View Full Version : Straight A1 students who failed JPA
vimal06
18-05-2008, 10:50 PM
its not about complaining hfz.. doesnt the goverment see by showing a sort of influence preferences by the basis of kulitfication, they are really creating a BIG divider between the bumi's n non-bumis. This really results in the lost of trust of the students towards the goverment hence country.. I mean we are creating on our own accountability the biggest brain drain that is definitely gonna affect this country in the near future.. I dont know wat to say d lah people.. This country is getting so screwed up.. I guess this post should be in the Yes or NO to Quota department.. Sory fot the pemesongan..
skyrainbow
18-05-2008, 11:01 PM
i juz think that jpa should be fairer n more trasparent in their policies.
like giving solid reasons 2 those who have done that well in their spm.
the girl who is interviewed said, she wont mind go 2 form6. coz she's confident that she ll get 4 flat in stpm, but she fear that she cant get in 2 ipta wif 4.0. then her ambition 2 becum doctor ll be shattered.
imho, yes, they can choose other options other than jpa, since they r really hardworking ppl if not genius. but r they lucky enuf 2 secure a place in ipta for medic, even wif 4.0 in stpm?
WilsonCWJ
18-05-2008, 11:02 PM
I agree... Anyway im a non-bumi from mrsm and i din get any offer now whereas many of my frens in mrsm secure a scholarship from MARA. Most of them only took 9 subjects for spm and not many of them gt straight A1s... Jz to express bits of my disappointment...
the girl who is interviewed said, she wont mind go 2 form6. coz she's confident that she ll get 4 flat in stpm, but she fear that she cant get in 2 ipta wif 4.0. then her ambition 2 becum doctor ll be shattered.
imho, yes, they can choose other options other than jpa, but r they lucky enuf 2 secure a place in ipta, even wif 4.0 in stpm?
i think jpa should reconsider those who is inactive in Coco.....
skyrainbow
18-05-2008, 11:14 PM
its not about complaining hfz.. doesnt the goverment see by showing a sort of influence preferences by the basis of kulitfication, they are really creating a BIG divider between the bumi's n non-bumis. This really results in the lost of trust of the students towards the goverment hence country.. I mean we are creating on our own accountability the biggest brain drain that is definitely gonna affect this country in the near future.. I dont know wat to say d lah people.. This country is getting so screwed up.. I guess this post should be in the Yes or NO to Quota department.. Sory fot the pemesongan..
i sort of agree. most bumi who r really good went for mara, jpa, matrix, polytechnics. this leaves the nonbumi 2 do form 6. in the end majority of ppl in form 6 r non bumi, i think.
in my form 6 science classes, ~70% IS CHINESE , very few bumis. then where's the racial interaction? i doesnt mean that we should doubt bumi's hak istimewa, but government should think of all the ppl as their children n promote racial integration.
i sort of agree. most bumi who r really good went for mara, jpa, matrix, polytechnics. this leaves the nonbumi 2 do form 6. in the end majority of ppl in form 6 r non bumi, i think.
in my form 6 science classes, ~70% IS CHINESE , very few bumis. then where's the racial interaction? i doesnt mean that we should doubt bumi's hak istimewa, but government should think of all the ppl as their children n promote racial integration.
in my form 6 class,i firstt time have bumis as my tablemate.
For sure,skyrainbow,for the past years you in high school,you dont have any bumis fren right? So appreciate,you got bumis frens now,at the very least.....
it's official. number of a1 does matter. apparently, as more and more students are scoring more than 12 a1, jpa had to push up the academic criteria to a minimum of 13 a1 during the selection process (source-the star). no wonder there are lots of 10a1 students who failed to get the scholarship....and here i am thinking that quality is more important than quantity... for those who r taking spm this year with 10 subjects, hoping to score straight a1, prepare to be dissapointed....
Yeah, the F6 integration is really, really bad. I think we're getting a bit off track here.
it's official. number of a1 does matter. apparently, as more and more students are scoring more than 12 a1, jpa had to push up the academic criteria to a minimum of 13 a1 during the selection process (source-the star). no wonder there are lots of 10a1 students who failed to get the scholarship....and here i am thinking that quality is more important than quantity... for those who r taking spm this year with 10 subjects, hoping to score straight a1, prepare to be dissapointed....
AGREED!!!~ Aim for all A1s and prepare to be disappointed.... ><"
skyrainbow
19-05-2008, 12:16 AM
ya, i agree. bnm special scholars got many a1s. most >10a1. n the 21 a1 scholar oso get bnm.
gov. is trying 2 stop ppl from getting so many subjects, but scholarships is actually encouraging it.
19-05-2008, 12:23 AM
AGREED!!!~ Aim for all A1s and prepare to be disappointed.... ><"
Why does this strike a chord in me? Hmmm.....
skyrainbow
19-05-2008, 12:27 AM
Yeah, the F6 integration is really, really bad. I think we're getting a bit off track here.
ya, i noe, but juz lazy 2 search n type in the yes or no 2 quota thread. can the moderator help 2 move, thanks. :P
michaelbyz23
19-05-2008, 12:29 AM
form6 is soo tough.. and its mainly for.... those who failed to get jpa... and, non-bumis... wakaka... anyone going to curtin at miri this july?
WilsonCWJ
19-05-2008, 12:30 AM
ya, i agree. bnm special scholars got many a1s. most >10a1. n the 21 a1 scholar oso get bnm.
gov. is trying 2 stop ppl from getting so many subjects, but scholarships is actually encouraging it.
And those sponsors are from gov agencies... what a contradiction...
michaelbyz23
19-05-2008, 12:31 AM
BC and moral also tough... Agama is easier cuz its like sejarah.. rite?
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 12:35 AM
imho, yes, they can choose other options other than jpa, since they r really hardworking ppl if not genius. but r they lucky enuf 2 secure a place in ipta for medic, even wif 4.0 in stpm?
There is always a place somewhere in the world for medic student if they really deserve it...
why wanna limit your choice to ipta only sice you have 4 flat? there is abundant opportunity out there...
what i wanna stress here is that... if you have the quality you have the means....
michaelbyz23
19-05-2008, 12:43 AM
sigh........
mochitor
19-05-2008, 12:43 AM
What da heck man! That very same government discouraged us to take more than 12 subjects!!! Now they raised the minimum to 13A1s wahaha..supa double standards..cakap tak serupa bikin..wahaha
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 12:48 AM
for those who r taking spm this year with 10 subjects, hoping to score straight a1, prepare to be dissapointed....
i personally thinks that these words are coming out from a pessimist...
there is abundant of scholarship out there others than jpa.... and many of it is an overseas scholarship too... just like jpa... i don understand why many of you wanna limit your choice to jpa alone?
if you have the quality and you are really outstanding no worry about scholarship.... stop putting emphasize on how many A1 you get... from my interview experience so far... the schoalrship sponsors out there are looking for all-rounded scholars(and what i mean by all rounded here is not just how well ur co-cu, it includes your attitude during interview!)... not just grade...
to name a few scholarship for this year(applicable to spm leavers)... we have uem, moe(teaching), khazanah, bank negara, honda dreams fund, sime darby, hong leong, telekom, tenaga nasional, security commision, asean, felda, petronas... etc..
see? you should not blame the govern for not giving you scholarship... you should blame yourself for not trying all these scholarship application... jpa scholarship is nothing when compare to khazanah... jpa choose 2000 and khazanah choose less than 10... if u are a khazanah scholars i really have to salute you... because getting a khazanah scholarship is harder than getting jpa scholarship...
mochitor
19-05-2008, 12:51 AM
i dunno what they are really looking for..
ake me for instance,i told them we should change the government since they cannot handle many issues in a professional manner, and i got it
At least u were asked questions which u can answer to show ur maturity..my questions were like...grrrr..LKG also can answer and the answer similiar wif yours wahaha
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 12:55 AM
it's official. number of a1 does matter. apparently, as more and more students are scoring more than 12 a1, jpa had to push up the academic criteria to a minimum of 13 a1 during the selection process (source-the star).
Sunday May 18, 2008
PSD: High-achievers have to compete for scholarships
By HARIATI AZIZAN and
KUALA LUMPUR: The Government cannot afford to offer all high-achievers a scholarship for overseas studies, said the Public Services Department (PSD).
?The most common misunderstanding is that academic excellence will guarantee them scholarship. However, the fact is that many excellent students have to compete for a limited number of scholarships and those awarded will be the 'cream of the crop',? said PSD Director-General Tan Sri Ismail Adam in an e-mail interview with Sunday Star.
This past week saw many disgruntled high achievers who had their application for PSD scholarships under its Foreign Degree Programme rejected.
Only 2,000 scholarships were available for studies abroad but a total of 15,217 applications were received, out of which 7,253 were called for interview.
PSD advised those who had failed there to apply for a scholarship under its local programme. A total of 10,000 scholarships for local programmes will be on offer online next month, but many students, especially the non-Malays, are worried about their chances.
On Friday, MIC secretary-general Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam said all students who score 10A1s and above in the SPM examination should automatically be offered PSD scholarships after some 140 top students who failed to clinch a scholarship under the Foreign Degree Programme approached him for support.
Ismail, however, stressed that scholarships are a privilege provided by the government rather than a right, highlighting how the growing number of students obtaining straight As in their SPMover the years has made it tougher for the Government to select deserving recipients for PSD scholarships.
According to a PSD source, the trend of students doing more than 12 subjects for their SPM has also pushed the academic criteria up.
This year, for example, although the criteria set was lower, in the selection process, the committee had to push their academic criteria to a minimum of 13A1 in their selection process.
Subramaniam, who is also Human Resources Minister, said the lack of transparency in the awarding of scholarships was a problem, as some students alleged bias towards bumiputra students.
PSD denied the allegations saying 1,100 scholarships for overseas study went to bumiputras and 900 to non-bumiputras this year.
Ismail also said that students who obtained 9As in the 2007 SPM examination were eligible for an automatic local scholarship to pursue Form 6 right up to a degree at a local university or institution of higher learning.
19-05-2008, 12:58 AM
It's indeed true, even 11A1 is worthless. Just look back 5 years ago, with 11A1, you're in top 100 scorers in the country, and now some students with 11A1 can't even secure a scholarship, and for those applying for medicine, they might get Indonesia (no offence to Indonesia-bound students here). Who to blame? Yea, I would say the "kiasuism" of students... When some students stand out as top scorers with an extra A1, other students tend to follow, to prove that they are also as good as those seniors, and also to increase the chance of securing scholarships. Indeed, they succeeded, and more students will follow. There left some students who insist on quality over quantity, they might be really good, but on number, they lost. We shouldn't blame the authorities, it was the students who caused all these. Nowadays, "standard" number of subjects is 11, and I believe the era is almost over, 12 is on the way...
Since the registration for SPM 2008 is over, nothing can be done, but few years ago I did realise the trend, and if someone is after scholarship, I would encourage them to take more subjects, at least you still have quite a number of A1 despite some A2, thus reduce the risk.
mochitor
19-05-2008, 01:09 AM
2 straight 13 a1 student in my state didnt get jpa medic.
it's shown big in the newspaper. i was like shocked 2 read it.
both r active in coco. 1 is wakil sth in pingpong. the other is a winner in sony science competition.
juz cant believe it.
Wei, if JPA give all straight A1s ah..i am sorry to say, very few bumis will get it..i am saying this based on the fact that bumis can secure the scholarship without straight A1s
Ismail also said that students who obtained 9As in the 2007 SPM examination were eligible for an automatic local scholarship to pursue Form 6 right up to a degree at a local university or institution of higher learning.
Aiya local who oni tak mampu bayar? Btw memang last time also local can get jpa mah, nothing new also..just cuci our telinga oni le
Since the registration for SPM 2008 is over, nothing can be done, but few years ago I did realise the trend, and if someone is after scholarship, I would encourage them to take more subjects, at least you still have quite a number of A1 despite some A2, thus reduce the risk.
Who said registration over edi? Boleh tambah subject la, in fact u can also drop a subject weeks b4 exam! My proof is the dude wif 21As, according to him he added 3 subjects after his trials!
WilsonCWJ
19-05-2008, 01:14 AM
Wei, if JPA give all straight A1s ah..i am sorry to say, very few bumis will get it..i am saying this based on the fact that bumis can secure the scholarship without straight A1s
Aiya local who oni tak mampu bayar? Btw memang last time also local can get jpa mah, nothing new also..just cuci our telinga oni le
Who said registration over edi? Boleh tambah subject la, in fact u can also drop a subject weeks b4 exam! My proof is the dude wif 21As, according to him he added 3 subjects after his trials!
Ohh... I sense students taking more subjects in d future!! I believe im a victim of this situation... with oni 10 subjects taken... Try imagining lembaga improves the quality by increasing the grades to get A1 for all subjects to 80 as a benchmark, do u think there are still many more students who are interested in taking up more subjects?
mochitor
19-05-2008, 01:49 AM
Ohh... I sense students taking more subjects in d future!! I believe im a victim of this situation... with oni 10 subjects taken... Try imagining lembaga improves the quality by increasing the grades to get A1 for all subjects to 80 as a benchmark, do u think there are still many more students who are interested in taking up more subjects?
No , i am not saying taking extra subjects is bad but come on la, dun la take ekonomi and perdagangan if u want to do medicine.. taking accounts if u wan to be accountant is good, but take oni relevant subjects, no point taking gazillion subjects to break record and come out in textbook covers and go on roadshows! Rubbish! Its like handphones la, now if anyone come giv you the old brick like one for free also u sure dunwan! U wan N95..or maybe there is another latest..wahaha same here...
19-05-2008, 01:51 AM
Are you sure with this? Sometimes what we heard is not 100% true... Last time after the registration I don't think you can add any more subjects... Perhaps it's because no exam fees now?
Beatles
19-05-2008, 02:05 AM
[QUOTE=mochitor;180700]Wei, if JPA give all straight A1s ah..i am sorry to say, very few bumis will get it..i am saying this based on the fact that bumis can secure the scholarship without straight A1s
Quite agree with that coz majority those scoring staright A1s and with higher number of A1s in SPM are non-bumis.. But they're bumis who are really outstanding in terms of academic perfomance and co-curriculum too. My opinion is that to get JPA, you not only need excellent SPM results, strong co-curriculum performance and good interview performance, but also luck. With only 2000 places and more than 7000 selected for interview, where the chance is approx 1/3 to 1/4, luck is a factor.
duke23
19-05-2008, 03:42 AM
70% - Academic
10% - Cocu
I can bet that almost all when for the interview with a 80% mark. So the competiton is very tight. A small slip-up can be costly.
And since JPA is coming up with the new policy (covering private institutions too), I don't think we should complaint that much now.
some of them who attended inteviews got 11 a1's,12 a1's and 13 a1's and represented the school/state in debating competitions and yet were not given the scholarships.If you are saying that they were not given the scholarships because of their poor performance in the interview,its tantamount to saying that these students are RETARDED.if thats the case malaysia certainly has a huge number of mentally handicap people la....and Orang Kurang Upaya should be given preference in the first place.
minimum requirement up to 13a1's?
then how come people with much less a's can get?maybe interviewers love mediocre performers...jpa should release the list of recipients and their results as well la..im interest to know..how many with at least 13a1's..since that is the requirement..that statement is obviously flawed..
sorry typo up there..i mean "im InterestED to know"
stupidboy
19-05-2008, 06:27 AM
No , i am not saying taking extra subjects is bad but come on la, dun la take ekonomi and perdagangan if u want to do medicine.. taking accounts if u wan to be accountant is good, but take oni relevant subjects, no point taking gazillion subjects to break record and come out in textbook covers and go on roadshows! Rubbish! Its like handphones la, now if anyone come giv you the old brick like one for free also u sure dunwan! U wan N95..or maybe there is another latest..wahaha same here...
If it's really like that, then we shouldn't take BM or Sejarah or etc. The easiest way to stop students from taking more and more subjects is to limit everyone to take the same amount of subjects. For those who want to take more subjects, they can just pay for each extra subject that they took, let's say RM500 for each subject. So when you see that there's someone with 20A1, there's no need to give him/her the scholarship cause you'll know that that person is damn rich.:P
duke23
19-05-2008, 06:37 AM
If it's really like that, then we shouldn't take BM or Sejarah or etc. The easiest way to stop students from taking more and more subjects is to limit everyone to take the same amount of subjects. For those who want to take more subjects, they can just pay for each extra subject that they took, let's say RM500 for each subject. So when you see that there's someone with 20A1, there's no need to give him/her the scholarship cause you'll know that that person is damn rich.:P
lets say if he/she takes an extra 10 subjects..what is 5k compared to a 1.3-1.4 million bnm bondless scholarship given to the so called top students..funny...how come top students aka creme de la creme have a2's?
19-05-2008, 08:55 AM
According to a PSD source, the trend of students doing more than 12 subjects for their SPM has also pushed the academic criteria up.
This year, for example, although the criteria set was lower, in the selection process, the committee had to push their academic criteria to a minimum of 13A1 in their selection process.The only thing pushing up the number of people taking N (N-->infinity) subjects is the low grading threshold for many subjects. If they make it harder to get As, it will resolve the situation or at least improve it.
but they won't.
WilsonCWJ
19-05-2008, 09:13 AM
The only thing pushing up the number of people taking N (N-->infinity) subjects is the low grading threshold for many subjects. If they make it harder to get As, it will resolve the situation or at least improve it.
but they won't.
lol N approaches infinity... While it may not look good, I trully agree this would resolve the problem because students will start to consider whether are they trully capable to score all these subjects well.. Unlike the system now at which if u r above average u can get an A1...
mochitor
19-05-2008, 09:42 AM
What nonsense! Like that means ah last time when u in tadika no need nap time and play time la since u dun need it study oni la! BM is a must le plus sejarah macam basic knowledge..please argue with a better stand la but i agree with your suggestion.. wahaha..but the charge money part ah, no way will happen la even if Pakatan Rakyat form government! ..can take bank loan le to pay the exam fees..But i seriously think it won't work because even now people who went for da interview in foreign cars if sold can educate minimum 2 years overseas, get JPA as they FAKED the income part. I think your suggestion might be able to claim there is drug in a flour mill but not sniff it out...wahaha
Are you sure with this? Sometimes what we heard is not 100% true... Last time after the registration I don't think you can add any more subjects... Perhaps it's because no exam fees now?
Yes i am very sure of this! People don't announce because if they do last minute the students in the whole country will drop EST!!! Wahaha but u need to pay RM30 as a fine for late notice i think..not sure but got denda la
19-05-2008, 09:53 AM
ElansarGelmir and I had a pretty interesting debate about "limiting number of subjects" vs. "increasing difficulty" in this thread:
http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1717&page=12
(I linked to the beginning of the debate, but you can read through the whole thread. It pretty much discussed everything that we are talking about here)
19-05-2008, 10:25 AM
BM is our national language, so we must take it. Sejarah is also necessary, as it's the way to know our past and the world's (sadly it no longer applies in syllabus today). I don't think taking extra subjects just to prove that he/she is better than others is a good thing to do, if for the sake of interest, it's acceptable. But taking Science while already have Biology, Chemistry, and Physics proves nothing about his/her intelligence, it just shows that he/she's just aiming for more A1. This should be prohibited by Ministry of Education.
EST is a redundant subject too, I can understand why did they introduce this subject 3 years ago, as during that time, students were studying science and maths subjects in BM, and they were afraid that students couldn't adapt to English after SPM. However, for students sitting for SPM last year, they have already started learning science and maths in English since Form 1, and still EST is still there. What else can students learn from EST? How to transfer information accurately? Or how to answer objective questions accurately? Perhaps they keep this because they want to show the "Malaysia Boleh" spirit? I believe the number of As scored by Malaysian students can go in Guinness Book of Records.
Students should still be allowed to take extra subjects, but in scholarship application, only related subjects are considered. For example, they'll not look at Science when you have Biology, Chemistry and Physics, and Account is not consider when you apply for medicine. If the students have the same results, they should look into raw marks rather than extra redundant A1. This would be fairer to everyone.
syafiq07
19-05-2008, 12:52 PM
Dont you think your statement should be prove with at least some statistics to base with?It will definitely mislead others regarding the performance of bumis if what you're saying is based totally on your assumptions.
what makes you think bumis who even get straight A1s are guaranteed to secures it in the first place?
btw,there are alots of non-bumis too managed to get the scholarship without straight A1s either.
duke23
19-05-2008, 01:17 PM
Dont you think your statement should be prove with at least some statistics to base with?It will definitely mislead others regarding the performance of bumis if what you're saying is based totally on your assumptions.
what makes you think bumis who even get straight A1s are guaranteed to secures it in the first place?
btw,there are alots of non-bumis too managed to get the scholarship without straight A1s either.
i believe a lot of these so called "flawed assumptions" are made because the respective scholarship bodies do not make the details of the recipients public..so as long as this is the case,the assumptions will continue.
errmmm..any bumi's with straight a1's failed in their quest for a scholarship?do u know any?..why dont you share such stories here?then people with be more cautious with their remarks.Nobody wants to be misled.And i dont want to be judgemental as well.
WilsonCWJ
19-05-2008, 01:26 PM
i believe a lot of these so called "flawed assumptions" are made because the respective scholarship bodies do not make the details of the recipients public..so as long as this is the case,the assumptions will continue.
errmmm..any bumi's with straight a1's failed in their quest for a scholarship?do u know any?..why dont you share such stories here?then people with be more cautious with their remarks.Nobody wants to be misled.And i dont want to be judgemental as well.
With reference to duke's and syafiq's posts...
Actually all these assumptions are made bcoz ppl tend to survey ppl around them 1st.. then by that they made up a conclusion.. So called "false assumption" is not entirely false. Many ppl do this sampling and there are quite a number of ppl who came up with the same outcome after sampling. This make up a large sampling group indirectly. So by probability distribution, this is being assumed by many ppl. Nevertheless we can always make assumption that MOST bumis with stret As are guaranteed a scholarship more than non-bumis do.
duke23
19-05-2008, 01:41 PM
[QUOTE=WilsonCWJ;180838]With reference to duke's and syafiq's posts...
Actually all these assumptions are made bcoz ppl tend to survey ppl around them 1st.. then by that they made up a conclusion.. So called "false assumption" is not entirely false. Many ppl do this sampling and there are quite a number of ppl who came up with the same outcome after sampling. This make up a large sampling group indirectly. So by probability distribution, this is being assumed by many ppl. Nevertheless we can always make assumption that MOST bumis with stret As are guaranteed a scholarship more than non-bumis do.[/QUOTE
I dont think there should be any element of counterintuitivity in this .People make assumptions on what they see ,hear and read everyday. fair enough. Wilson,take note of my quotation mark
when i used the word flawed assumption.what you read may not be literally what my statement meant.
runninghorse
19-05-2008, 01:56 PM
Hey all recommers .... do read this news article...
see how they (the jpa people) explain about this hot issues....
2008/05/18
What it takes to get a PSD scholarship
By : ANIZA DAMIS
Public Service director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam says society?s perception of the civil service is due to personal experiences
Brilliant school-leavers: there's good news and there's bad news. The bad news is, 9 A1s may not be enough to get you a Public Service Department scholarship to study overseas. The competition is stiff and the application is over-subscribed by over 700 per cent. The good news is, you can still apply for a scholarship to study locally, and it's quite easy to get. ANIZA DAMIS speaks to Public Service director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam.
Q: Can you explain the PSD scholarship offer to all students who get 9As?
A: Sometimes, the press provides a certain perspective that can be misunderstood by honest people, like on May 2 when the chief secretary issued a statement which says, among others, that students who got 9As in the 2007 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia exam will be offered scholarships, from Form Six until the first degree, locally.
Q: Locally?
A: That was the statement.
The PSD offers two kinds of scholarships. One is for the overseas degree programme and the other is for the local degree programme.
On May 11, we published on our website the results of people who have succeeded in getting the overseas scholarship.
The overseas programme is very competitive. The criteria is 70 points for academic excellence, 10 points for interview, 10 points for family economic background and 10 points for co-curricular activities.
But after the announcement, you see in another English daily a lot of people complaining the government promised that those with 9As can get scholarship. Nine 9As is for local studies. Not foreign.
For the foreign degree programme, you may get 11 A1s. This means you get 70 marks for academic excellence. But you may lose out in the other 30 points.
You may lose out if your father earns RM50,000 a month ? you?ll probably get two points out of 10.
If you get 11 A1s and your father is earning RM3,000 a month and you want to do engineering or medicine, probably you?ll get it.
So, academic excellence alone does not guarantee a scholarship.
That newspaper said students with 12 A1s and 11 A1s are not getting the scholarship. But that 11 A1s only qualifies you for 70 per cent (of the evaluation score).
Q: Just how competitive is it?
A: For the overseas degree programme, we have 2,000 places.
Q: And how many applicants did you get for the 2,000 scholarships?
A: More than 15,000. And of this, half ? 7,500 ? made the cut.
Q: How did you filter them?
A: If you want to do medicine, you must have at least A2 for biology. If you get B3, you?re out. You should refer to our website for some details. That?s how they get screened out.
The 7,500 who are fighting for the 2,000 places get full marks for academic excellence.
For co-curricular activities, if you are just a member (of a society), it?s not enough. Other students represent the country, so surely they will get 10 points. Being a school prefect may get you five points.
And then, the interview. Sometimes, an academically good student may not perform well in an interview. We ask questions to assess their level of general knowledge. Let?s say, ?What is your opinion of the development of sports in Malaysia?? If you don?t read the newspaper, you won?t know that our football team is number 140-whatever in the world ranking.
They will get two or three students to discuss the issues (in front of the interviewers) and we will observe. We are going to spend a lot of money on these students. So, they are our investment.
If we don?t get good students (it will be a waste). Even then, out of the 2,000, there will be some failures; as with any other investment.
Q: How do we get these students to come back after they?ve completed their studies?
A: We have a contract and (if they don?t come back) they have to pay.
Before 2003, if you broke your bond, you or your guarantor had to pay. The amount was less than what was spent on you. But now, the penalty is the actual cost (of what was spent on the student).
So, before this, if you were doing medicine, you had to pay RM160,000, which is less than a year?s scholarship. We spend RM1.2 million for each medical student.
But over 90 per cent of our students come back. The ones who don?t come back are mostly medical students. If they don?t come back, we get their guarantors.
Q: How many students have applied for local scholarships?
A: We will only open the applications in June. For local studies, we don?t have much of a problem. We offer 10,000 scholarships. And it?s not that popular. This is a trend we have noticed.
Local education is highly subsidised, unless you do medicine.
If you do economics or law, it?s not that expensive. But if you take a government scholarship, you?ve got to serve the government for five years.
So, some of these students get their fathers to pay. Then they don?t have to serve the government. That?s why it?s easier to get (the scholarship) because it?s not so competitive.
The requirement for a local scholarship is 80 points for academic excellence and 20 points for parents? economic background. That?s all. And you must have secured a place in a local university.
It must be a critical subject. We don?t give scholarships for every subject. It?s medicine, engineering, dentistry, economics, law, psychology and so on.
Q: What about the case of K. Kamine Devi from Sitiawan, who had 10 A1s and who had applied for a scholarship to study medicine overseas, and didn?t get a scholarship? And she did not get a place for matriculation in a local university. So, what does a person have to do to get a PSD scholarship?
A: There are also others besides PSD. There?s Tenaga Nasional Bhd, Mara, Petronas and other companies that a student can apply to.
The foreign degree programme has 2,000 places, as mentioned earlier. This is for critical areas like medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, engineering, biotechnology and selective social sciences. And the criteria is 70,10,10,10.
Then we have local scholarships. Beginning this year, those who have 9As and are in Form Six or matriculation are eligible for sponsorship right through their first degree. If they don?t get into university, that?s it. It ends at Form Six or matriculation.
There is another avenue, but it is a longer road. From this year, any Malaysian who gets into an Ivy League university (in the United States) or Oxford and Cambridge (in Britain) or the Group of Eight in Australia, will be sponsored by the government, but again, in specified fields of study.
If you didn?t do well in SPM, you still have a chance. Do A-Levels and work your butt off and get into Harvard, and a scholarship will be waiting for you.
There?s another package. If you get into a local foreign university (a foreign university that has a Malaysian campus) ? Nottingham, Monash, Curtin and Swinburne ? you are also eligible for a PSD scholarship.
So, there are a lot of avenues.
Of course, the ?jewel? is the foreign degree programme.
I was told by the Education Ministry that 6,262 students scored straight As last year. The competition is great.
A mother emailed me that the son did well but didn?t get a PSD scholarship. So I called her. I found out that her son is a pure science student but wants to do accountancy. He didn?t do accounting in Form Five.
I told her to check with her son whether he would consider doing engineering. But he refused. So, since he is doing his A-Levels, I told him to do it very well and go to an Ivy League university, and we will sponsor him. So, that is what he is targeting now.
The alternatives are there, as never before.
Q: What about post-graduate studies? The PSD only offers scholarships for post-graduate studies to graduates who are first degree PSD scholars.
A: I know. Somebody complained. We have an excellence programme for PSD scholars who do well (first-class) in areas that the government requires.
But we also have the Agong?s Scholarship for a dozen people.
This is for the cr?me de la cr?me. We get special people to do the selecting. It?s for Malaysians studying locally or abroad.
First-class is the basic requirement. They can go anywhere in the world. They get double the allowance.
One day, a deputy minister called me: ?Please help me. My daughter applied for the Agong?s Scholarship. She?s first-class.?
I said: ?YB, everybody (applying) is first-class.?
If they are successful, they get a letter from the king. They have an audience with the king. If you look at them, you know they are brilliant. Not everybody can talk to the king without stammering.
The selection process is very tough. And when they come back, they don?t have to work for the government. But they have to work for the country.
WilsonCWJ
19-05-2008, 02:01 PM
I dont think there should be any element of counterintuitivity in this .People make assumptions on what they see ,hear and read everyday. fair enough. Wilson,take note of my quotation mark
when i used the word flawed assumption.what you read may not be literally what my statement meant.
Ok then.. Lets not make ourselves confused. =) No more guessing around...
duke23
19-05-2008, 02:04 PM
Hey all recommers .... do read this news article...
see how they (the jpa people) explain about this hot issues....
australia's group of 8 seems to be an attractive feature !u guys should study hard..!
WilsonCWJ
19-05-2008, 02:05 PM
australia's group of 8 seems to be an attractive feature !u guys should study hard..!
What do u mean by australia group of 8?
duke23
19-05-2008, 02:06 PM
What do u mean by australia group of 8?
8 top universities in australia make up the group of 8.NOt as hard to gain entry when compared to ivy league's or oxbridge.but i wonder if its really true..
syafiq07
19-05-2008, 02:07 PM
I dont think there should be any element of counterintuitivity in this .People make assumptions on what they see ,hear and read everyday.
True indeed,the obvious source of these perception is due to the lack of transparency in selecting the scholar's recipient.But there could be many other reasons as well which contributes to this false assumptions.Nonetheless, this should not hinder the fact that there are numerous bumi's accomplished outstanding achievements both academically and also in extra-curricular.Thus believing if given the selection of respective scholarship bodies based merely on meritocracy that very few of bumis will get it,with just assumptions and hearsay without statistic to proved it is totally irrelevant
Sorry duke I would love to share but I doubt the validity of it by just telling their stories here.How can we sure and proved that whoever posted their whatever here is true?Mind adding my ym add?:)
duke23
19-05-2008, 02:08 PM
sorry i think my post is in the wrong place..someone posted up a press statement made my jpa explaining the scholarship policies..do read that.
mochitor
19-05-2008, 06:09 PM
Wahaha, i am not interested to prove to you anything la, doing that not gona get me anywhere! Btw since when in malaysia we can GET stats of things given out based on race?! No way man! Thats why i had to observe around, and deduce my assumption. Well your statement in bold is also not backed by stats! I ask you a simple question la, in form 6 for each school u can count the number of bumis with your fingers! Where did the rest go? Wahaha
"If you get 11 A1s and your father is earning RM3,000 a month and you want to do engineering or medicine, probably you?ll get it." mentioned by Public Service director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam.
WAHAHA, even then u would probably get it! So when will you surely get it? I guess there are still 'other' factors that could cause your application rejected?
Sorry duke I would love to share but I doubt the validity of it by just telling their stories here.How can we sure and proved that whoever posted their whatever here is true?Mind adding my ym add?:)
Wooot...please share those stories with us, forget about whether valid or invalid! Just tell us!
19-05-2008, 06:15 PM
I don't really get what you guys are arguing about. Should everyone get this straight?
- some bumi scholars are straight A1, some non-bumi scholars are straight A1
- some bumi scholars are not straight A1, some non-bumi scholars are not straight A1
- anecdotal evidence suggests that the percentage of "non-straight-A1 bumi scholars out of all bumi scholars" is higher than the percentage of "non-straight-A1 non-bumi scholars out of all non-bumi scholars". Yes no black and white statistics have been published, but everyone who has been through the JPA preparatory courses can affirm this anecdote.
So, what's the argument again?
Stop picking one of the points among what I listed above and conveniently forget the other points. Holistic evaluation doesn't work that way.
syafiq07
19-05-2008, 08:08 PM
I don't really get what you guys are arguing about. Should everyone get this straight?
- some bumi scholars are straight A1, some non-bumi scholars are straight A1
- some bumi scholars are not straight A1, some non-bumi scholars are not straight A1
- anecdotal evidence suggests that the percentage of "non-straight-A1 bumi scholars out of all bumi scholars" is higher than the percentage of "non-straight-A1 non-bumi scholars out of all non-bumi scholars". Yes no black and white statistics have been published, but everyone who has been through the JPA preparatory courses can affirm this anecdote.
So, what's the argument again?
Stop picking one of the points among what I listed above and conveniently forget the other points. Holistic evaluation doesn't work that way.
say then,if you agrees with the point stated above,what's the point you trying to stress out by saying
i am saying this based on the fact that bumis can secure the scholarship without straight A1s
shakira
19-05-2008, 09:39 PM
i know a girl and she is a BUMI... she got 11 a1's and applied for pharmacy. she's from alor star. she DID NOT get JPA scholarship. another girl, from penang, chinese, NON-BUMI, 11a1's and 1a2, applied also for pharmacy.. did not get it. here are two ppl. one bumi with straight a1's and another non-bumi without straight a1's. both did not get it! its not about whether u're a bumi or not. some ppl even thought that certain scholarship bodies were not offering scholarships to ppl in the opposition states. now, education has become politics! there should not be an argument on the fact that bumi have their quota.. it's been set. not now, but years ago... please do respect the policies.
duke23
19-05-2008, 09:58 PM
i know a girl and she is a BUMI... she got 11 a1's and applied for pharmacy. she's from alor star. she DID NOT get JPA scholarship. another girl, from penang, chinese, NON-BUMI, 11a1's and 1a2, applied also for pharmacy.. did not get it. here are two ppl. one bumi with straight a1's and another non-bumi without straight a1's. both did not get it! its not about whether u're a bumi or not. some ppl even thought that certain scholarship bodies were not offering scholarships to ppl in the opposition states. now, education has become politics! there should not be an argument on the fact that bumi have their quota.. it's been set. not now, but years ago... please do respect the policies.
this is a vicious cycle.No end to such arguments
there are also other reasons as to why one wouldnt qualify for a jpa scholarship(btw i wasn't refering to ONLY JPA ,no mention of the word JPA in my post)
hmm
so if your parents owe the gov money in terms of an unpaid JPA edu loan you'll be blacklisted
Petronas scholarship?
hmmm, i'm blurred. please stop arguing lar.
lotsa factors determine a person whether he/she get a scholarship or not. sometimes,it just mere luck and faith. the panel may misread your profile clear enough or what so forever. and i guess the scholarship hoo-haa is almost over... please focus on other threads either. XPXP
Xianst
19-05-2008, 10:05 PM
Hey, YoungYew, may I suggest you that you should add 2 more statements to your arguments to make it firmer?
1. There are straight A1's bumi's who fail to get a scholarship, and there are straight A1's non-bumi's who fail to get a scholarship.
2. The latter is so much more than the former.
Hey Shakira my dear, then I would suggest that you look at YoungYew's post again and then match it towards the argument.
Yes I would say that it is true, that, if we were to keep on talkin about this topic, it is not gonna end. At the end of the day, no one is gonna say that they've got the scholarships not because of their efforts, their abilities but because of the origins. I have a feeling that you are a clever person, scoring straight a's, getting a scholarship with your own ability and effort, and you are gonnna get so angry if someone else does not recognize that.
So think about my case, there are more than 20 of my non-bumi's classmates with 10A1's and none of us get any scholarships; while there are about 7 bumi's in my class, 3 of with got straight A's (not straight A1's), who got the scholarships. Now think of it, what causes this? For your information, out of the 20 classmates, I think I was the only one who did not put all these blame on the government nor the bumi's, because I was thinking, the reason why I did not get it, was because, I wasnt good enough compared to the other non-bumi's. My bad.
Then, I went into a college, with 6 classmates from my class JPA scholars, and all of whom were bumi (the only bumi's in my class). All of us who failed to get any scholarship actually did (so much) better. Please do not get me wrong, I am not trying to say that non-bumi's are better, cos I have seen so many great bumi's like Nor Amalina, Sufiah Yusof, and a few friends of mine who are like mine IDOLS! I kinda idolize them not only because of their intelligence but also because of the personalities. They are great! But then the thing here is, the fact that the scholars did not do well showed that the government did some slight mistakes in selecting scholars. If scholarships is meant to be a form of human capital investment, I opine that the government should bring in some more talents from the Human Resource Management field and also the Investment field to be in charge of the scholarship selection process.
And then! Why should there be a quota?
Let's look at these arguments.
1. Should a non-bumi with the household income of RM2000 be treated as well as a bumi with the household income of RM2000?
YES
2. Based on what reason, that the government has quota for the scholarships?
We should help the bumi's more, because generally they have difficult family background, so with the scholarships, it is gonna help him to pursue his studies which he otherwise might not have the chance to, and he can help to develop his community, and yet they can do this well. They should be awarded.
3. Since the government has already taken the family background and income into consideration (refer to the marking scheme - family background has some weightage on the overall score), then there should not be a quota to it.
TRUE?
Well please, please, take note that I am not a racist. I am just stating my opinions and my facts here. Afterall...
I AM GONNA GET MYSELF A BUMI GIRLFRIEND! THEY ARE SO PRETTYYYY.. HAHA!
Hey, YoungYew, may I suggest you that you should add 2 more statements to your arguments to make it firmer?
1. There are straight A1's bumi's who fail to get a scholarship, and there are straight A1's non-bumi's who fail to get a scholarship.
Hey Shakira my dear, then I would suggest that you look at YoungYew's post again and then match it towards the argument.
Yes I would say that it is true, that, if we were to keep on talkin about this topic, it is not gonna end. At the end of the day, no one is gonna say that they've got the scholarships not because of their efforts, their abilities but because of the origins. I have a feeling that you are a clever person, scoring straight a's, getting a scholarship with your own ability and effort, and you are gonnna get so angry if someone else does not recognize that.
So think about my case, there are more than 20 of my non-bumi's classmates with 10A1's and none of us get any scholarships; while there are about 7 bumi's in my class, 3 of with got straight A's (not straight A1's), who got the scholarships. Now think of it, what causes this? For your information, out of the 20 classmates, I think I was the only one who did not put all these blame on the government nor the bumi's, because I was thinking, the reason why I did not get it, was because, I wasnt good enough compared to the other non-bumi's. My bad.
Then, I went into a college, with 6 classmates from my class JPA scholars, and all of whom were bumi (the only bumi's in my class). All of us who failed to get any scholarship actually did (so much) better. Please do not get me wrong, I am not trying to say that non-bumi's are better, cos I have seen so many great bumi's like Nor Amalina, Sufiah Yusof, and a few friends of mine who are like mine IDOLS! I kinda idolize them not only because of their intelligence but also because of the personalities. They are great! But then the thing here is, the fact that the scholars did not do well showed that the government did some slight mistakes in selecting scholars. If scholarships is meant to be a form of human capital investment, I opine that the government should bring in some more talents from the Human Resource Management field and also the Investment field to be in charge of the scholarship selection process.
1. Should a non-bumi with the household income of RM2000 be treated as well as a bumi with the household income of RM2000?
YES
We should help the bumi's more, because generally they have difficult family background, so with the scholarships, it is gonna help him to pursue his studies which he otherwise might not have the chance to, and he can help to develop his community, and yet they can do this well. They should be awarded.
3. Since the government has already taken the family background and income into consideration (refer to the marking scheme - family background has some weightage on the overall score), then there should not be a quota to it.
TRUE?
Well please, please, take note that I am not a racist. I am just stating my opinions and my facts here. Afterall...
agree for point 3. hehehehe. yes quota for not considering background and vice versa.
and the last sentence. i must agree...some bumis girls are damn pretty. XPXP *opps,someone might read it here.*
19-05-2008, 10:12 PM
So now we have random examples of bumis and non-bumis not getting scholarships... or not?
I think this discussion is going nowhere
Xianst
19-05-2008, 10:15 PM
Damn hot la right? Arla but then it depends ya know? It is like.. bumi's ladies from certain places in Malaysia are hot... the rest... arguable. I aint gonna list out the zones. But still... I have a strong feeling that I will end up marrying a Bumi. HEHE.
So now we have random examples of bumis and non-bumis not getting scholarships... or not?
I think we shouldn't (but I was actually giving examples, but I think mine is like kinda general and strong isnt it. it is happening everywhere). My bad my bad.
Arla I think we should just stop this bloody argument...
you are very very right.
mochitor
20-05-2008, 02:57 PM
Hmmm yea i agree with this, i had this in my mind when i said very few bumis will get scholarships if chosen based on straight A1s simply because there are more non-bumi straight A1s(no stats only assumption if u guys so free, get a stat to disprove me!)...Sheeesh enough with this slippery slope argument! I rest my case because there is no case to be won here..wahaha
shakira
20-05-2008, 03:09 PM
YES
TRUE?
well then i will have to say that the argument is over.. i am a bumi, so i did feel offended. well, we have to stand up for ourselves dont we. well said, xianst.. gud luck finding a gf! :lol
20-05-2008, 04:41 PM
There's nothing to argue about. Just check out any preparatory college, it's a fact. Don't take a single case, we need more samples to get the results accurate. Yes, there are straight A1 bumi students who did not get the scholarship, but there're more non-bumi students with the same situation. There are some non-straight A1 non-bumi students who secured the scholarship, but there are more bumi students like this.
Ever since secondary school, I know that non-bumi will only compete with non-bumi for places of scholarship. I didn't blame anyone for this, nothing can be changed, at least in the coming few years...
Don't forget this is Malaysia, where everything is dragged into politics...
My opinion : Actually the bumis are all right, they r quite good n all dat if u know them personally. It's da bumi politicians n leaders which are not good la..always complicating things by playing racial cards....bumis n non bumis, dnt kena brainwash by them la !!!
digital_lifeform
20-05-2008, 07:24 PM
Please do not get me wrong, I am not trying to say that non-bumi's are better, cos I have seen so many great bumi's like Nor Amalina, Sufiah Yusof, and a few friends of mine who are like mine IDOLS! I kinda idolize them not only because of their intelligence but also because of the personalities.
If the Sufiah Yusof you are referring to is the maths prodigy cum prostitute in England, may I know when did she ever become a bumi? I'm also wondering was part of Sufiah's and Amalina's personality you idolize?
20-05-2008, 07:26 PM
So nobody read today's the Star? Yikes...
i read it....anything special?
20-05-2008, 07:44 PM
i didnt... i just read nst... mind to tell what's that about???
i'm still wondering wat sillyboy is trying to tell....=/ dda biggest news to me is mahatir's quiting of umno lo...poor pak lah...cant mahatir juz shut up n get lost??!!
Xianst
20-05-2008, 07:52 PM
well then i will have to say that the argument is over.. i am a bumi, so i did feel offended. well, we have to stand up for ourselves dont we. well said, xianst.. gud luck finding a gf! :lol
Haha if we were to continue talkin about this.. we are gonne get recommmm banned! lol! and thanks anyway. =)
If the Sufiah Yusof you are referring to is the maths prodigy cum prostitute in England, may I know when did she ever become a bumi? I'm also wondering was part of Sufiah's and Amalina's personality you idolize?
Hmm first, I thought and I think that Sufiah is a bumi isnt she? (I seriously dunno la, correct me if i am wrong so that i wont get malu-ed again).
hmmm i idolize a few of my bumi friends la not them...
anyway... she is clever right? i am referring to sufiah but not amalina (actually i think there are so many ohters who can score more than 17 a1's... )... and.. okay la it is quite sad that she thinks so differently from us, the malaysians.. but then good thing is that she actually enjoys her life.. and isnt that good enough? to us she is leading a sad life, but to her this is like a heaven.
20-05-2008, 08:03 PM
The comments written by post SPM 2007 students! Isn't that worthy of attention?
there's been a lot of these comments these few weeks since da release of the jpa results. I was wonderin , 1704 students scored straight A1s, n da scholarship being offered is 2000, so y is there sm straight A1s students not being offered da scholarship? or did i read wrongly, those frustrated ones are those who did not get straight A1s but straight As only?
anyway, Sillyboy, did u gt da scholarship?
WilsonCWJ
20-05-2008, 08:27 PM
there's been a lot of these comments these few weeks since da release of the jpa results. I was wonderin , 1704 students scored straight A1s, n da scholarship being offered is 2000, so y is there sm straight A1s students not being offered da scholarship? or did i read wrongly, those frustrated ones are those who did not get straight A1s but straight As only?
Actually quite a number of straight A1s students din get... maybe its as suggested in the star that a psd source states that 13 As as the minimum to secure the scholarship PROBABLY... haiz...
err...i gt 12A1 only....n i gt it...many recomers with results less than 13As oso gt da scholarship (forget about the bumis)...
vivace
20-05-2008, 09:00 PM
yala.... 13A as a criteria, i think is not true la..
then, means the 2000 students who get JPA scholar all are 13As?
hohoho.. this is reli controversial..
i hope JPA can be more transparent..
being rejected by JPA, i am extreamly sad..
although i only apply for engineering ,not medic..
my fren oni gt 10A1... also get JPA..
so, i dont think JPA's statement of 13A is true..
like i read on the nwspper..
at other plac, students with 9 As or 8As also get..
students who sit Mercedez benz also get..
wow.. this sure is unfair for me who get 10A1, 1A2, 11As..
and i am not rich + my parents are only teachers..
no more wayang kulit la, JPA...
be fair, or show us the fairness..
dont worry. there r many scholarship bodies offering scholarship 4 engineering. U can always apply 4 dat after ur pre- u course...
WilsonCWJ
20-05-2008, 09:18 PM
I gt straight 10A1 and i din get it... same goes to my frens with straight 10A1 and 9A1 respectively... Haiz...
mochitor
20-05-2008, 11:07 PM
My opinion : Actually the bumis are all right, they r quite good n all dat if u know them personally. It's da bumi politicians n leaders which are not good la..always complicating things by playing racial cards....bumis n non bumis, dnt kena brainwash by them la !!!
So you mean bumis your age are all right but bumis in their 50s aka politicians are bad? Woot so in another 50 years time the bumis you think alright would become racial card players? i dont think so...I can't agree that there are no good bumis because similar to us bumi or non bumi we are all malaysians and i believe malaysians consist of really good people and bad as well but its not fair blaming the bad apples on bumi politicians as there are bad non bumi politicians at the same time and there are also very respectable bumi leaders! In fact, even u now at age 17 talking bout bumi and non bumi, how sure are u, that in the future u won't be playing racial cards? Come on people! When are we gonna address ourselves as 'Malaysian'? Well i think since you got the JPA, nescaya kamu tidak munglin dapat memahami perasaan kami yang dukacita....Wahaha
hey that bold sentence is so familiar....like i have read it somewhere...did you write to any newspaper VIVACE???
WilsonCWJ
20-05-2008, 11:36 PM
Hey we r in d same boat... my mum is also teacher and i oso heard of cases where ppl with combined income of RM15k monthly gt jpa for engineering with 10A1...
extell
20-05-2008, 11:53 PM
hey that bold sentence is so familiar....like i have read it somewhere...did you write to any newspaper VIVACE???
I read that in the star. :oh Hm..
starbie
21-05-2008, 12:15 AM
haiz.. i dun think dat's true too..
i gt 13As.. din even apply fror critical courses lk medicine..
bt stil gt rejected.. :cry
magpie
21-05-2008, 12:42 AM
im new here..my 1st post:) got straight 10a1...applied for every scholarship i could get my hands on..only got jpa interview and end up goin to private college at my own expense. btw, i applied dentistry 4 jpa...a chinese and proud of it even though d race factor plays a tiny part in getting d scholarship?:P
21-05-2008, 01:19 AM
No dear. Despite scoring full A1s I failed to secure the scholarship. Anyway, I've said this before and I will this again, it was a blessing in disguise!!
lollipop_mun
21-05-2008, 10:03 AM
im new here..my 1st post:) got straight 10a1...applied for every scholarship i could get my hands on..only got jpa interview and end up goin to private college at my own expense. btw, i applied dentistry 4 jpa...a chinese and proud of it even though d race factor plays a tiny part in getting d scholarship?:P
for now most of them who scored 10 a1 also din get anything even the matriculation programme.. and for sure the race factor play not only tiny role..
but in our country race play a role if u wan to secure for a skolarship.. so juz accept this fact even we all are against all out to it..:notrust
chen622
21-05-2008, 11:12 AM
for now most of them who scored 10 a1 also din get anything even the matriculation programme.. and for sure the race factor play not only tiny role..
but in our country race play a role if u wan to secure for a skolarship.. so juz accept this fact even we all are against all out to it..:notrust
one of my close friend scored 10A1 and 1A2 (chinese).. like most of us in the swim he applied for 7-8 scholarships but was only called up for petronas n jpa interview.. he thought he could get his hands on jpa due to the fact that he failed to secure petronas and a seat for matriculation programme.. a bright student but overshadowed.. pity him :(
lollipop_mun
21-05-2008, 11:20 AM
one of my close friend scored 10A1 and 1A2 (chinese).. like most of us in the swim he applied for 7-8 scholarships but was only called up for petronas n jpa interview.. he thought he could get his hands on jpa due to the fact that he failed to secure petronas and a seat for matriculation programme.. a bright student but overshadowed.. pity him :(
tat real.. my fren with 10A1 also rejected by matrix, jpa, khazanah, petronas, uem, and bla bla bla..
and now she need to study in private college by using her father own money.. haiz..
chen622
21-05-2008, 11:34 AM
he isnt so lucky though.. his dad couldnt afford anymore children to private college at the moment.. he already has 2 siblings studying in p.colleges.. hopefully his jpa appeal work out
vaanbalthier
22-05-2008, 02:55 PM
actually, it depends....some people wif STRAIGHT A1 will get while some will nt. to be eligible to get jpa overseas scholarship, u aso need to score A in ur gce-o lvl. for courses like mechanical enginerring, u'll be sent to english speaking country so u DEFINITELY need an A in ur gce-o n english. otherwise jpa will nt send u there. i mean, wat is the point of sending someone wif a B or C in gce-o overseas*tis is the part where i got tembak huh???*
idk lar but so far all my friends who got jpa got straight A's, no B
oh yeah and u really need a lot of luck u knw. pray to god evryday so dat u'll be blessed
mochitor
22-05-2008, 06:36 PM
actually, it depends....some people wif STRAIGHT A1 will get while some will nt. to be eligible to get jpa overseas scholarship, u aso need to score A in ur gce-o lvl. for courses like mechanical enginerring, u'll be sent to english speaking country so u DEFINITELY need an A in ur gce-o n english. otherwise jpa will nt send u there. i mean, wat is the point of sending someone wif a B or C in gce-o overseas*tis is the part where i got tembak huh???*
oh yeah and u really need a lot of luck u knw. pray to god evryday so dat u'll be blessed
Thanks a lot but some of us did not get it even when we have all the criteria mentioned by the tan sri Ismail PSD General. SO i guess luck is the oni factor once u are totally qualified...sad to see when other people less deserving become luckier than us ..Anyways congratulations to you for getting your engineering course!
milkshake
23-05-2008, 01:01 AM
quite a number that didnt get A for gce-o got it... i got A for gce-o...i didnt get it.. it's sheer luck...
23-05-2008, 09:39 AM
Thanks a lot but some of us did not get it even when we have all the criteria mentioned by the tan sri Ismail PSD General. SO i guess luck is the oni factor once u are totally qualified...sad to see when other people less deserving become luckier than us ..Anyways congratulations to you for getting your engineering course!
do you mean people who get less a1 are less deserving than you are?get real my friend,just because you got straight a1 it doesnt mean you are better than everyone else.there no need to show off okay...
duke23
23-05-2008, 10:11 AM
do you mean people who get less a1 are less deserving than you are?get real my friend,just because you got straight a1 it doesnt mean you are better than everyone else.there no need to show off okay...
castle..im not writting this to offend you.You seem very defensive for obvious reasons. you got the scholarship.Congratulations.But i think YOU should get real first.it seems to me (and i bet many ppl out there feel the same too) that your case provides solid evidence that the the statement made recently that ONLY the "cream of the crop" are awarded the jpa scholarship is pure heresy.
On the other hand you can turn the tables.You should prove yourself worthy.If you get into an ivy league im sure your critics will have to shut their mouths up.Till then..im afraid to say..you'll have to live with the comments.
i also think that you should consider chilling out first and maybe even popping a sublingual anti seizure pill before making yourself look silly because it strikes me that you got into a fit trying to defend yourself even when your name was not implicated here.
Good luck!
P/s just in case you think im one of the scholarship rejects and im commenting because im a sore loser,im not.My parents are supporting my education and they have no troubles with it.So im neutral.
if i'm not mistaken, castle is a BUMI, right ?????
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/23/focus/21334376&sec=focus
hmm try checking this letter written to the Star...i hope many ppl will learn from him and his noble values...
Kuekkuek
23-05-2008, 11:53 AM
if i'm not mistaken, castle is a BUMI, right ?????
sure...think i saw sumwhere in recom
runninghorse
23-05-2008, 11:56 AM
sure...think i saw sumwhere in recom
A bumi Sarawak....
milkshake
23-05-2008, 03:58 PM
i don't think anybody is showing off here... You're just being sensitive..
mochitor
23-05-2008, 04:00 PM
You have misunderstood me. I did not say getting more A1s makes you more deserving, what i meant was even when u are like fully qualified for it, i.e u meet all criteria, and you don't get it...haaa that means someone there with lesser qualifications got it! Because the 2000 seats available in JPA,1000 MARA, duno how many Matriks..and all other scholarships if given to fully qualified people (academics and kokurikulum & also sahsiah) given that they have applied, its more than enough seats to accommodate students with excellent performance! There would be lesser or no appeal cases at all!!! Wahaha, u will never understand this since you got it on pure luck!!!
agree wif mochitor...there r only 1704 straight A1s students so it's more than enuf for the 2000 places offered by the scholarhsip...might b da gov doesnt hav da logic 2 fill up da places for those who gt straight A1s first b4 turning to those who did not get straight A1s...
seeweijie
23-05-2008, 06:06 PM
agree wif mochitor...there r only 1704 straight A1s students so it's more than enuf for the 2000 places offered by the scholarhsip...might b da gov doesnt hav da logic 2 fill up da places for those who gt straight A1s first b4 turning to those who did not get straight A1s...
I don agree the government should fill up the places for those who gt straight A1 first b4 turning to those who did not get straight A1..
Some str A1 scorer is just nerd...(some only) they don really deserve the scholarship..
But i agree that str A1 scorer should be given priority.. just priority.. not meaning to fill up the places automatically... (merely opinion, no offense)
milkshake
24-05-2008, 02:15 AM
there r 1704 straight A1? I thought there was only 1071 as published in the papers a day after spm results were released.
24-05-2008, 04:50 AM
flames alert
I have to admit, they are quite a number of people that have been chosen for JPA doesn't get straight A1s or As. Some of my friends even have B also got it. Some even can't express themselves in perfect English also got it.
I have a friend 7A1, 2A2 and 1B got the scholarship and he is a chinese. For medicine course, I have a friend with 9A1 and 1A2 got it. So JPA isn't really doing a fair job if you ask me. I have two friends, one with 11A1 and 1B got it while another with 10A1 got rejected. They emphasize on the quantity of A1s rather than quality.
And some even got the nerves to show off after receiving JPA, (yeah rite, as if they really deserve it). At the end of the day, straight A1s and As complaint and complaint.
I understand the sadness, frustration and everything you ReCommers felt when you people actually deserve it but got rejected as I am too, the same, got rejected. I've seen many scenarios where straight A1s and As complaint and complaint. Demanding answers as to why they have been rejected. But at the end of the day, the government don't even give a damn to such complaints instead they just ignore it, close one eye. This is happening every year.
mochitor
24-05-2008, 12:15 PM
Well the gov can give priority to fill up places for straight A1s first but..at the same time not all of them might want courses as allocated by the bodies..perhaps half want to do medicine? So thats why, since JPA is like the oni one available for medic, i think it would be better if petronas and other bodies to take up on the accounting, law, engineering courses leaving oni medic based courses such as pharmacy, dentistry and medicine for JPA to sponsor..that way everyone will be happy!
shakira
24-05-2008, 03:50 PM
Well the gov can give priority to fill up places for straight A1s first but..at the same time not all of them might want courses as allocated by the bodies..perhaps half want to do medicine? So thats why, since JPA is like the oni one available for medic, i think it would be better if petronas and other bodies to take up on the accounting, law, engineering courses leaving oni medic based courses such as pharmacy, dentistry and medicine for JPA to sponsor..that way everyone will be happy!
do u mean other scholship bodies don't provide scholarships to do medicine or that the scholarships provided to do medicine are very minimal? btw, that idea of yours may work out.. ppl who want to do medicine then would only have to apply to jpa.. the rest to other bodies..
seeweijie
24-05-2008, 04:15 PM
Is JPA the only bodies who give out medic schorlarships?
I heard from my friend Petronas also got sponsor medic but they din publish it to the public to apply..
Other than this, BNM special scholarship also sponsor medic... but only for top students in M'sia..
Any other bodies who sponsor medic?
for all i know NONE of the scholarship bodies b it local or overseas hav scholarships for medicine, dentistry n pharmacy...
seeweijie
25-05-2008, 12:27 AM
That's why so many ppl with excellent results apply medicine and failed...
Coz JPA is crowded with all the aspiring doctor in M'sia...
26-05-2008, 04:40 PM
But JPA has more than 500 places (I suppose about 700 this year) for medicine, the competition might be stiff but the chance is rather high with 11A1, and there are some students who would reject if they get countries like India and Indonesia, so there're still lots of places for those who appeal... Also, Petronas do sponspor students to study medical course locally, but the places are extremely limited, like 5 per year. There's a Petronas medic scholar on ReCom.
hey fellow recommers, no worries. LOCAL JPA is coming. BEGINNING OF JUNE. keep abreast then. =)
have a look at thier website www.jpa.gov.my
michaelbyz23
26-05-2008, 11:09 PM
wat u mean? xon?
27-05-2008, 07:34 AM
xon means the jpa scholarship to study locally... the 1000 places...
michaelbyz23
27-05-2008, 11:43 AM
10000 plces or 1000places? sien... i see my frens who get the letter all going away.. left me.. sigh... they are going to US, NZ, so far i know..
27-05-2008, 12:55 PM
10000 plces or 1000places? sien... i see my frens who get the letter all going away.. left me.. sigh... they are going to US, NZ, so far i know..
sorry... typing error... is 10000 places...
mochitor
27-05-2008, 02:11 PM
hey fellow recommers, no worries. LOCAL JPA is coming. BEGINNING OF JUNE. keep abreast then. =)
have a look at thier website www.jpa.gov.my
Wahaha..what do you know about this harh? Its just a sweet note by JPA to shut our mouth up! Apparently, you need to apply for that scholarship..even then having straight A1s doesn't guarantee the scholarship. Btw did I tell you that the silly scholarship doesn't guarantee a place for you in university? Wahaha even if you do get a place, you get screwed when you don't get the course you want! Then, in recom we will have another failure thread going..it just doesn't stop.!!!
Confused? I give an example. Lets say, Xon got straight A1s in SPM 2007 >9As (the given lame criteria subject to abuse!!!). Xon did not get JPA even after appeal (touch wood gazillion times) So Xon happily looks out for the allegedly local scholarships by JPA in their website. Once there, Xon was horrified to the fact that he/she needs to apply for the freaking scholarship instead of automatically get!!! So Xon applies for it keeping his/her fingers crossed. (Please bear in mind that you have to be doing some sorta foundation to apply for it) When the results were announced, Xon was in cloud 9!!! Xon got it..(The fully paid scholarship to study locally (strictly no twinning ok))At that time, 2 possibilities can happen. (Considering Xon want to do critical course like medicine)
Scenario 1: Xon did STPM as foundation
As Xon had secured the scholarship, Xon gets allowances and all for STPM. Xon got 4.0 and applied for medicine in UKM. Unfortunately, Xon did not get it. Xon got biotechnology in UKM...THIS MEANS that JPA will proudly sponsor your local studies for biotech but not fight for you to get a medic seat in local university! But if you do matriculation (memang can get seat but not the course you want) In conclusion, Xon's scholarship is burnt when Xon fails to get a seat in university! That time Xon needs to go rayu here there to get the seat!!!Wahaha...
Scenario 2: Xon did a private foundation lets say in Monash/Nothingham/ Shittingham(ada kerjasama dgn JPA). Apparently, you need to start a foundation first in order to be eligible to apply for it. This means you must pay your own money first...if you get the scholarship JPA will refund for you otherwise..matilah if you going to gamble your parents minute savings!!! Okay back to our story, Now Xon got the scholarship and happily finished his/her (i don't know if Xon is a male or female) foundation programme. Now Xon want to do medicine..and to her/his horror, JPA reveals that they don't sponsor medicine but rather the normal courses like accounting and all. Now Xon, is doomed..did a private foundation= x public university! But Xon's parents can't pay for private university either!!! Terkangkang lah...Wahaha
The moral of the story is...JPA wants to help us but most of us would rather not accept it (they tell you half the truth lah most of the time)
PS: Those who are interested to find out how i came up with this scenario can pm me because i don't think i can reveal my sources here..considering some JPA pegawai is also a recommer!!! Wahaha
27-05-2008, 02:42 PM
If you have noticed one of reports of the Mandarin news yesterday on RTM 2 (If I am not mistaken), PSD had officially stated that PSD wouldn't guarantee people who got straight A1s in their SPM examination to get PSD's sponsorship. In addition to this, PSD officials also stated that the result of SPM will become the major affecting the selection, not the family background or whatever. Since students who got straight A1s are a dime a dozen nowadays, I strongly support the statement that only people who get outstanding SPM result (probably 12A1 above) will have a greater chance to get the sponsorship.
27-05-2008, 02:46 PM
If you have noticed one of reports of the Mandarin news yesterday on RTM 2 (If I am not mistaken), PSD had officially stated that PSD wouldn't guarantee people who got straight A1s in their SPM examination to get PSD's sponsorship. In addition to this, PSD officials also stated that the result of SPM will become the major affecting the selection, not the family background or whatever. Since students who got straight A1s are a dime a dozen nowadays, I strongly support the statement that only people who get outstanding SPM result (probably 12A1 above) will have a greater chance to get the sponsorship.
Why am I not surprised...
ccter
27-05-2008, 02:48 PM
There is a very good reason why the JPA local scholarships is not popular among students. Firstly, the bond is ridiculously long, if I'm not mistaken, it's 5 years. During this time, we could have achieved so much in our careers. But with a bond, our career path is subjected to "their" decisions. Might as well move on, get a PTPTN loan and get on with life.
mochitor
27-05-2008, 02:55 PM
There is a very good reason why the JPA local scholarships is not popular among students. Firstly, the bond is ridiculously long, if I'm not mistaken, it's 5 years. During this time, we could have achieved so much in our careers. But with a bond, our career path is subjected to "their" decisions. Might as well move on, get a PTPTN loan and get on with life.
I sokong you la blother!!! Wahaha
Cakap tak serupa bikin le...wahaha
michaelbyz23
27-05-2008, 07:14 PM
mochitor.. i don understand wat u mean =.= why isit so bad bout the local program? we can turn it into a loanship rite? we can choose our university? wat shd we do to apply for it? we need offering letter?
silent_fire
29-05-2008, 11:56 PM
Let me give you a real life of some example of how my friends got jpa,to indicate the randomness of jpa awarding the scholarship.
Case 1:
Alan(name not true):Got medic,straight A with one B3,not that active in koko,a pengawas at sch
Alex(name not true):did not get medic,10A1 ,representative of state,super active in koko.
Case 2:
ABC:straight A with one A2,not that active in koko,a pengawas in sch,got engineering
DEF:straight A1,representative of country,especially fluent in english,failed to get engineering
So you can see the jpa standard vary from time to time.I also got a friend of mine got medicine at UK.Her koko juz plain nothing but with twelve A1.
Basically with 11A1 and above you already have full marks for the academic part.If you say the scholarship is only for those that have straight A1 then this is preety unfair as for those who take chinese language the standard of getting A1 is 90 and above(highest record so far is 94 to get A1 few years ago).In my area most of the people get A2 for chinese language,so they take extra subjects to compensate for the possibilities of getting not-really-good results in SPM chinese language .
lwk88
30-05-2008, 12:22 AM
LAST TIME,
JPA local scholarships only for public u and 3 ipts (MMU, UTP, UNITEN)
Public u fees are damn cheap so i assume a lot ppl will not apply
For MMU, better apply if not loan from PTPTN >RM50000. after graduate, pay debt till die. so better bond with gov. GOVERNMENT DOES NOT GUARANTEE EMPLOYMENT FOR NON CRITICAL COURSES.
UTP students mostly all on sponsorship. so i assume nobody will apply
UNITEN = same with MMU
in conclusion, those from the 3 ipts better apply
extreme
30-05-2008, 01:24 AM
when is the exact date for the scholarship for local University for JPA. If i already take foundation programme in MMU. can i still apply JPA for my degree programme???
mochitor
30-05-2008, 09:29 AM
Let me give you a real life of some example of how my friends got jpa,to indicate the randomness of jpa awarding the scholarship.
Case 1:
Alan(name not true):Got medic,straight A with one B3,not that active in koko,a pengawas at sch
Alex(name not true):did not get medic,10A1 ,representative of state,super active in koko.
Case 2:
ABC:straight A with one A2,not that active in koko,a pengawas in sch,got engineering
DEF:straight A1,representative of country,especially fluent in english,failed to get engineering
So you can see the jpa standard vary from time to time.I also got a friend of mine got medicine at UK.Her koko juz plain nothing but with twelve A1.
Basically with 11A1 and above you already have full marks for the academic part.If you say the scholarship is only for those that have straight A1 then this is preety unfair as for those who take chinese language the standard of getting A1 is 90 and above(highest record so far is 94 to get A1 few years ago).In my area most of the people get A2 for chinese language,so they take extra subjects to compensate for the possibilities of getting not-really-good results in SPM chinese language .
Hey thanks a lot for your random examples! I want to conclude that all JPA does after the bloody interview is put all the names into a transparent box, divided by courses and draw the number of times seats are allocated for each course. The reason they use transparent box is because they can also pick some draws straight away due to the ketuk pintu belakang cases!!! Wahaha. The worst part of this is..JPA never admits doing this..every year they come with the same crap that they choosing cream la butter la..70%, 10%, 10%, 10% la..bla bla bla...Then now they arguing malaysia losing talents to s'pore..of course la in the first place malaysia nvr gives anything out of meritocracy..when s'pore does..pergi ajelah kan? Wahaha NIAMAH ..Sry i tension edi
lwk88
30-05-2008, 10:15 AM
when is the exact date for the scholarship for local University for JPA. If i already take foundation programme in MMU. can i still apply JPA for my degree programme???
The date should be around when the public uni start the semester. Yes. you can apply. i got my JPA scholarship using MMU foundation. your CGPA must be >3.67 although the requirement is 3.33
If im goin 2 start my a-levels..Can I use dis results 2 apply 4 jpa later on???
xinni
30-05-2008, 11:37 AM
The date should be around when the public uni start the semester. Yes. you can apply. i got my JPA scholarship using MMU foundation. your CGPA must be >3.67 although the requirement is 3.33
well so we must apply for the local jpa scholarship by using the foundation's result izzit? i mean well if one is eligible by getting 9 A's and above still it's depend on the foundation result in order to get the local jpa scholarship is it ? besides,this scholarship is only for tuition fees ? How about living expenses and everything? Accomodation? How long is the bond anyway? and most importantly what courses are being offered at mmu?thanks
mochitor
30-05-2008, 11:52 AM
well so we must apply for the local jpa scholarship by using the foundation's result izzit? i mean well if one is eligible by getting 9 A's and above still it's depend on the foundation result in order to get the local jpa scholarship is it ? besides,this scholarship is only for tuition fees ? How about living expenses and everything? Accomodation? How long is the bond anyway? and most importantly what courses are being offered at mmu?thanks
Read my post in page 37, if still dont get it then you can pm me..Wahaha
lwk88
30-05-2008, 01:45 PM
mine is BEFORE the 9'As ruling. for the 9'As ruling i dont know. i just want to inform extreme about it only coz i dont think he sit for SPM 2007
extreme
30-05-2008, 05:35 PM
but then do we still need to use the SPM result? cause my spm moral is B3. hate moral..
i took SPM 2006.
the application is out already tho.
01-06-2008, 02:28 PM
but then do we still need to use the SPM result? cause my spm moral is B3. hate moral..
i took SPM 2006.
spm result is needed...
extreme
01-06-2008, 03:27 PM
spm result is needed...
there goes JPA. Why the heck did they need moral A lar. also dunno why moral can cause me such a stupid trouble. otheres all beautiful then see moral. aikz...
they think i not bermoral enough maybe.. haha
nevermind apply other scholarshiplor, it not the end of the world .. maybe will end up with better offers..
B.T.SengYee
01-06-2008, 03:42 PM
come on la ppl..
jz get up from ur dream..
getting 10a1 is nth big deal nowadays..
though gov said that they dun wan ppl to take too much subject..
bt then jpa think the diffrnt way..
Vaporizer Wiki (http://vaporizerwiki.com)
neo_one
03-06-2008, 02:30 PM
No scholarship = Dreams shattered ???Ha ha ha.
mochitor
03-06-2008, 03:11 PM
come on la ppl..
jz get up from ur dream..
getting 10a1 is nth big deal nowadays..
though gov said that they dun wan ppl to take too much subject..
bt then jpa think the diffrnt way..
CAKAP TAK SERUPA BIKIN!!! Wahaha, yea i agree with you..sigh..if only they would spend money allocated for NS, indelible ink, hillside projects..bla bla bla on valuable assets such as we students!!! Heck this thread would not even be created!
No scholarship = Dreams shattered ???Ha ha ha.
You are SOOOOOOO wrong!!! Wahaha..To me if it doesn't kill you, it only makes you stronger!!! Wahwahaha
neo_one
03-06-2008, 07:57 PM
I have a better idea to discuss. How about we discuss about non-straight As students in rural areas who did not have good access to education and also do not know there are these things called scholarships and that there ARE dreams out there in life. Anyone who would like to have a go at it?
skyrainbow
05-06-2008, 12:28 AM
Is it the same outlook as Malaysian city student hoping toget Cambridge University scholarships?
mochitor
05-06-2008, 01:18 AM
I have a better idea to discuss. How about we discuss about non-straight As students in rural areas who did not have good access to education and also do not know there are these things called scholarships and that there ARE dreams out there in life. Anyone who would like to have a go at it?
Why don't you get the ball rolling..with your arguments. Then we shall take our stand...Wahaha
michaelbyz23
05-06-2008, 12:50 PM
thank God... i get it after appeal...
05-06-2008, 02:25 PM
thank God... i get it after appeal...
congratz!!! what course u got??? is that ur desired course???
michaelbyz23
05-06-2008, 03:52 PM
yea.. i got biotech, and its my first choice too.. hehe
hmm.. i wonder this year, out for 3000 ppl who appealed, how many were given the scholarship?
mochitor
05-06-2008, 05:42 PM
yea.. i got biotech, and its my first choice too.. hehe
hmm.. i wonder this year, out for 3000 ppl who appealed, how many were given the scholarship?
Wahaha... may i suggest you keep wondering because even god doesn't and will never know it!!! Wahaha
neo_one
06-06-2008, 12:27 AM
Why don't you get the ball rolling..with your arguments. Then we shall take our stand...Wahaha
Ok.. You should refer to the thread that I opened under scholarship section. The thread is 'Scholarships...who really deserves it?'
11-06-2008, 12:36 AM
well, it isn't surprising actually...
In my batch last year, I have two friends who got 11A1 and didn't get JPA too. Their chosen course is medic.
Even friends who got 12A1 didn't get it at the first time. They only got it after appealing.
Things happen...
mochitor
11-06-2008, 10:36 AM
Hello people who were less fortunate not to get JPA, including me wahaha...Now since the appeal results are out, can we convert this thread into a straight A1 students who failed JPA appeal? Wahaha..lets start now..
guilty3173
11-06-2008, 04:27 PM
Please remember that JPA is not sole scholarship and something that you should totally depend on cause it is a scholarship from Umno-dominated government anyway (you know wat i m talking about). A alternative route must present at all times.
mochitor
11-06-2008, 07:36 PM
Please remember that JPA is not sole scholarship and something that you should totally depend on cause it is a scholarship from Umno-dominated government anyway (you know wat i m talking about). A alternative route must present at all times.
Who told you i am depending on it? I am already OVER it..now in stpm...Erm i just did not want this thread to like die off..so kinda wanted to introduce a new thing..Oh well..Wahaha
WilsonCWJ
12-06-2008, 12:21 PM
Who told you i am depending on it? I am already OVER it..now in stpm...Erm i just did not want this thread to like die off..so kinda wanted to introduce a new thing..Oh well..Wahaha
hmm... straight a1 student who failed jpa appeal? Quite a number... Better start a new thread on students who didnt get courses they wanted after appeal... maybe there are others out there who chose the courses that these ppl get but were not awarded the scholarship...
nobody
22-06-2008, 12:12 AM
Maybe, for those who didn't get JPA, it's a blessing, you can get your pre-U first then, apply DIRECTLY to top-ranked university...
You all are ??? that just need to find the right ??...sorry, can't translate those 2 words to english...
For those who managed to secure JPA...please be grateful...
(Such a sad thread to look at...)
Gay tubes (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/22/gay/videos/1)
B.T.SengYee
22-06-2008, 12:17 AM
hahah..
nice qian li ma n bai le
Toys Cam (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/girls-with-toys/)
22-06-2008, 12:34 AM
A slight correction: bo le, not bai le. :D
mizi28
06-07-2008, 12:31 PM
i got 5a1 3a2 3b3 also got jpa what
tomatoinc
06-07-2008, 12:53 PM
*yawn*...
never ending grumbling of malaysians who think they deserve everything their next door neighbour has. life is not fair. live with it.
06-07-2008, 07:26 PM
what course and which country u got???
ya, you are indeed very lucky to get the scholarship...so wat are u taking and heading to which country?
sugarspice
06-07-2008, 08:35 PM
bumi geh....? no offence lar ok,
My friend 12A1 GCE O A1 excellent koko also couldnt get (medicine)......aiyo...
khuanoz
06-07-2008, 11:57 PM
lol is there a way for mods to 'warn' these ppl to shut up and dont gloat around in pure smugness when its obvious qualification wise they should not even be considered given the supposed 'high' par set as claimed by the jpa director*(see below)..such hypocrites should best keep quiet and just let us gradually get accustomed to the hard fact of the supposed 'tough luck' that has befallen us..whether its not straight a1, not active in ko-ku, not representing sch, state, country?!..not good in interview and the list goes on cuz yeah i suppose they do have the final say and every prerogative in awarding since it is supposed to be an award and not an automatic privilege deem to 'us' just like that.
my humblest apologies for the many sensitive allusions made and mods feel free to warn or censor wherever that's deemed inappropriate..just still kinda frus that there aint no news regarding the tajaan tambahan..i'd long given up hope and ya just learned to accept whatever comes in my way..got then ok i'd take up the bond..no then ok i'd go wherever ppl would appreciate me better =)
to those who share my views of rejection, i offer you my condolence and assure you that there are many other possibly better roads to take to success and together we can and will prove them wrong =)
khuanoz
*From http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/5/18/nation/21290555&sec=nation
“The most common misunderstanding is that academic excellence will guarantee them scholarship. However, the fact is that many excellent students have to compete for a limited number of scholarships and those awarded will be the 'cream of the crop',” said PSD Director-General Tan Sri Ismail Adam in an e-mail interview with Sunday Star.
I do wonder between a straight a1, decent koku, decent eq and not so good result, decent koku, decent eq which would be the said 'cream of the crop' lol perhaps he was being clever and asked the reporter to put ' ' so it wont be taken for its literal meaning..haha
*From http://recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=180913&postcount=99
That newspaper said students with 12 A1s and 11 A1s are not getting the scholarship. But that 11 A1s only qualifies you for 70 per cent (of the evaluation score).
oh yeah? then wat about half that number of A1 or better yet, half A1= A2s and B3s..probably that would instead give us 110 per cent (of the evaluation score) am i right or am i right? lol
duke23
07-07-2008, 12:03 AM
lol is there a way for mods to 'warn' these ppl to shut up and dont gloat around in pure smugness when its obvious qualification wise they should not even be considered given the supposed 'high' par set as claimed by the jpa director..such hypocrites should best keep quiet and just let us gradually get accustomed to the hard fact of the supposed 'tough luck' that has befallen us..whether its not straight a1, not active in ko-ku, not representing sch, state, country?!..not good in interview and the list goes on cuz yeah i suppose they do have the final say and every prerogative in awarding since it is supposed to be an award and not an automatic privilege deem to 'us' just like that.
my humblest apologies for the many sensitive allusions made and mods feel free to warn or censor wherever that's deemed inappropriate..just still kinda frus that there aint no news regarding the tajaan tambahan..i'd long given up hope and ya just learned to accept whatever comes in my way..got then ok i'd take up the bond..no then ok i'd go wherever ppl would appreciate me better =)
to those who share my views of rejection, i offer you my condolence and assure you that there are many other possibly better roads to take to success and together we can and will prove them wrong =)
khuanoz
well khuanoz..you fired me when i tried to say that some ppl are not deserving of scholarships..
khuanoz
07-07-2008, 12:19 AM
well khuanoz..you fired me when i tried to say that some ppl are not deserving of scholarships..
lol wat a pleasant surprise..long time no chat..i fired you when you said being a teacher is about qualifications which i believe is wrong as i'd had to live with smart but uncharismatic and just well simply put not born to teach but to study type..haha
i fired this guy/gal cuz he/she is so dubiously unaware of the circumstance which qualified him/her for this scholarship..setting aside of course the snide remark to sneer at those who arent in that 'circumstance'
haha anyways, duke23 i guess we both do think alike in people who dont deserve but our definition of 'deserve' still needs some fine tuning..anyways, good day to you and really it was a pleasant surprise..no pun nor sarcasm intended ya
khuanoz
p.s its late over here and im running out of time for physics so i'd rep some other time that is if you do feel like replying at all..ciao
B.T.SengYee
07-07-2008, 12:42 AM
nice reply on that 5a1 3a2 3b3...
wat a GOOD result to get jpa
A slight correction: bo le, not bai le. :D
haha..
so sorry for that..
hehe..
bad chinese..
Mandy cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/Mandy)
duke23
07-07-2008, 05:59 AM
lol wat a pleasant surprise..long time no chat..i fired you when you said being a teacher is about qualifications which i believe is wrong as i'd had to live with smart but uncharismatic and just well simply put not born to teach but to study type..haha
i fired this guy/gal cuz he/she is so dubiously unaware of the circumstance which qualified him/her for this scholarship..setting aside of course the snide remark to sneer at those who arent in that 'circumstance'
haha anyways, duke23 i guess we both do think alike in people who dont deserve but our definition of 'deserve' still needs some fine tuning..anyways, good day to you and really it was a pleasant surprise..no pun nor sarcasm intended ya
khuanoz
p.s its late over here and im running out of time for physics so i'd rep some other time that is if you do feel like replying at all..ciao
life's unfair.My dad once told me that in every profession there are people who are not selected for the quality of their personality or capabilities..you find this everywhere.But im under the impression that this happens quite often in malaysia and often nothing is done about it which is sad indeed.I may have berrated someone with my comments a few months ago..but reflecting back..how many people out there could speak and write better,with a personality to match and were rejected??personally i know too many of them.and im wretched whenever my close friends who are in the exact same predicament like you tell me things like you are lucky your parents are well to do and you dont have to depend on scholarships..but we have no choice..my friends with 11a1's were not even qualified for a teaching scholarship..and if i say my grasp of the english language is excellent..( not bragging here but well...i have prove to substantiate it)..they are almost up to my level..they show overall competence and they are also the nicest people on earth..and will make good educators..but this is life..its the cruel reality.
07-07-2008, 05:37 PM
People, not getting scholarship despite your good results can be very frustrating. However, that doesn't entitle you guys to flame the others who had gotten it, despite their "relatively not so good" results.
Also, if you are lucky enough to get it, don't boast about it as well, creating tension in a stressful situation won't help the discussion at all.
If you have nothing good to say besides whacking or boasting, you can do better keeping your mouth closed and let the anger subside.
If i see yet another flame in this thread, it will be closed down... permeanently
khuanoz
07-07-2008, 05:39 PM
life's unfair.My dad once told me that in every profession there are people who are not selected for the quality of their personality or capabilities..you find this everywhere.But im under the impression that this happens quite often in malaysia and often nothing is done about it which is sad indeed.I may have berrated someone with my comments a few months ago..but reflecting back..how many people out there could speak and write better,with a personality to match and were rejected??personally i know too many of them.and im wretched whenever my close friends who are in the exact same predicament like you tell me things like you are lucky your parents are well to do and you dont have to depend on scholarships..but we have no choice..my friends with 11a1's were not even qualified for a teaching scholarship..and if i say my grasp of the english language is excellent..( not bragging here but well...i have prove to substantiate it)..they are almost up to my level..they show overall competence and they are also the nicest people on earth..and will make good educators..but this is life..its the cruel reality.
indeed i agree wholeheartedly with you..life's unfair, period but it just seems to happen more in m'sia than other countries and yup nothing can be done about it (at least for us normal citizens) and yup there are many more to come if i choose to work here next time..haha
yup a few of my friends who are really excellent hollistically and have great personality and yes superb master of not only english but bm and chinese as well are left to fend for themselves as well..but ya they have the money so their talents wont go to waste..and it shall never be cuz they'd never return.
and yes i agree that you have substantiate it and not braggin ya..haha '..ist the cruel reality...of life [here in m'sia mostly] this is turning into a 'sad' thread instead of an 'angry' one...it can be likened to a wild bird which got caught and put inside a cage refusing food and water for wanting freedom but gradually accepting the fact that it will eventually die and rot there with no hope of soaring accross the blue sky and just lost all resolve and spirit to fight for anything..
such is our fate..the lesson of our life..being the best is never good enough..at least not here.
p.s is this considered flaming? no reference whatsoever but more of discussion and 'mourning'
My apologies for my indirect flaming..i really tried toning it down such that the person probably wouldn really feel that offended..oh ya thanks for the boasting warning ^^
duke23
07-07-2008, 07:50 PM
this is unbelievable..hah..i shall not post anymore..khuanoz i'll just PM you when i have the time!
khuanoz
08-07-2008, 02:55 PM
this is unbelievable..hah..i shall not post anymore..khuanoz i'll just PM you when i have the time!
lol yeaps 'freedom of speech' isnt exactly exercised in forums..except maybe certain isolated ones ^^ and yes i agree PM would be a better option..wouldn wan this thread to be banned and cause others' inconvenience
Well,just a reminder, it is our (moderator) responsibilities to maintain this forum to suit users(students) of all walks of life and of all ages.
"Freedom of Speech" is the rights given to users as long as it doesnt sound bashing/whacking to another user(s). Bashing/posting to insult/whacking one another might lead to what we named it as "flames".
Always bear in mind this is a public forum. Your post might represent how your real person are. :)
Happy Recom-ing~
08-07-2008, 04:32 PM
Freedom means that you are free to do anything you want, providing that you are ready to face it's consequences. And since flamming will lead to tensions and leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouths, it is not recommended and not allowed here.
khuanoz
08-07-2008, 08:47 PM
yeap i noe you guys are just doing your job and believe me you guys are doing great..able to sift through so many posts and can give non too offensive warnings and clear explanations ^^
and yup our post does reflect who we are..and that includes everyone =)