View Full Version : New JPA Scholarships Policy for SPM 2007 Candidates
03-05-2008, 09:51 AM
Public Service Department has announced new initiatives for SPM 2007 candidates.
As long as they get above 9As in their SPM, they would be guaranteed JPA or PSD scholarships to study in Form 6 in Fully Aided Schools .
Those in Universiti Malaya?s Science Preparatory Centre and International Islamic University?s matriculation programme, would also be offered scholarships.
If these students decide to do their degree in local university, they would be offered scholarships as well. These local universities include Malaysian branch of a foreign university such as Monash University, Nottingham University, Curtin University of Technology and Swinburne Unversity.
If these students get admission into Ivy League or equivalent university, they would be offered scholarships as well.
My personal thought on this is that it is quite a good move, as it would help to retain the top students within our country, but I think such scholarship, their details would need to be clearer. On studying at fully aided schools, these might need to be highlighted, as all those SMJK, which are traditionally top STPM schools are partially aided. So, they would not be part of this deal.
This is the details of the scholarship, as highlighted by The Star (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/3/nation/21145620&sec=nation)
Full quotation of it is as follow:-
-----
PSD scholarships for SPM students with 9As
PETALING JAYA: The Public Service Department (PSD) will offer scholarships to all students who scored 9As in their SPM examinations last year, regardless of background, to study Form Six in fully-aided schools.
Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Sidek Hassan said students who do matriculation, including those in Universiti Malaya?s Science Preparatory Centre and International Islamic University?s matriculation programme, would also be offered scholarships.
These students will also be sponsored for their first degree if they do it in a local university, he said in a statement yesterday.
Sidek said the PSD would also sponsor such students if they obtained places in an Ivy League or equivalent university.
Top-scoring students who get a place in a Malaysian branch of a foreign university such as Monash University, Nottingham University, Curtin University of Technology and Swinburne Unversity will also be offered scholarships.
On top of this, Sidek said the PSD would offer scholarships to 2,000 students for overseas studies and a further 10,000 for studies in local universities.
He said the scholarships were being offered in line with the Government?s efforts to develop human capital.
He said the Government was aware that the number of high achievers is growing every year. Yet, not every student would have a chance to get Government sponsorship.
?The Government realises that high achievers are assets.
?As such, it has introduced the initiative to increase the number of scholarships where students of any background will be offered as long as they satisfy the SPM 9A score condition,? he said.
The move, Sidek added, would indirectly encourage these high achievers to further their education in local universities.
-----
This is the article from NST
Below is full citation from NST (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/National/2230275/Article/index_html).
-----
Govt scholarships for all with at least 9As in SPM
KUALA LUMPUR: Students who scored 9As and above in the 2007 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia examination will be sponsored up to their bachelor's degrees at local universities.
Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Sidek Hassan said the government had decided to increase the number of scholarships because outstanding students were the nation's future assets.
"The number of students who obtain excellent results in all SPM subjects is rising every year but not all of them are able to obtain scholarships as the number is limited.
"Realising that these outstanding students are the nation's assets, the government has taken the initiative to provide scholarships to all students with at least 9As, regardless of background," he said yesterday.
"This move will indirectly attract good students to further their studies at local universities, which will also help to raise the standard of higher education in Malaysia."
Those furthering their studies to Form Six at government-assisted schools and matriculation centres under the Education Ministry, including the Centre for Foundation Studies in Science at Universiti Malaya and the Universiti Islam Antarabangsa matriculation programme, will stand to benefit from the offer.
"Students who have obtained places in Ivy League-standard foreign universities and local campuses of foreign institutions such as Monash University, Nottingham University, Curtin University of Technology and Swinburne University will also be sponsored," said Sidek.
The measures, he said, were consistent with government initiatives to develop skilled human capital.
The government will be sponsoring 2,000 students under its Overseas Degree Programme this year and another 10,000 students at public universities under the Domestic Degree Programme.
-----
For both of this article, The Star highlighted that Form 6 would cover Fully-Aided Schools, whereas NST highlighted Government-assisted schools. Both are quite different, so in this case, would like to see it get cleared up.
smile!
03-05-2008, 10:07 AM
can i know whether what it means when they said they will give scholarships to those studying form 6?
scholarship to buy books in the form of allowances or what?
sherenesheep
03-05-2008, 10:14 AM
hermz.. true.. keep some of the top students here in our country.. otherwise everyone will be oversea and wud not want to come back, such as the cases of medic students overseas wanting to do their housemanship overseas instead of back here and so on...
abuzar
03-05-2008, 10:28 AM
thank you very much chenchow.well,although u are not a student anymore,u are still willing to help us."budi yang baik dikenang juga"
zureen
03-05-2008, 10:36 AM
this is very helpful for all you spm-leavers out there with doubts.
runninghorse
03-05-2008, 10:37 AM
Well, does this mean that our chance to get JPA overseas scholarship is less now compare to last year?
From the government's point of view, they prefer to give you scholarship to study locally than overseas as this will cut down a lot of cost.
Although the amount of overseas scholarship offered increases compare to last year, which is 2000 this year, the way they distribute these scholarship is still a doubt... the quota system...
lindley
03-05-2008, 10:52 AM
what do they mean by fully aided schools?
xinni
03-05-2008, 10:53 AM
well , it's damn confusing .. is it means that the government is going to sponsor those studying Form6 or matriculation for their entire years follow by their studies in local university ? what is it means by 'sponsor' then ? no need to pay for tuition fees as well as being given the allowance as what happened to those JPA scholars? how are you going to know whether you are given this scholarship? don't you need to apply for it or just automatically you will get it ?
runninghorse
03-05-2008, 10:56 AM
And the bonding period too...
well, i think it is quite unfair if the bonding period for both local and overseas scholarship are the same...
xinni
03-05-2008, 11:08 AM
where you found out that there's a bond ? anyway for those who want this scholarship need to study form 6 is it ? hope that they can make clarification how's everything going on. Is it means that everything is 'free' as well as allowances is provided too?
Josh Loo
03-05-2008, 11:38 AM
sorry but i dont get the meaning of scholarship here... what will they offer?
how to apply? wats the term of scholarship? i dun understand at all...:(:(
ZhannaC
03-05-2008, 12:01 PM
YES!
So happy. :) Now I've way more initiative to go form 6, especially if government will sponsor my first degree. But I wonder whether they will sponsor if we get a place in Uni or only if we do very well in STPM..
Whatever it is, I'm so much happier. :) :whoo
A million thanks for making my day, Chenchow! :)
03-05-2008, 12:23 PM
YES!
So happy. :) Now I've way more initiative to go form 6, especially if government will sponsor my first degree. But I wonder whether they will sponsor if we get a place in Uni or only if we do very well in STPM..
Whatever it is, I'm so much happier. :) :whoo
A million thanks for making my day, Chenchow! :)
it all depends on ur spm result...9As and above students will be fully benefited..
Josh Loo
03-05-2008, 12:33 PM
it all depends on ur spm result...9As and above students will be fully benefited..
i get diploma in ipta.. will they sponsor me?
03-05-2008, 12:35 PM
i get diploma in ipta.. will they sponsor me?
i am not sure about that...becos this news posted by chenchow is today news..
perhaps...wat i noe is if u were to get into local uni, u will be sponsored by gov..
ZhannaC
03-05-2008, 12:54 PM
So those with 9As and above are assured of a place and a scholarship in any local U?
Does the news imply that only STPM students who manage to get offers from Ivy League universities or equivalent are qualified to get the scholarship? How about those who pursue A-levels? Yeah, I agree the news is still very vague about the specifics but I guess it is still fresh and things are still premature..I think this is a govt move to ignite some interest from the public.
Anyway, I am a 2006 SPM candidate and once again I miss out on these potentially great perks one year late!
ZhannaC
03-05-2008, 01:00 PM
Does the news imply that only STPM students who manage to get offers from Ivy League universities or equivalent are qualified to get the scholarship? How about those who pursue A-levels? Yeah, I agree the news is still very vague about the specifics but I guess it is still fresh and things are still premature..I think this is a govt move to ignite some interest from the public.
Anyway, I am a 2006 SPM candidate and once again I miss out on these potentially great perks one year late!
I believe it's only for form 6...
03-05-2008, 01:34 PM
So those with 9As and above are assured of a place and a scholarship in any local U?
yes...it is...provided that for those furthering their studies to Form Six at government-assisted schools and matriculation centres under the Education Ministry, including the Centre for Foundation Studies in Science at Universiti Malaya and the Universiti Islam Antarabangsa matriculation programme.
milkshake
03-05-2008, 01:50 PM
say i do my foundation and degree in monash or nottingham or other foreign uni in malaysia,I'll be under full scholarship too? As in the whole 5 years would be free?
a-level gal
03-05-2008, 01:52 PM
What does this mean?Does this mean that those who pursue a-level can't get any scholarships??
cfliang
03-05-2008, 02:16 PM
What does "Form Six at government-assisted schools" refers to? Isit studying Form 6 in any SMKxxx? Or is there any special government-assisted schools? Any example?
abuzar
03-05-2008, 02:18 PM
dont be too sure.there is no "hitam putih"right now.
03-05-2008, 02:19 PM
kindly hope that there will be a clarification made based on wat have been asked by all recomers regarding this news...
03-05-2008, 02:21 PM
There's something I don't clearly understand . When they say if we are accepted by Ivy League , they will sponsor . Fully-sponsored or partially-sponsored ?
03-05-2008, 02:25 PM
I don't quite get the concept of JPA sponsoring ivy league students. I thought most ivy league unis are need blind?
skyrainbow
03-05-2008, 02:47 PM
can stpm student apply for ivy?
crazeed
03-05-2008, 02:54 PM
..i cant understand da news....blur....is da scholarship or sponsorship is given 2 students with 9As n above without any interview n application or wat..funny news...is it guaranteed????:amazed:oh
03-05-2008, 03:00 PM
If according to the news article, many students will get scholarships, and I wonder whether this is possible, is there so much allocation for scholarship in national budget?
Anyway, this is relatively new and I guess most people, even authorities are still blur about this... Clarification is needed, and I think there should be some terms and conditions involved...
Caprio
03-05-2008, 03:01 PM
I don't quite get the concept of JPA sponsoring ivy league students. I thought most ivy league unis are need blind?
Not necessary. Most but not all. For instance, Harvard and Yale are need blind whereas for Cornell, it isn't.
By the way, the news that published in the newspaper today seems too good to be true.
For last year, the number of straight As students alone is 4000+, not to mention those who scored 9As and above. It will be a big expenditure for the government to sponsor the students who sccored 9As and above. The number is indeed infinite.
crazeed
03-05-2008, 03:11 PM
if dis news is true ..syok man....all go form 6.....straight As students for 2007 is 6000+....
Taken from Berita Harian (http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Saturday/Nasional/20080503090435/Article/index_html)
JPA taja pelajar camerlang SPM
Oleh Norliza Wasilan dan Haika Khazi
Lepasan 2007 peeoleh 9A dan ke atas layak.
KUALA LUMPUR: Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) akan menaja semua pelajar lepasan Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) 2007 yang memperoleh keputusan 9A dan ke atas, kata Ketua Setiausaha Negara, Tan Sri Sidek Hassan.
Beliau dalam kenyataannya semalam berkata, usaha berkenaan adalah selari dengan inisiatif kerajaan memberi penekanan kepada pembangunan modal insan yang inovatif dan berkemahiran tinggi.
Katanya, penajaan itu dibuat kerana kerajaan menyedari bahawa jumlah pelajar yang mendapat keputusan cemerlang dalam semua mata pelajaran menunjukkan peningkatan ketara setiap tahun.
?Bagaimanapun, tidak semua pelajar cemerlang ini mendapat peluang penajaan kerajaan untuk melanjutkan pengajian tinggi mereka di institusi pengajian tinggi kerana bilangan penajaan yang disediakan terhad dengan beberapa faktor kekangan seperti pendapatan keluarga dan persaingan tinggi sesama mereka.
?Menyedari hakikat bahawa pelajar cemerlang ini aset utama negara pada masa akan datang, kerajaan menambah bilangan penajaan kepada lepasan yang memperoleh 9A dan ke atas tanpa mengira latar belakang,? katanya.
Berikutan itu, Sidek berkata, pihaknya mengenal pasti semua pelajar yang akan diberi tajaan berdasarkan tiga kategori sebelum layak menerima insentif itu.
Selain itu, beliau berkata, sepanjang tahun ini, kerajaan akan menaja 2,000 pelajar ke luar negara menerusi Program Ijazah Luar Negara (PILN) dan 10,000 pelajar di IPT tempatan di bawah Program Ijazah Dalam Negara (PIDN).
Sementara itu, di PUTRAJAYA, Mohd Sidek menggesa ketua jabatan dan kakitangan awam memberi perhatian serius dan menangani segala aduan serta rungutan mengenai sistem penyampaian secara bijak.
Beliau berkata, ini penting kerana ia kaedah terbaik bagi mendapatkan maklum balas daripada orang ramai mengenai keberkesanan sistem penyampaian perkhidmatan awam.
?Aduan orang ramai adalah ibarat mata dan telinga kerajaan. Ia juga dapat membantu kita untuk mengenal pasti dan mengatasi kelemahan yang ada dengan menganjurkan program turun padang bertemu orang ramai.
?Kita perlu mendengar luahan perasaan mereka dan sentiasa berusaha menyelesaikan permasalahan yang dibangkitkan rakyat,? katanya ketika berucap pada Majlis Khidmat Bakti anjuran Jabatan Perdana Menteri di Pusat Persidangan Antarabangsa Putrajaya (PICC) di sini, malam tadi.
Majlis itu diadakan bagi meraikan 52 ketua jabatan dan pegawai kanan kerajaan yang bersara pada November hingga April lalu.
Pada majlis itu, beliau turut menyampaikan surat pelantikan kepada 16 ketua jabatan baru bagi menggantikan mereka yang sudah bersara.
jingying
03-05-2008, 04:57 PM
does this mean that the 2000 places is for overseas jpa and 10000 is for local jpa?
so if we didn't get overseas jpa can we still appeal? because maybe they will say that we already have local jpa what for appeal anymore?
elaine_yym
03-05-2008, 05:30 PM
this the chinese edition:amuse
http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/64425?tid=1
but i still not so understand,mean that the scholarship PIDN is for f6 and go to IPTA or offer a place for us in IPTA and give us the scholarship?:confused:
dont be too sure.there is no "hitam putih"right now.
yeah,i agree w u.not in black n white yet.
Geoffrey
03-05-2008, 06:50 PM
Er... u all still discuss JPA. So does it mean it still open?
If so, how we can mohon??
runninghorse
03-05-2008, 06:56 PM
Er... u all still discuss JPA. So does it mean it still open?
If so, how we can mohon??
the jpa overseas application has already been closed for a long time. we now discuss about the new policy where the government has just announced recently...
read these posts (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6692&page=4)
ohyying
03-05-2008, 06:59 PM
Not necessary. Most but not all. For instance, Harvard and Yale are need blind whereas for Cornell, it isn't.
By the way, the news that published in the newspaper today seems too good to be true.
For last year, the number of straight As students alone is 4000+, not to mention those who scored 9As and above. It will be a big expenditure for the government to sponsor the students who sccored 9As and above. The number is indeed infinite.
straight As students = 6000+ not 4000+
Well..i agree that this press release is too vague...I was really happy reading dat article..but then again....i think it could be just a bait to encourage good students to continue wif form 6.....and may not stick to their words thereafter...sponsoring form 6 (that is like a matter of a few tens of bucks)..but sponsoring the first degree makes a huge difference...so what exactly is the thing....n da first degree thing applies to SPM 2007 batch or for those already completed their stpm....if it applies to SPM 2007 batch..who knows what they will say two years later??unless theres some contract or something....
Geoffrey
03-05-2008, 07:03 PM
so no JPA?
i dunno where should i go...
i don 1 form 6. :-(
and i get 9A's... can help?
runninghorse
03-05-2008, 07:07 PM
so no JPA?
i dunno where should i go...
i don 1 form 6. :-(
and i get 9A's... can help?
u can apply for tarc merit scholarship (full tuition fees) to study a-level...
or did you get matrix?
powerleakin
03-05-2008, 07:08 PM
Taken from Berita Harian (http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Saturday/Nasional/20080503090435/Article/index_html)
JPA taja pelajar camerlang SPM
Berikutan itu, Sidek berkata, pihaknya mengenal pasti semua pelajar yang akan diberi tajaan berdasarkan tiga kategori sebelum layak menerima insentif itu.
What is the 3 categories?
Geoffrey
03-05-2008, 07:13 PM
u can apply for tarc merit scholarship (full tuition fees) to study a-level...
or did you get matrix?
sadly, no:-(
but i already rayu...
bcos i really don 1 form 6..
i'll stress on STPM...
tarc merit?
got the website?
03-05-2008, 07:37 PM
sadly, no:-(
but i already rayu...
bcos i really don 1 form 6..
i'll stress on STPM...
tarc merit?
got the website?
www.tarc.edu.my
currently i am not too sure about the merit scholarships whether it is applicable now...
i heard that it is overdue...as 12May will be the intake day..
runninghorse
03-05-2008, 09:06 PM
www.tarc.edu.my
currently i am not too sure about the merit scholarships whether it is applicable now...
i heard that it is overdue...as 12May will be the intake day..
Although it is overdue, you can still apply...
some of my friends just apply for a-level there recently(after deadline)
if u really interested, you can go to the main campus in setapak and register there, they will accept you... believe me
Yvonne90
04-05-2008, 10:34 AM
well, the new policy sounds too good to be true..but i agree ,there is no black and white..i still remember last year, they made a statement b4 saying tat as long as students managed to get str8 a1 in spm, they will give them scholarship regardless of their family background (if i rmbr correctly,it is stg like tat..anyone heard of it last year,correct me if i m wrong ),but after tat i din hear any news abt tat anymore,which i think they are not implementing it .Btw,if the policy is really true, does tat mean tat if i finish my form 6 and then i go study at any local u (eg.IMU to study pharmacy, dentistry or medic) the gov will also sponsor me..?
if u really interested, you can go to the main campus in setapak and register there, they will accept you... believe me
Do your friends know that TARC college is a dangerous place to go. The campus is in Setapak, KL. Lots of rape cases and robbery happened there and it happened to students as well. Recently I think two years ago, a student was killed by foreigners living nearby the place.
Just my opinion.
mitsukolyn
04-05-2008, 12:46 PM
but iheard tht the courses in TARC are not well-recognised..and many regretted going there...is it true??
04-05-2008, 12:55 PM
Do your friends know that TARC college is a dangerous place to go. The campus is in Setapak, KL. Lots of rape cases and robbery happened there and it happened to students as well. Recently I think two years ago, a student was killed by foreigners living nearby the place.
Just my opinion.
That's the reason my parents don't allow me to study there though I secure full scholarship there....besides , Tarc is not very good ( no offence ) , that's what I heard...So , I rather stay to study f6
runninghorse
04-05-2008, 01:54 PM
Just my opinion.
Thanks for your concern to my friends...:laugh
Yeah, he knows it very well and he once rejected to go to there too because of many cases happen there...
but later he change his mind... i personally think that he opt to study there because he want to run away from form 6 and it is cheaper to study there too... because he once told me that he is no longer confident that he can do well in stpm...
actually to avoid from form 6, i have considered before to study there too...
but after discussed with my parents, they prefer me to study stpm here in st paul negei sembilan... and the reason is the same:
THAT PLACE IS DANGEROUS!! Hahaha...:))
but iheard tht the courses in TARC are not well-recognised..and many regretted going there...is it true??
this is the perception of many people...
about how far is it true... i have no answer
i think many people have this perception is because UTAR and TARC's policy to accept almost every student who apply for it...
04-05-2008, 02:04 PM
For the policy last year, it was at least 10A1s and family income below RM1,500, that constitutes to about 250-300 Malaysians.
On this new policy, of giving full scholarships to students to study at IPTAs for those above 9As, it would not be causing too much burden of cost to government.
Tuition fee for a student studying for 4 years at IPTA is RM12,000 or less. Say add another RM20,000 for living cost and other expenses, that's RM32,000 per student.
This would effectively mean that for every 1 student that they sent abroad, they can sponsor 15-20 students at IPTA. So, the cost of increasing 500 JPA Overseas scholarships would be equivalent to sponsor 10,000 students to study at IPTA. With this, it can help improve quality of IPTAs too!
Ca3ine
04-05-2008, 02:15 PM
Actually it's very simple.Most Form 6 students have always been given some form of scholarship except those from premier schools.(dunnoe why,dun ask me)As for scholarships once you enter your undergraduate studies(local) has also been going on for some time.They will just pay for all your tuition fees,give you book allowances,give you extra spending money...preety much everything.You don't even have to apply for it.They will give it to you....except that you have to study locally la.:nod
PS:If the governments criteria is 9a's...:amazed so many students will be getting the scholarship.Where did all this money come from???And now even if we don't get the overseas scholarship it's hard to complain isn't it?
stupidboy
04-05-2008, 03:43 PM
This just complicate our lives. Changing the policies year after year.
The easiest way is to have free education for all Malaysians like what's happening in European countries(France, Germany, etc). This would not only help those who is poor but also those who live in urban areas. Who doesn't want free education? Everyone would have a chance to study.
As for scholarships later on, it could be given to those who really deserve it and the places should be limited to a smaller amount. Firstly, it's to have more fund for the free education and secondly, it's so that students will strive for the best just to get the scholarship. The competition will heat up with this and this will increase our educational level(what I mean here is that everyone will be cleverer).
Olataro
04-05-2008, 04:04 PM
>()< Its a scam...........that works.............Omg..........help!!!
red_onion
04-05-2008, 06:27 PM
For the policy last year, it was at least 10A1s and family income below RM1,500, that constitutes to about 250-300 Malaysians.
On this new policy, of giving full scholarships to students to study at IPTAs for those above 9As, it would not be causing too much burden of cost to government.
Tuition fee for a student studying for 4 years at IPTA is RM12,000 or less. Say add another RM20,000 for living cost and other expenses, that's RM32,000 per student.
This would effectively mean that for every 1 student that they sent abroad, they can sponsor 15-20 students at IPTA. So, the cost of increasing 500 JPA Overseas scholarships would be equivalent to sponsor 10,000 students to study at IPTA. With this, it can help improve quality of IPTAs too!
yurp i'm agree wit ya..
however, i'm still confius..do they sponsor us in d matriculation/form 6 too?? n if we get excellent results, we would b d one who were given such scholarship to study in local IPT's(for first degree)..is it?
anyone can make it clearer??
skyrainbow
04-05-2008, 07:42 PM
whiat's premier school?
does ipt tempatan oso include ipts?
like local branch campus of foreign uni?
ohyying
04-05-2008, 08:01 PM
whiat's premier school?
does ipt tempatan oso include ipts?
like local branch campus of foreign uni?
Premier school is basically a sch whereby they choose their students (mostly straight As students in UPSR)....n they are usually well-funded by the government...so in dat sense..premier schs usually have all sorts of facilities...on the side note...it's pretty competitive among the students...
As for the JPA new policy...they did mention about getting gud results in STPM....n managed to gain entrance into foreign uni with branches in Malaysia (eg. Nottingham, Swinburne, Monash etc.) and these students will be sponsored...but how far it's true...nobody noes....
just know this piece of news now. umm,kinda blur. so does it implies that almost all applicants will secure it?
blursylvia
06-05-2008, 05:16 PM
i really wonder where do our government find such a big amount of money to sponsor those scholars...there are more than 6000+++ 9As out there....
what we can do now is....wait until the details to be announced...
government policy is not valid until there is a "black and white" letters...
ohyying
06-05-2008, 06:14 PM
i really wonder where do our government find such a big amount of money to sponsor those scholars...there are more than 6000+++ 9As out there....
what we can do now is....wait until the details to be announced...
government policy is not valid until there is a "black and white" letters...
its way more than 6000+ 9 As.....there are 6000+ straight As....
heys , i jz called jpa today and they told me we do not need to do matrix or form 6 to enter foreign uni campus such as monash and nottingham etc. as long as u have 9a's and above , they'll give a full scholarship to you to study foundation and your degree. This was given to me by the officer in charge , so pls dun blast me . i'm jz saying what i know ^^. as for me , this is good news! ahahha
xinni
06-05-2008, 07:35 PM
heys , i jz called jpa today and they told me we do not need to do matrix or form 6 to enter foreign uni campus such as monash and nottingham etc. as long as u have 9a's and above , they'll give a full scholarship to you to study foundation and your degree. This was given to me by the officer in charge , so pls dun blast me . i'm jz saying what i know ^^. as for me , this is good news! ahahha
thanks for the information,by the way when are they going to carry this policy? I wonder how are we going to inform the foreign university campus about this policy or have they informed by the government? who shall we refer to ? the officer in charge again?
Yvonne90
06-05-2008, 09:33 PM
the problem now, how are we suppose to apply ..if we register for any local private U right now eg.Sunway ,Taylor,we will still hav to come out with our own money isn't it, unless we hav some prove to show the college abt the scholarship .........confused
actually , i 'm aiming to go to nottingham if i dont' get jpa or petronas overseas. they told me to show prove of offer letter from nottingham so i guess i'll have to apply first. the officer also said that u can pay first if needed and they'll pay u back. more info about this scholarship will be out mid this month , so no worries i guess , cuz foundation courses only start in june and there are no dead line for application and registration
ZhannaC
06-05-2008, 10:34 PM
Gee.. it almost sounds too good to be true..
Make that, it sounds too good to be true..
More information in Mid May, you say? Great =)
xinni
06-05-2008, 10:59 PM
actually , i 'm aiming to go to nottingham if i dont' get jpa or petronas overseas. they told me to show prove of offer letter from nottingham so i guess i'll have to apply first. the officer also said that u can pay first if needed and they'll pay u back. more info about this scholarship will be out mid this month , so no worries i guess , cuz foundation courses only start in june and there are no dead line for application and registration
oh REALLY?! yea, should have pay more attention to the newspapers from today onwards =) anyway which colleges or universities in our country are being consider as foreign universities campus? Is Taylor's being considered as one of them ? Is this scholarships mean to those applying for July intake? how about those who have already enrolled in the January intake? Thanks. Anyway if this is true then it's damn a GOOD news to all . =)
Yvonne90
06-05-2008, 11:19 PM
wat's the phone no for the jpa department?
. ..i want to phone the the officer to ask abt it too
google jpa and enter the link . contact no is there , jz tell them u want to talk to the scholarship dept , they'll transfer u. yea if u do get some info , pls post it here ya . thanks ^^
xinni
07-05-2008, 12:27 AM
please post it here as soon as possible as you have known the extra informations as i am so eargerly wanted to know , can't wait anymore. =P If you are kind enough , would you mind asking the officer are they going to sponsor the FULL tuition fees of the scholars and is allowances given ? thanks
OMG!!!! Is that really true. I see light in the dark tunnel, I see morning after long gloomy rainy nights, I see flowers blossoming during winter, I feel the warmth and radiant heat of the sun above after long cold harsh winter, I ear beautiful voices of angel of peace after centuries of war and havoc.
Is it true? Sounds tooooo good to be true but yet again it's a very damn good news.
07-05-2008, 12:50 AM
PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CHATTING PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
On the topic, I think it is a really kind gesture from JPA.
PLEASE REFRAIN FROM CHATTING PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
On the topic, I think it is a really kind gesture from JPA.
Sillyboy is right. Time to steer the boat in the right and suppose direction. Anyway regarding those questions by Gabrielle90 and lasvender, I have already PM to you both.:)
lasvender
07-05-2008, 01:07 AM
Sillyboy is right. Time to steer the boat in the right and suppose direction. Anyway regarding those questions by Gabrielle90 and lasvender, I have already PM to you both.:)
sorry one more question wat is PM?:oh
PM is Private messages which could be seen at the top right corner of the ReCom website. Click it and see the inbox, the private message is there.
overtherainbows
07-05-2008, 01:16 AM
yeah. even in the college i went to before, ATC -a law and business college, if u get 9As and above, you can get full scholarship straightaway.
runninghorse
07-05-2008, 09:05 AM
OMG!!!! Is that really true. I see light in the dark tunnel, I see morning after long gloomy rainy nights, I see flowers blossoming during winter, I feel the warmth and radiant heat of the sun above after long cold harsh winter, I ear beautiful voices of angel of peace after centuries of war and havoc.
Is it true? Sounds tooooo good to be true but yet again it's a very damn good news.
Hey Vaan.... nice poem... Hahaha:rofl
by the way, i tink it is a good move of jpa to 'console' those who are not so lucky to secure the overseas scholarship...
Aelean
07-05-2008, 09:09 AM
but wat about those who got called up for the interview?
im the minority that thinks dat the new policy sounds a little out
so have anyone called jpa to find out more details ? please post them here alright! ^^
Yvonne90
07-05-2008, 11:45 AM
i called but sadly they juz told me tat the scholarship belum ditawarkan lagi,juz go to their websites to find out more info..haha, but there is nothing in the website ...sob ..sob..
Quoted from NST (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/National/2233512/Article/index_html).
PUTRAJAYA: Parents seeking information on the government scholarships for students who scored at least 9As in last year's Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia can find it in major newspapers by the middle of the month.
The Public Service Department said it would take out advertisements with detailed information on the government scholarships.
A PSD official said those who had already started Form Six or matriculation could still apply for them.
"Students can also apply on-line but at the moment, the Internet forms are not ready.
"Information on how to apply online will also be mentioned in the newspaper advertisements.
Last Friday, Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan announced that the government had decided to increase the number of scholarships.
Since then, parents have bombarded the NST with phone calls seeking more information.
Some asked whether their their children studying in private universities and colleges were also eligible.
The initial announcement said those eligible were students who scored 9As and above in the 2007 SPM examination, regardless of economic background.
k3nth
09-05-2008, 01:13 AM
did u guys noticed something?
it writes PSD sponsors to those taking form six in "fully aided schools"
what does that mean?
does that mean that those students who are posted to study at mission schools such as
SMK La Salle and SMK Assunta which are partially aided by goverment
do not get that scholarship?
wouldn't this be discrimination?
anyone can kindly clear me on this, am going to go for Form six back at la salle, my former sch for 5 years
pls pls, im getting woried =\
Yvonne90
09-05-2008, 09:24 PM
did u guys noticed something?
it writes PSD sponsors to those taking form six in "fully aided schools"
what does that mean?
does that mean that those students who are posted to study at mission schools such as
SMK La Salle and SMK Assunta which are partially aided by goverment
do not get that scholarship?
wouldn't this be discrimination?
anyone can kindly clear me on this, am going to go for Form six back at la salle, my former sch for 5 years
pls pls, im getting woried =\
well, i guess almost everyone is as blur as u now since the jpa havent really come out with much details abt the scholarship..no1 can really giv u a sure answer now..i guess we juz hav to wait till next week and check out the newsppr for those details..and don worry , many ppl including myself r in the same terrible situation like u now..
insertusername
09-05-2008, 09:52 PM
This thread went from 5 stars to 2 stars real quick.
I haven't been following up on the news lately, anyone has any updated information regarding this scholarship? Now that jpa scholarship result is out, i'm sure many of those who failed will be looking forward to find out more about this...
yea true . i'm really hoping news about it will be released soon. and also really hoping i don't have to go thru form 6 in order to get that scholarhsip. hope they'll give me even tho i'm going for a foundation in nottingham
NEW UPDATE:
I am yet to get the link from NST.
Anyway, they say application will only start from early next month.
15-05-2008, 03:52 PM
yea, jpa will advertise it on newspaper next month... those who wish to get this scholarship must re-apply... that what the officer told my friend whenmy friend phoned jpa...
weird, in the recents letter by psd to the star, they only mentioned giving form 6 and matriculation going students scholarship, nothing about nottingham or monash like mentioned earlier....
sugarspice
15-05-2008, 08:42 PM
Fully Aided schools means SMK ONLY.
Too bad I am in SMJK.....:cry
SwEEt_HaPPy
15-05-2008, 09:02 PM
Fully Aided schools means SMK ONLY.
Too bad I am in SMJK.....:cry
i'm in SMJK too...
if this news is confirmed, means that we have to transfer to another school in order to get the scholarship?
sugarspice
15-05-2008, 09:04 PM
i'm in SMJK too...
if this news is confirmed, means that we have to transfer to another school in order to get the scholarship?
Oh, you think it's wise?
If I were you, I wont do that.
You can still apply for local uni and overseas uni after STPM.
I guess overseas unis are better than local private unis?
SwEEt_HaPPy
15-05-2008, 09:11 PM
Oh, you think it's wise?
If I were you, I wont do that.
You can still apply for local uni and overseas uni after STPM.
I guess overseas unis are better than local private unis?
yup, because transfer to a new school is not easy, waiting for the news anyway :)
for now just study hard for STPM :P
if i'm not mistaken, there is 10000 space for this scholarship. earlier article mention about students who manage to secure place in local campus of foreign uni are included, although recent articles doesn't mention that anymore. anyway, does that mean doing monash foundation for med in sunway will be sponsored? has anyone contacted jpa about this? because if i'm not mistaken, there was a post earlier which i cannot find anymore by someone who contacted jpa regarding this...please, can anyone shed some light on this matter...
wilson21
19-05-2008, 12:09 PM
yeah.. blur blur blur...
...??!! that means if we got the offer letter from Notthingham University Malaysia campus to do foundation,
then we will be offered JPA scholarships???
someone pls answer...
sugarspice
19-05-2008, 12:16 PM
For the details I think we should wait for the advert which will be coming out soon.
passer-by
19-05-2008, 12:36 PM
yeah.. blur blur blur...
...??!! that means if we got the offer letter from Notthingham University Malaysia campus to do foundation,
then we will be offered JPA scholarships???
someone pls answer...
Yes and No.
PETALING JAYA: The Public Service Department (PSD) will offer scholarships to all students who scored 9As in their SPM examinations last year, regardless of background, to study Form Six in fully-aided schools.
Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Sidek Hassan said students who do matriculation, including those in Universiti Malaya?s Science Preparatory Centre and International Islamic University?s matriculation programme, would also be offered scholarships.
These students will also be sponsored for their first degree if they do it in a local university, he said in a statement yesterday.
Sidek said the PSD would also sponsor such students if they obtained places in an Ivy League or equivalent university.
Top-scoring students who get a place in a Malaysian branch of a foreign university such as Monash University, Nottingham University, Curtin University of Technology and Swinburne Unversity will also be offered scholarships.
On top of this, Sidek said the PSD would offer scholarships to 2,000 students for overseas studies and a further 10,000 for studies in local universities.
He said the scholarships were being offered in line with the Government?s efforts to develop human capital.
He said the Government was aware that the number of high achievers is growing every year. Yet, not every student would have a chance to get Government sponsorship.
?As such, it has introduced the initiative to increase the number of scholarships where students of any background will be offered as long as they satisfy the SPM 9A score condition,? he said.
The move, Sidek added, would indirectly encourage these high achievers to further their education in local universities.
According to this which is quoted from The STAR, it says 'top-scoring students' , so, I reckon that means it's only applied for those who gt straight 1A. Anyway, the application will only be available by next month. Do check up for furthur details.
my questions.
1) from above,does this means another 2000 places for overseas degree?
2) how true they will sponsor ivy league if we manage to get it?
3) i thought form 6 is offered free for all,right? or they means they give us Pocket Money???
someone,please enlight me. thanks.
my questions.
1) from above,does this means another 2000 places for overseas degree?
No, not at all. The 2000 places are only for the PILN. That's it. And another 10000 for local IPTs.
2) how true they will sponsor ivy league if we manage to get it?
From what I have read from the NST yesterday (and runninghorse has posted it) if you are able to gain admission into those Ivy League, Oxbridge or Group of 8 universities they will. You have to remember that gaining entry into those universities are not easy. Thus, by showing that you have and able to gain a place, your results are good enough for a scholarship.
3) i thought form 6 is offered free for all,right? or they means they give us Pocket Money???
Yes, Form 6 is 'free' but you still have to pay the fees that the school has set i.e. PIBG, school magazine etc. The report did say they will sponsor students from Form 6 all the way to their first degree. I don't think pocket money will be given, but a scholarship will be given for you to pursue a course at a local university.
Hope that answers your question. But just keep an eye on news report, and not too mention the Press Statement that they're going to release later in June.
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 02:38 PM
Hope that answers your question. But just keep an eye on news report, and not too mention the Press Statement that they're going to release later in June.
Yupe... newspaper is a very good source of information especially at this critical moment where everything about jpa scholarship is still blur blur now...
you can read online newspapers too for information...
the star (http://www.thestar.com.my) and nst (http://www.nst.com.my) website have the search function too somewhere in the corner...
just key in the related keyword like 'psd' or 'jpa' and every piece of news articles regarding the issue will pop up in front of your screen...
khuanoz
19-05-2008, 05:22 PM
Below is an article which offers more insight into JPA's offer for 'scholarship' for form6 students =)
Sunday May 18, 2008
PSD: High-achievers have to compete for scholarships
By HARIATI AZIZAN and
KUALA LUMPUR: The Government cannot afford to offer all high-achievers a scholarship for overseas studies, said the Public Services Department (PSD).
?The most common misunderstanding is that academic excellence will guarantee them scholarship. However, the fact is that many excellent students have to compete for a limited number of scholarships and those awarded will be the 'cream of the crop',? said PSD Director-General Tan Sri Ismail Adam in an e-mail interview with Sunday Star.
This past week saw many disgruntled high achievers who had their application for PSD scholarships under its Foreign Degree Programme rejected.
Only 2,000 scholarships were available for studies abroad but a total of 15,217 applications were received, out of which 7,253 were called for interview.
PSD advised those who had failed there to apply for a scholarship under its local programme. A total of 10,000 scholarships for local programmes will be on offer online next month, but many students, especially the non-Malays, are worried about their chances.
On Friday, MIC secretary-general Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam said all students who score 10A1s and above in the SPM examination should automatically be offered PSD scholarships after some 140 top students who failed to clinch a scholarship under the Foreign Degree Programme approached him for support.
Ismail, however, stressed that scholarships are a privilege provided by the government rather than a right, highlighting how the growing number of students obtaining straight As in their SPMover the years has made it tougher for the Government to select deserving recipients for PSD scholarships.
According to a PSD source, the trend of students doing more than 12 subjects for their SPM has also pushed the academic criteria up.
This year, for example, although the criteria set was lower, in the selection process, the committee had to push their academic criteria to a minimum of 13A1 in their selection process.
Subramaniam, who is also Human Resources Minister, said the lack of transparency in the awarding of scholarships was a problem, as some students alleged bias towards bumiputra students.
PSD denied the allegations saying 1,100 scholarships for overseas study went to bumiputras and 900 to non-bumiputras this year.
Ismail also said that students who obtained 9As in the 2007 SPM examination were eligible for an automatic local scholarship to pursue Form 6 right up to a degree at a local university or institution of higher learning.
->the original article can be found in
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/18/nation/21290555&sec=nation
->the possible chinese version can be found in chinapress and sinchew daily..below is a probable link to the one in sinchew
http://opinions.sinchew-i.com/node/5663?tid=16
So in a nutshell, there's a local scholarship available next month, 10k up for grabs and there's also form6-going on-local uni programme for those who dont get them =)
khuanoz
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This here is another article i found as i 'crawled' the net as suggested by runninghorse..its quite long so you mite want to take a deep breath, wash your eyes and perhaps on the lights if the lighting is poor before you start =)
original article can be found here..complete with a picture!
-> http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/SundayInterview/20080518093243/Article/index_html
NST Online ? SundayInterview
2008/05/18
What it takes to get a PSD scholarship
By : ANIZA DAMIS
Public Service director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam says society?s perception of the civil service is due to personal experiences
Brilliant school-leavers: there's good news and there's bad news. The bad news is, 9 A1s may not be enough to get you a Public Service Department scholarship to study overseas. The competition is stiff and the application is over-subscribed by over 700 per cent. The good news is, you can still apply for a scholarship to study locally, and it's quite easy to get. ANIZA DAMIS speaks to Public Service director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam.
Q: Can you explain the PSD scholarship offer to all students who get 9As?
A: Sometimes, the press provides a certain perspective that can be misunderstood by honest people, like on May 2 when the chief secretary issued a statement which says, among others, that students who got 9As in the 2007 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia exam will be offered scholarships, from Form Six until the first degree, locally.
Q: Locally?
A: That was the statement.
The PSD offers two kinds of scholarships. One is for the overseas degree programme and the other is for the local degree programme.
On May 11, we published on our website the results of people who have succeeded in getting the overseas scholarship.
The overseas programme is very competitive. The criteria is 70 points for academic excellence, 10 points for interview, 10 points for family economic background and 10 points for co-curricular activities.
But after the announcement, you see in another English daily a lot of people complaining the government promised that those with 9As can get scholarship. Nine 9As is for local studies. Not foreign.
For the foreign degree programme, you may get 11 A1s. This means you get 70 marks for academic excellence. But you may lose out in the other 30 points.
You may lose out if your father earns RM50,000 a month ? you?ll probably get two points out of 10.
If you get 11 A1s and your father is earning RM3,000 a month and you want to do engineering or medicine, probably you?ll get it.
So, academic excellence alone does not guarantee a scholarship.
That newspaper said students with 12 A1s and 11 A1s are not getting the scholarship. But that 11 A1s only qualifies you for 70 per cent (of the evaluation score).
Q: Just how competitive is it?
A: For the overseas degree programme, we have 2,000 places.
Q: And how many applicants did you get for the 2,000 scholarships?
A: More than 15,000. And of this, half ? 7,500 ? made the cut.
Q: How did you filter them?
A: If you want to do medicine, you must have at least A2 for biology. If you get B3, you?re out. You should refer to our website for some details. That?s how they get screened out.
The 7,500 who are fighting for the 2,000 places get full marks for academic excellence.
For co-curricular activities, if you are just a member (of a society), it?s not enough. Other students represent the country, so surely they will get 10 points. Being a school prefect may get you five points.
And then, the interview. Sometimes, an academically good student may not perform well in an interview. We ask questions to assess their level of general knowledge. Let?s say, ?What is your opinion of the development of sports in Malaysia?? If you don?t read the newspaper, you won?t know that our football team is number 140-whatever in the world ranking.
They will get two or three students to discuss the issues (in front of the interviewers) and we will observe. We are going to spend a lot of money on these students. So, they are our investment.
If we don?t get good students (it will be a waste). Even then, out of the 2,000, there will be some failures; as with any other investment.
Q: How do we get these students to come back after they?ve completed their studies?
A: We have a contract and (if they don?t come back) they have to pay.
Before 2003, if you broke your bond, you or your guarantor had to pay. The amount was less than what was spent on you. But now, the penalty is the actual cost (of what was spent on the student).
So, before this, if you were doing medicine, you had to pay RM160,000, which is less than a year?s scholarship. We spend RM1.2 million for each medical student.
But over 90 per cent of our students come back. The ones who don?t come back are mostly medical students. If they don?t come back, we get their guarantors.
Q: How many students have applied for local scholarships?
A: We will only open the applications in June. For local studies, we don?t have much of a problem. We offer 10,000 scholarships. And it?s not that popular. This is a trend we have noticed.
Local education is highly subsidised, unless you do medicine.
If you do economics or law, it?s not that expensive. But if you take a government scholarship, you?ve got to serve the government for five years.
So, some of these students get their fathers to pay. Then they don?t have to serve the government. That?s why it?s easier to get (the scholarship) because it?s not so competitive.
The requirement for a local scholarship is 80 points for academic excellence and 20 points for parents? economic background. That?s all. And you must have secured a place in a local university.
It must be a critical subject. We don?t give scholarships for every subject. It?s medicine, engineering, dentistry, economics, law, psychology and so on.
Q: What about the case of K. Kamine Devi from Sitiawan, who had 10 A1s and who had applied for a scholarship to study medicine overseas, and didn?t get a scholarship? And she did not get a place for matriculation in a local university. So, what does a person have to do to get a PSD scholarship?
A: There are also others besides PSD. There?s Tenaga Nasional Bhd, Mara, Petronas and other companies that a student can apply to.
The foreign degree programme has 2,000 places, as mentioned earlier. This is for critical areas like medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, engineering, biotechnology and selective social sciences. And the criteria is 70,10,10,10.
Then we have local scholarships. Beginning this year, those who have 9As and are in Form Six or matriculation are eligible for sponsorship right through their first degree. If they don?t get into university, that?s it. It ends at Form Six or matriculation.
There is another avenue, but it is a longer road. From this year, any Malaysian who gets into an Ivy League university (in the United States) or Oxford and Cambridge (in Britain) or the Group of Eight in Australia, will be sponsored by the government, but again, in specified fields of study.
If you didn?t do well in SPM, you still have a chance. Do A-Levels and work your butt off and get into Harvard, and a scholarship will be waiting for you.
There?s another package. If you get into a local foreign university (a foreign university that has a Malaysian campus) ? Nottingham, Monash, Curtin and Swinburne ? you are also eligible for a PSD scholarship.
So, there are a lot of avenues.
Of course, the ?jewel? is the foreign degree programme.
I was told by the Education Ministry that 6,262 students scored straight As last year. The competition is great.
A mother emailed me that the son did well but didn?t get a PSD scholarship. So I called her. I found out that her son is a pure science student but wants to do accountancy. He didn?t do accounting in Form Five.
I told her to check with her son whether he would consider doing engineering. But he refused. So, since he is doing his A-Levels, I told him to do it very well and go to an Ivy League university, and we will sponsor him. So, that is what he is targeting now.
The alternatives are there, as never before.
Q: What about post-graduate studies? The PSD only offers scholarships for post-graduate studies to graduates who are first degree PSD scholars.
A: I know. Somebody complained. We have an excellence programme for PSD scholars who do well (first-class) in areas that the government requires.
But we also have the Agong?s Scholarship for a dozen people.
This is for the cr?me de la cr?me. We get special people to do the selecting. It?s for Malaysians studying locally or abroad.
First-class is the basic requirement. They can go anywhere in the world. They get double the allowance.
One day, a deputy minister called me: ?Please help me. My daughter applied for the Agong?s Scholarship. She?s first-class.?
I said: ?YB, everybody (applying) is first-class.?
If they are successful, they get a letter from the king. They have an audience with the king. If you look at them, you know they are brilliant. Not everybody can talk to the king without stammering.
The selection process is very tough. And when they come back, they don?t have to work for the government. But they have to work for the country.
khuanoz
19-05-2008, 08:55 PM
did the above scholarships apply to matri students too?
princessanicole
19-05-2008, 08:58 PM
yeah, of course. form 6 and matriculation
19-05-2008, 09:02 PM
yeah, of course. form 6 and matriculation
but from wat i read at the report on newspaper ,it didnt state tat matri but just form 6? doubt it..
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 09:08 PM
Yes... it is applicable to matriculation student as well...
This is the details of the scholarship, as highlighted by The Star
Full quotation of it is as follow:-
-----
PSD scholarships for SPM students with 9As
19-05-2008, 09:12 PM
Did the scholarships are in terms of allowance or just tuition fees waiver?
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 09:17 PM
Did the scholarships are in terms of allowance or just tuition fees waiver?
well... nobody knows that until they release a press statement about the details of this local scholarship...
sugarspice
22-05-2008, 03:59 PM
Is there any bond for the JPA local scholarship by the way?