View Full Version : JPA 2008 German Engineering

11-05-2008, 09:52 AM
Anyone?
I'm a "senior"..currently studying A-lvl German in INTEC under JPA sponsorship...

Perhaps i can give some helps to my future juniors..:)

Qistinatalib
11-05-2008, 10:21 PM
Yes I did! I've a question - does JPA send Germany bound students to INTEC only?

And umm, what course did you get? I told the interviewers the other day that I want Environmental Engineering but Im a biiiitttt worried that they might give me Mechatronics etc coz Environmental Engineering is a relatively new course.

Hehe :D

Thanks for starting this thread!

12-05-2008, 01:02 AM
No.. JPA does send Germany bound students to KBU as well (eg. jetlee,evan89 of ReCom)

I'm studying A-lvl German in INTEC..which take about 2.5 years to finish it (damn long pre-u course)...

For the course, u will decide what course that u wanna undergo during the application for university.(But for sure it must be the course that related to engineering).. Don't worry it at the moment.. focus on the pre-u, for Intec guys.it is long and suffering (from "not so good" lecturers)

jun
13-05-2008, 10:27 PM
Yes i am also goin for german engineering....wah i hope it would be super fun and interesting...hey isn't interesting to learn a new language??? can talk secretively with others LOL!!!! plus its really a big advantage!!!

14-05-2008, 02:29 AM
No.. JPA does send Germany bound students to KBU as well (eg. jetlee,evan89 of ReCom)

I'm studying A-lvl German in INTEC..which take about 2.5 years to finish it (damn long pre-u course)...

For the course, u will decide what course that u wanna undergo during the application for university.(But for sure it must be the course that related to engineering).. Don't worry it at the moment.. focus on the pre-u, for Intec guys.it is long and suffering (from "not so good" lecturers)I have had my best time in my life in INTEC though :p

Yes i am also goin for german engineering....wah i hope it would be super fun and interesting...hey isn't interesting to learn a new language??? can talk secretively with others LOL!!!! plus its really a big advantage!!!talk secret? in no time the people of the other courses will have learnt what words mean what, so don't put so much hope on it :p

14-05-2008, 03:34 AM

For the course, u will decide what course that u wanna undergo during the application for university.(But for sure it must be the course that related to engineering).. Don't worry it at the moment.. focus on the pre-u, for Intec guys.it is long and suffering (from "not so good" lecturers)
hey long time no see maxx..
when r we goin to hang out for another ice skating session huh? ^^

for Intec guys.it is long and suffering (from "not so good" lecturers)
lol.. reli tat so? dun think our teachers are better though.. still out calculus and german lecturer is very pro and nice. and the others only stand either of it.. wakaka

halo to any German-bound junior here, u r going to INTEC or KBU.. if u r on the latter, then we shall meet sometime in July and 'interact' for about 4 months luh.. bout the course.. u can choose any Engineering course u can find in Germany Fachochschulen (Universities of apply science), except for Civil engineering (JPA dun need to waste millions to send students studying these course overseas).. any other course like, common one-E&E, Mechanical, or something like Environmental, or even Biomedical and Genetic Engineering!!! u hv a whole range to choose so dun reli hv to worry bout it..

and yea.. happy learning German ~
nice to LEARN, not so easy to MASTER - was denkst du, seehua? ^^

14-05-2008, 07:13 AM
hey long time no see maxx..
when r we goin to hang out for another ice skating session huh? ^^

hahaha..looking forward to see ur guys again

Yes i am also goin for german engineering....wah i hope it would be super fun and interesting...hey isn't interesting to learn a new language??? can talk secretively with others LOL!!!! plus its really a big advantage!!!
Yea..it's interesting at d start..
I also hope that i can talk secretively too..but i think my Chinese is ok enough to talk about it in intec

jun
15-05-2008, 03:22 PM
hey i just would like to ask all seniors who are taking the german engineering programme....wat subjects did you all take for your a-levels? must we take 5 subjs sine we gt german...i noe i am goin to take
1.physics
2.maths
3.chemistry
4.german language
5.???(tell me must i take another subj?)

15-05-2008, 10:00 PM
hey i just would like to ask all seniors who are taking the german engineering programme....wat subjects did you all take for your a-levels? must we take 5 subjs sine we gt german...i noe i am goin to take
1.physics
2.maths
3.chemistry
4.german language
5.???(tell me must i take another subj?)

1. physics
2. maths+mechanic
3. chemistry
4. German
5. English AS
6. CTU (sum stewpid philosophy thing a.k.a pendidikan moral in university....)

well juniors, it's always fun 2 learn a new language, bt to master it, u still need to put in a lot a lot of hard work by urself....
p/s: german is another language which full of stewpid gramatical rules..... it's nt easy though....

15-05-2008, 10:08 PM
1. physics
2. maths+mechanic
3. chemistry
4. German
5. English AS

well juniors, it's always fun 2 learn a new language, bt to master it, u still need to put in a lot a lot of hard work by urself....
p/s: german is another language which full of stewpid gramatical rules..... it's nt easy though....

1,2.3 is A lvl Edexcel board
5 is A lvl Cambridge board

15-05-2008, 10:40 PM
1.physics
2.maths
3.chemistry
4.german language
5.???(tell me must i take another subj?)2. Maths in INTEC is divided into the Mechanics and Core Maths Modules.

1. physics
2. maths+mechanic
3. chemistry
4. German
5. English AS

p/s: german is another language which full of stewpid gramatical rules..... it's nt easy though....It's fun though debating with the Uztaz about how Islam works keke.

German is hard, that I agree fully with. I still can get the grammartics right after all these years speaking German...

aber wir schaffen es schon!

jun
15-05-2008, 11:49 PM
so if i do edexcel...i will prob take
1.phy
2.chem
3. maths(mechanics/core maths modules)
4.german
5.CTU

tats the norm is it?/
what is the diff actually between the two maths? which one is recommended if say i want to do mechanical eng...and that ctu is oni for AS or for the whole of a-levels...sorry if my questions sound dumb ah but i am totally lost about these stuffs now

16-05-2008, 02:29 AM
so if i do edexcel...i will prob take
1.phy
2.chem
3. maths(mechanics/core maths modules)
4.german
5.CTU

tats the norm is it?/
what is the diff actually between the two maths? which one is recommended if say i want to do mechanical eng...and that ctu is oni for AS or for the whole of a-levels...sorry if my questions sound dumb ah but i am totally lost about these stuffs nowthere will 3 modules for mechanics and 3 modules for core maths. Together they will make up mathematics as one subject in whole.

CTU is a separate from the A-Levels system

hhhcce
16-05-2008, 03:50 AM
You all dont take Core Math 4. Then, from where do you all learn integration?

16-05-2008, 05:01 AM
It's a pity that you guys have to take chemistry and forgo further mathematics.

I had my 1st maths paper in uni exempted due to having aced the further maths paper.

16-05-2008, 09:15 AM
it is compulsory for every students to undergo the subjects INTEC choose for them..
No one can choose what they like
That's mean u should study it all..

1) A lvl (Edexcel board- Physics, Chemistry, Core Maths, Mechanics + Cambridge Board - AS English)
2) CTU (Centre of islamic Teaching and Understanding) (dunno y they din stat it as CITU)
3) German

I personally prefer further maths...dunno y they removed it...

16-05-2008, 01:38 PM
I personally prefer further maths...dunno y they removed it...
It was still taught to my seniors during my time in INTEC. But the German side changed their recognition and don't want to recognize a second math subject (further math + mechanics + statistics + normal maths in modules). This led to an scramble where they had to learn all 6 of the chemistry modules in less than one year...

Qistinatalib
16-05-2008, 11:50 PM
I browsed through INTEC's website this is what we have to learn:

1. Chemistry
2. Physics
3. Pure Mathematics
4. Mechanics
5. German
6. English
7. Agama/ Moral

I suppose Core Math is Pure Mathematics?

And why is Mechanics a separate subject when you guys say it's under Math?

Also, according to the A levels syllabus, Mechanics is under Physics.

I'm a lil bit confused now =.='

jun
17-05-2008, 07:31 PM
same here...super confused...and isn't statistics a part of mathematics in A-levels also? btw MODERATORS...can you move this thread to the JPA section? i think it is more appropriate that way....Thanks!

17-05-2008, 10:26 PM
I browsed through INTEC's website this is what we have to learn:

1. Chemistry
2. Physics
3. Pure Mathematics
4. Mechanics
5. German
6. English
7. Agama/ Moral

I suppose Core Math is Pure Mathematics?

And why is Mechanics a separate subject when you guys say it's under Math?

Also, according to the A levels syllabus, Mechanics is under Physics.

I'm a lil bit confused now =.='

There's a slight different in da syllables btween core maths n pure maths, bt i'm sure tat nth to worry abt... In edexcel, mechanic is under maths subject, mechanic + core maths together 1 subject. (in exam, 50% mechanic, 50% core maths) n german students r nt required to take statistic.....

18-05-2008, 12:57 AM
You all dont take Core Math 4. Then, from where do you all learn integration?

for those studying in KBU will hv one particular subject-calculus , tat is all about differentiation and integration ..

6 subjects:
1. German
2. English as Second Language
3. Physics
4. Chemistry
5. Applicable Mathematics
6. Calculus

18-05-2008, 08:17 AM
Yea..
Total Mathematics Score = Core Maths (or Pure Maths) + Mechanics/Statistics

In INTEC..ALG and ALUK (A lvl UK) students are studying Mechanics
and
ALM (A lvl Medicine) and ALUK students are studying Statistics

That's mean u can choose either Mechanics or Statistics or BOTH but in intec..they choose for us..

evan89
22-05-2008, 12:24 AM
Yo everyone long time din appear in recom...

Haha yeah jetlee when wan go ice skating ler???

Learning a new language is totally not easy especially german...
At the beginning is of coz fun bcoz u learn bout all new words tat can use 2 joke and bla bla bla... Of coz the 1st word we learn is "xxxx dich". Wakaka... nola joking...
BUt when come to grammar part hehe... U will become blur blur and more blur if u din put in much effort....
So conclusion.... Must be hardworking lo in order to master it...

27-05-2008, 06:41 PM
Yo everyone long time din appear in recom...

Haha yeah jetlee when wan go ice skating ler???

Learning a new language is totally not easy especially german...
At the beginning is of coz fun bcoz u learn bout all new words tat can use 2 joke and bla bla bla... Of coz the 1st word we learn is "xxxx dich". Wakaka... nola joking...
BUt when come to grammar part hehe... U will become blur blur and more blur if u din put in much effort....
So conclusion.... Must be hardworking lo in order to master it...

yo, wie geth's? Ich weiss, dass du sehr pro auf Deutsch bist, aber keine schlecte Worte hier, bitte....

27-05-2008, 06:45 PM
yo, wie geth's? Ich weiss, dass du sehr pro auf Deutsch bist, aber keine schlecte Worte hier, bitte....

Ihr seid wirklich gemein!

Thread moved to the JPA section

jun
28-05-2008, 12:31 PM
hey i need to ask are all the german engineering students will be in the same room and the same class for the whole 2.5 yrs??? There are so lil german engineering students even in recorm there are oni 2 ( i checked the the scholarship holder info base) this year! 2!! me and jingying.... MAXX how many german engineering students are there in your class?

wat bout the books? are they free? will they just give us during the orientation or must we buy from seniors or photostate? if its the latter then seniors pls PM me if you would like to sell your books....the hostel fees in intec are all covered for rite? how long are our classes?? is it from 8 to 5 in the evening? haiz sorry got a lot of questions..

28-05-2008, 04:18 PM
hey i need to ask are all the german engineering students will be in the same room and the same class for the whole 2.5 yrs??? There are so lil german engineering students even in recorm there are oni 2 ( i checked the the scholarship holder info base) this year! 2!! me and jingying.... MAXX how many german engineering students are there in your class?

wat bout the books? are they free? will they just give us during the orientation or must we buy from seniors or photostate? if its the latter then seniors pls PM me if you would like to sell your books....the hostel fees in intec are all covered for rite? how long are our classes?? is it from 8 to 5 in the evening? haiz sorry got a lot of questions..please refrain from using bold if possible. If you want to make your questions clear, list them down in different lines rather than bolding them. Bolding to? much of the text makes it looks like as if you are screaming to the others

hey i need to ask are all the german engineering students will be in the same room and the same class for the whole 2.5 yrs?
If you are sent to INTEC, you will all be grouped together, not that there are much of you guys (50 people max)

wat bout the books? are they free?
No, you will have to buy them yourself.

will they just give us during the orientation or must we buy from seniors or photostate?
No. Some lecturers will provide notes for you guys to photostate yourself. You may buy the books from the seniors, but i doubt you will be reading them much since you will tend to rely on the lecturers' notes more(more compact and easier to understand).

the hostel fees in intec are all covered for rite?
yes

is it from 8 to 5 in the evening?
In INTEC, usually 8 till 3.30 in the afternoon.

cloudie89
30-05-2008, 08:21 PM
, except for Civil engineering (JPA dun need to waste millions to send students studying these course overseas).. any other course like, common one-E&E, Mechanical, or something like Environmental, or even Biomedical and Genetic Engineering!!! u hv a whole range to choose so dun reli hv to worry bout it..

y not civil?we do hv seniors doin them there..

hey i need to ask are all the german engineering students will be in the same room and the same class for the whole 2.5 yrs??? .

hi jun,
i hv been living with diff programme ppl for 2 sems..u most probably will get housemates from the same programme ..but may also not..percentage is probably 1%??so how so what i din get to stay in block 9 akasia intec ..where all german female student should be...lol for guys i 'm not too sure
*a note for juniors,dun be so blur like me ..went into the wrong lane during registration n get into old ugly block 1 ..make sure u tell them u r from alg (a-level german),otherwise they can really anyhow throw you to somewhere..
it's an advantage to stay together among urself for you can practice listening practice together..

30-05-2008, 08:31 PM
y not civil?we do hv seniors doin them there..At my time, JPA doesn't allow us to take civil Engineering because of the jobless rate of civil graduates. But somehow one girl in our batch manage to force her way into that course.

hi jun,
i hv been living with diff programme ppl for 2 sems..u most probably will get housemates from the same programme ..but may also not..percentage is probably 1%??so how so what i din get to stay in block 9 akasia intec ..where all german female student should be...lol for guys i 'm not too sure
*a note for juniors,dun be so blur like me ..went into the wrong lane during registration n get into old ugly block 1 ..make sure u tell them u r from alg (a-level german),otherwise they can really anyhow throw you to somewhere..
it's an advantage to stay together among urself for you can practice listening practice together..
I was the only one in my batch that lives with the ALM/AUSMAT people in INTEC. While staying with friends from your own course might be advantageous, it's not really mandatory. As long as you can handle yourself, you are good to go ;)

cloudie89
30-05-2008, 08:38 PM
At my time, JPA doesn't allow us to take civil Engineering because of the jobless rate of civil graduates. But somehow one girl in our batch manage to force her way into that course.

I was the only one in my batch that lives with the ALM/AUSMAT people in INTEC. While staying with friends from your own course might be advantageous, it's not really mandatory. As long as you can handle yourself, you are good to go ;)

can you introduce me to the senior who got into civil?i'm interested to know more about this course n if a girl can survive well in this course

hehe..i'm one the three sesated ones who's currently living with alukians..in block 7 INTEC..so fun exchanging gossips :P interesting to watch them do art sometimes

30-05-2008, 08:45 PM
can you introduce me to the senior who got into civil?i'm interested to know more about this course n if a girl can survive well in this course

hehe..i'm one the three sesated ones who's currently living with alukians..in block 7 INTEC..so fun exchanging gossips :P interesting to watch them do art sometimesI'll have to ask for her permissions first. It's been so long since I last contacted her :P Leave a pm to remind me of that in case i forget about it.

Pat
31-05-2008, 10:21 AM

wat bout the books? are they free? will they just give us during the orientation or must we buy from seniors or photostate? if its the latter then seniors pls PM me if you would like to sell your books....the hostel fees in intec are all covered for rite? how long are our classes?? is it from 8 to 5 in the evening? haiz sorry got a lot of questions..

hi there, greetings from alg10 (your super seniors who are always n still struggling in their a-levels currently) yup... hostel is free... but if you need to bring some extra stuff eg: water filter, iron, ironing board, kettle, rice cooker... its all up to u... they only provide u wif study tables, beds, sofa, shoe rack etc... german students have the most hectic schedule in INTEC... mostly classes will start from 8 and ends at 4, 5 or even 6... so all the best in studying in INTEC!! we survived!!!

31-05-2008, 11:15 AM
hi there, greetings from alg10 (your super seniors who are always n still struggling in their a-levels currently) yup... hostel is free... but if you need to bring some extra stuff eg: water filter, iron, ironing board, kettle, rice cooker... its all up to u... they only provide u wif study tables, beds, sofa, shoe rack etc... german students have the most hectic schedule in INTEC... mostly classes will start from 8 and ends at 4, 5 or even 6... so all the best in studying in INTEC!! we survived!!!
yea..and we survived happily!!yeah!!

cloudie89
31-05-2008, 01:53 PM
i'm half dead..trying hard to survive..i got another sms from miss briggite during my hols :P..my so -dedicated teacher admire her enthu yet hoping she can once be lazy..
btw,i read somewhere in wiki ..saying environmental engineerin is a branch of civil n chemical engineering or something..ppl correct me if i'm wrong ya

31-05-2008, 03:38 PM
i'm half dead..trying hard to survive..i got another sms from miss briggite during my hols :P..my so -dedicated teacher admire her enthu yet hoping she can once be lazy..
btw,i read somewhere in wiki ..saying environmental engineerin is a branch of civil n chemical engineering or something..ppl correct me if i'm wrong ya

i tin i noe who u r edi, nvr tot u r 1 of the recomer as well........

jun
31-05-2008, 07:07 PM
k sorry to disturb but i got a few questions here about the german engineering programme itself. Before i list down the questions i wish to tell you that i have read the previous threads on German engineering and cemara/akasia FAQ.In fact i have read it more than once but i am still kinda confuse here....well here goes :

1.How many classes of ALG are there?and usually hw many students per classroom?
2. Why Jpa keeps reducing the nymber of scholarships allocated for German eng coursees?( any particular reason?)
3. My prep course in malaysia is 2.5 yrs.After i finish my A-lvls i will be doing my industrial training AND german lessons? ...in GMI? Where will i be staying then?'
4. when are we suppose to register into GMI? after or before we get our A lvls results?
5.wat is DSH exam?( i noe wat it stands for but wat does it mean?) when do we study for it? wat aspects are they going to test us on?
the whole 2.5 yrs lerning german is for this exam is it?For A lvls... german is not one of the subject rite?( i mean we won be sitting for the german exam in our A lvl rite? we do the DSH exam instead ?
6.wen we register in INTEC ( for me i will be registering on sunday)do we start the orientation on the same day or we got time to settle down in our room?
7. In INTEC the classes are always open is it?( just say i and my frens feel like studying in the class rooms of INTEC at 8 pm ..can we just go there and study?
8.err i read in another thread that JPA will usually ask us to continue wiv our masters in germany becoz it seems the degree in germany won be the same in malaysia....does it mean its not recognised in malaysia? it seems we do less credit hours in germany so we won be on par with our fellow counterparts in malaysia? so does it still apply for my year? will i be asked to continue wiv my masters? in my contract it says i will be doin my degree for oni 3 yrs.
9. Wen in germany we wil be doin our bachelors degree rite? Wat about Diplom? do they still offer that degree?
10. wat is ALM, ALUK? ALUK i think its A lvl UK? ALG is A lvl german? but wat is ALM?
11. In INTEC for physics and chemistry we will be learning in the lab is it?

well i guess that's all for now.....

to anyone who would like to noe more about the german engineering programme here are a few links...
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3337&highlight=German+engineering
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5150&highlight=German+engineering
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1446&highlight=German+engineering
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6901&highlight=German+engineering

31-05-2008, 07:29 PM
4 classes (16-17 students per class)

2. Why Jpa keeps reducing the nymber of scholarships allocated for German eng coursees?( any particular reason?)
no comment..but there are 66 JPA scholars for ALG 11

3. My prep course in malaysia is 2.5 yrs.After i finish my A-lvls i will be doing my industrial training AND german lessons? ...in GMI? Where will i be staying then?'
2 yrs of A lvl + learning German in INTEC, practical training in GMI too..
0.5 years of intensive German course and practical training in GMI

4. when are we suppose to register into GMI? after or before we get our A lvls results?
before u seat for A lvl exam

5.wat is DSH exam?( i noe wat it stands for but wat does it mean?) when do we study for it? wat aspects are they going to test us on?the whole 2.5 yrs lerning german is for this exam is it?For A lvls... german is not one of the subject rite?( i mean we won be sitting for the german exam in our A lvl rite? we do the DSH exam instead ?
Deutsche Sprachpr?fung f?r den Hochschulzugang
DSH is a language proficiency test required to study at German higher education institutions.
It consists of a written and an oral examination, being the written part a precondition for the oral one. Students are allowed to use a German?German dictionary during the written examinations, as well as ? in case of failing ? to repeat the examination once.

Source
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deutsche_Sprachpr%C3%BCfung_f%C3%BCr_den_Hochschulzugang

Yea..German is not included in A lvl exam... DSH is the ultimate german test after u learn german in m'sia (similar to IELTS)

6.wen we register in INTEC ( for me i will be registering on sunday)do we start the orientation on the same day or we got time to settle down in our room?
Last year..nop..but u wil spend one nite of listening to d ceramah (boring)

7. In INTEC the classes are always open is it?( just say i and my frens feel like studying in the class rooms of INTEC at 8 pm ..can we just go there and study?
Yea.. can but without transportation (bus)..The library also has a study room which open for 24 hours. Do remember to bring ur student card there..

8.err i read in another thread that JPA will usually ask us to continue wiv our masters in germany becoz it seems the degree in germany won be the same in malaysia....does it mean its not recognised in malaysia? it seems we do less credit hours in germany so we won be on par with our fellow counterparts in malaysia? so does it still apply for my year? will i be asked to continue wiv my masters? in my contract it says i will be doin my degree for oni 3 yrs.
I think my fellow seniors will answer it well :P

9. Wen in germany we wil be doin our bachelors degree rite? Wat about Diplom? do they still offer that degree?
check this out dude
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diplom

10. wat is ALM, ALUK? ALUK i think its A lvl UK? ALG is A lvl german? but wat is ALM?
ALM - A lvl Medicine
ALUK - A lvl United Kingdom

In class, in lab, in lecture hall as well
Lab, it is the place for us to do the experiments
Class, it is the place where the lecturers lecture around

cloudie89
01-06-2008, 01:29 PM
i tin i noe who u r edi, nvr tot u r 1 of the recomer as well........

y le?my face says dat i'm not?:P..just dat i dun post as much as u

[QUOTE=jun;186906]k

hi jun,
regarding us continuin till master rite..i think it's kinda new education system where most europe,uk, countries join degree n master tgt..even aluk(a-level uk)some need to take master..as it's in one programme de..
*an extra-info ,for alg of recent batch includin alg 11 n 12 n so on ,we r allow to apply uni instead of fachochschule..jpa will try to send us to uni like utm ,rwth etc .too

jun
01-06-2008, 03:48 PM
[quote=jun;186906]
hi jun,
regarding us continuin till master rite..i think it's kinda new education system where most europe,uk, countries join degree n master tgt..even aluk(a-level uk)some need to take master..as it's in one programme de..
*an extra-info ,for alg of recent batch includin alg 11 n 12 n so on ,we r allow to apply uni instead of fachochschule..jpa will try to send us to uni like utm ,rwth etc .too
wen you say UTM...do you mean our local uni ( universiti Teknologi Malaysia)? are you involved in the orientation for INTEC ALG students? well if you are .....meet you there!

cloudie89
02-06-2008, 02:29 PM
[quote=cloudie89;187135]

wen you say UTM...do you mean our local uni ( universiti Teknologi Malaysia)? are you involved in the orientation for INTEC ALG students? well if you are .....meet you there!

oppss..sorry typing error..it's tum(techniches universit?t m?nchen)..so sorry ya..dun worry
as long as you pass the cut-off point..minimum 9 points for a 'level(points are taken based on our a' level grades.an A for a subject either chemistry,physics,maths will give you 5 points then a B is 4 n C is 3 n so on)..n band 2 for dsh jpa won't send u local one..so worry not

02-06-2008, 03:54 PM
4 classes (16-17 students per class)

no comment..but there are 66 JPA scholars for ALG 11
read below

2 yrs of A lvl + learning German in INTEC, practical training in GMI too..
0.5 years of intensive German course and practical training in GMI

before u seat for A lvl exam
If the policy haven't changed yet, you guys will have to the first phase of GMI after one year in INTEC every saturday for 3 months and the rests of the classes after your A2 Levels and German classes, also for 3 months.

5.wat is DSH exam?( i noe wat it stands for but wat does it mean?) when do we study for it? wat aspects are they going to test us on?the whole 2.5 yrs lerning german is for this exam is it?For A lvls... german is not one of the subject rite?( i mean we won be sitting for the german exam in our A lvl rite? we do the DSH exam instead ?
Deutsche Sprachpr?fung f?r den Hochschulzugang
DSH is a language proficiency test required to study at German higher education institutions.
It consists of a written and an oral examination, being the written part a precondition for the oral one. Students are allowed to use a German–German dictionary during the written examinations, as well as — in case of failing — to repeat the examination once.
damn, why they didn't let us use it when i was taking the exam:cry:

Source
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deutsche_Sprachpr%C3%BCfung_f%C3%BCr_den_Hochschulzugang

Yea..German is not included in A lvl exam... DSH is the ultimate german test after u learn german in m'sia (similar to IELTS)

Last year..nop..but u wil spend one nite of listening to d ceramah (boring)
I slept during the ceramah :P

Yea.. can but without transportation (bus)..The library also has a study room which open for 24 hours. Do remember to bring ur student card there..
If you are living in Akasia, there are study rooms for you guys to sit down quietly and study. I don't think there is any reason that you guys would want to stay in INTEC after 6pm. It can get pretty eerie there at night :P @<hidden>: shouldn't the library be closed after 10pm?

I think my fellow seniors will answer it well :P
The bachelor degree isn't recognised as a full bachelor degree in malaysia by the BEM(Board of Engineering Malaysia) because we took one semester less (7 in germany and 8 is the requirement) and that we don't gather enough credit hours over the whole duration. This won't matter if you guys will be working for the private sector, but will determine your starting pay if you are going to work for the government.

check this out dude
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diplom
The Diplom degree have been completely replaced with the Bachelor Masters system as of now.

ALM - A lvl Medicine
ALUK - A lvl United Kingdom

In class, in lab, in lecture hall as well
Lab, it is the place for us to do the experiments
Class, it is the place where the lecturers lecture around
JPA had actually violated their agreement with the german authorities a lot of times by sending more than the number of students agreed in the MoU signed between them. JPA is supposed to send only 50 students to Baden-W?rttemberg every year. but what they did was to send 110+ students in my seniors' batch. Due to protests from the Germans the numbers were reduced to 50, leaving 25 people from my batch with no place in my state.

my own take on the issues. The ReCom WYSIWYG editor isn't working properly as of now, so I got lazy and put in my own answers to the posts instead

02-06-2008, 04:07 PM

If you are living in Akasia, there are study rooms for you guys to sit down quietly and study. I don't think there is any reason that you guys would want to stay in INTEC after 6pm. It can get pretty eerie there at night @<hidden>: shouldn't the library be closed after 10pm?
The library should be closed..but not the library's exclusive study room for students (24 hours)...
but it's really "crazy" for somebody to stay inside the study room for a whole night..with the guards who only keep their eyes on the students' attire and at the same time...where the hell that i can get the food/drink at such late nite? (school doesnt hav such facilities)

smon
20-06-2008, 05:59 PM
i heard people say studying in german is tough,and i have check through their language,the pronounciation totally different with the english and their spelling are all weird,dear senior,what can we do if we are still not familiar with it after sometime staying there?

20-06-2008, 06:05 PM
i heard people say studying in german is tough,and i have check through their language,the pronounciation totally different with the english and their spelling are all weird,dear senior,what can we do if we are still not familiar with it after sometime staying there?

The pronunciation actually is easier than English...and similar to Malay..once u know how to pronounce the key alphabets..then read a whole passage should not be a problem anymore...

German grammar is complicated..

and they hav Schwäbisch too :S
In many areas of Baden-Wurttemberg, residents speak the distinctive dialects of Swabian (Schwäbisch) and 'Badisch'/Allemanic, both of which are known for being almost unintelligible to northern Germans, especially in its stronger forms in the countryside. In the northern part of Baden-Württemberg, i.e., the area around Heidelberg and Mannheim, a third dialect known as Kurpfälzisch is spoken.

Our German teachers are from north of Germany

smon
21-06-2008, 08:09 AM
ha,i see,i guess i will know how it basically like soon,anyway,thanks max,im going intec,so if i find problem,will go find you,many thanks..
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>smon

Pat
21-06-2008, 10:07 AM
welcome to intec!!! greetings from ur super seniors...

jun
21-06-2008, 12:21 PM
hai, i got a qustion here. Apparently after we do our a lvls we will be doing something known as BRIDGING? for 3 moths? in germany. Wat is bridging and wat do you do for that 3 months in germany.

and also, i checked out Intec's website and it says there that our degree in germany will take 3.5 yrs. why is it that in our offer letter from jpa is stated that our degree will be oni 3 yrs?

PS: Pat you din reply my PM?

smon
21-06-2008, 01:44 PM
you are right jun,i have the same problem as well,the agreement is making me confused,so literally will be?3 years or 3.5 years?and i thought there should be 3 years for us to do degree course?by the way,if we are studying in intec,are we going to meet u with all those senior in recom?

eugenetoh91
26-03-2009, 01:37 PM
i wonder approximately how many people get the JPA German engineering scholarships each year?? and what is their admitted rate??

subzero0c
27-03-2009, 12:51 AM
German Eng hm..Would it be suitable for Islam people to apply?
Because the food there all is Ham and about Pig..

27-03-2009, 03:51 AM
Wait a minute. You mean if get a degree in Germany, its not recognised in Malaysia?? Then why on earth JPA send us there?
How to solve problem? after all we must register with BEM

eugenetoh91
27-03-2009, 09:11 AM
German Eng hm..Would it be suitable for Islam people to apply?
Because the food there all is Ham and about Pig..

Wait a minute. You mean if get a degree in Germany, its not recognised in Malaysia?? Then why on earth JPA send us there?
How to solve problem? after all we must register with BEM

both of you applied for german engineering??

27-03-2009, 09:24 AM
both of you applied for german engineering??

Don't get confused. It is not to say that the degree is not recognized but BEM has a certain requirements to be fulfilled before you can register with BEM as a certified engineer.

The problem with the german degree is they lack a few credit hours which does not fulfill BEM criteria. Therefore as JPA scholar, JPA will sponsor you till masters in germany which then accredited by BEM. It's just that simple.

28-03-2009, 02:41 PM
Don't get confused. It is not to say that the degree is not recognized but BEM has a certain requirements to be fulfilled before you can register with BEM as a certified engineer.

The problem with the german degree is they lack a few credit hours which does not fulfill BEM criteria. Therefore as JPA scholar, JPA will sponsor you till masters in germany which then accredited by BEM. It's just that simple.

Oh ok then.... Thanks for clearing this up.

29-03-2009, 10:43 PM
Hey, got a question.
To all those who got the jpa scholarship for german engineering, congrats!
In the interview, if they ask me why I choose germany, what should I answer?
I tried practicing and thought .."because germany good in engineering field.." but then if they decide to shoot me like ' Why do u say so? Isnt Malaysia good enough?' I'll be like....
So wat answer should I give?

eugenetoh91
30-03-2009, 12:10 AM
Hey, got a question.
I tried practicing and thought .."because germany good in engineering field.." but then if they decide to shoot me like ' Why do u say so? Isnt Malaysia good enough?' I'll be like....

are you applying for German Engineering??
try to think of what germany has that our country does not.follow this path, then im sure you will have a lot of things to talk about.
Goodluck

30-03-2009, 12:13 AM
but please be cautious not to condemn our country by saying, the engineering here so "tak boleh pakai"

jun
30-03-2009, 02:44 PM
i wonder approximately how many people get the JPA German engineering scholarships each year?? and what is their admitted rate??

Hai , greetings from a german engineering scholar. currently doing my second sem in intec.( a lvls).

To answer your question...every year approximately 60++ students get selected to receive the scholarship. However , due to the MOU between JPA and the state of Baden Wuerttemberg in Germany , only 50 students are allowed to fly to the country. The rest will go to other states. Baden Wuerttemberg, in short is better because their examinations are of a different level than other universities/ Fachhochschule of other states.(correct me if i am wrong)

A huge problem in Intec is the passing rate of German engineering students, ecspecially for the AS english exam. Each year almost half of them fail. Those who fail( for the second time) will not be able to fly to germany.... another thing, this year they introduced a new exam to solve this problem. that is the AS German.

Another note/ advice : during the interview it would be a plus point to show that you are interested in the german language. Saying a few words in german during the interview would be of great help. A simple "Guten Tag" ( Good day ) when you introduce yourself could do it. Good Luck!

30-03-2009, 10:47 PM
but please be cautious not to condemn our country by saying, the engineering here so "tak boleh pakai"

Nyahahaha...of course not! That'll be suicide...and even a half brain would be smart about it and not say such things.

Another note/ advice : during the interview it would be a plus point to show that you are interested in the german language. Saying a few words in german during the interview would be of great help. A simple "Guten Tag" ( Good day ) when you introduce yourself could do it. Good Luck![/QUOTE]

Thanks for the advice. Although I think I'll only say it if they ask me if i know any German. Cuz if I say it, any bad-mood interviewer (mine's in the afternoon, and if it's hot and sweaty day....) will shoot and say "Wah now u not Malaysian la..." and again...*shot* LOL (Im anticipating all sort of response to my answers LOL just in case)

*paranoia is setting in*

jun
31-03-2009, 07:42 PM
Nyahahaha...of course not! That'll be suicide...and even a half brain would be smart about it and not say such things.

Another note/ advice : during the interview it would be a plus point to show that you are interested in the german language. Saying a few words in german during the interview would be of great help. A simple "Guten Tag" ( Good day ) when you introduce yourself could do it. Good Luck!

Thanks for the advice. Although I think I'll only say it if they ask me if i know any German. Cuz if I say it, any bad-mood interviewer (mine's in the afternoon, and if it's hot and sweaty day....) will shoot and say "Wah now u not Malaysian la..." and again...*shot* LOL (Im anticipating all sort of response to my answers LOL just in case)

*paranoia is setting in*[/quote]

seriously? well if it makes any difference, my interview was in the afternoon, it was also hot and i was sweating and i said guten tag, and the interviewer who was busy facing the table writing something, looked up and asked me if i learned german before. * attract the attention of the interviewers.....

eugenetoh91
31-03-2009, 09:19 PM
Hai , greetings from a german engineering scholar. currently doing my second sem in intec.( a lvls).

To answer your question...every year approximately 60++ students get selected to receive the scholarship. However , due to the MOU between JPA and the state of Baden Wuerttemberg in Germany , only 50 students are allowed to fly to the country. The rest will go to other states. Baden Wuerttemberg, in short is better because their examinations are of a different level than other universities/ Fachhochschule of other states.(correct me if i am wrong)

A huge problem in Intec is the passing rate of German engineering students, ecspecially for the AS english exam. Each year almost half of them fail. Those who fail( for the second time) will not be able to fly to germany.... another thing, this year they introduced a new exam to solve this problem. that is the AS German.

May I know why is AS english exam very tough?? Isn't it just English As Second Language?? Like TOEFL and IELTLS.

And there's something that you said was quite ambiguous. You stated that due to MOU(what is MOU??) between JPA and the state of Baden Wuerttemberg in Germany, only 50 students can only fly to the COUNTRY. The rest will go to OTHER STATES. There's no coherence between country and other states, did you say anything wrong about it? If the rest of students cant fly to the country which Germany, then they are going to fly to which states?? Other states than Baden Wuerttemberg?? But what you said was the students cant fly to Germany?? I'm quite confused and skeptical about this. The students cant go to other univerities in Germany to study?? Like University of Heidelberg. Please enlighten me.

09-05-2009, 05:48 PM
May I know why is AS english exam very tough?? Isn't it just English As Second Language?? Like TOEFL and IELTLS.

And there's something that you said was quite ambiguous. You stated that due to MOU(what is MOU??) between JPA and the state of Baden Wuerttemberg in Germany, only 50 students can only fly to the COUNTRY. The rest will go to OTHER STATES. There's no coherence between country and other states, did you say anything wrong about it? If the rest of students cant fly to the country which Germany, then they are going to fly to which states?? Other states than Baden Wuerttemberg?? But what you said was the students cant fly to Germany?? I'm quite confused and skeptical about this. The students cant go to other univerities in Germany to study?? Like University of Heidelberg. Please enlighten me.

Yes..the AS english is very tough, unlike the test for ESL, it's actually a test for student who has good english command...it's english paper for A level subjects..it's very stupid that intec requires us to take it and half of us actually fail it (yea..below E)

JPA violates the contract with Baden W?rttemberg and we are only required to go there and have our study there. If you want to go other states instead of BW, u can purposely fail your German..It will increase your chance going to other places...

10-05-2009, 12:13 PM
Hey, got a question.

can i answer this 1???
well german university or more like teknikal university,the style ofmlearning is very different........
they dont just apply theorytically but you have to work with machines also during lectures.....
i dont know how to explain.....
but german malaysia university is a good example of university in german....
they learn with machines......
thus you got better experience.....
plus the engineers graduated from german university is considered as top engineers in world because it is very difficult to pass exmas there.(my dad said)
its like only the best will graduate....
correct me if im wrong.......

plus,u must adapt the culture there which in turn be a good disciple to u all....
all the germans are very punctual,fast people,and the country is likely very clean.....
they all got very good attitude

toi toi toi(good luck in german dialect....dont know where)

10-05-2009, 12:21 PM
so who do secure JPA scholarship for German Engineering this year?

Vincent91
10-05-2009, 09:02 PM
Yes..the AS english is very tough, unlike the test for ESL, it's actually a test for student who has good english command...it's english paper for A level subjects..it's very stupid that intec requires us to take it and half of us actually fail it (yea..below E)

If below E, then we r not able to fly to germany to pursue our study,right? then continue locally?

VioPipe
10-05-2009, 09:53 PM
so who do secure JPA scholarship for German Engineering this year?

i've got for germany. quite speechless, no qeustions cross over my mind to ask the seniors. hahaha. but im ready to meet michael ballack! :P

Vincent91
10-05-2009, 10:52 PM
If below E, then we r not able to fly to germany to pursue our study,right? then continue locally?
Wat criteria must be fulfilled by germany-bounded students in order to fly to Germany?
like the grades and language test?...wat is the cut-off point?

Zydox
12-05-2009, 05:04 PM
Hi to all seniors. I get German engineering this year. Is it June intake for the INTEC last time?

12-05-2009, 07:50 PM
can i answer this 1???
well german university or more like teknikal university,the style ofmlearning is very different........
they dont just apply theorytically but you have to work with machines also during lectures.....
i dont know how to explain.....
but german malaysia university is a good example of university in german....
they learn with machines......
thus you got better experience.....
plus the engineers graduated from german university is considered as top engineers in world because it is very difficult to pass exmas there.(my dad said)
its like only the best will graduate....
correct me if im wrong.......

plus,u must adapt the culture there which in turn be a good disciple to u all....
all the germans are very punctual,fast people,and the country is likely very clean.....
they all got very good attitude

toi toi toi(good luck in german dialect....dont know where)

Thanks nemo,....but the answer is about a month late! LOL i asked this ques for my jpa interview...u shoulda replied earlier...lol but thanks anyway

JinHan2883
13-05-2009, 05:27 PM
hi everyone! I've got Germany Engineering for this year. Can any senior here please give me your msn address? I would like to ask u guys more about this course. Thanks!!:):)

13-05-2009, 08:47 PM
Hi! To seniors currently pursuing pre-u for german engineering. Is there a particular uni in germany that jpa send you guys to? (eg uni of vanderbilt for us bound) Can u tell me some of the uni jpa commonly send u to? Thanks a lot in advance

Qistinatalib
17-05-2009, 02:14 PM
Hi! To seniors currently pursuing pre-u for german engineering. Is there a particular uni in germany that jpa send you guys to? (eg uni of vanderbilt for us bound) Can u tell me some of the uni jpa commonly send u to? Thanks a lot in advance

Hey..nope nope not really la. u have to apply the uni urselves but only in baden-wuerttermberg. u shud try checking intec's website. they have a list of the unis there. btw i wana noe if there are any girls who applied german engineering this year? my batch has only 9 girls wei. pity us la. our seniors has only 15 girls. in my batch, there's 60 boys (roughly). any questions anyone wud like to ask? i'll be happy enough to act the big sis here :)

17-05-2009, 09:02 PM
Hi! To seniors currently pursuing pre-u for german engineering. Is there a particular uni in germany that jpa send you guys to? (eg uni of vanderbilt for us bound) Can u tell me some of the uni jpa commonly send u to? Thanks a lot in advanceThere are no particular universities that the government will be sending you to. At the end of your studies at INTEC, you will be given a list by a representative from Germany and you will get to choose whichever university and course that you can take. Be sure to research properly before deciding on which university to go to. And do note that you will not necessary get the uni that you wanted, because of the quota on the amount of foreigners on each uni...

For people that will be going to KBU, you will be going earlier to Germany to study the language there. After the language course you will also be given the options to choose whichever universities that you would like to go enroll into...

thanksth MOU states that only 50 students from MARA institutions (in this case INTEC) will go to the Baden-W?rttemberg state in Germany. The rest will have to study either in other states or sit back and continue their studies in Malaysia.

hi everyone! I've got Germany Engineering for this year. Can any senior here please give me your msn address? I would like to ask u guys more about this course. Thanks!!:):)You can check the scholarship holders' database on who to contact. Typically we don't endorse posting of email addresses in forums to keep it clean and to keep yourself safe from spammers. In any case, the contact email addresses can be found in the user profiles. Just click on their name and choose contact info =)

kenntan
18-05-2009, 08:47 PM
hey, i would like to know ... for the universities in badan wuerttemberg ? which is of the best or top of them all?? Or is it depends on the course that we are taking ?... and can you reveal to me what are choices of universities available for our application???.. is it we the ones that apply or jpa will apply for us???... ermm...then.. what are the choices of courses that are available for our choice???? ty seniours for ur answer..

28-05-2009, 04:22 PM
Thread outdated -> locked