know how to use public transportation, unnecessary stops at Starbucks during orientation - but once the initial stages were over, we came to realize that any financial problems we would ever have would be a result of our mindless shopping. (Did I mention that Auckland is SALE LAND and New Zealand is TOURIST COUNTRY? Sales everywhere, second hand and dollar shops.. volcanoes and awesome scenery..) So, most of us here work to SUPPORT our overzealous spending habits and travel ambitions. Some of us also choose to work part time just for the experience. It is great fun to experience the work atmosphere in a different country, so even if you are financially secure, there is no harm in exploring the different jobs (and earning extra money). Childcare, retail, recreation, entertainment, whatever.
Seeing as I'm a TESL student, and not doing something like medicine or engineering - students doing these courses get financed more for books and their professional paraphernalia - and I'm nowhere near being bankrupt (the only other possibility of this would be if they sent the scholarship late), I don't really see how it could happen. The government gives enough money for basic survival (for rent, COLA, books, clothes, stationery) and that's how it should be. It IS the taxpayers' money after all.
Re: capablance: If the case happens that the government is FORCING you to stay in a place that exceeds your allowance, then a prompt complaint should be made. Your overseas coordinator or the person in charge of your batch in Malaysia should be able to handle the problem. Ask for more money since they're forcing you to stay there, or ask them to arrange another accommodation for you. Better yet, ask them to let you choose where you want to stay.
18-04-2008, 09:45 PM
I never said the government is forcing me to stay in a place that exceed my allowance. Heck, I'm not even out of the country yet. What I meant is that some unis have policy where first year need to stay in dorms. And the sponsorship is not enough to cover the rent. Anyway, I'm sure something will work out.
stupidboy
19-04-2008, 06:13 AM
Seeing as I'm a TESL student, and not doing something like medicine or engineering - students doing these courses get financed more for books and their professional paraphernalia - and I'm nowhere near being bankrupt (the only other possibility of this would be if they sent the scholarship late), I don't really see how it could happen. The government gives enough money for basic survival (for rent, COLA, books, clothes, stationery) and that's how it should be. It IS the taxpayers' money after all.
Well said! :)
But still, even if the allowances are banked-in a little late, shouldn't we have some back-up? What I meant is that shouldn't we at least save some money every month as a safety precaution and to prevent these kind of problems? Hey, I still don't know what is COLA(I guess it's food? But why COLA?).
Glassylicious
19-04-2008, 10:55 AM
Well said! :)
But still, even if the allowances are banked-in a little late, shouldn't we have some back-up? What I meant is that shouldn't we at least save some money every month as a safety precaution and to prevent these kind of problems? Hey, I still don't know what is COLA(I guess it's food? But why COLA?).
COLA = Cost of Living Allowance. Should be pretty self-explanatory from that point on.
stupidboy
19-04-2008, 05:12 PM
COLA = Cost of Living Allowance. Should be pretty self-explanatory from that point on.
Thanks! I finally know what does it mean. :D
prince_J
20-04-2008, 02:55 PM
i think it depends on the scholarship you are holding... and how you are gonna spent the money...
i will talk about my scholarship, BNM...
At first, I received USD 1300 per month... Ok, it seems to be a lot of money, but after paying my hostel and dining plan, i am left with a mere USD 48..... While after deducting my phone bill and weekend meals, i am easily facing negative balance... Although i plan to work, but i felt that working will seriously affect my studies...
fortunately, we did manage to get an increase after we inform BNM about out situation... :)
Iskandar Zulkarnain
21-04-2008, 01:16 AM
It is how you spend that make you Bankcrupt!
I don't actually understand what situation for students abroad, but I know how local students are.
Never spend on uncessary or luxurious! Handphone, McD, KFC, Pizzas, clothes... When you are holding your money, you have freedom to spend, but not spendtrift!
For example, one of my friends spent every cent in one semester, but I still have more than enough maoney to afford a laptop!
So, jaga sikit poketmu.
21-04-2008, 02:23 AM
i think it depends on the scholarship you are holding... and how you are gonna spent the money...
At first, I received USD 1300 per month... Ok, it seems to be a lot of money, but after paying my hostel and dining plan, i am left with a mere USD 48..... While after deducting my phone bill and weekend meals, i am easily facing negative balance... Although i plan to work, but i felt that working will seriously affect my studies...
fortunately, we did manage to get an increase after we inform BNM about out situation... :)
Dining plans?? Start saving by doing your own cooking if possible!
Why not try working during your sem break? I mean, most students overseas have to juggle between work and studies cause the allowance sometimes is merely enough to fund your basic needs. You can then leave the weekends for your studies. And if you can get a part time job that offers flexible hours just work a few hours a day (all during sem break of course) and study at night or vice versa. I know you might be thinking what's a newbie to advise you on such matters but actually that's what I'm doing now. And also some of friends overseas are doing the same thing so why not huh? =)
21-04-2008, 03:33 PM
Why not try working during your sem break? I mean, most students overseas have to juggle between work and studies cause the allowance sometimes is merely enough to fund your basic needs. You can then leave the weekends for your studies. And if you can get a part time job that offers flexible hours just work a few hours a day (all during sem break of course) and study at night or vice versa. I know you might be thinking what's a newbie to advise you on such matters but actually that's what I'm doing now. And also some of friends overseas are doing the same thing so why not huh? =)
what part time job can we found ya?
and working while during weekend is a good idea..but still we nid to find a suitable job so...and that is the problem for us ...
21-04-2008, 03:53 PM
Lots. Research works during holidays (boost your academic credentials too), restaurant, private tutoring, fruit picking etc etc.
Better find a part-time job that strengthens or complements your major/field. Beside earning some income, you can learn more about your field ('strengthen' case) or about things you don't learn in your field ('complement' case). That way you kill two birds with one stone. Don't go for 'common' jobs like monitoring computer labs etc.
Some examples:
Field: Engineering
Strengthen: Lab Assistant
Complement: Foreign Language Interpreter, Librarian
Field: Administration
Strengthen: Event Organizer
Complement: Lab AssistantNevertheless, you also need to pay attention on the pay rate, or else you ended earning little from the time spent on the jobs instead of on schoolworks. Go for at least USD8 per hour if you can find one.
Just some USD0.02 from someone who earned USD11.50 per hour doing website programming during university days (since it was all online, I worked from my own room most of the time) :nod
stupidboy
01-05-2008, 08:34 PM
Guess it turns out to be a "Get a part-time job" thread...hahaha...
Anyway, I want to go off topic as well. One more thing that I remarked from these scholars is that they always think that it should be easier for the studies. When they're given a hard task or exercise to do(one that really need you to think deep to find the answer), they won't work hard on it. They think about it for a while and then they'll give up on it. And if there's someone who's better, they'll expect to get the answer from that person. Even if that person don't really know how to do and can't answer their questions, they'll think that that person don't want to give them the answer. I guess they're just too used to spoon-feeding.
For example, I got a friend who sometimes ask me questions(I'm not saying that I'm good). When I gave him some clues on how to do the exercise, after a little while, he'll ask me again expecting to get more clues out of me or even to get the answer right away. He just don't really seem to think hard on the exercise and try to find the answer.
Furthermore, when there are tests and the questions given need more thinking, they'll say that the professor didn't teach that. And sometimes they'll even complain(of course it's not in front of the prof) that the profs wanted to make life hard when it should be easier. What I really mean is that they complained about the way the profs solve a problem especially in maths. They would say that in Malaysia they way of solving it is way easier, etc.
Is this the way scholarship holders should act?:(
Appolo
09-05-2008, 05:39 PM
Is this the way scholarship holders should act?:(
Well i think that it's more of human nature.The same situation can be applied to any other college students who are still studying.
Part-time jobs may not be as easy as it seems as it involves a lot of commitment and good time management.Earning an additional USD100 or more might be good but i feel that we should at least try to search for jobs that would help us a lot be it in terms of instilling interest in a particular item or better understanding how a particular system/mechanism operates.
Do something because you want to and not because you're being forced to.
stupidboy
13-05-2008, 04:43 AM
Well i think that it's more of human nature.The same situation can be applied to any other college students who are still studying.
Part-time jobs may not be as easy as it seems as it involves a lot of commitment and good time management.Earning an additional USD100 or more might be good but i feel that we should at least try to search for jobs that would help us a lot be it in terms of instilling interest in a particular item or better understanding how a particular system/mechanism operates.
Do something because you want to and not because you're being forced to.
But shouldn't deserving students be able to control their own doings? They should be able to control the amount of money(when there's enough) they spent as in not getting bankrupt and also able to adapt to the educational system other countries.
And that is a very dangerous line(bold). In a different context, it'll be saying that scholars should just spent as they like.:P Those who likes to spent would want to get a job just so that he/she has more money to spent and it'll be time wasting. As you know, those who doesn't like to study(means that they won't want to understand how a particular system/mechanism operates) are more than those who really like it. So they'll prefer to work anywhere just so that they can earn that extra bit of money to spent.