View Full Version : Matriculation VS Form 6
jannah
18-03-2007, 04:33 PM
elo..need some advice please...
I've just got my SPM result...and I'm not sure where to go..
I don't think I will get UPU..
my result is 8a 4b 2c..
so far my result is good..
my bio is c5 but i still want to go for medic..
so which pre-u is better...
matrix or form 6??
i want to go for form 6 but it seem like my family prefer for matrix..
so please tell me the details about studying in matrix or in form 6 (science stream)...
On 4/6/08,i merged another similar thread to this,and let moved it to Pre-U Corner.
18-03-2007, 04:42 PM
If you get a matrix offer, I think you should accept it. There are many threads in recom talking about matrix and form 6 in this SIG and the education forum. You can go through them to get a clearer idea. By the way I'm an upper six student. Doing bio
jeremy3232
21-03-2007, 05:50 PM
Agree with jayden. I'm currently an upper sixth science stream student, doing bio as well.
As you know, due to lots of 'inevitable' policies, STPM students are always at a great disadvantage compared to matriks students.
If you really get the offer for matriks, just accept it.
21-03-2007, 09:09 PM
There is an existing thread about this exact same topic... look around for it...
jannah
23-03-2007, 01:12 PM
well..i think maybe i will go to F6..but i dont know..please give me some reasons why i should go to matrix..as far as i know..my counsellor said that when in the univercities, the form 6 students have more advantages than matrix..because they already study the 1st sem in u..so...????plus..I really2 want to take medicine...and i heard that it hard to get 4 flat in matriculation especially for 1 year...please and please help me more...
carrie_nice9
26-03-2007, 09:34 PM
For me...i personally think that matriculation is better...
Both of them is just a pre-U course...
After you get a place in university and complete your degree...noone is going to ask whether you are matric or STPM student...What they concern is what degree you obtain.
Matriculation syllbus is far more easy than STPM....
Apparently you can score better and get better place in university
But the problem is not everyone can get a place in matriculation!
Just try ur luck for the application..
27-03-2007, 02:17 AM
After you get a place in university and complete your degree...noone is going to ask whether you are matric or STPM student...What they concern is what degree you obtain.
Just try ur luck for the application..far easier is a big fallacy... means you struggle in your first year or two in the uni... in which you might not get pass because of lack of knowledge...
day_dreamer
27-03-2007, 10:20 AM
Just try ur luck for the application..far easier is a big fallacy... means you struggle in your first year or two in the uni... in which you might not get pass because of lack of knowledge...
Full support for vseehua here ! If you want to take Medic, I would have advised you to take up STPM. Although it'll be hard, but think about it buddy, what in life isn't hard ?!
Matriculation Meic students in public unis sucks !! Majority are strugglling to pass their exams in unis to get in the following semesters; on contrast, STPM students gets to enjoy life better in unis and also are competing with other form 6 students in uni to get a 1st class degree !!
So think about it.... What's wrong for struggling for two hard years and enjoyed a cruise ride in your uni years ?!
seiken
27-03-2007, 06:49 PM
Full support for vseehua here ! If you want to take Medic, I would have advised you to take up STPM. Although it'll be hard, but think about it buddy, what in life isn't hard ?!
Matriculation Meic students in public unis sucks !! Majority are strugglling to pass their exams in unis to get in the following semesters; on contrast, STPM students gets to enjoy life better in unis and also are competing with other form 6 students in uni to get a 1st class degree !!
So think about it.... What's wrong for struggling for two hard years and enjoyed a cruise ride in your uni years ?!
.....Wrong. This maybe true for other courses but not medicine. You DO NOT study the same thing as in STPM. I am from STPM and I know that. Personally, STPM is quite enjoyable for me. But many of those in STPM had a "tragic" ending. They did not get what they want.
There are those from STPM as well as matriculation who do EXCEPTIONALLY well in unis. What I can say perhaps is STPM students are more consistent. Matriculation students range from those who know nothing and those who are superb...erm...although not entirely true...I cant type it here..u know what I mean..
day_dreamer
27-03-2007, 11:42 PM
.....Wrong. This maybe true for other courses but not medicine. You DO NOT study the same thing as in STPM. I am from STPM and I know that. Personally, STPM is quite enjoyable for me. But many of those in STPM had a "tragic" ending. They did not get what they want.
There are those from STPM as well as matriculation who do EXCEPTIONALLY well in unis. What I can say perhaps is STPM students are more consistent. Matriculation students range from those who know nothing and those who are superb...erm...although not entirely true...I cant type it here..u know what I mean..
LOL ~~ I certainly know what you mean.. HAHA !!
Great sense of humour !!
jannah
05-04-2007, 04:01 PM
hmm...i think i go for form 6 because i juz don't really confident to go for matriculation which i have to get 4P for sure to take medic....
is that juz a rumours that we study the 1st year subject in university during form 6???and form 6 student are more easily to get in university than matrix student because they have learn the 1st year subject in u??
05-04-2007, 04:34 PM
I think when it comes to the choice between STPM and matriculation, we need to be very clear about the difference between political correctness and reality check. Yes, everyone definitely agrees that matriculation is a shortcut, and some may go as far as saying that taking matriculation is "cheating your way to the uni". While I do not endorse such accusation, they do have some truth in it. The truth is, matriculation students have an unfair advantage over STPM candidates when it comes to university admission. No question about that.
However, when it comes to reality... If you put aside the "ethics" issue, the fact becomes: For those who want to study medicine in local university, matriculation will give you a better chance of getting the course you want. And for those who think that "those who did STPM biology will be at an advantage to those who learnt SPM biology"... Actually from my experience, it doesn't make much difference whether or not you did a detailed study on biology in the pre-u course. Apart from the first few months when you do the "biology / biochemistry recap", the rest of medicine is going to be entirely new to everybody, regardless of your biology course and score. Yes those who did a well-rounded biology course would have an easier time for the recap part, but apart from that there is not much difference.
I hate to say it, but, putting aside the "ethical dilemma", if you are looking at enrolling in Malaysian medical course, matriculation is going to be the better choice.
p/s: I am only discussing specifically about local medicine courses. If you are thinking of doing other courses, it would be a different scenario and you would need an opinion form someone in the know.
01-05-2007, 09:39 PM
any1 here is talking about medicine..any advice regarding engineering??
matriculation or STPM?/
frances21
04-05-2007, 11:01 AM
wat abt acturial science?.....any advice for choosing matric o f6?... :)
04-05-2007, 05:08 PM
matriculation or STPM?/
any1? :?
bleachzrockz
08-05-2007, 08:23 PM
matriculation or STPM?/
well,IMHO there are a few factors that need to be taken into consideration.
1.monetary factor:as we know,basically there are 2 choices after ur stpm,either u enrol into local U,or u go overseas.If u choose the latter,i m sure there will be scholarships come knocking at your door if ur academic performance is superb.If by any chance u do not secure any scholarship,then u must be prepared to fork out a huge sum of money for ur tertiary education.
2.have u made up your mind to go overseas??if u r not so adamant in getting into oversea's U,y not consider local U???i mean its not like cert in local u is not recognised(locally i mean).Well,if u had,by all means go for your dream and dun care about wat others say.
3.scholarships available:well,IMHO u should do some research or ask your counsellor on scholarships available to stpm students.Be sure of wat to expect after your stpm(chances of securing a scholarship,tuition fee waiver etc.).
just my 2 cents,best of luck!!!
13-05-2007, 07:48 PM
matriculation or STPM?/
well,IMHO there are a few factors that need to be taken into consideration.
1.monetary factor:as we know,basically there are 2 choices after ur stpm,either u enrol into local U,or u go overseas.If u choose the latter,i m sure there will be scholarships come knocking at your door if ur academic performance is superb.If by any chance u do not secure any scholarship,then u must be prepared to fork out a huge sum of money for ur tertiary education.
2.have u made up your mind to go overseas??if u r not so adamant in getting into oversea's U,y not consider local U???i mean its not like cert in local u is not recognised(locally i mean).Well,if u had,by all means go for your dream and dun care about wat others say.
3.scholarships available:well,IMHO u should do some research or ask your counsellor on scholarships available to stpm students.Be sure of wat to expect after your stpm(chances of securing a scholarship,tuition fee waiver etc.).
just my 2 cents,best of luck!!!
hey hey..really appreatiate that some1 reply me..Thanks bleachzrockz...
KoonHua90
24-05-2007, 01:08 AM
Basically,matriculation is quite good for those aiming a place in local u,but for those who do nt get scholarship but want to go overseas,f6 might be ur choice.Even though there's scholarship to study in overseas for matriculation students but in my opinion f6 student will be favoured because STPM is recognised in more countries than matriculation.The shortcoming of matrix is that you may nt get the course u want in u(though unlikely,bt possible) because those who get 4.0CGPA is getting more n more,which means that it's getting more competitive to get into 'hot'courses such as medic n engineering.Comparing to f6,the syllabus of matrix is a bit easier based on what I've observed n d opinion of student doing matriculation,but d chance of matrix student getting into local u is relatively high,some even reaching a 80(matriculation)-20(f6)/60-40/70-30 ratio(according to newspapers).The duration of matriculation is also short compared to STPM,which is 1year only.They will also get rm500 per sem,so total rm1000.(bt 1000 is definitely nt enough because matriculation student will spend abt rm10 a day.Furthermore they have to pay rm250(jurusan sains)/rm242(jurusan perakaunan) b4 they register)so do d calculation...
Besides that,the matriculation student will be studying in a situation similar to that of university n they have exam each sem,which is unlike STPM,where they have a final STPM exam.
Anyway,from my friends studying at Kolej Matrikulasi Tangkak,the life there is ok n the ppl there is friendly.I believe they r doind
In a nutshell.....going f6 o matriculation is a matter of choice,you can't simply say that this one nt gd o that one nt gd.It depends on the ambition,capability,n the preferance of urself.Either way,if u study hard n put in a lot of effort,you'll succeed.
littlepiglet
07-06-2007, 02:13 AM
in form six, you will learn the thing how to memories all the thing start from the time you in lower six till upper six, but in matric, the system is totally not the same, they just exam what they learn in that semester then after that they can forgot about it already.
i heard a seminar to give by a professor, he said if you get matric, must go, because there can guarantee you got a place in local university, because the marking there not just depend on examination, and a lot assignment and all the small test, so you will not feel too stress over the examination.
07-06-2007, 02:26 AM
If you think you are persevered enough, then go for STPM...it's more worthwhile and well-recognized worldwide...
IMHO, the number of matrix's students who scored a 4.0 CGPA are increasing tremendously due to the existence of biased in matrix's examination system since their exam papers will be mark by their own lecturers...
littlepiglet
07-06-2007, 01:00 PM
study form six more depend on exam luck, because if you din do well in the STPM, all your effort in 1 and half year all gone, nobody will going to see your mid-year exam, maybe trial mark the other institute will look through but mostly they will enroll the student who get very excellent result in STPM.
ccyik
07-06-2007, 03:33 PM
Long live STPM !!
In my opinion, i think STPM is a worthwhile exam. It's a much more challenging exam compared to matrix. But the bad side about STPM is that STPM students are disadvantaged when applying for courses and unis.
We can learn more doing STPM. At first, it seemed like a mission impossible to me to score 4A's in STPM. But guess what, after 1.5 yr of hard work, my efforts are well paid-off.
I think every student who did well in STPM (matrix? :roll: ) can proudly show off ur results to others and it's a milestone in ur life !!
Good luck to all juniors. God bless u all !!
sherenesheep
20-04-2008, 12:24 PM
For a long time, there has been numerous debates about which one is better.. matrix or form 6???
surely they both have their own pros and cons..
for eg.
Matrix: (pros)
- puts student in a college life situation (i.e living in hostels away from home, being independant)
- the course is shorter than form 6 (for those who got one year programme)
- can straight away apply for university after graduation (matrix finishes in april, uni intake is in may)
- final exams are written by the college itself, not the gov (so students can pester lecturers to give some useful tips :P)
Form 6: (pros)
- form 6 qualification is recognised by local uni
- can apply for oversea scholarship/university with stpm qualifications
- get to stay at home :laugh
- has a longer time to complete compared to matrix, givin students more time to fully understand the syllabus
Matrix: (cons)
- can only apply to local uni.. meaning u have no chance of studying overseas after u graduate from matrix
- rm1000 allowance given per semester... its quite little actually, and students who does not use their money wisely are sure to run out of it b4 the end of the semester
- matrix is 90% bumi and 10% non-bumi (it is sad to say that most non-bumi, including most of my frens :(, consider this percentage as a huge turn off for them cuz they are not used being in a place with so many bumis... which is seriously stupid cuz in most local uni, they wil encounter the same situation so they mite as well get an early start and start practising rite????????)
Form 6: (cons)
- after graduating from form 6, students have to wait for 4-5 more months b4 they get to enter university as most universities perform intakes in may
- final exams (stpm) are set by the gov instead of the skul teachers.. so no use trying to beg their teachers for hints and tips
- form 6 students will be studyin in their comfort zones (as they have their parents at home to take care of them), and once they enter university they mite find it hard to cope as they have exited their comfort zone.. this is not a good thing cuz in university, u have no time to sit and cry about missing ur mummy's cooking cuz it'l be all about study study study study study study assignments assignments assignments assignments....
well, thats jz my opinion on these two subjects.. wad do u guys think??
let the discussion begin :amuse
20-04-2008, 12:42 PM
There are many existing threads about Form 6 vs. Matriculation. I have just merged this post into a current thread.
For a long time, there has been numerous debates about
Form 6: (pros)
- form 6 qualification is recognised by local uni
- can apply for oversea scholarship/university with stpm qualifications
- get to stay at home :laugh
- has a longer time to complete compared to matrix, givin students more time to fully understand the syllabus
while it is true that technically, you can apply for admissions to overseas universities, I would say that the environment and peers around will hinder this development. Often, many STPM students will fall into this attitude of thinking that their options are local universities, due to the lackadaisical peer environment, when many of them could be doing so much better if only they would take the effort to find out more about universities and scholarships overseas.
The people who tend to choose STPM over A-Levels tend to come from poorer, less well-educated or aware families. Hence, you will find many people in STPM who have set their highest goals as getting in to a local university. If you go to a private college like HELP or Taylor?s, most of your peers would be applying to universities abroad, and this can be quite a motivation factor for you and your peer group to seek out information and scholarships together. If you?re in STPM, you?re likely to not have heard about many of the overseas opportunities and experiences available, and furthermore, the institutional system is not set up to encourage your interest nor facilitate your application to universities and scholarships abroad.
While the STPM might be one of the hardest exams in the world, or so people say, I feel that the negative environment far outweighs any of the benefits of having a more rigorous curriculum, or the lower cost of a pre-U education of a similar stature. If you can afford it, go to a local private college or get a scholarship to an A Levels or IB program.
sherenesheep
20-04-2008, 01:33 PM
There are many existing threads about Form 6 vs. Matriculation. I have just merged this post into a current thread.
oopss.. hehe sorry.. i used the search on this topic b4 i started the thread but nth came out.. so i assumed it doesn exist so i opened a new one...
zureen
20-04-2008, 01:39 PM
hey hey..really appreatiate that some1 reply me..Thanks bleachzrockz...
thought that u'r already in UTP, white2020?
day_dreamer
21-04-2008, 10:48 PM
HaHa .. Again another endless debate ..
I'm a STPM student myself ..
To me .. none of it is better than each other.
It is the candidate's quality that matters most !!
yilian
22-04-2008, 02:21 AM
Which is better than the other? This is all based on one's need.
People who opt for local universities will choose matrics, normally by people whom economic background not that good.
People who opt for local universities (failed to get matrics) but still would like to have a chance to get into oversea universities will choose stpm.
People who opt for oversea universities and have plenty of money will choose A-level, Australian Matriculation, Canadian Matriculation.
People who opt for singapore universities and would like to work there in future will choose to study at singapore's polytechnic.
This is just my own opinion. On and on, this is a never-ending topic. Honestly, I was from matrics and I had heard many people complaining about matrics. But to me, I don't care how people look down on it, because my aim is to get into local universities and my family definitely could not afford me to study abroad. This is my choice and i respect my own choice. I rather being look down for chosing matrics which is considered "not up to standard" than to let my parents carry such a huge burden. So, my advice is that if you are good enough to secure a scholarship, try your best. If you are not as excellent as the others but still want to study abroad, do consider about your family economic background first. Or an education loan will do?
22-04-2008, 11:38 AM
For a long time, there has been numerous debates about which one is better.. matrix or form 6???
surely they both have their own pros and cons..
for eg.
Matrix: (pros)
- can straight away apply for university after graduation (matrix finishes in april, uni intake is in may)
- final exams are written by the college itself, not the gov (so students can pester lecturers to give some useful tips :P)
Just to correct two things here... First, local public university intake is in late June or early July, not May... Matriculation results come out in May, while university application results are out in June. Second, final exams are all the same for every college, which means it's a standardized exam, like STPM and SPM i.e. not written by your own college, and not marked by your own college. So, practically there's no tips in final exam, just the threshold for A might not be that high, compared to STPM...
org_60
26-04-2008, 09:34 AM
hihihi...
luk like diz thread gettin' srious...haha
i think u'd bete choose matrik...
i'm x-matrix...rite now i'm waiting for final sem result...
either mtrik or form6 both them truly hard...
so...if u rili wanna grab ur drim,, u nid to work hard rite??? no matter where
but matrik students have some advantages...
in the end of the 1st semester,, u'll nid to apply the upu...this application is to spare a place for u in the course u've choosen....if u doing great in 1st sem,,(usually 3.5 above..sains hyat maybe 3.8 above...better 4.0...not immposible..lots of competition) u'll absolutely get it...
then the hardest thing...maintain ur result in 2nd semester...u'll nid to apply the upu once again...2nd sem result will ensure that u rili deserve the course...
juz work hard & have fun....haha
yana89
27-04-2008, 09:18 PM
ur priority should be in getting a place in University first..
i'm a matrix johore students..doing the 2 year programme...
it's true that matrix students have the upper hand getting a place in U..
so why not..after getting a place only then u should be start worrying either you perform or not..
runninghorse
27-04-2008, 09:23 PM
ur priority should be in getting a place in University first..
i'm a matrix johore students..doing the 2 year programme...
it's true that matrix students have the upper hand getting a place in U..
so why not..after getting a place only then u should be start worrying either you perform or not..
totally agree... if you can get matrix, dont waste the chance and go fot it. unless you can afford private college and overseas study then that's a different story.
yana89
27-04-2008, 09:38 PM
r u juz saying this or did u already did a thorough research on all ex-matrix students..i wonder??as a matrix student myself i can't help to feel dissapointed that such an opinion was passed...one thing i can say..its totally bias..both STPM n matrix syllabus are tough in their own ways...when u r in U..it comes down to the individual him/herself...if they feel that they're gud enough (most mtrix students although their not) they can always sit back n relax..but if u think that u r lagging behind..so step up the effort then..there's nothing wrong with the mtrix syllabus or with the system..if there is...then none of the matriculation student would ever graduate then..yet untill today there why are still plenty of students (d'product of mtriculation) that excel in their academics..either locally or abroad...??
Caprio
27-04-2008, 10:14 PM
To summarize...
First, decide what is you ultimate goal for you university education, whether to study local or abroad.
If local, without a second thought, go straight to matrix.
Reason: Matrix needs only one year. You save a lot of time and a matrix graduate is comparatively to get a place in university.
If abroad, you have more things to consider, like which is your preferred university, your family financial status and so forth. You can only further your studies using STPM certificate since it is internationally recognised but not matrix. Then, go to form 6. This is especially true if you greatly desireto further your study overseas and your family could not afford and you have fail to secure any scholarship. So, during your form 6, make sure you study hard, get good resut, obtain a much-coveted scholarship and then make your dream come true.
Pro of form 6: Cert is internationally recognised, the syllabus is more comprehensive(you will get an edge against your peers during university)
Cons of form 6: The timeframe is too long, the syllabus is too diverse(to the extent you don't bother to study during university), you need to study PA(from my point of view)
Pros of matrix: Much much easier, you are guarentee a place in pulic university if your result is good or decent enough, save a lot of time
Cons of matrix: The cert is not internationally recognised, the syllabus is just skin deep, you got to stay away from home
Hope that helps. Decide wisely, it is your future.:)
yana89
27-04-2008, 10:16 PM
Matrix: (cons)
- can only apply to local uni.. meaning u have no chance of studying overseas after u graduate from matrix
- rm1000 allowance given per semester... its quite little actually, and students who does not use their money wisely are sure to run out of it b4 the end of the semester
- matrix is 90% bumi and 10% non-bumi (it is sad to say that most non-bumi, including most of my frens :(, consider this percentage as a huge turn off for them cuz they are not used being in a place with so many bumis... which is seriously stupid cuz in most local uni, they wil encounter the same situation so they mite as well get an early start and start practising rite????????)
well, thats jz my opinion on these two subjects.. wad do u guys think??
let the discussion begin :amuse
i totally disagree..
the first thing..who say u couldn't go for overseas if u go to matrix...
many of my seniors now r in the US and other countries doing their respective degrees..all of them are ex-matix students..
then come the allowences...look at the bright side of things...hey its free money..plus at least u learn how to manage ur finances..without relaying on ur parents to do so..
the last point..i have to agree...its actually not bad as it is been thought..in my college (johore matriculation college)..all races whether malays indians or chinese...all of them get along preety well...so it doesn't hurt to try first...
p/s: sherenesheep where do u get ur information from..?? especially on the exmination..the informations are incorect...
smile!
28-04-2008, 10:53 AM
i totally disagree..
the first thing..who say u couldn't go for overseas if u go to matrix...
many of my seniors now r in the US and other countries doing their respective degrees..all of them are ex-matix students..
then come the allowences...look at the bright side of things...hey its free money..plus at least u learn how to manage ur finances..without relaying on ur parents to do so..
the last point..i have to agree...its actually not bad as it is been thought..in my college (johore matriculation college)..all races whether malays indians or chinese...all of them get along preety well...so it doesn't hurt to try first...
p/s: sherenesheep where do u get ur information from..?? especially on the exmination..the informations are incorect...
but can we actually apply for overseas scholarship with matriculation qualification??
yana89
28-04-2008, 10:57 AM
but can we actually apply for overseas scholarship with matriculation qualification??
my college counsellor said we actually can..
there are scholarships offering studying overseas using matriculation qualification..
it's just not many people knowing much about it..
although the no. of scholarships may not be as much n as vast as scholarship which require STPM...
but one still has chance to persue their degrees overseas...
smile!
28-04-2008, 10:59 AM
but then when i looked through the scholarships available a few weeks ago it seems like very very few offer scholarships for matrics... most of them for stpm qualification..so???
yana89
28-04-2008, 11:20 AM
but then when i looked through the scholarships available a few weeks ago it seems like very very few offer scholarships for matrics... most of them for stpm qualification..so???
there is still scholership offer for matrix rite?
its not like once u go to matrix u r only objected to persue ur studies locally..like most of u think..i may have agree that STPM may be of a much higher standard than matrix...various students at my college got their scholarships..some from corporate companies..such as petronas..shell...even bank negara...whether u r matrix students or even STPM u r bound to get a scholership provided that u r very gud..
derexeddie
28-04-2008, 07:49 PM
why are still plenty of students (d'product of mtriculation) that excel in their academics..either locally or abroad...??
erm.........yana89,
can matrik student go abroad? for real??
there is still scholership offer for matrix rite?
its not like once u go to matrix u r only objected to persue ur studies locally..like most of u think..i may have agree that STPM may be of a much higher standard than matrix...various students at my college got their scholarships..some from corporate companies..such as petronas..shell...even bank negara...whether u r matrix students or even STPM u r bound to get a scholership provided that u r very gud..
i think u got it all wrong, there is absolutely NO WAY a matrik student can continue their studies abroad simply because matrik cert doesn't have worldwide recognition......
search through the net n see 4 urself
yana89
28-04-2008, 09:06 PM
erm.........yana89,
i think u got it all wrong, there is absolutely NO WAY a matrik student can continue their studies abroad simply because matrik cert doesn't have worldwide recognition......
its ur choice for what u want to believe...
Chrisntine
29-04-2008, 09:11 AM
but i heard of some of the abroad uni do accept matrix form (some oni)
yana89
29-04-2008, 09:33 AM
at last..thank u :amuse
29-04-2008, 09:35 AM
yea...but it oso must depend on ur matri result...
conclusion: choosing matri~~~survive in malaysia...
yana89
29-04-2008, 09:53 AM
yea...but it oso must depend on ur matri result...
conclusion: choosing matri~~~survive in malaysia...
doesn't dat applies to STPM also..hmm??
well i think its no use bickering on matrix n STPM which is better...
everyone has their opinion on the system...
although i do admit sometimes the system can be cruel and biased..it should be abolish..
although i'm a matriculation student but i do respect towards those who takes STPM...and hope it that those taking STPM to have some mutual respect for mtrix student also...STPM is tough...but matrix itself is not as easy as everybody think it is..
29-04-2008, 09:59 AM
doesn't dat applies to STPM also..hmm??
well i think its no use bickering on matrix n STPM which is better...
everyone has their opinion on the system...
although i do admit sometimes the system can be cruel and biased..it should be abolish..
although i'm a matriculation student but i do respect towards those who takes STPM...and hope it that those taking STPM to have some mutual respect for mtrix student also...STPM is tough...but matrix is not as easy as everybody think it is..
i heard that students of STPM have more option to choose overseas uni ,that is all because STPM is worldwide recognised...
but still when it comes to local uni, matri students will take an edge over STPM students..
i agree that both matri and STPM students should have mutual respect towards each others , this is not the fault of us(students),it is all the edu system which implement that..
anyway i believe that there will come a system which make STPM on par with Matrikulasi..
Chrisntine
29-04-2008, 12:09 PM
stpm and matrix are the same la. jst that stpm has more chance to stdy abroad but matrix has lower chance as it is oni recognise by some of the uni.
the more important is after we graduate, we get a good job. that all.
pathway is the same la. after stpm and matrix, we will head to uni. same. jst abroad or local oni.
okaywhy
29-04-2008, 12:22 PM
While most people tend to perceive that STPM-ers are of better quality, I don't really see a significant difference between Matric-ers and STPM-ers.
So, if you're aiming for local university, do not hesitate to apply for matriculation, it's not as bad as what others think it is. They learn almost all the things that STPM covers.
As a former sixth former myself, I think STPM syllabus contains too much obsolete junks that might not be useful for your undergraduate study.
29-04-2008, 12:35 PM
They learn almost all the things that STPM covers.
stpm and matrix are the same la.
I beg to differ. They are different. I don't have the books with me now, and I have only studied form 6 before, but as far as I know the syllabus of matriks is pretty much watered down compared to STPM.
It would be interesting if we actually have a side-by-side comparison of syllabus for both STPM and Matriks. I would like to invite people in these two courses to help compiling this. I reckon the comparison is very relevant to this thread. :)
yana89
29-04-2008, 02:17 PM
I beg to differ. They are different. I don't have the books with me now, and I have only studied form 6 before, but as far as I know the syllabus of matriks is pretty much watered down compared to STPM.
It would be interesting if we actually have a side-by-side comparison of syllabus for both STPM and Matriks. I would like to invite people in these two courses to help compiling this. I reckon the comparison is very relevant to this thread. :)
believe or not..
at matrix we sometimes actually use STPM reference book..as STPM book giv us more understanding of each topic..even the lecturers also..sometimes they make quiz questions that is directly pulled out from STPM books..even our libraries have STPM books..:amuse
yup i agree with compilling the syllabus...
which subject should we start first :))
29-04-2008, 02:31 PM
well...without a doubt...start with bio syllabus 1st...:P
ch 1 Cells as a unit of life Ch 12 Cell division
Ch 2 Cell structure and function Ch 13 Genetic Inheritance
of organelles Ch 14 Population Genetics
Ch 3 Molecules of life Ch 15 Expression of biological
Ch 4 Biocatalysis information
Ch 5 Cellular respiration Ch 16 Mutation
Ch 6 Photosynthesis Ch 17 Gene technology
Ch 7 Gaseous exchange and its Ch 18 Reproduction and development
control Ch 19 Growth
Ch 8 Transport system Ch 20 Biodiversity
Ch 9 Homeostasis Ch 21 Variation
Ch 10 Coordination Ch 22 Ecology
Ch 11 Immunity Ch 23 Population ecology
damn lots of chapters to be study...huh..
yana89
29-04-2008, 02:41 PM
well...without a doubt...start with bio syllabus 1st...:P
ch 1 Cells as a unit of life Ch 12 Cell division
Ch 2 Cell structure and function Ch 13 Genetic Inheritance
of organelles Ch 14 Population Genetics
Ch 3 Molecules of life Ch 15 Expression of biological
Ch 4 Biocatalysis information
Ch 5 Cellular respiration Ch 16 Mutation
Ch 6 Photosynthesis Ch 17 Gene technology
Ch 7 Gaseous exchange and its Ch 18 Reproduction and development
control Ch 19 Growth
Ch 8 Transport system Ch 20 Biodiversity
Ch 9 Homeostasis Ch 21 Variation
Ch 10 Coordination Ch 22 Ecology
Ch 11 Immunity Ch 23 Population ecology
damn lots of chapters to be study...huh..
is this for STPM or matriks..??
(just asking to be sure..though i think its matrix :P)
29-04-2008, 02:43 PM
is this for STPM or matriks..??
(just asking to be sure..though i think its matrix :P)
ops...forget to mention...it is Matriculation syllabus...semester 1 and 2..
there is 23 chapters to be brush up in 1 year time...
yana89
29-04-2008, 02:55 PM
ops...forget to mention...it is Matriculation syllabus...semester 1 and 2..
there is 23 chapters to be brush up in 1 year time...
let me correct u there...in 10 months time..
minus the semester holiday n all....
here's the matriculation syllabus for physics
1. physical quantities n measurement
2. kinematics of linear motion
3. force momentum and impulse
4. work energy and power
5. static
6. circular motion
7. rotation of a rigid body
8. gravitation
simple harmonic motion
10. mechanical waves
11. sound wave
12. mechanical properties of a matter
13 fluid mechanics
14 temperature and heat transfer
15. kinetic theory gasses
16. thermodynamics
17 geometrical optics
18 physical optics
19 electrostatics
20. capacitors and dielectrics
21. electric current and direct current circuits
22. magnetic field
23. electromegnetic induction
(fuh it's longer than i thought)
24. alternating current
25. quatization of light
26. wave properties of particles
27 bohr's model of atom hydrogen
28. x ray
29 nucleus
30 nuclear reaction
31 radioactivity
there u go...
29-04-2008, 04:14 PM
chemistry syllabus for matri
sem 1
Chapter 1: Matter
::Chapter 2: State of Matter
::Chapter 3: Atomic Structure
::Chapter 4: Periodic Table
::Chapter 5: Chemical Bonding
::Chapter 6: Chemical Equilibrium
::Chapter 7: Ionic Equilibrium
::Chapter 8: Phase Equilibrium
Sem 2
9 THERMOCHEMISTRY
10 ELECTROCHEMISTRY
11 REACTION KINETICS
12 INTRODUCTION TO ORGANIC CHEMISTRY
13 HYDROCARBONS
14 AROMATIC COMPOUNDS
15 HALOALKANES (ALKYL HALIDES)
16 HYDROXY COMPOUNDS
17 CARBONYL COMPOUNDS
18 CARBOXYLIC ACIDS AND DERIVATIVES
19 AMINES
20 AMINO ACIDS AND PROTEINS
21 POLYMERS
21 chapters for chemistry!!
yana89
29-04-2008, 04:27 PM
and heres's for math
1. number system
2. equations ineequlities and absolute values
3. polynomials
4. sequence and series
5.matrices and system of liner equations
6. functions and graphs
7. limits and continuity
8.differentiation
9.intergration
10.conic sections
11. trigonometric
12 hyperbolic
13. application of differentiations
14. vectors
15 differential equation
16 numerical methods
17 data descriptive
18. permutations and combinations
19. probability
20 random variables
21 special property distributions...
okay i think that sums up all for the matriculation syllabus...:amuse
29-04-2008, 04:35 PM
erm.........yana89,
Yes, it's true that some universities do recognise Malaysian matriculation, students can still go overseas with matric results, but the choice is extremely limited, MMMC is one of them.
i heard that students of STPM have more option to choose overseas uni ,that is all because STPM is worldwide recognised...
but still when it comes to local uni, matri students will take an edge over STPM students..
i agree that both matri and STPM students should have mutual respect towards each others , this is not the fault of us(students),it is all the edu system which implement that..
anyway i believe that there will come a system which make STPM on par with Matrikulasi..
It's true that STPM is recognised by many countries, but I doubt how many of the students doing STPM intend to go overseas, normally students who want to go overseas will proceed with their respective pre-U course after SPM. Most of the time "overseas" simply means Singapore... A large percentage of STPM students will end up in local univesities...
yana89
29-04-2008, 04:40 PM
Yes, it's true that some universities do recognise Malaysian matriculation, students can still go overseas with matric results, but the choice is extremely limited, MMMC is one of them.
although it's extremely limited...
there is also a chance for matriculation student to go abroad..
therefore the motion of 'NO WAY matrix students couldn't fly' doesn't stand..
maybe some of u disagree b'coz 'prestigious' U does not recognized malaysian matriculation..so?? u can always further ur studies in those U when ur doing ur masters...its not life ending u know...case closed
29-04-2008, 08:20 PM
and heres's for math
1. number system
2. equations ineequlities and absolute values
3. polynomials
4. sequence and series
5.matrices and system of liner equations
6. functions and graphs
7. limits and continuity
8.differentiation
9.intergration
10.conic sections
11. trigonometric
12 hyperbolic
13. application of differentiations
14. vectors
15 differential equation
16 numerical methods
17 data descriptive
18. permutations and combinations
19. probability
20 random variables
21 special property distributions...
okay i think that sums up all for the matriculation syllabus...:amuse
just to correct 1 word here..
21 special probability distributions.
yana89
29-04-2008, 09:05 PM
just to correct 1 word here..
21 special probability distributions.
thanks..overlooked that :amuse
Chrisntine
30-04-2008, 01:56 PM
erm, for the syllabus for chemistry. i had brought a reference book. the cover of the book is green in color and the 'brand' is 'thomson' my ttn suggest this book to me. but i hav compared the chapters with the chapters which is given by starlemon. they are different. it oni hav 18 chapters. =.="
yana89
30-04-2008, 02:43 PM
erm, for the syllabus for chemistry. i had brought a reference book. the cover of the book is green in color and the 'brand' is 'thomson' my ttn suggest this book to me. but i hav compared the chapters with the chapters which is given by starlemon. they are different. it oni hav 18 chapters. =.="
is it an overseas published book?
Chrisntine
30-04-2008, 02:45 PM
is it an overseas published book?
i think, YES.
yana89
30-04-2008, 02:55 PM
i think, YES.
well that explains...
its probably because it uses the matrix syllabus of another country..not ours..that's why it's not the same...but u can stil use the book as a reference..science fact cannot change that easily....so the info in this book is still relevant to what u r studying in matrix...since ur ttn sugested diz book i'm sure its very gud...
Chrisntine
30-04-2008, 03:09 PM
well that explains...
its probably because it uses the matrix syllabus of another country..not ours..that's why it's not the same...but u can stil use the book as a reference..science fact cannot change that easily....so the info in this book is still relevant to what u r studying in matrix...since ur ttn sugested diz book i'm sure its very gud...
but thr is a prob. if the lecturer tell us "ok, nxt test will be until chapter 4" and my chpter 4 is diff with other. then i hav to read all and find the fact that relate to the syllabus of matrix. it takes time =.=
yana89
30-04-2008, 03:16 PM
but thr is a prob. if the lecturer tell us "ok, nxt test will be until chapter 4" and my chpter 4 is diff with other. then i hav to read all and find the fact that relate to the syllabus of matrix. it takes time =.=
i think chrisntine we're of topic..i'll reply to u in the matriculation 2008 thread
30-04-2008, 04:33 PM
lazy, most books for pre-u and above don't arrange their topics according to YOUR syllabus, you will have to look it up yourself...
Chrisntine
01-05-2008, 09:54 AM
lazy, most books for pre-u and above don't arrange their topics according to YOUR syllabus, you will have to look it up yourself...
ohh..i didnt realize it. thz. from now on, have to be hardworking to do my own notes. :cry
runninghorse
02-05-2008, 10:24 PM
in terms of quality- choose form 6
in terms of duration- choose matrix
in terms of wide option- choose form 6
in terms of difficulty- choose matrix (easy
03-05-2008, 12:17 AM
Sometimes I think even though STPM syllabus is loaded with lots of info, many are irrelevant when you further your studies in specific field... In this case, quality of STPM doesn't come from the syllabus, but the students who can scored in STPM, one of the toughest exam in the world, are proved they are academically excellent students... In this case, if a student is good enough, even though he comes from matriculation, he can still do well in university...
05-05-2008, 12:09 AM
I side form 6 . Most of the recommers are academically well done , so I think better take F6 . It opens the door to study in oversea and you can learn more during f6 . But , if matrix are taken , we can only study locally . There are still many scholarships for STPM leavers , so why don't we strive well for STPM and make another bet ? Besides , we also can study locally with our STPM result .
bush26
21-05-2008, 06:38 PM
Well, in my opinion, STPM is a good choice but whether you have the guts for it a not. You see, if you want to go overseas, take A levels, its not because A levels is easier, but for me A levels prepare you a better medium for overseas standard. STPM do prepare you for overseas as well, but REMEMBER, it is set by peoples of kementerian which means it is more suitable in malaysia compare to overseas. IF you want to do medicine, pharmacy, dentistry or engineering in local university with STPM, PLEASE FORGET ABOUT IT. It is the universal truth that people taking 4.0 CGPA in STPM crying for not getting her or his course in local universities. Why fuss about it? You should have known when the moment you clad in the white shirt and pants getting ready with a STPM book. You should have known that getting 4.0 CGPA in STPM is not assured with a place in local universities. So try matriculation if you want to get a place in local university with the choice of courses you want. Matriculation is surely easier than STPM, but have you ever wonder, those kids that scored 4.0 CGPA in stpm and did not get a course they want in university with their family is poor? What should they do? They are intelligent, but only to get those unwanted courses. Do not tell me that you want to see 4.0 CGPA kids end up as salesman or waitress in a restaurant? Thinking of getting more knowledge and not thinking of your future is called stupid i guess. Or perhaps Dumb. Well some may declare that you will learn more in STPM compared to matriculation. NONSENSE... ITs the same. Matriculation also has its own toughness in it. WHO said that STPM students perform better in universities than matriculation students? Non of these are proven. Part of it because perhaps the STPM student worked harder. Let us take a better comparison, both of the matriculation and STPM student work hard battling from neck to neck. Don't be surprise, maticulation students might defeat the invulnerable STPM student.
Guys and girls, please do consider your thoughts before saying that this is better than that. PROVE it.
21-05-2008, 08:56 PM
Well, in my opinion, STPM is a good choice but whether you have the guts for it a not. You see, if you want to go overseas, take A levels, its not because A levels is easier, but for me A levels prepare you a better medium for overseas standard. STPM do prepare you for overseas as well, but REMEMBER, it is set by peoples of kementerian which means it is more suitable in malaysia compare to overseas. IF you want to do medicine, pharmacy, dentistry or engineering in local university with STPM, PLEASE FORGET ABOUT IT. It is the universal truth that people taking 4.0 CGPA in STPM crying for not getting her or his course in local universities. Why fuss about it? You should have known when the moment you clad in the white shirt and pants getting ready with a STPM book. You should have known that getting 4.0 CGPA in STPM is not assured with a place in local universities. So try matriculation if you want to get a place in local university with the choice of courses you want. Matriculation is surely easier than STPM, but have you ever wonder, those kids that scored 4.0 CGPA in stpm and did not get a course they want in university with their family is poor? What should they do? They are intelligent, but only to get those unwanted courses. Do not tell me that you want to see 4.0 CGPA kids end up as salesman or waitress in a restaurant? Thinking of getting more knowledge and not thinking of your future is called stupid i guess. Or perhaps Dumb. Well some may declare that you will learn more in STPM compared to matriculation. NONSENSE... ITs the same. Matriculation also has its own toughness in it. WHO said that STPM students perform better in universities than matriculation students? Non of these are proven. Part of it because perhaps the STPM student worked harder. Let us take a better comparison, both of the matriculation and STPM student work hard battling from neck to neck. Don't be surprise, maticulation students might defeat the invulnerable STPM student.
Guys and girls, please do consider your thoughts before saying that this is better than that. PROVE it.
Oh dear, is this a thread where you speak to yourself?
A level is indeed easier than STPM. No lengthy elaboration will be made here to further attest this statement because being a former A level student myself, I dare say there are notable difference between the two pre-university programs and the most significant being the level of difficulty. To say A level prepares one better for overseas education is absurd! How so, if I may ask? After all, A level is just a toned down version of STPM in my opinion. To quote the highlighted, show us proof!
kpchen
22-05-2008, 12:06 PM
I do not know why there's a new thread created for this discussion again when this issue has been debated time and time again in other threads.
EDIT: http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6565&highlight=STPM+Matriculation
bush26, maybe you would like to disclose more information about your background, i.e. which system were you from to convince us more. The things that you have stated were merely opinions of your own.
Personally, I think it is all up to the individual's hard work and intelligence. No matter which system you go to, if you do well, you'll do well. And I must say STPM provides you with the best options and security. A Levels provides you with access to foreign universities and local private universities. Matriculation guarantees you a place in a local public university (and maybe a few foreign universities). STPM, on the other hand, gives you the option to apply for foreign universities, local private and local public universities.
Well, in my opinion, STPM is a good choice but whether you have the guts for it a not. You see, if you want to go overseas, take A levels, its not because A levels is easier, but for me A levels prepare you a better medium for overseas standard. STPM do prepare you for overseas as well, but REMEMBER, it is set by peoples of kementerian which means it is more suitable in malaysia compare to overseas.
Since I'm an STPM 2006 student currently studying in the National University of Singapore, I shall cite it as an example. A Levels preparing you better for overseas education isn't a well proven statement. For example, my friend from STPM is in the Dean's List of his course - Mechanical Engineering in NUS. He competed with students from India, China, Malaysia, Singapore and a few other countries and he has been telling me that how easy it is to manage his studies in the first year because of his strong foundation in STPM, especially Mathematics and Physics. So if you work hard during STPM, you'll do well overseas as well. Please do not regard Singapore as a non-overseas university as there are many students from India and China studying there as well.
IF you want to do medicine, pharmacy, dentistry or engineering in local university with STPM, PLEASE FORGET ABOUT IT. It is the universal truth that people taking 4.0 CGPA in STPM crying for not getting her or his course in local universities. Why fuss about it? You should have known when the moment you clad in the white shirt and pants getting ready with a STPM book. You should have known that getting 4.0 CGPA in STPM is not assured with a place in local universities.
Citing my Form Six classmates and I, in a class of 28 students,the number of students who are currently pursuing the course concerned:
Medicine - 5
Pharmacy - 2
Engineering - 6 (inclduing 2 Computer Engineering)
Those with CGPA 4.0 did get a place in local public universities. Bear in mind that the extracurricular activities score plays an important part as well.
So try matriculation if you want to get a place in local university with the choice of courses you want.
Yes, I must agree that if you've set your eyes on local public universities ONLY, Matriculation is a safer choice. But why limit yourself?
Well some may declare that you will learn more in STPM compared to matriculation. NONSENSE... ITs the same. Matriculation also has its own toughness in it. WHO said that STPM students perform better in universities than matriculation students? Non of these are proven. Part of it because perhaps the STPM student worked harder. Let us take a better comparison, both of the matriculation and STPM student work hard battling from neck to neck. Don't be surprise, maticulation students might defeat the invulnerable STPM student.
Firstly, STPM students are not invulnerable. I shall not comment about the toughness of Matriculation but please note the difference in syllabus between Matriculation and STPM. STPM students definitely learn more. Just take a regular STPM textbook in a bookshop near you and goto the first page of each chapter. You can see the difference.
Yes, if a hardworking and intelligent individual chooses Matriculation (I know a few current year one students in UM Medicine from Matriculation) and does well in it, of course he/she can easily get to the Dean's List.
All in all, I think it's all about the individual. The system merely guides you to your destination - whether if it's local public universities, foreign universities or both.
Scrmath
07-03-2009, 10:19 PM
If u take f6, u build a strong foundation and make yr first university year easy.But matri offers a bigger chance for u to enter u coz the syllabus is easier and the test system is same as in u one.So dcide urself..
07-03-2009, 10:30 PM
If you want to learn more.. Form 6 is the choice. However, if you want shortcuts, matrix is better. For me however, form 6 is a better option as it serves more as a pre-u and u learn much much much more in form 6 compared to matrix.
Athersin
12-03-2009, 09:41 AM
U r wrong, guys. Be in matric and u will know the difficulties there. i wont say much on that, u guys experience urself.
DOnt talk crap if u didnt ever being enrolled in matriculation.
Glassylicious
12-03-2009, 03:32 PM
U r wrong, guys. Be in matric and u will know the difficulties there. i wont say much on that, u guys experience urself.
DOnt talk crap if u didnt ever being enrolled in matriculation.
Perhaps you can elaborate a little rather than raising the flames and attacks? =)
Anyway, I think you may have misunderstood something. I think there's a perception [mind you, perception, might not be true!] that matric is easier compared to STPM. We're not saying the matriculation is a walk-in-the-park program, nor are we saying it's basically a stress-free pre-university program. Not at all. I've heard stories about friends taking matric who complain about the workload.
But comparing STPM and matriculation...STPM doesn't have a modular system which allows students to focus on certain topics at a time and STPM undeniably has a wider and deeper syllabus. This may be the reason why people keep saying that matric is "easier". Maybe there are factors that these non-matric people are missing, which is why they need people who are in the know to inform them and provide them with information, not flames.
Again, we're not saying matric is "easy". We're saying matric is "easier" when you put it next to STPM.
P.S. If you were trying to say that the workload in matric is high and stressful, thus making it "not easy", I'd like to say that the workload in STPM is probably just as stressful, too.
Al-Bert
12-03-2009, 04:10 PM
even though it makes sense for Matriculation to have a less comprehensive syllabus than STPM due to its' course duration of 1 year or less....
12-03-2009, 04:14 PM
even though it makes sense for Matriculation to have a less comprehensive syllabus than STPM due to its' course duration of 1 year or less....Yea, but A-Level isn't much better too, there are much more we didn't learn in A-level but can be found in matriculation syllabus...
Daniel91
14-04-2009, 04:40 PM
guys,
does jpa give scholarships to ex matriculati0n students???
guys,
does jpa give scholarships to ex matriculati0n students???
Get into local universities, into a course JPA wants, and apply for the local university scholarship by JPA. I think there is no interview. You have the course they give you the scholarship.
lesto
18-04-2009, 02:28 AM
Hi. I read from this thread where it says that it is possible to go overseas through local matriculation qualification. Are there overseas scholarships that are offered to matrics graduates? Is it possible to name a few of it as well? Thanks.
sugarspice
18-04-2009, 05:39 AM
^ I thought matriculation is recognised by Malaysia and Singapore only? (even to get in sg using matric is kinda hard) Other countries do not recognise malaysian matriculation. Scholarships, is there? O.O
Glassylicious
18-04-2009, 05:51 AM
^ I thought matriculation is recognised by Malaysia and Singapore only? (even to get in sg using matric is kinda hard) Other countries do not recognise malaysian matriculation. Scholarships, is there? O.O
Actually, a few [read: VERY FEW] universities overseas [in the US but I may be wrong] do recognize the matriculation qualification BUT those universities had a deal of some sort with our Government's education department, yadda yadda yadda. And they aren't exactly Ivy League or even near that standard anyway, so I personally wouldn't bother.
Scholarships for post-matriculation students to study overseas? Hmm, highly doubt it.
diploma upu
matrik
which is better anyone?
SapphireDragon
19-04-2009, 01:09 AM
When comes out earlier? The JPA results or registration for matriculation?
19-04-2009, 01:15 AM
In terms of date, both fall on the same day... In terms of time though, JPA result will probably be out first shortly after midnight of 11/5...
jianyi_crystal
19-04-2009, 01:25 AM
diploma upu
matrik
which is better anyone?
there are more choices in course after u complete matrix; diploma upu is open to spm leavers, they only offer limit course. for long distance view, matrix is better.
faizal
09-11-2009, 04:11 PM
hello to all..
I'm newby here..
I think if u want to be a quality student you should take form 6 one..
because, from my observation, most matriculation student study for exam not for their life...
furthermore, the pointer required to be engineer must at least 3.5 above..
n if u get less than 3, you just get yourself into 'lelong'...
for your information, last PSPM, there are 60% question on paper 2 chemistry is out of sylibus.. some of it is semester 2 syllibus...
If you say 60% of the questions for the last PSPM is out of the syllabus, I would imagine all the matric student will not do well in this paper and that will be good for the STPM student scoring 4 will be NIL.
vincent ho
11-11-2009, 07:59 PM
sorry~ excuse me~ i m a matrix student n juz enter uni n have my first final exam now..
i think u all should concern about that can enter local uni or not... becaz many stpm students get damn excellent result but still cannot enter local uni... n need to pay much money to study abroad or private.
although stpm is tough n have good quality but, the government will let u enter local uni or not will depend on luck becaz of the education system. although u r superb, but those matrix nob still get into local uni.so, u still will give up the chance n chose the road which is more tough n have lower chance to have the course u want??
although it is tougher n suffer for u in first year in uni... but, stpm student is better due to their hardworking.. not all becaz their syallabus... the way u study n how much hard work u put will be decided ur result... remember that a super hardworking stupid ppl is better than a lazy genius... although they will get better result in first two sems... after a few sems , lazy ppl will get what they deserve...
*p/s: i m not satisfied with matrix syllabus but, i m contented about the advantage of matrix to me n its learning style.^^
hello to all..
I'm newby here..
I think if u want to be a quality student you should take form 6 one..
because, from my observation, most matriculation student study for exam not for their life...
furthermore, the pointer required to be engineer must at least 3.5 above..
n if u get less than 3, you just get yourself into 'lelong'...
for your information, last PSPM, there are 60% question on paper 2 chemistry is out of sylibus.. some of it is semester 2 syllibus...
r u sure PSPM question is difficult , have u see form 6 paper before...
i think after u have their paper, u will regret that u said pspm question is difficult...
in my opinion, chemistry paper should be considered the easiet paper among those papers ady.
about final exam paper for matrix, if u r go for study, not for holiday, u should deserve for 4-flat...
if u cannt get gud result in matrix, u better dun enter form6
becaz maybe u cannot achieve more than 3.0 ady, even the local uni dun have reserve any place for u... so. better dun give up matrix... according to one of my UM mathematics professor, ppl normally will chose the road which is not make our life difficult.. if not, why human will have development n revolution to have easier life... ^^