View Full Version : Caning

28-04-2004, 10:11 PM
http://202.186.86.35/news/story.asp?file=/2004/4/28/nation/7862387&newspage=Search

The National Union of Teaching Profession(NUTP) recently proposed that teachers should be given the power to cane students in an effort to address the issues of truancy and gangsterism. What do you think? Does violence begets violence or is caning really a better way to curb such problems?

SpRInG
28-04-2004, 10:37 PM
No, i don't think canning is the solution to the problem, and neither can canning reduce the gravity of this problem.

I think it may just only be a way for teachers to get 'even' with notorious students... the teachers are simply scared of the students involved in gangsterism and so on..

but anyway, that's only my view

28-04-2004, 11:16 PM
I think it may just only be a way for teachers to get 'even' with notorious students... the teachers are simply scared of the students involved in gangsterism and so on..

Get even? Are you saying that teachers are resorting to caning just to revenge or to vent their anger? The way you put it put every teacher in a very bad light. It is as though all of them are slightly mentally unhinged...

Well, I do realise that there are teachers who might misuse the cane for even the slightest misdemeanor. As you all know, teachers are under tremendous pressure nowadays and with the never-ending paper work...

28-04-2004, 11:54 PM
I have a friend from Chinese primary school. She told me that everytime she make a silly mistake in her mathematics subject, her teacher will hit her knuckles straightaway with a ruler. The reason she told me this? I was wondering why she never make any silly mistakes in all our Mathematics, Additional Mathematics and Physics papers....hehe...

29-04-2004, 12:50 AM
Take it from me. The cane does work, and it works miracles I tell you. As a prefect at my school, I have a very clear viewpoint on this. The ministry rules stating that teachers can't cane students has made the troublemakers at school even more bold. They don't listen to us nor the teachers anymore because they know they won't be punished even if they break all the rules in the rulebook. Demerit and similar stuff don't work either cause it doesn't really affect or matter to them. Get 50 demerit points and the most the school can do is give them a 'gantung sekolah' notice, which is something like giving them a school sanctioned holiday.

But when certain teachers use the cane...I tell you, these people will l be reformed right on the spot. No more swearing, no more cursing, no more spitting and no more banging tables. Perhaps you may argue that physical punishments are not the way to go in this modern, more civilized envonment, but believe me, when you're given the task of enforcing the rules with your hands tied behind your backs, you'll learn to greatly appreciate the use of physical punishments.

29-04-2004, 01:10 AM
No student should be Caned. The risk of emotionally hurting a child is greater then to actually help disipline them. The posibility that the child is also an abused children would put a deeper scar in the childs mind. Humiliating a young child or a teenager is not what teachers are paid for. This is absurd and i wonder who the hell is running the show in Malaysia.

Teeachers who resorts to punishing their students physically needs to be fired and locked up. If tere's a problem in school you call the parents. Send them to a counsellor. If its gangsterism call the cops.

SpRInG
29-04-2004, 01:15 AM
yea, i agree with Thirdshifter.... teachers are not paid to cane students..... they are paid to educate students..... or has the new definition of education changed, to include canning as well? if it's gangsterism, call the police.

We should give the right case to the right people... like what i've said, teachers probably are trying to 'get even' with the student, by having the right to cane students.

29-04-2004, 02:16 AM
Teeachers who resorts to punishing their students physically needs to be fired and locked up. If tere's a problem in school you call the parents. Send them to a counsellor. If its gangsterism call the cops.

depends on what u mean by physical punishment. If it is physical abuse then the teacher should be punished. But i think caning is essential, may be just as a prohibition to other students. though it will not work with hard core juveniles......and most problematic kids come from families who do not care about their education anyway...wats the use of calling up the parents when they do not care?

wawa
29-04-2004, 02:53 AM
Different people respond to different type of punishments, some respond to certain punishment while others might not.
While caning certainly doesn't have good effects on the extremely sensitive person, its quite effective on certian types of people.

29-04-2004, 03:56 AM
What I suggest is caning is only being done by the authority of the schools, not the teachers... It could be in the form of public caning or "private (sorry, can't find other terms) " caning... What USSDefiantNX74205 said here is true . . . It's hard to change the delinquents unless they feel the "pain" for their crude behaviors. . . And I doubt that councelling actually helps . . . However, caning rights shouldn't be given to just any teachers because, as what Spring is concerned of, the teacher canes out of anger, not with a concious mind that the student needs to learn how to behave . . . Thus, the teacher should give the names of those whom she/he thinks ought to be caned to the school authority and present her case to be viewed by the authority and let them decide . . .

yea, i agree with Thirdshifter.... teachers are not paid to cane students..... they are paid to educate students.....

Isn't making a good student out of a bad one is educating the student as well? Educating is not merely passing on information or knowledge, but discipline and moral as well. . . I think caning is more to a "physical" form of educating moral and discipline . . .

if it's gangsterism, call the police.

Hmmm. . . I think this is not really helping the student . . . If the student is caned, perhaps there's a chance that he/she will realize her mistake and turn over a new leaf . . . If he/she does not do that, then the police shall be called . . . However, reporting the matter right away to the police will only jeopardize their future . . . Their names will be blacklisted right away into the police's record without a chance to repent . . . Thus, this will make life more miserable to the student . . .

Send them to a counsellor

Sometimes words are not that effective unless they "makan" their own chilies . . . And realizing that their "chilies" from their behavior will be too big for them to handle in their near future (obviously delinquency will lead to gangsterism and others), the teachers give them a lighter version of "chilies" to them with every hope that they will realize their misbehaves and try their best to become less troublesome students...

The risk of emotionally hurting a child is greater then to actually help disipline them

Shouldn't the student realize the consequences of his/her misbehaves? And of course the teachers should be perspicacious about the trouble-making students . . . Though it's not compulsory, teachers, if can, should be able to identify if there's something wrong with the student . . . However, the role of teachers wanes to just going to school and teaching the students only the syllabus related to the subjects . . .

29-04-2004, 05:54 AM
teachers ask the students to do things by the book, but they dont. when they rotan us, they dont do it by the book (most of the time). according to the guidelines, a teacher can't rotan a student like hitting a baseball. but that's what they do. and when teachers do that, it's ok. damn.

29-04-2004, 03:00 PM
hmm...if someone canes me, i'll be more and more rebellious and create more trouble than before as a way to get back to this ppl.

caning doesn't work for me.

suhana
29-04-2004, 03:10 PM
Understanding is always the best way to solve problem. Try to understand the situation and think of the best solution.

SpRInG
29-04-2004, 05:57 PM
Understanding is always the best way to solve problem. Try to understand the situation and think of the best solution.

i agree.... but still, about the authority of canning given to ordinary teachers, i disagree totally. this responsibility should be given to disciplinary teachers.

well elansargelmir, if we don't give them to the police, will they taste their own 'chilly'? And if we don't, what is the use of policeman? Patung? And the students should really realize at the very first place of the consequences of being involved in gangsterism. There's always a price to pay. Well, they deserve it if they are blacklisted, but this doesn't mean that they are not given a second chance, right? There is always a second chance, depending on the individual himself.

29-04-2004, 06:30 PM
i agree.... but still, about the authority of canning given to ordinary teachers, i disagree totally. this responsibility should be given to disciplinary teachers.

y r u so anti-caning? is it because u're always caned by your teacher last time? (i'm just making an assumption here. so dun get angry.) caning is ok as long as the teachers do not abuse their powers. i find parents nowadays pampered their children 2 much. a little bit of physical punishment won't do any harm. fuming with anger & with a heart of vengeance, some parents even go 2 skool 2 scold the teacher in front of a big bunch of students just becoz he or she caned their children on the palm. the way the parents present themselves is as if the teacher has slain their children.

if caning is banned, teachers no longer have authority over the students thus aggravating the already serious discipline problems further.

gesar
29-04-2004, 08:40 PM
well, caning is not a bad idea cos sometimes...SOMETIMES, for certain people it may work but this solution clearly do not work for everyone...for those rebellious students might end up finding more faults with the school rules or worst, create problem with the teacher who caned them...

29-04-2004, 09:09 PM
for those rebellious students might end up finding more faults with the school rules or worst
what do you mean?

29-04-2004, 09:13 PM
well elansargelmir, if we don't give them to the police, will they taste their own 'chilly'? And if we don't, what is the use of policeman? Patung? And the students should really realize at the very first place of the consequences of being involved in gangsterism. There's always a price to pay. Well, they deserve it if they are blacklisted, but this doesn't mean that they are not given a second chance, right? There is always a second chance, depending on the individual himself.

Hmm... But that's not how the society views those who have been reported to the police before . . . Hmm... If you know that your son's friend was reported to the police before, will you allow him to befriend him? But if that guy is being caned, at least you won't be that far-fetched to stop your son from befriending him, rite? Just my 2 cents . . .

And if we don't, what is the use of policeman?

So you are assuming that policemen have no other tasks except to catch school gangsters?

Easy for you to say... Have you ever try to discipline a delinquent student before?

hmm...if someone canes me, i'll be more and more rebellious and create more trouble than before as a way to get back to this ppl.

Hmm... Why would someone want to cane you unless you warrant for it? No offense, but are you LOA (Lack of Attention)? If not, why go all the way to make an offense which will include caning as a penalty?

Look, i don't think caning is that bad after all . . . It's not that teachers will cane the students if they don't do their homework . . . That would be too far-fetched and the teacher can be sued as abusing their caning rights . . . For those who think that counselling will work, think twice. Coz if they are stubborn, they would harden their heart and all they do is to stare at the fan while you are trying to talk to them . . .

29-04-2004, 09:24 PM
well, caning is not a bad idea cos sometimes...SOMETIMES, for certain people it may work but this solution clearly do not work for everyone...for those rebellious students might end up finding more faults with the school rules or worst, create problem with the teacher who caned them...

I believe if proper procedures are taken, let's say issue a warning to the student ("Don't say I didn't warn you"), I think the student will be more responsible for his actions cause he knows that he will be caned if he continues his misbehave and this shows that teachers are not caning just to vent their anger on the student . . . And the teacher would pass this matter to the higher authority to decide if the student deserve the caning punishment . . .

if caning is banned, teachers no longer have authority over the students thus aggravating the already serious discipline problems further.

Do not assume all students are guai guai chai ... Zaitsev is right . . . Not only teachers no longer have the authority over the students, the students lose respect to their teachers . . .

29-04-2004, 11:02 PM
One argument against caning is that violence begets violence. For students involve in gangsterism or fighting, caning them only show that violence is a mean for them to get things done their way.

As for counseling, it is a well-known fact that our country's counseling system if far from being perfect. Our couselors lack the appropriate qualifications and their functions are seldom made known(they might be, but not to be extent that students view it as an plausible way to solve their conflicts) to students and parents.

SpRInG
29-04-2004, 11:25 PM
If i were the parents, I would definitely not allow the ordinary teachers to can my child...

29-04-2004, 11:33 PM
caning shouldn't be banned in my view. it's all depend on how the teachers utilize this 'advantage' on their students.Afterall everything that teachers do r for students.

29-04-2004, 11:53 PM
Easy for you to say... Have you ever try to discipline a delinquent student before?

Spot on, ElansarGelmir. Seriously, have any of you who are against caning tried disciplining students before (especially the terribly insolent ones)? There was this one time in my school when these students knew they won't be caned and wreaked havoc in the canteen almost everyday. Prefect numbers had to be doubled there just so everyone can have a peaceful meal and everytime a fight breaks out, I have to remind myself that I'm not in Somalia. Trust me, there ARE thing you have to see just to believe.

On the issue of teachers trying to get even with students by caning them, I believe such incidents are perhaps rare and far between. Most teachers are adults after all and probably have more rationale and self restraint than to cane students for simple things like wearing colored socks or not doing their homework. Besides, I think the ban on caning is more of a bureaucratic move to avoid controversy and lawsuits being thrown at the govt and teachers. I still remember reading about a case in the newspapers where a teacher slapped one of his students for being insolent. The victim's parents immediately made a complaint to the govt, MOE and press. I'll leave you to think who is the ultimate and unfortunate victim in this case. The teacher or the student?

Counselling, like chiunlin said, isn't really an option as our counsellors are far from qualified to handle troubled students. Besides, the hardcore ones simply will not listen. I mean why should they? Assuming that I punch another student and all I get is a session with my dear counsellor, why wouldn't I do it again? After all, the only thing I'll be given is yet another counselling session! Violence will not beget violence. Students caned at school know very well that they are justly caned for the offences that they are committing. They wouldn't even equate it to the mindless violence in gangfights which are mostly caused by disputes among students.

Do not assume all students are guai guai chai ... Zaitsev is right . . . Not only teachers no longer have the authority over the students, the students lose respect to their teachers . . .

Another point I agree with. No more caning means no more authority and hence no more control over students, as methods like counselling, demerit points or 'gantung sekolah' don't work. Teachers lose respect as a consequence. One more thing to ponder over:

If this is really you, then I have real doubts in your logic and rationality. Are you saying that when you're punished for something you did wrong, all you can think of is revenge? I know most deliquent students do when they are caned, but they do not dare exact revenge because they are afraid of even bigger consequences (heavier caning is one of them). Besides, when they have cooled down, they'll probably reflect on their actions and realize that they are wrong after all and deserved to be punished. Certainly a better way than giving them hour long sessions in a confortable room right? Heck, like I said. If that's all they get for committing an offense, then they'd probably do it again since the consequences are so small.

30-04-2004, 03:41 AM
As for counseling, it is a well-known fact that our country's counseling system if far from being perfect. Our couselors lack the appropriate qualifications and their functions are seldom made known(they might be, but not to be extent that students view it as an plausible way to solve their conflicts) to students and parents.
i donno that fact. please show me the evidence.

30-04-2004, 03:56 AM
Counselling, like chiunlin said, isn't really an option as our counsellors are far from qualified to handle troubled students.

Malaysia's counselling teachers are not as dedicated as the ones in the States, i believe . . . They don't really care how is your progress or what you do after the counsellings . . . What they know is - you got into trouble, and i'm here to help you to solve your problem . . . And after this session, I believe you are a better person and you won't misbehave again. They don't make a point to check on how the student is doing, or try to find out about the student's background except getting informations from the students themselves... And that is if the students are telling the truth...

Let's not look at the flaws of the counselling... Imagine that you are the counseller, and in front of you, there's this student who just yelled some eleptives at his teacher... You tried talking to him, but he stoned himself.... You asked him questions, trying to be as polite as possible, and yet he just stared on the beautiful clock hanging on your wall, wordless... You tried persuading him to answer at least one question . . . And yet all you receive is silence.... Hmmm... you're wasting your time, you told yourself . . . But you did not give up. You still tried talking to him, and tried making him talk to you... Finally, he got so annoyed, he screamed at you and stomped out of the room.... Yeah, so what are you going to do? Words don't help much, if the student do want to listen to it... He can choose to reject your words, coz it's his ears and brain, but he can't refuse the pain by your cane....

30-04-2004, 04:01 AM
There was this one time in my school when these students knew they won't be caned and wreaked havoc in the canteen almost everyday. Prefect numbers had to be doubled there just so everyone can have a peaceful meal and everytime a fight breaks out, I have to remind myself that I'm not in Somalia. Trust me, there ARE thing you have to see just to believe.

Yeah, something like that happened in my school . . . What's worse is because the fight involved Form 4 and Form 5 (we shared the same recess time), and the students are not supposed to be caned, the school switched the time tables so that both batch's recess time won't clash... Kind of troublesome for the rest of us... And imagine us prefects - whoa ... we're supposed to be diplomatic with those hooligans. We can only try to talk things out with them so that they won't fight .... Very tough, and life threatenning.......

30-04-2004, 09:13 AM
Malaysia's counselling teachers are not as dedicated as the ones in the States, i believe . . . They don't really care how is your progress or what you do after the counsellings . . . What they know is - you got into trouble, and i'm here to help you to solve your problem . . . And after this session, I believe you are a better person and you won't misbehave again. They don't make a point to check on how the student is doing, or try to find out about the student's background except getting informations from the students themselves

YOU'RE WRONG, YOU'RE DAMN WRONG, WRONG, WRONG AND NOTHING BUT WRONG.

stop generalizing things dude.
not all counselors suck.
I had the best memories of my life with my school counselor.
She came to my life when I sucked at studies. I failed Add. Math, Physics and Chem throughout form 4 and the beginning of F5. I completely changed when i met her. I wouldn't have got a scholarship if not because of her help. She kept on monitoring my progress. She talked to my teachers about me (with my consent). She made me stay out of trouble. I had no disciplinary case since I became her client. She changed me man. After she left my school, she's still in touch with me, until now, because she cares. She was there through all my ups and downs. She's the bestest friend of mine in the whole wide world. She's damn good. Soo damn good. She dedicates her life to help others. She spent so much time at school, she always came home late. Too tired to do anything else.
And when you say that Malaysia's counselors are not reliable, you're damn wrong man. Maybe some, or most counselors are like that. But not all of them.

I'm sorry if I'm too angry. I just dont like anybody to say bad things directly or indirectly about someone i love.

30-04-2004, 12:12 PM
And imagine us prefects - whoa ... we're supposed to be diplomatic with those hooligans. We can only try to talk things out with them so that they won't fight .... Very tough, and life threatenning.......

Hehehe...life as a prefect...I remember that! Being diplomatic didn't actually work in my school. We went undercover! Hehehe... I guess sometimes it's easier to control misbehaviours when you are one of 'the gang'. Come to think of it, I actually made good friends with many of the school trouble makers. And now when I bump into them in shopping malls or the cinema, they still come up to me to say hi. That's really nice 8)

30-04-2004, 12:21 PM
However you try to spin it, there's no justification of caning students. Students that don't belong to schools shoudl be expelled. Sometimes it takes experience in the real world for them to grow up. When they are ready they for school we should greet them and give them the education they want to pursue.

Counselling is the best work around for troubled students. If you disagree look at UK, US, Japan where hitting students is unacceptable. If they could do wonders to their students why can't Malaysian? Because people like you and the student council wants a shortcut in everything. It might work for a good 2 minutes but after that as we all can generally agree our schools sytem stinks.

Ever wonder why a lot of Malaysians go to US, UK and Japan to futher their studies?

30-04-2004, 01:03 PM
not trying to impress anyone here...but heh...i was one of those troublemakers at school. Not that school sucks..i love my school, but there are some things..that pissed me off like real bad. being in a boarding school, you get kinda suffocated surrounded by too many ppl 24/7 a week..

anyway, caning...it nvr works for me..believe me..i don't want punishment..i just want ot be heard out...Like Diesel said, he loves his counsellor..i wish i could say the same. I was sent to the school councellor a lot of times...having problems w studying etc..but i dunno..don't think it helped much..it later become an escapism..when i didn't wanna go for prep..i'd run to his office n spend the time talking bout crappy stuff..

That aside, let's look at the situation in Msia like, 50 years ago..we hv like, "Cikgu, saya serahkan anak saya pada cikgu. buatlah apa cikgu nak buat untuk ajar anak saya, pukullah kalau nak pukul, jgn sampai patah sudah laa..." and well..hv to say, our adults are kinda well-behaved...

but then again..mebbe not..hmmm

30-04-2004, 02:20 PM
Malaysia's counselling teachers are not as dedicated as the ones in the States, i believe . . . They don't really care how is your progress or what you do after the counsellings . . . What they know is - you got into trouble, and i'm here to help you to solve your problem . . . And after this session, I believe you are a better person and you won't misbehave again. They don't make a point to check on how the student is doing, or try to find out about the student's background except getting informations from the students themselves

YOU'RE WRONG, YOU'RE DAMN WRONG, WRONG, WRONG AND NOTHING BUT WRONG.

stop generalizing things dude.
not all counselors suck.

Ok, sorry for the generalization... Didn't realize i didn't put in the word MOST teachers... Yeah, there are a few exceptions... But I do believe that not all counsellers are as dedicated as your teacher... You are one lucky dude to know her... Hehe, can you help me to tell her that I revere her commitment to her work. But hey, even budak kerek agrees that her counselling didn't really work for her except that it's an asylum for her :P

being in a boarding school, you get kinda suffocated surrounded by too many ppl 24/7 a week

Hey, I understand how you feel ... Even I'm one of those trouble makers in school, albeit i was a prefect [malu]. Even now in Cemara, I just don't bother to follow certain ridiculous rule, especially the dress code. However, I believe that these are trivial matters that only worth some warnings and remindings... If they dare to cane me, of course I would have make a big fuss over it. Teachers do not just simply cane students just for the sake of caning. There must be a strong reason for them to do so. It depends on the degree of your offense... However, i still believe that caning should be handled by the school authority, not just any teachers... if meet with a ferocious teacher, habis lar the student... Hehe...

30-04-2004, 02:26 PM
hmmm..thanks Elansar..feels like i've met a kindred spirit hehe

anyway, you kinda make me think...whetheri should be a teacher or not..i mean..i might end up strangling my naughty students...except maybe not..if they are cute...hmmm :twisted: LOL

I was a prefect when i was in primary school, and malu to say, i was kinda garang haha..i mean, i can't langgar the rules (which is SO not me) so i didn't allow others to do that too..hehe.... :oops:

30-04-2004, 02:30 PM
Counselling is the best work around for troubled students. If you disagree look at UK, US, Japan where hitting students is unacceptable. If they could do wonders to their students why can't Malaysian? Because people like you and the student council wants a shortcut in everything. It might work for a good 2 minutes but after that as we all can generally agree our schools sytem stinks.

Why can't Malaysia? I didn't say Malaysia's counselling teachers can't, it's just perhaps most of them aren't there yet. Please do remember that not all students are like you guys who are willing to listen... They can just shut their ears, mind and heart. So weeks of counselling won't help either.

That aside, let's look at the situation in Msia like, 50 years ago..we hv like, "Cikgu, saya serahkan anak saya pada cikgu. buatlah apa cikgu nak buat untuk ajar anak saya, pukullah kalau nak pukul, jgn sampai patah sudah laa..." and well..hv to say, our adults are kinda well-behaved...

Of course now we are more civilised and don't just slam the student to the wall or whack until his teeth come out... That was 50 years ago... However, as i've said, and i'm repeating myself, if the student deserves the cane, he should get the cane... Unless there are more effective ways to change him and make him realize his mistake.

30-04-2004, 02:35 PM
hmmm..thanks Elansar..feels like i've met a kindred spirit hehe

anyway, you kinda make me think...whetheri should be a teacher or not..i mean..i might end up strangling my naughty students...except maybe not..if they are cute...hmmm :twisted: LOL

I was a prefect when i was in primary school, and malu to say, i was kinda garang haha..i mean, i can't langgar the rules (which is SO not me) so i didn't allow others to do that too..hehe.... :oops:

The worst part of being prefect is that you are trapped between the school and your friends, who happen to be the trouble makers (it's not that they are, but it's just they want something happening). So the best thing, for me, is just sek zho (in cantonese, it means pandai-pandai buat) ... Have you ever walked into the toilet (coz of nature called), and you happened to find 8 students (notorious in your school), smoking there, staring at you just as you walked into the toilet? Whoa, my heart was like THUMPING real hard.... Hey, I had my prefect badge and tie with me that time... Makes me very vulnerable, coz there's no one else, except me, and them...

30-04-2004, 02:47 PM
i remember in primary school, i sent one boy to the hospital (not literally laa hehe) coz i hit him so hard in the chest that he can't breathe..and i was a prefect at that time....*who told em to pick a fight w me hahaha*

And the teachers said making me a prefect is supposed to make me more responsible..haha

in secondary school, i went into the boy's loo, and did some crazy other stuff *no need to mention here...pecah rahsia hehe* even though i was in "pemerhatian" hehehe..that was like crazy enough..i mean, if you were caught:

1. instant bad reputation
2. get called (again) by discpln teacher
3. boys look at you one kind
4. girls talk bout you

and other unspeakable consequences..hehe..

*hmm..now Taufiq knows my rahsia already..haiyooo*

---> recently my juniors here in college wanted to interview me to ask bout my past experience as a "gangster" + "juvenile delinquent" in skool. i was like, "oo...buli sket sket tu, kira gangsterisme ke? hehehe...(with my "muka cover" on) :D

Randomphantom
22-05-2004, 02:47 PM
I might be generalising here but Chinese primary schools are notorious for caning students. I remember being always afraid to go against the teacher, forget to bring any homework (that I dealt with by bringing all my books to school no matter what classes. Thats where the heavy bags start with :P)... even nitty gritty stuff like bringing toothbrushes to school. After going to secondary, we found out that this 'tool of intimidation' was not very effective at all. After all, any form of caning without proper authorisation could be reported as acts of abuse.

I do believe caning works, but not for everyone. Those that are thick skinned become desensitised and those that are sensitive become scarred for life. Therefore, the cane should only be put to use by those responsible enough (psychometric test?) to understand each consequence of their actions. To use it as a tool of intimidation, keeping everyone in line-smacks of socialism. But to properly mete out punishment-portrays a fair system like that in real life.

Funny though, there was this one chinese teacher that helped me improve my chinese, whom I respected a lot. And she was the one that dealt the 27 consecutive canes I remember till now.

22-05-2004, 09:35 PM
Funny though, there was this one chinese teacher that helped me improve my chinese, whom I respected a lot. And she was the one that dealt the 27 consecutive canes I remember till now.

So caning works for you? Hehe....

22-05-2004, 10:43 PM
Caning works if the situation is 'memorable' or 'dramatic' or 'traumatic'.

For instance, I was caned when I was in standard one for writing my name illegibly. The teacher was in intense rage and she caned me consecutively for uhh,I have forgotten. It was like she lost controlled of herself and caned me until her anger subsided. This is one of the scenes that I will never forget.

22-05-2004, 11:19 PM
The only time i think i kena caned by my teacher was Std 3 when he (discipline teacher) always come in our class, ask us tough questions like is 1531 a prime number, if dunno kena caned. Why i remember this number, because i was asked this question and i answered wrongly, i guessed. My friend got a more keng question. He asked him to name the deputy minister of Education. Wah, my friend dunno the answer and started running around the classroom with that teacher chasing him.

22-05-2004, 11:34 PM
The only time i think i kena caned by my teacher was Std 3 when he (discipline teacher) always come in our class, ask us tough questions like is 1531 a prime number, if dunno kena caned. Why i remember this number, because i was asked this question and i answered wrongly, i guessed. My friend got a more keng question. He asked him to name the deputy minister of Education. Wah, my friend dunno the answer and started running around the classroom with that teacher chasing him. Wah, if i know we can sue teacher that time, i sure ask my parents to lodge a report of teacher abuse...

Huh? Prime numbers? Don't we only learn prime numbers in form one? We are still memorizing the multiplication table at standard three, I think. Besides, we haven't learned until four digits arithmetic right? Deputy prime minister of education? I don't even know such fellow exist then. This is definitely an abuse of power by teacher.

23-05-2004, 12:46 AM
That's what I thought or remembered too. I thought prime nos. were only taught in F1? Can't remember when I was first caned tho. Should be a long long time ago. I was a kinda good boy in skool... :D

23-05-2004, 01:33 AM
Coz that teacher (not my maths teacher though) before that told us what is prime no. before that. His excuse is that we should not stick ourselves to syllabus and must learn beyond our current level. Told us that numbers that cannot be divided by other numbers except itself. That time how can we understand? We were just learning 1000+1542=?
Hmmm... So after telling us that, and gave us some example, he asked us to get ready and the next week, he came in and ramdomly picked some unlucky students... Needless to say, everyone that he called kena rotan.

25-05-2004, 12:18 PM
eh, Elansar...why your posts like sama? anyway, i think all of us have our share or gila cikgus hehehe...hope so i wont be one of them...

25-05-2004, 01:06 PM
eh, Elansar...why your posts like sama? anyway, i think all of us have our share or gila cikgus hehehe...hope so i wont be one of them...

Tak sama ler... Sama ke? What sama? Sama-sama?

25-05-2004, 01:38 PM
The only time i think i kena caned by my teacher was Std 3 when he (discipline teacher) always come in our class, ask us tough questions like is 1531 a prime number, if dunno kena caned. Why i remember this number, because i was asked this question and i answered wrongly, i guessed. My friend got a more keng question. He asked him to name the deputy minister of Education. Wah, my friend dunno the answer and started running around the classroom with that teacher chasing him. Wah, if i know we can sue teacher that time, i sure ask my parents to lodge a report of teacher abuse...

yaa..this one like sama..cuba you check balik..hehe..ngantuk ke? post same msg...we got your msg, jgn la post byk kali hihihih

25-05-2004, 08:39 PM
Uhmm yeah, after reading it, found that there are a few similarities in the 2 messages. Edited it anyway. Thanks for tellin, budakkerek! :wink:

26-05-2004, 01:06 PM
hahah..i know, i'm a nice fella LOL

anyway, what happened to the teacher? did he/she got anything from the admin?

i once had a BM teacher..there was this guy who mmg dunno why, must drag his feet when he walked. So one day, she was like so bengang with him and she hit him with a feather duster. All of us were like so freaked out..i remember feeling so wide-eyed. Anyway, the guy (i was 10 at that time) he's the malas didnt do his hwork, ponteng-always type, and slalu if the teacher said sthing, pretends he tak dgr, bad academic results etc - i guess he's just not interested in school..so i guess, ya he tested her patience..but for her to lost it..it's so scary... 8O

26-05-2004, 09:24 PM
Ahh... the teacher arr? Everyone's happy that he retired liao wor. Each time we see an old blue vox wagon, we feel like kicking the old car (coz he's like one of the few who own such car). The scariest living creature on earth.

Oh yeah, there's another Std 3 BM teacher, not from my class though. She made her students who didn't do her homework strip their pants off. Heard that from my friends in her class. And there's this fellow whose exercise book was empty since day 1. She was so bengang, she slapped him so hard that his tooth flew out. Everyone's still talking about that now.

26-05-2004, 10:36 PM
Elansir, in page 3, u post 5 same posts kah?
i also pening see ur posts ler...hehe

27-05-2004, 11:35 AM
waah...serious aa? one gila teacher laa weh..i mean, you wanna punish..fine. i dont hv any prob with dat but dont do it so ganas laa wei..it'll definitely leave a lasting impact in the student's life...might make him hate the subject for the rest of his life...

anyway, the bm teacher, right...mebbe can charge her for being a paedophile ---> make students strip their pants off hahaha

27-05-2004, 09:51 PM
Oh, now you tell me, now only i realize it. What happened? When i first posted it, it wasn't like that. Dun really know what i did to clone 5 messages leh. I think i need to PM the moderators to delete 4 of them. Thanks for the pointing out.

27-05-2004, 09:58 PM
waah...serious aa? one gila teacher laa weh..i mean, you wanna punish..fine. i dont hv any prob with dat but dont do it so ganas laa wei..it'll definitely leave a lasting impact in the student's life...might make him hate the subject for the rest of his life...

anyway, the bm teacher, right...mebbe can charge her for being a paedophile ---> make students strip their pants off hahaha

Hmm... If we've realized it, we might. We have lots of students who can testify this. Oh, btw, i think i was wrong about the prime no. teacher. Juz realize it. Mixed up with the Std 3 Bm teacher. That time we were Std 5. Not std 3. The std 3 one is the bm teacher.

01-06-2004, 02:56 PM
hahha..i guess , mebbe you juz have too many horror teachers laa Elansar. Anyway, i think you can delete your own posts, should be there's an X at the top right hand corner of the post. try n check out,if xbley, contact moderators (thirdshifter, masterof_none etc).Hope ive been of help :wink:

01-06-2004, 10:19 PM
I don't see any X besides the quote and edit icon. Can you help me out, budak kerek? I've contacted Third about this matter, but i doubt he's online these days. Thanks in advance, yeah.

05-06-2004, 01:30 AM
i think third's busy looking for the perfect gift for me *he's coming back msia hihih*

anyway, i'll talk to syamsul..or you can ask him yourself. pretty weird. mine got an X at the upper right hand corner...i'll check again with the BIG GUYS okie..

05-06-2004, 02:17 AM
Hehe... thanks... sigh... i think the X button only appears at your latest post.

05-06-2004, 11:23 PM
Oh yeah, there's another Std 3 BM teacher, not from my class though. She made her students who didn't do her homework strip their pants off. Heard that from my friends in her class. And there's this fellow whose exercise book was empty since day 1. She was so bengang, she slapped him so hard that his tooth flew out. Everyone's still talking about that now.

Strip pants off and slapped until tooth flew out?! 8O
I wonder whether any action was taken against the teacher.

When I was in form 1, I had a KH teacher who likes to put his hands into the pants of the student. Complaints were made but no action was taken.

Hmm... I'm digressing from the topic of caning.

06-06-2004, 02:33 AM
Now we dun care about the teacher liao lar... i mean, those who were abused by her may not want to reminisce the shameful past, right?

tunsrilanang
15-06-2004, 03:09 AM
caning is fine, as long as the rotan does not hit the sensitive areas like face etc.
caning should be done at the leg area where injury does not affect the health and the body of the person.

and i guess those teachers who does not follow this guideline when caning the students should be caned too.
but in a bureaucracy system.....not many supposedly effective solutions work.