View Full Version : Matric Physical Science Can Go To Medic?
destroyer
28-04-2008, 11:43 PM
is it true that matriculation physical science student can go into medic in IPTA?
I don't think so since a Medical course requires Biology.
destroyer
28-04-2008, 11:59 PM
actually. you can check for USM MD program. they state that we can enter with either bio or physic.
but i need someone to confirm on that. whether we can really enter using physic or not
sherenesheep
29-04-2008, 12:34 AM
i think its best to do bio.. cuz medic IS about the human anatomy.. phys has nth to do with human anatomy
29-04-2008, 12:59 AM
i think its best to do bio.. cuz medic IS about the human anatomy.. phys has nth to do with human anatomy
You, my dear, are as far from the truth as you can go...
sherenesheep
29-04-2008, 01:01 AM
You, my dear, are as far from the truth as you can go...
am i?? i stand corrected.. mayb i shud rephrase my sentences.. anyway, wad i was tryin to say that medic has more to do with bio than phys...
is this sentence rite or am i jz wrong wrong wrong again?? :P
29-04-2008, 01:25 AM
am i?? i stand corrected.. mayb i shud rephrase my sentences.. anyway, wad i was tryin to say that medic has more to do with bio than phys...
is this sentence rite or am i jz wrong wrong wrong again?? :P
Without physics you will have a hard time understanding how the bones break for any cause at all and how to position them correctly back together...
And without physics, you will have a hard time imagining how the blood flows throughout the body...
and if you are still unsure, biology is built upon physics for understanding...
Glassylicious
29-04-2008, 07:07 AM
Oh dear me.
A common misconception is that Biology is required to do medicine. It is not.
What's important is your Math and Chem. Some places even ask for Physics. I'm not sure about IPTA, but from my experience in looking at other universities' subject requirements, Bio is not a compulsory subject.
yana89
29-04-2008, 07:17 AM
is it true that matriculation physical science student can go into medic in IPTA?
there has been cases..infact 14 students last batch from mtrix melaka..(source from my fwen who studied there) got medic...although they were physical students...but i think starting from this year on..for those who wants to take medic it is compulsary for them to take bio..not sure r...
destroyer
29-04-2008, 07:51 AM
the only course that require bio is MBBS program in UM if i'm not mistaken.
for MD program in UKM, UPM, and USM don't require bio. either physic or bio. well, this is stated in their program requirement. just that, i don't know the real fact whether bio is really required to enter their program. mybe they stated that can enter either with physic or bio, but, actually they do require bio. that's what i want to know.
wanna ask. do studying bio in f4/f5 and in matric help me when i'm doing medic course?
29-04-2008, 08:26 AM
Among the most important qualities of a doctor are communication skill, dedication, empathy, sincerity, time management, EQ. Just to name a few. Academic achievement is but one of the components in what makes a good doctor.
But academically, quoting from my posts in another thread (http://recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=154253):
Physics is very important in many domains of medicine, especially in physiology (the theory of all bodily functions) such as cardiovascular (blood pressure etc is essentially fluid mechanics); respiration (it's Boyle's law, and again fluid mechanis etc); orthopedics (dynamics).
Biology is actually not a must for many foreign university's medicine courses. In fact I agree with such policy - medicine is a very small subset of biology; while biology (in the context of pre-u syllabus) is a relatively small subset of medicine. When I look at my coursemates (half of us didn't take biology in the pre-u level), I noticed that the performance of the students is not really affected by whether they took biology in pre-U.
destroyer
29-04-2008, 08:32 AM
I see. thanks youngyew. so, biology study in pre-u dont affect much if i want to go into medic in terms of study in U. am I right?
just that I'm curious about do physical science student can really go into medic?
the program i'm talking is not the local IPTA's MBBS program like in UM, UISM, UiTM. but the MD program such as UKM, USM, UPM, and other ipta.
29-04-2008, 08:35 AM
Sorry am not too familiar with the current prerequisite for local uni medical courses. The last time I checked (many years ago) most still required biology. You might want to check with people who have more up-to-date information.
destroyer
29-04-2008, 11:48 AM
another question, would it be hard for me to catch-up matric bio if i don't take bio during f4 & f5?
natlee
29-04-2008, 11:54 AM
another question, would it be hard for me to catch-up matric bio if i don't take bio during f4 & f5?
not really. because basically wat u learn in secondary will be used again in matric.
all u nid is to read more than the norm, thats all.
besides that v actually learned a lot more than in sec.
destroyer
29-04-2008, 12:32 PM
the prob is. i don't take bio during spm. dun even learn it. Is it hard for me to catch-up?
29-04-2008, 12:37 PM
To be honest, it depends on how fast you learn and how dedicated you are. I believe that many will be able to catch up but some will be significantly disadvantaged if they did not do biology in SPM.
I would recommend you to obtain opinion from your own science teacher (I assume you did sains teras?), as he/she would be the best person to judge whether you are able to catch up.
destroyer
29-04-2008, 01:58 PM
hoho. i don't study sains teras.
instead of bio, i study engineering technology and engineering drawing.
but, i do study physic and chem.
29-04-2008, 02:05 PM
not really. because basically wat u learn in secondary will be used again in matric.
all u nid is to read more than the norm, thats all.
besides that v actually learned a lot more than in sec.
yes...agree so...in matri we just learn the tougher and more detailed side of biology..
for the basic 1 that we have learned in form 4 and 5, it still applied to the matri syllabus..(i look through the matri/stpm bio books)..
one way to excel in bio is to read more, present it in terms of writting or briefing...sometime i find that teaching others the bio concepts and theory will help u a lot in gaining thorough understanding in topics that u teach...(not exactly teach but still can be considered as briefing)..
hoho. i don't study sains teras.
instead of bio, i study engineering technology and engineering drawing.
but, i do study physic and chem.
wow..too great u take engineering related subjects in SPM..hmm...i am sure u have a solid foundation in engineering ...y not venture into engineering field ,take up phy..but then y u bother about taking bio?(just curious)..
destroyer
29-04-2008, 02:44 PM
i also dunno why i want to take medic. just that i want to know more about whether physical science student can go medic or not.
moreover, medic easier to get scholar.
yana89
29-04-2008, 03:15 PM
i also dunno why i want to take medic. just that i want to know more about whether physical science student can go medic or not.
moreover, medic easier to get scholar.
really??..i thought medic was the hardest...:oh
29-04-2008, 03:23 PM
i also dunno why i want to take medic. just that i want to know more about whether physical science student can go medic or not.yes you can...
really??..i thought medic was the hardest...:ohToo many students and parents think that medic is the easiest way to get rich... How wrong they are...
yana89
29-04-2008, 03:34 PM
yes you can...
Too many students and parents think that medic is the easiest way to get rich... How wrong they are...
i do agree...unless u r dedicated and hv the passion for it..it's fine...but if not..just forget about it..
29-04-2008, 03:57 PM
yes you can...
really?that mean choosing phy has lots more option than choosing bio ?
29-04-2008, 03:59 PM
really?that mean choosing phy has lots more option than choosing bio ?physics and chemistry is more relevant to quite a lot of medical branches than biology anyway...
yana89
29-04-2008, 04:16 PM
physics and chemistry is more relevant to quite a lot of medical branches than biology anyway...
hurmm..is it?
but many of my lectures advised that to those who are determined to take medicine to take up bio...it'll be easier...as u may get use to the terms..well if not all..at least have a rough idea of it...
plus what do u reckon..
btween bio student and physical student..both obtain PNGK of 4...
who would 'they' choose to persue in medicine...
(of course the priority is preety much towards the bio student :amuse..)
29-04-2008, 04:25 PM
There are cases where Physics students got into medicine course in local universities. Without Biology in your pre-U will only put you on slight disadvatage in medicine course but without even foundation of biology at SPM level, you'll have tough time then...
29-04-2008, 04:28 PM
physics and chemistry is more relevant to quite a lot of medical branches than biology anyway...
y u think so?...can give me more details about ur opinion?
smile!
29-04-2008, 04:36 PM
welp...how do we check whether the local uni accept physic student for medicine or not?
yana89
29-04-2008, 04:45 PM
welp...how do we check whether the local uni accept physic student for medicine or not?
just go through the medic course requirements for a Uni...
it usually stated there...
yilian
29-04-2008, 06:16 PM
Please consider this. If one choose physics just because he/she wanted to take medic, and say if he/she doesnt get medic , he/she can still have some other better choice. But please do consider, if you would like to do so, please make sure that you are good in physics too. No use taking physics but can't secure an "A" for it. Choose the course according to your ability, interest, aim, etc.
destroyer
29-04-2008, 09:29 PM
yeah. that's why i'm taking physical science.
just that, do physical science student with no basic in bio during spm level can really enter MD program. because, some uni don't require us to have bio during matric, but, actually they have hidden requirement which require us to take bio in SPM. wonder if USM do that system...
yeah. that's why i'm taking physical science.
just that, do physical science student with no basic in bio during spm level can really enter MD program. because, some uni don't require us to have bio during matric, but, actually they have hidden requirement which require us to take bio in SPM. wonder if USM do that system...
because, it is stated in their program requirement that we don't need to have bio in matriculation, and just pass in english for spm. wonder if they have hidden requirement.
ccyik
29-04-2008, 10:13 PM
I'm not sure abt other uni, but for my uni upm, they do accept students from matric pysical science. Many ppl may think that students who did phy in matric will have difficulties when entering medical school. In my opinion, medic isnt purely bio as what we learnt during our pre-u years, stpm or matric.
There are so much more things u hv to learn.. Anatomy, physiology, pharmacology.. for every system in human's body in short. In fact, what u learnt during ur pre-u is so scanty and rarely been used.
What i can observe is that students from matric phy can do equally well if u r hardworking and study smartly.
leechinyiun
29-04-2008, 10:40 PM
Y we cant study 4 bio, che n physic in matrikulasi???????????
Or we only can choose between in physic n bio only a?????????
d chemistry is compulsory 4 science students, ryte??????????????
Hop tat al d seniors can tel me mor about it ............
THANX...............
@<hidden>@<hidden>
sherenesheep
29-04-2008, 11:26 PM
Without physics you will have a hard time understanding how the bones break for any cause at all and how to position them correctly back together...
And without physics, you will have a hard time imagining how the blood flows throughout the body...
and if you are still unsure, biology is built upon physics for understanding...
haha i knew that was comin... inertia......
but its stil better to pick bio rite?? (in places lik matrix wer u can only choose between bio and phys) :amuse
30-04-2008, 01:27 AM
haha i knew that was comin... inertia......
but its stil better to pick bio rite?? (in places lik matrix wer u can only choose between bio and phys) :amuse
I doubt you will be using mrore than 10% of what you learn"t in biology in medical classes... Physics on the other hand...
yana89
30-04-2008, 10:44 AM
Y we cant study 4 bio, che n physic in matrikulasi???????????
because there is too much to learn in a short period of time (10 months)...
go and review the syllabus..some are all ready posted go to this linkhttp://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6565&page=6
besides that...by choosing one of them..it lessen ur burden..and u can concentrate more on improving ur grades for the remaining subject
we only can choose between in physic n bio only a?????????
yup have to choose 1..pick a subject that u r best at....
d chemistry is compulsory 4 science students, ryte??????????????
yup..so is math..
30-04-2008, 10:56 AM
I doubt you will be using mrore than 10% of what you learn"t in biology in medical classes... Physics on the other hand...
Actually... even for physics, only a small proportion of what you learned in physics is ever put to real use in medicine. Apart from what I have mentioned i.e. fluid mechanics, dynamics and kinetics, gas laws etc, there aren't that many topics in physics that are relevant to medicine. What I mean here is that you don't have to know what Higg's boson is when you do cancer research. (You probably want to know about ionising radiation, though. :) )
Having said that, I feel that if someone is good at physics, he would do pretty well in medicine as one's performance in physics is very much associated with his cognitive ability, which in turn is important in medicine.
sherenesheep
30-04-2008, 11:13 AM
Actually... even for physics, only a small proportion of what you learned in physics is ever put to real use in medicine. Apart from what I have mentioned i.e. fluid mechanics, dynamics and kinetics, gas laws etc, there aren't that many topics in physics that are relevant to medicine. What I mean here is that you don't have to know what Higg's boson is when you do cancer research. (You probably want to know about ionising radiation, though. :) )
Having said that, I feel that if someone is good at physics, he would do pretty well in medicine as one's performance in physics is very much associated with his cognitive ability, which in turn is important in medicine.
exactly... but in form 6 and matrix they only allow u to choose either bio and phys... wont it be much easier if we can take up both subjects??? (even if it means that we have to reli rake our brains and torture ourselves with the two subs)
but we cant rite??
yana89
30-04-2008, 11:19 AM
exactly... but in form 6 and matrix they only allow u to choose either bio and phys... wont it be much easier if we can take up both subjects??? (even if it means that we have to reli rake our brains and torture ourselves with the two subs)
but we cant rite??
u have no idea how much suffering that we need to go through if we take both subject..been there done that...conclusion made..it's just better to concentrate 1 than both...i think its like this 1 pepatah melayu...'yang nak dikejar tidak dapat..yg dikendong pula berciciran'..something like dat r
sherenesheep
30-04-2008, 11:22 AM
u have no idea how much suffering that we need to go through if we take both subject..been there done that...conclusion made..it's just better to concentrate 1 than both...i think its like this 1 pepatah melayu...'yang nak dikejar tidak dapat..yg dikendong pula berciciran'..something like dat r
i know, but for medic it seems that both subs are important... so which is which and wad is wad oso i dunno anymore....
yana89
30-04-2008, 11:29 AM
i know, but for medic it seems that both subs are important... so which is which and wad is wad oso i dunno anymore....
:laugh i think its better for u to sit down n think it through...u seem confused..its undeniable that both subs are important...but if u ask me...if u really want to take medic go for bio..because the policies of the U could change at any time...that's a risk worth not taking...not that i'm saying physics student can't go into medic after diz...
30-04-2008, 11:30 AM
In terms of "which one will help me in medicine", I would say it doesn't matter much - if you are able to do well in physics or biology or both, you will most likely be able to adapt to medicine.
As I have mentioned earlier, doing biology might give you an edge and make your life easier at certain stages of medicine course, especially in the parts where you study about biochemistry and basics of cell biology; but those are only the very early 5% of the medicine course, and after that your pre-U studies no longer have much bearing on the medical course.
So do whatever you think is good for you, or realistically, whatever you think you will score better in (if the absence of biology in pre-U doesn't affect your chance of entering local uni medicine courses). Don't fuss too much over it. It doesn't matter too much once you enter medicine.
sherenesheep
30-04-2008, 11:44 AM
:laugh i think its better for u to sit down n think it through...u seem confused..its undeniable that both subs are important...but if u ask me...if u really want to take medic go for bio..because the policies of the U could change at any time...that's a risk worth not taking...not that i'm saying physics student can't go into medic after diz...
don worry i'm not doin medic...so it reli doesn matter to me.. hehe
As I have mentioned earlier, doing biology might give you an edge and make your life easier at certain stages of medicine course, especially in the parts where you study about biochemistry and basics of cell biology;
ditto....
30-04-2008, 11:52 AM
don worry i'm not doin medic...so it reli doesn matter to me.. hehe
but i heard that u r taking bio?then wat course u wanna pursue ?
sherenesheep
30-04-2008, 12:08 PM
but i heard that u r taking bio?then wat course u wanna pursue ?
taking bio does not necessarily mean i'm taking medic... i wanna do either dentistry or pharmacy
30-04-2008, 12:22 PM
I don't think so since a Medical course requires Biology.
Not true necessarily, Australian medical schools do not require Biology, instead they are more inclined towards physics and chemistry.
30-04-2008, 12:38 PM
Why they are more inclined towards physic and chemistry ?
30-04-2008, 12:45 PM
We have already mentioned a few times before in this thread and in the other thread:
http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6292
Go find out the answers. :)
destroyer
30-04-2008, 12:47 PM
hoho. so, if i don't take bio during my f4&f5, i'll not be able to enter medical course despite i took physical science stream in my matric. am I right?
yana89
30-04-2008, 02:59 PM
hoho. so, if i don't take bio during my f4&f5, i'll not be able to enter medical course despite i took physical science stream in my matric. am I right?
I think so...
30-04-2008, 03:29 PM
when you apply they usually only look at the subjects in your pre-u in my experience.
destroyer
30-04-2008, 05:46 PM
i see.
i thought they're gonna look to what we take in SPM.
i think, mybe physical science student with no bio can enroll into MD program...
for me.
i like to work as a doctor, love the knowledge of engineering, and like the art of architecture.
yana89
30-04-2008, 09:36 PM
i see.
i thought they're gonna look to what we take in SPM.
i think, mybe physical science student with no bio can enroll into MD program...
for me.
i like to work as a doctor, love the knowledge of engineering, and like the art of architecture.
i've surveyed 2 local uni...(UKM n UM )..they stil look at SPM..and bio is compulsary...
at least u credit the subject..
but if u stil wish to persue (taking physics in mtrix)..UPM medic is the answer..UiTM n USM i dunno..can't get hold of the requirements..
30-04-2008, 09:42 PM
when you apply they usually only look at the subjects in your pre-u in my experience.i think they will look further down if anything is amiss
destroyer
30-04-2008, 09:55 PM
to make it simple, all MBBS program in malaysia require Bio.
but, for MD, most of them require wither physic or bio. but i don't know if they have hidden requirement.
05-05-2008, 05:06 PM
to make it simple, all MBBS program in malaysia require Bio.
but, for MD, most of them require wither physic or bio. but i don't know if they have hidden requirement.
Well, actually MBBS and MD are the same, just the names came from different countries, MBBS is from UK while MD is from US, correct me if I'm wrong...