View Full Version : JPA 2008: Do they really follow the policy? (Survey)

runninghorse
12-05-2008, 11:26 AM
Friday March 7, 2008

PSD: It?s only for those whose family income is RM1,500 and below

PETALING JAYA: Students who obtain 10 1As in the 2007 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) and whose family income does not exceed RM1,500 a month will be automatically given a Public Service Department (PSD) scholarship.

However, they will still need to fulfil the criteria for the Overseas Scholarship Programme, as well as undergo the interview process, said a statement by PSD yesterday.

The Government has also increased the number of scholarships for the Overseas Programme by 200 for this year's intake.

Applications for the 2,000 scholarships available can only be made online at www.jpa.gov.my (http://www.jpa.gov.my) (for free) as soon as students receive their SPM results on Wednesday.

Details on the necessary qualifications and criteria for the scholarships will be available at the website beginning Sunday,

The public can also call 03-8885 3412 starting Monday, or attend the PSD ?Together With Customers? programme every last Friday of the month at the lobby of Block C2, Putrajaya Administrative Centre, from 8am to 12pm, for more information.

PSD also reminded candidates that academic performance is not a guarantee of getting a scholarship, as other factors like co-curricular involvement, interview performance and socio-economic background are also taken into consideration.

Candidates are advised to choose courses that suit their SPM qualifications, and to accept the countries they are sent to further their studies.

Those applying for medicine will also have to undergo the ?Exposure to a Doctor's Career? programme in selected government hospitals from March 24 to 28. How far it is true? Well... i would like to do a survey over this matter....

For those recommers who succeed in securing jpa schoalrship, can you please post your spm result here including gce o-level and family incomes you have submitted (just state here whether it is above 1500 or less than 1500) and whether you are bumi anot..(i am not a racist, just wanna see the trend of it...)

Please follow the format here:
- bumi / non-bumi
- your spm result including GCE (please clarify it between A1 and A2)
- family income (less than 1500 or above 1500)
- the course you get

thanks in advance for taking part in my survey... hahaha :P

P/S: The survey report is available now... please refer to page 13
youngyew: I am attaching the report here so that people are able to refer to it.

Survey Report on 2008 JPA Scholarship [Accepted Scholars]

Total Participants: 56

Scholar's status
Bumi (including bumi Sabah and Sarawak): 15 [26.79%]
Non-Bumi : 41 [73.21%]

SPM result (exclude GCE O-Level)
Straight A1: 18 [32.14%]
Staraight As
10A1 and above: 16 [28.57%]
below 10A1 : 11 [19.64%]Mixture of As and Bs: 11 [19.64%]

GCE O-Level
A1: 29 [51.79%]
A2: 17 [30.36%]
B3: 6 [10.71%]
B4: 4 [7.14%]

Family income
> RM 1500: 45 [80.36%]
< RM 1500: 11 [19.64%]

Course applied
Medicine : 11 [19.64%]
Dentistry : 7 [12.5%]
Pharmacy : 7 [12.5%]
Engineering : 7 [12.5%]
Actuarial Science : 4 [7.14%]
Humanity/Social Science: 4 [7.14%]
Biotechnology : 4 [7.14%]
Accountancy : 4 [7.14%]
Pure Science : 2 [3.57%]
Economy : 2 [3.57%]
IT/Computer Science : 1 [1.79%]
Architecture : 1 [1.79%]
Law : 1 [1.79%]
Quantity Survey : 1 [1.79%]

artistic1412
12-05-2008, 11:42 AM
bumi

9A1, 1A2(BM a2? say what? soo memalukan!!)
GCE A1

fam income, more lo

course BIOTECH! yay!

runninghorse
12-05-2008, 11:46 AM
thanks artistic1412 for the entry...

now my turns...

-non-bumi
-10A1 2A2(BM and EST) GCE A1
-income <1500 (hmmm... it's true, i am very honest deh)
-pharmacy

eM-syaph
12-05-2008, 11:48 AM
a bumian

8a1 4a2
GCE a2(im a budak kmpung..nt expert in english..huhu)

fmily income.. >1500

biotechnology..cool!

artistic1412
12-05-2008, 11:50 AM
crazy what? budak kampung a2, its hard to find a2 in my schoolaa..

lance
12-05-2008, 11:51 AM
-non bumi
-13A1 GCE A2
-income >1500
- medicine

eM-syaph
12-05-2008, 11:53 AM
hrmm..hard to find a2..easy to find a1 ryte??:amuse

12-05-2008, 11:57 AM
bumi sarawak

7a1,3a2,GCE-0 a1

family income>1500

engineering...hope i get US.

12-05-2008, 11:59 AM
non-bumi

9A1 2A2 GCEO-B4(damn surprise rite?)

family income >1500

humanity

phoenix1892
12-05-2008, 12:10 PM
bumi sabah

9A1 1A2 (EST), GCE-O A2 (damn storytelling)

income > 1500

medicine

12-05-2008, 12:13 PM
hey,my spm result is the worst among you all....huhuhuhuhu.

Pippa
12-05-2008, 12:20 PM
Bumi
8A1, 1A2 (Bio), GCEO-A2
Income >1500
Actuarial Science!

ainin
12-05-2008, 12:26 PM
Bumi
10A1, 1B3(chinese), GCE A2
Income >1500
Architecture

ningyan
12-05-2008, 12:51 PM
non-bumi

9A1 2A2 GCEO-B4(damn surprise rite?)

family income >1500

humanity

i'm surprised u applied for humanity.i also applied for humanity.

bumi
11A1 1A2 GCEO-B3
family income- >1500

Anderson
12-05-2008, 01:19 PM
hehe, my turn~

NON-BUMI
10A1, 1A2(A2 for Add Maths....excuse me?????) GCEO--B4!!!!!!!
family income<1500( no1 can doubt bout this, really!!!)
Pharmacy:P

milogal
12-05-2008, 01:26 PM
non-bumi

11A1s, 1 B2, 1 B3 (GCE A1)

family income = 1500

SAINS (but i told them i wanted to do psychology. ehehehehehehe)

seeweijie
12-05-2008, 01:38 PM
Is this only for those who secure the scholarship? I din get...

non-bumi
11A1, 1A2 (BC) GCE-O A2
family income < RM1500
Accountancy

ronaldo7
12-05-2008, 01:41 PM

non-bumi
11A1, 1A2 (BC) GCE-O A2
family income < RM1500
Accountancy

u mean u dun get?????

runninghorse
12-05-2008, 01:45 PM

non-bumi
11A1, 1A2 (BC) GCE-O A2
family income < RM1500
Accountancy

if i am not mistaken... you are a petronas and telekom/tenaga nasional(i not sure bout this)... right?

CONGRATULATION!!!

vimal06
12-05-2008, 02:01 PM
Non-bumi
11A1 n 1A2 ( EST ) GCE-O oso an A1 so total A1 is 12
income More than 1500
Actuarial Science

Josh Loo
12-05-2008, 02:14 PM
me.
non bumi
12A1, 2A2, 1B3 (est) GCE A2.
>5000 (government server--teachers)

GuoSheng
12-05-2008, 02:16 PM
Non-Bumi
12A1s GCE-O : A1
Income> RM1500 (father is a teacher too)
Actuarial Science
Ipad guide (http://ipadguides.info)

Josh Loo
12-05-2008, 02:19 PM
me.
non bumi
12A1, 2A2, 1B3 (est) GCE A2.
>5000 (government server--teachers)

forget to say.. i get engineering :))

ZhannaC
12-05-2008, 02:37 PM
Your article stated that PSD scholarships are ONLY for those with a family income of less than RM1500.. that's not true.. it means automatic places for those with income less than RM1500.. but I don't see that being true anyway..

- Non-bumi
- 12A1, GCE-O: A1
- Above 1500(with both parents as gov. servants it's rare that they earn less than RM1500.. after nearly 30 years of service of course they earn more)
- Law

faizin
12-05-2008, 02:44 PM
9a1 1b3(est) gce-o - B3(so dissapointed)
income >1500
Sains

my spm was not as excellent as u all..maybe i got it because of my chosen course n oso my mom is a teacher.oh..n plus im bumi.

matchgirl
12-05-2008, 02:56 PM
non-bumi
13A1 1B3
Gce A1

less than 1500
medicine

Jim
12-05-2008, 03:05 PM
non bumi (chinese)
11A1 and English GCE-O - A1
Economy
>1500

ju_ytze
12-05-2008, 03:20 PM
- non-bumi
- 9A1s 1A2, GCE A1
- >1500
- sastera dan kemanusiaan (international relations)

seeweijie
12-05-2008, 03:22 PM
u mean u dun get?????

ya.. i dun get it.. i think mb is because of my poor performance during the interview (i was interviewed alone, not interviewed in group, they din give me time to prepare on their question, straight Q and A and i am having chicken pox that time) and i got petronas scholarship... i apply the same course for both JPA and petronas(accountancy)... However, i am grateful being a scholars for 2 scholarships (Petronas and Telekom)...

if i am not mistaken... you are a petronas and telekom/tenaga nasional(i not sure bout this)... right?

CONGRATULATION!!!

yup.. thanks..

shakira
12-05-2008, 03:26 PM
-bumi
-9a1, 1b3(est), GCE A1
-more than 1.5k
-accountancy

qwerkie
12-05-2008, 03:27 PM
non
12A1, gce-o A1
>1500
engineering

passer-by
12-05-2008, 03:57 PM
non-bumi
12 a1, GCE-a1
< 1500
engineering

cuteranger
12-05-2008, 04:10 PM
non-bumi
11A1 gce A2
<1500 (father retired)
perakaunan

12-05-2008, 04:13 PM
>>non-bumi
>>12A1 1A2 (EST) , GCE --A2
>> less than RM1500
>>dentistry

megatfais
12-05-2008, 04:17 PM
Your article stated that PSD scholarships are ONLY for those with a family income of less than RM1500.. that's not true.. it means automatic places for those with income less than RM1500.. but I don't see that being true anyway..

- Non-bumi
- 12A1, GCE-O: A1
- Above 1500(with both parents as gov. servants it's rare that they earn less than RM1500.. after nearly 30 years of service of course they earn more)
- Law

i thought it was stated clearly that those with 10 1As and family income <rm1500 still need to go to interview processes?i think those people are only assured for interviews not the scholarships.correct me if i got it wrong.i must have read it somewhere.

passOUT
12-05-2008, 04:30 PM
non bumi ( proud to be one )

8 a1 2 a2, gce o a2 (which shocked everyone including my english teacher as she was expecting 1 a1 from me in gce o...must be because of the childhood story that i made up..)

income > 1500 (aiyoo...slightly more than that lar...)

arts and humanities ( some may say its a rather "cold" choice but for me, it's as hot as tabasco...hehehe)

**i'm not so sure about the "10a1 + income < 1500-and-you'll-secure-the-s'ship" theory because i've got a friend who's really rich (her dad was an MD), scored 11a1 who secure the s'ship but another friend's whose dad is a retiree ( meaning zero income), scored straight 11As but did not get the s'ship.....how's that eh????

cuteranger
12-05-2008, 04:35 PM

8 a1 2 a2, gce o a2 (which shocked everyone including my english teacher as she was expecting 1 a1 from me in gce o...must be because of the childhood story that i made up..)

arts and humanities ( some may say its a rather "cold" choice but for me, it's as hot as tabasco...hehehe)

**i'm not so sure about the "10a1 + income < 1500-and-you'll-secure-the-s'ship" theory because i've got a friend who's really rich (her dad was an MD), scored 11a1 who secure the s'ship but another friend's whose dad is a retiree ( meaning zero income), scored straight 11As but did not get the s'ship.....how's that eh????

11As? how many A1s? the policy only applies for those who have 10A1s and above...

newney
12-05-2008, 04:55 PM
-non bumi
-12 A1 + GCE-O A1
- >RM1500
- medicine

kaera
12-05-2008, 05:02 PM
- non-bumi
- 11A1, 1A2(moral) GCE-O A1
- family income (above 1500)
- Comp Sc/IT

Calling all IT takers!! Pls PM me :D I'd liek to know if there are any around?

alepbing
12-05-2008, 05:22 PM
Friday March 7, 2008

PSD: It?s only for those whose family income is RM1,500 and below

PETALING JAYA: Students who obtain 10 1As in the 2007 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) and whose family income does not exceed RM1,500 a month will be automatically given a Public Service Department (PSD) scholarship.

guys, isnt it obvious that those who got 10 A1s and family income lower than 1500 per month will get JPA scholarships. why isnt it true?

plus do you think those recepients can afford to have internet at home? of course you will not know that they got the scholarships

depends also, if her dad was former govt servant, then he got pensions lah. or his mother is working. if zero income then how to makan.

like i said, we will never know who are those with 10A1s and more and family income less than 1500. i mean they do get, but the dont prance around saying that in recom.

blursylvia
12-05-2008, 05:37 PM
-non bumi
-11A1s plus GCE A1
-more than 5000(parents gov servants)
-dentistry

from wat i observe among my frens,those hu got jpa has minimum 11A1s...
BC get B4 oso ok~ dun worry bout BC...

azemo
12-05-2008, 06:26 PM
+bumi
+9 A1, 1 A2, 1B3[EST]
+GCE B3
+Around RM3k
+Pharmacy

Shocked when get jpa...coz my sis also jpa scholar...

Jace
12-05-2008, 07:46 PM
non-bumi
11A1 + GCE o-levels A1 (altogether 12)
>1500 (my dad is a doctor....)
dentistry

queendom
12-05-2008, 07:47 PM
i feel sad to post....coz i din get....

-non bumi
-12A1 GCE A2
-income=1500
-biotech

HoLmEs_90
12-05-2008, 07:55 PM
-sarawakian bumi
-11A1 GCE A2
-income=>1500
-medic

12-05-2008, 08:26 PM
wah...all geniuses in here man.i got the least a1.hehe.
i havent seen anyone got only 7a1 but me.huhu.

rach
12-05-2008, 08:29 PM
then u must be lucky to secure one. most of the jpa scholars arnd here have at least...lets see..9A1, 10 a1?

12-05-2008, 08:30 PM
yeah,i guess...hehe.

anqi
12-05-2008, 08:50 PM
-12A1, GCE A1
-income>1.5k
-biotech

-11A1 1A2, GCE B4
-income<1.5k
-medic

-11A1 1A2, GCE A2
-income<1.5k
-engineering

-11A1 1A2, GCE B3
-income<1.5k
-accountancy

-11A1 1A2, GCE B4
-income>1.5k
-medic

-11A1 1A2, GCE A1
-income>1.5k(her mother is govt servant-teacher)
-accountancy

-10A1 1A2, GCE A2
-income<1.5k
-pharmacy

They all are my friends and they get JPA. To add, all of them are non-bumi.

phoebe902004
12-05-2008, 09:05 PM
-bumi
-9A1,1A2, GCE A2
-income>rm1500
-dentistry

Aries
12-05-2008, 09:06 PM
non-bumi
12 1A n GCE 1A
income > rm1500
dentistry

Congrats 2 all who get it... Those who got dentistry, feel free to PM me

jpysh2004@
12-05-2008, 09:17 PM
- non-bumi
- 10 A1, 1 A2(EST), 1 B3(Chinese..T-T)---1A for GCE O
- less than 1500
- actuarial science

apiq
12-05-2008, 09:30 PM
- bumi
- 9 1A 1 2A (est)
- gceo - 2A
- family income >1500
- pharmacy

Kuekkuek
12-05-2008, 11:24 PM
*sarawakian--non bumi
*12A1's, GCE A2
*>RM1.5k
*medicine

Congratz 2 all the recommers, feel free to PM me too if u wanna know more bout me(glad to meet new frens, frens tat i know and long lost contact frens)

Xianst
13-05-2008, 12:01 AM
Failed

non-bumi
10a1 1a2(mandarin) , gceo a1
>1500
engineering

More than 20 of my classmates wiith straight a's failed. 15 of us got 10a1.

only 2 kids with 11a1 got scholarships to indonesia.. thts it.

syafiq07
13-05-2008, 02:19 AM
Failed

non-bumi
>1500
engineering

how didja know jpa sending them to indon??

stupidboy
13-05-2008, 04:25 AM
I thought this thread is for those who secured the scholarship. Now it's getting confusing. I don't know who got it and who don't. :huh :confused: :???:

dya_me
13-05-2008, 08:31 AM
ur spm very excellent...i'm just da lucky one 2 get jpa...

-bumi
-8A1,1A2(bio,very frustrating!!!),1B3(est),GCE B3(bad uh??)
-income>1500
-pharmacy

i've checked a lot just 2 make sure dat i saw a 'tahniah' n not dreaming...

runninghorse
13-05-2008, 09:13 AM
I thought this thread is for those who secured the scholarship. Now it's getting confusing. I don't know who got it and who don't. :huh :confused: :???:

yes... this thread is indeed for those who have secured jpa scholarship....

those who dont get will state clearly in their post that they didnt...

extell
13-05-2008, 11:52 AM
Failed

non-bumi
>1500
engineering

Erm..Indon? How did they know already?

Mine:
Non-bumi
11A1s (GCE-O A1)
>1500 <--not rich k
Medicine :nod

Shawn_Paul
13-05-2008, 12:58 PM
Non-Bumi
10A1 1A2 (yes yes its EST =.=) GCE-O A1
>1500
Dentistry

All the best to all of ya xD

twinklecheesse
13-05-2008, 02:35 PM
hi=)
non-bumi
12A1,GCE-O A1
income >1500
biotechnology

13-05-2008, 03:34 PM
runninghouse, on that day i have chatted with u..........
My turn, proudly present (stinky....)
12A1, 1A2 (EST), A1 (Mandarin, proud to be a Chinese), stinky GCEO: 3B (poorest among recomers, ashamed.....) :<
Income: >rm1500 (my mum is a teacher, how can a teacher with monthly salary below 1500?)

runninghorse
13-05-2008, 03:45 PM
12A1, 1A2 (EST), A1 (Mandarin, proud to be a Chinese), stinky GCEO: 3B (poorest among recomers, ashamed.....) :<
Income: >rm1500 (my mum is a teacher, how can a teacher with monthly salary below 1500?)

Hmmm... i wonder... when you can spell my user-name correctly? :lol

my user-name is runninghorse....:roll:

Anderson
13-05-2008, 04:06 PM

Hehe...my Mandarin oso get A1, give me five!!
Hello???Ur GCEO is stinky??then mine can throw into longkang edi....B4!!!
cant wait 2 meet wif u in future time yea!!Both are Pharmacist wannabe!!

13-05-2008, 04:09 PM

hey, same fate here...mandarin A1 but gceo B4...lolz

just work hard la..brush up english..:P

runninghorse
13-05-2008, 04:11 PM

Hahaha... add me in... one more proud scholars getting A1 in chinese subject.... :whoo

annarina
13-05-2008, 05:00 PM
non-bumi
11A1, 1A2 (moral), GCE-O A1
income > 1500 (dad's a cikgu)
medicine.

btw, i hav a fren, non-bumi who scored 11A1 1B3, income less than 1500, din get it...bliv me he definitely did well 4 interview. Makes me wonder....

13-05-2008, 05:01 PM
What was his/her B3?

13-05-2008, 06:52 PM
Hmmm... i wonder... when you can spell my user-name correctly? :lol

my user-name is runninghorse....:roll:

i am truly a 'bozo' cannot even differentiate between 'house' and 'horse'.... really sorry and here is the punishment of myself...
runninghorse

Rewrite the 'runninghorse' for thousand time... i don't mean to flood ReCom with runninghorse, hopefully youngyew dont delete this post :))

Give me five, friends who got mandarin A1, really hard to get, harder than english..... :)) i really hope the transparency of grading mandarin papers can be improved.... no idea how they give grade to students taking mandarin in SPM, only 1.4 % of all these students got A1 in SPM 2007 :mad

13-05-2008, 06:54 PM

yeah, pharmacist-to-be, hopefully we can get admission into the same pre-university, same universities, same seats in the same plane, same bedroom, same hospital after graduation, same shop (maybe we can share to open a shop in the future :)) all the same.....) LOL

Davidlew
13-05-2008, 07:00 PM
Here I am:-
-11 A1, B3 for mandarin. GCE O:A1
-Non-bumi
->2000
-medicine

Mandarin for last year is really hard. Mandarin is alry hard to secure an A1. Can't fathom why chinese teacher still came up with so-hard questions...Chinese also don't want to help Chinese...So sad.....

runninghorse
13-05-2008, 07:33 PM
-Non-bumi
->2000
-medicine

Mandarin for last year is really hard. Mandarin is alry hard to secure an A1. Can't fathom why chinese teacher still came up with so-hard questions...Chinese also don't want to help Chinese...So sad.....

i must say... it's not the question problem... it is the grading system...

my chinese teacher once told me that you have to achive very high mark in chinese papers to get A1 like 89++... (correct me if i am wrong)

Davidlew
13-05-2008, 07:37 PM
My teacher said 90... So, consider this,Chinese teachers should come up with easy questions so tat a lot of chinese students can benefit from that...

aitheng
13-05-2008, 07:58 PM
Count me in...
-non bumi
-12A1s
-GCE A2
-income more than rm1500 (my mother is a teacher)
-quantity surveying

runninghorse
13-05-2008, 07:59 PM
My teacher said 90... So, consider this,Chinese teachers should come up with easy questions so tat a lot of chinese students can benefit from that...

IF that is soo... then a lot of people will get very very high mark during SPM like let's say 95!!! Then the lembaga MIGHT set a higher mark target for them in order to get A1....... 100 marks to get an A1!!! then the percentage is still the same, that's less than 2% of the candidates get A1.... XD!!

haha... jusk joking anyway... the best way is not to complain that the question papers too hard.. if you equip yourself with 'hard question's answers' then every thing should be fine...:headsmack

13-05-2008, 09:16 PM
existing thread exists

Thread Locked
Reason: redundant

P/S: existing thread here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5104)

Thread reopened. my apologies for the mistakes

Xianst
13-05-2008, 09:32 PM
IF that is soo... then a lot of people will get very very high mark during SPM like let's say 95!!! Then the lembaga MIGHT set a higher mark target for them in order to get A1....... 100 marks to get an A1!!! then the percentage is still the same, that's less than 2% of the candidates get A1.... XD!!

haha... jusk joking anyway... the best way is not to complain that the question papers too hard.. if you equip yourself with 'hard question's answers' then every thing should be fine...:headsmack

why is it so funy? that only 2% of the candidates get a1 while for subjects like mathematics... it is like everyone can get a1... anyway i would rather have then rising the threshold for every single subject instead of dropping it... only with that.. our a1's worth something...

okay maybe i am not a good guy... it was making me feel really bad when everyone with not so good results got the same one as i had though i had put in so much efforts... and then only to realize that my efforts din not worth anythting as it was really easy to get an a1 in spm

Anderson
14-05-2008, 12:49 AM

really??
hehe, hope to meet u in pre-u study....at least i'll nt feel lonely>.<
btw, wuts the course u choose???
i hope u do start it with P....haha!!

Hahaha... add me in... one more proud scholars getting A1 in chinese subject.... :whoo

hehe....welcome mr. chinese A1, haha!!
btw, u oso get A1 for ur GCEO....i speechless edi:amazed

yeah, pharmacist-to-be, hopefully we can get admission into the same pre-university, same universities, same seats in the same plane, same bedroom, same hospital after graduation, same shop (maybe we can share to open a shop in the future :)) all the same.....) LOL

yayaya^^
if got frenship tat can last so long how great it will be:)
And v gonna open a shop tat can fight against Guardian and Watson....haha!!!

i must say... it's not the question problem... it is the grading system...

my chinese teacher once told me that you have to achive very high mark in chinese papers to get A1 like 89++... (correct me if i am wrong)

yea, this year Chinese paper really damn hard....the ancient chinese part really kills me....however , v still managed to get A1, i think the teacher who marks our paper still helps us alots....they mayb juz simply give us high marks in order to help more chinese to get A1 for chinese paper....
Btw, only 1.4%++ ppl get Chinese A1????Means v r chinese Pro among the chinese student in Msia edi???Omg.......:laugh

Beatles
14-05-2008, 01:08 AM
Hi everyone. Nice to meet you.

-Not bumi (didn't get matrix lah)
-11A1, 1B3 (that's for Chinese lo) G.C.E A2 (still surprised on that)
-Income more than RM 1500 (dad's a draughtsman, mum housewife)
-engineering (hope to be specialised in civil, structural and construction)

Regarding the so-called 'hard to score A1' in Chinese, I still think that whether its A1, A2 or B3, Chinese students who take Chinese has make a brave decision. Coz not many want to take it for fearing it to 'tarnish' their 'clean A1s result' (it's a fact) We can walk proud of this. Top of it, I really salute those who can scored A1s in Chinese, kudos!

phoenix1892
14-05-2008, 01:21 AM
Hi everyone. Nice to meet you.

-Not bumi (didn't get matrix lah)
-11A1, 1B3 (that's for Chinese lo) G.C.E A2 (still surprised on that)
-Income more than RM 1500 (dad's a draughtsman, mum housewife)
-engineering (hope to be specialised in civil, structural and construction)

Regarding the so-called 'hard to score A1' in Chinese, I still think that whether its A1, A2 or B3, Chinese students who take Chinese has make a brave decision. Coz not many want to take it for fearing it to 'tarnish' their 'clean A1s result' (it's a fact) We can walk proud of this. Top of it, I really salute those who can scored A1s in Chinese, kudos!

I think you would know this, but the top student in Sabah managed to get A1s in both Chinese and Chinese Literature! I'm not chinese and even I know that's undoubtedly super hard. I wonder if he got the scholarship...If he didn't then, I don't know how JPA chose it's scholars.

extell
14-05-2008, 11:47 AM
My salutes to those scoring A1s in Chinese. Way to go^^

Davidlew
14-05-2008, 11:51 AM

Totally agree...I also salute ppl who got A1 for mandarin. Anyway, no one got A1 in my school while five got A2 only..

14-05-2008, 12:02 PM
-Non-bumi
->2000
-medicine

Was it? It seems that students from my school did't have problems with it... EST poised a bigger threat...

michaelbyz23
14-05-2008, 12:11 PM
10A1 1B3(est) GCE (A1)
dad retired, income < RM850
Biotech
Dint get JPA
Cuz im Chinese

i see that most of the jpa scholars are bumis...

nadia.g
14-05-2008, 12:19 PM
goodness. the govt is lying! there r so many ppl who got at least 10 1A with income less than 1500 and still did not secure a scholarship...

michaelbyz23
14-05-2008, 12:22 PM
wow... tat was cheating? this is unfair? wat the hell?

nadia.g
14-05-2008, 12:26 PM
yes very unfair...!!!.. heck someone with >60K per month can get the scholar!! the govt even lies.

I suggest to those who scored 101A in SPM with income less than 1.5k.. pls BANG the govt.. get the scholar. u deserve it!

passer-by
14-05-2008, 12:42 PM
-Non-bumi
->2000
-medicine

The standard of chinese subject in SPM level is quite high. Nevertheless, most are doing well (in terms of marks). So, the mean mark for the normal distribution will normally be higher than other subjects. They grade the marks according to the graph which lead to seriously few persons in getting A1. (The extremity of the normal distribution graph is constitute of those getting relatively higher marks -- this section will be graded as A1).

duke23
14-05-2008, 12:55 PM
goodness. the govt is lying! there r so many ppl who got at least 10 1A with income less than 1500 and still did not secure a scholarship...

MARA is very lenient. i had a friend.. this spoilt rich n selfish brat. her parents income is more than 60k per month! managed to secure a scholarship (MARA)..

sigh unfair govt!

well the best part is this people who come from families with monthly income of more than 50 k still have the cheek to apply for scholarships.lol...such a joke..i guess they think its their right.Free bondless education..why not take it right?..100% sure to get.

I guess my only advice to the deserving unsuccessful scholars is that..work hard and look for better options.Malaysia doesnt want you.Ppl who have made this bold move ages ago are having better lives elsewhere where they share equal rights..at least in terms of education..even refugees are doing well in canada and australia....all is not lost..

michaelbyz23
14-05-2008, 12:57 PM
sigh..... i guess u're rite... i'l find my own way.. im not going to form6 anyway

14-05-2008, 01:27 PM
10A1 1B3(est) GCE (A1)
dad retired, income < RM850
Biotech
Dint get JPA
Cuz im Chinese

I think you should appeal :wink, stop triggering sensitive issue....
To test whether JPA follows its policy, you should appeal as it is stated that excellent SPM schooleavers with 10A1 and with a household income lower than RM 1500 can get JPA sponsorship, regardless of race and religion.

i am wondering how the topic in regard to the new policy of JPA is suddenly related to the topic: How to get A1 for Mandarin in SPM, really makes me LOLing.... ReComers love having st. out of topic....

14-05-2008, 03:27 PM
Please read the following thread (and post), and debate about those issues there.

Scholarships: To what extent should income be considered? (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=158684#post158684)

Only 1.2% of those who took Chinese got A1 (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=120547#post120547)

Kindly keep the discussion on each thread focused and stop discussing the same thing all over the place in all sorts of threads.

14-05-2008, 03:32 PM
I have a suggestion here, since this is a survey, when those who have secured JPA scholarship receive their offer letter, you can edit you details by adding in the country you're offered, I think this can help to answer a question triggered by many recommers: What are the criteria to get a certain country?

runninghorse
14-05-2008, 07:21 PM

you will be stunned by my survey report later if you really think so...

i am wondering how the topic in regard to the new policy of JPA is suddenly related to the topic: How to get A1 for Mandarin in SPM, really makes me LOLing.... ReComers love having st. out of topic....

Hahaha... indeed it is... but no harm right?

i dont mind actually...

Davidlew
14-05-2008, 07:44 PM
Was it? It seems that students from my school did't have problems with it... EST poised a bigger threat...

Maybe my mandarin is really sucks. But, i would say last year paper is tougher than previous years papers. In addition, I seldom read mandarin books. Neither did i go for mandarin tuition. Instead, I like English. My teacher gave us EST tuition class. I also read a lot of eng stuffs. My school got 12 ppl got A1 for EST.

Please read the following thread (and post), and debate about those issues there.

Scholarships: To what extent should income be considered? (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=158684#post158684)

Only 1.2% of those who took Chinese got A1 (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?p=120547#post120547)

Kindly keep the discussion on each thread focused and stop discussing the same thing all over the place in all sorts of threads.

I think it's human's nature.

khuanoz
14-05-2008, 09:29 PM
i decided to help make this survey more accurate by adding in info about my friends who arent recomers but secured jpa..i myself did not btw..

Student N and S both non-bumi...N got 9a1 2a2 and got architecture while S got 10a1 and got law.

Student A and G both bumi but non malay...A got straight a's (not sure a1 and a2) and got law while G got 9a1 and 1a2 and got medicine.

All of them have income exceeding 5000.

for easier viewing and partly to adhere to the rule:

N
non bumi
9a1 2a2
more than 1500
architecture

S
non bumi
10a1
more than 1500
law

A
bumi
straightA's
more than 1500
law

G
bumi
9a1 1a2
more than 1500
medicine

p.s their gce result im not sure..koku not sure also but all are active members of certain clubs in school and represent school for some..

hope it helps..many other non bumi who got straighta1's with excellent koku didnt get it also..hmm likewise other bumi also didn get..hmmm tough luck i guess for all of us in the same boat

sonatinalai
14-05-2008, 09:33 PM
NON BUMI
13 1A, GCE-O 1A
>RM1500
parents - both teachers
Biotech! Yeah!

phoenix1892
14-05-2008, 10:18 PM
I think I'll add my friend too...

Sabahan Bumi
7A1s 3A2s gce-o A1
> 1500
France Engineering

So far only 2 people from my school got JPA. 4 of us were called for interview.

Beatles
15-05-2008, 01:09 AM
No, he didn't get JPA, even I'm surprised on that. But he get Bank Negara, go to UK...

artistic1412
15-05-2008, 02:07 AM
only 12 a1 est?
scary..

15-05-2008, 10:06 AM
NON BUMI
13 1A, GCE-O 1A
>RM1500
parents - both teachers
Biotech! Yeah!

wow, you get pretty well SPM result, i think you maybe one of the geniuses appeared on the TV show on the day of SPM release.... :amazed. Which state are you from?

annarina
15-05-2008, 04:46 PM
What was his/her B3?

it was est...

tres
15-05-2008, 08:24 PM
10a1 2a2 gce-0 a1
pharmacy- failed
>1500

non-bumi sobbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

kc90
15-05-2008, 08:43 PM
non bumi
111A, GCE-O 1A
>1500
dentistry
2 those who failed-it's not the end of the road....put dat behind u and move on wif ur life....it's not impossible dat u'll become more successful than those who gt de scholarship....!!!

passOUT
15-05-2008, 10:38 PM
non bumi
111A, GCE-O 1A
>1500
dentistry
2 those who failed-it's not the end of the road....put dat behind u and move on wif ur life....it's not impossible dat u'll become more successful than those who gt de scholarship....!!!

couldnt agree more!!!
life has to go on....

16-05-2008, 10:29 AM
non bumi
111A, GCE-O 1A
>1500
dentistry

At first, :)) I think I must be psychotic to know there is a Malaysian getting 111 A in previous SPM, please leave a space between eleven and 1A, it is hard to see and easy to confuse others....

tent
16-05-2008, 10:44 AM
non bumi
8A1 3a2(Gceo B4)

Jpa -Arts and humanity

i am not sure wanna go for it or not...:(

I should go for matri rite? as i get matri and Jpa as well ..
now very regret..
i am not so ambitious enough ..

16-05-2008, 10:56 AM
non bumi
8A1 3a2(Gceo B4)

Jpa -Arts and humanity

now very regret..

Choose whatever you wan so much, if you think you doesnt actually suit JPA but appears to be more suitable to commence learning process locally, you can leave this chance to another who is more worthy (that you think). Be thinking rationally, nevertheless, be confident of yourself oso.

hikaru
16-05-2008, 10:59 AM
non bumi
11A1 1A2(est) GCE-O 1A
>1500
econ

tent
16-05-2008, 11:10 AM
Choose whatever you wan so much, if you think you doesnt actually suit JPA but appears to be more suitable to commence learning process locally, you can leave this chance to another who is more worthy (that you think). Be thinking rationally, nevertheless, be confident of yourself oso.

1 thing i am worry is i cant catch up with the english standard while at overseas..

i am not mean to belittle my capability, but i really nid an overall understanding on overseas uni before i proceed further..

somemore wat is the diffrence between learning locally and overseas?
i wonder many of u want to study overseas rite?why?

hikaru
16-05-2008, 11:11 AM
non bumi
8A1 3a2(Gceo B4)

Jpa -Arts and humanity

now very regret..
i oso got both matric n jpa
but i din go 4 matric

16-05-2008, 11:17 AM
1 thing i am worry is i cant catch up with the english standard while at overseas..

i am not mean to belittle my capability, but i really nid an overall understanding on overseas uni before i proceed further..

So, dunt you belittle your ability to do well, do compare yourself to others or you may be crazy if you constantly do this. I also got B3 for my English and until now I dunt have the courage to speak with others in English (maybe due to my smoothness when speaking, I need to think and translate, and this process takes time). In regard to your question, I think both have their own advantages. In Malaysia, you may retain your moral values since everything here is under-controlled. In contrast, you maybe affected by the bad western traditions, and these may eventually spoil you and your coming days if you dunt manage to be self-controlled. Studying locally maybe not that challenging for some. Choose to study in other countries may open your eye and mind to a new world that you may not experience before. Why shouldn't you give yourself a chance to live a different life. :))

dya_me
16-05-2008, 11:21 AM

da environment is different...i dun think dat u should worry bout ur english...even someone dat dunno english, will become an expert in english after be sent to overseas(of course country dat use eng a lot)...trust me...n people will look u up if u r overseas graduate...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:25 AM
So, dunt you belittle your ability to do well, do compare yourself to others or you may be crazy if you constantly do this. I also got B3 for my English and until now I dunt have the courage to speak with others in English (maybe due to my smoothness when speaking, I need to think and translate, and this process takes time). In regard to your question, I think both have their own advantages. In Malaysia, you may retain your moral values since everything here is under-controlled. In contrast, you maybe affected by the bad western traditions, and these may eventually spoil you and your coming days if you dunt manage to be self-controlled. Studying locally maybe not that challenging for some. Choose to study in other countries may open your eye and mind to a new world that you may not experience before. Why shouldn't you give yourself a chance to live a different life. :))

totally agree!!!
shud get more experience when u got the chance,
at least when u bcum an old man(or old women), u can tell ur grandson: U noe wut, ur granddaddy or grandmummy actually had tried to study in oversea, pretty cool huh!!:laugh

tent
16-05-2008, 11:25 AM

Thx tanyijing for giving me such a nice advice..:)

but i am pretty sure that u have the confident in urself..that is good..but do not be too overconfident ,thing may not run smooth while u r in overseas.(sorry if i sound pesimistic..) u have to take care of ur own, u have to adapt to the environment there..
i would miss my mum and family a lot if i were abroad...sob sob!!:cry

16-05-2008, 11:31 AM
Thx tanyijing for giving me such a nice advice..:)

but i am pretty sure that u have the confident in urself..that is good..but do not be too overconfident ,thing may not run smooth while u r in overseas.(sorry if i sound pesimistic..) u have to take care of ur own, u have to adapt to the environment there..
i would miss my mum and family a lot if i were abroad...sob sob!!:cry

You will be given a chance not to miss your family so much soon as you will need to commence your study in Kuala Lumpur (if you are not a local there), no worries coz you won't be missing them so much as you will be busy having your study to fight against other geniuses there... :))

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:42 AM
You will be given a chance not to miss your family so much soon as you will need to commence your study in Kuala Lumpur (if you are not a local there), no worries coz you won't be missing them so much as you will be busy having your study to fight against other geniuses there... :))

yea yea, u will bz as a warrior to fight against the other superb student from whole m'sia who get JPA scholarship....n u have to think of many many way to overcome the pressure there, u dun even have time to cry n start to thinkin of ur family....:laugh

16-05-2008, 11:51 AM
yea yea, u will bz as a warrior to fight against the other superb student from whole m'sia who get JPA scholarship....n u have to think of many many way to overcome the pressure there, u dun even have time to cry n start to thinkin of ur family....:laugh

Anyway, stress, tension and pressure may sometimes lead you to miss your family too more much, so one suggestion for those who had never left their parents before, take along your family photo with you when you are not at home or wherever you go, you can speak with them at anytime, anywhere :))

Anderson
16-05-2008, 11:53 AM
Anyway, stress, tension and pressure may sometimes lead you to miss your family too more much, so one suggestion for those who had never left their parents before, take along your family photo with you when you are not at home or wherever you go, you can speak with them at anytime, anywhere :))

and there's something called webcam now.....
or juz buy ticket back to ur hometown la....
frm kl to ipoh juz 3.5 hour....okok lah~~

16-05-2008, 11:59 AM
from kl to my hometown 6 hours, it kills. And one thing to add, I don't have much money to afford two tickets a week to return to my home. Having chat using skype, messengers and google talk can be convenient, but I doubt will us provided with Internet connection in the college?

Anderson
16-05-2008, 12:05 PM
from kl to my hometown 6 hours, it kills. And one thing to add, I don't have much money to afford two tickets a week to return to my home. Having chat using skype, messengers and google talk can be convenient, but I doubt will us provided with Internet connection in the college?

hmm....i curious bout tat too....
anyway, some of my fren who study in kl, they actually share a streamyx connection in their doom....wonder if v can do so onot in our campus...

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:07 PM
maybe we should learn not always go back 2 our hometown....practice 2 be far from them, so we will not feel soooooooo bad when we need 2 go overseas...homesick is really stressful 4 someone who dunno how 2 handle it...

Anderson
16-05-2008, 12:09 PM
maybe we should learn not always go back 2 our hometown....practice 2 be far from them, so we will not feel soooooooo bad when we need 2 go overseas...homesick is really stressful 4 someone who dunno how 2 handle it...

its okay.....v gonna make lots of fren there....and frenship gonna keep us strong and mature^^

16-05-2008, 12:22 PM
Not going back to hometown quite often made me feel the pinche of homesickness.

i cant really think of the consequences if i were to went abroad , hanging there until graduate before coming back to malaysia just because of the burden of ticket fare.

ps: do JPA sponsor the tickets for us to go back to our hometown while we are in overseas? hw often? i dont think so it would..:(

dya_me
16-05-2008, 12:29 PM

i cant really think of the consequences if i were to went abroad , hanging there until graduate before coming back to malaysia just because of the burden of ticket fare.

ps: do JPA sponsor the tickets for us to go back to our hometown while we are in overseas? hw often? i dont think so it would..:(

yup, i also dun think jpa will sponsor the tickets...its really expensive n we will stay there for years...we will miss our family a lot...

16-05-2008, 12:30 PM

JPA will only sponsor your ticket twice, when you first leave for studies and another one when you graduate, if you want to go home, during the course, of course you can but the money will have to come from your own pocket...

I think the discussion is going out of topic again...

runninghorse
16-05-2008, 09:07 PM
The response is getting very cold now so i choose to submit my survey report earlier....

Scholar's status

Staraight As

below 10A1 : 11 [19.64%]

Mixture of As and Bs: 11 [19.64%]

GCE O-Level

Family income

Course applied

the report is provided at my best effort... i welcome any correction from all recomers if there is one..

P/S: i am only preapring a statistic report and leave the intepretion and analayse done by all recommers... let's start the discussion!!

Anderson
16-05-2008, 09:51 PM
The response is getting very cold now so i choose to submit my survey report earlier....

Scholar's status

Staraight As

below 10A1 : 11 [19.64%]

GCE O-Level

Family income

Course applied

the report is provided at my best effort... i welcome any correction from all recomers if there is one..

P/S: i am only preapring a statistic report and leave the intepretion and analayse done by all recommers... let's start the discussion!!

only 4 wif GCEO b4.....really feel bad.......how come my english so poor????

Al-Bert
16-05-2008, 11:13 PM
Wondering any kind one could assist in sketching graph or creating chart based on runninghorse's survey report?

I reckon it would certainly be clearer and easier for interpretion and analysis purpose by ReCommers...

vimal06
16-05-2008, 11:19 PM
and are this numbers n figures made based on the number of recommers who got JPA rite?? or isit the whole JPA list?? i doubt it is..

ZhannaC
16-05-2008, 11:22 PM
and are this numbers n figures made based on the number of recommers who got JPA rite?? or isit the whole JPA list?? i doubt it is..

Yes.. it's based on recommers..

JPA gave out 2000 scholarships after all. :amuse

alepbing
17-05-2008, 01:41 AM
kudos runninghose. your effort will be paid off, dont worry. it is very nice of you.

17-05-2008, 08:39 AM
I think someone can make the report nicer by categorising the results according to course, because we know different courses have different requirements...

hikaru
17-05-2008, 09:35 AM
thx runninghorse^^
anyway juz 2 ppl got econ
i hope there is more....

runninghorse
17-05-2008, 10:21 AM
I think someone can make the report nicer by categorising the results according to course, because we know different courses have different requirements...

thanks miracle seed for the suggestion...

actually i have once thought about this idea but the accuracy is a question since the data entry for each course is very little... some course like law has only one data entry...

to know more about different requirements for different course... you can refer to the individual data entry....

thx runninghorse^^
anyway juz 2 ppl got econ
i hope there is more....

hehe... you are welcome...

dont worry... there's abundant of jpa scholars out there apply for economic... you are not lonely...

kudos runninghose. your effort will be paid off, dont worry. it is very nice of you.

you are most welcome....

18-05-2008, 12:34 PM
Thanks to runninghorse for doing this analysis.

Definitely lets hope more ReComers would respond to this, so that we can have a bigger sampling size. Now it is just 56 out of 2,000 who gets the scholarships. That is 2.8%.

I definitely think that there are a lot more JPA Scholars out there within ReCom.org! So, lets hope that they would continue to share more info here.

In terms of salary, what JPA takes for point system is RM5,000 and below would get 10 full points, RM5k to RM10k would get 5 points and more than RM10k would get 0 point.

The below RM1,500 and minimum 10A1 guarantee of scholarship is part of the 2,000 scholarships. If I am not wrong, there are 300 places allocated for such scholars.

Can more ReComers continue to share your data for this survey? Thanks!

Lets aim to get more than 100 samples, so that we can put in at least a 5% sampling. Thanks!

runninghorse
18-05-2008, 01:13 PM
Thanks to runninghorse for doing this analysis.

Definitely lets hope more ReComers would respond to this, so that we can have a bigger sampling size. Now it is just 56 out of 2,000 who gets the scholarships. That is 2.8%.

I definitely think that there are a lot more JPA Scholars out there within ReCom.org! So, lets hope that they would continue to share more info here.

In terms of salary, what JPA takes for point system is RM5,000 and below would get 10 full points, RM5k to RM10k would get 5 points and more than RM10k would get 0 point.

The below RM1,500 and minimum 10A1 guarantee of scholarship is part of the 2,000 scholarships. If I am not wrong, there are 300 places allocated for such scholars.

Can more ReComers continue to share your data for this survey? Thanks!

Lets aim to get more than 100 samples, so that we can put in at least a 5% sampling. Thanks!

Yeah... i welcome any entry even the deadline is already over...

i promise to all recommer that if i receive 44 more data entry (means a total of 100)... i would redo my survey report again...

you can key in your friends' info too if you have regarding to the format below:

- bumi / non-bumi
- your spm result including GCE (please clarify it between A1 and A2)
- family income (less than 1500 or above 1500)
- the course you get

Thanks chenchow for your fully support!!

kaera
18-05-2008, 01:31 PM
for friends, I dunno if they hv contributed onot

A
-non bumi
-11A1 GCE-OA1
->1500
-medcine

B
-non bumi
-9A1 2 A2, GCE-O A1?
-law
>1500

C
-non bumi
-9A1 1B3 GCE-O (dunno, most likely an A)
- Econs
>1500
hope it helps

yoshidaiyuki
18-05-2008, 01:38 PM
just want people out there to think

1. fight between non-bumi and bumi

The non-bumis always think the gov is unfair for giving the scholarship more to the bumis

2. frustration from the straight A`s students which their parents income less than 1500 but did not secure the scholarship and then blame JPA for not being honest

if there are 1000 students whom parents income lower than 1500 and got staright A`s, should JPA award them automatically ? how about other straight A`s student or maybe with A2 or B3 student chances ?. is it fair for the others ?.

let`s think *****************

for those who got "NOT straigt A`s and parent`s income higher than 1500" but managed to secure the scholarship, would you ever give the chance that JPA gives you to those who got " straigt A`s and parent`s income lower than 1500" ?

I don`t think so.. because you might think or say.. "I am MALAYSIAN and I deserve to get the scholarship" rite ?.

ok then.. I think now u should have think that the WORLD IS UNFAIR

lastly,

I THINK... the problem here is.. PEOPLE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO STUDY OVERSEAS. NOT ABOUT THE SCHOLARSHIP. for what ?? glamourous ??

Dear Malaysians,
OVERSEA IS NOT EVERYTHING. you might try to obtain LOCAL JPA SCHOLARSHIP later then. Still free rite ?.

please wake up from your OVERSEAS dream. If every good Malaysia student go overseas, then who will bring our local Universities to the world ?

clep
18-05-2008, 01:47 PM
non-bumi
11A1 GCE A1
>1500
biotech

please wake up from your OVERSEAS dream. If every good Malaysia student go overseas, then who will bring our local Universities to the world ?

I think the point is to go overseas, gain exposure and experience (through internships etc) and then come back better qualified to serve. I doubt someone who spent their whole life here would help improve the local unis (by working as a lecturer, chancellor or such) as much as another who has an idea of how universities elsewhere work.

Anyway, what's to stop good students from dreaming of going overseas to renown universities? Local universities aren't exactly world-class either.

yoshidaiyuki
18-05-2008, 02:00 PM
non-bumi
11A1 GCE A1
>1500
biotech

I think the point is to go overseas, gain exposure and experience (through internships etc) and then come back better qualified to serve. I doubt someone who spent their whole life here would help improve the local unis (by working as a lecturer, chancellor or such) as much as another who has an idea of how universities elsewhere work.

Anyway, what's to stop good students from dreaming of going overseas to renown universities? Local universities aren't exactly world-class either.

you can dream and make your cloud 9 as big as you want. but please make sure your foot always on the ground.

by the way, to go to overseas doest`t mean u need to go ONLY for undergraduate studies. later u can try for POSTGRADUATE.

if we still keep asking why we didn`t secure the scholarship, it`s just like keep asking to god why we are not as petty as liz tyler or maybe catherine zeta jones.

maybe god just don`t give u the opportunity bcos u might fail if you go there or if u look just like liz tyler u might be a slut one day..

just move your step forward n never stop from doing the best where ever u are

insertusername
18-05-2008, 02:05 PM
just want people out there to think

1. fight between non-bumi and bumi

The non-bumis always think the gov is unfair for giving the scholarship more to the bumis

2. frustration from the straight A`s students which their parents income less than 1500 but did not secure the scholarship and then blame JPA for not being honest

if there are 1000 students whom parents income lower than 1500 and got staright A`s, should JPA award them automatically ? how about other straight A`s student or maybe with A2 or B3 student chances ?. is it fair for the others ?.

let`s think *****************

for those who got "NOT straigt A`s and parent`s income higher than 1500" but managed to secure the scholarship, would you ever give the chance that JPA gives you to those who got " straigt A`s and parent`s income lower than 1500" ?

I don`t think so.. because you might think or say.. "I am MALAYSIAN and I deserve to get the scholarship" rite ?.

ok then.. I think now u should have think that the WORLD IS UNFAIR

lastly,

I THINK... the problem here is.. PEOPLE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO STUDY OVERSEAS. NOT ABOUT THE SCHOLARSHIP. for what ?? glamourous ??

Dear Malaysians,
OVERSEA IS NOT EVERYTHING. you might try to obtain LOCAL JPA SCHOLARSHIP later then. Still free rite ?.

If you think ppl study overseas purely for the glamour then you need to get a clue

fazlyn
18-05-2008, 02:49 PM
oke runninghorse...here are some of my friends who got jpa

A
non-bumi
10A1 1A2
>1500
medic

B
non-bumi
12A1, gce-o A1
>1500
medic

C
bumi
9A1 1B3, gce-o A1
>1500
dentistry

D
bumi
10A1 1B3, gec-o A2
>1500
dentistry

18-05-2008, 02:56 PM
I think the point yoshidaiyuki is trying to make is, a lot of us are acting as if not getting JPA is the major failure in life, or getting JPA is the major stepping stone to a successful life. And as people who have been through this stage, we can all tell you that, "NO, JPA has virtually zero bearing on your success in life. YOU are the only thing that can decide your achievement in the future, REGARDLESS of whether you get JPA."

Yes I know most of us rational people won't think that way, but our response seems to suggest such a mentality. To people whose JPA dreams are shattered, we commiserate with you, but trust us when we say that "not getting JPA is not a bad thing".

We mean it.

skyrainbow
18-05-2008, 04:57 PM
Sorry, but I dont think the statistic will be the same for different years.

Tea
18-05-2008, 05:34 PM
A:
non-bumi
9A1 2A2 1B3 GCE-O B3
not sure
Architecture

B:
bumi
7A1 4A2 GCE-O B3
>1500
Architecture

C:
bumi
10A1 1A2 GCE-O not sure
>1500
Pharmacy

D:
non-bumi
11A1 1A2 GCE-O B3
>1500
Medicine

Yvonne90
19-05-2008, 10:46 AM
i believe they follow the policy ( at least tat's the case for me).however , i would say tat there is no complete guarantee tat ppl who get 10a1 and above with income less than 1500 will secure the scholarship..mayb is juz tat this group of ppl r given more attention or priority..this group of ppl muz still perform quite well in interview and hav quite gud performance in koku..only tat is fair to everyone isn't it?

19-05-2008, 11:27 AM
Here are two of my school juniors who got JPA, and I'm not sure whether they are on ReCom, there's another on ReCom so I'm not going to post her results.

A:
non-bumi
11A1 GCE-O A2
>1500
Engineering

B:
non-bumi
10A1 1A2 GCE-O A2?
not sure
Biotech

hikaru
19-05-2008, 11:37 AM
i juz read d newspaper 2day
it said tat among d 2000 scholarships 4 jpa, 900 go 2 non-bumi
among 900 scholars, 34 r indian. so does it mean tat d rest is chinese?

cuteranger
19-05-2008, 11:39 AM
i believe they follow the policy ( at least tat's the case for me).however , i would say tat there is no complete guarantee tat ppl who get 10a1 and above with income less than 1500 will secure the scholarship..mayb is juz tat this group of ppl r given more attention or priority..this group of ppl muz still perform quite well in interview and hav quite gud performance in koku..only tat is fair to everyone isn't it?

i juz read d newspaper 2day
it said tat among d 2000 scholarships 4 jpa, 900 go 2 non-bumi
among 900 scholars, 34 r indian. so does it mean tat d rest is chinese?

may i know wat newspaper is that?

runninghorse
19-05-2008, 11:42 AM

it should be yesterday newspaper to be exact... (quote from the star)

Sunday May 18, 2008
PSD: High-achievers have to compete for scholarships
By HARIATI AZIZAN and

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government cannot afford to offer all high-achievers a scholarship for overseas studies, said the Public Services Department (PSD).

?The most common misunderstanding is that academic excellence will guarantee them scholarship. However, the fact is that many excellent students have to compete for a limited number of scholarships and those awarded will be the 'cream of the crop',? said PSD Director-General Tan Sri Ismail Adam in an e-mail interview with Sunday Star.

This past week saw many disgruntled high achievers who had their application for PSD scholarships under its Foreign Degree Programme rejected.

Only 2,000 scholarships were available for studies abroad but a total of 15,217 applications were received, out of which 7,253 were called for interview.

PSD advised those who had failed there to apply for a scholarship under its local programme. A total of 10,000 scholarships for local programmes will be on offer online next month, but many students, especially the non-Malays, are worried about their chances.

On Friday, MIC secretary-general Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam said all students who score 10A1s and above in the SPM examination should automatically be offered PSD scholarships after some 140 top students who failed to clinch a scholarship under the Foreign Degree Programme approached him for support.

Ismail, however, stressed that scholarships are a privilege provided by the government rather than a right, highlighting how the growing number of students obtaining straight As in their SPMover the years has made it tougher for the Government to select deserving recipients for PSD scholarships.

According to a PSD source, the trend of students doing more than 12 subjects for their SPM has also pushed the academic criteria up.

This year, for example, although the criteria set was lower, in the selection process, the committee had to push their academic criteria to a minimum of 13A1 in their selection process.

Subramaniam, who is also Human Resources Minister, said the lack of transparency in the awarding of scholarships was a problem, as some students alleged bias towards bumiputra students.

PSD denied the allegations saying 1,100 scholarships for overseas study went to bumiputras and 900 to non-bumiputras this year.
Ismail also said that students who obtained 9As in the 2007 SPM examination were eligible for an automatic local scholarship to pursue Form 6 right up to a degree at a local university or institution of higher learning.

19-05-2008, 11:43 AM
Sinchew daily... By the way, I think there is a mistranslation in SinChew Daily... The number of non-bumi should be lower...

hikaru
19-05-2008, 02:17 PM

china press

today newspaper(19-5-08)

sopie
19-05-2008, 08:55 PM
ermmmm.......in my opinion jpa follow their policy. Lot of people misundersatand that jpa do not follow their policy especially those who got 10 1A and their family income lower than RM 1500 and also do not get JPA OVERSEAS SCHOLARSHIP a.k.a program ijazah luar negara.
People must remember that jpa scholarships are divided into 2 parts, PROGRAM IJAZAH LUAR NEGARA and also BIASISWA DALAM NEGARA.

However, they will still need to fulfil the criteria for the Overseas Scholarship Programme, as well as undergo the interview process, said a statement by PSD yesterday.

Personally, i think it is JPA fault for not being specific about the detail of the sholarships they offered maybe because they will have excuses to say to those who get 10 1a in spm and family income less than RM 1500 and do not get overseas scholarship. However, for those who do nt get overseas scholarship by jpa, u still can apply biasiswa jpa dalam negara.

19-05-2008, 09:09 PM
May i noe did the biasiswa dalam negara apply to matrikulasi students too?

20-05-2008, 03:56 PM
May i noe did the biasiswa dalam negara apply to matrikulasi students too?

i think so... the newspaper stated that it is applicable to matriculation students too... but no one knows how far true is that... wait until june when jpa advertise about that...

lollipop_mun
21-05-2008, 10:06 AM
so runninghorse may i know the result of survey tat u had done through this thread??

21-05-2008, 10:15 AM
so runninghorse may i know the result of survey tat u had done through this thread??

Well, here you are.

Scholar's status

Staraight As

* 10A1 and above: 16 [28.57%]
* below 10A1 : 11 [19.64%]

GCE O-Level

Family income

Course applied

runninghorse
21-05-2008, 10:19 AM

Refer to page 13....

lollipop_mun
21-05-2008, 10:30 AM
Refer to page 13....

sorry i din see the post in tat page b4 i ask the ques..
anyway thanks for doing the survey..

runninghorse
21-05-2008, 10:36 AM
sorry i din see the post in tat page b4 i ask the ques..
anyway thanks for doing the survey..

you are most welcome... anyway i have stated the details in my first post in this thread... you can refer to it...

shakira
21-05-2008, 10:51 AM
A:
-bumi
-10a1 and 1a2, GCE-O A1
->1500
-medicine

B:
-non-bumi
-10a1 GCE-O A1
->1500
-medicine

Tzezumi
21-05-2008, 10:40 PM
-non-bumi
-9A1 2A2, GCE-O, A2
->1500
-law

fastralevia
22-05-2008, 12:25 AM
me
~bumi
~9a1 1b3(est) gce a2
~more than 1500
~medicine

fren
~bumi
~9a1 1b3(est) gce b3
~more than 1500
~biotek

fren
~bumi
~8a1 1a2(phy) 1b3(est) gce b3
~more than 1500
~medicine

fren
~bumi
~8a1 2a2 gce a2
~less than 1500
~engineering

fren
~non-bumi
~12 a1 1a2(phy) gce a1
~more than 1500
~acc

lisa1411
22-05-2008, 01:37 AM
Im pretty much the dumbest one in here.

Got JPA
Bumi
6 A1(not joking) GCE B4(WHAT!!??!!)
Less than 1500 (retired)
Engineering

Ok, i have something i would like
to say
1. A week after my interview i sent a thank you letter to JPA. Maybe that's why i got it.
2. I have CAE ( & i still got B4 for my GCE!!??!!??!, but my friend said that generally exams overseas are a lot harder to score. So, those who got A1/A2, you guys are geniuses)

And im new here! hahaha...

Jace
22-05-2008, 10:56 AM
6A1 and u gt da scholarship??? and psd said the scholars are cream of the crop....

22-05-2008, 11:08 AM

Got JPA
Bumi
Less than 1500 (retired)
Engineering

to say
1. A week after my interview i sent a thank you letter to JPA. Maybe that's why i got it.
2. I have CAE ( & i still got B4 for my GCE!!??!!??!, but my friend said that generally exams overseas are a lot harder to score. So, those who got A1/A2, you guys are geniuses)

which comes to show the less a1 you got doesnt mean that you are dumber compared to those who got sraight a1 which often has the mentality that the government owes them the scholarship.("siapa makan cili dia rasa pedas",so hate me if you want)
i got jpa as well,and i only got 7a1.

chen622
22-05-2008, 12:46 PM
which comes to show the less a1 you got doesnt mean that you are dumber compared to those who got sraight a1 which often has the mentality that the government owes them the scholarship.("siapa makan cili dia rasa pedas",so hate me if you want)
i got jpa as well,and i only got 7a1.

imo straight A1 merely indicates someone is willing to read, memorize and learn the facts in the textbooks or reference books.. i reckon most of us believe that if someone could memorize the points, he/she is bound to score well in SPM.. anyway i must say you're a lucky one :D

Beatles
22-05-2008, 01:04 PM
imo straight A1 merely indicates someone is willing to read, memorize and learn the facts in the textbooks or reference books.. i reckon most of us believe that if someone could memorize the points, he/she is bound to score well in SPM.. anyway i must say you're a lucky one :D

It's not completely true that able to memorising means you'll score well in SPM.. It's only true to the extend of some subjects such as history and science subjects.

22-05-2008, 03:41 PM

Got JPA
Bumi
Less than 1500 (retired)
Engineering

to say

:nuts. Well, nice to hear that you also get JPA. Anyway, I don't mean to offend you that actually you got the offer to go aboard for you engineering study is a fortunate coincidence, nevertheless, your thank you letter would also have added points to your application since you do the things others wouldn't do. A encouraging word: GCE B4 does not imply anything, language is not the most significant thing to be noted for engineering study. Lastly, welcome, ReCom Newbie, hopes you enjoy yourself here! :nuts Never forget to be thankful to God too! :)

Are you visiting JPA portal everyday? They had already changed their theme, nevertheless, it appears to be complicated and not user-friendly as previous one.
(This one I quoted from JPA's homepage)

@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>@<hidden>
HOT TOPICS:
PSD Feedback: ?Answers to Questions on Scholarships?
Answers to Questions on Scholarships Submitted By The Star (15 May 2008)

Question 1
What is the most common misunderstanding among parents and children when they send in their applications for a scholarship?

The most common misunderstanding among parents and students is that academic excellence will guarantee them scholarship. The fact is that scholarships are a privilege provided by the government rather than a right by the very fact that many excellent students have to compete for a limited number of scholarships. The facts speak for themselves ? the number students obtaining straights As in the SPM is increasing each year. Whereas in 2006 it was 5,685 students, this year it has risen to 6,247 students. Out of this number, 1,704 had scored 1 A1s for all their subjects. The government has limited resources and it is impossible for the government to offer all students a scholarship to study overseas purely based on their academic results.

For the Foreign Degree Programme, the criteria for selection are:

1. Academic excellence (70%)
2. Interview (10%)
3. Socio-economic background of parents (10%)
4. Co-curriculum (10%)

Question 2
Has the number of scholarships offered always been 2,000. If not how many were offered before? When was it increased to 2,000 and are there plans for more scholarships?

The statistics on the number of scholarships offered are as shown in the table below:

PROG/YEAR 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
LOCAL 3,763 9,692 7,266 4,747 4,424 5,286 5,753 7,855
OVERSEAS 748 761 1,249 1,643 1,484 1,300 1,500 1,800
TOTAL 4,511 10,453 8,515 6,390 5,908 6,586 7,253 9,655

Two thousand (2,000) scholarships are being offered this year for studies overseas and the number offered each year is based on the government?s financial capability.

Question 3
Interview process ? Who are the interviewers? How are they selected? What are the measures put in by JPA to ensure that the interview process is fair?

The interviewers for the Foreign Degree Programme are government officers, who have been selected by the JPA top management based on their experience, communication and interpersonal skills. They are given thorough guidelines and briefings to ensure that the interviews are conducted in an objective, professional and impartial manner.

Question 4
There are allegations among the non-Malay parents and students that Malay students are prioritized. Is there a quota for the different races?

The selection of students for the JPA scholarships are equitable between Bumiputra and non-Bumiputra students as reflected in the scholarships awarded this year. One thousand and one hundred (1,100) Bumiputra students and 900 non-Bumiputra students have been awarded JPA scholarships to study overseas this year. The ratio of JPA bumiputras to JPA non-bumiputras is 11 to 9, considered as quite fair

Question 5
Can we get some statistics on who were awarded JPA scholarships in the previous years to show that the selection process is fair? Or can we get some comments from your boss on this issue?

The question is not clear (So all data, we get previously are just redundant rumours? A question to be answered?) and we are not sure what information is being sought.

Question 6
Some students have the attitude that it is their God-given right or reward for working hard in school to get a JPA scholarship. Can we get a statement on that?

Scholarships are subject to the ability of the government to provide the funding and, as with any finite resource, there is stiff competition. Those awarded will be the ?top of the cream?.

Question 7
What is the advice to students who had failed in their scholarship application?

They should keep in mind that JPA also offers scholarships for studies locally at both the diploma and first degree level. This year, we will be offering 10,000 scholarships under the Local Degree Programme and the details and online application will be made available on our website in late June 2008. JPA will also be offering scholarships to SPM 2007 students who have obtained 9As and above to further their studies locally - beginning from Form 6 right up to university in a course recognised by the government. Applications can be made online in early June 2008.

Questio 8
What is the reminder to students who are sitting for their SPM and STPM examinations this year?

Students have to ensure that the field they select matches their academic results as stipulated for each field. For example, students who are applying for medicine, dentistry or veterinary science will not be successful if they do not have the required science subjects of Chemistry, Biology and Physics, even though they may have scored 12As for the SPM. Similarly, students applying for Accountancy must have at least an A2 for Principles of Accounts to be considered.

Question 9
Can I get an official explanation on how the minimum academic criteria is changed by the number of straight A students who apply (for example, if for the year, there are too many applicants with 10As, then that pushes the minimum grade requirement higher as there are only 2000 scholarships available)

For critical courses such as medicine, dentistry and pharmacy, students with greater number of straight 1As will secure a better chance of being awarded a scholarship as opposed to those with lower scores.

Good transparency, Great Job! JPA :laugh

shakira
22-05-2008, 03:43 PM
yea.. they did a good job answering questions.. its just that they pick the wrong ppl to deliver our official letters...

22-05-2008, 03:49 PM
yea.. they did a good job answering questions.. its just that they pick the wrong ppl to deliver our official letters...

Totally agree. They are busy updating their website, forgetting to send us letters we want so much. Doing useless things in lieu of those which really need their attention. I wonder there are enough officers working for JPA, maybe they should hire more. :P

shakira
22-05-2008, 04:09 PM
Totally agree. They are busy updating their website, forgetting to send us letters we want so much. Doing useless things in lieu of those which really need their attention. I wonder there are enough officers working for JPA, maybe they should hire more. :P

yea lar.. did u realise that they keep changing the versions of they website? last night was the old one. this morning was the updated one and now, back to the old one.... crazy la.. maybe after we graduate then we can offer them our expertise..i.e..picking the ppl to deliver the letters!!!!

Jieweitan
22-05-2008, 04:19 PM
non-bumi
11 A1, GCE A1
>RM1500
Biotechnology

clep
22-05-2008, 05:17 PM
Jieweitan, I have the exact same results and program too :)

Tzezumi
22-05-2008, 09:46 PM
How about considering about parents are government servants in the survey? Because my schoolmates that got JPA, a least one parent is a teacher. So maybe they also look up for the government workers's kids since JPA is a government organization right?

kaera
22-05-2008, 10:44 PM
You know.. I don't think the factor of the personality test has been counted in yet. Who knows the reason you got rejected was because you're personality was meant more for medcine when you applied for engineering.. =A= unlikely but who knows? They didnt allocate any percentage for the test though.

lisa1411
22-05-2008, 11:21 PM
I personally think you need to be able to speak well in the interview.
It doesnt matter if you 30A1, but you cant speak well. I would not have chosen that person, not even in a million years...

But i think morals define intelligence. What's on my spm result slip does not justify who i am or anyone else.

newney
22-05-2008, 11:31 PM
yea lar.. did u realise that they keep changing the versions of they website? last night was the old one. this morning was the updated one and now, back to the old one.... crazy la.. maybe after we graduate then we can offer them our expertise..i.e..picking the ppl to deliver the letters!!!!

The website is really nice...:)

Appolo
22-05-2008, 11:40 PM
You know.. I don't think the factor of the personality test has been counted in yet. Who knows the reason you got rejected was because you're personality was meant more for medcine when you applied for engineering.. =A= unlikely but who knows? They didnt allocate any percentage for the test though.

You can cheat in the tests.

Tzezumi
23-05-2008, 12:08 AM
There's not much to cheat there anyway, well you can ask help from others but at last with all the different opinions, it makes it worst..

passer-by
23-05-2008, 04:09 PM
:
Question 1
What is the most common misunderstanding among parents and children when they send in their applications for a scholarship?

. The facts speak for themselves ? the number students obtaining straights As in the SPM is increasing each year. Whereas in 2006 it was 5,685 students, this year it has risen to 6,247 students. Out of this number, 1,704 had scored 1 A1s for all their subjects. The government has limited resources and it is impossible for the government to offer all students a scholarship to study overseas purely based on their academic results.

The ratio of JPA bumiputras to JPA non-bumiputras is 11 to 9, considered as quite fair

At this point, I think I should point out that the number of students scoring straight A1 in spm 2007 is 1072 and not 1704 as being stated above by JPA. It appears that some of the data published by them are not genuine. Who knows if they had done the same thing with the 11:9 proportions ?

For the Foreign Degree Programme, the criteria for selection are:

1. Academic excellence (70%)
2. Interview (10%)
3. Socio-economic background of parents (10%)
4. Co-curriculum (10%)

According to a PSD source, the trend of students doing more than 12 subjects for their SPM has also pushed the academic criteria up.

This year, for example, although the criteria set was lower, in the selection process, the committee had to push their academic criteria to a minimum of 13A1 in their selection process.

Although they keep on stressing that excellence academic performance alone is not enough, they had published the criteria which shows that academic excellence contributes more than half (70%)of the total marks in the selection. And , they too had claimed that they had to push the academic criteria to a minimum of 13 A1 in the selection. Yet, there are cases where some students with straight A1 fail to secure it while others with half of the minimum academic criteria succeeded.

No offence. Bt, let's do some math, shall we?
Assuming the minimum academic criteria has been raised to 13 A1.
With half the number of A1(7,6,or less) out of the minimum criteria , the marks awarded for the first criteria of selection that is academic excellence should be not more than 40% ( out of 70%).
Even if one has outstanding co-curriculum results and interview performance, and got a full mark for socio-economic background of parents, the most he or she can get is 30%. (full marks for each of those criteria other than academic).
So, total all them up, and we get, 40%+30%= 70%.

A straight A1 student deserve to get more than 65% (if not 70%) for the first criteria. And with that, there's no reason for me to believe that he or she can't even get 5% (out of 30%)for the the others criteria.

Then, why had they chosen the former over the latter to be awarded a scholarship?

So, can we conclude that they (JPA) are not really following the policies in the selection of scholars for the Foreign Degree Programme ?

WilsonCWJ
23-05-2008, 04:15 PM

What if the personality of dat person suits both medicine and engineering? Or that person has multiple interests and talents. It is up to that person to decide what he wana do rite? The transparency on the test is not given by JPA. Who knows something fishy might be going on in the test?

runninghorse
23-05-2008, 11:38 PM
At this point, I think I should point out that the number of students scoring straight A1 in spm 2007 is 1072 and not 1704 as being stated above by JPA. It appears that some of the data published by them are not genuine. Who knows if they had done the same thing with the 11:9 proportions ?

First... where you get the figure that the number of students scoring straight A1 in spm 2007 is 1072 and not 1704?

No offence. Bt, let's do some math, shall we?
Assuming the minimum academic criteria has been raised to 13 A1.
With half the number of A1(7,6,or less) out of the minimum criteria , the marks awarded for the first criteria of selection that is academic excellence should be not more than 40% ( out of 70%).
Even if one has outstanding co-curriculum results and interview performance, and got a full mark for socio-economic background of parents, the most he or she can get is 30%. (full marks for each of those criteria other than academic).
So, total all them up, and we get, 40%+30%= 70%.

A straight A1 student deserve to get more than 65% (if not 70%) for the first criteria. And with that, there's no reason for me to believe that he or she can't even get 5% (out of 30%)for the the others criteria.

Then, why had they chosen the former over the latter to be awarded a scholarship?

Let's read the following news article quoted from nst:

Q: And how many applicants did you get for the 2,000 scholarships?

A: More than 15,000. And of this, half ? 7,500 ? made the cut.

Q: How did you filter them?

A: If you want to do medicine, you must have at least A2 for biology. If you get B3, you?re out. You should refer to our website for some details. That?s how they get screened out.

The 7,500 who are fighting for the 2,000 places get full marks for academic excellence.

For co-curricular activities, if you are just a member (of a society), it?s not enough. Other students represent the country, so surely they will get 10 points. Being a school prefect may get you five points.

And then, the interview. Sometimes, an academically good student may not perform well in an interview. We ask questions to assess their level of general knowledge. Let?s say, ?What is your opinion of the development of sports in Malaysia?? If you don?t read the newspaper, you won?t know that our football team is number 140-whatever in the world ranking.

They will get two or three students to discuss the issues (in front of the interviewers) and we will observe. We are going to spend a lot of money on these students. So, they are our investment.

If we don?t get good students (it will be a waste). Even then, out of the 2,000, there will be some failures; as with any other investment.

Source: NST 2008/05/18 [Link here (http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/SundayInterview/20080518093243/Article)]

If that is true (the red words)... then your interview performance and cocurriculum achievement did play a very very important role....

passer-by
23-05-2008, 11:59 PM
First... where you get the figure that the number of students scoring straight A1 in spm 2007 is 1072 and not 1704?

Ok, here is it http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/National/2185581/Article

PUTRAJAYA: The number of students who scored straight As in the 2007 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) examination has increased.
Last year, 6,247 students who sat for the examination got all As compared with 5,685 students in the 2006 examination.

Of the 6,247 students, 1,072, including 892 from government schools, scored A1s in all subjects taken.

If that is true (the red words)... then your interview performance and cocurriculum achievement did play a very very important role....

We both know that it can't be true. If it is, then it would be another unfair rule, since we all know that not all of those who attended the interview got straight a's.

jpysh2004@
24-05-2008, 12:05 AM
Ok, here is it http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/National/2185581/Article

We both know that it can't be true. If it is, then it would be another unfair rule, since we all know that not all of those who attended the interview got straight a's.

why not?, full marks for academic is easy to get. The academic part depend on ur core subjects or the subjects related to the course u applied, not neccessary getting straight As

michaelbyz23
24-05-2008, 12:09 AM
hmmmm.... reasonable

passer-by
24-05-2008, 12:31 AM
why not?, full marks for academic is easy to get. The academic part depend on ur core subjects or the subjects related to the course u applied, not neccessary getting straight As

Is it? Thanks for the reminder. Bt, I'm afraid I can't agree with that unless you have more proof on it.

For the foreign degree programme, you may get 11 A1s. This means you get 70 marks for academic excellence.
Source:http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/SundayInterview/20080518093243/Article

If it's so easy to get full marks, why won't the director just make it clear by giving an example stating that one only need to fullfill the core subject requirement to do so ? and instead of giving a ''11A1'' example?

ANd,
The 7,500 who are fighting for the 2,000 places get full marks for academic excellence.

If you are right on that, there should be more than 7500 getting full marks since those getting straight A's and A1 already sum up to a total of 7319.

sopie
27-05-2008, 11:25 AM

Got JPA
Bumi
Less than 1500 (retired)
Engineering

to say

I think u got korean engineering?.....just random guessing. sowie if i'm wrong

michaelbyz23
27-05-2008, 11:37 AM
Wat The Hell? Wat ??????????

runninghorse
27-05-2008, 04:22 PM
Wat The Hell? Wat ??????????

Ermmm... what do you mean by that?

michaelbyz23
27-05-2008, 09:04 PM
lisa got engineering JPA and her result is 6A1 and GCE B4.. Of cuz i say WAT THE HELLL

ainin
27-05-2008, 09:11 PM
Tat's quite surprising but not impossible.....maybe? If she chose something like korea engineering or some course tat's not usual..... (i've made an assumption tat korea engineering is not popular. Correct me if i'm wrong).

whui
27-05-2008, 09:14 PM
Korean engineering need at least b3 in Science subjects and maths.
The other need at least A2 in some selected subjects.

http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syaratPermohonanPILN2008.pdf

My 2 cents :)

Anderson
27-05-2008, 10:04 PM
lisa got engineering JPA and her result is 6A1 and GCE B4.. Of cuz i say WAT THE HELLL

i get pharmacy in aus and my gceo is b4:huh

runninghorse
29-05-2008, 03:03 PM
Taken from sinchew jit poh 29/05/2008 (http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/67820?tid=1)

Data 1

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn139/cheechang/292x300_2008_05_29_11.jpg

(From top to below)
Total applicants: 15220
Qualified for interview: 7282
9A1 and above: 6262
Amount of scholarship available: 2000
Succesful candidates: 55%bumis; 45% non-bumis
10A1 + Family income >RM1500: 151 (117 non-bumis; 34 bumis)

Overseas Scholarship Application Data from 2006-2008 (The big blue title)

(From left to right, red words)
Years; Applicants; Interviewers; Amounts available
(Data refers to the table)

Data 2

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn139/cheechang/292x300_2008_05_29_22.jpg

A1 Students Qualified for Inteview(The big blue title)

Bil.; Number of A1; Total

Data 3

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn139/cheechang/292x300_2008_05_29_33.jpg

(the big blue title)Not important things, forget bout it :P

Bil. ; Course ; no. of Applicants ; Interviewees ; Seats available ; Ratio

The course is as follows: (From top to below)
Medical
Pharmacy
Dentistry
Engineering
Accountancy
Law
Biotechnology
Actuarial Science
Humanity
Science
Architecture
Business Administration
Economy
ICT
Veterinary Sciece
Agriculture
Quantity Survey
Perancangan Bandar

michaelbyz23
30-05-2008, 12:01 AM
NST today, 29th May, got some news bout PSD... interesting one.. the news said something related to those who appeal... and 3000 ppl appeal..

yummyummylicious
30-05-2008, 12:09 AM
NST today, 29th May, got some news bout PSD... interesting one.. the news said something related to those who appeal... and 3000 ppl appeal..

hmmm, means not all who fail to get the scholarships appeal...less people appeal than i expected...maybe they got other better offer...???

rach
30-05-2008, 01:10 AM
i think they got petronas offer kot.

megatfais
30-05-2008, 01:14 AM
Taken from sinchew jit poh 29/05/2008 (http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/67820?tid=1)

Data 1

Data 2

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn139/cheechang/292x300_2008_05_29_22.jpg

Data 3

http://i303.photobucket.com/albums/nn139/cheechang/292x300_2008_05_29_33.jpg

Sorry to those who dont understand chinese here... i cant find an english or malays version...

if you can find one... feel free to post here so that everyone can read...

can anyone explain those pictures to me?

runninghorse
30-05-2008, 01:10 PM
can anyone explain those pictures to me?

sorry for any inconvenience.....

i have translated some of the information in the diagram...

please refer to my previos post

opisthonecta
30-05-2008, 01:52 PM
-Bumi
-Sabahan
-Independent school student
-14A1, 1A2(chi), GCEO: A2
-Pure Science: Physics
-UK
- <RM1500

tent
30-05-2008, 03:57 PM
can we still apply for local JPA scholarships if we have already secure the overseas 1?

just in case i reject the overseas 1.

rach
30-05-2008, 06:32 PM
HUH??? y on earth are u rejecting the overseas one?

yea, i think u can still apply for the local one.

unsleepable
13-06-2008, 03:27 PM
is the survey still on?

-Bumi(malay)
-SPM result: 7A1 1A2 2B3(+math and biology)
-Fam income: less thn 1500
-Course apllied: Literature and humanity

going to drop it coz i'm going for TESL under perguruan~

xinni
13-06-2008, 06:12 PM
can we still apply for local JPA scholarships if we have already secure the overseas 1?

just in case i reject the overseas 1.

yes you acan actually as one of my friend is going to reject the overseas and take up the local's instead .. so what i think you can do is give jpa officer a call and inform them . sorry for replying late cause the dateline for applying the local's scholarship is 2mr! sorry

akirasama89
19-06-2008, 12:45 PM
Anyone have any clues on when the Scholarship for first degree students PIDN 2008 is coming out? How can I apply?

Vaan
19-06-2008, 01:01 PM
Anyone have any clues on when the Scholarship for first degree students PIDN 2008 is coming out? How can I apply?

If I'm not mistaken the deadline is 14 June. It's application is closed already.

08-07-2008, 05:07 PM
I don't think there is really 45% for non-bumis, any can clarify this?

B.T.SengYee
08-07-2008, 05:11 PM
bt then the 55:45 ratio start this time...
LIVE SEX WEBSHOWS (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

08-07-2008, 05:16 PM
bt then the 55:45 ratio start this time...Those under JPA who register this year should know whether this is true, the composition of students in the course will reveal all, if it's stated 45% goes to non-bumis, then about 40-50% of non-bumis students would prove this...

B.T.SengYee
09-07-2008, 09:30 PM
Those under JPA who register this year should know whether this is true, the composition of students in the course will reveal all, if it's stated 45% goes to non-bumis, then about 40-50% of non-bumis students would prove this...

we can knw that simply by looking at the paper..
since there is no complaint from any non bumi organisation
so i guess it will be true thiing to happen
Ocean View Condominium Prathumnak (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

xinni
09-07-2008, 09:35 PM
Anyway I heard that the quotas for non-bumi is going to increase to 50 % this year . I got this news from TV2 News just now. Not sure if it is true .

tres
09-07-2008, 10:45 PM
Anyway I heard that the quotas for non-bumi is going to increase to 50 % this year . I got this news from TV2 News just now. Not sure if it is true .

they can always make their announcement. Whether they follow or not, there is no definite answer as there is no transparency on the scholar list

B.T.SengYee
10-07-2008, 04:52 PM
they can always make their announcement. Whether they follow or not, there is no definite answer as there is no transparency on the scholar list

yeah bt then for this year sin chew jit poh did come out with a statistics...
example thery ony chose 1 out of evey 3 for medicine..
and i m not sure bout the quota..
i viewd that from recom as well...
Vaporizer wiki (http://vaporizerwiki.com)

10-07-2008, 06:24 PM
yeah bt then for this year sin chew jit poh did come out with a statistics...
example thery ony chose 1 out of evey 3 for medicine..
and i m not sure bout the quota..
i viewd that from recom as well...
Since the scholars name list is not available to public, and I think even mass media won't get it, what revealed are just statistics, who knows actually to whom the places go? Only insiders will know the truth...

SeeN...YeE
10-07-2008, 11:55 PM
Since the scholars name list is not available to public, and I think even mass media won't get it, what revealed are just statistics, who knows actually to whom the places go? Only insiders will know the truth...

I guess everyone should have the answer.