View Full Version : UPU: Asasi UIAM
red_onion
02-05-2008, 02:36 PM
hye! dis thread's for any Recommers gettin admission into any Asasi's in UIAM(International Islamic University Malaysia)..(for seniors n newbie)..
act, i got asasi sains hayat in uiam(1st choice)..
my friend got 8a1b din even get it..myb they chose 9a's n above for it..
for asasi phrmcy, medic in uia, they're for 10a's n above..jz as same as asasi sains in um..:)
help me! dunno wat to choose! mtrx n9 vs asasi uia...
suggestion appreciated.. :P
haikalanuar
02-05-2008, 02:40 PM
hye! dis thread's for any Recommers gettin admission into any Asasi's in UIAM(International Islamic University Malaysia)..(for seniors n newbie)..
for asasi phrmcy, medic in uia, they're for 10a's n above..jz as same as asasi sains in um..:)
wow..from lowyat u travel here eh..
a vote for asasi uiam again :))
nadia.g
02-05-2008, 02:46 PM
asasi UIA..
I got asasi UM. I am definitely chosing tat over matrix n9
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 03:25 PM
well, about ur dilemma, i hope i can help u a lil by tellin u why i choose UM over matrix.. jz after i finish my foundation in UM, it will be easier for me to continue my degree in UM... but if go thru matrix, anything can happen, and i mite not get into UM, but somewer else (for the course i wanna take, UM is the bez choice in all the country).. they mite send me somewer else...
so for me, UM foundation is a much better choice!! hehe
yana89
02-05-2008, 03:31 PM
well, about ur dilemma, i hope i can help u a lil by tellin u why i choose UM over matrix.. jz after i finish my foundation in UM, it will be easier for me to continue my degree in UM... but if go thru matrix, anything can happen, and i mite not get into UM, but somewer else (for the course i wanna take, UM is the bez choice in all the country).. they mite send me somewer else...
so for me, UM foundation is a much better choice!! hehe
correction..being in UM foundation does not make it any easier to enter UM..its not like UIA u know..where they absorb students from their pre-u programmes...after completing ur studies..u r at par with all matrix/pre-u students..either UITM asasi..mtrix KPM..STPM etc..i must admit PASUM is rather a more wise choice..but knowing UM..the foundation won't be easy..either u score 3.8 above in ur finals..or u can say bye2 to UM...
haikalanuar
02-05-2008, 03:37 PM
correction..being in UM foundation does not make it any easier to enter UM..its not like UIA u know..where they absorb students from their pre-u programmes...after completing ur studies..u r at par with all matrix/pre-u students..either UITM asasi..mtrix KPM..STPM etc..i must admit PASUM is rather a more wise choice..but knowing UM..the foundation won't be easy..either u score 3.8 above in ur finals..or u can say bye2 to UM...
well..
the priority is still given to UM asasi students..
yana89
02-05-2008, 03:44 PM
well..
the priority is still given to UM asasi students..
the chances for all are equal....the priority only comes to effect if ur 3.8 above...
just to remind u again..it won't be easy...there are stif competition out there..
don't think u get PASUM..u r guarenteed a spot in UM for degree..
there's no such thing...let me tell u how tough is it....
a straight A1 student only manage to get a pointer of 3.4 during the 1st semester exam..with that kinda pointer..u r no where near UM..
sakuraf4
02-05-2008, 03:53 PM
erm...i also dunno which 1 is better T___T
i got asasi ekonomi and sains pengurusan uia...any1 got the same course as me?i want to know how many year is this foundation?i google it but i dun find much information about this course but sum1 told me that it takes 1 1/2-2 years which is longer than matrix...so matrix or uia is more worth it? >__<
nana90
02-05-2008, 05:30 PM
i got asasi undang2 uia..but i want asasi pergigian..can i change the course?
cz i really love science subjct, n i think its really2 rugi if i leave the science subjct juz like tat...
sherenesheep
02-05-2008, 11:45 PM
don't think u get PASUM..u r guarenteed a spot in UM for degree..
i didn mean that i will be guarantee... i think u misinterpreted me...
if i said, "i WILL be guaranteed...", then this is exactly wad u are rebutting here...
but i said, "it will be easier....."
meaning i have a good chance, or i mite not hav a chance....
i am well awared that there is the possibility that i mite not be able to do degree in UM.... besides, no one here said that we WILL BE GUARANTEED....
big diff here.. jz depends on how u look/interpret my post
red_onion
02-05-2008, 11:47 PM
i got asasi ekonomi and sains pengurusan uia...any1 got the same course as me?i want to know how many year is this foundation?i google it but i dun find much information about this course but sum1 told me that it takes 1 1/2-2 years which is longer than matrix...so matrix or uia is more worth it? >__<
many said uia is a better choice than mtrx, plus ur interest in dat course..
yurp, asasi in uia took 1 - 1 1/2 year for a much brighter student n 2 years for other students(din get as much in their cgpa there)
these info r taken from other forum..:)
however i stil din sure lol..afraid din make d best choice..
how bout u??
sakuraf4
03-05-2008, 09:31 AM
same....i also not sure...the duration is longer than matrix...that's why i'm not sure about it...=/
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 10:17 AM
time and duration is one thing, but quality is another....
which ever one u think is best for u, go for it and don look back
red_onion
03-05-2008, 01:06 PM
yurp..ur rite..
but i prefer duration..
mtrx is shorter..bout d quality, act they're all dpend on our effort..
so no matter where u r, bear in mind dat we're d one who lead ourselves..
i think i'd prefer mtrx..arghhh!! dunno..
arabic languange is also compulsory for all UIA students, dat makes me think twice..
aiyo..rily difficult..sakura, u choose wat??
n other new-asasians in UIA, wat would u choose if u'd never ever learn arabic b4??????
haikalanuar
03-05-2008, 01:16 PM
yurp..ur rite..
but i prefer duration..
arabic languange is also compulsory for all UIA students, dat makes me think twice..
n other new-asasians in UIA, wat would u choose if u'd never ever learn arabic b4??????
hm..
quality is better..
effort is one thing..
but between matrix n uia syllabus ...
which is better??
it's better to be difficult now n
easy later..
a lot of thing's is difficult in life..
1 of my friend had to choose between uia n matrix also..
but she picked uia ..
bcoz it's "UIA"..
sakuraf4
03-05-2008, 01:21 PM
yurp..ur rite..
but i prefer duration..
haiz..i also like u..half of me say go matrix and another half uia..lol =___=''
red_onion
03-05-2008, 09:17 PM
i think i'd prefer mtrx n9!
hum..hopefully i'd made d best choice..
one of my friend who got asasi sc uitm oso make his way into mtrx..
i'd really dun want to learn arabic..huh.....i'm afraid it wud b tough..
sakura, if u've decided, do tell k.
hm..
quality is better..
effort is one thing..
but between matrix n uia syllabus ...
which is better??
it's better to be difficult now n
easy later..
a lot of thing's is difficult in life..
1 of my friend had to choose between uia n matrix also..
but she picked uia ..
bcoz it's "UIA"..
really??wat course did she get??
she want to study arabic is it?
sakuraf4
03-05-2008, 10:30 PM
[QUOTE=red_onion;169007]i think i'd prefer mtrx n9!
hum..hopefully i'd made d best choice..
one of my friend who got asasi sc uitm oso make his way into mtrx..
i'd really dun want to learn arabic..huh.....i'm afraid it wud b tough..
sakura, if u've decided, do tell k.
yeah me too..i scared the arabic...anyway when we go there we have to sit for english and arabic test that will determine our duration of courses...if we dun learn arabic we will straight away put under lvl1,my relative said its not really hard...many of his friends nvr take arabic can get good marks....arabic wont be included in our cgpa only need to pass..after we pass it we no need to learn it in our degree...during our foundation we just take the arabic class like other classes....the most important thing is our english
haikalanuar
03-05-2008, 10:55 PM
really??wat course did she get??
she want to study arabic is it?
How did you know it was a she..??
I forgot already what course..
yeah..she'll study arabic..
sakuraf4
03-05-2008, 11:11 PM
How did you know it was a she..??
I forgot already what course..
yeah..she'll study arabic..
lol u so funny =) u already said it in ur earlier post "she picked uia"...
haikalanuar
03-05-2008, 11:16 PM
lol u so funny =) u already said it in ur earlier post "she picked uia"...
lol yeah..
didn't bother reading earlier post..
haha honest mistake..:))
Wow..I'm funny..hehe
Olataro
05-05-2008, 02:29 AM
I am gonna kill those who picked IPTA than matriks for its diploma prog. Its not worth it. I think.
yana89
05-05-2008, 06:59 AM
I am gonna kill those who picked IPTA than matriks for its diploma prog. Its not worth it. I think.
couldn't agree more...these type of people are only 'potong jalan' for others who really want matrix..
minic00per
10-05-2008, 12:24 PM
i still cant make up my mind bout law in uia or matrik kulim....
teiya_drumzaddict
06-06-2008, 01:20 PM
The foundation took 2 years but at least you are guaranteed a place in UIA already. If you perform well,you can shorten the duration to 1 1/2 years. If you go to normal matrix then you will be sent to universities according to your results so it's quite risky you might end up in the university which is not of your choice.
yurp..ur rite..
but i prefer duration..
well my brother went to UIA for medics and its true for their asasi you will be required to take a test in the beginning to see whether you know any arabic. Then they'll sort you into groups according to your level of learning the language for arabic classes. other than that you still take classes with your friends regardless of your language level. They have that for english as well which won't be of much problem to you.
But I'd like to point out here, in UIA, I do not think that you have to know Arabic to study there since most of the courses aren't thought in Arabic. It's just for the sake of learning the language alright? So really no worries it won't affect your CGPA or anything. At least for most courses. Maybe there are some courses that Arabic is taken into account so depends on what you are going to study In fact after leaving asasi, I think my bro didn't even study a word of Arabic. Unless you are taking Pengajian Islam or such religious fields.
So while doing your degree its an added advantage that you learn Arabic as well then after you graduated we can say you have wider options in the job market.
But I think UIA is really good if you want to study there. At least you are more exposed to foreign students rather than local IPTAs that you will go to after matrix. Exposure and environment are vital aspects when we're learning right? better UIA than other local IPTAs if judging from that aspect.
CairParavel
01-05-2009, 01:26 PM
I applied for Asasi Pergigian [1st choice] and then Asasi Sains Hayat [2nd choice] at UIA,
but i got Asasi Sains Hayat, which is quite disappointing to me coz i really really want Asasi Pergigian.
So can i change the course? Anyone?
cuppycake
01-05-2009, 01:32 PM
even if you dont change the course, i think you can still go for dentistry after you finished the asasi.
how's the dresscode in uia? do we need to wear tudung labuh all the time?
even if you dont change the course, i think you can still go for dentistry after you finished the asasi.
how's the dresscode in uia? do we need to wear tudung labuh all the time?
lol, i dun think so, i have a cousin in uia, n she only wear normal tudung,
cuppycake
01-05-2009, 02:49 PM
lol, i dun think so, i have a cousin in uia, n she only wear normal tudung,
then, the class, have to wear baju kurung to class is it like matrik?
CairParavel
01-05-2009, 04:10 PM
Regarding the dress code, go here: http://www.iium.edu.my/asasi/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=50&Itemid=73
and download the pdf.
maestro_zouk
01-05-2009, 04:46 PM
hi..
what are subjects for sains fizikal UIA???
got tawaran there..
can i cont. engineering from there???
Zulhelmi
01-05-2009, 04:49 PM
hi..
got tawaran there..
Duhh.. Physical science is meant for engineering so of course you can dude.
Congrats and cheers! :D
sakuraf4
01-05-2009, 05:06 PM
I applied for Asasi Pergigian [1st choice] and then Asasi Sains Hayat [2nd choice] at UIA,
but i got Asasi Sains Hayat, which is quite disappointing to me coz i really really want Asasi Pergigian.
So can i change the course? Anyone?
hi...well if u go to uiam u can change course during the taaruf/orientation week.....so dun worry...
about the dresscode we need to wear baju kurung...tudung labuh is not necessary..
maestro_zouk
01-05-2009, 05:07 PM
owh...tq
r u a senior there??
can u tell me about daily life there???
school,outing??,food...
sakuraf4
01-05-2009, 05:12 PM
owh...tq
r u a senior there??
can u tell me about daily life there???
school,outing??,food...
yup..but i'm at nilai campus..if u r in the science program u will be placed in pj campus..
outing friday to sunday....
Zulhelmi
01-05-2009, 05:13 PM
{ops wrong post}
sakuraf4
01-05-2009, 05:17 PM
hi..
got tawaran there..
erm i think u better check at cfsiium web....there is asasi kejuteraan which is for engineering students...not sure whether if u take sains fizikal u can become an engineer or not..
groovy_tulip91
01-05-2009, 06:33 PM
TAHNIAH!
Anda telah berjaya ditawarkan program pengajian seperti berikut :
KOD PROGRAM : Y0150
NAMA PROGRAM : ASASI BAHASA INGGERIS
IPTA : UNIVERSITI ISLAM ANTARABANGSA MALAYSIA (UIAM)
URL SURAT TAWARAN : http://www.iiu.edu.my/tawaran.html
I'm so confused right now.I applied asasi farmasi and pergigian in UIAM,but i got asasi bahasa inggeris(my 5th choice).I dunno whether to choose matriks or this.My friends and relatives said if i took this one,I'll end up being a teacher.No future.What am I gonna do now?
starlover
01-05-2009, 06:42 PM
hi guys..
i got asasi farmasi in UIAM..nobody same with me eh? :P
still hoping for jpa though..:amuse
Aeifa17
01-05-2009, 07:20 PM
hello everyone!
I got asasi kejuruteraan in UIAM..but still confused either go for it or matrix..
because being an engineer is not a part pf my dream..
it just my childhood dreams where I want to make an aeroplane..
but, It just impossible to do it..still hoping for jpa..
Anyone got same with me?
miyra91
01-05-2009, 07:25 PM
i got uiam asasi perubtan...
hows life there uh??
cos i'll be stuck there for about 6 years if i take the upu...
eimteeyax91
01-05-2009, 07:32 PM
TAHNIAH!
Anda telah berjaya ditawarkan program pengajian seperti berikut :
KOD PROGRAM : Y0150
NAMA PROGRAM : ASASI BAHASA INGGERIS
IPTA : UNIVERSITI ISLAM ANTARABANGSA MALAYSIA (UIAM)
URL SURAT TAWARAN : http://www.iiu.edu.my/tawaran.html
I'm so confused right now.I applied asasi farmasi and pergigian in UIAM,but i got asasi bahasa inggeris(my 5th choice).I dunno whether to choose matriks or this.My friends and relatives said if i took this one,I'll end up being a teacher.No future.What am I gonna do now?
That was my 2nd choice!^^
and nooo...if you work hard enuf...lyke..later, maybe u can minor in Economics or others...you can be a translator~ and...etc~...
there are more than just being a teacher if u study English ^^ actually there are LOTS~~~ but we have to do a bit of a research la to find out ^^...
ps: i heard from a source...you can be a Malaysian embassador if u take TESL <?>...but then again must minor in something else like...yeah~ economics...or etc ^^
ANYWAY!!! i got my 1st choice!!! ^^
ASASI EKONOMI DAN SAINS PENGURUSAN ^^
huahahaha!!! ^^...
Mcm best je ^^ wakakaka ^^
cuppycake
01-05-2009, 07:44 PM
and nooo...if you work hard enuf...lyke..later, maybe u can minor in Economics or others...you can be a translator~ and...etc~...
there are more than just being a teacher if u study English ^^ actually there are LOTS~~~ but we have to do a bit of a research la to find out ^^...
ps: i heard from a source...you can be a Malaysian embassador if u take TESL <?>...but then again must minor in something else like...yeah~ economics...or etc ^^
huahahaha!!! ^^...
well,hello there! me too :laugh
eimteeyax91
01-05-2009, 08:08 PM
well,hello there! me too :laugh
cuppycake~
i tot i alrdy replied ^^
and i stated that:
YOU ARE MY U-MATE!!! ^^ hahahahahaha!!!^^...
niiiiice to meeeeeeeeeet you!!!^^
cuppycake
01-05-2009, 08:16 PM
cuppycake~
i tot i alrdy replied ^^
and i stated that:
YOU ARE MY U-MATE!!! ^^ hahahahahaha!!!^^...
niiiiice to meeeeeeeeeet you!!!^^
yes, i replied u already..nice to meet you too, u-mate! :laugh
groovy_tulip91
01-05-2009, 11:18 PM
huahahaha!!! ^^...
thanks 4 da advise!Now to think...
And congrats to u for getting ur 1st choice.Lucky you :))
starlover
02-05-2009, 08:35 AM
i got uiam asasi perubtan...
hows life there uh??
cos i'll be stuck there for about 6 years if i take the upu...
wahh u so lucky to get asasi perubatan in UIAM :nuts
i remembered my senior who got 12a1 and 1a2 in her spm didn't get perubatan in UIAM, though it was her first choice..congrats anyway :amuse
aisya
03-05-2009, 12:46 AM
hye2...
me oso got uia..
asasi kejuruteraan..im hepi wit it
but me still wanna enter mtrix changlun kdh
hahaha,,,but my parents had ask me 2 refuse dat mtrix..
so im goin 2 uia..
xoxo...
a little bit scared..
bigapple91
03-05-2009, 01:07 AM
i got asasi sains fizikal in uiam but will have to reject the offer ;)
wafiy
03-05-2009, 03:07 PM
elow~
wat is the diff between asasi sains fizikal n asasi enggineer in UIAM or in general?
i got asasi sains fizikal offer n i want to be an engineer..
Reply Pls~ thx
miyra91
04-05-2009, 08:53 PM
elow~
wat is the diff between asasi sains fizikal n asasi enggineer in UIAM or in general?
i got asasi sains fizikal offer n i want to be an engineer..
Reply Pls~ thx
asasi sains fizikal is much more general than asasi engnr..
thats my point of view..
just like asasi sains hayat n asasi perubatan..
if u take asasi sains fizikal, u still can take architecture,automobil for instance if u change ur mind after the foundation..
but if u go for asasi engrg,so u gonna pursue in engrg for degree...
up to u,if ure strongly interested in engrg..
then go for it..
good lux to u!!
the same goes to me..lol :)
wahh u so lucky to get asasi perubatan in UIAM :nuts
i remembered my senior who got 12a1 and 1a2 in her spm didn't get perubatan in UIAM, though it was her first choice..congrats anyway :amuse
hehe..
thanks buddy...
uia gonna b my last choice if i didnt get any shlrshp for oversea...
i cross my fingers~~~:)
cuppycake
04-05-2009, 09:03 PM
asasi sains fizikal is much more general than asasi engnr..
thats my point of view..
just like asasi sains hayat n asasi perubatan..
if u take asasi sains fizikal, u still can take architecture,automobil for instance if u change ur mind after the foundation..
but if u go for asasi engrg,so u gonna pursue in engrg for degree...
up to u,if ure strongly interested in engrg..
then go for it..
good lux to u!!
the same goes to me..lol :)
at first i think so too. but i did some digging, as it turned out, in uiam those from asasi sains fizikal/hayat can only go to kuliyyah of science.
i posted a link about it a few pages back.
for engineering, you need to take asasi kejuruteraan.
say, if i completed d foundation programme at uia, is it possible for me to continue my degree at another uni?
cuppycake
04-05-2009, 09:38 PM
say, if i completed d foundation programme at uia, is it possible for me to continue my degree at another uni?
i dont think so. i read somewhere that only asasi sains um and uitm can continue their degree at other unis like ukm/usm/um etc. but for asasi uia don't think so.
fadazaz
04-05-2009, 10:52 PM
erm, just asking is this worthy if i take mtrix rather than choosing asasi nursing???
that asasi kjururwtan in uia is my 7 or last choice i think...huhu
got d offer letter edi, register dis 23 may
starlover
05-05-2009, 12:00 PM
did u click the 'accept' button already?
nope, i didn do anything, only check it laz friday, naver make any confirmation, plus in d letter say i must return d reply card wothin 7 days starting yesterday, if not, they will consider i reject d offer
starlover
05-05-2009, 12:33 PM
nope, i didn do anything, only check it laz friday, naver make any confirmation, plus in d letter say i must return d reply card wothin 7 days starting yesterday, if not, they will consider i reject d offer
so u want to reject the offer? if im not mistaken, u are waiting for mara,rite?
i want to accept the offer, but i dunno want to wait till the jpa result is released or just accept it now :huh
cuppycake
05-05-2009, 09:35 PM
why yours one earlier? mine's on the 24th :cry so early..
miyra91
05-05-2009, 10:16 PM
QUESTION !!!!
Dude,help me..
the registration is on 23rd right...
so do we have to enroll the program at the same time??
or we just register n then have holiday at home..
on june,then come to enroll..
i prefer the 2nd one..
haha..
plz guys,im confused~
cuppycake
05-05-2009, 10:22 PM
QUESTION !!!!
Dude,help me..
the registration is on 23rd right...
so do we have to enroll the program at the same time??
or we just register n then have holiday at home..
on june,then come to enroll..
i prefer the 2nd one..
haha..
plz guys,im confused~
no. i think we register and enroll at the same time.
i check the academic calendar (http://www.iium.edu.my/asasi/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=132&Itemid=131). dont say anything about that. we have briefing/test/etc on the first week.
and am i the only one going on the 24th?
miyra91
05-05-2009, 10:30 PM
omg!!!!
how come this year has been so early???
aiyoo...
dont wanna study yet...
haihhh.....
if only i can turn back the time..
haha...
what should we do then...
HELP ME..
haha.. :D
cuppycake
05-05-2009, 10:36 PM
omg!!!!
how come this year has been so early???
aiyoo...
dont wanna study yet...
haihhh.....
if only i can turn back the time..
haha...
what should we do then...
HELP ME..
haha.. :D
i dont wanna go to, but if in july, too long. i'll rot and and will get rustier.
turning back time? that i cant help. but if i could, i'd so do it!:))
paanrpeace
06-05-2009, 11:01 AM
i dont wanna go to, but if in july, too long. i'll rot and and will get rustier.
turning back time? that i cant help. but if i could, i'd so do it!:))
Welcome to all student who want to continue their studies at IIUM..I'm Your senior..huhuhu..UIAM also known as THE GARDEN OF KNOWLEDGE AND VIRTUE..it may not the best Uni in the world..but believe me,study here is the best thing i done in my life...:)):)):)):))
miyra91
07-05-2009, 05:24 AM
Welcome to all student who want to continue their studies at IIUM..I'm Your senior..huhuhu..UIAM also known as THE GARDEN OF KNOWLEDGE AND VIRTUE..it may not the best Uni in the world..but believe me,study here is the best thing i done in my life...:)):)):)):))
hey senior...
hahah...
okay since u r really promoting the U..
hows study there???
do we study in arabic??or english..
hows the accommodation??especially on transportation..
hit me back ahh..
2 more weeks to go..
haihh...
doesnt make sense..
haha..:laugh
hrm, d asasi kejuruteraan programme., how long does it takes? ma fren call uia n they say 2 years., is it true?
starlover
07-05-2009, 06:05 PM
hrm, d asasi kejuruteraan programme., how long does it takes? ma fren call uia n they say 2 years., is it true?
i think it'll be based on ur apt and ept..:amuse
imran424
07-05-2009, 07:50 PM
I got Asasi kejuruteraan...
can I watch football there especially midnight??I'm an avid football fan..:)
sakuraf4
08-05-2009, 12:20 PM
hi guys...anyway welcome to uiam~i'm also 1 of ur senior...
I think some of u already know that if u r art students:law,ben(english),bar(arabic),economic & human science u will live and study in campus nilai not pj....
u only will register at pj for taaruf week..
But dont worry campus nilai is also quite fun~So good luck =)
cuppycake
09-05-2009, 01:46 AM
hi guys...anyway welcome to uiam~i'm also 1 of ur senior...
I think some of u already know that if u r art students:law,ben(english),bar(arabic),economic & human science u will live and study in campus nilai not pj....
u only will register at pj for taaruf week..
But dont worry campus nilai is also quite fun~So good luck =)
oh so u register at pj only but do not study there? :cry i was so excited when i saw pj..turns out for registration only eh? :notrust
haa, we will need to take eng n arabic placement test rite, my cousin told me who excel for d test will study only 1.5 years at PJ/nilai campus, if not, 2 years la.,
cuppycake
09-05-2009, 01:53 AM
haa, we will need to take eng n arabic placement test rite, my cousin told me who excel for d test will study only 1.5 years at PJ/nilai campus, if not, 2 years la.,
you got your offer letter already or not? have you mail the reply card back to centre? :cry i just got it yesterday
me too, n its so troublesome, tomoro n d next day is holiday rite, so how my letter can reach them before 11 mei., ayaiyai
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 02:20 AM
me too, n its so troublesome, tomoro n d next day is holiday rite, so how my letter can reach them before 11 mei., ayaiyai
so u guys already send the reply card?? OMG.. i just got the letter two days ago and i din have chance to post it... grrrr... is it enuf just to accept the offer in their website??? :(
hrm, u misunderstood, i oso din post it yet., haihh, only accept at d website.. same case wit u lar
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 02:27 AM
hrm, u misunderstood, i oso din post it yet., haihh, only accept at d website.. same case wit u lar
owh..my bad.. i thought u already post it and done some calculation when it gonna reach them.. grrr... then when are u goin to post it? nyw.. what course did u get?
i think monday morning i wan to call them n ask bout my situation,and if need, i'll post laju it dat monday,
asasi kejuruteraan., u?
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 02:40 AM
i think monday morning i wan to call them n ask bout my situation,and if need, i'll post laju it dat monday,
asasi kejuruteraan., u?
uuuu... call them?? yea.. maybe i should do the same thing.. i got asasi sc hayat.. erh..do u have basic in arabic?? is it true that if i din have any basic that i have to extend from 1 1/2 years to 2 years?? sob:cry
i know nothing bout arabic language., so sad la, but my cousin say we juz need to past, i wonder if i can even get 1 mark LoL:laugh
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 02:50 AM
i know nothing bout arabic language., so sad la, but my cousin say we juz need to past, i wonder if i can even get 1 mark LoL:laugh
harharhar.. past?? how much do we need to pass? grrr.. btw.. what school are u from?? do u really know NOTHING bout arabic?? grrr.. i almost enter matrix cause of the arabic placement test.. it really freak me out.. then wat are u gonna do bout it?
sakuraf4
09-05-2009, 12:47 PM
oh so u register at pj only but do not study there? :cry i was so excited when i saw pj..turns out for registration only eh? :notrust
yup..for art students u will be transferred to nilai after taaruf week...
harharhar.. past?? how much do we need to pass? grrr.. btw.. what school are u from?? do u really know NOTHING bout arabic?? grrr.. i almost enter matrix cause of the arabic placement test.. it really freak me out.. then wat are u gonna do bout it?
Dont worry..last time i also nvr learn arabic during my secondary school..Many students go out early during the apt especially for those who dont have any basic in arabic...If u didn't pass the apt u will start with lvl 1..
Its better for u to concentrate on the EPT as its the most important test to determine ur course duration besides the apt..
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 02:32 PM
yup..for art students u will be transferred to nilai after taaruf week...
Dont worry..last time i also nvr learn arabic during my secondary school..Many students go out early during the apt especially for those who dont have any basic in arabic...If u didn't pass the apt u will start with lvl 1..
Its better for u to concentrate on the EPT as its the most important test to determine ur course duration besides the apt..
so that means.. EPT that determine the course duration and not APT??? grrr. dis is a good news for me.. at least i din feel regret bt rejecting matrix..:(
usually wat do they ask for ept eh? essay?
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 10:05 PM
kid.. do u noe how many semester u got?? cause in my offer letter... they put 09/10 session. dat means it consist of 2 sems=1 year?? am i rite??? i dont really understand on how many years and how many semester that we have to take..
me? same as u lorh.. confuse oso nieh
slurpy_blurp
09-05-2009, 11:36 PM
wat is this all about huh?? why din they write?? then.. how??
sakuraf4
11-05-2009, 09:24 AM
so that means.. EPT that determine the course duration and not APT??? grrr. dis is a good news for me.. at least i din feel regret bt rejecting matrix..:(
no both will determine ur course duration..however its hard to pass APT unless u have strong basic in arabic...so for those who don't have any basic in arabic its better for u to concentrate on ur EPT so that u can start with the highest lvl in english and help to shorten ur course duration if u fail ur APT.. =.=''
anyway 1 year in uiam consists of 2 long sem and 1 short sem..u can go here to view the academic calendar~http://www.iium.edu.my/asasi/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=132&Itemid=131
slurpy_blurp
11-05-2009, 03:43 PM
no both will determine ur course duration..however its hard to pass APT unless u have strong basic in arabic...so for those who don't have any basic in arabic its better for u to concentrate on ur EPT so that u can start with the highest lvl in english and help to shorten ur course duration if u fail ur APT.. =.=''
anyway 1 year in uiam consists of 2 long sem and 1 short sem..u can go here to view the academic calendar~http://www.iium.edu.my/asasi/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=132&Itemid=131
that means.. the test did influence the course duration? :oh
sakuraf4
12-05-2009, 09:35 AM
Yep....for example courses such as human science(hs) :
1. arabic lvl 1 & english lvl 5 ur course duration is 1 year(2 long sem and 1 short sem)
2.arabic lvl 1 & english lvl 6 ur course duration 1 year( 2 long sem and no short sem)
However it is different for each course...my course economics?&management science arabic lvl 1 & english lvl 5 our course duration is 1 1/2 years unlike hs which is only 1 year.
slurpy_blurp
12-05-2009, 01:56 PM
what did they usually ask for EPT??? i got biological sc.. but im thinking to change my course.. to asasi medical.. is there any possiblity to change course during the taaruf week.. and one more thing.. is it true.. uia taaruf week is a bit harsh??
cuppycake
12-05-2009, 02:06 PM
what did they usually ask for EPT??? i got biological sc.. but im thinking to change my course.. to asasi medical.. is there any possiblity to change course during the taaruf week.. and one more thing.. is it true.. uia taaruf week is a bit harsh??
huh? harsh? harsh like what? the faci all garang?:cry
haha, hey cuppy, d uia guy i juz called said my place is safe as lontg as d reply card reach them not late then 22 may, haha. lucky us
cuppycake
12-05-2009, 02:45 PM
ah i see..so my place is secured and intact la then. phew lega. =)
sakuraf4
12-05-2009, 05:04 PM
erm EPT...if I not mistaken u will be given reading comprehension passages with multiple choice answers & also an essay.Yup u can change ur course during the taaruf week or at the end of every semester.Taaruf week is not that harsh.However, u will be very busy from the morning until night for the whole week.Dont worry, all the senior there are very nice.
for the uia second intake., try ur best to get the mahalah umar katab 1(3 fan for 4 people, nice room)., bcoz mahalah umar katab 2 is terrible(1 fan for 4 people,small room)., for pj campus only ek..
nameloo
04-06-2009, 02:08 PM
ok
i'm really having atough time right now...
i've been given less than a week to think about this thoroughly.... -_-*
ok i just the phone call from someone in UIAM said that i got offered for second intake course for asasi sains....
shoud i go??
actually my ambition is to study abroad but since my SPM is so sick, i have to kiss the JPA or MARA scholarship goodbye.
so, i've decided to do STPM then.
Than come this offer. Where should i go?
Which path gives me more promising future since my dream is to be doctor as well.
THX
ain3003
20-04-2010, 10:08 PM
huahahaha!!! ^^...
u got straight a's for that course meh?
no chance for me then.. so sad..
btw at iium center of foundation websites already got link to check whether we got the asasi there or not... i checked and didnt get it, but official upu not out yet.. so, is it believable??
is asasi pergigian available to non-bumis?
AtiPuspa
01-05-2010, 10:24 AM
im asking this questions on behalf of my friend. he got asasi sains fizikal, UIA.
1. its compulsory to take arabic rite? is it really true that the APT will affect the time taken fr us to complete our foundation? example; if we in the higher level, its either 1 or 1.5 years. but if we in the lowest level, its 2 years.
2. after i finished my foundation in UIA, can i further my degree in other uni such as UM? or do i have to further in UIA only?
he's now in dilemma whether to choose matrix or asasi. he didnt learn arabic before and he dont want because of arabic, he has to extend his years in asasi to 2 years. then it would be better fr him to go to matrix bcz he got the 1 year program.
i really need some help frm the seniors or others who have info on this matter. anyway, thanx in advanced. :)
X-FaR
01-05-2010, 11:04 AM
I just want to ask few things:
1. Does we get sponsor by government for asasi UIAM?
2. Is there any Allowance given to students?
3. After asasi UIAM, is there any sponsorship from UIAM or others agency that we can apply? or it just make a PTPTN loan
4. Can we further our studies OVS by using asasi UIAM results?
*I hope seniors from UIAM will answer these question...
zahra
01-05-2010, 11:39 AM
im asking this questions on behalf of my friend. he got asasi sains fizikal, UIA.
1. its compulsory to take arabic rite? is it really true that the APT will affect the time taken fr us to complete our foundation? example; if we in the higher level, its either 1 or 1.5 years. but if we in the lowest level, its 2 years.
2. after i finished my foundation in UIA, can i further my degree in other uni such as UM? or do i have to further in UIA only?
he's now in dilemma whether to choose matrix or asasi. he didnt learn arabic before and he dont want because of arabic, he has to extend his years in asasi to 2 years. then it would be better fr him to go to matrix bcz he got the 1 year program.
i really need some help frm the seniors or others who have info on this matter. anyway, thanx in advanced. :)
1. Yes, it is compulsory to take Arabic, and your level of Arabic and English proficiency will determine the duration of your Asasi in UIAM.
2. After finishing Asasi UIAM, you can only continue your degree at UIAM.
3. If your friend is aiming for engineering courses at reputable unis such as UM, UTM, UKM, I think he should go for matriks instead. Once he is in UIAM, he is stuck there.
Anyway, good luck for your friend!
I just want to ask few things:
1. Does we get sponsor by government for asasi UIAM?
2. Is there any Allowance given to students?
3. After asasi UIAM, is there any sponsorship from UIAM or others agency that we can apply? or it just make a PTPTN loan
4. Can we further our studies OVS by using asasi UIAM results?
*I hope seniors from UIAM will answer these question...
1. Yes, just like other people in matriks.
2. Same as above.
3. I am not sure.
4. You can't even further your studies in other local public unis, I doubt you can further your studies OVS using Asasi UIAM results.
All the best!!! :D
X-FaR
01-05-2010, 12:05 PM
1. Yes, it is compulsory to take Arabic, and your level of Arabic and English proficiency will determine the duration of your Asasi in UIAM.
2. After finishing Asasi UIAM, you can only continue your degree at UIAM.
3. If your friend is aiming for engineering courses at reputable unis such as UM, UTM, UKM, I think he should go for matriks instead. Once he is in UIAM, he is stuck there.
Anyway, good luck for your friend!
1. Yes, just like other people in matriks.
2. Same as above.
3. I am not sure.
4. You can't even further your studies in other local public unis, I doubt you can further your studies OVS using Asasi UIAM results.
All the best!!! :D
Thanks for that info...
As I read from here http://eputra.com/program-asasi-uiam/#comment-13854 , if we manage to score 3.67-4.00 we can further our study OVS.. is this true?
How to excel the test, so that the duration of asasi will be 1 year?
Does the allowance is the same as matrix student?
Thanks in advance..
hisyam_192
01-05-2010, 01:15 PM
I got an offer for asasi sains fizikal UIAM & found out that the dgree program offered after finishing the foundation is only dgree in mathematics.. But i'm interested in biotech which are offered for asasi sains hayat.. Question is :
#1. can i change my asasi sains fizikal course to asasi sains hayat because I'm really interested in biotech & biomed??
I need help in this matter.. hope any senior @<hidden> anybody with info can answer this.. Thx :)
I got an offer for asasi sains fizikal UIAM & found out that the dgree program offered after finishing the foundation is only dgree in mathematics.. But i'm interested in biotech which are offered for asasi sains hayat.. Question is :
#1. can i change my asasi sains fizikal course to asasi sains hayat because I'm really interested in biotech & biomed??
I need help in this matter.. hope any senior @<hidden> anybody with info can answer this.. Thx :)
the answer is,.
erm EPT...if I not mistaken u will be given reading comprehension passages with multiple choice answers & also an essay.Yup u can change ur course during the taaruf week or at the end of every semester.Taaruf week is not that harsh.However, u will be very busy from the morning until night for the whole week.Dont worry, all the senior there are very nice.
agaga.. i've got asasi sains hayat, UIA,.
kuliyyah farmasi rejected me.. :cry
*sharing is caring
Ingeniur Bizzyx Said,
April 15th, 2010 @<hidden>:54 am
LUPE LAK NAK BGTAU…
sesape yg lulus cemerlang kat asasi uiam cam dapat pointer cgpa 3.67-4.00 korang berpeluang fly ke luar negara gak.. aku ade ramai jer mmbe dpt fly g korea,usa n so on..yg aku tau korang dah abis nt korang apply la biasiswa kerajaan british ker,korea ke,sime darby ke,mane2 la yg dpt wat korang fly oversea..hehe..
mmg sbnrnya UIA xdak tulis yg korang leh apply U len,tp aku tgk ramai je mmbe aku masuk U len gune result asasi Uia..tu aku rase korang sendiri yg kena cari oppurtunity hole..aku abis asasi uia,trus masuk main campus jer..so xley nak bgtau lebih2..
tp surely nak dpt pointer 3.67 keatas tu bkn calang2 orang,sal korang kena score BI gak..xcam matrik kpm..BI xde kredit powm..lulus @<hidden> jer..so bg aku la asasi UIA lagi tough byk dari asasi kpm..sal jarang2 org jer leh score 4 flat..ataupun hampir tiada orang score sbyk tu kalo kos engine la,kalo kos len aku xtau…
kalow matrix kpm ,blambak dak 4 flat..so xpelik 4 flat ni kat matrix kpm,tp kat asasi uia, Ia umpama keajaiban..hehehe..dari situ korang nmpk btape ssh nye..hehe..tp rilex arr nak masuk degree pakai cgpa at least 2.0 jer..so mase degree nt pointer lain lak..kalo korang dpt score 3.67 keatas mase degree ,nama korang ade kat papan kenyataan dean list..hehe syok gak..
source: http://eputra.com/program-asasi-uiam/#comment-13854
hisyam_192
01-05-2010, 04:59 PM
#1. i have no basic in arabic at all... i might & most probably have a low grade in APT.. this means that i i'm certainly have to go through 2 years of foundation rite?? if this is the case,which is better, confirmed 1 year at matrix @<hidden> 2 years probably foundation in UIA?? & how to be excel in arabic so that i can shorten my foundation for just a year?? pls give your opinion on which is best.. :(
#2. I'm interested in biotech@<hidden> can asasi sains fizikal UIA bring me to what i want @<hidden> i have to change to asasi sains hayat??
sorry for having lots of question but i really have to be sure bout this... i need all d info i can get before making a crucial decission... :S
hanaminaito
06-05-2010, 10:31 PM
Assalamualaikum...
i want to ask whether we will get letter from uiam..and do i need to confirm whether i'm going or not and how
thanks in advance
hsyazana
08-05-2010, 03:32 PM
i'm stuck between matrik and asasi sains hayat in UIAM..is it really 2 years of foundation in UIAM?? is it true that asasi sains hayat is only for medic students and what if i want to go for engineering course after finishing asasi??
someone help me...ASAP
alter_ego
08-05-2010, 03:40 PM
i'm stuck between matrik and asasi sains hayat in UIAM..is it really 2 years of foundation in UIAM?? is it true that asasi sains hayat is only for medic students and what if i want to go for engineering course after finishing asasi??
someone help me...ASAP
asasi sains hayat in UIAM is not for medic students as they have their own asasi perubatan there. students who take asasi sains hayat are not going to take medicine after they finish asasi but they will opt to another medic-related field, as far as im concerned. :)
hsyazana
08-05-2010, 04:00 PM
asasi sains hayat in UIAM is not for medic students as they have their own asasi perubatan there. students who take asasi sains hayat are not going to take medicine after they finish asasi but they will opt to another medic-related field, as far as im concerned. :)
so, that means i'm not able to do engineering(mechanical,chemical,electrical)?:(could you please give me the examples of the medic-related field??:huh
alter_ego
08-05-2010, 04:17 PM
so, that means i'm not able to do engineering(mechanical,chemical,electrical)?:(could you please give me the examples of the medic-related field??:huh
yeap, u are not be able to do engineering. asasi sains hayat students will opt to degree in microbiology, chemistry, biology etc etc.
i missed ur quest before, asasi would take only 1 yr.:)
hsyazana
08-05-2010, 04:21 PM
yeap, u are not be able to do engineering. asasi sains hayat students will opt to degree in microbiology, chemistry, biology etc etc.
asasi in uiam?i thought 2 years...:amazed
alter_ego
08-05-2010, 04:24 PM
asasi in uiam?i thought 2 years...:amazed
no, it is a one year program, confirmed by a councellor.:)
hsyazana
08-05-2010, 04:43 PM
no, it is a one year program, confirmed by a councellor.:)
how about the tests? it said
'the results of the test will be used to place students according to their level of proficiency.it is advised that students prepare well for the tests as the results will determine the length of studies in CFS'
what is the meaning of CFS?:huh
alter_ego
08-05-2010, 05:03 PM
CFS? LOL, i've got no idea about that, u may wait others to response.
sorry, im not helping. :)
hsyazana
08-05-2010, 05:13 PM
CFS? LOL, i've got no idea about that, u may wait others to response.
sorry, im not helping. :)
that;s okay..you've been a great help to me !! :laugh:laugh
deco2708
08-05-2010, 06:44 PM
Asasi in uiam actually takes 2 years.. however, the duration can be shorten if u excel in the languages test which is ept for english and apt for arabic.. it may only takes 1-1.5 years only.. those who wish to change their courses may do so during the taaruf week.. (if i am not mistaken)
Luffy
08-05-2010, 07:38 PM
ya....let's say that if u get lvl 3 or lvl 4 for English Placement Test(EPT) and lvl 1 for Arabic Placement Test(APT)...you'll have to study for 2 years...
but if u get lvl 5 or lvl 6 in EPT and lvl 1 or lvl 2 in APT...u'll have to do it for only 1 or 1.5 years only...but it defers between the courses....
for asasi perubatan...u MUST study for 2 years...
p/s: for more detailed information,you can join group UIAM 2010/2011 for those who have facebook =)
deco2708
08-05-2010, 08:13 PM
huh? really?for asasi perubatan it's a MUST to study for 2 years??:(:(
I got asasi perubatan and i thought if i do well during ept i can take less time to complete my asasi:(
btw, are you sure?where did you get the information?
Luffy
09-05-2010, 04:36 PM
I got asasi perubatan and i thought if i do well during ept i can take less time to complete my asasi:(
hrm...i heard about that from a senior in group UIAM 2010/2011 in facebook...
but don't worry too much...a doctor has to learn many things though because it does involve one's life =)
defectivelasagna
10-05-2010, 12:11 AM
hey guys, i got UIA law. is the intake itself on 23rd May or 23rd May is just for registration?
Luffy
10-05-2010, 01:05 AM
hey guys, i got UIA law. is the intake itself on 23rd May or 23rd May is just for registration?
hm...23rd may is registration and intake day...after u register,there will be a ta'aruf week and then you will start your study =)
ZaffyAffendi
10-05-2010, 01:35 AM
hm...23rd may is registration and intake day...after u register,there will be a ta'aruf week and then you will start your study =)
Campus for law foundation students will be in PJ right? Someone was saying we will be transferred to Nilai. Is that right?
deco2708
10-05-2010, 03:09 AM
[quote=Luffy;316729]hrm...i heard about that from a senior in group UIAM 2010/2011 in facebook...
really?thanx 4 da info nway..i tried looking for it, but couldn't find anything though..hope there'll be seniors reading this thread n please clear my confusion..huhu:)):))
CFS stands for Centre for Foundation Studies=Pusat Asasi
it's true. but only degree in biomedic and biotech..
btw, try to change ur course to engine and sc comp during taaruf week.. or after final exam..
yeah, you must study for two years. no doubt.. hey, take the chance to study arabic,
Campus for law foundation students will be in PJ right? Someone was saying we will be transferred to Nilai. Is that right?
nope, actually, laws is in nilai, but starting this year, it will be transferred to PJ,.
alter_ego
10-05-2010, 12:27 PM
i envy with u guys. i want to learn arabic ! haha.
deco2708
10-05-2010, 12:32 PM
yeah, you must study for two years. no doubt.. hey, take the chance to study arabic,
em, yeah..i think so too.at least i got a chance to learn arabic for the first time in my life..:laugh but i guess it's better late than never..:))
zero12
10-05-2010, 05:23 PM
i heard that grads from uia can enter the job market easily since they are using English and arabic to learn and communicate. Furthermore, most employers will prefer grads from uia than other university (no offense) such as uitm, um and usm.
*i will go to cfs pj this 23*
i heard that grads from uia can enter the job market easily since they are using English and arabic to learn and communicate. Furthermore, most employers will prefer grads from uia than other university (no offense) such as uitm, um and usm.
*i will go to cfs pj this 23*
hmm....interesting.so you're saying that other u don't use English and Arabic to learn and communicate.no wonder they put the word international.so where did u get this info zero12......
Biscuitz
15-05-2010, 12:24 PM
hey i got law(4th choice) i was wondering if its possible to change course? is it possible to switch to perubatan? if yes when can it be done during the first week there?
switch to perubatan ha....yes, you can do it during the ta'ruf week ( the first week) .
zero12
15-05-2010, 02:39 PM
hmm....interesting.so you're saying that other u don't use English and Arabic to learn and communicate.no wonder they put the word international.so where did u get this info zero12......
the other unis also use english and arabic but they don't concentrate too much in using these languages as uia do. Moreover, for those who didn't get a chance studying abroad and want to feel like at 'overseas', uia is the right choice because there is 2000++ international students doing their degrees at Gombak. I also felt it when I had a school trip to uia gombak last year, mostly students from middle east
this info i got from my seniors and teachers :):)
mambojumbo
19-05-2010, 04:22 PM
yey.i feel so excited 2 enter uia right now! only few days left before registration.. although im still waiting 4 jpa.. bt life in uia sounds fun oso.. im hoping 4 the best.
Luffy
19-05-2010, 07:25 PM
yup...i'm feeling excited to...
and still waiting for mara...
but to tell the truth is...
for me,registration day is the most boring day in my schools/institute's life:notrust
yey.i feel so excited 2 enter uia right now! only few days left before registration.. although im still waiting 4 jpa.. bt life in uia sounds fun oso.. im hoping 4 the best.
R u going to enter UIA while waiting for JPA? U can post a deferment letter to them you know
Biscuitz
19-05-2010, 09:41 PM
hey where can i download these forms? the links in my admission booklet are not working :(
Surat Tawaran Bantuan Asasi IPTA Finance Department
Download and print from URL:
http://online.mohe.gov.my/scholar/bantuanasasi/index2.php
iv. Borang Perjanjian Program Asasi IPTA Finance Department
v. Borang Pengakuan Kedudukan Kewangan Penjamin Finance Department
deco2708
19-05-2010, 10:53 PM
try this link..i hope it works..
https://online.mohe.gov.my/scholar/bantuanasasi/index2.php
Biscuitz
19-05-2010, 11:37 PM
it does! thanks!! :)
Luffy
19-05-2010, 11:37 PM
R u going to enter UIA while waiting for JPA? U can post a deferment letter to them you know
hm...
how to write it???
does it mean we can have back our money? :huh
humm, what should gals wear during registration? getting more and more confused.. i've heard three different opinion
1)white tudung+baju kurung+white sarong
2)white tudung+a pair of baju kurung
3)"it's up to you, as long as it is baju kurung and plain tudung"
which one is true? :huh
hm...
how to write it???
does it mean we can have back our money? :huh
You didn't read ha.....it is none refundable u know. Just in case u don't know, deferment means tunda your registration day....I've done mine
Luffy
20-05-2010, 02:07 PM
You didn't read ha.....it is none refundable u know. Just in case u don't know, deferment means tunda your registration day....I've done mine
oh...
that's mean u don't pay the registration fees first,right?
ok i get it...
but will they approved it?? :oh
humm, what should gals wear during registration? getting more and more confused.. i've heard three different opinion
1)white tudung+baju kurung+white sarong
2)white tudung+a pair of baju kurung
3)"it's up to you, as long as it is baju kurung and plain tudung"
which one is true? :huh
you are allowed to wear any colour baju kurung with any colour of tudung...
someone called them and approved this :)
oh...
that's mean u don't pay the registration fees first,right?
ok i get it...
but will they approved it?? :oh
:huh Ok, let me get this straight. I don't know they approved it or not but they did state it in the booklet(if u read). Are u saying that u enter first without paying? I'm kinda lost here.....
Luffy
20-05-2010, 03:59 PM
:huh Ok, let me get this straight. I don't know they approved it or not but they did state it in the booklet(if u read). Are u saying that u enter first without paying? I'm kinda lost here.....
i do read the the booklet...
but i thought it is only for emergency case...
i'm saying that if deferment letter approved...then we can pay the fees after the registration day or we still have more time to pay until we register...
so we can wait for scholarship results to be out first(if it does not come out tomorrow)
and sorry if this is a bit complicated :P
i do read the the booklet...
but i thought it is only for emergency case...
i'm saying that if deferment letter approved...then we can pay the fees after the registration day or we still have more time to pay until we register...
so we can wait for scholarship results to be out first(if it does not come out tomorrow)
and sorry if this is a bit complicated :P
Well, I'm glad to help...it didn't said anything about emergency case so I simply stated that I am waiting for MARA result. They should understand the situation now that JPA&MARA delay the result...RM550 is not cheap
Luffy
20-05-2010, 06:31 PM
well...
mara results are to be announced at 4 p.m.
the bank muamalat almost closed right...
i thought of paying the fees at saturday's morning before register(if didn't manage to get scholarship)
I was wondering if we finish this foundation and got scholarship that offer us to go to oversea, do we have to take preparation course like A-lv or IB?
Thanks in advance
clarrie93
13-05-2011, 08:26 PM
To any seniors that are studying in UIAM, just a question:
do EVERYONE have to take the Arabic test, or just certain course??:huh
Devilslayer
17-05-2011, 11:57 AM
I'll second that question Clarrie93.
If we do, how is it like?:P
misRPJ
17-05-2011, 01:39 PM
Hi everyone.
new member but long time lurker here.
I just graduated my foundation studies in IIUM/UIA and will be enrolling for the undergraduate programme in Sept.
So here's how it roll! :))
For registration, the females can wear any baju kurung and tudung. They say you have to wear white tudung but during registration, any colour is permitted. They will provide you with a white Taaruf (orientation week) tudung which you will have to wear throughout the whole Taaruf week. (eek!) but it is comfortable so don't worry much.
The Taaruf week is not very pleasant. Some will enjoy it, but some may find it harsh as the seniors will try and 'hammer' Islamic values into you and act holier-than-thou. Rest assured, this is just an 'act' or at least this is how they are trained to treat you this first week. Just grin and bear with it and it is over before you know it. :amuse
The APT and EPT (Arabic and English placement test) is conducted in the first week (Taaruf week)
The EPT's format is similar to that of Muet.
For the Arabic test, there is a form in the front page where you state whether you have basic Arabic knowledge or not, if you don't (such as me :)) ) just tick negative, write your name and matric number and wait for 10 minutes. The invigilator will allow you (and a lot of the others!) to leave the class. You will automatically be placed in Level 1. Fret not! It's normal. :laugh Only those who have taken Arabic for SPM are usually able to surpass Level 1 and jump straight to Level 2 (or 3 if they are taking Law or Islamic Revealed Knowledge)
For Law (and art courses) students, the Arabic is slightly more advanced than the Sciences students even at basic level. The books are thicker. Lots of students fear Arabic because they worry it is difficult etc. Just chin up and try your best. It is not easy but most of the time the lessons are FUN. Most of the ustaz(s) are outgoing and understanding. They will help alot when asked and mostly lenient in marking exams. :)) Granted, a few can be quite strict but most are Ok. Arabic will not influence your CGPA. You just have to pass C Grade to advance to the next level, if not, you will have to repeat.
The requirement is to graduate with Arabic Level 2. But for those who plan on taking Syariah Law must leave foundation studies with Arabic Level 4.
Any questions, feel free to ask.
I just realised Oden's post
If you have completed foundation studies in IIUM and you received an offer to go overseas, I presume you do have to repeat A levels or IB.
This is because IIUM's foundation studies is only valid for IIUM per se. Its syllabus and books are international based but still, I don't think it can be the ticket for you to go overseas.
If you do well and achieve Dean's List, you are eligible and very much encouraged to apply for scholarships. But it will be up to your sponsor if you are permitted to re-do your foundation.
For example, a friend of mine applied to go to UK to pursue Law after foundation at IIUM
One of the uni he applied to was Uni of Southampton which offers foundation studies. So it will be 1+3 years of studies in UK. Most scholarships will sponsor you for 4 years so re-doing the foundation there will not be a problem.
But some bursaries are for your undergraduate studies only, so you will have to fund yourself for A levels/IB
Devilslayer
18-05-2011, 09:24 AM
Syukran ya ukhti. Jazakallahu khair. What do you need to do during the APT? Do you need to do essays? What if we took Arabic but not durin SPM. Probably PMR or PSRA? :P
misRPJ
19-05-2011, 01:59 PM
Syukran ya ukhti. Jazakallahu khair. What do you need to do during the APT? Do you need to do essays? What if we took Arabic but not durin SPM. Probably PMR or PSRA?'Afwan :)) From what I recall, the format of APT includes grammar, comprehension and an essay.
I think it's level of difficulty is similar to that of Arabic in PMR level.
In my case, I took Arabic during primary and have some basic but not enough to make me understand the questions.. Hee~ :P
If you think you can answer them, why not? You won't be penalised for any mistakes or if you fail to finish the exam..You'll just be admitted to level 1, which like I said, is not that bad..
All the best!
Any questions feel free to ask!
huz010
23-05-2011, 10:35 AM
HI, someone please help me.
I've got asasi ekonomi at UIA and pharmacy at CUCMS.
I don't know to choose in either both, but CUCMS is offered by MARA so, I'll get scholarship.( I've failed to go to oversea via PILN MARA 2011)
Is it MARA give the scholarship after I enroll at CUCMS? (mati I kena bayar yuran lebih RM10K) or I just only bring my stuffs with no payment?
BUT, if I take UIA, is it MARA will not accept my next future application for scholarship? or anything else .....
misRPJ
23-05-2011, 11:00 PM
Hi there.
I'll try and help what I can based on the little that I know.
Regarding the scholarship, I think it's best if you ask MARA. Enquire on how much will they be sponsoring you and if it includes fees, allowances, books etc. They should provide you with the full details on your sponsorship and how the transfer of the bursary will be done. :)
If you decide to go to IIUM, I think you can still apply for MARA scholarship. But of course, it is best if you enquire them.
Both offers are good, hope you make the best decision for yourself.
Devilslayer
24-05-2011, 11:33 AM
I think it depends on your field of interest. Also, you will need to clarify it with the MARA officer. I have some friends that got the same offer as yours.
I think MARA will pay for you first. Just try and ask the officer. I have friends studying fast track CAT-ACCA and from what I've heard MARA had paid UiTM money when they enrolled. However, they still need to pay for things like ACCA annual fees and such but they can claim later.
ddk9893
23-10-2011, 01:41 AM
Am I the only one here who got the offer to pursue Foundation in Biological Science in IIUM PJ as the third intake? :S