View Full Version : Current ReCom's Problem

17-04-2004, 04:45 AM
I guess current ReCom's problem could be a good learning phase for all of us. Perhaps those who know what is happening could share their observations and those who know how to solve the problems could share their knowledge. Lets work hard together to help bring ReCom back into action.

I know that Syamsul and Yusuf have been trying very hard, tirelessly to bring ReCom back into action.

I would also like to thank all ReCom's members for your continuous support and together, lets brave through this tough time~! Thank you~!

17-04-2004, 05:46 AM
Erm.. is there anything we can do?

17-04-2004, 11:05 AM
I can look for better webhosts if bachok or syamsul are willing to move .. as if they don't already know ;)

17-04-2004, 01:17 PM
I think one personal advice to those ReCom members during this uncertain time would be to Ctrl C and Ctrl P the stuff that you type in forum, before clicking submit. So, in case ReCom is down when you submit, at least you have those stuff saved somewhere else on your computer. Then, when ReCom is back, which is typically back within half an hour or so, you can repost easily within seconds.

I know that many have been very frustrated after seeing many words that they have typed got lost after ReCom was down. So, this is a temporary solution.

To all, rest assured that this problem will hopefully get solved. Syamsul and Yusuf have been trying their best to solve. Lets give them our fullest support~!

17-04-2004, 02:24 PM
I can look for better webhosts if bachok or syamsul are willing to move .. as if they don't already know ;)

actually, we try to try to solve the problem first. if it still doesn't work, we have no choice but to get a better deal than we currently have now.
but, you can post some recommendation. we would be happy to hear !

23-11-2004, 01:13 PM
any idea when the SIG could be implemented back?

the SIG seems to be working but the links to various SIGs at the front page have been broken for some time now.

23-11-2004, 01:28 PM
Okay, SIG should be up. If anyone spot some problems, just post it here.. thanks!

23-11-2004, 04:02 PM
I think we're pretty safe moving the modules tat we pretty much did all the coding - since it would be firstly really hard to find a security hole in just like that, and it would also take a person who has a lot of grudge against the platform to want to break in through that piece of code...

I'm in the midst of setting up some automatic file puller that zips up the db once a day and put it somewhere safe.

(p/s Sad to say I didn't manage to make time to continue the marketplace project. I think I'll scale down my ambitions and make something happen for now...)

24-11-2004, 05:37 PM
hi ppl. sorry havent been dat much active, currently no net access most of the time here at home. pc prob.

anyway, i noticed that you guys hv some new features on recom *shows how long i havent logged on to recom to notice all of this huhu :P *
good job. i love all the new things, they make recom look more interesting and a bit different fr the previous one. And i love the see your headline thingy you guys implemented.

but, some probs i found while surfing,
i cant get to shout history. what i got what "sorry this module is inactive". why is that?
and i cant shout in anime nihongo sig. i got some real weird things. can anyone look this up?

thanks ppl :D

25-11-2004, 04:33 AM
i think we need to disable the abililty to post anonymously.

03-12-2004, 01:55 PM
the shoutbox history is not working. :D

03-12-2004, 02:36 PM
gallery is not working. cant post pictures. :(

04-12-2004, 05:00 AM
The top menus (HOME, SITE MAP, FEATURES, COMMUNITY)... are not working.

By the way, why not shift the forum to internship asia's forum. It seems like the forum there (not there anymore) is simplier and loads faster (when i tried back in malaysia). This forum here sometimes a bit slow, sometimes really fast....

08-12-2004, 08:00 AM
Tried to shout at SIG and this is what I get:

Warning: fopen(iQing/shout.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 34

Warning: fputs(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 35

Warning: fputs(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 36

Warning: fputs(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 37

Warning: fputs(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 38

Warning: fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 39

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php:34) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/modules/SIG/sig_shout.php on line 40

No one has ever shouted here
Only members can shout here.

09-12-2004, 08:21 AM
most of the modules are inactive. I cant invite my friends.

and what's wrong w the shoutbox? i see only a bit of it, going right into the right side of recom's page. can you guys fix dat pls?

Tazz

13-12-2004, 03:59 AM
Somebody pointed out to me that the time for Msia is wrong. It's lagged by an hour.

13-12-2004, 04:07 AM
Somebody pointed out to me that the time for Msia is wrong. It's lagged by an hour.

i think so do Japan and Australia

14-12-2004, 12:00 AM
I have found a potential answer to the time error problem:

http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=faq#9

14-12-2004, 03:40 PM
i realized that when i go to recom.org on Opera, the shoutbox became a bit shifted to the right, and i cant type anything in the shoutbox. maybe it's just opera. but when i go on IE, it's okay..weird huh? :roll:

14-12-2004, 11:16 PM
i realized that when i go to recom.org on Opera, the shoutbox became a bit shifted to the right, and i cant type anything in the shoutbox. maybe it's just opera. but when i go on IE, it's okay..weird huh? :roll:
opera is a weird browser :P

15-12-2004, 07:34 AM
I have found a potential answer to the time error problem:

http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=faq#9

But there is no summer time in Malaysia.. lol..

budakkerek, try Firefox! Firefox rules...

15-12-2004, 10:23 AM
i cant
my dad says it makes everything go a bit gila
so cannot dload to the pc
but maybe on my laptop can
hehehe

oh ya..i got a new laptop! yeay! :D

16-12-2004, 12:40 AM
But there is no summer time in Malaysia.. lol..
True, but the problem may not arise from the client side. It may be that the server (in US) adjusted to follow the daylight saving time (or summer time) but they didn't change the time zone difference, hence the error.

16-12-2004, 12:45 AM
i cant
Really? Firefox, from my experience, is one of the most stable browser around. Hmm... (I am one of the fanatic firefox fans out there... 8) )

16-12-2004, 01:05 AM
i cant
Really? Firefox, from my experience, is one of the most stable browser around. Hmm... (I am one of the fanatic firefox fans out there... 8) )

firefox fan boy :D

anyway, i think firefox doesn't completely go with BBcode.

16-12-2004, 02:10 AM
Yeah, the "highlight-and-click" function doesn't work at all in firefox. But don't think is the problem with firefox, but just the scripting of the php... not standard compliant huh, (what firefox fans always lament about IE :wink: )

Just realised about that. No wonder all the while I typed the BBcode by myself.

17-12-2004, 12:18 AM
Guys, Recom Clock is fixed. Sorry for the delay. and Thanks to the wonderful Daylight savings.

17-12-2004, 12:21 AM
Thanks, masterof_none (The ReCom Guy~!)~!

17-12-2004, 02:03 AM
Thanks, Syamsul! UK time is alright now~

zqax
01-04-2005, 11:23 PM
i cant

nah, try to open a pdf file with firefox,it will take ages...
To me Opera still outclass Firefox lah

Anyway,I want to ask why is the following messages always appear on top of the forum?I'm using opera, firefox and IE to surf Recom.
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/themes/ReComPro/theme.php:224) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/includes/page_header.php on line 494

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/themes/ReComPro/theme.php:224) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/includes/page_header.php on line 496

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/themes/ReComPro/theme.php:224) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/includes/page_header.php on line 497

02-04-2005, 02:50 AM
i cant

Anyway,I want to ask why is the following messages always appear on top of the forum?I'm using opera, firefox and IE to surf Recom.
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/themes/ReComPro/theme.php:224) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/includes/page_header.php on line 494

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/themes/ReComPro/theme.php:224) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/includes/page_header.php on line 496

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/themes/ReComPro/theme.php:224) in /home/recom/domains/recom.org/public_html/includes/page_header.php on line 497

Hmm...I dont have that header thingy....using Firefox 1.0.2.

By the way, if you want a fast loading when opening pdf files, use a registered version of Acrobat Reader. :wink:

02-04-2005, 02:57 AM
no problems with my IE browser though...

firefox still has problems displaying certain flash items & also tables!

02-04-2005, 03:26 PM

Are you sure you have got the Adobe Reader 7.0 (which solves the speed issue in previous version of adobe readers) and Firefox 1.0.2? In my laptop it opens in less than 5 seconds. Blame not the software before you find the real cause. :evil:

02-04-2005, 03:34 PM
no problems with my IE browser though...

firefox still has problems displaying certain flash items & also tables!
Really? Can you please tell show me examples? I have not had examples so far. I know more about things that firefox renders perfectly that IE failed to render. :-P

Normally when things display correctly in IE but not in Firefox, that just means that the HTML in which the page is composed of is badly written, i.e. not standard compliant. If the web developer adheres to the standard strictly, it would be displayed correctly in Firefox and Opera.

02-04-2005, 03:38 PM
Yeah, but I recently found an extension which is a very good solution to the BBCode problem with Firefox.

Get the BBCode firefox extension from this site (http://jedbrown.net/1.0/mozilla/extensions/). It works like a charm.

zqax
03-04-2005, 08:24 PM

Are you sure you have got the Adobe Reader 7.0 (which solves the speed issue in previous version of adobe readers) and Firefox 1.0.2? In my laptop it opens in less than 5 seconds. Blame not the software before you find the real cause. :evil:

We don't have to update to Adobe Reader 7.0,I just found the proper solution from Firefox website.

Adobe Reader 6.0 for Windows loads lots of unused plugins on startup. The Inquirer has a great article explaining how you can disable those unneeded plugins and make Adobe Reader load faster. Basically, you need to do the following:

1. Install Adobe Reader 6.0 and notice where it is installed.
2. Navigate to that folder in Explorer, locate the plug_ins subfolder and rename this folder to plug_ins_disabled.
3. Create a new plug_ins folder.
4. Move the files EWH32.api, printme.api and search.api from plug_ins_disabled to plug_ins.

(sorry Mod, I know it is abit off-topic)

wild_card_my
04-04-2005, 12:27 AM
I think one personal advice to those ReCom members during this uncertain time would be to Ctrl C and Ctrl P the stuff that you type in forum, before clicking submit. So, in case ReCom is down when you submit, at least you have those stuff saved somewhere else on your computer. Then, when ReCom is back, which is typically back within half an hour or so, you can repost easily within seconds.

I know that many have been very frustrated after seeing many words that they have typed got lost after ReCom was down. So, this is a temporary solution.

To all, rest assured that this problem will hopefully get solved. Syamsul and Yusuf have been trying their best to solve. Lets give them our fullest support~!

cant you try using invision power board instead? im sure most of us are very familiar with it's interface and functions...

the problem i face with recom and it's 'board manager/application (whatever you call it) is that i cannot higlight the text that i type and click on the 'bold' , 'italic' or 'quote' button so that it could do perform the task automatically for me, for the text that i have higlighted.. it's a different case when using invision power board..

when i post sth, why did it direct me to the 'thanks for posting, you can return to your post or back to home' or sth like that... why cant it automatically return to the thread that i was in thus also back to the post that i have just posted?

umm.. recom itself is very slow, could it be because of the current board manager?

umm... i like the contecnt of recom and all but the site itself is very slow, is it the connection or what?

huhuhu, did i give any positive feedback?

04-04-2005, 01:47 AM
Hi wild_card_my,

Thanks for the feedback.

Although I'm not really sure on lots of things you can do in Invision Board that you can't do in PhpBB board, I think I have to agree with you that Invision board has lots of nice features.

The problem of migrating to different forum board is that , we have no means of importing Recom's database (which is in the phpBB format), to the invision powerboard format.

Even if there's a new version of phpBB, we realized that we can't easily import them. We tried once, but we realized that we have to 'dump' the whole 50+ MB data by hand, line by line, since our data is just too big to be 'attached' for auto-dump. (I hope you're familiar with this). Trying to 'attach' it, well, resulted in the browser crashes all over. Unless, if we have enough manpower- that's another question.

Also, perhaps one of the reason why loading is so slow is because of Recom's front page is packed with so much stuff that it takes quite a while to do the 'request' to MySQL database - it's quite annoying at times, since you just want to get into the front page just to jump to some topic else.

We realized that the front page interface , although quite messy with some images and recent topics - serves quite well in helping us navigating through the site . Some of us are pretty busy and could just quickly scan the front page for recent update , whereas those who have time could navigate through the Forum by clicking the links below th Recom's Forum box.

However, we're looking forward to enhance the interface - we're looking forward to hear more suggestion, but we keep in mind that sudden changes to this Recom 'look-and-feel' would probably upset others.

Also, if anyone (or those who use dial-ups, if you may), who experience the slow-loading to ReCom page could time the page loading and let us know, so that we know how 'slow' this slowness.
It's quite subjective if we talk about slow :
We have to know how 'slow' is slow relative to what.

Then only we can assess the average of page-load, and see if there's any improvement we could make. We'll also work with the server owner to improve the page-load performance.

Thanks for the feedback.

wild_card_my
04-04-2005, 02:23 AM
i see, so it's not that easy to migrate huh...

but one thing that annoys me is that how come the 'jump to' option at the right end corner of each page still does not function?

bachok83
04-04-2005, 04:05 AM
1. Install Adobe Reader 6.0 and notice where it is installed.
2. Navigate to that folder in Explorer, locate the plug_ins subfolder and rename this folder to plug_ins_disabled.
3. Create a new plug_ins folder.
4. Move the files EWH32.api, printme.api and search.api from plug_ins_disabled to plug_ins.

yerp that works, i've been using that trick for a year. Later, i switched to Adobe Acrobat 7.0 Professinal. It is much faster + it loads without splash screen.

04-04-2005, 06:16 AM
i see, so it's not that easy to migrate huh...

but one thing that annoys me is that how come the 'jump to' option at the right end corner of each page still does not function?

Ok, Thanks for notifying that. I didn't really quite use it. But we'll look to fixing it.I think I still remember we have this option turn on OK.

bachok83
06-04-2005, 09:54 AM
Fixed it. Thanks for letting us know.

wawa
06-04-2005, 10:01 AM
The shoutbox is sometimes erratic. It sometimes appears okay but sometimes comes up as 'server error'. But then, I use IE on Win 98, funny things do happen. Not sure its my com, or recom. :lol:

bachok83
06-04-2005, 10:20 AM
never happen to me.... buy a new pc...lol... :twisted: :twisted:

06-04-2005, 02:09 PM
gallery is still not working. stimes, shouting in an SIG makes the page go all crazie..but i know dat u guys are busy w FYPs and all..so that can probably be done later..

lotus
27-08-2005, 04:33 PM
Wondering whether I am the only one having problems with the avatar? Now, I notice quite a few boxes with red x like mine. :?
...trivial but yet...haih :(

05-01-2006, 11:04 AM
I would like to add:

1. Personal vendetta's against ReCom members by anchors

2. Censorship without valid reasons

Proof: Check and see who is the MAIN culprit behind the deletion of my posts. It is done by ONE individual who seems to be unable to hold a proper debate and chose to silence me.

05-01-2006, 11:37 AM
I would like to add:

1. Personal vendetta's against ReCom members by anchors

2. Censorship without valid reasons

Proof: Check and see who is the MAIN culprit behind the deletion of my posts. It is done by ONE individual who seems to be unable to hold a proper debate and chose to silence me.

I strongly agree

Thirdshifter also made a post jail for some of my anti mod posts

Last time they accuse me of trying to bring down ReCom after I introduced several forum game threads...
weird leaders of ReCom
*scratch head*

lotus
05-01-2006, 12:04 PM
chill people...quote from the movie, 'Chicago', "you can live the life you like or you can like the life you are living"...no? :)
- life as in pertaining to recom

05-01-2006, 12:12 PM
Wondering whether I am the only one having problems with the avatar? Now, I notice quite a few boxes with red x like mine. :?
...trivial but yet...haih :(

We apologize for the avatar problem. Since the first downtime, there were numerous issues that we are trying to fix up(and we are still looking for volunteers). Thanks for being patient.

05-01-2006, 12:20 PM
Moderators Action: Post deleted

05-01-2006, 01:19 PM

This is not nice

05-01-2006, 01:52 PM

This is not nice

Hrm...

I agree to some extent. Misled_youth, PM me.

05-01-2006, 01:54 PM
The deleted post that said i PM'd misled and told him to go Masturbate which i didn't and continued to ramble on about some other things that i didnlt do either.

Also just for the record, Misled had been PMing me every other day with fuck you's etc.

Please don;t turn recom into another forum board for people to bicker about BS.

Read the forum guidelines.

If you have a problem with moderation Message an anchor and please don't post a topic about it.

05-01-2006, 02:10 PM
Also just for the record, Misled had been PMing me every other day with f*** you's etc.

SLANDER! I have better things to do than to message you everyday!

I will SUE YOUR sorry ass when you come back!

I have screenshot proof that you told me to "Go masturbate"!

There is nothing wrong in my allegations! Why were they deleted?

05-01-2006, 02:15 PM
Al right Misled.

Enough already and please this is a public forum for god sake. if your unhappy with the moderation please start a blog and youll have all the freedom you want.
And please post the screenshot.

05-01-2006, 02:15 PM
People,

Topics are shifted to make indexing easier. As moderators, we have the responsibilities to put posts where we think they will benefit those who visit certain parts of the forum more than others. This is called housekeeping.

If you have any problems with post deletion or posts being moved, please PM one of us and tell us why you are so aggravated with the post being moved.

Please refrain from using personal attacks or using name calling. We are all educated(more or less) people here. Be civilized and play nice so that we can have coherent, constructive dialogues, instead of meaningless chaotic flame wars.

...and have a nice day!

05-01-2006, 02:18 PM
Current ReCom problem:

1. No recourse for those objecting anchor's actions

If I have a problem with one anchor, what's the use of complaining to the same person?

2. No detailed guidelines for anchor

Guidelines should be up for scrutiny by ReCom members. We must also be told about the penalties for violations of guidelines.

---

I hope my suggestions would get endorsed by the majority of active ReCom members. It is obvious, that certain ReCom anchors are on a power trip and ready to (ab)use their powers to silence their opposition.

Fight for your rights people! Anchors are not Barisan Nasional.

05-01-2006, 02:19 PM
And please post the screenshot.

Oh I might. After I find out when you come back.

I might as well post the police report as well.

05-01-2006, 02:21 PM
Please refrain from using personal attacks or using name calling. We are all educated(more or less) people here. Be civilized and play nice so that we can have coherent, constructive dialogues, instead of meaningless chaotic flame wars.

I will play by your rules, provided you leash the rabid Thirdshifter.

One more folly on his part and consider our agreement null and void!

Thank you digimushu.

05-01-2006, 02:27 PM
The guidelines are simple.

When posting in a public forum like Recom the key is to avoid personal attacks and Swearing.

Also stay on topic.

It's easy.

The Anchors here are all volunteers and we do what we feel best to keep this place sane.

Sometimes some anchors are active then the other, depending on the time of the year.

Also Misled, most of your recent post are pretty much flame-baits directed to other users and when Anchors edit and delete them you attack the anchors.

Also the style of moderation were discussed and agreed upon in the moderators-only discussions.

05-01-2006, 02:41 PM
Also the style of moderation were discussed and agreed upon in the moderators-only discussions.

You not only take out the "flames" but you delete the ENTIRE MESSAGE. That is WRONG.

You mistake attacks against your arguments for personal attacks. That is WRONG.

You are not fit to be anchor. I'm not the only complainant.

ps. Given the spate of moderation based on personal differences, I would like to suggestion that the exclusive anchor club reconsider the moderation guidelines and take note of Thirdshifters highhanded, self righteous and bigoted behaviour. Also take note that he had sent an IM's me using the IM client on the main page and told me to "go masturbate".

05-01-2006, 03:43 PM
How is that when you call another user an Idiot, a mouthpiece of some party etc (PJkru, IQing, Chenchow) not a personal attack?

I delete or edit when i have to not just because i could. Personally i have nothing against you or anyone here. So please don;t get to personal.

And ofcourse we have no time to edit each of your post, I dont get paid to do that, so sometime we let em slide and sometime we delete them.. so in the future choose your word carefully and restrain your self from name calling when others dont understand your point of view.

05-01-2006, 07:44 PM
So please don;t get to personal.

How can I not get personal when you make it your personal interest to find out about my masturbation habits?

masdie
06-01-2006, 08:21 PM
Err...sorry to interrupt you two misled and third. And I also hate to complain.

But I find it irritating when I can't search the forum for threads most of the time. It will return this:

Could not obtain matched posts list

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1030 Got error 134 from table handler

Is the problem on my side or is the problem on your side? Thank you for your attention. Please continue your discussion.

07-01-2006, 04:35 PM
Err...sorry to interrupt you two misled and third. And I also hate to complain.

But I find it irritating when I can't search the forum for threads most of the time. It will return this:

Could not obtain matched posts list

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1030 Got error 134 from table handler

Is the problem on my side or is the problem on your side? Thank you for your attention. Please continue your discussion.

I have tried the function with both Firefox and IE. It seems that its ok for most of the words but it failed when I tried to search for the word "shi|t". Tested with other "words" too but it seems to be ok. Any idea?

andrewlza
07-01-2006, 09:47 PM
yea digressing from masturbation, almost everytime i try to edit my posts the site gives me an error.

is something wrong?

Salvation
08-01-2006, 12:32 AM
yea digressing from masturbation, I had the same problem with masdie too...but now the problems seems to be over.

08-01-2006, 12:40 AM
*shakes head* :lol:

08-01-2006, 12:57 AM
*shakes head* :lol:

don't take ecstacy pill :P

reedhus
08-01-2006, 08:18 PM
i hate to see that what a lot of people are doing here is their joining recom for the sole sake of getting help with scholarships and interviews....many people often don't stick around to participate in any further bulletins after they've got what they came for...i may seem a bit hypocritical because that's how i started off at recom...to help me with my scholarships...but i realized that many people are manipulating the kindness of the members by siphoning what they need....this is also a problem here at recom...

andrewlza
08-01-2006, 10:12 PM
maybe it is, maybe it isn't.

you, for example, came back. and i am sure others will too, even if they may be few.

08-01-2006, 10:25 PM
recom is like a family lah.

AtMostFear
09-01-2006, 12:09 AM
i hate to see that what a lot of people are doing here is their joining recom for the sole sake of getting help with scholarships and interviews....many people often don't stick around to participate in any further bulletins after they've got what they came for...i may seem a bit hypocritical because that's how i started off at recom...to help me with my scholarships...but i realized that many people are manipulating the kindness of the members by siphoning what they need....this is also a problem here at recom...

at least after getting the scholarship they would recommend recom to others, and new people will join, which keeps recom 'alive'. or perhaps they have gone into their universities, and are lack of free times to visit recom? :?

09-01-2006, 06:18 AM

at least after getting the scholarship they would recommend recom to others, and new people will join, which keeps recom 'alive'. or perhaps they have gone into their universities, and are lack of free times to visit recom? :?

lack of free time?
come on... so many of us here in Uni, with CCAs, jobs, whatnot...

it's all about taking and giving... well... if nobody is not continuing to do the giving, recom will just quiet down... like now... and will have a surge of new members seasonally...

Leen
07-12-2006, 02:00 PM
Why doesn't my signature show? :?
Do mods disable that feature to save some bandwidth?

jingyong
10-05-2007, 01:37 PM
Get the latest version from phpBB..this forum only 2.0.10(look down there) while the latest version of the release from phpBB is 2.0.22 :wink:

it will help a lot!! trust me..

10-12-2007, 10:23 PM
the quick reply box always disappear. anything happen?

12-12-2007, 01:02 PM
Why doesn't my signature show? :?
Do mods disable that feature to save some bandwidth?

Partly because of that.
The mods did it because there are too many flashy signature that sometimes disturb the layout of the page.

the quick reply box always disappear. anything happen?

I can still see it. Does anyone have the same problem as Xon?

12-12-2007, 10:30 PM
that day vseehua in kuching ,he faced the same problem,if i m not wrong...corrected by youngyew...then it disappear again...

13-12-2007, 05:54 AM
I have no idea why it keeps on disappearing in your account, Xon. What happened was, when the quick reply feature was introduced, in everyone's account setting we had the "quick reply" set to "ON". But then for some unknown reasons, some people's setting switched to "OFF" by itself, so I switched it back to ON manually. It's quite a laborious process to manually fix it, so I guess we need to find what might have triggered the automatic switch-off.

Xon, just wondering whether you could remember what's the last thing you did before the quick reply disappeared on both occasions?

13-12-2007, 11:00 AM
i forgot liao.probably like usual just read threads then suddenly disappear....hehe....never then if cant help....

Leen
19-12-2007, 12:48 PM
I have a question. Why don't the tags work properly?

For example, when I highlight a text and I click "B" to bold it, the code appears at the end of the text instead of around the text.

Maybe someone can try to fix that?

celestial_sacred
19-12-2007, 01:24 PM
Malaysian time below the banner at the top of the page is an hour slower. >_>

19-12-2007, 02:04 PM
Hi Leen, it's a bug in phpBB with Firefox. Unfortunately we just have to live with it before any full upgrade to later versions or forum software change.

celestial_sacred, thanks for your notification! We would have it fixed. :P

24-01-2008, 09:57 AM
Malaysian time still an hour slower...

07-02-2008, 12:06 AM
Now 2 hours slower...

Already Chinese New Year now, Recom time still in CNY eve..

07-02-2008, 09:34 AM
one hour slower now. :?

08-03-2008, 12:29 AM
the new outlook really nice... so far the date on the index is 1970. umm,still not familiar..

add oil!!~

ReCom
08-03-2008, 12:41 AM
the new outlook really nice... so far the date on the index is 1970. umm,still not familiar..

add oil!!~
FIXED!

p/s: upgrading to this new forum software took us some own money, effort and time, so we would appreciate some appreciation ok?

08-03-2008, 12:43 AM
i appreciate you guys effort very much!!!~

another constructive feedback...
umm,i found out some threads tend to lost...

sorry if i sound not appreciate..

ReCom
08-03-2008, 12:44 AM
i appreciate you guys effort very much!!!~

another constructive feedback...
umm,i found out some threads tend to lost...

sorry if i sound not appreciate..
Thanks for appreciating!

But "some" means one, two, three or ten?
And "some" means which?

08-03-2008, 12:48 AM
i go SPM and STPM there...i cant find old old threads... and Join Recom section also...

^.^

ReCom
08-03-2008, 12:53 AM
i go SPM and STPM there...i cant find old old threads... and Join Recom section also...

^.^
Scroll down in the thread list and find "Display Options" box. That box filters out old threads so that explains why you don't see old threads.

p/s: since this software is so new to recom.org, expect some new settings and features ...

08-03-2008, 12:55 AM
Scroll down in the thread list and find "Display Options" box. That box filters out old threads so that explains why you don't see old threads.

p/s: since this software is so new to recom.org, expect some new settings and features ...

oh gosh,sorry man. thanks for renovating!!!~

08-03-2008, 01:05 AM
ummm,private message inbox matter now... i clear all messsages already,but yet still 100% full...

ReCom
08-03-2008, 01:06 AM
ummm,private message inbox matter now... i clear all messsages already,but yet still 100% full...
Checked 'Sent items' folder?

08-03-2008, 01:10 AM
fixed!~

another feedback... Recom.Org statistics at the below part of the index page..

ReCom
08-03-2008, 01:16 AM
fixed!~

another feedback... Recom.Org statistics at the below part of the index page..
Fixed.

Upgrading this large forum sure was hard ...

Next bug please?

08-03-2008, 01:22 AM
so far i cant find othe bugs anymore. Thanks for your efforts...

this site look alot better than before. Huuray!~

ReCom
08-03-2008, 01:26 AM
so far i cant find othe bugs anymore. Thanks for your efforts...

this site look alot better than before. Huuray!~
Thanks for finding the bugs .. and happy ReComming!

p/s: in case you are wondering about the timestamp in the forum being different from the time at your location, go to User CP to change your timezone .. seems like after migrating the user accounts from the old ReCom, I cannot change the timezone for many users at once.

08-03-2008, 05:09 AM
The banner on top seems to link to the forum index instead of the actual front page. Not sure whether it's intentional or not, but personally I feel that it's much more intuitive to have it link to the actual front page.

Anyway I am thrilled that we managed to have the relaunch on Malaysia's election day. Hope that it's a sign for things to come. :P

08-03-2008, 11:08 AM
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=index seems to be still working and im sure im not the only one who had bookmarked that link.

08-03-2008, 11:11 AM
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=index seems to be still working and im sure im not the only one who had bookmarked that link.
We will remove that some time. In the meantime, yes, people can still view/post in the old forum but all changes won't come into ReCom 2.0

EDIT: I have disabled the old forum. Sooner or later those who bookmarked to that link will click on the banner and realize about the new ReCom.

EDIT2: Visitors who go to or stumble into the old forum are now redirected to the new ReCom. The old forum is still there, just that it is no longer accessible.

celestial_sacred
08-03-2008, 12:42 PM
Is it possible that it's made so we don't have to click on the quick reply button at the bottom-right of a message if we wanna quick reply?

And..no vertical postbit? D=

08-03-2008, 01:20 PM
Is it possible that it's made so we don't have to click on the quick reply button at the bottom-right of a message if we wanna quick reply?
Unlike previous forum software, threads in vBulletin are nonlinear, so you can reply to a post right in the middle of the thread. Thus vB needs to know which post are you quick-replying to.
And..no vertical postbit? D=
Coming soon. We don't expect perfection in one day. (remember those Rome adverb?)

08-03-2008, 01:40 PM
Where's my profile picture been to? Do I need to reupload?

bachok83
08-03-2008, 01:48 PM
capablanca, i am sorry to say we didnt import the avatar. You can go ahead and reupload your avatar. :)

celestial_sacred
08-03-2008, 02:00 PM
Unlike previous forum software, threads in vBulletin are nonlinear, so you can reply to a post right in the middle of the thread. Thus vB needs to know which post are you quick-replying to.

Coming soon. We don't expect perfection in one day. (remember those Rome adverb?)

Got it! Thanks. But another vB forum I'm with needn't click on that quick reply icon to reply. ^^

08-03-2008, 02:05 PM
One extra click doesn't hurt, does it?

08-03-2008, 02:38 PM
Announcement:

Any broken links in forum posts that point to "Page not found. Sorry." page are the side-effect of the migration from old forum to this new one, and is quite impossible to fix through system since the posts imported from the old forum do not necessarily have similar post id. Therefore, if you find such broken links in somebody's post, kindly inform the poster to edit the post and update the links with links to corresponding posts in the new forum.

Also, kindly update your bookmarks to point to the new forum. If you are used to bookmarking every thread you were following to, please make use of the thread subscription feature instead. Just go to the thread you want to subscribe and click {Thread Tools} > {Subscribe to this Thread} at the top of the thread view. Subscribed threads can be monitored in your User CP. To those who are following discussions while stay unregistered, it's time for you to register into this community!

08-03-2008, 02:56 PM
One extra click doesn't hurt, does it?

If can, lets try to make the quick reply box,, to point to the latest post. I am talking from functional standpoint, not sure how technically this can work.

Anyway, would really like fellow ReComers to help us to look through any problems etc.

I would like to thank everyone, especially those ReCom Anchors who have been working very hard to get this ReCom.org 2.0 to be launched on the 12th General Election Day!

08-03-2008, 02:57 PM
I bookmarked the old Recom forum page. When I clicked it, it shows page not found. Can you create a webpage there together with the link here so visitors can know where go to. Perhaps you can create an 404 Error redirect page.

08-03-2008, 03:03 PM
I bookmarked the old Recom forum page. When I clicked it, it shows page not found. Can you create a webpage there together with the link here so visitors can know where go to. Perhaps you can create an 404 Error redirect page.

i support this redirect thingy.

08-03-2008, 03:11 PM
If can, lets try to make the quick reply box,, to point to the latest post. I am talking from functional standpoint, not sure how technically this can work.

Anyway, would really like fellow ReComers to help us to look through any problems etc.

I would like to thank everyone, especially those ReCom Anchors who have been working very hard to get this ReCom.org 2.0 to be launched on the 12th General Election Day!
OK. Click no longer needed. But here is some warning in the setting page for us to take note:
If you enable Quick Reply, a box will appear on the showthread.php page allowing users to reply to the current thread without needing to load the full newreply.php page.

When Quick Reply is enabled, you may specify whether or not users must click the Quick Reply icon in order to start typing in the Quick Reply editor.

If you choose not to require a click, the system will not know to which post a user is replying, making both the threaded and hybrid display modes non-sensical.

We strongly recommend that you set the option to require a click if you use Quick Reply and have Threaded Mode available on your forums.

08-03-2008, 03:24 PM
Hope fellow ReComers can help us to point out more bugs.

Thanks to everyone's support through this moment.

08-03-2008, 03:26 PM
i support this redirect thingy.

Implemented (with 5 seconds auto-redirect). Test here (http://www.recom.org/nonexisting.html).

08-03-2008, 03:31 PM
Another aspect is the "Display Option", right now, for each folder, it is set to automatically display for last 1 day. Is there a way for us to change the setting permanently for all folders?

To all ReComers, don't worry about asking questions here. We are all new to this interface, including many of the anchors and moderators. :)

08-03-2008, 03:33 PM
Another aspect is the "Display Option", right now, for each folder, it is set to automatically display for last 1 day. Is there a way for us to change the setting permanently for all folders?

To all ReComers, don't worry about asking questions here. We are all new to this interface, including many of the anchors and moderators. :)

chenchow,you can change it at user panel there..

^.^

thanks Luke for the redirect thingy!~

08-03-2008, 03:44 PM
Thanks, Xon.

To all ReComers, you can change here (http://www.recom.org/forum/profile.php?do=editoptions)

08-03-2008, 09:43 PM
Got it! Thanks. But another vB forum I'm with needn't click on that quick reply icon to reply. ^^

Actually there's a setting about the quick reply in vbulletin, and we kind of set it to require user to specify the original post they are replying to.

The reason behind this is that if you view the thread with "threaded mode" (instead of the flat mode which is the default), it will arrange the posts in a tree-format where the replies becomes a sub-post of the original post. If we do not specify the original post in user's quick reply, there's no way we can do the tree thing.

However, it's true that everyone is more used to the flat mode instead of the tree mode (i doubt anyone actually uses it); so it's worth considering whether to change it back to no-click-required mode.

Thanks for your comment, celestial_sacred.

08-03-2008, 09:48 PM
Already no-click mode since a few hours ago. (Installed default is click-required-mode so it was not really 'changed back to')

(This reply was made using Quick Reply box without clicking the 'Quick reply to this message' button)

08-03-2008, 10:11 PM
Thanks for the change and update.

Leen
12-03-2008, 03:34 AM
Thanks, Xon.

To all ReComers, you can change here (http://www.recom.org/forum/profile.php?do=editoptions)

I've made everything to default show all threads.

tehjiao
13-03-2008, 12:49 AM
I prefer SIG.
why include the SIG become sub group of forum?
eg. Every Little Thing About Medicine doen't fit so much under Science Expo. Sounds weird.

13-03-2008, 06:02 AM
We kind of scrapped the SIG section because the old system of SIG is that only interested members will see the updates and able to post in it. We made it that way so that those "special interests" don't "interfere" with the main forum.

However, it turned out that SIG wasn't working as well as we thought it should. Because of the lack of exposure (to the majority of the members), many SIG became inactive over time. So in this new forum we are moving all the old SIG threads to the main forum.

I agree that "medicine" under "science expo" might be a bit weird. What do you reckon the better categorisation would be? I actually suggest having a "ReCom Careers" or something like that, and then have "Engineering", "Medicine" etc under it.

Leen
13-03-2008, 06:24 AM
Medicine is a type if biological science, physics/engineering is a type of physical science. PLM are computer science. Psychology is social science. Those are all sciences.

As for SIG, SIG are just not functioning again. We are trying to fix it by merging things together.

20-03-2008, 08:02 AM
The edit post feature isn't really working with Firefox 3 Beta. I will be using the report site feature within firefox to report this issue. When i have the time, i will do a query online to see if there are any of these problems showing with other forums that are using a similar version of vBulletin

20-03-2008, 10:10 AM
The edit post feature isn't really working with Firefox 3 Beta. I will be using the report site feature within firefox to report this issue. When i have the time, i will do a query online to see if there are any of these problems showing with other forums that are using a similar version of vBulletin
See Hua, I have already made an extensive investigation about this issue and I will send you more information about that.

Alexis Ma
18-05-2008, 04:39 PM
I'm not sure whether I'm right on this, but I hope some Recommers can put my mind to rest at least:

I checked my inbox today. For the first time ever, there was some junk mail - scams, etc.

I have just recently signed up for Recom using that email address.

I know that there are myriad other possibilities how this happened, i.e. through my own carelessness, viruses in my computer, etc, etc. However, there's a possibility that the Recom emails database has been compromised. Please give it a look.

My apologies if I am mistaken.

18-05-2008, 05:11 PM
Alexis, you enabled the option which allows other recommers to send you email through a form in ReCom. Just click on your name, and in the pop-up menu, there's an option of "send email to alexis ma".

This could have been how the bot sent you the email.

Also, if your email address consists of simple english words, e.g. youngheart@<hidden>, elderman@<hidden>, those spam bots can possibly have guessed the emails by dictionary-style brute attack.

EDIT: Oh wait, unregistered visitors do not have access to "send email" function. So ignore my first guess.

20-05-2008, 10:03 AM
Why seems like it takes hour to edit my post? Is it attributable to my connection speed or? Thanks.

20-05-2008, 10:13 AM
Why seems like it takes hour to edit my post? Is it attributable to my connection speed or? Thanks.
I think it's the problem with the Quick Edit feature. I've turned it off so from now on when you click "Edit" you will go to another page to edit your post.

p/s: before anyone screams "FIX IT!!!" here let me tell you that the software ReCom is using is commercial software, not an amateur home-made one, so we are not responsible for any bugs already existing in the software.

20-05-2008, 10:17 AM
Arrgh I love quick-edit! :( But it is indeed quite erratic at times. Not sure whether it's the vBulletin or our server's problem.

20-05-2008, 10:25 AM
Arrgh I love quick-edit! :( But it is indeed quite erratic at times. Not sure whether it's the vBulletin or our server's problem.
AJAX problems :P

20-05-2008, 10:29 AM
AJAX problems :P
You mean the problem lies within the bug of AJAX scripts of vBulletin, or our server not able to respond to xhtml requests properly?

20-05-2008, 10:38 AM
You mean the problem lies within the bug of AJAX scripts of vBulletin, or our server not able to respond to xhtml requests properly?Not sure. Maybe both. Can also come from the way the browser sends the HttpRequest (might explain the FF3 issue), together with something weird with our server config ... like they say, errors propagate, so the root cause might be hidden deep somewhere out there ... uh, did I mention that it maybe one of the RAM sticks in the server has a faulty pin? :nod

20-05-2008, 02:06 PM
Not sure. Maybe both. Can also come from the way the browser sends the HttpRequest (might explain the FF3 issue), together with something weird with our server config ... like they say, errors propagate, so the root cause might be hidden deep somewhere out there ... uh, did I mention that it maybe one of the RAM sticks in the server has a faulty pin? :nod
or the chips itself maybe faulty :p

24-05-2008, 12:42 PM
ReCom was down from the evening of 23/05/2008 until the next morning (Malaysia Time). Here is what our hosting said about the incident:

Effected clients, co-workers, partners:

At approximately 8 A.M. EST a segment of our data center experienced a power outage. Shortly after that we realized the city had experienced a power outage as well which attributed to the loss we saw in the NOC. We immediately went into generator power and we are still currently running on generator.

What happens when there is power loss is that we immediately go into UPS for a few minutes meanwhile the generator powers up. The UPS ensures no service disruption meanwhile the generator turns on. This happened normally but approximately 40% of the servers tripped during this process. Power loss and going into UPS followed by generator power has happened a few times in the past. But we have never experienced what has happened today - the power surge during this outage was extremely high.

We are meeting with our electrical engineers as we speak to analyze the situation to learn exactly what happened. We still have the data center running on generator as the power in the city could still be unstable and we do not want to risk any further outages. As many of you know these kind of issues do not happen often and we are taking this incident very seriously. The data center is equipped with a high level of UPS and generators are in place to ensure maximum uptime. We apologize for the inconveniences as we know this has effected a lot of you and your clients. We will be compensating per our SLA and will ensure we find out in detail what happened, resolve it completely and put measures in place so it doesn't repeat again.

All effected servers should be operating normally now and we sincerely thank you for your patience.http://www.surmunity.com/announcements/27955-data-center-update.html

We apologize for any inconvenience. Thanks for your patience.

p/s: I'm glad we use a very professional hosting

ZhannaC
02-06-2008, 10:19 PM
My smileys no work no more. Have to type them manually. =(

02-06-2008, 10:24 PM
My smileys no work no more. Have to type them manually. =(

basically the WYSIWYG editor is not working as well...

03-06-2008, 10:30 PM
The buttons issue has been fixed :nod

If they still don't work on your browser, clear your browser cache to allow it to fetch the corrected javascript files. On Firefox, press Ctrl+Shift+Del and make sure only "Cache" is ticked and click "Clear Private Data Now". On Internet Exploder, use menu Tools > Internet Options > Delete Files.

03-06-2008, 11:17 PM
The buttons issue has been fixed :nod

If they still don't work on your browser, clear your browser cache to allow it to fetch the corrected javascript files. On Firefox, press Ctrl+Shift+Del and make sure only "Cache" is ticked and click "Clear Private Data Now". On Internet Exploder, use menu Tools > Internet Options > Delete Files.

:P:oh:laugh:amuse:huh:
Thank, Luke for fixing the problem. This is a spam haha anyway to test whether my cute smilies return to their posts? They had been running away from their responsibilities these two days. Anyway, can you abolish the rule that we can only use 6 images (including smilies) in our post, not totally, but maybe up to 7,8, 9 or more.

03-06-2008, 11:49 PM
The rule is there to avoid people spamming pictures and stuff in their posts. Why do you need that many pictures for? :D

03-06-2008, 11:53 PM
The rule is there to avoid people spamming pictures and stuff in their posts. Why do you need that many pictures for? :D

I am emotional :)) It is not a good reason for this. Oops, I should not use 'spam' in my previous post. :P