View Full Version : UPU pre-U in UM 2008
sherenesheep
01-05-2008, 11:36 PM
i got offered to study sains hayat in UM!!! :laugh
did anyone else get it?? show yourselves!!
got this off a UM brochure:
Bantuan Kewangan
Pelajar-pelajar yang mengikuti Program Asasi Sains Hayat, Sains Fizikal dan Asasi Alam Bina dibiayai oleh Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi...
eM-syaph
01-05-2008, 11:50 PM
hey sme course we got there.. =)
huh wut??
they'll sponsore us????
honto ni??
sherenesheep
01-05-2008, 11:53 PM
ah-ha... i can tell that u are an anime fan here!! hehe
i cant vouche on this.. this is wad they wrote on their brochure... hehe
u got any frens goin with u??
Danial
02-05-2008, 12:09 AM
Hi....i also get asasi sains hayat in UM. Hows UM anyway? Is it like matrix? do we need to follow any dress code or something?
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 12:21 AM
Hi....i also get asasi sains hayat in UM. Hows UM anyway? Is it like matrix? do we need to follow any dress code or something?
hey i'm having a blast finding out more info about um.. go this site
www.um.edu.my and browse around!!! look at campus map, student life, clubs and more!!
UM sounds lik a lot of fun!! hehe
Danial
02-05-2008, 12:25 AM
Hey...they did state which residential college that you would stay right? Mine is at the twelth residential college (Raja Dr Nazrin Shah). Whats yours?
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 12:26 AM
ah-ha... i can tell that u are an anime fan here!! hehe
i cant vouche on this.. this is wad they wrote on their brochure... hehe
u got any frens goin with u??
haha..yea.sort of it..huhuhh
its good to be sposored then..haha..
even pasum is kind of under the mohe..but still we cant swap btween unis like those mtrics after cmplting our assi ryte?
btw, r you ae chnese, miss or mr sherenesheep? ow gosh how to split tht..heheck :P
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 12:35 AM
Hey...they did state which residential college that you would stay right? Mine is at the twelth residential college (Raja Dr Nazrin Shah). Whats yours?
me too!! (well, i got that info off the brochure too hehe)
how do u know which college u stayin in?? hav u seen the um map??? that place is HUGE man....
http://www.um.edu.my/discover_um/find_us/campus_map.php?intPrefLangID=1&
der are 446 blocks (7,552,009.55 square feet), 750 acres
cool eh??
haha..yea.sort of it..huhuhh
its good to be sposored then..haha..
even pasum is kind of under the mohe..but still we cant swap btween unis like those mtrics after cmplting our assi ryte?
btw, r you ae chnese, miss or mr sherenesheep? ow gosh how to split tht..heheck :P
i'm bidayuh... haha i'm a miss... hehehe u??
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 12:40 AM
i thnk our batch for assi sns all got the 12th cllge..
hey u noe wht, otak burung unte, lebih keeciiiiik dpd matenye..heheh juz kidding...ehem: "The newest and biggest residential college built in the University of Malaya, the Twelfth Residential College was completed in 2002.."
whuaaa so eager to accomdate there..wawawaw
but stll, i cant find the number of residents per room..n also for the inside-room overvw..(oww wht sch a dmnding person i am :P:P)...
Danial
02-05-2008, 12:42 AM
me too!! (well, i got that info off the brochure too hehe)
how do u know which college u stayin in?? hav u seen the um map??? that place is HUGE man....
http://www.um.edu.my/discover_um/find_us/campus_map.php?intPrefLangID=1&
der are 446 blocks (7,552,009.55 square feet), 750 acres
cool eh??
I found out in www.um.edu.my/kemasukan/ (Apparently the website got internal server error. It was working fine last evening) I typed my I.C number and come out my name and all the info including my residential college, if i'm not mistaken.
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 12:42 AM
i thnk our batch for assi sns all got the 12th cllge..
hey u noe wht, otak burung unte, lebih keeciiiiik dpd matenye..heheh juz kidding...ehem: "The newest and biggest residential college built in the University of Malaya, the Twelfth Residential College was completed in 2002.."
whuaaa so eager to accomdate there..wawawaw
but stll, i cant find the number of residents per room..n also for the inside-room overvw..(oww wht sch a dmnding person i am :P:P)...
hahaha y suddenly bring up that brain thing?? hahaha
cool, we get the biggest college... btw, u boy o gal??
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 12:45 AM
whuaa a bidayuh :laugh:amuse..nver met before..hehe
im a malay boy..bt still my bm for dhe spm got a2..:cry:cry wht a shame..ngeh3
u must done damn good fr spm ayte..hehe
hope to see u at UM..weeee
Danial
02-05-2008, 12:51 AM
Er....since we're taking asasi sains hayat...are we under the faculty of medicine? or is it other faculty?
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 12:54 AM
whuaa a bidayuh :laugh:amuse..nver met before..hehe
im a malay boy..bt still my bm for dhe spm got a2..:cry:cry wht a shame..ngeh3
u must done damn good fr spm ayte..hehe
hope to see u at UM..weeee
wah so honoured to be the first!!! hehehe
yeah hope to see u der in UM!! i no teman there with me.. i'm the only person who applied for that in my skul.. hehe
Er....since we're taking asasi sains hayat...are we under the faculty of medicine? or is it other faculty?
i dunno... not stated.... don think its medicine... mayb faculty of science?? i think its the largest faculty in UM, if i'm not mistakened... they don have a foundation faculty.. hehe so i guez we mite be der
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 12:56 AM
noo..i thnk fculty ony for those degree-buddies..we are under pre-u thingies..so we're recruited for Centre for Foundation Studies in Science..hey they got foundation cntre wut...juz a few duck's steps from our lovely-peacefully-enchanting college..wahahaha..u better chck the map..
dont korek me if im wrong, but doo correct me..ngee~
me too..im a looooneee ranger from my school..hehe
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 01:00 AM
noo..i thnk fculty ony for those degree-buddies..we are under postgrad thingies..so we're recruited for Centre for Foundation Studies in Science.
dont korek me if im wrong, but doo correct me..ngee~
isn postgrad for masters and phd?? post means after wor.. so its after graduate (degree)
nah *korek eM-syaph with a spoon*
dude, we shud lik, meet up der o smth... so at least we wont be lik, alone.. hehehe
hooooooooi any gals out der o am i the only one????
Danial
02-05-2008, 01:04 AM
isn postgrad for masters and phd?? post means after wor.. so its after graduate (degree)
nah *korek eM-syaph with a spoon*
dude, we shud lik, meet up der o smth... so at least we wont be lik, alone.. hehehe
hooooooooi any gals out der o am i the only one????
Lolz.....isn't the term is undergraduate?....Yeah....i totally agree with you...we should meet up somewhere first. I'm a male/man/boy
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 01:08 AM
Lolz.....isn't the term is undergraduate?....Yeah....i totally agree with you...we should meet up somewhere first. I'm a male/man/boy
no i think undergraduate is for those studyin their degrees..
haha man/boy pulak...knt make up ur mind yet ka?? haha
i think i've asked u this quez b4... wer are u from again??
Danial
02-05-2008, 01:13 AM
Lol....different views of people. Some think i already became a man, and some think i'm still a boy. I'm from melaka anyway. So....how strict or lenient you guys think the campus would be?
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 01:15 AM
Lol....different views of people. Some think i already became a man, and some think i'm still a boy. I'm from melaka anyway. So....how strict or lenient you guys think the campus would be?
hermz, hopefully it wont be as fussy as matrix, which is ridiculously uptight....
i guez we'l find out more wen the letter comes in
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 01:19 AM
ooo noooe u korek me wth aa spppooon!! so mean..:P
my mstake ba..my head jus flew-off and type postgrad pulak..hhehee
it shud be PRE-u..haha..
u guys wnt to arrnge a date or sumting hah??
haha..
hey why this thread is like a hollow can/tunnel/whtever...haha..juz three of us sound playing in a ruin..haahah..lalalaaa..wht im crapping..
are both of u hv friendster??
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 01:21 AM
ooo noooe u korek me wth aa spppooon!! so mean..:P
my mstake ba..my head jus flew-off and type postgrad pulak..hhehee
it shud be PRE-u..haha..
u guys wnt to arrnge a date or sumting hah??
haha..
hey why this thread is like a hollow can/tunnel/whtever...haha..juz three of us sound playing in a ruin..haahah..lalalaaa..wht im crapping..
are both of u hv friendster??
sure, can... but we need to wait for the letter to know wen are we goin, blah blah blah... and assuming we are not offered scholarship, then ITS ON!!! haha
yeah i have frenster...
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 01:26 AM
mind to spell ur name here exctly like ur fs id?so tht i can find u..n mind to join asasi sains UM 2008/2009 grup?..there we can recruit members like tht..or u olredy joined eh??huhu
hey whch schlrship u've applied??
whch course?..
im waiting for jpa, under biotech..if i were offred tht JPA,wht a JACKpot..hehe:laugh:laugh:laugh
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 01:28 AM
look for Jz Sherene
can join group!! does it exist already??
i apply for MARA, dentistry.. but they;l send to india.. haiz..
and petronas, petroleum engineering
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 01:40 AM
yea they oredy established a pakatan..hahaa..but they used bm as the medium..
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 01:44 AM
yea they oredy established a pakatan..hahaa..but they used bm as the medium..
reli?? wow, they are reli fast hor.... bm?? aduh, my bm teruk lar...
eM-syaph
02-05-2008, 01:49 AM
they re sooo semangat..jus after the rslt was announced, tht um grup toink jus pop up..haha..
u may use bi lo..or cmpur2..sre theyll paham..:)):))
ok thts all fr tnite..im damn sleepy..whhuuarghhh..
ey apprve my frenster..hehe
u shall find um grup at my pfofile ba..zzzzzzZZZzzzz
nadia.g
02-05-2008, 09:27 AM
hye.. I got UM Asasi Sains Hayat too... how long is it? 1 year?
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 09:31 AM
hye.. I got UM Asasi Sains Hayat too... how long is it? 1 year?
2 semesters... so thats one year
02-05-2008, 10:19 AM
congratulations everyone!
Have fun in the huge campus, I remember last year when I went thre just to check out the Kolej 12 we had to drive there because it was too far!
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 10:36 AM
hey... is UM near the pantai hill apartments?? (i kinda forgot the name of the apartments)
dya_me
02-05-2008, 12:05 PM
is it true da admission on 25th may???
saruhh
02-05-2008, 02:04 PM
mind if i join the party? i got UM too :D
hey... is UM near the pantai hill apartments?? (i kinda forgot the name of the apartments)
UM's pretty huge, but if i'm not mistaken, one end of UM is pretty close to lembah pantai. not sure about the apartments, though.
erm i'm pretty sure all students under the asasi program will be living in the same college, and apparently, it's two to a room in the hostel. not bad huh? ;p
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 03:21 PM
is it true da admission on 25th may???
wer did u hear that??
mind if i join the party? i got UM too :D
UM's pretty huge, but if i'm not mistaken, one end of UM is pretty close to lembah pantai. not sure about the apartments, though.
erm i'm pretty sure all students under the asasi program will be living in the same college, and apparently, it's two to a room in the hostel. not bad huh? ;p
welcum!!! hehe yeah its near the pantai hill park apartments.. hehe
yeah we will al be living in Kolej Raja Dr. Nazrin Shah (12)....
do u guys hav any other frens goin to UM?? im the only person in my skul goin :cry
02-05-2008, 03:24 PM
Due to the nature of the posts here this thread have been moved to the chat section.
saruhh
02-05-2008, 03:33 PM
yup, registration will be held on the 25th.
http://kemasukan.um.edu.my/borang/BorangSains/atucara_pasum_0809.pdf
zureen
02-05-2008, 03:41 PM
hello guys..i see all of u are pretty excited about being accepted in UM,exactly as how i reacted last year when i found out too..well, you should be, as they select good students only..if i'm not mistaken, 8A's and above..
well, i did not enter PASUM for a reason, which is an offer from PETRONAS but my boyfriend enrolled in the program and he just finished his finals last month..
so i sort-of know and experience the atmosphere of being in PASUM as i usually go there for the weekend..sometimes i spend a night there in my girl friend's room (the rules are very loose, so anybody can go in and out anytime they want)..the 12th Residential College is beautiful and HUGE!
all in all, it's a fun and cool place to be studying in..plus, u're goin to Malaysia's oldest university! It's majestic! You should be proud..the landscaping of the campus is breathtaking..
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 04:01 PM
hello guys..i see all of u are pretty excited about being accepted in UM,exactly as how i reacted last year when i found out too..well, you should be, as they select good students only..if i'm not mistaken, 8A's and above..
well, i did not enter PASUM for a reason, which is an offer from PETRONAS but my boyfriend enrolled in the program and he just finished his finals last month..
so i sort-of know and experience the atmosphere of being in PASUM as i usually go there for the weekend..sometimes i spend a night there in my girl friend's room (the rules are very loose, so anybody can go in and out anytime they want)..the 12th Residential College is beautiful and HUGE!
all in all, it's a fun and cool place to be studying in..plus, u're goin to Malaysia's oldest university! It's majestic! You should be proud..the landscaping of the campus is breathtaking..
hahah now u make me even more excited to go!!! hehe
do we need to use laptop der???
dya_me
02-05-2008, 06:37 PM
i've got frens dat got asasi sains hayat also...4 of them...there is 1 got nilam puri..so glad 2 meet all recomers dat got UM..
AdreanaBhatt
02-05-2008, 08:54 PM
I got UM too! Sains hayat. I just wanna know, if we get this does it jeapordise our chances of JPA? I'm getting overly paranoid now. And if we go for this sains hayat, what are the chances of us doing medicine in um?
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 09:55 PM
I got UM too! Sains hayat. I just wanna know, if we get this does it jeapordise our chances of JPA? I'm getting overly paranoid now. And if we go for this sains hayat, what are the chances of us doing medicine in um?
hermz, don be paranoid.... it mite jz be a rumour... hope for the best and remember to keep a "glass is half full" mentality..
it mite be easier for us to do our degree in UM after foundation.... i think thats the advantage of studyin in UM pre-u... hehe
zureen
02-05-2008, 10:12 PM
you ARE being paranoid. UPU doesn't affect scholarship results even a single bit.
AdreanaBhatt
02-05-2008, 10:55 PM
you ARE being paranoid. UPU doesn't affect scholarship results even a single bit.
haha. So many rumours lately. Can't help it =p does um have a curfew and stuff eg dress code
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 11:03 PM
haha. So many rumours lately. Can't help it =p does um have a curfew and stuff eg dress code
yeah, kinda... not reli sure.... u browse around the UM site www.um.edu.my
u'l find loads of info der... hav u gone to this site yet?? www.um.edu.my/kemasukan
its reli reli reli reli reli important
AdreanaBhatt
02-05-2008, 11:19 PM
yeah, kinda... not reli sure.... u browse around the UM site www.um.edu.my
u'l find loads of info der... hav u gone to this site yet?? www.um.edu.my/kemasukan
its reli reli reli reli reli important
i went to the kemasukan site. It asked me if i wanted to accept it or not. I have 2 give an answer by 15th of May. I'll wait for JPA, then I'll decide. Do you know how many bumis and non bumis get accepted into this foundation?
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 11:22 PM
i went to the kemasukan site. It asked me if i wanted to accept it or not. I have 2 give an answer by 15th of May. I'll wait for JPA, then I'll decide. Do you know how many bumis and non bumis get accepted into this foundation?
as far as i know, pre-u in UM is only offerered to bumis... wad race are u??
erm, u can accept now i think.. cuz after that it says that if the student does not show up within 25-30th May, his/her application will be denied... smth lik that
ayasama90
02-05-2008, 11:29 PM
hey i'm new here! i'm also offered a place in um for asasi sains hayat! :P nice meeting u guys! :)
AdreanaBhatt
02-05-2008, 11:29 PM
kadazan mix. Ah... my dad says um us pretty good.. but i'm bent on waiting for jpa
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 10:48 AM
kadazan mix. Ah... my dad says um us pretty good.. but i'm bent on waiting for jpa
cool... yeah UM is pretty good... hehe wad u planning to do in ur degree?? anyone else from ur skul got into UM asasi??
hey i'm new here! i'm also offered a place in um for asasi sains hayat! :P nice meeting u guys! :)
hi and welcum!! wow alot of ppl got offered sains hayat.. hehe which is great!!!!
dya_me
03-05-2008, 10:53 AM
dont u think registration on 25 may is too early??coz, through mohe brochure, registration 4 all public universities on 29 june...
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 10:55 AM
dont u think registration on 25 may is too early??coz, through mohe brochure, registration 4 all public universities on 29 june...
the sooner the better actually...
i think the one in june is for ppl who want to do their degrees.. the stpm and matrix leavers....
we are different.. we doin foundation...
zureen
03-05-2008, 10:58 AM
hehe it's okay..i understand..anyway, there is absolutely NO curfew in UM (12th Residential College, specifically)..everytime i go there, i hardly see any security guards! u'll live a very free life if u go there..
as for dress code, for lectures and tutorials..it's baju kurung/formal. the guys wear the usual long sleeved shirt with slacks and a tie..other that that u can pretty much wear anything..they don't have the fine system like in UiTM or UIA..
the sooner the better actually...
i think the one in june is for ppl who want to do their degrees.. the stpm and matrix leavers....
we are different.. we doin foundation...
other foundations start quite late too yknow, it's just matrix and UM foundation that start early..if u guys go to UM..my bf will be one of the facilitators for the orientation! be prepared!
dya_me
03-05-2008, 11:09 AM
what is haluansiswa actually??name 4 orientation eh??
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 11:10 AM
other foundations start quite late too yknow, it's just matrix and UM foundation that start early..if u guys go to UM..my bf will be one of the facilitators for the orientation! be prepared!
hehehe its good that its startin early actually.. hehehe ur bf??? be prepared??? u make it sound so scary!!! haha jk jk
sooooooo here is the list of recommers who got accepted into PASUM..
1. me (hayat)
2. eM-syaph (hayat)
3. danial (hayat)
4. nadia.g (hayat)
5. saruhh
6. dya_me
7. AdrenaBhatt (hayat)
8. ayasama90 (hayat)
anyone else????
what is haluansiswa actually??name 4 orientation eh??
haluansiswa?? wer did u hear that??
dya_me
03-05-2008, 11:13 AM
[QUOTE=
haluansiswa?? wer did u hear that??[/QUOTE]
have u accept da tawaran??
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 11:15 AM
yeah... i did
phoenix1892
03-05-2008, 11:15 AM
hehehe its good that its startin early actually.. hehehe ur bf??? be prepared??? u make it sound so scary!!! haha jk jk
1. me (hayat)
2. eM-syaph (hayat)
3. danial (hayat)
4. nadia.g (hayat)
5. saruhh
6. dya_me
7. AdrenaBhatt (hayat)
8. ayasama90 (hayat)
anyone else????
Hey, you forgot me...But I'm gonna wait for the JPA result before accepting. However, I'm so accepting this over matriks...haha
dya_me
03-05-2008, 11:18 AM
yeah... i did
after u accept, take a look da upper side...there is dokumen tawaran...u will know a lot...such as u need 2 hav bank islam account...need 2 pay 300...
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 11:22 AM
Hey, you forgot me...But I'm gonna wait for the JPA result before accepting. However, I'm so accepting this over matriks...haha
haha i didn forget u... i was jz waiting for u to show up in this thread!!!! hahaha :laugh
and now that u are here,
1. sherenesheep (hayat)
2. eM-syaph (hayat)
3. danial (hayat)
4. nadia.g (hayat)
5. saruhh
6. dya_me
7. AdrenaBhatt (hayat)
8. ayasama90 (hayat)
9. phoenix1892
jpa mite be nx week... but don worry about the offer thing.. u have until 15th May to respond to them.. but if u accept also, no harm done.. it says that if the student does not show up within 25-30 May, his/her offer will be terminated... smth lik that
after u accept, take a look da upper side...there is dokumen tawaran...u will know a lot...such as u need 2 hav bank islam account...need 2 pay 300...
bank islam??? so are they goin to send the official offer letter to us or are we suppose to print everything thing from the internet??
dya_me
03-05-2008, 11:38 AM
its true u can still reject um after accepting it now...they will post 'kad penolakan tawaran' (i think so) to us, n if we want 2 reject um, just post dat card back
they will post everything 2 us...so just wait...in case, we got da official letter so late, u can use document in internet 2 prepare urself
zureen
03-05-2008, 11:44 AM
yeah..haluansiswa is the orientation programme..it'll be a week..u'll enjoy it, no sweat!
ayasama90
03-05-2008, 01:05 PM
i dont really get it. does that mean after the registration on 25th may the course starts immediately or are we supposed to wait until june? i read in the newspaper saying the intakes are on the 29th of june. getting confused here :huh
dayan
03-05-2008, 01:16 PM
i got um too!
but in asasi sains fizikal not in sains hayat as mojority of you hehe
well c u all guys there!
saruhh
03-05-2008, 04:25 PM
1. me (hayat)
2. eM-syaph (hayat)
3. danial (hayat)
4. nadia.g (hayat)
5. saruhh
6. dya_me
7. AdrenaBhatt (hayat)
8. ayasama90 (hayat)
anyone else????
haluansiswa?? wer did u hear that??
sains hayat for me :)
i don't think classes start till june, cos we need to go through the orientation week and all that
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 11:09 PM
i got um too!
but in asasi sains fizikal not in sains hayat as mojority of you hehe
well c u all guys there!
hi!!! see u der.. hehe
yeah..haluansiswa is the orientation programme..it'll be a week..u'll enjoy it, no sweat!
i wanna ask u, do we need a laptop to do our assignments?? since we are only foundation....
sains hayat for me :)
i don't think classes start till june, cos we need to go through the orientation week and all that
1. sherenesheep (hayat)
2. eM-syaph (hayat)
3. danial (hayat)
4. nadia.g (hayat)
5. saruhh (hayat)
6. dya_me
7. AdrenaBhatt (hayat)
8. ayasama90 (hayat)
9. phoenix1892
10. dayan (fizikal)
reli?? hermz ok oso i guez hehe
zureen
03-05-2008, 11:14 PM
yeah u'll occasionally need laptops if you're a physical science student as there'll be a subject called Computer Science..not so sure about Sc Hayat though..all i know is that their assignments consist of completing tutorial questions..
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 11:19 PM
yeah u'll occasionally need laptops if you're a physical science student as there'll be a subject called Computer Science..not so sure about Sc Hayat though..all i know is that their assignments consist of completing tutorial questions..
ooo computer science eh?? my frens in swinburne doin IT instead of that... hehe
haiz i jz wanted an excuse to persuade my mum to buy me a laptop :(
ayasama90
04-05-2008, 01:31 AM
classes start in june? guess i'll wait for mara first.
sherenesheep
04-05-2008, 01:45 AM
classes start in june? guess i'll wait for mara first.
yeah but u have to respond to the online offer before 15th may, and u have to go register within 25th-30th May
nadia.g
05-05-2008, 08:55 AM
wah.. so many ppl will be in UM.. cant wait. still waiting for MARA though
sherenesheep
05-05-2008, 11:29 AM
i wonder how many students were accepted into PASUM... does anyone know the number??
saruhh
05-05-2008, 12:18 PM
around 1000 i think
sherenesheep
05-05-2008, 01:05 PM
wow thats alot... how many non malays?? is der a quota??
phoenix1892
05-05-2008, 02:54 PM
When would we get the surat tawaran anyway?
dya_me
05-05-2008, 03:45 PM
official offer letter maybe will be posted around diz week,i think...
phoenix1892
05-05-2008, 03:52 PM
official offer letter maybe will be posted around diz week,i think...
So, we would get it by post? or online? That's what confused me...
dayan
05-05-2008, 04:07 PM
it should be by post not online
as the upu said they will send official letter to the selected candidates
the question now is when?
(",
saruhh
06-05-2008, 12:50 AM
wow thats alot... how many non malays?? is der a quota??
pasum is only for bumis if i'm not mistaken
sherenesheep
06-05-2008, 01:21 AM
pasum is only for bumis if i'm not mistaken
i know... wad i meant was is der a quotas for the bumis that arent malay.. lik the natives from sarawak and sabah
nadia.g
06-05-2008, 08:51 AM
no.. its jus bumi and non-bumi.. no such quota for bumis of diff races
sherenesheep
06-05-2008, 12:38 PM
no.. its jus bumi and non-bumi.. no such quota for bumis of diff races
oo same goes for mara rite??
has anyone received the letter from UM yet??
Danial
06-05-2008, 01:29 PM
You have to accept the offer first then only they send you the official letter right?
sherenesheep
06-05-2008, 01:38 PM
You have to accept the offer first then only they send you the official letter right?
hermz, i'm not sure... but i've accepted the offer already... wad about u??
saruhh
06-05-2008, 08:26 PM
really? did they mention that anywhere on the website?
a bit confused now
zureen
06-05-2008, 08:49 PM
even if u don't accept the offer online, they'll still send the offer letter...they do that with having those without internet access in mind..
sherenesheep
06-05-2008, 11:07 PM
really? did they mention that anywhere on the website?
a bit confused now
check out www.um.edu.my/kemasukan
thats wer u accept or reject the offer
nadia.g
07-05-2008, 03:58 PM
ive got the official offer letter how bout u?
saruhh
07-05-2008, 05:33 PM
my letter came in the mail today! :D
but still have not looked through it properly yet...
AdreanaBhatt
07-05-2008, 06:27 PM
garr.. I've been checking mine obsessively. Where's my letter!? Tomorrow I'm going to um to check the campus and programme out
syafiq07
07-05-2008, 06:57 PM
nope,dont think so.The letter still arrived at my house eventhough I reject the offer
sherenesheep
07-05-2008, 08:53 PM
garr.. I've been checking mine obsessively. Where's my letter!? Tomorrow I'm going to um to check the campus and programme out
oh sweet.. don forget to come bak and share with us about all the info u have on that glorious campus.. hehehe
Danial
07-05-2008, 10:06 PM
I've not yet receive my letter....where u guys stay anyway?
sherenesheep
07-05-2008, 10:31 PM
I've not yet receive my letter....where u guys stay anyway?
i'm from kch.. nadia.g from pj.. very near UM.. i guez thats y she has received hers already...
whiterose
07-05-2008, 11:00 PM
hye guys!!
i'm new here..i found this thread when i was looking for extra info bout pasum..
so great to join u gys here..i got asasi alam bina..looks like i'm the only one who got this prgramme ya??
huhuhu..
sherenesheep
07-05-2008, 11:11 PM
hye guys!!
i'm new here..i found this thread when i was looking for extra info bout pasum..
so great to join u gys here..i got asasi alam bina..looks like i'm the only one who got this prgramme ya??
huhuhu..
hi and welcum!! hehe don worry, i'm sure we mite hav a few classes together.. hehe u confirm goin?? wer u from??
ayasama90
11-05-2008, 08:40 PM
i checked out the twelfth residential college today n man its huge! XD
n btw i was wondering, during the haluansiswa, r we supposed to stay for a week in the residential college or r we allowed to go home?
dya_me
11-05-2008, 08:50 PM
i think we need 2 stay in da college...
azemo
12-05-2008, 08:12 PM
is necessary to send the ptx post card to reject pasum??
eM-syaph
12-05-2008, 08:48 PM
its better u send it...but by not attnding the rgstration day indctes tht u ARE rejecting their offer..
hey u must got offered by other aggncies ayte?
story sket...huhu
ayasama90
12-05-2008, 11:54 PM
seems like i got mara's offer to the ib. parents insist on going to um. i'll need a few nights to think about it. lol.
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 12:02 AM
seems like i got mara's offer to the ib. parents insist on going to um. i'll need a few nights to think about it. lol.
u did?? congratz... y ur parents want u to stay in UM?? mara good oso bah.. wad course are u taking??
azemo
13-05-2008, 12:07 PM
its better u send it...but by not attnding the rgstration day indctes tht u ARE rejecting their offer..
hey u must got offered by other aggncies ayte?
story sket...huhu
hi. i'm newbie here...
i only get 1 offer frm jpa [pharmacy]...
but i like physics...does pharmacy deals with physics???
i'm sure it's no...
i got pasum 4 sains fizikal...
lot of my friends will continue their study there...:cry miss ya..
but, i'll regret if i reject jpa...
btw, if u completed ur 2nd semester in pasum... where will u continue ur study?
need to apply something again?? gosh...
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 12:17 PM
hi. i'm newbie here...
i'm sure it's no...
i don think pharmacy will touch physics.. more to bio... pharmacy is under sains hayat...
yeah u mite regret if u reject jpa.. alot of ppl wud love to get this offer.. oversea program summo wor...
i think u stil need to apply after u finish ur foundation..
hm
im newbie ere
also got asasi sains hayat um
hi guys!!!
huhuhu
ayasama90
13-05-2008, 04:05 PM
u did?? congratz... y ur parents want u to stay in UM?? mara good oso bah.. wad course are u taking??
thnx! ;) mara's offering me perubatan which is exactly what i want.
my parents dont really fancy me studying abroad.(i'm the 2nd child of 2 sibs)
lol. haih. this is hard. -_-
saruhh
13-05-2008, 04:11 PM
hi. i'm newbie here...
i'm sure it's no...
i think it's better to decide based on the course you'll be studying, NOT where you'll be studying (local vs overseas).
you need to apply for a place to do your degree in UM, but they generally prefer students from pasum, provided that you meet the prerequisites lah.
starbie
13-05-2008, 04:28 PM
sorry i'm blur.. wat's pasum may i know???
saruhh
13-05-2008, 04:41 PM
Pusat Asasi Sains Universiti Malaya :P
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 04:51 PM
thnx! ;) mara's offering me perubatan which is exactly what i want.
my parents dont really fancy me studying abroad.(i'm the 2nd child of 2 sibs)
lol. haih. this is hard. -_-
wow medic, impressive!! hehe
wer are they offering u?? wad country??
yeah whut country
but if its indonesia better not
i heard sumone said that its better
to study medic ere than indonesia....
kasutmerah01
13-05-2008, 10:47 PM
i'm also got for PASum sains hayat and i'm alone..i've one friend who got for this 2..but she will go for mara-medicine...
i'm in dilemma now...actually i also got JPA-pharmacy...it seems hard for me to make a decision as i thought i couldn't get it and my priority is more towards PASUm..i know many people would love to take jpa... help me..:(
phoenix1892
13-05-2008, 11:08 PM
yeah whut country
but if its indonesia better not
i heard sumone said that its better
to study medic ere than indonesia....
Medical degree in Indonesia is actually pretty good (especially University Gadjah Madah), but the life there is the problem. It's not really that safe (or fun for that matter).
sherenesheep
13-05-2008, 11:12 PM
i'm also got for PASum sains hayat and i'm alone..i've one friend who got for this 2..but she will go for mara-medicine...
i'm in dilemma now...actually i also got JPA-pharmacy...it seems hard for me to make a decision as i thought i couldn't get it and my priority is more towards PASUm..i know many people would love to take jpa... help me..:(
but but but... y don u wanna take jpa?? alot of ppl wil love to be in ur shoes now... i think u shud go for jpa... can go overseas babe!!!!
azemo
14-05-2008, 01:01 AM
i think it's better to decide based on the course you'll be studying, NOT where you'll be studying (local vs overseas).
you need to apply for a place to do your degree in UM, but they generally prefer students from pasum, provided that you meet the prerequisites lah.
i think my bio & chem are bad [hard to get a1] compared to physics...
on the other hand, if i take jpa.....i have a brighter future as i automatically employed...the most important...need to strive to achieve that..........
but if i take um [sc fzkl] & reject jpa......i'll automatically declare....i'm a stupid...have to make ptptn loan.......after/if i get a job my income will be 'potong' to payback the loan.....oh.....
phoenix1892
14-05-2008, 01:10 AM
i think my bio & chem are bad [hard to get a1] compared to physics...
on the other hand, if i take jpa.....i have a brighter future as i automatically employed...the most important...need to strive to achieve that..........
but if i take um [sc fzkl] & reject jpa......i'll automatically declare....i'm a stupid...have to make ptptn loan.......after/if i get a job my income will be 'potong' to payback the loan.....oh.....
I think asasi UM are funded by government. It is stated in the letter. We even get allowance. Even so, if you get 9As, JPA would sponsor you I think.
azemo
14-05-2008, 03:15 AM
I think asasi UM are funded by government. It is stated in the letter. We even get allowance. Even so, if you get 9As, JPA would sponsor you I think.
i know, rm1k per 1sem for allowance excluding other fees. i got 10A. sponsor me? hahaha.....even the program ijazah luar negara[piln] jpa interview is harder to get...senang2 saja....is it true? if so, i'll think twice to accept piln jpa.
ayasama90
15-05-2008, 03:13 PM
wow medic, impressive!! hehe
wer are they offering u?? wad country??
that's the problem la. it doesn't state which country i am offered to.
perhaps its based on our performance during the preparation.
who knows if they'll 'campak' me to indonesia. lol.
sherenesheep
15-05-2008, 03:19 PM
that's the problem la. it doesn't state which country i am offered to.
perhaps its based on our performance during the preparation.
who knows if they'll 'campak' me to indonesia. lol.
not quite... u find out wer is ur pre-u.. after that u find out wer does the scholar go to after that college...
normally its all fixed...
ayasama90
15-05-2008, 04:04 PM
not quite... u find out wer is ur pre-u.. after that u find out wer does the scholar go to after that college...
normally its all fixed...
really? i didn't know that... i got my pre-u in kmb. lol.
ahh never mind la. i feel like going to um all of a sudden. XD
sherenesheep
15-05-2008, 04:27 PM
really? i didn't know that... i got my pre-u in kmb. lol.
ahh never mind la. i feel like going to um all of a sudden. XD
y don u go to kmb website and see wer they wil post their students oversea.. hehe
saruhh
15-05-2008, 05:29 PM
tak sampai hati i wanna reject UM's offer, eventhough i got MARA. hehe. am i the only one who feels this way? :D
ayasama90
15-05-2008, 08:33 PM
y don u go to kmb website and see wer they wil post their students oversea.. hehe
done that already. seems like most of the students r sent to ireland, uk n australia. very few to india, russia n indonesia. oh well, i'm still sticking to um though. X)
tak sampai hati i wanna reject UM's offer, eventhough i got MARA. hehe. am i the only one who feels this way? :D
nope ur not the only one. XD
sherenesheep
15-05-2008, 10:07 PM
done that already. seems like most of the students r sent to ireland, uk n australia. very few to india, russia n indonesia. oh well, i'm still sticking to um though. X)
nope ur not the only one. XD
ooo well i hope that u stick to ur decision and wont regret it... but UM is a dream place to study, so its not that bad an offer!! hehe
yeah i felt berat hati to reject UM oso... hehe i got petronas and mara, but taking petronas offer
boink90
16-05-2008, 01:50 AM
Hye everyone!! I'm new here. I got jpa scholarship for medic.But I'm still considering whether or not to accept jpa.So I think I'm gonna register to PASUM first then if I change my mind, I'll quit PASUM and enter JPA.Do you think it is possible to do that?I mean do we need to pay a certain amount of money if you quit PASUM halfway through ?
dya_me
16-05-2008, 07:38 AM
Hye everyone!! I'm new here. I got jpa scholarship for medic.But I'm still considering whether or not to accept jpa.So I think I'm gonna register to PASUM first then if I change my mind, I'll quit PASUM and enter JPA.Do you think it is possible to do that?I mean do we need to pay a certain amount of money if you quit PASUM halfway through ?
i dunno if that is a good idea...coz u will hav da perjanjian....maybe u should read da perjanjian twice or thrice...n if u think its safe enough 2 register 1st, then go ahead...
ayasama90
18-05-2008, 09:32 PM
ooo well i hope that u stick to ur decision and wont regret it... but UM is a dream place to study, so its not that bad an offer!! hehe
yeah i felt berat hati to reject UM oso... hehe i got petronas and mara, but taking petronas offer
u got petronas? good for u! congrats! X)
what course r u taking under petronas?
sherenesheep
18-05-2008, 09:34 PM
u got petronas? good for u! congrats! X)
what course r u taking under petronas?
lolz petroleum engineering...
Danial
19-05-2008, 02:07 AM
I feel the same thing too....Berat sangat hati nak tolak UM. Well i guess saruhh you're not the only one
epi89
21-05-2008, 09:02 AM
well...
i was a pasum student last batch..which is last year..07/08
i was a alam bina student even though i was a sc stream student..(architecture here i come)
well i'll briefly tell u about pasum..
as u know u'll be stay at 12th college..
big,nice and importantly big cafe(well the biggest in um)
no fence..so u can freely go out any time u want..
futhermore..2 person per room...ehm..(miss my roomate..lol)
haluansiswa...hohohoho
well the week u all going to remembered...
u cant go out during this week...
surprise at the end of the week...
dayan
21-05-2008, 04:29 PM
wow epi89,
um sounds like a paradise...well so 'berat hati' as well to decline um...
anybody in um who rejected other offer ( jpa, mara, petronas etc) before?
any feeling of regret after that? haha
mind sharing pliz!!!
mark964
21-05-2008, 05:27 PM
yes...jpa, mara, petronas....all of them...:(
dayan
21-05-2008, 06:03 PM
wooo u reject all? why?
everybody want a sponsorship unless u r very very loaded haha
no regret?
i suppose um is very very good :))